View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

thatswhatimtalkinabout
11 Jul 2007, 23:28
That is fair enough. But do you reckon that there are enough blokes around these days who are happy to take that sort of challenge. 10 - 15 years ago it was the thing to do to prove your worth, go to a struggling club and help turn them around and make your name, but it just does not seem to happen as much anymore

I think the thing is, you have to be involved in or close to that league, you have to be 'in the loop' in that you are talking regularly to coaches and players in that and other leagues that will help you (and may trade for you) and you need to know a fair bit about fitness and gameplans. Quality coaches will come from blokes that have been tutored by great coaches - hence my nominations of Tunzi, Nolte & Beattie as deciphlies of Filo and Fitzgerald and Saunders of McGuane.

ROOTA#6
11 Jul 2007, 23:38
I think the thing is, you have to be involved in or close to that league, you have to be 'in the loop' in that you are talking regularly to coaches and players in that and other leagues that will help you (and may trade for you) and you need to know a fair bit about fitness and gameplans. Quality coaches will come from blokes that have been tutored by great coaches - hence my nominations of Tunzi, Nolte & Beattie as deciphlies of Filo and Fitzgerald and Saunders of McGuane.

I hope for Kynetons sake that someone takes on the challenge. From what i hear they have a good list. Maybe a playing coach would be the go. Someone who wil be on the park leading by example

thatswhatimtalkinabout
11 Jul 2007, 23:48
I hope for Kynetons sake that someone takes on the challenge. From what i hear they have a good list. Maybe a playing coach would be the go. Someone who wil be on the park leading by example

No Doubt Fitgerald and Saunders would be the leading candidates that being the case. Filo came to us from Castlemaine, Bundy and Harry went to Gisborne - anything is possible!

The fatman
12 Jul 2007, 01:48
There are problems at kyneton no dobut. the place as a whole needs to be looked at. The positive is the way our juniors are going under 16s and both the under 15s. with 3 young players already tasting senior footy and more likely to get that chance. The main thing missing is players of the age 18 - 21 that just dont want to play that needs addressing. maybe the twos to play at 10 pm saturday nights when most of these blokes are keen to play. As far as the coach it would be hard to do to much with the training numbers that must be fixed and may answer why sides run over them. What ever is done now must be for the future as the tigers must be seen as a place where these young guys want to play.
It was good to see in the past snow conditions at the showgrounds on saturday that most of the young blokes there cheering on there team mates in the ones well done boys.

Have nt been on for a while but have a good idea for this week.

THE BIG FOOTY CUP.
BENDIGO KNOCKOUT!

KANGAROO FLAT VS KYNETON
The losing side is not to be on big footy til 31/10/07 talking up there sides hopes for 2008 of course.

The fatman
12 Jul 2007, 01:59
Can any of the umpires on here please tell me the name of the boundary umpire at kyneton last saturday.(in the ones) The tall young fella with the leggings on he would weigh about the same as my left calf.

On the cold day he got quiet a cult following from the selective crowd in front of the fires.

He could be afl talent with a few of the choragraphed moves back to the corner of the square.

TO THE BOUNDARY UMPIRE THANK YOU FOR THE ENJOYMENT.

gutted rabbit
12 Jul 2007, 08:09
Zantuck out!

bearsboy
12 Jul 2007, 09:30
I have a question for Bearsboy and/or Kings Army....Luke Saunders missed out on the VCFL team, what would be the reason for this? Out of form lately? Injured? Injured.

bigchop
12 Jul 2007, 09:58
Zantuck out!

who cares !!

gutted rabbit
12 Jul 2007, 10:11
who cares !!

Kyneton, for a start...

pentium1111
12 Jul 2007, 12:46
The challenge for Kyneton now is attracting some one like the guys you have mentioned to Kyneton. I ask this as an outsider of the club and the league. Why would Luke Saunders or any of the others go to coach Kymeton???

Some great positive, sensible talk about the dramas at tiger land. Some great points were made amongst the chatter. I too agree that Foster was a success. What he lacked in coaching ability he made up for in the fact that he constantly talked the club up, had lots of positives to say about his players, little things like saying g day to ya mrs in the after match. Its these things that make Kyneton a stale place at the moment.

One of there biggest strengths is the core blokes that have been there for the last 5-7 years. Good solid contributers on and off the field. The problem is that under the current conditions these blokes are the first ones that get bent over because the people bending them over know they will not leave cause they love the club.

It definately is time for a change, the players are dissenchanted and too many dont get the pats on the back they deserve. I'm a firm believer that you get the best out of blokes with lots of positive re-inforcement, not sh!t canning them for four quarters.

A young, playing coach is the direction to head. Loved the suggestion of a Fitzgerald or Saunders, what a coo that would be. Fitzys old man had a stint at Kyneton. Liked the suggestion of Nolte aswell. Needless to say a win is a must, not so much for Nevilles future but to give the loyal hard working blokes a reward for there time and effort in whats been a trying 3 years.

Trent the flight Steward
12 Jul 2007, 13:13
Some great positive, sensible talk about the dramas at tiger land. Some great points were made amongst the chatter. I too agree that Foster was a success. What he lacked in coaching ability he made up for in the fact that he constantly talked the club up, had lots of positives to say about his players, little things like saying g day to ya mrs in the after match. Its these things that make Kyneton a stale place at the moment.

One of there biggest strengths is the core blokes that have been there for the last 5-7 years. Good solid contributers on and off the field. The problem is that under the current conditions these blokes are the first ones that get bent over because the people bending them over know they will not leave cause they love the club.

It definately is time for a change, the players are dissenchanted and too many dont get the pats on the back they deserve. I'm a firm believer that you get the best out of blokes with lots of positive re-inforcement, not sh!t canning them for four quarters.

A young, playing coach is the direction to head. Loved the suggestion of a Fitzgerald or Saunders, what a coo that would be. Fitzys old man had a stint at Kyneton. Liked the suggestion of Nolte aswell. Needless to say a win is a must, not so much for Nevilles future but to give the loyal hard working blokes a reward for there time and effort in whats been a trying 3 years.
Why wouldnt they try entice schdmt, O'Brien or elsum back to coach, or give it to tate see how he goes and get rid of sultan which i hope they are not paying as he is simply not up to standard

ClaudeVonStroke
12 Jul 2007, 14:05
Word on the street is that Coach Betty of North City is now talking of finals footy.
And that there is a possibility of ex-AFL footballers Josh Thurgood and Shane weowodin pulling the boots on for next year.

The Talking Goat
12 Jul 2007, 15:25
Word on the street is that Coach Betty of North City is now talking of finals footy.
And that there is a possibility of ex-AFL footballers Josh Thurgood and Shane weowodin pulling the boots on for next year.
HMMM, woey leave perth to come to ballarat??

mr_blonde
12 Jul 2007, 17:06
pretty sure he pulled on the boots for the hawks on the w/e, little early to be calling him an ex-afl footballer... as for woewodin, im sure that was only a joke post but i think wht has happened with ty zantuck would turn any club off signing a former afl star, and i use the term loosely... surely woey isnt as messed up as ty but for some1 of his talent to have a fall from grace such as he did there must be somethin wrong

gutted rabbit
12 Jul 2007, 17:14
The woey rumour was around over last summer as well, pops up when there are no other good rumours....

as i see it
12 Jul 2007, 18:18
[quote=thatswhatimtalkinabout;8088760]No Doubt Fitgerald and Saunders would be the leading candidates that being the case. Filo came to us from Castlemaine, Bundy and Harry went to Gisborne - anything is possible![/quote

Playing coaches now were talking!!!!!!!!! playing coaches are the best way to go in country footy without a doubt..

bearsboy
12 Jul 2007, 18:34
HMMM, woey leave perth to come to ballarat??Thats something i couldnt understand with the Zantuck move.

Kangaroo Flat is a far cry from the beautiful beaches of the Sunshine Coast .

bearsboy
12 Jul 2007, 18:48
pretty sure he pulled on the boots for the hawks on the w/e, little early to be calling him an ex-afl footballer... as for woewodin, im sure that was only a joke post but i think wht has happened with ty zantuck would turn any club off signing a former afl star, and i use the term loosely... surely woey isnt as messed up as ty but for some1 of his talent to have a fall from grace such as he did there must be somethin wrongI guess the key is signing the right ex AFL player, Gisborne have been lucky in the past with the likes of Michael Werner, Brad Fox, Aaron James, Damien Houlihan and obviously Mick McGuane all giving great value to the club.

What other clubs have had ex league players in recent times that have been good value ? Andrew Wills was good for Eaglehawk !

mr_blonde
12 Jul 2007, 21:49
the key factor affecting whether or not a club should sign an ex afl player is what were the circumstances that saw them leave the afl... signing a player like zantuck who was traded and then delisted by a club is a sure fire way to fail as the only thing he is trying to do is repair his shattered ego, he has no intention of going out of his way to help a club... a player like andrew wills or even the mick mcguane situation is completely different, as wills was at the end of his career and mcguane was taking steps towards what at the time looked to be a future coaching role at the highest level, these were always destined to be a success

danielkerr
12 Jul 2007, 22:16
the key factor affecting whether or not a club should sign an ex afl player is what were the circumstances that saw them leave the afl... signing a player like zantuck who was traded and then delisted by a club is a sure fire way to fail as the only thing he is trying to do is repair his shattered ego, he has no intention of going out of his way to help a club... a player like andrew wills or even the mick mcguane situation is completely different, as wills was at the end of his career and mcguane was taking steps towards what at the time looked to be a future coaching role at the highest level, these were always destined to be a success

That is true that you must take into account the circumstances in which they left, but it cannot account for the final decision. Shane Harvey is a perfect example of someone who lost the passion to play afl footy but still desired to play country footy. He has played with Wakool in the GRFL for the past two years and put on some dazzling displays....

mr_blonde
12 Jul 2007, 22:43
That is true that you must take into account the circumstances in which they left, but it cannot account for the final decision. Shane Harvey is a perfect example of someone who lost the passion to play afl footy but still desired to play country footy. He has played with Wakool in the GRFL for the past two years and put on some dazzling displays....

yeh thats true mate... but he's a rare exception of some1 who has the talent but chooses to give it away, ty is just one of many who have the talent but choose to throw it away with poor decisions/attitude... haha he seams to be the example of everything that is wrong with footy, no offense to the bloke but :rolleyes:

mr_blonde
12 Jul 2007, 23:02
TIPS FOR ROUND 11
K'FLAT V KYNETON- FLAT BY A CPL OF GOALS... in an upset i'm tipping the youth of the flat to come through and finally show something against a kyneton outfit who seem in disarray if what has been said on here the last week is true

STH BENDIGO v MARYBOROUGH- SOUTH IN AN IMMENSELY ONE SIDED CONTEST... enough said.

SQUARE v HURST- SQUARE BY 4-5 GOALS... if this game is played in reasonable conditions i expect to see square blow the game open in the 1st qtr as they did against city last week and there will be no way back for sandhurst, that said it could be a different story if the weather turns nasty

NTH.CITY V GISBORNE- GISBORNE IN A CLOSE ONE... by the time the seniors step onto AUSTAR ARENA on saturday the oval will be barely playable... and the wide expanses of the ground will bring gisborne back to north in a big way... which all makes for an ugly slogfest which will result in a tight affair

CASTLEMAINE V E'HAWK- EAGLEHAWK, BUT JUST... the last few weeks the guys from castlemaine have been edging closer and closer to an upset, cant see it happening this week but should be close

Kings Army
13 Jul 2007, 08:54
I find it very interesting that you will give castlemaine a wrap for having a "crack" but losing. Yet you nor anyone one else from gissy including the fatman KA posted anything at all about Eaglehawk having a "crack" and kicking your arrogant arses. If you are trying to make yourself out to be humble in victory how about making yourself out to be gracious in defeat and giving credit where it is due.
This is mainly aimed at KA but you are all happy to get on here and spruik off about how good you are (even if you dont actually play) and mouth off about other clubs but the moment you cop a loss you all turn into monks and take a vow of silence. Pathetic.

When was the last time I posted you toss bag? You want Gissy supporters to give credit where it is due? You weak cat - you think we sit back and look for credit week in and out when Gissy win? We know where we sit and don't go looking for pats on the back. Now run along back to you crap little comp and try and get some respect there as it is not working for you here.

max powers.
13 Jul 2007, 12:44

My Grandma could get a kick in that league.

let alone an-ex AFL player......so he should of dominated.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
13 Jul 2007, 14:47
Hey trendsetters, the Doc is back for Round 11 tips
K/FLAT v KYNETON – Flat by <20 points
Tiger supporters - If you thought last week against M/B was bad, wait until 4.30pm tomorrow.
MARYBOROUGH v STH BENDIGO v – South by < 30 points
The Pies at home have pushed some good sides to the limit. No different here. South cannot lapse at all or might have an upset here… but I doubt it.

NORTH CITY V GISBORNE – Gisborne by > 80 points
At AUSTAR ARENA. Whoever thinks this game will be close is either a one-eyed North supporter or a tweaker… or both.
CASTLEMAINE V E'HAWK- Hawks by < 40 points
After the massive Gisborne game, last weeks mental anti-climax showed against Flat, so expect E/H to come out firing tomorrow. Have been impressed with Castlemaine’s efforts so will be a good contest, until probably the final qtr.
SANDHURST V GOLDEN SQUARE – Dragons by < 12 points
The Bulldogs have some big inclusions, as do the Dragons. Last time, G/S won by 30 odd, but the Dragons never turned up to play that day and have improved since. At the big QEO, so I’m tipping the team that is more likely to run hard and create. I saw GS against C/maine and they looked slow and top heavy.

September
13 Jul 2007, 14:51
My Grandma could get a kick in that league.

let alone an-ex AFL player......so he should of dominated.
Interesting you say that max, there are a few average ex grfl players now playing regular senior footy in the bendigo footy league. Shane Harvey would dominate the BFL and probably kick 50+ on your grandmother

The Talking Goat
13 Jul 2007, 15:06
Interesting you say that max, there are a few average ex grfl players now playing regular senior footy in the bendigo footy league. Shane Harvey would dominate the BFL and probably kick 50+ on your grandmother
I hear max's grandmother plays a tight, accountable brand of football and would have the pace to keep up with Shane Harvey. I think she would have his measure.

Norfolk & Clew
13 Jul 2007, 15:34
I hear max's grandmother plays a tight, accountable brand of football and would have the pace to keep up with Shane Harvey. I think she would have his measure.

she is certainly not that

max powers.
13 Jul 2007, 16:26

No doubt he would kick a heap....I just said so he should kick a big in that league.

Who are the ex GRFL players Sep??

mr_blonde
13 Jul 2007, 16:27
NORTH CITY V GISBORNE – Gisborne by > 80 points
At AUSTAR ARENA. Whoever thinks this game will be close is either a one-eyed North supporter or a tweaker… or both.

mate if you'd seen austar arena lately or even travelled up to ballarat lately you would know that there is no chance of a blow out in the conditions the 2 sides will face tomorrow... gisborne could very well dominate the game but would still struggle to kick 80 points let alone win by that margin

September
13 Jul 2007, 17:03
No doubt he would kick a heap....I just said so he should kick a big in that league.

Who are the ex GRFL players Sep??
Just a few that spring to mind: Lachlan O'Toole, Malcolm Borchard, Chris Belz and Nathan Hobson

fifth quarter
13 Jul 2007, 17:23
Yep, u have mentioned a few former AFL players at Gissy, B-Boy but one got under the guard.
Ben Ingleton, ex-Sainter, didnt set the world on fire in 2001 Hardly got on the park if memory serves right and I think they won only 3 or 4 games that year when he was the playing coach
Gardiner Reserve was definitely NOT The Graveyard in 2001 :eek:

:confused: And during his time at Gis. Aaron James might have been kept under control by Mickey McG. He tended to be a bit like Ty Z. off the park, did he not :confused:

fifth quarter
13 Jul 2007, 17:29
on the subject of ex-AFL players being good value to clubs the 2 Peters --- Bradbury and Curran --- were favourite sons at South Bgo
Ex Brissie Bears bloke Waterson did OK at Eaglehawk, too. These 3 all in the 90s, altho Bradbury did start in 1989 at South when they were r-up to the Square in the big one

Cecil Macontosh
13 Jul 2007, 17:44
Just a few that spring to mind: Lachlan O'Toole, Malcolm Borchard, Chris Belz and Nathan Hobson

Who does Nathan Hobson play for?:confused:

September
13 Jul 2007, 17:49
Who does Nathan Hobson play for?:confused:
There's one at Nth City but I don't know if it's the same Nathan Hobson I'm thinking of.

mr_blonde
13 Jul 2007, 17:58
There's one at Nth City but I don't know if it's the same Nathan Hobson I'm thinking of.
the one at north city never played in the GRFL sorry mate.. could be another one of course...

September
13 Jul 2007, 18:32
the one at north city never played in the GRFL sorry mate.. could be another one of course...
There was a Nathan Hobson who coached Wakool a couple of years ago, clearly not the same guy.

Junky Bish
13 Jul 2007, 19:32
I'm going to tip CASTLEMAINE tommorrow to roll Eaglehawk at the Maine and no O'Reilly and Herdman two ultra important players to the Burra line up. In addition to this I think the Burra are cherry ripe to get rolled and the Pies are playing some good footy. Castlemaine to win by 14 pts.

Other games South by 5 points over Marybrough. Bloods will find it tough work with a few out.
Sandhurst to nut Golden Sqaure by 9 points the Dragons just seem to be travelling the better at this stage.
Kyneton will pip by Flat by 3 points.
Gisbourne to beat North by 43 points in miserable cold conditions.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
13 Jul 2007, 19:45
mate if you'd seen austar arena lately or even travelled up to ballarat lately you would know that there is no chance of a blow out in the conditions the 2 sides will face tomorrow... gisborne could very well dominate the game but would still struggle to kick 80 points let alone win by that margin

Well Blondie, I lived in Ballarat for a long time and was glad to get out of the place. I know the Roosters ground well. As for whether Gisborne will kick more than 80 points, well, we'll see tomorrow won't we?:cool:

one_inch_punch
13 Jul 2007, 21:24
can't see how any1 could kick a big score in the conditions that u've been describing mr blond... but obviously gisborne have proven themselves to be one of the yardsticks of the competition over the past few seasons, this contest will give the north city boys the best indication yet of where there at, but i think ur a bit optimistic blondie

mr_blonde
13 Jul 2007, 21:33
Well Blondie, I lived in Ballarat for a long time and was glad to get out of the place. I know the Roosters ground well. As for whether Gisborne will kick more than 80 points, well, we'll see tomorrow won't we?:cool:
mate i said lately... atm the extremely soft northern oval surface is covered by a rather thick layer of water, which will result in an extremely poor surface by the time the reserves play let alone the seniors... obviously theres no way i can criticise this gisborne side after the thrashing they gave the city boys earlier in the year, but trust me the conditions will be the worst we have seen all year by a mile

rockstarr
13 Jul 2007, 21:56
So any of you boys know Alan Morris who used to play at Eaglehawk? Anyone?

hank1
13 Jul 2007, 22:23
So any of you boys know Alan Morris who used to play at Eaglehawk? Anyone?

Yeah, would think he'd be a bit past it by now.

rockstarr
13 Jul 2007, 22:51
Yeah, would think he'd be a bit past it by now.
Can you elaborate on how he goes Hank?

ironmunger
13 Jul 2007, 22:57
she is certainly not that

Playing in the grfl myself , i can tell you that even though shane harvey does dominate and the coin he receives to play is massive. his attitude on the ground is very questionable. Heard with my own ears he was asked to move on to the ball from the coach, when the game was tied with about three minutes to go. he told the coach that he was not moving any where, wakool lost the next clearence and the match, not saying that Harvey could of prevented it, thus his being in the middle at this time would of made it alot more difficult for the opposition. Is it really worth spending so much money on a player that does not respect the coaches orders. Yes they won the premiership last year but they are just holding on to fourth spot by a draw this season. Also rumour flying around up there is that wakool are just about broke.:thumbsu:

hank1
13 Jul 2007, 23:36
Can you elaborate on how he goes Hank?

Your typical ruckman, not the smartest bloke, but has been one of the better ruckmen in the bendigo, heathcote and loddon valley leagues, could probably still be benificial to a minor league club who are in need of an old-style ruckmen.
Slow, can fire up, not a bad overhead mark, but his best work is done in the ruck as you would expect, one area where he could say he was smart!.

rockstarr
14 Jul 2007, 14:59
Your typical ruckman, not the smartest bloke, but has been one of the better ruckmen in the bendigo, heathcote and loddon valley leagues, could probably still be benificial to a minor league club who are in need of an old-style ruckmen.
Slow, can fire up, not a bad overhead mark, but his best work is done in the ruck as you would expect, one area where he could say he was smart!.

Thanks for that hank, we have signed him for the rest of the season at Narrandera in the RFL should be handy for us as long as he can put it down the throat of our midfield we will be happy and should put us in good stead for a crack at the flag.
Cheers

one_inch_punch
14 Jul 2007, 19:20
finally castlemaine have secured the upset they have been edging closer and closer to over the last few weeks with a win over eaglehawk... sth bendigo over maryborough by a few goals... kynetons win over k'flat may dull the calls for nev to step down... and gisborne defeated a far from disgraced north city by around 12 goals in from all reports surprisingly good conditions at the AUSTAR ARENA, u may have underestimated ur town on producing decent weather mr.blonde

Jock Clark 2
15 Jul 2007, 15:47
BLONDIE -- Flat led all day until crunch time i.e. the last quarter.
The Flat had a 21 point lead 1/4 time, 16 point buffer at the half but back to just 4 points at 3/4 time.
Young blokes McNish and Crowe just ran out of legs in the last -- understandable given their high workrate for 3 quarters, and the Flat could not hold Ruffell (5 gls) and Cam. Tate (4 goals) up forward.
Good signs there for the Flat, tho, and our webmate Cavey should not be too disappointed.
The Talking Goat, on the other hand, will be devastated now that 1/. the Glider 2s got beaten by the Bullants and 2/. "Where's My Free Kick, Ump." Lloydie's mob got towelled by the Doggies Sat. night.

bearsboy
15 Jul 2007, 17:52
North City had a bloke by the name of Brett Goodes play for them on a permit from Dimboola yesterday, brother of Adam i believe, close to the best player on the ground in the first half until he ran out of batteries. Be a real handy pick up for Nth if they get him to play next year.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
15 Jul 2007, 18:37
The Dragons won by 32 points today. Big crowd, big occasion. As I mentioned on Friday, the Bulldogs lack of run lost the game for them. Simon Weekley kicked 5 and Mark Fitzgerald took a swag of marks. Reserves regular Columban Walsh had the better of Dahl in the ruck.:eek:

one_inch_punch
15 Jul 2007, 19:35
North City had a bloke by the name of Brett Goodes play for them on a permit from Dimboola yesterday, brother of Adam i believe, close to the best player on the ground in the first half until he ran out of batteries. Be a real handy pick up for Nth if they get him to play next year.
brett goodes has been in and out of the roosters snr side over the past few seasons... he would be a nice acquisition for the city boys but very doubtful whether he would turn his back on the roosters

GREENMAN
15 Jul 2007, 20:04
Dont get to comfortable Kyneton........lets put the win in perspective, yes you can only beat the team you are drawn to play and well done for that, but the Flat are the worst team in the BFL history and to be behind on the scoreboard to the for 3 out of 4 quarters is discraceful. Its not winning, but how u won and competed, no run, undisiplined and the coach who can do nothing but yell and scream at his players and umpires all day. The club has lost me, it was embarrasing and to see them celebrate the win like they just won the flag, shows to the football world that the club is clutching at straws and happy to accept mediocrity. The club and the Committee have shown there true colors now, they wont sack Neville, they may wait to the end of the year and do it, but this season is about taking the easy option now. And the club should be more concerned that its 2nds and u18 teams were beaten so badly. Looks like nothing comming through and the seconds which are the core of every football club have given up the ghost, you have hit rock bottom Kyneton and you are now about to fall through the bottom of the barrell. You are years away from challenging for a flag and years away from recovery from Neville the Wrecker and his open cheque book

Big Kim
16 Jul 2007, 10:36
Greenman - do you now feel better for getting that crap off your chest? What a pathetic post.
Sounds like the Tigers had 2 victories on the w/end. One in beating the Flat and the other in losing you as a supporter.....it's fickle people like you that hold a club back.

monster mash
16 Jul 2007, 11:51
Dont get to comfortable Kyneton........lets put the win in perspective, yes you can only beat the team you are drawn to play and well done for that, but the Flat are the worst team in the BFL history and to be behind on the scoreboard to the for 3 out of 4 quarters is discraceful. Its not winning, but how u won and competed, no run, undisiplined and the coach who can do nothing but yell and scream at his players and umpires all day. The club has lost me, it was embarrasing and to see them celebrate the win like they just won the flag, shows to the football world that the club is clutching at straws and happy to accept mediocrity. The club and the Committee have shown there true colors now, they wont sack Neville, they may wait to the end of the year and do it, but this season is about taking the easy option now. And the club should be more concerned that its 2nds and u18 teams were beaten so badly. Looks like nothing comming through and the seconds which are the core of every football club have given up the ghost, you have hit rock bottom Kyneton and you are now about to fall through the bottom of the barrell. You are years away from challenging for a flag and years away from recovery from Neville the Wrecker and his open cheque book

So you are saying a side that has not had a win for 9 weeks isn't allowed to take some enjoyment from finally getting over the line. Get a life mate

KingRich
16 Jul 2007, 15:21
brett goodes has been in and out of the roosters snr side over the past few seasons... he would be a nice acquisition for the city boys but very doubtful whether he would turn his back on the roosters

Brett Goodes at full fitness is easily in North Ballarats best 22. Roosters had the bye.

max powers.
16 Jul 2007, 16:09

I'm not sure How old Mal Borchard was when he was in that league but he's not a bad player now.
didn't lachy O'toole kick a heap of goals in the GRFL??

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
16 Jul 2007, 16:26

Back in your box Blondie...:D

davis 24
16 Jul 2007, 18:12

You are a complete muppet Nev harldy yelled out a word all day towards the umpires and the only timke he yelled at his players was when they were getting beat by the worst side in the league and needed a huge spray.. What have you ever done for the club green man except sit around and write pathetic post on a computer about the tigers

bearsboy
16 Jul 2007, 21:05
You are a complete muppet Nev harldy yelled out a word all day towards the umpires and the only timke he yelled at his players was when they were getting beat by the worst side in the league and needed a huge spray.. What have you ever done for the club green man except sit around and write pathetic post on a computer about the tigersTrust me old mate, GREENMAN is a very well respected person when it comes to the Kyneton FC and all things BFL.

brewery fresh
16 Jul 2007, 22:35
I'm not sure How old Mal Borchard was when he was in that league but he's not a bad player now.
didn't lachy O'toole kick a heap of goals in the GRFL??

borchard was only a kid, played with macorna, he has obviously developed into a very good footballer from modest beginnings.

lachy otoole was only just a player, although young, for ultima. no where near his brothers yet, luke is a prob the best footballer i have seen, matt a very good player also

fig9
17 Jul 2007, 01:04
Who is Bearsboy? Talks absolute dribble, none of his post make sense.....
Anybody know who this guy is?;)

monster mash
17 Jul 2007, 10:09
Trust me old mate, GREENMAN is a very well respected person when it comes to the Kyneton FC and all things BFL.

I hope the hell that no prospective coaches for Kyneton look at this site. If Greenman is well respected around the club, you'd know that you were going to get white anted from the inside out by so called respected supporters.

Up The Calder
17 Jul 2007, 11:19
Greenman. Pull your head in. Do you support Gisbourne or Kyneton. Surely not both

Cecil Macontosh
17 Jul 2007, 13:19
Does anybody think that Castlemaine can make the finals this year?

Warren
17 Jul 2007, 13:29
Does anybody think that Castlemaine can make the finals this year?

Yes, I think they can finish top!

KingRich
17 Jul 2007, 13:32
I hope the hell that no prospective coaches for Kyneton look at this site. If Greenman is well respected around the club, you'd know that you were going to get white anted from the inside out by so called respected supporters.

Agreed....

pentium1111
17 Jul 2007, 15:33
Trust me old mate, GREENMAN is a very well respected person when it comes to the Kyneton FC and all things BFL.

Bear, you have just lowered your colours associating yourself with Greenman. His post regarding the Kyneton win was innaccurate and misleading. At no time did Kyneton celebrate the win like it was a premiership, the playing group know where they are at. It looked to be more of a relief to the players than excitement and celebration. I actually saw some of the Kyneton players comiserating the Flat boys - i would imagine because they know how they feel.
For you to come and here and misrepresent the truth, especially the celebration comment was very ordinary.
Don't mind you having a go at the coaches behaviour or the amount of run, but dont come on here making the Kyneton players out to be stupid. As a group they know where they are at and are hoping to improve on what has been a dissapointing season.

caveman
17 Jul 2007, 17:39
Good signs there for the Flat, tho, and our webmate Cavey should not be too disappointed.

Hey mate,

I am disappointed that we dont have a win yet but mate the rooers are having a real crack and that is all I can ask for. I think we are on the right track and with the young guys coming through, things are looking good for the future.

Regardless of how many wins we get this year we need to keep all these young players. We have lost so many players with a few years experience and that is really letting us down. I think Rombo and Warry have got a good structure in place and I look forward to the years ahead at the Flat. :thumbsu:

bearsboy
17 Jul 2007, 18:14
Who is Bearsboy? Talks absolute dribble, none of his post make sense.....
Anybody know who this guy is?;)Settle down big fella and you just worry about sending me a size through so i can order you a red, white and blue jumper for next year.:thumbsu:

danielkerr
18 Jul 2007, 00:58
It amazes me that you can use a computer

It actually shows your lack of intelligence by responding to these insignificant posts....

Norfolk & Clew
18 Jul 2007, 12:35
It actually shows your lack of intelligence by responding to these insignificant posts....

Could say the same to you.

Anyway who is playing who this week?

bearsboy
18 Jul 2007, 13:36
Could say the same to you.

Anyway who is playing who this week?Gisborne v Sandhurst at Gisborne, should be a ripper. Sandhurst were very impressive on Sunday.

Sandhurst clearly the 3rd best side for mine !

Does anyone think Golden Square or South can win the flag from here ?

hank1
18 Jul 2007, 13:53
Gisborne v Sandhurst at Gisborne, should be a ripper. Sandhurst were very impressive on Sunday.

Golden Square looked too slow through the middle and even up forward on Sunday, you wont win finals on the QEO come September with that make up.

Norfolk & Clew
18 Jul 2007, 15:00
Gisborne v Sandhurst at Gisborne, should be a ripper. Sandhurst were very impressive on Sunday.

Golden Square looked too slow through the middle and even up forward on Sunday, you wont win finals on the QEO come September with that make up.

Sunday's game was the first one of the season that i haven't seen, so i can't comment on that but i agree that we are really struggling. We do need speed but it is not something that can be taught. We have fantastic players right across the board, once the team is playing to its strengths we'll be flying. Speed, while important, isn't everything, there are still a couple of players to come back as well, and i am just hoping that our form can turn around soon!

hank1
18 Jul 2007, 15:13
Sunday's game was the first one of the season that i haven't seen, so i can't comment on that but i agree that we are really struggling. We do need speed but it is not something that can be taught. We have fantastic players right across the board, once the team is playing to its strengths we'll be flying. Speed, while important, isn't everything, there are still a couple of players to come back as well, and i am just hoping that our form can turn around soon!

Agree, if you haven't got that leg speed through the middle, you need to be very hard at it, execute well by hand and foot, and play a fairly direct brand of footy, Golden Square had no problems with the hardness, but there directness and execution was not there on Sunday. That is something that can be rectified and a couple of players coming back may help also.

max powers.
18 Jul 2007, 15:39

i think anyone who is hitting the finals in form can win it......I seem to Remember a certain side struggling to make the 5 at this stage of the year in 2001 only to win the last 11(including finals) and win the big One.
just goes to show if you hit the finals up & going then anything can happen?

gimmie_sven
18 Jul 2007, 16:34
There was a Nathan Hobson who coached Wakool a couple of years ago, clearly not the same guy.

yer, definatly not the same Nathan Hobson... The bloke that plays at north city just turned 20.. & in his second season..... More than one bloke can have the same name silly:)

Go Cohuna
18 Jul 2007, 20:50
i think anyone who is hitting the finals in form can win it......I seem to Remember a certain side struggling to make the 5 at this stage of the year in 2001 only to win the last 11(including finals) and win the big One.
just goes to show if you hit the finals up & going then anything can happen?
i agree. i wouldn't write off any teams yet especially square who hav sum stars 2 cum back into the lineup.

The Talking Goat
18 Jul 2007, 22:02
i agree. i wouldn't write off any teams yet especially square who hav sum stars 2 cum back into the lineup.
every side in the top five has stars to come back into their line-up.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
19 Jul 2007, 09:43
every side in the top five has stars to come back into their line-up.

Agree Goat. All teams at this stage of the year have injuries so it's no reason for Golden Square to be complacent. It seems they think it will all click "if only..." and "what if...." etc etc....

I've said all year they looked top heavy and slow and they have proved me right so far. Too many key position players for mine.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
19 Jul 2007, 11:41
[quote=bearsboy;8148386]Gisborne v Sandhurst at Gisborne, should be a ripper. Sandhurst were very impressive on Sunday.

BB - how's the graveyard looking? Big mudbath? I agree the game should be a ripper

The Talking Goat
19 Jul 2007, 13:26
[quote=bearsboy;8148386]Gisborne v Sandhurst at Gisborne, should be a ripper. Sandhurst were very impressive on Sunday.

BB - how's the graveyard looking? Big mudbath? I agree the game should be a ripper
Sandhurst to finish third for me too. goat out

Truth Hurts
19 Jul 2007, 14:43
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8156232]
Sandhurst to finish third for me too. goat out

The Bloods will come good, not far away when last played Gissy, and a quarter against ehawk cost the game. Consistancy is the problem, and that is all mental.. ability doesn't change week to week, but attitude is the big variable in footy.

Most clubs have this problem bar Gissy, they are consistanly mentally ready each week and the results speak for themselvs. But if some of the other clubs can begin to play to full potential then she could be a ripper finals series.

Although we havn't seen it... south at its best can beat any side.

South for third spot.

B.O.G
19 Jul 2007, 14:58
hey fellows bfl users just a quick question?
how is gissy doing with the players that they lost and have any of the other teams gained ground from last year, i use to live near gissy but live in the city know so i dont hear much on them

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
19 Jul 2007, 17:02
[quote=The Talking Goat;8156883]

The Bloods will come good, not far away when last played Gissy, and a quarter against ehawk cost the game. Consistancy is the problem, and that is all mental.. ability doesn't change week to week, but attitude is the big variable in footy.

Most clubs have this problem bar Gissy, they are consistanly mentally ready each week and the results speak for themselvs. But if some of the other clubs can begin to play to full potential then she could be a ripper finals series.

Although we havn't seen it... south at its best can beat any side.

South for third spot.

Agreed on some points there - especially in regards to this years final series, but remember Sandhurst also led most of their game with Gissy only to go down by 7 points. And the Dragons have flogged South both times this year.

Confident of a top 3 finish for Sandhurst

Truth Hurts
19 Jul 2007, 17:12
[quote=Truth Hurts;8157613]

Agreed on some points there - especially in regards to this years final series, but remember Sandhurst also led most of their game with Gissy only to go down by 7 points. And the Dragons have flogged South both times this year.

Flogged round one,

Should have flogged the second time round - didn't. I know all sides have guys out, but south currently have 8 starting 18 player out of the line up, thats huge!

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
19 Jul 2007, 18:06
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8158954]

Flogged round one,

Should have flogged the second time round - didn't. I know all sides have guys out, but south currently have 8 starting 18 player out of the line up, thats huge!

Just to clarify there:

Round One - SH flogged South as you said, with South having most available

Round 10 - SH beat South by 30 odd without N Gilliland, W Mitrovic, Z Perez and L Carter, so makes your point a bit invalid.

Reality is only 7 rounds to go and most people (inc me) don't see South winning enough games to grab 3rd. Sandhurst only have Eaglehawk and Gisborne left as hard games for the year. Just being a realist. The truth hurts, doesn't it... ;)

Jumbo 2
19 Jul 2007, 22:28
Heard whispers of a bit of unrest at the Borough. Anyone like to give the real facts:confused:

Truth Hurts
20 Jul 2007, 09:39
[quote=Truth Hurts;8159071]

Just to clarify there:

Round One - SH flogged South as you said, with South having most available

Round 10 - SH beat South by 30 odd without N Gilliland, W Mitrovic, Z Perez and L Carter, so makes your point a bit invalid.

Reality is only 7 rounds to go and most people (inc me) don't see South winning enough games to grab 3rd. Sandhurst only have Eaglehawk and Gisborne left as hard games for the year. Just being a realist. The truth hurts, doesn't it... ;)

Ok mate....... you have convinced me, sandhurst will finish third.

Truth Hurts
20 Jul 2007, 09:41
[quote=Truth Hurts;8157613]

Why did you change your name?

Needed a fresh start?

Truth Hurts ;)

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
20 Jul 2007, 12:16
Tips for Round 12

Gisborne v Sandhurst – Gisborne <12 points

Ring-a-ding-ding contest tomorrow with both sides travelling well. I’m definitely on the DRAGON WAGON after seeing them down South and Square. Improved a lot since the start of the year. Having said that, it’s at Gisborne. So the Bulldogs in a close one.

South v KFlat – South >60 points

Rick & the boys will set up the witches hats, turn up at half time and still win quite easily.

Golden Square v Maryborough – Square >40 points
A confidence builder for Joffa & co, that’s all.

North City v Castlemaine – Castlemaine <30 points

I have a soft spot for these likeable bunch of bogans. Rough as guts but they have a dip and that’s all you can ask.

Eaglehawk v Kyneton - Hawks >150

The kittens may have won last week, but I still rate them the worst in the league.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
20 Jul 2007, 12:19
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8158954]

Why did you change your name?

Needed a fresh start?

Truth Hurts ;)

I've been the Doctor since I joined in Big Footy in May 07 Truthie, so I'm not quite sure what you're looking at

bearsboy
20 Jul 2007, 13:55

BB - how's the graveyard looking? Big mudbath? I agree the game should be a ripperSome very handy ins this week for Gisborne - L.Saunders, S.Hamilton and T.Elliot.

With sunshine predicted, Gisborne by a few goals for me

bearsboy
20 Jul 2007, 14:20
hey fellows bfl users just a quick question?
how is gissy doing with the players that they lost and have any of the other teams gained ground from last year, i use to live near gissy but live in the city know so i dont hear much on themGisborne lost 5 or more players from last years flag side but travelling ok at the moment and sitting on top of the ladder.

Same old story with the same teams making up the top 5 Gisborne, Eaglehawk, Sandhurst, Golden Square and South Bendigo.

ag hero
20 Jul 2007, 15:23
Heard whispers of a bit of unrest at the Borough. Anyone like to give the real facts:confused:
Darcy Richards back 2 play against gisbourne next week. LOOK OUT!!!!

Norfolk & Clew
20 Jul 2007, 15:30
Good signs for square, our dashing quarter back Dillon Anderson making his comeback from injury in the two's this week.

PINNACLE HEALTH
20 Jul 2007, 16:13
Good signs for square, our dashing quarter back Dillon Anderson making his comeback from injury in the two's this week.

When are you returning from your hammy?
Did you tear it or eat it?

Dillons comeback will be interesting i just hope he stays in the backline away from me cos that bloke is hungryer than an Etheopian.

Boyd
20 Jul 2007, 18:10
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8156232]Some very handy ins this week for Gisborne - L.Saunders, S.Hamilton and T.Elliot.

With sunshine predicted, Gisborne by a few goals for me
Hi everyone new to this, but did hear during the week that Saunders and Hamilton wont play.

bearsboy
20 Jul 2007, 18:35
[quote=bearsboy;8166679]
Hi everyone new to this, but did hear during the week that Saunders and Hamilton wont play.I can asure you both are good to go mate.