View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

pentium1111
22 May 2007, 18:00
This weeks game look to be very one sided except for the Maine V Sandhurst.

Sqaure, Gisborne, Eaglehawk and South Bendigo are all $1.01 - you can write your own ticket for the teams they are playing up to 5 million to one.

Maine $2.30
Sandhurst $1.60

You havent got much time for the sides not in the top 5 have you james

The little man
22 May 2007, 20:54
Ive heard that Kyneton is in big trouble apparently some of their big recruits arnt happy, heard that they had 11 players at training tonight wouldnt be surprised if there is a walk out soon.

Jock Clark 2
22 May 2007, 21:03
JENNA J --- ACCORDING to our reliable Goat, who must have spent a fair bit of Sunday walking about shaking hooves, Nathan Gilly from the Hurst is rated as one of the over-23s in the inter-league squad.
The Talking, Hoof-Shaking Goat can confirm this.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
23 May 2007, 02:43
Ive heard that Kyneton is in big trouble apparently some of their big recruits arnt happy, heard that they had 11 players at training tonight wouldnt be surprised if there is a walk out soon.

Prepared to elaborate?

bearsboy
23 May 2007, 09:34
Prepared to elaborate?Maybe you can elaborate twita. Your the one that believes all is well at Kyneton, when clearly its not .

I noticed Nev came out with his standard quote after a hiding, blaming injuries for this weeks loss.

The Talking Goat
23 May 2007, 10:09
Thought vigus started the game well early, then went out of it.
gilliland is an over-23 player. can confirm this. castlemaine sandhurst the match of the round this week. like sandhurst in this one. been a fairly dull start to the season i think

max powers.
23 May 2007, 10:45
and Hurst to beat Square. Doesn't matter whether they play at Backhaus Oval or C'bury Park, Hurst to win,.[/quote] jock clark 2

Do you think you over estimated sandhurst a bit early jock??
Losing to both Gis and square?

HJ32
23 May 2007, 11:49

intersting comments Little Man. A good mate of mine actually signed with Kyneton last nite, he has just moved to the town. He didnt mention anything about light numbers on the track to me - and that is something he would notice because the club he comes from is a very strong one who get good no's on the track.

I will be interested to see what happens with the Tigers over the coming weeks.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
23 May 2007, 12:16
Since this forum seems to be dominated by Gisborne and Golden Square supporters, I'll put my 2 bobs worth in to even the opinions out.

Square look strong, still a bit top heavy for my liking and D Anderson is a big loss but will be there last day in Sept.

Gissy strong as always, but not as strong as last year - danger to miss GF

Hurst were not on their game against Square and unlucky to lose against Gissy after being crucified by the umpires, so don't get carried away just yet - Still my dark horse for the flag

South & E/hawk need to prove they can beat top 3 teams mentioned above

Kyneton are gone, K Flat are gone, C/maine are gone, North never arrived.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
23 May 2007, 13:04
Forgot to mention Mary/b... They're gone.

Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 14:39
Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL) (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=322536)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320213&page=6), Donkey Floggers (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320211&page=8), the North-Eastern Wolves (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320215&page=6) and the Western Wallabies (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320214&page=13).

These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?

(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
Central Sharks - Bendigo FL - A_JET8
Central Sharks - Bendigo FL - Norfolk & Clew
Central Sharks - Bendigo FL - max powers
Central Sharks - Bendigo FL - The fatman
Central Sharks - Bendigo FL - davis 24
Central Sharks - Bendigo FL - Courageunderfire

Appin Vet
23 May 2007, 14:48
Can somebody inform me how my friend Wayne Mitrovic is travelling. Seen him on the news in the highlights of the Hurst v Gisborne game. Looked to get his hands on the ball a little.

aussiemauler
23 May 2007, 14:54
Since this forum seems to be dominated by Gisborne and Golden Square supporters, I'll put my 2 bobs worth in to even the opinions out.

Square look strong, still a bit top heavy for my liking and D Anderson is a big loss but will be there last day in Sept.

Gissy strong as always, but not as strong as last year - danger to miss GF

Hurst were not on their game against Square and unlucky to lose against Gissy after being crucified by the umpires, so don't get carried away just yet - Still my dark horse for the flag

South & E/hawk need to prove they can beat top 3 teams mentioned above

Kyneton are gone, K Flat are gone, C/maine are gone, North never arrived.

if Gisborne had kicked straight they would of won by 6 or 7 goals so i dont think the umpires would of changed the game that much

Jock Clark 2
23 May 2007, 15:32
SEE Jenna J --- the Goat placed the hooves on the keyboard and confirmed Hurst's Gilly Gilliland is an OVER-23.
No, Maxie P. Haven't over-estimated the Hurst. That 7-point loss on Sunday is the closest game played in the BFL so far, and we're 17 games (three rounds and two special, one-offers) in.
Next closest game was the Princes Park Round 1 affair when Maryboro beat Kyneton by 19 points.
You'll note in Tony Pierce's editorial in last weekend's programme (turn to Page 2, last para) the League is concerned about blow-out results. The prez. Drummie said the same thing at the AGM last November.
"There is no doubt the BFL has far too many one-sided games as we see the results come in each weekend. In fact, how many times do we go to games when we know the result --the result, not the final margin -- before the umpies toss the ball in the air the first time?" Those were Drummie's comments in the AGM annual report.
Drummie's worried. I think we all should be. There are FAR TOO MANY BLOWOUTS !!

FencePainter
23 May 2007, 15:41
SEE Jenna J --- the Goat placed the hooves on the keyboard and confirmed Hurst's Gilly Gilliland is an OVER-23.
No, Maxie P. Haven't over-estimated the Hurst. That 7-point loss on Sunday is the closest game played in the BFL so far, and we're 17 games (three rounds and two special, one-offers) in.
Next closest game was the Princes Park Round 1 affair when Maryboro beat Kyneton by 19 points.
You'll note in Tony Pierce's editorial in last weekend's programme (turn to Page 2, last para) the League is concerned about blow-out results. The prez. Drummie said the same thing at the AGM last November.
"There is no doubt the BFL has far too many one-sided games as we see the results come in each weekend. In fact, how many times do we go to games when we know the result --the result, not the final margin -- before the umpies toss the ball in the air the first time?" Those were Drummie's comments in the AGM annual report.

I always thought Drummie was "The Talking Goat"

Because that is pretty much what he is!

The sloth
23 May 2007, 17:06
Bit of info for you if your interested lads, the flats loosing margin this year on average is 83 points, compared to that of 06 of 31 points.
With all the coin they have handed out to these ex AFL/VFL players wouldn't you expect that the losing margin to be alot less?
The 4 sides in 06 were The Brough, Tigers, Marybrough and Castlemain.
In 07 they are all the same just sub out Marybrough for South.

Norfolk & Clew
23 May 2007, 17:42
Bit of info for you if your interested lads, the flats loosing margin this year on average is 83 points, compared to that of 06 of 31 points.
With all the coin they have handed out to these ex AFL/VFL players wouldn't you expect that the loosing margin to be alot less?
The 4 sides in 06 were The Brough, Tigers, Marybrough and Castlemain.
In 07 they are all the same just sub out Marybrough for South.

Interesting point mate, although they spent a heap of coin they should of spent it on quality country players and got a few rather than spending it all on one or two 'gun' players. Zantuck should be on the ball.

By the way mate, it's spelt losing not loosing;)

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
23 May 2007, 17:56
To Aussie mauler - Bad kicking is bad football.... like I said, Gissy are not the out-and-out favourites like they have been in past years

To Appin Vet - I saw Mitro play on Sunday and he is going well. My contacts tell me he doesn't train much these days, but it seems that's never been his thing, so no need to read anything into that comment. He is a genuine A-class player.

The sloth
23 May 2007, 18:11
Interesting point mate, although they spent a heap of coin they should of spent it on quality country players and got a few rather than spending it all on one or two 'gun' players. Zantuck should be on the ball.

By the way mate, it's spelt losing not loosing;)

Thanks mate,
I agree, these blokes are not in for the long haul.
I see that Glenn Lehner has put a clearance in to go back to Whittlesea after his short stint in the BFL. Also Craig Scoble heading out to the riverside. Might be missing finger but can play when he feels like it.

as i see it
23 May 2007, 18:57

I don't think its that bad down at tiger land, they just have to learn to play as a team. there is a lot of injuries but u can't use that for every loss nev.. TAKE SOME RESPONSIBILITY

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
23 May 2007, 19:06
Originally Posted by Norfolk & Clew http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7616252#post7616252)

Norfolk - I agree - Sick of these AFL rejects trying to suck all the cash out of country football simply to float their ego and fledgling ambitions of a miraculous AFL comeback.

Give the money to footballers who will stick around and help develop the kids. From what I hear, Ty Zantuck will do neither....

silvermagpie
23 May 2007, 22:46
Rombotis has been cleared by old club.All you flat supporters will need deep pockets signed about 5 players already all on 4 figure salary includes zantuck and his brother.

Told you all,back before season started you were throwing your money away.Ring RACV because the wheels have well and truley fell off.Its not just the big names they wasted it on either just ask caveman told him by pm

pentium1111
23 May 2007, 23:01
No, Maxie P. Haven't over-estimated the Hurst. That 7-point loss on Sunday is the closest

Interested to hear peoples thoughts on this. Does seem to be a worrying trend. Is there any connection between the location/demographic of towns and how there teams perform. Gisborne - close to melbourne/middle to upper class town - strong team. Marybourough - blue collar reasonably remote - stuggle a bit. Same could be said for Kyneton maybe Ballarat although you would think out a city the size of Ballarat you could field a competitive side.

Kings Army
24 May 2007, 10:32
You havent got much time for the sides not in the top 5 have you james

Very little - so much so I am laying the 4 winners Square, Gissy, Eaglehawk and South Bendigo to win by a combined total of 420 points.

4 winners by over 420 points $1.90
4 winners by under 420 points $1.90

Which line do you like Pentium?

Norfolk & Clew
24 May 2007, 10:37
Interested to hear peoples thoughts on this. Does seem to be a worrying trend. Is there any connection between the location/demographic of towns and how there teams perform. Gisborne - close to melbourne/middle to upper class town - strong team. Marybourough - blue collar reasonably remote - stuggle a bit. Same could be said for Kyneton maybe Ballarat although you would think out a city the size of Ballarat you could field a competitive side.

North ballarat are a brand new club in their second year of existence, most of the better players in the Ballarat region I am presuming, would play in the Ballarat league. North Ballarat have to travel massive distances every 2nd week and alot of players would hate to do that. It would be alot harder than you think for them to recruit, they have a strong junior system so if they keep bringing them through they should go ok in a few years.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
24 May 2007, 15:46
Originally Posted by Norfolk & Clew North ballarat are a brand new club in their second year of existence, most of the better players in the Ballarat region I am presuming, would play in the Ballarat league. North Ballarat have to travel massive distances every 2nd week and alot of players would hate to do that. It would be alot harder than you think for them to recruit, they have a strong junior system so if they keep bringing them through they should go ok in a few years.

Spot on Norfolk - The trouble with Ballarat is the Lexton Plains and Central Highlands leagues pay big money sucking all the second string players out of the Ballarat FL, so North City has no hope

pentium1111
24 May 2007, 20:58
Its sad to say but I think it could possibly happen. Not sure who all the teams are playing and obviously weather pending but there could be some big scores this weekend. Fair call on Ballarat, I tend to agree with your thoughts. The travel issue is a huge factor not just for Ballarat but any sides out of Bendigo. Its super hard recruit blokes that have to travel an hour for training and two for games. Think that is why Gisborne is blessed it has predominantly local blokes.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
25 May 2007, 00:08
Its sad to say but I think it could possibly happen. Not sure who all the teams are playing and obviously weather pending but there could be some big scores this weekend. Fair call on Ballarat, I tend to agree with your thoughts. The travel issue is a huge factor not just for Ballarat but any sides out of Bendigo. Its super hard recruit blokes that have to travel an hour for training and two for games. Think that is why Gisborne is blessed it has predominantly local blokes.

Not only that but Gissy are in the prime possy to recruit blokes from the northern & western suburbs if the young talent is not coming through. On a good run it takes twice as long to get from Kyneton to Bendigo as it does from Essendon to Gisbourne. Given that the club is financial, those waiting to see them wane as a power will die very old, frustrated men.

My positive, respectful post for the Bulldogs for the year - enjoy.

bearsboy
25 May 2007, 09:53
Not only that but Gissy are in the prime possy to recruit blokes from the northern & western suburbs if the young talent is not coming through. On a good run it takes twice as long to get from Kyneton to Bendigo as it does from Essendon to Gisbourne. Given that the club is financial, those waiting to see them wane as a power will die very old, frustrated men.

My positive, respectful post for the Bulldogs for the year - enjoy.This works both ways, we are 10 minutes from Ballarat league powerhouse Sunbury, who are reportedly spending $180,000 on players this year and 30 minutes from Essendon league Sides (Strathmore, Greenvale) who also spend upward of that figure. So we have a fair job on our hands each year to keep our locals from leaving for stupid amounts of money being offered by these type of clubs.

I personally think the reason for Gisbornes continued Success is a combination of a few things, for starters we have a very hard working commitee, quality coaching staff, we have a very talented group of locals that love playing together and a fantastic bunch of sponsors and supporters who all love their local footy .

Kings Army
25 May 2007, 09:57
This works both ways, we are 10 minutes from Ballarat league powerhouse Sunbury, who are reportedly spending $180,000 on players this year and 30 minutes from Essendon league Sides (Strathmore, Greenvale) who also spend upward of that figure. So we have a fair job on our hands each year to keep our locals from leaving for stupid amounts of money being offered by these type of clubs.

I personally think the reason for Gisbornes continued Success is a combination of a few things, for starters we have a very hard working commitee, quality coaching staff, we have a very talented group of locals that love playing together and a fantastic bunch of sponsors and supporters who all love their local footy .

How many city players are at Gisborne? I would have thought 95% of Gissy players are local.

Norfolk & Clew
25 May 2007, 10:08
can someone tell me what the fullback line for square seniors is? It's not on the square website and don't get the addy in melbourne.

monster mash
25 May 2007, 11:12

Who are you hearing this stuff from Glen?

caveman
25 May 2007, 11:14
can someone tell me what the fullback line for square seniors is? It's not on the square website and don't get the addy in melbourne.

B: T.Malone M.Tyrell C.Malone

Norfolk & Clew
25 May 2007, 11:21
B: T.Malone M.Tyrell C.Malone

Thanks for that mate, who is the other bloke on the bench as well? Coz I can only see B.Fraser and J. walsh

thirsty
25 May 2007, 11:33
I see the Addy predicts Gisborne will thrash M/Borough by over 100 points. Anybody think Maryborough will get closer than that?

caveman
25 May 2007, 11:41
Thanks for that mate, who is the other bloke on the bench as well? Coz I can only see B.Fraser and J. walsh

The other one is J.Curtain

Kings Army
25 May 2007, 11:42
I see the Addy predicts Gisborne will thrash M/Borough by over 100 points. Anybody think Maryborough will get closer than that?

No - Gis, Square, South and Eaglehawk all by 100.

thirsty
25 May 2007, 11:54
No - Gis, Square, South and Eaglehawk all by 100.

Are all the good teams playing all the shit teams this week.

Kings Army
25 May 2007, 12:16
Are all the good teams playing all the shit teams this week.

Yes - but more like the good sides playing the developing sides!

I think the only close one will be Maine and Sandhurst.

bearsboy
25 May 2007, 13:14
How many city players are at Gisborne? I would have thought 95% of Gissy players are local.Only a couple old mate !!

Mobbenfuhrer
25 May 2007, 13:26

caveman did you ever fix the ladder error in Qooty?

Norfolk & Clew
25 May 2007, 15:31

Thanks Caveman! Do any of the flat teams have a chance of winning tomorrow you think? How strong are your thirds?

as i see it
25 May 2007, 20:05

as i remember it was about this time last year cook walked out on kyneton surley not again... things must have changed in that time down there otherwise they have some serious problems

as i see it
25 May 2007, 20:12
Yes - but more like the good sides playing the developing sides!

I think the only close one will be Maine and Sandhurst.

yeah sure are not a good weekend for BFL spectators this weekend go and catch a riddel game or take the trip to the telsrta dome and watch carlton vs adelaide i certainly will be.

The fatman
26 May 2007, 02:12
Am i the only ******** around the bendigo league who supports a bottom of the rung club (kyneton). That s worried about why the bendigo league has yet to realise that for the sake of the bendigo junior football league. we have to run it. to have under 16.5 is absoulte bullshit as is having under 15 s. The bendigo football league must come forward and say you have under 15s and the league rung under 17 s instead of the current under 18 s. or vise versa under14 s and 16s juniors BFL under 18 s. We only have to look at why Gisborne who have under 16 s then 18 s can continue to bring through there own young players. Thats from a kyneton man who says why don t kyneton get sides to the riddell juniors.
As i experienced way back in 1988 you do need 2 years of being around a club firstly to know the players then to get confiedence to be able to play with them. I was lucky that i came through with players such as shane muir tony kelly bob beare terry mangan and ross foreman that all made you welcome.
It is hard for players to find there feet in one year of under 18s not the super stars the players of the middle range maybe bigger build they find it harder to compete and find there place in the club. Some of the blokes who could not get the ball end up the best and as respected people around the club doing the more mundane jobs that must be done. (i.e team mangers runners ground raffles trainers barman ect) and many more.
Being a former seconds coach who had to chase players even when the seniors made the finals all i can say is the changing persons mentalitty and work commitments we no longer live in a society where 12 o clock saturday everything shut of to the footy. Tuesday thursday knock off work around 5 for 6 training it the new real world has people working all shifts and hours your genuine seconds player cannot afford to be hurt.
Its great for people to get on here and pot shot clubs for low training numbers saying theres trouble but not just in this league all leagues this contunies to happen.
Just not Kyneton it happens everywhere a young bloke i work with from bendigo (yes he comes to kyneton to work night shift) has just given up footy for the year at sandhurst because he has to come to work 5 nights to help him live.( pay his rent ect.) He s only casual and quiet times say 3 days is not enough. This a players of there under 18 s last year and played seniors. thats just one of many young people i know of who now are not playing. Everyone who reads this will know many.
Today could be the sadest day of my footy career to help out i have to play. 10 years ago the QEO was too big, hope the full back can have a good chat i might just out fox him.(although the netball has changed) my only savior is that a 1996 senior premiership player from the flat (i forgive him) is older than me.
So it s easy to bag blow outs lets start from the top our kids.
Maybe tommorow as i stand like Nicky Winmar i will bear my guts to the crowd although the smaller jumpers should see it all game.
Cmon bendigo work it out. NO PARENT PREMIERSHIPS.
p.s (kyneton a currently a top contender to win the under 16.5 we hope them kids go on)

thatswhatimtalkinabout
26 May 2007, 03:41
Am i the only ******** around the bendigo league who supports a bottom of the rung club (kyneton). That s worried about why the bendigo league has yet to realise that for the sake of the bendigo junior football league. we have to run it. to have under 16.5 is absoulte bullshit as is having under 15 s. The bendigo football league must come forward and say you have under 15s and the league rung under 17 s instead of the current under 18 s. or vise versa under14 s and 16s juniors BFL under 18 s. We only have to look at why Gisborne who have under 16 s then 18 s can continue to bring through there own young players. Thats from a kyneton man who says why don t kyneton get sides to the riddell juniors.
As i experienced way back in 1988 you do need 2 years of being around a club firstly to know the players then to get confiedence to be able to play with them. I was lucky that i came through with players such as shane muir tony kelly bob beare terry mangan and ross foreman that all made you welcome.
It is hard for players to find there feet in one year of under 18s not the super stars the players of the middle range maybe bigger build they find it harder to compete and find there place in the club. Some of the blokes who could not get the ball end up the best and as respected people around the club doing the more mundane jobs that must be done. (i.e team mangers runners ground raffles trainers barman ect) and many more.
Being a former seconds coach who had to chase players even when the seniors made the finals all i can say is the changing persons mentalitty and work commitments we no longer live in a society where 12 o clock saturday everything shut of to the footy. Tuesday thursday knock off work around 5 for 6 training it the new real world has people working all shifts and hours your genuine seconds player cannot afford to be hurt.
Its great for people to get on here and pot shot clubs for low training numbers saying theres trouble but not just in this league all leagues this contunies to happen.
Just not Kyneton it happens everywhere a young bloke i work with from bendigo (yes he comes to kyneton to work night shift) has just given up footy for the year at sandhurst because he has to come to work 5 nights to help him live.( pay his rent ect.) He s only casual and quiet times say 3 days is not enough. This a players of there under 18 s last year and played seniors. thats just one of many young people i know of who now are not playing. Everyone who reads this will know many.
Today could be the sadest day of my footy career to help out i have to play. 10 years ago the QEO was too big, hope the full back can have a good chat i might just out fox him.(although the netball has changed) my only savior is that a 1996 senior premiership player from the flat (i forgive him) is older than me.
Maybe tommorow as i stand like Nicky Winmar i will bear my guts to the crowd although the smaller jumpers should see it all game.
p.s (kyneton a currently a top contender to win the under 16.5 we hope them kids go on)

I feel your pain Fatman.

Ultimately work pressures do have a lot to do with it. An employer isn't all that interested in your pressing desire to knock off early for footy training unless they are a sponsor. They seem even less impressed when you are on light duties for three weeks when you have done your shoulder. The other side of the equation is that the insurance companies promise everything and deliver SFA. Fact.

With regards to the BDJFL, I'm not sure I understand your point entirely, but if it relates to making those juniors part of the club structure and culture, I totally agree. I'm sure some of the seniors like Daz Chambers et al, would be down there helping out and welcoming them at every opportunity. I certainly remember being wide-eyed myself when blokes like Tunz, Shaney and Bobby trained with the thirds.

In respect to you playing tomorrow, I hope it isn't your saddest day in footy, but to me it just illustrates how the footy club (any footy club) needs to become relevant to the community in which it lives. Now I am sure there are plenty of people out there in the local Kyneton area that have no connection with the club in any way. Why not hire some training gear (ie: treadmills, weights, rowing machines, etc.) and set them up in the clubrooms as a gym - usable when the boys are training on the track. It could be part of your membership. Hell we have demand for 2 gyms as it is. One of the Schmidt boys could be serving pots for those less inclined to perspire.

We need to get culture back into the place. I put a post on here a day or two ago praising Gisborne (sort of) and the response I got was about the hardworking people that made it all happen. That is true in every club I reckon. FFS Eileen Riordan has been Secretary for 138 years I think. It's time to spread the load, committee, players and supporters. Then perhaps we won't have to spend coin enticing players.

I'll bring my socks and shorts just in case. Might only have socks and they seem to have shrunk.

bearsboy
27 May 2007, 03:42
I feel your pain Fatman.

Ultimately work pressures do have a lot to do with it. An employer isn't all that interested in your pressing desire to knock off early for footy training unless they are a sponsor. They seem even less impressed when you are on light duties for three weeks when you have done your shoulder. The other side of the equation is that the insurance companies promise everything and deliver SFA. Fact.

With regards to the BDJFL, I'm not sure I understand your point entirely, but if it relates to making those juniors part of the club structure and culture, I totally agree. I'm sure some of the seniors like Daz Chambers et al, would be down there helping out and welcoming them at every opportunity. I certainly remember being wide-eyed myself when blokes like Tunz, Shaney and Bobby trained with the thirds.

In respect to you playing tomorrow, I hope it isn't your saddest day in footy, but to me it just illustrates how the footy club (any footy club) needs to become relevant to the community in which it lives. Now I am sure there are plenty of people out there in the local Kyneton area that have no connection with the club in any way. Why not hire some training gear (ie: treadmills, weights, rowing machines, etc.) and set them up in the clubrooms as a gym - usable when the boys are training on the track. It could be part of your membership. Hell we have demand for 2 gyms as it is. One of the Schmidt boys could be serving pots for those less inclined to perspire.

We need to get culture back into the place. I put a post on here a day or two ago praising Gisborne (sort of) and the response I got was about the hardworking people that made it all happen. That is true in every club I reckon. FFS Eileen Riordan has been Secretary for 138 years I think. It's time to spread the load, committee, players and supporters. Then perhaps we won't have to spend coin enticing players.

I'll bring my socks and shorts just in case. Might only have socks and they seem to have shrunk.

ox i feel your post mate you have always
hcae a drink with wjthttrhe coaxch good lu ck
y

Kings Army
27 May 2007, 09:41
y

Big night at the Gissy football club disco BB?

Halffullonfence
27 May 2007, 10:48

The main reason Kyneton won't play their juniors in the RDFL is most of their best players are from the RDFL anyway and kids won't play against their old clubs.

Check their list and see how many come from Woodend and Lancefield?

Gisbornes success is that they look after their juniors well and recruit very well from the RDFL with players who want to further develope their football. Having a good club culture helps something Kyneton hasn't got.

as i see it
27 May 2007, 13:06

Little Man you are a fool. wasn't at the game but got the mail that Apparently Kyneton had a real crack and there was a lot of feeling between the boys if not for a slow start and missed goals should have rolled south, may not be a finals contender but will give some teams a run for there money.. what recruits arn't happy mate Cook, Tate, Funston, Sultan they all seem pretty happy, wheres your mail coming from, just let them go about there buisness

happy_feet
27 May 2007, 17:53
can any body give me some information on how Tim Hebbard is going this year? as he was a very good player when he was at the shepp swans? how is he finding his feet in the bendigo league?

davis 24
27 May 2007, 18:13
Little Man you are a fool. wasn't at the game but got the mail that Apparently Kyneton had a real crack and there was a lot of feeling between the boys if not for a slow start and missed goals should have rolled south, may not be a finals contender but will give some teams a run for there money.. what recruits arn't happy mate Cook, Tate, Funston, Sultan they all seem pretty happy, wheres your mail coming from, just let them go about there buisness

If it wasnt for Kynetons first quater they would have beaten South, they out scored south 8 goals to 5 in the last 3 quaters and if they had of converted a few of there easy misses, could have eaisly out scored them 11 goals to 5. Tate was sensational after half time, Cook was outstanding yet again, Funston just keeps getting the ball, while Guy Ortons 1 year at the Bendigo Bombers has done alot for him he has come back a 70% better player. Rick Coburn was Souths best by a mile just kept racking up possys. If kyneton can get a few of there players back they will challenge a few of these better sides.

bearsboy
28 May 2007, 09:36
yWhat the **** is that ?

Yes KA a very big night upstairs at the club, biggest crowd i've seen at a footy club function.

Obviously someone has worked out BB's password .

Trickle Frigwod
28 May 2007, 10:02
KA & BB, Has anything been said as to why Gissy didn't allow Michael Dillon to pull on the boots on Sat? In my opinion he is the best midfielder going around. Would have thought regardless you would pick the best side available and do you think things may have been different if you were playing a top 5 team?

Kings Army
28 May 2007, 12:45
KA & BB, Has anything been said as to why Gissy didn't allow Michael Dillon to pull on the boots on Sat? In my opinion he is the best midfielder going around. Would have thought regardless you would pick the best side available and do you think things may have been different if you were playing a top 5 team?

Dillion was there supporting. Barham had the choice of Dillion or a 1st gamer. End of the day Gissy won by 133 points and the 1st gamer was in the best. Looks like they got it right.

With the Flat kicking 3 goals with Zantuck what can they expect to kick this weekend against Gissy without Zantuck?

City will be a huge chance to beat them in 3 weeks.

Trickle Frigwod
28 May 2007, 13:05
had the unfortunate pleasure of seeing the square flat game on the weekend and Zantuck is a disgrace wouldn't be surprised if there is nothing wrong with his hand think he was just having a sook as his team mates didn't kick to him on a couple of occasions. As a general supporter of footy i think flat have hit an all time low.

Kings Army
28 May 2007, 13:14
had the unfortunate pleasure of seeing the square flat game on the weekend and Zantuck is a disgrace wouldn't be surprised if there is nothing wrong with his hand think he was just having a sook as his team mates didn't kick to him on a couple of occasions. As a general supporter of footy i think flat have hit an all time low.

Mate - that honour went to our good mate Wassa and some of his posts. It was only up for Flat now he is locked up in the looney bin.

bearsboy
28 May 2007, 13:30
Gisbornes success is that they look after their juniors well
This could be the answer to the post regarding Dillon

Kings Army
28 May 2007, 13:48
Very quiet at the minute so I will post the odds early this week as only 1 game will be close this week.

Flat $10,000/1
Gissy $1.01

Mary $3.50
Maine $1.30

Kyneton $4.00
Square $1.20

Eaglehawk $1.70
South $2.10

fifth quarter
28 May 2007, 16:23
KA --- take out the Hurst- N City game in ur bets charts. that one was played over at Austar on April 29th. Remember they took the game out of Rd. 5 for an earlier start for the 2 clubs concerned. The same will apply for Rd 6 --- the Maine-Flat game was played on Anzac Day. so in the BFL for the next 2 rounds we will have just four (4) games in each round.

Norfolk & Clew
28 May 2007, 16:31
KA --- take out the Hurst- N City game in ur bets charts. that one was played over at Austar on April 29th. Remember they took the game out of Rd. 5 for an earlier start for the 2 clubs concerned. The same will apply for Rd 6 --- the Maine-Flat game was played on Anzac Day. so in the BFL for the next 2 rounds we will have just four (4) games in each round.

Good pick up!

KA I'll have $50 on South

Kings Army
28 May 2007, 16:59

Thanks!!

zakster
28 May 2007, 19:56
so now zantuck has declard himself out of the inter-leag squad and has a broken thumb anyway who r u guys going to put in next tuesdays bgo team as ur 5 over 23s
i think i will have borchard in the backline gissies fitzy and lukey saunders squares griffin and hursts coach gilly
dog davis from gissie mite be a bit stiff to miss out
ballarat will have a classy midfield group so we wll need fitzy, griffo and gillyto go with some of the young bfl guns like vigus klein bretler clarkson and farrugia
dahl will be a lay down miseree for the ruck

b birmingham
28 May 2007, 19:56
Very quiet at the minute so I will post the odds early this week as only 1 game will be close this week.

Flat $10,000/1
Gissy $1.01

Mary $3.50
Maine $1.30

Kyneton $4.00
Square $1.20

Eaglehawk $1.70
South $2.10

KA, I'm assuming by your odds that you feel the close one would be E'Hawk/South. What odds for E'Hawk over 39.5?

I reckon the MB/C'maine will be a closer game than perhaps you've given it credit for. I know you would have seen MB first hand on Saturday and probably didn't think much of them, but they are a totally different side at home, especially if they are playing a side outside the top 5. They probably won't win but who knows, I think they might give it a fair shake.

Also Kyneton and Square game is interesting. Down at Kyneton and judging by the weekend, the tigers might be getting it together a bit. They might upset a couple of sides before the year is out!

Trickle Frigwod
29 May 2007, 09:35
Yeah the interleague is an interesting one.. I would have picked Sharp before borchard allot more attacking and can really hurt sides with his kicking ability, Saunders picks himself and Griffin is probably the best midfielder in country vic. But probably would go for a big forward like Fitzgerald from Sandhurst as he can play anywhere. Also am a fan of Davis as his carnival last year was fantastic and he is hard to match up on and really hard at the pill.

Does Gilliland qualify as part of the under 23's? Will be a pretty competitive unit tho with blokes like Dahl, Klien-Bretler, Vigus, Fiske, Fuggie... all top young players.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
29 May 2007, 09:53
can any body give me some information on how Tim Hebbard is going this year? as he was a very good player when he was at the shepp swans? how is he finding his feet in the bendigo league?

I saw him play against Gissy and Maine. Going off the program, he's number 54. Blonde kid? He is a real go-er and from what I hear is nearly cracking it for a game in the Ones. He's played back pocket / HBF.

He needs to work on his kicking a bit, but should play 3-4 senior games at least in 2007.

Kings Army
29 May 2007, 10:09
KA, I'm assuming by your odds that you feel the close one would be E'Hawk/South. What odds for E'Hawk over 39.5?

I reckon the MB/C'maine will be a closer game than perhaps you've given it credit for. I know you would have seen MB first hand on Saturday and probably didn't think much of them, but they are a totally different side at home, especially if they are playing a side outside the top 5. They probably won't win but who knows, I think they might give it a fair shake.

Also Kyneton and Square game is interesting. Down at Kyneton and judging by the weekend, the tigers might be getting it together a bit. They might upset a couple of sides before the year is out!

I think South were very flat against Kyneton. Eaglehawk will be hard to beat but to win by 39.5 would be a surprise. $3.20.

With you on the Mary game. But still tink Maine are stronger - if the odds were any greater I would sell my house and get on!

I think Square is one of the top 2 teams if not the best. They will win in a canter.

Norfolk & Clew
29 May 2007, 10:43
Yeah the interleague is an interesting one.. I would have picked Sharp before borchard allot more attacking and can really hurt sides with his kicking ability, Saunders picks himself and Griffin is probably the best midfielder in country vic. But probably would go for a big forward like Fitzgerald from Sandhurst as he can play anywhere. Also am a fan of Davis as his carnival last year was fantastic and he is hard to match up on and really hard at the pill.

Does Gilliland qualify as part of the under 23's? Will be a pretty competitive unit tho with blokes like Dahl, Klien-Bretler, Vigus, Fiske, Fuggie... all top young players.

I could be wrong, but isn't Fitzgerald 23 this year? He wouldn't be much older would he?

Trickle Frigwod
29 May 2007, 10:53
Not 100% sure on the age criteria cause i think Kain Robbins may have just turned 23 in the last week or so.... not sure if that makes him ineligble would suggest fitzy was around the same age so you could be right.

Square defence suspect this week against Tate and Reaper??? Thoughts? Maybe no tyrell after a cheap shot saw him stretchered from the ground any talls that could get the job?

Norfolk & Clew
29 May 2007, 11:18
I can't see us being stretched this week, Tyzza will be fine, Ant Holdstock always plays well on any key forward, no matter how big. Should be fine!

Trickle Frigwod
29 May 2007, 13:33
Lets be honest Holdstock is prob 5"10 and 80kg and reaper would be around 6"3 and 120kg tate maybe taller again and prob around 90kg... doesn't sound like a good match up to me

PINNACLE HEALTH
29 May 2007, 13:53
If Tyrell does'nt play then L.Rosa can take a tall and B.Fraser has played on Reaper before and done well.

It's especially a danger game if conditions are heavy, Kyneton have a good record at home in the wet.

I'd still be confident Square will win but maybe scores will be abit closer than they would like.

Also if Tyzza doe'snt play maybe it's time to bring up the blonde bombshell who wears the infamous headband at chf in the magoo's!
He's in fair form too the lad.

More Than a Game
29 May 2007, 14:09
Lets be honest Holdstock is prob 5"10 and 80kg and reaper would be around 6"3 and 120kg tate maybe taller again and prob around 90kg... doesn't sound like a good match up to me

If Tyrell does'nt play then L.Rosa can take a tall and B.Fraser has played on Reaper before and done well.

It's especially a danger game if conditions are heavy, Kyneton have a good record at home in the wet.

I'd still be confident Square will win but maybe scores will be abit closer than they would like.

Also if Tyzza doe'snt play maybe it's time to bring up the blonde bombshell who wears the infamous headband at chf in the magoo's!
He's in fair form too the lad.

we all know its not the size of the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog(or Bulldog in this case)
Sqare will have no worries this weekend. I agree PH, put Frase on him. if it is sunny, the shine off Frase's balding head will put Reaper off.

Trickle Frigwod
29 May 2007, 15:20
Square Boys,

Heard a whisper the D. Edwards may return to the seniors and D Walsh may come back through the 2's any truth in this? Heard D Walsh hasn't played since a praccy game early on and Edwards has been on fire my sorces tell me he kicked 9 last week and has been known to kick bags of goals for the bulldogs before a couple of years back...

Norfolk & Clew
29 May 2007, 16:05
Square Boys,

Heard a whisper the D. Edwards may return to the seniors and D Walsh may come back through the 2's any truth in this? Heard D Walsh hasn't played since a praccy game early on and Edwards has been on fire my sorces tell me he kicked 9 last week and has been known to kick bags of goals for the bulldogs before a couple of years back...

Dangerous Edwards only kicked 8 goals on the weekend, but if you deduct the goals of teammates that he stopped while trying to mark on the line when they were going through then he only kicked four!

PINNACLE HEALTH
29 May 2007, 17:52
Dangerous Edwards only kicked 8 goals on the weekend, but if you deduct the goals of teammates that he stopped while trying to mark on the line when they were going through then he only kicked four!

Jealous!!

If only the blonde bombshell could deliver the ball properly he might've kicked a few more.

bearsboy
29 May 2007, 19:19
so now zantuck has declard himself out of the inter-leag squad and has a broken thumb anyway who r u guys going to put in next tuesdays bgo team as ur 5 over 23s
i think i will have borchard in the backline gissies fitzy and lukey saunders squares griffin and hursts coach gilly
dog davis from gissie mite be a bit stiff to miss out
ballarat will have a classy midfield group so we wll need fitzy, griffo and gillyto go with some of the young bfl guns like vigus klein bretler clarkson and farrugia
dahl will be a lay down miseree for the ruckI'll go with L. Saunders, Matty Fitzgerald, N.Gilliland, J.Griffin and either S.Reaper or M.Gretgrix.

KingsArmy should be able to tell us a bit about the Ballarat squad.

Jock Clark 2
29 May 2007, 20:44
BBoy and KA --- speaking to the Gisborne hierarchy after the Sunday QEO game vs. Sandhurst, and they gave the points in the Spekky Magee-Rod Sharp battle to Spekky. They didn't reckon Sharpie did much until the 2nd half.
So Sharpie won't be representing Bendigo vs Ballarat next Tuesday night. Unless they have changed their minds in the past 24 hours, coach B. Fitzpatrick and his co-selectors have not placed Sharpie in the over-23 contingent for the BFL squad.
We haven't played Ballarat since that cold Friday night in 2004 in the 1st of the short 2 x 20 minute halves carnival concept for inter-league. We played that 3 games in one weekend set-up again in 2005 and 2006.
Dekka Filo kicked the sweep for Bendigo that night back in 04 at Austar Arena.

davis 24
29 May 2007, 21:59
The main reason Kyneton won't play their juniors in the RDFL is most of their best players are from the RDFL anyway and kids won't play against their old clubs.

Check their list and see how many come from Woodend and Lancefield?

Gisbornes success is that they look after their juniors well and recruit very well from the RDFL with players who want to further develope their football. Having a good club culture helps something Kyneton hasn't got.

Can u please tell me there names and you dont think they left so they could play in a half decent league do you. Again kyneton will in the premeirship this time in the 16.5

Trickle Frigwod
30 May 2007, 09:47
Jock
Saw the Gissy Sandhurst game too and thought Magee and gilliland were definately the dragons best till half time. Thought sandhurst did well by getting Sharp as close to goal as possible to stop his run. However in the second half i thought it was sharp who was realeased by barham to half back, fitzy and the great man saunders after an inspirational pack mark that no defender in the world would have stopped and a snap over his head that lifted for the bulldogs to get them over the line.

I can't think of a better all round Backman than sharp in the BFL.

matt_nicholls
30 May 2007, 10:16
Can u please tell me there names and you dont think they left so they could play in a half decent league do you. Again kyneton will in the premeirship this time in the 16.5

HFF is right, Kyneton should join the RDFL. If they played then you could have a really good junior comp. The hopefully the players not from Kyneton could return to make thier home clubs stronger.

Rory Healy, Myles Dorman, Calum Furness are three players that I know of playing for Kyneton. Young Elliott Massina is also a Woodend boy there but you can understand considering his dad is the senior coach.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
30 May 2007, 10:48
HFF is right, Kyneton should join the RDFL. If they played then you could have a really good junior comp. The hopefully the players not from Kyneton could return to make thier home clubs stronger.

Rory Healy, Myles Dorman, Calum Furness are three players that I know of playing for Kyneton. Young Elliott Massina is also a Woodend boy there but you can understand considering his dad is the senior coach.

Well that's just total win-win for Kyneton isn't it? Play in a lesser comp so that the time, effort and money you put into developing kids can be pissed up against the wall by them returning to their Riddell League clubs. Not only that, but the ones you keep are less developed because they have played at a lower level.

Get straight on the phone with that one.

monster mash
30 May 2007, 11:20
Well that's just total win-win for Kyneton isn't it? Play in a lesser comp so that the time, effort and money you put into developing kids can be pissed up against the wall by them returning to their Riddell League clubs. Not only that, but the ones you keep are less developed because they have played at a lower level.

Well said

matt_nicholls
30 May 2007, 11:40

But the Bendigo League juniors aren't that much stronger. In fact, I would back the RDFL's Under 18s, 16s and 14s rep sides to defeat the BFL's.

smasher100
30 May 2007, 11:41

Nicholls, that would have to be the dumbest thing you have had to say! Why would any club want to go to a lower league for short term (and little) value

thatswhatimtalkinabout
30 May 2007, 12:04
But the Bendigo League juniors aren't that much stronger. In fact, I would back the RDFL's Under 18s, 16s and 14s rep sides to defeat the BFL's.

The overall point is that all these juniors should be aspiring to play at the highest level, and that is the Bendigo or Ballarat League - not the Riddell League.

Spreading the talent out, whilst beneficial to the RDFL in the short term, doesn't benefit anyone in the long run.

Trickle Frigwod
30 May 2007, 12:07
New subject.... Think interleague is losing its appeal the whole idea was to see which leagues were the best by playing the best players off against each other but due to the best players not wanting to put up their hands we see games between leagues that are not giving us a true indication.

I would like to see a champions league in the future where the premiership teams from the major leagues get to play each other.. This would give a much better indication of how other leagues stack up... Thoughts on this anyone?

Norfolk & Clew
30 May 2007, 12:18
New subject.... Think interleague is losing its appeal the whole idea was to see which leagues were the best by playing the best players off against each other but due to the best players not wanting to put up their hands we see games between leagues that are not giving us a true indication.

I would like to see a champions league in the future where the premiership teams from the major leagues get to play each other.. This would give a much better indication of how other leagues stack up... Thoughts on this anyone?

The idea has merit but finding the time to do this would be damn hard. I am guessing you are taking your idea from soccer? They play mid week for those games, which would be near impossible for a country footy league to do, because it is not fulltime.

Trickle Frigwod
30 May 2007, 17:42
Maybe just a one off game Norfolk wouldn't you love to see your beloved Bulldogs (if they were to win) play off against your old mob Ky (if they were to win?

Norfolk & Clew
30 May 2007, 18:10
Yeah mate, but we play Ky in praccy matches quite often anyway. I reckon its a great idea but can't see it happening with club committees being set in their old fashioned ways.

bearsboy
30 May 2007, 18:19

I would like to see a champions league in the future where the premiership teams from the major leagues get to play each other.. This would give a much better indication of how other leagues stack up... Thoughts on this anyone?From what i hear, plenty of quality players were keen to play.

Disapointingly, not every coach was happy about their players taking part.

woof woof
30 May 2007, 18:54
how is young simon weekly travelling this year in the BFL?

spongey
31 May 2007, 08:56
how is young simon weekly travelling this year in the BFL?

Hows Johnny Rombotis going at Kangaroo Flat, seems to take on jobs that end up going nowhere,ie: Roxburgh Park and now Kangaroo Flat.
Kangaroo Flat dont look like winning a game?

Trickle Frigwod
31 May 2007, 09:24
This year isn't really ideal so i can understand the coaches points of view. I know when i used to play it would take me till about wednesday to get over a saturday game once i turned about 24 years old. Keeping that in mind the likes of Griffin, Saunders and the older blokes it is a big ask for them to play 3 games in 7 days. Especially with no breaks during the year.

Can you name the coaches who were unhappy?

max powers.
31 May 2007, 11:27
I think for interleague to prosper it has to go back to the old format not the Micky mouse round robin stuff the VCFL have been serving us for the last few years.
The way it is at the moment it only suits the young blokes to back up 3 times in a weekend thus the older more experienced blokes pulling out and the sides getting weaker and less of a spectacle.

All blokes should be proud to represent there respective leagues as it is a privelige to play and test yourself against the best other leagues have to offer.

Lets get back to the old days.

Don't let the big B down........

Trickle Frigwod
31 May 2007, 13:27
Good point Max think the old format was much better. Still would like to see something along the lines of a champions league game... Would pay to watch Gisborne v Seymour we be sensational i reckon..

Square boys can anyone tell me whats happening with D. Anderson from the square was allot of talk about Adamson in the paper but very little on the star back pocket player... will he play again this year?

Norfolk & Clew
31 May 2007, 13:46
Good point Max think the old format was much better. Still would like to see something along the lines of a champions league game... Would pay to watch Gisborne v Seymour we be sensational i reckon..

Square boys can anyone tell me whats happening with D. Anderson from the square was allot of talk about Adamson in the paper but very little on the star back pocket player... will he play again this year?

He should be right come finals time mate, big loss at Country Vet Oval! I think Livewire is a quick healer and we'll be back before the end of the home and away games.

PINNACLE HEALTH
31 May 2007, 14:03
I heard Dillion is making the most of his time out of the game and hitting the gym 5 nights a week.
I just hope once his knee heals it will be able to support his big guns!

Looks like a wet weekend ahead, few upsets on the cards.

Trickle Frigwod
31 May 2007, 16:27
J. Rombotis might as well give up there are better player coaches in the under 12's...

S. Weekly unlike his brother is a pretty handy player hits the contest hard so if he doesn't take a grab he at least makes his presence felt and hurts a few blokes. Kicked a few in the first round against the Northies but lets face it my 12 year old son could kick 6 against those blokes.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
31 May 2007, 21:51
J. Rombotis might as well give up there are better player coaches in the under 12's...

S. Weekly unlike his brother is a pretty handy player hits the contest hard so if he doesn't take a grab he at least makes his presence felt and hurts a few blokes. Kicked a few in the first round against the Northies but lets face it my 12 year old son could kick 6 against those blokes.

Think you underestimate Russ Weekley - dodgy knee and still hits the ball hard. He knows no other way, like his brother. Simon is versatile and can play in the middle as well as be a target up forward. He's kicked a couple of bags this year