View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

Kings Army
1 Jun 2007, 09:06
I'll go with L. Saunders, Matty Fitzgerald, N.Gilliland, J.Griffin and either S.Reaper or M.Gretgrix.

KingsArmy should be able to tell us a bit about the Ballarat squad.

The 3 best forwards are set to miss - Jordan, Houlihan and McMahon. Beattie is a chance.
Nunn, Fields, A-Train all a chances.

I like the post about the preimers playing off. Redan V Gisborne would have been a great match last year.

Trickle Frigwod
1 Jun 2007, 10:14
KA - See the Gissy senior side in today's paper is either back to front with L Saunders at Full back and barham at FF is this incorrect in the paper or was this done to insult flat... either way i had a chuckle

The Talking Goat
1 Jun 2007, 10:19
that is how the side was sent in by gisbornes. i personally typed it in myself, and was half tempted to turn it around and list it properly. not sure why gisborne would do that. thought they were better than that

Trickle Frigwod
1 Jun 2007, 10:31
I think its funny goat... thought you might have seen it and been tempted to change it.. bit like the under 14's when you were up by 15 goals at half time... let the forwards become back and change it all around. Would be entertaining if i were the talking goat i would be reporting on that game.

The Talking Goat
1 Jun 2007, 10:34
I think its funny goat... thought you might have seen it and been tempted to change it.. bit like the under 14's when you were up by 15 goals at half time... let the forwards become back and change it all around. Would be entertaining if i were the talking goat i would be reporting on that game.
doesn't take much to amuse you then trickle. don't see the point in sides putting in false sides. this is just country footy. everyone knows who lines up where

Trickle Frigwod
1 Jun 2007, 10:56
Goat,

Perhaps you and your mates at the addy should be the selectors for all 10 teams if you already know how they are gonna line up.... may as well do the michelsen votes too...

I am sure if anything it was done to fire the flat up. Its a kick in the guts if you ask me and thats why i think its amusing. Bit of arrogance coming through which is no shock with the success. Like the other week when Barham said sandhurst were not used to being hard... just funny bits of banter that crack me up.

You of all people should enjoy it goat it keeps you in a job.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
1 Jun 2007, 13:35
Tips for this week:

M/B v Cmaine - Maryborough by 8 points in an upset
Ky v G Square - Square by 35 points
E/Hawk v South - Eaglehawk by 12 points
KFlat v Gis - Gisborne by 109 points (only b/c it'll be wet)
Nth v S'hurst - Sandhurst won by 90 odd, Apr 29

Tues - Interleague Bendigo v Ballarat - Ballarat by 25 points

Some closer games this week thank god :)

Trickle Frigwod
1 Jun 2007, 16:41
The 3 best forwards are set to miss - Jordan, Houlihan and McMahon. Beattie is a chance.
Nunn, Fields, A-Train all a chances.

I like the post about the preimers playing off. Redan V Gisborne would have been a great match last year.

Is that Luke Beatie is it KA? How has he been going?... very good player he is almost impossible to stop with good delivery which you would expect from an interleague side he is very quick off the mark and a pretty accurate kick for goal. Will be good to see him back the the QEO.

A_JET8
1 Jun 2007, 21:31
[quote=Trickle Frigwod;7707155]Is that Luke Beatie is it KA? How has he early michelson bet boys put ya cold hard cash on brady herdman the young hawk is flying and he is a genuine super star now. could over take saunders!

silvermagpie
1 Jun 2007, 21:34
Hows Johnny Rombotis going at Kangaroo Flat, seems to take on jobs that end up going nowhere,ie: Roxburgh Park and now Kangaroo Flat.
Kangaroo Flat dont look like winning a game?

Roxburgh park going nowhere?they have only had seniors for two years won 8 games at least both years.How do you came up with that statement and theory.

BackPocketBattler
2 Jun 2007, 11:58
[quote=Trickle Frigwod;7707155]Is that Luke Beatie is it KA? How has he early michelson bet boys put ya cold hard cash on brady herdman the young hawk is flying and he is a genuine super star now. could over take saunders!

From memory he finished with roughly 8-10 Michelson votes last year and won his club b n f, which I think shows he is a real genuine contender AJET. Killing them from CHF this year!! Whats the '8' for in A_JET8? Not the number you wear is it?

Kings Army
3 Jun 2007, 11:48
Is that Luke Beatie is it KA? How has he been going?... very good player he is almost impossible to stop with good delivery which you would expect from an interleague side he is very quick off the mark and a pretty accurate kick for goal. Will be good to see him back the the QEO.

Yes the same Luke Beatie that played at South last year. He is assistant coach at Sunbury and playing some really good football. They are very happy with at the moment. He and Houlihan make a really strong forward line.

Kings Army
3 Jun 2007, 11:53
doesn't take much to amuse you then trickle. don't see the point in sides putting in false sides. this is just country footy. everyone knows who lines up where

They lined up as per the paper so Marcus was not playing games with the paper. Not so sure it was an insult to Flat but just a chance to see how good his backs were to go foward and his fowards to go back. He would now know who can help at the opposite end if they have injuries or are getting beaten and need something special.

Looking foward to the big match against Kyneton this weekend. Alot of chat pre-season from the Kyneton people so it will be good to see first hand if it was all crap. Tip toe into Gisborne!

as i see it
3 Jun 2007, 19:46
They lined up as per the paper so Marcus was not playing games with the paper. Not so sure it was an insult to Flat but just a chance to see how good his backs were to go foward and his fowards to go back. He would now know who can help at the opposite end if they have injuries or are getting beaten and need something special.

Looking foward to the big match against Kyneton this weekend. Alot of chat pre-season from the Kyneton people so it will be good to see first hand if it was all crap. Tip toe into Gisborne!

dunno if it will be much of a match, although saw them play square, the tigers were right with square untill half way through the third. tate had a shot to put them within a goal. after that the wheels fell off and the score blew out. O'toole would have to be one of the dominate forwards in the competion at the moment although he only kicked 4 he probably set up another 5 or 6, his work rate is outstanding.

Halffullonfence
3 Jun 2007, 21:46
Can u please tell me there names and you dont think they left so they could play in a half decent league do you. Again kyneton will in the premeirship this time in the 16.5

Easy; Carney,Dorman,Garvey-Hawke,Massina,Healy,Furness.

Was stated that Kyneton wouldn't play in RDFL because these kids wouldn't play against old clubs not that Kyneton should be in the league.

Gisborne's juniors come from the RDFL and they are really struggling in the Bendigo league.

This was about club culture not who should play where.

If Kyneton looked after their own juniors instead of recruiting for Junior premierships, then they may be better of at senior level, instead of bringing a culture of none good enough here we'll have to get them from somewhere else mentality.

Trickle Frigwod
4 Jun 2007, 13:15
Will be interesting to see who from Bendigo gets the job on beatie wouldn't be surprised if Corno gets it he is a really good defender. Did a fantastic job on Saunders at the QEO a few weeks back. Not a bad looking interleague side will be watching with interest.

switch the play
4 Jun 2007, 15:23
Will be interesting to see who from Bendigo gets the job on beatie wouldn't be surprised if Corno gets it he is a really good defender. Did a fantastic job on Saunders at the QEO a few weeks back. Not a bad looking interleague side will be watching with interest.
Could someone pls post the line up-would be much appreciated.

Trickle Frigwod
4 Jun 2007, 16:01
Medica Dole Cornish
Webster Robins Robertson
Dawson Griffin Noonan
Farrugia Gretrix Herdman
Fiske Saunders Gilliland
Dahl Milward Fitzgerald

Int: Sommerfield, Pokrovski, Klien-Bretler, Vigus, McCarthy, Keeley, McNaughton, Holt

stickers
4 Jun 2007, 16:10
can any one tell me what the weather will be like in bendigo tomorrow for the interleague clash and also what kind of condition the qeo is in thanks

switch the play
4 Jun 2007, 17:02
Medica Dole Cornish
Webster Robins Robertson
Dawson Griffin Noonan
Farrugia Gretrix Herdman
Fiske Saunders Gilliland
Dahl Milward Fitzgerald

Int: Sommerfield, Pokrovski, Klien-Bretler, Vigus, McCarthy, Keeley, McNaughton, Holt
Thanks trickle:thumbsu: Were there any Golden Square boys in the squad that missed out on the side?

Norfolk & Clew
4 Jun 2007, 17:11
Thanks trickle:thumbsu: Were there any Golden Square boys in the squad that missed out on the side?

You'd suspect McErvale STP, thats my guess

Trickle Frigwod
4 Jun 2007, 17:16
Mckervale was the only one mate bit unlucky too is a really good kid tackles well and is a fantastic user of the footy. In my opinion i would have him over Robertson any day of the week but only my opinion..

Robertson is a good player but his disposal lets him down too often he may get found out at this level of footy.

bjah#3
4 Jun 2007, 17:57
You'd suspect McErvale STP, thats my guess
Interleague team is a fakey.same players different positions..not sure why tho!!!

Jock Clark 2
4 Jun 2007, 19:24
LATE inter-league news boys
Scratch Milward from the Blue and Golds. He won't play. Get onto this one, Goaty.
Insert the Kyneton boy Cameron Tate, who will wear the #17 guernsey, in Milward's place.
Eight i-change players gives the 2 coaches plenty of opportunities to give the midfielders time on the pine 2morrow night.
Dunno why Mal Borchard from the Hurst wasn't picked, though.

Trickle Frigwod
5 Jun 2007, 10:08
Heard a rumor that G/S may be with out one of their stars for round 7 and 8 this bloke is probably in their best 3 players and will miss two vital games against Eaglehawk and Gissy.

max powers.
5 Jun 2007, 10:48
Heard a rumor that G/S may be with out one of their stars for round 7 and 8 this bloke is probably in their best 3 players and will miss two vital games against Eaglehawk and Gissy.

True.

But has anyone heard of Square's new recruit??? Playing SANFL at the moment, previous VCFL rep and played under Joffa Brennan previously??

Norfolk & Clew
5 Jun 2007, 10:56
True.

But has anyone heard of Square's new recruit??? Playing SANFL at the moment, previous VCFL rep and played under Joffa Brennan previously??

Have heard about him Maxy, will be a great pick up for us. Only 21 or 22 and is 6'3". I think he is looking at moving to Bendigo next year which will see him at square for more than this season:thumbsu:

Trickle Frigwod
5 Jun 2007, 12:12
Got a name Max, N&C? Saw in the paper but no name given... Rumor has it VCFL rep? Not sure how much to take from it will believe it when i see it. Brennan used to coach swan hill and someone up mildura way. Anyway of investigating what blokes played VCFL from those leagues in the past 3 years? Would narrow it down. Then trace back to Brennan...

PINNACLE HEALTH
5 Jun 2007, 12:22
Hopefully he plays this week , will be handy to have another 6" plus in the team.

Norfolk & Clew
5 Jun 2007, 12:25
Is a VCFL rep, haven't heard anymore news, hasn't been playing ones for sturt this year but played 10 games last year if that helps?

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
5 Jun 2007, 12:52
The rumour mill must have some truth to it after all, as that is what I have heard too...

Player from Sturt in the SANFL playing for Golden Square in the second half of this year. Heard about it first thing Monday morning whilst making a cuppa at work.

On the Interleague tonight - Jarrod Edwards WILL be playing. Looks like Ballarat will win tonight by about 3-4 goals.

Dan Jordon is a superstar (kicked 12 goals with a broken thumb last Sat)and makes Luke Saunders look second rate. He will kick at least 5 tonight.

Ty Zantuck could not kick 12 with a broken thumb. Instead, uses it as an excuse to sit out games against the top sides when Flat needs him the most. Ouch!:p

max powers.
5 Jun 2007, 13:30
Got a name Max, N&C? Saw in the paper but no name given... Rumor has it VCFL rep? Not sure how much to take from it will believe it when i see it. Brennan used to coach swan hill and someone up mildura way. Anyway of investigating what blokes played VCFL from those leagues in the past 3 years? Would narrow it down. Then trace back to Brennan...

Maybe our Swan Hill mates will be able to Help us?

I honestly don't know much about him, apparently 6'3 and can play anywhere. Joffa is very excited if thats anything to go by.

aussiemauler
5 Jun 2007, 14:24
The rumour mill must have some truth to it after all, as that is what I have heard too...

Player from Sturt in the SANFL playing for Golden Square in the second half of this year. Heard about it first thing Monday morning whilst making a cuppa at work.

On the Interleague tonight - Jarrod Edwards WILL be playing. Looks like Ballarat will win tonight by about 3-4 goals.

Dan Jordon is a superstar (kicked 12 goals with a broken thumb last Sat)and makes Luke Saunders look second rate. He will kick at least 5 tonight.

Ty Zantuck could not kick 12 with a broken thumb. Instead, uses it as an excuse to sit out games against the top sides when Flat needs him the most. Ouch!:p

Big call DR, Saunders would have to be easily one of the best country footballers going round!!

ROOTA#6
5 Jun 2007, 15:00
Maybe our Swan Hill mates will be able to Help us?

I honestly don't know much about him, apparently 6'3 and can play anywhere. Joffa is very excited if thats anything to go by.

A young bloke by the name of Leigh Davies played in the flag that Joffa coached at Swan Hill then headed over to Adelaide to try his luck, not sure which club he landed at though. He did represent VCFL in that premiership year

Could be him

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
5 Jun 2007, 15:51
Big call DR, Saunders would have to be easily one of the best country footballers going round!!

No arguing there AMauler, L Saunders is ONE OF the best country footballers, but not THE best. My honest opinion is that Dan Jordon is better. If D Jordon plays tonight, which I'm told he will, you will see what I mean. No Malcolm Borchard to stop him, so he will cut loose. :thumbsu:

PINNACLE HEALTH
5 Jun 2007, 15:56
A young bloke by the name of Leigh Davies played in the flag that Joffa coached at Swan Hill then headed over to Adelaide to try his luck, not sure which club he landed at though. He did represent VCFL in that premiership year

Could be him

If thats him you possibly would've played against him and how do rate him, what possy?

Gadget
5 Jun 2007, 16:06
Jordon over saunders anyday... just get to the game tonight and see. Any nightspots open tonight in bendigo?

learmonth
5 Jun 2007, 16:24
Jordon over saunders anyday... just get to the game tonight and see. Any nightspots open tonight in bendigo?

Jordan is teh best player i have seen in country footy and with players like Jarrod edwards, Banwell, Baker, Lobb and Hutchinson, they will feed him all night...

Norfolk & Clew
5 Jun 2007, 17:24
Just read that McErvale is in for Tyson Holt who has a broken nose.

nesko_25
5 Jun 2007, 17:31

Big night for uni students in bendigo, starts at he Broughy with $2 pots all night and starts at $2.50 basic spirts (price goes up the later it gets) then its into Scubar for $2 pots of extra dry. tonight will be very big as there is no uni for a month, just exams. I'll be the one making a fool of myself.

Trickle Frigwod
5 Jun 2007, 17:37
Will be interesting would love to be Luke Saunders getting on the end of a Griffin Bullet tonight he is still the best midfielder i have seen play so should be a good night. Not sure Bendigo Defence is equipped for gun forwards tho.. lots of attacking players there but not many defenders.

ROOTA#6
5 Jun 2007, 17:42
If thats him you possibly would've played against him and how do rate him, what possy?

Yeah have played against Leigh many times. He can play anywhere but plays his best as a key defender. He represented CMFL and VCFL as a backman. Loves to run and carry the ball and can pinch hit as a key forward. Has developed into a terriffic player.

Thats if it is him though

Gadget
5 Jun 2007, 18:07
Big night for uni students in bendigo, starts at he Broughy with $2 pots all night and starts at $2.50 basic spirts (price goes up the later it gets) then its into Scubar for $2 pots of extra dry. tonight will be very big as there is no uni for a month, just exams. I'll be the one making a fool of myself.
See ya at the broughy then....

lucy_the_dog
6 Jun 2007, 00:15
Go Ballarat. Bendigo league has got nothing on the boys from the cold country. The Ballarat ruckmen killed Bendigos rucks all night, got first use of the ball probably 90% of the time. Matt Dwyer was great in the centre. No real standouts for Bendigo.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
6 Jun 2007, 10:52
Go Ballarat. Bendigo league has got nothing on the boys from the cold country. The Ballarat ruckmen killed Bendigos rucks all night, got first use of the ball probably 90% of the time. Matt Dwyer was great in the centre. No real standouts for Bendigo.

Excuse me, what game were you watching? Nathan Gilliland is a STAR!! Made a lot of other players look good last night, while getting a good dose of leather poisoning himself...

Why did the Bendigo coach have both ruckmen Dahl and McCarthy on the bench at the same time??

Gadget
6 Jun 2007, 11:19
Excuse me, what game were you watching? Nathan Gilliland is a STAR!! Made a lot of other players look good last night, while getting a good dose of leather poisoning himself...

Why did the Bendigo coach have both ruckmen Dahl and McCarthy on the bench at the same time??
Bendigo had the hotter netballers!

fifth quarter
6 Jun 2007, 12:37
lucy .... herdman held this so-called gun forward jordan to NO goals, NO behinds .... in fact ZERO score.
Some FF this jordan i'd say herdman's was a pretty standout performance
and wot about pokrovski and webster .... they knocked up getting kicks across halfback and the wings in fact pokkie was so stuffed two thirds of the way thru the last 1/4 bn coach fitzy had to take him off for a spell

Doc Noisey --- time for a re think on this guy jordan he did jack sh!te

Kings Army
6 Jun 2007, 13:14

Anyday? They both played Vic country together last year and nothing separates them. Both the premier players in their comps.

Kings Army
6 Jun 2007, 13:17
Want a laugh?

Click on Forum, Footy Videos and Pics, Ty Zantucks interesting shot at goal.

And to all those Essendon supporters out there the 2 free kicks paid were terrible - so the ball should never have been in Zantucks hands.

Gadget
6 Jun 2007, 13:19
Anyday? They both played Vic country together last year and nothing separates them. Both the premier players in their comps.
Very true, i've seen both and IMO i'd take Jordon.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
6 Jun 2007, 13:55
:thumbsu:Bendigo had the hotter netballers!

AMEN GADGET!!.... Sandhurst and Golden Square have the hottest netballers in the land...:D:thumbsu:

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
6 Jun 2007, 14:13
Anyway, novelty of interleague is done and dusted....

What's the word for this weeks games? Another couple of good ones...

Round 6:
C/mine v Kang Flat - already played on Anzac Day. Maine won
North v Maryb - May be closer than expected in the Rat?
Sandhurst V E/hawk - Good game expected... 06 Elim final replay
Gis v Kyn - Interesting to see how the Tige's fight on
GSquare v South B - South are rubbish at the moment. Square should win 50+points

Norfolk & Clew
6 Jun 2007, 14:59
:thumbsu:

AMEN GADGET!!.... Sandhurst and Golden Square have the hottest netballers in the land...:D:thumbsu:

You think?

KingRich
6 Jun 2007, 15:15
Anyway, novelty of interleague is done and dusted....

What's the word for this weeks games? Another couple of good ones...

Round 6:
C/mine v Kang Flat - already played on Anzac Day. Maine won
North v Maryb - May be closer than expected in the Rat?
Sandhurst V E/hawk - Good game expected... 06 Elim final replay
Gis v Kyn - Interesting to see how the Tige's fight on
GSquare v South B - South are rubbish at the moment. Square should win 50+points

Prob the best round of matches so far this year I would say! I reckon North City will have themselves up and about for this game and may win it down there!

Great test for EagleHawk too! I rate them as a contender and they must win this game to prove that!

max powers.
6 Jun 2007, 15:46
:thumbsu:

Golden square???

Are you ok Doc?

Norfolk & Clew
6 Jun 2007, 15:48
Golden square???

Are you ok Doc?

Exactly what i was saying mate:confused:

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
6 Jun 2007, 17:28
Golden square???

Are you ok Doc?

Yeah, sorry good point - maybe I was thinking of the Golden Square supporters, not the netballers. Sorry.

But definately think Slaghead chicks are scmick! :thumbsu:

ROOTA#6
6 Jun 2007, 20:21
So has the identity of Golden Square's SANFL recruit been confirmed yet??

zakster
6 Jun 2007, 21:10
top work roota# and pinacle darts burke said on radio tonite l davies would be fronting for square
he should know his bro kenny is the square senior team manager
but the otrher sanfl recruit justin harris that everyone thought was coming to carisbrook is a slow starter maybe a non starter

ROOTA#6
6 Jun 2007, 21:14
top work roota# and pinacle darts burke said on radio tonite l davies would be fronting for square
he should know his bro kenny is the square senior team manager
but the otrher sanfl recruit justin harris that everyone thought was coming to carisbrook is a slow starter maybe a non starter

Ok very interesting, the young bloke must be working here or on some serious coin to come to Bendigo. He will really add to GS side. Joffa would be quietly confident now i would think

Jock Clark 2
7 Jun 2007, 13:35
YERSS, Roota, Leigh Davies was the player mentioned as a definite Square starter. But it appears Justin Harris, another SANFL player, is slow in letting Carisbrook know his intentions.
Doctor Kenny N. ---- my tips for Round 6: Maryborough (after a bit of a struggle), Gisborne (comfortably), Eaglehawk (also, like with the Princes Park Pies at Austar, after a tight tussle with the Hurst), Square (convincingly over the struggling South).
Seems South's Jared Keely will miss a few weeks following a busted collarbone from Tues. night's interleague.

KingRich
7 Jun 2007, 14:20
YERSS, Roota, Leigh Davies was the player mentioned as a definite Square starter. But it appears Justin Harris, another SANFL player, is slow in letting Carisbrook know his intentions.
Doctor Kenny N. ---- my tips for Round 6: Maryborough (after a bit of a struggle), Gisborne (comfortably), Eaglehawk (also, like with the Princes Park Pies at Austar, after a tight tussle with the Hurst), Square (convincingly over the struggling South).
Seems South's Jared Keely will miss a few weeks following a busted collarbone from Tues. night's interleague.

I think North City may break the ice finally this weekend. They have a reasonable side in and this is prob their best chance yet.

FOOZ
7 Jun 2007, 17:31
CHANCE TO WIN A TRIP TO MELBOURNE FOR TWO!

Go to www. (http://www.lalbertfc.vcfl.com.au/)lalbertfc.vcfl.com.au (http://www.lalbertfc.vcfl.com.au/)

Find the code word and sms it to the number provided.

Winner will be announced at the end of the season!

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
7 Jun 2007, 17:58

Hmm, I picking North City to win its first game by 1 point:thumbsu:
Sandhurst to prevail over E hawk:confused:
Gisborne
Square

danielkerr
7 Jun 2007, 23:07
Ok very interesting, the young bloke must be working here or on some serious coin to come to Bendigo. He will really add to GS side. Joffa would be quietly confident now i would think

leigh davies will be one of the best key defenders in the league, g/s are flying him over for the games and he is going to move to bendigo in the next month or so i have been told...

Trickle Frigwod
8 Jun 2007, 13:21
Squares first line of attack is starting to look very good. It has already conceded the lowest points for the year and with Players like Holdstock, Malone boys, Rosa, Hawkins & fraser allready playing good footy you can add in a VCFL rep, and perhaps Anderson, Adamson and Tyrell when fit. Lots of options and plenty of run one of the best Backlines i have seen (on paper) for a while.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
8 Jun 2007, 13:55
Squares first line of attack is starting to look very good. It has already conceded the lowest points for the year and with Players like Holdstock, Malone boys, Rosa, Hawkins & fraser allready playing good footy you can add in a VCFL rep, and perhaps Anderson, Adamson and Tyrell when fit. Lots of options and plenty of run one of the best Backlines i have seen (on paper) for a while.

Geez Trickle, did you want us to leave you alone for 5 minutes...go have a cold shower tiger :D

I've seen a lot of good sides that look good on paper fold in to PAPER TIGERS... meow!

Appin Vet
8 Jun 2007, 16:53
Can anyone tell me how Kiel Robertson has been travelling thus far. Also how did he go in the Interleague??

fifth quarter
8 Jun 2007, 21:09
kiel went pretty well in the opening term running thru the lines from his wing kicked a good 1st quarter goal, too was pretty prominent in 1st half
overall wasn't bendigo's worst by a long stretch he did ok havent seen overmuch of e'hawk so far this season so cant comment on club footie, sorry

goatee and kenny noisebone ... how come the radio boys had l. davies coming to square on their wed night session and the paper (goat) shuffled along on friday bit of a gap there

BackPocketBattler
8 Jun 2007, 21:24
Can anyone tell me how Kiel Robertson has been travelling thus far. Also how did he go in the Interleague??
From memory, Robbo has been in the Hawk's best in about 3 games so far. Was named best in the game against South, so in form. Incidentally, off the field he is also flying. A bit of "socialising" with a local lass, weekend just gone.

zakster
9 Jun 2007, 17:13
its all over for the hurst at the q boys 3 quarter time and dekkas burra boys have an 11 plus goal lead
ehawk 15. 11(101), hurst 4.10 (34) dekka playing his 400th has a lazy five snag rolls

The Talking Goat
9 Jun 2007, 18:58
kiel went pretty well in the opening term running thru the lines from his wing kicked a good 1st quarter goal, too was pretty prominent in 1st half
overall wasn't bendigo's worst by a long stretch he did ok havent seen overmuch of e'hawk so far this season so cant comment on club footie, sorry

goatee and kenny noisebone ... how come the radio boys had l. davies coming to square on their wed night session and the paper (goat) shuffled along on friday bit of a gap there
i think you will find the leigh davies story first broke in the final word column last saturday. no name was mentioned out of respect to jeff brennan, but initials LD were mentioned, therefore no secret he was coming to square. and as for friday, we knew he would be in town on the thursday, and we would be able to chat to him then. did you blokes have him on air. i wouldn't know, i don't listen to your show. when's it on again

Trent the flight Steward
9 Jun 2007, 19:39
From memory, Robbo has been in the Hawk's best in about 3 games so far. Was named best in the game against South, so in form. Incidentally, off the field he is also flying. A bit of "socialising" with a local lass, weekend just gone.
Perhaps he has been taking notes from the master in C Belz

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
11 Jun 2007, 12:32
its all over for the hurst at the q boys 3 quarter time and dekkas burra boys have an 11 plus goal lead
ehawk 15. 11(101), hurst 4.10 (34) dekka playing his 400th has a lazy five snag rolls

The week off did the Dragons no favours, they were flat as a tack... No mongrel in them and they looked like they were recovering from a big night on the turps!:confused:

The papers (and probably a few people in this thread) will write them off, but I still have them as a dark horse.... they just had a dog of a day.

Dekka was brilliant. Good mix of runners and key position players at Eaglehawk this year...:thumbsu:

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
11 Jun 2007, 12:34
Geez Trickle, did you want us to leave you alone for 5 minutes...go have a cold shower tiger :D

I've seen a lot of good sides that look good on paper fold in to PAPER TIGERS... meow!

Paper tigers (a.k.a. Square boys) got pumped! Looks like South have got their act together and made this year a little more interesting... :thumbsu:

as i see it
11 Jun 2007, 16:13

saunders should be on an AFL list, you can have 1 over age rookie now i would be taking him any day

bearsboy
11 Jun 2007, 16:54
saunders should be on an AFL list, you can have 1 over age rookie now i would be taking him any daySpot on mate, its an absolute priviledge getting to watch this bloke play every week. He's playing as well as ive seen him at the moment, the word that best describes him would be "freak". Ollie Messoudi's probably in career best form as well, the two hardest blokes you'll ever see in my opinion.

Huge crowd at Gisborne on Saturday (and i'm not exagerating) for our family day, Biggest crowd ive seen at Gisborne since we hosted the 1999 RDFL grand final i reckon.

sculls_6
11 Jun 2007, 18:03
playin for north city under 18s its fairly hard to keep up with how strong our opposition is considering we hav little knowledge of which opposition under 18 players are playin seniors instead.. can any1 fill me in with these players from respective clubs?

fifth quarter
11 Jun 2007, 18:49
time for norfolk and pinnacle (espec. pinnacle seeing Square Twos got pumped) to explain on this thread wots going on with Joffa's boys and the lads in the next grade down
kenny noisebone still gives the hurst a chance
need to show plenty before the midyear turnaround admittedly gillys boys have 3 reasonably easy games vs. maryboro, flat and kyneton to get to the halfway mark they did show some grunt vs gissie in round 3 going down by 7 points

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
12 Jun 2007, 09:47
time for norfolk and pinnacle (espec. pinnacle seeing Square Twos got pumped) to explain on this thread wots going on with Joffa's boys and the lads in the next grade down
kenny noisebone still gives the hurst a chance
need to show plenty before the midyear turnaround admittedly gillys boys have 3 reasonably easy games vs. maryboro, flat and kyneton to get to the halfway mark they did show some grunt vs gissie in round 3 going down by 7 points

Sandhurst is a young side, so when they have an off day (eg. Square & E/hawk), they don't have an old bloke to whip their minds back on to the job.

I would like to hear from square boys about the weekend... What happened there?? The 2's got pumped... and the seniors were close to being flogged? Were they on the same water as the Dragons or what?

Enso
12 Jun 2007, 11:20
Bearsboy, Did any boys from the RDFL take up your offer and come to the family day?

max powers.
12 Jun 2007, 12:02
Sandhurst is a young side, so when they have an off day (eg. Square & E/hawk), they don't have an old bloke to whip their minds back on to the job.

I would like to hear from square boys about the weekend... What happened there?? The 2's got pumped... and the seniors were close to being flogged? Were they on the same water as the Dragons or what?

I think you'll find the boys got a touch ahead of themselves i think, south were first in for the footy and just plain wanted it more. Makes the next two games against the two "form" sides of the comp even more important.

Norfolk & Clew
12 Jun 2007, 12:04

Surprisingly, the two's game between Square and South wasn't as one sided as it looked on the scoreboard. In the middle of the ground it was fairly even and competitive, our midfielders didn't run back and much as they ran forward and south got alot of easy goals running into the forward 50. Take nothing away from South though they were clearly the better side, the two's have a lot of work to do, if they want to be fighting for the flag. i think maybe a few of them were getting ahead of ourselves.

The ones just had an off day in my opinion, will bounce back strong this week, could make excuses about injuries but in reality if the blokes out on the field all played to their best abilities they could have won quite easily.

We'll see the character of a few in the next few games.

pentium1111
12 Jun 2007, 16:38
Spot on mate, its an absolute priviledge getting to watch this bloke play every week. He's playing as well as ive seen him at the moment, the word that best describes him would be "freak". Ollie Messoudi's probably in career best form as well, the two hardest blokes you'll ever see in my opinion.

Huge crowd at Gisborne on Saturday (and i'm not exagerating) for our family day, Biggest crowd ive seen at Gisborne since we hosted the 1999 RDFL grand final i reckon.

Interesting observation Bearsboy. I had a chance to come up and have a look at the game. There seemed like there was a few there but what caught my attention is that the Gisborne crowd did not applaud or beep a horn for any of the Gisborne goals. There was much more noise when a Kyneton goal was kicked. Are Gisborne supporters dis-enchanted with their dominence of the league?
Thought Saunders was best on by a street, Olly and Davis were more than handy. Thought Kyneton, with what they had, fought it out really well and I don't think Gisborne would have been overly happy with beating what resembled a two's side by only 12 goals.
Another tick to Saunders who after the game acknowledged that Kyneton were undermanned and put in a good fight. It showed a bit of class rather than saying Gisborne had a bad day.

zakster
12 Jun 2007, 20:31
geez n and clew u shld take up pr duties if ur not already in it square twos got well and truely pumpd south lead 15 goals to 6 at oranges time and then in the last they slammd home another 8 goals to 1
not bad kicking from the red n white twos also they kicked 23 gls 5 liked the look and the name of ur boy jamiah disss is he 4 real with a 1st name like that

thatswhatimtalkinabout
12 Jun 2007, 23:50
Correct, Davis. Of the Wight brothers I have a feeling Cameron might be the superior player, though, in terms of skill and endurance.
Did you know Trent Zantuck is going to be missing from the K Flat line-up for Rounds 4 and 5. Business commitments in Melbourne.

Interesting to see those business committments must extend to Noosa Jock? Not as a player (at this point) but sighted on the Sunshine Coast over the last two weeks.

bearsboy
13 Jun 2007, 09:18
Interesting observation Bearsboy. I had a chance to come up and have a look at the game. There seemed like there was a few there but what caught my attention is that the Gisborne crowd did not applaud or beep a horn for any of the Gisborne goals. There was much more noise when a Kyneton goal was kicked. Are Gisborne supporters dis-enchanted with their dominence of the league?
Thought Saunders was best on by a street, Olly and Davis were more than handy. Thought Kyneton, with what they had, fought it out really well and I don't think Gisborne would have been overly happy with beating what resembled a two's side by only 12 goals.
Another tick to Saunders who after the game acknowledged that Kyneton were undermanned and put in a good fight. It showed a bit of class rather than saying Gisborne had a bad day.What was interesting about my observation pentium ?

Gisbornes kicked about 140 goals in 6 games this year, so you can understand the supporters not getting overly excited when a goal is scored. I think Gisbornes average winning margin this year would be around the 100 point mark which doesnt make for real exciting footy.

Looking forward to this weeks Game against South, should be a ripper !

bearsboy
13 Jun 2007, 09:40
Bearsboy, Did any boys from the RDFL take up your offer and come to the family day?Yeah, there were a heap of RDFL boys at the Game. Gee i copped a hiding on their thread for inviting them to the game for a look, i think i know were our mate warrens gone, he's changed his name to itsmyshow and lobbed on the RDFL thread, this bloke has some real issues. I reckon he wanted to become a cop but missed out and became a bigfooty moderator instead.

Norfolk & Clew
13 Jun 2007, 10:16
geez n and clew u shld take up pr duties if ur not already in it square twos got well and truely pumpd south lead 15 goals to 6 at oranges time and then in the last they slammd home another 8 goals to 1
not bad kicking from the red n white twos also they kicked 23 gls 5 liked the look and the name of ur boy jamiah disss is he 4 real with a 1st name like that

As I said Zakky, they were well and truely the better side, we couldn't do alot to stop them with the way we were playing. I for one didn't play anywhere near as well as i should have.

Yeah Dissy is for real with that name mate, good player, won our two's b&f about 3 years ago i think. First year back at the club since! Great name too

caveman
13 Jun 2007, 11:34
What are peoples thoughts on the game of the year this weekend?

KANGAROO FLAT v NORTH CITY

This is a must win game for both clubs who have copped several hidings each. A few media personalities thought the Northies were a show against Maryborough but look what happened.

The Flat have been competitive in patches but when they drop their heads and avalanche of goals get kicked against them. Due to injuries and departures we have played alot of young guys that will be great for our future.

We get a few back this week so I am tipping our first win against the Northies this weekend. Go ROOERS! :thumbsu:

Conspiracy Theory
13 Jun 2007, 13:01
Saunders is a champion, end of argument.

For those of you who claim that injury is no excuse for Kyneton, I ask you to please do some research on the quality of players that have been unavailable. If you need any assistance in compiling this list I will be happy to help.

Jock Clark 2
13 Jun 2007, 15:47
NEED to have a closer read, TWITA. It's Trent Zantuck who has the clothing label and retail outlet or outlets to sell that brand of clothing.
He's been missing, as suggested earlier in the season, for business reasons.
It WAS TY. Z. who was spotted on the Sunshine Coast. He's allegedly going to train at Noosa Thurs. evening although if the training is anything similar to his pre-season efforts at Dower Park it might consist of a couple of leisurely laps of the oval and then into the clubrooms.
And yerrrsss Cavey. The Green and Whites should dispose of the Northies this Sat. Isn't it marvellous how everyone couldl be right to play for your boys this round -- including Warry -- although it must be said Harrington has been suffering frim a hammie problem for 3-4 weeks and no one should ever doubt his commitment to the Dower Park cause.

KingRich
13 Jun 2007, 17:59
What are peoples thoughts on the game of the year this weekend?

KANGAROO FLAT v NORTH CITY

This is a must win game for both clubs who have copped several hidings each. A few media personalities thought the Northies were a show against Maryborough but look what happened.

The Flat have been competitive in patches but when they drop their heads and avalanche of goals get kicked against them. Due to injuries and departures we have played alot of young guys that will be great for our future.

We get a few back this week so I am tipping our first win against the Northies this weekend. Go ROOERS! :thumbsu:

The Northies were very confident of winning that game too Caveman.... I reckon they will fancy their chances again this round!

remote
13 Jun 2007, 18:00
does anyone know who else made the vcfl squad apart from brady herdman and hamish dahl? i heard there was one more.

caveman
13 Jun 2007, 18:20
The Northies were very confident of winning that game too Caveman.... I reckon they will fancy their chances again this round!

I completely agree that the Northies will be feeling confident about this week. Playing another team that hasnt won a game would have to give you a boost. Hopefully it is the mighty Rooers who take the 4 points.

pentium1111
13 Jun 2007, 18:32
What was interesting about my observation pentium ?

Gisbornes kicked about 140 goals in 6 games this year, so you can understand the supporters not getting overly excited when a goal is scored. I think Gisbornes average winning margin this year would be around the 100 point mark which doesnt make for real exciting footy.

Looking forward to this weeks Game against South, should be a ripper !

Fair call Bears. The thing I guess that is dissapointing is that the Gisbornes, Kynetons, Castlemaines pride themselves on having die hard supporters that make an effort to get to the games - which they do - however if they're not vocal it makes you think the crowds could get like the ones you get at the Q.E.O - almost non-existant.

I guess the other thing is if the game was in the balance I'm sure the crowd would have got more involved.

I'm led to believe, and by the look of it on the weekend there was possibly only 3-4 players in the Kyneton side on the weekend that regulary played 1's last year. Not wanting to go on with the injury excuse but lets hope in the second half of the year they play at full strength - knock a couple over and bounce back as a final contender in the years to come.

as i see it
13 Jun 2007, 18:44
Who are the best and worst coaches in the bendigo football league? anyone interested in making a list and reasons behind it..

bearsboy
13 Jun 2007, 18:49
Fair call Bears. The thing I guess that is dissapointing is that the Gisbornes, Kynetons, Castlemaines pride themselves on having die hard supporters that make an effort to get to the games - which they do - however if they're not vocal it makes you think the crowds could get like the ones you get at the Q.E.O - almost non-existant.

I guess the other thing is if the game was in the balance I'm sure the crowd would have got more involved.

I'm led to believe, and by the look of it on the weekend there was possibly only 3-4 players in the Kyneton side on the weekend that regulary played 1's last year. Not wanting to go on with the injury excuse but lets hope in the second half of the year they play at full strength - knock a couple over and bounce back as a final contender in the years to come.Regarding the crowds pentium, as a club you'd rather 300 quiet supporters (i reckon we had more than that on Saturday) than 50 loud ones, especially at $8 a pop !
The crowds at the QEO are nothing short of embarasing.

Who has the smallest crowds ? i'd say Nth City and South, last year at Ballarat was incredible, their u18's and 2's left immediately after their respective games leaving only half a dozen (if that) Ballarat supporters at the game .

Eaglehawk and Gisborne probably the 2 biggest crowds i guess.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
14 Jun 2007, 01:31
NEED to have a closer read, TWITA. It's Trent Zantuck who has the clothing label and retail outlet or outlets to sell that brand of clothing.
He's been missing, as suggested earlier in the season, for business reasons.
It WAS TY. Z. who was spotted on the Sunshine Coast. He's allegedly going to train at Noosa Thurs. evening although if the training is anything similar to his pre-season efforts at Dower Park it might consist of a couple of leisurely laps of the oval and then into the clubrooms.
And yerrrsss Cavey. The Green and Whites should dispose of the Northies this Sat. Isn't it marvellous how everyone couldl be right to play for your boys this round -- including Warry -- although it must be said Harrington has been suffering frim a hammie problem for 3-4 weeks and no one should ever doubt his commitment to the Dower Park cause.

It was Trent I was referring to Jock - been back in Noosa for a couple of weeks according to my mail. As for Ty training at Noosa Tigers, I will get back to you after Thursday. My man up there says that they could use a goalkicking forward but won't be paying mega or zantuck bucks.

Truck
14 Jun 2007, 11:31
Who are the best and worst coaches in the bendigo football league? anyone interested in making a list and reasons behind it..

You'd have to have Filo in the mix some where has been there for a while now hasnt he and Barham must go all right as a coach to have so much success.

on another topic have the 2 frewbackers from south been playing? also at south whats goin on wiht havin the ginger ninja (nev clarke) in the scooby doos