View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
mr_blonde
20 Jul 2007, 18:38
Back in your box Blondie...:D
i can honestly say the weather at the austar arena was the best i have seen in years for playing footy, if it wasn't for the oval that is.... a few drops of rain for the entire game, which made for good conditions and higher scoring than expected... we all make mistakes
youknow
20 Jul 2007, 19:06
Alot of people have gone off this site me included.
Its boring.
Then again it was early on alot of talk how good their club will be in 07.
But yet again its a similar top five at this mark with a few disapointments.
One being the Kyneton Tigers football club i had them in my top five shows you how much i know.
What a rable not only are they boring to watch but they are bad, so bad the worst team in BFL history neally knocked them off Kangaroo flat whats going on at kyneton?
I hear the RDFL calling, you might scrape into the top 5.
As for you Kangaroo flat you should just be called flat you dont deserve an animal featured on the Australian coat of arms in your name.
Id love to see your checkbook a sh*t load of money forked out for 0 wins.
No you wont win one.
On a happier note Eaglehawk have proved me wrong their seems to be a good balance of age and youth.
And as for the mighty bulldogs(the only bulldogs) we are going ok just ok.
When Maddog Davis is fit anything could happen.
hpvectra
20 Jul 2007, 20:12
Heard whispers of a bit of unrest at the Borough. Anyone like to give the real facts:confused:
one s tuddenham apparently threw jacket at mckern and is in the seconds tomorrow and may call it a day that is if you were talking about the eaglehawk borough a few others not to happy either
as i see it
20 Jul 2007, 21:10
Its boring.
One being the Kyneton Tigers football club i had them in my top five shows you how much i know.
What a rable not only are they boring to watch but they are bad, so bad the worst team in BFL history neally knocked them off Kangaroo flat whats going on at kyneton?
As for you Kangaroo flat you should just be called flat you dont deserve an animal featured on the Australian coat of arms in your name.
No you wont win one.
On a happier note Eaglehawk have proved me wrong their seems to be a good balance of age and youth.
Alot of people have gone off this site me included. You should probably stay off too. Kyneton will never go into RDFL and if they did then no other team would get near them. There is a big difference between RDFL and BFL a very big difference.. lots of good RDFL players struggle in BFL, Kyneton already had one go back to woodend half way through the year because he was struggling to get a kick..
thatswhatimtalkinabout
21 Jul 2007, 03:33
Its boring.
No you wont win one.
The actual fact is we have being trying to make some sense from you last twelve posts YouKnow.
You try and work it out;
'Look hear trailer trash at least we have players at trainning which are tight knit and are that keen and eager to knock off all Bendigo scum for a third in a row flag.'
'You should come down one night warren and have a look at what a tight knit unit and great club functions like.You might be amazed what hard work and pride in a club and its jumper can achive.'
'Ill even shout you a beer if you can find out who i am !'
'hate each other and it is healthy in a way the games are played at an intence level.'
'Kangaroo flat well they havent done much since filo kicked 8 in the last half to beat us at Gisborne some years back a brillant display of football skills and ability.'
'Now all they are good for is a chain of fast food shops that runs down the calder towards Holy Grail country Gisborne.'
'TWITA your not a man that should be paying out on Gisborne.'
'I know it sounds stupid but i live to play and beat sunbury as much as i do any Bendigo team.
To hate them all my life and line up asgainst them in a praccy match still makes me piss five times an hour thinking of it.
This game should be a cracker both teams wont be full strength but dont let that keep you away.'
'And you cant tell me serge wont be pushing his boys he was even keen to have look over the fence a couple of weeks back.'
'You struggle.'
'No way they are old and the old age policy at the club will see them slip more and more .'
'Filo i give him his credit he has been one of the finest country footballers to play and he will have the odd match were he has a cracker but he is past it , he dosent have the list to be their and they wont make finals this year and for the next five for that matter (unless $ come into it)the club needs a revamp they had some great 18's over the years but they just seem to loose them to the over 30's and these players move on.
I think it might be twenty in a row for Gisborne over eaglehawk this year something like that i dont even think the flat are anyway near that.'
'Covered im sure you will be right up their for 3 quaters.'
'The freake, nice bloke but dont talk about him on here WWIII he controls the web and may well be looking over your house now he is the chossen one.'
It might be boring becuase we aren't getting to listen to your wisdom 'you know'.
By the way, these aren't a random selections tapping into your font of knowledge, I'm using the Dewey Decimal system.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
21 Jul 2007, 10:04
one s tuddenham apparently threw jacket at mckern and is in the seconds tomorrow and may call it a day that is if you were talking about the eaglehawk borough a few others not to happy either
What's the issue? Not enough senior spots to fit everyone? Or just a clash of personalities?:confused:
bearsboy
21 Jul 2007, 19:12
Gisborne flexed the old bicep today with a 94 point win over Sandhurst.
Kings Army
21 Jul 2007, 19:47
No Saunders or Davis and still a complete demolition.
Mark Fitz coming off the line 3 times in a row in the 2nd quarter looking for the Gissy little men was interesting. The funny thing was when the 2nd quarter brawl started big Duff pinned him and he threw his arms up in the air yelling out for an umpire.
Caught up with the Goat after the game and asked him to tap twice with his hoof if he was impressed or once if he was not sure. The 2 loudest claps of hooves you will ever hear. Thanks Goat!
The Talking Goat
21 Jul 2007, 21:50
Mark Fitz coming off the line 3 times in a row in the 2nd quarter looking for the Gissy little men was interesting. The funny thing was when the 2nd quarter brawl started big Duff pinned him and he threw his arms up in the air yelling out for an umpire.
Caught up with the Goat after the game and asked him to tap twice with his hoof if he was impressed or once if he was not sure. The 2 loudest claps of hooves you will ever hear. Thanks Goat!
Just finishing typing up the stories kingy, and as I said, full of praise for gisborne. They are going to be hard to beat from here. The goat enjoyed the hospitality of the gisborne crew at half-time, very professional. being up in those social rooms is much better than being stuck out in the old man's paddock eating grass. mind you, with the rain we've been getting, the grass is nice and green. my paddock is in much better condition than gardiner reserve. goat out.
woody07
22 Jul 2007, 10:51
K.A, is Gisborne really that good or are Sandhurst simply pretenders. How can a game blow out to 90 odd points when this was touted as one of the matches of the round. What were Sandhurst’s match-ups like. On that, do these teams look closely at who is playing on who when the venture down to Gardiner Reserve or do they simply apply a couple of tags/run-with players and let the rest of players sort themselves out. What sort of Game plan did they attempt to execute-or did they have one? Not often do you come back and challenge for premierships after defeats like that! A few questions for you K.A-see what you can do for me.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
22 Jul 2007, 11:34
K.A, is Gisborne really that good or are Sandhurst simply pretenders. How can a game blow out to 90 odd points when this was touted as one of the matches of the round. What were Sandhurst’s match-ups like. On that, do these teams look closely at who is playing on who when the venture down to Gardiner Reserve or do they simply apply a couple of tags/run-with players and let the rest of players sort themselves out. What sort of Game plan did they attempt to execute-or did they have one? Not often do you come back and challenge for premierships after defeats like that! A few questions for you K.A-see what you can do for me.
I honestly don't think they had a game plan. I don't even believe Sandhurst turned up to play. Common perception that Sandhurst like playing there is highly misguided... they hate that little bog hole like everyone else except Gis.
As I said last week -they are the 3rd best side which shows how far EH & Gis are in front of the field.
Kings Army
22 Jul 2007, 12:30
Just another team that thought they had a chance in 07 and tipped toed into Gisborne and basically got there heads kick in. Vigus thought he could go toe to toe with Hamilton and ended up squealing like a little pig. No one takes on the wee man and wins. Fitzy was tagged but ended up with 40.
The game plan they brought was to push the Goal Attack up the ground and let the Wing Defence play as a second midfielder.
youknow
22 Jul 2007, 17:21
[quote=thatswhatimtalkinabout;8173692]The actual fact is we have being trying to make some sense from you last twelve posts YouKnow.
You try and work it out;
'Look hear trailer trash at least we have players at trainning which are tight knit and are that keen and eager to knock off all Bendigo scum for a third in a row flag.'
'You should come down one night warren and have a look at what a tight knit unit and great club functions like.You might be amazed what hard work and pride in a club and its jumper can achive.'
'Ill even shout you a beer if you can find out who i am !'
'hate each other and it is healthy in a way the games are played at an intence level.'
'Kangaroo flat well they havent done much since filo kicked 8 in the last half to beat us at Gisborne some years back a brillant display of football skills and ability.'
'Now all they are good for is a chain of fast food shops that runs down the calder towards Holy Grail country Gisborne.'
'TWITA your not a man that should be paying out on Gisborne.'
'I know it sounds stupid but i live to play and beat sunbury as much as i do any Bendigo team.
To hate them all my life and line up asgainst them in a praccy match still makes me piss five times an hour thinking of it.
This game should be a cracker both teams wont be full strength but dont let that keep you away.'
'And you cant tell me serge wont be pushing his boys he was even keen to have look over the fence a couple of weeks back.'
'You struggle.'
'No way they are old and the old age policy at the club will see them slip more and more .'
'Filo i give him his credit he has been one of the finest country footballers to play and he will have the odd match were he has a cracker but he is past it , he dosent have the list to be their and they wont make finals this year and for the next five for that matter (unless $ come into it)the club needs a revamp they had some great 18's over the years but they just seem to loose them to the over 30's and these players move on.
I think it might be twenty in a row for Gisborne over eaglehawk this year something like that i dont even think the flat are anyway near that.'
'Covered im sure you will be right up their for 3 quaters.'
'The freake, nice bloke but dont talk about him on here WWIII he controls the web and may well be looking over your house now he is the chossen one.'
It might be boring becuase we aren't getting to listen to your wisdom 'you know'.
By the way, these aren't a random selections tapping into your font of knowledge, I'm using the Dewey Decimal system.[/quote
Some sought of life your running their twita
Your a frigen "GEEK"
fifth quarter
22 Jul 2007, 18:43
have a look back 1 or 2 pages and we were told saunders DEFINITELY would play against the dragons
wot happened :eek: injury didn't come up and wot about The Dog, Davis :confused::confused:
generally fine-ish weather coming into september so south's marking forwards in the 2 burkes and b strange could be a handful for ehawk and gissie the burkes snagged 11 goals between them
yerssss i know they were only playing the flat but leigh banged home 7 and jimmie burke got 4 childs might be handy against stewie hamilton as match-ups go childs doesn't mind a bit of biffo
as i see it
22 Jul 2007, 19:00
Kyneton should have got pretty close to Eaglehawk on the weekend, they only went down by 5 goals, but had a lot of missed opportunities in front of goals. Tate kicked 4.5 or something and is usually fairly reliable in front of goals. Without Reaper and Eve in the team also eaglehawk struggled big time
GREENMAN
22 Jul 2007, 21:00
No point getting pretty close.....a loss is a loss. No 4 points for Kyneton again and another nail in the Massina coaching coffin. Eaglehawk though are getting the wobbly wings as we come to Sept, new turf for them as it takes alot of experiance to maintain form through out the year and peak in Sept. If you want to do right and time your run for the flag.......watch Gisborne. The young Sandhurst coach got a football and coaching lesson at the graveyard......will be interesting to see how he and the Dragons recover from a smashing.... And no......I havent given Kyneton the ass, just the opportunity to watch top class football locally was to much to resist, so it was of to Gis I went. Just proved to me how far behind Kyneton are and how far they have to come to be successful, hope we all live long enough to see the Tigers roar again!!!!!! Interesting to see a few people from here at the ground as well.........rumour has it BB and Kings are releasing an album together called ..............."We got a drinking problem and we cant sing for shit". Look forward to its release.
bloodhound!
23 Jul 2007, 12:03
Just another team that thought they had a chance in 07 and tipped toed into Gisborne and basically got there heads kick in. Vigus thought he could go toe to toe with Hamilton and ended up squealing like a little pig. No one takes on the wee man and wins. Fitzy was tagged but ended up with 40.
The game plan they brought was to push the Goal Attack up the ground and let the Wing Defence play as a second midfielder.
Oh here we go again you are a joke have a listen to yourself "tip toe into gisborne" of course people do know one wants to be seen there and no one likes to be gang raped by neanderthals or have their cars stolen. You are front runner KA, a fair weather friend, didnt hear a peep out of you when Eaglehawk beat Gisborne now your singing like a canary.....a very, very fat one who needs to have gastric bypass surgery.
footyhead18
23 Jul 2007, 15:27
[quote=Boyd;8169241]I can asure you both are good to go mate.
bearsboy you obviously dont have inside knowledge of the club after all because i know for a fact Saunders was never going to lineup on saturday & may still miss 1 more. If you are going to claim to knowit all about gfc that please be little more accurate or honest, one of the 2.
The Wombat
23 Jul 2007, 17:25
I think the single biggest thing to come out of the BFL this weekend was not on the field but Off. The biggest single transfer of the Season. I heard this from the horses mouth unfortunately.
CLAUDE CRITCHLEY has changed allegiences to the Blue and Gold and after a good day on the punt invested $40 on a club shirt. Was apparently looking for Ball tickets but was struggling for a date when I left Wade Street.
tassie2heads
23 Jul 2007, 18:12
I think the single biggest thing to come out of the BFL this weekend was not on the field but Off. The biggest single transfer of the Season. I heard this from the horses mouth unfortunately.
CLAUDE CRITCHLEY has changed allegiences to the Blue and Gold and after a good day on the punt invested $40 on a club shirt. Was apparently looking for Ball tickets but was struggling for a date when I left Wade Street.
probly wouldnt hurt to give him a game in the 1s . couldnt be any worse that the team are going now !
tassie2heads
23 Jul 2007, 18:16
have a look back 1 or 2 pages and we were told saunders DEFINITELY would play against the dragons
wot happened :eek: injury didn't come up and wot about The Dog, Davis :confused::confused:
generally fine-ish weather coming into september so south's marking forwards in the 2 burkes and b strange could be a handful for ehawk and gissie the burkes snagged 11 goals between them
yerssss i know they were only playing the flat but leigh banged home 7 and jimmie burke got 4 childs might be handy against stewie hamilton as match-ups go childs doesn't mind a bit of biffo
dont go looking to far ahead south have to make it yet . i wouldnt say there a safe bet yet . get on the maine .
tassie2heads
23 Jul 2007, 18:22
Oh here we go again you are a joke have a listen to yourself "tip toe into gisborne" of course people do know one wants to be seen there and no one likes to be gang raped by neanderthals or have their cars stolen. You are front runner KA, a fair weather friend, didnt hear a peep out of you when Eaglehawk beat Gisborne now your singing like a canary.....a very, very fat one who needs to have gastric bypass surgery.
it dont matter who won the other week out of gissy and eaglehawk really coz all of us in bendigo no that another flag is going down the calder again and going to lob into gissy . every one needs to get off gissys ass and try and get there own clubs up and running and then in a few years the flag may come back here to bendigo . great team gissy and it would be great to be a part of .
Can anyone tell me how Moss is going from Gisborne?:confused:
I've seen a few times he's been in the best?
Kings Army
23 Jul 2007, 19:13
Tip toe was sung after the theme song on Sat. Front running is all I know seeing that Gissy has won 4 out of the last 5 flags. Now run along back to the little league you play in your opinion carries no weight here!
bearsboy
23 Jul 2007, 20:22
[quote=bearsboy;8169506]
bearsboy you obviously dont have inside knowledge of the club after all because i know for a fact Saunders was never going to lineup on saturday & may still miss 1 more. If you are going to claim to knowit all about gfc that please be little more accurate or honest, one of the 2.Spot on mate i have no inside info whatsoever, looks like your the go to man if anyone needs info on the Gisborne fc.
Hang on, arent you the bloke that told us M.Barham was a done deal to coach Doutta Stars this year. (idiot)
What is with everyone gissy bashing. If your club was dominating like gissy are youd be crowing as well, and probably twice as much too.
As T2H has said go out and worry bout your own club, go help with the stats or something along those lines instead of hanging it on everyone and anyone
bearsboy
23 Jul 2007, 20:26
Can anyone tell me how Moss is going from Gisborne?:confused:
I've seen a few times he's been in the best?Top bloke Mossy, travelling along nicely at the moment.
bearsboy
23 Jul 2007, 20:38
it dont matter who won the other week out of gissy and eaglehawk really coz all of us in bendigo no that another flag is going down the calder again and going to lob into gissy . every one needs to get off gissys ass and try and get there own clubs up and running and then in a few years the flag may come back here to bendigo . great team gissy and it would be great to be a part of .One of the best posts i've ever seen on this thread !
Top bloke Mossy, travelling along nicely at the moment.
Is a great fella and seen he's been getting in the best often.:thumbsu:
I heard that if gissy win the flag this year he may head to Riddell next year as he has a few mates there? Be a great pick up for the bombers if this was true.
tassie2heads
23 Jul 2007, 21:16
What is with everyone gissy bashing. If your club was dominating like gissy are youd be crowing as well, and probably twice as much too.
As T2H has said go out and worry bout your own club, go help with the stats or something along those lines instead of hanging it on everyone and anyone
EVEN IF THEY DID HELP OUT WITH THE STATS THEY WOULD STILL BE STRESSEN ABOUT GISSY . be interesting in years to come when some team in the bfl is as good as gissy what sort of s### they hang on gissy then . that could be many years off yet , we could all be dead by then ! hope that it will be castlemaine as i am a main boy . that lives in bendigo . that can be honest enough to rate gissy and not sit here and bag the s### out of them . just tells it how it is gissy are full of guns !
Jock Clark 2
24 Jul 2007, 14:15
NOT a bad post about helping out with the stats at a footy club.
Have a very distinct feeling that one of our Gissie mates, and forum posters, is indeed a stats man at Gissie.
So the poster on this thread mentioning "getting involved with the stats at your club" has struck gold !! :thumbsu:
footyhead18
24 Jul 2007, 16:07
[quote=footyhead18;8196230]Spot on mate i have no inside info whatsoever, looks like your the go to man if anyone needs info on the Gisborne fc.
Hang on, arent you the bloke that told us M.Barham was a done deal to coach Doutta Stars this year. (idiot)
Idiot! Shesus that cuts deep. If you look again i merely threw up the rumour that was sweeping Gissy last year re Marcus, did not in anyway confirm it or say there was any truth to it. Unlike your post where you told us all earlier in year that Sippy was definitely staying at Gissy and no truth to woodend rumour. Looks like your inside info was wrong again then. I dont claim to be the go to man for Gissy, you do, so all im saying is either get it right or dont tell us at all.
bearsboy
24 Jul 2007, 17:16
[quote=bearsboy;8200032]
Idiot! Shesus that cuts deep. If you look again i merely threw up the rumour that was sweeping Gissy last year re Marcus, did not in anyway confirm it or say there was any truth to it. Unlike your post where you told us all earlier in year that Sippy was definitely staying at Gissy and no truth to woodend rumour. Looks like your inside info was wrong again then. I dont claim to be the go to man for Gissy, you do, so all im saying is either get it right or dont tell us at all.Turn it up old mate, ive never claimed to be the go to man at Gisborne but your right it looks like my man on the inside at Gisborne is feeding me the wrong info. :rolleyes:
NOT a bad post about helping out with the stats at a footy club.
Have a very distinct feeling that one of our Gissie mates, and forum posters, is indeed a stats man at Gissie.
So the poster on this thread mentioning "getting involved with the stats at your club" has struck gold !! :thumbsu:
Mate i could have said team manager, water boy, interchange person, forward scout, even hold the magnetic board any old job to help out a bush club.
PINNACLE HEALTH
24 Jul 2007, 22:09
Guys, i can't believe no one has mentioned K/Flat beating STH in the two's last week especially since it was at the QEO. I know it's only in the 2's but surely that would the biggest upset thus far?
Any from STH care to comment, Truth Hurts, were you blokes still in Bali.
But having said that congrats to K/Flat
b birmingham
25 Jul 2007, 00:15
Just had a look at the draw for the rest of the year, last round Castlemaine v G Square at the Maine. Coulld be a huge game considering CM have already played Gisborne twice and GS is still to play South, E'Hawk and Gisborne again.
Surely it couldn't happen that Square will miss the finals this year could it?
GS were talked up as big flag chances this year. What has happened? What is different from last year?
Truth Hurts
25 Jul 2007, 11:45
Guys, i can't believe no one has mentioned K/Flat beating STH in the two's last week especially since it was at the QEO. I know it's only in the 2's but surely that would the biggest upset thus far?
Any from STH care to comment, Truth Hurts, were you blokes still in Bali.
But having said that congrats to K/Flat
No, there were no players away at all. Although south have around 10 injuries at the club currently so 3 thirds players and a few top ups had to play. I don't think it would have mattered though. K flat came to play and had a real disire to win. south didn't. Even when south hit the front with 5 mins to go the flat boys worked their guts out to score another goal. They were the better side.
Can't believe Sheeds has been axed! he is essendon to every Bomber supporter under the age of 27!
Norfolk & Clew
25 Jul 2007, 12:14
No, there were no players away at all. Although south have around 10 injuries at the club currently so 3 thirds players and a few top ups had to play. I don't think it would have mattered though. K flat came to play and had a real disire to win. south didn't. Even when south hit the front with 5 mins to go the flat boys worked their guts out to score another goal. They were the better side.
Can't believe Sheeds has been axed! he is essendon to every Bomber supporter under the age of 27!
News to me!!
clifton's lookalike
25 Jul 2007, 12:25
News to me!!
Tis true, very badly handeled by the Essendon board i feel, may lose some members supporters over the way they have handled this.
The Talking Goat
25 Jul 2007, 13:54
Tis true, very badly handeled by the Essendon board i feel, may lose some members supporters over the way they have handled this.
may have to change my nmae to the sobbing goat following this news. can not believe it
Billy the Kid
25 Jul 2007, 14:37
How are the ex-donald boys in James and Leigh Burke travelling this year for south? James went over with big expectations, after playing vic country a couple of years ago?
davis 24
25 Jul 2007, 15:19
Seems like the tigers have decided that there going to play youth for the rest of the season... i reckon this is the best possible thing the club could have done.. Especially with the likes of Cooky, Daz Chambers, Dryds who will help these kids out, they will get a thrill from playing with these players.... The last quater on saturday seen what the tigers football club might have to look foward to in the next few years with the 2 under 16.5 kids kicking 3 goals in the last quater...
A low for the club was having to forfeit in the under 18s match... Hopefully this week against South the boys can field a team at the Show grounds
Norfolk & Clew
25 Jul 2007, 15:31
There is nothing worse than teams forfeiting games, for both the teams involved.
Maryborough two's were extremely short on the weekend and from all reports 8 thirds players played 2 games in a row to help out. Hopefully Kyneton can sort that problem out, what is the minimum amount of players for a team to participate? I was thinking 14, so if they were that short there is a bit of a worry.
Just had a look at the results and was pleased to see square had 13 individual goal scorers on the weekend. It is always good to have a spread of players contributing to the scoreboard. No reported scandals from the ball either, so a good weekend by the looks of it.:thumbsu:
There is nothing worse than teams forfeiting games, for both the teams involved.
Maryborough two's were extremely short on the weekend and from all reports 8 thirds players played 2 games in a row to help out. Hopefully Kyneton can sort that problem out, what is the minimum amount of players for a team to participate? I was thinking 14, so if they were that short there is a bit of a worry.
Just had a look at the results and was pleased to see square had 13 individual goal scorers on the weekend. It is always good to have a spread of players contributing to the scoreboard. No reported scandals from the ball either, so a good weekend by the looks of it.:thumbsu:
How can clubs in major leagues be forfeiting games, the BFL is a pretty big league an having clubs forfeit makes it look like a joke, what are the penalties on the club for forfeiting, there are much smaller clubs still manageing to scrape together a 3rds, 2nds and 1st side, places much smaller then kyneton
Norfolk & Clew
25 Jul 2007, 17:48
How can clubs in major leagues be forfeiting games, the BFL is a pretty big league an having clubs forfeit makes it look like a joke, what are the penalties on the club for forfeiting, there are much smaller clubs still manageing to scrape together a 3rds, 2nds and 1st side, places much smaller then kyneton
Agree it is not good enough, but clubs who are forfeiting need help not fines!
Kyneton aren't helped by the younger players getting offered coin to play senior footy in the RDFL, from all reports either. I dunno this for a fact though.
On The Money
25 Jul 2007, 19:06
Why would you say they have handled it poorly? he unlike Pagan, Danihar and Connelly will see out his contract. Those clubs forced the Bombers hand by being nudging there coaches so i'd say they brought there decision forward which ended up being that he wouldn't be re-appointed so it actually will work better for Bombers supporters in that he will get a proper send off and could even add some momentium to the rest of the season. Now back to the BFL there is word that the Talking goat after his cameo is the media game going back a few weeks is considering stripping with Kangaroo Flat next year will this prove to be the ticket back for the Flat....
The Talking Goat
25 Jul 2007, 19:21
Why would you say they have handled it poorly? he unlike Pagan, Danihar and Connelly will see out his contract. Those clubs forced the Bombers hand by being nudging there coaches so i'd say they brought there decision forward which ended up being that he wouldn't be re-appointed so it actually will work better for Bombers supporters in that he will get a proper send off and could even add some momentium to the rest of the season. Now back to the BFL there is word that the Talking goat after his cameo is the media game going back a few weeks is considering stripping with Kangaroo Flat next year will this prove to be the ticket back for the Flat....
just cricket out at the flat money man. how's nobbsy going if you want to start rumours boy??
GREENMAN
25 Jul 2007, 20:18
Even the AFL clubs can see the light about old non performing coaches. Will someone show the Kyneton Committee a copy of the Herald Sun and get Neville to watch how Sheedy departed the Bombers. Thats how u do it with dignity and with Pagen it was good to see a coach put the playing list and club first and resign so a younger and better coach can develop the list...................u listening Neville???????
as i see it
25 Jul 2007, 21:37
Even the AFL clubs can see the light about old non performing coaches. Will someone show the Kyneton Committee a copy of the Herald Sun and get Neville to watch how Sheedy departed the Bombers. Thats how u do it with dignity and with Pagen it was good to see a coach put the playing list and club first and resign so a younger and better coach can develop the list...................u listening Neville???????
Kyneton have 6 games left, it is common knowledge around Kyneton that Massina wont be going around next year with the tigers so just let him coach his last 6 games and get off his back. if he was going to walk it should of been done a while back, he is staying on till the end so just let him coach the season out.. hopefully Kyneton can attract a playing coach that will bring some players and retain most of its list that will hold them in good position to play finals footy next year... They are showing good signs for the future with younger blokes steping up to the challenge over the last few weeks, and the forward line at time looks to operate much better without just reaper playing the one out push and shove no lead no chase game... There are some positive signs in all this negative
On The Money
25 Jul 2007, 21:42
just cricket out at the flat money man. how's nobbsy going if you want to start rumours boy??
Nah Nev Nobbs won't play again this season so no point talking about him.
As I said Goat only rumour think it came Fluffy D but be great to see you back on the park apart from that final down at Nagambie you had a distinguished career!!
The Talking Goat
26 Jul 2007, 09:51
Nah Nev Nobbs won't play again this season so no point talking about him.
As I said Goat only rumour think it came Fluffy D but be great to see you back on the park apart from that final down at Nagambie you had a distinguished career!!
no hard feelings there money man. i cop a lot of criticism for that game down at nagambie, but it was a tough shot at goal. very windy conditions. we went down by 11 points to the eventual premeirs i think lancaster were. stinky newman turned it on. on that game down at nagambie, it often gets overshadowed as to who was named our best player.
Norfolk & Clew
26 Jul 2007, 10:23
no hard feelings there money man. i cop a lot of criticism for that game down at nagambie, but it was a tough shot at goal. very windy conditions. we went down by 11 points to the eventual premeirs i think lancaster were. stinky newman turned it on. on that game down at nagambie, it often gets overshadowed as to who was named our best player.
No shame in losing to the mighty Wombats Goat! Fantastic club!
The Talking Goat
26 Jul 2007, 13:17
No shame in losing to the mighty Wombats Goat! Fantastic club!
they had some good junior players running around back then. we were a bit stiff not to get the job done back in 1998. the one that got away
Norfolk & Clew
26 Jul 2007, 13:48
they had some good junior players running around back then. we were a bit stiff not to get the job done back in 1998. the one that got away
Their 10 year anniversary of the flag won in 88 against Murchison, would've been hard to beat em.
Any upsets in the BFL this week though?
FencePainter
26 Jul 2007, 13:58
Their 10 year anniversary of the flag won in 88 against Murchison, would've been hard to beat em.
Any upsets in the BFL this week though?
Yeah Flat to beat Square.....Ronnie Wicks BOG
woody07
26 Jul 2007, 14:01
Agree it is not good enough, but clubs who are forfeiting need help not fines!
Kyneton aren't helped by the younger players getting offered coin to play senior footy in the RDFL, from all reports either. I dunno this for a fact though.
We all want Kyneton to turn it around but stop using excuses. There are not many, if any born and bred Kyneton players getting paid in the RDFL. They need to look at their junior clubs i.e Gisborne to turn their fortunes around. Look at Gisborne and you'll see that a lot of senior players have developed and come up through the ranks because of the strong and well organised affiliation with the junior club. Kyneton Playing younger players at this time of the year is a good start. However I know some of the more dedicated and competitive senior players would like to take few scalps towards the end.
thirsty
26 Jul 2007, 14:24
Does anyone know how you can find out a list of players and games played in seniors and reserves for a club in the bendigo league?
Norfolk & Clew
26 Jul 2007, 14:26
Yeah Flat to beat Square.....Ronnie Wicks BOG
Haha, good one!
We all want Kyneton to turn it around but stop using excuses. There are not many, if any born and bred Kyneton players getting paid in the RDFL. They need to look at their junior clubs i.e Gisborne to turn their fortunes around. Look at Gisborne and you'll see that a lot of senior players have developed and come up through the ranks because of the strong and well organised affiliation with the junior club. Kyneton Playing younger players at this time of the year is a good start. However I know some of the more dedicated and competitive senior players would like to take few scalps towards the end.
I wasn't making excuses mate, i stated i don't know if that was true, it was just what i heard. You are spot on about Gisborne and I thought having the one team in the town might make it easier for the club to attract players. How wrong I must be!
Norfolk & Clew
26 Jul 2007, 14:28
Does anyone know how you can find out a list of players and games played in seniors and reserves for a club in the bendigo league?
From the clubs administrators themselves i would say mate. Arthur down at square is who we'd need to see. I don't know of anything on the net
thirsty
26 Jul 2007, 14:33
From the clubs administrators themselves i would say mate. Arthur down at square is who we'd need to see. I don't know of anything on the net
Who is number 7 for your seniors?
Norfolk & Clew
26 Jul 2007, 14:41
Who is number 7 for your seniors?
Chris (Mike Tyson) Malone, why is that?
thirsty
26 Jul 2007, 14:50
Chris (Mike Tyson) Malone, why is that?
Just wondering who was in the little scrap on the weekend?
Norfolk & Clew
26 Jul 2007, 15:13
Thought that might of been the case, was some good swings and it just goes to show how gutless umpires are. I'm glad the he didn't get reported or suspended but the umpires had a clear view of what was going on, some swings connected from where i was but there were no reports. What are everyones thoughts on this, do we want them turning a blind eye to the biff?
showusya
26 Jul 2007, 15:29
Thought that might of been the case, was some good swings and it just goes to show how gutless umpires are. I'm glad the he didn't get reported or suspended but the umpires had a clear view of what was going on, some swings connected from where i was but there were no reports. What are everyones thoughts on this, do we want them turning a blind eye to the biff?
I've never seen Cass fight before but he gave that Malone a hiding. It was good to watch. The only win for us in that match. Umpires were right there and i couldn't believe they did nothing. I haven't got a problem if it is two guys going toe to toe as long as they stamp out the king hits.
Norfolk & Clew
26 Jul 2007, 15:49
I've never seen Cass fight before but he gave that Malone a hiding. It was good to watch. The only win for us in that match. Umpires were right there and i couldn't believe they did nothing. I haven't got a problem if it is two guys going toe to toe as long as they stamp out the king hits.
I think i am sensing a little bit of exagerrating here mate. I saw Cass connect but i doubt you'd refer to it as a hiding, it all depends on your definition.
Good to see the lads wipe off the white line fever at the final siren and shake hands. That is what footy is all about!
The Talking Goat
26 Jul 2007, 15:56
no upsets in the bfl this week
Jock Clark 2
26 Jul 2007, 19:57
YOU'RE not getting Dean L. to replace Old Kev at Windy Hill, Goat.
Laidley has got us roaring along, 2nd on the ladder.
Maybe Harvs will come over after his Freo stint to Round 22 has been completed.
BTW, the NFL kicks off again in the States in a touch over 5 weeks. I know you'll be on the NY Jets and Big Benny Graham's kicking boot once again !!
In the meantime you can keep an eye on the Asia Cup --- the World Game takes a bit of beating. :thumbsd: Tour de France is a joke .... will cycling get the boot from the Beijing Olympics. :thumbsd:
Prickles' boys from the Maine to give the Hurst a touch-up this week. The finals are not out of reach of the Maine Maggies just yet.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
27 Jul 2007, 00:46
[quote=youknow;8185246Some sought of life your running their twita
Your a frigen "GEEK"[/quote]
Yeah, it's not too bad - just had a week on the Sunshine Coast.
As for been a 'GEEK', go for your life son - I just know how to use the equipment.
I'd rather be a tried and true supporter of the Kyneton Tigers, through thick and thin, than some bloke who goes to ground because his side isn't the dominant force it was. Apparently it's boring now is it?
Have a think about it sunshine.
bearsboy
27 Jul 2007, 09:28
Surely a misprint in the Addy today with 3 out of 3 tipsters tipping Kangaroo Flat to knock of Golden Square this week.
I'm also a little surprised to see Nathan Dole tip Gisborne against Maryborough even though this game is at Princes Park.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
27 Jul 2007, 10:51
The Doc’s Tips for Round 13
KFlat v Golden Square – Square >80 points
In the Addy today, they all picked the Flat to win – surely a mistake – Unless they are referring to the Reserves game? The KF magoos are up and running after beating South last week.
Mary/b v Gisborne – Gisborne >60 points
Pull out the witches hats from last week’s drubbing of Sandhurst and go again.
Sandhurst v Castlemaine – Sandhurst <20 points
At the QEO and the Pies can run all day just like Hurst. Match of the round. Been impressed with the Pies but the Hurst boys will be fired up to make amends for last weeks dismal effort and that should be the difference.
Eaglehawk v North City – Hawks >80 points
Foregone conclusion.
Kyneton v South Bendigo - South >100 points
The Bloods are getting a few back so should appreciate the training run and get some teamwork going.
bearsboy
27 Jul 2007, 11:06
The Doc’s Tips for Round 13
KFlat v Golden Square – Square >80 points
In the Addy today, they all picked the Flat to win – surely a mistake – Unless they are referring to the Reserves game? The KF magoos are up and running after beating South last week.
Mary/b v Gisborne – Gisborne >60 points
Pull out the witches hats from last week’s drubbing of Sandhurst and go again.
Sandhurst v Castlemaine – Sandhurst <20 points
At the QEO and the Pies can run all day just like Hurst. Match of the round. Been impressed with the Pies but the Hurst boys will be fired up to make amends for last weeks dismal effort and that should be the difference.
Eaglehawk v North City – Hawks >80 points
Foregone conclusion.
Kyneton v South Bendigo - South >100 points
The Bloods are getting a few back so should appreciate the training run and get some teamwork going.Do you think Gilliland and his troops may find it a bit tough if there is any mud at the QEO ? After all, that was Gilliland's reasoning (the mud) for Gisborne beating them last weak:confused:
The Talking Goat
27 Jul 2007, 11:32
yes, sorry boys, can confirm that it was a misprint in the addy. we all went for golden square. my fault.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
27 Jul 2007, 15:40
Do you think Gilliland and his troops may find it a bit tough if there is any mud at the QEO ? After all, that was Gilliland's reasoning (the mud) for Gisborne beating them last weak:confused:
Dunno BB, maybe. My personal opinion is that Gis have the advantage of playing on that sub-standard sh*thole of a footy ground every two weeks... and they train on it.
Bendigo clubs probably see those conditions 1-2 times a year. The QEO will not be in that condition come Sept, so maybe young Nathan has a point.... but I dunno?
Still haven't heard your reason for Gis losing to Eaglehawk a few weeks ago.;)
bearsboy
27 Jul 2007, 16:25
Dunno BB, maybe. My personal opinion is that Gis have the advantage of playing on that sub-standard sh*thole of a footy ground every two weeks... and they train on it.
Bendigo clubs probably see those conditions 1-2 times a year. The QEO will not be in that condition come Sept, so maybe young Nathan has a point.... but I dunno?
Still haven't heard your reason for Gis losing to Eaglehawk a few weeks ago.;)You obviously didnt make it to the game Dr, the ground is not that bad at all, Gisborne managed to kick 20.16 on it. After a 94 point defeat i think "young Nathan" has a bit more to worry about than the state of Gisbornes ground wouldnt you think?
Sorry old mate, i didnt know i had to come up with a reason as to why Gisborne got rolled by Eaglehawk but i'll have a go.
Eaglehawk were to fast to big and to strong, clearly the best side in the competition at the moment.;)
aussiemauler
27 Jul 2007, 16:45
Still haven't heard your reason for Gis losing to Eaglehawk a few weeks ago.;)
If your a good player noisewater you should be able to play in any conditions and not look for a cop out excuse why they lost......
bearsboy
27 Jul 2007, 17:32
Gis have the advantage of playing on that sub-standard sh*thole of a footy ground every two weeks... Have a look at our website www.gisbornefc.com (http://www.gisbornefc.com)
click on R12 images and have a look for yourself and see if you think Gillilands comments are a cop out.
superfred
27 Jul 2007, 19:16
You obviously didnt make it to the game Dr, the ground is not that bad at all, Gisborne managed to kick 20.16 on it. After a 94 point defeat i think "young Nathan" has a bit more to worry about than the state of Gisbornes ground wouldnt you think?
Sorry old mate, i didnt know i had to come up with a reason as to why Gisborne got rolled by Eaglehawk but i'll have a go.
Eaglehawk were to fast to big and to strong, clearly the best side in the competition at the moment.;)
dr think you should trust bearsboy as he knows the exact state of the ground as he is constantly running around on it in the flouro orange colours handing out orders that barham has given him !!!!!!!
ooops i hope i didnt give away the identity of bearsboy !!!!
GREENMAN
27 Jul 2007, 19:40
dr think you should trust bearsboy as he knows the exact state of the ground as he is constantly running around on it in the flouro orange colours handing out orders that barham has given him !!!!!!!
ooops i hope i didnt give away the identity of bearsboy !!!!
Didnt know BB was a fit strapping athlete!!!!!!Always thought he looked like Frosty the Snowman..........
bearsboy
27 Jul 2007, 20:06
ooops i hope i didnt give away the identity of bearsboy !!!!Superfred ? Should be superslueth, thats some fantastic detective work right there ! :confused:
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
27 Jul 2007, 20:53
Have a look at our website www.gisbornefc.com (http://www.gisbornefc.com)
click on R12 images and have a look for yourself and see if you think Gillilands comments are a cop out.
Ha ha - you can't be serious... you must have taken those photos in the first 2 minutes, b/c I WAS there (unfortunately) and I'm still cleaning Gisborne mud off my sneakers.. The ground was a joke.
But you're right, don't agree that the ground was the decising factor in the game. I think someone commented a few weeks ago that Gisborne are the only team that turn up to play (mentally) every week, and there was no more shining example of that as last Saturday. Good club, what else can I say... except, of course, to put some $ in to improve the ground surface ;) he he :)
bearsboy
27 Jul 2007, 21:29
Ha ha - you can't be serious... you must have taken those photos in the first 2 minutes, b/c I WAS there (unfortunately) and I'm still cleaning Gisborne mud off my sneakers.. The ground was a joke.I'm not going to get in an argument with you, the photo's tell the story, i'm sure there are plenty of clubs around that would love to have their ground in that good a nick at this time of the year.
Do you follow Sandhurst Doc ?
Kings Army
28 Jul 2007, 09:46
Didnt know BB was a fit strapping athlete!!!!!!Always thought he looked like Frosty the Snowman..........
People in glass houses Greenman!
discreet1
29 Jul 2007, 14:08
Bearsboy, How did Moss go yesterday?
The Talking Goat
29 Jul 2007, 18:22
Bearsboy, How did Moss go yesterday?
moss wasn't too bad
zakster
29 Jul 2007, 19:01
old Kev and the boys fell over the line goatee looks like crows really struggling now to make the 8
can south upset burra boys at the q this w-end be the match of round 14, with 4 other prety ordinary fixtures on the list
GREENMAN
29 Jul 2007, 20:34
People in glass houses Greenman!
How many jumpers do u have KA...................are u loyal to anyone???? Spoke to my spy's today and they told me that you were watching Sunbury this weekend? Even taking stats we here? Sure I saw u at Gis last weekend doing that job for the Bulldogs? Maybe u like the colors blue and white............but isn't your blood red?? You told BB about your new job with Sunbury? Or are u taking notes on players for when u go to Kyneton next year....hear about the club that you are taking on recruiting at Kyneton next year. Hang on....anyone hear that noise.......that tapping........ah ,its only another nail in Nevs coaching coffin, only a few more nails to go.
bearsboy
30 Jul 2007, 17:39
How many jumpers do u have KA...................are u loyal to anyone???? Spoke to my spy's today and they told me that you were watching Sunbury this weekend? Even taking stats we here? Sure I saw u at Gis last weekend doing that job for the Bulldogs? Maybe u like the colors blue and white............but isn't your blood red?? You told BB about your new job with Sunbury? Or are u taking notes on players for when u go to Kyneton next year....hear about the club that you are taking on recruiting at Kyneton next year. Hang on....anyone hear that noise.......that tapping........ah ,its only another nail in Nevs coaching coffin, only a few more nails to go.KA's just helping Serge out for a week or 2 at Sunbury. How could he knock back the money they offered him. I think you'll find KA is probably one of the most sought after statisticians outside the AFL, very experienced indeed is the King (#1 man at North Melb in the glory years, also spent some time at Richmond ).
But he's assured us he will return for the last 3 rounds plus finals
Have you lodged your application for the Kyneton job yet ?
Kings Army
30 Jul 2007, 18:50
How many jumpers do u have KA...................are u loyal to anyone???? Spoke to my spy's today and they told me that you were watching Sunbury this weekend? Even taking stats we here? Sure I saw u at Gis last weekend doing that job for the Bulldogs? Maybe u like the colors blue and white............but isn't your blood red?? You told BB about your new job with Sunbury? Or are u taking notes on players for when u go to Kyneton next year....hear about the club that you are taking on recruiting at Kyneton next year. Hang on....anyone hear that noise.......that tapping........ah ,its only another nail in Nevs coaching coffin, only a few more nails to go.
Once again Greenman - people in glass houses. Which jumper do you wear Sunbury, Kyneton or Gisborne?
If you have any links with Sunbury can you explain how the 2's have lost more games this year than in the previous 3 years? I was invited down to assess the new 2's coach as they are looking to replace him going into finals.
GREENMAN
30 Jul 2007, 20:16
Once again Greenman - people in glass houses. Which jumper do you wear Sunbury, Kyneton or Gisborne?
If you have any links with Sunbury can you explain how the 2's have lost more games this year than in the previous 3 years? I was invited down to assess the new 2's coach as they are looking to replace him going into finals.
How can I answer that??? Since I have no links at all with the Sunbury Football Club. Im a tiger man through and through. Only 1 jumper in my cupboard. As far as there seconds are concerned how the hell would I know? Ask there coach, from what I hear he is a dud, my mates reckon he has driven the players away and has no idea how to coach. Sack the fool..........
GREENMAN
30 Jul 2007, 20:18
How can I answer that??? Since I have no links at all with the Sunbury Football Club. Im a tiger man through and through. Only 1 jumper in my cupboard. As far as there seconds are concerned how the hell would I know? Ask there coach, from what I hear he is a dud, my mates reckon he has driven the players away and has no idea how to coach. Sack the fool..........
PS.......WHO IS THE SECONDS COACH THERE?
zakster
30 Jul 2007, 20:55
did u have a bit of an afiliation with gissie up until recently, greeny :confused:
how come u got off the graveyard wagon and into the tigers lair at the shwgrnds
GREENMAN
30 Jul 2007, 21:20
did u have a bit of an afiliation with gissie up until recently, greeny :confused:
how come u got off the graveyard wagon and into the tigers lair at the shwgrnds
Not this Green Duck. Wrong guy....................never a bulldog, never will be..never want to be. Watch footy............love footy.......comment on footy..........thats what i do. I say what others think in football.......we r all entitled to an opinion, and here we r free to express it. Not many agree with me....and that makes for good debate. But Im rarely wrong............only post what I know to be facts
bearsboy
30 Jul 2007, 21:59
PS.......WHO IS THE SECONDS COACH THERE?Former Gisborne president Paul Turner took over the reigns as Sunbury's 2's coach this year and apparently has made a fair impression with the commitee and fellow coaching staff . A little birdie told me he could well be in line for the senior position there next year.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
1 Aug 2007, 10:22
Interesting times... EDFL are looking at accepting Sunbury in to their competition. Which means Ballarat FL will be down to 9... and that league must have 10. So the shuffle might begin? They have suggested Hepburn, Ararat or Buninyong but.... has North City signed a lengthy contract with Bendigo FL? Obviously, they would like to stay close to home if they could?
Which means Bendigo FL might be down to 9 and who would we want to include? Strathfieldsaye?
Comments?
aussiemauler
1 Aug 2007, 12:01
Interesting times... EDFL are looking at accepting Sunbury in to their competition. Which means Ballarat FL will be down to 9... and that league must have 10. So the shuffle might begin? They have suggested Hepburn, Ararat or Buninyong but.... has North City signed a lengthy contract with Bendigo FL? Obviously, they would like to stay close to home if they could?
Which means Bendigo FL might be down to 9 and who would we want to include? Strathfieldsaye?
Comments?
Do we need to include another side if they do leave?
The Wombat
1 Aug 2007, 12:27
Comments?
Its a 10 year deal doctor and I couldn't see the Northies leaving the BFL. They are starting to fly and are finding their feet in the BFL. Personally if I was involved at that club I wouldn't go back there if they came grovelling just coz they need another number, the affiliated clubs were quite happy to knock them back fearing a resurgant North Ballarat in their league and they may well still have those fears as the Northies improve.
I agree with you that it would be nice to be in a league more convenient to the club but would suggest a lot of bridges would have to be mended.
Ballarat FL seem to have good Administration and Rod Ward is a top bloke but why are they continually losing clubs over that way, a few have fallen by the wayside or just moved on?
matt_nicholls
1 Aug 2007, 13:13
Here's a story I wrote for yesterday's Free Press you boys might be interested in.
Can the RDFL expand?
by Matt Nicholls
MEMO: To all football fans and clubs in the district.
Imagine this. A super country football league with two divisions involving teams from this area.
Take a minute to ponder rivalry matches of yesteryear such as Wallan versus Kilmore, Gisborne against Riddell or a more modern Sunbury Kangaroos v Sunbury Lions.
If you asked me whether it was possible at the start of this season, I probably would have said no.
Now, I’m not so sure.
It has been 10 years since the Riddell District Football League became a one-division competition, and there is serious thought being put towards recreating the super league it once was.
At this end of the geographical area, the local football supporters are licking their lips at the idea.
Similarly at the other end, towards Melton, Sunbury and Gisborne, the fans are desperate to resume old RDFL rivalries.
If you take various sides from the surrounding district - some current, some former, and some new – and put together a two division football league, it has the potential to become one of the strongest competitions in Victoria.
Powerhouse clubs such as Sunbury Lions, Gisborne, Melton South, Melton, Darley and Kyneton – all from superior competitions should be welcomed back with open arms.
Invite Wallan and Trentham back to the fore, get Bacchus Marsh aboard. That is already nine new clubs.
Take the current 10 sides and all of a sudden you have a lot of potential to build a powerful competition.
It is hard to believe that it was just over a decade ago when many of these “new” sides were actually competing in the RDFL.
The area that involves these 19 clubs includes some of the biggest growing populations in Victoria.
It means that there is a guarantee of junior footballers, therefore creating a strong flow on to the seniors.
SALARY CAP
Without a doubt there would be some clubs that would struggle with the two divisions.
Rockbank, Trentham, Macedon, Melton Central and Lancefield would most likely struggle to stay afloat with potentially stronger neighbouring rivals.
Clubs such as Gisborne, Sunbury Lions and Melton South would obviously be very hard to beat.
Financially able to pay for classier players, it would mean a salary cap system would have to be introduced across the board to prevent clubs from “buying premierships”.
Unlike the AFL’s system to limit a club’s spending, there is a way to prevent clubs from importing talent – therefore encouraging sides to promote their junior programs.
To borrow a system implemented by the Central Murray Football League, it is possible to implement a strategy to even up the competition.
The league could make each club fill their side with a points tally totalling 40.
Using this simple points ranking system, clubs must not exceed the cap, or they will lose their four points and be fined $500.
This is how each player could be ranked:
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/4953/table1tx4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
This system is simply designed to promote the blooding of locally produced players and forcing clubs to focus time and money into their junior programs.
This will hopefully result in more of our locally produced youngsters playing in the TAC Cup and getting drafted to the AFL.
Obviously it still allows club’s to spend as much money as they like, but it doesn’t make it easy or viable for sides to “poach” players from neighbouring clubs in the competition.
There are some other points that need to be raised from this system though.
Playing coaches are rated on the league from which they are recruited.
An RDFL player wishing to return to a new RDFL club from another league is a 5 point player, less one point for each season spent in the other league after leaving the RDFL.
Clubs will initially rate their players and forward these to the league where each player’s rating will be verified before being circulated to all clubs.
Players returning to their original RDFL club after at least one season away return at their rating prior to departure.
There is no points cap in the Under 18s and reserves competition.If the RDFL became a two division competition, this is how the divisions may pan out.
http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/7220/tableis5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
If this were to eventuate, the longest away trip for any club would be the Bacchus Marsh to Kilmore fixture, a journey that would take approximately 60 minutes.
If you look at other football leagues, particularly the Heathcote District Football League, there are a number of 80-100 minute trips for participating clubs.
LONG SHOT
The hardest challenge to get this idea off the ground is likely to be persuading clubs such as Sunbury Lions and Gisborne to join what is deemed to be a “weaker” competition. But it is possible.
There is also the issue of whether the current clubs would welcome back some sides into the RDFL.
Many clubs were annoyed when clubs such as Wallan and Gisborne left the competition when it was virtually on its knees and dying.
While this “super league” plan is a long shot, I recommend all clubs to consider the prospect.
Football etiquette prevents the RDFL from approaching clubs to join the competition, if clubs want to join they need to take the initiative and approach the RDFL.
Six years ago the Riddell District Football League was shot to pieces and many feared it would not survive.
Thanks to the excellent work of former general manager Neill Sharpe, the current RDFL board and many others, the league is now starting to thrive.
However, towns such as Romsey, Woodend and Kilmore are continually growing, and it’s not unforeseeable that they will soon outgrow the current competition.
Measures need to be put in place to protect the RDFL and ensure that it grows with the community amongst and surrounding it.
bearsboy
1 Aug 2007, 13:22
There will be dancing in the streets in Bendigo tonight !
aussiemauler
1 Aug 2007, 13:35
There will be dancing in the streets in Bendigo tonight !
whys that BB????
bearsboy
1 Aug 2007, 14:00
whys that BB????Maybe not quite dancing but i thought the prospect of not having Gisborne in the BFL may put a smile on a few faces up Bendigo way.
I personally dont see this happening but you never know.