View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

max powers.
3 Jul 2007, 10:25
Max P - As a Square supporter (and to anyone else who wants to comment), what's you view on your boys at the moment? I saw the last qtr on Saturday. Square boys were very quiet. I heard your assistant coaches yell from the boundary 3 or 4 times to lift their heads and get some talk going.

It was eerily quiet, small crowd and not much noise from the players. do you think the cold (or possibly the showdown at Canterbury Park) kept the crowd away?

Not too sure Doc to be honest??
Currently got alot of good players really down at the moment, but just need to string some wins together. Confidence is a big thing with this side. If they can somehow turn this around then they well be around the mark come september....still a couple to slot in aswell.

Catter
3 Jul 2007, 13:52
Was mentioned on the local news this evening in bendigo that he will remain on at Balranald to coach out the rest of the year.
Filo put it in to put the wind up both the president and the wood chopper to pull their heads out of their arse. He has been rumoured to have said that Balranald have 2 weeks to get things right all he will be out. His wife is crook as well apparantly.

clifton's lookalike
3 Jul 2007, 13:58
Filo put it in to put the wind up both the president and the wood chopper to pull their heads out of their arse. He has been rumoured to have said that Balranald have 2 weeks to get things right all he will be out. His wife is crook as well apparantly.

obviously they don't respect him and the way he goes about things if he needs to put a clearance in to get them to pull their heads in. if you recruited shawn as coach wouldn't you trust his judgement as he is the on field leader not the blokes who put in the money etc

The Wombat
3 Jul 2007, 13:59
i see that the flat have picked up nick renshaw and joshua shitwal from inglewood . are they any good or just more duds for the flat ?
Josh Shatwell son of Flat Legend, is potentially a good Player. Nick Renshaw young only ever been modest bush footballer, could be Handy.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
3 Jul 2007, 14:35
Josh Shatwell son of Flat Legend, is potentially a good Player. Nick Renshaw young only ever been modest bush footballer, could be Handy.

In other words, they'll make up numbers in the magoos

tassie2heads
3 Jul 2007, 15:02
In other words, they'll make up numbers in the magoos
nick renshaw is good mates with jarrod lorring could the flat get lorring next year ?

big omar
3 Jul 2007, 15:27
s. filo clearance application pulled at 11th hour
shawn will remain a registered balranald player

Filos app not pulled just rejected as you would expect. 2 wks to progress with it. i beleive?</p>

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
3 Jul 2007, 15:37
nick renshaw is good mates with jarrod lorring could the flat get lorring next year ?

If Jarrod lost the 15 kgs he has stacked on over the last 12 months, he would be a gun in the Bendigo FL... I've seen him play. Long pentrating kick, uses both sides of the body. Bit of a w*nker as a bloke, but can play footy that's for sure. :cool:

If you have to get 2 ordinary players to attract him to the club, it would be worth Flat's while.

Doona2
3 Jul 2007, 15:40

Im a bit lost here, whats the woodchopper u refer to got to do with all this? Does the coach not have full control of things up there or have I missed something?

Catter
3 Jul 2007, 15:48
Im a bit lost here, whats the woodchopper u refer to got to do with all this? Does the coach not have full control of things up there or have I missed something?

Jock Cambell. Tips in a fair bit of money into the club

The Wombat
3 Jul 2007, 16:37
If Jarrod lost the 15 kgs he has stacked on over the last 12 months, he would be a gun in the Bendigo FL... I've seen him play. Long pentrating kick, uses both sides of the body. Bit of a w*nker as a bloke, but can play footy that's for sure. :cool:

If you have to get 2 ordinary players to attract him to the club, it would be worth Flat's while.
Wanker factor is extremely high.

tassie2heads
3 Jul 2007, 21:35

he would take a few more crap players with him . matt gunn , korn , leigh byrne , jamie olver and who ever he could get from ycw !

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
3 Jul 2007, 21:50
Speaking of South - forgive me for taking the level of dribble up a notch, but embelish me a little...

does anyone on this thread know if South are keen to move to Strathfieldsaye? Whoever goes there will succeed - $2 million development backed by local and state govt, senior oval, junior oval, 3 netball courts, talk of a swimming pool and gym being put in, 5000 residents as potential members, one of the largest junior lists going around...

Are there any South supporters out there or not? :confused:

Norfolk & Clew
4 Jul 2007, 13:12

Not ones that can use computers

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
4 Jul 2007, 17:19
Not ones that can use computers

Speaking of being incapacitated, a loss must render Gisborne supporters useless, as none of them have bothered to post anything this week :D

Norfolk - you can throw Eaglehawk supporters into the same I.T. class as the Bloods supporters...

Norfolk & Clew
4 Jul 2007, 18:00
Speaking of being incapacitated, a loss must render Gisborne supporters useless, as none of them have bothered to post anything this week :D

Norfolk - you can throw Eaglehawk supporters into the same I.T. class as the Bloods supporters...

But bloods are worse because some of them may have computers, i doubt any eaglehawk people would!

the gloved 1
4 Jul 2007, 18:20
Anyone confirm or deny s filo was seen at eaglehawk trainind session Tuesday night?

hpvectra
4 Jul 2007, 19:16
Anyone confirm or deny s filo was seen at eaglehawk trainind session Tuesday night?
was there apparently but did not train

Xterminator
4 Jul 2007, 20:47
was there apparently but did not train

Sounds like massive games being played between Shawn Filo and Balranald. I wouldn't like to be at the club at the moment. A coach submitting a clearance at this stage, trying to intimidate JOCK who clearly runs the show down their throwing his money around! Filo doesn't like it and wants to put a stop to it, ultimately trying to intimidate Jock will not work, he runs the club and the club cant afford to lose him! which is bulls**t :thumbsd:! Balranald will let filo go because Jock will never lie down, with his $$$ they will be able to attract a new coach easy..... Also with the players they have at the moment the assistant could take over and still win a flag.

Leo's mate
4 Jul 2007, 21:11
Just checking Glove? no trust hey.

Junky Bish
4 Jul 2007, 23:34

The papers have said that Sandhurst and South are both considering the move. My mail is that working party from Strathfieldsaye's end are pretty keen to go it alone and play in the Heathcote league so thats why they have put in the strong guideline for anyone to join them. Such as Strathfieldsaye must come first in the name and all trainings and games must be played out there so that makes it an extremely tough situation for both those clubs to leave virtually all there history behind.

Just on Shaun Filo how could he come out now saying about the travel to Balranald thats pure crap he would have known the committment he was making travelling wise to take the coaching job in the first place so that is a pure excuse. If he wants to leave he should just come out and say he wants to play with brother

ROOTA#6
5 Jul 2007, 00:15
The papers have said that Sandhurst and South are both considering the move. My mail is that working party from Strathfieldsaye's end are pretty keen to go it alone and play in the Heathcote league so thats why they have put in the strong guideline for anyone to join them. Such as Strathfieldsaye must come first in the name and all trainings and games must be played out there so that makes it an extremely tough situation for both those clubs to leave virtually all there history behind.

Just on Shaun Filo how could he come out now saying about the travel to Balranald thats pure crap he would have known the committment he was making travelling wise to take the coaching job in the first place so that is a pure excuse. If he wants to leave he should just come out and say he wants to play with brother

Junky, i know Shawn and his family quite well and i know that travel and being away from his family was always in the back of their minds when he took the job. I believe that things have changed slightly both in a business and a footy club stance. Shawn is a great man and if he has decided to leave Balranald then thee must be a huge reason for it. We all must rememer that family and life after football are so bloody important. Goodluck to him and if he decides to play with Derek and his clearance is granted i think it would be a fantastic story for them as a family and for the BFL in general. Goodluck Shawn :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

thatswhatimtalkinabout
5 Jul 2007, 01:52
Sounds like massive games being played between Shawn Filo and Balranald. I wouldn't like to be at the club at the moment. A coach submitting a clearance at this stage, trying to intimidate JOCK who clearly runs the show down their throwing his money around! Filo doesn't like it and wants to put a stop to it, ultimately trying to intimidate Jock will not work, he runs the club and the club cant afford to lose him! which is bulls**t :thumbsd:! Balranald will let filo go because Jock will never lie down, with his $$$ they will be able to attract a new coach easy..... Also with the players they have at the moment the assistant could take over and still win a flag.

Well they should just grant the clearance and let it go if that is the case. I know Shawn and he is not the type of bloke to be playing games. If he wants to leave because of some bloke who thinks he owns the club - well that is what I'd expect, you might buy the bloke's services, but you will never buy his soul.

That is aside from business and family issues.

Better to walk away with your dignity intact and let Shawn play out his career with his brother in a different league than face the prospect of never being able to get another decent recruit again I say.

Norfolk & Clew
5 Jul 2007, 11:38

Who ever does decide to relocate out to Strathfieldsaye will become a powerhouse of whatever league they represent. It won't happen straight away, but Strath is a sporting community and i reckon they'd really get behind the club.

the gloved 1
5 Jul 2007, 15:01
Just checking Glove? no trust hey.

yes Leo just checking, don't know you so how could i trust you?

the gloved 1
5 Jul 2007, 15:03
Junky, i know Shawn and his family quite well and i know that travel and being away from his family was always in the back of their minds when he took the job. I believe that things have changed slightly both in a business and a footy club stance. Shawn is a great man and if he has decided to leave Balranald then thee must be a huge reason for it. We all must rememer that family and life after football are so bloody important. Goodluck to him and if he decides to play with Derek and his clearance is granted i think it would be a fantastic story for them as a family and for the BFL in general. Goodluck Shawn :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Roota if you say you know the family quite well could you answer this question.

Is it true that shawns wife is extremely ill and will need to spend considerable time in Bendigo for treatment hence making his decision to leave easier?

Doona2
5 Jul 2007, 17:20
Roota if you say you know the family quite well could you answer this question.

Is it true that shawns wife is extremely ill and will need to spend considerable time in Bendigo for treatment hence making his decision to leave easier?

Dont think we need to go there with personal stuff on this forum.

As a club Balranald seems happy to be dictated to by the number 1 sponsor, has this gone on for a long time, and what will happen if this fella pulls out of the club? If the coach aint got 100% control of the playing side of things then its a truly commendable decision walking away for what you believe in I reckon :thumbsu: I read somewhere that the late recruitment of Jase Dennis was the final straw, I hope that wasn't the reason?

the gloved 1
5 Jul 2007, 17:47
Dont think we need to go there with personal stuff on this forum.

As a club Balranald seems happy to be dictated to by the number 1 sponsor, has this gone on for a long time, and what will happen if this fella pulls out of the club? If the coach aint got 100% control of the playing side of things then its a truly commendable decision walking away for what you believe in I reckon :thumbsu: I read somewhere that the late recruitment of Jase Dennis was the final straw, I hope that wasn't the reason?

settle down doona not having a crack at them merely asking roota if he knows the family if this could be the case. i don't think that is being offensive to anyone. that is a rumour that is going on up around mildura way and was keen to know if it strue. is that alright with you?

fifth quarter
5 Jul 2007, 18:55
will brad wright get a gig in the south ones this sat
after all the bloods and the hurst are playing for the graeme wright trophy and graeme was brad's Dad
:confused:on another game --- how come flat and the burra seniors have to play sunday is that becoz they stretch out all the games --- juniors and netty combined --- to last 2 days for the herby milburn/johnny squires shield :confused:

bawkedya
5 Jul 2007, 22:31
Brad Wright would definatley get a game this week, not just because the game pays respect to his father but also because he is a highly respected player within the club and certainly a valuable contributer within the seniors. however, he wont play due to an ankle injury that also kept him out of the north city game

Doona2
6 Jul 2007, 10:39
settle down doona not having a crack at them merely asking roota if he knows the family if this could be the case. i don't think that is being offensive to anyone. that is a rumour that is going on up around mildura way and was keen to know if it strue. is that alright with you?

Fine with me gloved 1, have just seen uneccessary things get pretty personal on other threads thats all :thumbsu:

the gloved 1
6 Jul 2007, 10:42
Fine with me gloved 1, have just seen uneccessary things get pretty personal on other threads thats all :thumbsu:

have also noticed on the CMFL thread that my question was answered by someone else claiming they are from balranald and that filo's decision is based on the illness of his wife, and i didn't even ask the question on that thread.

Xterminator
6 Jul 2007, 10:53
Well they should just grant the clearance and let it go if that is the case. I know Shawn and he is not the type of bloke to be playing games. If he wants to leave because of some bloke who thinks he owns the club - well that is what I'd expect, you might buy the bloke's services, but you will never buy his soul.

That is aside from business and family issues.

Better to walk away with your dignity intact and let Shawn play out his career with his brother in a different league than face the prospect of never being able to get another decent recruit again I say.

Fair enough, i respect the bloke for standing up and sticking to his principles. And i think whats happened down at the club is fu*^ed up! But if Shawn wasn't playing games with the club, then why doesn't he just come out and say.... "I would like to leave the club because of family and business issues!"

OMNIPOTENT_1
6 Jul 2007, 11:22
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8014636]Speaking of being incapacitated, a loss must render Gisborne supporters useless, as none of them have bothered to post anything this week :D

They dont do "Gracious" very well down there !

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
6 Jul 2007, 12:32
Can everyone move on from the S Filo crap please.... it's become boring.

Tips for Round 10

South B v Sandhurst - Dragons >30

I've doubted South all year, and they didn't change my opinion with their "lucky win" against North City. North had 18 scoring shots to 17, yet lost by 9pts. What if....

Gisborne v Cmaine - Gisborne >60

At the graveyard, no chance for the Pies. Was impressed by what I saw of them against Square last week though....

Kyenton v Maryborough - A draw

No reason for this tip... I just don't care about this game really.

North City v Golden Square - Square <30

If this was on the wide spaces of Austar Arena, I'd be tipping North... but it's at the "neutral" and small Princes Park, so since Square like small grounds, I'll tip them.

KFlat v Eaglehawk - Hawks >150

Saw their game against Gissy and was very impressed. BFL Yardstick.

mr_blonde
6 Jul 2007, 13:32
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8031969]

If this was on the wide spaces of Austar Arena, I'd be tipping North... but it's at the "neutral" and small Princes Park, so since Square like small grounds, I'll tip them.

quote]

seams like an interesting comment to make when north are yet to win on the wide spaces of austar arena, and yet have been able to suffocate there opposition for large portions of there last two matches on tighter grounds.... if the weather plays out the way it has been predicted i cant see this match having a final margin of more than a few goals... north by a kick

Norfolk & Clew
6 Jul 2007, 14:10
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8031969]

quote]

seams like an interesting comment to make when north are yet to win on the wide spaces of austar arena, and yet have been able to suffocate there opposition for large portions of there last two matches on tighter grounds.... if the weather plays out the way it has been predicted i cant see this match having a final margin of more than a few goals... north by a kick

They'll be lucky to get a kick

mr_blonde
6 Jul 2007, 15:21
[quote=mr_blonde;8032507]

They'll be lucky to get a kick
nice to see your taking recent form into account with that statement

Norfolk & Clew
6 Jul 2007, 16:00
nice to see your taking recent form into account with that statement

If i was taking recent form into the statement i'd say they'd be getting heaps of kicks. No point gloating about the last few weeks mate, just my opinion but i reckon they'll cop a hiding tomorrow, looking forward to observing from the sidelines with beer in hand!

mr_blonde
6 Jul 2007, 16:04
im not so much gloating as i am pointing out that north are a much improved side from the last time the 2 sides met... i cant see it being a hiding in the wet conditions that will face the players tomorrow, and gotta say the city boys will surely have the advantage over the rest of the league in the wet and cold weather cos god knows we're used to it haha

Norfolk & Clew
6 Jul 2007, 16:40
im not so much gloating as i am pointing out that north are a much improved side from the last time the 2 sides met... i cant see it being a hiding in the wet conditions that will face the players tomorrow, and gotta say the city boys will surely have the advantage over the rest of the league in the wet and cold weather cos god knows we're used to it haha

Got me on that one! I am just looking forward to seeing more of a contest than the drubbing that occured last year, should be a good game

mr_blonde
6 Jul 2007, 16:56
far better chance of seeing a contest at princes park tomorrow then we would have if it was played at austar... can almost say now that if this rain continues the ballarat boys wont be playin another home game at austar as the surface retains far too much water and wont dry out in the near future... and this is probably the best news the side could be given as i cant see any advantage playing on an oval that every week without fail blows a gale

imachamp
6 Jul 2007, 17:00
Can everyone move on from the S Filo crap please.... it's become boring.

Tips for Round 10

South B v Sandhurst - Dragons >30

I've doubted South all year, and they didn't change my opinion with their "lucky win" against North City. North had 18 scoring shots to 17, yet lost by 9pts. What if....

Gisborne v Cmaine - Gisborne >60

At the graveyard, no chance for the Pies. Was impressed by what I saw of them against Square last week though....

Kyenton v Maryborough - A draw

No reason for this tip... I just don't care about this game really.

KFlat v Eaglehawk - Hawks >150

Saw their game against Gissy and was very impressed. BFL Yardstick.
tigers will win with ease

bearsboy
6 Jul 2007, 17:56
Nice work from the goat in todays addy, having Ollie Messoudi as the number 1 player in the comp at the moment. There were a few blokes on this thread that potted Ollie earlier in the year, suggesting he was overated.

Also good to see big man Jason Duff-Tytler in the goats top 20, another bloke that was written off by some .

Xterminator
6 Jul 2007, 18:08
X's Tips for Round 10

South v Sandhurst - Dragons <20 points only cos of the rain

Like Dr K i think the South are very over rated this year!!! Only thing that will save the south from a belting will be the rain

Gisborne v Cmaine - Gisborne - 40 points

Gisborne wont lose a game at the graveyard all year! Cmaine have been very up and down this year, i think they will put in a gallant effort.

Kyenton v Maryborough - Kyenton - 10 points

Kyenton will win at home in front of a crowd small crowd of no more than 20 people! Seriously who would want to go to this game!!!!!

North City v Golden Square - North - 15 points

I cant wait to see how the young fellers go against a confidence riddled Square. Interesting to note South B flogged Square by 6 goals earlier in the season and North got within 9 points and from all reports should have won! Playing at Maryborough were North played last week, i am going with the stats here... North play well at Maryborough and got closer to South than Square did! I love taking a chance, come on young fellers!

KFlat v Eaglehawk - Hawks >100

Eaglehawk - Enough said!!!

Courageunderfire
6 Jul 2007, 18:47
She's gunna be a wet one!!!

The Talking Goat
6 Jul 2007, 20:22
Nice work from the goat in todays addy, having Ollie Messoudi as the number 1 player in the comp at the moment. There were a few blokes on this thread that potted Ollie earlier in the year, suggesting he was overated.

Also good to see big man Jason Duff-Tytler in the goats top 20, another bloke that was written off by some .
respect there bears boy, been very impressed with ollie. as hard at it as they come.

gutted rabbit
6 Jul 2007, 21:11
Interesting to see how Milward will go against the old club on Sunday? May iron a few out...

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
7 Jul 2007, 18:08
The Dragons won by 32 points this afternoon... although should have pumped South by 60 points or more for two reasons:

1. They had 32 shots to 20... did not kick straight!
2. Brady Childs and his mates were in Bali for the week!

Still... a win is a win and it puts the Slagheads in the top 4...:thumbsu:

p.s. Mitrovic played a full game in the reserves and killed 'em. He'll be back in full flight for Golden Square game next week, as will N Gilliland.

Junky Bish
7 Jul 2007, 21:32
The Dragons won by 32 points this afternoon... although should have pumped South by 60 points or more for two reasons:

1. They had 32 shots to 20... did not kick straight!
2. Brady Childs and his mates were in Bali for the week!

Still... a win is a win and it puts the Slagheads in the top 3...:thumbsu:

p.s. Mitrovic played a full game in the reserves and killed 'em. He'll be back in full flight for Golden Square game next week, as will N Gilliland.

according to the radio South got back with 7 points and had Rick Coburn nailed a goal would have been a strong chance to win so that analysis would appear to far different to yours.
South are capable of beating all sides in this competition but are lacking the consistency to be considered a Premiership AT THIS STAGE. I still reckon there is a fair bit of improvement left in them.
Gisbourne would still be a slight favourite to win this years flag for mine kicked 10.17 last week and got nutted by 2 goals on the Borough's home ground there still travelling alright.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
7 Jul 2007, 23:55

Shall we just give him the Michelson now because the goat has spoke?

One man's opinion is just as valuable as the next man's. Doesn't make it so.

as i see it
7 Jul 2007, 23:55
respect there bears boy, been very impressed with ollie. as hard at it as they come.

What was the list???

Neville Massina must go now for the better of the club!!!!!!!!! kyneton was up at three quater time. If it wasn't for him Kyneton would of won at least five games instead of one by now... umpires were bad...mostly the skinny funny looking bloke dunno what his name is but should be dropped to the 2's just like massina. I am a tiger supporter i have seen most games this year but today they should have won by at least four goals. massina cannot coach, he has no respect from the players, he just reliees on the big name players ie; Cook, Reaper, Tate.

bearsboy
8 Jul 2007, 04:02
Shall we just give him the Michelson now because the goat has spoke?

One man's opinion is just as valuable as the next man's. Doesn't make it so.What sort of comment is that ? It was a great article, respect the Goat for what he does for Bendigo footy. If there are 2 better players in the comp than Fitzy and Messoudi at the moment i'll be buggered !

Whats your opinion mighty man ? Kyneton have someone better ?

Good effort from Castlemaine today, unlike a couple of clubs going round at the moment, Castlemaine always (without fail) have an absolute crack.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
8 Jul 2007, 04:25
What sort of comment is that ? It was a great article, respect the Goat for what he does for Bendigo footy. If there are 2 better players in the comp than Fitzy and Messoudi at the moment i'll be buggered !

Good effort from Castlemaine today, unlike a couple of clubs going round at the moment, Castlemaine always (without fail) have an absolute crack.

The Goat is paid to write about sport in Bendigo, he does that very well. Stop sucking up the Goat's bum as if he is some sort of ambassardor for kid's with leukemia.

Fitzgerald and Saunders are probably the two marquee players of the competition. It's simple as that. At Kyneton, Tatey might start to push to somewhere close or far away from that level if he stays next year, but that is it.

You've probably got more to worry about with Filo's boys I'd imagine than telling us how good Messoudi is?

The Talking Goat
8 Jul 2007, 09:35
The goat's coming in for a hard time here. no skin off my hooves, just trying to do something a bit different with the top 20s.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
8 Jul 2007, 11:38
according to the radio South got back with 7 points and had Rick Coburn nailed a goal would have been a strong chance to win so that analysis would appear to far different to yours.
South are capable of beating all sides in this competition but are lacking the consistency to be considered a Premiership AT THIS STAGE. I still reckon there is a fair bit of improvement left in them.
Gisbourne would still be a slight favourite to win this years flag for mine kicked 10.17 last week and got nutted by 2 goals on the Borough's home ground there still travelling alright.

That's not an analysis Junky, that's just you repeating what you heard on the radio... I was actually there mate. South were brave but never looked like winning the game. I don't blame you for reckoning there's a "fair bit of improvement left in them" - I would too if the club was paying their players to underperform when a win is needed!. Rick C has to snap them out of it - sharpish!

Let's face it, it's Gisborne and Eaglehawk this year.

HEY NORFOLK - look mate, I found a South supporter who can use a computer!!:D

Courageunderfire
8 Jul 2007, 12:11
What was the list???

Neville Massina must go now for the better of the club!!!!!!!!! kyneton was up at three quater time. If it wasn't for him Kyneton would of won at least five games instead of one by now... umpires were bad...mostly the skinny funny looking bloke dunno what his name is but should be dropped to the 2's just like massina. I am a tiger supporter i have seen most games this year but today they should have won by at least four goals. massina cannot coach, he has no respect from the players, he just reliees on the big name players ie; Cook, Reaper, Tate.

Mate you seem to be a very passionate 'supporter':rolleyes: of the Kyneton footy club. You seem adamant that Neville Massina should be given the flick as senior coach. Maybe if you feel so strongly about this and you obviously do from your previous posts, rather then taking pot shots from the comfort and safety of your computer chair. Why don't you confront the club or Massina and voice your opinion. But i suppose it's that much easier to have some balls behind an alias and a computer screen.:thumbsd:

Courageunderfire
8 Jul 2007, 13:29
Kyneton what a joke......................................Talked up pre-season.
Some changes have to be made at tiger land they acctually have a reasonable list of players..All time low for Kyneton Football Club you would think..

Good work mate! You are truly a first rate supporter of the club.

Stop having pot shots, get down to the club and put your time in and then you deserve an opinion:thumbsd:

GREENMAN
8 Jul 2007, 13:49

Stop having pot shots, get down to the club and put your time in and then you deserve an opinion:thumbsd:
How low can Kyneton go.................When will the Kyneton Football club say enough is enough. Save whats let of 2007 and start to rebuild for 2008. No ones taking cheap shots at Neville.....................but lets be honest, his performance as a coach over the last 6 yrs is nothing short of laughable. A coachs performance is judged on a win loss ratio and thats all.......thats all the history books will judge a coach on, thats all a club should judge the coach on. No point trying to talk to Neville......he his so opinionated that he believes he is the best coach in the VCFL, everyone else is just wrong. Well everyone, Nevilles wrong.................hes 1970s style of coaching and his arrogance is destroying the Kyneton Football Club. To the board of the Kyneton Football Club, please as a supporter of the club do something positve, show us all thats enough is enough,give us some reason why we should put our hard earned money into the club. Only positive can come from a change of coach and and a change of coaching style. Give Cookie the job and sack Neville. Lets begin 2008 now, let us once again hear the Tigers roar instead of meow...............

as i see it
8 Jul 2007, 14:51

mate its up to the committee to make changes, i have just voiced my opinion. I have never played at Kyneton, I have never meet massina, but I live in Kyneton and go to Kyneton home games and the occasional away game. Maybee I have no idea about football.. but that is just my opinion on the football club, everyone has opinions, yours is different and I except that. By the way you are protecting him you must no him well and have seen a different side of him outside of coaching. I was near the coaches bench and he was yelling at umpires and abusing players, what sort of example is that. Then a kyneton player gives a fifty for abusing umpires and he is dragged, doing exactly what the coach is doing from the bench. What an example to his players..
If a player is down on form and not getting a kick what happens? he gets dropped.. Now If a coach has won 1 game in a season of footy and still thinks he is the right man for the job I will go heee. Kyneton obviosly has the players otherwise people wouldn't of talked them up as finals contenders and they where non Kyneton people saying these this..

footyhead18
8 Jul 2007, 15:13

Im tipping there will be many long time supporters return to Kyneton the day N Massina departs mighty mouse. Then again maybe not because as has been evidenced at his previous clubs, it can take years to recover from his exploits.

danielkerr
8 Jul 2007, 17:37
That's not an analysis Junky, that's just you repeating what you heard on the radio... I was actually there mate. South were brave but never looked like winning the game. I don't blame you for reckoning there's a "fair bit of improvement left in them" - I would too if the club was paying their players to underperform when a win is needed!. Rick C has to snap them out of it - sharpish!

Let's face it, it's Gisborne and Eaglehawk this year.

HEY NORFOLK - look mate, I found a South supporter who can use a computer!!:D

If you look at the list south had yesterday they did a fantastic job of staying in the game, until the dragons kicked the last 3 goals of the game of course...

b birmingham
9 Jul 2007, 07:50
Im tipping there will be many long time supporters return to Kyneton the day N Massina departs mighty mouse. Then again maybe not because as has been evidenced at his previous clubs, it can take years to recover from his exploits.

A few days ago someone, and I can't remember who, said let's stop talking about the Shawn Filo issue because it was becoming boring. At least it was a current, relevant and interesting topic.

Nearly two weeks were spent on the "Kyneton - Let's Sack Neville" saga after they lost to North City and I see we're back on it again. Time to put it to bed for good:thumbsd:

I'm interested to hear what people's thoughts may be on players taking overseas holidays mid-season! Whether the South boys that went away got caught out because of the change to the draw is irrelevant I reckon. You've got 4-6 months of the year to do that sort of thing out of season, coach Coburn would have been fairly disappointed to say the least:mad:

gutted rabbit
9 Jul 2007, 09:28
Saw K/Flat and E/Hawk yesterday, a highly entertaining game, end-to-end footy. If the umpire has any balls, D Brown will be reported and rubbed out for 2.....umpire clearly saw Brown strike opponent with a punch/slap! Mind you, it wouldn't have hurt a netballer.

ant22
9 Jul 2007, 09:39
A few days ago someone, and I can't remember who, said let's stop talking about the Shawn Filo issue because it was becoming boring. At least it was a current, relevant and interesting topic.

Nearly two weeks were spent on the "Kyneton - Let's Sack Neville" saga after they lost to North City and I see we're back on it again. Time to put it to bed for good:thumbsd:

I'm interested to hear what people's thoughts may be on players taking overseas holidays mid-season! Whether the South boys that went away got caught out because of the change to the draw is irrelevant I reckon. You've got 4-6 months of the year to do that sort of thing out of season, coach Coburn would have been fairly disappointed to say the least:mad:

Of course people should be able to go on holiudays mid season. They are not league footballers. People need to have lives. Sure it might P1ss of the coach but who cares. Best time of the year to go on a holiday is in our winter. Who wouldn't want to go and get a bit of sun at this time of year(or a bit of snow if thats your fancy) Footy is not the only thing in most people lives and to suggest that people only take holiudays outside the footy season it crazy.

woody07
9 Jul 2007, 10:20
Of course people should be able to go on holiudays mid season. They are not league footballers. People need to have lives. Sure it might P1ss of the coach but who cares. Best time of the year to go on a holiday is in our winter. Who wouldn't want to go and get a bit of sun at this time of year(or a bit of snow if thats your fancy) Footy is not the only thing in most people lives and to suggest that people only take holiudays outside the footy season it crazy.

'People need lives', 'Who wouldn't want to get some sun', 'footy is not the only thing'. Mate you've come to the wrong website-The more to life than footy website forum is where you need to go and talk with the many wives, girlfriends and mums that frequent it reguarly-Good luck.See if you can get some tips on what temperature is best to bake cookies if you want them to be golden brown on top and get back to us!

P.S Courage under fire you're a goose, people are talking about Kyneton because they love the club or have mates playing there and what it to be restored back to its former glory, stop taking every comment to heart! What are you Nev's son!

ant22
9 Jul 2007, 12:28
'People need lives', 'Who wouldn't want to get some sun', 'footy is not the only thing'. Mate you've come to the wrong website-The more to life than footy website forum is where you need to go and talk with the many wives, girlfriends and mums that frequent it reguarly-Good luck.See if you can get some tips on what temperature is best to bake cookies if you want them to be golden brown on top and get back to us!

P.S Courage under fire you're a goose, people are talking about Kyneton because they love the club or have mates playing there and what it to be restored back to its former glory, stop taking every comment to heart! What are you Nev's son!

Allright woody I will confess. Sometimes the man does not get to decide on when you go on a holiday. Sometimes the man is told when he(they)will be going on a holiday. Normally the women wants to go on a holiday in winter because a-they can't handle the cold and because b-they can't handle the footy. I was simply trying to find other excuses to put my point accross but the truth is alot of blokes take holidays during the footy season because they have no choice. Not me of course, I am my own man.....

gutted rabbit
9 Jul 2007, 13:00
Know doubt these guys will come back through the 2's.....

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
9 Jul 2007, 13:32
mate its up to the committee to make changes, i have just voiced my opinion. I have never played at Kyneton, I have never meet massina, but I live in Kyneton and go to Kyneton home games and the occasional away game...

AISI - you've just crushed what little credibility you had left with that comment. You've proven that you have pot shots from the comfort of your computer chair and don't actually go to AGM's or committee meetings to have input or provide feedback to those making decisions.

Like a lot of Kyneton supporters, you need to use the F.I.F.O principle when supporting your football club - FIFO = Fit.. In.. or.. F**k Off.

Even though Kyneton clearly has issues, at least present a united front to the rest of the football community... do something, anything...

ant22
9 Jul 2007, 14:19
AISI - you've just crushed what little credibility you had left with that comment. You've proven that you have pot shots from the comfort of your computer chair and don't actually go to AGM's or committee meetings to have input or provide feedback to those making decisions.

Like a lot of Kyneton supporters, you need to use the F.I.F.O principle when supporting your football club - FIFO = Fit.. In.. or.. F**k Off.

Even though Kyneton clearly has issues, at least present a united front to the rest of the football community... do something, anything...

Buddy, i am a nuetral person on this issue with no real interest in kyneton but a passing interest in the league because I live in the area and know a few people who play in the league. I am not going to pretend I know anything about what is going on there but as an observer I think your reaction is off the mark.

I reckon the FIFO principle you talk about is severly flawed. What you seem to be saying is that unless you conform with what the brainstrust at the club wants then F OFF. If Kyneton are stuggling and do not want to listen to feedback(some of which has been fairly constructive from these posts) from people who actually want to see kyneton become a good club then I can't see them going anywhere. From some of the comments posted it seems as though its this exact attitude from the coach that may be holding them back.
With this principle it is likely that the club will struggle to attrack anyone with different ideas(ideas that may lead the club forward) in fear of being told to F OFF

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
9 Jul 2007, 15:31
Buddy, i am a nuetral person on this issue with no real interest in kyneton but a passing interest in the league because I live in the area and know a few people who play in the league. I am not going to pretend I know anything about what is going on there but as an observer I think your reaction is off the mark.

I reckon the FIFO principle you talk about is severly flawed. What you seem to be saying is that unless you conform with what the brainstrust at the club wants then F OFF. If Kyneton are stuggling and do not want to listen to feedback(some of which has been fairly constructive from these posts) from people who actually want to see kyneton become a good club then I can't see them going anywhere. From some of the comments posted it seems as though its this exact attitude from the coach that may be holding them back.
With this principle it is likely that the club will struggle to attrack anyone with different ideas(ideas that may lead the club forward) in fear of being told to F OFF

No mate, you don't get it... I'll make it simpler for you :o - the FIFO approach is in reference to the EXTERNAL image of the club. As I said, I'm all for internal feedback and challenging the norm, but keep that behind closed doors.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
9 Jul 2007, 15:34

No mate, you don't get it... I'll make it simpler for you :cool: - the FIFO approach is in reference to the EXTERNAL image of the club. As I said, I'm all for internal feedback and challenging the norm, but keep that behind closed doors.

The Wombat
9 Jul 2007, 16:05
Saw K/Flat and E/Hawk yesterday, a highly entertaining game, end-to-end footy. If the umpire has any balls, D Brown will be reported and rubbed out for 2.....umpire clearly saw Brown strike opponent with a punch/slap! Mind you, it wouldn't have hurt a netballer.
Mate the umpy did the right thing his opponent Chlosey stomped on Brownys foot and deserved what he got, spoke to the ump after the game and he felt if he RED carded Chlosey he would also have to report Brown, which would have been totally unfair after Browny only reacted to a cheap shot. Chlosey should be happy that all he has to contend with this week is brownys slap.

ant22
9 Jul 2007, 16:38
No mate, you don't get it... I'll make it simpler for you :cool: - the FIFO approach is in reference to the EXTERNAL image of the club. As I said, I'm all for internal feedback and challenging the norm, but keep that behind closed doors.

Well the words Fit in or Fk off would not exactly entice alot of new people to the club. It smacks of my way or the highway. Its a Sh!t saying.
This bloke has come on a public forum and expressed what seems to be a commonly held opinion based on his observations. Just because someone is not in the inner sanctum of a footy club does not mean they have no credibility. Infact sometimes they have more credibility because they are not looking through rose coloured glasses. Some people are very good judges and only need to go to a game or 2 to know if a coach is worth his 2 cents or not. I dont see anything wrong with fringe supporters of the kyneton footy club expressing on a public forum their opinion of the coach.

tassie2heads
9 Jul 2007, 18:05
did nick renshaw play for the flat 2s on the weekend ? if so how did he go ?

as i see it
9 Jul 2007, 19:13

It seems i have a little bit of support Dr.
What is your position, what have you done to make your statements so credible.
Its just my view looking in with no emotional contact to the coach.
I would love to see Kyneton FC flying and Neville still coaching, but its just not going to happen. A change is the best way to help the club....
The club has gone stale....

gutted rabbit
9 Jul 2007, 20:20
Mate the umpy did the right thing his opponent Chlosey stomped on Brownys foot and deserved what he got, spoke to the ump after the game and he felt if he RED carded Chlosey he would also have to report Brown, which would have been totally unfair after Browny only reacted to a cheap shot. Chlosey should be happy that all he has to contend with this week is brownys slap.

Brown knows all about cheap shots.

gutted rabbit
9 Jul 2007, 20:21
did nick renshaw play for the flat 2s on the weekend ? if so how did he go ?

No. Who is this guy?

gutted rabbit
9 Jul 2007, 20:22
I would love to see Kyneton FC flying and Neville still coaching, but its just not going to happen. A change is the best way to help the club....

Totally agree, keep voicing whatever opinions who have on any and all subjects.

gutted rabbit
9 Jul 2007, 20:25

'Stomp' was probably an accident, anyway. Accidents happen often in country footy, thats why it beats the passionless AFL any day.

BackPocketBattler
9 Jul 2007, 21:31
'Stomp' was probably an accident, anyway. Accidents happen often in country footy, thats why it beats the passionless AFL any day.
Mr. rabbit, you are obviously blinded by your hatred for Damian - probably due to him leaving the club after his coaching stint there. As you are a supporter of the flat, you were no doubt at the game on sunday. In this case, you would have seen the incident and surely could not claim the stomp was an accident!? The young fellow must have had a brain explosion to commit such a dirty, cheap act against a grown man almost twice his size. He got exactly what he deserved and should be thanking his lucky stars Browny didn't connect 100%. Having said all that, the Flat put up a very good fight and did well to keep the game from being blown open.

gutted rabbit
9 Jul 2007, 21:45
No, I don't support the Flat, and yes, I was there. Suggestion that it was an 'accident' was in jest, as many so-called accidents happen in footy.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
9 Jul 2007, 22:02

AISI and ANT Man - Not a Kyneton person either. As far as my credibility goes, my background varies from AFL to VFL to VCFL footy in management and as a player on and off for the last 10 years, so no, I'm not from the dark ages with the FIFO stuff... but that's by-the-by.

If my comments have caused some KFC people to look at the club and themselves objectively then all well and good. If not, no skin off my nose. Like you guys said, it's a public forum and everyone is welcome to an opinion. I'll leave it at that.

Dr K out....:thumbsu:

KingRich
10 Jul 2007, 13:52
As an outsider that reads this thread regularly I will say that I can certainly see where the Dr is coming from. Over the last month I have read countless posts from Kyneton supporters bagging the club..... You have to realise this is a public forum and a lot of people read it. Not only will the players and administrators not appreciate this stuff but anyone keen to get involved from a playing or admin perspective would be severely turned off by this crap. Critical to keep this sort of infighting behind closed doors or clubs just self-destruct.

But I do see where you boys are coming from also. You care bout the club and want change and perhaps that is what is needed.

b birmingham
10 Jul 2007, 22:58

Ant, I never said you couldn't have a holiday during the season, everyone needs a break at some stage. I just meant that a group of guys heading off to Bali is more like a footy trip, something done after footy season. Would you agree?

Also judging by the result of the South/Sandhurst game, the guys that were away could have made a difference to the outcome of the match. An important game too, now it will be very hard to see South make the top three and we all know how hard it is to win a flag from the elimination final.

I guess they might be able to have a holiday in mid-late September now..........

rockstarr
11 Jul 2007, 12:11
Hey boys just wondering how a bloke by the name of Alan Morris goes he is a ruckman and pretty sure he played for Eaglehawk a few years back.
cheers lads

ant22
11 Jul 2007, 12:48
Ant, I never said you couldn't have a holiday during the season, everyone needs a break at some stage. I just meant that a group of guys heading off to Bali is more like a footy trip, something done after footy season. Would you agree?

Also judging by the result of the South/Sandhurst game, the guys that were away could have made a difference to the outcome of the match. An important game too, now it will be very hard to see South make the top three and we all know how hard it is to win a flag from the elimination final.

I guess they might be able to have a holiday in mid-late September now..........

Was unaware of the circumstances bb just answered it as a general circumstance. If a group of senior players from the 1 club head off on a bali trip at this time of the year then its not ideal. You cant really stop them but the coach would be spewing.

gutted rabbit
11 Jul 2007, 13:10
If Kyneton lose this week, will the coach resign and give someone else a go for the second half of the season? Who will kick goals for them this week?

Thoroughbred
11 Jul 2007, 13:41
If Kyneton lose this week, will the coach resign and give someone else a go for the second half of the season? Who will kick goals for them this week?

Has Nev ever resigned from a club mid season?

gutted rabbit
11 Jul 2007, 15:56
Has Nev ever resigned from a club mid season?

Not that I know of.....huge pressure if they lose this week though.

Thoroughbred
11 Jul 2007, 16:05

It would not look good for him that is for sure.

bloodhound!
11 Jul 2007, 16:07
What sort of comment is that ? It was a great article, respect the Goat for what he does for Bendigo footy. If there are 2 better players in the comp than Fitzy and Messoudi at the moment i'll be buggered !

I find it very interesting that you will give castlemaine a wrap for having a "crack" but losing. Yet you nor anyone one else from gissy including the fatman KA posted anything at all about Eaglehawk having a "crack" and kicking your arrogant arses. If you are trying to make yourself out to be humble in victory how about making yourself out to be gracious in defeat and giving credit where it is due.
This is mainly aimed at KA but you are all happy to get on here and spruik off about how good you are (even if you dont actually play) and mouth off about other clubs but the moment you cop a loss you all turn into monks and take a vow of silence. Pathetic.

Woodward08
11 Jul 2007, 18:32

I tend to disagree with this point. The club has gone stale? Yet when they changed from Carmen to Foster, both high profile coaches that should have given the club some feeling and a bigger supporter base and name, they struggled even more. They had players walk out, people weren't happy and players were not backing the coach. At least the players have backed Massina. I think if you have such a problem with the Kyneton footy club and you truly want to see the club succeed. Get off your ass, get down the showgrounds and lend a hand. Theres always jobs in footy clubs and anyone would be welcomed. So instead of being part of the problem become part of the solution.:thumbsu:

b birmingham
11 Jul 2007, 20:03

Surely Kyneton will defeat K Flat this week. There would be no coming back from this one Neville if they don't.

If i remember correctly, this was the only "other" victory the Flat had against anyone other than North City last year.

Will be good contest at Castlemaine this week when they host E'Hawk:thumbsu: Anyone give the 'Maine a chance? Again i think they will go very close to upsetting one of the top teams as they've done in the last 2 weeks, but won't quite have the goods against Dekka's boys.

I have a question for Bearsboy and/or Kings Army....Luke Saunders missed out on the VCFL team, what would be the reason for this? Out of form lately? Injured?

Woodward08
11 Jul 2007, 20:33
Surely Kyneton will defeat K Flat this week. There would be no coming back from this one Neville if they don't.

If i remember correctly, this was the only "other" victory the Flat had against anyone other than North City last year.

Will be good contest at Castlemaine this week when they host E'Hawk:thumbsu: Anyone give the 'Maine a chance? Again i think they will go very close to upsetting one of the top teams as they've done in the last 2 weeks, but won't quite have the goods against Dekka's boys.

I have a question for Bearsboy and/or Kings Army....Luke Saunders missed out on the VCFL team, what would be the reason for this? Out of form lately? Injured?

I reckon it'll be a hard slog at Camp Reserve, good one to get to if you want a good contest. But Derek's lads will be just too strong.

gutted rabbit
11 Jul 2007, 20:54
I reckon it'll be a hard slog at Camp Reserve, good one to get to if you want a good contest. But Derek's lads will be just too strong.

E/H were only average last week, but may not have been mentally switched on. If Castlemaine are fired up, it will be GAME ON! Maine may surprise...

thatswhatimtalkinabout
11 Jul 2007, 22:41
I tend to disagree with this point. The club has gone stale? Yet when they changed from Carmen to Foster, both high profile coaches that should have given the club some feeling and a bigger supporter base and name, they struggled even more. They had players walk out, people weren't happy and players were not backing the coach. At least the players have backed Massina. I think if you have such a problem with the Kyneton footy club and you truly want to see the club succeed. Get off your ass, get down the showgrounds and lend a hand. Theres always jobs in footy clubs and anyone would be welcomed. So instead of being part of the problem become part of the solution.:thumbsu:

Top post WW08, unfortunately it's just a part of life that it is easy to criticise, much harder to create. I am as guilty of this of anybody - I don't live in the town anymore but my passion for this footy club, and I am a nobody, will never die.

Looking back on the last ten years, to say we have been mediocre is an understatement. After Derek left we looked within for a coach/es and gave Georgie Ferguson and then George and Heathy a go. George is not only an astute coach but a good bloke as well. Anyone who has a bad word for Heathy is not human. Unfortunately many things conspired against him and them getting the best out of the team and the score on the board. Ultimately they just didn't have the cattle.

Fast forward a couple of years to Carmen, who according to Evey was fantastic, but ultimately was living too far out of town to bring the players together. If he couldn't even hang around for the club function - why should anyone else? That is one criticism of his coaching style, there are more I won't go into.

Ultimately Peter Foster must go down as a success, mainly for the fact that he was the last coach that steered us into the finals. Top bloke, but I had queries about how he could step into a league with no prior knowledge of the players in that league, let alone his own team and expect success. So often clubs think that bringing in the recently retired AFL gun will solve all their problems, the exception being McGuane, the norm being what has happened at Flat this season.

And so we come to Neville, all I will say is his recruiting is his strength. Kyneton have been over run in the last quarter in just about every game they have played - so their fitness is suspect, and the coach has to take responsibility for that. His planning and match day coaching, is in my humble opinion, second rate.

The committee has to take responsibility for employing these blokes at the end of the day. Mistakes have been made, although at the time they may have been good choices, they have not led to long term success.

Blokes that I would consider good candidates for senior coach? Mark Tunzi, Steven Oliver, David Nolte, Brett Cook, Luke Beattie, Matt Fitzgerald and Luke Saunders - not necessarily in that order.

ROOTA#6
11 Jul 2007, 23:06
Top post WW08, unfortunately it's just a part of life that it is easy to criticise, much harder to create. I am as guilty of this of anybody - I don't live in the town anymore but my passion for this footy club, and I am a nobody, will never die.

Looking back on the last ten years, to say we have been mediocre is an understatement. After Derek left we looked within for a coach/es and gave Georgie Ferguson and then George and Heathy a go. George is not only an astute coach but a good bloke as well. Anyone who has a bad word for Heathy is not human. Unfortunately many things conspired against him and them getting the best out of the team and the score on the board. Ultimately they just didn't have the cattle.

Fast forward a couple of years to Carmen, who according to Evey was fantastic, but ultimately was living too far out of town to bring the players together. If he couldn't even hang around for the club function - why should anyone else? That is one criticism of his coaching style, there are more I won't go into.

Ultimately Peter Foster must go down as a success, mainly for the fact that he was the last coach that steered us into the finals. Top bloke, but I had queries about how he could step into a league with no prior knowledge of the players in that league, let alone his own team and expect success. So often clubs think that bringing in the recently retired AFL gun will solve all their problems, the exception being McGuane, the norm being what has happened at Flat this season.

And so we come to Neville, all I will say is his recruiting is his strength. Kyneton have been over run in the last quarter in just about every game they have played - so their fitness is suspect, and the coach has to take responsibility for that. His planning and match day coaching, is in my humble opinion, second rate.

The committee has to take responsibility for employing these blokes at the end of the day. Mistakes have been made, although at the time they may have been good choices, they have not led to long term success.

Blokes that I would consider good candidates for senior coach? Mark Tunzi, Steven Oliver, David Nolte, Brett Cook, Luke Beattie, Matt Fitzgerald and Luke Saunders - not necessarily in that order.

The challenge for Kyneton now is attracting some one like the guys you have mentioned to Kyneton. I ask this as an outsider of the club and the league. Why would Luke Saunders or any of the others go to coach Kymeton???

thatswhatimtalkinabout
11 Jul 2007, 23:13
The challenge for Kyneton now is attracting some one like the guys you have mentioned to Kyneton. I ask this as an outsider of the club and the league. Why would Luke Saunders or any of the others go to coach Kymeton???

Because there is no better way to prove your credentials than taking a team that has a bit of potential to the top. The alternative is for someone like Saunders to take over from Barham and be treated with the same disrespect that he has. Oh, and the money helps. Honest answer.

ROOTA#6
11 Jul 2007, 23:16
Because there is no better way to prove your credentials than taking a team that has a bit of potential to the top. The alternative is for someone like Saunders to take over from Barham and be treated with the same disrespect that he has. Oh, and the money helps. Honest answer.

That is fair enough. But do you reckon that there are enough blokes around these days who are happy to take that sort of challenge. 10 - 15 years ago it was the thing to do to prove your worth, go to a struggling club and help turn them around and make your name, but it just does not seem to happen as much anymore