View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

P E S T
28 Aug 2007, 14:11
Yeah, neither does PEST... just some joker posting rubbish hoping for a reaction.

JOCK - I concur with your prediction. The Hurst had an upset against North, but it was just the kick up the backside they needed to focus on the job at hand...

It's happned before - eg. Essendon in 2000 losing to Bulldogs 2 weeks before the finals and more recently, Geelong ending its unbeaten run against Port 2 weeks before the finals. That's footy!

Doc Doc Doc Doc Doc..... You can do better than that cant you, what a stupid example!!! The point you made above about Hurth losing to the mediocre North giving them the kick they need is vaild. But to back it up with an example of 2nd in the AFL beating 1st........ It is no where near the same as Hurst losing to a Mediocre North! I'll let this one slide. ;-)

the man
28 Aug 2007, 14:18
He did lose the plot, not good to see. Just couldn't handle the heat.

Anyway it was a good win that we will take and the two's competition is really open to nearly any team in the top 5 at the moment.

Yes N & C , you are spot on. As a player, you would have to agree, that both teams were more or less bewildered by what happened.
Question ?? How long is the Square going to allow, the one loud foul mouth drunken supporter, spoil the game for others who choose to attend.
Blue ute is the clue....you will know the slob!

Norfolk & Clew
28 Aug 2007, 14:24
Yes N & C , you are spot on. As a player, you would have to agree, that both teams were more or less bewildered by what happened.
Question ?? How long is the Square going to allow, the one loud foul mouth drunken supporter, spoil the game for others who choose to attend.
Blue ute is the clue....you will know the slob!

Don't know the car and the owner you are referring to mate, probably have someone in mind but can't be sure that he is the bloke you have in mind.

No one was completely out of hand from what i saw.

bearsboy
28 Aug 2007, 14:40
Blue ute is the clue....you will know the slob!Great call !
This moron has been scaring the shite out of women and kids at the local footy for years . When square were up by 4 or 5 goals, he decided to position himself right behind the Gisborne coaches box and yell foul mouth abuse for all to hear. (he soon disapeared when Gisborne hit the front).

bearsboy
28 Aug 2007, 14:47
Don't know the car and the owner you are referring to mate, probably have someone in mind but can't be sure that he is the bloke you have in mind.

No one was completely out of hand from what i saw.You'd definetily know the bloke - absolute peanut. He gets to away games as well.

Sandhurst has a bloke thats a bit of a pest as well but he doesnt swear like your man.

the man
28 Aug 2007, 15:02
You'd definetily know the bloke - absolute peanut. He gets to away games as well.

Sandhurst has a bloke thats a bit of a pest as well but he doesnt swear like your man.

N & C The guy is late 50 ish, wears glasses, and does not use the public toilets. The same guy has targeted several Gissy players ( one in particular) for many years. Everyone finds their own level in life, the guy is a low life! It actually works against your club, in the fact that the bloke he has targeted for 5 years, just goes harder at the contest, and whose last quarter, on Saturday, helped turn the game around. Cheers...no more from myself ....on this one!

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
28 Aug 2007, 20:31
Doc Doc Doc Doc Doc..... You can do better than that cant you, what a stupid example!!! The point you made above about Hurth losing to the mediocre North giving them the kick they need is vaild. But to back it up with an example of 2nd in the AFL beating 1st........ It is no where near the same as Hurst losing to a Mediocre North! I'll let this one slide. ;-)

You don't get it do ya?? Geelong won 15 straight and lost a game 2 weeks before the finals... Doesn't matter who the opponent was, but it was enough for the Cats to reassess and concentrate on what needs to be done to win the big games of footy (such as finals). As quoted by Bomber Thompson on tonights news.

Perfect example.

p.s. North are not such a bad side. They only lost to South by 9 points a few weeks ago and have won 5 games for the year. They're improving.

fifth quarter
29 Aug 2007, 13:44
b-boy, the hurst supporter is claude critchley
has supported dragons for years n years and u will also c him wearing his afl dees jumper, too
dont know the bloke at the square but they have big harry madden -- u cant miss him, hes huge -- but not offensive

Jock Clark 2
29 Aug 2007, 20:38
ROUND 22 in the BFL, boys.
My selections will be, Saturday: 1/. Gisborne over Hawks by 48 (will both clubs field full sides or give a few a rest ??)
2/. Maryborough to see off Thommo in style and down Flat by 24
3/. Sandhurst to make absolutely certain of third spot and belt Kyneton by 51 points. Did you know Kyneton hasn't won on the Q -- home and away OR finals -- since we had proper, winter rain.
4/. Square to squeak home over the Maine at the Camp by 17 points. Real danger game for Joffa and his boys.
SUNDAY: South to account for North Ballarat City by 33 points.

JennaJ
29 Aug 2007, 21:11
SUNDAY: South to account for North Ballarat City by 33 points.[/quote]

I reckon that this game will be alot closer more like 10 points to south. This could be another upset for the northies. North Ballarat's twos are not playing this week and will only strengthen there side.

bearsboy
30 Aug 2007, 09:26
b-boy, the hurst supporter is claude critchley
has supported dragons for years n years and u will also c him wearing his afl dees jumper, too
dont know the bloke at the square but they have big harry madden -- u cant miss him, hes huge -- but not offensiveYeah the big fella from square is a nice bloke always up for a friendly chat. He has informed me that Square are gone, cannot win the flag.

I think most clubs probably have a "mascot" in the crowd, Kyneton had an aboriginal fella that was a bit of a nut case but i havent seen him for a while. Gisborne had one for a few years but he left this year to go and coach the Sunbury 2's :D

Any chance the Goat (or anyone else) could come up with some odds for the Michelson ? :thumbsu:

The Talking Goat
30 Aug 2007, 10:24
Yeah the big fella from square is a nice bloke always up for a friendly chat. He has informed me that Square are gone, cannot win the flag.

I think most clubs probably have a "mascot" in the crowd, Kyneton had an aboriginal fella that was a bit of a nut case but i havent seen him for a while. Gisborne had one for a few years but he left this year to go and coach the Sunbury 2's :D

Any chance the Goat (or anyone else) could come up with some odds for the Michelson ? :thumbsu:
got a bit on today bear man to come up with some michelsen medal odds, but i will throw some names out there:
matt fitzgerald
ollie messaoudi
kiel robertson
brady herdman
chris kent
brett cook
michael cornish
john hardinge
cameron hall

few names there, i'm sure i've missed a few.

chaddles
30 Aug 2007, 23:56
Rumour has it a metro footy team has a trip away to Bendigo and will be attending Preliminary Final weekend. Should be an interesting day!!

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
31 Aug 2007, 11:51
Doc's Tips for Round 22

No game to effect the top 5, so I'll have a bit of fun this week with the tips.

Gisborne v Eagle - Gisborne by 50points
Simply flexing their muscle before the finals
Sandhurst v Kyn - Hurst by 60 points
Mary v Flat - Pies by 20 points
Cmaine v Square - PIES to win by 20 points - Upset on the cards!
South v North - North city by 10 points - as above

zakster
31 Aug 2007, 11:57
goatman cornish from the hurst never gets recognition from the umps in last yr's michelson medal count he polld the mighty total of 2 votes
dont belive me hve a check thru ur records

zakster
31 Aug 2007, 11:59
having said that souths big john h. always polls ok but dont now if he will get enuf to win

The Talking Goat
31 Aug 2007, 14:08
goatman cornish from the hurst never gets recognition from the umps in last yr's michelson medal count he polld the mighty total of 2 votes
dont belive me hve a check thru ur records
he may get recognition this year then cocko

ablett
31 Aug 2007, 18:22
i heard aroound the traps today that aaron james is a big chance to line up at k/flat next season, apparently he is good mates with trent zantruck.
just another afl reject to had to flats list.

Kings Army
1 Sep 2007, 12:13
What a cracking day it is in Gisborne today. 1 V 2 one week out from finals. Perfect weather for footy should show case the best 2 teams in the comp. Does not get much better than this in the country footy world.

Kings Army
1 Sep 2007, 19:08
What a cracking day it is in Gisborne today. 1 V 2 one week out from finals. Perfect weather for footy should show case the best 2 teams in the comp. Does not get much better than this in the country footy world.

1 V 2 more like 1 V 10. With scores level at half time I thought Gissy had a games on there hands. To win by 90+ points is amazing. The olds dads army were going up and down on the spot in the last quarter as Gissy kicked 11 goals 7 points to 2 points.

Can Eaglehawk recover from this?

footyhead18
2 Sep 2007, 13:05
1 V 2 more like 1 V 10. With scores level at half time I thought Gissy had a games on there hands. To win by 90+ points is amazing. The olds dads army were going up and down on the spot in the last quarter as Gissy kicked 11 goals 7 points to 2 points.

Can Eaglehawk recover from this?

I wouldnt think so. They were disgraceful in 2nd half, almost non-competitive. Soft, petulant & undisciplined. How Derek allows blokes like N Heath to give away so many undisciplined free kicks is beyond me. Surely a bloke of his age & experience should be setting a good example of how to react when behind not the opposite.
Are sportsbet still offering $2 about Gisborne? If so i advise all and sundry to go and plonk your super on them for next 4 weeks. Much safer bet than the ASX.

fifth quarter
2 Sep 2007, 13:15
square pretty ordinary down at castlmaine from all reports
they were down at 1/2 time and only 5 pts up at 3/4 time admittedly kicked five goals to 1 in the last but not too flash a hitout with kayo final versus south coming up
might be a bit slow the square boys and desparately need tooly back at full-f

Kings Army
2 Sep 2007, 16:41
I wouldnt think so. They were disgraceful in 2nd half, almost non-competitive. Soft, petulant & undisciplined. How Derek allows blokes like N Heath to give away so many undisciplined free kicks is beyond me. Surely a bloke of his age & experience should be setting a good example of how to react when behind not the opposite.
Are sportsbet still offering $2 about Gisborne? If so i advise all and sundry to go and plonk your super on them for next 4 weeks. Much safer bet than the ASX.

Now there is a bloke that has played 3 years to many. Throwing hay makers at Duff Tyler while 80 points down was embarrassing. Sandhurst will be to quick next week.

bearsboy
2 Sep 2007, 18:16
Is the Eaglehawk v Sandhurst game Saturday night ?

JennaJ
2 Sep 2007, 19:12
Is the Eaglehawk v Sandhurst game Saturday night ?

Same finals format as last year from all reports

Jock Clark 2
3 Sep 2007, 11:37
HURST v Hawkees 6.30 pm start Sat. Threes and Magoos are afternoon schedules.
South v Square seniors Sunday afternoon, normal start time, 2.15 pm

Goat might be a Mumbling Herbivore this week, not a Talking, walking one. Very sad after Old Sheeds and Hirdy's MCG farewell (and loss) to the Tigers. Then xtra sad again when the identical duo bowed out at Subi. Another loss there, too.

zakster
3 Sep 2007, 16:20
south to beat square on sundy the blue and gold boys very slow and if they took all day to beat the main surely they wont beat the bloods
in the sat twilite game i will go for shurst to win eaglehwk older boys mite be finding the seson just a bit too long 4 them plus they could be chasing 3 or 4 pios players the hurst brings in

bearsboy
3 Sep 2007, 17:32
south to beat square on sundy the blue and gold boys very slow and if they took all day to beat the main surely they wont beat the bloods
in the sat twilite game i will go for shurst to win eaglehwk older boys mite be finding the seson just a bit too long 4 them plus they could be chasing 3 or 4 pios players the hurst brings inI also believe Sandhurst will beat Eaglehawk this week but i'm not certain that 3 or 4 sixteen - seventeen year old kids will make a huge difference !

Norfolk & Clew
3 Sep 2007, 17:41
I also believe Sandhurst will beat Eaglehawk this week but i'm not certain that 3 or 4 sixteen - seventeen year old kids will make a huge difference ! Majority of them are 18, and they'd be pretty handy players

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
3 Sep 2007, 18:21
I also believe Sandhurst will beat Eaglehawk this week but i'm not certain that 3 or 4 sixteen - seventeen year old kids will make a huge difference !

All the boys are 18. Tim Martin is 199cm / 100kg ruckman, B Holmes, Jay D, Coghlan etc have played a few senior games now, so they are worthy inclusions.

Kings Army
3 Sep 2007, 19:52
Waiting on hearing from the goat on his thoughts of the last quarter of football at the graveyard on Sat. Have you seen many more dominant displays when the 2 teams are 1 and 2 on the ladder.

bearsboy
3 Sep 2007, 20:35
Waiting on hearing from the goat on his thoughts of the last quarter of football at the graveyard on Sat. Have you seen many more dominant displays when the 2 teams are 1 and 2 on the ladder.Saturdays game made it 101 wins from 111 contests since the start of the 2002 season for the bulldogs.

I know you guys wont really care about this stat, but i'm impressed !!

hank1
3 Sep 2007, 20:55
Waiting on hearing from the goat on his thoughts of the last quarter of football at the graveyard on Sat. Have you seen many more dominant displays when the 2 teams are 1 and 2 on the ladder.
There were a couple by Gisborne in '02 vs Square, at Gardiner Reserve (think Square kicked the first 6 then got smashed) and then the 2nd semi.

doogey wondall
4 Sep 2007, 11:38
Saturdays game made it 101 wins from 111 contests since the start of the 2002 season for the bulldogs.

I know you guys wont really care about this stat, but i'm impressed !!
fantastic side.

Norfolk & Clew
4 Sep 2007, 12:05
All the boys are 18. Tim Martin is 199cm / 100kg ruckman, B Holmes, Jay D, Coghlan etc have played a few senior games now, so they are worthy inclusions.

Speaking to Jay the other day, he reckons he'll be playing two's.

badhairday
4 Sep 2007, 15:31
I was interested in how a Warrnambool bloke went for Kyneton this year. His name is Dean Funston. I heard on the grapevine he won their B&F and some league travelscene award. Is that right?

mr_blonde
4 Sep 2007, 15:37
does anyone actually believe that gisborne can be beaten this year? cos tbh i cant see any1 getting within 10 goals of them after their performance at the w/e

Truck
4 Sep 2007, 17:30
Just a real quick one, is there a game this saturday night or are all the finals through the day.......

The Wombat
4 Sep 2007, 17:53
Sat night truck at the QEO to the disgust of the competing clubs.

Burra v Sandhurst.

bearsboy
4 Sep 2007, 18:32
Speaking to Jay the other day, he reckons he'll be playing two's.This was sort of my point.

Gisborne have had players at the Cannons and i'm not certain they would walk into our senior side

perspicuous_1
4 Sep 2007, 18:59
Yer they'll probably only have to settle for being drafted by an A.F.L. club instead !

dazza_vic
4 Sep 2007, 22:39
hey guys my first post...... yay... As an interested gisborne observer I'd like to get your guys opinion on the 2's coach. Believe he is a first year coach going into his first finals campaign!!1 Could be a dawnting task for him. Was supirsed Gisborne went for a first year coach... Any info on the guy......

Boyd
5 Sep 2007, 09:25
Sat night truck at the QEO to the disgust of the competing clubs.

Burra v Sandhurst.
Not to the disgust of both clubs, it might be for the Burra with all their old blokes it might be past their bed time!! Under lights on the premier ground in Bendigo why wouldn't u want to showcase our league.

The Talking Goat
5 Sep 2007, 10:15
goat was very impressed with gisborne's last quarter. as bear man said earlier, it looked like 1 v 10, not 1 v 2

The Wombat
5 Sep 2007, 11:28
Its called dollars pal, and the opportunity missed to hold a club function on a Saturday night after a victory is worth a fair bit of coin. Your right Sandhurst wouldn't care as they will obviously have their bar generating some coin for them on the night.

I agree it is a great way to showcase the League but are the league then compensating the combatants on the night. I would suggest the increased gate revenue say $5000 divided by 10 clubs would be all the Burra get financially out of the night.

Wow that doesn't even pay S Milward.

Love of the Game
5 Sep 2007, 12:49
This was sort of my point.

Gisborne have had players at the Cannons and i'm not certain they would walk into our senior side

The Pios would be in Sandhursts best 21 easily.

Boyd
5 Sep 2007, 14:21
Its called dollars pal, and the opportunity missed to hold a club function on a Saturday night after a victory is worth a fair bit of coin. Your right Sandhurst wouldn't care as they will obviously have their bar generating some coin for them on the night.

I agree it is a great way to showcase the League but are the league then compensating the combatants on the night. I would suggest the increased gate revenue say $5000 divided by 10 clubs would be all the Burra get financially out of the night.

Wow that doesn't even pay S Milward.
You are wrong about the Hurst bar as it can not be opened until the game is finished because of the league, it gets all revenue. Also who pays players in finals should all be playing for nothing, to win a flag is payment enough.

doogey wondall
5 Sep 2007, 14:54

Wow that doesn't even pay S Milward. or k.robins or even half of there senior team. for years the burra have paid out the cash for what result? two grand final showings. only time will tell whether all that money spent will pay off!:D:D:D after there showing to the powerhouse team since introduced Gisbourne:eek::eek::eek:

rat1234
5 Sep 2007, 21:45
or k.robins or even half of there senior team. for years the burra have paid out the cash for what result? two grand final showings. only time will tell whether all that money spent will pay off!:D:D:D after there showing to the powerhouse team since introduced Gisbourne:eek::eek::eek:

does anyone know how much the actually get or is just spectulation that they are paid heaps? and do they even get paid for finals?

ClaudeVonStroke
6 Sep 2007, 17:16
Is it true that the bendigo league is a very very poor mini version of the Ballarat Football League???

The Talking Goat
6 Sep 2007, 22:45
Is it true that the bendigo league is a very very poor mini version of the Ballarat Football League???
other way around cocko

Trickle Frigwod
7 Sep 2007, 09:20
Looking forward to some finals action in the BFL this week couple of massive games.

My Predictions

Sandhurst to beat eaglehawk too much run on the large ground will have the old burra legs left wanting. Sandhurst to run away winners by 25 points. BOG - N. Gilliland

Golden Square to beat South Bendigo will be a ripper lots of feeling after the last time expect spot fires everywhere and with some luck we see another bush fire like the half time one the last time these two teams met. Square wont miss any of its injured players. Square by 12 points - BOG J. Griffin

Kings Army
7 Sep 2007, 12:59
other way around cocko

Maybe Goat you should come to Clake oval and watch Sunbury V Redan tomorrow. Be interesting to hear your thoughts after the game.

Any truth in the rumour Nth City want to be in the Ballarat League next year. Heard it could be a straight swap with Sunbury!

Cjkirbs19
7 Sep 2007, 13:39

Worst comment on this whole thread, i have played in premierships for North Ballarat in the juniors in the Ballarat Football League (which is far and away a better league than Bendigo) but the seniors is failry close, have to say Bendigo is more even competition with the lower sides, apart from K.Flat and Kyneton to some extent the only ones who struggle massively. Fairly similar leagues, with Gisborne to strong fro Sunbury though

The Talking Goat
7 Sep 2007, 13:55
Maybe Goat you should come to Clake oval and watch Sunbury V Redan tomorrow. Be interesting to hear your thoughts after the game.

Any truth in the rumour Nth City want to be in the Ballarat League next year. Heard it could be a straight swap with Sunbury!
the goat can't even get to the qeo for either game this weekend bear man. got family commitments with the young daughter turning one, so having a weekend with her up at the mainland.
i spent 2 years living in ballarat, so seen a bit of that footy. doesn't do a great deal for me

Creeker35
7 Sep 2007, 14:52
KA, you seem to follow both leagues your opinion and comparison would be appreciated. As a Ballarat League follower it would be interesting to know.Would guess there wouldn't be much in it?

ClaudeVonStroke
7 Sep 2007, 18:30
Worst comment on this whole thread, i have played in premierships for North Ballarat in the juniors in the Ballarat Football League (which is far and away a better league than Bendigo) but the seniors is failry close, have to say Bendigo is more even competition with the lower sides, apart from K.Flat and Kyneton to some extent the only ones who struggle massively. Fairly similar leagues, with Gisborne to strong fro Sunbury though
The Inbreds from Bendigo would get a huge shock playing the likes of Sunbury,East point or redan. Any of those sides would make a mockery of the Bendigo Football League

kakkapo
8 Sep 2007, 01:38
Can't say i've seen any Bendigo League footy but I understand its of a fairly high standard. The Ballarat League is an excellent standard of football but hardly anyone watches it. People in Ballarat and its surroundings seem to follow either Central Highlands or Lexton Plains Leagues. What are the crowd numbers like in Bendigo League?

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
8 Sep 2007, 09:04
Can't say i've seen any Bendigo League footy but I understand its of a fairly high standard. The Ballarat League is an excellent standard of football but hardly anyone watches it. People in Ballarat and its surroundings seem to follow either Central Highlands or Lexton Plains Leagues. What are the crowd numbers like in Bendigo League?

Gents, it seems I'm in the box seat to answer this question since I have played in the Ballarat FL, Lexton FL and Bendigo FL. My opinion of the three is as follows:

Ballarat FL - good standard for country football, crap media coverage, little or no interest from the general public, crowd numbers are terrible.

Lexton FL - terrible standard of footy, as much media coverage as the Ballarat FL though, great crowd numbers b/c the whole family goes to watch the boys play

Bendigo FL - impressive standard of football, excellent media coverage, lots of interest from general public but crowds can be hit and miss depending on who's playing who and the buildup.

One thing I have noticed is in Ballarat, people (well, most) respect the Roosters and boys aspire to play for them, but in Bendigo, the Bombers are absolutely despised. The difference is the Roosters have marketed themselves much better. The perception on the Bombers is that they are just in Bendigo for what they can get and crap on Bendigo FL clubs.

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
8 Sep 2007, 09:08
By the way, I reckon this will happen this weekend:

Sandhurst to win over Dad's Army
South to cause an upset over Square

in the reserves:
Sandhurst to win a tight one over Square
Eaglehawk to beat South

bearsboy
9 Sep 2007, 02:43
Can someone please explain what happened at the QEO tonight

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
9 Sep 2007, 10:45
Can someone please explain what happened at the QEO tonight

I think that must have been Gilliland's exact words in the rooms after the game. I got a text at about 10pm last night about the result and I thought it was a joke??

Truck
9 Sep 2007, 12:05
Not to the disgust of both clubs, it might be for the Burra with all their old blokes it might be past their bed time!! Under lights on the premier ground in Bendigo why wouldn't u want to showcase our league.

That was far from showcaseing the league, the only atmosphere around the ground came from the North Central boys down to support the big G-Train, other then that the crowd was dead after 1/4 time. are there any more night finals??

fifth quarter
9 Sep 2007, 14:48
yessiree trucky ..... next saturday, same venue, same start time (6.30 pm) gissie v burra boys in 2nd semi .... winner straight to grannie

kayo 1st semi next sunday 2.15 pm ---- hurst boys (won't they be smarting) vs winner of 2days square-south game

Kings Army
9 Sep 2007, 18:35
KA, you seem to follow both leagues your opinion and comparison would be appreciated. As a Ballarat League follower it would be interesting to know.Would guess there wouldn't be much in it?

If the 2 leagues merged Reda, East, Sunbury and Gisborne would fill the top 4. But saying that I think Gisborne would finish on top. The three top sides from Ballarat are very good and play somewhere near the level Gisborne does which makes it an exciting comp. Redan have 7 ex VFL players on there list and they were super yesterday.

I have put them in groups of how I think they are even. The groups can be rotated.

Gisborne
East Point
Sunbury
Redan

Eaglehawk
Goldern Square
Sandhurst
Ballarat

Melton South
Castlemaine

Marybourough
Melton

Lake Wendoree
Nth Ballarat City
Darley

Sebastapol
Kyneton
Bacchus March

Kangaroo Flat

discreet1
9 Sep 2007, 20:50
Looking forward to some finals action in the BFL this week couple of massive games.

My Predictions

Sandhurst to beat eaglehawk too much run on the large ground will have the old burra legs left wanting. Sandhurst to run away winners by 25 points. BOG - N. Gilliland

Golden Square to beat South Bendigo will be a ripper lots of feeling after the last time expect spot fires everywhere and with some luck we see another bush fire like the half time one the last time these two teams met. Square wont miss any of its injured players. Square by 12 points - BOG J. Griffin

Good work Ttrickle frigwod, your tips were right up there. Your tips for this weekend?? ( ill make sure to back the opposite!!):D:D

Truck
9 Sep 2007, 21:19
If the 2 leagues merged Reda, East, Sunbury and Gisborne would fill the top 4. But saying that I think Gisborne would finish on top. The three top sides from Ballarat are very good and play somewhere near the level Gisborne does which makes it an exciting comp. Redan have 7 ex VFL players on there list and they were super yesterday.

I have put them in groups of how I think they are even. The groups can be rotated.

No need to get rid of south bendigo grass hopper they aren't that bad are they.....

Boyd
10 Sep 2007, 09:42
That was far from showcaseing the league, the only atmosphere around the ground came from the North Central boys down to support the big G-Train, other then that the crowd was dead after 1/4 time. are there any more night finals??
$14.000 gate, maybe not the best game but dont you think next sat night will be even bigger crowd after that result.
People will turn up next week to see if E/hawk can play like that vs Gis, if it was during the day the crowd would have been down 20%.

Kings Army
10 Sep 2007, 13:01
No need to get rid of south bendigo grass hopper they aren't that bad are they.....

Sorry Truck - they are in the 2nd group with Sandhurst and Eaglehawk.

ablett19
10 Sep 2007, 14:54

The G certainly did turn it on, thats for sure!!! What are we runnin????
He could have kicked 10 easy but set them up for other players....
First time I have seen Bendigo League in a while an I was very impressed with the Hawk,,, Some impressive players including but not limited to: G, Herdman?, Robbins.

mr_blonde
10 Sep 2007, 19:07
the under 18's from down ballarat way look set to seriously challenge for the flag in the unders, very impressive 100 point win against square on the w/e who had defeated the past 4 occasions

doogey wondall
10 Sep 2007, 21:49
The G certainly did turn it on, thats for sure!!! What are we runnin????
He could have kicked 10 easy but set them up for other players....
First time I have seen Bendigo League in a while an I was very impressed with the Hawk,,, Some impressive players including but not limited to: G, Herdman?, Robbins. yeah they were impressive see if they can do it against gissie.:confused::confused::confused:

Trickle Frigwod
11 Sep 2007, 17:57
Good work Ttrickle frigwod, your tips were right up there. Your tips for this weekend?? ( ill make sure to back the opposite!!):D:D

Yeah i was way off.. Sandhurst put up one of the softest finals performances i have ever seen. they wont get close to south this week and gissy will stroll through to the GF.

No injuries to Gissy they are looking the goods what odds can we get on them for the flag they into 1.08 yet? If not might put my house on em

Warren
11 Sep 2007, 22:10
Yeah i was way off.. Sandhurst put up one of the softest finals performances i have ever seen. they wont get close to south this week and gissy will stroll through to the GF.

No injuries to Gissy they are looking the goods what odds can we get on them for the flag they into 1.08 yet? If not might put my house on em

South easy for me and unfortunately, Gis to go through. Ehawk will then be very worried about the bloods on the Q. Gis V South GF. Thats the word from Windee!

thatswhatimtalkinabout
12 Sep 2007, 03:05
Thats the word from Windee!

Where all the mastermind football deals are hatched! :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Damian_Brown
12 Sep 2007, 17:53
well we've smashed the slag heads and now were on our way to smash gissy this weekend. hope they have a good defender cos i won the ron best medal this year

Trickle Frigwod
13 Sep 2007, 09:03
well we've smashed the slag heads and now were on our way to smash gissy this weekend. hope they have a good defender cos i won the ron best medal this year

You'll be lucky to get 10 inside 50's for the game big fella so good luck with that one you'll get your pants pulled down so we can all have a laugh...

fifth quarter
13 Sep 2007, 19:16
vigus out with a broken hand keown also troubled by injury fitzie no certainty to play & if he does only 70% fit
blooders have most of the crew ready for selection
wot chance the hurst
post some 2nd round finals odds goatladdy and/or kenny noisebone

The Talking Goat
14 Sep 2007, 09:51
vigus out with a broken hand keown also troubled by injury fitzie no certainty to play & if he does only 70% fit
wot chance the hurst

off the top of my heads, my odds for this week
Gisborne $1.60
Eaglehawk $2.05

South Bendigo $1.80
Sandhurst $1.95

matt_nicholls
14 Sep 2007, 09:53
Gisborne $1.60
Eaglehawk $2.05

South Bendigo $1.80
Sandhurst $1.95

I'll have $1000 on Gisborne

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
14 Sep 2007, 10:19
wot chance the hurst

Sorry for the late reply - yes, agreed the Dragons (who everyone now knows I have a soft spot for) have a hard task set ahead for them this week. It will be an even contest, as the Dragons have beaten the Bloods on both meetings this year, but injuries have brought them back to the field (ie. Vigus, Richardson, Keown, Fitzgerald, J Donaldson and the list goes on)... I know I should tip with my head, but I get the feeling the boys want to prove a point after last week's dismal effort. Hurst by 10points

Looking forward to seeing Gis v Eaglehawk (yes, I will be there!) - should be a lot closer than a couple of weeks ago. I'm tipping Gisborne (of course) to win by 20 points.

Norfolk & Clew
14 Sep 2007, 10:28
Sorry for the late reply - yes, agreed the Dragons (who everyone now knows I have a soft spot for) have a hard task set ahead for them this week. It will be an even contest, as the Dragons have beaten the Bloods on both meetings this year, but injuries have brought them back to the field (ie. Vigus, Richardson, Keown, Fitzgerald, J Donaldson and the list goes on)... I know I should tip with my head, but I get the feeling the boys want to prove a point after last week's dismal effort. Hurst by 10points

Looking forward to seeing Gis v Eaglehawk (yes, I will be there!) - should be a lot closer than a couple of weeks ago. I'm tipping Gisborne (of course) to win by 20 points.

Out of interest Kenny, how many games has Jayden played?

The Talking Goat
14 Sep 2007, 11:26
I'll have $1000 on Gisborne
you don't have $1000 to blow on gisborne pickles

matt_nicholls
14 Sep 2007, 11:30
you don't have $1000 to blow on gisborne pickles

The success of the book I've been running for the RDFL means that I have plenty of cash to invest on the Bulldogs.

Kings Army
14 Sep 2007, 13:11
Gisborne $1.60
Eaglehawk $2.05

South Bendigo $1.80
Sandhurst $1.95

Can i have a $1,000 then? - 92 points 3 weeks ago is a big ask to turn around. I would not think the Cats would start at $1.60 against the Roos if they meet again. You at the game tomorrow night Goat?

Terrible decision to play it against the AFL finals game. It should be at 2pm.

What day and time is next weeks Prelim?

The Talking Goat
14 Sep 2007, 13:28
Can i have a $1,000 then? - 92 points 3 weeks ago is a big ask to turn around. I would not think the Cats would start at $1.60 against the Roos if they meet again. You at the game tomorrow night Goat?

What day and time is next weeks Prelim?
will get up there tomorrow night kingy but not sure when. heading up to serpentine to watching the loddon valley football league granny, so not sure what time will get back to the bendigo. reckon you blokes will win, but not by the same margin as the other week

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
14 Sep 2007, 14:22
Out of interest Kenny, how many games has Jayden played?

I think he's only played one (against Eaglehawk), but it doesn't matter, he's played more than 5 Pioneers games. He's eligible.

Would be nice to have S Selwood and R Tarrant running around for the Dragons, but they're off to the AFL Draft camp.

Norfolk & Clew
14 Sep 2007, 14:29
I think he's only played one (against Eaglehawk), but it doesn't matter, he's played more than 5 Pioneers games. He's eligible.

Would be nice to have S Selwood and R Tarrant running around for the Dragons, but they're off to the AFL Draft camp.

I know he is eligible, but it is not as though you have really lost him. Would be handy to have him running around though

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
14 Sep 2007, 15:46
I know he is eligible, but it is not as though you have really lost him. Would be handy to have him running around though

Yeah, get what yr saying, but he'd walk straight into the First XVIII the way the Dragons are travelling at the moment... so I'll count him in those mix of players injured. Just indulge me Norfolk, I'm clutching at straws :D

thatswhatimtalkinabout
15 Sep 2007, 02:44

Not to mention the Silverchair/Powderfinger concert - or the Alpaca show!

gerta
15 Sep 2007, 21:32
Eaglehawk by 19 points at 3/4 time

and 7 points at the End

Kings Army
16 Sep 2007, 09:53
Big effort from Eaglehawk to turn a round a 92 point hiding a couple of weeks ago. Their ball movement was very good.

Gisborne now find themself in the same position as last year after losing to Golden Square in the corresponding game last in 06. Can Barham do it again?

Goat - get out of the the media and open a betting agency!!

The Talking Goat
16 Sep 2007, 10:30
Big effort from Eaglehawk to turn a round a 92 point hiding a couple of weeks ago. Their ball movement was very good.

Gisborne now find themself in the same position as last year after losing to Golden Square in the corresponding game last in 06. Can Barham do it again?

Goat - get out of the the media and open a betting agency!!
you owe me a grand kingy. maybe we can develop a payment plan for you to pay it off over the next few months.
best game of the year by a mile last night. the hawks are going to take some beating in a couple of weeks, don't worry about that.

matt_nicholls
16 Sep 2007, 10:39
you owe me a grand kingy. maybe we can develop a payment plan for you to pay it off over the next few months.
best game of the year by a mile last night. the hawks are going to take some beating in a couple of weeks, don't worry about that.

I also owe you a grand. Great effort by the Borough. Hopefully I'll get some juicier odds when they face off in a fortnight.

The Talking Goat
16 Sep 2007, 13:22
I also owe you a grand. Great effort by the Borough. Hopefully I'll get some juicier odds when they face off in a fortnight.
the hawks would be installed favourites for the granny, regardless of who they play

BrownDog2
17 Sep 2007, 14:56
Does anyone here know Jessica Partridge? She follows the Gisborne FC side around?

Very Tidy

ag hero
17 Sep 2007, 15:51
Who is comming and who is going from the leage?
Who will coach who?:D

Dr Kenneth Noisewater
17 Sep 2007, 16:14
Here's a topic for everyone and would be nice if it got some serious replies.

Mark out of 10 after the end of the H&A season:
AND comments about 2008 - recruits, what do they need, who will leave
Gisborne
Eaglehawk
South Bendigo
Sandhurst
Golden Square
Castlemaine
Maryborough
North City
Kyneton
Kangaroo Flat

bunna
18 Sep 2007, 07:14
interesting that gisborne supporters have gone quiet(bearsboy & to some extent kings army), lot of chatter when they win, nothing when they lose (gracious in defeat?), eyes must be flooded with tears and can not see the keyboard:(, credit where it is due, great game from two very good sides:thumbsu:, well done eaglehawk, rematch in a couple should be great. also interesting tribunal this week with the melee cases, i do believe claude has to appear, what a joke:thumbsd:, would love to see that performance though.............

The Wombat
18 Sep 2007, 09:32
interesting that gisborne supporters have gone quiet(bearsboy & to some extent kings army), lot of chatter when they win, nothing when they lose (gracious in defeat?), eyes must be flooded with tears and can not see the keyboard:(, credit where it is due, great game from two very good sides:thumbsu:, well done eaglehawk, rematch in a couple should be great. also interesting tribunal this week with the melee cases, i do believe claude has to appear, what a joke:thumbsd:, would love to see that performance though.............
Were you there bunny??? If a similiar incident occured in a high pressure final it could spill into something even bigger, we could see old VFA style brawls in the middle of the ground.

Gee that would be good for football? Letting supporters get out there going for it willy nilly.