View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 [66] 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

thatswhatimtalkinabout
15 Nov 2007, 18:32
See Hamish Dahl has nominated for the AFL draft. Speculating or is some one looking at him as a smokey?

ROOTA#6
15 Nov 2007, 18:35
See Hamish Dahl has nominated for the AFL draft. Speculating or is some one looking at him as a smokey?

I didn't think you could just nominate anymore. I thought you had to come from TAC or VFL level. Obviously i am wrong. Someone must have had a whisper in his ear you would think

pentium1111
15 Nov 2007, 19:13
ORTON will be a serious loss, Dazz.
What about Tate and Ruffell, though ?? Those 2 blokes kicked the Tiges home to a win at Dower Park mid-winter.
Not a huge result you wouldn't think beating the Rooers. Still a win is a win.
Without Tate and Ruffell however the Yellow and Blacks wouldn't have snagged a win that day.

Orton was really only playing ones as a run with player because of his high fitness level. The thing with these players that go to the Diggers, get a bomber uniform and claim they played VFL is that they get found out when they come back. I'm all for players striving to achieve at the highest level, but dont come back after one year, sometimes failing to make the bombers twos and demand the respect of a VFL player.
Orton wont be a loss, time for Rufflel to step up, big Evey missed a few games last season, his presence on the field will be missed however Im sure cookey will get his best 6-8 players running through the middle again with an aim to win games, instead of trying to save a blowout.

Tate at training last night, definately playing. Ruffell looked fit and strong. Good numbers first up, now they need to get the heads right and get some respect back.

max powers.
16 Nov 2007, 09:03
I didn't think you could just nominate anymore. I thought you had to come from TAC or VFL level. Obviously i am wrong. Someone must have had a whisper in his ear you would think

Hamish has played TAC cup i'm pretty sure a few years ago.

I'd say his Ruck coach would have suggested it.:p

ablett
16 Nov 2007, 10:47
Hamish has played TAC cup i'm pretty sure a few years ago.

I'd say his Ruck coach would have suggested it.:p

Who was his ruck coach?

I'm pretty sure Gibbs was recruited from Noble Park to Nth.Melb with out playing Tac or VFL.

doogey wondall
16 Nov 2007, 11:15
Orton was really only playing ones as a run with player because of his high fitness level. The thing with these players that go to the Diggers, get a bomber uniform and claim they played VFL is that they get found out when they come back. I'm all for players striving to achieve at the highest level, but dont come back after one year, sometimes failing to make the bombers twos and demand the respect of a VFL player.
Orton wont be a loss, time for Rufflel to step up, big Evey missed a few games last season, his presence on the field will be missed however Im sure cookey will get his best 6-8 players running through the middle again with an aim to win games, instead of trying to save a blowout.

Tate at training last night, definately playing. Ruffell looked fit and strong. Good numbers first up, now they need to get the heads right and get some respect back. pentium1111 any good recruits at this stage. name the six to eight players who will run through the midfield. cookey would wanna bring them from melbourne. this has been kynetons problem getting smash in the guts after getting first use with cookey winning the hitout then there backline not able to stand up with the constant bomb barding of goals week after week. not good for players confidence.

Yet Again
16 Nov 2007, 11:40
Who was his ruck coach?

I'm pretty sure Gibbs was recruited from Noble Park to Nth.Melb with out playing Tac or VFL.

Think you will find that once you nominate it stays in the system for 3 years. He probably nominated a couple of years ago and is still there.

ablett
16 Nov 2007, 13:11
Think you will find that once you nominate it stays in the system for 3 years. He probably nominated a couple of years ago and is still there.

Correct, but would'nt there be a date on the nomination?

pentium1111
16 Nov 2007, 18:33
pentium1111 any good recruits at this stage. name the six to eight players who will run through the midfield. cookey would wanna bring them from melbourne. this has been kynetons problem getting smash in the guts after getting first use with cookey winning the hitout then there backline not able to stand up with the constant bomb barding of goals week after week. not good for players confidence.

Probably wrote that without thinking too much about who you would include. I would say Scerri, Else, Dryden, Chambers, McNaughton - thats probably about it without any recruits. Last year none of those players were used through the middle - I personally think it would at least be a start

doogey wondall
17 Nov 2007, 09:18
Probably wrote that without thinking too much about who you would include. I would say Scerri, Else, Dryden, Chambers, McNaughton - thats probably about it without any recruits. Last year none of those players were used through the middle - I personally think it would at least be a start yeah it is a start but these blokes dont win enough of the footy. else is better suited to a half forward flank or forward pocket. he is best used closer to goals where he can hurt opposition sides on the scoreboard. i thought elsey had left the club and was not playing anymore. the other boys you named scerri,dryden,chambers and Mcnaughton are all rebounding defenders at best or changing onto the ball. a fella by the name of sam young was good on baller came back to the club last year did he? did not play any games though. Mick mobba obrien is close friends with a few of the boys still maybe they should look at trying to lure him back.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

ablett
17 Nov 2007, 10:04
Apparantly it's down to E/Hawke and Golden Square to obtain the services of burley full forward Dave McCormick next season.

zakster
17 Nov 2007, 12:23
:confused: didnt macka kick a ton one year for yc when they didnt evn make the finls :confused:

thatswhatimtalkinabout
17 Nov 2007, 20:39

That did occur to me and I wouldn't have mentioned it but the club he is nominating from is Golden Square which would have to be this season I reckon.

Has Brennan decided to take him with him to Bummerland in the hope of addressing their ruck deficiencies?

GG Rides Again
18 Nov 2007, 09:22
That did occur to me and I wouldn't have mentioned it but the club he is nominating from is Golden Square which would have to be this season I reckon.

Has Brennan decided to take him with him to Bummerland in the hope of addressing their ruck deficiencies?

I think you wil find the coach of Essendon may have suggested to nominate as he saw Hamish play a few games last year. Was impressed but would be a "work in progress"
Have a look at Essendon ruck division and you can see they struggle with agile mobile ruckmen as they dont have any.

Myka
18 Nov 2007, 16:26
I think you wil find the coach of Essendon may have suggested to nominate as he saw Hamish play a few games last year. Was impressed but would be a "work in progress"
Have a look at Essendon ruck division and you can see they struggle with agile mobile ruckmen as they dont have any.

funny this knights has seen dahl first hand your right, quit when the going got tough at bendigo bombers. he aint good enough for VFL let alone AFL. when hamish thinks stuff is to tough he gives up also doubt that he would give up the piss loves it to much.
but he wont, anyone can nominate im sure there are much worse players nominated but there are far better ruckman in australia then him
knights doesnt rate him

Cockle doodle doo
19 Nov 2007, 08:38
Looking for a change in your football environment? Donvale Football Club, a proud and successful First Division Club, located in the very strong Eastern Football League is looking for players.

We offer fantastic facilities, employment opportunities as well as excellent remuneration for the right personnel.

Please contact Football Manager Peter Clarke on 0411 516 464 for further details.

theleak
20 Nov 2007, 12:58
Just for all you knocers out there, Shane Fisher is doing a great job this year. We've had fantastic numbers at training and the club seems to be heading in the right direction. Big Fish is moving well and and i reckon will shread the Bendigo League up this year

The Beaks Gossip 07
20 Nov 2007, 13:25
Just for all you knocers out there, Shane Fisher is doing a great job this year. We've had fantastic numbers at training and the club seems to be heading in the right direction. Big Fish is moving well and and i reckon will shread the Bendigo League up this year

ive been a "knocers" of big fish for ages and will continue to be one but theleak its great to see him training the house down during the pre season, just wait until it comes time for him to put his head over the ball......oh and by the way has he added to his artwork from last season.

Just wait and time will tell but i've heard that he will be lucky to last the first year the way the players have been talking about him when they were on the juice the other night. Word back is that he has already upset the applecart to the locals after only a couple of sessions.

I hear that the committee are having serious thoughts about their appointment after making contact with his former club and really finding out that that the players had no respect for him in the end, good luck though leak and i hope he does well at your club but when you come back and tell us how wrong you were dont say people on this forum didnt warn you.

KingRich
20 Nov 2007, 16:14
ive been a "knocers" of big fish for ages and will continue to be one but theleak its great to see him training the house down during the pre season, just wait until it comes time for him to put his head over the ball......oh and by the way has he added to his artwork from last season.

Just wait and time will tell but i've heard that he will be lucky to last the first year the way the players have been talking about him when they were on the juice the other night. Word back is that he has already upset the applecart to the locals after only a couple of sessions.

I hear that the committee are having serious thoughts about their appointment after making contact with his former club and really finding out that that the players had no respect for him in the end, good luck though leak and i hope he does well at your club but when you come back and tell us how wrong you were dont say people on this forum didnt warn you.

I'm not sure what these types of posts accomplish?? I'm no great supporter of the Maryborough FC but I cant see the point in constantly knocking the appointment of this bloke. If you have a personal gripe with the guy then fine... but give the club a go at least. They have been down for a while and need all the help they can get!

Kings Army
20 Nov 2007, 17:04
I'm not sure what these types of posts accomplish?? I'm no great supporter of the Maryborough FC but I cant see the point in constantly knocking the appointment of this bloke. If you have a personal gripe with the guy then fine... but give the club a go at least. They have been down for a while and need all the help they can get!

This post is in response to Fisher flying on the training track. The bloke looks like tarzan but plays like jane. They have been down for a while but Fisher is not the answer. But hey if I am wrong I will put my hand up at the end of the season and apoligise.

How many players have followed him from East Point? I am backing the only one that would follow him to Bendigo would be the Ballarat tatooist.

ablett
20 Nov 2007, 19:33
This post is in response to Fisher flying on the training track. The bloke looks like tarzan but plays like jane. They have been down for a while but Fisher is not the answer. But hey if I am wrong I will put my hand up at the end of the season and apoligise.

How many players have followed him from East Point? I am backing the only one that would follow him to Bendigo would be the Ballarat tatooist.

I hear J.Barham is training at Collingwood and they are pretty keen on picking him up in psd.

doubting thomas
20 Nov 2007, 19:56
I hear J.Barham is training at Collingwood and they are pretty keen on picking him up in psd.
Correct me if i am wrong, but I think the person you are talking about is Jaxon Barham and he has already been picked up under the father-son rule.

ORACLE 69
22 Nov 2007, 11:05
While we are speaking of Fisher, is he taking his former match committee?. I heard several at East point would like to see the back of of his mates like Tony Lange, Maurice O'keefe, Pinky Panther and Phil Canny.

But in fairness Fisher is a d**khead and he does deserve another chance. Apparently the guys mentioned had far too much say and then have left him out to dry.

Creeker35
22 Nov 2007, 15:12
While we are speaking of Fisher, is he taking his former match committee?. I heard several at East point would like to see the back of of his mates like Tony Lange, Maurice O'keefe, Pinky Panther and Phil Canny.

But in fairness Fisher is a d**khead and he does deserve another chance. Apparently the guys mentioned had far too much say and then have left him out to dry.
For the record oracle O'Keefe & Canny were not on match committee and had no input at all. Lange & Panther had minimal input. This might have been Fisher problem....took no notice of anyone else! Just like we shouldn't take any notice of you with your inaccurate assumptions....f#ck off you leprechaun!:thumbsd:
Agree with King Rich, give Fisher a go and good luck to him.:thumbsu:

ORACLE 69
22 Nov 2007, 15:18
For the record oracle O'Keefe & Canny were not on match committee and had no input at all. Lange & Panther had minimal input. This might have been Fisher problem....took no notice of anyone else! Just like we shouldn't take any notice of you with your inaccurate assumptions....f#ck off you leprechaun!:thumbsd:
Agree with King Rich, give Fisher a go and good luck to him.:thumbsu:

Creeker, the guys named have been on the match committe in Fishers time and he is friends with them all!!! Who is inaccurate now peckerhead!!!!!:thumbsd:

andypipkin
22 Nov 2007, 17:24
whats the go with kain robbins being lead out of the bendigo cup in handcuffs, courtesy of the police last wednesday??

BackPocketBattler
22 Nov 2007, 17:56
whats the go with kain robbins being lead out of the bendigo cup in handcuffs, courtesy of the police last wednesday??
Lets keep it to footy mate

ablett
22 Nov 2007, 20:11

Probably d&d

Norfolk & Clew
23 Nov 2007, 09:28
Lets keep it to footy mate

Tell Ben Cousins that

Creeker35
23 Nov 2007, 10:23

Oracle, Canny & O'Keefe were on match committee in Fishers first two years, were not involved this year thus had no input. How can you have far too much to say when your not involved? Funnily enough I believe Fisher lost the plot this year without involvement of these two! End of story.:(

Frankenfurter
23 Nov 2007, 11:26

pretty sure he knocked a bloke out, obivously the police took exception to it.

ORACLE 69
23 Nov 2007, 11:28
[/b]
Oracle, Canny & O'Keefe were on match committee in Fishers first two years, were not involved this year thus had no input. How can you have far too much to say when your not involved? Funnily enough I believe Fisher lost the plot this year without involvement of these two! End of story.:(

Creeker your right I am not involved with your club but as an associate of fish who loves stirring him up I feel sorry for him as he has stated he was hung out to dry! :mad: Fish also said these blokes who he thought were his mates have a history of doing this! Good luck fish and shove it up all these knockers, though I do love the comments about the tats!!!:D

blackbeard
25 Nov 2007, 13:41

I believe it may have been connected to the alleged victims choice of female company who may have at one stage been connected with the alleged attacker!

In footy news, not sure if its been posted at all, Rodney Sharpe to Sunbury as assistant to libba. Don't think it's in concrete yet but stay tuned.

Fists of Rage
26 Nov 2007, 11:36
I believe it may have been connected to the alleged victims choice of female company who may have at one stage been connected with the alleged attacker!

In footy news, not sure if its been posted at all, Rodney Sharpe to Sunbury as assistant to libba. Don't think it's in concrete yet but stay tuned.

You seem to be a wealth of knowledge blackbeard, some would say you have your ear to the ground, also heard shane davis was jumping off the gisbourne ship also, has anyone else heard this?

fifth quarter
26 Nov 2007, 11:57
i'll b sad to c the dog davis leave the bfl he was a vcfl rep
:confused:i think we all now a bit about the 4th selwood and the 2nd tarrant anyone know much about 2 other pios drafted playrs .... lj connors and tobie thoolan :confused:

Doona2
26 Nov 2007, 12:23
You seem to be a wealth of knowledge blackbeard, some would say you have your ear to the ground, also heard shane davis was jumping off the gisbourne ship also, has anyone else heard this?

Blackbeard knows everything :D probably even knows where Dog Davis will end up, just hope it aint a cashed up HDFL club

ROOTA#6
27 Nov 2007, 08:48
i'll b sad to c the dog davis leave the bfl he was a vcfl rep
:confused:i think we all now a bit about the 4th selwood and the 2nd tarrant anyone know much about 2 other pios drafted playrs .... lj connors and tobie thoolan :confused:

Thoolan is a young athletic ruckman from Swan Hill. Very mobile and runs all day. May not be big enough to be an AFL Ruckman but he is very versatile.

ablett
27 Nov 2007, 11:32
Dave McCormick has committed to Sth i believe, Macca was tossing up between E/Hawke and G/S until Sth came up with a late bid to get him.
He'd want to kick 80 goals plus next season concidering the coin he has demanded.

The rumour of Phil Lobb joining K/Flat is growing stronger, apparently Lobb filled in for the bomber reserves last year, and kicked a bag, when they were sort and D.Wilson was impressed hence why Lobb will might Flat.

Hamish Dahl did nominate for last saturdays draft, but luckily for Square he did'nt get picked up.
Speaking of square i hear the was about 60odd at training last night including thirds.
They did a 10k time trial apparenlty.

thirsty
28 Nov 2007, 15:48

I haven't heard of him upsetting the applecart over here. Training has been good and if players are whinging about him already when they are on the piss then they are just sooks.

Tonyfatman
28 Nov 2007, 18:42
Dave McCormick has committed to Sth i believe, Macca was tossing up between E/Hawke and G/S until Sth came up with a late bid to get him.
He'd want to kick 80 goals plus next season concidering the coin he has demanded.

The rumour of Phil Lobb joining K/Flat is growing stronger, apparently Lobb filled in for the bomber reserves last year, and kicked a bag, when they were sort and D.Wilson was impressed hence why Lobb will might Flat.

Hamish Dahl did nominate for last saturdays draft, but luckily for Square he did'nt get picked up.
Speaking of square i hear the was about 60odd at training last night including thirds.
They did a 10k time trial apparenlty.

they still be no good flat

Courageunderfire
29 Nov 2007, 21:16
Steve Irwin and Frank Walker to play for Golden Square for an absolute packet???? This correct? Somewhere around the 30k mark???

davis 24
29 Nov 2007, 21:26
Rumour that Elliott Massina is to be picked up in next months pre season draft as a international rookie any truth ???

Lemms
29 Nov 2007, 22:18
Frank Walker to play for Golden Square for an absolute packet???? This correct? Somewhere around the 30k mark???
Hellllooo....

Heard from a good source that Mick Bateman is going to GS - Damn good pick up I reckon.

darryl 23
30 Nov 2007, 09:05
How can Elliot Massina be an international rookie? Please excuse my ignorance.

darryl 23
30 Nov 2007, 09:26
How can Elliot Massina be an international rookie? Please excuse my ignorance.
I'm changing my name to 'hook line and sinker. Good one davis. BTW I heard Ron Best and Tony Southcombe are looking at reforming Northern United!!!

meltdown
30 Nov 2007, 10:25
I'm changing my name to 'hook line and sinker. Good one davis. BTW I heard Ron Best and Tony Southcombe are looking at reforming Northern United!!!
Come on boys, post something worth posting about, or, dont post anything at all.
Timmy from South Park just put pen to paper at Kyneton.

ablett
30 Nov 2007, 11:14
Steve Irwin and Frank Walker to play for Golden Square for an absolute packet???? This correct? Somewhere around the 30k mark???

CRIKEY!

What type of position do they play and where they from?

b birmingham
30 Nov 2007, 11:28
Hellllooo....

Heard from a good source that Mick Bateman is going to GS - Damn good pick up I reckon.

Pardon my ignorance, but who is Mick Bateman, where is he from, what position does he play etc?

What about the other 2 guys mentioned previously, Walker and Irwin?

darryl 23
30 Nov 2007, 11:45
Pardon my ignorance, but who is Mick Bateman, where is he from, what position does he play etc?

Irwin played one game to many for the Stingrays, Walker hits the tiles a bit.

good player out of luck
30 Nov 2007, 15:31
Is it correct Tim Hill to Eaglehawk, they look bloody strong the borough, although one loss may be millward who could be off to kerang? and maybe robbins to barwon and not the footy team.

ablett
30 Nov 2007, 16:31
Is it correct Tim Hill to Eaglehawk, they look bloody strong the borough, although one loss may be millward who could be off to kerang? and maybe robbins to barwon and not the footy team.

They loose Milward but gain Loch.

Lemms
30 Nov 2007, 18:42

Has played for BL/Serp for the past couple of years, on baller / key forward type. Can play :thumbsu:

JennaJ
30 Nov 2007, 20:35

Is that Tim Hill that played at colbo with locky

MasterOfRoc
1 Dec 2007, 00:08
Tims a charlton lad, played Pioneers if i remember correctly. Good defender, kicking sometimes lets him down.

BIGANT
1 Dec 2007, 10:39

What are Milward & Robbins doing with there football !?

ROOTA#6
1 Dec 2007, 11:15
What are Milward & Robbins doing with there football !?

Milward back to Kerang with Shawn Filo is the word

Tonyfatman
1 Dec 2007, 12:28
Batemans already had his chance at bfl level. would not thnk they would offer him any muny. got plenty of numbers there alrdedy. tim hill will be masiv sign up at ehawk he sure can play. S milward staying put.

Jock Clark 2
1 Dec 2007, 13:19
CLUBS should do OK from BFL dividends posted at AGM this week.
Around 5K each with maybe a little extra for each once auditor has assessed what other $$$$ are to flow in from unpaid bills.
Auditor did take club reps. through the financial pages.
Lightning Premiership as a season starter still not 100 % certain to go ahead. More to come on this one.

youknow
1 Dec 2007, 23:16
Its that time of year a few movments new coaches , whispers etc.

Monday night its back to trainning for all at GFC to try and bounce back from the 07 GF loss with Billy back at the helm a new 2's coach and a couple of big names signing on for 08 it should be an exciting night.

out

forest
2 Dec 2007, 11:32
Its that time of year a few movments new coaches , whispers etc.

Monday night its back to trainning for all at GFC to try and bounce back from the 07 GF loss with Billy back at the helm a new 2's coach and a couple of big names signing on for 08 it should be an exciting night.

out

your 2nd ruckman, whats his name, is he based in bendigo,

youknow
2 Dec 2007, 19:47
your 2nd ruckman, whats his name, is he based in bendigo,

2nd ruckman in the 1's ? Duff Tyler 1st ruckman
Ants Bellcher 2nd rukman in the 1's

Craig Byrne & Josh Dicamillo in the 2's
although Josh finished the year in the 1's

None live Bendigo why ask ?

malstar
3 Dec 2007, 14:25
can i just say good luck to fisher n the magpies.he has had trouble in the past but from what i have heard he is doin good things at maryborough..i was just wonderin what u guys thoughts were on the young kids there.is johnston any good n is he going to play footy or bball?reports are he is training wit ballarat miners bball..what bout the likes of clarkson, noonan, m.bond, b.malone?are they ready to carry a senior football team?

Up Forward Again
3 Dec 2007, 14:34
Hey guys just wondering does a Damien Loch still play down around that area and who does he play for?

BackPocketBattler
3 Dec 2007, 19:02
Hey guys just wondering does a Damien Loch still play down around that area and who does he play for?
Locky has been coaching colbinabbin in the Heathcote and District footy league for the past two seasons but is returning to his home club Eaglehawk next year.

fromthebackline
4 Dec 2007, 10:27
Locky has been coaching colbinabbin in the Heathcote and District footy league for the past two seasons but is returning to his home club Eaglehawk next year.

Looking for lifestyle change. Why not Cairns. Great climate and footy. Assistance with employement and good remuneration. Our coach is Steve Daniels, twice Vic Country Coach of the year and dual premiership coach in the G.V Is also Qld Country State Coach for 2008. Looking for talls but all welcome. If interested please contact me through this site.

Doona2
4 Dec 2007, 11:38
Looking for lifestyle change. Why not Cairns. Great climate and footy. Assistance with employement and good remuneration. Our coach is Steve Daniels, twice Vic Country Coach of the year and dual premiership coach in the G.V Is also Qld Country State Coach for 2008. Looking for talls but all welcome. If interested please contact me through this site.

Is a great person Steve, his advice and support has been much appreciated since I met him during his time at Seymour. Anyone who plays under Steve would get a lot out of the experience IMO

youknow
4 Dec 2007, 17:03
Good turn out for the first trainning at GFNC last night.
Plenty of young blokes keen and a couple of old faces back Big show and J.Barham it will be great to see them back in the red, White and Blue for 08

ablett
4 Dec 2007, 19:45
Good turn out for the first trainning at GFNC last night.
Plenty of young blokes keen and a couple of old faces back Big show and J.Barham it will be great to see them back in the red, White and Blue for 08

Big show being Reaper?

WALKERTOBETTS
5 Dec 2007, 06:15
FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!

All is welcome - please PM me for futher info

The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;

When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007

Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury

Time:
5.30pm Onwards

Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.

peddles
5 Dec 2007, 08:05
whats the chances of Nth Ballarat getting the OK from the Ballarat league:confused: and any thoughts if they go, about having the bye again.

The Wombat
5 Dec 2007, 10:33
whats the chances of Nth Ballarat getting the OK from the Ballarat league:confused: and any thoughts if they go, about having the bye again.
They will be staying put if the Ballarat FL Board listens to their clubs. The fight is more serious than reported in the papers, some clubs considering legal action. However I find it hard to work out their slant in regard to a legal proceeding.

The whole issue is based on their fears that they will once again dominate the league as they used to. The VCFL really need to step in and make it happen, but the old toothless tiger is always reluctant to force someone into something.

There was a rumour that Sunbury were going to leave the Ballarat League in 2009. This is totally unfounded and they are more than happy to stay in the Ballarat Football League.

If North City do leave where would the BFLs 10th club come from???? May never happen I would suggest.

ablett
5 Dec 2007, 10:53
They will be staying put if the Ballarat FL Board listens to their clubs. The fight is more serious than reported in the papers, some clubs considering legal action. However I find it hard to work out their slant in regard to a legal proceeding.

The whole issue is based on their fears that they will once again dominate the league as they used to. The VCFL really need to step in and make it happen, but the old toothless tiger is always reluctant to force someone into something.

There was a rumour that Sunbury were going to leave the Ballarat League in 2009. This is totally unfounded and they are more than happy to stay in the Ballarat Football League.

If North City do leave where would the BFLs 10th club come from???? May never happen I would suggest.

It opens the door for Strathfieldsaye.

matt_nicholls
5 Dec 2007, 10:58

Bendigo FL chairman Damian Drum had an in-depth conversation with me last week regarding the following problem for the BFL. I posted a couple of articles back in August (got a lot of feedback) about the VCFL's future plans for leagues in the central Victoria area. I'm talking Bendigo, Ballarat, Riddell, Heathcote, Maryborough Castlemaine and Central Highlands. I was pretty frank to Mr Drum because I think for the Bendigo and Ballarat FL's to prosper, I think they need to sacrifice the standard of the competitions. Let's face it, Sunbury and Gisborne will be metro clubs within 5-10 years. What defines a good competition is not the quality of players that make up each senior side, it is about the competitiveness. Families and fans don't care if the FF drops a mark a better FF would have taken, they care about seeing their side have a fair dinkum chance of winning each week. The best and most intriguing competitions in Country Footy are those that each side can win on their day, when every side is a shot at making the finals. I haven't watched much BFL in the last two years, but the reality of country footy these days is that high-standard footballers are dwindling, and the cost to get these superstars is rapidly increasing. Should the BFL go back to becoming a predominantly Bendigo-side mix with a couple of clubs from the outer area to make it a little bigger. I've got no doubts that the likes of Maryborough, Castlemaine and Kangaroo Flat will be "up there" in the future.

Just my thoughts, what do you guys think?

ringo1
5 Dec 2007, 14:00
Unfortunately Bendigo lost Northern United and Nth Bendigo and Strathdale-tried Lockington and did'nt work. Meanhile Ballarat lost Beaufort,Daylesford and East and Golden Point merged. I would argue both leagues were better befoe they gained new clubs and were decentralised. Although there were teams that struggled in both leagues at the time the comp seemed stronger

The Wombat
6 Dec 2007, 09:56
Bendigo FL chairman Damian Drum had an in-depth conversation with me last week regarding the following problem for the BFL. I posted a couple of articles back in August (got a lot of feedback) about the VCFL's future plans for leagues in the central Victoria area. I'm talking Bendigo, Ballarat, Riddell, Heathcote, Maryborough Castlemaine and Central Highlands. I was pretty frank to Mr Drum because I think for the Bendigo and Ballarat FL's to prosper, I think they need to sacrifice the standard of the competitions. Let's face it, Sunbury and Gisborne will be metro clubs within 5-10 years. What defines a good competition is not the quality of players that make up each senior side, it is about the competitiveness. Families and fans don't care if the FF drops a mark a better FF would have taken, they care about seeing their side have a fair dinkum chance of winning each week. The best and most intriguing competitions in Country Footy are those that each side can win on their day, when every side is a shot at making the finals. I haven't watched much BFL in the last two years, but the reality of country footy these days is that high-standard footballers are dwindling, and the cost to get these superstars is rapidly increasing. Should the BFL go back to becoming a predominantly Bendigo-side mix with a couple of clubs from the outer area to make it a little bigger. I've got no doubts that the likes of Maryborough, Castlemaine and Kangaroo Flat will be "up there" in the future.

Just my thoughts, what do you guys think?
Matt you make a lot of sense, but someone needs to drive this and having dealt with the VCFL on numerous occasions they definitely don't have the balls.

fifth quarter
6 Dec 2007, 14:22
someone will have 2 do somthing urgent with the strathfieldsaye situatn otherwise well have a district league club jumpng in there and the whole resources of footy players n netballers will be lost to the bfl be a shame to see mount plesant or someone like that snaffle the strath resources --- grounds/players/population base with inbuilt supporters etc .....

Doona2
6 Dec 2007, 16:39
Matt you make a lot of sense, but someone needs to drive this and having dealt with the VCFL on numerous occasions they definitely don't have the balls.

I'll back the wombat 100% on that one having also had not too friendly relations with the VCFL when I was involved in the now defunct CGFL (Goulburn Murray Region) :mad:

fromthebackline
6 Dec 2007, 16:43
I'll back the wombat 100% on that one having also had not too friendly relations with the VCFL when I was involved in the now defunct CGFL (Goulburn Murray Region) :mad:

Heard Shane Davies from Gisbourne signed with Moama two days ago.:thumbsd:

thirsty
7 Dec 2007, 12:51

Shane has re-signed with Gisborne this week.

hank1
7 Dec 2007, 13:55
Shane has resigned with Gisborne this week.

re-signed I assume you mean?

Doona2
7 Dec 2007, 14:06

Ya kidding me thought we had him ourselves last Satdy night :mad: had the pic in the Roos jumper and all ready for the media release . . . . you got a lot to answer for Blackbeard :mad:

Shane has resigned with Gisborne this week.

Was told from my Gisborne connection at work that Dog Davis had in fact re-signed not resigned.

Doona2
7 Dec 2007, 14:07
re-signed I assume you mean?

sorry mate shoulda scrolled to the bottom first :o

ablett
7 Dec 2007, 15:06
With the additions of J.Barham and fatman Reaper, Gisbourne are going to be hard to beat.

ROOTA#6
7 Dec 2007, 17:50
someone will have 2 do somthing urgent with the strathfieldsaye situatn otherwise well have a district league club jumpng in there and the whole resources of footy players n netballers will be lost to the bfl be a shame to see mount plesant or someone like that snaffle the strath resources --- grounds/players/population base with inbuilt supporters etc .....

What are you talking about??? Strathfieldsaye are going it alone. No one can snaffle anything

BackPocketBattler
7 Dec 2007, 19:32
[quote=Doona2;9626047]Ya kidding me thought we had him ourselves last Satdy night :mad: had the pic in the Roos jumper and all ready for the media release . . . . you got a lot to answer for Blackbeard :mad:

if those photos are anything to go by you may have had a fair side doona..

fifth quarter
8 Dec 2007, 10:57
ok root but if south or hurst moved in to created a mergd club no one else would have access to footy playrs or netballrs
strath will only go it alone if short sighted bfl clubs (read tunnl vision membrs here) let a huge resourse slip thru there fingers

blackbeard
8 Dec 2007, 14:55
As far I'm concerned we had Davis and Hall from Gisborne. Gretrix and Nicholson from the Borough and CJ Malone from Square signed!!! They all posed for the shots which are to run in the local rag and until I hear otherwise I think you should prepare a side with these blokes in it Doona. Clearances are a mere formality.

I think Davis met with Gisborne Wednesday to break them the bad news face to face.
G-train and Nico are yet to front Derick with the news, hopefully he reads this and I've saved them the job!

ROOTA#6
8 Dec 2007, 22:04
ok root but if south or hurst moved in to created a mergd club no one else would have access to footy playrs or netballrs
strath will only go it alone if short sighted bfl clubs (read tunnl vision membrs here) let a huge resourse slip thru there fingers

Both South and Sandhurst along with my club Mounts knocked back proposals from the Strath committee to form a merged club hence Strath have decide to go it alne with their own stand alone club. All deadlines for possible mergers have passed and Strath will stand alone in one of the leagues around here. No if buts or maybes, that is the way it will be

Always Broke
9 Dec 2007, 17:26
Dose anyone know if Metro from hurst is filling the car with any players when he his driving north next season. Did hear he has signed with Macorna. Looking at the results in the paper this year, he might need a mini bus if they are to play a bit more into the season.

The Messenger
10 Dec 2007, 06:00
Dose anyone know if Metro from hurst is filling the car with any players when he his driving north next season. Did hear he has signed with Macorna. Looking at the results in the paper this year, he might need a mini bus if they are to play a bit more into the season.

Macorna finished half a game out of the finals, I don't think a mini bus full of players would be needed to win an extra half a game. You must have been looking at the wrong results champ. Any guys Metro was to bring to the club would be welcomed and I'm sure would be an asset to the club. If the spend over the bar anything like Metro then they will be a huge asset.

galloper
10 Dec 2007, 10:40
flat to sign tim kelly from shepparton this week. kelly apparently played few very handy games at inglewood last yr before gettin osteitis pubis having previously played at congupna and shepparton bears 1s. if kelly signs he could bring trent mcinnes and trent davey bak with him. mcinnes maybe bak from qld was r-up in b&f in '06 and davey won goalkicking in 2's from about 8 games.

ablett
10 Dec 2007, 14:14
As far I'm concerned we had Davis and Hall from Gisborne. Gretrix and Nicholson from the Borough and CJ Malone from Square signed!!! They all posed for the shots which are to run in the local rag and until I hear otherwise I think you should prepare a side with these blokes in it Doona. Clearances are a mere formality.

I think Davis met with Gisborne Wednesday to break them the bad news face to face.
G-train and Nico are yet to front Derick with the news, hopefully he reads this and I've saved them the job!

Which club are they off too?

zakster
10 Dec 2007, 14:18
new radio statn kicks off 2 week trial run erly january will b usng the 895 frequncy will those new blokes get another gig latr in the year say may or june when local footy is well up and runing around the district

BackPocketBattler
10 Dec 2007, 18:48

you can add colbo's cheezl johnston to the list aswell as handy g square midfielders luke thompson and marty bremner, the latter winning an u18 league b&f in th bfl.

KingRich
10 Dec 2007, 19:57
Word just in is that North City has been voted into the Ballarat Football League. I assume this is effective as of next year! Thoughts?? How does this effect the Bendigo FL??? I think it is definately a good thing for the club itself.... they did it hard in the 2 years in this comp. Less travel will make recruitment a hell of a lot easier.

danielkerr
11 Dec 2007, 18:47
been away from bendigo since uni, can anyone confirm the signings for k.flat....? will be interesting to see how much they improve with some key players signing....

thatswhatimtalkinabout
11 Dec 2007, 23:20

Derrick don't read this forum. 100% Gaurenteed. They'll have to do the hard work themselves, then take on one of the most omnipotent negotiators in the business.....

Rocky Hutchison
11 Dec 2007, 23:23
What can you girls tell me about Tom McCarthy?

The Wombat
12 Dec 2007, 07:11
you can add colbo's cheezl johnston to the list aswell as handy g square midfielders luke thompson and marty bremner, the latter winning an u18 league b&f in th bfl.

Now 15kgs heavier than back then.

BIGANT
12 Dec 2007, 08:38
Steve Dean.....Can anyone shed some info on him !? whats his background and where is he now.