View Full Version : C Section Amateur Football
Pages :
[
12]
Boutros Boutros Serafini
16 Aug 2006, 11:52
Just on those VAFA drug tests at Fitzroy - turns out the results have been dismissed. Turns out the high level of testosterone has been attributed to the fact that all the players at the Reds have huge balls.
i make sense
16 Aug 2006, 12:15
Just on those VAFA drug tests at Fitzroy - turns out the results have been dismissed. Turns out the high level of testosterone has been attributed to the fact that all the players at the Reds have huge balls.
so too do their wives and girl friends!!!
Anyway, before I forget, this just in: Apparently the VAFA drug testers were down at Brunswick Street last night, and the A-samples have revealed each and every Fitzroy player has tested positive to exorbitant amounts of testosterone, and may need to forfeit this weeks game.
Ha that may be the only way we could get 4 points off the Reds, by forfeit!
top ten
1. Anstey. Good team good player don't worry about players takin votes off him does more than enough.
2. Gregory. Not sure if he has missed many but he stands out big quick and the team plays well we he's up and going.
3.P.Sullivan. Gun say no more he's there heart and soul and some.
4.L.Wintle plays at both ends of the ground and is noticable with his marking has played all games bar one always poll's well
5. Lewski guy can play dosent kick enough goals but gets lots of footy of half back and sets his team up. Team uses him to do more than required this is why he will vote well
6. Miller has a good engine and reads the ball well
7. Brown tall forward hard to stop and is always hampton's leading goal kicker. Team has struggled but might poll a few votes.
8. Ritterman only cause i always see his name in the best and is a proven vote winner
9. Ruckman from fitzroy not sure of his name but a standout not just in the ruck but around the ground.
10. P.wintle an outsider has played all games this year and is dangerous anywhere he plays does the frekish things and will vote ok
Close but no..... Barker. 22 for nobs not sure of his name onballer. Loats will poll well not sure if he has played enough games!! J.tyquin goalkicking midfielder's always poll's well and with that left foot!!
The Tiger's Nuts
16 Aug 2006, 17:23
BRUNSWICK STREET, FITZROY: News just in, two Ormond 'spies' watching Fitzroy training from the Heritage-listed grandstand have taken ill after accepting a nip of something-or-other from one of the locals who call the grandstand home.
Tests have come back negative from the samples provided, suspicion is they caught Sumatran Ratmonkey Virus from whatever has died up in the roof space above the changerooms (and STILL hasn't been cleaned out, according to a source gagging at the memory of last weekend).
What if it isn't dead ratmonkeys, and is instead the putrefying remains of a lippy opposition supporter from earlier in the season? Could there be more than one skeleton in the Reds' closet?
Guru Joffa, what i meant was If he is suspended does that mean he able to coach on game day? from the sidelines
Or as one coach was seen to do in the WRFL junior finals, slip on a water carriers top to simultaneously dispense refreshments and directions... they take their U11s seriously out west.
Tigernuts
Boutros Boutros Serafini
16 Aug 2006, 17:47
Tests have come back negative from the samples provided, suspicion is they caught Sumatran Ratmonkey Virus from whatever has died up in the roof space above the changerooms (and STILL hasn't been cleaned out, according to a source gagging at the memory of last weekend).
What if it isn't dead ratmonkeys, and is instead the putrefying remains of a lippy opposition supporter from earlier in the season? Could there be more than one skeleton in the Reds' closet?
Tigernuts
Ah my St Bedes friend, it's not Sumatran Ratmonkey Virus, but more likely 'Bird Flu'.
You see on weekdays we rent out the visitors rooms to Ricardo the Bird Whisperer. Every Tuesday he opens up a crate of undocumented sick South Asian birds, and then rubs them on the benches, taps and doorknobs.
It's a good little earner.
simon symonds
16 Aug 2006, 21:28
TOP 10
1. Fat Pr!ck 36 (OP) Canteen sales gone through the roof for all OP away games. A truly disgusting club led by this bloke
2. Long John Silver (NOBS) Most unaccountable footballer to have played. Onll courageous thing done is walk around with hair like that
3. Bald Red Head (OC) Dirty little sniper who should of been drowned at birth. Bald red and ugly = TRIFECTA
4. M Hayes (PV) Only known survivor of Chernobyl tragedy to be playing c grade ammos
5. P Groves (STBMT) Rep side now playing 2s. Good pick by george. True champion
6. Mahgemez(FR) Never seen someone so scared for someone that size. Epitomises Fitzroy. Shows how good vfl 2s is!
7. Boundy (OP) What a pussy. Taking a year off for a sprained ankle. Has piled on the kgs with his fat mates down at Garvy
8. Kinsella (STBMT)Only seen play once Never seen someone with so little talent give so much lip. Would fit in perferctly down at OP canteen with the rest of the ferals
9.Gold (AJAX) Iwould think he would struggle to produce children naturally looking at his shorts. Real competiton for john stevens
10 Scribe - Sounds like a geniune w anker
GetSmart
16 Aug 2006, 22:46
Ah my St Bedes friend, it's not Sumatran Ratmonkey Virus, but more likely 'Bird Flu'.
You see on weekdays we rent out the visitors rooms to Ricardo the Bird Whisperer. Every Tuesday he opens up a crate of undocumented sick South Asian birds, and then rubs them on the benches, taps and doorknobs.
It's a good little earner.Max here, Tiger Nuts is obviously undercover for Chaos! He has as much Tiger in him as Fat Cat
zoofest43
16 Aug 2006, 22:51
Comp B+F is a difficult task given I only see teams twice a year.Have to rely heavily on fellow forumites summations of games. That withstood here goes.
1. Anstey
2 Lewski
3. Miller
4. Loats
5. P.Sullivan
6. Gregory
7. Tyquin
8. Ritterman
9. Davis
10. Ajax's boundary umpire
Three Malugas
16 Aug 2006, 22:54
Comp B+F is a difficult task given I only see teams twice a year.Have to rely heavily on fellow forumites summations of games. That withstood here goes.
1. Anstey
2 Lewski
3. Miller
4. Loats
5. P.Sullivan
6. Gregory
7. Tyquin
8. Ritterman
9. Davis
10. Ajax's boundary umpireAfter considerable study. Tyquin has polled from the first game and will go close to upsetting Anstey. Both will be top three.
The Tiger's Nuts
17 Aug 2006, 00:36
Max here, Tiger Nuts is obviously undercover for Chaos! He has as much Tiger in him as Fat Cat
Max is right. Just 'cos I post here doesn't mean I'm from St Bedes. I thought C Section was the message thread concerning footballers whose mums had a difficult birth. (As opposed to the B Section thread, where all the posters seem to have been dropped on their heads as babies.)
Tigers could mean Werribee. It could mean Richmond. I could be a FIDA spy from Mambourin.
Or St Bedes.
Wherever I'm from, I'm the one with the sharp knife holding the severed plums... :eek:
Tigernuts
Looks like Simon Symonds got his wires crossed a touch.
I don't play in C section, but if I did, I doubt I'd be in such esteemed company as the genuine names listed by other forum contributors. However, I'm willing to concede being a genuine w@nker. Usually at least once a week (unless the missus is being particularly generous).
My Top 10 B&F prediction is pretty similar to the rest:
Anstey
Keleher (Orm)
Lewski
Loats
L. Wintle
P. Sullivan
Williams (Mon)
Davis
Tyquin
Routman (smoky)
Frankly, I can't see anyone from the bottom 3 sides polling inside the Top 10 as they simply haven't won enough games.
Still, umpires can work in mysterious ways.
Red Roy
17 Aug 2006, 17:40
good to hear from you Frase. thought you had lost interest in your old C Section mates and were only posting with the Big Boys in A Section.
Good to see not many of you have diverted far from Reds top 10 in the comp B & F - but people, please put in a bit more effort then just jotting down some names - give your posts some substance with some balanced and fair opinion as the Red always does.
RCT - where are you?? Is there a sale on at Bunnings and you are too busy to post? or have you finally realised that the Red is the pre-eminent commentator on all things C Section?
I am heading off to the Gunn tonight to watch ormond Train - CFE - I will be in a Fitzroy Jumper so you may want to turn the lights out so the lads just don't fall over at the sight of their nemisis!!!!!!
Looking foward to Saturday - Just need hampton and the tigers to do the right thing and look out !!
Full tips will arrive tomorrow along with a comprehensive report on Ormonds training.
Thanks for your continuing support.
The Roy
Homer101
17 Aug 2006, 23:41
1. Anstey
2 Lewski
3. Miller
4. Loats
5. P.Sullivan
6. Gregory
7. Tyquin
8. Ritterman
9. Davis
10. Ajax's boundary umpire
All you guys claim to know a lot about C grade but none of you have Tim Brady in your predictions. Yes I know NOBSPC have only got 5 wins the kid should poll well.
overtheline
18 Aug 2006, 08:04
good to hear from you Frase. thought you had lost interest in your old C Section mates and were only posting with the Big Boys in A Section.
Good to see not many of you have diverted far from Reds top 10 in the comp B & F - but people, please put in a bit more effort then just jotting down some names - give your posts some substance with some balanced and fair opinion as the Red always does.
RCT - where are you?? Is there a sale on at Bunnings and you are too busy to post? or have you finally realised that the Red is the pre-eminent commentator on all things C Section?
I am heading off to the Gunn tonight to watch ormond Train - CFE - I will be in a Fitzroy Jumper so you may want to turn the lights out so the lads just don't fall over at the sight of their nemisis!!!!!!
Looking foward to Saturday - Just need hampton and the tigers to do the right thing and look out !!
Full tips will arrive tomorrow along with a comprehensive report on Ormonds training.
Thanks for your continuing support.
The Roy
Roy,
I don't think there is any doubt you are the foremost authority on C grade. Ths weeks games
Reds v Ormond- Can Ormond get the monkey off their back? With another strong reds side selected( willy twos have a bye!!), I fancy the mental torment will continue. With St bedes last game, Ormond had better hope for no blowout wins for the teams around them. Reds by plenty!
Monash v St bedes- No gregory, no hope. SBMT bby plenty
Oc vs Nobs- Oc good at home and the giant to kick plenty. Oc for mine
Hampton v Parkdale. How does Parkdale's away record look? Two wins-nobs and parade. Not very impressive. Rovers good against Ajax last week and they will casue an upset and stay in the section.
Parade v Ajax- Bring your mouthguards boys. A little tempted to go for Parade, as Ajax can turn it up on occassions but they have too much ability. Jackas!
Red Roy
18 Aug 2006, 09:19
Ormond Training Last Night
Red remained reasonably well hidden last night so as not to scare the life out of the Monders. Saw some interesting things though:
- Lots of work on Centre Square stuff - watch for Miller hitting the contest at pace and MConville trying to get it to his right hand side. Will try and get a block on for him
- Kickouts - not much science here, nothing you haven't seen before Burgs
- General Ball movement - trying to create space on the postage stamp by kicking to the fat side of the ground. TD will be well aware of this and will pick off any dangerous balls before they get to Ash Russell
Overall - trained O.K. What was the bit at the end when some sort of religious man came onto the ground and a Fitzroy Jumper was burned and all the players chanted - some sort of Exorcism ????
TIPS:
Reds v Ormond - I won't even bother
Tigers v Students - Gregory maybe out - students are gone
Rovers v Parkdale - Huge game, Rovers can almost secure C section if they win, Parkdale still in with a chance of the four - can local boy get over his tantrum from last week - Roy thinks not, Rovers in an upset
Parade v Jackas - jackas too slick, OP have been eating too much Hungry Jacks
Nobs v OC - the Giant may kick 20 if they leave him on. OC in a canter, NOBS going down
ROY
Spencer Johnson
18 Aug 2006, 12:55
I think OC will be in a bit of trouble this week down back . . . not as straightforward as one might think. Can they win at home ? Yes, but it may be much closer. I will say less than a goal.
Monash v Bedes - I think this may get really ugly. Up over 15 goals for the mighty Brindisi Street Boys. 17-0 is nothing to sneeze at.
Hampton v Parkdale - Rovers. It's their game for the taking ! To stay in C Grade yet again !
Jackas will have a field day - this one is over. 10 goals plus
Oh, and Reds by 37 points. . . . . . . .
Ammoandy
18 Aug 2006, 13:08
Ormond after the exorcism to finish off "Red's" year.
Tigers in a canter towards the finals. The butcher shop window has even more in's & outs again this week
"Local Boy" will settle down and have his mob prevail in last ditch effort for the finals.
The Jackas easy at Garvey
Likewise OC over the hapless Nobs
Ormond Training Last Night
Red remained reasonably well hidden last night so as not to scare the life out of the Monders. Saw some interesting things though:
- Lots of work on Centre Square stuff - watch for Miller hitting the contest at pace and MConville trying to get it to his right hand side. Will try and get a block on for him
- Kickouts - not much science here, nothing you haven't seen before Burgs
- General Ball movement - trying to create space on the postage stamp by kicking to the fat side of the ground. TD will be well aware of this and will pick off any dangerous balls before they get to Ash Russell
Overall - trained O.K. What was the bit at the end when some sort of religious man came onto the ground and a Fitzroy Jumper was burned and all the players chanted - some sort of Exorcism ????
Some would wonder with all that effort of attending training that the Reds might be a bit worried that we may finally beat you guys??
Tips:
Ormond
St Bedes
Parkdale
Ajax
The OC
BlindedByTheLight
18 Aug 2006, 14:08
I think OC will be in a bit of trouble this week down back . . . not as straightforward as one might think. Can they win at home ? Yes, but it may be much closer. I will say less than a goal.
Monash v Bedes - I think this may get really ugly. Up over 15 goals for the mighty Brindisi Street Boys. 17-0 is nothing to sneeze at.
Hampton v Parkdale - Rovers. It's their game for the taking ! To stay in C Grade yet again !
Jackas will have a field day - this one is over. 10 goals plus
Oh, and Reds by 37 points. . . . . . . .
suggest that the garvey boys are prepared for one last final fighting effort to remain in c section. big reunion day at Garvey tomorrow, so stay tuned
zoofest43
18 Aug 2006, 14:14
looks an easy round to tip.
Parkdale Hampton are struggling to much to even save themselves
Ormond Playing consistent footy
St Bede's far to good
Ajax far to quick and accomplished
OC should be to solid
GL to all players
torpedo9
18 Aug 2006, 14:15
St Bedes & the Jackas must be shoe ins.
Hampton to upset Parkdale in a thriller (here's hoping anyway)
Warnie to knock over Cullinan again
Though the depth of the OC midfield is being tested at the wrong end of the season, 15 fwd entries for the game will mean 15 goals to the Giant. So the Loat-show to roll on for at least another week.
The consensus B&F with Loater in the top 5 is too generous. He hasn't played enough games but should have 5 or 6 BoGs. I think 31 votes won it last year from memory (Smyth).
Mobbenfuhrer
18 Aug 2006, 14:46
I'm sticking with what I reckoned at an earlier date :
All the away teams to win this weekend.
Hampton v Parkdale
Ormond v Reds
Monash v StBM
OP v AJAX
OC v NOBS
All the home teams to win the weekend after.
NOBS v Monash
Parkdale v OP
StBM v Ormond
AJAX v OC
Reds v Hampton
StBM 18 wins
AJAX 13
Parkdale 9.5
Ormond 9
---
Reds 9
OC 9
Monash 7.5
NOBs 6
Hampton 5
OP 4
Hmm, Hampton versus Precariousdale! *crosses fingers*
GetSmart
18 Aug 2006, 17:06
Max here. They were telling us after 6 rounds that the Tigers had a lucky draw. Could not win away from home and could not win on big grounds. So I have told the Chief that he should bet on Monash to win tomorrow! What do you think 99?
Spencer Johnson
18 Aug 2006, 18:30
suggest that the garvey boys are prepared for one last final fighting effort to remain in c section. big reunion day at Garvey tomorrow, so stay tuned
Realise it is Spinder's last home game and other pending retirements on the cards but are they not good enough on this ground for St Bedes Mentone
:thumbsd:
Grandstand Guru
18 Aug 2006, 18:45
Well for what it's worth before I pack in the work day
Hampton v Parkdale - Hampton in a last ditch fight to avoid relegation
Ormond v Reds - Reds to continue psychological torture of Ormond
Monash v StBM - Definitely no Gregory so Tigers by minimum 10 goals
OP v AJAX - OP to unsettle Ajax
OC v NOBS - OC to step one foot closer to Sept (I'm thinking if they make it they will continue their trend of making up the numbers!)
zoofest43
18 Aug 2006, 19:02
TOP 10
1. Fat Pr!ck 36 (OP) Canteen sales gone through the roof for all OP away games. A truly disgusting club led by this bloke
2. Long John Silver (NOBS) Most unaccountable footballer to have played. Onll courageous thing done is walk around with hair like that
3. Bald Red Head (OC) Dirty little sniper who should of been drowned at birth. Bald red and ugly = TRIFECTA
4. M Hayes (PV) Only known survivor of Chernobyl tragedy to be playing c grade ammos
6. Mahgemez(FR) Never seen someone so scared for someone that size. Epitomises Fitzroy. Shows how good vfl 2s is!
7. Boundy (OP) What a pussy. Taking a year off for a sprained ankle. Has piled on the kgs with his fat mates down at Garvy
8. Kinsella (STBMT)Only seen play once Never seen someone with so little talent give so much lip. Would fit in perferctly down at OP canteen with the rest of the ferals
9.Gold (AJAX) Iwould think he would struggle to produce children naturally looking at his shorts. Real competiton for john stevens
Good to see more constuctive posts. Fair dinkum misinformed and not real funny either.
Viva the Red Rock.
Bigfootyfan
18 Aug 2006, 19:36
TOP 10
Your a genuine tool!!!!!
Guru Joffa
19 Aug 2006, 18:40
Ventured to Bluff Road to watch the Parkdale Vultures record a very easy and impressive win over Hampton led by the 'Big Red' Shane Rowley who slotted a lazy 13 odd goals.
'Local Boy' was very pleased with the team's efforts!! :thumbsu:
richoooo
20 Aug 2006, 11:35
here goes....
NOBS v Monash. NOBS are playing at home and for c grade survival, Monash for the jumper alone. Neither team have any current form but Monash still should be too polished. .....unless a dozen slabs to ease the burden of being a pauper student comes along.......
Parkdale v Parade. a shoo-in for the bay boys. Loats only wishes he had red hair.
St. Bedes v Ormond. A good pre-finals work out for both sides. Lots of running and no injuries will be the theme of the day for both sides.
Reds v Hampton. the heart says Hampton the head says Reds.
.....unless a dozen slabs to ease the burden of being a pauper student comes along.......
AJAX vOC. Though the rabbis can not go up or down and don't want to get injured, they should be too fast on the big deck for OC. ....unless a dozen slabs comes along...
Should be a cracking round.. my tip for the ladder is:
Finalists: St. bedes, Ajax, Ormond, Parkdale
MIddle of the road: OC, Monash, Reds, Hampton
D Grade and thanks for the memories: NOBS and Parade
Carlton & United Breweries could be the real winners.
Three Malugas
20 Aug 2006, 14:15
OC from what we read now close to full strength. Jackers also have players back in. Parkdale as good as they will get list wise. Jackers getting players back. No word from Tigers or Ormond all season on outs. Number Tiger Reserves players in seniors over past few weeks. Still continue to win well though. Ormond keeping pretty low and are disciplined outfit. Parkdale getting the most out of their list. Can't afford more injuries.
Thoughts for the last four weeks.
Ajax to win 4 ? mark over Ormond game
Ormond to win 2 with possible win over Jackers.
OC to win 2. On form won't beat Tigers and Jackers.
Monash to win 1. Dont be suprised if they lose to NOBS last game away. Only win Reds.
Parkdale to win 3. Expect them to upset Monash. Will beat Rovers and Parade.
On that basis. Tigers, Jackers, Ormond and Parkdale for the final 4.
Parade are gone. Rovers or Reds the other candidate. Depends whether Rovers can win two games. Will be touch and go. Expect NOBS to get over Reds this week
Not far off it back in July. Will this be the week of upsets?
BlindedByTheLight
20 Aug 2006, 18:05
here goes....
NOBS v Monash. NOBS are playing at home and for c grade survival, Monash for the jumper alone. Neither team have any current form but Monash still should be too polished. .....unless a dozen slabs to ease the burden of being a pauper student comes along.......
Parkdale v Parade. a shoo-in for the bay boys. Loats only wishes he had red hair.
St. Bedes v Ormond. A good pre-finals work out for both sides. Lots of running and no injuries will be the theme of the day for both sides.
Reds v Hampton. the heart says Hampton the head says Reds.
.....unless a dozen slabs to ease the burden of being a pauper student comes along.......
AJAX vOC. Though the rabbis can not go up or down and don't want to get injured, they should be too fast on the big deck for OC. ....unless a dozen slabs comes along...
Should be a cracking round.. my tip for the ladder is:
Finalists: St. bedes, Ajax, Ormond, Parkdale
MIddle of the road: OC, Monash, Reds, Hampton
D Grade and thanks for the memories: NOBS and Parade
Carlton & United Breweries could be the real winners.
Well summarised, especially for the relegation teams. It really is thanks for the memories to two once proud A Garde clubs who have failed to move with teh times and abused those who have had vision and wanted to help but were ignored. Long live the revolution.
bit of a disapointment to see Old Paradians getting relegated to D1 Section. Have no one to blame but themselves though, **** training drills and cannot attract skilful players from the school. Them going down to D1 next year will see them lose Bounty to Bundoora and many potential under 19s who are having to go up to play seniors next year will leave.. most likely to Old trinity where the facilities are brilliant.
what does anyone else think about this?
Three Malugas
20 Aug 2006, 22:20
bit of a disapointment to see Old Paradians getting relegated to D1 Section. Have no one to blame but themselves though, **** training drills and cannot attract skilful players from the school. Them going down to D1 next year will see them lose Bounty to Bundoora and many potential under 19s who are having to go up to play seniors next year will leave.. most likely to Old trinity where the facilities are brilliant.
what does anyone else think about this?Yes, disappointing to see Parade go down. Seems Parade has some terriffic older blokes that need help from the playing group. Instead of pulling the plug players should be taking up the reins with recruiting and getting the club up the grades.
Brooksy01
20 Aug 2006, 22:27
Yer I think they can't cope with the loss of the p00f of Daniel Harford! Will Fantone stand up??
BlindedByTheLight
20 Aug 2006, 23:04
yes, it will be very hard for Boundy to resist the anticipated huge offers that will now come from some of the diamond valley clubs. Suggest that Bundoora wont be the highest bidder. And most likely many of their under 19s will do what ones have done before them - move back to their original local clubs and get some cash when they lpay seniors.
Relegation will mean that players like Brabander can now go on and pay 400 games when he and oters should ahve retired years ago and been prepared to let the emerging players come in. These are the ones that have since departed for the local clubs where they are made much more welcome.
Time for major changes at Garvey. Long live teh Revolution.
Great win by the Monds on Saturday. Got the monkey finally off the back.
The supposed big names for Reds didn't fire a shot, although Davis was missing from the side, too busy trying to listen in to our qtr time huddle talk, he obviously can't relay messages very well...
Dead rubber against St Bedes this week, fine tune for finals action...
Richard Clay Torpedoes
21 Aug 2006, 09:30
Thanks for the messages on concern for RCT's welfare...and to me old mate Red..season gone and no silverware for the cabinet but we have each other and that's what matters...
What a week...just nailed the Quaddie late afternoon Monday at the Sorrento Pub, shouted the bar a round of Jim Beam and cokes and the girls suggest we might set sail for St.Leonards and spend the night with feral's at the pub...wander down to the where the sloop should be and nothing...turns out some local zombie decided he would sail her single handed across the Bass Strait and then leave her anchored off some Northern Tasmanian coastline town!
As a result RCTand girls from Bar 20, rented a nice little shack at Portsea for the week and spent our time between the wineries, playing golf and relaxing in the 12 person spa....unfortunately the lap top was on board the yacht so RCT had no access to post a weekend market...and it was a good thing I couldn't as the results were easy get's...told everyone weeks ago Ormond would defeat the Red's at the Gunn...the good news was I made up for the lost betting action by running an SP Saturday arvo at the Sorrento and took a packet when all the locals unloaded on Minson in the Group One....sometimes taking money is so easy....
This week...will Loats back up againt the Cleaners for 3 weeks in a row and gee the hammy will be tested at the Park...Parky easily over Parade who are finished...reckon the NOBS will knock off the Students who will be absent studying for future exams...Rovers vs Reds...could become drink off at the Lord Newry to decide the result...Tigers host the Gunners in a warm up before the bigger events ahead...markets will be coming this week.
overtheline
21 Aug 2006, 13:48
Credit where credit is due- Well done Ormond! too good for the Reds on SAturday and that is it for 2006. Surviving in C grade is still an honourable outcome though.
Was looking through the stats on the vafa website, Ormond have an enormous amount of key players who have played every game or only missed one or two. Certainly has helped their season. I think Miller,Keleher and McConville have missed two between them! Do the Sullivans ever miss? It is very intersting reading as Parkdale and st Bedes also have a lot in the same category.
That list indicates just how hard hit Reds and OC have been, so it has been a good effort from both of those clubs.
Roy, we all eagerly await your thoughts form Saturday!
overtheline
21 Aug 2006, 13:48
Credit where credit is due- Well done Ormond! too good for the Reds on SAturday and that is it for 2006. Surviving in C grade is still an honourable outcome though.
Was looking through the stats on the vafa website, Ormond have an enormous amount of key players who have played every game or only missed one or two. Certainly has helped their season. I think Miller,Keleher and McConville have missed two between them! Do the Sullivans ever miss? It is very intersting reading as Parkdale and st Bedes also have a lot in the same category.
That list indicates just how hard hit Reds and OC have been, so it has been a good effort from both of those clubs.
Roy, we all eagerly await your thoughts from Saturday!
Richard Clay Torpedoes
21 Aug 2006, 14:48
RCT's C Section VAFA B&F Market
Anstey - SBMT $2.80 solid favourite
Lewski - AJAX $3.20 but no real money seen as yet
Miller - Ormond $4.60 always votes well and played nearly every game in 06
Gregory - Monash $ 5.80 consistent year and will poll
L.Wintle - SBMT $ 7.00 another consistent tall who stands out
P.Sullivan - PV $7.50 in and under with good disposal noticed by umpires
J.Tyquin - SBMT $ 8.00 missed out on Rep. teams somehow but another Tiger with a show...could hurt his teammates in the end
Loats - OC $ 11.00 will poll a few 3 votes with big bags but missed too many game to win
T.Davis - FR $ 13.00 eye catcher in middle of the road team
G.Smythe - Monash $ 13.00 bit of a smoky...red hair and plays free..last years winner and umpires favourite
McConville - Orm - $25.00 another who may suprise everyone but those at the Gunn
Ritterman - $25.00 - missed a few games and won't be in the finish for mine
Cahill - FR $33.00 - game on baller and wears a helmet which will get him a few votes
Any odds the rest for me...no-one from NOBS/Hampton Rovers or Parade can nor should win and should be embarassed if it were to!
zoofest43
21 Aug 2006, 16:06
With so much hanging on the result it will be interesting to see how the younger brigade at OC handle the pressure. As predicted at the start of the year ,there have been sweeping changes at OC and ,also as predicted, the side has never really felt it would be relegated.
Now these young blokes have an opportunity to take a huge step forward. With a couple of pacy mid-field types still sidelined with hammys,plenty of young blokes will play. I watch with great interest to see which ones will get the nod. 10 unders have played this season,with all showing a lot,a couple have become regular members of the side.
The availability of key players who missed last week will go a long way to determining the result as Ajax have been well settled for the past month or so.
The one thing I know is that OC will turn up the heat early on. They are keen for their younger blokes to expierence finals footy as part of their development and with a strong view that '07 will be the best year OC has seen for some time.
If Ajax take it lightly or play to preserve, they will be eaten alive. I can't wait to see how it pans out. As stated 5 weeks back,if you're good enough ,you make it, otherwise someone else fills your spot.
Footy feeds on the weak,that's why it's the best game.
Saintly5
21 Aug 2006, 16:09
RCT's C Section VAFA B&F Market
Anstey - SBMT $2.80 solid favourite
Lewski - AJAX $3.20 but no real money seen as yet
Miller - Ormond $4.60 always votes well and played nearly every game in 06
Gregory - Monash $ 5.80 consistent year and will poll
L.Wintle - SBMT $ 7.00 another consistent tall who stands out
P.Sullivan - PV $7.50 in and under with good disposal noticed by umpires
J.Tyquin - SBMT $ 8.00 missed out on Rep. teams somehow but another Tiger with a show...could hurt his teammates in the end
Loats - OC $ 11.00 will poll a few 3 votes with big bags but missed too many game to win
T.Davis - FR $ 13.00 eye catcher in middle of the road team
G.Smythe - Monash $ 13.00 bit of a smoky...red hair and plays free..last years winner and umpires favourite
McConville - Orm - $25.00 another who may suprise everyone but those at the Gunn
Ritterman - $25.00 - missed a few games and won't be in the finish for mine
Cahill - FR $33.00 - game on baller and wears a helmet which will get him a few votes
Any odds the rest for me...no-one from NOBS/Hampton Rovers or Parade can nor should win and should be embarassed if it were to!
RCT- there you go betting to 400% again...no wonder you clean the punters !!!! What about the odds for Any Other Player? They are always the best bet. Everyone knows the umps couldnt tell black from white.....nor class from ass. Give me odds to win $10,000 !!!
Richard Clay Torpedoes
21 Aug 2006, 16:17
Saintly 5...name your player and I'll give you a price...had to set the board to such a percentage to fund the cost of shipping my yacht back from Tassie and I don't anticpate much money for the favourite duo so I could be on a hiding to nothing!
RCT.
Saintly 5...name your player and I'll give you a price...had to set the board to such a percentage to fund the cost of shipping my yacht back from Tassie and I don't anticpate much money for the favourite duo so I could be on a hiding to nothing!
RCT.
I'd have Keleher or L.Deledio before McConville, so give me a price on those two thanks!
Richard Clay Torpedoes
21 Aug 2006, 16:58
CFE...Keleher is one I am a little wary of not having included in my market as having studied the best player 'appearances' and his past record would suggest he just might be in the mix...$16.00 with a big watch...Deledio - I'm not as convinced he will poll heavily so $33.00 on offer for him...
RCT
Mobbenfuhrer
21 Aug 2006, 17:58
Nice job CFE, the Ormond boys wanted it more on Saturday! Reds can now look to 2007 knowing that but for a lapse mid-season they could have been in the mix, and are going to come out of 2006 mid-table as I had originally suggested.
Red Roy
21 Aug 2006, 18:33
Afternoon All,
Despite suggestions to the contrary - Roy has not crawled under a rock, he is alive and well.
Well - then exorcism appears to have worked - somehow Daryl Cullinan has picked the flipper and sqaure cut it behind point for a nice boundary. Ormond will make the finals and the Reds will not - Red is disappinted but big enough to acknowledge the victors - so well done Ormond.
(we will always have that 05 flag over you though!!!!!!!!!!)
Red is not as gracious as he thought !
A magnificent effort for the Reds to stay up given the ridicolous injury toll we have endured - not to mention the absence of our illustrious leader and coach for a few games.
Lets finish off well by sending Hamtpon to D Grade this week and keep the Nobs up. We can't play for the RedNob cup if they are in D section can we and Red likes the Nobs, even if there appears to have been a bit of a souring of the relationship between the respective coaches.
O.K. - what know for the Red some of you may ask? Well a quick perusal of the Reserves table and you will see that the Reds will finish 3rd and see some finals. One advantage of the ones being out is that coach Litza will have plenty of boys qualified (that will play a part in selection this week mark my words) and you will see a vastly different (read better) magoos outfit come finals time. A flag is a flag lads - so lets go get our first C Section Variety shall we.
I see RCT has graced us with his Market for the comp B&F. Since when did you become Simon Beasely anyway RCT? and enough of the yacht to Sorrento crap - Red and others are well and truly over it. Some striking similarities with my top ten - your quote on the Giant is almost a direct replica of mine - have you been cutting and pasting my posts again RCT???? I will start to impose a fee.
Enough from the Roy for now
See you later in the week
The Red
CFE...Keleher is one I am a little wary of not having included in my market as having studied the best player 'appearances' and his past record would suggest he just might be in the mix...$16.00 with a big watch...Deledio - I'm not as convinced he will poll heavily so $33.00 on offer for him...
RCT
Agreed - that's why I've slotted Keleher in as 2nd fave. Will also have the same problem as Anstey & Lewski re: teammates pinching votes but it should be close.
joeldalsanto26
21 Aug 2006, 21:26
Agreed - that's why I've slotted Keleher in as 2nd fave. Will also have the same problem as Anstey & Lewski re: teammates pinching votes but it should be close.
Agree with you with such strenght in the Ajax midfield will take votes off him, Including;
Ritterman
Sutton
Isrealson
Roitman too name a few
Richard Clay Torpedoes
22 Aug 2006, 10:43
I see RCT has graced us with his Market for the comp B&F. Since when did you become Simon Beasely anyway RCT? and enough of the yacht to Sorrento crap - Red and others are well and truly over it. Some striking similarities with my top ten - your quote on the Giant is almost a direct replica of mine - have you been cutting and pasting my posts again RCT???? I will start to impose a fee.
Enough from the Roy for now
Nurse Rachett....Red's medication time.....
Your football knowledge Red is very limited...RCT gave a young Simon Beasley a lesson playing at full back for the Tigers at the Western Oval and then sat him down post match for a few beers and lessons in life and money matters...
The only exorcism to be carried out in C Section is to the RED shorts worn by Fitzroy Reds.....disgraceful
Clinging on to a hope for a Reserves Premiership now RED...how things quickly change!!!
greentree
22 Aug 2006, 11:09
Might be a case of de ja vue for Parkdale, I seem to remember Parky needing to win the last game and Uni Blacks needing to win for Parky to make the finals, Parky had a good 8 goal win and Uni blacks decided to lose only their 3 game of the season, think I can see Ajax losing with nothing to play for.
meaning Parky will finish 5th again.
for richo or poorer
22 Aug 2006, 13:55
VAFA,
It is with deep regret i post this message to inform you all i will not be playing football next year.
I have finnally fullfilled my childhood dream of being promoted to shift manager of the local charcoal chicken, wich means double time on saturdays and incentives for every chicken wing sold.
Thank you for all the great times and friendships i have made.
D.Boundy
Spencer Johnson
22 Aug 2006, 14:33
They never planned to stay in C Grade by not promoting good Under 19's kids early enough and failed to respect the competition.
Garvey proved nothing more than a joke as a home ground (note it takes 3 hours to get from Parkdale to Bundoora on a bad day) and how they could not get some of these sides on the hop at hime outstounds me.
Facilities ? Why would people then play at clubs with grounds such as Parkdale's former home (Southern Road) or Gordon Barnard Reserve which remains a 1950's set of a movie !
C'mon - this is no shame. It's a poor season and the penalty must be paid.
The Senior coach takes his side down to D1 for the first time in what a long time ? Maybe the first time ! A bitter pill to swallow.
That Under 19's trophy will be worth nothing and D1 it may be for a at least a season or three . . . .
Boutros Boutros Serafini
22 Aug 2006, 14:46
O.K. - what know for the Red some of you may ask? Well a quick perusal of the Reserves table and you will see that the Reds will finish 3rd and see some finals. One advantage of the ones being out is that coach Litza will have plenty of boys qualified (that will play a part in selection this week mark my words) and you will see a vastly different (read better) magoos outfit come finals time. A flag is a flag lads - so lets go get our first C Section Variety shall we.
Word is that regardless of who can qualify, 12 regular twos players missed on Saturday regardless - all bar 2 will be available this week.
Although one to waych with interest is whether Coach Litza drops himself after slotting one through from just inside the centre square on Saturday...
My money is he may have to play, seeing the state of some of the boys at the Lord Newry on Saturday night... hard to see them getting up from that.
BlindedByTheLight
22 Aug 2006, 16:45
They never planned to stay in C Grade by not promoting good Under 19's kids early enough and failed to respect the competition.
Garvey proved nothing more than a joke as a home ground (note it takes 3 hours to get from Parkdale to Bundoora on a bad day) and how they could not get some of these sides on the hop at hime outstounds me.
Facilities ? Why would people then play at clubs with grounds such as Parkdale's former home (Southern Road) or Gordon Barnard Reserve which remains a 1950's set of a movie !
C'mon - this is no shame. It's a poor season and the penalty must be paid.
The Senior coach takes his side down to D1 for the first time in what a long time ? Maybe the first time ! A bitter pill to swallow.
That Under 19's trophy will be worth nothing and D1 it may be for a at least a season or three . . . .
well said Spencer.
you echo a number of comments from my revious post.
the powers tat be paid to much attention to their old boys in the team rather than bring on the young ones. hence many have left over the past few seasons to make their mark in teh local competition how much better would they have been with them playing now - might have even knocked over the old Reds!
And they are back down in D garde for the first time in yonks - maybe 50 plus years.
rightfoot_sloth
22 Aug 2006, 17:08
Any news about who will the Reds coach in 2007 ? Maybe RedRoy maybe able to shed some light on this.
The Tiger's Nuts
23 Aug 2006, 00:09
So who else is going to be at the Red Rovers joust on Saturday apart from me? Will there be a pie-eating competition at half time? Washed down with a light ale at the aftermatch...
Tigernuts
Richard Clay Torpedoes
23 Aug 2006, 09:25
The latest market moves on C Section Medal:
Keleher $16.00 into $8.00 with good money bet on the previous D1 winner from Ormond including a large sum from a legal eagle betting name 'Scribe'
P.Sullivan $7.50 into $6.00 with good nibbles from his many Parky playing brothers who believe they will win him bonus votes
Lewski - Ajax out from $3.20 to $4.00 with no money coming forth from EP or Sandy or Albert Park or any other ground they play/train at
Tyquin - SBMT also blown out from $8.00 to $11.00 with no money from anyone at Brindisi Street for seemingly unpopular player
Plenty of rumoured names as possible replacement coach for the great man Burgs at Fitzroy Reds for 2007-2010 including Kevin Sheedy, Malcolm Blight, Darrell Hair and Dean Jones to name just a few in the mix...a betting market to come.
This weeks games and it is universally known as the 'Telstra/Optus' final round as the mobile companies will be making a fortune and one wonders why the VAFA Executive have not got a sponsorship deal in place as yet
Tigers 4/6 vs Gunners Evens- Gunners had a terrific win last week but this week is a different kettle of fish and at Brindisi street the Tigers will make it 18/0 for the home and away.
NOBS 4/5 vs Students 5/4 - NOBS will play for their lives to survive and students will be happy with a slab for the drive home
Reds 8/11 vs Rovers 3/1 - game to be transfered to the Lord Newry and become a testimonial for the retiring coach and the retired coach of both sides...Reds to send Burgs off in style and Rovers to D Section
Cleansers 4/6 vs Marissa's Mob 11/8- rumour around is Jackas don't want the OC's in the last four mix..could be willing this one and reckon the OC's might pull a rabbit out of the hat and make the bronze medal play off
Vultures 2/7 vs Boundy's Boulders 4/1 - no contest here and despite a big win for the Sullivan brothers it will prove to be in vain.
RCT selections are underlined.
RCT
overtheline
23 Aug 2006, 10:48
The latest market moves on C Section Medal:
Keleher $16.00 into $8.00 with good money bet on the previous D1 winner from Ormond including a large sum from a legal eagle betting name 'Scribe'
P.Sullivan $7.50 into $6.00 with good nibbles from his many Parky playing brothers who believe they will win him bonus votes
Lewski - Ajax out from $3.20 to $4.00 with no money coming forth from EP or Sandy or Albert Park or any other ground they play/train at
Tyquin - SBMT also blown out from $8.00 to $11.00 with no money from anyone at Brindisi Street for seemingly unpopular player
Plenty of rumoured names as possible replacement coach for the great man Burgs at Fitzroy Reds for 2007-2010 including Kevin Sheedy, Malcolm Blight, Darrell Hair and Dean Jones to name just a few in the mix...a betting market to come.
This weeks games and it is universally known as the 'Telstra/Optus' final round as the mobile companies will be making a fortune and one wonders why the VAFA Executive have not got a sponsorship deal in place as yet
Tigers 4/6 vs Gunners Evens- Gunners had a terrific win last week but this week is a different kettle of fish and at Brindisi street the Tigers will make it 18/0 for the home and away.
NOBS 4/5 vs Students 5/4 - NOBS will play for their lives to survive and students will be happy with a slab for the drive home
Reds 8/11 vs Rovers 3/1 - game to be transfered to the Lord Newry and become a testimonial for the retiring coach and the retired coach of both sides...Reds to send Burgs off in style and Rovers to D Section
Cleansers 4/6 vs Marissa's Mob 11/8- rumour around is Jackas don't want the OC's in the last four mix..could be willing this one and reckon the OC's might pull a rabbit out of the hat and make the bronze medal play off
Vultures 2/7 vs Boundy's Boulders 4/1 - no contest here and despite a big win for the Sullivan brothers it will prove to be in vain.
RCT selections are underlined.
RCT
Rct,
Very generous odds the tigers. Me fancy some action at the 4/6!!
Reckon you are pretty spot on this week with your predictions and the Reds will ensure a grand send off for the great Mr Burgen! There are, however, a few being sent back to the twos to qualify. Nobs playing for plenty and Monash already in footy trip mode, so agree with you there as well. Ormond no hope, in the only game that has no meaning.
Marrissa's mob? Do explain? They have won 5 from their last six and Ajax appear to be struggling a little( nealry lost to the pie eaters last week!) and the giant looms large at the park. I am with you on that one too. Heard the jackas got some injuries last week as well( and some important ones!)
Parade couldn't win if they started now and for the second year in a row, Parkdale will have their hearts broken by the wellers in round 18. Ormond have made it clear they would prefer to play Parkdale, who they have smashed twice.
Why don't the cleansers want Oc in?
Richard Clay Torpedoes
23 Aug 2006, 11:07
OTL
Mischa Barton's character 'now deceased' in The OC on Sandra Sully's network was named 'Marrissa'......
Not sure whay the cleansers are thinking this way but it is what I've heard around the traps...heard the 1st round match at Gordon's was a little willing and plenty of yap so it may be interesting again this week....if the Jackas have injuries the market they may get the blows...any names??..perhaps all their Sandy based training isn't proving to be the advantage they hope for!
RCT
overtheline
23 Aug 2006, 11:33
OTL
Mischa Barton's character 'now deceased' in The OC on Sandra Sully's network was named 'Marrissa'......
Not sure whay the cleansers are thinking this way but it is what I've heard around the traps...heard the 1st round match at Gordon's was a little willing and plenty of yap so it may be interesting again this week....if the Jackas have injuries the market they may get the blows...any names??..perhaps all their Sandy based training isn't proving to be the advantage they hope for!
RCT
RCT,
Re their injuries. Well, have a look at who isn't in the best players this week but actually played( see teamsheet) and that should give you an idea of who they may be missing. Why would they take any risks when they have a guaranteed second semi? They will be going through the motions for mine. OC good things at juicy odds.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
23 Aug 2006, 13:48
Mmmm....well given that only 6 best are listed and that therefore leaves another 16 perhaps you are suggesting Lewski, Ritterman, Bloom????...notice their skipper Gold and forward Rosen didn't play...Rosen is an in and out character isn't he....well if what you are suggesting is true (any Garvey supporters confirm such?) then the OC's are firming in my books.
RCT
Mudrunner
23 Aug 2006, 14:41
Mmmm....well given that only 6 best are listed and that therefore leaves another 16 perhaps you are suggesting Lewski, Ritterman, Bloom????...notice their skipper Gold and forward Rosen didn't play...Rosen is an in and out character isn't he....well if what you are suggesting is true (any Garvey supporters confirm such?) then the OC's are firming in my books.
RCT
The temperamental yet talented Rosen will be ok for the finals, but not sure about Gold.
Ritterman has a hip problem and Lewski will be sore after being tackled a thousand times last week. I think Israelsohn has an eye problem as he continually took his eye off the ball as it approached, in the same game !!
Bluesnews43
23 Aug 2006, 15:13
mudrunner, sounds like you a little jealous there...
Virginblue have specials this time of year... go book a ticket now, no need
to
be in melbourne in september.
Lewski got tackled 1000 times? means he must of won plenty of the ball
ritterman will be fine
israelsohn will make team of the year...
have fun in D grade.... i think that grade suits paradians style more...
hard hits after the balls disposed, rubbing faces into the ground...
you should find out if you can move to the western district football league..
guys who cant play footy but can be rough...
Mudrunner
23 Aug 2006, 15:26
mudrunner, sounds like you a little jealous there...
Virginblue have specials this time of year... go book a ticket now, no need
to
be in melbourne in september.
Lewski got tackled 1000 times? means he must of won plenty of the ball
ritterman will be fine
israelsohn will make team of the year...
have fun in D grade.... i think that grade suits paradians style more...
hard hits after the balls disposed, rubbing faces into the ground...
you should find out if you can move to the western district football league..
guys who cant play footy but can be rough...
We will be on the same flight as the Blues!
Lewski always wins plenty of the ball, as he and Ritterman are excellent players.
Israelsohn's effort to make Team of the Year will be outstanding considering his 'less than brave' efforts.
You are sounding like the typical supporter who has never played the game at senior level. Suggest you go and spectate at a few netball games where you wont get so 'worked up' over the physical side of the game.
U18 Insider
23 Aug 2006, 15:36
With the once mighty Old Paradians dropping to D1 next season, how many of their better players will stay on, will Boundy finally take the coin
Bede me up
23 Aug 2006, 15:41
Can someone verify for me that number 54 for ajax played sandringham dragons, won their under 15 best and fairest with judd and ball in the team , but didnt go ahead with his footballin career due to schooling and modelling?
Spot on Mudrunner - the above quote is BluesNews talking about himself - what a spanker!
Darren Sutton - Could play back in the day. Now he's just a pretty boy...
Never let the facts get in the way of a good story hey CFE and Bede Me Up?
Whilst I can't say that I agree with one iota of what Blues News gibbers on about, I can confirm that he was neither the number 54 who played for AJAX and nor is he Darren Sutton.
Now... game on
for richo or poorer
23 Aug 2006, 16:12
it is with great joy i can now announce a new member to my team at charcoal chicken. As of next week T.Dintinosante will be heading my spot sweep and stainless steel team. It will be a role overseeing 2 other employees who are currently disadvantaged.
As a result another casualty to the vafa.
RCT. Do your home work before you mouth off. The Sandringham Dragons train at Sandy and the Jackers have only been there once this year. If you wish to take the time to confirm this ring Wayne Oswald at the Dragons. He is their regional manager. I can even give you the phone number incase you don't know how to look it up. And to go one step further I can give you his mobile.
Overtheline. The Jackers have been injury struck all year but my mail is they will be at near full strength for the first time this year for the finals. This will ensure the Jackers, SBMT grand final will be a ripper.
As reported earlier, the 2nd semi could be at the Junction Oval. The VFL will decide on Sunday if they need the Sandringham ground.
Hi there Scroda. You must have some inside mail at the Jackers to know No54 was Nissen I don't think he was in the Ones last week?
Bigfootyfan
23 Aug 2006, 19:42
RCT. Do your home work before you mouth off. The Sandringham Dragons train at Sandy and the Jackers have only been there once this year. If you wish to take the time to confirm this ring Wayne Oswald at the Dragons. He is their regional manager. I can even give you the phone number incase you don't know how to look it up. And to go one step further I can give you his mobile.
Overtheline. The Jackers have been injury struck all year but my mail is they will be at near full strength for the first time this year for the finals. This will ensure the Jackers, SBMT grand final will be a ripper.
As reported earlier, the 2nd semi could be at the Junction Oval. The VFL will decide on Sunday if they need the Sandringham ground.
Hey Tool, you prats at Ajax are full of friggin hot air. Anymore excuses!!! SBMT have had injuries all year as well but they just have that much depth they can cover it. Had their 2 best players in Anstey and L Wintle out last week and still smash the Ashers.
Im backing whoever finish 3rd and 4th to be there on the 16th September with the Tigers.
Wiener12
23 Aug 2006, 19:52
St.Bedes V Ajax in the grannie. no doubt the 2 best teams in the comp.
i doubt st.bedes will be able to stop ajax when they are going well. I've been to both games they have played against eachother.
Ajax will have a full strength team come finals, it will be enough to win the premiership
Lewski, Ritterman And Sutton will be to good to handle
FootyGuru
23 Aug 2006, 21:24
i doubt st.bedes will be able to stop ajax when they are going well. I've been to both games they have played against eachother.
Ajax will have a full strength team come finals, it will be enough to win the premiership
allthough in a physical match all of ajax good running players are receivers and therefore dont get much of a sniff. as shown in a few matches recently. especially against the rovers where rovers put on early pressure and ajax were shown to be soft. i think st bedes if they maintain huge pressure on ajax willl win because basically alot of ajax players are soft recievers, allthough they are very quick and skillfull in a grandfinal it will come down to the people who go in and get it.
overtheline
23 Aug 2006, 21:34
I didn't say they wouldn't be at full strength for St bedes, I was talking about this week. Why would they risk anyone in a meangless game? It would be poor managment of players to do so!
You could be right 'Overtheline" re the Jackers not playing at full strength but my experience tells me that if your a week away from finals you get everyone ready. I would think that only those with serious injuries would miss out, and that goes for SBMT as well.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
24 Aug 2006, 09:00
Lozza quote...."RCT. Do your home work before you mouth off. The Sandringham Dragons train at Sandy and the Jackers have only been there once this year. If you wish to take the time to confirm this ring Wayne Oswald at the Dragons. He is their regional manager. I can even give you the phone number incase you don't know how to look it up. And to go one step further I can give you his mobile.
Lozza...for someone who has had 40 years in the Ammos as you stated, try and show some respect and read what other's like RCT actually state in their posts before blasting away....RCT
RCT post "Lewski - Ajax out from $3.20 to $4.00 with no money coming forth from EP or Sandy or Albert Park or any other ground they play/train at"
So does training at least once at Sandy this year (your words) not constitute actual training at Sandy!!!!!!
This is called shooting yourself in the foot....and just for curiosity...where are the Jackas training this week????
And remember this is a light hearted forum in many respects...treat it that way and enjoy!
Fair bump...play on.
Bluesnews43
24 Aug 2006, 10:02
still only early days... would love to see the jackas knock off sbmt in the first week of finals....
re: ajax are all receivers.....
please do not comment if you do not attend the games, they are hard at the
ball and even harder runners to come by to get the handball.
As Leigh Matthews said 2 years ago about Nigel Lappin... " it takes just
as much courage to keep running all day at full pelt as it does to
go in and get the ball in a contested sitiuation"
stop bagging israelsohn, great footballer who every team in the comp would
love to have. Good runner, beautiful skills...
Grandstand Guru
24 Aug 2006, 10:06
Speaking of Ajax - did I hear correctly their rooms/pavillion at Albert Park were vandalised (along with a few other clubs in the area)?? How will that affect their focus?????????? OCs to stake their finals claim for mine...
Richard Clay Torpedoes
24 Aug 2006, 10:58
Interesting observations and yet contradictory at the same time...so when have Ajax been going well this year?...your analysis seems based on a number of loose assumptions - Ajax will be allowed to 'go well'...SBMT, Ormond and OC or PV have not been at full strength or won't be in the finals....3 Ajax players will be to much for anyone to handle???
In reality football especially finals are won by 'The Team'...not 3 players and you have a very narrow perspective if you can't see that each team will have 3 players, in some cases 6 players but in very few teams 10/12 players that other teams will be concerned with...rest assured that the team that has the best players 16-22 in finals will enjoy the spoils and herein lies the answer.
torpedo9
24 Aug 2006, 11:15
I'm in full support of RCT on this one!
Wild claim that Ajax will roll St Bedes in the finals. They've been flying all year. Undefeated and looking good for the flag i would have thought.
We'll know a lot more about Ajax this week... if they get rolled by the OC, then they may well bow out of the finals in straight sets mate, and remain in C Section for another year. If not, then good luck to them.
Speaking of Ajax - did I hear correctly their rooms/pavillion at Albert Park were vandalised (along with a few other clubs in the area)?? How will that affect their focus?????????? OCs to stake their finals claim for mine...
You did hear correctly, however, don't think it would ruin their focus too much as they don't get to Albert park very often these days. Nevertheless, word is that some memorabilia was damaged which was a bit of a shame. As you said, the jackers weren't the only ones hit in the area - 12 year olds seeking free alcohol to blame. Where are these kids parents?
As for my two cents on this whole slanging match, ajax have clearly been the second best team this year as ladder position will tell you. Finals will be interesting as the jackers have been known to stumble before. I am looking forward to what will hopefully be a one versus two on GF day (a deserved matchup). While the tigers would be clear favourites - and deservedly so - anything can happen on the (3rd) last Saturday in September.
And remember ajax and non-ajax supporters alike - this is a friendly board. Try and remember that some posts are made with tongue planted firmly in cheek, some posts are made purely to rile opposition supporters up and some posts are made by people who take a life a little too seriously.
Correct - the South Melbourne District FC and Ajax FC social rooms at Albert Park (which are linked and contained quite a bit of memorabilia) were smashed and vandalised by a 14 and 15 year olds from Dandenong on Tuesday night. It was a mindless night which cost about $20K.
If anything, I would expect this to galvanise the Jackas. I'm sure they weren't specifically targeted, as SMD and the Middle Park Bowls Club also copped a pasting. If the needed that little extra to get them over the line this week (which they don't), then this'd be it.
Mobbenfuhrer
24 Aug 2006, 12:51
And remember ajax and non-ajax supporters alike - this is a friendly board. Try and remember that some posts are made with tongue planted firmly in cheek, some posts are made purely to rile opposition supporters up and some posts are made by people who take a life a little too seriously.
You tryin' to put me out of a job? :D Well said. :thumbsu:
zoofest43
24 Aug 2006, 13:44
Like most sides with finals on their minds it's interesting see Jackas fans already 'lining-up' for second semi final tickets.
Will the players be switched on enough,prepared to risk enough to win against OC on Saturday?
Make no mistakes OC, whilst not in St. Bede's class, believe they have the wherewithall to challenge both Ormond and for that matter Ajax in this years finals.2007 is gonna be huge at OC and I reckon B grade will suit just nicely.
To enable that 'dreamy' process to be a reality,OC need to beat Ajax this weekend.They will do anything required to give themselves the opportunity.Will Ajax have the same mindset? I doubt it.
OC by 30 points plus.
by the way OC get one great onballer back this week(missed last week) and just for fun another one in the first semi (missed last three),if they make it.
Just an aside.
Whilst the focus is on delinquency,for those involved in junior footy, my thanks for the sterling work you do. It really is about giving the kids a game.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
24 Aug 2006, 14:58
C'mon get your tips for this weekend's matches in...no fence sitting now...roll up roll up roll up and spin the wheel...no no not 'run the gauntlet'...anything but run the gauntlet.....
want a laugh or two...head back to the start of the C Section thread and have a look at who some people were tipping would be C Section finalists in 06.....how things have changed....
Spencer Johnson
24 Aug 2006, 15:17
Like most sides with finals on their minds it's interesting see Jackas fans already 'lining-up' for second semi final tickets.
Will the players be switched on enough,prepared to risk enough to win against OC on Saturday?
Make no mistakes OC, whilst not in St. Bede's class, believe they have the wherewithall to challenge both Ormond and for that matter Ajax in this years finals.2007 is gonna be huge at OC and I reckon B grade will suit just nicely.
To enable that 'dreamy' process to be a reality,OC need to beat Ajax this weekend.They will do anything required to give themselves the opportunity.Will Ajax have the same mindset? I doubt it.
OC by 30 points plus.
by the way OC get one great onballer back this week(missed last week) and just for fun another one in the first semi (missed last three),if they make it.
Just an aside.
Whilst the focus is on delinquency,for those involved in junior footy, my thanks for the sterling work you do. It really is about giving the kids a game.
Who is a great onballer at OC ? ? One power forward and good couple of honest players down there only I thought.
Are we talking St Bedes / Ajax class here ? ?
Great players play week in week out also. They son't do that so much at OC . . . one has to start to get suspicious of injuries eventually that seem to 're occur'
People here seem to have stated the top 2 are superior to the rest and will play off in an interesting GF.
U18 Insider
24 Aug 2006, 15:21
well said Spencer.
you echo a number of comments from my revious post.
the powers tat be paid to much attention to their old boys in the team rather than bring on the young ones. hence many have left over the past few seasons to make their mark in teh local competition how much better would they have been with them playing now - might have even knocked over the old Reds!
And they are back down in D garde for the first time in yonks - maybe 50 plus years.
Quite right, played the older guys in the ones inside of the youngsters.Formed an "alliance" with St Mary's and St Damians, but do nothing for both of them except let them use the ground. St Mary's off to join with Watsonia, St Damians considering Bundoora.
None of their players will go to OP's now that they are off to D1, they should never have sacked Assetta as coach.
The U19's have stated that training with the seniors drags them down
Ammoandy
24 Aug 2006, 15:31
the last roll of the dice / gauntlet RCT
The Students over Nobs
The Vultures to keep their season alive.
The Tigers to go the whole way and send a message to others in the four.
Ajax will account for OC and give the Vultures a temporary leg up.
Reds & Rovers who cares....a lot of ice to be used at the Newry.
The game of the round is in the twos ...Tigers & Ormond
me thinks the the depth too good at brindisi st tigers by 22pts
greentree
24 Aug 2006, 16:09
the last roll of the dice / gauntlet RCT
The Students over Nobs
The Vultures to keep their season alive.
The Tigers to go the whole way and send a message to others in the four.
Ajax will account for OC and give the Vultures a temporary leg up.
Reds & Rovers who cares....a lot of ice to be used at the Newry.
The game of the round is in the twos ...Tigers & Ormond
me thinks the the depth too good at brindisi st tigers by 22pts
Parky to win and win well.
Ajax, please but may be thinking of next week
Monash, after a disapointing second half of the year.
Tigers, in what should be a good game.
Reds to finish off with a win.
If Parky can finish in the 4 it will be a good year, I just have some doubts about Ajax.
Don't get your nickers in a knot RTC as my comments were not a case of disrespect just facts. To me training once at a ground does not constitute that one is looking for an advantage but is a fact. The Jackers have been training at VAFA HQ this year as this is their home ground and due to some changes they had to find another ground for training. As they have played and trained at Sandy before it was the logical place for them to go. Albert Park isn't fit to graze your sheep on let alone play our great game there. Parks Victoria couldn't give a rats toss bag about the condition of their ovals as long as they get the rent so I can't see the Jackers ever going back after 40 plus years there.
Re the rooms, the destruction had to be seen to be believed at Albert Park. The Sth Melb Districts committee were in tears and the Jackers committee were gob smacked. One of the perpetraters was caught hiding in a fridge while another was let off in court two weeks ago with a slap on the wrist for another break in.
All is taken lightly RCT and I do enjoy your comments.
GetSmart
24 Aug 2006, 16:45
Mind games are starting! Jacker posters seem to be trying to build up their team where as Ormond and the Tigers rarely do so. Me thinks that the Tigers have an ace or two up their sleeve whilst Ormond have a full forward who is a gun who hasn't played for several weeks!
Grandstand Guru
24 Aug 2006, 17:15
Public Service Announcement:
Given that the season ends for 6 C Grade teams this weekend, what are the drinking establishments the general public should avoid?
Similarly, what regional centres and interstate cities should be avoided on weekends in the coming weeks?
BlindedByTheLight
24 Aug 2006, 23:10
Quite right, played the older guys in the ones inside of the youngsters.Formed an "alliance" with St Mary's and St Damians, but do nothing for both of them except let them use the ground. St Mary's off to join with Watsonia, St Damians considering Bundoora.
None of their players will go to OP's now that they are off to D1, they should never have sacked Assetta as coach.
The U19's have stated that training with the seniors drags them down
the numbers training at garvey oval tonight were pretty sparse - probably just enough to fill a forward half, 6-10. but expected with club in dissarray.
recent coaches have been a disgrace. should have looked for someone who had recent playing and coaching experience, ones they brought in were old warhorses from previous eras at parade.
overtheline
25 Aug 2006, 00:00
the numbers training at garvey oval tonight were pretty sparse - probably just enough to fill a forward half, 6-10. but expected with club in dissarray.
recent coaches have been a disgrace. should have looked for someone who had recent playing and coaching experience, ones they brought in were old warhorses from previous eras at parade.
BBTL,
I thought that D Grade Dale was well liked and respected as a coach? He seemed to do quite well last year. Is he stepping down or does he want to go on? Was there really only 10 at training?
The Tiger's Nuts
25 Aug 2006, 01:14
Apologies for putting y'all crook a few posts ago, plans have changed and I won't be able to put a couple on the bar at Reds on Saturday. Have a good game anyway.
I may be able to pop in to have a close look at the Jackas though.
Tigernuts
Richard Clay Torpedoes
25 Aug 2006, 09:13
..."I just spent six months in a leaky boat..lucky just to keep afloat"....
Well just like those plucky Mexican fisherman, three teams have spent the past 6 months or thereabouts baling out the water and scraping together a water bottle trying to survive in the whirlpool that is C section..The Garvey boat has sunk and will bob around in the 'D' Pool in 07...will the Gillon sub resurface in 'C' or sink to 'D' a double drop if they do, or will the Rovers fail their swimming badge and be taken by the 'D' Section sharks to feast on next year...players will be as desperate as Hansie Cronje and wound up tighter than a Murali doosra with a little bent arm action....a far cry from what some of the good judges including our very own legal Eagle 'Scribe who saw the NOBS and Paradians looking towards September action in his pre season view.
Coach Burgs leaves us, an armourment to the game (perhaps from Pakistan) where he is rumoured to have accepted the job as coach of East Falhalisbad Lions in the small but highly competitve PAFA league...he did say he will miss a few games mid season travelling back Melbourne to secure a few more arms deals...an what of the RED's...so much hype, touted as the new Xav's on the horizon, collecting silverware as regularly as Christies Auction House...have they been the biggest disappointment in 2006 or does 'Yasmins getting married' just beat them for this prize as well.
For some the season will finish late tomorrow afternoon and gert by turkey will take hold on Monday....and for some it is just the beginning.
In the words of the immortal Greyhound race caller Ron Hawkswell " there all boxed in the last at Sandown, set to go.....racing"
RCT