View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 [68] 69 70 71 72 73

derrick7
14 Jan 2008, 13:56
Mate i'm not sure how long you've been around for but i remember no bastard going to watch Eaglehawk when they were struggling under Teasdale about 5 years ago, so don't bang on about how loyal your supporters are because you have the biggest bunch of "bandwagon jumpers" in this league. Been around a while, played for 23 years in this comp so i have a rough idea about the league

max powers.
14 Jan 2008, 14:01
Been around a while, played for 23 years in this comp so i have a rough idea about the league

So you remember what i'm talking about then??

getakick
15 Jan 2008, 10:36
If you think that this thread is bad read the loddon valley league talk about bitch session, the boys are just as bad as the girls and they like the talk sh*t about anyone and everything.

and aren't you the worst for it????

gossipgirl
15 Jan 2008, 11:04
and aren't you the worst for it????

there is two gossipgirls so I can understand if you have us confused:thumbsu:

bomber08
15 Jan 2008, 11:10
Anyone heard of any big movers yet?

inthemix
15 Jan 2008, 15:39
Have it on very good authority that Mark Scerri will not be with the Kyneton Tigers this year. Looking to play in Melbourne I believe.

Jock Clark 2
16 Jan 2008, 14:18
CASTLEMAINE will be expecting a big season. 2009 marks their 150th anniversary celebrations so they'll want a solid run-up to that in this season's matches.

Eaglerhawk
Gisborne
South Bendigo
Golden Square
Castlemaine

Sandhurst
Maryborough
Kyneton
K Flat

Oh yeah, Goatey. The Gliders to still finish in the Bottom Four in that other comp.

Junky Bish
16 Jan 2008, 15:03
CASTLEMAINE will be expecting a big season. 2009 marks their 150th anniversary celebrations so they'll want a solid run-up to that in this season's matches.

Eaglerhawk
Gisborne
South Bendigo
Golden Square
Castlemaine

Sandhurst
Maryborough
Kyneton
K Flat

Oh yeah, Goatey. The Gliders to still finish in the Bottom Four in that other comp.

Castlemaine might improve infact they should be a regular finalist in this competition but it won't have any impact wether there anniversary is in 2009 lets get real. Is a bloke going to hit the ball harder or push to another contest because the club has an anniversary coming up the year after really!

Give my ladder a whirl
Gisbourne
South Bendigo
Eaglehawk
Golden Square
Castlemaine

Kyneton
Kangaroo Flat
Sandhurst
Maryborough

YouKnowIt08
16 Jan 2008, 15:32
does anyone know who elliot has taken with him to castlemaine? from maryborough, darley or sunbury?

getakick
16 Jan 2008, 19:24
there is two gossipgirls so I can understand if you have us confused:thumbsu:

Nope. The other one has a capital "G". You don't. Stop your cr#p, stickk to your netball thread you just successfully started, and goodbye!

Woody wonder
16 Jan 2008, 20:19
Has Kangaroo Flat actually recruited anyone? Who are they?

the tron burger
16 Jan 2008, 20:58

Eaglerhawk
Gisborne
South Bendigo
Golden Square
Castlemaine

Sandhurst
Maryborough
Kyneton
K Flat

Does anyone Know a fella by the name of Adam Fluery (think its spelt like that) and were he played is he any good any info would be appreciated

bomber08
16 Jan 2008, 21:07
Nope. The other one has a capital "G". You don't. Stop your cr#p, stickk to your netball thread you just successfully started, and goodbye!

Getakick, like you said on the loddon valley everyone thread surfs mate don't be so hormonal. lol:thumbsu:

gossipgirl
16 Jan 2008, 21:13

Fair enough no need to be an arseh*le about it and bomber08 don't need your help thanl anyway, got myself into it get myself out.:thumbsu:

Beep Test
17 Jan 2008, 12:03
Anyone heard of any big movers yet?

HI All on Bendigo FL Thread

Can I get some info on Kangaroo Flat for 08

I think Daryl Wilson maybe coaching

perspicuous_1
17 Jan 2008, 15:16
HI All on Bendigo FL Thread

Can I get some info on Kangaroo Flat for 08

I think Daryl Wilson maybe coaching

Had an extremely disappointing season last year, lost his playing group after round 4. Constantly contradicted himself in his addresses which probably accounted for teams lack of discipline.
Good Luck Kangaroo Flat for 08 - You're gonna need it under him !

Doona2
17 Jan 2008, 16:27
Had an extremely disappointing season last year, lost his playing group after round 4. Constantly contradicted himself in his addresses which probably accounted for teams lack of discipline.

Geez bit harsh what happened perspicuous, did you not get much game time or did you spend some time on the bench next to him :confused:

perspicuous_1
17 Jan 2008, 17:42
Geez bit harsh what happened perspicuous, did you not get much game time or did you spend some time on the bench next to him :confused:

That would've been a very hard thing to do Doona because he always sat (generally stunned) in the lofty heights of the stands & transmitted his orders via walkie talkie !
Guess perception appeared really important to him rather than onfield performance because "HE" certainly looked & acted the part - loved the apparel ! ! !

Tweezersthegreat
17 Jan 2008, 22:31
Just wondering if anybody on this thread knows anything of Neville Massina's son. There are rumours on the RDFL site that he might join Macedon. Is there any possibility of this? Does he have any loyalty to Kyneton? Is he any good? I heard he played a couple of games in the Kyneton ones last year so he must be decent at least.

davis 24
18 Jan 2008, 13:07
Just wondering if anybody on this thread knows anything of Neville Massina's son. There are rumours on the RDFL site that he might join Macedon. Is there any possibility of this? Does he have any loyalty to Kyneton? Is he any good? I heard he played a couple of games in the Kyneton ones last year so he must be decent at least.

Will comfirm now the Massina if not playing for Bendigo Pioneers he will be playing at Kyneton..... why he would go to Macedon that just amuses me... if he was going to move to a 3rd rate Riddle League Club I would say it would be Woodend but Massina will stick with mates at Kyneton and probably be playing in the ones if he is not selected for Pioneers...

Who Do we rate at the moment as the best captain in the league....

My ladder Prediction for this year

Gisborne

Then Day Light

Golden Square
South Bendigo
Eaglehawk
Kyneton ( Cooky will lead them to a finals series and can only improve on last year)

Maryborough
Sandhurst
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat

Hawker28
18 Jan 2008, 14:42
Will comfirm now the Massina if not playing for Bendigo Pioneers he will be playing at Kyneton..... why he would go to Macedon that just amuses me... if he was going to move to a 3rd rate Riddle League Club I would say it would be Woodend but Massina will stick with mates at Kyneton and probably be playing in the ones if he is not selected for Pioneers...

Who Do we rate at the moment as the best captain in the league....

My ladder Prediction for this year

Gisborne

Then Day Light

Golden Square
South Bendigo
Eaglehawk
Kyneton ( Cooky will lead them to a finals series and can only improve on last year)

Maryborough
Sandhurst
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat

Macedon will not be a 3rd rate RDFL side this year. And the RDFL is not the rabble league it once was.....

Halffullonfence
18 Jan 2008, 14:43
[quote=davis 24;9893580]Will comfirm now the Massina if not playing for Bendigo Pioneers he will be playing at Kyneton..... why he would go to Macedon that just amuses me... if he was going to move to a 3rd rate Riddle League Club I would say it would be Woodend but Massina will stick with mates at Kyneton and probably be playing in the ones if he is not selected for Pioneers...

Elliott not in the Pioneers zone will only play for Pioneers if Cannons pass on him and he applies for a permit to play for Pioneers, not many players miss with one TAC team and get picked up by another.

davis 24
18 Jan 2008, 17:45
[quote=davis 24;9893580]Will comfirm now the Massina if not playing for Bendigo Pioneers he will be playing at Kyneton..... why he would go to Macedon that just amuses me... if he was going to move to a 3rd rate Riddle League Club I would say it would be Woodend but Massina will stick with mates at Kyneton and probably be playing in the ones if he is not selected for Pioneers...

Elliott not in the Pioneers zone will only play for Pioneers if Cannons pass on him and he applies for a permit to play for Pioneers, not many players miss with one TAC team and get picked up by another.

Can confirm 100% Massina is now with the Pioneers and has been training with them for a few months and has made the first cut...

Beep Test
18 Jan 2008, 22:23
That would've been a very hard thing to do Doona because he always sat (generally stunned) in the lofty heights of the stands & transmitted his orders via walkie talkie !
Guess perception appeared really important to him rather than onfield performance because "HE" certainly looked & acted the part - loved the apparel ! ! !

Interesting your reply
I watched a bit of Bombers footy last year and it seemed to me that all players in the 2nds there were glorified rock stars hoping their names might be called out on Draft Day. Some very ordinary players running around with no football brains. Old Saying "Good players make good coaches"

Interested in more of your thoughts though

Woody wonder
19 Jan 2008, 08:18
[quote=Halffullonfence;9894422]

Can confirm 100% Massina is now with the Pioneers and has been training with them for a few months and has made the first cut...

Pioneers haven`t made any cuts as yet have they.

Doona2
19 Jan 2008, 08:47

Confusing a flick back thru some posts show at times a Gisborne flavour, Im not a huge BFL/Bombers follower and the only player off the top of my head I can think of from out there is M.Dillon, reckon DW would be disappointed if u are in fact Michael as I reckon he thought a bit of, or perhaps you're just a mate disappointed a little :confused:

perspicuous_1
19 Jan 2008, 09:00
Confusing a flick back thru some posts show at times a Gisborne flavour, Im not a huge BFL/Bombers follower and the only player off the top of my head I can think of from out there is M.Dillon, reckon DW would be disappointed if u are in fact Michael as I reckon he thought a bit of, or perhaps you're just a mate disappointed a little :confused:

You should perhaps THINK before you go potting innocent people like that !
Many country based Essendon supporters go & watch Bomber games Einstein, & guess what ? WE HAVE OPINIONS !

And just for the record, I am neither M Dillon or a mate of his !

perspicuous_1
19 Jan 2008, 10:28
Interesting your reply
I watched a bit of Bombers footy last year and it seemed to me that all players in the 2nds there were glorified rock stars hoping their names might be called out on Draft Day. Some very ordinary players running around with no football brains. Old Saying "Good players make good coaches"

Interested in more of your thoughts though

See that is where you a Fundamentally Wrong, It's
" Good COACHES make good players "
For example.... Would James Hird have been the Champion he was if Sheedy hadv'e played him out of the backline the whole of his Career ?
Would Wayne Carey have been the Match Winner he was if Dennis Pagan hadn't devised " Pagans Paddock " for him ?
Would Garry Ablett (senior or junior) be the player he is/was if he was/is played played out of the back pocket ?
Would Steven Silvagni have made Fullback of the Century if he had been left in the Forward line ?

I think not !

Good Coaches identify players strengths & weaknesses, then build a team structure around that which will get the ultimate potential out of the player/s. Then he devises & implements a successful stratergy around that.

This is where Wilson fell down miserably, cause he had the talent at his disposal, he just didn't have the insight to bring it out & direct it effectively.
He also failed to Discipline, & thats a " Killer " ! (Rnd 4)
Or Who knows ? Maybe he knew it was his last year !
Thing is Unfullfilled Potential is a Travesty.
Only time will tell I guess, so once again.... Good luck Flat !

Doona2
19 Jan 2008, 11:18
You should perhaps THINK before you go potting innocent people like that !
Many country based Essendon supporters go & watch Bomber games Einstein, & guess what ? WE HAVE OPINIONS !

And just for the record, I am neither M Dillon or a mate of his !

I did think sorry, just obviously thought wrongly. With the previous Gisborne connected posts I thought that you may have been a friend just flying the flag for a mate thats all.

Wasn't having a go, and would hate for you to take it that way. Like I said I dont follow the BFL or the Bombers (actually a Roosters fan), was trying to filter thru the info to see where the interest in DW was generated from.

Would be a tough gig the VFL 2's Id imagine, as most guys that are good enough to play standard opt to play in VCFL leagues instead as we all need to be compensated for missed employment or time spent away from families on a weekend.

perspicuous_1
19 Jan 2008, 11:26
I did think sorry, just obviously thought wrongly. With the previous Gisborne connected posts I thought that you may have been a friend just flying the flag for a mate thats all.

Wasn't having a go, and would hate for you to take it that way. Like I said I dont follow the BFL or the Bombers (actually a Roosters fan), was trying to filter thru the info to see where the interest in DW was generated from.

Would be a tough gig the VFL 2's Id imagine, as most guys that are good enough to play standard opt to play in VCFL leagues instead as we all need to be compensated for missed employment or time spent away from families on a weekend.

Apology accepted, Keep contributing mate.
Shhh sometimes things on here arent always as they seem !

davis 24
19 Jan 2008, 21:02
[quote=davis 24;9895830]

Pioneers haven`t made any cuts as yet have they.

yea they had one cut before christmas

Beep Test
19 Jan 2008, 23:41
See that is where you a Fundamentally Wrong, It's
" Good COACHES make good players "
For example.... Would James Hird have been the Champion he was if Sheedy hadv'e played him out of the backline the whole of his Career ?
Would Wayne Carey have been the Match Winner he was if Dennis Pagan hadn't devised " Pagans Paddock " for him ?
Would Garry Ablett (senior or junior) be the player he is/was if he was/is played played out of the back pocket ?
Would Steven Silvagni have made Fullback of the Century if he had been left in the Forward line ?

I think not !

Good Coaches identify players strengths & weaknesses, then build a team structure around that which will get the ultimate potential out of the player/s. Then he devises & implements a successful stratergy around that.

This is where Wilson fell down miserably, cause he had the talent at his disposal, he just didn't have the insight to bring it out & direct it effectively.
He also failed to Discipline, & thats a " Killer " ! (Rnd 4)
Or Who knows ? Maybe he knew it was his last year !
Thing is Unfullfilled Potential is a Travesty.
Only time will tell I guess, so once again.... Good luck Flat !

Yes all your points are valid

with due respect you are talking about legends and icons of the game and my answer to that is yes they probably would have been no matter where they played.

You are right with coaches strategy, but we are talking seconds footy here

Just a little info " Carlton were quoted to build another premiership side from 95 around Kouta, Adrian whitehead, Campo" (where the Blues now 05 should have been their premiership window) - No coach knows what he has for the future the game moves to quick

I am a Wilson fan, after seeing the three peat he produced at colbo most central vic footy public admire that

when it comes to discipline, the way that wilson kept the side together to win the flag against Broadford and the Adrian Baker show in 03, should be mentioned.

"Good Coaches Manage Good Players" - " Good players make good coaches"

I think BFL clubs need to look out for Flat

Time to move on

theleak
20 Jan 2008, 13:13
just reading through the best rated coaches in country vic thread and came across this:

stringy

Re: Best Coaches in country football
great coach is darryl wilson, played in premierships at colbinabbin and later coached them to 3 premierships in a row, and is now assistant coach with the bendigo bombers in the vfl. his communication and organisation is second to none

I can't see how hw could have been too bad! Should do Flat the world of good.

Halffullonfence
20 Jan 2008, 13:54
[quote=Halffullonfence;9894422]

Watched him in September in trial games at Cannons the only way he can be at Pioneers is if they passed on him and he applied to go to Pioneers or has changed residential address into the Pioneers zone . Do you know which one it is D24.

ant22
20 Jan 2008, 17:31
looks like there should be some massive news this week with a star of the league looking to head west of the border. stay tuned....

davis 24
20 Jan 2008, 17:33
[quote=davis 24;9895830]

Watched him in September in trial games at Cannons the only way he can be at Pioneers is if they passed on him and he applied to go to Pioneers or has changed residential address into the Pioneers zone . Do you know which one it is D24.

Massina now lives in Kyneton so that is the reason he is with the pioneers

davis 24
20 Jan 2008, 17:34
looks like there should be some massive news this week with a star of the league looking to head west of the border. stay tuned....

And can u fill us in on who that might be ?????????

ant22
21 Jan 2008, 07:06
And can u fill us in on who that might be ?????????

No, but when the news breaks I imagine it will be a pretty big talking point on this board.

doogey wondall
21 Jan 2008, 18:41
No, but when the news breaks I imagine it will be a pretty big talking point on this board. would not be kain robins to east perth would it?

ant22
21 Jan 2008, 18:52
would not be kain robins to east perth would it?

nup, not that far west

doogey wondall
21 Jan 2008, 18:57
nup, not that far west south adelaide

JennaJ
21 Jan 2008, 20:28
Wrong player and wrong club

*insight*
22 Jan 2008, 06:37
[quote=JennaJ;9915076]Wrong player and wrong club[/quote

club -gisborne, player - luke saunders , am led to believe monday night was the last night he had to decide by so unsure on his decision but that is definatly the player mentioned, maybe some one from gisborne can confirm what his decision was.

September
22 Jan 2008, 10:59
Can someone tell me if Chris Belz is still playn in the BFL and if so where, howz he going etc?

tom nixon
23 Jan 2008, 13:22
bears boy,
how are you son? how is everything going down at the graveyard, how are all the boys training? anymore recruits we should know about?

Norfolk & Clew
23 Jan 2008, 15:18
Heard a rumor that Square today signed gun midfielder Daniel McLoughlan from Wangaratta. Can anyone confirm this?

ant22
24 Jan 2008, 07:18
[quote=JennaJ;9915076]Wrong player and wrong club[/quote

club -gisborne, player - luke saunders , am led to believe monday night was the last night he had to decide by so unsure on his decision but that is definatly the player mentioned, maybe some one from gisborne can confirm what his decision was.

Can confirm he is off to port adelaide magpies. Apparently a very tough decision for him but a very good one I reckon. It will be good to see how he goes in what is arguably the 2nd best league in the country. Also a very good learning opportunity to play for one of the countries most famous football clubs. Good luck lukey.

Trickle Frigwod
24 Jan 2008, 11:48
Heard a rumor that Square today signed gun midfielder Daniel McLoughlan from Wangaratta. Can anyone confirm this?

Did hear that apparently played over 150 games in the O&M and is a more than handy player. Will boost squares midfield. Also heard the Mark Lloyd is a massive chance to head back to square.

Luke Saunders news is huge i have no doubt there would be some very happy opposition side defenders. No doubt he has caused some headaches for these blokes over the years.

GG Rides Again
24 Jan 2008, 15:02
[quote=*insight*;9916994]

Can confirm he is off to port adelaide magpies. Apparently a very tough decision for him but a very good one I reckon. It will be good to see how he goes in what is arguably the 2nd best league in the country. Also a very good learning opportunity to play for one of the countries most famous football clubs. Good luck lukey.

1)AFL
2)VFL - because of the AFL Players
then SANFL
3)SANFL is full of blokes not quite up to AFL standard but very good players. Alot of country vic good players are heading over again this year. A few going from Echuca and Shepp as well.

4)WAFL long last at present.

rogerdoger
24 Jan 2008, 15:11
[quote=ant22;9931616]

1)AFL
then SANFL
3)SANFL is full of blokes not quite up to AFL standard but very good players. Alot of country vic good players are heading over again this year. A few going from Echuca and Shepp as well.

5) B&DFL

ant22
24 Jan 2008, 15:18
[quote=ant22;9931616]

1)AFL
then SANFL

hence the word arguably. Im no expect on the sanfl but some def believe it is a better league

The Talking Goat
24 Jan 2008, 15:56
Did hear that apparently played over 150 games in the O&M and is a more than handy player. Will boost squares midfield. Also heard the Mark Lloyd is a massive chance to head back to square.

Luke Saunders news is huge i have no doubt there would be some very happy opposition side defenders. No doubt he has caused some headaches for these blokes over the years.
i reckon you in particular would be very pleased with the saunders news trickle. i understand you've had some good battles with him over the years old mate

BIGANT
24 Jan 2008, 17:00
[quote=GG Rides Again;9934526]

hence the word arguably. Im no expect on the sanfl but some def believe it is a better league

You can say arguably but sanfl has the score on the board....the vfl these days because of the revamped system the afl goes by is so much in a comp for developing for the afl.
Why is'nt the wafl stronger than it should be !? as there are alot of victorians that play over there !?
Fair enough alot of sanfl clubs these days look to victorian country for players and their would be a high percentage of vc players that are up to the standard or do well.
Even before the afl (then vfl) became national the sanfl would've been on a par if not just in front of the old vfl.
Either way the sanfl & vfl will always be the best two competions outside the afl....
WAFL maybe no 1. for lifestyle :D:p:thumbsu:

max powers.
25 Jan 2008, 08:28
[quote=ant22;9934672]

You can say arguably but sanfl has the score on the board....the vfl these days because of the revamped system the afl goes by is so much in a comp for developing for the afl.
Why is'nt the wafl stronger than it should be !? as there are alot of victorians that play over there !?
Fair enough alot of sanfl clubs these days look to victorian country for players and their would be a high percentage of vc players that are up to the standard or do well.
Even before the afl (then vfl) became national the sanfl would've been on a par if not just in front of the old vfl.
Either way the sanfl & vfl will always be the best two competions outside the afl....
WAFL maybe no 1. for lifestyle :D:p:thumbsu:

You must be having a laugh saying the SANFL would have been on a par with the old VFL(which is now the AFL). The old VFL was the best Comp by a country mile in the the land as the best players from the SANFL went to play in the VFL....Blight, Cable,Glendenning,Farmer ect.
I'm hoping i've misunderstood your original post. If so im a DC.If not your a DC

Trickle Frigwod
25 Jan 2008, 08:41
i reckon you in particular would be very pleased with the saunders news trickle. i understand you've had some good battles with him over the years old mate

If i played on Saunders he would break the goal kicking record mate.. you must have the wrong bloke i couldn't get a kick in a Karate fight.

darryl 23
25 Jan 2008, 09:31
[quote=BIGANT;9935456]

You must be having a laugh saying the SANFL would have been on a par with the old VFL(which is now the AFL). The old VFL was the best Comp by a country mile in the the land as the best players from the SANFL went to play in the VFL....Blight, Cable,Glendenning,Farmer ect.
I'm hoping i've misunderstood your original post. If so im a DC.If not your a DC
Cable, Glendinning and Farmer (Polly) all came from the W.A.F.L. if my memory serves me correctly.

The Talking Goat
25 Jan 2008, 09:48
If i played on Saunders he would break the goal kicking record mate.. you must have the wrong bloke i couldn't get a kick in a Karate fight.
i'm not so sure about that trickle frigwod

Junky Bish
25 Jan 2008, 10:18
[quote=max powers.;9939630]
Cable, Glendinning and Farmer (Polly) all came from the W.A.F.L. if my memory serves me correctly.

Thats right those players were the cream of the WA at different stages but they came over to play in the VFL because it was the number 1 comp.

Just on the argument about the SANFL and the VFL the VFL is widely known as the 2nd best comp in the nation as it has the most AFL listed players running around while there seems to be numerous players trying to keep themselves under the nose of the AFL clubs by playing in the VFL in preference to playing in the SANFL or WAFL e.g- Cloke and Skipworth.

max powers.
25 Jan 2008, 10:52
haha spot on i was just checking if anyone was awake?
My point was that all the interstate cream came to the VFL....

BIGANT
25 Jan 2008, 12:49
Cable, Glendinning and Farmer (Polly) all came from the W.A.F.L. if my memory serves me correctly. You misunderstood mate & my mis pronounciation could be blame too.
In saying the old vfl i meant the vfa !! it's much of a muchness the difference between the two state leagues and one that would have opinions for both arguments.Yes the vfl does have that advantage of afl listed players but as does the sanfl with their crows or port listed players on a smaller scale.
The continual exodus of vfl/vcfl highly rated players to s.a does prove that the sanfl is a good standard to re-ignite ones fortunes to get back in the system or to improve ones self after starting out and looking to test yourself in the next best comp outside the afl.
Anyway this argument probably has been tossed and turned already in other threads.
In getting back to where i was going to go with this post....What type of player is Saunders and will he make the transition easily or he may need some adjustment !?

Trickle Frigwod
25 Jan 2008, 13:04
i'm not so sure about that trickle frigwod

You seem to be in the know goat!! You heard anything about Mark Fitzgerald and Elmore?

Damian_Brown
25 Jan 2008, 14:53
hey all,

just letting you know how im fairing up north of the border. extremelly well as a matter of fact, my foot is coming along nicely and i am reasonably fit.

we have an intra club on feb 22nd and then some praccy's in late march. ill let u all know how i go....and how many go through the big sticks. haha!

catchya all,

Damo xoxo

howzat
25 Jan 2008, 16:40
[quote=darryl 23;9939899]
In getting back to where i was going to go with this post....What type of player is Saunders and will he make the transition easily or he may need some adjustment !?best country footballer ive seen (and hardest). quality players like this bloke will step up to that level without to much trouble. vic country vice captain 2 years ago and would have been captain last year if not for injury. absolute champion bloke to.

ant22
25 Jan 2008, 17:34
[quote=BIGANT;9935456]

not sure how may name attached to the post you are referring to. I would never suggest that the old vfl was on par with the sanfl. I have always thought the old vfl was by far the best league.

ant22
25 Jan 2008, 17:38
[quote=BIGANT;9941289]best country footballer ive seen (and hardest). quality players like this bloke will step up to that level without to much trouble. vic country vice captain 2 years ago and would have been captain last year if not for injury. absolute champion bloke to.

If we can agree that the vfl and sanfl are both of similar standards then it is fare to say he is already proven at this level. Played a few games with carltons vfl side(when they had a stand alone) about 4-5 years back and preformed very well(well enough to be invited to train with the ones in that pre season) and also played 1s with coburg when alot younger.
Agreed that he is a legend of a bloke.

GG Rides Again
25 Jan 2008, 18:48
The continual exodus of vfl/vcfl highly rated players to s.a does prove that the sanfl is a good standard to re-ignite ones fortunes to get back in the system or to improve ones self after starting out and looking to test yourself in the next best comp outside the afl.

It also means they pay well if not better than most VFL clubs as they have an untapped market and are not competing on the same scale for the dollar all vic clubs are.
I know a few playing in the SANFL and they wont play AFL but they will be very well compensated for their efforts

zakster
26 Jan 2008, 09:26
speaking of playrs heading west hears one 4 u
seamus young of the hurst will join his bro ross young at perth club in the wafl
beleve ross was on carltons rooky list but was delisted ovr summr meaning both youngs will be in perths colors this wintr

fifth quarter
26 Jan 2008, 10:31
have heard james cozens will be bak in the maroon and blue after a shoulder reco
and kieran prowse returns to the q after a couple of years teaching in the u.k.
prowse is a handy addition .... inter leag player apart from kicking in skills for the dragns after a behind has been scored

The Talking Goat
26 Jan 2008, 12:23
You seem to be in the know goat!! You heard anything about Mark Fitzgerald and Elmore?
heard rumour about fitzgerald moving down to melbourne to play. i think elmore had a crack at him a year or two ago

Trickle Frigwod
29 Jan 2008, 11:59
[quote=BIGANT;9941289]best country footballer ive seen (and hardest). quality players like this bloke will step up to that level without to much trouble. vic country vice captain 2 years ago and would have been captain last year if not for injury. absolute champion bloke to.

Agree with this he has is the best player going around and not becuase he has the strongest hands or great skills but because he is the hardest, he tackles, chases, smoothers, blocks and does all the little things better than anyone and in 5 minutes he can win you a game. Not many blokes capable of that..

howzat
29 Jan 2008, 13:13
Also heard the Mark Lloyd is a massive chance to head back to square.
Lioyd to Tyntynder i believe and souths tasca to swan hill

Zillmere Eagles
29 Jan 2008, 19:37
Anyone interested in a change of lifestyle which includes playing for the Zillmere Eagles in the State League competition (AFLQ) please contact me privately.

The club has a terrific history and are a young club on the rise after playing in the 2006 AFLQ Grand Final and last season winning the Reserve Grade Premiership. One of the top 5 clubs Australia Wide for players drafted.

Club has been involved in some off field issues which have now been resolved but have found ourselves slow out of the blocks from a recruiting point of view. The club is seeking recruits who feel they have something to offer at this level and would like to take the oppurtunity to live in QLD and play in the AFLQ.

ROOTA#6
29 Jan 2008, 20:47
Lioyd to Tyntynder i believe and souths tasca to swan hill

Wouldn't have thought Lloydy would play against Kerang and if he did i'd reckon he would most likely go with Swan hill as his missus old man has had heaps to do with them over the years

hank1
30 Jan 2008, 06:48
Wouldn't have thought Lloydy would play against Kerang and if he did i'd reckon he would most likely go with Swan hill as his missus old man has had heaps to do with them over the years

Living and playing with Clint Kelly(Tyntynder) up in Darwin, so would be a bit of pressure from there.

Trickle Frigwod
30 Jan 2008, 11:55
Living and playing with Clint Kelly(Tyntynder) up in Darwin, so would be a bit of pressure from there.

Last time i spoke to him he was deciding between Kerang and Golden Square and it depended on him getting a job apparently Square have got him one would be very surprised to see him play at a different club in the CMFL.. would think a bloke by the name of Brett Jardine would make a comeback to play against him if he went to tyntynder or swan hill.

JennaJ
30 Jan 2008, 20:47
Alright boys clearances start up Friday any definite signing or departures.
Heres one for you S. Elsum will be playing back at gissie this year

orion21
30 Jan 2008, 20:48
PLAYING COACH WANTED

Due to extreme circumstances Ararat Eagles, affiliated with the Lexton Plains Football League are seeking a playing coach for the 2008 season. Excellent playing and social room facilities with a young list to work with. Have been getting on average 24 players to training at the moment. For more information contact me throuogh a personal message. Closing date 8th Feb.

GG Rides Again
31 Jan 2008, 07:34
Alright boys clearances start up Friday any definite signing or departures.
Heres one for you S. Elsum will be playing back at gissie this year

I heard he was going to play at Rochy with Lenny for 1 year. He hasnt played for 1 or 2 years?

howzat
31 Jan 2008, 07:42
I heard he was going to play at Rochy with Lenny for 1 year. He hasnt played for 1 or 2 years?he trained last night at gissy and is a done deal. hes been doing triathlons for a year or 2 so extremely fit. will be very handy coming off a back flank .

Kings Army
31 Jan 2008, 09:40
he trained last night at gissy and is a done deal. hes been doing triathlons for a year or 2 so extremely fit. will be very handy coming off a back flank .

Good result for Gissy - lose a Michelson Medal winner and then gain a Michelson Medel winner.

darryl 23
1 Feb 2008, 13:47
Good result for Gissy - lose a Michelson Medal winner and then gain a Michelson Medel winner.
Is there any reason why Elsum would not have returned to Kyneton. I am sure that Cooky would love his type of experience around the club.

Up The Calder
1 Feb 2008, 13:53
Have it on very good authority that Mark Scerri will not be with the Kyneton Tigers this year. Looking to play in Melbourne I believe.

Another mercenary to leave Tigerland. That makes Reaper, Eve, Orton, Sultan, Funsten and now Scerri to depart in 08.They were all payed on reputation. That must give Cook plenty of $s to spend and given the output those players gave in 07 the club is probably better off. Especially Reaper & Eve.

davis 24
1 Feb 2008, 21:42
Another mercenary to leave Tigerland. That makes Reaper, Eve, Orton, Sultan, Funsten and now Scerri to depart in 08.They were all payed on reputation. That must give Cook plenty of $s to spend and given the output those players gave in 07 the club is probably better off. Especially Reaper & Eve.

Sultan is the biggest lost from tigerland, 1 more year at the club and he would have won them a flag.. he had skills that would of won him the Michelson Medal this year..... The only reason i see him leaving is he is trying to kick start his career somewhere else ... hopefully getting him drafted into the a.f.l next season....

P E S T
2 Feb 2008, 01:00
Sultan is the biggest lost from tigerland, 1 more year at the club and he would have won them a flag.. he had skills that would of won him the Michelson Medal this year..... The only reason i see him leaving is he is trying to kick start his career somewhere else ... hopefully getting him drafted into the a.f.l next season....

I don't know which Sultan you have been watching mate but the Sultan from tigerland couldn't get a kick in a karate fight! and is as far off the Michelson as Britney Spears is getting her kids back! Best thing they could have done at tigerland was get rid of him :thumbsu:, and as UTC finely put..... They will have alot more $ to spend! But hopefully the recruiting team can get it right this time!

GG Rides Again
2 Feb 2008, 19:57
and is as far off the Michelson as Britney Spears is getting her kids back!

Absolute Gold. :D:thumbsu:

howzat
3 Feb 2008, 08:41
Sultan is the biggest lost from tigerland, 1 more year at the club and he would have won them a flag.. he had skills that would of won him the Michelson Medal this year..... The only reason i see him leaving is he is trying to kick start his career somewhere else ... hopefully getting him drafted into the a.f.l next season....these are 3 of the most extraordinary comments ive ever heard .

have kyneton picked up any players of note this year davis ?

davis 24
3 Feb 2008, 18:47
these are 3 of the most extraordinary comments ive ever heard .

have kyneton picked up any players of note this year davis ?

Rumour has it Kyneton is looking at signing Sultans younger brother heard he is not as good as is older brother (not many players are, Nathan Buckley is a exception haha) but is commitment is second to none and if we give him $2000 a game he will win us a flag this year... even said he might stay pass round 13

not much other news going around tiger land atm

Up The Calder
4 Feb 2008, 14:44
Truth or rumours?
Gisbornes new asistant coach getting punched up by one of their new recruits at a gathering last weekend. More players involved. Sounds like Billy will be having his work cut out with all of the big personalities at the kennel this year.

davis 24
4 Feb 2008, 14:58
Truth or rumours?
Gisbornes new asistant coach getting punched up by one of their new recruits at a gathering last weekend. More players involved. Sounds like Billy will be having his work cut out with all of the big personalities at the kennel this year.

Well when we all thought everything was going fine at Gisborne and then this happends... could you fill us in a little more like actual names etc....

JennaJ
4 Feb 2008, 16:12
Truth or rumours?

Think your making up stories UTC

Up The Calder
5 Feb 2008, 07:35
Think your making up stories UTC

Tom May
Jordan Barham.

No stories here.

Junky Bish
5 Feb 2008, 21:34
Pretty big news day today for the Bendigo addy boys a feature back page story on an Under 16 side 2 hours away struggling for players!!

Can someone ring in and tell them your club has signed a few...

Word has it that kyneton's pre-season ticking along nicely and they are confident of a top 5 finish.

Who's Barry Badrinath?
6 Feb 2008, 10:35
Truth or rumours?

could be a good thing for gisborne. some elmore boys got in a bit of a scuffle at the start of last season,names including andy grant and fevaeleki and they went on to win the flag in the hdfl.

CarefulObserver
6 Feb 2008, 16:48
LOL nice to see Barham keeping up his top form from the VFL......

Up the Calder ....... any idea what it was all about ????

pentium1111
9 Feb 2008, 09:56
LOL nice to see Barham keeping up his top form from the VFL......

Up the Calder ....... any idea what it was all about ????

Can confirm this rumour, was at the gathering. They went through a colourbond fence.

PANTSPARTY
10 Feb 2008, 20:09
Christian Shields, played for south few yrs back, my reports have it he's developing into a handy ruckman. Any comments???

JennaJ
11 Feb 2008, 10:31
Massive loss for castlemaine with matty peake applying for a clearance.

Also looks as though kyneton and the slags might struggle this year with alot of players leaving

Shire
11 Feb 2008, 14:27
who are the coaches of the bfl teams this year?

JennaJ
11 Feb 2008, 14:48
who are the coaches of the bfl teams this year?

Castlemaine FNC Jamie Elliot
Eaglehawk FNC Derrick Filo
Gisborne FNC Marcus Barham
Golden Square FNC
Kangaroo Flat FNC Darryl Wilson
Kyneton FNC Brett Cook
Maryborough FNC
Sandhurst FNC
South Bendigo FNC

Thats all i got off the top of my head buddy

CarefulObserver
11 Feb 2008, 14:48
Can confirm this rumour, was at the gathering. They went through a colourbond fence.

JENNAJ

Nice to see you know your own club LOL