View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

Travvy43
8 Mar 2006, 15:15
Hey Travvy43, can you confirm Gisborne are playing Sunshine tonight @ Whitten Oval and if so what time?

This is confirmed, 6 quarter match at Whitten oval starting at 6.

Norfolk & Clew
8 Mar 2006, 15:16
Sounds like an intersting & enjoyable life you have there dear Weapo

back on the conversation of footy thanks fella's, although its nice to know about your wonderful lives, i'd prefer to read about footy!:thumbsu:

Rhan
8 Mar 2006, 15:35
I agree :thumbsu:! Anyone else heard anymore on Mark Fitzgerald? Sandhurst would be keen to keep him

Norfolk & Clew
8 Mar 2006, 15:40
I agree :thumbsu:! Anyone else heard anymore on Mark Fitzgerald? Sandhurst would be keen to keep him

Sandhurst are struggling to keep anyone since they won the flag! Supposably they wouldn't even put beer on for the players after the game, and the sponsors had to do it instead. Not be be all and end all but I know a few weren't happy about it:thumbsd:

hamill02
8 Mar 2006, 15:47
anyone know where ryan pedrotti will be playing this year. seen on the clearance list that he tried to cross back to eaglehawk from white hills but was rejected. has he re-signed with the hillers or is he still trying to cross to the borough?

Norfolk & Clew
8 Mar 2006, 16:00
anyone know where ryan pedrotti will be playing this year. seen on the clearance list that he tried to cross back to eaglehawk from white hills but was rejected. has he re-signed with the hillers or is he still trying to cross to the borough?

Not quite sure but I know that Dangerous Dave Edwards has gone from square to take up the full forward post at White Hill's, also assistant coach!

hamill02
8 Mar 2006, 16:12
Not quite sure but I know that Dangerous Dave Edwards has gone from square to take up the full forward post at White Hill's, also assistant coach!

i did hear that. should be a big year 4 dangerous dave. seen him kick some bags 4 square ressies in the last couple of years.

Rhan
8 Mar 2006, 16:14
Sandhurst are struggling to keep anyone since they won the flag! Supposably they wouldn't even put beer on for the players after the game, and the sponsors had to do it instead. Not be be all and end all but I know a few weren't happy about it:thumbsd:

They'll end up like another club I wont name. Players leave a club after they feel they've been treated like crap. And its normally not just one or 2 that go

Norfolk & Clew
8 Mar 2006, 16:34
i did hear that. should be a big year 4 dangerous dave. seen him kick some bags 4 square ressies in the last couple of years.

Wonder how long before other forwards will start complaining about dave's lack of feeding off to others and snapping from the boundary instead of centering the ball!

Norfolk & Clew
8 Mar 2006, 16:36
They'll end up like another club I wont name. Players leave a club after they feel they've been treated like crap. And its normally not just one or 2 that go

Well you saw what happened after they won the flag, I want to know the whole reason behind it, would be interesting!

Picklesmeoldmate
8 Mar 2006, 17:51
Bit of late mail out in the footy world ahead of friday night's afl game in bendigo. there has been a massive plunge on essendon, which has seen the bombers odds shorten into just $1.55. hawthorn is now over $3 for the game. bombers to win comfotbably for me. i'm glad i got on at their opening odds

south_hawk
8 Mar 2006, 18:25
Bit of late mail out in the footy world ahead of friday night's afl game in bendigo. there has been a massive plunge on essendon, which has seen the bombers odds shorten into just $1.55. hawthorn is now over $3 for the game. bombers to win comfotbably for me. i'm glad i got on at their opening odds

I'll take that and have $20 on hawks to win.

Damn I wish we could have a real betting thing on here, is that possible? Like we all started with $200 and could bet it on games with Pickles odds. Yep, that would be grand :thumbsu:

Picklesmeoldmate
8 Mar 2006, 20:57
I'll take that and have $20 on hawks to win.

Damn I wish we could have a real betting thing on here, is that possible? Like we all started with $200 and could bet it on games with Pickles odds. Yep, that would be grand :thumbsu:
Your on south hawk, i will take you up on that $20. I like your idea of having $200 and seeing how you end up. If you lose, your down to $180. Happy punting. Bit of value in sokyola for the bendigo pacing cup on satdy night i reckon. bout $4.75.

Picklesmeoldmate
9 Mar 2006, 07:20
Your on south hawk, i will take you up on that $20. I like your idea of having $200 and seeing how you end up. If you lose, your down to $180. Happy punting. Bit of value in sokyola for the bendigo pacing cup on satdy night i reckon. bout $4.75.
Just looking ahead to the lightning premiership in a few weeks now. It's a bit hard to gauge how sides are going to go because you don't know what sort of squads are going to be selected. But I have no choice but to make rochester favourites for it. Here's how I see it shaping up, although these odds will change as we get closer.
$2.25 Rochester
$2.65 Gisborne
$3 Echuca
$3.60 Eaglehawk
$4.40 South Bendigo
$5 Golden Square
$14 Sandhurst
$18 North City
$19 Castlemaine
$26 Maryborough
$27 Kyneton
$35 Kangaroo Flat
The reason there aren't any big odds is basically, anything will be able to happen on the day. As I read from one coach the other day, sides really have to dominate for the equvialent of a quarter to win. Looking forward to seeing James Hird run around on the QEO tomorrow night. Pity Crawford isn't playing for the Hawks. Essendon to win easy I think. The Dockers to beat the Cats at the Dome by 12 points.

X Man
9 Mar 2006, 07:35
Yeah i just hope Mark Bolton and Danny Jacobs are injured or didnt get a game

Picklesmeoldmate
9 Mar 2006, 10:08
Yeah i just hope Mark Bolton and Danny Jacobs are injured or didnt get a game
xman, what are your reasons behind that comment. jacobs isn't playing, but bolton is in. in fact, bolton is at $23 to win the best on ground medal, like hird did last year.
at $5.60 young Bomber brent stanton is the favourite to be named best on ground

Weapo
9 Mar 2006, 10:40
xman, what are your reasons behind that comment. jacobs isn't playing, but bolton is in. in fact, bolton is at $23 to win the best on ground medal, like hird did last year.
at $5.60 young Bomber brent stanton is the favourite to be named best on ground

Pickles i will deduct $50 off my starting $200 and place it on Essendon for tomorrow nights clash if that's ok? With my winnings i will double it on ROOBOY having yet another winge at me in the next week!! What are my odds please?

Travvy43
9 Mar 2006, 10:51
Hey Travvy43, can you confirm Gisborne are playing Sunshine tonight @ Whitten Oval and if so what time?

For your information Sunshine beat Gisborne by around 4 goals, Gsiborne looked to (or i hope) have some key players not to make the trip. Sunshine though probably had 12 or so more blokes and the fresh legs ensured the took the bikkies int he six quarter match.

Scrappy match as to be expected from the first hit out.

Cheers

Grimmett
9 Mar 2006, 12:31
North City has appointed on-field leaders for their inaugural season in the Bendigo FL. Practice match schedule is in place also.
I can't remember if it was this BFL thread or the other where it was asked if the North City team would be the Roosters. No mention of it in the article but the photo that was in the actual paper showed the three leaders in tops bearing a logo with a rooster in the middle of it.

From today's Ballarat Courier:

North City names leaders for first year in Bendigo league
Thursday, 9 March 2006

NORTH CITY Football and Netball Club yesterday unveiled its leadership group for its inaugural year of competition in the Bendigo Football League.
City has also secured major sponsor Balben Property Transfers to carry the club's naming rights for 2006.
The club is the product of the North Ballarat Junior Football Club comprising senior and under-18 sides as well as four netball teams, and is aiming to regenerate the culture of the North Ballarat club of old.
Adam Richardson, 23, who cut his teeth at North juniors and who has been vice-captain of Daylesford for the past two seasons, has been named captain.
"He is one of our most experienced players with close to 70 to 80 senior games," coach Shane McCarty said yesterday.
His deputies will be vice-captains Ben Beaston, 21, also of Daylesford and ex-North Ballarat Rebels player Jake Young.
Beaston, 21, is a fourth-year senior player who started with North juniors while Young, 19, is in his first year out of the elite under-18 TAC Cup competition.
"Jake has been sought after by the Roosters but he doesn't want to play there at this stage of his career. He shows a lot of maturity above his years and is a born leader," McCarty said.
He said the club was pushing the North culture of the past.
"We have about 45 players with a predominance being from the North juniors - probably about 80 per cent have come through the North culture which we are trying to promote.
"North Ballarat (when it was in the Ballarat Football League) was one of the most successful clubs of the past 30 years in Victoria. We had a culture envied by all other country football clubs."
North City will have its first hit out against opposition in the Learmonth pre-season night series which starts next Wednesday.
"We are playing in round one with a side that is half under-18s and half seniors but there will be no top line players running around in the night series," coach McCarty said.
"We then play a Melbourne suburban team on Saturday, March 25, before the April 1 first round of the lightning premiership in the Bendigo league and on April 8 we play Montmorency in the Diamond Valley League."
North City has five games confirmed at the Northern Oval in a shared arrangement with the VFL North Ballarat Roosters and Rebels.
"We are still working on the other four home games."
"The Eastern Oval is our first preference (for alternate venues) and the other possibility is the City Oval which I don't think will be available early in the season because of ground conditions.
"Our first round on Easter Saturday in the Bendigo league is against South Bendigo at the QEO (Queen Elizabeth Oval) under lights.
"Round two is our first home game at a venue to be determined because it is one of the four games that clashes at the Northern Oval. We are booked in to the City Oval if it is playable while round three will also be under lights at Maryborough."
North City president Paul Leahy said he was hopeful of getting retired players back to the new club.
"We are looking forward to re-establishing our relationship with players of our old Ballarat Football League club," Mr Leahy said.
"We had three premierships in our last year in the Ballarat league - seniors, reserves and under 16s and that's 10 years ago now.
"We would love to see the players from those premierships teams as well as others associated with club in that era get involved with the new club in any way possible," he said.

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 15:26
How do we rate the ruckmen in the league guys?:thumbsu::thumbsd:? Who are the best?

T.Perry
9 Mar 2006, 15:33
How do we rate the ruckmen in the league guys?:thumbsu::thumbsd:? Who are the best?

Not sure of the overall standard, would think that John Hardinge from South Bendigo would clearly be the best. Square have recruited a top ruckman in Wes Pye. Hardinge would be as good as most ruckman outside of VFL I'd reckon..gun!

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 15:37
Not sure of the overall standard, would think that John Hardinge from South Bendigo would clearly be the best. Square have recruited a top ruckman in Wes Pye. Hardinge would be as good as most ruckman outside of VFL I'd reckon..gun!

I thought Kyneton picked up Ex AFL grand finalist Brett Cook? (Who's been a No.1 ruckmen at 2 AFL clubs. Hardinge must be a gun!:thumbsu:

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 15:59
Who are the GUNS!!!:cool: in Bendigo Footy?

caveman
9 Mar 2006, 16:02
Just looking ahead to the lightning premiership in a few weeks now. It's a bit hard to gauge how sides are going to go because you don't know what sort of squads are going to be selected. But I have no choice but to make rochester favourites for it. Here's how I see it shaping up, although these odds will change as we get closer.
$2.25 Rochester
$2.65 Gisborne
$3 Echuca
$3.60 Eaglehawk
$4.40 South Bendigo
$5 Golden Square
$14 Sandhurst
$18 North City
$19 Castlemaine
$26 Maryborough
$27 Kyneton
$35 Kangaroo Flat
The reason there aren't any big odds is basically, anything will be able to happen on the day. As I read from one coach the other day, sides really have to dominate for the equvialent of a quarter to win. Looking forward to seeing James Hird run around on the QEO tomorrow night. Pity Crawford isn't playing for the Hawks. Essendon to win easy I think. The Dockers to beat the Cats at the Dome by 12 points.

Gday Pickles,

Great to see some odds on the lightning premership. Mate why are kangaroo Flat dead last? We havent lost anybody yet and surely we would be in front of Kyneton and Maryborough. Yes I am biased but what do other people think out there.

Beware of the Flat in the lightning premiership. You only have to turn it on for a quarter. With Browny in the forward line dont count us out yet!

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 16:07
Gday Pickles,

Great to see some odds on the lightning premership. Mate why are kangaroo Flat dead last? We havent lost anybody yet and surely we would be in front of Kyneton and Maryborough. Yes I am biased but what do other people think out there.

Beware of the Flat in the lightning premiership. You only have to turn it on for a quarter. With Browny in the forward line dont count us out yet!

Brown is a quality foward but i saw alot of Kangaroo flat last year and the supply from midfield wasnt good. + Brown is the best bloke to get the Flat first use in the middle. If he gets it he will cause many headaches because of his size and has a great set of hands, but the dilivery to him is second rate.

caveman
9 Mar 2006, 16:15
Brown is a quality foward but i saw alot of Kangaroo flat last year and the supply from midfield wasnt good. + Brown is the best bloke to get the Flat first use in the middle. If he gets it he will cause many headaches because of his size and has a great set of hands, but the dilivery to him is second rate.

That is true but young Dahl came along really well in the ruck in the second half of the season and got a couple of best on grounds.

andypipkin
9 Mar 2006, 16:16
i think that you will find ryan perdrotti will head back to eaglehawk and that white hills will clear him eventually. was reluctant to leave i believe, as he and the wife enjoyed there time at the hills but only has 8 or 9 games to reach 100 senior games, which his old man did in his career, and is looking at following his dad into the same club

andypipkin
9 Mar 2006, 16:18
i thought he was unlucky not to get a gig with the bombers, young hamish

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 16:26
i thought he was unlucky not to get a gig with the bombers, young hamish

He will become a strong BFL ruckmen. He has size and uses his body well. Very handy for the Flat now because his body is already physically mature.

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 16:36
How do we rate the coaches in bendigo footy? David Collins must be up there, as he is a premiership coach?

Jock Clark 2
9 Mar 2006, 16:55
Sure Collins is up there Toadie
So too would be Dekka (Filo) and Marcus Barham. Breezer O'Bree (also known by his school students as Ol' Pigeonhole) took the Bloods to 3rd last year.
Darren Walsh, altho suffering injuries himself, has been pretty handy.
I reckon Steve Thomson at Maryborough must be given some kudos --- he took a team of kids, with a handful of experienced players, to some unexpected wins last year.
And PicklesOurBestOldBuddy ... I kniew you'd get Caveman upset when you quoted his beloved Flatters at long odds for the litening premiershuip. He reckons they'll go alright in their Pool.
Also, perhaps you could enlighten not only me but the rest of the thread troops on why you want to give me an alternate moniker ... "Strap".

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 17:00
What about the coaches of Kyneton and Castlemaine, who are they and can they coach?

south_hawk
9 Mar 2006, 17:39
I think our coach Danny O'Bree is just a gun. When first arriving at the club everyone said how the bloods were taking a risky punt with him but I think he's proven any doubters he may have wrong. He done well last year at managing to blend a big group of guys that didn't know one another into a great team of mates (or so it looks, maybe its just a face, possibly they all hate oneanother and I'm very far off the mark :confused: ).

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 18:08
No one in this thread must work for the addy, because you can all write fluently:D. By the way has anyone got any mail on Gisborne? They seem to be staying pretty quiet. I suppose you don't hear much about them up here in Bendigo.

davis24
9 Mar 2006, 19:28
No one in this thread must work for the addy, because you can all write fluently:D. By the way has anyone got any mail on Gisborne? They seem to be staying pretty quiet. I suppose you don't hear much about them up here in Bendigo.

I herd that Danny Sipthorp Ty Elliot and Duff Tyler are leaving Gizzy that will weaken there team abit dont u think

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 19:37
Yeah Davis thats a big blow for the calder freeway bulldogs. Are you a local of that area?

davis24
9 Mar 2006, 19:39
Yeah Davis thats a big blow for the calder freeway bulldogs. Are you a local of that area?

nah im a bendigo boy but ive followed them closly last yr and i dont think thell be in the 5 this yr

Jock Clark 2
9 Mar 2006, 19:40
:mad: Hold back there, Toadie and Davis.
Gissie coach M. Barham said on radio last nite Sipthorpe was approached by various clubs but is staying a Doggy. Barham said it was normal for the flag club's b and f to be approched by everyone and he expected it, but Sippy is still at Gis.
Ty Elliott is saddling up for 1 more year so hes a definite starter. Don't know about Duffy, he cood be mooving on. EDFL cood be his go.

Toadfooty
9 Mar 2006, 19:42
:mad: Hold back there, Toadie and Davis.
Gissie coach M. Barham said on radio last nite Sipthorpe was approached by various clubs but is staying a Doggy. Barham said it was normal for the flag club's b and f to be approched by everyone and he expected it, but Sippy is still at Gis.
Ty Elliott is saddling up for 1 more year so hes a definite starter. Don't know about Duffy, he cood be mooving on. EDFL cood be his go.

Sorry Jock i just heard that i apologise for the misunderstanding.:thumbsu:

davis24
9 Mar 2006, 19:50
Sorry Jock i just heard that i apologise for the misunderstanding.:thumbsu:

yea sorry jock u got any news on any of the other clubs especially castlemaine and sandhurst

Grimmett
9 Mar 2006, 20:41
....And PicklesOurBestOldBuddy...Also, perhaps you could enlighten not only me but the rest of the thread troops on why you want to give me an alternate moniker ... "Strap".

Jock Strap, no?

Jock Clark 2
10 Mar 2006, 14:55
;) I agree, Grimmett -- OH NO !
Davis let's havva look at the Maine.
Already gone: Paul Eyles and Brad Lawlor, already cleared to E'hawk. Wayne Burchill has his third application to join Eaglehawk in the pipeline.
Simon Cluff wants to join BlueyBoy Southcombe at Elmore. 2nd piece of paperwork "in progress".
Nathan Webster (the under-18 goalkicking winner in 05), 1st application to join North Bendigo rejected, but imagine he'll go again.
Jason Cordy and Steve Jarrott ... both applications to join Uni Blues in the Vic. Ammos: approved.
Jarred Trethowan, approved to play with Newstead.
Big surprise is Newstead coach Steve Oliver had his first application rejected by the Maine. George Georgiou also wanting to join Newstead ... first application rejected.
That's a fair swag of players. Oh yeah ... and Leigh Rees (wants to join South) and Scott Carson wants to play with Newbridge .. both these plyers, their 1st ones rejected, 2nd ones still going, I think.
INTO the club: Adrian Conn, Frank Byrne and Lachie Brown.

Sandhurst: Mark Fitzgerald and Zac Perez back friom WA. And as we've seen either on this thread ot the other BFL one Fitzy WON'T be going to Elmore.
Jasion Curtain already cleared to Square and Brad Comer to N'bridge, also approved.
Skipper Wayne Mitrovic again bothered by osteitis pubis and no certainty for Rd. 1, let alone Litening Prem.
They r getting heap of players from the Junior league signing up, as you would expect.
Shannon Geary, E'hawk to Sandhurst, approved --- but expect him to play a fair bit of Pioneers this year.
If I think of any others I will write them in.

Picklesmeoldmate
10 Mar 2006, 16:27
geez you write some crap jock

Picklesmeoldmate
10 Mar 2006, 16:34
geez you write some crap jock
jockette, i can fill you in on why oliver has been rejected to join newstead. now my friend, it's because he still has a one week suspension hanging over his head and therefore can't be cleared until he has served that suspension.
now, the the bfl season starts a week before the mcdfl, therefore, he will serve his suspension when castlemaine plays maryborough, and then be cleared to newstead. that's the story there matey.

Picklesmeoldmate
10 Mar 2006, 16:35
jockette, i can fill you in on why oliver has been rejected to join newstead. now my friend, it's because he still has a one week suspension hanging over his head and therefore can't be cleared until he has served that suspension.
now, the the bfl season starts a week before the mcdfl, therefore, he will serve his suspension when castlemaine plays maryborough, and then be cleared to newstead. that's the story there matey.
here are my odds on oliver being cleared almost immediately after the first round of the BFL season:
Yes, he will: $1.01
No, he won't - name your price punters, i'll take anything.

Toadfooty
10 Mar 2006, 19:50
How do we think Nth Ballarat Juniors will go this year?

Jock Clark 2
10 Mar 2006, 19:56
:cool: I'VE got them finishing 6th, Toad, just outside the Top 5. My theory is they will take a little time to settle, but be very good from the end of June on the road home.
And PicklesOurTopOldPal, sorry I didn't have as good a handle on Ollie's suspension matter and the reason why his first clearance application to Newstead from the Maine was rebuffed.
So after you have given me TWO thumbs down I'll suspend myself for 24 hours.
Catch you Sunday.

Picklesmeoldmate
10 Mar 2006, 21:52
Don't leave us jockster, come back. As I correctly tipped the other day, essendon comfortably in the afl game in bendigo. congratulations weapo, you add to your kitty of $200

Gareth Keenan
10 Mar 2006, 22:06
:cool: I'VE got them finishing 6th, Toad, just outside the Top 5. My theory is they will take a little time to settle, but be very good from the end of June on the road home.
And PicklesOurTopOldPal, sorry I didn't have as good a handle on Ollie's suspension matter and the reason why his first clearance application to Newstead from the Maine was rebuffed.
So after you have given me TWO thumbs down I'll suspend myself for 24 hours.
Catch you Sunday.

Well Jock

I was in Ballarat this week on business and a client took me out to have a look at North City train. They were very impressive and looked to have a very professional set-up. In my day in Bendigo there was nothing like North Ballarat has. Is it still the same these days???
From what I saw and what I've read on here and the Addy website I would think they'd be certs to finish in the top five alongside Gisborne, South, Eaglehawk and Wobble, Max Powers and the other precious boys from Wade Street.
My man at Square tells me they are still chasing this Ben Doherty character. He must be a fair player because my man says he could be the difference between Square finishing top two or another shot at an elimination final.

Your thoughts????

Jock Clark 2
11 Mar 2006, 00:55
AS PMOM has indicated Essendon easily in the Bendigo Who Cares practice game -- 16.13 (109) to Hawthorn 11.6 (72).
Damian Drum's best -- Ess: Hird (early on), Lucas, McPhee, Mark Johnno. Hawks: Joel Smith, Bateman, Croad.
Wan't much in it for the first half, but the Dons got on top in the 2nd half.
Crowd was supposed to be capped at 11,000 but according to commercial radio commentators that figure could easily have been reached by 1/4 time.

Toadfooty
11 Mar 2006, 18:13
Apart from Gisborne are any out of town sides a chance this year?:thumbsu::thumbsd:

davis24
11 Mar 2006, 20:04
Apart from Gisborne are any out of town sides a chance this year?:thumbsu::thumbsd:

Nah dont think so " maryborough no chance" "castlemaine to many people leaving" and "kyneton also have 2 many people leaving" do people agree with me

Toadfooty
11 Mar 2006, 20:16
Nah dont think so " maryborough no chance" "castlemaine to many people leaving" and "kyneton also have 2 many people leaving" do people agree with me

Yeah look I agree in some instances Davis but Kyneton will be alright from some reports I have heard. But im a Bendigo fella so I may have missed something the Macedon Ranges locals have picked up.

Toadfooty
11 Mar 2006, 20:20
AND PICKLESMEOLDMATE, WHO ARE YOU???? You seem to have the scoop on everything and like a punt!!!!

:thumbsu:Pickles For President:thumbsu:

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 13:45
AND PICKLESMEOLDMATE, WHO ARE YOU???? You seem to have the scoop on everything and like a punt!!!!

Thanks for those kind words Toadster, i hope you're not taking the ******** though. By the way, how do we think the 3bo mob went calling the afl game on friday night. i heard around town in the days before that triple c was meant to be calling the game too. i threw the dial on 895 for a listen, but didn't hear anything. anyone know what happened there.
the dockers played well against the cats last night, but just fell short when it matters.
here's my flag market for the afl:
$4.20 Stkilda
$8 West Coast
$10 Adelaide
$12 Geelong
That's a start, more to come. Hope we're all enjoying the long weekend.

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 13:47

Thanks for those kind words Toadster, i hope you're not taking the ******** though. By the way, how do we think the 3bo mob went calling the afl game on friday night. i heard around town in the days before that triple c was meant to be calling the game too. i threw the dial on 895 for a listen, but didn't hear anything. anyone know what happened there.
the dockers played well against the cats last night, but just fell short when it matters.
here's my flag market for the afl:
$4.20 Stkilda
$8 West Coast
$10 Adelaide
$12 Geelong
That's a start, more to come. Hope we're all enjoying the long weekend.

Toadfooty
12 Mar 2006, 13:57
Dont worry Picklesouroldmate I wasn't taking the @#$&. I dunno what happened with the call of the game, I tuned into 895 and heard- NO FOOTY, so over to 3BO i went and thought the call was alright.

Jock Clark 2
12 Mar 2006, 14:02
I'M baaaaack, Pickles, after a 24 hour compulsory spell.
Big hassle about the Fresh FM's virtual lockout in Bendigo Fri nite. I understand they had the approval from the AFL's media manager to broadcast the game, but a Bendigo functionary (not from the council, but the organising committee) told them the pressbox was full .... 3bo on one side, Melb. press guys on the other.
South Bendigo rooms with big panoramic window was a possible site, but there was an all-match Tynan-Eyre function on in there.
Expect letters to be 4warded to the AFL, the VCFL and 1 or 2 other organisations about the fiasco.
Now about the 3bo call --- Adam White from Fox Footy was good, but the other bloke was appalling. Drummie Ok on specials if a bit keen to spruik on too much but overall pretty much OK. Boundary rider was atrocious.

Toadfooty
12 Mar 2006, 14:02
BFL Coaches????? How do you rate them Pickles?:thumbsu::thumbsd: This questions for the smartest guy on here, so don't answer Jock.:D

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 14:33
BFL Coaches????? How do you rate them Pickles?:thumbsu::thumbsd: This questions for the smartest guy on here, so don't answer Jock.:D
I'll get to your question a bit later today, i'll have a think about it mate and give you my opinion within the next 24 hours. as far as the commentary from friday night, to mei, it would have been ridiculous to have too radio stations broacasting the game anway.
but what i will say is the fresh fm do broadcast all the local footy here throughout the year, so perhaps it would have been fair to have them have the first and last bid on broadcasting the game. that seems fair doesn't it.
I don't recall 3bo ever broadcasting a bfl game of footy. they may have broadcast that final for the bombers last year at the qeo, but that's a one-off.
having said that though, i'm sure 3bo has the power to broadcast further away from bendigo than the fresh, and therefore attract more listeners.
but anyway, history now, so let's move on and just look forward to the fresh coverage of footy in season 2006.
toady my main, i will start today with david collins.
been in the job for two years now and already has a premiership to his name. what more can you say, the former bridgy star knows how to coach.
sure, collins had a handy side at his disposal in 2004, but he still has to mould and guide them in the direction.
And let's not forget, sandhurst beat a mighty good side in gisborne in that grand final.
And not only beat them in the granny, but twice previously as well.
So Todady, I'm a big wrap for dave dollins and I wish him and sandhurst all the best this season. What's your opinoion of Dave.

Toadfooty
12 Mar 2006, 14:58
I'll get to your question a bit later today, i'll have a think about it mate and give you my opinion within the next 24 hours. as far as the commentary from friday night, to mei, it would have been ridiculous to have too radio stations broacasting the game anway.
but what i will say is the fresh fm do broadcast all the local footy here throughout the year, so perhaps it would have been fair to have them have the first and last bid on broadcasting the game. that seems fair doesn't it.
I don't recall 3bo ever broadcasting a bfl game of footy. they may have broadcast that final for the bombers last year at the qeo, but that's a one-off.
having said that though, i'm sure 3bo has the power to broadcast further away from bendigo than the fresh, and therefore attract more listeners.
but anyway, history now, so let's move on and just look forward to the fresh coverage of footy in season 2006.
toady my main, i will start today with david collins.
been in the job for two years now and already has a premiership to his name. what more can you say, the former bridgy star knows how to coach.
sure, collins had a handy side at his disposal in 2004, but he still has to mould and guide them in the direction.
And let's not forget, sandhurst beat a mighty good side in gisborne in that grand final.
And not only beat them in the granny, but twice previously as well.
So Todady, I'm a big wrap for dave dollins and I wish him and sandhurst all the best this season. What's your opinoion of Dave.

I think David is a quite a good coach, ive heard him speak on numerous occasions and seems to handle himself well. The better of the coaches in the competition in my opinion are the non-playing, such as kyneton and Sandhurst's coaches.

davis24
12 Mar 2006, 15:31
I think David is a quite a good coach, ive heard him speak on numerous occasions and seems to handle himself well. The better of the coaches in the competition in my opinion are the non-playing, such as kyneton and Sandhurst's coaches.

Is Kynetons Coach Neville Massina or have they changed since last yr casue i thought he did quite a good job for kyneton boys last yr but i dont even think his coaching will be able to get kyneton out of the woods after i seen who wanted tranfers to other clubs on the bfl website also does any1 no who will coach Castlemaine if Stephen Oliver leaves to Newstead and i also hearing on the radio the other day that the North Ballarat mite be a team to be considerd playing in September later this yr my predictement for the ladder is as follows

Eaglehawk
South Bendigo
North Ballarat
Gisborne
Golden Square
Sandhurst
Kyneton
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat
Maryborough

On The Money
12 Mar 2006, 15:55
Is Kynetons Coach Neville Massina or have they changed since last yr casue i thought he did quite a good job for kyneton boys last yr but i dont even think his coaching will be able to get kyneton out of the woods after i seen who wanted tranfers to other clubs on the bfl website also does any1 no who will coach Castlemaine if Stephen Oliver leaves to Newstead and i also hearing on the radio the other day that the North Ballarat mite be a team to be considerd playing in September later this yr my predictement for the ladder is as follows

Eaglehawk
South Bendigo
North Ballarat
Gisborne
Golden Square
Sandhurst
Kyneton
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat
Maryborough

I'll go with
South Bendigo- With the players pick up they have the talent all over and depth galore
Gisbourne- Still going to be in the mix but when you keep the same core of players its hard to maintain the hunger when you have been so successful.
Golden Square- Have picked up some good ones and should have finished a little higher last year, depth could still be a concern if injuries set in like last year.
Eaglehawk- Obviously got some good cattle but depth and committment of some players will be a worry.
Sandhurst- Got some good kids coming through and may sneak a finals spot if Mitrovic and co stay on the park. Well of the pace of the top 3.
North City- Hard to judge you would think they may be strong at home you'd think and better in the second half of the season when they have settled a bit.
Kyneton- No depth but will win games at home.
Castlemaine- Things have dropped off at Pie land.
Kangaroo Flat- Toss up between them and Marybrough Brown and Shan Millward could keep them away from another spoon.
Marybrough- Still going to do it tough until things turn around financially.

Wayne Weideman
12 Mar 2006, 18:07
I'll go with
South Bendigo- With the players pick up they have the talent all over and depth galore
Gisbourne- Still going to be in the mix but when you keep the same core of players its hard to maintain the hunger when you have been so successful.
Golden Square- Have picked up some good ones and should have finished a little higher last year, depth could still be a concern if injuries set in like last year.
Eaglehawk- Obviously got some good cattle but depth and committment of some players will be a worry.
Sandhurst- Got some good kids coming through and may sneak a finals spot if Mitrovic and co stay on the park. Well of the pace of the top 3.
North City- Hard to judge you would think they may be strong at home you'd think and better in the second half of the season when they have settled a bit.
Kyneton- No depth but will win games at home.
Castlemaine- Things have dropped off at Pie land.
Kangaroo Flat- Toss up between them and Marybrough Brown and Shan Millward could keep them away from another spoon.
Marybrough- Still going to do it tough until things turn around financially.

yeah would have to agree with you there mate. i'm not sure bout everyone else but i think north city are going to be a fairly good side. i wouldn't underestimate these chums. i'll give them good odds to make the finals first year in. any takers maybe pickles. and by the way were you able to get hold of that unit on friday? would have tried to be of more help but i f#####g did a radiator in the car. going to hit the pocket hard mate hard. but you know the old saying the sun will always come up the next day - unless the reflection of chalky aulds forehead gets in the way!

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 19:37
yeah would have to agree with you there mate. i'm not sure bout everyone else but i think north city are going to be a fairly good side. i wouldn't underestimate these chums. i'll give them good odds to make the finals first year in. any takers maybe pickles. and by the way were you able to get hold of that unit on friday? would have tried to be of more help but i f#####g did a radiator in the car. going to hit the pocket hard mate hard. but you know the old saying the sun will always come up the next day - unless the reflection of chalky aulds forehead gets in the way!
tracked him down weed, had some business to discuss. change of tact, here is some cricket mail, eaglehawk has chased down strathdale's total of 301 to advance to this weekend's bdca granny. massive turn up there. buccs rolled flat. my odds on this weeken's granny.
Buccs - $1.80
Eaglehawk - $1.95
get on early before they shorten.

blues_bogan
12 Mar 2006, 20:16
Matthew Nicholls? Nickname: Pickles?
Barracks for freo, reports sport for the midland express?
Is that you?

realisticview
12 Mar 2006, 20:27
you guys probably already knew this but J.Barham is playing for werribee this year.

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 21:28
Matthew Nicholls? Nickname: Pickles?
Barracks for freo, reports sport for the midland express?
Is that you?
can categorically confirm that is not me. 100% honest. don't want people out there thinking that is me. i am not him

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 21:34
can categorically confirm that is not me. 100% honest. don't want people out there thinking that is me. i am not him
i repeat, i am not that boy you speak of.

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 21:47
i repeat, i am not that boy you speak of.
My next coaching assessment is of marcus barham. it has been well documented marcus had big shoes to fill in taking over from mick mcguane, and you would have to agree after the success gisborne had last year, he has done that. i give the thumbs up to marcus. apparantly is a really good speaker to his team, leads by example and has the right balance between mate and coach. look for gisborne to again figure prominetly in the finals this year.

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 21:56
Glad to see the jockster has returned from his suspension, although, i will refer to it as a yellow card. if there's another yellow card jock, you know the rules of what that involves. gisborne continues to maintain favourtism for this year's premiership. i'm looking forward to watching rochy in thge lightning premiership. what sort of attention do we think those ex bendigo boys schmidt, loughman, bowen, whitsed will cop. should be interesting to see how it all pans out and promises to be one of the intriguing aspects of it. how about this for a score - australia 4-434 against south africa off 50 overs. new world record score. simply awesome

Wayne Weideman
12 Mar 2006, 22:00
Glad to see the jockster has returned from his suspension, although, i will refer to it as a yellow card. if there's another yellow card jock, you know the rules of what that involves. gisborne continues to maintain favourtism for this year's premiership. i'm looking forward to watching rochy in thge lightning premiership. what sort of attention do we think those ex bendigo boys schmidt, loughman, bowen, whitsed will cop. should be interesting to see how it all pans out and promises to be one of the intriguing aspects of it. how about this for a score - australia 4-434 against south africa off 50 overs. new world record score. simply awesome

those boys you speak of pickles won't cop much at all i don't reckon. it's probably the boys that have left rochy to play in the B.F.L that will get a lot of attention.

realisticview
12 Mar 2006, 22:01
why the hell do you quote yourself ?

Wayne Weideman
12 Mar 2006, 22:08
why the hell do you quote yourself ?

mate its a wide known fact to many maybe not you in this case but R.Connaugton was to be ass. coach at rochy this year. after being announced at training as assistant he had to pull the pin due to work commitments, leaving a few a bit s####y including the coach. i don't know about you but i reckon he might cop a bit from the rochy folk!

Picklesmeoldmate
12 Mar 2006, 22:25
mate its a wide known fact to many maybe not you in this case but R.Connaugton was to be ass. coach at rochy this year. after being announced at training as assistant he had to pull the pin due to work commitments, leaving a few a bit s####y including the coach. i don't know about you but i reckon he might cop a bit from the rochy folk!
the connaughton situation you speak of is bound to add some interest. lets hope south and rochy can get through to the grand final to see what happens regarding that.
here's some odds on the 1-dayer between aussies and south africas.
aussies to win are at 99 cents, while the south africans are at any price you want to put on punters.
the aussies are under a dollar because they are that much a certainty. i'm not prepared to offer any money.
now blues bogan, what sort of name is that. you must be a typical carlton supporter going by the name of bogan. i can't stand carlton, hate them with a passion. at my odds, they are short at $1.25 for the wooden spoon. long year for them, i will tell you that for free.

Wayne Weideman
12 Mar 2006, 22:27
the connaughton situation you speak of is bound to add some interest. lets hope south and rochy can get through to the grand final to see what happens regarding that.
here's some odds on the 1-dayer between aussies and south africas.
aussies to win are at 99 cents, while the south africans are at any price you want to put on punters.
the aussies are under a dollar because they are that much a certainty. i'm not prepared to offer any money.
now blues bogan, what sort of name is that. you must be a typical carlton supporter going by the name of bogan. i can't stand carlton, hate them with a passion. at my odds, they are short at $1.25 for the wooden spoon. long year for them, i will tell you that for free.

pickles i won't in on both forms of sport. 99 cents for aussies thanks mate.

blues_bogan
12 Mar 2006, 22:31
Go Blues :P

Norfolk & Clew
13 Mar 2006, 07:05
pickles i won't in on both forms of sport. 99 cents for aussies thanks mate.

I'll put $200 on S Africa thanks pickles!!:p

I cannot believe they got up and won? How is that possible... dunno what to say

Picklesmeoldmate
13 Mar 2006, 09:01
I'll put $200 on S Africa thanks pickles!!:p

I cannot believe they got up and won? How is that possible... dunno what to say
all i can say is i'm speechless at that cricket result. ********ing amazing

Norfolk & Clew
13 Mar 2006, 09:15
all i can say is i'm speechless at that cricket result. ********ing amazing

I know mate, I had no idea what to say, it is utterly remarkable, you at work today Pickles? I unfortunately am!:mad:

Jock Clark 2
13 Mar 2006, 09:19
:cool: NOT doing too much though by the look of it, Norf.
Pretty busy either on the boss's mainframe computer or else sneeking a peep at the laptop !!

Norfolk & Clew
13 Mar 2006, 10:03
:cool: NOT doing too much though by the look of it, Norf.
Pretty busy either on the boss's mainframe computer or else sneeking a peep at the laptop !!

Have got absolutely nothing to do Jock, we are overstaffed here and it is dead quiet, good pay for nothing. Would prefer to be at home in bed though!

Any news of late in the BFL?

Picklesmeoldmate
13 Mar 2006, 10:08
I know mate, I had no idea what to say, it is utterly remarkable, you at work today Pickles? I unfortunately am!:mad:
don't go to work norfolk. I'm in primary school somewhere in bendigo, so i am on holidays. yippeee.

Norfolk & Clew
13 Mar 2006, 10:14
don't go to work norfolk. I'm in primary school somewhere in bendigo, so i am on holidays. yippeee.

Well you are a lucky little boy Pickles!!!:)

Mountain_Boy
13 Mar 2006, 10:30
Yep, I agree Pickles on the tipping thing. I was also thinking is there 16 of us one here that might like to join up as a league on the Herald Suns Super League comp, sounds like it could be fun. We'd all just set up an account on the site, you'll make ya fantasy team, then I'll make a Bendigo league and we'll all join and compete against each other for the year. Your a good bunch of blokes and I think it could be some competitive fun!

Who's in??

Toadfooty
13 Mar 2006, 10:48
Is Jock Clark 2 the ONE AND ONLY JOCK CLARK???????

Norfolk & Clew
13 Mar 2006, 11:32
Yep, I agree Pickles on the tipping thing. I was also thinking is there 16 of us one here that might like to join up as a league on the Herald Suns Super League comp, sounds like it could be fun. We'd all just set up an account on the site, you'll make ya fantasy team, then I'll make a Bendigo league and we'll all join and compete against each other for the year. Your a good bunch of blokes and I think it could be some competitive fun!

Who's in??

Sounds like a great idea but I am starting a new job in a few weeks and will have no internet, so Norfolk will only be posting out of office hours:(

Jock Clark 2
13 Mar 2006, 11:43
TOADY ... u have really upset someone on the RDFL thread. He (or she, of course) has really tipped a large bucket over your little frame.

Picklesmeoldmate
13 Mar 2006, 13:03

Who's in??
Good idea mountain man, certainly be interested. I think you will find jock clark 2 is not the real jock clark. no-one would be stupid enough to do that. I have my suspicions on who it is. I reckon he might have dulcet tones. just a guess though. i may be wrong. i am in a good mood because is just learned the multiplication table, which is quite good for a grade prep student.

Toadfooty
13 Mar 2006, 13:22
Good idea mountain man, certainly be interested. I think you will find jock clark 2 is not the real jock clark. no-one would be stupid enough to do that. I have my suspicions on who it is. I reckon he might have dulcet tones. just a guess though. i may be wrong. i am in a good mood because is just learned the multiplication table, which is quite good for a grade prep student.

The only guy stupid enough to call themselves by there real name would be the Original Jock Clark!

Mountain_Boy
13 Mar 2006, 13:54
Goodwork Pickles, Wheres Weapo these days??

Picklesmeoldmate
13 Mar 2006, 14:02
Goodwork Pickles, Wheres Weapo these days??
i would say he is in a similar boat to me mountain boy.

Mountain_Boy
13 Mar 2006, 14:10
Hope so mate, would be a fun little comp

south_hawk
13 Mar 2006, 15:07
I'm already in one sorry boys

Toadfooty
14 Mar 2006, 08:29
Jock Strap, i'm just ruffling a few of the minor league boys feathers. Seems to me the lower the league the lower the I.Q!

Picklesmeoldmate
14 Mar 2006, 08:58
Righto fellas, about the lightning premiership. are we happy to see rochy and echuca in there, or perhaps might we have liked to see the chance for perhaps mt pleasant, calivil united and carisbrook - the premiers from the three minor leagues - to compete. just an idea. i acknowledge they are minor league clubs, but remember, the bfl teams are hardly going to be at full strength. i'm sure there will be a lot of fringe players and kids playing. if 3bo is so interested in broadcasting footy, perhaps they could broadcast the grand final of the lightning premiership. does anyone know if the lightning premiership will be broadcast on radio.

south_hawk
14 Mar 2006, 09:15
I think Rochy and Echuca were probably good choices. 3BO should give it a go, it seems the guys on Fresh don't know what they're talking about half the time.

Toadfooty
14 Mar 2006, 10:50
I think Rochy and Echuca were probably good choices. 3BO should give it a go, it seems the guys on Fresh don't know what they're talking about half the time.

Sth Hawk I couldn't agree with you more!:thumbsu:

Jock Clark 2
14 Mar 2006, 11:29
:p GUYS, I think u will find South Hawk is unhappy with the Fresh over last year's BFL ressies grand final call. Eother South Hawk or an offsider rang the Fresh to complain about the ressies call last September.
Fair enuf too, if the player identification wasn't up to scratch.
But u know wot is always sed lads ---- its far easier to call AFL footy than bush footy because everyone knows the AFL players. No one except regular attendees know a quarter of the bush footy faces !!
Yerss Picklish Fresh's team will call the entire lightning series, I've been told. Right from the first bounce at 10 am to the last kick in the grand final.
Its ludicruous to suggest 3bo wood do local footie ... they are only interested in the $$$$$ bottom line, not about supporting local footy and netball. They r your once a year job.
And if up to 5 broadcast organisations cover AFL games from the MCG or the Phone Dome, why not 2 Bendigo radio stations doing the Ess v Hawthorn kick and giggle ?? :confused: That was the proposal suggested to Tynan-Eyre organisers, I've been told..

Toadfooty
14 Mar 2006, 12:00
O'Bree or Darren Walsh??? Who do we rate higher?