View Full Version : C Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18

Scribe
31 Aug 2006, 23:39
As big willy rightly pointed out, Ritterman has tied with Israelshon for top votes for AJAX and likewise Wintle and Anstey for STBMT. Obviously they can only win in a tie with their team-mate, so they must to be on the same odds as their team-mate too.

I would prefer a Loats or Keleher because it clear they're the outright top vote getter for their club.

ScottyDog
1 Sep 2006, 00:31
I'll tip Ajax this week over St. Bedes. Ajax are gonna have nearly a full side and are in top form. They should've beaten them last time they played as well.Sad! Nearly a full side won't quite make it! As for form the last three weeks have ben woeful!

CFE
1 Sep 2006, 08:35
CFE...Is your $50.00 investment on Ormond snrs & Reds Reserves to winthis weekend into Keleher or for Keleher to win and these teams to win Flags?

RCT
This weekend thanks RCT. Will revise after this weekend.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Sep 2006, 09:08
CFE...if my math is correct at this early hour RCT stands to lose $540.00 if all three salute....won't make Mrs Torp. happy if they get up!

Interesting how old RED always goes the personal attack whenever he is inadequacies are exposed....still when the Reds magoos are done and dusted over the weekend at least he can spend the summer months spreading manure on his small vegie patch in the front yard of his inner city one bedroom unit.

And by the way RED....betting prices on football games and the like has been around for just a little longer than Jonno Healy has been writing the D2 Section column.....who is the new coach of the Fitzroy Reds again next year??? do you want me to put up a new betting price market???

Interesting how a few new names and their postings have appeared this week....Ajax are at full strength and in form...now there's a rubix cube to play with if I've ever seen one...how many late withdrawals for the Jackas this week???...and don't you reckon the Tigers are just licking their lips and saying ' bring it on'....

RCT

Bluesnews43
1 Sep 2006, 10:38
this weeks tips...

ormond to prevail by 38 points.. too good all around the ground

ajax v sbmt to end in a thriller... ajax to get up by 4 points..

Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Sep 2006, 10:38
As big willy rightly pointed out, Ritterman has tied with Israelshon for top votes for AJAX and likewise Wintle and Anstey for STBMT. Obviously they can only win in a tie with their team-mate, so they must to be on the same odds as their team-mate too.

I would prefer a Loats or Keleher because it clear they're the outright top vote getter for their club.

Scribe & Big Willy,

Don't assume that the Ammos listing on the website means that two named players from the one club finish on the same number of votes...could be that they both poll very well and finish in the top few...The Ammos like to keep everyone guessing!

Scribe...what happened to your C Section Reserve Finals Tips this week???

RCT

Bede me up
1 Sep 2006, 10:45
Scribe & Big Willy,

Don't assume that the Ammos listing on the website means that two named players from the one club finish on the same number of votes...could be that they both poll very well and finish in the top few...The Ammos like to keep everyone guessing!

Scribe...what happened to your C Section Reserve Finals Tips this week???

RCT

Yeah Scribe - as someone accused of being "obsessed" with reserve grade football - I was shattered to open the Amatuer Footballer last night only to see you giving the reserves absolutely nothing after taking the effort to provide your tips in the 18 home and away games. Couldn't be bothered?

overtheline
1 Sep 2006, 10:58
Yeah Scribe - as someone accused of being "obsessed" with reserve grade football - I was shattered to open the Amatuer Footballer last night only to see you giving the reserves absolutely nothing after taking the effort to provide your tips in the 18 home and away games. Couldn't be bothered?

Because it isn't that important? Who really remembers the ressies premiers ?

Red Roy
1 Sep 2006, 11:00
For once the Great Man (Red Roy) agrees with RCT and Bede me Up.

Poor form Scribe - the mighty Reds twos deserve better !!!

I would of thought that being a two's player yourself you may have given them a little more credence.

Please lift Frase - Red does not enjoy agreeing with RCT.

May have to have an early ale today to wash away the memory!

Thanks for your support

The Red

Bede me up
1 Sep 2006, 11:06

It is certainly important to many people at all clubs involved, not to mention more than a few people on this thread. Just because your season ended in disappointment and you are not a part of September action - don't squeeze your sour grapes over the excitement that some others are enjoying.

Again, Scribe - disappointing.

DG-Man
1 Sep 2006, 11:07

The players!!!
The club that proudly displays the pennant in the club rooms for eternity!

Not everyone can play 1's. A clubs true strength is its numbers and its 2's!

Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Sep 2006, 11:13
Scribe must need a legal type to defend himself soon from a C Section Reserves Class Action...know anyone Frase????

RCT

Josh Mcloud
1 Sep 2006, 12:00
Rumour has it no 12 from stbmt is a big show for the 2s comp b&f
12 from STBMT fits in nicely with ditch davey, georgie voyage....i mean smyth and tim davis.........interesting ES

Well Im down there at Sandringham Football Club at 11.30 to watch #12 in action!

RCT- Do you give odds for the most disposal in the 2s or loose ball gets??? Cause Im sure my good mate will dominate! Just hope he does not pull a heart string!
Will you be at the games on the weekend which will enable me to lay out some cash

overtheline
1 Sep 2006, 12:29
It is certainly important to many people at all clubs involved, not to mention more than a few people on this thread. Just because your season ended in disappointment and you are not a part of September action - don't squeeze your sour grapes over the excitement that some others are enjoying.

Again, Scribe - disappointing.

Boy oh boy...you are a little touchy on this subject Bede! Clubs don't and shouldn't strive to win twos flags and trust me, it will be quickly forgotten.
Good luck anyway against Ajax tomorrow!

Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Sep 2006, 12:30
Well Im down there at Sandringham Football Club at 11.30 to watch #12 in action!

RCT- Do you give odds for the most disposal in the 2s or loose ball gets??? Cause Im sure my good mate will dominate! Just hope he does not pull a heart string!
Will you be at the games on the weekend which will enable me to lay out some cash

Josh,

RCT has still yet to receive the approval from VAFA HQ regarding setting up a betting tent this weekend but I'll be there regardless.

By my records you owe me $50 outlayed on Paul Sullivan who wasn't listed as Parky invited player (and can't therfore be a winner) but you had another $10 on Loats at $7.00 that is still alive.

If you want to back No.12 for most disposals in the early game I'll lay that bet.

RCT

overtheline
1 Sep 2006, 12:39
Josh,

RCT has still yet to receive the approval from VAFA HQ regarding setting up a betting tent this weekend but I'll be there regardless.

By my records you owe me $50 outlayed on Paul Sullivan who wasn't listed as Parky invited player (and can't therfore be a winner) but you had another $10 on Loats at $7.00 that is still alive.

If you want to back No.12 for most disposals in the early game I'll lay that bet.

RCT

Rct,

No rosen tomorrow willl help enourmously. Really they play with only one key dangerous forward (rappaport) with sutton the other dangerous player.
with rosen, bloom and rappa, it is far more formidable.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Sep 2006, 12:48
OTL,

My mail is the Tigers are keen to take on whoever, wherever. Plenty of ducks and drakes will be today's game of the day with who is and isn't playing. I don't think it will matter as it is game day and who wants it more that will earn the win....reckon I know who that is!

RCT

Ammoandy
1 Sep 2006, 13:03
RCT....
no permission is necessary from VAFA if you locate within the Sandy social club.
It's also not good form to take a wager from someone on a scratched horse RCT ....#12 me thinks might be out???

For mine the weekend will bring happiness to SBMT & Ormond

Bede me up
1 Sep 2006, 13:20
Boy oh boy...you are a little touchy on this subject Bede! Clubs don't and shouldn't strive to win twos flags and trust me, it will be quickly forgotten.

What do you expect OTL - I'm obsessed remember.

Clearly you've never held a senior position at a successful club with that attitude?

Mobbenfuhrer
1 Sep 2006, 16:00

Well at least now I know you're not John Ironmonger! :p

bigwilly
1 Sep 2006, 16:48
RCT

Might just be clutching at a few of those long curly straws. But we will find out in a week or two.

Scribe
1 Sep 2006, 17:05
OFFICIAL APOLOGY

Recent rumblings on key internet forums has raised the awareness of a glaring error in this weeks' VAFA Official Publication, the Amateur Footballer. Following a review of the publication on Friday afternoon by a hastily convened sub-committee, the VAFA Executive released this statement from C Section Scribe, Fraser Cameron.

"It has recently come to my attention that, in the semi finals' edition of the Amateur Footballer, the C section column has omitted to contain tips for this weeks' Reserves 1st and 2nd semifinals."

"This is simply an oversight on my part for which I unreservedly and completely apologise. Many will be painfully aware of my own committment to dew-kicking footy, borne out in my signature tipping of 2nds results for all previous 18 rounds."

"I have no excuse for this omission, but for what it's worth, I'll make one up. It was to annoy Red Roy, who only has 2nds footy left to cling to (rather like myself actually)."

For what it's worth, my tips would have been (and now are):

STMBT over Ormond
Reds over The OC

I can only hope that the loyal supporters of these sides, and C Section in general, will find it within themselves to accept this apology as genuine and heartfelt. No-one wants to be left out in September, least of all those who actually played well enough to get there!!!!"

Apology ends - REUTERS

Mobbenfuhrer
1 Sep 2006, 17:15
Thank you Mel Gibson. :eek:

Quietly Confident
2 Sep 2006, 01:26
Grand Final Day . Nowhere to hide.You get in and get it or you are marking time.. Jackas have too many outside players , quick and skillful and great to watch. Let me know the last time this type of team won a flag......just not tough enough. I was a huge rap for them early but the wheels are off . In fact if Ormond had a coach I reckon they could have gone up.

Quietly Confident
2 Sep 2006, 01:39
Will Al Parton tank the finals, as it would be tough playing against his mates at Carey

Red Roy
2 Sep 2006, 08:35
OFFICIAL APOLOGY

Recent rumblings on key internet forums has raised the awareness of a glaring error in this weeks' VAFA Official Publication, the Amateur Footballer. Following a review of the publication on Friday afternoon by a hastily convened sub-committee, the VAFA Executive released this statement from C Section Scribe, Fraser Cameron.

"It has recently come to my attention that, in the semi finals' edition of the Amateur Footballer, the C section column has omitted to contain tips for this weeks' Reserves 1st and 2nd semifinals."

"This is simply an oversight on my part for which I unreservedly and completely apologise. Many will be painfully aware of my own committment to dew-kicking footy, borne out in my signature tipping of 2nds results for all previous 18 rounds."

"I have no excuse for this omission, but for what it's worth, I'll make one up. It was to annoy Red Roy, who only has 2nds footy left to cling to (rather like myself actually)."

For what it's worth, my tips would have been (and now are):

STMBT over Ormond
Reds over The OC

I can only hope that the loyal supporters of these sides, and C Section in general, will find it within themselves to accept this apology as genuine and heartfelt. No-one wants to be left out in September, least of all those who actually played well enough to get there!!!!"

Apology ends - REUTERS

Apology accepted Scribe - I think !!

good to see you are on the bandwagon with your tip of the Reds twos

The Roy

goallinegg
10 Sep 2006, 10:53
what

Bigfootyfan
10 Sep 2006, 11:42
Well the talk is the Tigers are back in town after thumping a hapless vulture side led by their disgraceful leader in localboy. The truth is the Tigers never left town. Lookout Ajax.

bigwilly
10 Sep 2006, 20:32
Don't know if it is just me but missing the 10 pages of this thread since the upgrade on Sat morn.

But saw Tiges demolish the hapless Vultures on Sat. Did it quite easily. But I think they may have a bit of a problem. They are bigger front runners than Ajax. Never ever thought I would say it. But I think Ajax can beat the Tiges. It will come down to the midfield. If Ajax can win in the guts then they will win easy. The tigers refuse to man up (except for Zakic) They ran off the 1/2 back line as if they wouldn't lose the contest in the middle. Run and kick through the lines and the the Tigers will be caught out. Make them accountable.

ScottyDog
10 Sep 2006, 22:30
Watched the C Section Prelim and must say how uncompetitive Parkdale were. St Bedes dominated every position in the first quarter against a four goal breeze. They backed off after quarter time because the contest was over. Parkdale kicked just five goals for the game and were lucky to do so. If the Tigers appeared unaccountable it is probably because of their lack of respect when competing against average opponents. I thought they play their opponents on merit! I wouldn't be quick to write off their chances against Ajax. .

ITSMYNAME
10 Sep 2006, 23:49
i saw the Vultures Vee Tigers on saturday, Ground was in good nick by the way. weather didnt really affect the game much, hardly any rain. I can see what you're saying about tigers being unaccountable, but it can also be a good thing, they have so much faith in their midfielders and blokes around the ball to win it. And they usually do from what i've seen. and when they don't they are string minded enough to push back hard. They have injected a little pace it seemed on the weekend. smaller type of blokes, which is similar to ajax, so sure to be a ripping contest. Now just hope i can make it! go tigers

Bananabender
11 Sep 2006, 00:01
Ajax's players are by all reports as likeable a bunch as an opposition team can be..... it is their supporters who are a bunch of ferals!!
Strange but that's not the impression I got when I attended an Ajax game at the Fitzroy Reds ground.

Perhaps it's some of the people who complain who are the real ferals!

Richard Clay Torpedoes
11 Sep 2006, 08:46
Bring it on....that's the word from the Tigers camp after Saturday's demolition of Parkdale. A great first term against the wind set the game up for the lads from Brindisi street and they never gave their opponents a sniff after that. Plenty of upside for the Tigers with fresh players available this week. Tyquin trained solidly last week and could have played Saturday but the Tigers hierachy played their strategic cards well and will reap the reward.

Word has already leaked out that Ajax have booked the Sandy Social Club rooms post match this Saturday to celebrate their 'premiership' and further more caps and shirts are being produced as we speak.....getting way ahead of themselves in football terms.

Just got that feeling in the Mazenod rooms after Saturday's game that the Tigers have got some unfinished business.

RCT.

And yep what has happened to all the previous threads from last week...Mobbe please investigate as keyboard time is valuable!

GetSmart
11 Sep 2006, 09:28
Strange but that's not the impression I got when I attended an Ajax game at the Fitzroy Reds ground.

Perhaps it's some of the people who complain who are the real ferals!Let's leave all the negative comments re Ajax supporters off the thread this week boys! Hope it is a cracking game with the Tigers winning by 66 points!

The_Cat
11 Sep 2006, 10:41
Bring it on....that's the word from the Tigers camp after Saturday's demolition of Parkdale. A great first term against the wind set the game up for the lads from Brindisi street and they never gave their opponents a sniff after that. Plenty of upside for the Tigers with fresh players available this week. Tyquin trained solidly last week and could have played Saturday but the Tigers hierachy played their strategic cards well and will reap the reward.

Word has already leaked out that Ajax have booked the Sandy Social Club rooms post match this Saturday to celebrate their 'premiership' and further more caps and shirts are being produced as we speak.....getting way ahead of themselves in football terms.

Just got that feeling in the Mazenod rooms after Saturday's game that the Tigers have got some unfinished business.

RCT.

And yep what has happened to all the previous threads from last week...Mobbe please investigate as keyboard time is valuable!
Well done to the boys from Brindisi St.

As everyone has said so far, they pretty much controlled the game from the outset after setting themselves up with a great opening stanza.

Good luck to them for this weeks game and on going straight back to 'B' section.

They had winners all over the ground on Saturday and should be fairly confident about next week.

One question RCT, what was Kinsella on about before/during the game? His actions were rather unsportsmanlike. Even more bizarre considering his opponent has been a long time teammate / friend.

Red Roy
11 Sep 2006, 10:51
Mobbs,

what the??

some of Reds finest work appears to have been lost for ever!! VAFA historians will be devestated because Roy has learnt they are planning to use his account of the year to keep AMMO records up to date.

Please advise

THE RED

Mobbenfuhrer
11 Sep 2006, 11:00
Dunno fellas, dunno ... I know I tend to take to the thread every now and then with a large scythe, but I sure didn't do all that!

I'll chase it up with the "guys upstairs" and see what I can come back with, perhaps a whole bunch of .CHK files ... :(

Grandstand Guru
11 Sep 2006, 11:05
Congrats St Bede's...after a season of ups and downs and much debate, it's fitting that the 2 best sides in C Grade will square off for the Premiership and both will be in B Grade in '07.

The_Cat - what happened re Kinsella? He carries on too much on the field for a bloke of his dwindling ability. Was there a run in with Hecker?

Interesting to see Rupertswood prevail over Old Geelong in the D1 prelim (a replay of last year's D2 GF). Means Rupertswood have gone up 3 years in a row after being in D3 in 2004!

Richard Clay Torpedoes
11 Sep 2006, 11:36
Mobbe....I'm being chased by punters claiming that they were offered $1.60 on the Tigers over the weekend...if we can't get our threads back I'm going to be broke before the weekend!

Hecker was clearly the best player for Parky in their win over Ormond and the Tigers of course knows his strengths and abilities as good as anyone...Kinsella had the job on him and despite being great mates it is a game of footy and their isn't any quarter given in a game let alone a final is there?? And what happens on the field stays on the field.

Well the Hunter from the Second Semi has now become the hunted....how will the Jackas react to being the favourite and the pressure associated with it...the Tigers relish being the Hunter and have a title firmly in their sights.

The mind games are on....

DG-Man
11 Sep 2006, 11:52
Interesting to see Rupertswood prevail over Old Geelong in the D1 prelim (a replay of last year's D2 GF). Means Rupertswood have gone up 3 years in a row after being in D3 in 2004!

Supurb effort by Rupo. They are an up and coming side. Have two unders teams (one finished 4th or 5th in division 1) and plenty of depth in the seniors. Very young side. Very quick. I think the two D1 sides will measure up pretty well in C next year (as Ormond and Reds did this year)

Guru Joffa
11 Sep 2006, 12:54
Congrats to the lads from Brindisi Street on their resounding win over Parkdale on Saturday. I'm sure the Grand Final will be a cracker!!

Re the Sam Hecker/Dave Kinsella matchup - As RCT alluded too in a previous post, Hecker was awesome against Ormond and was clearly a concern for St.Bedes coming into the Prelim Final, however, I'd suggest that his stats from Saturday of 28 possessions, 12 marks and 3 goals meant that Kinners tactics proved worthless. Well played Sam.

My catch-cry of "Never, ever right off the Vulture" obviously didn't work on Saturday, however, I would just like to remind readers that it still remains in force as I can guarentee the Vultures will still be a strong club in 2007 and should at no stage be underestimated.

Good luck to all in the Grand Final.

GO THE VULTURE :)

Richard Clay Torpedoes
11 Sep 2006, 13:10
I thought it was an intriguing match up between Kinsella and Hecker when Sam went forward...Sam spent a lot of the game ruck roving which should be taken into account...he got under Ormond's guard being able to work forward and not have an accountable opponent relesing him to kick the 6 goals he did....when he was based as a forward on Saturday I thought Kinsella did a great job on him and probably rattled Sam a bit winning a free kick for the Tigers...Sam was no doubt in the best players for Parky but I'd say Kinsella did a great job for the Tigers also.

As they say...it is all history now and yes Parky did a great job to finish 3rd.

More history to be written this week for those who dare.....

egor
11 Sep 2006, 13:25

RCT.

It's a pre-game supporters' lunch at the Sandy Social Club, not a post-game function, which will be at Albert Park.

The lid has been kept firmly shut so far.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
11 Sep 2006, 13:31
A pre game lunch and a post game function at Albert Park...sounds like the lid is well and truly open!

The Jackas have not gone into any game against the Tigers this year as the favourite until this week and with such comes extra mental pressure...everyone who has played footy or any other sport knows such.

It just adds that bit extra for them to handle this week.

Interesting that in 2004, Caulfield Grammarians knocked off the favourites MHSOB in the Second Semi and yet come GF Day when MHSOB went in as the underdogs the result was reversed!

RCT

Benny MOF
11 Sep 2006, 14:01
RCT

How does having a pre and post game function mean that AJAX are ahead of themselves...?

Well organised - Yes

Ahead of themselves - No

Your argument appears to be that of a typically ignorant StBede's bogan.

BMOF

Richard Clay Torpedoes
11 Sep 2006, 14:22
Always happy to contribute to the thread but not with unintelligent life forms like what appears above!

RCT

GetSmart
11 Sep 2006, 14:27
RCT

How does having a pre and post game function mean that AJAX are ahead of themselves...?

Well organised - Yes

Ahead of themselves - No

BMOF Benny, What a waste of time you guys are. A few posts back I write that everyone should lay off the Ajax supporters this week on this thread. What do you do... Call St Bedes ignorant bogans. Have a good hard look at yourself and ask yourself..... Why do people respond to us like they do?

GetSmart
11 Sep 2006, 14:33
Well done to the boys from Brindisi St.

As everyone has said so far, they pretty much controlled the game from the outset after setting themselves up with a great opening stanza.

Good luck to them for this weeks game and on going straight back to 'B' section.

They had winners all over the ground on Saturday and should be fairly confident about next week.

One question RCT, what was Kinsella on about before/during the game? His actions were rather unsportsmanlike. Even more bizarre considering his opponent has been a long time teammate / friend.Well done Cat on a gracious post given Parkys loss on Saturday. The Tigers and the Vultures may be arch rivals, but they know when some one has had a red hot dip. Parkdale has done that this year with a limited list that was also hit by injury.

scroda
11 Sep 2006, 14:35
Benny, What a waste of time you guys are. A few posts back I write that everyone should lay off the Ajax supporters this week on this thread. What do you do... Call St Bedes ignorant bogans. Have a good hard look at yourself and ask yourself..... Why do people respond to us like they do?

Agreed and agreed. Benny's thoughts were correct even if the execution was a tad ordinary. But please don't paint us all with the same brush - look through the history of my posts and you'll see that I'm a very loveable ajax supporter

Quite upset that the past week of posts have been wiped. Was this the work of St Bedes hackers who would like to forget the loss to the jackas?:D

Oh well - you will have to be reminded again this Saturday!

Everyday Spelling
11 Sep 2006, 15:34
Scoobie Doossss Grannie

Big win by the lads after being pressed right to the end. Ormond were very wasteful in final quarter whilst kicking with the breeze and we were able to kick a few to run out victors. Big show this week against the tiges.

Just like to add that the half time kick to kick was one of the best I have participated in. The screamer that i took on Digga Ditch will be remembered for a long time.

Cheers
ES

Benny MOF
11 Sep 2006, 15:38
Benny, What a waste of time you guys are. A few posts back I write that everyone should lay off the Ajax supporters this week on this thread. What do you do... Call St Bedes ignorant bogans. Have a good hard look at yourself and ask yourself..... Why do people respond to us like they do?

Get Smart

I can assure you that I have nothing to do with AJAX, their players or supporters, I wouldn't know one if I tripped over them.

My point is that RCT, like many of his friends from the horse paddock at Brindisi St, are the arrogant ones getting ahead of themselves and have been all year.

I feel sorry for all the teams in B section that have to play on that awful, small and unsafe ground with all those feral supporters next season. The VAFA acted on Righetti, it's time they did the same on Brindisi!

Richard Clay Torpedoes
11 Sep 2006, 15:46
Benny Nuff

Do everyone a favour and crawl back under the rock from which you came.

It will be a lonely place but a safe one.

torpedo9
11 Sep 2006, 15:57
Agreed RCT. Excellent advice.

Everyday Spelling
11 Sep 2006, 15:58
Weren't you from there Benny??

I remember you saying that a while ago.

Ammoandy
11 Sep 2006, 16:08
Congratulations to the quick running tigers outfit and lots of praise for the Parky boys. To a man they all attended afterwards for a drink and a chat. Good to see good sportsmanship and blokes enjoying one anothers company.
Well done to the Parkdale crew finishing no3, it showed a lot of spirit.

THE BEACON
11 Sep 2006, 16:22
RCT

Well organised - Yes

Ahead of themselves - No

BMOF

Bit rich coming from another bogan

Benny MOF
11 Sep 2006, 16:26
Weren't you from there Benny??

I remember you saying that a while ago.

Correct.

There are reasons behind my departure.

GetSmart
11 Sep 2006, 17:06
Agreed and agreed. Benny's thoughts were correct even if the execution was a tad ordinary. But please don't paint us all with the same brush - look through the history of my posts and you'll see that I'm a very loveable ajax supporter

Quite upset that the past week of posts have been wiped. Was this the work of St Bedes hackers who would like to forget the loss to the jackas?:D

Oh well - you will have to be reminded again this Saturday!Thanks Scroda! As for the hackers. Well done. As for next week we might be reminded, we might not. Those at the game on Saturday would have seen that the Tigers were certainly not arrogant nor ahead of themselves the players did not get carried away and were the first to congratulate their opponents. None of the Tiger crowd were crowing either about the win. It was quite clear that they had taken Parkdale seriously and were now looking forward to a great match with Ajax. If the Jackers win on Saturday they will deserve the victory, as will the Tigers. Both clubs have good sides. Lets all enjoy the week and the game!

Three Malugas
11 Sep 2006, 17:14
Correct.

There are reasons behind my departure.Investigated a few of your posts Mr MOF. Appears that you were once with the Tigers and are now with the Sharks. Some of your posts have the smell of sour grapes against the Tigers. Nothing worst than getting the bullet from a club it hurts! Do you fit in at the sharks now or do you have similar problems there? Time will tell!

scroda
11 Sep 2006, 17:25
Investigated a few of your posts Mr MOF. Appears that you were once with the Tigers and are now with the Sharks. Some of your posts have the smell of sour grapes against the Tigers. Nothing worst than getting the bullet from a club it hurts! Do you fit in at the sharks now or do you have similar problems there? Time will tell!

I assume Get Smart that you will now graciously apologise to us ajax supporters :D

And agreed with you - very much looking forward to Saturday (and the pre-game lunch!)

Ammo Man
11 Sep 2006, 17:30
Haven't heard a whisper from Brooksy since Saturday's belting. Got the old tail well between the legs. Let's hope the peace lasts.:p

GetSmart
11 Sep 2006, 17:40
Scroda, Apology if you think it necessary. All clubs have supporters that bring it on themselves, including yours and ours. I'm sure he fits that category at Beauy as well. Probably why he is not with us now!

richoooo
11 Sep 2006, 19:31
The Tigers way to good for Parky on the wekend. They have got some great young small runners that all know where the goals are. Parky were beaten all over the ground except for Hecker and Mick Sullivan. I reckon Mentone should win this weekend bit it aint going to be easy. Should be a corker.

As far as Kinsella goes, what a knob. A cheap coward that comes in late and never takes it front on. Will be a lonely past player.

Tiges to win by a bee's proverbial. All the best in B grade for both clubs.

PS. Do you need a passport to go to Rupertswood? Is it in the Melways or will I need the RACV Country Victoria Directory.

Josh Mcloud
11 Sep 2006, 21:56
The Tigers way to good for Parky on the wekend. They have got some great young small runners that all know where the goals are. Parky were beaten all over the ground except for Hecker and Mick Sullivan. I reckon Mentone should win this weekend bit it aint going to be easy. Should be a corker.

As far as Kinsella goes, what a knob. A cheap coward that comes in late and never takes it front on. Will be a lonely past player.

Tiges to win by a bee's proverbial. All the best in B grade for both clubs.

PS. Do you need a passport to go to Rupertswood? Is it in the Melways or will I need the RACV Country Victoria Directory.

Never heard of Kinsella???? maybe he should play in a real league like the bendigo one, he will have plenty mates there cos we all stick up for our teammates.... Did number #12 play well on the weekend?? My source said he spent some quality time on the bench. Still no Tyquin I hear, my source says he has a dodgy hammy! Heard Macgeorge was a ball magnet with plenty all the loose ball gets. Pretty sure he has played his last game there and will be the coach of Hampton and will be appointed within the next two weeks. Just call me Caro!

Guru Joffa
11 Sep 2006, 22:43
Hey Josh, can you really confirm that Tony Macgeorge is heading to Hampton?

What makes you 'pretty sure' he has played his last game there?

Might be calling you something other than Caro if your two week prediction doesn't come to fruition!!

OldMav
11 Sep 2006, 22:43
Brett Collins off the wing kicking 4 goals is a good sign. With Tyquin back? where would Collins be playing and would he be just as dangerous?

-mav

Quietly Confident
12 Sep 2006, 00:21
Supurb effort by Rupo. They are an up and coming side. Have two unders teams (one finished 4th or 5th in division 1) and plenty of depth in the seniors. Very young side. Very quick. I think the two D1 sides will measure up pretty well in C next year (as Ormond and Reds did this year)
Dg, cannot agree. Watched Rupo on the weekend and while they accounted for Old Geelong I was astounded by how ordinary both sides were. Rupo had some runners but were light and small and will get a shock in C Grade next year, but hey they can recruit , I suggest they get cracking.

GetSmart
12 Sep 2006, 09:02
Brett Collins off the wing kicking 4 goals is a good sign. With Tyquin back? where would Collins be playing and would he be just as dangerous?

-mavProbably start Collo on the pine if Tyquin plays. From what I heard Saturday unlikely that Tyquin will play.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 09:33
Final betting market for the year on the Grand Finals.

Seniors

Ajax $1.30 fav. vs SBMTAFC $1.80 - first time for a long time that the Tigers have not been the favourite going into a match. Ajax with their second semi final win the bookies choice and will be carrying the weight of plenty. I guess plenty of punters could argue that the Tigers have lost only one game for the year by a single straight kick and still had more scoring shots and perhaps the pressure of the Grand Final in front of big crowd might see the Jacka's not kicking as accurately. Did the Jackas show all their cards on 2nd Semi Final Day and the Tigers can now implement a few plans of their own? Let's hear what the punters think!

Reserves

SBMTAFC $1.30 fav. vs Old Camberwell $2.30
Two very different types of teams play off here. The Tigers are young and run like the proverbial rabbits. OC's are bigger body types who would enjoy the wetter conditions one would supect. Forecast is fine and dry at Sandy for Saturday and the Tigers will relish the same conditions that they kicked a huge score against Ormond in the 2nd Semi Final. OC's are the only team to win over the Tigers Reserves team on a wet day at Gordon Barnard.

RCT

Monkeyboy
12 Sep 2006, 09:40
RCT,

You are kidding. Firstly, when you have a favourite at $1.30, the other team is at $2.50 at least! You are ripping the punters off!!!!!:)

But more importantly, Tigers are the favourites. Not sure why anyone would suggest otherwise. AJAX were fantastic in the 2nd Semi, and Tigers were well below their best.

35 point win to the tigers.

If i can get $2.50....put me down for $200 large

Three Malugas
12 Sep 2006, 09:51
Jackers must start favourites and rightly so against the Tigers. Lost early in the season with half a team. Were unlucky not to win at Elsternwick mid season and really dished it up to the Tigers in the Semi. Agree with RCT.

DG-Man
12 Sep 2006, 09:51
Dg, cannot agree. Watched Rupo on the weekend and while they accounted for Old Geelong I was astounded by how ordinary both sides were. Rupo had some runners but were light and small and will get a shock in C Grade next year, but hey they can recruit , I suggest they get cracking.

It was an average game confident one. Finals are sometimes like that. Particularly when the reward at the end of the day is promotion and how you get their really doesn't matter. As you would have seen, the conditions were cold and windy and this never helps teams. Also playing on the ground for the first time, i think both sides were a little lost on how to use the wind to advantage when attacking. Both sides got lost in the deep pockets.
That said, the spectacle was average. However i stand by my call that Rupo will be ok next year. They are a young, skinny and inexperienced side that will develop. Their better players have so much improvement in them. Their recruiting will be done mainly from within. They have a host of good youngsters coming through.
Since 04, they have gone from D3, to D2, to D1 and now to C. I do not expect them to get to B grade in 08, however a young side like this, who has gained promotion every year is certainly used to success. I think they will be mid pack next year, and just hoping that some of thier young kids can develop into very good ammos footballers.
Cheers - DG

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 09:56
Monkeyboy,

A new punter on our books, so I'll need to see/hear of some references from someone...Brooksy has gone to ground and doubt I'll ever see his money. You aren't related are you?

RCT

overtheline
12 Sep 2006, 10:06
Final betting market for the year on the Grand Finals.

Seniors

Ajax $1.30 fav. vs SBMTAFC $1.80 - first time for a long time that the Tigers have not been the favourite going into a match. Ajax with their second semi final win the bookies choice and will be carrying the weight of plenty. I guess plenty of punters could argue that the Tigers have lost only one game for the year by a single straight kick and still had more scoring shots and perhaps the pressure of the Grand Final in front of big crowd might see the Jacka's not kicking as accurately. Did the Jackas show all their cards on 2nd Semi Final Day and the Tigers can now implement a few plans of their own? Let's hear what the punters think!

Reserves

SBMTAFC $1.30 fav. vs Old Camberwell $2.30
Two very different types of teams play off here. The Tigers are young and run like the proverbial rabbits. OC's are bigger body types who would enjoy the wetter conditions one would supect. Forecast is fine and dry at Sandy for Saturday and the Tigers will relish the same conditions that they kicked a huge score against Ormond in the 2nd Semi Final. OC's are the only team to win over the Tigers Reserves team on a wet day at Gordon Barnard.

RCT
RCT,
Nice try. You have been trying since 5.00pm Saturday to install Ajax as favourites to deflect pressure form the tigers( and one suspects to put it on them!) If we took a poll of who we all think will win, I think you would find the tigers overwhelming favourites with the "experts" on this thread. No bookmaker in his right mind would have the tigers underdogs.
Tigers by plenty!
Resssies? I note that OC have managed to win two finals in dry conditions.

Brooksy01
12 Sep 2006, 11:15
Haven't heard a whisper from Brooksy since Saturday's belting. Got the old tail well between the legs. Let's hope the peace lasts.:p

Im still alive and going well!!! In one last ditch effort a strong rumour doing the circles is that the legend of the StBedes footy club Matthew McCraw is set to make one more finals appearance! He is a proven finals performer and he has put his hand up to play against the Jackas! Its rumoured that the coach said improve ur fitness and u will be considered it. He needs to improve something cos his poker game is terrible.

I can feel that this brings back memories of the baby bombers premiership of 93 when Timmy Watson made a comeback!

Looks like its in McCraw and out Grovers

Brooksy01
12 Sep 2006, 11:21
Monkeyboy,

A new punter on our books, so I'll need to see/hear of some references from someone...Brooksy has gone to ground and doubt I'll ever see his money. You aren't related are you?

RCT

RCT

Im a true gambler and always pay. Please look at price listing again! Those odds are rediciulous. There is no way you can have a favourite for 1.30 and then another team paying 1.80 in a two horse race. Please go and assess those odds again and get back to us.

Please advise what bets I have laid this year. Im pretty sure you will find I have not laid a bet.

Everyday Spelling
12 Sep 2006, 12:11
Or anything else for that matter Brooksy

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 12:20
To quote the great man Dennis Committee ' You just get the feeling there's a certain closeness between Monkeyboy and Brooksy'....' and what about that Brooksy, not a score on the board all year and he's asking the bookmaker to sharpen his pencil'....

To all those who can't read a form guide....last start winner ' Ajax '...they are favourites no doubt about it.

And to those who point out that the OC's last two wins have been in the dry conditions...ask yourself who did they play and what were the score lines...8 goals isn't going to win the Reserves premiership this week.

RCT

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 12:24
I've also heard Moose McCraw is a chance this week....loves playing the Jacka's and its' known they do not like to see him playing in the middle.

Has been doing extra cross country training 'Ron Clarke' style on the Peninsula Dunes last week to be ready and rearing for this one!

RCT.

Brooksy01
12 Sep 2006, 12:31
I've also heard Moose McCraw is a chance this week....loves playing the Jacka's and its' known they do not like to see him playing in the middle.

Has been doing extra cross country training 'Ron Clarke' style on the Peninsula Dunes last week to be ready and rearing for this one!

RCT.

OUT GROVES IN MOOSEY

Well RCT where is your evidence that I have laid bets???

overtheline
12 Sep 2006, 12:37
To quote the great man Dennis Committee ' You just get the feeling there's a certain closeness between Monkeyboy and Brooksy'....' and what about that Brooksy, not a score on the board all year and he's asking the bookmaker to sharpen his pencil'....

To all those who can't read a form guide....last start winner ' Ajax '...they are favourites no doubt about it.

And to those who point out that the OC's last two wins have been in the dry conditions...ask yourself who did they play and what were the score lines...8 goals isn't going to win the Reserves premiership this week.

RCT

Rct, I am one of "those" who can't read a formguide. Markets are framed on more than the last performance of a team. A pretty simplistic assessment, if you are serious. As I said, we all know you are trying to paint the jackas as favourites, let's take a poll and see if the punters agree with you.
Tigers clear cut favourites, no doubt.

Bigfootyfan
12 Sep 2006, 12:40
Rct, I am one of "those" who can't read a formguide. Markets are framed on more than the last performance of a team. A pretty simplistic assessment, if you are serious. As I said, we all know you are trying to paint the jackas as favourites, let's take a poll and see if the punters agree with you.
Tigers clear cut favourites, no doubt.

Well im with ROY, Reds to take out this weeks game.

ReD bLuE + GoLd
12 Sep 2006, 12:42
2 x 12=

Are you trying to be funny........u tool

Brooksy01
12 Sep 2006, 12:42
The true team of the year

b the cat brooksy01 bede me up
hb tigers nuts get smart ammo man
c everdayspelling juicy skipper red roy (vice captain)
hf three mulgas rct (captain) guru joffa
f quietly confident over the line phantom strobler
r scroda benny moff the beacon

int ammoandy, josh mcloud, grandstand guru, egor, DG man, cfe, scooty dog, bigwilly, bogfootyfan

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 12:47
Odds for Tyquinor Anstey to win C section B & F into Tigers to win both premierships and Luke Beveridge coach of the year!!!! The certainty of the year

And what this Brooksy....a poem?

RCT

Red Roy
12 Sep 2006, 12:50
Well im with ROY, Reds to take out this weeks game.

Good to see you have finally come across to the side of Good BFF. You are indeed correct, our Under 19's take on Bulleeen Temp in teh Big one this weekend.

Judging from the average age of our reserves 1st semi final team, tehre should be some opportunites for the boys next year !!!!

RCT - for the love of god stop trying so hard to place the jackas as favourites - givent he weather predicted, fine and 22 they will run the tigers ragged again this week, for once I am with you - jackas to win.

The Roy

Brooksy01
12 Sep 2006, 12:53
And what this Brooksy....a poem?

RCT

Where does this say I have laid a bet? That shows I have just asked for odds.

Im eagerly waiting the odds on the best players for Saturday and who will win the medal.

Can you get back to us on that?

Red Roy
12 Sep 2006, 12:54

int ammoandy, josh mcloud, grandstand guru, egor, DG man, cfe, scooty dog, bigwilly, bogfootyfan

Brooksy - a couploe of points with your team. Whilst honored to be named VC I cannot cop being led by RCT. He has followed my lead all year and would not exist if it were not for the great one (roy). I can play on the wing but would look for the odd change with juicy Skipper so i can slide into the guts and do some damage.

Another point as to why I should be skipper. Red roy is the only poster to make it into Scribes weekly musings in the footballer. Surely I should lead this team over RCT !

Where is local boy??? Didn't make your side? A bit stiff, you could have named him al lose man in defence like he did for himself all year!

Please amend accordingly

The Roy

Guru Joffa
12 Sep 2006, 13:01

An absolute honour to make the Team of the Year!!

I have no doubt that RCT and Red Roy will lead the team admirably!!

I must say, RCT must be overwhelmed at the thought of lining up at CHF next to the brilliant Guru Joffa!!!!! :thumbsu:

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 13:04
I'm honoured to be named as Captain and believe it a just reward for helping an old man like Red Roy thru the C Section year. Not sure how he will cope without me next year as he sits in Caesearian section again in 2007.
Not sure if Brooksy can pick himself full back and if he did play there he could not take any kick ins as they might not make it out of the square!
Perhaps Local Boy or a cameo from Georgie Boy Smythe for this task!

RCT

Red Roy
12 Sep 2006, 13:05
Scribe:

as the true leader of the C Section thread I have been asked by my fellow posters if you could please offer a sneak preview of your C Section Team of the year before it hits the Record this weekend.

Given that some clubs will have copies on Thursday night I would hope that you give the loyal follwoers of this grade a first look on Wednesday Evening or thursday morn

thankyou

The Roy

ps - will you be seeing you first C Section game for the year this Weekend??!!!

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 13:17
Where does this say I have laid a bet? That shows I have just asked for odds.

Im eagerly waiting the odds on the best players for Saturday and who will win the medal.

Can you get back to us on that?

Brooksy....I was chatting to me old playing days opponent now bookie, Simon Beasley on Sunday and he was telling me story about this little annoying fella who wore his cap on backwards at the Australian Cup meeting at Flemington last year. Beasley said he kept coming up to him on the stand wanting to bet $1 each way on Candy Vale but only if he gave him odds of 10/1...Simon got sick him and eventually said ' I'll give you 12/1 straight out the win only'...the little fella with the cap on said ' hang on I'll be back in a minute after I get $2.00 off my dad'.....but he never returned.

Tell ya what Brooksy...why don't you give us the market for the Best on Ground Medallist.

RCT

Scribe
12 Sep 2006, 14:10
Scribe:

as the true leader of the C Section thread I have been asked by my fellow posters if you could please offer a sneak preview of your C Section Team of the year before it hits the Record this weekend.

Given that some clubs will have copies on Thursday night I would hope that you give the loyal follwoers of this grade a first look on Wednesday Evening or thursday morn

thankyou

The Roy

ps - will you be seeing you first C Section game for the year this Weekend??!!!

Roy,

It won't be the first C section match I've seen this year. I went to the AJAX - Reds game in rd 2 and caught a couple during the A/B bye weekend.

Last weekend was looking good until I was reminded about how little time I'd spent at home in the previous 20 weeks. Anyhow, with an AJAX invite for brunch on Saturday, there's a very good chance of me catching my fourth game of the season.

As requested, the C section TOTY is as follows (with apologies to about 38 blokes who were probably stiff to miss out)

B: Israelshon (AJAX) Zakic (STBMT) Cahill (Fitzroy Reds)

HB: Smyth (Mon) M. Wintle (STBMT) Sleep (NOBSPC)

C: Tyquin (STBMT) Anstey (STBMT) Lewski (AJAX)

HF: Curran (OP) Macgeorge (Parkdale) Miller (Orm)

F: Craven (Mon) Loats (OC) P. Sullivan (Parkdale)

R: Browne (HR) Keleher (Orm) Rittermann (AJAX)

I/C: Chisholm (Orm), Sutton (AJAX), Christie (OC), Davis (Fitzroy Reds)

Coach: Tim O’Shaugnessy (AJAX)

Oh and I've tipped AJAX by 16 points in the big one. Gutsy - I know. Best of luck to all involved in both games, it's been a ripping season and deserve a ripping finish.:thumbsu:

Cheers

Frase

Brooksy01
12 Sep 2006, 14:11
I have Matthew McCraw as a 2.50 favourite Ritterman medallist, should’ve won a few years ago against whitefriars in a losing side. Looking to make amends this time.
Very hungry for a spot this week. He is a proven finals player! The coach of the tigers will use moose as their trump card. He has beaten Lewski in all meetings over the past couple of year
Smart play by the tigers

Phantom Strobler
12 Sep 2006, 14:13

I thank you Brooksey.....the Strobler

Everyday Spelling
12 Sep 2006, 14:21
Surely your kidding. M.Wintle is clearly a typo. L.Wintle you would suspect at CHB.

Chisholm...please played 10 games.
Sutton....please played even less games.

Bronks
12 Sep 2006, 14:47
Roy,

As requested, the C section TOTY is as follows (with apologies to about 38 blokes who were probably stiff to miss out)

B: Israelshon (AJAX) Zakic (STBMT) Cahill (Fitzroy Reds)

HB: Smyth (Mon) M. Wintle (STBMT) Sleep (NOBSPC)

C: Tyquin (STBMT) Anstey (STBMT) Lewski (AJAX)

HF: Curran (OP) Macgeorge (Parkdale) Miller (Orm)

F: Craven (Mon) Loats (OC) P. Sullivan (Parkdale)

R: Browne (HR) Keleher (Orm) Rittermann (AJAX)

I/C: Chisholm (Orm), Sutton (AJAX), Christie (OC), Davis (Fitzroy Reds)

Coach: Tim O’Shaugnessy (AJAX)

Oh and I've tipped AJAX by 16 points in the big one. Gutsy - I know. Best of luck to all involved in both games, it's been a ripping season and deserve a ripping finish.:thumbsu:

Cheers

Frase

Obviously Not much thought into the selections.

How you can have Macgeorge in the team at all let alone at CHF is beyond me and I think a few writers previously spoke of Barker from NOB's who I think ended up kicking over 60 goals for the year which was many more than Craven from Monash kicked (how many more??? can someone answer?). He has to be included.
Browne not best Ruckman either, Ruckman form Monash had a much more consistant year.

The Tiger's Nuts
12 Sep 2006, 14:59

Thank you Brooksy, it is indeed an honour and privilege to hold a position in the team. Some may question my inclusion as a latecomer with very little C grade match time this year, I see it as recognition of what talent I do have, and unstinting hard work at the training track and in the magoos.

Tigernuts

Phantom Strobler
12 Sep 2006, 15:09
Congratulations to the quick running tigers outfit and lots of praise for the Parky boys. To a man they all attended afterwards for a drink and a chat. Good to see good sportsmanship and blokes enjoying one anothers company.
Well done to the Parkdale crew finishing no3, it showed a lot of spirit.

Thats what its all about Lokan you goose. Good show Parkyboys

overtheline
12 Sep 2006, 15:15
Obviously Not much thought into the selections.

How you can have Macgeorge in the team at all let alone at CHF is beyond me and I think a few writers previously spoke of Barker from NOB's who I think ended up kicking over 60 goals for the year which was many more than Craven from Monash kicked (how many more??? can someone answer?). He has to be included.
Browne not best Ruckman either, Ruckman form Monash had a much more consistant year.

Tend to agree. Meyer clearly best runckman for mine, with Crilley not far behind. Agree with Macgeorge comment and wouldn't have curren in. Smacks of giving every team a go type scenario.

If he is going to have the likes of Sutton etc who played half seasons, then lets include Boundy