View Full Version : C Section Amateur Football
Pages :
[
4]
oldtimer
18 May 2006, 13:44
Roy, I hope your are right as I have been spruiking them on here for months! Why will they be different this week? Looking at the teamsheet on line, it appeared most of the guns were there last week, so what will be different? Will be a big win if the reds can knock off St Bedes at home!
Nobs v parkdale has some serious consequences for the loser!
He has not been the only one spruiking them. I do recall a certain someone writing "Fitzroy Reds are overtheline". Haven't you changed your tune after 4 weeks!!!
Red Roy
18 May 2006, 13:54
Remember people, we are only 4 rounds in. The reds have had a couple of hickups along the way but I assure you things will turn around begining this week. Besides Ajax, St Bedes have played no-one that will even go close to playing finals. Lets remember, they don't play finals on the postage stamp. We copped Ajax at elsternwick and they got a jump on us, already looking foward to the return bout.
Reds will turn it around, begining with the twos who will shock the life out of the tigers and the seniors will finish of the road trip nicely.
Stick with us Overtheline, don't worry about the doubters, we are young, fit, hungry and going places.
overtheline
18 May 2006, 13:58
Remember people, we are only 4 rounds in. The reds have had a couple of hickups along the way but I assure you things will turn around begining this week. Besides Ajax, St Bedes have played no-one that will even go close to playing finals. Lets remember, they don't play finals on the postage stamp. We copped Ajax at elsternwick and they got a jump on us, already looking foward to the return bout.
Reds will turn it around, begining with the twos who will shock the life out of the tigers and the seniors will finish of the road trip nicely.
Stick with us Overtheline, don't worry about the doubters, we are young, fit, hungry and going places.
Will do Roy. I don't think you answered my question why things will be different this week, given you appeared to have most or all your guns in last week?
St Bedes will win a lot at home though, so it will be tough.
greentree
18 May 2006, 14:31
Will do Roy. I don't think you answered my question why things will be different this week, given you appeared to have most or all your guns in last week?
St Bedes will win a lot at home though, so it will be tough.
Reds will do well to get within 10goals to give themselves a 2-3 start to the year, and who have they beaten, Parade and, Parkdale who I found out lost 2 of their best players with broken hands during the game.
If Reds get in it might be 4th any higher they will need to improve lots.
Son of a Gun
18 May 2006, 16:28
Amazing how there is still all this talk about reds (same with uni blacks in B Grade) and how they will take all before them. Neither have done so (yet) and IMO it appears that whilst both clubs have performed extraordinarily well over recent years they are both struggling to cope with not being able to dominate and win comfortably each week. One thing to be in D1 (or below) and play 1-3 good quarters against average opposition to then have to step up to being required to play 3-4 quarters of good football to just win a game. The importance of playing 3-4 quarters starts in C Grade and only gets harder and harder as you step up to B and then A.
HotShoeShuffle
18 May 2006, 16:36
Amazing how there is still all this talk about reds (same with uni blacks in B Grade) and how they will take all before them. Neither have done so (yet) and IMO it appears that whilst both clubs have performed extraordinarily well over recent years they are both struggling to cope with not being able to dominate and win comfortably each week. One thing to be in D1 (or below) and play 1-3 good quarters against average opposition to then have to step up to being required to play 3-4 quarters of good football to just win a game. The importance of playing 3-4 quarters starts in C Grade and only gets harder and harder as you step up to B and then A.
Agree 100% SOG. Playing and watching in just about all grades of ammos, you can getaway with playing a great half of footy in the lower grades. As soon as step up to C and above, 4 quality quarters are required to be anything competitive. I'm over blokes saying Reds and Rupo are going go all the way to A grade in successive years. Gimme a break ! How many teams mill around C and below consistently? It's because they are above average in the lower grades and cant cut it any higher.
Bede me up
19 May 2006, 10:44
Mmmmm, let's think about this one. Reds 2's squander 6 goal lead to lose to Camberwell 2's, only for their 1's to be flattered by the 3 goal loss due to a number of goals in "junk time". This week they come down to the Brindisi pain locker. Either side to come within 8 goals would be a good result.
Plumber
19 May 2006, 10:54
I noticed there are a fair few guys who get released from VFL clubs to play at c-grade clubs. Do these players come back into the 1sts and if so does this cause friction with players who miss out on a spot on the weekend?
It is my experience that if you arn't good enough to to get a VFL seconds game you should get over your unjustified ego and go and play ammos or locally full-time.
Saintsation23
19 May 2006, 11:36
Who do monash play this week?
Bigfootyfan
19 May 2006, 12:23
Re: Pick the 7 senior premiers and runners up. Get in before the season starts.
Red Roy Thinks:
Xavs From Old Hail
Collegians from blacks
St bedes From fitzroy
RED ROY ILL TAKE YOU BACK A TO THE PRESEASON!!!! You picked St Bedes to win the flag. So far the Reds have underachieved from the standards and expectations set by yourself.
So what has changed to make you think you will firstly get a win this week and secondly get the flag.
You confuse me Roy!!!!!
barrybogan
19 May 2006, 12:44
How is the Jason Saddington lookalike - Mr. Paul Adams doing at the rovers this year?
Dropkicker
19 May 2006, 15:54
How are the Brady brothers going at NOBS this year? Who are the better players at NOBS this year?
St. Bede's 1's & 2's to go through the season undefeated.
Fitzroy to make the finals, and exit in week 1.
Parkdale to be Premiers in 2007 (D Grade).
greentree
19 May 2006, 17:58
St. Bede's 1's & 2's to go through the season undefeated.
Fitzroy to make the finals, and exit in week 1.
Parkdale to be Premiers in 2007 (D Grade).
Dont think Parkdale will go down, have played 3 out of the top 4 sides (END OF YEAR)(Reds being the odd one out)
If they can't beat Nobs this week I may change my tune.
Mentone might go through undefeated, tough games might be OC & Ajax away.
ParmaLover
20 May 2006, 10:59
Red Roy, if you guys lose again today surely you have to realise that you are a Battler!
Actions speak louder than words, sick of excuses, now is the time......
Big test today and hope the SBMT beat the crap out of you guys.
Roy Boys for Premiers '07 (D Grade)
By the way Roy Boy, do you actually play or have you ever played, or are you one of those blokes that thinks he knows everything about the game, but has never played?? (I think you should change your username to Sam Lane)
Hooroo Battler, Roy Boys are going down like Donkey Kong bi-atch
Mobbenfuhrer
20 May 2006, 19:09
St Bedes 18.21 def Reds 10.7, after Reds held a slender lead at 1/4 time.
8 goal to 1 2nd quarter set it up for the Tigers. Small bloke they were calling Souza or something similar was pretty much everywhere all day.
St Bedes inarguably pacesetters for season thus far.
Bigfootyfan
20 May 2006, 20:08
Reds will be a vastly different outfit this week. St Bedes are in for a huge shock.
Roy, now i watched todays game and im still here at the ground searching for the Reds that were meant to be vastly different. Ive searched everywhere and cant seem to track them down. You guys were ok-ish today but are a long long way behind the top couple.
If you guys make the four based on what i saw today its about as far as you can go.
The tigers were pretty good today but bigger grounds suit this team a lot more. OC next week will still be a real test.
Mobbenfuhrer
22 May 2006, 10:24
Bigfootyfan: I only arrived at the game about halfway through the first quarter, at which point STBM was on a score of about 3.9 ... was it peppering, or a lot of rushed behinds? I guess that end ain't the scoring end, especially when the sun's out! The south end, on the other hand, is like the pockets on the old pool tables in Chloes Bar, no matter where you kick it, the ball often goes through for a major.
Also, I dunno what its like for players on the surface, but I think this much-maligned 'Brindisi St' is a great little ground for spectators. It gets population all around the ground and is all very personable. I guess that's part and parcel with a smaller arena, though a small ground like Monash Gryphons can still be empty of spectators on the outer side. Was it previously Mentone's ground, or St Bedes'?
THE BEACON
22 May 2006, 11:42
Was Mentones ground.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
22 May 2006, 11:44
Mobbe...historically the ground was first played on as far back as the late 1890's in what was then known as 'unofficial' matches involving a Mentone team....Mentone FC became official in 1904 and have been there since..the grndstand was built in the early 1920's and like Brunswick Street it adds great character to a ground..yes the samller size of the ground does lend itself to the crowd being more invoved in the game. Fitzroy Red's are to be congratulated on the way they played and also stayed after the game and participated in the after match 'social'...there are a few clubs who need to realise just how important this side of footy is to all concerned.
overtheline
22 May 2006, 12:45
Red Roy, if you guys lose again today surely you have to realise that you are a Battler!
Actions speak louder than words, sick of excuses, now is the time......
Big test today and hope the SBMT beat the crap out of you guys.
Roy Boys for Premiers '07 (D Grade)
By the way Roy Boy, do you actually play or have you ever played, or are you one of those blokes that thinks he knows everything about the game, but has never played?? (I think you should change your username to Sam Lane)
Hooroo Battler, Roy Boys are going down like Donkey Kong bi-atch
Must admit I am now getting a little shaky about the Reds, my constant prediction on this thread. 2-3 isn't great but they have played all the good sides(away) , so their ratio will improve.
Looks like st bedes, then a raffle for second, so the Reds are still in the mix. Who can/will challenge st bedes? Any team capable of scaring them?
greentree
22 May 2006, 15:33
Stick with us Overtheline, don't worry about the doubters, we are young, fit, hungry and going places.[/quote]
Going back to D grade if you dont pull your finger out.
As for St Bedes twos, the only shock they got is how bad you were.
Heard Loats got injured, any reports on that.
Parkdale might avoid the trip back to D, but a couple of injurys could change all that.
Well RED ROY pays not to be too cocky.
Bigfootyfan
22 May 2006, 19:40
Bigfootyfan: I only arrived at the game about halfway through the first quarter, at which point STBM was on a score of about 3.9 ... was it peppering, or a lot of rushed behinds? I guess that end ain't the scoring end, especially when the sun's out! The south end, on the other hand, is like the pockets on the old pool tables in Chloes Bar, no matter where you kick it, the ball often goes through for a major.
Also, I dunno what its like for players on the surface, but I think this much-maligned 'Brindisi St' is a great little ground for spectators. It gets population all around the ground and is all very personable. I guess that's part and parcel with a smaller arena, though a small ground like Monash Gryphons can still be empty of spectators on the outer side. Was it previously Mentone's ground, or St Bedes'?
Mobbenfuhrer i think there may have been 5-6 rushed behinds in the first quarter. A lot of long balls that were fisted through and also a few Reds players running the ball over the line as a last resort.
Was quite a good game. The scoreline doesnt do the Reds justice. Even though the tigers were well and truely the better team the Reds didnt look as bad as the scoreline shows.
Its a great little ground for footy. Its like Collingwood people either love it or hate it. But from a spectator point of view there isnt many better.
Whats the latest on Loats everybody how badly is he injured. Wont matter this week i think we have one of the only players in the comp who can handle him and that is Luke Wintle our captain.
Cameo King
22 May 2006, 21:30
How are the Brady brothers going at NOBS this year? Who are the better players at NOBS this year?
DK the Brady brothers haven't been the same since their partner in crime J.Cordy left the Gillon. Tony especially has been a bit of a lost soul, hence his impending move to WA.
And a big thanks to the martian intervened with a BIZARRE ruling at the 27th minute mark of the 4th quarter on saturday when the COBs were two goals up. Please let us not have that one again, we've already had it twice this year, surely that's enough?!?! Such a shame after having two great ups at EP the week before.
GetSmart
23 May 2006, 16:00
Are there any teams in C section with any big guns to come back into there line ups that havent played this year that could put there side into a better position when they come into the side?
Batzloff has only played one for OC(gun ?state ruckman)
Not sure of what has happened the last 2 games at Ormond.
Against Hampton we just couldn't win the stoppages without Miller playing, but I didn't see this weekend's loss against OP as I dislocated my shoulder in the earlier game & spent the rest of the arvo at the hospital. Not fun at all!
Hopefully we can bounce back this week at EP with a win over the 'Jackas.
From what I can gather, St Bede's will finish unbeaten on top, then a raffle for the next 3 spots coming from us, fitzroy, OC, Monash, Ajax & OP. NOB's to get relegated for my opinion, possibly Parkdale to be the other. It will be tight though.
reckon the Rovers and Parkdale will go.. but will be tight.. think the new combine will stay up
top four
STb
OC
Ormond
Fitzroy
smoky Monash( knwo they are there now, but will fall in a hole during school hols)
Supa Frank
23 May 2006, 17:35
Batzloff has only played one for OC(gun ?state ruckman)
Why has Batzloff only played one game?
Bede me up
23 May 2006, 18:12
What's this Red Roy - under all sorts of pressure, but no response from you?!? Similar to your mediocre side's efforts in the second quarter Saturday when the Tigers banged on about 8 in a row!!!
my mail(correct or not) is minor injury..
overtheline
23 May 2006, 22:15
What's this Red Roy - under all sorts of pressure, but no response from you?!? Similar to your mediocre side's efforts in the second quarter Saturday when the Tigers banged on about 8 in a row!!!
Comon, leave Roy alone. Am I right in saying that St bedes will have played four out of six at home after this week? Remember they will face away games against Ajax, Fitzroy and Camberwell coming home. No easy assignments and the early home games could serve to flatter them a little.
The reds on the other hand, have played AJax, Camberwell and St bedes away and face them all at home next time round. Reds have also played these sides in the first five rounds and could win the next four.
Just some food for thought and the Reds will still finish second.
FootyGuru
24 May 2006, 01:25
Lets not muck around. This will be the ladder at the end of the year:
Reds - haven't hit their straps, will be unstoppable when they do
St Bedes - handy enough at home, will do enough to finish second
Ajax - will be tough to beat at headquarters
Ormond - will hang in there and sneak into finals
old camberwell - one man team. This finish is dependent on Loats staying fit
parkdale - will miss finals action - no depth
parade - shadow of last years outfit (see OC re one man team - replace loats with boundy)
NOBS - will improve on start, just survive
Monash - see you in D Grade in 07
Hampton - See you in D Grade in 07 and D2 in 08.
hampton have alot of very good players out with injury at the moment and will be playin good football in weeks to come, eg trigear, pinto, parkinson, blanchard and others. allthough i think d grade next year is a possibility, the young kids at hampton are too good to get dropped from d grade in 08.
overtheline
25 May 2006, 10:59
hampton have alot of very good players out with injury at the moment and will be playin good football in weeks to come, eg trigear, pinto, parkinson, blanchard and others. allthough i think d grade next year is a possibility, the young kids at hampton are too good to get dropped from d grade in 08.
This week.
Parade vHampton- With their Sandy guys available, it's Hampton pretty easily for mine. No emotional build up this week for Parade. who are yet to win at home
Ajax v ormond- Reality catching up with Ormond and it will again . Ajax by plenty
Fitzroy v Nobs. Poor old nobs. This could get very ugly on the scoreboard as the Reds have finished the doomsday treble and are back at home.
St Bedes v Camberwell. The one man team withour the one man. No thanks! Bedas by plenty..
Parkdale v Monash. Interesting one here but fancy the Dales at home. Just.
Keen Observer
25 May 2006, 13:38
If your predictions are correct Overtheline then we will have 7 teams with 3 wins after Rd 6. A very interesting season !
Think OP's will get the points even with the Sandy boys returning.
Agree with the rest of your selections.
NOBSPC in real trouble. Trivia question: When did they last compete in D Section ?
Supa Frank
25 May 2006, 14:50
If your predictions are correct Overtheline then we will have 7 teams with 3 wins after Rd 6. A very interesting season !
NOBSPC in real trouble. Trivia question: When did they last compete in D Section ?
Good question KO, not sure of the answer but you would have to be going back a few years, they have been a competitive outfit for long time now. I remember playing against them in A grade in the mid to late 1990s. Look how time can change........................ They should maybe look at their admin, as Tim Watson says "the fish rots from the head"!!!
Son of a Gun
25 May 2006, 16:49
KO, I think you'd need to go back to 1965 when North Melb CBCOB (their previous name) won the D Grade Premiership defeating Preston by 17 points only a few years after re-entering the VAFA. They've had a great history but the present and future doesn't look so rosy for them.
Keen Observer
25 May 2006, 17:08
Good question KO, not sure of the answer but you would have to be going back a few years, they have been a competitive outfit for long time now. I remember playing against them in A grade in the mid to late 1990s. Look how time can change........................ They should maybe look at their admin, as Tim Watson says "the fish rots from the head"!!!
They have been a great club for many years who have played with great spirit. Always a tough team to beat wherever they stood on the ladder - paticularly during the 80's.
Surviving so long without a junior club and very little support from the school is a credit to them. Over recent years they have had a few 'heads', Bruno included, but things have never looked sadder.
I know its only early but it appears that it will take some genuine NOB spirit and ingenuity to retain their place in C Section.
It would be very sad if the club was to fall away !
Mobbenfuhrer
25 May 2006, 23:18
I would hope that NOBs' new alignment would assist safety for them in the future, even if they're not winning too much at the moment.
By the way, here's the (incomplete) info I had on their history :
North Melbourne CBC Old Boys Football Club / North Old Boys Football Club (Vic)
Guernseys & Nicknames :
1964 - North Melbourne CBCOB wore purple & white colours.
Timeline :
1932 - North Melbourne CBC Old Boys commenced in the VAFA D Section, finishing 4th.
1933 - VAFA D Section Grand Final : Ormond 14.18.102 defeated North Old Boys 11.18.84.
1934 - VAFA C Section Grand Final : Ormond 15.20.110 defeated North Old Boys 8.3.51.
1935-36 - VAFA : North Old Boys participated.
1937 - VAFA B Section : North Old Boys completed the season in 4th position on the ladder.
1938 (VAFA B Section) :
North Melbourne CBC Old Boys completed the season in 4th position on the ladder.
This was North Melbourne CBC Old Boys' final season in the VAFA.
1939 - North Melbourne CBC Old Boys were expelled from the VAFA.
1963 - North Melbourne CBC Old Boys recommenced in the VAFA, finishing 4th, division unknown.
1964 - VAFA E Section Grand Final : North Old Boys 15.12.102 defeated Old Geelong Grammarians 7.15.57.
1965 - VAFA D Section Grand Final : North Old Boys 8.7.55 defeated Preston Amateurs 5.8.38.
1966 - VAFA C Section Grand Final : Geelong Amateurs 13.8.86 defeated North Old Boys 8.8.56.
1967 - VAFA B Section Grand Final : University Blues 23.12.150 defeated North Old Boys 9.16.70.
1968-70 - VAFA : North Melbourne CBCOB.
1971 - VAFA B Section Grand Final : Old Paradians 13.11.89 defeated North Old Boys 7.14.56.
1972 - VAFA A Section : North Old Boys participated.
1973 - VAFA A Section : North Old Boys finished 4th.
1974 - VAFA : North Melbourne CBCOB participated.
1975 - VAFA A Section Grand Final : Saint Bernards OC 19.13.127 defeated North Old Boys 12.10.82.
1976 - VAFA A Section Grand Final : North Old Boys 18.18.126 defeated Saint Bernards OC 11.11.77.
1977 - VAFA A Section Grand Final : De La Salle OC 9.20.74 defeated North Old Boys 11.5.71.
1978 - VAFA Section A Grand Final : Old Scotch Collegians 16.16.112 defeated North Old Boys 16.11.107.
1979-80 - VAFA : North Melbourne CBCOB participated.
1981 - VAFA Section A Grand Final : Old Xavierians 15.22.112 defeated North Old Boys 13.15.93.
1982 - VAFA Section A Grand Final : North Old Boys 19.17.131 defeated De La Salle 8.15.63.
1983 - VAFA A Section : North Old Boys completed the season in 4th position on the ladder.
1984 - VAFA : North Melbourne CBCOB participated.
1985 - VAFA A Section : North Old Boys completed the season in 4th position on the ladder.
1986 - VAFA A Section Grand Final : Collegians 21.6.132 defeated North Old Boys 11.15.81.
1987-90 - VAFA : North Melbourne CBCOB participated.
1991 - VAFA Section A Grand Final : De La Salle 12.10.82 defeated North Old Boys 11.11.77.
1992 - VAFA : North Melbourne CBCOB participated.
1993 - VAFA A Section : North Old Boys completed the season in 4th position on the ladder.
1994-96 - VAFA : North Melbourne CBCOB participated.
1997 - VAFA C Section Grand Final : Marcellin OC 15.21.111 defeated North Old Boys 12.9.81.
1998 - VAFA B Section : North Old Boys completed the season in 4th position on the ladder.
1999 - VAFA : North Melbourne CBCOB participated.
2000 - VAFA B Section : North Old Boys completed the season in 3rd position on the ladder.
2001 - VAFA B Section : North Old Boys completed the season in 6th position on the ladder.
2003 - VAFA B Section : North Old Boys participated.
Mobbenfuhrer
25 May 2006, 23:19
PS: Thanks to the folks who answered my queries re St Bedes.
Just a question regarding playing.
I played last year in the alberton league for a few games but was unsure if they registered me as the window had closed. They said i needed a clearance from my junior club who i played with 4 years ago. I now want to play with some mates in C section amateur football and thought Id need to get a clearence from that junior club, is this the case? or do I just need to register?
Cheers
Mav
i believe you can just register.. do it.. you will soon find out if you need to do more
Bigfootyfan
27 May 2006, 17:59
There is more chance of Gough Whitlam returning to politics than OC being a top 4 side this year after todays debacle. Or is that the rest of the competition are just so far behind the tigers.
If you actually look at where the Tigers are at it is no suprise. 2 seasons ago they missed a prelim final in B section by a goal. Then last year lost 3/4 of their side. This year they have them all back plus extras.
So their formline realisitically puts them more than competitive in B section.
Doesnt look good for NOBS next week.
i make sense
28 May 2006, 14:49
well i see fitzroy just got home over the bottom side in NOBS.
I hope that will signify the resurgence of red roy. I know he tucked his tail between his legs a few weeks ago and has been very quiet, but i hope he has got his confidence back and starts to spruk his battlers again soon. i find his excuses very entertaining.
come on Roy where are you and where have you been?
Grandstand Guru
28 May 2006, 20:41
No Loats for OCs makes a huge difference given their results have been on the back of his strong performances. Tigers obviously travelling well and the competition yardstick, but I don't think yesterday's result is as flattering as the scoreline would tend to indicate. From my vantage point in the bleachers: Hampton clearly a week to week proposition based on their available personnel, Ajax a dominant force on the wide expanses of EP, the Reds hanging in there and Monash the real surprise packet (a 1 pt loss to Ormond when I believe they did everything but win and a loss to Hampton with several key absentees the two blemishes).
overtheline
29 May 2006, 10:44
This week.
Parade vHampton- With their Sandy guys available, it's Hampton pretty easily for mine. No emotional build up this week for Parade. who are yet to win at home
Ajax v ormond- Reality catching up with Ormond and it will again . Ajax by plenty
Fitzroy v Nobs. Poor old nobs. This could get very ugly on the scoreboard as the Reds have finished the doomsday treble and are back at home.
St Bedes v Camberwell. The one man team withour the one man. No thanks! Bedas by plenty..
Parkdale v Monash. Interesting one here but fancy the Dales at home. Just.
Damm Parkdale...would have had five from five! The Reds are back on track and will string together 4 in a row now( look at their draw) and perhaps we will see the return of Roy, Monash continue to surprise and St Bedes are obviously hot. Without loats for some time, could be a long month for OC. Incredibly, Parade yet to win at home.
Keen Observer
29 May 2006, 12:49
Damm Parkdale...would have had five from five! The Reds are back on track and will string together 4 in a row now( look at their draw) and perhaps we will see the return of Roy, Monash continue to surprise and St Bedes are obviously hot. Without loats for some time, could be a long month for OC. Incredibly, Parade yet to win at home.
Are you sure Loats is out for a month ? What injury has he sustained ?
greentree
29 May 2006, 15:39
[quote=overtheline The Reds are back on track and will string together 4 in a row now( look at their draw) and perhaps we will see the return of Roy,
Yep, Reds are back on track after thumping the bottom team by 22pts at home.
Think you will be lucky to win 2 out of your next 4. If Monash beat you we may never see poor old RED ROY again.
Cameo King
29 May 2006, 19:45
Thanks to all who have sympathised with the current plight of the purple & white (and green and blue). However I must say we at COBs (NOBs) aren't gone yet. Hurting yes, but still plenty of time to climb off the canvas and hold in C-Section.
Keen Observer
30 May 2006, 10:02
Thanks to all who have sympathised with the current plight of the purple & white (and green and blue). However I must say we at COBs (NOBs) aren't gone yet. Hurting yes, but still plenty of time to climb off the canvas and hold in C-Section.
Hoping that NOBs do survive as long its not at the expense of OPs !
Let's work hard to rid the Section of those teams that are only happy to have 'post match drinks' when they win. I know there is a fair amount of travel but all teams should be encouraged to stay for 30 minutes after a game. Uni Blacks were a disgrace last year - both at home & away!
overtheline
30 May 2006, 10:21
Are you sure Loats is out for a month ? What injury has he sustained ?
Well, I understand he tore a hamstring and will be out for a least a month, but I am not 100% sure of the timeframe. A hamstring is more than one week though isn't it?
Keen Observer
30 May 2006, 10:27
Well, I understand he tore a hamstring and will be out for a least a month, but I am not 100% sure of the timeframe. A hamstring is more than one week though isn't it?
In my medical opinion I think OC should rest him for the rest of the season and begin concentrating on 2007.
nuderat
30 May 2006, 17:58
Agreed Cameo. It is a long season and you only have to look at Ajax last year and De la from a couple of year ago to know any thing is possible.
greentree
2 Jun 2006, 17:05
Anyone think Monash will beat the Reds?
I do.
Mobbenfuhrer
2 Jun 2006, 18:01
Anyone think Monash will beat the Reds?
I do.
Nah :)
richoooo
2 Jun 2006, 22:40
upset of the week - parky to beat ormond
greentree
3 Jun 2006, 12:41
upset of the week - parky to beat ormond
Is Sheeza going to play. Would need to have a full strength team and I think they are still missing a couple from the Reds game.
Still, would be nice to keep the comp nice and even.
greentree
3 Jun 2006, 19:43
Nah :)
uh huh.
Grandstand Guru
4 Jun 2006, 02:06
Well some misplaced enthusiasm with the tipping lads. Took myself off to see the Reds take on Monash. The Reds are a decent team, but skills still a bit hit and miss and were outclassed by the Students after staging a comeback and seemingly having the game in their grasp. Seemed to also be a bit outbodied in the end and generally not as good. At 5-2 and 2nd MOnash deserve respect!! May be another couple of players to slot back in the Reds lineup but all the hype on this thread about the Reds so far has been BUNK. Parkdale and NOBS need something special if they are to stay up too! Still a very even comp but anything is possible. Won't get carried away with Ormond's win at home against Parkdale but a huge result for Ajax who I really rate.
Mobbenfuhrer
5 Jun 2006, 10:27
uh huh.
Hehe. I must've mozzed 'em :o
Plenty of season left, though. My buzzword is now 'thereabouts'.
Thankfully, for the first time this season, I think I tipped all games correctly. Should see me finally off the bottom of the Ammo Footballer tipping ladder!!!:D
I think Reds are starting to get found out by some of the better sides, whilst Monash are simply racking up wins against sides who underestimate them. Were it not for the 1 point loss to Ormond at E.E. Gunn, the Ashers would be breathing down the Tigers' necks.
Having said that, post-exam time has always added a bit extra to the mix when a Uni side is involved, because some players (usually the younger ones) often duck home for a few weeks and may be unavailable. It may have minimal effect on their seniors, but they still have to face the Tigers after the break, then NOBSPC, and will probably hit the halfway mark at 6/3.
Back-to-back week's in C Grade for myself, although due to work, my appearances in Amateur Footy are few and far between these days.
After Ajax and Ormond last week at HQ, this weeks was Nobs and St. Bedes out at Gillon. The boys from Brindisi struggled to find the goals except for a blinder of a second term.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
5 Jun 2006, 16:54
After Ajax and Ormond last week at HQ, this weeks was Nobs and St. Bedes out at Gillon. The boys from Brindisi struggled to find the goals except for a blinder of a second term.[/quote]
Pazza...sounds like you are one of the 'men in mainly white!'....heard Gillon was a bit heavy and thick 'underfoot' at the weekend..a slow 6 rating from the VRC was the mail...seems like the combine struggled to find their own goals more then the Tigers who it would seem missed more then they should have which indicates room for improvement...a scary thought for opposition defenders considering the number of 'shots on goal' they are already having...
Basically apart from the 2nd term, the game was pretty well contested Rich. You are right, it was a tad muddy out there (nothing unusual about that! the lacrosse that used to get played on the ground going back a few years hasn't helped the grandstand wing!), but, there was no excuse for the kicking for goal really. When a team kicks a total 1.14 out of 13.19 to one end and there's little to no wind, you know things aren't good.
To Nobs credit, their effort after half-time was very good - particularly Sleepy.
Bigfootyfan
8 Jun 2006, 09:25
Bit quiet this week!!!!
I think we should contact the police to make sure Red Roy hasnt done harm to himself.
Mobbenfuhrer
8 Jun 2006, 09:48
Hadn't heard from you since 27 May either, was getting worried you were feeling guilty!
So who's playing who this week? I pick the Reds without knowing their opponent, as they've already played St Bedes, Monash, Ajax and OC, so surely whoever is left they must have a pretty good show against! Don't think we've played Hampton yet ... is it Hampton?
Also, I had heard that C Grade usually took the form of a division with a bunch of teams that should really be in B Grade, and a bunch of teams that should really be in D Grade. Could it be that the Reds (and possibly OC as well?) could actually currently be termed as C Grade teams?
overtheline
8 Jun 2006, 10:19
Hadn't heard from you since 27 May either, was getting worried you were feeling guilty!
So who's playing who this week? I pick the Reds without knowing their opponent, as they've already played St Bedes, Monash, Ajax and OC, so surely whoever is left they must have a pretty good show against! Don't think we've played Hampton yet ... is it Hampton?
Also, I had heard that C Grade usually took the form of a division with a bunch of teams that should really be in B Grade, and a bunch of teams that should really be in D Grade. Could it be that the Reds (and possibly OC as well?) could actually currently be termed as C Grade teams?
My unshakeable faith in the reds is well.... getting a litle shaky! With Phil CIanci still to return form overseas, I still reckon they will be there come september. The bigger surprise is the ressies losing to monash. Burgen is a good coach and they will come home 7/2 in the second half of the year. Oc will be very different if they ever get Loats back and it appears with that injuries will decide 2nd 3rd 4th with any of them ( bar nobs/parkdale) capable of fillling the spots. Parkdale need a win very soon or the wheels will come off.
Never fear lads, the Roy has returned. I had to make a hasty unscheduled trip O/S with work which is why I have been off the air for a few weeks. Well the reds have hit a couple of unexpected hurdles, I'll give you that, but the break comes at a terrific timefor us. Obviously we are not going to go through undefeated, but we will still finish second with that 7/2 run home a certainty. Reds have played everyone who is any good at all and are still there abouts.
B Grade is still on the cards next year, lets see how those smug tigers go away from the postage stamp. Burgo is just emulating Paul Roos and the boys will rattle home in the second half of the year.
Good to be back and I look foward to what remains of our 1 year in C Grade.
Big Red is back
8 Jun 2006, 12:02
Massive test for the students this round. Playing St B's away will clearly indicate where the students are at. A good showing away from home and I suspect we will see the students turn 6 and 3 and finish on 12 wins and a top two berth.
Having watched most sides in the grade this year the blues at home in good conditions are going to be very tough to beat. Especially now that George Smith is easing back in to VAFA medal form.
Also watch for the Bain in the fwd line with 3 last week his form is starting to build.
Note: I would not be surprised to see the flood employed by the students in the fourth coming match v the tigers
Supa Frank
8 Jun 2006, 12:34
Massive test for the students this round. Playing St B's away will clearly indicate where the students are at. A good showing away from home and I suspect we will see the students turn 6 and 3 and finish on 12 wins and a top two berth.
Having watched most sides in the grade this year the blues at home in good conditions are going to be very tough to beat. Especially now that George Smith is easing back in to VAFA medal form.
Also watch for the Bain in the fwd line with 3 last week his form is starting to build.
Note: I would not be surprised to see the flood employed by the students in the fourth coming match v the tigers
Bains is X OM player and has great skills, can be a handfull at times. There is also another X OM player in that game who plays for St Bedes, so I'm sure they will be fully aware of Bains. Should be a good contest, Tigers for me @ home!!!!
Reds have played everyone who is any good at all and are still there abouts.
What makes you think the Reds are the "real deal" this year? I've been watching & reading posts from you & fellow Reds supporters for a few weeks not really saying much, but come on, surely you can get you head out of your a*s & anything that is Fitzroy Reds & look at the bigger picture.
St Bede's will win the GF this year by a street & whoever they play are only making up the numbers. That is realistic.
How can you say the Reds have played everyone who is any good. Ormond are 3rd & you haven't played us yet. Yes last year you smashed us in the GF & were by far the best team last year, but this year you have lost to teams we have beaten & just beat teams we have smashed! So give us credit where credit is due! I'm not saying we are a better team, last year yes you were, time will tell for this year.
I question your thoughts on C grade this year, inparticually the form of the Reds.
I haven't written this to start a slanging match, so take this as a thought not a sledge.
With respect - Ameet Bains won a Club XVIII comp B&F in 2004 and was otherwise a handy bits-part reserves forward. Would hardly have the Tigers shaking in their boots!!
As for the Reds, I will stand by the pre-season mail I received from those at the top of their match committee - a realistic aim is to avoid relegation, to snatch a finals berth would be a bonus, to earn promotion to C section would be an outcome beyond most rational Redders' wildest dreams. Any Redder BF poster who says otherwise is either wildly optimistic, or a tad mis-informed.
Mobbenfuhrer
8 Jun 2006, 17:07
As for the Reds, I will stand by the pre-season mail I received from those at the top of their match committee - a realistic aim is to avoid relegation, to snatch a finals berth would be a bonus, to earn promotion to C section would be an outcome beyond most rational Redders' wildest dreams. Any Redder BF poster who says otherwise is either wildly optimistic, or a tad mis-informed.
Circa Feb 2006 :
I am assuming, as has been the case with the previous Reds seasons when up a division, consolidation will be the priority. I cant speak for 'em but whether they make finals in 2006 isnt something that I'd lose sleep over as a fan. Primarily, start with making sure 8th place is the lowest the Reds can finish.
Eerie!
Grandstand Guru
8 Jun 2006, 18:13
Scribe
As competition journo what are your thoughts at this juncture of the season about each team's chances?
Magnificence
8 Jun 2006, 22:23
Heard the C grade thread is a ripper, and some interesting reading. The Reds seem to have plenty of support, and fair enough not a bad start in C grade, never easy moving up a grade.
Without pointing out the obvious the competition from 2 to 8th could not be more even and watch out for the rovers if the boys from the VFL can play more regularly, otherwise its the tigers and students to go to B grade.
PS. Scribe you were tough on A. Bains he did kick 4 in a quarter on me last year I think, and that’s why I am on this thread and not playing anymore.
Great thread and keep up the good work, and lets keep this thread positive
Never fear lads, the Roy has returned. I had to make a hasty unscheduled trip O/S with work which is why I have been off the air for a few weeks. Well the reds have hit a couple of unexpected hurdles, I'll give you that, but the break comes at a terrific timefor us. Obviously we are not going to go through undefeated, but we will still finish second with that 7/2 run home a certainty. Reds have played everyone who is any good at all and are still there abouts.
B Grade is still on the cards next year, lets see how those smug tigers go away from the postage stamp. Burgo is just emulating Paul Roos and the boys will rattle home in the second half of the year.
The Reds would need to dramatically improve on their dismall percentage if they are going to treaten anyone in the top 4. The Reds will finish an honourable fifth this year, definately no higher than that!
GetSmart
9 Jun 2006, 14:25
Good to be back and I look foward to what remains of our 1 year in C Grade. Tigers arn't smug. They know exactly where they are at.....playing C Section. They want to play higher and are building to do that. Look at their reserves, U19's & U17's all top two! The Tigers are in it to be the best the can. Your not smug because you want to be better! The REDS need to understand it ain't going to get any easier and perhaps the Tigers may get better before the season is out!
Heard the C grade thread is a ripper, and some interesting reading. The Reds seem to have plenty of support, and fair enough not a bad start in C grade, never easy moving up a grade.
Without pointing out the obvious the competition from 2 to 8th could not be more even and watch out for the rovers if the boys from the VFL can play more regularly, otherwise its the tigers and students to go to B grade.
PS. Scribe you were tough on A. Bains he did kick 4 in a quarter on me last year I think, and that’s why I am on this thread and not playing anymore.
Great thread and keep up the good work, and lets keep this thread positive
Dear Mag,
Never let a down day send you into retirement!! Were that the case, I'd have hung up the boots 3 years ago after EJ Crohan torched me and 2 others for 8 goals in the curtain raiser between OT and SKOB at Sandy in rd 6 of 2003. Sometimes, blokes are "on" and there's little you can do.
Anyhoo - back to the positives and if every club's glass was half full, here's where I see the competition at the mandatory rest stop for the ski season. Keeping in mind that there's only 1 game separating 3rd and 8th. This section is the tightest of the lot and there will be loads of twists and turns before we hit the final 4.
Tigers - GF bound and only a massive bout of gandular fever through the playing group will change that.
Monash - my dearest alumni are quietly 'getting the job one' and should play
into September. They will be staring a PF berth in the face.
(Greg) Le Mond - great effort thus far, and I think they've got enough talent in reserve (2nd at present) to also push into September.
Da Jackas - my sentimental faves this year, and they've done well without a dominant forward. Their midfield is all quality, and they have a good home ground advantage. Will be hard to unseat from 4th.
Redders - lots of hype, and they've matched it to some extent. Their line-up has suffered from a lot of chopping and changing, with many of their list also on VFL rosters. In the 2nd half of the year, they may be released for good. If so, look out!!!
D'Wellers - great effort to this point. They have a glut of quality young blokes on their list and this means they can go either way after June.
Rovers - have exceeded my expectations, and could also benefit from latter season VFL releases.
Raiders - are they the sleeping giants? I've heard as much, but they better get a wriggle on. Last week's effort against the OC could be the first step.
Vultures - have games against 7th and 8th in the next two weeks to start their climb up the ladder. If they can win those two, they'll be in a vastly different position
NOBSPC - I predicted them pre-season as contenders, and have serious egg on my face. The merger may have some teething problems and they've been valiant in defeat on several occasions. I think Killer needs to draw on the great personalities they have around the club to keep a positive 'vibe' going. Remember, NOBs haven't been up the top of the VAFA for 30+ years for no reason.
Enjoy the break this weekend boys, I know I will.
Cheers
Frase
Grandstand Guru
10 Jun 2006, 11:08
Thanks Frase (Scribe)
Long way to go obviously and with a tight competition, I understand you don't want to be too bold in your predictions but am I surmising correctly that you think the 4 will remain the same (ie St BM, Mon, Orm, Ajax)?
From what I have seen I agree but am most concerned about Reds (if they can click and find stability) & Rovers (if they get their full list) outside that bunch. Camberwell about 6-8 goals less competitive minus Loats, Parade not quite enough depth, while I think NOBs can plan for next year and Parkdale will do a mighty job to stay afloat in C Grade.
On a brighter note - good luck to all the C Grade reps in the big game at Clayton today, and good luck to the Navy Blues at $11 v WCE at Subi.
SeymourLions
11 Jun 2006, 17:43
Is it fair to say Sam Anstey for the comp B & F?
Bigfootyfan
11 Jun 2006, 22:09
Is it fair to say Sam Anstey for the comp B & F?
Not at all. Hes been fantastic so far and hopefully that from continues. But there have been a number of Tigers that have been just as good if not better. Skipper Luke Wintle at CHB has been unbelievable. Im not sure how they pick the Rep side but how he is not in it i dont know.
bullies57
13 Jun 2006, 09:38
Ahh ok, he is back at NOBS, good to see.
NOBS do seem to get a few players who just rock up before the season.
Haven't seen him with the NOBS yet this year. When can we expect to see him in action?
bullies57
13 Jun 2006, 09:44
Big news today is that Daniel Zacek is set to leave Fitzroy Reds to sign with his old club North Old Boys. Will be a blow for the roys as I hear that Zacek has been starring in the practice matches. I think that NOBs may be a bit of a smoky this year - they are always likely to have 2 or 3 guns turn up on their doorstep looking for a game, especially now that they have the alliance with St Pats. Will be interested to see how they go down in the Cs
haven't seen him yet with the NOBS. anyone know his story?
HotShoeShuffle
13 Jun 2006, 15:10
Anyone got any mail from the rep game ? Who was good ? Injuries ?
Magnificence
13 Jun 2006, 23:32
Massive week this week 1 vs 2.
We are about to see if the tigers have any serious competition from the students. I would suggest if the students in the middle of exams can run the tigers to within 30 points in Mentone then just maybe the race for the flag is still on.
Anyway will be interesting as I will head down and check out this game , thats for sure.
Red Roy
14 Jun 2006, 13:38
Not at all. Hes been fantastic so far and hopefully that from continues. But there have been a number of Tigers that have been just as good if not better. Skipper Luke Wintle at CHB has been unbelievable. Im not sure how they pick the Rep side but how he is not in it i dont know.
You blokes are off your head ! Luke Wintle the best CHB in the comp? Did anyone see the rep game - Tim Davis - the best CHB in amateur footy BOG for the ammos and who does he play for? Oh yeah thats right, the mighty Reds. Would walk into any team in any Grade.
The St Bedes hysteria on this site amazes me. As I have said before, they have had a dream draw playing so often at the postage stamp - lets see how they go on a truly big ground against decent opposition- like Camberwell away (with Loats) or Brunswick St against the redders. They battled against NOBS !!! Expect big things after the break from Fitzroy - the word is that a few blokes who have been in and out of VFL teams will spend a lot more time at the Reds. Look out!
Richard Clay Torpedoes
14 Jun 2006, 13:57
Red Roy...seems like you were away overseas in Siberia too long....most who have followed the C Section thread for some time can recall the only 'hysteria' created was that of the Fitzroy Reds will cruise through 'C' Section faction led by a certain Red Roy...Reds v Nobs at Brunswick street...just got over the line by 3 goals wasn't it..SBMT vs NOBS at Gillon with four key players off the deck from half time...margin 38 points...how many more examples do you need??...but wait there is more...the old chestnut 'Reds will have their VFL listed players back in the second half of the season'...try reading the team lists on the VAFA website each week - THEY HAVE BEEN PLAYING...I'd suggest to you that if Collingwood/Williamstown for one, start getting injuries, the Reds will have less player's available not more!!...watch out Roy cos I reckon Ormond just might cruise on past you this week at your HOME.
i make sense
14 Jun 2006, 15:15
You blokes are off your head ! Luke Wintle the best CHB in the comp? Did anyone see the rep game - Tim Davis - the best CHB in amateur footy BOG for the ammos and who does he play for? Oh yeah thats right, the mighty Reds. Would walk into any team in any Grade.
The St Bedes hysteria on this site amazes me. As I have said before, they have had a dream draw playing so often at the postage stamp - lets see how they go on a truly big ground against decent opposition- like Camberwell away (with Loats) or Brunswick St against the redders. They battled against NOBS !!! Expect big things after the break from Fitzroy - the word is that a few blokes who have been in and out of VFL teams will spend a lot more time at the Reds. Look out!
gee you talk a lot of tripe Roy.
first of all the rep game was sub standard and Davies was lucky to get the votes - he was servicealbe at best.
secondly, if your players are not good enough to play in the 2's at VFL level than i would suggest they are not that good, hence just a good local player.
Thirdly, the only big thing i'm expecting from fitzroy after the break is a mighty big thump!! when they come crashing back to earth.
P.S what drugs are you on and were can i get some.:p :p :p
Saintly5
14 Jun 2006, 17:52
From what i have seen this year i think there are 3 sides that can win the flag...and they are St Bedes, Ajax and Monash.
The Students are about to have there lull but are all quality from the 3 games i have seen them play this year....Mentone are very strong but not over the line...and the poor jackas have been ravaged with injuries (again) but are all class when they get there game going.......beat Hampton without Lewski, Sutton, Kirzner, a half fit Rosen and thier Skipper Gold....., dont worry about spruiking Fitzroy or whoever.....the above three are the only chances, mark my words.
greentree
14 Jun 2006, 18:25
watch out Roy cos I reckon Ormond just might cruise on past you this week at your HOME.
Im with you Mr Clay, Reds will be doing well to win this one, Lucky for them that NOBS and Parkdale are struggling or they could have been back in D grade at the end of the year.
gee you talk a lot of tripe Roy.
first of all the rep game was sub standard and Davies was lucky to get the votes - he was servicealbe at best.
secondly, if your players are not good enough to play in the 2's at VFL level than i would suggest they are not that good, hence just a good local player.
Thirdly, the only big thing i'm expecting from fitzroy after the break is a mighty big thump!! when they come crashing back to earth.
P.S what drugs are you on and were can i get some.:p :p :p
Nice threads.
Comment on the rep game caught my eye. I watched also and from a C-Grade perspective. Must disagree with your assessment - an outstanding game in terms of hardness. SFL's plan was clear - smash the VAFA all day around the packs, restricting the advantage of their fitness: just fell short. Struggled to pick a BOG, but Davies into the ruck in the last turned the game - the first time all day that VAFA got first use.
Bigfootyfan
14 Jun 2006, 21:40
Roy,
your mental state deeply concerns me and the readers and posters on this thread. Where in my post did i say that Luke Wintle was the best CHB in the comp. I didnt. All i said was that in the form he is in he is a shoe in for that side.
If St Bedes lose a game or two this year it wont be because the opposition are better it will be because they were beaten on the day. Surely you can have the respect to admit that they are by far and away the best side this year
GetSmart
14 Jun 2006, 23:20
The St Bedes hysteria on this site amazes me. As I have said before, they have had a dream draw playing so often at the postage stamp - lets see how they go on a truly big ground against decent opposition- like Camberwell away (with Loats) or Brunswick St against the redders. They battled against NOBS !!! Expect big things after the break from Fitzroy - the word is that a few blokes who have been in and out of VFL teams will spend a lot more time at the Reds. Look out! I'm with you Red. The reds will win the flag this year for sure. Next we will take B Section before the juggernaut wins 10 straight in A section. It is only a matter of time. Before we know it the Brisbane Lions will be struggling and they will want to merge with us and move back to Brunswick Street........ I'll just have another glass of red.....Red!........ Go Ritzroy, sorry Fitzzroy!........ Timmy..........great player!....... Does he play for us?......sorrry, ......of course.......... Go Redders!........Go Franko!..........Brunswick Street Fiztroy........ Jezza......lanko you beauty!..... Ah Red Boy........ we've got a good team.........we have?...... havent we Red!......... Please keep telling me. I believe you.
Mobbenfuhrer
15 Jun 2006, 10:08
I'm with you Red. The reds will win the flag this year for sure. Next we will take B Section before the juggernaut wins 10 straight in A section. It is only a matter of time. Before we know it the Brisbane Lions will be struggling and they will want to merge with us and move back to Brunswick Street........ I'll just have another glass of red.....Red!........ Go Ritzroy, sorry Fitzzroy!........ Timmy..........great player!....... Does he play for us?......sorrry, ......of course.......... Go Redders!........Go Franko!..........Brunswick Street Fiztroy........ Jezza......lanko you beauty!..... Ah Red Boy........ we've got a good team.........we have?...... havent we Red!......... Please keep telling me. I believe you.
Ahh Red Roy, it looks like your work here is done :) I couldn't have been more votaric myself on a dose of Opium.
overtheline
15 Jun 2006, 10:55
Isn't it great to have Roy back? I am with you Roy, the Reds to hammer home in the back half of the season with all the "hard" away venues already visited. Top two still very likely and the rest is a raffle really. Depth will be the key to winning in winter and Parky and Hampton could struggle. Reds vs St Bedes for the second semi. Great to have you back Roy!
Red Roy
15 Jun 2006, 13:06
Isn't it great to have Roy back? I am with you Roy, the Reds to hammer home in the back half of the season with all the "hard" away venues already visited. Top two still very likely and the rest is a raffle really. Depth will be the key to winning in winter and Parky and Hampton could struggle. Reds vs St Bedes for the second semi. Great to have you back Roy!
Good to be back OTL. One reason to be confident as a Reds supporter is that we come from a recent history of success - unlike others in the grade (St Bedes NOBS, Ormond etc) We have won recent flags and have a culture of success - we accept nothing less and will attain it this season. If I am right, St Bedes have not one a flag since 1993 in D Grade. A long time between drinks for a club that is talked up here as going through undefeated. Their neighbours in Hampton, Parkdale and Beaumaruis have a better recent history at winning flags!!! - doesn't matter what grade, premierships are premierships and we win em.
Bigfootyfan
15 Jun 2006, 18:29
Good to be back OTL. One reason to be confident as a Reds supporter is that we come from a recent history of success - unlike others in the grade (St Bedes NOBS, Ormond etc) We have won recent flags and have a culture of success - we accept nothing less and will attain it this season. If I am right, St Bedes have not one a flag since 1993 in D Grade. A long time between drinks for a club that is talked up here as going through undefeated. Their neighbours in Hampton, Parkdale and Beaumaruis have a better recent history at winning flags!!! - doesn't matter what grade, premierships are premierships and we win em.
Roy, are you retarded!!!! Of course it matters what grade your in. If you put the Tigers, Rovers or Beauy down in D to D2 wede win flag after flag after flag. The difference is Beauy and the Tigers are good enought to compete in B grade, you guys are not.
Will be at Brunswick St Saturday for Reds v Ormond - should be a cracker.
Late Change - off to Bulleen Cobras instead.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
16 Jun 2006, 09:27
Red Roy...Red Roy....Red Roy.....again here are a few facts to swallow...Fitz Reds 2001 'Premiers' in D3 Section (other final four teams - Bentleigh,St.Johns & Monash Gryphons)...2002 finished 3rd in D 2 Section at the same time SBMT finished Runners up to Whitefriars in C Section (other finalists Caulfied Grammarians & Beaumaris)...2003 FR win D2 other finalists - Peninsula & West Brunswick...SBMT in B section...2004 FR finish 3rd in Section D1 whilst SBMT finish 4th in B Section behind St.Kevins, Collegians and Old Ivanahoe...2005 FR win Section D 1 other finalists Ormond, Prahran & Old Carey.......so when you get down to and analyse it the Reds have taken 2 years historically to rise one Section so you can safely double that in C Section and triple it in B Section (just look at Uni Blacks this year)...plus the teams you have competed against along the journey are not any of the historically powerful clubs of recent VAFA history with the exception of a rebuilding Ormond last year...the Reds are to be congratulated on their progress but in reality are starting to find out that is going to get a lot harder from 2006 onwards...don't think for a minute that SBMT haven't got players or a structure that knows how to win...look more closely at their U/19 VAFA results of the past 5-10 years and add a large number of each TAC Cup players some of whom won premierships at that level, throw in the AFL/VFL experience factor and with the hunger they have as a club as a result of last year, you can see why they are going places and will continue to do so.