View Full Version : C Section Amateur Football
Pages :
[
13]
Mudrunner
25 Aug 2006, 09:50
the numbers training at garvey oval tonight were pretty sparse - probably just enough to fill a forward half, 6-10. but expected with club in dissarray.
recent coaches have been a disgrace. should have looked for someone who had recent playing and coaching experience, ones they brought in were old warhorses from previous eras at parade.
Maybe if you had driven past the Garvey, on the way to Bundoora FC, at 6.30pm instead of 6.15pm you would have been able to count 32 - 35.
There is no doubt that relegation to D Section is the lowest point of Parade's history but we will bounce back.
I hope it has also been noted that there has been no whingeing or 'excuse making' from our camp.
We broke it & we will fix it !
GetSmart
25 Aug 2006, 09:51
RCT......you are starting to come adrift. If there is a knock at the door don't answer it. It will be those men with the white jacket that ties at the back.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
25 Aug 2006, 10:01
Agent 86....do not fear...just the result of a combination of round table conference into the early hours of the night and sleep deprived state due to the little torpettes being very restless and an annoying garbage truck ensured no man got any sleep....
RCT
Red Roy
25 Aug 2006, 11:25
Get Smart - you are spot on. A lot of people believe old redmond may be a little nutty but RCT has clearly lost his marbles....
Reds Tips for this week:
Nobs v Monash - Nobs are gone - double drop
Vultures v Parade - Parky in a canter, but will it be enough........
Tigers v Ormond - as fraser said - who cares - not red thats for sure
(reserves is a preview of the 2nd semi though - interesting)
Jackas v the OC - The giant will extend the giant arms up into the sky and pluck a few grabs to steer Orange county into the finals (sorry Parky) Jackas already focused on 2nd Semi
Reds v Hampton - Rovers to stay up. What??? I hear you ask - well the reds have nothing to play for, Rovers have everything and the Reds are more concerned with winning a reserves flag so have picked teams accordingly (could be a record margin in the two's)
Thankyou all
The Red
Mobbenfuhrer
25 Aug 2006, 11:26
"^NOBSPCs 3.2 9.5 10.11 13.13.91"
"^Monash Blues 3.3 6.4 9.6 15.8.98"
"^======================"
"^Parkdale Vultures 1.7 12.12 17.16 19.17.131"
"^Old Paradians 4.3 7.4 10.8 14.11.95"
"^St Bedes / Mentone Tigers 2.6 6.10 9.14 11.17.83"
"^Ormond AFC 2.2 7.4 9.7 11.7.73"
"^AJAX AFC 2.5 5.10 8.13 9.21.75"
"^Old Camberwell 4.4 6.8 9.11 12.15.87"
"^Fitzroy Reds 3.1 9.4 12.7 17.11.113"
"^Hampton Rovers 6.2 9.3 13.6 15.9.99"
Ammo Man
25 Aug 2006, 15:35
Believe the Monders Committee is none to pleased with the tosser who placed an inflammatory page in the club newsletter last week. The tosser laid into the local residents, wrongly blaming them for some proposed Council changes to parking around the ground.
Suppose all clubs have their resident nuff-nuff. Reckon this one will have a sore arse after its been kicked from one end of Gunn to the other. My vote for TOOL OF THE WEEK.:thumbsd:
Just blowing in from D3 for a tick to say a big thank you to all at Ajax for their offer of assistance after our clubrooms were trashed earlier this week.
From all at South Melbourne Districts AFC, Thanks and good luck in your finals campaign
Three Malugas
26 Aug 2006, 10:21
Must say what a fantastic website the Tigers have! The site gives open access to all visitors unlike the Rovers and Ajax sites which I no longer visit. They are poor incomparision as they heavily restricted general visitors. Pretty poor approach. Maybe we need to get our friend Get Smart to crack their sites!
Syd Kennets
26 Aug 2006, 18:33
Any Results yet?
The Tiger's Nuts
26 Aug 2006, 21:23
http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/comp_info.cgi?c=1-3232-0-39463-0&a=ROUND
http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/comp_info.cgi?c=1-3232-0-39463-0&pool=1&round=0&a=LADDER
Parkdale have knocked Old Camberwell out of the 4 courtesy of the draw they had earlier in the year.
That would explain the subdued atmosphere after OC got nailed at Sportscover this afternoon.
Tigernuts
zoofest43
26 Aug 2006, 22:09
Congratulations to Ajax for their win over OC this afternoon.Whilst the result was in doubt for 3 quarters the Jackas played the better, more skillfull, footy and fully deserved the 4 points. They are a well drilled and well balanced footy team.
Their defence was superb led by Raleigh who stood Loats, to great effect, all day. Lots of free running both ways early ,with Ajax's better skills the main diffference. Hard contests around the footy,both sides having a genuine dip. I don't subscribe to the theory that Ajax are soft, they get that tag only because they run so well.
Still fancy St. Bede's to go thru undefeated but have to like Ajax to go up as well.
Hope they do. I won't have to listen to the pathetic drivel their manical supporters carry on with for another 12 months. A couple need an attitude adjustment,as does the lowlife who reckons eavesdropping is clever.
As for OC ,ended up probably where they belonged given this years list. With such a young group the next couple of years promise to be most interesting.
Thanks to the people who have posted informative, humourous and/or intelligent script over the year.
Good luck to all the players.
Guru Joffa
27 Aug 2006, 02:45
My Post of April this year;
"Written off my most on this forum, but what can I say... well played Parkdale!!!"
Another interesting season with plenty of 'friendly' banter on this forum. I must say that Ormond would definately go into next week's game as hot favourites. Rumour is fact - Paul Sullivan's season is over after a pretty nasty injury he received and that wont help the Vultures cause. :mad:
overtheline
27 Aug 2006, 12:09
Congratulations to Ajax for their win over OC this afternoon.Whilst the result was in doubt for 3 quarters the Jackas played the better, more skillfull, footy and fully deserved the 4 points. They are a well drilled and well balanced footy team.
Their defence was superb led by Raleigh who stood Loats, to great effect, all day. Lots of free running both ways early ,with Ajax's better skills the main diffference. Hard contests around the footy,both sides having a genuine dip. I don't subscribe to the theory that Ajax are soft, they get that tag only because they run so well.
Still fancy St. Bede's to go thru undefeated but have to like Ajax to go up as well.
Hope they do. I won't have to listen to the pathetic drivel their manical supporters carry on with for another 12 months. A couple need an attitude adjustment,as does the lowlife who reckons eavesdropping is clever.
As for OC ,ended up probably where they belonged given this years list. With such a young group the next couple of years promise to be most interesting.
Thanks to the people who have posted informative, humourous and/or intelligent script over the year.
Good luck to all the players.
Tend to agree Zoo. The reds sent Burgs off in style in an emotional day for the club and also sent Hampton to D grade. I note with interest your comments about the youth at OC, as the reds could certainly do with some. It appears that judging by the website the two clubs had pretty similiar runs with injury(disasterous!) to their top players but OC may have invested in the future more than reds. To finish the second half of the year 6/3 was a big effort from them given they looked like being relegated at one stage.
IF I have a critiscism of Burgs, it is that he tended to coach for today or this year at least and it will be intersting to see what happens when he leaves. I suspect things might be tough for a while
Monash are surely the big disappointment, given they had such a good run with injuries to their key players. Only won 2.5 games in the second half of the year? Very disappointing.
Paul sullivan would be a big loss as he hardly ever misses a game
zoofest43
27 Aug 2006, 13:20
In reply to Spencer Johnson who obviouisly doubted the claim that OC has a great on baller to come back ,that player was Brent Christie.Brent is 24 y.o.
Brent has played rep footy for the ammos at U/19 and U/23 levels.
The other player ,who would of returned,had OC made the finals is Andrew Whelan.Andrew played senior footy for Springvale 2 seasons back ,but had oesteo, and will be interesting with a full pre season under his belly.Andrew is 23 y.o.
No need to get "Get Smart" to crack the Jackers web site 3 Malugas as I have already done that. The whole site is in Yiddish and must be like that to keep the bogans out.
In reply to Spencer Johnson who obviouisly doubted the claim that OC has a great on baller to come back ,that player was Brent Christie.Brent is 24 y.o.
Brent has played rep footy for the ammos at U/19 and U/23 levels.
The other player ,who would of returned,had OC made the finals is Andrew Whelan.Andrew played senior footy for Springvale 2 seasons back ,but had oesteo, and will be interesting with a full pre season under his belly.Andrew is 23 y.o.
All pretty irrelevant now isn't it?
Frankly, prior to the weekend's game, you said (a couple of pages back) that 2007 would be a big year for OC abd B Grade would suit nicely. Now that it hasn't happened, you've changed your tune to say that OC have finished where they deserved to finish given the list they had.
In my opinion, they did very well to cover the absences they had, but were a long way off promotional standard and will need to improve significantly.
At least they stayed in and can start working towards it sooner than they did this year
overtheline
27 Aug 2006, 19:11
All pretty irrelevant now isn't it?
Frankly, prior to the weekend's game, you said (a couple of pages back) that 2007 would be a big year for OC abd B Grade would suit nicely. Now that it hasn't happened, you've changed your tune to say that OC have finished where they deserved to finish given the list they had.
In my opinion, they did very well to cover the absences they had, but were a long way off promotional standard and will need to improve significantly.
At least they stayed in and can start working towards it sooner than they did this year
Well said Frase. Is it true they played 53 players this year? If so, that is incredible!
I tend to agree they were a long way off promotion but given their departures and injuries, it was an excellent second half of the year(6/3)
torpedo9
27 Aug 2006, 19:18
Scribe, I can see your point but what you must understand:
2006 could have been a bigger year for the OC, but will still be big.
To finish half a game out with the list we had is credible. Our 2's are in the finals and are the only team to beat St Bedes. Our u/19s are in the finals and just knocked off the top side. 10 of them played senior footy this year. They're guns.
B grade would have been nice because with the players we've got returning and the players we're already working on to get down we may well have been competitive up there next year.
So i guess only time will tell but we're hoping 2007 will be a bigger year for the OC.
zoofest43
27 Aug 2006, 19:23
the reason I stated BGrade would suit nicely is because 2007 is looking so strong. If I intimated in any way I was tipping that to happen I apologise ,that was not my intention.
I will say right now though that with the boys coming back from o/s ,and the youth in the squad that OC will take plenty of holding out next year. This of course is heavily reliant on maintaining all the players on the current list.
Three Malugas
27 Aug 2006, 19:35
Crunch time is here. Saw the Parkdale game and the second half of Ormond Tigers yesterday.
Ormond rested some of their prime movers and will be too good all over the ground for Parkdale who quite simply are running out of players with the injuries to Kight, Johnston and now Sullivan plus the loss of Dixon earlier in the season. Expect this game to be a white wash as the Vultures have not got near the top sides for most of the year and have done really well to be where they are.
Tigers worked hard and were able to maintain their momentu thru the whole game. The question is will Ajax be able to hit their straps and play at their best for long enough. What worries me is that we may not have seen the best from the Tigers!
Good luck to Parade for next season. Seems they have a few in house problems down there when you read some of the posts on this site. They need to get their house in order by the looks of it and have everyone rowing in the same direction.
Hampton Rovers should be doing a lot better than they are. This hopefully will bring them back down to earth. They certainly need to look at why this has happened when they appear to have so much going for them as a club.
Interesting to see how Red Roy will try and move the focus of this thread to the REDS reserves band wagon. Perhaps they have been resting players all season in order to win the magoos flag!
Cameo King
27 Aug 2006, 20:07
Thanks to all for their support during the COBs battle to avoid another drop. Twas indeed a close shave, but thankfully all's well that ends well. Who would have thought ole Uni Reds would look after us in such a manner. Thanks to the boys at Brunswick St, and see most of you (not SBMT and whoever else goes up) in 2007.
Racing & cricket season has begun.
Bigfootyfan
27 Aug 2006, 20:32
No need to get "Get Smart" to crack the Jackers web site 3 Malugas as I have already done that. The whole site is in Yiddish and must be like that to keep the bogans out.
How does that work Lozza no one at the Jackers will be able to read it then.
GetSmart
27 Aug 2006, 20:44
How does that work Lozza no one at the Jackers will be able to read it then.Max here, Sent 99 in to infiltrate the Jackers and their code. She says I speak a lot of jibberish so yiddish shouldn't be a problem.
Mobbenfuhrer
28 Aug 2006, 10:28
"^NOBSPCs 3.2 9.5 10.11 13.13.91"
"^Monash Blues 3.3 6.4 9.6 15.8.98"
Actual :
Nobs 19.5.119
Monash Blues 10.9.69
Incorrect - Margin out by 57 pts
"^Parkdale Vultures 1.7 12.12 17.16 19.17.131"
"^Old Paradians 4.3 7.4 10.8 14.11.95"
Actual :
Parkdale 21.19.145
Old Paradians 16.10.106
Correct - Margin out by 3 pts
"^St Bedes / Mentone Tigers 2.6 6.10 9.14 11.17.83"
"^Ormond AFC 2.2 7.4 9.7 11.7.73"
Actual :
St Bedes 16.9.105
Ormond 12.10.82
Correct - Margin out by 13 pts
"^AJAX AFC 2.5 5.10 8.13 9.21.75"
"^Old Camberwell 4.4 6.8 9.11 12.15.87"
Actual :
AJAX 16.6.102
Old Camberwell 10.13.73
Incorrect - Margin out by 41 pts
"^Fitzroy Reds 3.1 9.4 12.7 17.11.113"
"^Hampton Rovers 6.2 9.3 13.6 15.9.99"
Actual :
Fitzroy Reds 14.14.98
Hampton Rovers 11.9.75
Correct - Margin out by 9 pts
Hey, that's not too bad!
Anyways, congrats to the finallists, down to the wire for 4th spot right to the end of the season so a good exciting set of home and homes. Exciting relegation battle too and well done NOBs to stand up when they absolutely needed to, Red Nob Cup will be on again in '07.
St Bedes almost pretty much a lead pipe cinch to be P&C this year, though of course until the final siren of the final match, there's 3 other clubs who'll want that to remain subjective.
As far as the senior finals go, I sorry Joffa, but I am going to have to write off Parkdale! I feel that by the time they finally stumbled into the finals, they're just bleeding too much from the battle to make it. Great effort to get back up on the horse after an ordinary season's start, though, and true to their name, they snuck in off the protein of whatever carrion was lying about amongst the middle of the table.
Bad luck to Parade and Hampton Rovers, while they had miserable seasons, they still piped up to make every match interesting to one extent or another. I would go so far as to say that Hampton pretty much rooted the Reds chances of making the finals, with that friggin' torpedo in the 3rd stanza, while Parade then just failed to deliver another punch the week after. Both these clubs are a good show to be in C Grade in 2008. Chin up lads! If you feel down, just remember that this Friday is the 10 year anniversary of Fitzroy's last match as a football club. Both Old Parade and Hampton Rovers will have footy clubs in their own right next year. Lets face, its about the footy, doesn't matter where or when.
Despite the Jackas impressive season, I can see Ormond being a fair opponent for them in the PF, couldn't pick a winner just yet. But, after all is said and done, I wouldn't be surprised if the granny turns out to be a great match.
In the reserves, the Reds are still putting in the big steps, and anything's possible come finals time, fingers crossed. Both the Reds Clubbies have finished their campaigns with a 4th and a runners-up, while the U19s are minor prems and hoping to add the wone-word version.
Down comes Mazenod, and maybe Whitefriars? Up goes probably Old Carey but goodness knows who else (2nd through 5th in D1 finished on equal wins!).
C Grade will be another bumper harvest in 2007, and I'm sure the banter will be frantic, and the slander quite pedantic.
For now, the Tiges, the Jackas, the Monners and the Vultures are wolfing down the QuickEze as the finals approach.
I'll be barracking for the Ormond folks :)
Ohhhh Monners, yeaaaaaahh Monners ...
Tell yer Monners what you gottah do ...
Wave those banners brown and blue.
****, forgot I should never try to write lyrics sober.
For now, the Tiges, the Jackas, the Monners and the Vultures are wolfing down the QuickEze as the finals approach.
I'll be barracking for the Ormond folks :)
Ohhhh Monners, yeaaaaaahh Monners ...
Tell yer Monners what you gottah do ...
Wave those banners brown and blue.
****, forgot I should never try to write lyrics sober.
Wow Mobbs, I never thought I'd hear that from a Reds supporter! Or is that a bit of tongue in cheek?
The "nothing" game was a good contest on Saturday, both sides resting key players, we were still in it to the end but the class of the Tigers got them over the line.
I must say though what a hack Kinsella is from the Tigers. Absolute moron he is. He had 7 kicked on him, after trying to whack a few blokes, how he stays in that side is beyond me, he's a dud!
Bring on Parkdale! We'll see if MacGeorge can get sucked in from the crowd again. He will cop a pasting i'd say!
Mobbenfuhrer
28 Aug 2006, 14:02
Wow Mobbs, I never thought I'd hear that from a Reds supporter! Or is that a bit of tongue in cheek?
I used to watch St Kevins Ormond as the ground is down the end of my street ... so, no, not tongue in cheek, when they're not playing the Reds, I like 'em :)
THE BEACON
28 Aug 2006, 14:28
You are speaking in riddles!!
Just mention the Club's names
The moolah club hopefully will play off in the GF and get beaten so they can come up to B and get knocked off every week especially by my strictly amateur side. Mobbenfuhrer you should be ashamed of yourself following that muck.
A message from my mates in D1 to Hampton. Come on down but leave your arrogance in C grade. You are now humbled.
Still got that chip on your shoulder I see...
Josh Mcloud
28 Aug 2006, 15:37
What has happened to the StBedesMentone player who represented the amateurs against the southern football league?? He has played the past three games in the twos. Obviously the coach is not a fan of his playing style or hardness at the ball....
In other news the parkdale coach Macgeorge has announced that he will not be continuing next year. Hampton have expressed interested in his services
Three Malugas
28 Aug 2006, 17:54
If I was from Ormond or Rovers I wouldn't be happy with the Stroblers comments. Seems to have a real chip on his shoulder when you read his posts. He should identify the wonderful B Section Club that he is from! Or is it easy to hide behind a name?
Three Malugas
28 Aug 2006, 18:02
See Paul Byrne OC and Janke Ajax up at the tribunal. What happened?
torpedo9
28 Aug 2006, 18:26
Burner laid a bump late in the game. Not a whole lot in it but got red carded so up at the tribunal.
If I was from Ormond or Rovers I wouldn't be happy with the Stroblers comments. Seems to have a real chip on his shoulder when you read his posts. He should identify the wonderful B Section Club that he is from! Or is it easy to hide behind a name?
Mate the bloke is a tosser, he's not worth a pinch of salt.
He has no idea of what he's talking about.
ScottyDog
28 Aug 2006, 18:57
I follow Scotch and the A Section thread, but I must say what a fascinating thread C Section is. I have enjoyed reading it throughout the year. Reason for the post.....That Strobler chap should jolly well talk about the football and not spread unsubstantiated rumour. It's not good form! Good luck boys for the finals. That Red Roy fellow is amusing, as is RCT!
Their defence was superb led by Raleigh who stood Loats, to great effect, all day.
Thought the big ruckman did a sterling job down back. Great coaching as well to play him there all game. Kept Loats to four and one was a gimme in junk time at the end of the last quarter.
Interesting to see which of the injured ajax players come up from next week. Lewski went off slightly injured in the first quarter and didnt return - how bad is it? Will Rosen play or will they save him for the next match (hopefully after a week off!). Bloom was a late withdrawal but should be right to play this week.
And the Hardman slotted back into the team quite nicely.
Quite excited for the finals.
Got some mail from the Umpire after the Byrne/Jankie clash at HQ on Saturday. Although red carded, Byrne can't take the prescribed and must front the board. Could get 4 weeks as the umpire deemed it a deliberate elbow.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
29 Aug 2006, 09:22
With another 4/5 winner selected, RCT clearly the best tipster in C Section for 06 and the bag finished up just a little ahead this week courtesy of the solid money for the OC's which for poor conversion rate up forward might have got them into the 1st semi...NOBS survived as tipped and Rovers join Paradians in D Section for 07...rumours abound of a player led political coup at David Street which gives you the feeling of 'watch this space' at Moorabbin West housing commisssion flats.....
Heard that the Tigers began 'Operation Sandy' early Sunday morning in a stealth like raid on the site of this weeks target. The Tigers have plenty of ammunition ready to fire, courtesy of some rather 'less than flattering' news paper articles written and read from the last time they played this week's opponents at EP and their burning desire to meet every challenge in 2006.....they will take no prisoners.
Ormond will regain a couple of key components after a good hitout at Brindisi street on Saturday to tackle their good relations Parkdale Vultures on Sunday. If rumours of a Paul Sullivan injury are true this will really hurt the Parky lads and Ormond's form this season would suggest they can progress to week two of the campaign....unless its wet and windy?????
Not much action in the C Section B&F market over the weekend with a number of contenders rested or off the ground early in their games....maybe Keleher from Ormond might sneak a last round vote and bob up at the finish??
RCT
Bede me up
29 Aug 2006, 10:12
CFE, or anyone - can you shed some light on the whipping the Tigers handed out to Ormond 2's on the weekend, and how your boys plan on trying to reverse that result this Saturday?
Bigfootyfan
29 Aug 2006, 10:23
CFE, or anyone - can you shed some light on the whipping the Tigers handed out to Ormond 2's on the weekend, and how your boys plan on trying to reverse that result this Saturday?
Bede,
word was that they 6 guys out but are those guys worth about 3 and a half goals each. Ressies finals could be messy
overtheline
29 Aug 2006, 10:32
Bede, I wouldn't be worried about the tigers or Ormond twos. The reds are montys given all the inclusions from the seniors this week. I suppose one bonus of so many injuries is that plenty of ressies guys get to play seniors throughout the year. Reds smashed Camberwell twos last time and will do it again. Will win the flag!
Bede me up
29 Aug 2006, 11:03
Bede, I wouldn't be worried about the tigers or Ormond twos. The reds are montys given all the inclusions from the seniors this week. I suppose one bonus of so many injuries is that plenty of ressies guys get to play seniors throughout the year. Reds smashed Camberwell twos last time and will do it again. Will win the flag!
I can't say I really subscribe to that theory - Fitzroy 2's side from the weekend seemed to be stacked with a lot of guys who have played Section 2 and 3 Club 18's, plus a couple of "regular" senior players who havn't played enough 2's games to qualify. They will be strong but Tigers clearly the favourites.
Since there was about 6 U/19's playing who can't get a game in the U/19's, I wouldn't read much into last saturday's result. Although it was a nothing game, I thought our guys played disgracefully & showed nothing.
I will say though the Tigers 2's are a very good outfit who run hard. It will be closer this saturday though.
overtheline
29 Aug 2006, 11:36
I can't say I really subscribe to that theory - Fitzroy 2's side from the weekend seemed to be stacked with a lot of guys who have played Section 2 and 3 Club 18's, plus a couple of "regular" senior players who havn't played enough 2's games to qualify. They will be strong but Tigers clearly the favourites.
With all due respect , you wouldn't really know who will be in or out this week.
Will win by 50 plus points against Camberwell, who i understand got some more injuries on the weekend.
chicken machine
29 Aug 2006, 11:37
Stbedes ressies will be a shoe in for the flag they are by far the best reserves team i've ever played against, the only ones that may go close depending on the weather is camberwell due to their rather large bodies, apart from that its all over like a fat women eating a hot choccy pudding!
Really looking forward to the Jackers/SBMT clash at Sandy. Both know the ground well as each have a wealth of former Sandringham Dragons players who play their home games there. It should be a fystie, tough, ruggered and verble afternoon, and the football should be good too.
ITSMYNAME
29 Aug 2006, 14:39
I have spoken to a few St bedes players both reserves and seniors and let me tell you, both teams have never been fired up this much all year, they, like most teams have a dislike for the way ajaz go out things and wiould love nothing more than to put them away and hurt them mentally so the next game they get smashed again....and the 2's well they want meet OC to get back that loss on the mangrove field....
Boutros Boutros Serafini
29 Aug 2006, 15:04
Not too many Reds ones players to come back in to the Reds ressies (just the two). However, having rested players from niggling injuries over the past 3-4 weeks, they will have a full list to choose from for the first time in a long while.
The Camberwell game will be a tough first hurdle, but should they meet St Bedes again, it is entirely possible that only 3 players from the line up that lost to them in Round 14 front up again as the Reds side that day was largely a compsite 3s-4s team, just as the side that played Ormond was 3/4 Clubbies and 1/4 regular twos...
THE BEACON
29 Aug 2006, 15:12
The Reds have always got excuses at the ready!!
When will the excuses stop and when will they just say that a better team beat them on the day.
Boutros Boutros Serafini
29 Aug 2006, 15:20
Every game the Reds twos lost were against the better team on the day - we're not making excuses for the losses, just saying that we look forward to having another crack against the two last teams we lost against with some more of our regulars on the park.
Should we lose on Sunday, I'd have no hesitation in saying that OC were the better team - particularly as I'd expect they'd be close to full strength...
When will the excuses stop and when will they just say that a better team beat them on the day.
Better team on the day, and better team are two different things. It's easy to be the "better team on the day" when you are playing against guys from 3rd and 4th grade, and some pulled out of the nearby pubs. The Reds should be congratulated for even being able field sides on some of those weeks. Wait til the full compliment are out there.
The term "rude shock" comes to mind in regards to this weekend, because a full strength Reds side will one to be reckoned with.
THE BEACON
29 Aug 2006, 16:09
Better team on the day, and better team are two different things. It's easy to be the "better team on the day" when you are playing against guys from 3rd and 4th grade, and some pulled out of the nearby pubs. The Reds should be congratulated for even being able field sides on some of those weeks. Wait til the full compliment are out there.
The term "rude shock" comes to mind in regards to this weekend, because a full strength Reds side will one to be reckoned with.
All you have to acknowledge is that the best team won!!
Everything else is a what if.
Some of you Reds dont acknowledge the other teams ability to win, you denigrate their wins by going to list how many outs you have every weekend.
All clubs over the last 6 weeks of a season have their fair share of Ins & outs.
Ammo Man
29 Aug 2006, 17:06
Heard the Jackers are super confident of making the GF. May not win this week, but don't rate the Monders so they reckon it'll be a St B v Ajax GF.:confused:
Richard Clay Torpedoes
29 Aug 2006, 17:16
RCT has applied to the VAFA Execuitve for a licence to run a betting stand in the Sandy Social Club this weekend for both days...not sure of what the approval chances are though...could always resort to an SP operation if necessary.
Have been studying the seasons form closely and will 'open' a market tomorrow on all finals games including reserves and some other unusual exotic type bets including:
1.Which non playing club will provide the most beer drinkers in the Sandy Social Club
2. Which of the two senior clubs playing each day, will all other non playing clubs be supporting?
3. Male or Female streaker appearing
4. Which form of transport will be the most widely used by supporters to get to the games?
5. How many supporters and from which clubs will dominate the 'jumped the fence to in to see the game club'
Had some inquiries re C Section B&F betting with the Students from Monash unloading some on their ruckman ' Williams' during the second day of their Mad Monday now Mad Tuesday drinking session and some solid money still coming in for Paul Sullivan from the Vultures who although rumoured to have been injured at the weekend was still named as their best player.
Still no money for the VAFA Ireland Rep player 'Lewski' from the Jackers and punters not willing to take on the short odds on Anstey from the Tigers...maybe the big money will come on Saturday at Sandy?
RCT
bigwilly
29 Aug 2006, 17:27
Have heard of rain Thursday till Sunday. Could make things interesting.
GetSmart
29 Aug 2006, 17:37
A few chests being expanded at the moment buts lets be honest. The Tigers team from last week that smashed Ormond in the twos will be better this week! On paper it reads like a senior side.
Some are puffing up the Jackers and Ormond in the seniors but frankly don't you think the Tigers have been tuning up as well. If I was in the Ajax camp I would be holding my breathe as they may not know what hits them! The last time they played it would have been another white wash if they had kicked straight, on the Jackers home ground and a wet track. Sandy will suit the Tigers down to a tee make no mistake.
Interesting Stat. Almost every team that has played the Tigers this year has been smashed in the following weeks. Says something about the intensity of the Tigers and the danger that faces AJAX in the coming weeks.
Week after AJAX played the Tigers second time.
16/07/06 AJAX 13.5-83 V Tigers 12.18-90 18/30 shots
22/07/06 AJAX 13.9-87 V NOB/ST PATS COLL 20.14-134
Last three weeks AJAX have been less than convincing.
32 points Rovers after trailing.
13 points Old Paradians
28 points Camberwell. Camberwell kicked poorly!
Hardly sparkling form!
GetSmart
29 Aug 2006, 17:40
Have heard of rain Thursday till Sunday. Could make things interesting.
The forecast says fine Saturday!
Thursday Fine. Min 10 Max 22
Friday Windy. Few showers later. Min 15 Max 22
Saturday Mainly fine. Min 9 Max 17
Sunday Few showers. Min 8 Max 16
Monday Clearing shower or two. Min 8 Max 15
Tuesday Showers. Min 7 Max 15
richoooo
29 Aug 2006, 18:19
The forecast says fine Saturday!
Thursday Fine. Min 10 Max 22
Friday Windy. Few showers later. Min 15 Max 22
Saturday Mainly fine. Min 9 Max 17
Sunday Few showers. Min 8 Max 16
Monday Clearing shower or two. Min 8 Max 15
Tuesday Showers. Min 7 Max 15
Two things
1. Any rain should suit the "hard at it" boys from Parkdale. Remember them, the team most posters on here picked to be relegated this year.
2. Could we get another chat room up and running for the reserves finals banter? It really does clutter up space regarding real football. true fans of the game tune into this space and shouldn't be subjected to trivial drivel about brumbies when they wish to talk thouroughbreds.
All the best
Richard Clay Torpedoes
30 Aug 2006, 09:47
RCT Ammos Sportsbet - Finals Betting Market
2nd Semi Finals
Seniors
SBMT $1.30 vs Ajax $1.95 - form analysis reveals several key factors - Tigers have an edge in finals experience and played several finals at Sandy, combined with their scoring ability across the ground and best defence this season will give them the advantage
Reserves
SBMT $1.10 vs Ormond $3.50 - teams will be different to last weeks game but this Tigers team is a very good Reserves team with many players still striving for a senior berth. Ormond will be still shellshocked from last week and up against it.
1st Semi Final
Seniors
Ormond $1.20 vs Parkdale Vultures $2.80 - very different types of game style and on the space at Sandy will suit Ormond. Form between the two teams this years supports the form analysis. Parky have been gallant this year but struggled against the top three teams.
Reserves
Fitzroy Reds $ 1.80 vs Old Camberwell $ 1.65 - the closest betting match of the weekend with form hard to decipher given just who is available for the two teams. Maybe just a slight egde to the OC's with perhaps a younger running team then the Reds whose form has been flattered a bit by who they have played in recent weeks.
By now every club has received their nominated player to attend the C section B&F count next Monday, so come on and let RCT know who is your chosen player and I'll update the betting market...till then I've frozen betting on this one.
RCT
RCT Ammos Sportsbet - Finals Betting Market
2nd Semi Finals
Seniors
SBMT $1.30 vs Ajax $1.95 - form analysis reveals several key factors - Tigers have an edge in finals experience and played several finals at Sandy, combined with their scoring ability across the ground and best defence this season will give them the advantage
Reserves
SBMT $1.10 vs Ormond $3.50 - teams will be different to last weeks game but this Tigers team is a very good Reserves team with many players still striving for a senior berth. Ormond will be still shellshocked from last week and up against it.
1st Semi Final
Seniors
Ormond $1.20 vs Parkdale Vultures $2.80 - very different types of game style and on the space at Sandy will suit Ormond. Form between the two teams this years supports the form analysis. Parky have been gallant this year but struggled against the top three teams.
Reserves
Fitzroy Reds $ 1.80 vs Old Camberwell $ 1.65 - the closest betting match of the weekend with form hard to decipher given just who is available for the two teams. Maybe just a slight egde to the OC's with perhaps a younger running team then the Reds whose form has been flattered a bit by who they have played in recent weeks.
By now every club has received their nominated player to attend the C section B&F count next Monday, so come on and let RCT know who is your chosen player and I'll update the betting market...till then I've frozen betting on this one.
RCT
I'll have $50 on Ormond Seniors into Fitzroy Reds Reserves!
Seriously though, I have never seen so many pie eaters in one senior team as Parkdale have, surely the big grounds will find them out.
We've smashed them twice, once on our postage stamp & the other on their bigger ground. We will run rings around them.
Bring on the Jackas in the Prelim.
Brooksy01
30 Aug 2006, 11:23
Odds for Tyquinor Anstey to win C section B & F into Tigers to win both premierships and Luke Beveridge coach of the year!!!! The certainty of the year
Plenty of Tigers will pinch votes off each other. Likewise AJAX and Ormond midfielders. You might want to look further down the ladder to get a value smoky. Certainty of the Year is the bloke who reads the final votes out next Monday will be struggling to read the names out after 48 hours on the gas.
As for Coach of the Year, we should wait until the GF has been played.
FWIW - I think it's obvious Beveridge had the cattle from the get-go, whilst MacGeorge/O'Shannessy/Matthews probably moulded their units into better sides than the sum of their individual parts. Will be an interesting decision to make......
Richard Clay Torpedoes
30 Aug 2006, 12:34
Brooksy,
Have the mail that Anstey is the Tigers invited player from the VAFA, therfore Tyquin can't win.
CFE,
All up betting permitted!
RCT
The Tiger's Nuts
30 Aug 2006, 12:44
Got some mail from the Umpire after the Byrne/Jankie clash at HQ on Saturday. Although red carded, Byrne can't take the prescribed and must front the board. Could get 4 weeks as the umpire deemed it a deliberate elbow.
And that is exactly what happened. Silly boy!
Tigernuts
Guru Joffa
30 Aug 2006, 12:58
Seriously though, I have never seen so many pie eaters in one senior team as Parkdale have
CFE,
Who are the pie eaters at Parkdale you refer to?
overtheline
30 Aug 2006, 13:25
Plenty of Tigers will pinch votes off each other. Likewise AJAX and Ormond midfielders. You might want to look further down the ladder to get a value smoky. Certainty of the Year is the bloke who reads the final votes out next Monday will be struggling to read the names out after 48 hours on the gas.
As for Coach of the Year, we should wait until the GF has been played.
FWIW - I think it's obvious Beveridge had the cattle from the get-go, whilst MacGeorge/O'Shannessy/Matthews probably moulded their units into better sides than the sum of their individual parts. Will be an interesting decision to make......
Intersting thoughts there frase. As much as I would like, can't make a case for burgs. Tend to agree with the coaches you have mentioned, with OC clearly the hardest hit by departure and injury, so a pretty good effort in the end.
Killer also worth a mention at NOBS as he salvaged the season with not much to work with.
CFE,
Who are the pie eaters at Parkdale you refer to?
I don't know names but last time we played you, there were about four of them.
You even had a bloke play 2 games in the one day, #40 I think from memory, add him to the other 4 pie eaters too.
Guru Joffa
30 Aug 2006, 14:32
Hey CFE, give us something more substantial rather than being a flogger!!
Josh Mcloud
30 Aug 2006, 16:19
Brooksy,
Have the mail that Anstey is the Tigers invited player from the VAFA, therfore Tyquin can't win.
CFE,
All up betting permitted!
RCT
RCT,
You mean to say that Number 12 for the Tigers did not get an invite? thats a disappointment and he came back from london especially to play footy
I will have $50 on Paul Sullivan and $10 on Loats....
RCT,
You mean to say that Number 12 for the Tigers did not get an invite? thats a disappointment and he came back from london especially to play footy
Wise.
I'll piggy back on that - both standouts for middling clubs.
Everyday Spelling
30 Aug 2006, 16:54
Loatsy boy is a shoe-in. Only concern is the big Digger Ditch stealing votes from him. Gave the skipper of SBMT a towelling first time around at their ground.
Don't know why you would mention the NOBS coach. Have not heard a coach scream, yell, whittle abuse at both his team and the opposition more than him. Very poor example. Do we have to put up with him again next year????
Smokey for B&F. Mr G.Smyth.
Top four:
Loats
Smyth
Digger Ditch
Timmy Davis.
ES
juicyskipper
30 Aug 2006, 17:04
RCT,
Rumour has it no 12 from stbmt is a big show for the 2s comp b&f
12 from STBMT fits in nicely with ditch davey, georgie voyage....i mean smyth and tim davis.........interesting ES
Everyday Spelling
30 Aug 2006, 17:24
2 x 12=
Red Roy
30 Aug 2006, 19:05
Hello all,
roy has already given his top 10 for the comp b & f and stands by it.
well the boys sent of the great man burgo in style on the weekend - sending hampton back to d grade - about suits them I reckon. Both of the clubs in Green back down to D Section - not much love for the parade coach. Change required there one would think.
hampton already advertising - will Local Boy be tempted down to David Street from Gerry Green - strong rumors in non-amateur circles surrounding who may be targeted to coach the vultures next year......... Red still has his southern spies working on that one and will let you know asap.
As for the Reds job - lets just say roy can confirm that the Reds are speaking to recently retired AFL types to take over from the mustacha !!!
Tips for this week:
2nd Semi - Jackas put the shudders up as soon as they knew they were in this game and have wisely rested a few over the last few weeks. Lewski, ritterman, sutton and co will be firing and will run the tigers ragged at Sandy. Reds spies tell him that Tyquin went off injured......... big loss for the tiggies that is. Jackas by 4 goals
1st Semi - if the rumours of Sullivans injury are true then the monders will smash Parkdale. Cannot afford to lose that guy, best player down there by a mile (Burgs always rated him). Ormond apparently rested some big guns last week - Miller, deledio, Mcconville to name a few - Ormond in a canter
Twos -
Tigers v Ormond - not the blowout of last week (did ormond actually attend the ground) but the tigers for Red
REDS v The OC - OC couldn't win this even if the Giant was qualified - Hear this now - Reds two's will win the flag - they are monties. tigers haven't seen 3/4 of our team so will be shocked come GF day..
Thankyou once again for your continued support.
Red may be making a guest appearance at the comp B&F on Monday night ...........
Roy
overtheline
30 Aug 2006, 19:36
Hello all,
roy has already given his top 10 for the comp b & f and stands by it.
well the boys sent of the great man burgo in style on the weekend - sending hampton back to d grade - about suits them I reckon. Both of the clubs in Green back down to D Section - not much love for the parade coach. Change required there one would think.
hampton already advertising - will Local Boy be tempted down to David Street from Gerry Green - strong rumors in non-amateur circles surrounding who may be targeted to coach the vultures next year......... Red still has his southern spies working on that one and will let you know asap.
As for the Reds job - lets just say roy can confirm that the Reds are speaking to recently retired AFL types to take over from the mustacha !!!
Tips for this week:
2nd Semi - Jackas put the shudders up as soon as they knew they were in this game and have wisely rested a few over the last few weeks. Lewski, ritterman, sutton and co will be firing and will run the tigers ragged at Sandy. Reds spies tell him that Tyquin went off injured......... big loss for the tiggies that is. Jackas by 4 goals
1st Semi - if the rumours of Sullivans injury are true then the monders will smash Parkdale. Cannot afford to lose that guy, best player down there by a mile (Burgs always rated him). Ormond apparently rested some big guns last week - Miller, deledio, Mcconville to name a few - Ormond in a canter
Twos -
Tigers v Ormond - not the blowout of last week (did ormond actually attend the ground) but the tigers for Red
REDS v The OC - OC couldn't win this even if the Giant was qualified - Hear this now - Reds two's will win the flag - they are monties. tigers haven't seen 3/4 of our team so will be shocked come GF day..
Thankyou once again for your continued support.
Red may be making a guest appearance at the comp B&F on Monday night ...........
Roy
Roy,
Thank God you are alive! That was a long mad monday! Firstly, let me agree with you re the Parade coach-D grade Dale! Great to see him send the club to D grade for the first time in their history!
I am starting to wonder about you though Roy, as the Reds apointed a new coach( seamless transition-no extenstive interview process etc)several weks ago. Steve Maus, former senior coach of Carey has the gig!
Now Roy, surely an insider would have known that!!!
Red Roy
30 Aug 2006, 20:42
OTL - what in gods name are you on about. Please refrain from such nonsensical rubish in a public forum!!!
ps - Red was always taught it was good to keep people guessing until things in the public arena!!
oldtimer
30 Aug 2006, 20:47
OTL - what in gods name are you on about. Please refrain from such nonsensical rubish in a public forum!!!
ps - Red was always taught it was good to keep people guessing until things in the public arena!!
Read your website RED!! It states that the coach was going to be introduced at the Luncheon last Sat. Does this count as a public arena?
Three Malugas
30 Aug 2006, 21:25
Read your website RED!! It states that the coach was going to be introduced at the Luncheon last Sat. Does this count as a public arena?
Opps!
Roy,
Thank God you are alive! That was a long mad monday! Firstly, let me agree with you re the Parade coach-D grade Dale! Great to see him send the club to D grade for the first time in their history!
I am starting to wonder about you though Roy, as the Reds apointed a new coach( seamless transition-no extenstive interview process etc)several weks ago. Steve Maus, former senior coach of Carey has the gig!
Now Roy, surely an insider would have known that!!!
Red Red Red - even I knew Mausy had the gig last weekend.
He's the current 1st XVIII coach at Trinity GS and former U19s (2000 - 2002) and reserves (2003) coach at OTs. Took the senior reins at Carey for 2 years before having a year off VAFA coaching.
Good bloke, good coach, will be a real asset for the Reds.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
31 Aug 2006, 08:42
Just like his beloved team old Roy has found the going a lot tougher in C section and clearly now both the season and competition has found him out...rattled and confused he is pushing uninteresting posts...just a shadow of the former man he was at the start of the season and like many of my opponents over the journey RCT has worn him down.
The only consistent aspect of Red is his continual tipping against the Tigers...again you haven't down your homework Red...Lewski hasn't been rested but is battling to get through games...big difference! Finals experience is also a key factor witht the Tigers holding a decided edge here...Jackers finals appearances have been few in recent years and results not great at the same time. The Tigers are on a mission and have been preparing for this week for some time, rotating players, resting key players and will be fresh, have enormous depth of players to call on which I can't say the same for the Jackers (Reserves and U/19's battled) Th Brindisi Street boys are ready to pounce on Saturday...be very wary whoever crosses their path....RCT tips the Tigers by 39 points.
Similar scenario in the 1st Semi Final with Ormond being able to rest a few last week and have better depth of players also to call on. Keleher, Miller, Deledio's,McConville and young Chisholm up forward will create plenty of headaches for Local Boy and Parky who have been gallant, but gallant won't get you all the way....RCT tips Ormond by 41 points
Reserves will see wins to the Tigers, and the OC's in a close one.
Mobbenfuhrer
31 Aug 2006, 10:19
We have a website? :eek:
rofl@redroy ... well held by RCT on the day but always a spectacle to watch the two on the same arena.
Clearly the Reds were the best team in the comp this year and only the curse of me barracking for them proved to be an obstacle.
The third tier next season will be renamed "Just-you-wait-and-C Grade".
Richard Clay Torpedoes
31 Aug 2006, 10:28
The Opening Market after Round 16 -RCT's C Section VAFA B&F Market
Anstey - SBMT $2.80 solid favourite
Lewski - AJAX $3.20 but no real money seen as yet
Miller - Ormond $4.60 always votes well and played nearly every game in 06
Gregory - Monash $ 5.80 consistent year and will poll
L.Wintle - SBMT $ 7.00 another consistent tall who stands out
P.Sullivan - PV $7.50 in and under with good disposal noticed by umpires
J.Tyquin - SBMT $ 8.00 missed out on Rep. teams somehow but another Tiger with a show...could hurt his teammates in the end
Loats - OC $ 11.00 will poll a few 3 votes with big bags but missed too many game to win
T.Davis - FR $ 13.00 eye catcher in middle of the road team
G.Smythe - Monash $ 13.00 bit of a smoky...red hair and plays free..last years winner and umpires favourite
McConville - Orm - $25.00 another who may suprise everyone but those at the Gunn
Ritterman - $25.00 - missed a few games and won't be in the finish for mine
Cahill - FR $33.00 - game on baller and wears a helmet which will get him a few votes
Any odds the rest for me...no-one from NOBS/Hampton Rovers or Parade can nor should win and should be embarassed if it were to!
New Market based on VAFA Website listing of C Section Club's leading vote earners
Anstey - SBMT $2.50
Smyth - Monash $ 4.50 big firmer and last years winner
Keleher - Ormond $ 5.00 continues to be a bad result for RCT
Loats- OC $7.00 goalkickers don't often win
Ritterman - Ajax $8.00 maybe he picks up Lewski's?
M.Wintle - SBMT $12.00 will he cost Anstey votes?
Israelsohn - Ajax $16.00 could the long flowing hair catch the umpires eye
McGeorge - Parkdale $21.00 played off half back this year & a prev.winner
Cahill - Fitz Reds $33.00 the helmet factor in his favour
Sleep - NOBS $33.00 will he stay awake through the count?
Browne - Hampton $50.00 ruckman who missed a few too many games
Curran - Parade $66.00 bookies hope!
RCT has claimed a few victims with P.Sullivan a good result for the bag but a surprising non invite...likewise Lewski from Ajax but not much investment placed on him...Williams from Monash was another who was specked...worst result as it stands is Keleher from Ormond.
RCT
Red Red Red - even I knew Mausy had the gig last weekend.
He's the current 1st XVIII coach at Trinity GS and former U19s (2000 - 2002) and reserves (2003) coach at OTs. Took the senior reins at Carey for 2 years before having a year off VAFA coaching.
Good bloke, good coach, will be a real asset for the Reds.
Interesting that Mausy may be coaching against his old side next year. Old Carey finished on top of D1 and look likely to progress to C-Grade.
homebake
31 Aug 2006, 11:26
Its been very interesting reading this forum over the football season. Its great knowing everyone has an equal dislike of AJAX and is happy to see certain teams going down to D grade. However recently I have been seeing posts about how Fitzroy Reds are gonna win the Magoos Grand Final and the SBMT bashing thats been going on. While I don't support or play for SBMT, I can tell you that they will win both the Seniors and Reserves Grand Finals by quite comfortable margains and RED ROY having played against all 4 sides playing in the Magoos finals, Ill give you the tip, Reds are no where near St Bedes. For me its an AJAX V SBMT Grand Final in the seniors and a SBMT v Camberwell Grand Final in the reserves.
Its great knowing everyone has an equal dislike of AJAX.
I don't
torpedo9
31 Aug 2006, 13:21
Ajax's players are by all reports as likeable a bunch as an opposition team can be..... it is their supporters who are a bunch of ferals!!
Richard Clay Torpedoes
31 Aug 2006, 15:57
A massive go on a Monash player has seen a major revamp of the C Section B&F Market...RCT phones have been running hotter than Paris Hilton's shower in scenes similar to the infamous 'Caddyshack' betting coup.
Rumours abound of a leak from VAFA HQ and a full internal investigation must be launched. Some suggestions that Monash computer nerds have hacked into the VAFA system and worked out the final vote count result and for a small fee sold this to the Blues players and they have backed Georgie Boy to win back to back.medals like there's no tomorrow
Smyth - Monash $ 1.65 bets of $2K to $10K & $1K to $5K on the umpires fav.
Anstey - SBMT $3.75 has been fav. from the outset but has got the blows
Keleher - Ormond $ 5.00 solid specking for another vote puller
Loats- OC $7.50 can he do a Plugger
Ritterman - Ajax $9.00 drifting in the market
M.Wintle - SBMT $12.00 will he perform live at the count?
Israelsohn - Ajax $16.00 some say very underrated......
McGeorge - Parkdale $21.00 took a call from Local Boy who placed $100 EW
Cahill - Fitz Reds $36.00 Gary Wilson didn't win a Brownlow...
Sleep - NOBS $40.00 has dozed off.....
Browne - Hampton $50.00 is he the surprise in a shocking year for Rovers
Curran - Parade $99.00 field of dreams......
RCT
A massive go on a Monash player has seen a major revamp of the C Section B&F Market...RCT phones have been running hotter than Paris Hilton's shower in scenes similar to the infamous 'Caddyshack' betting coup.
Rumours abound of a leak from VAFA HQ and a full internal investigation must be launched. Some suggestions that Monash computer nerds have hacked into the VAFA system and worked out the final vote count result and for a small fee sold this to the Blues players and they have backed Georgie Boy to win back to back.medals like there's no tomorrow
Smyth - Monash $ 1.65 bets of $2K to $10K & $1K to $5K on the umpires fav.
Anstey - SBMT $3.75 has been fav. from the outset but has got the blows
Keleher - Ormond $ 5.00 solid specking for another vote puller
Loats- OC $7.50 can he do a Plugger
Ritterman - Ajax $9.00 drifting in the market
M.Wintle - SBMT $12.00 will he perform live at the count?
Israelsohn - Ajax $16.00 some say very underrated......
McGeorge - Parkdale $21.00 took a call from Local Boy who placed $100 EW
Cahill - Fitz Reds $36.00 Gary Wilson didn't win a Brownlow...
Sleep - NOBS $40.00 has dozed off.....
Browne - Hampton $50.00 is he the surprise in a shocking year for Rovers
Curran - Parade $99.00 field of dreams......
RCT
I'll add to my last bet.
$50 on Ormond Snr's into Fitzroy Reds Reserves into Keleher wininning the B&F
overtheline
31 Aug 2006, 16:08
I'll add to my last bet.
$50 on Ormond Snr's into Fitzroy Reds Reserves into Keleher wininning the B&F
Have heard today that John Barker is a confirmed starter for NOBS next year...handy pick up.
With the market, if smyth wins it it is a joke. Loats' votes will match his free kick count for year, so he is no hope.
It really will be a disgrace if Curren polls more than 4 votes. Vinnie will do better than most think. Helmets always help with votes.
Three Malugas
31 Aug 2006, 16:16
Forget the umpires the best player I saw in the comp was Anstey. The next best is probably Beveridge except he only played a handful of games. What does that tell us.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
31 Aug 2006, 16:24
CFE...Is your $50.00 investment on Ormond snrs & Reds Reserves to winthis weekend into Keleher or for Keleher to win and these teams to win Flags?
RCT
Red Roy
31 Aug 2006, 16:37
OK - some serious Roy bashing going on here, and for once the Great One probably deserved it!! roy is man enough to admit the errors of his ways and the coaching position is clearly one of those.
As for you RCT - you have never, and will never have the better of the likes of me. Remember it was i who had to rebuke you for trying to speak of yourself in the 3rd person as the great Roy does.
you have lived off me all year, without the Great Red, there would be no RCT !!! Still to have an original thought is the poor deluded RCT - copied doing tips as a betting market from the dude in the weekly publication that writes on D Something section, Healy i believe his name is.
As for the comp b&f - invites list just proves what red already knows - umpires are poor judges. Vinnie Cahill has not had as good a year as TD for starters - Lewski not invited !! what are they on !!
Anyway - tips for this week as previously posted
That is all
The Roy
Bede me up
31 Aug 2006, 16:45
Have heard today that John Barker is a confirmed starter for NOBS next year...handy pick up.
With the market, if smyth wins it it is a joke. Loats' votes will match his free kick count for year, so he is no hope.
It really will be a disgrace if Curren polls more than 4 votes. Vinnie will do better than most think. Helmets always help with votes.
You speak rubbish OvertheLine, and you seem to have an unhealthy obsession with NOBS and Helmets. Is there something you should be telling us?
THE BEACON
31 Aug 2006, 17:00
Rumours also that Barkers been offered the assistant coaches job at Hastings
Three Malugas
31 Aug 2006, 17:12
Went thru the VAFA website and surely Anstey must win. In Tigers best in 11 games. Best 1 or 2 in eight of those games!
Round 2 SBMT 12. 14. 86 defeated Old Paradians 7.5.47
Best Players: S Anstey, J Tyquin, J Kane, P Wintle, M Rhoden, P Groves
Round 3 SBMT 13. 14. 92 defeated A.J.A.X. 7.10.52
Best Players: L Wintle, P McGettigan, M McCraw, Anthony Scafidi, S Anstey, J Tyquin.
Round 4 SBMT 18. 16. 124 defeated Parkdale 11.6.72
Best Players: M Wintle, S Anstey, Tyquin, Kane, Hilton, A Scafidi.
Round 6 SBMT 26. 19. 175 defeated OLD CAMBERWELL 11.13.79
Best Players: Hilton, Anstey, Tyquin, McGettigan, Corda, Anthony Scafidi
Round 7 SBMT 13. 19. 97 defeated NORTH OLD BOYS 7.7.49
Best Players: L wintle, Anstey, Corda, Anthony Scafidi, Kinsella, Hilton
Round 9 SBMT 15. 12. 102 defeated ORMOND 13.10.88
Best Players: SBMT 21. 23. 149 defeated HAMPTON ROVERS 10.10.70
Best Players: Anstey, T McColl, M Wintle, Kidd, Anthony Scafidi, P Wintle
Round 12 SBMT 12. 18. 90 defeated A.J.A.X. 13.5.83
Best Players: S. Anstey, J. Tyquin, A. Scafidi, J. Kane, A. McMahon, M. Wintle
Round 13 SBMT 17. 19. 121 defeated Parkdale 9.11.65
Best Players: A Sawers A Hayes S Anstey M Hilton M Wintle T McColl
Round 14 SBMT 21. 18. 144 defeated FITZROY REDS 6.7.43
Best Players: S Kidd S Anstey S Zakic M Wintle P Wintle L Terrell
Round 15 SBMT 24. 6. 150 defeated OLD CAMBERWELL 7.9.51
Best Players: Corda Anstey P Wintle L Wintle S Zakic Anthony Scafidi
bigwilly
31 Aug 2006, 17:34
RCT
Wouldn't mind a few dollars on Michael Wintle. If he has been invited to the dinner as well as Anstey. He should therefore have an equal amount of votes. Better odds on Wintle.
Bigfootyfan
31 Aug 2006, 17:38
Went thru the VAFA website and surely Anstey must win. In Tigers best in 11 games. Best 1 or 2 in eight of those games!
Round 2 SBMT 12. 14. 86 defeated Old Paradians 7.5.47
Best Players: S Anstey, J Tyquin, J Kane, P Wintle, M Rhoden, P Groves
Round 3 SBMT 13. 14. 92 defeated A.J.A.X. 7.10.52
Best Players: L Wintle, P McGettigan, M McCraw, Anthony Scafidi, S Anstey, J Tyquin.
Round 4 SBMT 18. 16. 124 defeated Parkdale 11.6.72
Best Players: M Wintle, S Anstey, Tyquin, Kane, Hilton, A Scafidi.
Round 6 SBMT 26. 19. 175 defeated OLD CAMBERWELL 11.13.79
Best Players: Hilton, Anstey, Tyquin, McGettigan, Corda, Anthony Scafidi
Round 7 SBMT 13. 19. 97 defeated NORTH OLD BOYS 7.7.49
Best Players: L wintle, Anstey, Corda, Anthony Scafidi, Kinsella, Hilton
Round 9 SBMT 15. 12. 102 defeated ORMOND 13.10.88
Best Players: SBMT 21. 23. 149 defeated HAMPTON ROVERS 10.10.70
Best Players: Anstey, T McColl, M Wintle, Kidd, Anthony Scafidi, P Wintle
Round 12 SBMT 12. 18. 90 defeated A.J.A.X. 13.5.83
Best Players: S. Anstey, J. Tyquin, A. Scafidi, J. Kane, A. McMahon, M. Wintle
Round 13 SBMT 17. 19. 121 defeated Parkdale 9.11.65
Best Players: A Sawers A Hayes S Anstey M Hilton M Wintle T McColl
Round 14 SBMT 21. 18. 144 defeated FITZROY REDS 6.7.43
Best Players: S Kidd S Anstey S Zakic M Wintle P Wintle L Terrell
Round 15 SBMT 24. 6. 150 defeated OLD CAMBERWELL 7.9.51
Best Players: Corda Anstey P Wintle L Wintle S Zakic Anthony Scafidi
Get a job Three Malugas, you have way too much time on your hands
zoofest43
31 Aug 2006, 18:16
Agree entirely with your comments re Loats. Was often headlocked and adominably stretched by a 3-team,only to outmark them. When he didn't mark ,he was simply crucified by the umpires. If they couldn't see him to give him a free kick ,I can't imagine them giving him as many votes as he should have got.
Anstey still my pick. Hope the leak is wrong .George is a great player and deservedly won last year,don't think his form has warranted the accolade this season.
TizzaBlues
31 Aug 2006, 18:34
I'll tip Ajax this week over St. Bedes. Ajax are gonna have nearly a full side and are in top form. They should've beaten them last time they played as well.
overtheline
31 Aug 2006, 19:18
You speak rubbish OvertheLine, and you seem to have an unhealthy obsession with NOBS and Helmets. Is there something you should be telling us?
Not bad bede. At least I am not obessed by reserves football, like yourself!
richoooo
31 Aug 2006, 22:14
Winners this week will be STBM and Parky. How do I know this? Red Roy tipped the Jackers and Ormond and he hasn't got one right all bloody year!