View Full Version : C Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18

Bede me up
12 Sep 2006, 15:30
To quote the great man Dennis Committee ' You just get the feeling there's a certain closeness between Monkeyboy and Brooksy'....' and what about that Brooksy, not a score on the board all year and he's asking the bookmaker to sharpen his pencil'....

To all those who can't read a form guide....last start winner ' Ajax '...they are favourites no doubt about it.

And to those who point out that the OC's last two wins have been in the dry conditions...ask yourself who did they play and what were the score lines...8 goals isn't going to win the Reserves premiership this week.

RCT

Tigers clearly the favourites in both games.

Yes, Ajax was a last start winner, but did enjoy a favourable rails run (i.e - accurate kicking).

Richard, will the Tigers (Snrs) keep the 3 fleet footed reserves players who played against Parky on Saturday?

Whilst we're looking at scorelines in the 2's, I did note that the Tigers conceded 15 goals to Ormond 2 weeks ago, whilst OC conceded just 5.

Cheers,

Bede (back pocket of the year)

scroda
12 Sep 2006, 15:41
I have Matthew McCraw as a 2.50 favourite Ritterman medallist, should’ve won a few years ago against whitefriars in a losing side.

It would be nice if Ritterman could take home the Ritterman medal!

BTW Brooksy, you've obviously never seen me. Scroda is more Peter Bell than Aaron Sandilands and hence may struggle to hold down ruck in team of the year

Mobbenfuhrer
12 Sep 2006, 15:48
crap team, brooksy, crap team :thumbsd: *sulk*

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 15:56
BMU,

Won't know the answer to your ' team selection ' question until Thursday night but even then I can't make that one public! All three perfomed very well on Saturday and didn't do their cause any harm...

I reckon the OC's benefited from the fact that Ormond Reserves had copped the Tigers two weeks running and I noticed that one of the best players 'Barnes' from those two matches was missing at Central Reserve Saturday - gone overseas was mentioned...

Scribe...instead of brunching it on Saturday a responsible C Section Scribe would be watching firstly the Reserves game and taking notes for your column and then be out amongst the public getting a feel for the day, the crowd and the match...time for you to loosen that tie and get amongst the C Section throng...you have been very easily led!

RCT

Red Roy
12 Sep 2006, 16:03
Roy,

It won't be the first C section match I've seen this year. I went to the AJAX - Reds game in rd 2 and caught a couple during the A/B bye weekend.

Last weekend was looking good until I was reminded about how little time I'd spent at home in the previous 20 weeks. Anyhow, with an AJAX invite for brunch on Saturday, there's a very good chance of me catching my fourth game of the season.

As requested, the C section TOTY is as follows (with apologies to about 38 blokes who were probably stiff to miss out)

B: Israelshon (AJAX) Zakic (STBMT) Cahill (Fitzroy Reds)

HB: Smyth (Mon) M. Wintle (STBMT) Sleep (NOBSPC)

C: Tyquin (STBMT) Anstey (STBMT) Lewski (AJAX)

HF: Curran (OP) Macgeorge (Parkdale) Miller (Orm)

F: Craven (Mon) Loats (OC) P. Sullivan (Parkdale)

R: Browne (HR) Keleher (Orm) Rittermann (AJAX)

I/C: Chisholm (Orm), Sutton (AJAX), Christie (OC), Davis (Fitzroy Reds)

Coach: Tim O’Shaugnessy (AJAX)

Oh and I've tipped AJAX by 16 points in the big one. Gutsy - I know. Best of luck to all involved in both games, it's been a ripping season and deserve a ripping finish.:thumbsu:

Cheers

Frase

Frase,

thanks for the team. no matter who you pick it will always be contraversial.

Apologies for the little dig about not getting to matches.

I know you still run around for Trinity and i believe you are the Secretary there as well. It is a big effort to then also write the C Section report each week, well done. (Me thinks there may be spot on the ammo executive one day for Frase) Not to mention lining up beside tommy Brain and that other fella for the love of the game segment!!

Roy particuarly liked the Tour De France edition and of course who could forget the day that the Great Red Roy made it into your column, a highlight for us all.

In all seriousness a job well done Frase my man, you should be honoured to have the official Red roy seal of approval.

that is all

The Red Roy

GetSmart
12 Sep 2006, 16:09
Scribe, Disappointed that you did not respond to the SBMT invite to lunch with us at the Grand Hyatt and the chopper ride to Trevor Barker for game time. Also Scribe. Seen two games for the year and you pick a team of the year. give us a break. Macca at CHF is an embarrassing selection! His best would be HBF. Also M Wintle polled high in B&F and should have been a certain selection as ruck rover.

Everyday Spelling
12 Sep 2006, 16:22
M Wintle looks more like john butler and plays like him too

bigwilly
12 Sep 2006, 16:23
Scribe

Team of the Year certainly came from left field. If you needed a little help there was a few teams on here that came closer to the mark.

bigwilly
12 Sep 2006, 16:28
[
Another point as to why I should be skipper. Red roy is the only poster to make it into Scribes weekly musings in the footballer. Surely I should lead this team over RCT !

The Roy[/quote]

Did see the great Guru Joffa get a little spot in to Scribes column. A 3am post about Paul Sullivan getting injured in the last game of the year caused a few chuckles down at Gerry Green

bigwilly
12 Sep 2006, 16:33
The true team of the year

b the cat brooksy01 bede me up
hb tigers nuts get smart ammo man
c everdayspelling juicy skipper red roy (vice captain)
hf three mulgas rct (captain) guru joffa
f quietly confident over the line phantom strobler
r scroda benny moff the beacon

int ammoandy, josh mcloud, grandstand guru, egor, DG man, cfe, scooty dog, bigwilly, bogfootyfan

Proud to have made it. But would have had Guru Joffa as boot studder. Best years are behind him but can still make a contribution.

Red Roy
12 Sep 2006, 16:41
[
Another point as to why I should be skipper. Red roy is the only poster to make it into Scribes weekly musings in the footballer. Surely I should lead this team over RCT !

The Roy

Did see the great Guru Joffa get a little spot in to Scribes column. A 3am post about Paul Sullivan getting injured in the last game of the year caused a few chuckles down at Gerry Green[/quote]

I did notice this obvious subterfuge from Guru and Scribe appeared to fall for it,. however, Roy was mentioned by name which is a subtle yet significant difference

The Roy

ps - Scribe - Local Boy hasn't played a game at CHF all year !!

Guru Joffa
12 Sep 2006, 16:45
Hey Bigwilly,

Bootstudder, pleeeeaaaasseee!! Settle down will ya.

I've had a very consistant season and brought to this forum a fair bit of jocularity, frivolity and friendly banter. Half Forward Flank is where I belong and have no doubt I would slam home a lazy 7 or 8 with RCT and Red Roy feeding me all day. Now I'm not saying I'm a "Craig Bradley" type and can assure you I can get a hard ball if required!!

Personally, I think you are extremely lucky to have snuck in on the Interchange bench. I think there were several unlucky posters to have not made this 'star-studded' lineup and I think you should consider yourself very lucky!!

Anyway, I'm off to training to get ready for the big Forum Footy Game. Who are we playing against...

:thumbsu:

Richard Clay Torpedoes
12 Sep 2006, 16:49
Possible matches against either of :

Richmond Centrals or the Collingwood Cheer Squad....

Guru Joffa
12 Sep 2006, 16:51
Happy to sit in the background Red Roy and go about my business quietly. I don't need my Name Up In Lights all the time!! :thumbsu:

Brooksy01
12 Sep 2006, 16:55
Hey Bigwilly,

Bootstudder, pleeeeaaaasseee!! Settle down will ya.

I've had a very consistant season and brought to this forum a fair bit of jocularity, frivolity and friendly banter. Half Forward Flank is where I belong and have no doubt I would slam home a lazy 7 or 8 with RCT and Red Roy feeding me all day. Now I'm not saying I'm a "Craig Bradley" type and can assure you I can get a hard ball if required!!

Personally, I think you are extremely lucky to have snuck in on the Interchange bench. I think there were several unlucky posters to have not made this 'star-studded' lineup and I think you should consider yourself very lucky!!

Anyway, I'm off to training to get ready for the big Forum Footy Game. Who are we playing against...

Much to the disgust of fellow teams members Local Boy could not get a game, He took upon himself to be coach of this star side (apart from RCT who is no star) from all reports is a born battler! It was Local Boy who wanted RCT captain b/c in this case he might shut up for once

ReD bLuE + GoLd
12 Sep 2006, 17:24
M Wintle looks more like john butler and plays like him too

pretty ordinairy m8, i think only one of the guys, who polled higher then him either in the leage b&f can hav a go at him (his own teamm8 being at no.3). he'll hav a good time in B section u hak

Everyday Spelling
12 Sep 2006, 17:42
settle petal. we'll be up to challenge you clowns in 2008 where M.Wintle will be gobbled.

ES

Guru Joffa
12 Sep 2006, 17:51
NEWSFLASH:

Local Boy will be meeting the St.KFC Board of Directors tomorrow re the coaching position!!

bigwilly
12 Sep 2006, 18:14
Just imagine what he could achieve with all the talent at St. Kilda after what he has achieved with the bunch of hacks at Parky.

Guru Joffa
12 Sep 2006, 18:16
Fair go Bigwilly, there not all hacks down at Gerry Green. That big red headed fella that wears No.1. goes ok.

Scribe
12 Sep 2006, 18:51
Frase,

thanks for the team. no matter who you pick it will always be contraversial.

Apologies for the little dig about not getting to matches.

I know you still run around for Trinity and i believe you are the Secretary there as well. It is a big effort to then also write the C Section report each week, well done. (Me thinks there may be spot on the ammo executive one day for Frase) Not to mention lining up beside tommy Brain and that other fella for the love of the game segment!!

Roy particuarly liked the Tour De France edition and of course who could forget the day that the Great Red Roy made it into your column, a highlight for us all.

In all seriousness a job well done Frase my man, you should be honoured to have the official Red roy seal of approval.

that is all

The Red Roy

Thanks Roy.

To all who have pointed out the shortcomings, I accept that the side has been selected on the basis of the information I have received over the past 20 weeks. Roy's right, I do have a few irons in the fire, but writing the C section column has been a lot of fun, and I hope I've been at least as entertaining and informative as the other columnists.

I think C section has been awesome this year, and was very grateful for the regular reports I received from St Bedes MT, AJAX, OC, and the irregular musings of the Reds and Monash coaches. I picked up Rovers and Ormond info off their websites, but couldn't usually get anything about Parkdale, Parade and NOBSPC before the AF deadline.

As for the TOTY - you guys are correct, I started with my half team of the year and slotted in some guys who have shone in the second half (particularly Sutton who has really given AJAX a massive lift). Perhaps Boundy should be CHF as Macca played mainly out of the square, likewise Chisholm is a bold pick but I believe the children are our future (a la Whitney Houston).

In any event, if it gets you guys talking and people reading, then it can't be all that bad. I'm looking forward to writing with more accuracy next season and with Steve Maus at Fitzroy, I already have a good mate to help me out there. Not sure how seriously I'm going to take my own footy in 2007, which may mean greater scope for attending your games and getting amongst the C section faithful.

In conclusion, and given there's only one match left - thanks for making this forum as enjoyable to read and post as it has been. There has been a genuine sense of good fun and certainly a source of some useful (and not so useful) info!!! Thanks for the red herring Guru Joffa.

Guru Joffa
12 Sep 2006, 18:56
Thanks for the red herring Guru Joffa.

Cheers Scribe, I am to please!!!!! :thumbsu:

hotdigitydog
12 Sep 2006, 21:12
Massive news brewing at Brindisi St. Anstey did not train, due to apparently gaining a slight hamstring strain on saturday and is truthfully in serious doubt. Tyquin as well looking an unlikely starter but was never really going to get up anyway.

This could make the difference on the weekend

bigwilly
12 Sep 2006, 21:18
He didn't play much after half time last week, and that was what Parky had heard from the game.

ReD bLuE + GoLd
12 Sep 2006, 21:59
settle petal. we'll be up to challenge you clowns in 2008 where M.Wintle will be gobbled.

ES

he might but not by u, by the otha 21 blokes on ur side, ur the biggest passenger goin round in vafa

ReD bLuE + GoLd
12 Sep 2006, 22:00
Massive news brewing at Brindisi St. Anstey did not train, due to apparently gaining a slight hamstring strain on saturday and is truthfully in serious doubt. Tyquin as well looking an unlikely starter but was never really going to get up anyway.

tyquin trained strongly and anstey took the nite off, both are as fit as anything 2 play on saturday, u may queiry ur info source

dal_santo_no.1
12 Sep 2006, 23:15
I have Matthew McCraw as a 2.50 favourite Ritterman medallist, should’ve won a few years ago against whitefriars in a losing side. Looking to make amends this time.
Very hungry for a spot this week. He is a proven finals player! The coach of the tigers will use moose as their trump card. He has beaten Lewski in all meetings over the past couple of year
Smart play by the tigers

mccraw trained strongly for the tigers tonight and is very close to being selected with the injury to a few key players

Richard Clay Torpedoes
13 Sep 2006, 08:47

HDD,

Not sure where/who you source of info is but it's time to change it...anyone who actually went to Brindisi street last night would have seen first person out and running on the training track - S.Anstey

He then joined the entire senior squad at an indoor venue not far away for an alternate training night as did Tyquin who is also a definite starter and there will also be other surprise available players who some may have thought finished for the season!!!!!!

There's a certain feeling at Tigerland that you just can't describe...

RCT

uglydermie
13 Sep 2006, 08:56
Richard Clay
Is McCraw likely to play? I have played against him a number a times (not since about '02 thou). Always found him to be a great player and a bit of a "heart and soul" type of club man. What do you think?

Cheers Ugly

Richard Clay Torpedoes
13 Sep 2006, 09:15
Ugly,

Yes I remember some great battles between the two of you in the past. Been watching the D Section thread all year and your results...couldn't believe the last round outcome...footy can be cruel sometimes.
Our opposition this week don't like the No.54 for his hard at the footy approach and they are one of those teams he loves to play so you just never know.

I remember watching your goodself and the BT's against the Jacka's in the GF at Sandy a few years ago...I'm sure a Tigers win on Saturday will bring a touch a happiness for you!

Cheers

RCT

Mobbenfuhrer
13 Sep 2006, 09:52
If I don't get a place in the Broosky1 team of the year I'm going to lock the thread! :mad:

Richard Clay Torpedoes
13 Sep 2006, 10:03
Mobbe,

I think you would have to be the pre match motivational speaker for the C Section Big Footy team....with your obvious love of all things written I reckon you would produce a speech somewhere between a classic Teddy Whitten address and an Edgar Alan Poe reading...imagine that

Confusing but precise, enraged but calm.....

Guru Joffa
13 Sep 2006, 10:04
If I don't get a place in the Broosky1 team of the year I'm going to lock the thread! :mad:

Mobbe, you can take Big Willy's spot on the 'extended' interchange bench as he doesn't deserve a spot! Sorry, but the half forward flank position is 'out of bounds' due to it going to a superstar!!!!!:thumbsu:

Guru Joffa
13 Sep 2006, 10:12
Mobbe,

I think you would have to be the pre match motivational speaker for the C Section Big Footy team....with your obvious love of all things written I reckon you would produce a speech somewhere between a classic Teddy Whitten address and an Edgar Alan Poe reading...imagine that

Mobbe, have a go at this...

It’s got to be a do-or-die effort. It’s got to be a determined effort. You’ve got to show me all the guts and determination you’ve got in your body. You’ve got to inspire me with this last-quarter finish. You’ve been in front all day and you’ve got to stay there... :thumbsu:

If that doesn't inspire us, then I'm not sure what would...

Everyday Spelling
you would imagine that brooksy will come in as the designated tagger due to his tagging ability. most likely will tag the big slow ugly player.

THE BEACON
Fair go Bigwilly, there not all hacks down at Gerry Green. That big red headed fella that wears No.1. goes ok.

Parkdale's always had a team of hacks since I've had dealings with them since the 70's

Guru Joffa
13 Sep 2006, 10:16
Can't be too bad a team of hacks if they finished 3rd!!

Everyday Spelling
13 Sep 2006, 10:20

Their website says it all. 2nd bottom after 7 they certainly worked hard and full credit to them.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
13 Sep 2006, 10:29
you would imagine that brooksy will come in as the designated tagger due to his tagging ability. most likely will tag the big slow ugly player.

Word in footy circles was Brooksy's last tagging job was on an unsuspecting female Irish backpacker:eek: at a St.Kilda pub...and she got the better of him and shook the tag...reckon Brooksy's position at full back is looking very shaky...

RCT

THE BEACON
13 Sep 2006, 11:10

Its Parkdale there always hacks!!

Guru Joffa
13 Sep 2006, 11:20

Quality post Beacon, not!!:thumbsd:

Comments like that make your selction in brooksy's 'Team of the Year' hard to fathom!!

Would you care to fill the readers in on why you think Parkdale are hacks or are you just happy talking shizenhausen??

greentree
13 Sep 2006, 12:13

The Parkdale you dealt with is long gone, its a merged club with most of the ex Parkdale players leaving.
Theres only one player you could point the finger at ,and thats Hacksaw and he plays Supers. ( get it HACKsaw)

Ps made the half way team and got dropped for the end of year action
Oh well story of my life.

Everyday Spelling
13 Sep 2006, 13:11
RCT

You sound like you have alot of time on your hands so i reckon you should make up a best on ground market for this weekend. Twos one too.

The oc boys have a inclusion of a senior player this week who has managed to qualify and has been injured. Could at least give us a shot against you blokes.

THE BEACON
13 Sep 2006, 13:22
Quality post Beacon, not!!:thumbsd:

Comments like that make your selction in brooksy's 'Team of the Year' hard to fathom!!

Would you care to fill the readers in on why you think Parkdale are hacks or are you just happy talking shizenhausen??

Still trying to work out how I made it!!

chicken machine
13 Sep 2006, 13:47
their twos team proves it they are all a bunch of sniping hacks.
On a lighter note get on board the 1's and twos for st bedes id put me house on it if i owned one, sorry ajax boys dont rate you at all in the seniors after the nobs smashed you!
I'm also tipping that the twos granny will be the better of the two games to watch as it will be a battle of the road runners v's hulks what does everyone else think?

Mobbenfuhrer
13 Sep 2006, 13:53
Mobbe,

Ok I feel somewhat appeased, tantrum subsiding ...

So between RCT and Joffa's urging, I think I'll take up that mantle thus conferred.

I'm not sure whether there is a need to talk yers up that much, because in one case out of a hundred a point is excessively discussed because it is obscure; in the ninety-nine remaining it is obscure because it is excessively discussed. The true genius shudders at incompleteness - and usually prefers silence to saying something which is not everything it should be.

Nevertheless, in criticism I will be bold, and as sternly, absolutely just with friend and foe. From this purpose nothing shall turn me. To be thoroughly conversant with a man's heart, is to take our final lesson in the iron-clasped volume of despair. The nose of a mob is its imagination. By this, at any time, it can be quietly led. But a gentleman with a pug nose is a contradiction in terms.

There is something in the unselfish and self-sacrificing love of a brute, which goes directly to the heart of him who has had frequent occasion to test the paltry friendship and gossamer fidelity of mere Man. To vilify a great man is the readiest way in which a little man can himself attain greatness.

I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it. That man is not truly brave who is afraid either to seem or to be, when it suits him, a coward.

The main thing is that, at the final siren, we will have loved with a love that was more than love.

Scribe
13 Sep 2006, 14:37
Ok I feel somewhat appeased, tantrum subsiding ...

So between RCT and Joffa's urging, I think I'll take up that mantle thus conferred.

I'm not sure whether there is a need to talk yers up that much, because in one case out of a hundred a point is excessively discussed because it is obscure; in the ninety-nine remaining it is obscure because it is excessively discussed. The true genius shudders at incompleteness - and usually prefers silence to saying something which is not everything it should be.

Nevertheless, in criticism I will be bold, and as sternly, absolutely just with friend and foe. From this purpose nothing shall turn me. To be thoroughly conversant with a man's heart, is to take our final lesson in the iron-clasped volume of despair. The nose of a mob is its imagination. By this, at any time, it can be quietly led. But a gentleman with a pug nose is a contradiction in terms.

There is something in the unselfish and self-sacrificing love of a brute, which goes directly to the heart of him who has had frequent occasion to test the paltry friendship and gossamer fidelity of mere Man. To vilify a great man is the readiest way in which a little man can himself attain greatness.

I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it. That man is not truly brave who is afraid either to seem or to be, when it suits him, a coward.

The main thing is that, at the final siren, we will have loved with a love that was more than love.

....now get out there and smash those blokes!!!!

:D

ITSMYNAME
13 Sep 2006, 15:40
I have heard from good sources inside the tigers that, the three that came up this week, will be going back down and three seniors players back in, that includes McCraw. So both seniors and reserves sides are full strength and will take a massive effort from ajax and camberwell. I'm excited for the weekend, make it go faster!

Bluesnews43
13 Sep 2006, 15:48
The sun's out, the grounds ready... all we need is for 2pm saturday to be upon us.

A replay from the first week of finals promises to be an all time epic bout.

St bedes and ajax are both primed to go.

Went down to sandy to inspect the ground earlier today and its in magnificent shape.

2 great teams, however there can only be 1 winner.

my tip is ajax by 4 points, with best on ground honours going to the giant
j.raleigh in the ruck.

A special hello to the hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh-man

Ammoandy
13 Sep 2006, 16:26
Checking out the Tigers website suggests three pieces of silverware already in the trophy cabinet (U13/ U15 / U17 )with another three to be decided this weekend. Al goes well for this mob with this sort of depth!!!
Confucious say....2006 could very well could be the year of the tiger.
I have seen them play a couple of times this year my money is on the CHB of the year to play a stand out captains game and take out the medal.
AA

Brooksy01
13 Sep 2006, 16:36
Checking out the Tigers website suggests three pieces of silverware already in the trophy cabinet (U13/ U15 / U17 )with another three to be decided this weekend. Al goes well for this mob with this sort of depth!!!
Confucious say....2006 could very well could be the year of the tiger.
I have seen them play a couple of times this year my money is on the CHB of the year to play a stand out captains game and take out the medal.
AA

I like to put my money on Hilton, very classy player and has a touch of class this kid. Kicks goals when the team needs them and can run all day!

Richard Clay Torpedoes
13 Sep 2006, 16:55
Went down to sandy to inspect the ground earlier today and its in magnificent shape.

BluesNews43....sounds like the Jackers are reaching stages of paranoia....what did you think the ground would be like...it was perfect two weeks ago...worried the Tigers might have sabotaged it!!

RCT

Three Malugas
13 Sep 2006, 17:31
Saturday can't come quick enough with all the crap that is being posted at the moment. We need to answer real questions! What about crowd estimates for Saturday? Is the lunch sold out or can Tiger supporters and others book a ticket? What are they serving for lunch? Is the St Bede's president and guest invited to the Ajax lunch, after all they are the home side. Which rooms will the Jackers choose? Have they booked the grand stand as well? Is Scribe their guest speaker? Was Scribe selection for the match influenced by his invitation to the lunch? Has Scribe been compromised? Who will be BOG for Ajax / St Bedes?

scroda
13 Sep 2006, 18:38
Saturday can't come quick enough with all the crap that is being posted at the moment. We need to answer real questions!

1. What about crowd estimates for Saturday?
2. Is the lunch sold out or can Tiger supporters and others book a ticket?
3. What are they serving for lunch?
4. Is the St Bede's president and guest invited to the Ajax lunch, after all they are the home side.
5. Which rooms will the Jackers choose?
6. Have they booked the grand stand as well?
7. Is Scribe their guest speaker?
8. Was Scribe selection for the match influenced by his invitation to the lunch?
9. Has Scribe been compromised?
10. Who will be BOG for Ajax / St Bedes?

In order:
1. 4236 (that would rank as the highest crowd of the round in the NRL)
2. sold out i believe
3. geflite fish and chopped liver for all
4. no idea. may be the closest they get to success all day
5. same lucky rooms as last time
6. no need - fans stick close to the fence so they can be heard
7. i think grant thomas is coming down to see what it's like to make the GF
8. lets hope so
9. i think he was found in a compromising position - does that count?
10. ajax: sutton. st bedes: their physio

The_Cat
13 Sep 2006, 18:43
Perhaps he could sing us a song with all those Lyrics he's been chasing down.

bigwilly
13 Sep 2006, 19:34
Questions

1. What about crowd estimates for Saturday?
2. Is the lunch sold out or can Tiger supporters and others book a ticket?
3. What are they serving for lunch?
4. Is the St Bede's president and guest invited to the Ajax lunch, after all they are the home side.
5. Which rooms will the Jackers choose?
6. Have they booked the grand stand as well?
7. Is Scribe their guest speaker?
8. Was Scribe selection for the match influenced by his invitation to the lunch?
9. Has Scribe been compromised?
10. Who will be BOG for Ajax / St Bedes?

Answers

1.about 2000 stupid idiotic Ajax fans yelling and screaming stuff that they have no idea about. A couple of Tiger fans enjoying the win quietly, peacefully and humbly.
2.Who would want to go anyway.
3.Hopefully some humble pie.
4.I notice the word guest was used cause we all know he runs short of friends.
5.The ones with the easiest access out so that they do not have to be seen socialising with regular people.
6.Not only booked it. Renamed it Julian
7.Apparantly came down with unfortunate case of laryngitis.
8.Probably cause he hasn't watched a whole lot of C Grade
9.What position was it Scroda. Do you have the video?
10.The Mouse

richoooo
13 Sep 2006, 23:08
Parkdale's always had a team of hacks since I've had dealings with them since the 70's

The so called hacks at Parkdale won premierships since the 70's. They defeated Noble Park in the mid 1990's when Noble were paying well over $120,000 a year in player salaries. It was a time when the best SFL teams would be competative against A grade ammos and would annihilate any C grade team.

Josh Mcloud
13 Sep 2006, 23:11
Josh Mcloud will be at Sandy on sat.
No 12 playing?? I hope so
ill have a gorilla on Ajax as STBMT are effectively going in with only 21 players as 12 will be injured and off by 1/4 time with the pressure just to much for the boy. would fit in well down at Ajax though might add with the front runners

ScottyDog
13 Sep 2006, 23:21
[quote=richoooo]The so called hacks at Parkdale won premierships since the 70's. They defeated Noble Park in the mid 1990's when Noble were paying well over $120,000 a year in player salaries. It was a time when the best SFL teams would be competative against A grade ammos and would annihilate any C grade team.[/quote

Richoo, Agree with you that Parkdale SFL has a proud history. Anyone who says differently simply doesn't know any better. Disagree though that SFL teams in the 90's would be anywhere near A Section. Teams were good, but not that good!

ITSMYNAME
14 Sep 2006, 00:38
Unfortunately i sort of agree with richoo. SFL team balwyn in the 90's would kill A grade ammos easily, they had some good ex afl players around 10 at one stage, they were cashed up and wouldnt hide how much they paid players and were worth it too. I promise i will never agree with richoo again!!!

Quietly Confident
14 Sep 2006, 00:54
[quote=Quietly Confident]Well I have checked out all the sides now after 9 rounds so it is time to weigh in.The tigers are stand outs but the only reason the margins are getting smaller is not because of the injuries as everybody has got them, no just what is Bevo thinking why play when you have a stacked deck.He is a first year coach, thats right COACH and this year in C grade their is at least 3 blokes that have won state coaching honours .The Jacka's coach was actually in the box helping Lethal pull off the only Collingwood flag in the last 50 years. These blokes know how to coach, they know how to win Premierships and they know flags are won in September.I doubt very much thay have played their aces yet.If Bevo dares play against any of these blokes in Septemebr he will be putting self before team and risks it all.Now these other blokes aren't blessed with Bevo's list ,but hey must sit and chuckle to themselves everytime his name appears on a team sheet . For all those waiting for the chink in the tiger armour BEVO YOUR IT . I hope common sense prevails because the days of playing coaches are long gone[/quote

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Scribe
14 Sep 2006, 09:00
I have received and accepted the bruncheon invite from Ajax's Peter Kagan. Look forward to watching a cracking game and child minding Tommy Brain at the same time. I would certainly hope a few St Bedes' people have been invited - it would seem the right thing to do.

Jackas should pick the southern Zebra rooms as they're p0rn.

My crowd estimate: 2,563

As for that compromising position - I'm getting physio all week, and the video should be streaming off the VAFA website once my lawyers have given it the OK.

Looking forward to Saturday!

Three Malugas
14 Sep 2006, 09:13
Unfortunately i sort of agree with richoo. SFL team balwyn in the 90's would kill A grade ammos easily, they had some good ex afl players around 10 at one stage, they were cashed up and wouldnt hide how much they paid players and were worth it too. I promise i will never agree with richoo again!!! Saw Balwyn and they were a good side, but not quick. Having seen both thru the 90's have to say that OLd Xav's would have killed them. Also know a few ammo sides played practice games against top Southern Div 1 sides and murdered them. Back to the original point Parkdale have a far superior history / quality of football to that of St Patricks FC.

richoooo
14 Sep 2006, 10:15
It doesn't matter mate, when you are from Mentone Parkdale are always no good & they are the only games that must be won when they play each other.

The Mentone/Chelt rivalry is completely different as there was respect between both clubs & both would enjoy each others company in the post match drink. When you played Parkdale @ Parky it was play & get out of the hole.

They are a club with no morals & plenty of ferals.

I seem to detect a lot of jealousy relating to the amazing facilities and playing surface of Parkdale's home ground. Spacious chagerooms, a gym, and a fantastic social area amount to the ground being, quite simply, the best ground in the Amatuer competition.

It is the reason why the Ammos choose to play finals there. The reason there are no finals played at Brindisi St is because if players played footy all year to achieve the right to play finals at a squalid poo hole then there wouldn't be any incentive to play finals.

Their clientale could go for a good wash also

The SFL has dropped off remarkably since the mid 90s. (Parky beat East Brighton in their SFL premiership in recent times in a practice match.) But there was a time when Parkdale were a SFL force in a very good competition. Mentone on the other hand had to fold and were promptly taken over by St. Bedes.

Everyday Spelling
14 Sep 2006, 10:22
I seem to detect a lot of jealousy relating to the amazing facilities and playing surface of Parkdale's home ground. Spacious chagerooms, a gym, and a fantastic social area amount to the ground being, quite simply, the best ground in the Amatuer competition.

It is the reason why the Ammos choose to play finals there. The reason there are no finals played at Brindisi St is because if players played footy all year to achieve the right to play finals at a squalid poo hole then there wouldn't be any incentive to play finals.

The SFL has dropped off remarkably since the mid 90s. (Parky beat East Brighton in their SFL premiership in recent times in a practice match.) But there was a time when Parkdale were a SFL force in a very good competition. Mentone on the other hand had to fold and were promptly taken over by St. Bedes.

Ah the pidgeon club. Memories from way back. Even a sauna that lasted 3 minutes.

Mentone had to fold and taken over by St. Bedes. As opposed to the Parky / St.Pats relationship.

The hacksaw. A fine community man.

THE BEACON
14 Sep 2006, 11:05

Sooky Sooky La La!!

Bigfootyfan
14 Sep 2006, 11:22
Ah the pidgeon club. Memories from way back. Even a sauna that lasted 3 minutes.

Mentone had to fold and taken over by St. Bedes. As opposed to the Parky / St.Pats relationship.

The hacksaw. A fine community man.

Parky/St Pats relationship!!!! Who are your trying to kid. There are still so many St Bedes and Mentone people around our club. The only Parkdale thing left at your club is photos on the wall, the rest is St Pats after a complete club takeover

Josh Mcloud
14 Sep 2006, 11:23
I might go into the rooms after the tigers lose on saturday and just have a bit of a smile at no 12 to see how he likes it the cat.

NBULTY
14 Sep 2006, 12:12
I might go into the rooms after the tigers lose on saturday and just have a bit of a smile at no 12 to see how he likes it the cat.

It seems that order has been restored, the moons aligned with the planets and everything can go back to normal. SBMT will once again look down at Parkdale with contempt.

Brooksy01
14 Sep 2006, 13:59
Brooksy - a couploe of points with your team. Whilst honored to be named VC I cannot cop being led by RCT. He has followed my lead all year and would not exist if it were not for the great one (roy). I can play on the wing but would look for the odd change with juicy Skipper so i can slide into the guts and do some damage.

Where is local boy??? Didn't make your side? A bit stiff, you could have named him al lose man in defence like he did for himself all year!

Please amend accordingly

The Roy

i think scribe tipped the surly tigers last week
id say thats a mention for surly 23 red roy

Three Malugas
14 Sep 2006, 14:41
The quality fo the thread has deteriorated considerable since the arrival of the Phantom Strobler and The Beacon. Both seem to be carrying a lot of baggage! Beacon hates the Tigers and now he hates Parkdale. Whose next?

Guru Joffa
14 Sep 2006, 14:47
The quality fo the thread has deteriorated considerable since the arrival of the Phantom Strobler and The Beacon. Both seem to be carrying a lot of baggage! Beacon hates the Tigers and now he hates Parkdale. Whose next?

Malugas, as they say in the classics - "You can't put brains on a monument".

Perhaps we should just treat them with the contempt they deserve??!! :thumbsu:

THE BEACON
14 Sep 2006, 15:30

If only you knew the truth!!!

Guru Joffa
14 Sep 2006, 15:33
If only you knew the truth!!!

Feel free to explain the truth then.

GetSmart
14 Sep 2006, 15:36

Richoooo, We tend to agree and disagree. Firstly, Mentone didn't fold nor were we taken over by St Bedes. Says something for the merger that so many from both camps stayed on board to help the Tigers be where they are today. The same as Parkdale did not fold even though the majority of the workers and players were from St Pats. The entity being Parkdale continues on. As for the ground seems a lot of people like it. At last counter 70 players had played Club 18 alone when other clubs struggle to field a reserves. Something must be right to attract people to play at Brindisi Street.

overtheline
14 Sep 2006, 15:46
Rct, I am one of "those" who can't read a formguide. Markets are framed on more than the last performance of a team. A pretty simplistic assessment, if you are serious. As I said, we all know you are trying to paint the jackas as favourites, let's take a poll and see if the punters agree with you.
Tigers clear cut favourites, no doubt.

RCT,

As i said earlier in the week, your attempt to install Ajax as favourites, is plain ridiculous. Have a look at the poll on the vafa website about who will win the flag, SBMT 65 % Ajax 35%, thats the general sentiment , not the short quote you put up about Ajax earlier in the week.

sImpLy f0oTy
14 Sep 2006, 16:10
AJAX will have alot of suporters that will just get blown into Trevor Barker on Saturday, all screaming about stuff that they don't understand....

I think any neutral supporters will want the Tigers to get up over the Jackas

greentree
14 Sep 2006, 16:16
3 M Wrote - Also know a few ammo sides played practice games against top Southern Div 1 sides and murdered them. Back to the original point Parkdale have a far superior history / quality of football to that of St Patricks FC.[/quote]

Not only Ammo clubs, I played for St Pats V Mentone in a practice match in 1990 , thumped a near full strenght Mentone side By ten goals( was mates with a lot of the Mentone blokes, played cricket there so I knew how good their side was,( ask Drew Johnston how his ribs were after the game) we were in C grade Churches league.
St Pats started in 1945, so its not like they were just formed yesterday, but what St Bedes Mentone have that Parky dont is a School behind them.

NBULTY
14 Sep 2006, 16:44
3 M Wrote - Also know a few ammo sides played practice games against top Southern Div 1 sides and murdered them. Back to the original point Parkdale have a far superior history / quality of football to that of St Patricks FC.

Not only Ammo clubs, I played for St Pats V Mentone in a practice match in 1990 , thumped a near full strenght Mentone side By ten goals( was mates with a lot of the Mentone blokes, played cricket there so I knew how good their side was,( ask Drew Johnston how his ribs were after the game) we were in C grade Churches league.
St Pats started in 1945, so its not like they were just formed yesterday, but what St Bedes Mentone have that Parky dont is a School behind them.[/quote]

What about the 6 or 7 junior sides below secondary school age feeding the club, I think that would have something to do with it.

bigwilly
14 Sep 2006, 17:00
The main reason that it looks like a St. Pats took over Parky is , The former Parky players all decided that playing for a few dollars at either Mordi, Chelsea Heights was more important. There is as much support of the club during the season from each camp. I think the quality of the former Parkdale players is summed up by mentioning that Dave Gately was named as reserve's coach in the first year of the merge then took off to Heights because there was no money for him.

Bede me up
14 Sep 2006, 17:33
Considering what awaits us in less than 48 hours, today would have to go down as a dark day on this thread. The majority of us have no interest in learning about the history of Parkdale footy club and rubbish hypotheticals against SFL teams of the 90's.

I have however printed out some of todays posts from Richo, The Beacon etc to help me get to sleep tomorrow night before the big game.

greentree
14 Sep 2006, 17:56
Considering what awaits us in less than 48 hours, today would have to go down as a dark day on this thread. The majority of us have no interest in learning about the history of Parkdale footy club and rubbish hypotheticals against SFL teams of the 90's.

I have however printed out some of todays posts from Richo, The Beacon etc to help me get to sleep tomorrow night before the big game.

Bede me up, you are right, a big day for you guys and as someone who played most of my sporting life in the area I'm hoping you guys win, all Im doing is sticking up for the club I played at as Im sure you would do.

Go Tigers.

GetSmart
14 Sep 2006, 18:27
St Pats started in 1945, so its not like they were just formed yesterday, but what St Bedes Mentone have that Parky dont is a School behind them.

What about the 6 or 7 junior sides below secondary school age feeding the club, I think that would have something to do with it.[/QUOTE]

Tigers......make that 10 junior sides and Auskick. Understand your point but we shouldn't forget that Mentone started in 1904 and their is no comparison between them and St Pats. Mentone in the Federal League was a power house.

richoooo
14 Sep 2006, 19:56
What about the 6 or 7 junior sides below secondary school age feeding the club, I think that would have something to do with it.

Tigers......make that 10 junior sides and Auskick. Understand your point but we shouldn't forget that Mentone started in 1904 and their is no comparison between them and St Pats. Mentone in the Federal League was a power house.[/quote]

No doubt the Tigers have the right systems in place. Strong juniors, club 18, a premiership in the 17s, all three teams in the grand final this weekend and promotion to B grade. That stuff doesn't happen by accident.

Parky are improving all the time and will be up with Mentone and Beauy soon. Nothing beats a good local derby, it's a rare downside of playing ammo footy. Parky would much rather travel to a very very ordinary Brindisi St than to Rupertswood and Whitefriars.

Should be a cracker tomorrow. If there is a footy god, he has a foreskin. Tiges by 20 points.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
15 Sep 2006, 09:12
Well we've lost a couple of Aussie legends recently but despite taking a few hits on a couple of Big Footy threads yesterday I'm happy to let the C Section thread contributors that RCT is alive and well and truly kicking (with ack's to AT...)

Great night at Tigerland for the last training run for 2006...feeling at training was just awesome and a tighter group you wouldn't find...busy trade for the men behind the jump and serving the quality meals.

The prez delivered the speech and read the selected teams out in his diminutive and yet highly comical fashion.....left the club just before witching hour with a few sherbs and a goon or two under the belt and ran the gauntlet successfully...texas h. was still going strong with big barge looking like he was holding the aces again.

3 flags in the cabinet and 3 to come...what a season.

The Tiger Army is gathering momentum and readying for the march to Sandy.....it will be a beauty.

RCT

crownies2
15 Sep 2006, 10:09
We nearly let the SCRIBE get one through to the keeper..... Fancy him seeing his first C Grade game for the year going to the Ajax Brunch and reckoning he has to child mind that legend tommy brain. Is he for real has he got tickets on himself or not????

GetSmart
15 Sep 2006, 10:27
Wonder what changes the Scribe will make to his team of the yaar when he actually sees a game tomorrow. Would suggest that there will be a couple of standouts.

Slay Master G
15 Sep 2006, 12:36
We nearly let the SCRIBE get one through to the keeper..... Fancy him seeing his first C Grade game for the year going to the Ajax Brunch and reckoning he has to child mind that legend tommy brain. Is he for real has he got tickets on himself or not????

Bag him as much as you like, and I have been guilty in the past, but be greatful that Scribe is putting in the effort to provide the insightful weekly column that he does. I don't see any of you blokes putting in the extra effort as he does.

You are all very bitter people, they can't put the entire Tigers team in the team of the year.

Can't understand why Tommy Brain would not be at HQ eating 'wick burgers for the B Section preliminary final?

chicken machine
15 Sep 2006, 12:45
heres my answers to questions put by quote 1474 i think
1. i reckon crowd will be around the 5000 mark
2. dont care about q2 just want to see the biff and a great match
3. frankfurts without the skin in bread rolls with dead horse
4. dont care
5. who cares
6. N/A
7. who cares
8. without a doubt
9. yep
10. Anstey for the tigers

crownies2
15 Sep 2006, 14:05
Believe Mr Brain is on Executive Duties as the Duty Officer or Match Manager at Sandy Slay and hence can't be at the park eating burgers.... Believe he also has a bit of affinity with both the competiting C Grade clubs anyway so won't be out of place down there......

sImpLy f0oTy
15 Sep 2006, 15:40
Stunned at the scribes selection for Coach of The Year.
Considering Luke Berveridge was....
- New to the club.
- Found himself in a total new enviroment, that of the VAFA.
- Coached the senior side to 18 straight wins.
- Assisted the reserves side to 17 wins and 1 loss.
- Introduced a Club 18 side.
- Playing coach.
- And somewhere down the track has coached the U19s, whom also find theirselves playing off in the grand final aswell.

Now can you explain to me scribe how the AJAX coach got it over Beveridge, and, that of how you came to your final descision of..

An absolute joke!!

Benny MOF
15 Sep 2006, 15:59
Sour grapes.

I do believe that AJAX beat you when it counted and who really cares who coach of the year is today, all will be revealed tomorrow! I'm sure Beveridge would prefer the real prize!

pazza
15 Sep 2006, 16:14
Will be umpiring the 2's grand final at Sandy tomorrow and really can't wait for the Seniors showdown.

Speaking with Tommy last night, he mentioned that the Jackas are having a lunch up in the social club - is that just a little cocky or what?

Should be a cracker - see you all there.

sImpLy f0oTy
15 Sep 2006, 16:21
Sour grapes.

I do believe that AJAX beat you when it counted and who really cares who coach of the year is today, all will be revealed tomorrow! I'm sure Beveridge would prefer the real prize!

Not sour, just dissapointed that someone like Berveridge has been robberd of the recignition he deserves..
i'm sure he feels that the silver wear is the main objective, however he needs to be recognised for the such things as i listed, and therefore should be named Coach of The Year over the AJAX coach.

I wonder wear the scribe gets off.. never coming to any of the games then plucking that award out of his arse..very dissapointing

pazza
15 Sep 2006, 16:25
O'Shaughnessy isn't a bad bloke - and Ajax will certainly feel his loss next season. That can't be argued.

As for Beveridge, is he playing tomorrow - or have those boots been finally hung up?

scroda
15 Sep 2006, 16:32
Speaking with Tommy last night, he mentioned that the Jackas are having a lunch up in the social club - is that just a little cocky or what?

Why is it cocky to get involved in pre-grand final atmosphere prior to the game whilst at the same time raising funds for an amateur football club? It's not like they've booked the post game celebration. I think you'll find that AFL grand final teams have big lunches and post GF-celebrations/commiserations pre-booked every year. I don't understand your comment.

And gotta love those newbies like sImpLy f0oTy who blow in 5 minutes before the game to hurl abuse but have been severly lacking for the past 18 weeks.

I think you'll find that Tim was named coach of the year by Scribe because he has taken a team that was clear C-grade last year and has, through his strong training regime, moulded them into a B-Grade team. He has introduced a number of players this year and with success. The Tigers coach, whilst taking absolutely nothing away from his successful year, has taken a team (that if truth be told didn't really deserve to be relegated last year) to exactly where they should have finished this year.

If you need an explanation as to why not all Israeli's are Jewish and vice-versa, I'll enrol you in a grade 2 class whenever you have a moment. If you turned up to all the games this year you'll have noticed that the jackas have pulled quite sizeable crowds all year.

Looking forwward to the game tomorrow.

sImpLy f0oTy
15 Sep 2006, 16:32
O'Shaughnessy isn't a bad bloke - and Ajax will certainly feel his loss next season. That can't be argued.

As for Beveridge, is he playing tomorrow - or have those boots been finally hung up?

A good bloke..maybe, but should he deserve the same recognition as Beveridge for his acheivemnts this year.

I can't really understand that question pazza? 'Will Beveridge play tommorrow'. I would find it very strange, for someone to play 7 games throughout the year and then hang the boots up for the Grand Final?
I can see how you have got a gig as the 2s umpire.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
15 Sep 2006, 16:36
SF...steady on there...everyone is entitled to watch a game of footy and for the players it's great that a big crowd will be present. The Tigers have a large supporter base to and will be at Sandy in big numbers tomorrow.

Being named coach of the year in the Scribes C Section column means nothing at the end of the day/season...Bevo and the rest of the players/club want the Premiership...this title says it all.

Pazza..well done on getting a job tomorrow...Reserves game will be a ripper also..enjoy!

Being a Tiger follower I'm naturally hoping for the results to fall our way and reap the rewards for a lot of hard work by a large number of people that is a footy club.

RCT

sImpLy f0oTy
15 Sep 2006, 16:42
SF...steady on there...everyone is entitled to watch a game of footy and for the players it's great that a big crowd will be present. The Tigers have a large supporter base to and will be at Sandy in big numbers tomorrow.

Being named coach of the year in the Scribes C Section column means nothing at the end of the day/season...Bevo and the rest of the players/club want the Premiership...this title says it all.

Pazza..well done on getting a job tomorrow...Reserves game will be a ripper also..enjoy!

Being a Tiger follower I'm naturally hoping for the results to fall our way and reap the rewards for a lot of hard work by a large number of people that is a footy club.

RCT

RCT, i was just dissapointed that Bevo, isn't going to receive as much recognition as he deserves..
The atmosphere will certainly be great tommorrow, if the 2nd semi final is anything 2 go by

Bluesnews43
15 Sep 2006, 16:47
well, this will be my last post before the grand final is played tomorrow.
Good luck to both teams, im sure it will be a cracker of a game.
Hope to see a good of a game as we witnessed 2 weeks ago,
was an absolute ripper.

The result aside, congratulations to both teams who deserve promotion to 'b' grade, where im sure both lists will be tested.

I hope both can be competitive at this higher level of footy.

My tip is ajax by 4 points...

regarding people bagging ajax crowds: the ajax supporters come week in week out.

Obviously there will be additional supporters jumping on the wagon for finals
time, but that happens everywhere, with girlfriends, family, friends and work
associates coming to support their mates.

hope to see them all out there tomorrow for what should be a very entertaining afternoon of football