[
17]
Phantom Strobler
23 Sep 2006, 11:25
The less we hear from you the better!
We fear the truth and facts scotty dog. You must be from Ormond
ShinSplints
24 Sep 2006, 17:06
Just had to write here and say I was there at the grand final and what a game!!!!!
I felt early on the beder boys were rattled not tight enough but always felt they'd come. And how they DID!!!
Tyrell's mark (70 - st bedes) was unbelievable.
Corda's goal in the last was a ripper.
I felt Zachik for ST Bedes (33) was possibly the game saver took 3 marks inside 30m of jackas goals.
Some of the jackas supporters were so loud and obnoxious it was SO GREAT to see the beders win by a point. :p
They deserved the win (after the umps tried to rob em in first half) and have been better all year. :thumbsu:
The complaints about the final GF report are warranted, unfortunately. I simply got "crunched" and had to excuse myself from the Ajax lunch on the Friday morning.
I was told on Wednesday that I had to attend a church function for my brother becoming at Uniting Church Minister in Bacchus Marsh at 11 am (fair hike). I was looking at my watch every 10 minutes after 12.30pm. However, with a lunch to follow, it went until 2.30 pm, this meant I wasn't going to get to the ground until 3.30pm. Given I was going to my mother-in-laws' for her birthday dinner in Wonthaggi, it simply wasn't feasible to drop in at all. So I confess, I did rely on the reports, BF postings and other material which was flung around after the game.
If I had my time over again, perhaps I would've sacked my brother's post-ceremony lunch, dropped the missus off home for an hour and gone to the game. Unfortunately, I chose to prioritise the other way, and the result is an inaccurate round-up of the GF.
Guys, I spend 9 months of year playing and training for my own footy, and it's a hard sell on the home front when you finish your season on 2/9 to continue to spend Saturday afternoons at footy matches. Given I receive no payment for my efforts, and I think I've been pretty entertaining and enthusiastic about the C section season as a whole, I hope you can forgive me. I did feel guilty about it, but really didn't see that I had much of a choice!!
In any event, the STBMT and Ajax guys will probably have T. Brain writing about the efforts next year, and he loves getting out of the house on Saturday arvos!!!
Cheers
Fraser
Brooksy01
25 Sep 2006, 13:43
Scribe, explain how you can not pick a coach who has gone through the year undefeated as 'coach of the year" over a coach who would of been lucky to scrape in the finals every other year with his record.
You should of been relieved of your postion the moment you said this, paid or otherwise.
Scribe, explain how you can not pick a coach who has gone through the year undefeated as 'coach of the year" over a coach who would of been lucky to scrape in the finals every other year with his record.
You should of been relieved of your postion the moment you said this, paid or otherwise.
Brooksy - thanks for your sentiments, no really. It's great to know there's a wave of support out there.
In answer to your question, everyone acknowledged Beveridge had the superior cattle to work with - given his list this year was significantly stronger than the 2005 version, more akin to the list that made finals in B Grade in 2004. Not even the most one-eyed Jacka supporter would say they had a list which was a patch on the Tigers this year.
O'Shaugnessy had to mould a side which had basically plateaued in C grade after C-D yo-yo-ing for the past decade. He got so much out of his charges, and that's where a coach can make such a difference. Frankly to get them over the line in the 2nd semi, and so close in the GF, is akin to Rocket Eade coaching the Bullies into a GF against West Coast.
In short, O'Shaugnessy made the most of what he had, Beveridge didn't need to in order to take out the sliverware, but he got an almighty fright in the process.
Frankly, I doubt Beveridge would care less about who got that gong, and neither should you. If you feel it is grounds from my removal from writing for the section, then I suggest you contact HQ and put yourself forward as a suitable replacement.
Mobbenfuhrer
25 Sep 2006, 14:03
I applaud the honest and open confession of the Scribe and think that it was a pretty gutsy effort to make such an apology. It was a let-down, but I for one forgive yer. Probably should have organised a proxy, though, eh?
Surly23
25 Sep 2006, 14:05
Scribe,
Would have to agree with Brooksy on this one! Was there a reason for picking the Ajax coach over the STBMT? One more thing, how does G.Smyth from Monash get in and come fourth in his own clubs B&F?
A litlle more research in future wouldn't go a stray, but we all live and learn.
Scribe,
Would have to agree with Brooksy on this one! Was there a reason for picking the Ajax coach over the STBMT? One more thing, how does G.Smyth from Monash get in and come fourth in his own clubs B&F?
A litlle more research in future wouldn't go a stray, but we all live and learn.
Surly - yep we all live and learn. No point going into the whys and wherefores of the TOTY as it's already been discussed a couple of pages earlier. Save to say plenty were unlucky, but my mail from Monash was Smyth had been pretty consistent most of the year.
As for my reasons for snubbing Bevo - see above. NB - not that I'd usually use Jono Horn as a yardstick, but he picked Bones Richardson as his Coach and Bones' side finished 2nd, lost to OH, then lost the GF too. At least O'Shaugnessy managed to get his side into the GF a week earlier!!
Monkeyboy
25 Sep 2006, 14:43
Scribe,
Nothing wrong with picking AJAX coach. FFS they lost by a point and as Scribe said, they have a list that is nowhere near as strong on paper as STBMT.
Re your other point, Scribe can't be at 5 games a week. You rely on mail from clubs. If you have a beef with the very worthy Smyth getting a gig, better talk with Monash not Scribe.
You sound like a really surly unit!
Surly23
25 Sep 2006, 15:02
Nothing wrong with picking AJAX coach. FFS they lost by a point and as Scribe said, they have a list that is nowhere near as strong on paper as STBMT.
Re your other point, Scribe can't be at 5 games a week. You rely on mail from clubs. If you have a beef with the very worthy Smyth getting a gig, better talk with Monash not Scribe.
You sound like a really surly unit!
One last point on this matter!!!
I have seen a lot of VAFA over the last 20 years, and let me tell you, there is no coach better than Luke Beveridege! This was evident on GF Final day when he pulled his side back in the game from 48 points down. STBMT won all three section they played in this season and as senior coack LB looks over all sides. Tim (Ajax) got one side to a GF(and good on him) but where were the other AJAX sides?
Good luck next year with C Grade scribe, I have made my point!
If I may make two final points on the subjects argued above.
I have never had a dig at the STBMT coach in my reports or on this site - I don't know why anyone would think otherwise. The fact I chose the AJAX coach for the TOTY was based on the matters listed above and, rather than being a sleight on Beveridge, was simply a gong for the efforts of O'Shaugnessy. No doubt Beveridge was the reason they won the GF, and he has two medals to stay with him forever, so well done Luke. However, I was asked to choose the TOTY coach the week after AJAX had pulled off the biggest upset of the season. This was also after almost everyone from had thought that STBMT were absolute morals for the flag
NB - surly, you point out that all 3 STBMT sides won flags, when Ajax couldn't get their reserves or U19s into finals. I think this speaks volumes for the efforts of the senior coach with the senior 22, when the club clearly has less depth than the Tigers. how you could argue otherwise is kinda wierd really.
As for time and effort to put into the column, it takes me about 3-4 hours between Sunday morning and Tuesday midday to collate, research and write each week. I agree wholeheartedly that, ideally, those people who write for a particular section should be in a position to attend those games in order to write a first hands report on at least one match per week. Unfortunately, due to my own playing and committee commitments, my Saturdays are spent with Old Trinity from 10 am to 5pm. You may say that means I should write for A Grade, but there's an obvious conflict of interest, so I would never suggest that.
Maybe next year a recently retired C grade veteran will put their hand up for the gig. If that's the case, and they have the competition's interests as close to heart as most of us scribes, then you can look forward to better reporting in 2007.
Surly23
25 Sep 2006, 17:38
If I may make two final points on the subjects argued above.
I have never had a dig at the STBMT coach in my reports or on this site - I don't know why anyone would think otherwise. The fact I chose the AJAX coach for the TOTY was based on the matters listed above and, rather than being a sleight on Beveridge, was simply a gong for the efforts of O'Shaugnessy. No doubt Beveridge was the reason they won the GF, and he has two medals to stay with him forever, so well done Luke. However, I was asked to choose the TOTY coach the week after AJAX had pulled off the biggest upset of the season. This was also after almost everyone from had thought that STBMT were absolute morals for the flag
NB - surly, you point out that all 3 STBMT sides won flags, when Ajax couldn't get their reserves or U19s into finals. I think this speaks volumes for the efforts of the senior coach with the senior 22, when the club clearly has less depth than the Tigers. how you could argue otherwise is kinda wierd really.
As for time and effort to put into the column, it takes me about 3-4 hours between Sunday morning and Tuesday midday to collate, research and write each week. I agree wholeheartedly that, ideally, those people who write for a particular section should be in a position to attend those games in order to write a first hands report on at least one match per week. Unfortunately, due to my own playing and committee commitments, my Saturdays are spent with Old Trinity from 10 am to 5pm. You may say that means I should write for A Grade, but there's an obvious conflict of interest, so I would never suggest that.
Maybe next year a recently retired C grade veteran will put their hand up for the gig. If that's the case, and they have the competition's interests as close to heart as most of us scribes, then you can look forward to better reporting in 2007.
Well said scribe!!
My point is; Bevo overlooked three sides winning flags and all playing the style of footy and listening to the messages that he coaches them, not just one.
One last thing;
You go on about the tigers depth well it only came from heavy recruitment at the end of last year by Bevo and CO.
If you look at the side that was relegated from B grade, to the side that played in the C grade final, you will see it is very different and Bevo too had to mould a new team. From our count, there were roughly 10 first year players in the tigers GF side.
Scribe, thank you for your reply and reasoning.
ScottyDog
25 Sep 2006, 19:10
Scribe, Sorry to be on your case, but.......your C Section Team of the Year showed that you hadn't seen much, if any C Section Football and had done little consultation. Tony Macgeorge has been a great C Section footballer as a full forward. In later days he has played lose across half back and done reasonably well. This year he spent most of his time up back. The fact is that he never has and never will be a CHF. In 2006 even Macca would admit he is over weight and only a shadow of his earlier days. To pick him at CHF destroyed the whole concept of a team of the year for most who know anything about C Section football.
Would also add my support to Beveridge as Coach of the year. The fact that Parkdale came third with their list shows that the comp was a long way off previous years. Ajax lost several games against average opposition. Macca would have been a better candidate than the Jackers coach!
sImpLy f0oTy
25 Sep 2006, 20:20
Scribe, you say that you beleive that it gives you more reason to shadow Tim (AJAX coach) over Bevo with regard to the quality of individual sides..
Surely with flags to the reserves and the 19s, this just proves the amount of work which Bevo has put, training, recruiting etc. You go on the logic that Tim had an 'ordinairy list', with your commitment to C section this year, which astounds me why you even do it with prior committments and noticable errors in the team of the year..how can you judge a side with your knowledge..?
You don't know wheather the reserves and 19s had good list or not..you also don't have a great deal of knowledge on either senior side, both AJAX and St.Bedes. It shows when the 19s defeated AJAX in diV 3 by over 200 points both times and the reserves side giving regualar 100+ floggings to the 2s AJAX side...What's Tim been doin with the other blokes on the list?
I think it just goes to prove and show how much of a tight knit group the tigers are, by both Surly and Brooksy01 sticking up for each other, and not just lettng others lay into their mates.
(P.S) What a bunch of chokers AJAX loosing by a point after being 8 straight kicks up in the second quarter..I know who my coach of the year was, the guy who rolled the dice for all and at the end of the day had a premiership medallion over his kneck and the cup aloft with the skipper.
overtheline
26 Sep 2006, 00:24
Scribe, you say that you beleive that it gives you more reason to shadow Tim (AJAX coach) over Bevo with regard to the quality of individual sides..
Surely with flags to the reserves and the 19s, this just proves the amount of work which Bevo has put, training, recruiting etc. You go on the logic that Tim had an 'ordinairy list', with your commitment to C section this year, which astounds me why you even do it with prior committments and noticable errors in the team of the year..how can you judge a side with your knowledge..?
You don't know wheather the reserves and 19s had good list or not..you also don't have a great deal of knowledge on either senior side, both AJAX and St.Bedes. It shows when the 19s defeated AJAX in diV 3 by over 200 points both times and the reserves side giving regualar 100+ floggings to the 2s AJAX side...What's Tim been doin with the other blokes on the list?
I think it just goes to prove and show how much of a tight knit group the tigers are, by both Surly and Brooksy01 sticking up for each other, and not just lettng others lay into their mates.
(P.S) What a bunch of chokers AJAX loosing by a point after being 8 straight kicks up in the second quarter..I know who my coach of the year was, the guy who rolled the dice for all and at the end of the day had a premiership medallion over his kneck and the cup aloft with the skipper.
Have to agree with you there SImPly! How can Ajax's list be described as anything less than awesome? The same team( plus kirzner) won 8 in a row last year, so they were always going to be strong with the addition of Ritterman( VFL). Bevo coach of the year clearly and I would put McGeorge ahead of the Ajax guy, given what they did with an ordinary list and no depth.
Spoke to the player that supposedly posted. Can confirm that someone out there is purporting to be him which makes sense. You shouldn't believe what you read. Particularly on this site. Get Smarter please
Why was GetSmart trying to cover up for Tyquin (the recent postings by Surly and SimplyFooty seem to confirm that Surly is in fact Tyquin)? If Tyquin wants to apologise for being a bad sport (or if people at his club are embarrased by the rubbish he has been posting), surely he is man enough to do it himself.
Once again, why are the St Bedes players/supporters being so negative with their postings on here. Is there any need to rubbish the opposition? and who cares if your coach is not voted "coach of the year" by one guy who hasn't seen a game for the whole season!
GetSmart
26 Sep 2006, 10:34
Why was GetSmart trying to cover up for Tyquin (the recent postings by Surly and SimplyFooty seem to confirm that Surly is in fact Tyquin)? If Tyquin wants to apologise for being a bad sport (or if people at his club are embarrased by the rubbish he has been posting), surely he is man enough to do it himself.
Once again, why are the St Bedes players/supporters being so negative with their postings on here. Is there any need to rubbish the opposition? and who cares if your coach is not voted "coach of the year" by one guy who hasn't seen a game for the whole season!
Read my lips....... Tyquin did not post those comments....... Can I say it any simplier than that!
demonbob
26 Sep 2006, 13:34
The fact that ajax magoos and unders had dissapointing seasons is in no way a reflection on the senior coach, but rather a lack of depth at the club. Clearly, Beveridge had the cattle to work with, evidenced by dominant performances in the magoos and unders all season.
O'Shaughnessy is a football genius, and it amazes me to hear some of you suggest otherwise.
overtheline
26 Sep 2006, 14:10
The fact that ajax magoos and unders had dissapointing seasons is in no way a reflection on the senior coach, but rather a lack of depth at the club. Clearly, Beveridge had the cattle to work with, evidenced by dominant performances in the magoos and unders all season.
O'Shaughnessy is a football genius, and it amazes me to hear some of you suggest otherwise.
A football genuis who blew an 8 goal lead in a grand final....yeh right!
sImpLy f0oTy
26 Sep 2006, 15:30
Surely 'demonbob' you can give Bevo some credit, instead of ignoring the fact of him coaching a senior side to a Grand Final and winning it, and secondly watching over the 19s and reserves, whilst training them at the same time twice a week..
Surely mate you can give the bloke some recognition, and not make up anymore excuses that we've already heard about, regarding why he didn't!
Hot Tip!
26 Sep 2006, 18:21
Can also say 100% that it ai not tyquinn
Hot Tip!
26 Sep 2006, 18:29
A football genuis who blew an 8 goal lead in a grand final....yeh right!
Well said OTL i even heard a Mr Greg norman gave him a call afterwards to share in that choking feeling!:eek:
The_Cat
26 Sep 2006, 18:30
Read my lips....... Tyquin did not post those comments....... Can I say it any simplier than that!
Surly is not Tyquin.... rather he goes by the alias of JuicySkipper (been quiet for a while).
Coach of the Year. Who cares... Ajax had no depth, Parkdale had even less, but I reckon both those coaches would prefer to have that medallion around their neck, rather than being named COTY.
Build a bridge people.
Scribe, you do a good job, but I must agree McGeorge at CHF is totally off the boil, you might as well have L. Terrel (#70 StBMT) named as ruck. The only other glaring mistake was M. Wintle (StBMT) as CHB. He's a ruck rover / rover.
But once again, who cares... the real deal is being named in the big footy team of the year and the back pocket suits me fine.
Have any teams had their Vote Counts / Presentation nights yet? I know footy's not an individual game (no i in team blah blah), but if so, how about posting your clubs B&F winners.
Saintly5
26 Sep 2006, 23:21
Had a quick scan of all of this rubbish...i've got to say...most of you guys are pathetic. To gloat over a premiership, then get on a forum and have a go at opposition coaches, players and clubs shows a complete lack of class and dignity. Be gracious is victory for god's sake.
Scribe- Dont get in a slanging match with these bogans...they can't even spell let alone argue. Yes, St Bedes will go down as premiers 2006, but i can't imagine your club condoning this absolute dribble and trivial tripe that many of you go out of your way to ignite. A blight on you all.
bob down
27 Sep 2006, 01:43
Would Kinsella be the worst bloke in VAFA history?
Surely....
I am an avid ammo supporter and enjoy watching any games. I have watched 3 St Bedes games this year and I find Kinsella rather amusing, plays it hard but fair, niggles his opponents, but always shakes hands with them and buys them a beer after the game. Very much in the MacGeorge mould.
A true VAFA old time character.
Mobbenfuhrer
27 Sep 2006, 10:11
For crying out loud if you lot don't behave none of you gets any ice cream.
Re coach of TOTY. It seems the choice of coach was contentious, possibly wrong. The reasoning has been explained, this is fair reasoning, though whether its right or wrong can be argued til the cows come home. Basically, the 2nds and 3rds not winning flags could be a sign of less to work with, or could be a sign of less comprehensive achievement. I'm sure none of the coaches really give a **** anymore. Suffice to say there were some impressive coaching performances this year.
Re Kinsella: I went to Brindisi for Reds v Tiges. Kinsella (v Maghamez) niggled, annoyed, trash-talked, pushed and shoved. At one point (was it half-time?) we looked up and Kinsella was lying on the ground with Maghamez walking away from him. One Tiges fan was heard to say among amused/surprised laughter "Kinners has got him rattled, he just decked him!"
In the third quarter I noted Reds reserves players head down to the goals to give Maghamez a bit of moral support and see if they could sledge Kinsella a bit from the sidelines. I went along, stood some distance around outside a pocket, and gave Kinsella a little bit of hell myself.
Plenty of sledging, one side expressing that Kinsella was getting a bath, the other arguing that Maghamez was being outplayed. Fact is, Maghamez kicked (I think) 5, and Kinsella played a good game. Both were serviceable. Neither were backward in coming forward with colourful language towards the other.
At the end of the match (the ball came down Fitzroy's way I think only 1ce in the last quarter), Both looked at each other, grinned, and shook hands. They looked like old friends.
I didn't go to the rematch but I'm sure they tried to kill each other during the game, and shook hands with a grin at the final siren, all over again.
Can't speak for every single think Kinsella has done, but while I hated his guts that day, I can't say he did anything but want to win.
(PS: I think Maghamez just shaded Kinsella that day, but in the wash-up, 10 goal win to St Bedes, so Kinsella didn't exactly have to match riding on his contribution)
Had a quick scan of all of this rubbish...i've got to say...most of you guys are pathetic. To gloat over a premiership, then get on a forum and have a go at opposition coaches, players and clubs shows a complete lack of class and dignity. Be gracious is victory for god's sake.
Scribe- Dont get in a slanging match with these bogans...they can't even spell let alone argue. Yes, St Bedes will go down as premiers 2006, but i can't imagine your club condoning this absolute dribble and trivial tripe that many of you go out of your way to ignite. A blight on you all.
Well said
Richard Clay Torpedoes
27 Sep 2006, 10:33
Mobbe,
Great reading your post re Kinsella v Maghamez..it was a terrific match up between the two that day and your summary is a reflection on the battle and the characters involved that day....It's amazing how one character can have the postings that Kinna has had created about him..what most people are not aware of but the Tigers were aware of on GF day was Ajax planned to play forward through Kinna where possible which was interesting when the Tigers had given him the job on Bloom the same day to 'get in his head' as he had been a damaging player in the 2nd Semi....Perhaps in these somewhat sanitisied days of AFL led football, many people forget there are many ways of putting your opponent 'off their game'...sometimes it works sometimes it does not...defenders have a job to do and in the wash up I'd say Blooms return of 2 goals in the GF and he had little influence on the game after 20 mins into the second term would indicate Kinna 'did his job'....and those who have posted some of the rubbish about things he did on GF day are talking way out of their league. To win a GF you need all sorts of players in your team and despite what people may observe from the outside Kinna offered an enormous amount to our team this year that outsiders would not know about.
Secondly, for those who may be posting/reading the recent threads post GF, don't believe everything you are reading is coming from people involved with the Tigers...let's just say there is an element out there who like to post as if they are from Brindisi street who are not....we are and always will be humble in victory and gracious in defeat...we are extremely proud as a club of what we have achieved this year and will be working even harder to reinforce this in 2007....as I have already stated, many out there only know half of what happened on GF day and is still happening behind the scenes.
Cheers
RCT
Secondly, for those who may be posting/reading the recent threads post GF, don't believe everything you are reading is coming from people involved with the Tigers...let's just say there is an element out there who like to post as if they are from Brindisi street who are not....we are and always will be humble in victory and gracious in defeat...we are extremely proud as a club of what we have achieved this year and will be working even harder to reinforce this in 2007....as I have already stated, many out there only know half of what happened on GF day and is still happening behind the scenes.
Thanks for clarifying that RCT. Hopefully we won't hear anything more from the likes of Surly, Simply Footy, Brooksy and Josh Mcloud...It's fairly sad to not belong to a club but still claim a premiership as yours - ranting and raving in the way that they have. Let's hope they get the message that they are not a part of your club or your premiership!
sImpLy f0oTy
27 Sep 2006, 12:31
Reagarding the Kinsella Maghamez matchup, i beleive he kicked no more than 2 or 3 on Kinna..Maghamez kicked a few in the first quarter and then Kinna was moved onto him..
Clearly beat him, getting into his head and taking him totally off his game, to the point where Maghamez totally lost it going into the half time break, yelling screaming..etc.
I think some people need to realise that Kinna usually gets the job on the oppositions main forward with a job to 'take him out of the game' and reduce his opponents affect on the game. A job I think he does damn well, and goes alongg way to his sides success this year.
SF
The_Cat
27 Sep 2006, 12:50
Gee Kinna would be loving this... let's all wee in his pocket a bit more shall we.
Mobbenfuhrer
27 Sep 2006, 15:40
Reagarding the Kinsella Maghamez matchup, i beleive he kicked no more than 2 or 3 on Kinna..Maghamez kicked a few in the first quarter and then Kinna was moved onto him..
Clearly beat him, getting into his head and taking him totally off his game, to the point where Maghamez totally lost it going into the half time break, yelling screaming..etc.
SF
Well I can't argue with the bit about the first quarter because I only arrived five minutes before 1/4 time! So you could be right. I only saw the last goal, and can't remember which Reds player kicked it, it bounced through.
At half time, if Maghamez was yelling and screaming, he must have had laryngitis, as I didn't hear any of it. Saw Kinsella get up off the ground though, that certainly happened.
In the third and fourth quarters the ball hardly got down to the Reds ends, I only remember one major event of note between the two, and that was Maghamez taking a big mark way away from Kinsella, at about CHF (I think Kinsella and a team-mate had swapped opponents for just that play, simply because that's the way it worked out). I think Maghamez missed the shot at goal.
And in the last quarter, I only remember the ball coming down there once. Poor kick, straight to Kinsella, who gave it off ... and that was about it. They looked at each other like long-lost lovers after the final siren. I think they had great time butting heads together!
Attn The_Cat, I'm not so sure he'd know, he didn't look a hell of a lot like a computer person :P
The_Cat
27 Sep 2006, 16:05
Attn The_Cat, I'm not so sure he'd know, he didn't look a hell of a lot like a computer person :P
Good point Mobs. Perhaps better suited to crayons you think.
The_Cat
27 Sep 2006, 17:16
On the money RCT. It would be a disgraceful shame on the Jacca's part if what you say is true.
The sun has long set on that Saturday afternoon and to the victors went the spoils.
What do they hope to achieve anyhow.
Boo Ajax Boo.
The Cat
27 Sep 2006, 17:24
On the money RCT. It would be a disgraceful shame on the Jacca's part if what you say is true.
The sun has long set on that Saturday afternoon and to the victors went the spoils.
What do they hope to achieve anyhow.
Boo Ajax Boo.
What the? :confused: I knew I should have taken a copyright out on my user name!
Hope you're not posting crap #2 Cat, coz everything I put on here is fact and I'd hate to get a bad reputation as a result of something you've posted.
Cheers :thumbsu:
The_Cat
27 Sep 2006, 17:31
No crap here, only deal in facts and some light jocular refreshments for my fellow C-sectioners.
But you're somewhat mistaken as I'm not #2 cat, I'm the Top Cat.
What thread did you blow in from anyhow.
dal_santo_no.1
27 Sep 2006, 19:07
its good to see selectors looking outside the square when it comes to selecting under 18 sides.
brett collins has been selected in the victorian under 18 side to take on an allies side at optus oval tomorrow.
zoofest43
27 Sep 2006, 19:20
as requested in an earlier thread Old Camberwell's B+F result is as follows.
1.David Loats on 60 votes, who polled in 8 rounds.(full forward)
2.Mitchell Hough on 52 votes, who polled in 11 rounds.(mid fielder)
3.Jordan Heffernan on 43 votes, who polled in 13 rounds.
4.Steve Derry on 42 votes, who polled in 6 rounds.
5.Mark Jury on 36 votes, who polled in 5 rounds.(utility)
The night itself was a huge success and enjoyed by those present.
The season was rightly described as a reasonable one ,with the emphasis on bringing new and younger players through.
To this end OC played 10 under 19's during the year and in all a total of 49 players represented the seniors.
Congratulations are in order for the Under 19's ,winning the flag in Divvie 2.
Hopefully 2007 will herald a more 'stable' line up and the success that has eluded the club will be more attainable.
Surly23
27 Sep 2006, 20:10
The season was rightly described as a reasonable one ,with the emphasis on bringing new and younger players through.
To this end OC played 10 under 19's during the year and in all a total of 49 players represented the seniors.
Hopefully 2007 will herald a more 'stable' line up and the success that has eluded the club will be more attainable.
Zoo,
Is it true that the Old Scotch Captain, is think of coming home to OC?
sImpLy f0oTy
27 Sep 2006, 23:33
Was reading through previous threads, and couldn't help but notice this guys comments. Little did he think about AJAX, he didn't even give the Tigers a chance...
'QUOTE: The Tigers are in for some tough times and we don't need guys like you pumping up the tyres at this time of the year. NOBS StPats will go the double drop to D Section without Minton Connell and Cassell. Making the four in C Section would be a massive efforts for the Tigers, with Old Camberwell and Old Paradians the favorites to play off for B Section in 07.'
zoofest43
28 Sep 2006, 04:25
Zoo,
Is it true that the Old Scotch Captain, is think of coming home to OC?
it is my belief that OC ask 'Bear' every year at this time ,and this year is no different.
Given what happened at Scotch in finals week,OC may have a better chance this year. As a former 2 time premiership player and captain ( under 19's) before he left for A grade he'd be a welcome addition to our line -up.
He is very well liked and respected by all at OC and I for one hope he does decide to grace us with his presence.
If he stays at Scotch I would also like to wish him well.
The Cat
28 Sep 2006, 09:05
No crap here, only deal in facts and some light jocular refreshments for my fellow C-sectioners.
But you're somewhat mistaken as I'm not #2 cat, I'm the Top Cat.
What thread did you blow in from anyhow.
I'm gonna have to pull rank here champ. Just looking at our respective Join Dates and BigFooty Member Vs Newbie status, I'll assume The Cat #1 ranking for now. :cool:
I follow Seymour in the GVFL and usually look at that thread, but just happened to see your name bob up on the screen yesterday and nearly fell off my chair.
Mobbenfuhrer
28 Sep 2006, 10:05
I think that considering its in investigation in progress it probably serves no positive purpose to replicate the entire disagreement here.
For every further post on the subject of the investigation, I will delete that post, and the most recent of the previous related posts, until either a) people stop mentioning it or b) all posts re the investigation disappear.
Nobody's wrong to have thoughts, opinions or even discussion about it, but its not appropriate to have it in a forum where people can be anonymous or even impersonate others. Too dangerous.
The_Cat
28 Sep 2006, 10:17
Thanks Zoo.
Well done to Loats, pretty good result considering his interupted season, but then again the big bags would always help.
The Vultures presentation night is next week, but I don't think there will be any suprises.
I'm tipping either McGeorge or P. Sullivan to take out the B&F, both have had great seasons, and Mick Sullivan for third.
What do you think Guru Joffa.
Ammoandy
28 Sep 2006, 10:27
I think that considering its in investigation in progress it probably serves no positive purpose to replicate the entire disagreement here.
For every further post on the subject of the investigation, I will delete that post, and the most recent of the previous related posts, until either a) people stop mentioning it or b) all posts re the investigation disappear.
Nobody's wrong to have thoughts, opinions or even discussion about it, but its not appropriate to have it in a forum where people can be anonymous or even impersonate others. Too dangerous.
Mobbe....
You are loosing credibility if you believe censorship is the answer. I agree that you have an obligation to delete any derrogative comment however to suggest that all comment be stopped is to take away possibly the only forum where the the real truth may eventually be heard.
Let there be freedom of speech!
AA
GetSmart
28 Sep 2006, 12:11
Mobbe....
You are loosing credibility if you believe censorship is the answer. I agree that you have an obligation to delete any derrogative comment however to suggest that all comment be stopped is to take away possibly the only forum where the the real truth may eventually be heard.
Let there be freedom of speech!
AA
The whole point of a Forum is to give people the oportunity to express their opinion. On this topic I am yet to express mine. Am I therefore also deprived of the right as a regular member of this forum to express my view on this topic?
Mobbenfuhrer
28 Sep 2006, 12:57
Suggestions, Feedback & Announcements board (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=&f=8)
My 'boss' per Bigfooty (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/private.php?do=newpm&u=5766)
Ammoandy
28 Sep 2006, 13:31
Mobbe...
don't tell us where to post our concerns, it only serves to derail what this forum is about.
Why would we want to use another thread?
"Freedom of speech" is a vague idea at best.
In regards to BigFooty it means you have the option to:
a) Go to another site;
b) Start your own site.
Mods and admins have every right to make certain topics taboo on any grounds - but it is usually as a courtesy to the people or institutions involved.
bob down
28 Sep 2006, 18:34
it is my belief that OC ask 'Bear' every year at this time ,and this year is no different.
Given what happened at Scotch in finals week,OC may have a better chance this year. As a former 2 time premiership player and captain ( under 19's) before he left for A grade he'd be a welcome addition to our line -up.
He is very well liked and respected by all at OC and I for one hope he does decide to grace us with his presence.
If he stays at Scotch I would also like to wish him well.
Beranger had an argument with assistant coach Rob Gross and was dropped for the first final with Blues. He has now left, not that he wouldve made much differance in that game. have heard he is going to Balwyn or OC.
bigwilly
29 Sep 2006, 18:00
Cat
I think Sam Hecker will nudge Mick Sullivan for top 3. And if Paul does not win. There is something wrong.
Everyday Spelling
2 Oct 2006, 14:19
selections Round 1.
Ormond
Ajax
St.Bedes
Camberwell
Fitzroy
Good things
St. Bedes
Fitroy
Long Range Tips
Relegation
Hampton and North Old Boys
Grand Final
Ajax vs. Camberwell
Medal Winner
David Mitchell Old Camberwell
Just back from a little visit to the uk to see the family. It's certainly no CBD!!!
Pretty good from here zoofest.
Big digga ditch. He really couldn't handle the massive expectations you placed on him. Next year league b & f for sure. Did play in state game and how did he not get best on.
Josh Mcloud
5 Oct 2006, 02:34
Paul Groves needs a stretcher dont you think everday spelling
naturalwinger
10 Oct 2006, 07:00
I am an avid ammo supporter and enjoy watching any games. I have watched 3 St Bedes games this year and I find Kinsella rather amusing, plays it hard but fair, niggles his opponents, but always shakes hands with them and buys them a beer after the game. Very much in the MacGeorge mould.
A true VAFA old time character.
I disagree, kinsella is the worst bloke in amatuer football and probably proud of it. One thing though if i am to believe that he is somewhat of an enforcer where have all the hard men gone??? kinsella couldnt fight his way out of a wet paper bag!
Surly23
11 Oct 2006, 09:57
Bad Luck to AJAX again, seem they lost another battle.
After grassing up A.Hayes to the VAFA for investigation, they couldn't even get their stories straight and Hayes got off! Next time AJAX, think very carefully before waisting the VAFA and STBMT time.
Noboby likes a dobber!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bigfootyfan
11 Oct 2006, 12:59
What is also becoming tiresome is all the whining of STBMT people, you could forgive a person new to this forum for believing that you lost the flag from some Ajax/VAFA conspiracy. Humble in victory is clealy not one of your virtues.
Everybody knows that Kinsella is an over rated thug, regardless of his off-field persona, we all know that he is guilty of poor sportsmanship on the field. A handshake and a beer after the game does not make up for this fact.
The facts are that STBMT have a crap ground, crap people and are despised by all people in the VAFA.
The fact is Benny that our ground isnt great, that we are hated by you and that you dont speak for anyone bar yourself.
Lets stick to the facts Surly. The VAFA called for the investigation via a report from the umpires. Interesting how Hayes told the SBMT runner at 3/4 time in the GF that 'if that bloke keeps poking me I will drop him" and he did. Rumor as fact.
THE BEACON
12 Oct 2006, 17:41
You lost, just get on with life.
Anyway wasnt Hayes headbutted by his opponent first!
Benny MOF
12 Oct 2006, 17:51
You won, just get on with life.
Correct me if I'm wrong, and I'm happy to admit that my school taught me incorrectly, but from my understanding yesterday at 08:57 comes before today at 16:14. As such, I think you meant to direct your comment to Surly who likes waking up sleeping dogs.
Surly23
12 Oct 2006, 19:15
Lets stick to the facts Surly. The VAFA called for the investigation via a report from the umpires. Interesting how Hayes told the SBMT runner at 3/4 time in the GF that 'if that bloke keeps poking me I will drop him" and he did. Rumor as fact.
Have you got that on your recorder, you should have, seeing you blokes were taping LB's 1/4 and 3/4 speeches. The VAFA called the investigation my A R S E, why then did the player from AJAX do a Stat Dec the day after the game.
Stop hiding behind the VAFA and admit you are a bunch of Sooks!!
GetSmart
12 Oct 2006, 21:36
Correct.
There are reasons behind my departure.
Benny, have to ask that you go by the name of Chip in future. It is far more appropriate!
Surly, you really have lost the plot. The stat dec was requested as the player in question went overseas before the investigation not with standing the Ammos delayed the hearing 3 times. One of the delays was due to the unavailability of Hayes. The 'rumor as fact' was not recorded by Ajax but was infact conveyed to a third person by the SBMT runner. The same rumor was also heard at the A grade GF. This is not one crying over spilt milk for I have said before that the better team won on the day. I only convey the facts so all can be informed and I have not yet belittled any person or club. I know players and supporters from both clubs.
overtheline
12 Oct 2006, 23:09
Surly, you really have lost the plot. The stat dec was requested as the player in question went overseas before the investigation not with standing the Ammos delayed the hearing 3 times. One of the delays was due to the unavailability of Hayes. The 'rumor as fact' was not recorded by Ajax but was infact conveyed to a third person by the SBMT runner. The same rumor was also heard at the A grade GF. This is not one crying over spilt milk for I have said before that the better team won on the day. I only convey the facts so all can be informed and I have not yet belittled any person or club. I know players and supporters from both clubs.
FACT: Ajax launch more investigations than any other club. The majority of them are thrown out ( surprise! surprise!) and they honestly think they they are hard done by.
The majority of people who have anything to do with them are with you Surly! The behaviour of their supporters is a disgrace and if it was opposition supporters, they would bring an investigation against them!
Lets move on and discuss something more positive!
Brooksy01
13 Oct 2006, 08:53
Should of hit the whingening p r i c k harder
Everyday Spelling
13 Oct 2006, 09:26
FACT: Ajax launch more investigations than any other club. The majority of them are thrown out ( surprise! surprise!) and they honestly think they they are hard done by.
The majority of people who have anything to do with them are with you Surly! The behaviour of their supporters is a disgrace and if it was opposition supporters, they would bring an investigation against them!
Lets move on and discuss something more positive!
Lads,
SBMT were not happy because AJAX supposedly launched the investigation on Hayes. Ok. Now this comes after they begged and pleaded SBMT to help them get off the Melee charge steming from round 5 at SBMT. AJAX were up for a third time if memory serves me correct in a two year period.
This is the reason that the officials there are not happy. Do them a favour and then they return it with this.
Not having a go at any team this is just what has come down the grapevine.
ES
chicken machine
16 Oct 2006, 15:05
Should of hit the whingening p r i c k harder
Couldn't agree more, that grand final was one of the best games ive seen in my life and for all this crap to be going on after the game is a joke, AJAX are sore losers everyone knows except them and for them to bring up crap like that about varios players from stbmt in the granny and have investigations its like bloody inspector morse for christs sake. after the siren i commended both teams for what was an awesome spectacle but after reading this i start to wish that a few of the stbmt boys got out the big berthas instead of the 4 inch mortars and give them the ripe old flogging they deserve, have now lost what little respect i had for Ajax hope they get hammered every week in B grade.
As GetSmart has often said, don't believe everything you read in this forum...
can't mark can't kick
16 Oct 2006, 19:17
Benny MOF is a tool
I for one don't hate StB-MT
I don't like their ground much, but I have been to worse ones.
sImpLy f0oTy
16 Oct 2006, 20:47
ST.B.M.T Presentation night is this Friday night.
Brooksy01
17 Oct 2006, 11:40
Massive rumour doing the rounds is the most successful coach in amateur history Luke Beveridge (stats dont lie) has been appointed the Head Coach of the mens Australian Volleyball Team.
Will not be able to continue the job at st bedes with a number of candidates already been interviewed including:
Little Davey Kinsella -meow
Grant Thomas
Mark McCol
Paul Groves (for the speacialist position of hard ball gets and injury management)
Nufty Dave
The EX skipper who has retired due to a blossoming indoor cricket career and sore back- must be the off spinners
The POOCUPCAKER for her delicious papa dums and delightful sense of humour
i make sense
17 Oct 2006, 13:47
Massive rumour doing the rounds is the most successful coach in amateur history Luke Beveridge (stats dont lie) has been appointed the Head Coach of the mens Australian Volleyball Team.
Will not be able to continue the job at st bedes with a number of candidates already been interviewed including:
Little Davey Kinsella -meow
Grant Thomas
Mark McCol
Paul Groves (for the speacialist position of hard ball gets and injury management)
Nufty Dave
The EX skipper who has retired due to a blossoming indoor cricket career and sore back- must be the off spinners
The POOCUPCAKER for her delicious papa dums and delightful sense of humour
i can rule kinsella out, as apparently he has been sought after by a couple of NFL teams. word is they like the way he kicks inside out torps and they think he can revolutionise their game. Dave has always been a lateral thinker.
Word is though that James Tyquin has thrown his hat in the ring. The club is very interested as he has such a wise head on those young shoulders.
Surly23
17 Oct 2006, 14:38
i can rule kinsella out, as apparently he has been sought after by a couple of NFL teams. word is they like the way he kicks inside out torps and they think he can revolutionise their game. Dave has always been a lateral thinker.
Word is though that James Tyquin has thrown his hat in the ring. The club is very interested as he has such a wise head on those young shoulders.
I have heard a similar rumour and apparently he will be assisted by a recently retired player, who quote "likes lines and HJ's".
Stay posted!!!!!
naturalwinger
17 Oct 2006, 17:03
I have heard a similar rumour and apparently he will be assisted by a recently retired player, who quote "likes lines and HJ's".
Stay posted!!!!!
can someone
naturalwinger
17 Oct 2006, 17:05
can someone
fill me in on why kinsella and hayes have retired? is this true? will the tigers be going straight back down to c grade again? is there any truth in the rumour the captainluke wintle is retiring also?
Brooksy01
17 Oct 2006, 17:56
He wouldnt be allowed to enter the playing arena for the first three weeks as he got dobbed by a young fella from AJAX who was still a little bit disgruntled after losing from 8 goals up.
Word is the deal is signed sealed and delivered.
A blond midfielder(not the soft one #12) has been offered the capataincy and a massive pay increase.
The EX skipper has just put a bid in to buy the Cranbourne Indoor Sports centre with his bollywood film star wife to open the "POOCUPCAKER CENTRE OF EXCELLENCE" which will double as a film studio and an indoor cricket centre(apparently favours 6ft 4 off spinners) for all young aspiring indoor cricketers to be jointly run by Steven STINKY Kidd and Richard Chee Quee. With these business interests the EX skipper looks to be a small loss for the coming season
Another rumour is Greg Norman has signed to coach AJAX as there outgoing coach said" if there going to play like chokers they may as well be coached by one"
Grandstand Guru
20 Oct 2006, 15:32
Enough of the StB/Ajax garbage - congrats to both clubs on progressing to B Grade as both were well deserving of promotion. Get on with life now and either start a new thread or play on the B Grade thread! Those of us left behind in C Grade no longer care about the verbal square ups and jousting...half the blokes talking tough behind a computer screen do so for a simple reason - inability to do it in real life
Jack Mihocek
20 Oct 2006, 16:40
I agree with GG now lets have some discussion about next year as to who is going to be any good! Looks like 2 weak teams coming down and 1 strong team coming up in OC. Any thoughts???
Monkeyboy
20 Oct 2006, 17:49
I agree with GG now lets have some discussion about next year as to who is going to be any good! Looks like 2 weak teams coming down and 1 strong team coming up in OC. Any thoughts???
Yes Old Carey did defeat the Rupo pretty convincingly on GF day, however i would not write them off as being a strong side in C-Grade 2007. They are a super young side that can only improve. Most players are between 18-23 y/o. They had an unders team in Div 1, that almost made the finals. They will be competitive.
Old Carey are also a fairly young side with good unders (runners up to Old Camberwell in Div 2) and some very good senoir players.
I think both clubs will remain relgation battle free, and push for finals.
Interesting that Rupo have gone from D4 to C in 4 years. Pretty good effort. Obviously the higher you get, the harder it will be to continue such a run.
can't mark can't kick
21 Oct 2006, 09:04
Yes Old Carey did defeat the Rupo pretty convincingly on GF day, however i would not write them off as being a strong side in C-Grade 2007. They are a super young side that can only improve. Most players are between 18-23 y/o. They had an unders team in Div 1, that almost made the finals. They will be competitive.
Old Carey are also a fairly young side with good unders (runners up to Old Camberwell in Div 2) and some very good senoir players.
I think both clubs will remain relgation battle free, and push for finals.
Interesting that Rupo have gone from D4 to C in 4 years. Pretty good effort. Obviously the higher you get, the harder it will be to continue such a run.
Old Carey will be pushing for finals. Rupo will continue their climb.
Jack Mihocek
23 Oct 2006, 14:13
What about the teams coming down? I hear that Mazenod and Whitefriars have had a lot of players leave over the past 2 seasons.
Also on the grapevine is that Tony MacGeorge is coaching Hampton Rovers.
Grandstand Guru
23 Oct 2006, 16:34
Have heard similar musings - both are believed to be hard on the recruitment front (not surprisingly!). I think Old Carey will be quite strong if they can retain most of their list...some really good young players. Old Camberwell could be a bit of a smoky while I tip Monash to be a big slider with a number of retirements...
overtheline
24 Oct 2006, 10:23
Does anyone know anything about the apology on the SBMT website re something they wrote in their club newsletter prior to the grand finals?
What did they say and who did they offend?
Flanker
17 Nov 2006, 13:44
Red Roy, what can you tell us about Paul HARRIS, the new assistant coach at the Reds??
overtheline
17 Nov 2006, 19:11
Red Roy, what can you tell us about Paul HARRIS, the new assistant coach at the Reds??
I think you will find that Roy might have left for greener pastures across town in a higher grade! Plenty of positive moves on the recruiting front for the Reds and let me assure you there is a concerted effort to make the move to B section this year.
Spencer Johnson
23 Nov 2006, 11:35
I think you will find that Roy might have left for greener pastures across town in a higher grade! Plenty of positive moves on the recruiting front for the Reds and let me assure you there is a concerted effort to make the move to B section this year.
C GRADE 2007 - A NEW ERA FOR THE 'WATERSHED' SECTION -
Whitefriars - back down to C. Not a club who will stay here long. Will return in 2008 back to B by making the GF. Good at home.
Mazenod - struggle. Big ground will suit some opponents.
Fitzroy Reds - have to improve 2nd year in C. Learnt from mistakes and a clean out at the top ensures new life goes into the Brunswick boys
Monash - can not have them. Lost keys leaders and a young side. D garde beckons . . .
Camberwell - had some good wins and massive losses in 2006. Too hard to follow. No.
Carey - it's all happening, good players everywhere. Kanga rarely fails at any venture he undertakes. A chance for sure for top 4.
Rupertswood - young keen, massive home advantage. Won't be disgraced.
Ormond - will they ever cope with injuries ? 2007 may tell more. Handy side though
Parkdale - the boys are ageing, key players lost. I'm off them for 2007 and a relegation battle may be closer than they think.
NOBS - will find year 2 in C Grade easier. No surprise to see them improve
I'll call it real early - it is after all a raffle for 2007. Who stands out here ?
Friars
Ormond
Carey
Reds
Camberwell
NOBS
Parkdale
Rupertswood
Mazenod
Monash
eddiesmith
23 Nov 2006, 11:46
No contest, Friars will definately take out the flag with ease
overtheline
23 Nov 2006, 12:03
C GRADE 2007 - A NEW ERA FOR THE 'WATERSHED' SECTION -
Whitefriars - back down to C. Not a club who will stay here long. Will return in 2008 back to B by making the GF. Good at home.
Mazenod - struggle. Big ground will suit some opponents.
Fitzroy Reds - have to improve 2nd year in C. Learnt from mistakes and a clean out at the top ensures new life goes into the Brunswick boys
Monash - can not have them. Lost keys leaders and a young side. D garde beckons . . .
Camberwell - had some good wins and massive losses in 2006. Too hard to follow. No.
Carey - it's all happening, good players everywhere. Kanga rarely fails at any venture he undertakes. A chance for sure for top 4.
Rupertswood - young keen, massive home advantage. Won't be disgraced.
Ormond - will they ever cope with injuries ? 2007 may tell more. Handy side though
Parkdale - the boys are ageing, key players lost. I'm off them for 2007 and a relegation battle may be closer than they think.
NOBS - will find year 2 in C Grade easier. No surprise to see them improve
I'll call it real early - it is after all a raffle for 2007. Who stands out here ?
Friars
Ormond
Carey
Reds
Camberwell
NOBS
Parkdale
Rupertswood
Mazenod
Monash
Spencer,
A fairly good summary. Agree re the Friars. Heard big noises from out of Donvale and they will be hard to beat. You have underestimated the Reds though Spencer as a top two finish is assured given the neccessary changes at the top and aggressive recruiting.
Pretty much agree with the rest.
Fitzroy Reds
Whitefriars
Carey
Ormond
Camberwell
Rupertswood
Mazenod
NObs
Monash
Parkdale
Spencer,
A fairly good summary. Agree re the Friars. Heard big noises from out of Donvale and they will be hard to beat. You have underestimated the Reds though Spencer as a top two finish is assured given the neccessary changes at the top and aggressive recruiting.
Pretty much agree with the rest.
Fitzroy Reds
Whitefriars
Carey
Ormond
Camberwell
Rupertswood
Mazenod
NObs
Monash
Parkdale
I see we have been highly rated first-up! Will give us something to aim at...Looking forward to being up in C Grade and hoping for a big year.
chicken machine
23 Nov 2006, 14:11
i have heard rumors of careys recruitment campaign and by the sounds of it will have some first rate players of ex RFC & coburg tigers calibre is this rumor true? if so and they manage to keep the rest of their list from last yr i think they may finish top 2. should be a very tight and interesting 2007
Beefy - Boonie
23 Nov 2006, 21:36
How did Mitch Hough go this year for Camberwell?
Played against him three years ago in the CMFL - used to go alright!!!
Monkeyboy
23 Nov 2006, 22:24
Think OCamb will make finals. Is it true the Ol dScotch Captain of this year will be playing with them in 07?
Spencer Johnson
24 Nov 2006, 12:41
Carey had some good Under 19's in 2005-2006 and need them to step up. Overall they have a good top 10 but need some pace for this league. They need a genuine tall forward to trouble for a GF.
Top 4 for sure - no question.
Monkeyboy
24 Nov 2006, 14:19
Carey had some good Under 19's in 2005-2006 and need them to step up. Overall they have a good top 10 but need some pace for this league. They need a genuine tall forward to trouble for a GF.
Top 4 for sure - no question.
Have you ever seen Carey??? I watched the GF and they had 3 massive forwards...Bull, Angus and Wood. All 6 foot 5 plus. And the comps leading goalkicker Parton (the regular full forward) was watching on the sidelines injured.
Tall forwards and dangerous forwards are the least of their concerns.
Pace? Looked good on grand final day.
I think Reds, Whitefriars, Ormond and Old Camberwell will make the 4. Old Carey are a chance if there list has improved by 20% or they have marked improvements from the under 19's. May sneak into the 4, but mid table more likely. They were in D2 3 years ago, so i am sure a consolidating year in C would be all the club would be looking for, before trying to get into B Grade the year after.
Seem like a very young club, so will be strong for a long time. Unders are playing Division 1 for the first time this year i think.
Spencer Johnson
24 Nov 2006, 14:41
Unders were beaten for pace by Camberwell Under 19's in 2006 GF - 11 goals. Their 'good' players for the year had a bad finals series supposedly.
Wood - 6'5 ? ? Really ? ?
Parton remains injured badly - 2007 maybe a non event for him ? ? His loss over the course of a whole season would be a tradegy. Nothing less.
Where Carey were 3 years ago is a not really worth discussing - the interesting stat. remains they have a lot of good solid players aged 24-28 and that is a great thing. St Bedes had this also - you don't want too many guys aged 21 and below playing C Grade Seniors. It can be a long year for a young amateur footballer.
Monkeyboy
24 Nov 2006, 14:53
Unders were beaten for pace by Camberwell Under 19's in 2006 GF - 11 goals. Their 'good' players for the year had a bad finals series supposedly.
Only 3-4 Unders will play in the senior side in my opinion
Looked huge. Hansie who posted earlier is a Carey man. He can help us here. Bull and Angus are big boys. They had a massive forward line
Parton remains injured badly - 2007 maybe a non event for him ? ? His loss over the course of a whole season would be a tradegy. Nothing less.
Certainly would. I think he will comeback mid year
Where Carey were 3 years ago is a not really worth discussing
Yes it is. Trying to get from d2 to a grade is a massive task. It will take time. If i was involved at Carey my first aim would be to avoid relaegation in my first year in C and just consolidate. Finals would be a bonus.
- the interesting stat. remains they have a lot of good solid players aged 24-28 and that is a great thing. St Bedes had this also - you don't want too many guys aged 21 and below playing C Grade Seniors. It can be a long year for a young amateur footballer
Agree. I think only 3-4 young kids will play in the 1's.
Looked huge. Hansie who posted earlier is a Carey man. He can help us here. Bull and Angus are big boys. They had a massive forward line
Yes it is. Trying to get from d2 to a grade is a massive task. It will take time. If i was involved at Carey my first aim would be to avoid relaegation in my first year in C and just consolidate. Finals would be a bonus.
- the interesting stat. remains they have a lot of good solid players aged 24-28 and that is a great thing. St Bedes had this also - you don't want too many guys aged 21 and below playing C Grade Seniors. It can be a long year for a young amateur footballer
Yeah, Woody would probably touch the 6'5" mark.
Spencer Johnson
24 Nov 2006, 16:10
Under 19's who have graduated or current ones ? Their Unders in 2005 and 2006 did very well. Won a lot of games . . . . not finals per say obviously.
Are they definitely Section 1 in 2007 (Premier Section as it now called?)
Interesting. That would good for them to be exposed to the better sides again.
Blacks - Reds - Monash
They all have great stories from moving 2-3 grades in quick time. Blacks have gone up at such a rate they do now boast a B Grade reserves flag - not bad at all. Weren't they D2 in 2000 ?
Spencer Johnson
24 Nov 2006, 16:16
One interesting thing in C is the teams that have been there a while now . . . i.e more than say 3 seasons
Camberwell I think have been there 4 and shooting for 5th straight season in C ?
Parkdale - this will be 4 in 2007 ?
I am not sure other sides have been there that long without moving up or down.
Jack Mihocek
27 Nov 2006, 10:27
Rumours were around that Parton may have been Xav bound for 2007??