View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 [63] 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

bunna
18 Sep 2007, 10:20
Were you there bunny??? If a similiar incident occured in a high pressure final it could spill into something even bigger, we could see old VFA style brawls in the middle of the ground.

Gee that would be good for football? Letting supporters get out there going for it willy nilly.

yep i was there, were you? one thing to remember is people are allowed on the ground so if something happens it is easy to have them involved which is no good, only way to stop this is not let them on the ground and that shouldn't happen in country footy as this is a very isolated incident, when did something like this last happen? i think taking claude(who has an obvious disability) to the tribunal a waste of time and makes a mockery of it, i would be more worried about players not playing and players parents becoming involved instead of letting the participants sort it out.
its a joke the case is being heard in the finals and that julian lake could miss a final if found guilty and lets say aaron hawkins misses round 1 if found guilty. both reported for same thing but penalty could be massively different. all cases and investigations shoud be heard and finished before the finals unless it happens in final round or the finals series.

if lake gets a week he should be able to serve it week 1 next year it is not his fault it took so long to get to this stage and if faster he could have missed a round 17 or 18 match which would have been appropriate. hope they all get off. what do other people think?

Truck
18 Sep 2007, 10:35
yep i was there, were you? one thing to remember is people are allowed on the ground so if something happens it is easy to have them involved which is no good, only way to stop this is not let them on the ground and that shouldn't happen in country footy as this is a very isolated incident, when did something like this last happen? i think taking claude(who has an obvious disability) to the tribunal a waste of time and makes a mockery of it, i would be more worried about players not playing and players parents becoming involved instead of letting the participants sort it out.
its a joke the case is being heard in the finals and that julian lake could miss a final if found guilty and lets say aaron hawkins misses round 1 if found guilty. both reported for same thing but penalty could be massively different. all cases and investigations shoud be heard and finished before the finals unless it happens in final round or the finals series.

if lake gets a week he should be able to serve it week 1 next year it is not his fault it took so long to get to this stage and if faster he could have missed a round 17 or 18 match which would have been appropriate. hope they all get off. what do other people think?

I think it happened on the weekend in the Kyabram district FL, from what i'v picked up on hats been put down, at half time of the senior match two under 16/17/18 (what ever age group they are over there) sides start a punch on in the centre of the ground, also in that league i think there was something with big Perry Mekka (played in the AFL legends match earlier this year) and some supporters from the other side after the game. don't mean to make KDFL look bad but i have only heard of these two, pretty sure they have happened else where. I'm unsure of what happened with Jules but there has been a few wrastles involving the crowd in recent times.

bunna
18 Sep 2007, 10:43
I think it happened on the weekend in the Kyabram district FL, from what i'v picked up on hats been put down, at half time of the senior match two under 16/17/18 (what ever age group they are over there) sides start a punch on in the centre of the ground, also in that league i think there was something with big Perry Mekka (played in the AFL legends match earlier this year) and some supporters from the other side after the game. don't mean to make KDFL look bad but i have only heard of these two, pretty sure they have happened else where. I'm unsure of what happened with Jules but there has been a few wrastles involving the crowd in recent times.

fair enough so there are a few issues in kdfl, what ever happens its hard to stop unless you put fences up, would still think pretty isolated accross number of games played in country footy though. common sense needs to prevail...

Norfolk & Clew
18 Sep 2007, 11:38
fair enough so there are a few issues in kdfl, what ever happens its hard to stop unless you put fences up, would still think pretty isolated accross number of games played in country footy though. common sense needs to prevail...

Ardmona have been like that for years though

The Wombat
18 Sep 2007, 12:38

Yep was there too bunna. The situation is no different if it happened in the final series, the investigation process runs its 28 days and finds that a bloke has a case to answer after the GF is run and won. I would hate to be the losing side/sides during that final series that may have benefitted from a subsequent suspension in that situation. I agree it is unfortunate but the process is what it is. At the end of the day blokes make decisions and the crowd hadn't spilled onto the arena only two nuffys and a bloke with a brain. The one with a brain should have realised it wasn't a good spot to be but made a decision, he had a choice.

zakster
18 Sep 2007, 13:35
aftr the bfl tribunal theres anothr one 2moro nite
colbo player weppner goes up on an alleged strike charge from hdfl prelim final
no good taking a 1 week auto. penalty when theirs a grannie coming up

max powers.
18 Sep 2007, 14:18

This investigation is an absolute joke.
Lets get the facts regarding this melee shall we.
There were NO fights in the crowd, there where also no punches thrown and no blood spilt.It was a huge wrestle...A show of strength if you like.
J Lake(South) went onto to the ground to pull his mates out of the fight and put his arm across a square blokes stomach. probably shoudn't have been there but BIG DEAL it was half time!
A Hawkins(Square) Who has never thrown a punch in his life aparently made contact to Julian. BANG gone.
M Tyrell(Square) aparently had a bloke in a head lock?BANG aswell. Who's ever played footy and not been put in one of those in a scuffle.
D Anderson(Square)Wrestled with M Shadbolt and apparently has been plucked out aswell. Apparently the investigating officer couldn't get in contact with Anderson to get his version so BANG he's gone too.
M Adamson(Square) Doesn't even know what he did???

Fair enough it was probably an ugly incident but at least it got the 10 people that actually went to the game involved and added extra spice to the last half of the game(before that it was like a morgue.)
And the BFL wonders why nobody goes to watch?

AND I REPEAT THERE WAS NO BLOOD SPILT AND NO INJURIES FROM THE SCUFFLE.

The BFL ordered an investigation and when they looked at the video saw that they had nothing but had gone to far to pull out without having egg on there face.
If you are going to suspend blokes for wrestling than we may aswell all retire.

Norfolk & Clew
18 Sep 2007, 14:25
^^^ totally agree Maxy, it is a joke the way they have gone ahead with this and i will be very interested to see how it unfolds. I was right on the fence as it was happening, no more than 5 metres away, nothing happened. If blokes from either side get suspended then it is really going to bring any credability that the league has left crashing down:thumbsd:

FencePainter
18 Sep 2007, 14:30
Couldn't agree more Max - an absolute joke!!

For the record.......I've retired in light of the farcical BFL.

bunna
19 Sep 2007, 07:23
tribunal last night.
adamson got off
hawkins 3 weeks
anderson and tyrell 4 weeks

what did lake get? result wasn't available when the addy went to press?

bunna
19 Sep 2007, 09:40
to answer my own question julian lake got 3 weeks, just heard it on the fresh.

pretty harsh for all, i was pretty close to the incident and thought there was bugger all in it. the bfl has got this wrong!

Love of the Game
19 Sep 2007, 10:02
to answer my own question julian lake got 3 weeks, just heard it on the fresh.

pretty harsh for all, i was pretty close to the incident and thought there was bugger all in it. the bfl has got this wrong!

Jules got 3 weeks because of what "might" have happened because he was near the incident and in plane clothes. They accepted he didn't actually act wrongly, but slapped 3 weeks on the kid for being there? it was half time!!

The panel is supposed to be all about the facts, not speculation on what "might" have happened. They have got it wrong an gone mad! Its a disgrace that now he will miss the most imporant 1 or two games of his football history because of what "might" have happened!

And how can a bloke get 4 weeks for a headlock?? Or 3 weeks for wresltling?? I feel for these boys, all involved. This is a complete joke!

Norfolk & Clew
19 Sep 2007, 10:22
This is result is an absolute shamble!! Hope you get into them in the addy goat, someone has to say something. BFL will listen to the addy... maybe.

:thumbsd::thumbsd:

How blokes can get suspended for this long i do not know, the BFL tribunal has been terrible for years.

max powers.
19 Sep 2007, 10:50
Jules got 3 weeks because of what "might" have happened because he was near the incident and in plane clothes. They accepted he didn't actually act wrongly, but slapped 3 weeks on the kid for being there? it was half time!!

The panel is supposed to be all about the facts, not speculation on what "might" have happened. They have got it wrong an gone mad! Its a disgrace that now he will miss the most imporant 1 or two games of his football history because of what "might" have happened!

And how can a bloke get 4 weeks for a headlock?? Or 3 weeks for wresltling?? I feel for these boys, all involved. This is a complete joke!

I'm taking up soccer....What a joke.

Blokes don't get that long for king hits!!!!!

caveman
19 Sep 2007, 11:02
Does this mean Julian Lake will miss the prelim and the gf if they make it?

What a joke! This was Steven Olivers chance to stand up as the man in charge and take control but he has just shown that he will make no difference at all! Being a past player you would think he would see common sense.

Really makes it hard to have faith in and follow the league when this happens!

Norfolk & Clew
19 Sep 2007, 11:07
Does this mean Julian Lake will miss the prelim and the gf if they make it?

What a joke! This was Steven Olivers chance to stand up as the man in charge and take control but he has just shown that he will make no difference at all! Being a past player you would think he would see common sense.

Really makes it hard to have faith in and follow the league when this happens!

Yep he misses them both if they make it.

I can see the support of the Bendigo Soccer League increasing next year

Kings Army
19 Sep 2007, 13:06
interesting that gisborne supporters have gone quiet(bearsboy & to some extent kings army), lot of chatter when they win, nothing when they lose (gracious in defeat?), eyes must be flooded with tears and can not see the keyboard:(, credit where it is due, great game from two very good sides:thumbsu:, well done eaglehawk, rematch in a couple should be great. also interesting tribunal this week with the melee cases, i do believe claude has to appear, what a joke:thumbsd:, would love to see that performance though.............

Go back to the 16th when a talked about the good win by E/hawk. Hope to see you on here if Gissy turn it around. No tears just like last year when we dropped the same game. Now run along you mupett as I hear Miss Piggy calling you.

fifth quarter
19 Sep 2007, 14:39
theres a theory doing the rounds, KA, that gissie doesnt like night games
lost the 2nd semi final to square last year then this years 2nd semi final to ehawk ..... admittedly after scores were level 3 times in the 4th quarter
now u have got another night game in the prelim. this week and south will be fired up with the suspension of lake
gissie will miss fitzie
:confused: hows the mood at the graveyard :confused:

The Messenger
19 Sep 2007, 18:54
I have heard that Wayne Mitrovic is leaving the Dragons. Any truth to this rumor and does anybody know were he will be playing next year? Will be a big loss for the Hurst if true

Jock Clark 2
19 Sep 2007, 19:13
OK, Messenger, let's clear that one up.
Wayne Mitrovic stood on the tables Sunday nite and said twice --- once in the change rooms and once in the social rooms --- he was returning to Macorna in the Golden Rivers League.
Said he wanted to help out with the young players at Macorna. Supporters and members of the Dragons committee said Mitro was one of the best senior players assisting with young players the club has had. Prez Danny Ellis said the same thing in his official speech.
Mitro is 28 or 29 so you'd think Macorna would get a few years out of him.
2/. Cavey --- Steven Oliver is the CEO of the BFL. He has absolutely nothing, I repeat nothing, to do with the BFL Independent Tribunal. They are a body of people established to hear the league's cases. Did you think Ollie would go into the room where the deliberations are going on and say: "Let these guys off, Tribunal members."
Give us a break !!

Kings Army
19 Sep 2007, 19:51
theres a theory doing the rounds, KA, that gissie doesnt like night games
lost the 2nd semi final to square last year then this years 2nd semi final to ehawk ..... admittedly after scores were level 3 times in the 4th quarter
now u have got another night game in the prelim. this week and south will be fired up with the suspension of lake
gissie will miss fitzie
:confused: hows the mood at the graveyard :confused:

The mood is good - still alive and with a big game this week. Not certain about the night games - Eaglehawk were good so I would not take anything away from them. The movers and shakers at the BFL think that though giving Gissy another night game.

Do South really need motivation in a Prelim? - once the game starts no one is conecerned about who is missing and why.

zimasquize
19 Sep 2007, 20:05
how has luke rosa played in the last two years in the bendigo footy league

caveman
19 Sep 2007, 20:29
2/. Cavey --- Steven Oliver is the CEO of the BFL. He has absolutely nothing, I repeat nothing, to do with the BFL Independent Tribunal. They are a body of people established to hear the league's cases. Did you think Ollie would go into the room where the deliberations are going on and say: "Let these guys off, Tribunal members."
Give us a break !!

JC2 my issue isnt with the amounts the players got although that is another disgrace by the BFL. My issue is that he commented in the addy and I dont have the direct quote but he was quite happy for the tribunal to sit this week although the incident happened a month ago.

What a joke. As you know I am a Kangaroo Flat supporter but South Bendigo have really been hard done by. The suspensions should clearly be after the finals. Steven Oliver has failed his first major test! Gee I cant wait for his next test!

You are dead right mate he shouldnt go into the tribunal but he should have the balls to stand up and say that this just isnt right!

caveman
19 Sep 2007, 20:39
Here are some quotes from the Bendigo addy Jock Clark 2.

‘‘That’s not how we operate and we fully support the job Mark’s done.’’ With Golden Square’s season over, Oliver said the league had not considered delaying the tribunal hearing until South Bendigo’s finals campaign concluded.

‘‘We wouldn’t do that because it sets a dangerous precedent for the future,’’ Oliver said.

‘‘We understand there’s one player still involved in the finals, but, unfortunately, that can’t be helped.’’

Mr Oliver doesnt want to set a dangerous precedent. Gee I think you have set a dangerous precedent now! :rolleyes:

I hope there is something the bloods can do about this.

impianorth
19 Sep 2007, 22:06
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8804376]Here's a topic for everyone and would be nice if it got some serious replies.
Mark out of 10 after the end of the H&A season:
AND comments about 2008 - recruits, what do they need, who will leave

Flat just needs a new list, wasted alot of money on big names this year that only took them backwards. Kyneton have already made the first change they needed appointing cookie. City need to sign some of their Roosters players full time, adds some consistency to their line up. The borough they're rebuilding played quite a number of there 18s in the ones during the year. They need to sign a good coach that takes the club in the right direction. Maines well there first step is to replace Martin now that his gone. Hurst and the bloods have good depth but lack talent, a player that can lift the teams amd they are getting on is age. Eaglehawk its thier last chance with there current list, they are geting old need to start playing some younger players next year.

Gisborne 9/10 ( there not as good as the past this year)
Eaglehawk 8/10 (started well but have lacked consistency in the second half)
South Bendigo 7/10
Sandhurst 7/10 (to slow, lost a vital game to city)
Golden Square 7/10 (solid year, prob could of finished higher up the home and away ladder)
Castlemaine 5/10
Maryborough 4/10, (adopting a youth poilicy but under performed)
North City 5/10 (they broke even, had a few wins heading in the right direction)
Kyneton 2/10 (struggled after been named final contenders early on)
Kangaroo Flat 1/10 (for getting close to city)

Senior:eek:

hpvectra
19 Sep 2007, 22:16
rumours are that square kicking themselves for not taking up phil lobbs request to let him play there this year even for nothing now sandhurst are looking at talking to him especially now that mitro is leaving or could he go to macorna where they played together when they were tackas

candy man
19 Sep 2007, 22:30
[quote=Dr Kenneth Noisewater;8804376]Here's a topic for everyone and would be nice if it got some serious replies.

Flat just needs a new list, wasted alot of money on big names this year that only took them backwards. Kyneton have already made the first change they needed appointing cookie. City need to sign some of their Roosters players full time, adds some consistency to their line up. The borough they're rebuilding played quite a number of there 18s in the ones during the year. They need to sign a good coach that takes the club in the right direction. Maines well there first step is to replace Martin now that his gone. Hurst and the bloods have good depth but lack talent, a player that can lift the teams amd they are getting on is age. Eaglehawk its thier last chance with there current list, they are geting old need to start playing some younger players next year.

South Bendigo 7/10
Golden Square 7/10 (solid year, prob could of finished higher up the home and away ladder)
Castlemaine 5/10
North City 5/10 (they broke even, had a few wins heading in the right direction)

Senior:eek:

the borough seemed to be fairly consistent witnessing them on the weekend

The Wombat
20 Sep 2007, 10:02
[quote=impianorth;8842462]

the borough seemed to be fairly consistent witnessing them on the weekend
Any truth in Daryl Wilson coaching Flat and Joffa leaving Golden Square to make way for Dean Strauch????

ablett
20 Sep 2007, 13:13
[quote=candy man;8842793]
Any truth in Daryl Wilson coaching Flat and Joffa leaving Golden Square to make way for Dean Strauch????

Dont know who will be coaching flat next year but i heard rombo has gone.

Sandhurst could lose a few ive heard,
Metro to marcorna
Gillians to qld to be closer to his girlfriend(soft)
Fitzgerald back to wa
And theres about 4-5 players that will finish their uni course at end of the year that could be on the move pending where they get jobs.

Brian Walsh is living at maldon and is interested in the castlemaine job.

Square will be hoping to get the services of nick carter and simon rosa if all goes to plan.

Murmers of big toni plim returning to footy but maybe not the bfl.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
21 Sep 2007, 02:55
[quote=The Wombat;8846038]Brian Walsh is living at maldon and is interested in the castlemaine job.

Be better off living in Castlemaine and trying to get the Maldon job I reckon.

You can con some of the people som of the time......

bunna
21 Sep 2007, 09:06
best of luck to lake who has lodged an appeal against his suspension in an attempt to have him available for this weeks game. $5500 has been lodged to the vcfl by the club and if successful they get some of this back, lot of money though.

should be a cracker game tomorrow night and a tuff one to pick, if south produce there best they can win and i think they will, i also think it was a good decision by the bfl to move the game under lights so that it doesn't clash with the hdfl grand final and to capatalise on the attraction underlights.

Love of the Game
21 Sep 2007, 09:49
best of luck to lake who has lodged an appeal against his suspension in an attempt to have him available for this weeks game. $5500 has been lodged to the vcfl by the club and if successful they get some of this back, lot of money though.

should be a cracker game tomorrow night and a tuff one to pick, if south produce there best they can win and i think they will, i also think it was a good decision by the bfl to move the game under lights so that it doesn't clash with the hdfl grand final and to capatalise on the attraction underlights.

I would assume that the VCFL will show more common sense and a sense of fairness and justice, What went on on tuesday night for all parties concerned was a farce.

He should get a fine and be allowed to play. I feel for the guy, it's not an ideal preperation for a final!

doogey wondall
22 Sep 2007, 14:02

South Bendigo 7/10
Castlemaine 5/10

Senior:eek: there is word that cook is speaking to a few 3/4 ex afl players that he has contact with. one of them only recently retired from afl. he is also speaking to several players from previous years hoping to lure them back to tiger land. obrien,young,smidth,bell,leatch,renyolds,flemming,baker,pott er,fletcher & beattie just to name a few. every player on the books dating back to when kyneton played finals last in 2003.
:eek::eek::eek::eek:

zakster
23 Sep 2007, 01:00
gissy won by a bit i herd had to go to a function b4 the end
anyone here the final scores
innaresting to see burra boys out listening to marcus 1/4 time adress

howzat
23 Sep 2007, 10:14
gissy won by a bit i herd had to go to a function b4 the end
anyone here the final scores
innaresting to see burra boys out listening to marcus 1/4 time adressyep gissy by ten goals i didnt get to the game but listened on the radio . once again jock clark embarrased himself with his bias towards anyone gissy play against . he will be a very disapointed man this morning knowing gissys in to another big one . him and Nathan dole must have been bashed as kids passing thru gissy many years ago .

Norfolk & Clew
23 Sep 2007, 16:43
Congratulations To Sammy O'Connor on winning the prestigious McDonald medal!

Kings Army
23 Sep 2007, 18:06
Congrats to Matty Fitz winning his 2nd league B&F.

Should be a great game this Sat. Interesting to see the preditions for this game. Very hard to split the 2 teams.

The Talking Goat
23 Sep 2007, 18:43
Congrats to Matty Fitz winning his 2nd league B&F.

Should be a great game this Sat. Interesting to see the preditions for this game. Very hard to split the 2 teams.
deserving winner that for sure

bearsboy
23 Sep 2007, 19:00
yep gissy by ten goals i didnt get to the game but listened on the radio . once again jock clark embarrased himself with his bias towards anyone gissy play against . he will be a very disapointed man this morning knowing gissys in to another big one . him and Nathan dole must have been bashed as kids passing thru gissy many years ago .Spot on ! Dole couldnt find room for Fitzy in his top 3 or even have him as a smokey for the medal.

Well done Fitta !!!

bunna
23 Sep 2007, 19:49
good result on sat night gisborne v eaglehawk clearly the grand final we all want to see. south were crap got me stuffed how they got there, should be 3 great games sunday, looking forward too them.

bunna
24 Sep 2007, 08:15
Carlton players allegedly in a barney at certain bendigo night spot last night, have it on good authority there was a bathroom incident with someone elses girl, idiots, you think they would want to play with judd, helps the other teams though.

galloping gasometer
24 Sep 2007, 14:04
Carlton players allegedly in a barney at certain bendigo night spot last night, have it on good authority there was a bathroom incident with someone elses girl, idiots, you think they would want to play with judd, helps the other teams though.

who were the alleged players?

chaddles
24 Sep 2007, 15:58
First time I have been to QEO on saturday night, was very impressed with the standard of lighting and the condition of the ground. Gisborne way too good, South never got into the game at all. Will be a cracking GF next week.

hutchy23
24 Sep 2007, 22:23
what was glenn keast like as a player in this league?

bearsboy
24 Sep 2007, 22:58
what was glenn keast like as a player in this league?Old and slow, well past his best (apparently a gun in his day)

fifth quarter
25 Sep 2007, 19:38
more or less a permanent back pocket player for the square
did a cuppla nice things tho during his time with the dogs
have u guys noticed nutting on radio about fitzy and the medal or the maryboro girl cindi cossar winning the netty medal or weekly winning the footy rising star

bunna
25 Sep 2007, 20:30
more or less a permanent back pocket player for the square
did a cuppla nice things tho during his time with the dogs
have u guys noticed nutting on radio about fitzy and the medal or the maryboro girl cindi cossar winning the netty medal or weekly winning the footy rising star

you may have just missed it on the radio mate, heard updates and interview on sunday, and also in the brekkie show yesterday, would think it will be covered in there wed night show too, who do you like sunday, ill take eaglehawk just and it will be good to see hynes play...

bunna
26 Sep 2007, 09:09
great to read that mat fitzgerald is fit to play sunday. you want to see the best players play in the biggest games, hope hynes gets up too but you have to feel for the unlucky players who make way for them.

footyhead18
26 Sep 2007, 12:53
1 V 2 more like 1 V 10. With scores level at half time I thought Gissy had a games on there hands. To win by 90+ points is amazing. The olds dads army were going up and down on the spot in the last quarter as Gissy kicked 11 goals 7 points to 2 points.

Can Eaglehawk recover from this?

Seems they did KA and now you're talking them up. Back your judgement pal and stick to your guns, backtracking like you are doesnt look good. Gis should and will beat them by about 30 points.

Kings Army
26 Sep 2007, 13:47
Seems they did KA and now you're talking them up. Back your judgement pal and stick to your guns, backtracking like you are doesnt look good. Gis should and will beat them by about 30 points.

Like I said - a massive effort to turn that around. Anyone at the game at the Graveyard would not have thought they could beat Gissy in a final. I was surpirised and paid due respect to them. I hope your a better judge than me and have picked the correct result.

pickman
26 Sep 2007, 20:37
Like I said - a massive effort to turn that around. Anyone at the game at the Graveyard would not have thought they could beat Gissy in a final. I was surpirised and paid due respect to them. I hope your a better judge than me and have picked the correct result.

KA you'd be hoping that Gissy are more successful than your other team in the other BFL Sunbury and the Kanga's - surely you can make it at least 1 out of 3!

Kings Army
27 Sep 2007, 08:53
KA you'd be hoping that Gissy are more successful than your other team in the other BFL Sunbury and the Kanga's - surely you can make it at least 1 out of 3!

Clinging on by a thread pickman. Roos and Sunbury were disappointing but Gissy was always the big hope!

The Talking Goat
27 Sep 2007, 18:32
knighter has got the essendon gig.

bearsboy
27 Sep 2007, 19:18
Any odds for B.O.G Granny day, Kingy - Goatman ?

S. Davis for me and Gisborne by 19 points.

gerta
27 Sep 2007, 19:47
Hopefully Eaglehawk get up for Filo's last game...

What odds on the G-Train for BOG??

Kings Army
28 Sep 2007, 12:51

Tough BB. Which Eaglehawk will run out on Sunday - the one that was smashed by 92 points a month a go or the one that beat Gissy 2 weeks ago? Bookies nightmare this game.

Sharpe for BOG for me.

gutted rabbit
28 Sep 2007, 12:59
Really looking fwd to the GF, hope that its a better day than today, with the wild wind.......As a Bendigo person, really hope that Gisborne win a close one. As always, game will be won out of the centre. Barham BOG, if he survives Brown's first lead up the middle.

gutted rabbit
28 Sep 2007, 13:00
Any news on the coaching front for 08? Which clubs are looking?

JennaJ
28 Sep 2007, 15:05
Heard that Wayne Eve has signed at Mitiamo reckons Kyneton is F--ked

the man
28 Sep 2007, 15:33

BB Luke Saunders BOG , closely followed by White, Duff, Belch, Olllie, Fugge, Moss , Hamilton, Barham, Elliot, Fittzie, Webster, Casey S, closely followe by the rest of the victorious Gisborne team, who will get over the line by some 25 points.

gutted rabbit
28 Sep 2007, 15:52
BB Luke Saunders BOG , closely followed by White, Duff, Belch, Olllie, Fugge, Moss , Hamilton, Barham, Elliot, Fittzie, Webster, Casey S, closely followe by the rest of the victorious Gisborne team, who will get over the line by some 25 points.

Very funny! E/H by 7, as much as I hate the thought....may kick too many goals for Gis (well, one too many). Long way back for Kyneton, will need to recruit well.

gutted rabbit
28 Sep 2007, 15:54
Martin to coach Maryborough? Thompson linked to Sandhurst

PINNACLE HEALTH
28 Sep 2007, 18:39
Good luck to all players from gissy and e/hawke sunday.
My heart says e/hawke but my brain says gissy, lets just hope its a close game.

Ive got a gut feeling sth might get up in the 2's and apparently there's a special guest debuting as special comments for the 2's live broadcast of the game on the fresh fm.

Seeya's there!

fifth quarter
28 Sep 2007, 18:59
correct on the final comment pinnacle
a very special, special comments man engaged
mentioned in granny program, preview copies of which were available 2day
but no pic of magoos winning goalkicker 4 season 2007

why wood that be ..... ah, that's rite .... no appearance your worship last sunday .... that cood be it
just like radio blokes .... no appearance ... volunteer b'casters failed to put their hands up the word is

PINNACLE HEALTH
29 Sep 2007, 13:10
correct on the final comment pinnacle
a very special, special comments man engaged
mentioned in granny program, preview copies of which were available 2day
but no pic of magoos winning goalkicker 4 season 2007

why wood that be ..... ah, that's rite .... no appearance your worship last sunday .... that cood be it
just like radio blokes .... no appearance ... volunteer b'casters failed to put their hands up the word is

Unfortunately i had prior commitments in Melbourne or i would've attended and they should've/could've used a photo they would have on file.
Anyway it was a good day i hear.

doogey wondall
30 Sep 2007, 12:39
Heard that Wayne Eve has signed at Mitiamo reckons Kyneton is F--ked well this will be a waste of time. when the pressures on eve pulls out with an injury. weak as piss. you have to question this blokes character. as soft as butter.

gerta
30 Sep 2007, 18:28
Eaglehawk by two points in a great game..

MasterOfRoc
30 Sep 2007, 19:51
Best BFL Grand Final i have ever seen! (Considering the Conditions)

That namesake of yours Gerta, the G Train was de-railed early, couldn't get near it! Its the team that matters.

Congrats to the Burra, well deserved :thumbsu:

In other matches, Eaglehawk won the U18s and South won the 2's

gerta
30 Sep 2007, 21:00
Best BFL Grand Final i have ever seen! (Considering the Conditions)

That namesake of yours Gerta, the G Train was de-railed early, couldn't get near it! Its the team that matters.

Congrats to the Burra, well deserved :thumbsu:

In other matches, Eaglehawk won the U18s and South won the 2's

Yeah the G-train was a bit disappointing, not really the best of conditions for the big fella.... In the end i decided not to venture into the game, but listened to it on the radio..

gutted rabbit
30 Sep 2007, 21:10
Fantastic finish.....Gisborne didn't look like winning in the final quarter, could not score when it counted. Crime stats will be down for the Bendigo region for the week, as most of E/H was at the game, and most will be too sauced-up to do much damage during the week. Cash Converters will be short of stock for the near future...

jakas
30 Sep 2007, 23:22
What was the final score

gerta
1 Oct 2007, 00:25
http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=262459&comp=4912&orgid=90

12.12 - 12.10

bunna
1 Oct 2007, 08:23
Sensational senior grand final yesterday, both teams performed well in the conditions. Healey for eaglehawk is a gun and what a great comeback, i thought gisborne were home when they kicked the first goal of the last quarter but a great fightback. Barhams losing speech exceptional and showed what a good coach he is and club gisborne are, good to see filo go out on top. Best game of local footy i have seen in a grand final from two evenly matched sides. Bring on next season.

zakster
1 Oct 2007, 13:04
gert .... cood that b the last b/x u listen to on local footie
license runs out in november and there will b a big battle to get anothr wun ... finances not in top shape
read in bgo giveaway paper last fri locals groop has got a new outfit called phoenix fm up and running

all that aside grannie was xcellent with blustery wind ... lucky for the hawkeys it died down in last quartr then blew up again aftr presentatns --- but burra showed plenty of heart to win and kicking goals at the far end

Junky Bish
1 Oct 2007, 14:28
license runs out in november and there will b a big battle to get anothr wun ... finances not in top shape
read in bgo giveaway paper last fri locals groop has got a new outfit called phoenix fm up and running

all that aside grannie was xcellent with blustery wind ... lucky for the hawkeys it died down in last quartr then blew up again aftr presentatns --- but burra showed plenty of heart to win and kicking goals at the far end

Are you suggesting that this Phoenix FM group may try and cover the footy? Whats the major issue restricting the Fresh from obtaining another license.

Well done to Eaglehawk on their Premiership season and efforts yesterday nutting Gisbourne. Also well done to the Dogs making their 6th Grand Final in a row and being an ounce of luck away from winning it. You would think that if the Borough can manage their list well they should be strong for the next couple of years given the exciting youngsters coming through and the enthusiasm that yesterday's win will generate through the community.

inthemix
1 Oct 2007, 14:52
Can anyone tell me if Julian Lake ran around for South on the weekend in the 2's?

The Wombat
1 Oct 2007, 15:34
Can anyone tell me if Julian Lake ran around for South on the weekend in the 2's?
Certainly did. Why haven't square requested a VCFL appeal in regard to the sentences dished out to their players considering Julian got off. Will cost a little bit financially but to have 3 players out early next year cant be helpful I dont understand why they have not gone down that path. Maybe those blokes are not required players at the club next year.

FencePainter
1 Oct 2007, 15:42
Certainly did. Why haven't square requested a VCFL appeal in regard to the sentences dished out to their players considering Julian got off. Will cost a little bit financially but to have 3 players out early next year cant be helpful I dont understand why they have not gone down that path. Maybe those blokes are not required players at the club next year.

I wasn't aware country football clubs had the luxury of deciding who did and didn't play at their clubs.

bunna
1 Oct 2007, 15:56
Are you suggesting that this Phoenix FM group may try and cover the footy? Whats the major issue restricting the Fresh from obtaining another license.

Well done to Eaglehawk on their Premiership season and efforts yesterday nutting Gisbourne. Also well done to the Dogs making their 6th Grand Final in a row and being an ounce of luck away from winning it. You would think that if the Borough can manage their list well they should be strong for the next couple of years given the exciting youngsters coming through and the enthusiasm that yesterday's win will generate through the community.

the main thing restricting full time licencse again is weather frequency remains community frequency or goes to abc which is decided by senator coonan so that wont happen till after election so i imagine license will be extended again as it was in april this year. if it stays community anyone can apply which i imagine fresh, phoenix and anyone else will do. phoneix fm are the old ones at fresh from years ago with country music and who knows what they want to broadcast. As for finances commuity radio around australia battles so would be interested to know if they were in any worse position than others.

hpvectra
1 Oct 2007, 17:02

let us hope that if this phoenixdo broadcasts that they dont take the callers from yesterday they were absolutely attrocious screaming every time ehawk went near the ball they could have showed alittle less favoritism for ehawk couldnt care less who won yesterday but the calling wasshocking yeah show a bit of enthusiasm but that screaming wasnt necessary

gerta
1 Oct 2007, 17:27
let us hope that if this phoenixdo broadcasts that they dont take the callers from yesterday they were absolutely attrocious screaming every time ehawk went near the ball they could have showed alittle less favoritism for ehawk couldnt care less who won yesterday but the calling wasshocking yeah show a bit of enthusiasm but that screaming wasnt necessary

I do admit towards the end it was a bit like listening to 5AA or 6PR commentate the local games... Still they did a good job and conveyed what was happening.. I really hope that Fresh goes around again next year.. I really like the way they cover the local leagues, it would be a shame if they disappeared..

bunna
1 Oct 2007, 20:06
I do admit towards the end it was a bit like listening to 5AA or 6PR commentate the local games... Still they did a good job and conveyed what was happening.. I really hope that Fresh goes around again next year.. I really like the way they cover the local leagues, it would be a shame if they disappeared..

agreed bit one sided but still a pretty good call, imagine it would be hard to stay neutral in that situation and professionals do it too, you can pick what horse some callers have backed at times.

rat1234
1 Oct 2007, 21:08
now that the season has finished what does each team need ? who they might lose? gain? or could pick up ?

Micheal dillon maybe back at Gisbourne

few VFL boys might leave due to the lack of a coach will they go to bendigo will the clubs chase them?

is Darryl Wilson coaching K/Flat

MasterOfRoc
1 Oct 2007, 21:40
I did hear a whisper that the G Train may be heading to Kangaroo Flat, as a coach/asst. Any Truth to the rumour?

pickman
1 Oct 2007, 21:41
Sensational senior grand final yesterday, both teams performed well in the conditions. Healey for eaglehawk is a gun and what a great comeback, i thought gisborne were home when they kicked the first goal of the last quarter but a great fightback. Barhams losing speech exceptional and showed what a good coach he is and club gisborne are, good to see filo go out on top. Best game of local footy i have seen in a grand final from two evenly matched sides. Bring on next season.

I thought the borough were gone at three quarter. With that wind I thought if Gisborne got a couple of goals early then the floodgates would open. Well done to Eaglehawk on their fightback.

Great final term from Derrick Filo. Classic example of a player determined to end their playing days with a legacy that will be talked about for years

ROOTA#6
1 Oct 2007, 21:57
I did hear a whisper that the G Train may be heading to Kangaroo Flat, as a coach/asst. Any Truth to the rumour?

Gee Master there would need to be a massive amount of cash on offer for this to take place. If he were to go anywhere i would have thought he may have headed back to Charlton

MasterOfRoc
1 Oct 2007, 22:09
I Thought the same, but i heard the whispers none the less

gutted rabbit
2 Oct 2007, 08:30
I Thought the same, but i heard the whispers none the less

According to the Advertiser recently, Kangaroo Flat have committed to Rombotis for 08, as per his 2 year deal. Why would this change?

Will Barham stay?

Warren
2 Oct 2007, 08:31

None what so ever. No truth at all!

hpvectra
2 Oct 2007, 09:04
i didnt care about the bias calling you have to expect that with zac harvey and phil kerr in the box it was more the screaming in to the mikes that was really irritating fair enough show a bit of excitement but no need to scream into the mike.

hpvectra
2 Oct 2007, 09:08
as for the flat why would wilson be running around recruiting players for the flat next year and saying he is coaching that should have read trying to recruit

Jock Clark 2
2 Oct 2007, 14:23
WHY would Wilson be leaving the Essendon Twos ---- aka the Bendi Bombers, now that the Windy Hill mob has gone with a very ordinary choice of Knighter as senior coach ??
Wouldn't Wilson step up as the Ess. Magoos coach ??
Marcus B. has quite clearly stated that he would sit down before Xmas and work out his priorities. As it happens he lives in Essendon -- but no attachment to either their Ones or Twos --- and is busy in his plumbing job.
You'd think he would want Lukey Saunders staying on at the Graveyard and not floating off to Werribee. Has that club got a future in the VFL anyway, W'bee that is, with Willy tieing itself up with the Western Doggies now.

Junky Bish
2 Oct 2007, 14:33
WHY would Wilson be leaving the Essendon Twos ---- aka the Bendi Bombers, now that the Windy Hill mob has gone with a very ordinary choice of Knighter as senior coach ??
Marcus B. has quite clearly stated that he would sit down before Xmas and work out his priorities. As it happens he lives in Essendon -- but no attachment to either their Ones or Twos --- and is busy in his plumbing job.
You'd think he would want Lukey Saunders staying on at the Graveyard and not floating off to Werribee. Has that club got a future in the VFL anyway, W'bee that is, with Willy tieing itself up with the Western Doggies now.

What amazes me is that people love making judgements and giving opinions on things that they have very little knowledge of. Essendon have seen Knights coach first hand and seen his presentation matched up against the other applicants.
What crap are you talking about Marcus Barham of course he has no attachment to Essendon ones or two's he coaches Gisbourne?
Maybe your just trying to generate some chat in a forum that has dried up this week. Where's Bears boys and kings army there never far away when the Dogs are winning.

rat1234
2 Oct 2007, 14:56

jock for one wilson left b4 knights was appointed coach of essendon
two has to be an essendon person due to the allignment,
another have u actually been coached under him ? guess not knights has done a fair job for wat he has to work with, remember it aint very financial sound for a person to play vfl, so they dont always get the best players, and some players just dont wanna play so they are limited, another thing is knights as coach has developed the essendon players very well, look at there young players they will be good in 2 to 3 yrs, and they wouldnt appoint him coach for no reason?
so to answer ur question wilson resigned b4 knights left for the top job

PINNACLE HEALTH
2 Oct 2007, 16:47
I heard a few weeks back D.Wilson had the Flat job if he wants it but heard to that Sandhurst are keen on his services also.

BoroughBoy
2 Oct 2007, 16:59
i didnt care about the bias calling you have to expect that with zac harvey and phil kerr in the box it was more the screaming in to the mikes that was really irritating fair enough show a bit of excitement but no need to scream into the mike.

Fair comment gents. Zack Harvey here. Personally, I was a bit disappointed with my call on Sunday, I thought about pulling out prior to the game as I was just too nervous with Eaglehawk being involved and in hindsight it probably would have been a better option as it was just too hard to stay impartial in such a close and important match.

Cheers

Junky Bish
2 Oct 2007, 21:44
Fair comment gents. Zack Harvey here. Personally, I was a bit disappointed with my call on Sunday, I thought about pulling out prior to the game as I was just too nervous with Eaglehawk being involved and in hindsight it probably would have been a better option as it was just too hard to stay impartial in such a close and important match.

Cheers

Wouldn't be too concerned Zack although it would have made sense for the station to organise other callers but all in all a pretty good year by the Fresh with some of the shows that they have introduced.

fifth quarter
2 Oct 2007, 22:06
right on the money pinnacle, rat, junky and boys
d. wilson will be announced to the world as KF senior coach lunchtime Thursday at a media scrum at d. park.
think he should go okay too ..... naturally he'll need a few signings to help the young boys like mcnish, brooks and co. in the green n white
cant agree knights will be any good as a senior coach. agree with jock on that one. desperation apopointment for mine once they saw they couldnt get bomber t. from catland

fifth quarter
2 Oct 2007, 22:11
zak and his team r going to have to live with sundays call
adam from limelight video will marry the audio to his vision and market the 07 grand final as the official dvd
maybe hawky supporters will be in raptures with the call
who r we to judge wot their reactions will be when they settle into the lounge at home 2 watch the action

rat1234
2 Oct 2007, 22:20
right on the money pinnacle, rat, junky and boys
d. wilson will be announced to the world as KF senior coach lunchtime Thursday at a media scrum at d. park.
think he should go okay too ..... naturally he'll need a few signings to help the young boys like mcnish, brooks and co. in the green n white
cant agree knights will be any good as a senior coach. agree with jock on that one. desperation apopointment for mine once they saw they couldnt get bomber t. from catland

wilson good coach may pull some VFL players, the players had a good repore with the 2's players maybe pull some colbo players as well he will be good for flat got some good contacts