View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
got to hand it to you bear man. you're up and about as they say!!
where is he off to?
bearsboy
10 Aug 2007, 10:16
got to hand it to you bear man. you're up and about as they say!!What a guess !!
bearsboy
10 Aug 2007, 10:44
No wonder Massina's pulled the pin, with these 4 blokes starting in the middle tommorow
A.Belcher
L.Saunders
O.Messoudi
M.Fitzgerald
max powers.
10 Aug 2007, 11:21
Clearly one of the better coaches in the BFL the sort of man that could pull Kangaroo Flat out of the mire. If he was to be let go it would be remiss of that club to at least approach Thommo with some sort of role, even if it is to work alongside Rombotis.
I aggree, Thompson is a good coach.
pentium1111
10 Aug 2007, 12:36
No wonder Massina's pulled the pin, with these 4 blokes starting in the middle tommorow
A.Belcher
L.Saunders
O.Messoudi
M.Fitzgerald
Be great to see Funston and Messoudi go head to head. Both hard nuts, could be a bit of niggle there. Then theres the old Eve Vs Barham match up - believe its 1 all there so that will be interesting.
Big call Saunders playing on the ball 2nd week back - then again he is that good he wouldnt need match fitness to dominate would he Bears.
Great test for Kynetons kids against quality opposition tomorrow - no matter what happens at the end of the day at least they will know where they have got to be at to be successful in this comp.
Cecil Macontosh
10 Aug 2007, 13:10
Be great to see Funston and Messoudi go head to head. Both hard nuts, could be a bit of niggle there. Then theres the old Eve Vs Barham match up - believe its 1 all there so that will be interesting.
Big call Saunders playing on the ball 2nd week back - then again he is that good he wouldnt need match fitness to dominate would he Bears.
Great test for Kynetons kids against quality opposition tomorrow - no matter what happens at the end of the day at least they will know where they have got to be at to be successful in this comp.
I'll tell you what will happen right now pentium, Kyneton will look like a reserves side as Gisborne will punish you by 100 points +. I don't need a crystal ball for that result.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
10 Aug 2007, 21:29
Doc's tips for Round 15
Kflat v Castle - Maine by 60
Mary v North - North by 20
E/hawk v SH - EH by 10
Kyneton v Gis - Gis by 80
South v Gold S - South by 20
Jock Clark 2
10 Aug 2007, 21:43
WELL, well, well Noiseybones.
I agree with the tips you've come up with for the coming round.
But my margins are a little bit different.
1/. Maine by 30 ---- 2/. Northies by 15 ----- (but Thommo's Maryborough to give everything for their coach, dudded unnecessarily by their committee) ------ 3/. Eaglehawk by 22 ------- 4/. Gisborne by 90 ------ 5/. South by 9 points.
UK Premier League starts this weekend. Manchester United to beat Reading 3-1.
Goat take note.
GREENMAN
10 Aug 2007, 23:15
Well...... mission complete.............Nev out and Cookie in at Tigerland...........But all is not well at the showgrounds, Kyneton once again have forfeited the Under 18 game tomorrow. Whats going on? Where are the kids? Dont blame injuries as the U18 kids should never be played in the reserves to make up numbers there. Is it Gisbornitus? Seems to be a disease at Kyneton? Have the Kyneton U18 team ever beaten Gisbornes U18 side??? Job 1 for Cookie this season is go to the U16 1/2 side and ensure all those kids come through to the U18 next season and some will play senior football, let them know that Negitive Nev is gone and a new eara has begun...Bring on 2008...and will the BFL adopt a mercy rule in 2007 for Kyneton........Please
Is every final being played at the QEO this year?
The Talking Goat
11 Aug 2007, 11:50
Is every final being played at the QEO this year?
Yeah it is Hank. qualifying and 2nd semi-final will be under lights. how's the little one going. you been getting much sleep?
Cjkirbs19
11 Aug 2007, 19:12
Northies got up in a beauty at Princess Park today. Got the jump on maryborough who fought their way back to lead at 3/4 time by 15 points before the northies kicked 6 goals to 1 to finish in front by 12 points. The maryborough supporters are all bogans and should not be allowed to watch games. The umpiring in particular was disgusting, possibly the worst seen for the last 5 years, all in favour of maryborough. Free kick count was 38 -14, and they were still unable to win the match. Full credit to the northies, who will be looking to end the year with a nice little winning run going into next season.
Also, rumour has it there was an all in brawl at the Golden Square - South Bendigo game that involved every player on the ground and even involved spectators. Would love to hear from someone who was there/possibly involved !!!!
Go Northies!!!!!
Yeah it is Hank. qualifying and 2nd semi-final will be under lights. how's the little one going. you been getting much sleep?
Yeah good, slept through a couple of times last week so that was nice. Cheers.
Will probably get a mini bus to the first weekend of finals on the Sunday, got a keg to drink at the Square hotel first so should be a good day.
bearsboy
11 Aug 2007, 21:03
Well...... mission complete.............Nev out and Cookie in at Tigerland...........But all is not well at the showgrounds, Kyneton once again have forfeited the Under 18 game tomorrow. Whats going on? Where are the kids? Dont blame injuries as the U18 kids should never be played in the reserves to make up numbers there. Is it Gisbornitus? Seems to be a disease at Kyneton? Have the Kyneton U18 team ever beaten Gisbornes U18 side??? Job 1 for Cookie this season is go to the U16 1/2 side and ensure all those kids come through to the U18 next season and some will play senior football, let them know that Negitive Nev is gone and a new eara has begun...Bring on 2008...and will the BFL adopt a mercy rule in 2007 for Kyneton........PleaseYeah very disapointing on Kynetons behalf, not being able to find twenty one, 16 -17 year old kids together for a home game. The day turned out well for our u18s anyway, with Eaglehawk knocking of Sandhurst, puts our boys on top.
After what i saw today, Brett Cook has just taken on one of the toughest assignments in the history of the game i reckon. For Gisborne to win like that in those conditions was nothing short of embarasing for the Kyneton FC.
GREENMAN
12 Aug 2007, 09:41
Yeah very disapointing on Kynetons behalf, not being able to find twenty one, 16 -17 year old kids together for a home game. The day turned out well for our u18s anyway, with Eaglehawk knocking of Sandhurst, puts our boys on top.
After what i saw today, Brett Cook has just taken on one of the toughest assignments in the history of the game i reckon. For Gisborne to win like that in those conditions was nothing short of embarasing for the Kyneton FC.
Kyneton are stuffed. Yesterday was the worst performance Ive ever seen from the club...........from the embarrasment of not fielding a U18 side to the thumping the Ressies copt to Negitive Nevs woeful seniors..........Can we ever recover? Spoke to some good friends I have in Maryborough and they tell me they are still recovering from the damage of the Neville the Club Wrecker....can we ever recover from the damage this man has done to this once proud and successful club. Yesterday I took my Kyneton Shirt of and hid it in shame......Just thank god it was wet and cold or otherwise we would have been beaten by 200 points. Can someone please tell me what positive can come out of yesterday..........I will give u 1........Remove Neville now.......dont wait until the end of season.........give him the ass NOW....let Cookie start NOW. Stop this rot.....give us supporters something to look forward to.....give the players some hope........give the players who r thinking of leaving next year a taste of Cookies coaching and see if he can convince them to stay...... As John Kennedy Snr said once in his famous speechs........Do Something, Dont do Nothing, Do Something.........for gods sake KYNETON COMMITTEE LISTEN TO THAT
davis 24
12 Aug 2007, 09:47
Yeah very disapointing on Kynetons behalf, not being able to find twenty one, 16 -17 year old kids together for a home game. The day turned out well for our u18s anyway, with Eaglehawk knocking of Sandhurst, puts our boys on top.
Ok bearsboy kyneton played poorly and Brett Cook has take on a hard task but lets put something into prespective here is a list of players that didnt line up for Kyneton Yesterday and a list of the players that are under the age of 17 that played yestrday and Kyneton have to look foward to..
DID NOT PLAY
DUE TO INJURY OR SUSPENSION
Ben Thaw
Brad Else
David Nolte
Mick Martin Alcade
Ash Mcnaughton
Chad Walker
Steven Reaper
Troy Williams
Cameron Tate
HAVE LEFT THE CLUB FOR VARIOUS
REASONS
Guy Sultan
Ben Talbot
Luke Barker
Greg Chambers
So seriousally if the tigers had all of these players they would be a way better side, i know we cant use injurys as an excuse but when you see that list of names you have to take it into consideration.
The tigers had 5 kids play under the age 0f 17 yesterday and if they can keep these kids at the club they will be a strong team in future years.
bawkedya
12 Aug 2007, 10:23
yeah there was a pretty good all in at the south square game, with a few people from the crowd getting there 2 cents worth but only like 3 or 4 blokes. dont think much come out of it though, when every blokes throwing a punch its pretty hard to report everyone.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
12 Aug 2007, 13:53
Sandhurst knocked off Eaglehawk by 30 odd yesterday without L Carter, M Stagg, L Reudin, R Thornton and Sam Richardson.. and u19 VCFL rep Tom McCarthy in the reserves...
Anyone care to comment on Eaglehawk's limp into September? Are they too old? The season seems to be wearing them down (like last year).
Interesting finals action this year at the QEO -
Gis lost to EH, but has beaten everyone else
Eaglehawk has beaten Gis, SH, South & Square
South beat EH and Square, lost to Gis by only 9 at QEO
Square beat South yesterday, and SH earlier in the year
Sandhurst has beaten EH, Square and South twice, lost by 7 to Gis at QEO
Roy Cazaly
12 Aug 2007, 22:35
Can someone tell me how Saunders went yesterday against Kyneton. i was told he was tagged by Dryburgh (7). Surely this was a mismatch as Dryburgh is not big enough or strong enough to go with saunders in the forward line or quick enough to go with him in the midfield.
Was saunders still carrying an injury or did he look fit?
I know he is tough and all but he does seem to get injured alot.
BackPocketBattler
12 Aug 2007, 22:47
Sandhurst knocked off Eaglehawk by 30 odd yesterday without L Carter, M Stagg, L Reudin, R Thornton and Sam Richardson.. and u19 VCFL rep Tom McCarthy in the reserves...
Anyone care to comment on Eaglehawk's limp into September? Are they too old? The season seems to be wearing them down (like last year).
Interesting finals action this year at the QEO -
Gis lost to EH, but has beaten everyone else
Eaglehawk has beaten Gis, SH, South & Square
South beat EH and Square, lost to Gis by only 9 at QEO
Square beat South yesterday, and SH earlier in the year
Sandhurst has beaten EH, Square and South twice, lost by 7 to Gis at QEO
Dr K, I don't think injuries should ever come into whether a side wins or loses, however E/Hawk were missing Hynes, O'reilly, St. clair and Metcalf from there regular senior side. Both sides missing a few with Sandhurst coming out on top as the better side. Simple as that i reckon. Losing three games isn't limping yet, but granted, stumbling a bit. must improve on the journey in. The top 5 this year is genuinely as even as it could get. Gisborne deserve to be rated slightly above the others but from 2nd-5th the sides are close to inseparable. Can Sandhurst make top 3 or will their North City loss come back to haunt them?
davis 24
12 Aug 2007, 22:54
Can someone tell me how Saunders went yesterday against Kyneton. i was told he was tagged by Dryburgh (7). Surely this was a mismatch as Dryburgh is not big enough or strong enough to go with saunders in the forward line or quick enough to go with him in the midfield.
Dryden would have been kynetons best yesterday saunders got a bit of the ball but dryden was always by his side puting pressure on him. i dont think saunders played much of the last quater, if any.. Dryden also got alot of the ball himself
caveman
12 Aug 2007, 23:43
Kyneton are stuffed. Yesterday was the worst performance Ive ever seen from the club...........from the embarrasment of not fielding a U18 side to the thumping the Ressies copt to Negitive Nevs woeful seniors..........Can we ever recover? Spoke to some good friends I have in Maryborough and they tell me they are still recovering from the damage of the Neville the Club Wrecker....can we ever recover from the damage this man has done to this once proud and successful club. Yesterday I took my Kyneton Shirt of and hid it in shame......Just thank god it was wet and cold or otherwise we would have been beaten by 200 points. Can someone please tell me what positive can come out of yesterday..........I will give u 1........Remove Neville now.......dont wait until the end of season.........give him the ass NOW....let Cookie start NOW. Stop this rot.....give us supporters something to look forward to.....give the players some hope........give the players who r thinking of leaving next year a taste of Cookies coaching and see if he can convince them to stay...... As John Kennedy Snr said once in his famous speechs........Do Something, Dont do Nothing, Do Something.........for gods sake KYNETON COMMITTEE LISTEN TO THAT
Geez mate what kind of supporter are you? Fair enough to voice your opinion when you are not happy at the club but stick with them mate. I wear my Kangaroo Flat polo and jacket proudly and will continue to do so NO MATTER WHAT! Absolutely disgraceful effort taking off the club shirt! :thumbsd:
pentium1111
13 Aug 2007, 00:46
Geez mate what kind of supporter are you? Fair enough to voice your opinion when you are not happy at the club but stick with them mate. I wear my Kangaroo Flat polo and jacket proudly and will continue to do so NO MATTER WHAT! Absolutely disgraceful effort taking off the club shirt! :thumbsd:
Dont be too worried caveman about any of greenmans comments. I doubt very much he was at the game, unless the sunbury twos had a caretaker coach.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
13 Aug 2007, 13:02
Dr K, I don't think injuries should ever come into whether a side wins or loses, however E/Hawk were missing Hynes, O'reilly, St. clair and Metcalf from there regular senior side. Both sides missing a few with Sandhurst coming out on top as the better side. Simple as that i reckon. Losing three games isn't limping yet, but granted, stumbling a bit. must improve on the journey in. The top 5 this year is genuinely as even as it could get. Gisborne deserve to be rated slightly above the others but from 2nd-5th the sides are close to inseparable. Can Sandhurst make top 3 or will their North City loss come back to haunt them?
Possibly. Although, SH may have been able to still make the top 3 if they had beaten North and lost to Ehawk (which most people expected, inc me).
So they have M/B, KFlat and Kyneton left, all winnable. It's close from 2nd to 5th this year!
woody07
13 Aug 2007, 14:01
Dryds not fit enough or strong enough are you serious. Dryds is hardly a midgit and strapping young fella at that (dont take that wrong way Dryds). Considering his V.F.L experience and the fact he's been one of Kynetons best players in the last few years-i'd consider that to be a reasonable match-up. It sounds like it worked-however i wasn't there. The players Ling matches-up each week are not always conventional match-ups-but you cant replace good old-fashioned experience and class. The problem with matching up against Gisborne is you're never going to have enough players to stand beside their best!
zakster
13 Aug 2007, 14:08
doc kenny n. looks like u and jock snagged just the 3 winners for the sat. round just gone have to lift your game with the finals just around the cornr r u thinking of taking over from the mumbling goat lots of stats starting to creep in ur posts
the gloved 1
13 Aug 2007, 14:59
Why don't you stop airing your grievences here and go and put your hand up at the club to go on the committee so you can have a say in who is coaching next year. What sort of supporter takes their shirt off under embarrasment? Sounds like your just another gutless wonder who is quick to point the finger at others but not prepared to put your hand up to create the change that is necessary.
matt_nicholls
13 Aug 2007, 15:25
GREENMAN, lets say Kyneton get rid of Nev this arvo and Cook takes over straight away, then they get beaten by 100 points this weekend. Do you want them to sack Cook too? Let's face it, Kyneton has underachieved badly this year. I didn't rate them a finals chance, but I expected them to be much more competitive. I'm not a Massina fan, but I don't think it's his fault that Kyneton are struggling. The geographics of the Bendigo Football League have left Kyneton in their wake and I can't see the Tigers fighting back towards another BFL grand final in the next 10 years. Cook will no doubt attract better training numbers next season and perhaps one or two extra recruits, but you can't fault Nev's trying.
Thoroughbred
13 Aug 2007, 16:03
GREENMAN, lets say Kyneton get rid of Nev this arvo and Cook takes over straight away, then they get beaten by 100 points this weekend. Do you want them to sack Cook too? Let's face it, Kyneton has underachieved badly this year. I didn't rate them a finals chance, but I expected them to be much more competitive. I'm not a Massina fan, but I don't think it's his fault that Kyneton are struggling. The geographics of the Bendigo Football League have left Kyneton in their wake and I can't see the Tigers fighting back towards another BFL grand final in the next 10 years. Cook will no doubt attract better training numbers next season and perhaps one or two extra recruits, but you can't fault Nev's trying.
So what's your view on Maryborough Matt (Or anyone else who wants to reply). Can Maryborough turn it around quickly or are they years off success like Kyneton? Any ideas who they are targeting for the 2008 coach and beyond? Or who should they target?
matt_nicholls
13 Aug 2007, 16:23
So what's your view on Maryborough Matt (Or anyone else who wants to reply). Can Maryborough turn it around quickly or are they years off success like Kyneton? Any ideas who they are targeting for the 2008 coach and beyond? Or who should they target?
I'm not honestly in a good enough position to make comment on Maryborough's situation champ, but I think the Magpies are in a similar situation to Kyneton (not Nev related) in that whatever kids they produce, they seem to have a hard time holding on to. To use Kyneton as an example, the town is very country and once a kid turns 18 and finishes school they either work or go to university. There is very little work in Kyneton and no universities - so they go to Melbourne or Bendigo. Those that go to Melbourne rarely come back and play footy for Kyneton because of the distance to train and play. I don't know how Gisborne do it so well because they also have a heap of locals. But kids in that town set their sights on playing for the local senior side, kids in Kyneton don't tend to do that. Success breeds success.
Thoroughbred
13 Aug 2007, 16:31
I'm not honestly in a good enough position to make comment on Maryborough's situation champ, but I think the Magpies are in a similar situation to Kyneton (not Nev related) in that whatever kids they produce, they seem to have a hard time holding on to. To use Kyneton as an example, the town is very country and once a kid turns 18 and finishes school they either work or go to university. There is very little work in Kyneton and no universities - so they go to Melbourne or Bendigo. Those that go to Melbourne rarely come back and play footy for Kyneton because of the distance to train and play. I don't know how Gisborne do it so well because they also have a heap of locals. But kids in that town set their sights on playing for the local senior side, kids in Kyneton don't tend to do that. Success breeds success.
I'd say it would be the same deal too. Kids go off to Ballarat, Bendigo or Melbourne for uni or work. People used to want to play for Maryborough like the Gisborne example used above.
2004 really was a bad year for Maryborough with Nev's imports. He did a great job recruiting but the club let all the fringe guys go to the district league and they just didn't have the depth they had the year before.
woody07
14 Aug 2007, 00:35
Gisborne do it so well because of the outstanding organisation and professionalism of the Gisborne Junior Football club-Hats off to them!
perspicuous_1
14 Aug 2007, 10:10
The BFL should just give Gisborne the 3 Premierships now & save the league the time & embarrassment of playing out the rest of the season, & whilst they are at it hang the medal around Saunders neck too.
Everyone knows this is whats going to happen anyway, its not as if we are going to miss the crowds at the finals.
aussiemauler
14 Aug 2007, 10:33
The BFL should just give Gisborne the 3 Premierships now & save the league the time & embarrassment of playing out the rest of the season, & whilst they are at it hang the medal around Saunders neck too.
Everyone knows this is whats going to happen anyway, its not as if we are going to miss the crowds at the finals.
i think its a bit early to be getting that cocky... dont you think perspicous????? still a lot of work to do for the gissy lads
doogey wondall
14 Aug 2007, 10:38
GREENMAN, lets say Kyneton get rid of Nev this arvo and Cook takes over straight away, then they get beaten by 100 points this weekend. Do you want them to sack Cook too? Let's face it, Kyneton has underachieved badly this year. I didn't rate them a finals chance, but I expected them to be much more competitive. I'm not a Massina fan, but I don't think it's his fault that Kyneton are struggling. The geographics of the Bendigo Football League have left Kyneton in their wake and I can't see the Tigers fighting back towards another BFL grand final in the next 10 years. Cook will no doubt attract better training numbers next season and perhaps one or two extra recruits, but you can't fault Nev's trying. they need to have a clean out. get rid of the blokes they have had for years and recruit some new blokes with winners background. a loser mentality is something kyneton has. yes they should of done alot better this year, but when the pressure is on those so called senior players are asked to stand up but they fail to do so.
perspicuous_1
14 Aug 2007, 10:40
i think its a bit early to be getting that cocky... dont you think perspicous????? still a lot of work to do for the gissy lads
Since when did you start being so diplomatic?
We are by far to good for anyone in this hick competition & you should just chillout & enjoy. Go Gissy !
doogey wondall
14 Aug 2007, 10:53
We are by far to good for anyone in this hick competition & you should just chillout & enjoy. Go Gissy ! i agree mate they are looking good at this stage mate had a little hic up losing to filos boys but we still have a few games to go until the finals anything could happen. injurys could play the key for all sides going into the finals.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
bearsboy
14 Aug 2007, 11:41
We are by far to good for anyone in this hick competition & you should just chillout & enjoy. Go Gissy !Disapointing comments.
Are you sure your from Gisborne ?
bearsboy
14 Aug 2007, 11:48
i think its a bit early to be getting that cocky... dont you think perspicous????? still a lot of work to do for the gissy ladsSpot on Aussie !
Still plenty of work for the boys to do yet.
And i can assure everyone "perspicous' thoughts are not the thoughts of the playing group at the Gisborne FC.
Grimmett
14 Aug 2007, 12:29
Has Tony Pierce been replaced yet?
Or Matt Allan with the Bendigo Bombers?
perspicuous_1
14 Aug 2007, 12:41
Disapointing comments.
Are you sure your from Gisborne ?
Spot on Aussie !
Still plenty of work for the boys to do yet.
And i can assure everyone "perspicous' thoughts are not the thoughts of the playing group at the Gisborne FC.
Dont go soft now Brett, we are the best lets do a Geelong & take the lid off & enjoy !
fifth quarter
14 Aug 2007, 12:58
steven oliver will take up tony pierces old job and start monday drummie and his board completed all their interviews a few days back
on the bombers side of things isnt a bloke named peter lodewijks the new g.m dont take much notice of the ben bombers just a essendon marketing tool to get more members in cent. vic.
Norfolk & Clew
14 Aug 2007, 15:31
Can guarantee they won't win all three
the man
14 Aug 2007, 15:38
Thanks for the abuse mate, wonder if Des knows how you treat fellow supporters ?
Guess I'll just barrack in my own way & you can just keep potting people in your way eh ?
You wont get me taking off my Bulldog shirt mate or tearing up my membership................. Get some manners, Cheers Go Dogs !
Perspicious 1 Every sporting club, has a loud mouth.
You just make up the 1 per cent.........thats if you are a member!
Now lets move on, lots of work to be done yet!
aussiemauler
14 Aug 2007, 15:45
EXACTLY!
bearsboy
14 Aug 2007, 15:57
Come and see me on Saturday. I will apologise and buy you a beer or two if you show me your membership card.
perspicuous_1
14 Aug 2007, 16:41
EXACTLY!
Come and see me on Saturday. I will apologise and buy you a beer or two if you show me your membership card.
Your an Embarrassment to our great club the way you do this too !
Can guarantee they won't win all three
Just wondering norfolk who you thought would win each of the grades
the man
14 Aug 2007, 17:35
Bears Boy There is no way this guy will take you up on " buying a beer", at the weekend.
He will be coaching at another game!
Just wondering if anybody knew if there are going to be any night finals this year just like there was last year
b birmingham
14 Aug 2007, 19:32
Just wondering if anybody knew if there are going to be any night finals this year just like there was last year
I believe it is the same format as last year JJ
It proved to be a great success last year with the weather and the crowds. I think everyone would have to agree with that.
One of the best ideas by the BFL for ages:thumbsu:
doogey wondall
14 Aug 2007, 21:00
I believe it is the same format as last year JJ
It proved to be a great success last year with the weather and the crowds. I think everyone would have to agree with that.
One of the best ideas by the BFL for ages:thumbsu: speaking of finals who would be the players to look out for in the finals. how has kain robins been going this year? :confused::confused::confused:
Norfolk & Clew
15 Aug 2007, 12:05
Just wondering norfolk who you thought would win each of the grades
No idea who will win mate, just don't think Gisborne will win all of them.
In the thirds, Sandhurst should not be underated. Even Eaglehawk or square (if square make the finals).
Two's, well it depends on injuries to the seniors and who is in the team on the day, it hurts when there are injuries to senior blokes so your best two's players have to go up. Anyone of the teams in the top 5 can win it on their day.
Gisborne are obviously favourites in the seniors, they are the most consistent team in the comp by a mile. Square and Eaglehawk will give them a great run for their money though. can't see South of the slagheads winning it though.
youknow
15 Aug 2007, 22:16
[quote=perspicuous_1;8407853][quote=aussiemauler;8407091]
Your an Embarrassment to our great club the way you do this too !
Not sure who you are perspicuous 1 but your comments frustrate me.
Your words remind me of only one man at GFC and he was suspended by the players for being a D/Head for bringing our great club in to disrepute.
Which i belive was a great stance and lesson for all.
Maybe you are him ?
thatswhatimtalkinabout
16 Aug 2007, 01:22
[quote=perspicuous_1;8407853]quote]
You are a troll mate and quite frankly are not welcome. If at some point in time you believe you have something to add or provoke discussion, please feel free to speak.
In the mean time, don't denigrate the Gisborne Football Club by making out you are something you are not, which is one of their supporters.
bearsboy
16 Aug 2007, 19:16
No idea who will win mate, just don't think Gisborne will win all of them.
In the thirds, Sandhurst should not be underated. Even Eaglehawk or square (if square make the finals).
Two's, well it depends on injuries to the seniors and who is in the team on the day, it hurts when there are injuries to senior blokes so your best two's players have to go up. Anyone of the teams in the top 5 can win it on their day.
Gisborne are obviously favourites in the seniors, they are the most consistent team in the comp by a mile. Square and Eaglehawk will give them a great run for their money though. can't see South of the slagheads winning it though. Spot on Norfolk, it all comes down to injuries at this time of the year. What odds for Gisborne winning all 3 flags ?
perspicuous_1
16 Aug 2007, 19:19
Odds on I reckon
The Wombat
17 Aug 2007, 12:29
Has anyone wondered why M Warry was not named in Flats Line up. Has he been sacked before seeing out the season? From reports during the week taunting the crowd and threatening violence on men, women and children may have been the straw that broke the camels back. Apparently he may be replaced at K Flat by an even more well behaved fellow whom kicked a lazy 10 for Stanhope on the weekend.
The Talking Goat
17 Aug 2007, 15:06
Has anyone wondered why M Warry was not named in Flats Line up. Has he been sacked before seeing out the season? From reports during the week taunting the crowd and threatening violence on men, women and children may have been the straw that broke the camels back. Apparently he may be replaced at K Flat by an even more well behaved fellow whom kicked a lazy 10 for Stanhope on the weekend.
i don't believe james will be coming to kangaroo flat
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
17 Aug 2007, 16:08
Doc's tips for round 16
Square v Eaglehawk - Hawks to bounce back by 20 points
Gis v South - another good game, Gis by 15 points
Cmaine v Kyneton - The Pies by 50
Sandhurst v M/B - Dragons by 50
North B v KFlat - Roosters by 30.
Interesting round. South need to win, as do Square. Sandhurst still a chance to finish top 3. Will be good to see Eaglehawk win again this week:confused:
fifth quarter
17 Aug 2007, 17:05
doc kenny ... my tips
square by 17 points
gissie by 38
maine by 15
dragons by 45
northies by 36, even without big Eddy D. O. --- he's out, suspended
why wouldny warry play with the flat he got off at the tribunal 4 alleg. striking c'maines walters
Jock Clark 2
19 Aug 2007, 13:49
NICE one Kenny. Five out of five; fifth q. managed just the 4.
Northies only fell in and at Austar Arena and all, by 3 points. Caveman, Rombotis, club prez Brooksie and all other Flat supporters must be gutted.
Thommo told folks at the Q yesterday he had pulled the pin at Maryboro Thursday night. He will coach out the season, though. Committee has been a bit ordinary in its dealing with Thommo, you would have to think.
Hurst boys, BTW, are pretty confident they'll snag 3rd spot and double chance in the finals. Have a much easier run home than Square or South.
Trent the flight Steward
20 Aug 2007, 11:36
You would hope so to save some money for next season, so that they can recruit some players in the prime of their careers, an not be lured into signing ex afl players as that clearly hasnt worked, they cant keep saying that they are blooding talented yougsters and they are going down the right path, im sure these guys arent a patch on the juniors at gisborne, south, sandhurst or eaglehawk, who have fight for chance to play senior footy, not just given a game because they could be a good player.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
20 Aug 2007, 22:16
Northies only fell in and at Austar Arena and all, by 3 points. Caveman, Rombotis, club prez Brooksie and all other Flat supporters must be gutted.
Thommo told folks at the Q yesterday he had pulled the pin at Maryboro Thursday night. He will coach out the season, though. Committee has been a bit ordinary in its dealing with Thommo, you would have to think.
Hurst boys, BTW, are pretty confident they'll snag 3rd spot and double chance in the finals. Have a much easier run home than Square or South.
Yes, I believe Hurst have KFlat away and Kyneton at the QEO to round out the season, but I think they need to keep their minds on the job and don't take it easy like they did against North City. What happened to Square on the weekend? South put in a great effort, but were always going to struggle at the Graveyard...
Re; Thommo
Did hear Sat at the Q that some supporters are happy he is going, is not that well liked by some players and that came from a parent of a player.
Ladder at end of home and away should be,
Gis 68
E/hawk 56
S/hurst 52
Square and South both on 48
Thoroughbred
21 Aug 2007, 14:02
Re; Thommo
Did hear Sat at the Q that some supporters are happy he is going, is not that well liked by some players and that came from a parent of a player.
It is true that some don't like his tactics but there are a good number that are 100% behind Thommo and have great respect for the work he has done with the smallest budget in the BFL.
*insight*
21 Aug 2007, 20:30
bearsboy you will be able to answer this no doubt
what was the reason behind pokrovsky pulling the pin with only a handfull of games left for the season ? surely a grandfinal win would be a better time to bow out retired at 20 would be interested to no why cheers
doogey wondall
21 Aug 2007, 22:10
bearsboy you will be able to answer this no doubt
what was the reason behind pokrovsky pulling the pin with only a handfull of games left for the season ? surely a grandfinal win would be a better time to bow out retired at 20 would be interested to no why cheers who knows ? i agree why not play out the season ? maybe a gissie fan could fill us in. ok who would be the fav for the medal. d.brown eaglehawk, L.walters castlemaine, L.saunders gisbourne, M.fitzgerald gisbourne, B.herdman eaglehawk,
BackPocketBattler
22 Aug 2007, 21:57
who knows ? i agree why not play out the season ? maybe a gissie fan could fill us in. ok who would be the fav for the medal. d.brown eaglehawk, L.walters castlemaine, L.saunders gisbourne, M.fitzgerald gisbourne, B.herdman eaglehawk,
I reckon it would be great to hear people's thoughts on a medal chance, but lets make a rule; you can't nominate a player from your own club. Ill say Matty fitz, Gis. proven vote getter who has had a good season.
On a different topic, Big Coxy got 10 weeks for his alleged hit on Columban Walsh.
doogey wondall
22 Aug 2007, 22:06
I reckon it would be great to hear people's thoughts on a medal chance, but lets make a rule; you can't nominate a player from your own club. Ill say Matty fitz, Gis. proven vote getter who has had a good season.
On a different topic, Big Coxy got 10 weeks for his alleged hit on Columban Walsh. he should never of come back to football. shame. the big fella just looking silly now.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
Norfolk & Clew
23 Aug 2007, 11:00
he should never of come back to football. shame. the big fella just looking silly now.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
Who was it that hit Columban?
BackPocketBattler
23 Aug 2007, 18:26
Who was it that hit Columban?
Cox, David Cox. Luckily he missed last week norfolk, because he obviously has a distinct dislike for reserves ruckmen.. ;)
Norfolk & Clew
24 Aug 2007, 11:15
Cox, David Cox. Luckily he missed last week norfolk, because he obviously has a distinct dislike for reserves ruckmen.. ;)
He would have been given even more reason to dislike them if he played last week
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
24 Aug 2007, 13:54
Doc's tips for Round 17
Sun is out, grass in green - finals in the air!
KFlat v Sandhurst - Dragons by 80+
E/hawk v Mary/b - Hawks by 80+
Kyn v North - North to win by <20. Good to see them winning
South v Cmaine - Pies HAVE to win. Could be an upset, umm South by <10
Square v Gis - Gisborne by 50+. Both sides suited to small grounds
aussiemauler
24 Aug 2007, 14:41
Doc's tips for Round 17
Do you think Gisborne is only suited to small grounds DR?
Doc's tips for Round 17
Thats a silly judgment doc. Gisborne have only lost 2 maybe three finals that they have played at the qeo in the past 5 years
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
24 Aug 2007, 19:31
[/b]Thats a silly judgment doc. Gisborne have only lost 2 maybe three finals that they have played at the qeo in the past 5 years
what? Fa crying out loud you blokes, don't get so defensive!!
I said they're suited to small grounds, I didn't say they couldn't play on large ones.
Relax....
fifth quarter
25 Aug 2007, 12:07
yep kenny going for the same 5 clubs
hurst to beat flat by 65
hawkies to belt maryborough by 55
mccartys north ball to beat tigers by 18
south to snuff out maines finals dream ... south by 28
gissie too good for square on ANY ground -- 39 points
(holdstock v lukie saunders will be good value, though)
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
27 Aug 2007, 11:59
Jock, listening to you on Fresh, I think I heard you've written off Square. Care to elaborate? What's your thoughts on the final five and do you think Gisborne can be beaten?
P E S T
27 Aug 2007, 13:43
Jock, listening to you on Fresh, I think I heard you've written off Square. Care to elaborate? What's your thoughts on the final five and do you think Gisborne can be beaten?
Square can not win the flag!!! Nor can Sandhurst! I think come finals time a long season without a break will hamper Gisborne's older stars performing, as the ware and tear of there older bodies will feel it! Eaglehawk on the other hand have a younger spread of players and i think they will have the edge going into the finals. Eaglehawk VS Gisborne in the Granny!
P E S T
27 Aug 2007, 13:48
Interesting to see North City winning 5 games for the year. I had them winning 0 games for the year as most people probably did. What has been the turn around for them this year?? Did they recruit a few good players?
Cecil Macontosh
27 Aug 2007, 16:16
Interesting to see North City winning 5 games for the year. I had them winning 0 games for the year as most people probably did. What has been the turn around for them this year?? Did they recruit a few good players?
North City did not recruit anyone really at all, it was just a progression of all of the 18 and 19 year olds starting to get games under their belt and also a few good under 18's that came up.
Jock Clark 2
27 Aug 2007, 19:56
KENNY --- Gissy v Hurst for mine on grannie day.
Always thought Square didnt have the cattle to go with the Graveyard Dogs.
Hurst will prolly get back Holmes and a few other Pioneers boys --- provided they have qualified with the 5 BFL games required.
You're a stats man, Kenny, like The Goat. Check out how many qualifying games those Pios players have racked up. Square has one in the wings, as well.
BTW, Hurst coach Gillie no slouch on the Q. Heard he collected 40 possies on Sat.... 21 kicks and 19 h-balls. Not a bad afternoon's work, against any opposition.
youknow
27 Aug 2007, 20:14
Just wondering if anyone saw the square , gissy 2's game on saturday ? It was one of the most bizzare games i have ever seen (The bits i did see). Gissy 3-4 up at 3/4 time. Square got 8 goals from frees in front can anyone shed any light on what happened ?
P E S T
28 Aug 2007, 08:24
Hurst will prolly get back Holmes and a few other Pioneers boys --- provided they have qualified with the 5 BFL games required.
You're a stats man, Kenny, like The Goat. Check out how many qualifying games those Pios players have racked up. Square has one in the wings, as well.
BTW, Hurst coach Gillie no slouch on the Q. Heard he collected 40 possies on Sat.... 21 kicks and 19 h-balls. Not a bad afternoon's work, against any opposition.
HURST in the grand final?????? What the???
Didn't the hurst lose to North City not too long ago?? This shows their inconsistency, any team losing to North City can not make the grand final, Champion teams do not lose to mediocre sides. Where was the great Gillie that day? Got toweled up by 19 year old kids i hear!
P E S T
28 Aug 2007, 08:29
North City did not recruit anyone really at all, it was just a progression of all of the 18 and 19 year olds starting to get games under their belt and also a few good under 18's that came up.
mmmmm very interesting there Cec. Sounds like the future is bright at the City.
Pios games count as club senior games so they don't have to play 5 to qualify as long as they have played 5 with the pios then they are right to go.
Pest what do you know about footy, E/Hawk would be the oldest list running around and the warm weather and big ground come finals time will be very taxing on them.
bearsboy
28 Aug 2007, 09:26
Pios games count as club senior games so they don't have to play 5 to qualify as long as they have played 5 with the pios then they are right to go.
Pest what do you know about footy, E/Hawk would be the oldest list running around and the warm weather and big ground come finals time will be very taxing on them.Yeah good point about E/Hawk and i dont know where he got the idea of Gisborne having an ageing list, only 1 bloke i can think of over 30, mostly early to mid 20's.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
28 Aug 2007, 09:54
Yeah good point about E/Hawk and i dont know where he got the idea of Gisborne having an ageing list, only 1 bloke i can think of over 30, mostly early to mid 20's.
Yeah, neither does PEST... just some joker posting rubbish hoping for a reaction.
JOCK - I concur with your prediction. The Hurst had an upset against North, but it was just the kick up the backside they needed to focus on the job at hand...
It's happned before - eg. Essendon in 2000 losing to Bulldogs 2 weeks before the finals and more recently, Geelong ending its unbeaten run against Port 2 weeks before the finals. That's footy!
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
28 Aug 2007, 10:15
Square can not win the flag!!! Nor can Sandhurst! I think come finals time a long season without a break will hamper Gisborne's older stars performing, as the ware and tear of there older bodies will feel it! Eaglehawk on the other hand have a younger spread of players and i think they will have the edge going into the finals. Eaglehawk VS Gisborne in the Granny!
1. E/hawk is the oldest list in the comp other than Kyneton seconds!
2. Saying Sandhurst cannot make the Grannie - on what basis? You mean the North v Hurst game? Well, mate, the week after Hurst v North City, the Dragons gave your E/hawk blokes a pasting on the QEO (as did South). So by your logic, the Two Blues are finished for the year.
Norfolk & Clew
28 Aug 2007, 10:34
Just wondering if anyone saw the square , gissy 2's game on saturday ? It was one of the most bizzare games i have ever seen (The bits i did see). Gissy 3-4 up at 3/4 time. Square got 8 goals from frees in front can anyone shed any light on what happened ?
Umpires were disgraceful but Gisborne didn't help their cause by constantly back chatting and swearing at the umpires. It was more one umpire than the other but i won't single out which one, it just seemed as though he had a power trip and whenever someone disagreed with him he would pay a free kick. The game wasn't won just on free kicks, square played the better football in the last quarter although the free kicks and fifty's certainly helped. There was a free kick given due to him being abused from the sidelines... didn't know that was a rule?
Rumor has it that one of the umpires quit after the game stating that he had enough of the abuse which is understandable. Can anyone confirm this?
I don't want this to come across as me bagging the umps, because they are taking time out of their lives to umpire and i am sure they go out there to do their best. Just reckon this one bloke was off key on Saturday.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
28 Aug 2007, 11:08
There was a free kick given due to him being abused from the sidelines... didn't know that was a rule?
Coaching staff? I've seen them given against supporters at Kyneton.
Standard is not very good and hasn't been for quite a long time now.
Norfolk & Clew
28 Aug 2007, 11:14
Coaching staff? I've seen them given against supporters at Kyneton.
Standard is not very good and hasn't been for quite a long time now.
Supporters, i was right there and didn't hear anything. Not much can be done, it is not really an appealing job for someone to put their hand up and do. Because of the severe shortage it is always going to be below par, especially at two's level. Finals should see an improvement, but hopefully the younger ones will keep coming through the ranks because i have seen a couple of decent umpires come through in the last few years.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
28 Aug 2007, 11:33
Supporters, i was right there and didn't hear anything. Not much can be done, it is not really an appealing job for someone to put their hand up and do. Because of the severe shortage it is always going to be below par, especially at two's level. Finals should see an improvement, but hopefully the younger ones will keep coming through the ranks because i have seen a couple of decent umpires come through in the last few years.
I think the only way we might bolster the stocks and improve the standard is if players retiring from footy are having a crack. It's not bad coin and they know better than most whats going on.
For a youngster coming up through the ranks and aspiring to be an umpire - well why would you?
Norfolk & Clew
28 Aug 2007, 11:37
I think the only way we might bolster the stocks and improve the standard is if players retiring from footy are having a crack. It's not bad coin and they know better than most whats going on.
For a youngster coming up through the ranks and aspiring to be an umpire - well why would you?
Extra money would be the only motivation. I agree with you that retiring footballers should do it, they would have more respect as well.
zakster
28 Aug 2007, 13:07
wot no one going for sth to get past the elim final wot about the 2 burkes frew big bad johnny and their other talls on a sunny septembr day i will tip south to beat square in the elim final
bearsboy
28 Aug 2007, 13:10
Umpires were disgraceful but Gisborne didn't help their cause by constantly back chatting and swearing at the umpires. It was more one umpire than the other but i won't single out which one, it just seemed as though he had a power trip and whenever someone disagreed with him he would pay a free kick. The game wasn't won just on free kicks, square played the better football in the last quarter although the free kicks and fifty's certainly helped. There was a free kick given due to him being abused from the sidelines... didn't know that was a rule?
Rumor has it that one of the umpires quit after the game stating that he had enough of the abuse which is understandable. Can anyone confirm this?
I don't want this to come across as me bagging the umps, because they are taking time out of their lives to umpire and i am sure they go out there to do their best. Just reckon this one bloke was off key on Saturday.By all reports the umpire completely lost the plot, paying free after free. He also threw his whistle at a spectator as he was leaving the ground (i guess this was the one that quit).
Norfolk & Clew
28 Aug 2007, 13:37
By all reports the umpire completely lost the plot, paying free after free. He also threw his whistle at a spectator as he was leaving the ground (i guess this was the one that quit).
He did lose the plot, not good to see. Just couldn't handle the heat.
Anyway it was a good win that we will take and the two's competition is really open to nearly any team in the top 5 at the moment.
P E S T
28 Aug 2007, 14:00
Yeah, neither does PEST... just some joker posting rubbish hoping for a reaction.
JOCK - I concur with your prediction. The Hurst had an upset against North, but it was just the kick up the backside they needed to focus on the job at hand...
It's happned before - eg. Essendon in 2000 losing to Bulldogs 2 weeks before the finals and more recently, Geelong ending its unbeaten run against Port 2 weeks before the finals. That's footy!
mmmmm. i stand corrected then if Eaglehawk are the oldest. Is there any articles to back this up??? Or is everyone just speculating. Eaglehawk only have a high average because of there 4-5 old blokes over 30 bumping it up. They seem to have alot of blokes 19-25, were as Gissy seem to have alot more blokes 25+. I new this would get people talking thats why i posted it. My post works 2 ways Eaglehawk may have a few more younger bodies running around, but Gissy have the experience come finals. I'll back finals experience anyday!! Go GISSY!
P E S T
28 Aug 2007, 14:06
1. E/hawk is the oldest list in the comp other than Kyneton seconds!
2. Saying Sandhurst cannot make the Grannie - on what basis? You mean the North v Hurst game? Well, mate, the week after Hurst v North City, the Dragons gave your E/hawk blokes a pasting on the QEO (as did South). So by your logic, the Two Blues are finished for the year.
This is true Dr KN. and i did see the results of the E/hawk game! My point that i was making is Sandhurst seem to be very inconsistent in there performances, Losing to City, Beating Eaglehawk, getting flogged by Gissy, and early on lossing to square. They are coming good at the right time of the year. But the question is will there inconsistence be their down fall in the finals??