View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
GREENMAN
24 Jun 2007, 20:02
Coaches get paid to improve the teams performance, and a coach has to be judged on there win loss record......................So lets look at Massinas last 6 seasons will we.................Diggers 0 wins, Marybourough (2 seasons) 6 wins....................Kyneton ( into 3rd season) approx 10 wins maybe in 3 years????? Thats 16 wins in 6 seasons or 16 out of 108 games. The facts speak for themselves.......he cant coach.......he financially breaks clubs...............he cant maintain playing lists. Retire or quit Neville whilst you still have some dignity left......football has past you..............you cant coach........let Cook take over and let Kyneton finally improve...................
as i see it
24 Jun 2007, 20:23
Coaches get paid to improve the teams performance, and a coach has to be judged on there win loss record......................So lets look at Massinas last 6 seasons will we.................Diggers 0 wins, Marybourough (2 seasons) 6 wins....................Kyneton ( into 3rd season) approx 10 wins maybe in 3 years????? Thats 16 wins in 6 seasons or 16 out of 108 games. The facts speak for themselves.......he cant coach.......he financially breaks clubs...............he cant maintain playing lists. Retire or quit Neville whilst you still have some dignity left......football has past you..............you cant coach........let Cook take over and let Kyneton finally improve...................
Spot on Cook in!!!!!!!!!! Massina out.. At least Cook can lead by example on the field. If neville isn't getting results he must go... If Neville had a big name player there on big money and he wasn't performing I don't think he would have any problems with getting rid of him.. do the right thing and step down before you ruin Kyneton Football Club..
davis 24
24 Jun 2007, 20:57
Spot on Cook in!!!!!!!!!! Massina out.. At least Cook can lead by example on the field. If neville isn't getting results he must go... If Neville had a big name player there on big money and he wasn't performing I don't think he would have any problems with getting rid of him.. do the right thing and step down before you ruin Kyneton Football Club..
So do use have any other ideas other than cooky to coach next year
as i see it
24 Jun 2007, 21:41
So do use have any other ideas other than cooky to coach next year
Not next year he must step up straight away.
Im afraid to say it but if changes don't happen Kyneton wont have a team next year. Lets just say they keep going the way they are and maybe win one or two games for the rest of the year. Ive got the record in front of me and I will just go through some of the Key players that Kyneton have.
Reaper- is getting on why would he hang around for next year.
Eve- you would think is at the end of his career why go on again to finish at the bottom again.
Nolte- same boat.
Tate-Obviosly a very good player only a young bloke & could step into any team in Victoria, why would he hang around.
Cook- probably will only play if he had a coaching role.
Funston-why travel 2 1/2 hours to play in a team that can't win.
Sultan-Back to Adelaide.
McNoughton- wanted to go to Romsey at the start of the season wont be there next year.
Martin-Alcaide- same as Eve and Nolte.
Scerri-Back from the Bendigo Bombers he would just be thinking. Why...
Else- B&F only played round 1 but why play when you cant win a game.
Barker-Has struggled back at Woodend next year...
So If Kyneton keep going under Massina and maybe get a win against Flat next time they play them because thats the only one they look like winning. Whats going to be the motivation behind these blokes staying on for another year. If they can get some sort of Sniff of whats to come next year by bringing in a new face who can lead them on the field, that may just be enough to keep these guys at Kyneton otherwise they may as well forfeit the second half............................
footyhead18
24 Jun 2007, 22:03
Great call Greenman and stats back it up. Massina has been a very ordinary coach for a long time now and if it werent for the help of some big budgets he would never have achieved anything in football. He is out of touch with the game and his ego doesnt allow him to listen to others or adapt to new methods. His recruiting at Kyneton has been on a whole, disgraceful. For him to choose Sultan as the most sought after player from the National Championships last year demonstrates his inability to even recognise the type of player required to achieve in this league. For the sake of Kyneton they need to do to Nev what he has done to so many players over his career - burn him/ sack him/ move him on without hesitation. As he has often said to his players -'dont put your hand out if you dont deserve to be fed'!
HankBolger
24 Jun 2007, 22:05
Not next year he must step up straight away.
Im afraid to say it but if changes don't happen Kyneton wont have a team next year. Lets just say they keep going the way they are and maybe win one or two games for the rest of the year. Ive got the record in front of me and I will just go through some of the Key players that Kyneton have.
Reaper- is getting on why would he hang around for next year.
Eve- you would think is at the end of his career why go on again to finish at the bottom again.
Nolte- same boat.
Tate-Obviosly a very good player only a young bloke & could step into any team in Victoria, why would he hang around.
Cook- probably will only play if he had a coaching role.
Funston-why travel 2 1/2 hours to play in a team that can't win.
Sultan-Back to Adelaide.
McNoughton- wanted to go to Romsey at the start of the season wont be there next year.
Martin-Alcaide- same as Eve and Nolte.
Scerri-Back from the Bendigo Bombers he would just be thinking. Why...
Else- B&F only played round 1 but why play when you cant win a game.
Barker-Has struggled back at Woodend next year...
So If Kyneton keep going under Massina and maybe get a win against Flat next time they play them because thats the only one they look like winning. Whats going to be the motivation behind these blokes staying on for another year. If they can get some sort of Sniff of whats to come next year by bringing in a new face who can lead them on the field, that may just be enough to keep these guys at Kyneton otherwise they may as well forfeit the second half............................
They will all play next year. Not all of us leave when the going gets tough like you do. I bet you were one of those kids that were no good at footy but talked themselves up. They all have pride and will stcik it out next year.
HankBolger
24 Jun 2007, 22:10
Who will recover quicker Flat or Kyneton?
as i see it
24 Jun 2007, 23:16
They will all play next year. Not all of us leave when the going gets tough like you do. I bet you were one of those kids that were no good at footy but talked themselves up. They all have pride and will stcik it out next year.
it nice to think like that but probably only 3 or 4 of that 12 will stay mate.
GREENMAN
25 Jun 2007, 00:07
Ok lets all look at the facts about Kyneton and the likely guys who have the passion and respect to rebuild this club. Off field the club seems to be heading in the right direction, but strong clubs have strong leaders and for Kyneton to go ahead they must make a strong stance and sack Neville and appoint Cookie ASAP. Show the football world that Kyneton will no longer accept this type of performance again and that they are going to take a bold and strong stance.....out the coach and stop the rot.
Unfortunatly Nevilles poor record will make him unemployable in football, so be it.....we all finish up sometime.
Replacements........Cookie is an obvious choice..............Tony Kelly would be fantastic,local champion and business owner...........Maybe even Steven Oliver, Castlemaine to Kyneton isnt to far....... Matt Power (former Darley Coach) new blood who can recruit from Ballarat, or even Peter Walsh from Port Adelaide.
We supporters, sponsors and members of the club have had enough..........as John Kennedy would say........do something, dont do nothing, do something
b birmingham
25 Jun 2007, 07:56
In the words of Gretel Kileen.....Its time to go...........................Neville !
Neville would have plenty of votes to evict, zero to save!
His recent coaching record (over the last 6-7 years) makes it hard to understand why he has such a reputation, even calling him a coach is a major miss-use of the word!:eek:
Kings Army
25 Jun 2007, 09:39
Ok lets all look at the facts about Kyneton and the likely guys who have the passion and respect to rebuild this club. Off field the club seems to be heading in the right direction, but strong clubs have strong leaders and for Kyneton to go ahead they must make a strong stance and sack Neville and appoint Cookie ASAP. Show the football world that Kyneton will no longer accept this type of performance again and that they are going to take a bold and strong stance.....out the coach and stop the rot.
Unfortunatly Nevilles poor record will make him unemployable in football, so be it.....we all finish up sometime.
Replacements........Cookie is an obvious choice..............Tony Kelly would be fantastic,local champion and business owner...........Maybe even Steven Oliver, Castlemaine to Kyneton isnt to far....... Matt Power (former Darley Coach) new blood who can recruit from Ballarat, or even Peter Walsh from Port Adelaide.
We supporters, sponsors and members of the club have had enough..........as John Kennedy would say........do something, dont do nothing, do something
Welcome back GM. Matt will surly coach Sunbury when Mark steps aside at the end of this year.
monster mash
25 Jun 2007, 10:30
His recent coaching record (over the last 6-7 years) makes it hard to understand why he has such a reputation, even calling him a coach is a major miss-use of the word!:eek:
Righto you blokes, hope you have some fun on here over the last day or so.
Time to set a few things straight. I've been around footy for a long time, played at a lot of clubs (probably too many), and one thing is absolutely certain, coaches do not win games of football, they put in place ideals and structures to allow a team to win games but they cannot win games themselves (obviously unless they are a playing coach and can influence the game from on the ground- someone metioned Filo in a prevoius post).
Anyone who believes this in unfortunatley mistaken.
History probably paints the best picture, the two previous coaches at Kyneton, and correct me if I am wrong, didn't exactly have impressive win/loss records. It takes a hell of a long time to change patterns like this, footy is simply a game of habits, and when a club has been losing games for a long period of time, there are usually a lot of bad habits, under pressure you fall back to these bad habits.
Add this to a couple of years with injury problem and you have a disaster.
The post that mentioned the top 10 players are good and then depth falls away is valid, it's also why there are injury problems, the workload is not being shared enough.
Lastly, I don't know how many coaches put their hand in their own pocket to pay players, to find work for them, to help a player with their god damn rent.
It's easy to take pot shots from a far gentlemen.
zakster
25 Jun 2007, 12:46
has reaps moved into his new house being bilt by nifty nev mail is thats why he came back to kyn from gissie .... nifty's firm was going to built reaps house with a hefty discount ...... say 20 or 25 grand, maybe, on the overall price if that contract still stands reaps will have a year or 2 to go on the house contract
zakster
25 Jun 2007, 12:48
also on ur list as i see it u have left off prolly tiges best player .... brenty dryden .... and also big man leigh erwin ..... dryden came back to the shwgrnds after finishing training as a melb. city fireman
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
25 Jun 2007, 13:18
also on ur list as i see it u have left off prolly tiges best player .... brenty dryden .... and also big man leigh erwin ..... dryden came back to the shwgrnds after finishing training as a melb. city fireman
well Zak, he definately has some fires to put out at Tigerland... boom boom.
Kings Army
25 Jun 2007, 13:25
Time to set a few things straight. I've been around footy for a long time, played at a lot of clubs (probably too many), and one thing is absolutely certain, coaches do not win games of football, they put in place ideals and structures to allow a team to win games but they cannot win games themselves (obviously unless they are a playing coach and can influence the game from on the ground- someone metioned Filo in a prevoius post).
History probably paints the best picture, the two previous coaches at Kyneton, and correct me if I am wrong, didn't exactly have impressive win/loss records. It takes a hell of a long time to change patterns like this, footy is simply a game of habits, and when a club has been losing games for a long period of time, there are usually a lot of bad habits, under pressure you fall back to these bad habits.
The post that mentioned the top 10 players are good and then depth falls away is valid, it's also why there are injury problems, the workload is not being shared enough.
Lastly, I don't know how many coaches put their hand in their own pocket to pay players, to find work for them, to help a player with their god damn rent.
Gee I think your under selling the worth of a good coach. Many coaches have lost games because the other coach simply out coached them. There is no way North City should beat Kyneton. The coach must take some blame for inept performances. He has added nothing to Kyneton and now by the looks of it has lost his players. Just when I thought Kyneton had hit rock bottom they then start to to dig.
monster mash
25 Jun 2007, 13:51
Not at all, just making the point that, the last 3 coaches of the club have not been able to change or improve the way the club has performed, so to me it seems the coach isn't the sole problem. Nev may have some short comings, every coach does, but the blame connot be put at the feet of one person.
Having a go at his integrety and values seems a bit rough, especially from blokes who don't know him personally
woody07
25 Jun 2007, 13:55
Injuries are too easy to blame-poor recruiting is a more realistic argument. Structures and ideals- are we talking club culture ideals or playing on the ground ideals? If that is what the coach is being paid for, then i too agree that he is not up to it. The clubs morale and culture is in a sorry state and not improving (players would attest to that). A good coach has some responsibilty to developing men's character not just skills & game plans. The problem may be that Nev has purely concentrated on buying players and not on creating an atmosphere that encourages footballers to want to join this once mighty club. The club has had a core bunch of good players that with better recruiting would have and should have played better footy. The two previous coaches didn't have the finacial support that Nev has had, so lets not compare apples to oranges monster mash.
Let me remind you masher that this thread is set up to discuss all footy matters and this is our opportunity to vent anger at the state of club we know, hate or love. I agree he cant win games off his own boot but he could have made the club a more attractive place to play at, then put his ideals and structures into place, then recruited more sensibly, and then, just then he may have had a side competitve enough to work with-Injuries aside. Funny how clubs with the poorest records seem to have the most injuries. And successful clubs seem to have players get up for those important games-S*it there might be something in that.
Kings Army
25 Jun 2007, 13:56
Not at all, just making the point that, the last 3 coaches of the club have not been able to change or improve the way the club has performed, so to me it seems the coach isn't the sole problem. Nev may have some short comings, every coach does, but the blame connot be put at the feet of one person.
Having a go at his integrety and values seems a bit rough, especially from blokes who don't know him personally
Who had a go at his integrety and values - I think he has added no value to Kyneton. The stats do not lie. And they have been beaten by a team that has one 1 game in a year and a half. You cannot tell me the players still want to give 100% for him!
aussiemauler
25 Jun 2007, 15:49
Maybe it isnt the sole problem but it sure makes a big difference having a good coach, ever thought that the other 3 coachs must of been no good....
just because they played league footy doesnt mean they can coach!
monster mash
25 Jun 2007, 16:04
Maybe it isnt the sole problem but it sure makes a big difference having a good coach, ever thought that the other 3 coachs must of been no good....
just because they played league footy doesnt mean they can coach!
Got no idea if they were any good, had nothing to do with those guys, my point was simply that the same thing has being going on for a while, surely you cant blame the current bloke for problems that seem to have been there for a while.
aussiemauler
25 Jun 2007, 16:37
Got no idea if they were any good, had nothing to do with those guys, my point was simply that the same thing has being going on for a while, surely you cant blame the current bloke for problems that seem to have been there for a while.
i understand what your saying mash but the head coach is suppose to be the front of your club he has to take alot of the responsibility of what is going on down there... you are brought to the club as head coach to take care of these things not make them worse...
monster mash
25 Jun 2007, 17:44
i understand what your saying mash but the head coach is suppose to be the front of your club he has to take alot of the responsibility of what is going on down there... you are brought to the club as head coach to take care of these things not make them worse...
I don't know if you have ever coached or been part of a coaching panel, sometimes things aren't that simple. I know where you and Kings Army are coming from, but when clubs struggle for a long period of time there are a miriad of reasons for continued failure. It's easy to point the finger at one bloke, which is usually the coach. Unfortunatley it's easier to replace one coach than it is to replace the players. Everyone at the club has to take responsibilty. Clubs are not built around a single figure head.
Looks like we'll just have to agree to disagree
aussiemauler
25 Jun 2007, 17:55
I don't know if you have ever coached or been part of a coaching panel, sometimes things aren't that simple. I know where you and Kings Army are coming from, but when clubs struggle for a long period of time there are a miriad of reasons for continued failure. It's easy to point the finger at one bloke, which is usually the coach. Unfortunatley it's easier to replace one coach than it is to replace the players. Everyone at the club has to take responsibilty. Clubs are not built around a single figure head.
Looks like we'll just have to agree to disagree
point taken!
Captain Massive Sword
25 Jun 2007, 18:10
All this talk of sacking the Kyneton coach, I have been a great supporter of the club for many years and from what I can see the club just needs to recruit a few players that have a brain. You go and watch games week after week and all they want to do is fight, they look a bunch of meatheads! At times I feel ashamed to be part of the club..Things just need to change at Tigerland. Coach...players...attitude.
HankBolger
25 Jun 2007, 18:18
All this talk of sacking the Kyneton coach, I have been a great supporter of the club for many years and from what I can see the club just needs to recruit a few players that have a brain. You go and watch games week after week and all they want to do is fight, they look a bunch of meatheads! At times I feel ashamed to be part of the club..Things just need to change at Tigerland. Coach...players...attitude.
Dont be stupid everyone has a brain....
The future of the club is with the 2 Edmonds boys Josh and Ben.
The next Shane Muir and Derek Filo! Kyneton will bounce back and win this week! Anyone want to give me odds on this game?
Kyneton will hit back hard so watch out Sandhurst!
woody07
25 Jun 2007, 18:28
Dont be stupid everyone has a brain....
The future of the club is with the 2 Edmonds boys Josh and Ben.
The next Shane Muir and Derek Filo! Kyneton will bounce back and win this week! Anyone want to give me odds on this game?
Kyneton will hit back hard so watch out Sandhurst!
Odds....you lost credibility when you compared the Edmond boys to Shane Muir and Derek Filo. Better check their resume Hank and see what the Edmond boys (just players) have got ahead of them-Worst comment i've read on this website!!!!!! Please tell me you were joking.
HankBolger
25 Jun 2007, 18:35
Odds....you lost credibility when you compared the Edmond boys to Shane Muir and Derek Filo. Better check their resume Hank and see what the Edmond boys (just players) have got ahead of them-Worst comment i've read on this website!!!!!! Please tell me you were joking.
Just exagerated a bit. Soz bout that mate.
Ill tell you who could keep this club together would be Mark Scerri.
He is the best in and under player i have ever seen!
What about Nev and Cook for joint coach?
davis 24
25 Jun 2007, 18:38
Cmon hank Ben Edmonds played in the 2's this week and Joshy was on the interchange for alot of the game now you are comparing them to the like of Shane Muir and Derek Filo
HankBolger
25 Jun 2007, 18:53
Cmon hank Ben Edmonds played in the 2's this week and Joshy was on the interchange for alot of the game now you are comparing them to the like of Shane Muir and Derek Filo
I know there not as good as Muir and Filo. But will become very good players for the tigers. They will have to step up as leaders soon.
On another story Gareth Hall was telling me about the likes of Filo, Saunders, Zantuck, Hammer all leaving the Bendigo league next year? Is this true?
as i see it
25 Jun 2007, 19:21
Mate there main players are playing well Cook, Dryden, Scerri, Tate, Funston, are regulary the best players week in week out its just the next tier of players were they are dissapointing,they give the team nothing, they have no depth there are a lot of players that should be playing two's.
The one dissapointment is Guy Sultan, he has done nothing the bloke can obviously play to be in the Aboriginal All Stars but just maybe hasn't adapted to the style of play over here.
HankBolger
25 Jun 2007, 22:38
Mate there main players are playing well Cook, Dryden, Scerri, Tate, Funston, are regulary the best players week in week out its just the next tier of players were they are dissapointing,they give the team nothing, they have no depth there are a lot of players that should be playing two's.
The one dissapointment is Guy Sultan, he has done nothing the bloke can obviously play to be in the Aboriginal All Stars but just maybe hasn't adapted to the style of play over here.
I totally agree with this post. Kyneton have a good group of leaders and are playing good football. Guy Sultan will come good just needs the confidence, he is already showing signs that he has real talent.
Kyneton will win this week!
Whacker
25 Jun 2007, 23:39
Something must not be right bendigo way. Ballarats most hated club North City finally getting not 1 but 2 wins. Not just that but back to back. Gotta lift boys all we are hearing now is how good damn North City is and if they keep their list in a couple of years they will be winning flags.
woody07
26 Jun 2007, 00:16
i watched him against Gisborne, i'm sorry boys but he was disgraceful and i'm taking it easy on him. They asked their prize recruit to tag Fitzy and after Fitzy picked up 10 possys in the first 15 minutes he was moved to run with a player on the wing (cant remember who it was) and he didnt do any better. Most expensive tagger going around at the moment.$500 would have bought them 2-3 good RDFL playersto add to the next tier of players you mentioned were not doing the job. But it looks better for Nev to chase players from interstate with reputations. Gets the headlines but not what Kyneton needs.
themagicfrog
26 Jun 2007, 11:05
I know the Flat arn't doing to well but I'm after some info on some Berrigan boy's in Hickey and Hawker, just to see how they are going.
Trent the flight Steward
26 Jun 2007, 13:33
where to now for Kangaroo flat is there coach staying for next year or is going to do a runner, zantuck has already said he wont be back so was that a huge waste of maney
Old School Biff
26 Jun 2007, 14:30
He reminds me a bit of Sheedy. All hype and no delivery. The 1984, 85 and 2000 flags could have been won with Homer Simpson at the helm. I feel that way about Nev's teams that have been successful.
I had a year in the BFL in the 1990's and the money Nev was throwing around then was heaps by today's standards.
Captain Massive Sword
26 Jun 2007, 16:07
Flag odds as of today sportsbet.com.au
Bendigo Football League Premiership - Winner
Winner
Gisborne 2.15
Eaglehawk 2.50
Golden Square 5.00
South Bendigo 7.00
Sandhurst 10.00
Castlemaine 34.00
North Ballarat 34.00
Kyneton 67.00
Maryborough 101.00
Kangaroo Flat 401.00
All In Betting
Sockit151
26 Jun 2007, 17:07
Flag odds as of today sportsbet.com.au
Bendigo Football League Premiership - Winner
Winner
Gisborne 2.15
Eaglehawk 2.50
Golden Square 5.00
South Bendigo 7.00
Sandhurst 10.00
Castlemaine 34.00
North Ballarat 34.00
Kyneton 67.00
Maryborough 101.00
Kangaroo Flat 401.00
All In Betting
Jeez there generous..
$34 for North City:thumbsd:
matt_nicholls
26 Jun 2007, 17:17
My market:
Gisborne $1.90
Eaglehawk $3.40
Golden Square $7.50
South Bendigo $7.50
Sandhurst $25
Castlemaine $1001
North Ballarat $1001
Maryborough $1001
Kyneton $5001
Kangaroo Flat $9001
davis 24
26 Jun 2007, 17:30
What has changed about Kyneton from last year ,they had no where near as good as a list of players as this year, had the same coach yet ended up with 5 wins
Xterminator
26 Jun 2007, 17:43
The sword has spoken....... I totally agree with you there CMS, i was at the game on Saturday and saw most Kyneton players not even going for the ball at contests, there is a difference between a tough footballer and a dumb one and Kyneton have got too may dumb ones. Maybe if they kept their eye on the footy and were strong at the ball they may have gone a bit better. Full credit to North City tho who dominated the game with 15 more scoring shots, they had alot of the fooy. God knows if City had have kicked straight it would have been a shamozzel.
If i was you sword i would be taking my Massive Sword and cumming to another club!
Xterminator
26 Jun 2007, 17:48
Guy Sultan in the Aboriginal All Stars.. What the??? :confused: Watching the game on Sat, he couldn't kick over a jam tin, tried to take on too many players a few time and got holding the ball. Didn't look like an all star to me and got comprehensively beaten by 19 year old kids.
Xterminator
26 Jun 2007, 17:53
kyneton will beat north by 100 points this week.
William William William.. Obviously a Kyneton supporter! Oh how wrong you were. :p
Xterminator
26 Jun 2007, 17:59
My market:
Gisborne $1.90
Eaglehawk $3.40
Golden Square $7.50
South Bendigo $7.50
Sandhurst $25
Castlemaine $1001
North Ballarat $1001
Kyneton $5001
Kangaroo Flat $9001
Matt i like your odds better than sportabet! North, Kyneton, Flat, Maine all deserve to be $1000 +. Sports bet having North at $34.00 :thumbsd:
Gisborne is still my pick of the bunch tho. But still to early to make a call i think, a few injury's to a team before the finals could mean trouble. Sandhurst look to have a great run home with Maryborough, flat and Kyneton in the last 3.... Would they consider resting a few players to get them fresh for finals???
zakster
26 Jun 2007, 21:04
mattie nicholds and terminatr --- its a 10 club comp boys
how come u never picked up maryboro didnt get a mention in matties markets, termie :eek:
see the latest post above mine -- is than an offence under bigfootie rules to use an actual players name as a log-on name
mobbie mein fuhrer were r u when we need u :confused:
matt_nicholls
26 Jun 2007, 21:16
mattie nicholds and terminatr --- its a 10 club comp boys
how come u never picked up maryboro didnt get a mention in matties markets, termie :eek:
see the latest post above mine -- is than an offence under bigfootie rules to use an actual players name as a log-on name
mobbie mein fuhrer were r u when we need u :confused:
Sorry Zakster. I put Maryborough in. $1001.
HankBolger
26 Jun 2007, 23:38
Hey Pickles wats happenin mate? How would you know anything about the bendigo footy league? I Love Matt Nicholls!
matt_nicholls
26 Jun 2007, 23:44
Hey Pickles wats happenin mate? How would you know anything about the bendigo footy league? Whoever made a name Ty Zantuck thats an invasion of privacy and should be reported very dissapointing to see that kind of stuff, GROW UP! Haha but what is funny Ty's footy career is in the gutter! I Love Matt Nicholls!
I know about the BFL mate. Reported on it for a full season. Plus I read the Bendigo Addy and a couple of other papers that have reports.
Don't know many of the players these days but I know Kyneton is a rabble.
You only have to look at the results, past history and fixture to work out premiership odds. A little kid could work them out.
matt_nicholls
27 Jun 2007, 11:26
Haha. Ask the goat if he gets to every match. And by the sounds of it you don't ever read The Free Press, it is still a fantastic tabloid.
Journo's will never get to every game, it is impossible. Some, like me, opt to travel to a few in a day, to get a vibe for the atmosphere etc and speak to some of the fans and get their outlooks. Others will watch one game for the day and write an in-depth report and just a couple of lines about the others. Each Sunday/Monday I write in-depth reports on Romsey, Lancefield, Kilmore, Wallan and Broadford's matches. I speak to the coaches, the presidents, some spectators and club officials. A good journo will always have reliable people to get information off.
All I did was give better odds than Sportsbet, unless you were willing to back Gisborne.
Truth Hurts
27 Jun 2007, 14:54
Fair go fellas... he's a 24 year old bloke.
He's copped his fair share. Move on.
pentium1111
27 Jun 2007, 15:50
The sword has spoken....... I totally agree with you there CMS, i was at the game on Saturday and saw most Kyneton players not even going for the ball at contests, there is a difference between a tough footballer and a dumb one and Kyneton have got too may dumb ones. Maybe if they kept their eye on the footy and were strong at the ball they may have gone a bit better. Full credit to North City tho who dominated the game with 15 more scoring shots, they had alot of the fooy. God knows if City had have kicked straight it would have been a shamozzel.
If i was you sword i would be taking my Massive Sword and cumming to another club!
Looks like you had a pretty good look at the game xterminator. Are there any positives, seriously, at all coming out of the tigers. Someone mentioned their top 5 players were they servicable or is the team struggling from top to bottom.
Anyone else out there got any ideas on what it would take to see the tigers re-emerge as a good quality side.
Xterminator
27 Jun 2007, 17:27
Looks like you had a pretty good look at the game xterminator. Are there any positives, seriously, at all coming out of the tigers. Someone mentioned their top 5 players were they servicable or is the team struggling from top to bottom.
Anyone else out there got any ideas on what it would take to see the tigers re-emerge as a good quality side.
Yeah did have a good look at the game... and the top 5 were serviceable but then it just fell away! After the top 5 i dont think any player from the side i saw would get a game at any other team in the BFL (maybe the Flat.... hang on who am i kidding most would in the flat but no other team), They have got no up and coming 18,19,20 year olds. You would have to suggest Reaps and Eve are on there last legs, both played well on sat Eve dominated all over the ground and so he should with his AFL experience. Tate and cook look to be the glamor boys of the team and kyenton will have to work hard to keep them their next year.. Not sure if they have signed 2 year contracts. All this talk about this Sultan on $500 a game, and Reaps getting discount off his house... If Nev was throwing around so much money then why can't Kyenton attract quality young players to the club, not sure who is on the recruiting board but geee they must be doing a lousy job! $500 waisted on that Sultan could have went to 2 young blokes.
If Kyenton are to re-emerge as a quality side i think their recruiting needs to start now, and they need to build a foundation so that the club looks attractive for Eve and Reaps to go around for another year.
davis 24
27 Jun 2007, 18:02
Yeah did have a good look at the game... and the top 5 were serviceable but then it just fell away! After the top 5 i dont think any player from the side i saw would get a game at any other team in the BFL (maybe the Flat.... hang on who am i kidding most would in the flat but no other team), They have got no up and coming 18,19,20 year olds. You would have to suggest Reaps and Eve are on there last legs, both played well on sat Eve dominated all over the ground and so he should with his AFL experience. Tate and cook look to be the glamor boys of the team and kyenton will have to work hard to keep them their next year.. Not sure if they have signed 2 year contracts. All this talk about this Sultan on $500 a game, and Reaps getting discount off his house... If Nev was throwing around so much money then why can't Kyenton attract quality young players to the club, not sure who is on the recruiting board but geee they must be doing a lousy job! $500 waisted on that Sultan could have went to 2 young blokes.
If Kyenton are to re-emerge as a quality side i think their recruiting needs to start now, and they need to build a foundation so that the club looks attractive for Eve and Reaps to go around for another year.
Are you sure you dont mean it was Cook that dominated all over the ground. i dont think eve dominated all over the ground, it would have been cook that dominted over the ground and has had afl experience not eve
davis 24
27 Jun 2007, 18:09
Kyneton need to make it a club that is attractive to the younger players, it needs to be a club that the younger kids that are going to being playing pioneers etc want to come back to, and play once they have finished with pios
Xterminator
27 Jun 2007, 18:24
Are you sure you dont mean it was Cook that dominated all over the ground. i dont think eve dominated all over the ground, it would have been cook that dominted over the ground and has had afl experience not eve
Yes Yes i did mean Cook, don't know how i confused him with Eve... Eve played in the forward line and struggled all day.
pentium1111
27 Jun 2007, 20:31
Kyneton need to make it a club that is attractive to the younger players, it needs to be a club that the younger kids that are going to being playing pioneers etc want to come back to, and play once they have finished with pios
Its a good statement you make there. I think along with the club making an effort to look after these young blokes, the attitude needs to change amongst that age demographic. I reckon 5 years ago all any 17, 18, 19, 20 year old wanted to do was play senior footy, mix with the experienced blokes, have a drink after the game and pretty much spend a big chunk of your time with your team mates for the 4 or 5 months you play footy. It appears that is not the case at the moment and hopefully it can change. People have stated that there are a good young batch coming through, it would be good to see those young blokes set themselves to rebuild the club to its former glory.
fevs boys
27 Jun 2007, 22:18
Big game this weekend.. Gissy Vs Eagalhawk. both unbeaten at this stage but gissy with a massive % advantage. my tip would have to go to gissy. any1 disagree?
Xterminator
28 Jun 2007, 14:23
Big game this weekend.. Gissy Vs Eagalhawk. both unbeaten at this stage but gissy with a massive % advantage. my tip would have to go to gissy. any1 disagree?
What a massive game! Match of the year so far, hopefully i can get down to this one. I like Gissy by 30 points! :D
bearsboy
28 Jun 2007, 14:23
Big game this weekend.. Gissy Vs Eagalhawk. both unbeaten at this stage but gissy with a massive % advantage. my tip would have to go to gissy. any1 disagree?I cant disagree mate, Gisborne looking the goods at this stage. The first 15-20 minutes of the game last week against Square was Gisborne at their best, as good a footy as ive seen them play i reckon, 10 goals to 1 at half time against quality opposition. Square to me, just dont stack up in the hardness stakes.
I reckon this weeks game will be more of a test for Gisborne, Eaglehawk have some harder nuts than Square but i reckon the key is getting on top of the Burra's very handy forward line. Brown, Gretgrix and co in great form at the moment.
Captain Massive Sword
28 Jun 2007, 17:14
What a massive game! Match of the year so far, hopefully i can get down to this one. I like Gissy by 30 points! :D
I agree X Gissie by 24pts for me here are my tips for round 9.
Home TeamvAway TeamLocation Result Kangaroo Flat vMaryborough Dower Park - Kangaroo Flat M/B 95 pts Kyneton vSandhurst Kyneton Showgrounds S/H 75 pts North Ballarat City vSouth Bendigo Austar Arena - North Ballarat N/C 15 pts Golden Square vCastlemaine Country Vet Oval - Golden Square G/S 58 pts Eaglehawk vGisborne Canterbury Oval - Eaglehawk
:eek: Thats right North City in an upset.
thirsty
28 Jun 2007, 17:36
I agree X Gissie by 24pts for me here are my tips for round 9.
Home TeamvAway TeamLocation Result Kangaroo Flat vMaryborough Dower Park - Kangaroo Flat M/B 95 pts Kyneton vSandhurst Kyneton Showgrounds S/H 75 pts North Ballarat City vSouth Bendigo Austar Arena - North Ballarat N/C 15 pts Golden Square vCastlemaine Country Vet Oval - Golden Square G/S 58 pts Eaglehawk vGisborne Canterbury Oval - Eaglehawk
:eek: Thats right North City in an upset.
I'm pretty sure North City and South are playing at Princes Park, Maryborough this weekend. Don't get too carried away with their two wins. They were against the two bottom sides.
Old School Biff
28 Jun 2007, 17:42
I'm pretty sure North City and South are playing at Princes Park, Maryborough this weekend. Don't get too carried away with their two wins. They were against the two bottom sides.
There are a few around Ballarat that are getting carried away. Good on them for getting a few wins but South should burst that little bubble.
There is a good chance they will finish better than Maryborough and seventh place would be a good result for a team most thought wouldn't register a win for the year.
Xterminator
28 Jun 2007, 18:12
There are a few around Ballarat that are getting carried away. Good on them for getting a few wins but South should burst that little bubble.
There is a good chance they will finish better than Maryborough and seventh place would be a good result for a team most thought wouldn't register a win for the year.
Interesting to note... South only beat Kyenton by 21 points and North beat them by 25 and had a lot more scoring shots. Not sure if south had a full strength team when they played Kyenton, but the stats say this should be a great game.
Go Cohuna
28 Jun 2007, 21:56
Yes Yes i did mean Cook, don't know how i confused him with Eve... Eve played in the forward line and struggled all day.
Ryan Givney from Kyenton is on his way to Leitchville Gunbower....how does he go as a player??
davis 24
28 Jun 2007, 22:01
There could be a few upsets this week if the rain pelts down like it is suspected on saturday. North City will give south a real run for there money and , I think kyneton could get alot closer if the showgrounds is wet and muddy
Dr.Phil
28 Jun 2007, 22:18
There is no way north could beat south whereever it is played. I watched the game between maryborough and north, and mb made them look terrible and i am not saying maryborough is a great side, but give them a couple of years. South by ten goals at least they smashed mb and should not have any problems against north. Just an opinion, but would be very supprised if north got close.
Go Cohuna
28 Jun 2007, 22:19
There could be a few upsets this week if the rain pelts down like it is suspected on saturday. North City will give south a real run for there money and , I think kyneton could get alot closer if the showgrounds is wet and muddy
So did he play on key forwards at kyenton?? or just out of a back pocket?
davis 24
28 Jun 2007, 22:21
So did he play on key forwards at kyenton?? or just out of a back pocket?
he played as the second ruckman
Go Cohuna
28 Jun 2007, 22:32
he played as the second ruckman Ok thanx for that one more thing how old is he and is he worth money?
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
29 Jun 2007, 10:46
Tips for this week:
E/hawk v Gis - As much as I hate (but still respect) these two sides equally, I would like to see the Hawks win to break the mundane
K/Flat v Mary - MaryB to win a close one
Kyn v Sandhurst - Dragons by 40points.. I'd say 100+ but it's expected to be wet
North v South - South by 30points... hit some form, but still not convinced
Golden Square v C/maine - Square by 60 points
Up The Calder
29 Jun 2007, 13:46
Ok thanx for that one more thing how old is he and is he worth money?
Pay him for each kick he gets and you will save your money.
He is a dud.
thirsty
29 Jun 2007, 15:02
Maryborough beat them by 20 goals the other day. M/B play Kangaroo Flat and Kyneton over the next two weeks so they may be well ahead of North soon.
nesko_25
29 Jun 2007, 15:35
There is no way north could beat south whereever it is played. I watched the game between maryborough and north, and mb made them look terrible and i am not saying maryborough is a great side, but give them a couple of years. South by ten goals at least they smashed mb and should not have any problems against north. Just an opinion, but would be very supprised if north got close.
Tips for this week:
E/hawk v Gis - As much as I hate (but still respect) these two sides equally, I would like to see the Hawks win to break the mundane
Kyn v Sandhurst - Dragons by 40points.. I'd say 100+ but it's expected to be wet
????
davis 24
29 Jun 2007, 16:14
Pay him for each kick he gets and you will save your money.
He is a dud.
Cmon mate thats a bit harsh on the kid, he's not worth big money but he can still play
Xterminator
29 Jun 2007, 16:50
X's Tips for this week:
E/hawk v Gis - If this was at the gravy yard i would have said Gisbourne all the way! Gonna be a tough one and a bit of rain.... Gissy by 9 points
K/Flat v Mary - MaryB by a mile even in the wet... 50+
Kyn v Sandhurst - Sandhurst by 80 points
North v South - Gonna be a tough one for South in the wet, North have got some all important confidence, if this one was at the QEO i would have said South... But im gonna say it.. North by 8 points
Golden Square v C/maine - Square by 50 points
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
30 Jun 2007, 10:58
????
What don't you get Nesko? The X man has picked North to win today, so I'm not the only one with doubts over the Bloods. Hit and miss this year. Good list, but a team of well paid champions doesn't make a champion team... just like Golden Square:p
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
30 Jun 2007, 11:18
Speaking of South - forgive me for taking the level of dribble up a notch, but embelish me a little...
does anyone on this thread know if South are keen to move to Strathfieldsaye? Whoever goes there will succeed - $2 million development backed by local and state govt, senior oval, junior oval, 3 netball courts, talk of a swimming pool and gym being put in, 5000 residents as potential members, one of the largest junior lists going around...
sculls_6
30 Jun 2007, 17:31
north city went down to south by 9 points today... to put the sides improvement in perspective the clubs first ever game was against sth, which resulted in a 140 point loss
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
30 Jun 2007, 18:12
Tips for this week:
Eaglehawk won by 13 points in an entertaining game. Well worth the gate fee
Maryb won in a close one. Flat had their chances but blew it.
Dragons won by 40 odd I'm told
SOUTH ONLY BEAT NORTH CITY by 9 points - (How do you like them apples NESKO 25??? Think I was full of it now?? - I stand by my comment posted this morning!)
Square only won by 14 points (I drove from Canterbury Park and caught the last Qtr and Castlemaine were running over the top of them, got within 2 points with 10 min to go, then started arguing with the umpire as always. Castlemaine made Square look VERY VERY slow.
the_pill
1 Jul 2007, 20:41
anyone know if shawn filos clearance went through to eaglehawk?
HankBolger
1 Jul 2007, 21:45
Yep came through late yesterday.
wasnt he coaching balranald?????
the_pill
1 Jul 2007, 22:26
Yeah he was, no idea what happened there though. Handy pick up for eaglehawk. Im sure he will do well in the league, even if he doesent his leadership skills and knowledge will be of great benefit.
the_pill
1 Jul 2007, 22:27
Yeah he was, no idea what happened there though. Handy pick up for eaglehawk. Im sure he will do well in the league, even if he doesent play overly well his leadership skills and knowledge will be of great benefit.
Xterminator
2 Jul 2007, 10:11
Eaglehawk won by 13 points in an entertaining game. Well worth the gate fee
Maryb won in a close one. Flat had their chances but blew it.
Dragons won by 40 odd I'm told
SOUTH ONLY BEAT NORTH CITY by 9 points - (How do you like them apples NESKO 25??? Think I was full of it now?? - I stand by my comment posted this morning!)
Square only won by 14 points (I drove from Canterbury Park and caught the last Qtr and Castlemaine were running over the top of them, got within 2 points with 10 min to go, then started arguing with the umpire as always. Castlemaine made Square look VERY VERY slow.
What a big weekend in BFL, best round so far this season!
I had the pleasure of watching Eaglehawk tame the Champs. Was worth the gate fee... spot on their Dr K! D.Brown was un-stoppable, and Matty Gretgrix continued his great form! Right from the start Eaglehawk made Gisborne look very sluggish and jumped them in the first quarter! Will be Interesting to see the betting now for the Flag.. Eaglehawk would have to be firm favorites.
Dr K.... We nearly had it mate!! North were oh so close.... By all reports from my spy's down in the rat North had every opportunity to win this game. North were leading by 2 points at the 18 minute mark of the last quarter, and had 3 shots on goal all gettable one from 15 meters out, but they failed to convert. South kicked 2 quick ones and came away with the game.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
2 Jul 2007, 11:49
Dr K.... We nearly had it mate!! North were oh so close.... By all reports from my spy's down in the rat North had every opportunity to win this game. North were leading by 2 points at the 18 minute mark of the last quarter, and had 3 shots on goal all gettable one from 15 meters out, but they failed to convert. South kicked 2 quick ones and came away with the game.[/quote]
Yep, X man - amazing what some confidence will do. North still have a long way to go, but at least they're more competitive now. Word has it they will attract some good Ballarat FL players (ie. ex-Northies) next year.
max powers.
2 Jul 2007, 13:42
Are you Serious??
Been a gun but his day is past, will get found out on the QEO FINALS TIME maybe?This is no disrespect to shawn cos as i've said been a top player.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
2 Jul 2007, 16:48
Are you Serious??
Been a gun but his day is past, will get found out on the QEO FINALS TIME maybe?This is no disrespect to shawn cos as i've said been a top player.
Max P - As a Square supporter (and to anyone else who wants to comment), what's you view on your boys at the moment? I saw the last qtr on Saturday. Square boys were very quiet. I heard your assistant coaches yell from the boundary 3 or 4 times to lift their heads and get some talk going.
It was eerily quiet, small crowd and not much noise from the players. do you think the cold (or possibly the showdown at Canterbury Park) kept the crowd away?
Are you Serious??
Having played against Shawn over the past few years i can tell you that he will be a massive inclusion especially come finals time. He is bloke that gets better when the pressure is on. Goodluck to him and Derek. Could this be an indication that both boys may bow out together at seasons end. Would be a fairytale finish if they can pull of the flag
bearsboy
2 Jul 2007, 19:44
Having played against Shawn over the past few years i can tell you that he will be a massive inclusion especially come finals time. He is bloke that gets better when the pressure is on. Goodluck to him and Derek. Could this be an indication that both boys may bow out together at seasons end. Would be a fairytale finish if they can pull of the flag
Whats the go with a playing coach walking out on his club half way through the year ?
From the limited info i have apparently there is a fair bit of crap going on up there and shawn is at a point in his career where he doesn't need to put up with. Balranald is the type of joint where the coach does not necessarily have total control over the side ie selections and the like.
As i said don't know too much about it though
Dr Chopper
2 Jul 2007, 20:26
north city went down to south by 9 points today... to put the sides improvement in perspective the clubs first ever game was against sth, which resulted in a 140 point loss
Your right there sculls there has been a massive improvement at north city since the beginning of last year they also lost to south by 11 goals midway through last year. I was at the north vs south game on the weekend and like most expecting south to have a pretty easy win... how wrong i was after south jumped north early and got out to a 5 goal lead midway through the second north came charging back with the next 5 to be leading at half time. When north kicked the 1st of the last it looked as though the fairytail finish might happen but only through their own missed opportunities, south were able to get a lucky escape.
Looking forward to seeing how they go this week against square intresting to note south beat square by 6 goals only a couple of weeks ago
Uncle Chop Chop
fifth quarter
2 Jul 2007, 21:31
s. filo clearance application pulled at 11th hour
shawn will remain a registered balranald player
bearsboy
2 Jul 2007, 21:33
shawn will remain a registered balranald playerAny more info ? Whats going on here ?
shawn will remain a registered balranald player
Was mentioned on the local news this evening in bendigo that he will remain on at Balranald to coach out the rest of the year.
Cecil Macontosh
2 Jul 2007, 22:08
Your right there sculls there has been a massive improvement at north city since the beginning of last year they also lost to south by 11 goals midway through last year. I was at the north vs south game on the weekend and like most expecting south to have a pretty easy win... how wrong i was after south jumped north early and got out to a 5 goal lead midway through the second north came charging back with the next 5 to be leading at half time. When north kicked the 1st of the last it looked as though the fairytail finish might happen but only through their own missed opportunities, south were able to get a lucky escape.
Looking forward to seeing how they go this week against square intresting to note south beat square by 6 goals only a couple of weeks ago
Uncle Chop Chop
I agree uncle chopper, North City huge improvers- It will be interesting to see what happens in the North City Vs Golden Square match but either way I don't really think it matters. The North City boys seem to be improving game by game and I think they will be a force to be reckoned with in the near future, who knows they may even play finals football next year. Keep going boys:thumbsu:
Junky Bish
2 Jul 2007, 22:18
Was mentioned on the local news this evening in bendigo that he will remain on at Balranald to coach out the rest of the year.
Strange strange move for him to sign up at this stage while coaching a side sitting on top of the ladder set to have some impact on his players mind set if he stay you'd reckon.
tassie2heads
2 Jul 2007, 22:42
i see that the flat have picked up nick renshaw and joshua shitwal from inglewood . are they any good or just more duds for the flat ?
Dr Chopper
2 Jul 2007, 23:15
Eaglehawk is the new BFL premiership favourite
Winner
Eaglehawk 2.25
Gisborne 2.50
Golden Square 4.50
South Bendigo 6.00
Sandhurst 9.00
Castlemaine 41.00
North Ballarat 67.00
Maryborough 67.00