View Full Version : C Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

Scribe
9 Apr 2006, 16:21
I am a new supporter to the VAFA as my wife is an old Fitzroy supporter and we are coming down from Bendigo to watch the Fitzroy Reds.

Can someone do a run down of each team and their ins and outs for the year.

Thanks and GO REDS! :thumbsu:

Caveman,

I will do my best in preparation for the round 1 AF column.
Have so far received material from 3 of the 10 clubs, and will hopefully get more before the Tuesday deadline.

To be brutally honest, it's pretty difficult expecting ins and outs from each team for their sides, you'd be lucky to get that from the VFL teams, let alone C section!!

Regards

Fraser Cameron
C section columnist 2006

caveman
9 Apr 2006, 19:44
Fair call about the ins and outs mate. As a new supporter to the VAFA I just want an overview of all the teams in C section.

Thanks! :thumbsu:

CFE
9 Apr 2006, 20:44
Fair to say Hampton may struggle this season, Ormond gave them a good old touch up on sat. 12-14 goal thumping, doesn't look good for the Hampton boys, only 1 or 2 players missing as well from them.

Apparently St Pauls (SFL) beat Ajax on sat too.

Mobbenfuhrer
10 Apr 2006, 13:24
Folks!

Please note that I've had to remove something upwards of 15 posts from the last two pages of this forum, and hand out a couple of forced rests, just to contain the spread of the attacks.

Try to keep a lid on the aggro!

Cheers,

Kev

Red Roy
10 Apr 2006, 14:54
Has anyone heard anything about Parkdale. The St Bedes boys reckon they will get relegated,but last year they were pretty good. Is Kinsella such a big loss that they will go down? What other players do they have.They certainly dont have Sammy Anstey.

Good question local boy. Being from the other side of town i don't know much about these guys either. Everyone in the ammos is obviously aware of Macca, what other good players to they have?

overtheline
17 Apr 2006, 12:27
Good question local boy. Being from the other side of town i don't know much about these guys either. Everyone in the ammos is obviously aware of Macca, what other good players to they have?

ok guys, round one...what do you think?

Parkdale v Ajax,,Ajax by plenty for mine, even at parkdale

Reds v Parade. Reds by even more

Monash v Camberwell.. Monash in a tight one

St bedes v Hampton.. Bedas easily

Nobs V Ormond.. Ormond comfortably

big sav
18 Apr 2006, 08:55
Agree with your R1 predictions OTL. Not sure about margins but I think you've got all the winners.

Keen Observer
18 Apr 2006, 12:08

Parkdale to frighten Jacka's as they did late last year
Parade in a close one over the new kids on the block.
Camberwell easily over the great unknown
St Bedes by 5 goals. Dont think Hampton will be as bad as everyone expects.
Ormond by a few.
Another interesting year for C Section !!

Red Roy
18 Apr 2006, 12:13

Parkdale V Ajax - Jackas in a tight one
Reds v Parade - Reds in a canter
Monash v Camberwell - Camberwell just- Batzloff is back
St Bedes v hampton - St Bedes - tough local derby
Nobs v Ormond - nobs at Brunswick

Keen Observer
18 Apr 2006, 12:22

Blacks couldnt beat Parade in 05, how will Reds do it ??

Red Roy
18 Apr 2006, 12:29
Blacks couldnt beat Parade in 05, how will Reds do it ??

Better Team than Blacks.

greentree
18 Apr 2006, 13:01

Parkdale,in a close one
Reds, but they will find it a bit tougher than last year
Camberwell.
StBedes easy on their dung heap.
NOBs maybe, tough one.

Mobbenfuhrer
18 Apr 2006, 13:42
From someone who doesn't feel he really knows ... yet.

Parkdale v Ajax --> Ajax
Reds v Parade --> Reds
Monash v Camberwell --> Monash
St bedes v Hampton --> St Bedes
Nobs V Ormond --> NOBs

Will be interesting to see how all these mobs get out of the gate.

Scribe
18 Apr 2006, 14:20
Make sure you grab your copy of the Amateur Footballer on Saturday whichever match you're watching for my (slightly) controversial run down on all the sides in C section for 2006.

As a sneak preview, I'm happy to post my tips here as well:

NOB/SPC
AJAX
St BedesMT
Monash
Old Paradians

Best of luck to all sides in what I hope will be a cracking start.

oldtimer
19 Apr 2006, 00:29
Better Team than Blacks.

Get your hand off it Red Roy.

everyone knows that Fitzroy have trouble with tough sides. Eg - Banyule 2004, Prahan 2005.

Blacks were awesome - no losses in 04, 2 losses in 05

Wouldn't get close!!!!

Red Roy
19 Apr 2006, 11:22
Get your hand off it Red Roy.

everyone knows that Fitzroy have trouble with tough sides. Eg - Banyule 2004, Prahan 2005.

Blacks were awesome - no losses in 04, 2 losses in 05

Wouldn't get close!!!!

Old Timer,

Prahran Beat Reds once in 05 and then got pumped on the return leg.

i am not disparaging the mighty blacks, I think they will continue their rise, but Reds are hot on their heels. Look for some ding dong battles in A Section from these two in about 3 years.

Reds have recruited at least a dozen blokes who will go into their ones from their premiership team last year.

oldtimer
19 Apr 2006, 11:44
Old Timer,

Prahran Beat Reds once in 05 and then got pumped on the return leg.

i am not disparaging the mighty blacks, I think they will continue their rise, but Reds are hot on their heels. Look for some ding dong battles in A Section from these two in about 3 years.

Reds have recruited at least a dozen blokes who will go into their ones from their premiership team last year.

Didn't you lose to AJAX a couple of weeks ago in a practice match!!

Don't take C Grade for granted. Let's get through C Grade before you start talking about A Grade. That is something Burgs would be preaching!!!

HawkeEye
19 Apr 2006, 15:32
I hear that Fitzroy Reds have recruited very well and will be a force in C grade this year. Look out for a bloke named Daniel Zacek - have played with him in the ammos before and he is a very good footballer. Expect him to figure prominently in the league b and f.

Is that the bloke who played 2s for NOBS back a couple of years ago. Then went overseas and now is back playing at reds. Dont think he will take out the league medal.

HawkeEye
19 Apr 2006, 15:34
Big news today is that Daniel Zacek is set to leave Fitzroy Reds to sign with his old club North Old Boys. Will be a blow for the roys as I hear that Zacek has been starring in the practice matches. I think that NOBs may be a bit of a smoky this year - they are always likely to have 2 or 3 guns turn up on their doorstep looking for a game, especially now that they have the alliance with St Pats. Will be interested to see how they go down in the Cs

Ahh ok, he is back at NOBS, good to see.

NOBS do seem to get a few players who just rock up before the season.

ITSMYNAME
19 Apr 2006, 20:01
here are my tips, if anyone really cares....

ajax to pump parkdale

parade to fall over the line against the reds

camberwell and monash will be pretty tight so i tip a draw

st bedes will easily dispose of hampton on the scg

nobs to take the points over ormond

thats all i got, good luck to all, hopefully no serious injuries round one

brian speaking
19 Apr 2006, 22:00
Didn't you lose to AJAX a couple of weeks ago in a practice match!!

Don't take C Grade for granted. Let's get through C Grade before you start talking about A Grade. That is something Burgs would be preaching!!!

Gents, they don't call C Section Crunch grade for nothing. I honestly believe it is the hardest grade to get out of. A lot of teams stagnate there for years. Blacks, St Kevins and Marcellin are really the only ones to fly through there in the last 15 years. There are some awesome players in C Section, ex AFL in fact. For this reason, I am tipping Old Camberwell on the back of Loats, Taylor, Lowerson and Batzloff to win the flag and get out of purgatory. It's worth your Saturday arvo to get down and check out Batzloff, in the top 3 Rucks in the VAFA and Loats, an absolute beautiful kick for goal.
The Reds are in for a shock and will struggle to win 8 games.

overtheline
19 Apr 2006, 22:06
Gents, they don't call C Section Crunch grade for nothing. I honestly believe it is the hardest grade to get out of. A lot of teams stagnate there for years. Blacks, St Kevins and Marcellin are really the only ones to fly through there in the last 15 years. There are some awesome players in C Section, ex AFL in fact. For this reason, I am tipping Old Camberwell on the back of Loats, Taylor, Lowerson and Batzloff to win the flag and get out of purgatory. It's worth your Saturday arvo to get down and check out Batzloff, in the top 3 Rucks in the VAFA and Loats, an absolute beautiful kick for goal.

Sorry Brian, but the reds will win more than that. Will give Parade a pumping first up and go airborne from there. Richard Taylor has retired( I think!) and they have lost too many to be a force. Need more than three good players Why so negative on the reds? Both their sides will feature in finals.

zoofest43
20 Apr 2006, 02:59
selections Round 1.

Ormond
Ajax
St.Bedes
Camberwell
Fitzroy

Good things
St. Bedes
Fitroy

Long Range Tips
Relegation
Hampton and North Old Boys

Grand Final
Ajax vs. Camberwell

Medal Winner

David Mitchell Old Camberwell

greentree
20 Apr 2006, 10:03

Gee Red
For someone who doesn't know anything about parkdales players you seem to have plenty of thoughts on them ( top 30 thread )

brian speaking
20 Apr 2006, 10:07
Sorry Brian, but the reds will win more than that. Will give Parade a pumping first up and go airborne from there. Richard Taylor has retired( I think!) and they have lost too many to be a force. Need more than three good players Why so negative on the reds? Both their sides will feature in finals.

Hey, didn.t mean to be negative on the Reds, I hope they do go through and win the flag, it would be great for the competition and footy in general. I just think it will be harder than what a lot of people think. Blacks did it on the back of around a dozen ex A Grade players and a smattering of ex AFL and VFL players. Unless the Reds can offer the same I am not sure they can go straight up.
Good luck to them though.

Slay Master G
20 Apr 2006, 11:01
Hey, didn.t mean to be negative on the Reds, I hope they do go through and win the flag, it would be great for the competition and footy in general. I just think it will be harder than what a lot of people think. Blacks did it on the back of around a dozen ex A Grade players and a smattering of ex AFL and VFL players. Unless the Reds can offer the same I am not sure they can go straight up.
Good luck to them though.

Brian

I think you'll find that Old Essendon shot straight from D to B over the 2000-2001 seasons. I think B grade is the toughest section to get out of, even if you go to A, history suggests that instant relegation is likely. Just ask DeLaSalle.

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Apr 2006, 11:06
Definitely A Section is the hardest one to get promoted from.

Red Roy
20 Apr 2006, 11:33
Gee Red
For someone who doesn't know anything about parkdales players you seem to have plenty of thoughts on them ( top 30 thread )

If you actually read my quote i only mention two Parkdale players who are mentioned by Brian Speaking as havng the ability to be guns in A Grade. As i have mentioned, anyone with any sort of Ammo football knowledge has heard of Macca and from the rebuking i got from Brian about Sullivan (top 30 thread) it would seem my original question was justified, i obviously don't know much about them!!

Red Roy
20 Apr 2006, 11:37

Brian, brian, brian,

I agree with you that the Camberwell players you mentioned are guns, but why didn't they go anywhere last year? Didn't even make the prelim. Camberwell have not won a game in the pre-season, got smacked by the reds who had about half a side in and hamtpn beat them as well.

Again, i agree these guys a great players, can't see them taking Camberwell to B grade though

Son of a Gun
20 Apr 2006, 12:27

Agree with C Grade being tough though you'll find a number of teams come up from D and then get promoted up from C the next year. In the past 15 years they are:

Friars (91)
Nodders (93)
Old Ivanhoe (95)
Beaumaris (98)
Friars (99)
OEG (01)
Blacks (05)

Having said that, in the other 8 seasons promoted teams stayed in the grade and Reds may well have a good year in C followed by another in C in 07 (we'll soon find out if its only hype or if they are genuine contenders).

overtheline
21 Apr 2006, 13:27
If you actually read my quote i only mention two Parkdale players who are mentioned by Brian Speaking as havng the ability to be guns in A Grade. As i have mentioned, anyone with any sort of Ammo football knowledge has heard of Macca and from the rebuking i got from Brian about Sullivan (top 30 thread) it would seem my original question was justified, i obviously don't know much about them!!

Heard last night that Glen Porteous( Parade) has retired? Can anyone confirm? would be a massive loss on the back of Harford's retirement.

Keen Observer
21 Apr 2006, 14:49
Heard last night that Glen Porteous( Parade) has retired? Can anyone confirm? would be a massive loss on the back of Harford's retirement.

Retired ? No !
Massive loss? Has missed many games over last few years but still managed to kick 44 in '05. Has averaged abt 3 goals per game over last 2 years.
Harford? Huge loss !!!!

Guru Joffa
22 Apr 2006, 21:35
Written off my most on this forum, but what can I say... well played Parkdale!!!

GetSmart
23 Apr 2006, 00:56
Lets not get excited about parkdale now. Word is Jackas were that bad its not funny. To win by 7 goals and only kick 12 for the game aint nothing to write home about. Reds had an impressive win. Tigers had an even more impressive win. 17 yr old collins bagged 7 from half forward without even trying, 4 of them from the boundary. Other results were so so whats everyones thoughts

overtheline
23 Apr 2006, 00:58

These comments re Reds and Camberwell are looking just a little silly after round one. Wouldn't you agree? Only 7 to go for the reds!

greentree
23 Apr 2006, 10:01
Lets not get excited about parkdale now. Word is Jackas were that bad its not funny. To win by 7 goals and only kick 12 for the game aint nothing to write home about. Reds had an impressive win. Tigers had an even more impressive win. 17 yr old collins bagged 7 from half forward without even trying, 4 of them from the boundary. Other results were so so whats everyones thoughts

No one is getting excited, parkdale were picked by many to finish near the bottom so I guess it is a good win against AJAX which many had as a top 4 side.
To win by 7 kicking only 12 shows a good defence, ever thought the ajax players played as well as they were allowed to.
Gee, give some credit mate, did one of the Parkdale players do your girlfriend or something.
As for 17 old Collins kicking 4 from the boundary sounds like a good team player, hasn't he heard of kicking to the top of the square from a tight angle.

brian speaking
23 Apr 2006, 11:41
No one is getting excited, parkdale were picked by many to finish near the bottom so I guess it is a good win against AJAX which many had as a top 4 side.
To win by 7 kicking only 12 shows a good defence, ever thought the ajax players played as well as they were allowed to.
Gee, give some credit mate, did one of the Parkdale players do your girlfriend or something.
As for 17 old Collins kicking 4 from the boundary sounds like a good team player, hasn't he heard of kicking to the top of the square from a tight angle.

Great wins by The Reds, Monash and The Vultures. Could Monash be the sleeping giants? Lets hope that that they all keep it up for the season. Best for Parkdale P Sullivan and Mac George. I also have it on good authority from one D Goodchild that Collins is in fact 19 years old.

GetSmart
23 Apr 2006, 11:50
Monash could well be the sleeping giant and suprise a few teams this year and also the two teams from D Grade look like they will handle themselves very well this year with impressive wins. As for Collins he has to be 17 as he is playing in our under 17's on sundays so i cant see why a 19 year would be playing under 17's.

SeymourLions
23 Apr 2006, 21:31
Great wins by The Reds, Monash and The Vultures. Could Monash be the sleeping giants? Lets hope that that they all keep it up for the season. Best for Parkdale P Sullivan and Mac George. I also have it on good authority from one D Goodchild that Collins is in fact 19 years old.

He is 17, he goes to Haileybury College.

overtheline
24 Apr 2006, 16:01

Not a bad prediction to start with ?? Reds to fire and Camberwell no good!

chicken machine
24 Apr 2006, 16:50
has been an interesting start to the season. With a couple of big wins i guess all the goss about mentones recruting campaign must be to some extent quite true with their massive win on saturday.

greentree
24 Apr 2006, 19:46
has been an interesting start to the season. With a couple of big wins i guess all the goss about mentones recruting campaign must be to some extent quite true with their massive win on saturday.
Anyone go to any games that can give a review, I live in QLD so can not get to any myself.
Looks like a interesting season, Hope its not a one horse race, at least with all the hype every team that plays St Bedes should be up for it.
Don't think many teams go through C grade undefeated.

Red Roy
25 Apr 2006, 13:28
Be afraid C Section, be very Afraid - Reds smashed last years Preliminary Finalist by 10 goals. Bring on b grade

FIEMJO
25 Apr 2006, 13:50
Be afraid C Section, be very Afraid - Reds smashed last years Preliminary Finalist by 10 goals. Bring on b grade
Having seen a half of the Reds and a qtr of ST.B's on Sat I wouldn't be getting carried away! Parade where a 5-6 goal worse team than last year and Hampton's team was nearly the worst I've seen in C grade over the past 5 years, so to lose by only 15 goals wasn't bad. Word is that Monash where excellent - still managed to win easily enough with Loats kicking 7...

overtheline
26 Apr 2006, 10:57

Guys round two beckons. four from five not bad, with Ajax letting me down. The retirement of Julian certainly doesn't help and they did have more scoring shots than Parkdale, so it wasn't as bad as it appeared. Gerry Green is never a happy hunting ground for them, so don't read too much into it.

Predictions: Ajax v Reds (ep) Reds...but expect a very different Ajax at elsternwick and it will be much closer than many expect

Ormond v Monash-good wins for both first up but fancy Monash, even at the Gunn.50/50 game though

Camberwell v Parkdale. The dales by plenty over the hapless wellers, who from all reports, are very ordinary.

Rovers v nobs Interesting one but hampton just at home. Both clubs struggling

Parade v St bedes..Bedas but Parade will be very, very competitive at home. Different side completely at Garvey

Red Roy
26 Apr 2006, 18:42
Guys round two beckons. four from five not bad, with Ajax letting me down. The retirement of Julian certainly doesn't help and they did have more scoring shots than Parkdale, so it wasn't as bad as it appeared. Gerry Green is never a happy hunting ground for them, so don't read too much into it.

Predictions: Ajax v Reds (ep) Reds...but expect a very different Ajax at elsternwick and it will be much closer than many expect

Ormond v Monash-good wins for both first up but fancy Monash, even at the Gunn.50/50 game though

Camberwell v Parkdale. The dales by plenty over the hapless wellers, who from all reports, are very ordinary.

Parade v St bedes..Bedas but Parade will be very, very competitive at home. Different side completely at Garvey

Jackas v Reds - Reds in a canter (as predicted v parade)

Ormond v Monash - ormond at home - just

camberwell v Parkdale - parky, camberwell to be relegated (from parkdales twos result I hope they don't get many injuries)

rovers v nobs - hampton at home

Parade v St Bedes - tigers in a tough one. Parade will be very keen

Keen Observer
28 Apr 2006, 10:44
Jackas v Reds - Reds in a canter (as predicted v parade)
Ormond v Monash - ormond at home - just
camberwell v Parkdale - parky, camberwell to be relegated (from parkdales twos result I hope they don't get many injuries)
rovers v nobs - hampton at home
Parade v St Bedes - tigers in a tough one. Parade will be very keen

Ajax V Reds - Ajax will be better at S'cover but Reds look ok. Reds to win.
Ormond V Monash - Refuse to believe Monash any good. Ormond at home.
C'well V Parkdale - Parkdale always begin well. C'well gone !!
Hampton V NOBs - Hampton cldnt be that bad. Hampton at home.
Parade V St Bedes - Parade still in first gear. Bedas easily.

greentree
28 Apr 2006, 12:18
Ajax V Reds - Ajax will be better at S'cover but Reds look ok. Reds to win.
Ormond V Monash - Refuse to believe Monash any good. Ormond at home.
C'well V Parkdale - Parkdale always begin well. C'well gone !!
Hampton V NOBs - Hampton cldnt be that bad. Hampton at home.
Parade V St Bedes - Parade still in first gear. Bedas easily.

REDS, Ajaxs to hopefully improve but dont think they will repeat pre-season result.
ORMOND
VULTURES, although had some bad loses away last season.
HAMPTON
STBEDES, again didnt travel well away from their dug heap.

Mobbenfuhrer
28 Apr 2006, 12:50
Ajax V Reds - Reds, not brimming with arrogance here but Reds looked a capable outfit last week
Ormond V Monash - Ormond
C'well V Parkdale - Parkdale
Hampton V NOBs - NOBs
Parade V St Bedes - St Bedes

ITSMYNAME
28 Apr 2006, 16:02
reds vs ajax, reds easily
ormond vs monash, i'm going monash for the win at the gunn
parkdale vs camberwell, parkdale, cos camberwell arent well at all
hampton vs nobs, nobs in a close one
parade vs st bedes, tough road trip, but still tigers for mine

oc37
28 Apr 2006, 16:28
Dont underestimate the Wells. They were jumped last week, with a virtually new side .They have several key players to return like Matty Whitehead. They will get stronger each week, and have a lot of very capable talls.
Reds will go close to the flag with the tigers and Ormond will make top four. it is then a lottery.

CFE
30 Apr 2006, 19:16
Nice tight 1 point win to the 'Monds over an impressive Monash yesterday. We did our best to lose it after having most of the ball the afternoon but not putting it on the board.

Called in to EP today to see some of the Ajax/Reds game. Ajax in a canter by about 8 goals. A very different looking Reds team to the one that flogged us in the D1 GF last year. Not sure if injuries played any part but with 4 snr teams that shouldn't really matter you would think.

overtheline
30 Apr 2006, 20:06

Ok, on the face of it one from five doesn't look great. I did warn, however, that Ajax would be very competitve at elsternwick and that the Ormond game would be 50/50.
Can't believe the Parkdale result? What is going on there? The Ajax result ( in both grades!) might just quieten down some of the Reds people who have been going a bit over the top.( although I still think they will play off!)

baxter
1 May 2006, 15:03
Went out and watched a bit of the Wells Vs Parky game. Loats on fire, impossible to stop and got top delivery. Parky looked flat and struggled, but still could have won. Only 14 ponits the difference in the last quarter. Then Wells ran away

scroda
1 May 2006, 16:28
Went out to the jackas and reds game yesterday.

Except for the first 5 minutes of the game and a four goal purple patch in the last quarter, the Reds were completely outplayed. Ajax should have won by well more than the six goal margin.

The problem for the jackas this year was always going to be the loss of Kirzner and this looked really bad in round one. But, what most of you don't know is that ajax's other two tall forwards were late withdrawals in round one. So whilst a midfield of lewski, ritterman, janover, routman, vanaken et al easily held their own, nothing went right in the forward line and the scoreline of 3.17 tipified this.

Round 2 was very different with Rapaport back and the young (and big) Bloom providing a focal point kicking 3 goals and pulling down a few big marks.

Israelsohn and captain Gold look the goods in the back half and when that jackas midfield gets going, they will be hard to beat. Again consistency seems like being Ajax's biggest enemy.

As for the Reds, I can't say I was too impressed. They looked very slow and had trouble hitting targets. Ajax played dry weather football and completely out-ran the opposition.

Red Roy
1 May 2006, 17:00
a shocker from the Reds. worst performance in two years. won't happen again. Any reports from teh St Bedes Parade Game? Looks like the tigers had plenty of scoring shots. Parade are battling, have had a tough draw though.

Scribe
1 May 2006, 23:08
Sadly, after getting rather excited upstairs at the pre-match luncheon, with Peter Hille telling me tales of Redders' glory, and being surrounded by some true Ajax legends, the Jackas really put paid to the contest within the first 20 minutes of the day.

Given how much rain had been falling prior to the game, the skill level of the Jackas in the wet was simply awesome. I was very impressed with Bloom, both Janke boys, Routman, Israelshon, Gold and the obligatory Ritterman. With Rosen to return soon, things are looking up for Ajax. All they need is consistency in their output and they'll be thereabouts for sure.

I trust the Redders brains' trust will consign that one to the memory bank ASAP. Whilst Burgs' quarter time address was well measured, with just enough punch at the tail end, his charges only rallied for 10 or so minutes before the Jackas resumed control of the corridor. It was simply a case of playing out time after that.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
2 May 2006, 13:18
Reports from Garvey suggested a workmanlike effort from the Tigers..Parade flooded extensively early in the game in an attempt to stifle the Tigers...any win at Garvey is a good one and Parade will improve as the season continues...don't read too much into all the 'hype' previously documented about the Tigers as much of it has been generated by shall we say ' neighbours' with too much time on their hands...take it from someone who is involved that we are working hard both on and off the field to reverse the results of last year and with such efforts the results will take care of them selves

Supa Frank
2 May 2006, 17:13
Word is the Parkdale boys were pretty disappointed about Saturdays loss. At one end Loats on fire and at the other, Old Man MacGeorge kickless!!!!

Red Roy
3 May 2006, 18:22
Word is the Parkdale boys were pretty disappointed about Saturdays loss. At one end Loats on fire and at the other, Old Man MacGeorge kickless!!!!

Good effort if they kept macca kickless. I know he will be the focus for most teams when they play Parkdale. Can't see them kicking a winning score if he doesn't bag a few - 5 in round 1 - they win. 0 in round 2 - they lose.

Alphonse
3 May 2006, 22:31
Congrats to NOBSPC for their first win. Never easy to take points from the coastal clubs at home. From all reports the team is starting to take shape under Tim Killworth and more wins are on the way.

Kudos also to bigfooty's Cameo King, the veteran nobs reserves CHF kicked 5 and was sent off.

Also pleasing was the Reds loss. There is a hint of OEG in B Grade about the Reds in C section, I think the reds have reached their ceiling for now. Looking forward to the rednob cup which is only a few weeks away.

Keen Observer
5 May 2006, 12:33
Tipping poorly at the moment with only 5 correct from 10 games. However, feeling fairly confident this week as teams begin to sort themselves out.

NOBSPC V Parade - Tight but think Parade will claw themselves up from bottom of ladder.
St Bedes V Ajax - Ajax in a close one, & to shorten even further in P'ship betting.
Ormond V OCamb - C'well are back in town !
Monash V Hampton - Uni boys to prevail against undermanned Rovers
Reds V Parkdale - Reds will bounce back at home.

Mobbenfuhrer
5 May 2006, 13:54
I think I'm on 5 as well ...

NOBSPC V Parade - NOBSPC
St Bedes V Ajax - St Bedes
Ormond V OCamb - Ormond
Monash V Hampton - Monash
Reds V Parkdale - Reds

Tough as Nails
5 May 2006, 14:02
life in a northern town by Dream Academy.

overtheline
5 May 2006, 17:23
Tipping poorly at the moment with only 5 correct from 10 games. However, feeling fairly confident this week as teams begin to sort themselves out.

NOBSPC V Parade - Tight but think Parade will claw themselves up from bottom of ladder.
St Bedes V Ajax - Ajax in a close one, & to shorten even further in P'ship betting.
Ormond V OCamb - C'well are back in town !
Monash V Hampton - Uni boys to prevail against undermanned Rovers
Reds V Parkdale - Reds will bounce back at home.

Yeh tough round keen, with you on Reds( poor Parkdale copping them at home on the rebound!), Monash and Parade. Don't think Ajax can win at St bedes and neither can Camberwell at Gunn. so I differ by two- St bedes and Ormond to win!

Red Roy
5 May 2006, 18:02
NOBSPC V Parade - Parade by 5 goals
St Bedes V Ajax - St Bedes in a tight one
Ormond V OCamb - Ormond, another close one
Monash V Hampton - Monash - Rovers to D Grade
Reds V Parkdale - Reds - God Help Parkdale.

greentree
8 May 2006, 12:08
NOBSPC V Parade - Parade by 5 goals
St Bedes V Ajax - St Bedes in a tight one
Ormond V OCamb - Ormond, another close one
Monash V Hampton - Monash - Rovers to D Grade
Reds V Parkdale - Reds - God Help Parkdale.

Interesting year ahead, after 3 rounds every team has a win on the board and only 2 undefeated side, Ormond win a 1 point win in their 3 wins & StBedes are looking the goods ( but not unbeatable ).
Reds look like all the hype at the start of the season was just that, struggled to beat the vultures at home,(lucky they didnt kick straighter ) Comp looks to be one of the most even in years except StBedes who might run away with the spoils.
On another note, any one remember a side not kicking a goal in its first 3 games of the year (Parkdales twos)

Supa Frank
8 May 2006, 14:56
Interesting year ahead, after 3 rounds every team has a win on the board and only 2 undefeated side, Ormond win a 1 point win in their 3 wins & StBedes are looking the goods ( but not unbeatable ).
Reds look like all the hype at the start of the season was just that, struggled to beat the vultures at home,(lucky they didnt kick straighter ) Comp looks to be one of the most even in years except StBedes who might run away with the spoils.
On another note, any one remember a side not kicking a goal in its first 3 games of the year (Parkdales twos)

Tony MacGeorge may have to drop himself just so the twos can kick a goal. Do they play St Bedes this week?

The_Cat
8 May 2006, 16:36
Tony MacGeorge may have to drop himself just so the twos can kick a goal. Do they play St Bedes this week?

Would have to be some kind of record surely.

However, the news is, there's was a slab up for grabs for the 1st player to kick a goal, going in to their game against the Reds.

This has now jackpotted to 2 slabs if someone can break the drought this week.

I'm tipping it may safely go to 3 slabs considering the tigers 2's form.

Keen Observer
8 May 2006, 17:05
Any news on Monash ?
What are their strengths & weaknesses ?

greentree
8 May 2006, 17:07

However, the news is, there's was a slab up for grabs for the 1st player to kick a goal, going in to their game against the Reds.

Gee, 3 slabs, almost enough to get me out of retirement,looks like is how parky is fielding a side in the two, Phil Emment must be 50 now and Dazza Sheehan couldnt get a kick 20 years ago,both have played in the last couple of weeks.

Serafini Spirit
8 May 2006, 17:23
Sorry Greentree, what hype are you talking about with the Reds ? I heard that they were going to be pretty competitive, and at 2 wins and 1 loss, and sitting 3rd, that's pretty competitive.

They flogged the Paradians who were in the Prelim last year (I think). Got a reality check from AJAX, which is fine, they are a pretty good side, and the Reds did have half a side missing. Then they beat Parkdale by a reasonable amount on Saturday. In the 3 quarters I saw, Parkdale were a handy side, so it's not like they have fallen over the line against a bunch of Muppets.

I personally don't think they'll win the flag, but competitive they will be for sure. Take in account that the Seniors are 3rd, the Reserves are 3rd, the Club 18 (2) side are 2nd, the Club 18 (3) side are 4th and the Under 19s are on top and the Reds are travelling pretty well.

Saintly5
8 May 2006, 17:23
Went down to St.Bedes to watch them take on Ajax. Although they were always in control.....i certainly dont think they are morals this year. Ajax still could be the surprise packet........think they will be extremely hard to beat at Wick park this year when they can get their running game going.....

my market at this early stage is:

St.Bedes: $2.70 ( Strong and Should finish top 2))
Ajax: $5.00 (Smokies if get tails up)
Ormond:$5.00 ( Off to flyer but jury still out)
Monash:$7.00 ( Keep safe??)
Fitzroy Reds:$8.00 ( Rise in class may test)
Old Camberwell: $12 ( Depth concerns)
Parkdale: $15 ( Thereabouts)
NOBS: $15 ( Form not great on paper but good value)
Old Parade:$15 ( Too inconsistent to make finals)
Hampton: 30/1: Real depth concerns.

Red Roy
8 May 2006, 18:24
Lets not muck around. This will be the ladder at the end of the year:

Reds - haven't hit their straps, will be unstoppable when they do
St Bedes - handy enough at home, will do enough to finish second
Ajax - will be tough to beat at headquarters
Ormond - will hang in there and sneak into finals

old camberwell - one man team. This finish is dependent on Loats staying fit
parkdale - will miss finals action - no depth
parade - shadow of last years outfit (see OC re one man team - replace loats with boundy)
NOBS - will improve on start, just survive
Monash - see you in D Grade in 07
Hampton - See you in D Grade in 07 and D2 in 08.

Bigfootyfan
8 May 2006, 21:00
Lets not muck around. This will be the ladder at the end of the year:

Reds - haven't hit their straps, will be unstoppable when they do
St Bedes - handy enough at home, will do enough to finish second
Ajax - will be tough to beat at headquarters
Ormond - will hang in there and sneak into finals

old camberwell - one man team. This finish is dependent on Loats staying fit
parkdale - will miss finals action - no depth
parade - shadow of last years outfit (see OC re one man team - replace loats with boundy)
NOBS - will improve on start, just survive
Monash - see you in D Grade in 07
Hampton - See you in D Grade in 07 and D2 in 08.

Red Roy,

Why are you so convinced that the reds are the real deal. The tigers are in about 2nd gear and have won convincingly every game. Ormond and Monash look just as likely as the Reds and most would agree are behind the tigers.

I think you need to take a step back and just see how the Reds go instead of pre-empting what could a middle of the road year.

Ajax were far from impressive on the weekend. If they can only get to within 40m points of an ordinairy tigers then there season looks long.

And Red Roy you say you still beat Parkdale by a fair margin. 13 points and much mate. They are a very very ordinairy side with no depth at all. As the season goes on their slide will get closer and closer to D grade

greentree
9 May 2006, 11:23
Sorry Greentree, what hype are you talking about with the Reds ? I heard that they were going to be pretty competitive, and at 2 wins and 1 loss, and sitting 3rd, that's pretty competitive.

They flogged the Paradians who were in the Prelim last year (I think). Got a reality check from AJAX, which is fine, they are a pretty good side, and the Reds did have half a side missing. Then they beat Parkdale by a reasonable amount on Saturday. In the 3 quarters I saw, Parkdale were a handy side, so it's not like they have fallen over the line against a bunch of Muppets.

I personally don't think they'll win the flag, but competitive they will be for sure. Take in account that the Seniors are 3rd, the Reserves are 3rd, the Club 18 (2) side are 2nd, the Club 18 (3) side are 4th and the Under 19s are on top and the Reds are travelling pretty well.

Look, I agree with what you say, but you just need to read anything by Red Roy to know where the hype has come from.
Some of these c grade sides are 5 to 8 goals better at home and Parkdale is one of them. The sides that finish near the top of the ladder with be the sides that can win away.

overtheline
10 May 2006, 10:35

Have to agree with you Roy. People forget easily, that the Blacks didn't pump sides last year and had some very close wins early (and a loss!) yet went on to win it easily. Parkdale are not a bad side so any win against them is good and i agree that the redders are still on track to take the title.

tender thighs
12 May 2006, 10:42

maybe they should consider a slab of low joules for the big boned and lazy men down there..

tender thighs
12 May 2006, 11:05
Have to agree with you Roy. People forget easily, that the Blacks didn't pump sides last year and had some very close wins early (and a loss!) yet went on to win it easily. Parkdale are not a bad side so any win against them is good and i agree that the redders are still on track to take the title.

yes the reds and ajax are looking both like strong teams, any injuries will severly damage parades chances at finals as they look a bit light on for depth.

word on the street is that former c grade B&F winner michael dixon is having trouble with an underworld figure, and close friend of d.kinsella, after another failed night at the cass..... Not to mention in house tension with one time local hero tony mcjames.

Bigfootyfan
14 May 2006, 01:31
Is it fair to say that this weekend has sorted the men from the boys from the girls. The Tiges are clearly well ahead of the pack. Its still very early in the season but at this stage things look pretty comfortable for the tigers.

Ormond going down, is that a suprise. Jackas with a win keeps them there abouts. The Ashers keep them self in contention bit of a suprisee thought.

The Reds going down, suprise to some but not to others. They are a good C/D team but look to be struggling to push further.

Parkdale dont seem to be able to fire on all cylinders. Seems as though the tigers are the only ones that you would send to B grade does anyones disagree

Scribe
14 May 2006, 13:00
Is it fair to say that this weekend has sorted the men from the boys from the girls. The Tiges are clearly well ahead of the pack. Its still very early in the season but at this stage things look pretty comfortable for the tigers.

Ormond going down, is that a suprise. Jackas with a win keeps them there abouts. The Ashers keep them self in contention bit of a suprisee thought.

The Reds going down, suprise to some but not to others. They are a good C/D team but look to be struggling to push further.

Parkdale dont seem to be able to fire on all cylinders. Seems as though the tigers are the only ones that you would send to B grade does anyones disagree

Thankfully, 4 of yesterday's results went as tipped and I might be able to start my climb up the Tipster's ladder.

Red Roy - I think you've underestimated the Rovers' and they came good for me by knocking off Ormond, as well as Monash. Still, I had Parade and NOBSPC finals bound in my season preview, so it just goes to show how tight and unpredictable C section is (as from the Tigers)

overtheline
14 May 2006, 18:41
Thankfully, 4 of yesterday's results went as tipped and I might be able to start my climb up the Tipster's ladder.

Red Roy - I think you've underestimated the Rovers' and they came good for me by knocking off Ormond, as well as Monash. Still, I had Parade and NOBSPC finals bound in my season preview, so it just goes to show how tight and unpredictable C section is (as from the Tigers)

Yes, unpredicably predictable! You have the hardest job tipping in this comp! The rovers best side is quite good and they will continue to surprise. Fitzroy (my flag tip) are looking a little shaky and have only beaton Parade and Parkdale( both 1-3) at home! Ran into the David Loats show yesterday and face St Bedes away this week. Not sure if they are flag material but time will tell.

oc37
14 May 2006, 19:54
how many did loats Kick?? note that OC have been filtering in guns in the past couple of weeks.. will be very good, Batzloff and Co.... if they are fit, this is more than a one man side, and definite top two contender.

overtheline
14 May 2006, 21:54
how many did loats Kick?? note that OC have been filtering in guns in the past couple of weeks.. will be very good, Batzloff and Co.... if they are fit, this is more than a one man side, and definite top two contender.

I think he kicked a dozen! Sounds like a one man show to me!

greentree
15 May 2006, 11:16
I think he kicked a dozen! Sounds like a one man show to me!

Have you ever played the game or played at full forward??? Loats is a good player but he needs to rely on his team mates to get the ball to him.
OC are a lot more than a one man team (but they would miss him if he wasnt there).
Looks like the top teams are sorting themselves out but which teams will go down, looks a more interesting question than who will win the flag.

Red Roy
15 May 2006, 16:20
OC may not be a one man team but they are pretty close. You don't exactly have to deliver it lace out to a guy who is 9ft tall!! If he gets injured they are gone. Just look at the percentage of thier goals he kicks. One man band, and a very good one.

scroda
15 May 2006, 16:34
Ajax, having lost Kirzner, is slightly (yet on slightly), putting paid to the 'one man band' comments.

In this grade, a big strong full forward makes a massive difference. it means that your midfield looks better as they can pretty much bomb it down there and look like a polished midfield.

And its not limited to this division either - check out the Bombers!

Menages
16 May 2006, 20:18
Where has Kirzner gone?

Saintly5
16 May 2006, 22:19
Kirzner is having a rest....but rest assured he is not retired......

The jackas have a smoking gun in Rosen to return over the next few weeks..........Dont underestimate this mob......very potent forward line even without their Champion full-forward......add Seidl and Bloom....boy, they are going to stretch some backines this year......

Scott MacFlaherty
17 May 2006, 11:09
Seidl and Bloom....boy, they are going to stretch some backines this year......

Bums to the wall, Ajax are on the crawl!

Informer
17 May 2006, 14:22
Nobs will battle yet again this year. They had one thing going for them last year in S minton Connell. Other than that there wasnt much to talk about.

St bedes will definitely go up. They look terribly strong and that disgraceful ground is a definite advantage.
Ormond also looking very strong which is great considering their drop in recent years. Go the monners.
Fitzroy Reds will also go up and I reckon that Monash will too. That Smythe is supposibly a quality player from all reports.

As for the others who really cares???
Ajax and Old Camberwell have offered a lot in their past but as always give absolutely donut!!! Hopefully they can turn it around going forward.

Actually then again I would also like to see Hampton move up the ranks. They are a great local club. Goodluck to them. The Big Chief needs to start turning it on!

The Big Pineapple
17 May 2006, 14:35
Nobs will battle yet again this year. They had one thing going for them last year in S minton Connell. Other than that there wasnt much to talk about.

St bedes will definitely go up. They look terribly strong and that disgraceful ground is a definite advantage.
Ormond also looking very strong which is great considering their drop in recent years. Go the monners.
Fitzroy Reds will also go up and I reckon that Monash will too. That Smythe is supposibly a quality player from all reports.

As for the others who really cares???
Ajax and Old Camberwell have offered a lot in their past but as always give absolutely donut!!! Hopefully they can turn it around going forward.

Actually then again I would also like to see Hampton move up the ranks. They are a great local club. Goodluck to them. The Big Chief needs to start turning it on!

So according to the Informer, St Bedes, Reds and Monash all to go up to B grade next year??? Last time I checked only 2 teams were promoted each year.

Informer
17 May 2006, 15:13
Mr Pineapple, I was actually referring to the top 4 as opposed to heading to 'B' grade. Vert tough comp C grade. Makes for a very interesting year.

tender thighs
17 May 2006, 17:58
as a big reds fan i look forward to us smashing those c side kittens at their little den this week,, im sure with a few back it will be the reds of old

oc37
17 May 2006, 18:35
Reds of old?? by that i take it you mean E Grade battlers

DG-Man
17 May 2006, 18:51
oc37, what's upset you today? Reds are a great club. "Reds of Old" is meaning a return to their fantastic form of the last 5 or so years, coming from the lower D-Grades up to C grade. I don't remember Old Carey getting near them recently? Do you?

Red Roy
17 May 2006, 20:36
Reds will be a vastly different outfit this week. St Bedes are in for a huge shock.

Bigfootyfan
17 May 2006, 20:41
Red Roy you speak the same :D:D:D:D orientated crap week in week out. Give us a real reason why they are going to win this week.

The down side for the Reds is that they are up against the best team in the comp and it seems the tigers have not got anywhere near their best yet.

oc37
17 May 2006, 21:48
i think from memory that we got within 3 goals at Bulleen with half a side.. but regardless.. they were a fantastic side last year.. i was just having some fun.. though am getting a bit sick of hearing that they are the next Uni Blacks or Beaumaris.. think they have a way to go yet

overtheline
17 May 2006, 23:43
Reds will be a vastly different outfit this week. St Bedes are in for a huge shock.

Roy, I hope your are right as I have been spruiking them on here for months! Why will they be different this week? Looking at the teamsheet on line, it appeared most of the guns were there last week, so what will be different? Will be a big win if the reds can knock off St Bedes at home!

Nobs v parkdale has some serious consequences for the loser!