View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
davis24
21 Mar 2006, 09:14
Who do we think the highest paid player is in the bfl and what do u think they get paid a game
Toadfooty
21 Mar 2006, 09:17
Who do we think the highest paid player is in the bfl and what do u think they get paid a game
Not a bad question Davis, I would say if Kain Robbins plays this year he will be up there and I rekon a estimated round figure would be $800 + some sort of sign on fee. Who do you think Davis?
davis24
21 Mar 2006, 09:29
Not a bad question Davis, I would say if Kain Robbins plays this year he will be up there and I rekon a estimated round figure would be $800 + some sort of sign on fee. Who do you think Davis?
Yea i rekon you would be pretty close toad footy but i think sipthorpe would be and i reckon he would neally be on a thousand a game what do other people think
Toadfooty
21 Mar 2006, 09:33
Yea i rekon you would be pretty close toad footy but i think sipthorpe would be and i reckon he would neally be on a thousand a game what do other people think
Can't help you there mate wouldn't know what Sipthorpe would be getting around. Any other Bendigo news davis?
Picklesmeoldmate
21 Mar 2006, 10:17
Can't help you there mate wouldn't know what Sipthorpe would be getting around. Any other Bendigo news davis?
i don't think it's fair that we should be talking about what players are supposedly on. how would you like it if the players started talkking about who is the highest paid poster on big footy.
Norfolk & Clew
21 Mar 2006, 10:20
i don't think it's fair that we should be talking about what players are supposedly on. how would you like it if the players started talkking about who is the highest paid poster on big footy.
:D hahaha, pickles, you have a good point there, a bit of time to think about that while on school holidays?
Toadfooty
21 Mar 2006, 10:28
Mate where talking about football and thats that! I'm studying my masters in Law at Melbourne University so I am not payed alot at this time. But am raring to go with Herbert Geer and Rundle firm when I finish up this year.
norfolk, i heard rosa broke his hand or wrist and sum1 esle had a break in the square v ky praccy game last sunday.
not good news if true.
Jock Clark 2
21 Mar 2006, 14:29
Yep Ablett :thumbsu:
Rosa will miss first three weeks of season with a broken bone. Hand prolly already in plaster.
Norfolk & Clew
21 Mar 2006, 14:29
norfolk, i heard rosa broke his hand or wrist and sum1 esle had a break in the square v ky praccy game last sunday.
not good news if true.
I see that Jock has the latest info on the break, he will be right though, better in a praccy than real season
Jock Clark 2
21 Mar 2006, 14:31
Now boys is Ryan Webster returning from the Perth FC in the WAFL to play with his original BFL club Gisborne, or not.
On the lightning prem. thread seems to be some disarray about Webster's movements.
Picklesmeoldmate
21 Mar 2006, 16:09
Now boys is Ryan Webster returning from the Perth FC in the WAFL to play with his original BFL club Gisborne, or not.
On the lightning prem. thread seems to be some disarray about Webster's movements.
i'm confident the answer to your question is no jock.
davis24
21 Mar 2006, 18:37
People how do u think kyneton and maryborough will go this yr
Toadfooty
21 Mar 2006, 18:49
?????? Hard to say, I think alot like last year.
Norfolk & Clew
22 Mar 2006, 07:05
Yep Ablett :thumbsu:
Rosa will miss first three weeks of season with a broken bone. Hand prolly already in plaster.
Yes Jock, hand is already in plaster, was a bit of bad luck for Luke!:thumbsd:
south_hawk
22 Mar 2006, 07:43
I would imagne not as well as other clubs. I think that these 2 clubs aren't to bad they have got some quality in their lists, but I just feel like the BFL has taken a step up this year with alot of clubs recruiting well or showing signs and I don't think these 2 clubs can match them. Apoligies to TF as I can see he's a very keen Kyneton supporter but I think you guys might have something wooden at the end of the year.
Grimmett
22 Mar 2006, 10:47
i'm confident the answer to your question is no jock.
Que?
18/3/2006 n/a WEBSTER, Ryan From EXT.: West Australian Football League > Perth Gisborne In Progress
Lifted from http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp
Picklesmeoldmate
22 Mar 2006, 15:33
just my humble opinion davo, but i would think maryborough and kyneton are both facing an uphill battle to make the finals. top 4 sides for me will come from gisborne, south, eaglehawk and golden square. i'm very confident of that.:D
south_hawk
22 Mar 2006, 16:20
Would someone be able to tell me, is the lightening prem on the 1st or the 2nd of April?
Picklesmeoldmate
22 Mar 2006, 16:38
Would someone be able to tell me, is the lightening prem on the 1st or the 2nd of April?
southie old boy, the lightning premiership is being held on april 1 at the qeo. i repeat, it's being held on april 1
south_hawk
22 Mar 2006, 16:41
Sweet mate, sweet. I thought it was on the 2nd and was a bit disheartened that I might not have been able to have a bit of a drink but all is good now, thanks buddy.
Picklesmeoldmate
22 Mar 2006, 16:47
Sweet mate, sweet. I thought it was on the 2nd and was a bit disheartened that I might not have been able to have a bit of a drink but all is good now, thanks buddy.
no problems pal, i'm here to help. so tell me, who do you think will win the lightning premiership. i still like rochester myself
Johnny Tapp
22 Mar 2006, 17:42
no problems pal, i'm here to help. so tell me, who do you think will win the lightning premiership. i still like rochester myself
I was at Rochy's training last night and they were looking very sharp. Sammy Brennan looks like he's been on the roids ;) . The young pioneers were training and look fit (to be expected) and a few of the taller players might have benefited from the new weights coach...
melbdocker
22 Mar 2006, 17:45
hi i am from the dvfl but have extended family who play at north kyeton footy club just wondering is it worth it to come up one weekend and check out the tigers or will they struggle?
Johnny Tapp
22 Mar 2006, 17:52
I think Rochy will go ok, however they don't seem to take/put much into practice games in the past few years. The cash on offer may change their minds - does anyone know if the pioneers have a practice match on the same weekend? I believe rochy have about 4 pioneers that would probably slot into their senior team.
I think gisbourne and south bendigo are still a good shot.
Oh & don't forget the Echuca team down the road - they have picked up a number of quality players.... Even if they are arrogant pricks....
south_hawk
22 Mar 2006, 17:55
Well of course mate I'm thinking South Bendigo. Haven't seen Rochy play for a few years and have never seen Echuca so am unaware up their talent or form so that should be interesting. Also have a gut feeling about Golden Square and for a smokey I'd say the Flat.
So they're my tips: South/Golden Square
And for a smokey: Kangaroo Flat
Toadfooty
22 Mar 2006, 19:14
hi i am from the dvfl but have extended family who play at north kyeton footy club just wondering is it worth it to come up one weekend and check out the tigers or will they struggle?
People think they are certainties to struggle but I think they will be competetive. I know everyone who reads this will bite back but I have a close insider who is saying they will be alright.
Injury concern for Rosa
Wednesday, 22 March 2006
STAR Golden Square recruit Luke Rosa will have his hand examined next week after injuring it in the club's practice match win over Goulburn Valley Football League side Kyabram at the weekend.
Rosa came off the ground in the final quarter with the injury to his hand, but coach Darren Walsh says the club won't know the extent of the damage until next week.
'‘Hopefully, it's not a long-term injury," Walsh, who sat out the game, said yesterday.
Up until he was forced off the ground, Rosa had been the Bulldogs' best player.
Rosa was the first big signing of the All Seasons Bendigo Football League pre-season after crossing from the Warrack Eagles to Golden Square, where he will be an assistant coach to Walsh.
Golden Square beat Kyabram by four goals, despite not scoring in the final term.
‘‘We wasted a lot of opportunities and committed a lot of turnovers, but I guess that's part of playing your first practice match," Walsh said.
‘‘Kyabram provided good opposition; they had bigger bodies and were a little taller, but we played well."Along with Rosa, other in-form players for Golden Square included Stacy Fiske, Anthony Holdstock, Christian Carter and ruckman Wes Pye, another Bulldogs' recruit.The Bulldogs will play their next practice match this Saturday at home against Geelong Football League club North Shore, who finished third last year.
In other BFL news, full-forward Steven Reaper will play with Kyneton this year.
Last month, Reaper told The Advertiser it was unlikely he would line up for the Tigers during the 2006 season.
But Kyneton coach Neville Massina yesterday said he expected to get at least 14 games out of Reaper, who is also on the selection committee for the VCFL team that will contest this year's Australian Country Football Championships, to be held on the Gold Coast from July 28 to 30.
Picklesmeoldmate
23 Mar 2006, 09:10
People think they are certainties to struggle but I think they will be competetive. I know everyone who reads this will bite back but I have a close insider who is saying they will be alright.
i'm swinging a bit with you coz, i think the tigers might surprise a few. now for something different, did anyone listen to sen during last year and what they did was match two players up agaisnt each other, i.e cousins and hird, and listeners had to sms in and vote for who they would pick in their side out of the two. let's try it with the bfl, i will post a couple of different match-ups each day, and people can write who they would choose.
let's start with a rucking duel:
BRETT COOK V JOHN HARDINGE
who would you pick and why?
Norfolk & Clew
23 Mar 2006, 10:02
i'm swinging a bit with you coz, i think the tigers might surprise a few. now for something different, did anyone listen to sen during last year and what they did was match two players up agaisnt each other, i.e cousins and hird, and listeners had to sms in and vote for who they would pick in their side out of the two. let's try it with the bfl, i will post a couple of different match-ups each day, and people can write who they would choose.
I'd have to say Cook just for his experience at the highest level
Toadfooty
23 Mar 2006, 11:01
Cook, just a very hard worker and I agree with Norfolks point, (Right on the Money:thumbsu:)
Picklesmeoldmate
23 Mar 2006, 11:19
Cook, just a very hard worker and I agree with Norfolks point, (Right on the Money:thumbsu:)
Here's another one for you fellas:
LUKE SAUNDERS V KAIN ROBINS
Toadfooty
23 Mar 2006, 14:28
Hard to say, Saunders is 5 foot 11 and Robbins is 6 foot 4.
blues_bogan
23 Mar 2006, 15:23
OK i am 100% sure it's not Matthew Nicholls now because i know he wasnt online at the time of some of his posts.
over and out.
davis24
23 Mar 2006, 16:31
Hey I just want to write about some of the under achievers in the bfl starting off with kynetons Darren Chambers i think he will have a fair crack at the Mickolson Medal in a kyneton team that is going to struggle he will he and brett cook will kill it in kynetons best and fairest..
Also was castlemaine now south Bedigo Leigh Rees is known as a good player but people dont see him as good as what he really is and i think that he should be the favourite for the Mickolson medal.
Heres my order for the Mickolson medal
Leigh Rees
Luke Saunders
Darren Chambers
do people agree with me
Jock Clark 2
23 Mar 2006, 17:24
:) Breaking news, boyz.
G Square asst coach. Luke Rosa will be back for Rd 1 on Easter Saturday.
Hurt his hand in an "altercation" with a Kyabrom opponent during the Doggies handy praccy match win last weekend.
So expect Rosa to be on the park for the game against Gissie in Round 1.
Toadfooty
23 Mar 2006, 19:23
Hey I just want to write about some of the under achievers in the bfl starting off with kynetons Darren Chambers i think he will have a fair crack at the Mickolson Medal in a kyneton team that is going to struggle he will he and brett cook will kill it in kynetons best and fairest..
Also was castlemaine now south Bedigo Leigh Rees is known as a good player but people dont see him as good as what he really is and i think that he should be the favourite for the Mickolson medal.
Heres my order for the Mickolson medal
Leigh Rees
Luke Saunders
Darren Chambers
do people agree with me
You'd be alright Davis if you could spell!:D
spoke4923
23 Mar 2006, 19:47
I'd go Robins just. Saunders is a gun, the best player i saw in the bfl last year. But with an afl pre season and a couple of years at the bombers, i'd go Robins. Keep em coming oldmate. BTW, spelling isn't exactly a pre requisite on this forum toadfish. Judging by some of your comments, i'd say intelligence isn't either. Peace out.
What are people's thoughts on Aaron Hawkins? I believe he is the most overrated footballer that has ever played in league. If there is ever a bloke to make a reputation for himself, by himself then hawks your man. He(and the teams that waste their money on him) is lucky there is a fence on all grounds to keep the sheepdog in. He is possibly the worst player to ever grace a VFL football ground and it is a blight on the coaches that picked him. I've never seen a bloke talk himself up more either.... Your thoughts?
Toadfooty
24 Mar 2006, 09:28
What are people's thoughts on Aaron Hawkins? I believe he is the most overrated footballer that has ever played in league. If there is ever a bloke to make a reputation for himself, by himself then hawks your man. He(and the teams that waste their money on him) is lucky there is a fence on all grounds to keep the sheepdog in. He is possibly the worst player to ever grace a VFL football ground and it is a blight on the coaches that picked him. I've never seen a bloke talk himself up more either.... Your thoughts?
Bowser I agree with you there, he is a reason they put 6 foot perimeter fences around football grounds, can't aknowledge the opposition when beaten and by the reputation he has built, (or talked about), you would think the bloke would be a star. That he isn't, he is just a middle class Bendigo footballer.
Toadfooty
24 Mar 2006, 09:42
I'd go Robins just. Saunders is a gun, the best player i saw in the bfl last year. But with an afl pre season and a couple of years at the bombers, i'd go Robins. Keep em coming oldmate. BTW, spelling isn't exactly a pre requisite on this forum toadfish. Judging by some of your comments, i'd say intelligence isn't either. Peace out.
Spokey spokey spokey?, Who are you kidding??? Heres one for you if intellegence is a strong point of your human nature- Has Damien Drum been good for Bendigo Football? Why?
Norfolk & Clew
24 Mar 2006, 10:12
Last day of work today fella's, no more Norfolk during business hours, has been swell:thumbsu:
Toadfooty
24 Mar 2006, 12:15
Last day of work today fella's, no more Norfolk during business hours, has been swell:thumbsu:
Seeya later mate! You've been a credit to this organisation:thumbsu:
Dropkicker
24 Mar 2006, 13:28
Does anyone know whether Castlemaine has cleared Leigh Rees to South Bendigo yet?
Bowser I agree with you there, he is a reason they put 6 foot perimeter fences around football grounds, can't aknowledge the opposition when beaten and by the reputation he has built, (or talked about), you would think the bloke would be a star. That he isn't, he is just a middle class Bendigo footballer.
Oh no sorry Toad I really have to take the whole comment back as I Just got home to find that my housemate had logged on to big footy as the Bowser and tried to cause some damage. Which he did quite well. He dosen't stand by the comment and I having seen Hawk play believe he is a very valuable asset to any side. Apoligies Aaron and Big footy fans:thumbsu:
Wayne Weideman
25 Mar 2006, 13:14
g'day fellas, weeds back. just thought i would let you all know that south bendigo have there first hit out tonight againest tongala under lights over there. should be interesting to see how they go
south_hawk
25 Mar 2006, 17:10
Does anyone know whether Castlemaine has cleared Leigh Rees to South Bendigo yet?
According to the BFL site its in Progress but I have know doubts that he'll be playing with South in 06
Wayne Weideman
26 Mar 2006, 14:19
had a look at squares practice match at wade street yesterday. the square boys looked pretty impressive but injuries struck again yestersday with adam bovalino breaking his arm. i think with a full side on the paddock square will be tough to beat but think depth is going to be there major downfall if more injuries occur. wes pye looks good
Wayne Weideman
26 Mar 2006, 14:27
i also had a look last night at souths first hit out againest tongala. although they won by 15 goals they still have a bit of work to be done. but in saying that they did show glimpes of fast moving football that when all of them are firing they will be hard to beat this year in the B.F.L
The Talking Goat
26 Mar 2006, 16:32
Hi there fellas. I also had a look at square at the weekend. The Bovalino injury looked pretty bad, which isn't good for the Bulldogs. Anyone know how long he may be out for.
The Talking Goat
26 Mar 2006, 18:01
Hi there fellas. I also had a look at square at the weekend. The Bovalino injury looked pretty bad, which isn't good for the Bulldogs. Anyone know how long he may be out for.
You would think Square would be pretty hard pressed to beat Gisborne in round one with all their injuries.
The Talking Goat
26 Mar 2006, 18:18
Does anyone have any details on other bfl practice matches played at the weekend. how did sandhurst go against masnsfield?
Toadfooty
26 Mar 2006, 19:53
Does anyone have any details on other bfl practice matches played at the weekend. how did sandhurst go against masnsfield?
Sandhurst quite comprehensively beat by Mansfield but they played alot of kids. Kyneton had a 50+ point winning versus Bachuss Marsh
davis24
26 Mar 2006, 20:23
Sandhurst quite comprehensively beat by Mansfield but they played alot of kids. Kyneton had a 50+ point winning versus Bachuss Marsh
Yea quite a good victory for the kyneton boys best players for kyneton were Daz Chambers Micky Martin Alcade and Brad Else who also slotted a bag of goals.
Toadfooty
26 Mar 2006, 20:36
More on the above...
Matt Waters: Leading goal kicker for club in 04 (second in league when the team was a rabble) is going bush.
O'Connor, Ciunik, Walker: All 21 or under, a couple of handy footballers going.
Eve: Captain and full forward. Maybe going bush with assistant coaching position.
Brett Cook: Ex AFL ruckman (Lions, Saints) hasn't committed to Kyneton for '06.
Darren Chambers: As above, assistant coaching position in bush has been mentioned.
Troy Williams: Possibly going to Gippsland.
Can anyone deny/confirm any of these or others?
You must be wrong because SPOKE wrote this on Page 5 and he hasn't been wrong in his life, how could Chambers play if he is going bush? Got your facts mixed up a bit there SPOKE. Did Eve and Cook play Davis?
davis24
26 Mar 2006, 20:41
You must be wrong because SPOKE wrote this on Page 5 and he hasn't been wrong in his life, how could Chambers play if he is going bush? Got your facts mixed up a bit there SPOKE. Did Eve and Cook play Davis?
yes both played eve from on and off the bench cook played ruck and center half back and was dominate as well i say he had at least 12 marks and about 30 hitouts
Toadfooty
26 Mar 2006, 20:45
yes both played eve from on and off the bench cook played ruck and center half back and was dominate as well i say he had at least 12 marks and about 30 hitouts
SPOKE, I don't think you should speak! Because you are along way from the mark there mate. (Eating your own words!) Any other BFL news Davis?
davis24
26 Mar 2006, 20:50
SPOKE, I don't think you should speak! Because you are along way from the mark there mate. (Eating your own words!) Any other BFL news Davis?
I would like to declare now that gisborne will not be in the 5 this year i no its a big call but from what i have heard they have a few good players leaving and a few injured that wont be avaible for a little while do people agree
Toadfooty
26 Mar 2006, 20:54
I would like to declare now that gisborne will not be in the 5 this year i no its a big call but from what i have heard they have a few good players leaving and a few injured that wont be avaible for a little while do people agree
Thats a huge call but I have heard that a few things are going backwards for them. Is your source good?
spoke4923
27 Mar 2006, 11:38
Gee whiz, toady. That post was nearly four months ago! I was just writing the whispers I'd heard at the time. In my defence, i was right about Ciunik, Waters and O'Connor. Don't go getting too upset mate, they were only rumours and I'm sure your beloved tigers, along with Nev are gearing up for a sensational year.
patty O'furnicha
27 Mar 2006, 11:53
I don't want to burst anyones bubble about Kyneton or how they will go this year but i think it would be good to put saturdays game into perspective.
Bacchus marsh had 6 of there top senior players out and this is from a side who has only won 4 or 5 games in the past 3 or 4 years. They were missing their 3 preffered ruckman with CHF also out. They have only recruited about 4 or 5 players from last year and they have lost their leading goal kicker and B&F Andy Mackay. Kyneton only had a couple of more scoring shots and took advantage in front of the sticks. I know thats all they have to do but the game was very even throughout the day. scores were something like
Kyneton 14.7.91
B.Marsh 7.13.55
Kings Army
27 Mar 2006, 12:20
Thats a huge call but I have heard that a few things are going backwards for them. Is your source good?
Gisborne going backward?? They could go backward by 10 goals and still win this years flag. Jordan Barham out David Power, Chris Curcio and Matty Fitzgerald in. The loss of Jordan has been covered. I am sure the Bendigo league still remember Fitzy? Won the B&F in the league a couple of years back.
spoke4923
27 Mar 2006, 17:02
Gisborne going backward?? They could go backward by 10 goals and still win this years flag. Jordan Barham out David Power, Chris Curcio and Matty Fitzgerald in. The loss of Jordan has been covered. I am sure the Bendigo league still remember Fitzy? Won the B&F in the league a couple of years back.
Agree KA, can't imagine Gisborne dropping from the five- or top spot for that matter. Matty Fitz is a very handy acquisition and Power is a quality player. I've heard alot about Square and South recruiting this year but i think the Burra seem to be going along nicely. Saw an intraclub on Saturday, they looked pretty fluid in their movement.
Toadfooty
27 Mar 2006, 17:46
I don't want to burst anyones bubble about Kyneton or how they will go this year but i think it would be good to put saturdays game into perspective.
Bacchus marsh had 6 of there top senior players out and this is from a side who has only won 4 or 5 games in the past 3 or 4 years. They were missing their 3 preffered ruckman with CHF also out. They have only recruited about 4 or 5 players from last year and they have lost their leading goal kicker and B&F Andy Mackay. Kyneton only had a couple of more scoring shots and took advantage in front of the sticks. I know thats all they have to do but the game was very even throughout the day. scores were something like
Kyneton 14.7.91
B.Marsh 7.13.55
I know for a fact it was 16.9.105 to 6.12.48. Kyneton where not at full strength.
And spoke your right mate I was just having a bit of fun:thumbsu:
Johnny Tapp
27 Mar 2006, 20:32
Well, to go along with this, South Bendigo WILL NOT finish in the top three this year. I watched them on the weekend in tonny and they were average. It may have been the first hitout, but there is a fair bit of work to still do.
And don't tell me they were good cause they beat tonny by a big margain. Tonny haven't won a game for 2 years.
I will get a better idea of the bendigo comp this weekend after the Lightning P'ship but stand by my call. Prove me wrong South, prove me wrong.......
Dropkicker
28 Mar 2006, 11:00
Will Maryborough be terrible again this year? Also, is there any late mail coming through on Ballarat at the moment? How are they shaping up?
south_hawk
28 Mar 2006, 15:26
I will get a better idea of the bendigo comp this weekend after the Lightning P'ship but stand by my call. Prove me wrong South, prove me wrong.......
We'll see mate
Truth Hurts
29 Mar 2006, 16:31
Agree KA, can't imagine Gisborne dropping from the five- or top spot for that matter. Matty Fitz is a very handy acquisition and Power is a quality player. I've heard alot about Square and South recruiting this year but i think the Burra seem to be going along nicely. Saw an intraclub on Saturday, they looked pretty fluid in their movement.
They looked FLUID in their movement> wtf?
was it raining??
Gisborne will be the yard stick in 2006, no question. Eaglehawk finished second last year (probably will again) south finished third last year (probably will again) and square finished fouth last year and will again!
Toadfooty
29 Mar 2006, 19:41
Heard a wisper (just a wisper) today that many umpires are threatening to walk out of the league because of a fear of safety, they feel they need more personal security. Can anyone give any truth to this rumour?
davis24
29 Mar 2006, 19:50
Heard a wisper (just a wisper) today that many umpires are threatening to walk out of the league because of a fear of safety, they feel they need more personal security. Can anyone give any truth to this rumour?
Hey toady i did hear a whisper on that lines as well i also herd claudy has apllied for a water boy job at South Bendigo is this true
Toadfooty
29 Mar 2006, 19:54
Hey toady i did hear a whisper on that lines as well i also herd claudy has apllied for a water boy job at South Bendigo is this true
Why make him water boy he could do a better job then most coaches in the league. He is suprisingly knowledgeble. He could have applied for the job im not sure. How do we rate the BFL crowds? And does anyone know what happened to 'Ewok'? Souths number 1 supporter? As loyal as they came!
davis24
29 Mar 2006, 20:00
Just having a look at the bfl website and found this info
15/3/2006040543BEARE, Robert Kyneton2004 > PlayerRiddell District Football League > Woodend HesketApproved
i reckon that kyneton will be pathetic this year with this big loss, do people agree
Toadfooty
29 Mar 2006, 20:03
Just having a look at the bfl website and found this info
15/3/2006040543BEARE, Robert Kyneton2004 > PlayerRiddell District Football League > Woodend HesketApproved
i reckon that kyneton will be pathetic this year with this big loss, do people agree
I'm not sure you would say the collosal blonde mullet at 40+ years young is a loss. Be interesting to see if he gets a game?
max powers.
30 Mar 2006, 10:23
Why make him water boy he could do a better job then most coaches in the league. He is suprisingly knowledgeble. He could have applied for the job im not sure. How do we rate the BFL crowds? And does anyone know what happened to 'Ewok'? Souths number 1 supporter? As loyal as they came!
Toad, Ewok died.
I remember him getting around the pioneers games at the QEO.
He loved Brian Walsh!!
the moth
31 Mar 2006, 07:51
So who does everyone think will win the series held tomorrow. And what can teams take out of it?
The Talking Goat
31 Mar 2006, 08:26
So who does everyone think will win the series held tomorrow. And what can teams take out of it?
man who is attracted to lights. i believe you can take absolutely nothing out of the lightning premiership, nothing at all. it's basically hit and giggle football, but having said that, good on the bfl for trialing new things. let's see how it goes and if it works, well and good, we can go with it bigger and better next year, if not, we scrap it and move on. i am backing south bendigo to win in though. but then again, maryborough could win it, or gisbornem or kyneton, or eaglehawk. get my drift mothman
Kings Army
31 Mar 2006, 08:32
man who is attracted to lights. i believe you can take absolutely nothing out of the lightning premiership, nothing at all. it's basically hit and giggle football, but having said that, good on the bfl for trialing new things. let's see how it goes and if it works, well and good, we can go with it bigger and better next year, if not, we scrap it and move on. i am backing south bendigo to win in though. but then again, maryborough could win it, or gisbornem or kyneton, or eaglehawk. get my drift mothman
Agree its a good concept for the comp. Gisborne will win it if it takes it seriously. If they don't care about the pre season comp then it is up for grabs.
no left foot
31 Mar 2006, 08:45
Isnt it 2, 15 minute halves. Really 1 quarter of footy. It becomes jump and run, kick the first 3 goals you probably win the game. Any sides could win, Echuca have 7 or 8 senior blokes not playing not sure on Rochy. I would assume most sides would be using it as just another hit out, playing young blokes, looking at new blokes etc. The side that fields their strongest list and assuming they start well will probly win. are Rochester in the same pool as South Bendigo, and wonder whether there is a bit of feeling with Connaughton. Could be the highlight of the carnival.
Is that Aaron Connaughton? Who is he playing for?
The Nest
31 Mar 2006, 10:46
Is that Aaron Connaughton? Who is he playing for?
Ryan Connaughton... Snoz;)
Oh ok Nest, thanks a lot for clearing that up. Sore paw?;)
The Nest
31 Mar 2006, 11:04
Oh ok Nest, thanks a lot for clearing that up. Sore paw?;)
After I ramm it in your poopa.
Con Kreteshoez
31 Mar 2006, 13:29
Over heard Sth Bendigo lad Nick Knight trash talking about Kanga Flat's big man Damien Brown, apparently knight fancies him self as a bit of a hard man as well. Might need to wear two helmets on Saturday knighta.:p Any interesting match ups for the lightning remiership?
south_hawk
31 Mar 2006, 15:58
There was a great BFL preview liftout in the Addy today
caveman
31 Mar 2006, 22:27
There was a great BFL preview liftout in the Addy today
Thumbs up to the Addy. Absolutely awesome liftout on the local footy! :thumbsu:
Hey here are some scores for the first matches of each pool no real surprizes i didnt think
Eaglehawk def Golden Square 4-2-26 to 3-5-23
South Bendigo def Kangaroo Flat 11-6-72 to 0-0-1
Sandhurst def Castlemaine 4-3-27 to 2-2-14
Gisbourne def Kyneton 4-6-30 to 2-1-13
I still dont believe this will have any indication on how the proper season will be with none of the clubs fielding there best teams
Toadfooty
1 Apr 2006, 14:20
Hey here are some scores for the first matches of each pool no real surprizes i didnt think
Eaglehawk def Golden Square 4-2-26 to 3-5-23
South Bendigo def Kangaroo Flat 11-6-72 to 0-0-1
Sandhurst def Castlemaine 4-3-27 to 2-2-14
Gisbourne def Kyneton 4-6-30 to 2-1-13
I still dont believe this will have any indication on how the proper season will be with none of the clubs fielding there best teams
100% CORRECT DAVIS!:thumbsu:
Bit of a surprize just come through with the kyneton boys defeating north city the tigers kicked a goal with about 10 seconds left to win them the game reaper kynetons best kicked 2 while cook and chambers were dominate around the ground, im not sure if any1 has herd of kynetons Jack Givney who has come up from the under 18s but i think he;ll be a alrite back up ruckman for cooky if he gets injured do people agree
spoke4923
1 Apr 2006, 20:21
Rochester 3.2.20 D South Bendigo 2.7.19
Good grand final, some good skills on show. Daniel Bevan? for South Bendigo went off with a suspected knee injury. How did everyone rate the Lightning Comp? The crowd didn't seem great, seemed pretty empty for the last five or so games.
spoke4923
1 Apr 2006, 20:30
Where the hell is Pickles, everyone's oldest mate? Has the excitement of the fast approaching season simply become too much?
Mate I stayed for all the games and overall i thought it was a great concept. Unfortunately my team Kangaroo Flat didnt even put in a half decent squad so to play against South Bendigo with a lot of strong players wasnt even a match at all.
spoke4923
2 Apr 2006, 13:42
Mate I stayed for all the games and overall i thought it was a great concept. Unfortunately my team Kangaroo Flat didnt even put in a half decent squad so to play against South Bendigo with a lot of strong players wasnt even a match at all.
Agree man of rock, i think alot of credit deserves to go to to the BFL board for their initiative and forward thinking. I caught the North City Gisborne game. The north city team seemed to have a lot of kids in. They battled hard but I'd swear a few of them looked like under 16's. Can anyone put up a list of all game's results?
The Talking Goat
2 Apr 2006, 13:57
Agree man of rock, i think alot of credit deserves to go to to the BFL board for their initiative and forward thinking. I caught the North City Gisborne game. The north city team seemed to have a lot of kids in. They battled hard but I'd swear a few of them looked like under 16's. Can anyone put up a list of all game's results?
i was unable to get to the lightning premiership. can anyone give me all the mail
Jock Clark 2
2 Apr 2006, 13:57
:) EASILY done, Spokie.
Go to either:
www.countryfootyscores.com (http://www.countryfootyscores.com) and click on Bendigo Lightning Premiership
or go to Cavey's own site (he's even listed the ladders for the 4 pools) at:
www.bendigofooty.tk (http://www.bendigofooty.tk)
South did very well in the grannie coming from 0.3 (3) to 3.2 (20) down at half-time, then narrowing the gap to one point -- 19 to 20 -- before Whitsed kicked the sealer for Rochie in the last few mins. Before that big Strange had the chance to kick South into the lead from 30 metres out at the Barnard St. end but he missed what looked like a "sitter".
Rochie 4.2 (26) to South Bendigo 2.7 (19).
Disregard the Eh-Square result posted a few above this one. The OFFICIAL goal umpires cards for that game in Pool A, Sat morning:
Eaglehawk 3.1 (19) def. G Square 2.5 (17).
The Talking Goat
2 Apr 2006, 17:25
:) EASILY done, Spokie.
Go to either:
www.countryfootyscores.com (http://www.countryfootyscores.com) and click on Bendigo Lightning Premiership
or go to Cavey's own site (he's even listed the ladders for the 4 pools) at:
www.bendigofooty.tk (http://www.bendigofooty.tk)
South did very well in the grannie coming from 0.3 (3) to 3.2 (20) down at half-time, then narrowing the gap to one point -- 19 to 20 -- before Whitsed kicked the sealer for Rochie in the last few mins. Before that big Strange had the chance to kick South into the lead from 30 metres out at the Barnard St. end but he missed what looked like a "sitter".
Rochie 4.2 (26) to South Bendigo 2.7 (19).
Disregard the Eh-Square result posted a few above this one. The OFFICIAL goal umpires cards for that game in Pool A, Sat morning:
Eaglehawk 3.1 (19) def. G Square 2.5 (17).
Do we all agree that what happened on saturday means absolutely nothing?
spoke4923
2 Apr 2006, 20:28
Do we all agree that what happened on saturday means absolutely nothing?
Absolutely, it was just a one time thing, it won't happen again and i just want to put it behind me...wait, which thing are we talking about Goat?
The Talking Goat
3 Apr 2006, 12:47
Absolutely, it was just a one time thing, it won't happen again and i just want to put it behind me...wait, which thing are we talking about Goat?
not long now till it all gets underway. what were people's opinion of north city at the weekend. obviously, a young side and were clearly outpointed by gisborne. i think north city would be just happy to have finally got a bit of a game under their belt in the bfl, and now they can concentrate on their round one opener against south bendigo, which you would think the bloods would win.
Truth Hurts
3 Apr 2006, 13:43
not long now till it all gets underway. what were people's opinion of north city at the weekend. obviously, a young side and were clearly outpointed by gisborne. i think north city would be just happy to have finally got a bit of a game under their belt in the bfl, and now they can concentrate on their round one opener against south bendigo, which you would think the bloods would win.
I think nth city had a fair few out and will be a different side come round one v's south bendigo. South bendigo must have done well to make the grand final on saturday night, who played well? how did the coach Dan O'bree go?
I heard the burra had Luke Monaghan out who coaches the u 18's have been told he will be a handy asset to the senior line up??
no left foot
3 Apr 2006, 14:18
Had a look at The lightning Premiership on Saturday and thought it was interesting the difference in umpiring BFL to GVFL. On saturday the umpires appeared to want to be in complete control, especially one fat little red head to the point of over umpiring. Warning water boys about coaching, paying free kicks against ruckman for foot on the circle at centre bounces etc. Also the way the little fat red headed freak spoke to players was with little respect. Does he realise people go to watch the football not the umpires. I hope for all players in the BFL he doesnt do too many senior games, though the way he carried himself i got the idea he might. On the whole thought Echuca will have a better year than Rochester (weight of numbers to come in) and Gisborne and South Bendigo both looked good.