View Full Version : Expansion Gold Coast never to get an AFL team.
JonHay2
23 Nov 2005, 20:54
Then you have to get alot more to change allegiances from their current AFL clubs, some would no doubt, but alot wouldn't. I love my AFL by I know i couldn't change if I lived there. though.
I believe they have a small supporter base in the local league to start off with, there would be patriotic Queenslanders willing to support both and with a bit of success/marketing they could establish a supporter base amongst the youth/rugby supporters. It would certainly take time to build up some support, but I have little doubt that it would eventually come.
In addition to this, non-victorian clubs generally face tough times initially, before gaining popularity and eventually prospering far beyond the potential of any club from a traditional footy state (Victorian and South Australian Clubs). Fremantle, West Coast and Brisbane all evidence this.
littleduck
23 Nov 2005, 21:11
Not ignoring anything, just stating fact. But I was just told to provide evidence that non-Broncos games rate about 175,000 in Brisbane. Might be a little bit either way, but based on figures provided by PBL, that's about right.Yeah, I would add to what you were saying and point out that the Broncos have had less FNF games in recent years by choice, and furthermore from 2007 onwards when there are 2 FNF telecasts ideally there will always be a Qld team telecast LIVE in Qld which bodes well for consistenly higher ratings than in the past.
littleduck
23 Nov 2005, 21:12
Without really being stuffed looking up old posts i'll concede you the point.
But still, other than on these forums, I have never heard of such an agreement.
I can assure you the CM mentions it every so often.
ChrisFooty
23 Nov 2005, 21:13
In addition to this, non-victorian clubs generally face tough times initially, before gaining popularity and eventually prospering far beyond the potential of any club from a traditional footy state (Victorian and South Australian Clubs). Fremantle, West Coast and Brisbane all evidence this.
Nope......Port Adeliade and Adelidae are blood rich and are super powers in terms of their strength in fininacial terms.
You telling me WA isn't a traditional footy state ?
Southport would be needed a lot of million dollar grants from the AFL.
littleduck
23 Nov 2005, 21:17
I believe they have a small supporter base in the local league to start off with, there would be patriotic Queenslanders willing to support both and with a bit of success/marketing they could establish a supporter base amongst the youth/rugby supporters. It would certainly take time to build up some support, but I have little doubt that it would eventually come. That would depend on a large band of fans supporting a few codes at once. I agree in theory it should be possible and should be the future in all states, but the cross-code cultural rivalry still dominates.
Jimthegreat
23 Nov 2005, 21:45
I believe they have a small supporter base in the local league to start off with, there would be patriotic Queenslanders willing to support both and with a bit of success/marketing they could establish a supporter base amongst the youth/rugby supporters. It would certainly take time to build up some support, but I have little doubt that it would eventually come.
In addition to this, non-victorian clubs generally face tough times initially, before gaining popularity and eventually prospering far beyond the potential of any club from a traditional footy state (Victorian and South Australian Clubs). Fremantle, West Coast and Brisbane all evidence this.SA and WA are traditional footy states and were always going to get the support eventually. They had traditional support from South & East Fremantle and Port Adelaide especially from their local league to carry over to the AFL so it was always foing to work. Brisbane were the first team in the "AFL foreign" state of Qld so they would always be propped up until they worked. There's not the AFL tradition in Qld so it's a risk as to whether 2 teams so close in location would work in that area. The AFL would prop them up for a while but would they be as keen given they have a presence already in Qld.
ChrisFooty
23 Nov 2005, 23:56
I would love to see southport in the AFL......but i have more chance winning the lottery, and thats even when i never buy a ticket
so no chance.
i know of football fans that take on alliegence to the club nearest where they live, i know a lifelong collingwood fan who now lives in subiaco and walks to every eagles game. my grandfather moved to north queensland for his health and followed the bears and then the lions, after being involved with claremont then the eagles his whole life
if i was to move to the gold coast (and you know, its been considered a few times) i would follow a new team up there. im sure there are thousands of ex-victorians just begging for a team there. not to mention the ex-pats who would pay to see collingwood or the bombers play.
changing allegiences or picking up new ones isnt as hard as many people seem to think. australians are sports mad, all over the country, eventually it will catch on, it just takes time
start it now, i say, just move a team up there, prop it up for as long as it needs and let it find its feet. give southport a licence i say. have 17 teams with a bye
Jimthegreat
24 Nov 2005, 07:00
i know of football fans that take on alliegence to the club nearest where they live, i know a lifelong collingwood fan who now lives in subiaco and walks to every eagles game. my grandfather moved to north queensland for his health and followed the bears and then the lions, after being involved with claremont then the eagles his whole life
if i was to move to the gold coast (and you know, its been considered a few times) i would follow a new team up there. im sure there are thousands of ex-victorians just begging for a team there. not to mention the ex-pats who would pay to see collingwood or the bombers play.
changing allegiences or picking up new ones isnt as hard as many people seem to think. australians are sports mad, all over the country, eventually it will catch on, it just takes time
start it now, i say, just move a team up there, prop it up for as long as it needs and let it find its feet. give southport a licence i say. have 17 teams with a byeSome less passionate/fairweather supporters would most wouldn't. Fairweather supporters won't get you far as they'll come and go with the performance of the team more than any. I'll admit I'm generalising a bit there. Some will certainly take up following the game, as happened in Sydney and get right into it, as seen with their crowds numbers, but many of these would already be following Brisbane, a triple premier. If you've been following a team for years with passion, most wouldn't change. I only speak for myself but there is no way known I would ever change my team from Carlton, even though I've lived in Geelong for many years as well as spending near 3 years in Sydney. There are alot of Fitzroy supporters who simply refused to follow another team when they merged and don't support anyone despite still having a real interest in the footy. it's just not the same gor them. Almost footy tradition, you have you're team and you keep it.
Roylion
24 Nov 2005, 17:11
The TV ratings aren't too bad either. Play Southport on a Saturday night as much as possible and there would be a fair bit of interest in them I'd say.
How do these figures compare with the Broncos?
Brisbane Lions Average Qld. TV Ratings
1 St Kilda (Thu Night - Gabba) 234,000
2 Port Adelaide (Sat Night - AAMI) 184,000
3 Sydney (Sat Night - Gabba) 168,000
4 Hawthorn (Sat afternoon - MCG) 134,000
5 West Coast (Sun afternoon - Gabba) 115,000
6 Essendon (Sat Night - Docklands) 195,000
7 Western Bulldogs (Sat Night - Gabba) 199,000
8 Adelaide (Sat Night - AAMI) 181,000
9 Richmond (Sat Night - Gabba) 161,000
10 Kangaroos (Sat Night - Gabba) 156,000
11 Fremantle (Sat Night - Subiaco) 182,000
12 Carlton (Sat Night - Docklands) 193,000
13 Geelong (Sun afternoon - Gabba) 165,000
14 Melbourne (Sat Night - Gabba) 164,000
15 Collingwood (Sat Night - Gabba) 211,000
16 West Coast (Sat Night - Subiaco) 217,000
17 Essendon (Sat Night - Gabba) 177,000
18 Western Bulldogs (Sat Night - Docklands) 168,000
19 Hawthorn (Sun afternoon - Gabba) 128,000
20 Sydney (Sun afternoon - Telstra) 120,000
21 Port Adelaide (Sat Night - Gabba) 149,000
22 St Kilda (Sat Night - Docklands) 108,000
Average: 169,000
2004 average: 175,000
Sat Afternoon games average: 134,000
Sat Night games average: 165,000
Sun afternoon games average: 132,000
ChrisFooty
24 Nov 2005, 20:57
They are decent ratings for a RL heartland.
Not suprised the saints round one got the most and the saints round 22 got the least.
Lions43
25 Nov 2005, 19:34
I'm just pointing out that all bids for inclusion to any comp generally involve positively spinning the case for admission...
Example #1 being some bids for inclusion in the A-League over-stating their short-term financial projections... Melb Victory being a good example I think?
Perhaps true but don't throw the baby out with the bathwater LittleDuck. There are countless examples of new franchises in the AFL, NRL, NBL etc etc being successful. At the end of the day it comes down to numbers and the numbers would surely tell you that the 6th biggest City in Australia should have an AFL franchise (eventually). The 5 ahead of it all do and the Gold Coast just keeps growing. There will be a team here eventually and it will succeed.
Lions43
25 Nov 2005, 19:48
That maybe true, but I have discussed this with people within the AFL.
That's almost the funniest post in this thread. I've discussed many things with politicians, senior bureaucrats etc in years gone by and been given a very firm "that won't happen" or "that will happen" response. You know something? More often than not the opposite turns out to be true. Politicians, bureaucrats and senior AFL execs will change their mind quicker than you can change channels on the TV if it suits them and if they think a Gold Coast team will improve the brand they'll be the first one's on the bandwaggon. If it succeeds they'll all be asking for a nice fat bonus. If it fails, they'll find a scapegoat.
Lions43
25 Nov 2005, 19:55
That $1.5M is about game development.
What do you mean? The $1.5m is specifically for upgrades to Carrara. Why on earth do you think they would just waste $1.5m on a couple of games if they didn't have long-term ambitions?
By the way, I'm not trying to suggest the Gold Coast franchise will spell the end (or the relocation) of the Dogs. I actually think in time the Dogs will thrive in Melbourne. Be that as it may, I'd bet everything I own the City of Gold Coast will easily sustain an AFL franchise within 10-12 years.
ChrisFooty
25 Nov 2005, 22:30
You will have to wait 20 years for southport.
Maybe then, maybe 25-30 years, Gold coast will be vivable for a 2nd qld team.
Andyt30
25 Nov 2005, 23:14
And AFL Call it National? haha if tasmania, Nt. ACT can't get a side then it shouldn;t be national, part national sounds better ;) dosn't the AFL Know What National Mean obsually they don't ;)
ChrisFooty
26 Nov 2005, 18:38
And AFL Call it National? haha if tasmania, Nt. ACT can't get a side then it shouldn;t be national, part national sounds better ;) dosn't the AFL Know What National Mean obsually they don't ;)
The NRL don't either, they have now 14 teams from two states. They still cal it national.
The game is heavily supported in tas, nt and has some little share in act (very little). It still is a national game. Why put clubs in NT or TAS when there isn't enough people and the team, probably much like Southport, would go busty bust.
Chasing the Dream
27 Nov 2005, 07:22
If Helix is right, 18 grand finals in 22 years is an astonishing achievement. I'd be surprised if any club in any senior league in the country could match that in recent times, let alone in a state league.
Southport have played in the finals in EVERY year they have competed in the AFLQ.
Like it or not, that is a successful record.
Southport also have one of the best junior developement programs of any sporting club I have seen. They have over 30 junior teams playing every week and most players who are serious about their footy in this area end up at Southport at some stage of their footy lives. Look at Wayde Mills, who actually lives in Northern NSW making the trip to Southport. Saint Nick moved from Broadbeach (also an AFLQ team) to go to Southport and I am sure that if I could be bothered racking my brain, I could come up with more.
Whilst the Southport Sharks are not everyone's cup of tea on the Coast, as there is a real love/hate relationship between other clubs and the Sharks, one thing is for sure, they are well known and this is what the sponsors would want to know about.
Finally, football on the Gold Coast is as strong as it has ever been. Southport won the AFLQ premiership, Broadbeach beat Southport in the reserves grand final. Burleigh (although struggling financially!!) beat Palm Beach in the Division 1 grand final, and Robina won the divison 2 grand final.
Coomera is a new club that has developed in the local Gold Coast juniors, and Mudgeeraba has, or is about to be granted a team in the state under 18's, and finally Auskick participation is at an all time high (like most places).
Aussie Rules is growing faster than most can keep up with on the Coast, getting players is generally no problem, umpires, coaches and other voulenteers is another story.
To those who doubt it can work here because of what happened 13 years ago, just wait and see. This place has changed, Gold Coasters are now proud of our region, and I honestly believe that there are enough people who want it enough to make it work.
ChrisFooty
27 Nov 2005, 20:44
Southport have played in the finals in EVERY year they have competed in the AFLQ.
If they played in the VFL, SANFL or waffle, they would win then how many games ?
Southport also have one of the best junior developement programs of any sporting club I have seen. They have over 30 junior teams playing every week and most players who are serious about their footy in this area end up at Southport at some stage of their footy lives. Look at Wayde Mills, who actually lives in Northern NSW making the trip to Southport. Saint Nick moved from Broadbeach (also an AFLQ team) to go to Southport and I am sure that if I could be bothered racking my brain, I could come up with more.
Whilst the Southport Sharks are not everyone's cup of tea on the Coast, as there is a real love/hate relationship between other clubs and the Sharks, one thing is for sure, they are well known and this is what the sponsors would want to know about.
Finally, football on the Gold Coast is as strong as it has ever been. Southport won the AFLQ premiership, Broadbeach beat Southport in the reserves grand final. Burleigh (although struggling financially!!) beat Palm Beach in the Division 1 grand final, and Robina won the divison 2 grand final.
Coomera is a new club that has developed in the local Gold Coast juniors, and Mudgeeraba has, or is about to be granted a team in the state under 18's, and finally Auskick participation is at an all time high (like most places).
Aussie Rules is growing faster than most can keep up with on the Coast, getting players is generally no problem, umpires, coaches and other voulenteers is another story.
To those who doubt it can work here because of what happened 13 years ago, just wait and see. This place has changed, Gold Coasters are now proud of our region, and I honestly believe that there are enough people who want it enough to make it work.
Good post.
If they played in the VFL, SANFL or waffle, they would win then how many games ?
Maybe all of them. How would you know? Geez you have a high opinion of yourself.
ChrisFooty
28 Nov 2005, 10:38
Maybe all of them. How would you know? Geez you have a high opinion of yourself.
If frankston from the vFL entered the QLD League they would win five premeirships in a row. Thats the wonderful standard
You base this on what? Does your bunyan hurt? You spout so much crap.
ChrisFooty
28 Nov 2005, 20:36
You base this on what? Does your bunyan hurt? You spout so much crap.
The QLD football league in which southport plays is weak as bickies.
The gold coast at best is 70/30 in favour of RL. This is RL territory. That game has had a 100 year headstart in that area. Southport would just come in and a few years later witter away to nothing.
I reckon I know more about nuclear physics in my little finger than you do about the standard of the QAFL.
He is just a rugby troll. Problem is, he knows little about rugby as well.
bloodsports
28 Nov 2005, 20:52
What a load of crap. There are many cities in the US of A which do not have an American football team. Including America's second largest city, Los Angeles.
Yet American football is the National winter sport.
So find a better argument moron.
bloodsports
28 Nov 2005, 20:58
Hahaha what a pi$$ weak troll you have showen your self to be.
ChrisFooty
28 Nov 2005, 23:28
Hahaha what a pi$$ weak troll you have showen your self to be.
I'm not a rugby troll ?
passionate saints supporter. Would never miss a chance to watch them play. Unfortunley to the fact i live a few hrs away from melb and lack of cash due to uni means i can't see the live thing. But radio/TV is a must when the saints play.
Why would i want the AFL to fail in NSW ? I AM MOVING THERE NEXT YEAR and i would prefer the more sucess the AFL can get up there, due to the fact it's my number one sport. Hell i would even place soccer ahead of RL (At international levels anhyways)
Will be intersteing to see when i m,ove up if i am correct on my 90/10 ratio of RL and AFL.
i GET A REALLY SNEAKING FEELING I'M CORRECT.
Go ahead say i'm a rugby control in dfefensive to the AFL game (the smallest game in the world) can't crack the NSW AND/OR qld MARKET IN ANY SUNSTANTIAL LENGTH.
Will be intersteing to see when i m,ove up if i am correct on my 90/10 ratio of RL and AFL.
i GET A REALLY SNEAKING FEELING I'M CORRECT.
Go ahead say i'm a rugby control in dfefensive to the AFL game (the smallest game in the world) can't crack the NSW AND/OR qld MARKET IN ANY SUNSTANTIAL LENGTH.
Good effort. What language is it though?
ChrisFooty
1 Dec 2005, 21:37
Good effort. What language is it though?
tHE SAME LANGUAGE THEY SPEAK ON THE gOLD cOAST.
ParraEelsNRL
18 Jun 2006, 21:31
I am not sure where some of you get the Gold Coast being RL heartland. It really isn't. Have you ever even been here? It is an AFL city, have no doubt. The Brisbane Bears didn't fail at Carrara. I admit they were not real good, but they still increased most years. Obviously the Gabba is a better home, being Brisbane and all, but I don't think failure. Two failed rugby teams? One actually, and more due to Rugby League splitting, then needing to remerge after super league. The AFL are being rightfully carefull, but it will happen.
Sure it will.:D
http://www.thesundaymail.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5936,19501960%255E2764,00.html
Titans challenge to AFL
SELINA STEELE and GREG DAVIS
18jun06
THE Gold Coast Titans have challenged the AFL to take their best shot at rugby league as the rival codes intensify their battle for the tourist strip.
Gold Coast mayor Ron Clarke confirmed this week the AFL had begun negotiations for Carrara Stadium to host four home-and-away matches next year as well as two pre-season games.
It follows this week's AFL chief executives' conference in Melbourne and recent in-house discussions between the AFL and the Gold Coast City Council over the issue of tackling the Titans head on.
Brisbane Lions chief executive Michael Bowers joined the turf war, saying his club was needed to help the AFL maintain a major presence on the Coast.
The Titans will make their NRL debut next year and the Gold Coast will host today's clash between North Queensland and Canterbury at Carrara Stadium.
Clarke, whose brother Jack was a premiership captain with Essendon, said the AFL had to act before he stepped down from office in two years or the code would risk becoming a second-class citizen.
"I have an affinity with AFL and who knows if the next mayor will have the same passion," he said.
"I'd like to get things going sooner rather than later because of the Titans but Carrara will remain mainly as an Australian rules venue.
"The AFL just can't throw it away.
"They've created an interest down here and the best way of keeping the interest going would be to include Brisbane Lions."
Bowers added the AFL needed to have a fair fight with the Titans.
"Trotting out a struggling Victorian club all by itself won't be as good as having the Lions making a significant presence down there to prepare the soil for what might happen in the future," Bowers said.
"We think the AFL, to put its best foot forward, should schedule Brisbane to play more games down there.
"It needs that sort of commitment to compete with the Titans."
However, Titans managing director Michael Searle said his organisation did not feel threatened by the renewed onslaught on rugby league.
"We will still be the only Gold Coast-based team playing in a national competition so I don't see this having an impact on us and we certainly won't be changing any of our strategies or plans as a result of it," Searle said.
Go the Titans.:thumbsu:
Sure it will.:D
http://www.thesundaymail.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5936,19501960%255E2764,00.html
Titans challenge to AFL
SELINA STEELE and GREG DAVIS
18jun06
THE Gold Coast Titans have challenged the AFL to take their best shot at rugby league as the rival codes intensify their battle for the tourist strip.
Gold Coast mayor Ron Clarke confirmed this week the AFL had begun negotiations for Carrara Stadium to host four home-and-away matches next year as well as two pre-season games.
It follows this week's AFL chief executives' conference in Melbourne and recent in-house discussions between the AFL and the Gold Coast City Council over the issue of tackling the Titans head on.
Brisbane Lions chief executive Michael Bowers joined the turf war, saying his club was needed to help the AFL maintain a major presence on the Coast.
The Titans will make their NRL debut next year and the Gold Coast will host today's clash between North Queensland and Canterbury at Carrara Stadium.
Clarke, whose brother Jack was a premiership captain with Essendon, said the AFL had to act before he stepped down from office in two years or the code would risk becoming a second-class citizen.
"I have an affinity with AFL and who knows if the next mayor will have the same passion," he said.
"I'd like to get things going sooner rather than later because of the Titans but Carrara will remain mainly as an Australian rules venue.
"The AFL just can't throw it away.
"They've created an interest down here and the best way of keeping the interest going would be to include Brisbane Lions."
Bowers added the AFL needed to have a fair fight with the Titans.
"Trotting out a struggling Victorian club all by itself won't be as good as having the Lions making a significant presence down there to prepare the soil for what might happen in the future," Bowers said.
"We think the AFL, to put its best foot forward, should schedule Brisbane to play more games down there.
"It needs that sort of commitment to compete with the Titans."
However, Titans managing director Michael Searle said his organisation did not feel threatened by the renewed onslaught on rugby league.
"We will still be the only Gold Coast-based team playing in a national competition so I don't see this having an impact on us and we certainly won't be changing any of our strategies or plans as a result of it," Searle said.
Go the Titans.:thumbsu:
Yes, a very nice article. Your point? If anything, it reinforces what I said originally. The Gold Coast is divided in its sporting preferences, not dominated wholely and soley by RL, as the term "heartland" suggests.
all that article points out is how the mayor is the only one backing afl on the gold coast...
but why not have a team on the gold coast its the second fastest growing city in the world...
The good news is alot of those people moving to the Gold Coast are footy crazy fans from Victoria, Sth Australia, West Australia etc. Fueling the want for an AFL presence on the Coast. Give it a few years when there will be plenty of Footy fans wanting to support a team. Then we will see a Gold Coast team. But I definatly think a team will re-locate out of Melbourne, my tip, the Kangaroos.
Jimthegreat
19 Jun 2006, 00:03
all that article points out is how the mayor is the only one backing afl on the gold coast...
but why not have a team on the gold coast its the second fastest growing city in the world...Mainly because hardly anyone will turn up. In the second fastest growing area in the country they got a grand total of 20,000 for 2 games, one including Brisbane. They're just not interested in going to sport full stop given the amount of failures various sports have had there.
ParraEelsNRL
19 Jun 2006, 00:38
Mainly because hardly anyone will turn up. In the second fastest growing area in the country they got a grand total of 20,000 for 2 games, one including Brisbane. They're just not interested in going to sport full stop given the amount of failures various sports have had there.
Yet over 16,000 turn up to see 2 RL clubs play who come from long distances away.
The chargers were getting a good base going up there, SL knocked it back for a few years, but this Team seems to know what their doing.
Gold Coast is Rugby League heartland, get over it.:rolleyes:
Pessimistic
19 Jun 2006, 00:43
Ron Clarke sounds more desperate with each passing week.
Its a dead duck
20,000 in tassie today.
Excuse my ignorance and i know you will probably think im an absolute twit, but i thaught Brisbane was on the Gold Coast... Apparently not.
ParraEelsNRL
19 Jun 2006, 00:54
Ron Clarke sounds more desperate with each passing week.
Its a dead duck
20,000 in tassie today.
I can't ever see a tassie team in the NRL, at least tassies like AFL, they may as well give them something they like, it's better than battling for the Gold Coast and QLD.
Excuse my ignorance and i know you will probably think im an absolute twit, but i thaught Brisbane was on the Gold Coast... Apparently not.
That's ok, I though Perth was in Fremantle.
I can't ever see a tassie team in the NRL, at least tassies like AFL, they may as well give them something they like, it's better than battling for the Gold Coast and QLD.
not really.
having a successful team on the gold coast would be great for building the popularity of the sport up there, so much better than having poor victorian clubs playing a couple of games there.
as for taking over the popularity of league up there, well the chances are always going to be slim and localized anyway, but i think the prospect of having a very popular and well supported AFL side there are very good.
to continue your analogy, we really just need to have a decent contender in the battle for the gold coast, an honourable loss will go along way to keeping AFL as the country's most popular code.
queenslanders have proven that they love their sport and will get behind any side representing them. we just need to move one up there.
hey helix, you live on the coast right? if southport came in by themselves (say there was a merger), who would you support?
fishmonger
19 Jun 2006, 21:09
I do tend to agree with you here on Tassie.
However, the national comp was built on taking short term risks to get long term returns.
You might think Sydney Swans were a risk and Brisbane Bears / Lions. Well, it was also a risk admitting Port / Adelaide because of the strength of the local SANFL comp.
If it came off, then the AFL would be sitting on a goldmine and laughing all the way to the bank.
Tasmania doesn't represent either any risk or return for the AFL.
Howard Littlejohn
19 Jun 2006, 22:49
Tasmania doesn't represent either any risk or return for the AFL.
You greatly overestimate the amount of wealth and corporate support a Tasmanian team could generate.
Tasmania would not be so much a risk as a guaranteed $10m+ (I would guess more like $20m) loss every year, for no possibility of a return as the AFL already gets virtually every sporting dollar in the state.
Simple fact - there are NO decision makers of national companies Tasmania. Only one national company of note, Gunns, has its HQ there. Most large corporates don't even run a state office, but run Tas as a country region of Victoria.
ParraEelsNRL
19 Jun 2006, 22:50
You guys are funny, the whole article was desperate.
RL is on the march, Soccer is on the march, heck even union is on a crawl moving in from the West, yep, all heading down to the Southern Capitals to steal your children's souls away, Australian Rules RIP 2007.:D
BTW, who's got the biggest average in QLD this year and every year?
RL, add the Titans and AFL in QLD looks quite small, especially when you think about 2 or 3 more teams in the QLD cup who could possibly make a go of it as well.:thumbsu:
The way the AFL is flogging teams off all over the place and ****ing in the pockets of AFL fans living in the areas where they are "testing the water" with reports of "greener pastures" popping up all the time from other "so called" AFL heartlands in "Northern States" would really be having an effect on the teams true supporters back home in Victoria?
By the time the AFL and it's supporters know what the AFL are doing, RL will have a team in PNG and 2nd NZ.
I can't believe how a team like Nth Melbourne can whore themselves around, I imagine over the next few years, teams like the Victory and Storm will be picking up a few Ex VFL fans, much like the AFL did in the SL war.:thumbsu:
Oh well, easy come, easy go.:)
RL is on the march, Soccer is on the march, heck even union is on a crawl moving in from the West, yep, all heading down to the Southern Capitals to steal your children's souls away, Australian Rules RIP 2007.:D
RL, add the Titans and AFL in QLD looks quite small, especially when you think about 2 or 3 more teams in the QLD cup who could possibly make a go of it as well.:thumbsu:
The way the AFL is flogging teams off all over the place and ****ing in the pockets of AFL fans living in the areas where they are "testing the water" with reports of "greener pastures" popping up all the time from other "so called" AFL heartlands in "Northern States" would really be having an effect on the teams true supporters back home in Victoria?
By the time the AFL and it's supporters know what the AFL are doing, RL will have a team in PNG and 2nd NZ.
I can't believe how a team like Nth Melbourne can whore themselves around, I imagine over the next few years, teams like the Victory and Storm will be picking up a few Ex VFL fans, much like the AFL did in the SL war.:thumbsu:
Oh well, easy come, easy go.:)
Always good for a laugh, old Sterlo.
QLD Premier Peter Beattie, on the ARL/NRL decision to tie up the NRL GF in Sydney until 2012, which has the potential to turn league's (largely TV) followers away even more:
"Perhaps it might be illuminating for the NRL to realise that the risk posed by the increasing popularity of AFL and soccer to the future growth of rugby league is not solely confined to NSW.
"Based on available figures, junior participation in AFL in Queensland has already outstripped junior participation in rugby league."
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=105475
That would be the backward march in rl 'heartland' then? :D
To quote Ripper: "The future looks super exciting!" :D
whats funny is your need to come on a AR board and trumpet the great gains of RL. where are you on the march? oh into your heartland. wow, good pick up.
RL is number one in QLD.
except attendances, im pretty sure the lions have better attendances than the broncos, not bad considering they are in enemy territory.
wow, if you think it looks quite small, i guess it is.
luckily the broadcasters and fans getting out to games think it looks ok.
we are slowly building in QLD. as we have been for 20 years. its the only way to do it.
hehehe you really are grasping at straws mate. the storm is still a basket case, and melbourne is as solid as ever. remember, the biggest broadcast deal in australian sport is pouring 10s of millions into the game over the next 5 years, with live, throughout the weekend AFL being pumped onto FTA TV throughout QLD and NSW and the rest of the country.
have you guys got three games on FTA this year? or is it next year. well done though, three WHOLE games. **** me.
also remember, aussie rules is the NUMBER ONE australian sport. most watched, most attended, most popular.
grats on getting the titans in, and hopefully we can have our own team in there soon.
but we are are the biggest and best comp, and we are still growing.
arent all the NRL clubs recording record losses this year? the stability of the comp should be interesting if that continues.
are you heading down to the swans collingwood match para? i suggest you do if you want to see what a really big club crowd is like.
ParraEelsNRL
20 Jun 2006, 20:03
whats funny is your need to come on a AR board and trumpet the great gains of RL. where are you on the march? oh into your heartland. wow, good pick up.
RL is number one in QLD.
except attendances, im pretty sure the lions have better attendances than the broncos, not bad considering they are in enemy territory.
wow, if you think it looks quite small, i guess it is.
luckily the broadcasters and fans getting out to games think it looks ok.
we are slowly building in QLD. as we have been for 20 years. its the only way to do it.
hehehe you really are grasping at straws mate. the storm is still a basket case, and melbourne is as solid as ever. remember, the biggest broadcast deal in australian sport is pouring 10s of millions into the game over the next 5 years, with live, throughout the weekend AFL being pumped onto FTA TV throughout QLD and NSW and the rest of the country.
have you guys got three games on FTA this year? or is it next year. well done though, three WHOLE games. **** me.
also remember, aussie rules is the NUMBER ONE australian sport. most watched, most attended, most popular.
grats on getting the titans in, and hopefully we can have our own team in there soon.
but we are are the biggest and best comp, and we are still growing.
arent all the NRL clubs recording record losses this year? the stability of the comp should be interesting if that continues.
are you heading down to the swans collingwood match para? i suggest you do if you want to see what a really big club crowd is like.
If you can't see that I was being smart to the people death riding all other sports, you're blind.:rolleyes:
Et pourquoi est-ce que la baise j'irais à un jeu de cygnes ?
Vous ne m'y arriveriez pas si c'était le seul endroit avec de l'eau
et j'étais sur le feu.:D
Désolé pour le Français parlant, mais comme vous pouvez voir, les
ventilateurs de RL est un peu plus cultivé que des bogans d'AFL
coincés dans Victoria.
Ligue de rugby, le plus grand jeu.:thumbsu:
Foxtel and the NRL are owned by the same mob so i guess having 3 games on free to air aint too bad.. ANd its the only way people in victoria can get games live..
And i thought cricket was the Number one Australian sport... Most played is golf ...
I never said it needs to increase by 30,000 seats. I meant that it needs to increase to a 30,000 ground capacity. Thats 12,000 extra thats needed. Get it, 18k + the extra 12k get that 30k mark.
Southport cannot be sustained.....if it could, The AFL would jump at the chance to get an extra team in QLD. The AFL won't the game to become as much national as possible.
Though I might bump this. Looks like the AFL are jumping.
Chasing the Dream
10 Dec 2007, 07:10
Though I might bump this. Looks like the AFL are jumping.
They are certainly jumping.
With Southport well and truely in the picture, I wonder if the stadium they need will be built at Coomera on their land. Trains and a better road structure make it a more attractive proposition than upgrading Carrara.
We now just have to wait and see.
Sherrinator
10 Dec 2007, 07:36
They are certainly jumping.
With Southport well and truely in the picture, I wonder if the stadium they need will be built at Coomera on their land. Trains and a better road structure make it a more attractive proposition than upgrading Carrara.
We now just have to wait and see.
You're right, Carrara is a hell-hole. New 25k stadium closer to Southport.
There is not the corporate support, .
CUB's biggest Brewery is at Yatala
Footy Rules Australia
10 Dec 2007, 07:42
We need a second Brisbane team first before the Coast. Bring in Southport in about 10 years another team playing out of the Gabba should be high priority.
Sherrinator
10 Dec 2007, 09:22
We need a second Brisbane team first before the Coast. Bring in Southport in about 10 years another team playing out of the Gabba should be high priority.
The Gabba is universally known as the home of the Lions.
The Gold Coast and Brisbane are a conurbanation as it is.
Warwick
10 Dec 2007, 09:25
Qld would struggle to support 2 AFL teams, but hell, lets have 3 in 10 years!!
Any new Qld team should be introduced in 15-20 years. Not 15-20 months.
Qld would struggle to support 2 AFL teams, but hell, lets have 3 in 10 years!!
Any new Qld team should be introduced in 15-20 years. Not 15-20 months.
I disagree. I think a Gold Coast team will renew interest in the Lions as well as attract new interest on the Coast.
Diamond Joe
10 Dec 2007, 22:01
Responding to someone who mentioned how W.A. and QLD are inherently different, so the suggested 'rivalries' will simply not be the same.
How wrong you are.
Gold coast will get an AFL team, and queensland is already a footy state.
Have you ever been up there ?? Almost as many people follow Aussie Rules up there now as follow League.
Get a life. You cannot stop the inevitable.
I'm a bit late to this thread, but this quote made me laugh out loud.
So QLD has the same support for Aussie Rules as WA because 'almost as many people follow Aussie Rules up there now as follow League'?
Oh, mercy :D
ChrisFooty
10 Dec 2007, 22:12
Helix, the AFL sure are jumping. There will be a Gold Coast team. The AFL are prepared to spend several million a year propping up the team, so say hello to the Gold Coast.
It will not be Southport, as the new team will be called 'Gold Coast'
Sherrinator
11 Dec 2007, 12:36
Helix, the AFL sure are jumping. There will be a Gold Coast team. The AFL are prepared to spend several million a year propping up the team, so say hello to the Gold Coast.
Southport AFC will trade as Gold Coast Sharks FC in the AFL, kind of like how the NMFC traded as Kangaroos before they decided to remain in Melbourne.
Blue_Blood
11 Dec 2007, 18:02
Southport AFC will trade as Gold Coast Sharks FC in the AFL, kind of like how the NMFC traded as Kangaroos before they decided to remain in Melbourne.
I Concur!
Err, no kidding. How wrong you have been in such a short time. Forgive me if I don't take your word for the name of the club either, as it is apparent that you just make things up to suit your feeling on the day.
As for being propped up, if it is Southport that is granted the license, they have plenty of income from their other business that they probably wont need it, unlike Victorian clubs that do not have pokies.
KingsCrow
11 Dec 2007, 21:03
The rivarly between Brisbane and the Gold coast will create alot of exposure for both Clubs. 2 Matchs a year between the two along with the traditional Sydney rivarly. Add a Collingwood game (sell out) and maybe an Essendon game ( maybe a sell out) and you have 5 huge games.
Corportate support will be HUGE up there. Anything to do with Holidays or any company that wants there named tagged to Australias fastest growing city and the sign of Australia's Growth will love to have there name branded on the Gurnsey of Australia's newest team into the Nations biggest Sport.
The rivarly between Brisbane and the Gold coast will create alot of exposure for both Clubs. 2 Matchs a year between the two along with the traditional Sydney rivarly. Add a Collingwood game (sell out) and maybe an Essendon game ( maybe a sell out) and you have 5 huge games.
Corportate support will be HUGE up there. Anything to do with Holidays or any company that wants there named tagged to Australias fastest growing city and the sign of Australia's Growth will love to have there name branded on the Gurnsey of Australia's newest team into the Nations biggest Sport.
Can't wait for the blockbusters of 12000 people.
Must be depressing to know that a new team will start off more popular than your team. It has made you bitter.
Agreed. Of all the people to start sniping at others, I would have thought North Melbourne would be happy to keep quiet.
ChrisFooty
11 Dec 2007, 23:06
As for being propped up, if it is Southport that is granted the license, they have plenty of income from their other business that they probably wont need it, unlike Victorian clubs that do not have pokies.
More i think this might happen stuff. We will see when they come in, if they do indeed actually record any profits. All ten victorian teams have pokies by the way, sorry to break that to you. There was an article published recently in the HS stating all ten victorian clubs do have pokies operations. Collingwood have the most. Kangaroos have the least.
campbell
12 Dec 2007, 00:08
More i think this might happen stuff. We will see when they come in, if they do indeed actually record any profits. All ten victorian teams have pokies by the way, sorry to break that to you. There was an article published recently in the HS stating all ten victorian clubs do have pokies operations. Collingwood have the most. Kangaroos have the least.
I am assuming you have never been to the Gold Coast, let alone the Sharks club in Southport. Very few AFl clubs have their income stream all up. They know how to run a very very profitable business, let alone when they get the afl licence. They will have that sponsorship and membership income.
Good business managers already, they will be very profitable as an AFL club.
Collingwood have the most.
How many?
Kangaroos have the least.
How many?
And compared to the Sharks? What about yearly profits? Even without an AFL license Southport does better than most AFL clubs.
ChrisFooty
12 Dec 2007, 21:00
Helix, i don't know where to find the article. It was published in the HS. All ten victorian clubs have pokies operations. I am not saying they have as much as what NRL clubs do, but they do have them, and provide a vualable source of income in a very competitive market (although a dark way of raising revenue)
If you don't want to beleive that, then don't. It's true however.
ChrisFooty
12 Dec 2007, 21:03
I am assuming you have never been to the Gold Coast, let alone the Sharks club in Southport. Very few AFl clubs have their income stream all up. They know how to run a very very profitable business, let alone when they get the afl licence. They will have that sponsorship and membership income.
Good business managers already, they will be very profitable as an AFL club.
Different story running an AFL club. Running in a state league has nowhere near as many adminstration and expenses hassles. Are all these 40,000 members going to pay 150 dollars for an AFL membership, an increase on the five dollars they pay now (so they can use the pokies and get a cheap feed)
Do you really need this explained?
Business 1. Current operations. Very profitable, no need to change anything.
Business 2. New AFL club, gets help financially from Business 1.
Discussions of the current social club members needing to become full members for the club to work is moronic. Of course some will, and most won't, but it is so obtuse and far from the point it is incredible. The social club members will continue with business 1, and business 2 will appeal to AFL fans on the Gold Coast, many of whom are not Southport Sharks social club members, as it has little to do with footy.
Getting through at all? Need a map?
ChrisFooty
12 Dec 2007, 21:28
They still won't post a profit if they only have 5,000 paid up members (as in AFL memberships) If this ploy is so successful, why don't Brisbane operate a similar venture? They could make million profits each and every year.
Forget it. You are too far gone. We will see.
ChrisFooty
12 Dec 2007, 21:46
Forget it. You are too far gone. We will see.
Can't explain any points about your argument hmm... I really do look forward to the new GC side. As long as they don't poach Nick.
ParraEelsNRL
26 Apr 2008, 02:15
I am not sure where some of you get the Gold Coast being RL heartland. It really isn't. Have you ever even been here? It is an AFL city, have no doubt. The Brisbane Bears didn't fail at Carrara. I admit they were not real good, but they still increased most years. Obviously the Gabba is a better home, being Brisbane and all, but I don't think failure. Two failed rugby teams? One actually, and more due to Rugby League splitting, then needing to remerge after super league. The AFL are being rightfully carefull, but it will happen.
Bump LOL :D
You bumped a thread which has been dead for 5 months just for that.
ParraEelsNRL
26 Apr 2008, 03:04
You bumped a thread which has been dead for 5 months just for that.
Yes.
gostk86
26 Apr 2008, 10:57
A gold coast team will work, i just dont know about 20 000 members though, lions only have 22 000 and at least 8000 of them are in the gold coast.
Funkalicous
26 Apr 2008, 12:01
A gold coast team will work, i just dont know about 20 000 members though, lions only have 22 000 and at least 8000 of them are in the gold coast.
It needs to be 20,000 potential members. - Not season ticket holders. Should be ok. I reckon we'll have 12-14 thousand in the first year and a few more with each year passing. Gold Coast won't be anywhere near as fickle as Brisbane...
campbell
26 Apr 2008, 12:26
http://gc17.com.au/
All still true. Feel free to make an argument if you ever get one.
sturtman
29 Apr 2008, 21:08
GC 17 said "To do this, we need the support of 20,000 Gold Coasters"
Quick, everyone, send in your 'old coasters now! Saint's you can sell them Nick, because St. Nick will be there Christmas time anyway, and you might well get a "Bob" for him.
dom_105
29 Apr 2008, 21:24
http://gc17.com.au/
It's already better than www.afl.com.au
Howard Littlejohn
29 Apr 2008, 21:29
It's already better than www.afl.com.au (http://www.afl.com.au)
Yes, but so is www.doesnotexist.com