View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
Kings Army
6 May 2008, 14:50
Unfortunately Shane Fisher is retiring from football. He showed great pre season form but his knee is shot and needs an operation. He will remain on at the borough as off field coach. Very disapointing for the club, because as a player he would have dominated for us.
Are you for real? He never dominated at East Point so now in his twilight he was going to become a gun. He had great foot skills but that where it ends.
Check my post for accuracy and i've been on the money. If you think the guy couldn't play your kidding yourself. From pre season form i think he would have been a marquee player in the league
The Beaks Gossip 07
7 May 2008, 00:23
Check my post for accuracy and i've been on the money. If you think the guy couldn't play your kidding yourself. From pre season form i think he would have been a marquee player in the league
Pre Season form counts for What ? Absolutely Nothing you fool.
How many games did you get out of the Tattooed One?
Yes he would have been a Marqee Player for you, in the Hospitality Marquee.
Go the Burra.
Unfortunately Shane Fisher is retiring from football. He showed great pre season form but his knee is shot and needs an operation. He will remain on at the borough as off field coach. Very disapointing for the club, because as a player he would have dominated for us.
Very disapointing espesically when you recruit a playing coach. A lot was said about his body and that it may not stand up, shame we don't get to see for ourselves if he could play, for Maryborough's sake i hope he can coach.
bunna out
EarToTheGround
7 May 2008, 13:34
Pre Season form counts for What ? Absolutely Nothing you fool.
How many games did you get out of the Tattooed One?
Yes he would have been a Marqee Player for you, in the Hospitality Marquee.
Go the Burra.
Maryborough would have known the risk of him being a playing coach considering East Point got about 2 games a year out of him. The talk is that the contract was able to be adjusted if he became a non playing coach. The playing group are feeling for him and the rest of the club seem to respect him quite a bit from what I gather.
I saw him twice in the night matches and he looked like he was moving quite well and would have made some impact. It counts for something. Whether he played 2 practice matches or two home and away games the result is basically the same; he's an off field coach for the majority of the season.
Tool or not, he's sacrificed his body for footy and will no doubt suffer for this later in life. A lot can be said for a guy willing to have a crack at coaching and especially with all the knockers he has.
EarToTheGround
7 May 2008, 14:00
The Bendigo League odds are now up on Sportsbet.com.au
Kangaroo Flat at $14 seems a bit short.
https://www.sportsbet.com.au/sports/event/SportID/4/CompetitionPID/15490/RoundPID/433/EventID/809038
GREENMAN
8 May 2008, 16:44
Tips for the week by Greenman
Maine V Sandhurst...........Greenman recons the Maine will win this one, close game, but Maine have a little more experiance and will be desperate to reverse the form that saw KF embarrass them
Gis V Maryborough.....Bulldogs by plenty
South v Eaglehawk.........match of the round, but Derricks boys for me, to much fire power in the midfield.
Kyneton V Flat.......Said I would never bag the tigers again and I will be true to my word, but the Roos will win this one, wont be a blow out but about 20 points will be the margin
flatrat49
8 May 2008, 18:32
Flatrat49's Round 4 B.F.L tips for all 3 grades
Seniors
Castlemaine to DEF Sandhurst by 38 points
South Bendigo to DEF Eaglehawk by 13 points
Gisborne to DEF Maryborough by 79 points
Kangaroo Flat to DEF Kyneton by 15 Points
Reserves
Sandhurst to DEF Castlemaine by 13points
South to DEF Eaglehawk by 26 points
Gisborne to DEF Maryborough by 44 points
Kangaroo Flat to DEF Kyneton by 40 Points
Under 18's
Sandhurst to DEF Maine by 37 Points
Eaglehawk to DEF South by 25 Points
Gissy to DEF Maryborough without walking out on the ground!
Kangaroo Flat to DEF Kyneton by 88 Points
MATCH OF THE ROUND!
South Bendigo V Eaglehawk in the seniors
Eaglehawk will lead pretty much all day but will suffer from a few injurys during the game and they will watch South Bendigo Grab the much needed Points :)
fifth quarter
8 May 2008, 19:37
fifths tips for round 4
maine by 23 points over hurst .... hurst to fire up after copping plenty of flak about lack of goal kicking ability .... 9 goals in 2 matches maine has more scoring options
flat to get home by about 18-19 pts. over kyneton tate will be the flat's biggest worry the guy can play ruck/on-ball/up forward
gissie to beat a game maryborough by 55 points at the graveyard the young pies will have a dip but jordy barham is big and will stretch chaddy
eaglehawk at home especially if lockie plays to beat south the bloods will have a dip but the hawks are good
adam icely
9 May 2008, 12:39
Are you for real? He never dominated at East Point so now in his twilight he was going to become a gun. He had great foot skills but that where it ends.
Ice man here- Shane Fisher has never been any good. Too immobile for a small bloke and too soft for a tall. Guys like me and Brad Fox would have torn him apart in our hey day. Stickers wont win you games, fights or first place in your local bingo so forget about playing the strong man Fisher and get back to the Ballarat league where you had a small amount of respect (and i mean very small). You had the best list in country footy at East Ballarat and couldn't win a flag so how do you propose to win games with a list of sh!tkickers?
Ice man out!
Junky Bish
9 May 2008, 12:50
Should be some ripper games tomorrow and don't be surprised to see Marybrough give Gisborne a real scare. I had a Read the South vs Eaglehawk preview on the centralvicfooty site and it mentions the Burra have had a few goals kicked against them so far this season they kick plenty to I suppose which should make tommorrow a shoot out.
darryl 23
9 May 2008, 15:08
Should be some ripper games tomorrow and don't be surprised to see Marybrough give Gisborne a real scare. I had a Read the South vs Eaglehawk preview on the centralvicfooty site and it mentions the Burra have had a few goals kicked against them so far this season they kick plenty to I suppose which should make tommorrow a shoot out.
Kyneton must win tomorrow, I notice that Rhyce Ellis is named in the forward pocket as is another youngster in Jack Redpath. Tate at full back is interesting if he lines up there. Castlemaine, Gisborne and Eaglehawk to win the rest.
Tips
Eaglehawk in the big one by 21
Kangaroo Flat by 27
Castlemaine by 15
Gisborne by 63
bunna out
Tony Holdstock
9 May 2008, 16:40
Kyneton must win tomorrow, I notice that Rhyce Ellis is named in the forward pocket as is another youngster in Jack Redpath. Tate at full back is interesting if he lines up there. Castlemaine, Gisborne and Eaglehawk to win the rest.
sorry darryl but, unless flat come out like their name sake kyneton are up for another loss. although they have the experience and class of cook, dryden, tate and chambers their kids aren't as equipped as the youngsters from KF. Also KF will run the tigers off their legs with the difference in fitness between the two clubs.
showusya
9 May 2008, 17:39
Ice man here- Shane Fisher has never been any good. Too immobile for a small bloke and too soft for a tall. Guys like me and Brad Fox would have torn him apart in our hey day. Stickers wont win you games, fights or first place in your local bingo so forget about playing the strong man Fisher and get back to the Ballarat league where you had a small amount of respect (and i mean very small). You had the best list in country footy at East Ballarat and couldn't win a flag so how do you propose to win games with a list of sh!tkickers?
Ice man out!
What a wanker! The only way the Maryborough boys should be classed as sh!tkickers is if they were Kicking you ice man.
Ice man in
Well no-one was good enough to do it in the 90's when men were men so i doubt it would happen these days after the iceman has spent a few years in the gym kickin serious iron. Maryborough are no good lets be honest, fisher= bad coach and bad coaches have bad ink.... The iceman aint got tatts cause arms like these dont need em.
Iceman out!
Forget to change log ins did we mate??
Jock Clark 2
9 May 2008, 20:34
I remembered mine Rooty.
Bit of info going around about a cuppla matters:-
i/. Name of country footy identity who laid down the "Mounts could beat Flat and Maine" statement is becoming better and more widely known around the traps. Word is he's involved in the media right across town --- maybe into the VFL promotions scene, too.
Think on that one.
ii/. Big Boy B. and mates will be getting a spell from 89.5 FM radio duties shortly. The outfit headed up by one G. Morris is getting another gig next month.
That frequency is getting a real pounding. The ABC is extra keen to snaffle it for direct parliamentary b'casts. That's something to look forward to if it comes off.
Riveting stuff.
TRAVCLOKE#32
9 May 2008, 22:53
Just wondering how Michael Bateman is going at Golden Square this year?
Wildcard
10 May 2008, 03:33
I remembered mine Rooty.
i/. Name of country footy identity who laid down the "Mounts could beat Flat and Maine" statement is becoming better and more widely known around the traps. Word is he's involved in the media right across town --- maybe into the VFL promotions scene, too.
Think on that one.
Can tell you now that this whole thing has been blown WAY out of proportion! Guy in question was attending Flat/Maine game and was asked of his opinions of the game. His response was something along the lines of: "I reckon Mounts would beat both these teams" - an off-the-cuff remark I think in regards to the quality of the game, not the ability of the teams.
Can also tell you that the person in question has no media involvement whatsoever, although I can't say the same of the second person in the conversation.
fifth quarter
10 May 2008, 20:06
flat 20.15, kyneton tiges 7.11
eaglehwk 20.12, south 17.12 (d. filo played and snagged 3 saus. rolls)
gissy won by a bit over maryburra but not a huge flogging, and
the maine pumped the hurst by close to 100 pts, maybe over the ton
flat 20.15, kyneton tiges 7.11
eaglehwk 20.12, south 17.12 (d. filo played and snagged 3 saus. rolls)
gissy won by a bit over maryburra but not a huge flogging, and
the maine pumped the hurst by close to 100 pts, maybe over the ton
I did see that Filo played... Just a one off??
flatrat49
11 May 2008, 02:15
KANGAROO FLAT HOW ABOUT THAT!!!!!
Kangflat won all 3 grades again this weekend...
Seniors:
KANG FLAT 20.15.135
def
KYNETON 7.11.53
Reserves:
KANG FLAT 22.21.153
def
KYNETON 2.2.14
Under 18's
KANG FLAT 14.9.93
def
KYNETON 4.4.28
**Kangaroo flat ressies are in for a good year already sitting 4th 2-2
bye next week with another 4 pts will be a good test agst EAGLEHAWK in a fortnights time**
thatswhatimtalkinabout
11 May 2008, 02:23
^^^^^**You will be slaughtered. Don't get too excited by your test against the Burra.
Those 4 points for the bye will be the highlight of that fortnight.
zakster
11 May 2008, 19:24
flatty rat u wld agree i reckon every1 seemd pretty relaxed at dowr park saturday every1 except tiges cooky who seemd stressed mainly by his teams terrible efforts i suppose but no 1 from the flat worried about the mt. pleasant thing from anzac nite
ROOTA#6
11 May 2008, 22:11
I remembered mine Rooty.
Think on that one.
ii/. Big Boy B. and mates will be getting a spell from 89.5 FM radio duties shortly. The outfit headed up by one G. Morris is getting another gig next month.
That frequency is getting a real pounding. The ABC is extra keen to snaffle it for direct parliamentary b'casts. That's something to look forward to if it comes off.
Riveting stuff.
Wrong on that one Jock but keep working on it
GREENMAN
11 May 2008, 23:35
How low must poor Cookie be feeling, can it possibly get any worse at Kyneton, Flat have improved , but not by that much. Maybe the committee have to have a long hard look at themselves, and become professional,,,,, set the standard, demand excellance, work to a plan and who knows what will happen. Said I wouldnt bag Kyneton again, but boy am I dissapointed with them as is most Kyneton supporters. Just have a go
Dale Alexander
12 May 2008, 06:48
Riveting stuff.[/quote]
This will not effect the football broadcasts on Saturdays, it will be as normal by The Fresh 895 FM from 7am, Cheers.
fifth quarter
12 May 2008, 12:35
and the footy panel shows midweek n even on mondays will they still be on ??
The fatman
12 May 2008, 16:29
had to work was not at dower park on saturday would be very disappointed in the result thought would be much closer than that. Heard on the fresh that the tigers needed 3 more tates to be competitive. So to thatswhatimtalkingabout could you help out and get in touch with Russ :eek:Bottle:eek: and Terry Tait to see if the are ready for a run to help out could strengthen bar takings i would say. watch out the bourgh the tigers are going to sharpen there teeth.
Who is up there in The bendigo football league this season? I here eaglehawk is going alrite, but they will lose big guns kane robins and matt gretrix in the next few weeks to Heathcote. big $$$$
flatrat49
15 May 2008, 20:06
Flatrat's Round 5 B.F.L Tip's in Seniors and Ressie's
Seniors:
Golden Square in a well fought contest agst Eaglehawk By (20)
South Bendigo too strong and would like to get back on the winners list after last weeks Def to Burra By (31)
Maryborough well have to much run over kyneton while kyneton heads will be down after last week agst Flat By (58)
Gissy you can't pick Hurst theres no buts about it... By (130)
Ressies:
Golden Sq to beat Ehawk by 25
South to string for Maine by 40
Mborough to strong and fast for Kyneton By 89
Gissy with there eye's shut over Hurst By 90 :rolleyes:
ROOTA#6
16 May 2008, 11:08
Who is up there in The bendigo football league this season? I here eaglehawk is going alrite, but they will lose big guns kane robins and matt gretrix in the next few weeks to Heathcote. big $$$$
Where is the info on Gretrix and Robbins from??? I would have thought that Heathcote have spent their budget already
Fists of Rage
16 May 2008, 14:05
Where is the info on Gretrix and Robbins from??? I would have thought that Heathcote have spent their budget already
flange is on the money, was talking to them both last night offer to good to refuse big coin, coin that has never been paid before out that way, also talk shane davis is in the equation too......
F**king great :rolleyes:
bobbill
16 May 2008, 14:33
If you read the interview with Matt Gretrix on www.centralvicfooty.com (http://www.centralvicfooty.com) I think you would see that Gretrix is happy at Eaglehawk.
darryl 23
16 May 2008, 15:03
Kyneton has pushed up more youngsters for the game against Maryborough. Hopefully the mix is right this week and they can pull off a much needed win. If they line up as selected the half forward line looks capable of causing some headaches. Eaglehawk, South and Gisborne to win the other games.
PINNACLE HEALTH
16 May 2008, 16:37
F**king great :rolleyes:
Doon, there's more chance of Elvis doing a world tour than this happening.
ROOTA#6
16 May 2008, 16:48
I just remembered....isn't Robbins Assistant Coach at Eaglehawk this year???
derrick7
16 May 2008, 17:45
Do you believe this to be realistic,don't start silly rumours just for the sake of it!
TRAVCLOKE#32
16 May 2008, 17:50
Tips for this weekend fellas?
Golden Square V Eaglehawk
South Bendigo V Castlemaine
Maryborough V Kyneton
Gisborne V Sandhurst
Flatrat's Round 5 B.F.L Tip's in Seniors and Ressie's
Seniors:
Golden Square in a well fought contest agst Eaglehawk By (20)
South Bendigo too strong and would like to get back on the winners list after last weeks Def to Burra By (31)
Maryborough well have to much run over kyneton while kyneton heads will be down after last week agst Flat By (58)
Gissy you can't pick Hurst theres no buts about it... By (130)
Ressies:
Golden Sq to beat Ehawk by 25
South to string for Maine by 40
Mborough to strong and fast for Kyneton By 89
Gissy with there eye's shut over Hurst By 90 :rolleyes:
My tips this week.
Seniors
Eaglehawk to win they will work harder in a very good game 12 points
South to win nothing special though 45 points
Maryborough to bounce back 40 points
Gissy
Ressies
Square comfortably 10 goals+
South same again
Maryborough 70 points
Gissy
The fatman
16 May 2008, 22:37
Why come on with this crap when the saints are just getting choppy waters back.
The fatman
16 May 2008, 22:47
yet to get a tip right but this week i am on fire studied the weather and think no games will be a blow out. My much awaited tips are
Golden Square by a 1 point
Castlemaine by 7 points
Kyneton by 3 points
Gisborne and Sandhurst to share the points after the banks of the jacksons creek bust and the graveyard disappears at approx. 6.30 into the 2nd quarter.
Yet again my Gisborne tip looks the goods Get On.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
16 May 2008, 23:08
yet to get a tip right but this week i am on fire studied the weather and think no games will be a blow out. My much awaited tips are
Castlemaine by 7 points
Kyneton by 3 points
Gisborne and Sandhurst to share the points after the banks of the jacksons creek bust and the graveyard disappears at approx. 6.30 into the 2nd quarter.
Got any other tips brother?
My missus went to the Bendigo races today and got a $44.20 winner in the get out stakes.
Unfortunately she only put a gold donation on it and the books only payed half.
The fatman
17 May 2008, 10:44
Got any other tips brother?
My missus went to the Bendigo races today and got a $44.20 winner in the get out stakes.
Unfortunately she only put a gold donation on it and the books only payed half.
Fritzs princess in sydney. Scracthed from brissy because of a bad draw. around $4 on mark read. Good punting. have you got in touch with any of the taits from our way that eddo wanted to play after last week.
matt_nicholls
19 May 2008, 13:36
Quick question lads. Did Gisborne first play in the BFL in 2000 or 01? I'm pretty sure it was 2000 but don't want to get it wrong.
max powers.
19 May 2008, 13:45
Quick question lads. Did Gisborne first play in the BFL in 2000 or 01? I'm pretty sure it was 2000 but don't want to get it wrong.
2000 matty
2000 matty
max,
looks like g.square are just making up the numbers again your right about them being soft when it counts.
matt_nicholls
19 May 2008, 14:05
2000 matty
Cheers mate
max powers.
19 May 2008, 16:42
max,
looks like g.square are just making up the numbers again your right about them being soft when it counts.
Yablett, i'm not sure where you plucked those comments from? I'm not of that opinion and never will be.
Square will be ok.
ORACLE 69
20 May 2008, 17:03
From all the clubs in the Bendigo League, which clubs would have had the most VFL/AFL footballers and who would be the most famous. I know Diesel Williams was from Golden Square, John Nicholls from Maryborough and Matty Rosa of recent time, who else?
nesko_25
20 May 2008, 17:06
From all the clubs in the Bendigo League, which clubs would have had the most VFL/AFL footballers and who would be the most famous. I know Diesel Williams was from Golden Square, John Nicholls from Maryborough and Matty Rosa of recent time, who else?
Selwoods from Hurst would be the biggest profile. (Sylvia, Brown, Thompson)
ORACLE 69
20 May 2008, 17:08
Selwoods from Hurst would be the biggest profile. (Sylvia, Brown, Thompson)
Which brown and what clubs? I think you mean Nathan Thompson from the Kangas who is from Kyneton?
matt_nicholls
20 May 2008, 17:28
Which brown and what clubs? I think you mean Nathan Thompson from the Kangas who is from Kyneton?
Richmond's Nathan Brown.
max powers.
20 May 2008, 17:39
Sylvia's from Mildura, played pioneers though.
Matty Rosa's not from Bendigo, his family only lives here so i don't think we can claim him.
Golden Square list is
Greg Williams
Nathan Brown
Wayne Campbell
Ricky Nixon
Rick Ladson
Leigh Colbert(played Juniors at Square)??
Just to name a few...very handy
Yablett, i'm not sure where you plucked those comments from? I'm not of that opinion and never will be.
Square will be ok.
Max why are you back peddling, you told me the other night that square are week as pi$$ and you were the only one with any real ticker there and since youve moved on their softer than silk.
Carnaborough
20 May 2008, 17:43
Sylvia's from Mildura, played pioneers though.
Matty Rosa's not from Bendigo, his family only lives here so i don't think we can claim him.
Golden Square list is
Greg Williams
Nathan Brown
Wayne Campbell
Ricky Nixon
Rick Ladson
Leigh Colbert(played Juniors at Square)??
Just to name a few
Eaglehawk
Peter Pianto
Greg Kennedy
Rod Ashman
Des English
Jarryn Geary (Drafted last year)
CHEAP SEATS
20 May 2008, 22:18
Eaglehawk
Peter Pianto
Greg Kennedy
Rod Ashman
Des English
not sure on the early days but more recient players from
sandhurts-
Adam selwooed
Troy selwood
Joel selwood
Scott selwood
Nick dalsanto
Jordan Doring
Blake?
Andrew collins
colud possibly be more.......
Carnaborough
21 May 2008, 09:36
not sure on the early days but more recient players from
sandhurts-
Adam selwooed
Troy selwood
Joel selwood
Scott selwood
Nick dalsanto
Jordan Doring
Blake?
Andrew collins
colud possibly be more.......
Geoff Southby
Trevour Keogh
Brendan Hartney
Graham Arthur
Fred Swift
Brian Walsh
Des Dixon
I think Sandhurst would have the most VFL/AFL players
max powers.
21 May 2008, 10:35
Geoff Southby
Trevour Keogh
Brendan Hartney
Graham Arthur
Fred Swift
Brian Walsh
Des Dixon
I think Sandhurst would have the most VFL/AFL players
Did des dixon play at square aswell?
ORACLE 69
21 May 2008, 11:29
Be interesting for the VCFL to pick a representative team of the best of the VFL/AFL players from each league and compare the leagues. Looking at the names there would be some strong sides.
Carnaborough
21 May 2008, 11:39
Be interesting for the VCFL to pick a representative team of the best of the VFL/AFL players from each league and compare the leagues. Looking at the names there would be some strong sides.
Bendigo would certainly be up there as one of the strongest i would think , we all know how well Carlton went out of Bendigo when we were their zoned area
matt_nicholls
21 May 2008, 11:53
Bendigo would certainly be up there as one of the strongest i would think , we all know how well Carlton went out of Bendigo when we were their zoned area
Bendigo would be for sure. It's a shame they've dropped off a little more in recent times, but I think there are a lot of positive signs to suggest the BFL is starting to turn things around. Don't think the Bombers have helped, that's for sure. The Hampden league would have to be up there as one of the best feeder districts, as would the Ballarat region.
the runner
21 May 2008, 21:44
Castlemaine by 7 points
Kyneton by 3 points
Can anyone there tell the runner how the new coach of Castlemaine is going? big raps on him. Can he coach?
BackPocketBattler
22 May 2008, 22:32
Eaglehawk
Peter Pianto
Greg Kennedy
Rod Ashman
Des English
Don't forget Damien Lock..
Carnaborough
23 May 2008, 08:16
[quote=BackPocketBattler;11103179]Don't forget Damien Lock..[/quote
Sorry Lockie how could i forget
Jack Slattery was another early one
darryl 23
23 May 2008, 11:43
Can anyone there tell the runner how the new coach of Castlemaine is going? big raps on him. Can he coach?
Elliott is playing this week in the grudge match against Kyneton, which if they win, would see Castlemaine slip into the five. The question might be can he coach and play? The tigers have included an ex A.F.L. player in Jeff Bruce Who will make a big difference and see the tiges take the points at the Showgrounds. Other winners will be Square, South and Eaglehawk.
ORACLE 69
23 May 2008, 15:47
Just been to Bendigo and I hear the Bendigo League are letting in a new club. I may be behind the times but can someone fill me in on how it is going and the impact on the other clubs in bendigo and surrounding leagues.
Strathfieldsaye have been chatting with both the BFL and HDFL I think. Word has it they'll generate plenty of interest from sponsors should they go straight into the BFL, but wont if the got to HDFL. Pretty sure they told the HDFL should they opt to go with them it will be for 4-5 years only as they believe by then they'll be too strong for district competition.
Either way it's exciting for those involved with the new venture, and those residents living out that side of town :thumbsu:
the runner
23 May 2008, 18:54
Elliott is playing this week in the grudge match against Kyneton, which if they win, would see Castlemaine slip into the five. The question might be can he coach and play? The tigers have included an ex A.F.L. player in Jeff Bruce Who will make a big difference and see the tiges take the points at the Showgrounds. Other winners will be Square, South and Eaglehawk.
He was a playing coach at darley a few years back where they made the finals every year. I dont no if his body is up to it. How old is he? he looks around 40
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
25 May 2008, 19:14
Hi everyone,
the Doc is back. Long time between drinks.
My poor young Jayco Dragons got a thumping, how did everyone else go?
CHEAP SEATS
27 May 2008, 14:58
Hi everyone,
the Doc is back. Long time between drinks.
My poor young Jayco Dragons got a thumping, how did everyone else go?
All the teams that are expected to win are.
If anyone is looking for something to do this saterday there is a bus running from bendigo up to Macorna football club for a day of grass roots footy.
-Bus leaving QEO at 10:30 am Sat 31st May
-Returning QEO at 7:30pm that night
-Cost $80 includes, Bus up and back,entry to groud, food and beer from 12 till game finishes.
Cheap day and lots of fun to be had. contact CHEAP SEATS on 0409007091:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
nesko_25
27 May 2008, 15:28
If anyone is looking for something to do this saterday there is a bus running from bendigo up to Macorna football club for a day of grass roots footy.
-Cost $80 includes, Bus up and back,entry to groud, food and beer from 12 till game finishes.
Cheap day and lots of fun to be had. contact CHEAP SEATS on 0409007091:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Where is Macorna?
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
27 May 2008, 16:29
I recognise that mobile number..... Capt'n Sandhurst!!
If it's who I think it is, a good time will be assured!
CHEAP SEATS
28 May 2008, 14:53
Where is Macorna?
Macorna is about 25km bendigo side of kerang. It takes just over an hour to get there from bendigo. It should be a great game as both sides on saturday are 1 and 2 playing for to spot and no love lost between Macorna and Wandella over the years.
X bendigo player coaches Wandella (Ash Wilson).
darryl 23
30 May 2008, 15:30
What is going on in the Bendigo league, half a dozen posts in a week would indicate not much interest or is everyone posting somewhere else? Not one post re interleague.
Trickle Frigwod
30 May 2008, 17:52
What is going on in the Bendigo league, half a dozen posts in a week would indicate not much interest or is everyone posting somewhere else? Not one post re interleague.
Its probably not worth talking about. Geelong will probably smash every side in pool b.. Still great to see the elite players of our comp get the recognition they deserve for good starts to the season.
I don't think there are any players in the squad that are not deserving of a spot. Hopefully we get through with no injuries.
betterinthewet
30 May 2008, 22:04
Its probably not worth talking about. Geelong will probably smash every side in pool b.. Still great to see the elite players of our comp get the recognition they deserve for good starts to the season.
I don't think there are any players in the squad that are not deserving of a spot. Hopefully we get through with no injuries.
surely bgo are not serious.work commitments my arse.:mad:
GREENMAN
1 Jun 2008, 09:43
looks like Pool C next year for Bendigo Football, unleass a dramatic reversal of form today against West Gippsland........bit embarrassing to see the Murray League take our spot in Div 2..........lets hope they can salvage some pride
Results
Bendigo 3.2.20 lost to Geelong 8.9.57
Bendigo 7.7.49 lost to Mornington Peninsula Nepean 7.10.52
betterinthewet
1 Jun 2008, 20:29
after bendigos results at the weekend maybe the remarks about k/flat and mounts were not far of the mark:confused:
Bit harsh when Geelong is probably as good as any side in Div 1, they were just unlucky to get relegated 2 year ago and now they will head back up to where they belong. losing the other game by 3pts surely isnt disastrous.
Geelong O&M and GVFL are probably top three country leagues-Latrobe Valley would be close too. Would be great to see bendigo back up in top div but a bit of work to be done
BenBal Plugger
2 Jun 2008, 10:19
Geelong O&M and GVFL are probably top three country leagues-Latrobe Valley would be close too. Would be great to see bendigo back up in top div but a bit of work to be done
Too many leagues in the Bendigo area sucking good players out of the Bendigo FL. The results on the weekend give some claim to that. We'd go OK if we had a combined squad of Bendigo, Heathcote and LValley. Jock and Danny mentioned last Monday night on their radio gig.
Strathfeildsaye going alone and sucking more players out of the BFL will lower the standard again.
South and Strath combined (to play in the BFL) is a good move. There's not enough $ around Bendigo to attract ex-AFL players.
Morn Pen had a few, as did Geelong.
The Wombat
2 Jun 2008, 10:48
Did anyone hear the very public spat between Fresh FM and Bourkey from the Addy last Wednesday night. Fresh FM broadcaster apparently accused Addy of Cash for comments and Bourkey professionally rang up and accused the bloke of sour grapes coz he failed in a job interview last week at the Advertiser.
It was apparently jaw dropping stuff and dented both blokes professional credibility. Maybe the Goat can elaborate on this or is it subject to legal action????
max powers.
2 Jun 2008, 13:56
Geelong FL were never relegated from Division 1 anyway they chose to not play Interleague football last year which the VCFL made them come back up through pool B or whatever they call it.
Trickle Frigwod
2 Jun 2008, 15:08
Geelong FL were never relegated from Division 1 anyway they chose to not play Interleague football last year which the VCFL made them come back up through pool B or whatever they call it.
Spot on Max... they were always going to be too strong. think they played a one off game with the ballerine league or something like that didn't they?
Few injures made things a bit worse im sure Sandhursts chances to not win the wodden spoon have taken a hit with Corno likely to be sidelined for a while.
Can anyone tell me if Jim Cail played for geelong on the w/e? I heard some of the game on sat but don't recall hearing his name.
max powers.
2 Jun 2008, 16:52
Spot on Max... they were always going to be too strong. think they played a one off game with the ballerine league or something like that didn't they?
Few injures made things a bit worse im sure Sandhursts chances to not win the wodden spoon have taken a hit with Corno likely to be sidelined for a while.
Can anyone tell me if Jim Cail played for geelong on the w/e? I heard some of the game on sat but don't recall hearing his name.
Yeah Jimmy played trickle, kicked a goal i think?
PINNACLE HEALTH
2 Jun 2008, 18:12
Trickle, whats the go with Leroy's knee, not too bad for Square's sake i hope.
Stocky would've been a good match up for Andrew Williams from Morn.pen.
Williams would've got a bath no doubt.
Couple of questions boys with the leagues round Bendigo just wondered the best and worst of the comps. I thought they ranked Bendigo then Loddon Valley the Heathcote.
And with Strath forming a Senior side next year where are they going to get their players from the slags can't even get a twos side together.
bit harsh, i see troy makepece carved up bendigo, why is he not playing at casey scorpions any more?
Couple of questions boys with the leagues round Bendigo just wondered the best and worst of the comps. I thought they ranked Bendigo then Loddon Valley the Heathcote.
And with Strath forming a Senior side next year where are they going to get their players from the slags can't even get a twos side together.
Answer the 1st question Jenna,going by Bendigo performence on the weekend they would have to be the worst out of the 3 leagues.:D
The answer to your 2nd question Strath to join forces with Sandhurst,Sandhurst forget about your history and move on and survive:thumbsu:
nesko_25
2 Jun 2008, 22:48
Prob looking for a bite but it goes Bendigo, Heathcote then Loddon Valley. You LV people always get way ahead of your self....
MickGatto
3 Jun 2008, 10:42
anyone know how scissor saunders is going over in the sanfl? is he playing seniors?
Norfolk & Clew
3 Jun 2008, 12:23
Prob looking for a bite but it goes Bendigo, Heathcote then Loddon Valley. You LV people always get way ahead of your self....
Yeah definitely BFL-HDFL-LVFL.
As for the strath team, alot of local lads play in the heathcote league and I can see them wanting to play for their local club and would put their hand up for Strath. It is a very tight knit community and I doubt they will have much trouble getting the locals signing up. It is just a matter of them getting a clearance.
PINNACLE HEALTH
3 Jun 2008, 12:29
bit harsh, i see troy makepece carved up bendigo, why is he not playing at casey scorpions any more?
He returned home to coach Moe.
matt_nicholls
3 Jun 2008, 12:51
anyone know how scissor saunders is going over in the sanfl? is he playing seniors?
Was flying for them in the pre-season and was looking the goods in R1, but hasn't played since due to a knee injury.
max powers.
3 Jun 2008, 13:08
Ok Guy's time for a new thread to start since this one's apprently getting a bit big.
The new one is same name but #2.
Post away.
Max