View Full Version : Amending the DIamond Valley FL
Travvy43
16th November 2005, 08:55
Many people on this website has bashed the DVFL. My question is how can the DVFL change to become a better league. I hear people saying that it is run by a people stuck in the 70's, fiar enough, but if fresh blood was to come into the league, what should be the changes they make, or what should they be doing differently to the current administration.
Interested to hear your thoughts.
Mappa
16th November 2005, 12:08
The first 2 things they need to change are the promotion / relegation rules, and the make up of the Divisions.
a) Two teams should go up, and two should go down. It is too hard on a team that has been good all year, but loses the GF to have to endure another year in Div 2. Promotion should be the reward for both sides making the GF, and the cup should be the reward for winning it !
b) It needs to be expanded to 3 divisions. The argument has always been, typically from those out-of-touch 70s types of which you speak, that it is hard to attract players if you say you are in Dvision 3. Look at the Southern league, they go alright. Look at the Ammos, I belonge to a D Grade side that attracted some excellent players, so much so that we won the flag in 05. Are they saying that they would attract better players being an also-ran side in Div 2, rather than a premiership chance in Div 3. I doubt it
Take 2005 as an example. If it was split into a Div 2 and Div 3 (8 teams each), you would have found:
2 games difference between 3rd and last in Div 2
1 game difference between 1st and 6th in Div 3.
Ask any player in the bottom half of Division 2 this year, and I bet they would have preffered to being challenging for a finals spot with 3 rounds to go as a Div 3 side, instead of turning up on a Saturday with nothing to play for.
Travvy43
17th November 2005, 07:04
Interested to hear you thoughts mappa.
However it is very disappointing that there are people who criticise the league regularly but when push comes to shove, have no ideas on how to rectify the problems.
Dwight
17th November 2005, 15:49
DVFL ADMENDMENTS
1) Bring in Divi three. If the estern can have four levels why can't the valley? Gives lower teams a chance and stops lop sided beltings that lead to clubs going out of business.
2) Get fresh blood in the adminstration. The DVFl has poor media relations and a even worse record at the tribunal. The head of the investigation committe is a life long North Heidleberg supporter, how can that be called fair and just. Numerous incidents have come before these panel involving North players and all have been found not guilty. Not saying they were all guilty but having a players fate hang in the hands of a supporter of his own club is outragrous and just leads people to speculate.
3) Clean up such incidents that have lead to the Valley having a rough and touble rep, which is compltely undfounded. There have a few thugs who have got away with off the ball altercations because the DVFL investigation committe never comed down hard on anyone, because of this less and less AFL /VFL palyers are wanting to come back to the Valley. Big deal you say, my club cannot afford them. But all that means is clubs that can poach them from lower levels thus making the rich richer amd the lower levels even worse.
4)Take the finals away from Epping, coldest place in the world and always windy. Play them at Cramer Street Preston. Much better atmosphere and a netural ground for all involved.
5) Have a decent website, the DVFL website is a joke and looks like something done on a Commodore 64 in 1985.
6) Bring in under 18's, scrap the under 19's. Fall in line with the TAC.
7) Cleam up the juniour comp, it has far more dustups then the senoir grades but nothing is done.
8) Get better umpires, not bagging umpires but some of these guys have been running around for 35 years and are getting worse.
9) Get clubs to go into the oppostion rooms for a can afterwards. Some clubs play and then leave.
10) Reduce affilation fees or at least make the DVFL justify where it is going.
Having said all that the top 4 sides in the Valley could comptete with any other local football side be it GVFL or Eastern of Essendon. Particuallary North who causes a major upset beating Heidelberg who also have a great side. After the top 4 the standard does fall away though.
just some thoughts.
FOOTYBOSS
17th November 2005, 16:29
DVFL ADMENDMENTS
1) Bring in Divi three. If the estern can have four levels why can't the valley? Gives lower teams a chance and stops lop sided beltings that lead to clubs going out of business.
2) Get fresh blood in the adminstration. The DVFl has poor media relations and a even worse record at the tribunal. The head of the investigation committe is a life long North Heidleberg supporter, how can that be called fair and just. Numerous incidents have come before these panel involving North players and all have been found not guilty. Not saying they were all guilty but having a players fate hang in the hands of a supporter of his own club is outragrous and just leads people to speculate.
3) Clean up such incidents that have lead to the Valley having a rough and touble rep, which is compltely undfounded. There have a few thugs who have got away with off the ball altercations because the DVFL investigation committe never comed down hard on anyone, because of this less and less AFL /VFL palyers are wanting to come back to the Valley. Big deal you say, my club cannot afford them. But all that means is clubs that can poach them from lower levels thus making the rich richer amd the lower levels even worse.
4)Take the finals away from Epping, coldest place in the world and always windy. Play them at Cramer Street Preston. Much better atmosphere and a netural ground for all involved.
5) Have a decent website, the DVFL website is a joke and looks like something done on a Commodore 64 in 1985.
6) Bring in under 18's, scrap the under 19's. Fall in line with the TAC.
7) Cleam up the juniour comp, it has far more dustups then the senoir grades but nothing is done.
8) Get better umpires, not bagging umpires but some of these guys have been running around for 35 years and are getting worse.
9) Get clubs to go into the oppostion rooms for a can afterwards. Some clubs play and then leave.
10) Reduce affilation fees or at least make the DVFL justify where it is going.
Having said all that the top 4 sides in the Valley could comptete with any other local football side be it GVFL or Eastern of Essendon. Particuallary North who causes a major upset beating Heidelberg who also have a great side. After the top 4 the standard does fall away though.
just some thoughts.
Some very good points there dwight.
The comp does need to go to 3 divisions. As soon it does that it start to rectify many problems.
mitch_fc
18th November 2005, 11:10
3 divisions.
tougher tribunal- blokes get away with murder, umps are too scared to make reports.
decent media coverage.
Mappa
19th November 2005, 12:24
On the money Mitch FC. Decent media coverage will come when the league gets it's act together. The DVFL just seems to float along from year to year.
Best they look at the FFA as inspiration, it took over a game that had much potential but was run poorly, and to scared to make changes because of the perceived power of vested interests. Look at it now !!
Mr Cannons
19th November 2005, 15:53
Hey Damien Hannam(mappa), bet u dont know who I am.
I will give u a few hints, i played 19's at fitzroy 2 years ago then left to go to a diamond valley club. :)
jock555
23rd November 2005, 11:53
Some good points mate. But I put to you this. Sides who go up into 1st division normally struggle unless they have a strong financial backing. So that would make it two sides that would get belted each week in first division. Also for the side that finishes 2nd last in 1st division would lose a lot of players to div 1 clubs as is usually the case. As for three divisions I beg to differ that sides in the bottom 1/2 of division 2 would rather play in division 3. Coming from a second division club, It is hard enough to hold onto your good young kids from 1st division sides, so if it were 3 divisions what hope would you have then of keeping these kids. It would make the competition worse than it is now and you would see a reduction in some teams who could not field sides and attract decent sponsorship.
Trapper
23rd November 2005, 12:38
Hey Damien Hannam(mappa), bet u dont know who I am.
I will give u a few hints, i played 19's at fitzroy 2 years ago then left to go to a diamond valley club. :)
I do.
How is Northcote Park treating you Jules?
Mr Cannons
23rd November 2005, 19:46
Hehehehe loving every minute of it.
So who r u?
Wayde Petersen
25th November 2005, 18:50
Well i know that this has been repeated adnauseum, but the DVFL needs a shake-up from the top down, and they can start with thier executive.
As a person who has an interest in Division Two, I believe that the league treats it's division two clubs with contempt, and this is most obvious when it comes to promotion/relegation.
For example, now they force whoever wins the Division Two premiership into Division One (they used to allow the clubs a choice on the matter), because let's face it, for most clubs (except Greensborough & Lower Plenty), winning the Premiership in Division Two is like winning a poisoned chalice, (just ask Hurstbridge & Mernda), because all that happenes is that you already lose the players that got you there, get flogged every week, and when you go back down to Division Two, the players that stayed with you decide it's better staying in the top flight because (understandably), they want to play a better standard of football.
Basically Division One has 8 sides that are pretty good and 2 that are nothing more than whipping boys, therefore an 8 team Division One & Two plus a 10 team Division Three with what's left should help even out the uneveness.
Secondly, having Second Division Finals at Lalor is a joke, it's a dump of a ground that's not worthy of such an honour.
Get finals back at Heidelberg & Diamond Creek and get Cramer Street for the Grand Finals.
Afiiliation Fees should be on a sliding scale, because it's unfair that an incredibly wealthy club such as Bundoora pays that same money as Kinglake & Fawkner Park, especially considering that it it the big teams that bet most of the benefits.
But, apart from that everything else has been covered.
Trapper
25th November 2005, 22:52
Hehehehe loving every minute of it.
So who r u?
Since you like playing cluedo, I'll give you a couple of hints and if you can't work it out something is wrong.
I went to school with you for 13 years, and played footy with you for (I had to count) 8 seasons.
Mr Cannons
26th November 2005, 15:57
Daniel Ryan?
blackjack44
26th November 2005, 17:59
The same Daniel Ryan that played in the under 17 premiership for Research in 2000?
mitch_fc
27th November 2005, 20:31
The same Daniel Ryan that played in the under 17 premiership for Research in 2000?
known to all as DJ?
Mr Cannons
28th November 2005, 06:10
nah sorry guys thats not the one.
BlueBoy41
28th November 2005, 12:47
I agree! The website (www.dvfooty.com) is a joke. Some components on it are really useful, like the part where you can see the breakdown of how a side has performed over a season, but mostly it's convoluted and not very user friendly. Not to mention it's not real flash to look at.
Mappa
5th December 2005, 11:38
...Some components on it are really useful
I agree, like the little red 'X' in the top right hand corner !! The jury is out on whether websites really make a difference, but you at least have to give it a chance. Websites are pretty much the shop window to a company nowadays, and a shop window like the DVFL is embarrassing !
Juniors_Files_Rort
17th February 2007, 14:08
Dvfl website is crap
mattyr
18th February 2007, 10:54
Dvfl website is crap
i think your about 2 years to late mate.
Hoggy
20th February 2007, 14:40
Having said that he is right.
I am trying to contact Craig Braddy to get my thoughts across to him. If Peter Floyd can run the league terribly for 70k a year, I'll do it properly for 35k.
(Sports jobs are hard to come by after completing your degree)
Juniors_Files_Rort
20th February 2007, 19:24
Anyone with any football sence could do a better ********en job then that ******** Floyd
Any comments from old Eltham people on any possible missing monies when Peter was down there many years ago????
I find it interesting that for over 20 years Val had not recieved anything paid in her name, and that Peter has not paid tax, i feel it my obligation to become a tax dobber in here, just cant help watching this mongeral hang
Its a shame to, Val was a nice lady....
Fatboy35
28th February 2007, 16:52
Anyone with any football sence could do a better ********en job then that ******** Floyd
Any comments from old Eltham people on any possible missing monies when Peter was down there many years ago????
I find it interesting that for over 20 years Val had not recieved anything paid in her name, and that Peter has not paid tax, i feel it my obligation to become a tax dobber in here, just cant help watching this mongeral hang
Its a shame to, Val was a nice lady....
Peter Floyd is not connected to Eltham ever you may be getting him confused with Alex Walker who resigned as vice President