wrong again are you ever right I don't think so
C Section
Old Camberwell 20.11 bt Monash Blues 14.8
Ajax 20.19 bt Parkdale Vultures 14.4
St Bedes/Mentone Tig 21.23 bt Hampton Rovers 10.10:D
Ormond 20.22 bt NOB/St Pats Coll 13.17
Fitzroy Reds 12.13 bt Old Paradians 11.8
How many did you get right blueboys?
4 from 5 over here, missing on the OC win.
GG - 4 correct tips
RCT - 3 wins (can't count the draw :p )
Red Roy, crap effort mate :D, 2 wins.
blueboys - sorry can't see your tips here. Away teams less 1 = 1 winner
Station RRR - Rolled by Red Roy.
Bigfootyfan
2 Jul 2006, 19:18
Morning all,
the roy is here to brighten everyones day. I see quitely confident has made some interesting remarks. I agree with his theme of the tigers faltering (last 2 weeks show that they are indeed vulnerable) but I don't know that a personal attack on the coach is the way to go. Roy considers himself above such things, come on quitely confident, have ago at the whole lot of em not just the coach!!
The roys will be back on track this week, and here are my tips
Roy Boys v Parade - 10 goals in round 1 - closer to 20 this time. No Boundy, no parade
Rovers v Tigers - TAC week off, rovers will be young quick and hungry on the big ground and the tigers faltering form will be exposed. The tigers won't be ale to keep up with the pacy rovers.
That is all
Red Roy
Well Roy another quality accurate week of posting again. Here come the Reds, the sail is wet and they are flying home.
The Tigers again looked to really struggle on the big ground. Looking forward to this weeks tripe mate
Mobbenfuhrer
2 Jul 2006, 20:13
wrong again are you ever right I don't think so
C Section
Old Camberwell 20.11 bt Monash Blues 14.8
Ajax 20.19 bt Parkdale Vultures 14.4
St Bedes/Mentone Tig 21.23 bt Hampton Rovers 10.10:D
Ormond 20.22 bt NOB/St Pats Coll 13.17
Fitzroy Reds 12.13 bt Old Paradians 11.8
How many did you get right blueboys?
4 from 5 over here, missing on the OC win.
GG - 4 correct tips
RCT - 3 wins (can't count the draw :p )
Red Roy, crap effort mate :D, 2 wins.
bigfootyfan - sorry can't see your tips here. Away teams less 1 = 1 winner :p
blueboys - sorry can't see your tips here. Away teams less 1 = 1 winner
Station RRR - Rolled by Red Roy.
Quietly Confident
2 Jul 2006, 20:36
Shaping like the Tigers V the jacka's come September as there is a gap emerging beween 2nd and the rest for a reason. The jackas take on the reds this week at Peterson oval which should be a belter, although my mail is the reds injury woes continued on the weekend losing 3 more prime movers. Loats has kicked another 12 I hear , saw him play early on in the year.He is a class act , what the hell is he doing at Camberwell surely he must get tired of standing in front of those ********s behind the goals at home games. I was actually embarassed for him the day I watched .
The students look like they have enjoyed their vacation so they will need to get a move on, 2nd to 5th in 3 weeks is not good after they had set up their season with a couple of close wins.
Hampton were deadset lucky to beat Fitzroy at home 2 weeks ago and the form they displayed on the weekend is a true indication of where they are at as their lack of depth is a concern
Ormond are always tough at home but in an even year I can't help thinking their round 18 clash against St Bedes may put a dampener on where they finish.
Bigfootyfan
2 Jul 2006, 21:06
Loats has kicked another 12 I hear , saw him play early on in the year.He is a class act , what the hell is he doing at Camberwell surely he must get tired of standing in front of those ********s behind the goals at home games. I was actually embarassed for him the day I watched ..
QC surely $$$ is the only motivation. Must be on a damn good wicket. They will probably never get caught out but some kind sponsor must have very deep pockets
Easy on the old $$ accusation there. I do agree with quitely Confident on the crowd at OC. Disgraceful to say the least. Roy is above such and would think that lads from Camberwell would be as well, but....
Not my best round of tipping, but the mighty roys saluted away from home which would have no doubt irked Richard clay Thorpedo from down at Brindisi who seems to have taken a dislike to me for some reason??
Anyway, don't worry about any perceived injury crisis at Brunswick St, we have huge depth not only in our seconds (who are just starting to pur along nicely and will shake things up int he second half of the year) but in our two (2) thats right 2 club 18 sides. No other team in C section can claim to have the numbers we do and they will prove critical in the coming winter months.
Rumors again surrounding the hamstring of the giant from Camberwell, any confirmation would be appreciated, must hsve done it late if he slotted another dozen.
Anothe week down, another Reds win - it is starting to look ominous.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
3 Jul 2006, 08:45
My friend the Red....no dislike just enjoy tearing your unedited garbage to pieces!....There is depth and 'real depth'...doubt very much whether there is any 'real depth' in the Red's clubbies teams as they would have been called up by Round 10 to support the senior and reserves teams already....gee those pacy young rovers types created havoc at Bluff Road on Saturday...just as well the Tigers are faltering otherwise they might have had to call the game off under the mercy rule don't you reckon Red!
Real depth comes from a Strong Reserves team and your club's Under 19 team.
And just one more thing Red...put that old chestnut, you know, the one about the Tigers and won't be suited on bigger grounds than Brindisi street in your collection of " Red Roys incorrect calls of 2006" journal!
Cheers
RCT.
zoofest43
3 Jul 2006, 12:25
OC's have dealt with the crowd behind the goal problem. The past 2 home games that area has been filled with Ajax and Monash supporters,coincidently,giving Loats a hard time.(he's a big lad and can handle it).
$$ ARE CERTAINLY NOT THE MOTIVATION BEHIND LOATS PLAYING FOR OC.
Accusations of this sort arise any time a club is fortunate enough to secure the services of someone seen to be 'above' the level. The arguement rarely, if ever, has a foundation in fact, and is generally borne from frustation or jealousy,as is the case here.
It is clear that OC stuggle without him,given they are re developing,with so many young players representing the club at senior level.OC will gradually get stronger and stronger over the next 2/3 seasons as a result of this policy and I for one applaud the direction in which they are headed.
Finally the coach has copped plenty on this forum,and I'm guilty of expressing a differing opinion about things on occassion (however he knows that),but his efforts in the box should not go unnoticed.Against Monash on Saturday he and his staff were fantastic and played an important part in the win IMO.
Bigfootyfan
3 Jul 2006, 12:42
[quote=zoofest43]OC's have dealt with the crowd behind the goal problem. The past 2 home games that area has been filled with Ajax and Monash supporters,coincidently,giving Loats a hard time.(he's a big lad and can handle it).
$$ ARE CERTAINLY NOT THE MOTIVATION BEHIND LOATS PLAYING FOR OC.
Zoofest, can you give us some Loats background. Ie what he does for a crust and why he is playing at OC
zoofest43
3 Jul 2006, 12:59
not 100% certain BFF,but I think he is employed by a Gymnasium chain,in a sales and consultant position.A good wicket ,so to speak.
He has good mates at OC who convinced him to 'have a run' pre-season,when he was thinking of giving it away altogether, after injuries curtailed his career at the highest level. I'll add you would not find a nicer ,more modest young man anywhere. His laconic sense of humour and general intelligence have endeared him to all who meet him. He remanins accessible to the clubs supporters and this is why so many at OC go out of their way to speak up on his behalf when he is attacked.( e.g after the recent Ajax game).
Apart from his incredible value 'on-field' , he is a genuine asset in many other ways.He is very patient with the younger players especially and he goes out of his way to help many of the boys develop more quickly.
Supa Frank
3 Jul 2006, 13:20
not 100% certain BFF,but I think he is employed by a Gymnasium chain,in a sales and consultant position.A good wicket ,so to speak.
He has good mates at OC who convinced him to 'have a run' pre-season,when he was thinking of giving it away altogether, after injuries curtailed his career at the highest level. I'll add you would not find a nicer ,more modest young man anywhere. His laconic sense of humour and general intelligence have endeared him to all who meet him. He remanins accessible to the clubs supporters and this is why so many at OC go out of their way to speak up on his behalf when he is attacked.( e.g after the recent Ajax game).
Apart from his incredible value 'on-field' , he is a genuine asset in many other ways.He is very patient with the younger players especially and he goes out of his way to help many of the boys develop more quickly.
Sounds like someone is in love?
zoofest43
3 Jul 2006, 13:35
fair go Frank,just answering a question and supplying information in an honest fashion.
Should be more of it on here,rather than the continual bitching and destructive comment.
Bluesnews43
3 Jul 2006, 13:44
Who cares about loats?
Uve got a guy who kicks bags every week and you still can't win games, must
be a really deep list.....
Ajax has shown this year their depth with the loss of former afl player julian kirzner and another goal kicker j. berger.
Kicked around 130-150 goals between them last yr, and not playing this year, still manage to win games and find goal kickers...
Bluesnews43
3 Jul 2006, 14:39
zoofest, can certainly see the other teams.
Most admired players aside from ajax: boundy, full forward for vultures ( number 1), hamptons ruckman ( man monster), redhead from monash ( absolute gun), and many other, so certainly can see other teams..
I think loats could kick 150+ if he was more enthusiastic, i'm saying if he played for a team that i supported, wether it be at afl level or c grade amateurs i would want more output ( not in terms of goals, in terms of enthusiasm) , doesnt look like his interested ala' brendan fevola 2 years ago.
Oc were a great team last yr, dont look like they're upto it this yr..
Certainly looks like a 2 horse race, but never know what can happen.
Bluesnews43
3 Jul 2006, 14:42
i do go for ajax, only because berger ( former player) was a good mate, just go down to watch them now as a football supporter, however i have a soft spot for them...
I go to see a good game of footy!!!! Definately look at both teams...
agreed, boundary umpire questionable... what amateur umpires aern't ( atleast its a little comedy)
Supa Frank
3 Jul 2006, 15:18
fair go Frank,just answering a question and supplying information in an honest fashion.
Should be more of it on here,rather than the continual bitching and destructive comment.
Sorry Zoofest, your right, it was a cheap shot!!!!
As for you Bluenews I'm sure Loats would have been well provoked by a few Ajax Players/Supporters to carry on in this manner. Jacka's have always been quick to place the blame, but take know reponsibilty. Just look at the number of Malee's they are involved in, surely it can't always be the oppositions fault.
Bluesnews43
3 Jul 2006, 16:57
bede, could ur life get any worse? old camberwell, essendon.....
ring your travel agent... im sure u can get cheap airline tickets if you book now for september....
keep camporeale... keep loats... keep them all
special mention to no21 for ajax, 100 games on the weekend
Saintly5
3 Jul 2006, 18:07
If the Jackas can overcome a resurgent Reds and the tigers get over Parade at home on Saturday, then what a match we are in for next Sunday week at Wick park.......we will know if St.Bedes are raging favs for the flag or do they have a genuine challenger in the red, white and black??
Odds: Tigers: $1.50
Jackas: $2.60
Line Jackas +14.5 $1.90
Should be a beauty.
Dear C section-types,
Please log on to the VAFA website for my official stab at the C Section Team of the Half Year. Bound to draw some criticism and hopefully will be a good source of banter on this thread for the next few days. I was tossing up slotting in a 4th Tiger, but really couldn't find another standout on top of the 3 who've gone in. Also think it's a bit light on for key position players, with Boundy playing at CHF and Gregory (CHB) pushing Wintle back to FB. I tried to steer clear of VFL listed players too, and stuck with genuine C grade stars.
Oh and another thing, we are the first section to get our side in!!
This is surely a reflection of the quality of the competition, and not the fact that I'd knocked off work after finishing a plea at Shepparton Mag Crt at 10.35 am, and after the 2hr drive back to the CBD, had the rest of the afternoon to muck around back in the office!! :D
Cheers
Fraser
Quietly Confident
3 Jul 2006, 20:06
Fraser, read your side .My spies down at Fitzroy reckon TIM DAVIS lets Jimmy O'Reilley carry his bag.I want a kilogram of whatever your on and as for Robbins at Ormond, change his name wouldn't get a game....looks like his brother plays like his sister. 3 Ormond onballers in the side ,you'd have to think they would be a good chance for the flag ....... No me either. You should have taken your time and put a bit more thought into it .
SeymourLions
3 Jul 2006, 21:30
Scribe, really think there should probably be at least 4 if not 5 SBMT players, as they are unbeaten for the very reason.
Groves is unlucky, as is Anthony Scafidi
zoofest43
4 Jul 2006, 04:35
very hard job Scribe,well done. Naturally we all like to see more of our 'own' in, but I reckon the only other OC that should of been considered is Ditch,David Mitchell(20). He's having a great year and is extremely versatile,made the rep side etc.
Bluesnews43
4 Jul 2006, 09:59
surely bloom gets a gig in the pocket...
Lewski represeted vic, and starts on the bench???
I want a kilogram of whatever your on and as for Robbins at Ormond, change his name wouldn't get a game....looks like his brother plays like his sister. 3 Ormond onballers in the side ,you'd have to think they would be a good chance for the flag ....... No me either. You should have taken your time and put a bit more thought into it .
I'd have to agree QC, being an Ormond man, Robbins has had an up & down year to say the least, has played some great games, but some ordinary ones as well, injuries have played their part on that.
As for Keleher, he mainly plays HBF/onball & is definately one of the most consistent players in C grade. Miller is an absolute gun & could easily play at a higher grade or level, as his C grade B&F & 2 D1 B&F's suggest.
i make sense
4 Jul 2006, 12:20
Scribe, really think there should probably be at least 4 if not 5 SBMT players, as they are unbeaten for the very reason.
Groves is unlucky, as is Anthony Scafidi
Agreed SL, a team that is undefeated should have more than three players in. Both Groves and Scafidi are worthy candidates, as too a highly under rated player by the name of David Kinsella.
Kinsella is a good honest footballer, been in the best a few times and from the limited games i've seen of the tigers, he has held their backline together. He has a great leap and a good set of hands.
Agreed SL, a team that is undefeated should have more than three players in.
Drawing a comparison to Hawthorn of 1991, they won the flag, yet didn't have one player in the All-Australian Side. St Bedes might be the same, where they are considered a very even team, as opposed to a side made up of lots of good individuals. Just a thought.
As for the Reds, Jimmy O'Reilly is as classy a backman as i have seen in all my years in footy, and deserves a spot on the bench, at the very least. Tim Davis would be a walk up start in any side too. BOG in the Rep game proves that.
Before anyone jumps down my throat for be "pro-Reds", or too parochial, as I play in the Clubbies, I get to see very little of the Reds' opposition, so I have no doubt there are many other class players in C grade, but i know a good player when i see them, and these two are definitely in that category.
overtheline
4 Jul 2006, 14:31
Agreed SL, a team that is undefeated should have more than three players in. Both Groves and Scafidi are worthy candidates, as too a highly under rated player by the name of David Kinsella.
Kinsella is a good honest footballer, been in the best a few times and from the limited games i've seen of the tigers, he has held their backline together. He has a great leap and a good set of hands.
S Sullivan , parkdale? You can't be serious scribe! So much for the "st Bedes can't win on a big ground theory" after Saturday!
Scribe,
The controversy over Bret Kirk's omission from recent AA sides seems to hold stead down in C-section amateur football too. Every side needs a tagger who may not be the pretiest player but is always the last man up holding the ball, always keep his oponent quiet and even plays on when concussed.
Need you look any further than the man they call The Hardman - no.8 for AJAX.
Cheers
greentree
4 Jul 2006, 15:11
S Sullivan , parkdale? You can't be serious scribe! So much for the "st Bedes can't win on a big ground theory" after Saturday!
Whats wrong with S Sullivan, he's had a pretty good year.
Thanks for the feedback gents - as was always going to be the case, plenty of genuine claims have already been noted.
As for some specifics:
1. I was looking to slot in 4 or 5 Tigers, but it is a testament to their even-ness that the three mentioned as unlucky omissions were all considered, and would be in a expanded squad of, say 30.
2. Mitch from OC was also considered, but there were too many of similar ilk already in.
3. Davis was going to be my first choice Redder, until I started sifting through the BPs for the season. Dangerous, I know but, given I still play myself, I haven't been to many games as an observer, and figured Chapman and O'Reilly had been more consistent.
4. Robbins could be a tad fortunate, and Lewski was only on the pine because the other two Jackas got a starting slot, in their rightful positions. He'd be rotating on the ball with Ritter, Keleher, Anstey and Miller.
5. Parkdale aren't that far off the pace and the two Sullivans have been instrumental thus far.
6. Bloom's been very good, but you can't go past Loats, and Greenwood has been a shining light up front for the Rovers.
NB - overtheline, I don't subscribe to the STBMT can't play on a big ground theory. Frankly, I think they'll go through the season undefeated, but I was prepared to sacrifice a tip to stir up things at Hampton. Unfortunately, it sppeared to work in reverse!!!!
Thanks for all your input/opinion. Please keep it coming.....
Quietly Confident
4 Jul 2006, 23:46
I have been having a closer look at this team.Now I know the boy can finish but I have just looked at my watch and I am tipping young Tyquinn is tucked up in bed, $50 says he sleeps with the light on though.
Quietly Confident
5 Jul 2006, 00:07
Drawing a comparison to Hawthorn of 1991, they won the flag, yet didn't have one player in the All-Australian Side. St Bedes might be the same, where they are considered a very even team, as opposed to a side made up of lots of good individuals. Just a thought.
As for the Reds, Jimmy O'Reilly is as classy a backman as i have seen in all my years in footy, and deserves a spot on the bench, at the very least. Tim Davis would be a walk up start in any side too. BOG in the Rep game proves that.
Before anyone jumps down my throat for be "pro-Reds", or too parochial, as I play in the Clubbies, I get to see very little of the Reds' opposition, so I have no doubt there are many other class players in C grade, but i know a good player when i see them, and these two are definitely in that category.
Now Mappa obviously being a redder has tainted your view perhaps you still have the blinkers on ,James is a good ordinary footballer, honest at best.How he got a game ahead of Tim Davis is anyones guess. I watched that kid Mitchell play from OC's and he goes well enough to be in that side no probs.Glad Sleepy got a game he has been playing well for Nobs week in week out .Hear he is planning a big one Saturday night for the WCF Big screen, plenty of gear and a hot tub in the lounge I'm tipping all roads lead to Clarendon st .The scribe is tipping the tigers to go through undeafeated I hope thats not on the strength of a win over the rovers, talk to me after the jacka's game sunday week. In an even season to win 20 in a row is a huge ask. Premiers and Champions is a tag not worn by many in their footy lives and fewer playing coaches.
Quietly Confident
5 Jul 2006, 00:18
I'd have to agree QC, being an Ormond man, Robbins has had an up & down year to say the least, has played some great games, but some ordinary ones as well, injuries have played their part on that.
As for Keleher, he mainly plays HBF/onball & is definately one of the most consistent players in C grade. Miller is an absolute gun & could easily play at a higher grade or level, as his C grade B&F & 2 D1 B&F's suggest.
Miller is forward of the footy all day every day.He has enormous leg speed and carries the footy and therefore gets votes from umpires who do not understand the game and how it is played.George plays him in the repside every year because George is a muppet. Miller is quick , my dog can run.
As for miller playing in a higher grade your right but if he played any wider he would be in the grandstand.Millers don't win you flags, ask him how many senior premierships he has played in , I'm tipping I know the answer.
Give me Digger everyday of the week.
THE BEACON
5 Jul 2006, 10:26
QC You say it is an even season, but that's for nine clubs, the other club SBMT continues to meet all challenges thrown at them so far.
As for playing coaches well that just something you will have to get over!
tommy1979
5 Jul 2006, 10:54
Right oh lads. Give us your c section team of the year so far:
Mine:
B: Robbins(orm) L.Wintle(SBMT) T.Brady(NOBS)
HB: Lowerson(OC) Davis(FITZ) Smyth(Mon)
C: Lewski(Ajax) P.Sullivan(Park) Tyquin(SBMT)
HF: S.Hecker(Park) Gregory(Mon) Boundy(OP)
F: Sleep (NOBS) Loats(OC) MacGeorge(Park)
R: Browne(Hamp) Miller(Orm) Anstey(SBMT)
Bench: Cahill(Fitz) Groves(SBMT) Bloom(Ajax)
Well pretty close to the money. Would have added Ritterman to my bench as I only named three.
Wouldn't rely on best players listed every week cause they are done very quickly after the siren.
i make sense
5 Jul 2006, 11:14
I have been having a closer look at this team.Now I know the boy can finish but I have just looked at my watch and I am tipping young Tyquinn is tucked up in bed, $50 says he sleeps with the light on though.
Quietly confident, i think i will re-name you "loudly stupid". your comments about Tyquin and Miller are stupid - hence your new name.
Tyquin has been killing them this year, and Miller's record speaks for itself. I'm sure if both these players were playing for your reds you would be quick to sing their praises as they would finish 1 & 2 in your clubs b & f. Thus they would be the best players at your club.
QC - I look forward to you being a little more quiet and a little less confident.
That makes sense to me.
Quietly confident, i think i will re-name you "loudly stupid". your comments about Tyquin and Miller are stupid - hence your new name.
Tyquin has been killing them this year, and Miller's record speaks for itself. I'm sure if both these players were playing for your reds you would be quick to sing their praises as they would finish 1 & 2 in your clubs b & f. Thus they would be the best players at your club.
QC - I look forward to you being a little more quiet and a little less confident.
That makes sense to me.
What I make sense said...
If you think that about Miller then maybe it's YOU that dosn't have a clue...
Mobbenfuhrer
5 Jul 2006, 13:15
... playing for your reds ...
QC is a Reds fan?
That just doesn't make sense.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
5 Jul 2006, 13:20
C Section Team of the Half Year
Backs - Scribe, Richard Clay Torpedoes, Supa Frank
Half Backs- Tommy1979, CFE, Saintly5
Centres- Greentree, I make sense, Grandstand Guru
Half Forwards - Blueboys1, Quietly Confident, Mappa
Forwards - Zoofest43, Local Boy, Over the line
Rucks - The Beacon
RR - Scroda (a natural tagger)
Rover - Red Roy (would yap and yap and yap)
I/C - bluesnews43, FIEMJO, bede me up & SeymourLions
Coach - Mobbenfuhrer
Mobbenfuhrer
5 Jul 2006, 13:35
Thank god I don't have to play.
Rucks - The Beacon
Coach - Mobbenfuhrer
The Roy is happy to play on ball. I won't change much though, would not be good for the team if I wasn't around the contest.
As for Scribes team, Gregory at CHB????????????????? Tim Davis is the best defender in Amateur football period. Would walk into CHB in any team in any section. What about Maghamez, he is surely in the best 6 fowards in this comp.
Whats with all of these ormond players - how do they perform in big games like Grand Finals or Grand Final replays against the roys - not that well let me tell you !
I see QC is continuing his analysis of the tigers, and upsetting a few people along the way. Well done son, they need bringing down a peg or two. Some interesting stuff on their website regarding Hampton Rovers and blokes not hanging around for a drink. Roy is very disapointed with such behaviour and does not condone it.
I agree with him (or does he agree with me) the Tigers are yet to play a good team on a big ground. Hampton are very average (yes i know RCT they beat us by 5 points there before you have a heart attack) and will not make the finals. Jackas at E.P. and the long drive to Brunswick St will sort them out.
That is all for know.
Roy
Keen Observer
5 Jul 2006, 14:59
The Roy is happy to play on ball. I won't change much though, would not be good for the team if I wasn't around the contest.
As for Scribes team, Gregory at CHB????????????????? Tim Davis is the best defender in Amateur football period. Would walk into CHB in any team in any section. What about Maghamez, he is surely in the best 6 fowards in this comp.
Whats with all of these ormond players - how do they perform in big games like Grand Finals or Grand Final replays against the roys - not that well let me tell you !
I see QC is continuing his analysis of the tigers, and upsetting a few people along the way. Well done son, they need bringing down a peg or two. Some interesting stuff on their website regarding Hampton Rovers and blokes not hanging around for a drink. Roy is very disapointed with such behaviour and does not condone it.
I agree with him (or does he agree with me) the Tigers are yet to play a good team on a big ground. Hampton are very average (yes i know RCT they beat us by 5 points there before you have a heart attack) and will not make the finals. Jackas at E.P. and the long drive to Brunswick St will sort them out.
That is all for know.
Roy
Maghamez in top 6 fwds ! You wld have to be joking.
Davis IS the difference at Reds. Parade wld have beaten you by 5 gls if not for him.
Surprised with Hampton as we have always found them good at the post match.
C Section, generally, is very poor in this area. On 3 occasions this year even the coaches were missing from post match drinks !
Richard Clay Torpedoes
5 Jul 2006, 15:27
KO...I know the regulars at Brindisi street have been disappointed by some of the post match lack of attendance this year and it started Round 1 from HR...reason given was they had a club function on...don't think there are too many club functions starting at 4.30pm (time the game finished this day) and it is only 10 minutes to Hampton. They felt very strongly about it as has been documented. It is a great post match tradition and should be maintained by ALL Clubs...the standard is set in the first 9 games to be reciprocated in the second half. Must say the Fitzroy Reds were impressive post match at the Tigers Den my spies tell me and I know the Tigers faithfull will return in kind.
Roy....Brunswick Street is not a long trip...long trips are Parade at Bundoora, Whitefriars at Donvale and for those a little older...Fawkner & Thomastown (that's a road trip like going interstate!)
Tell me Roy...what's your analysis of why Red's comfortably defeated Parade Round one at home and yet just got over the line by 11 points in the return game last Saturday at Parade (minus D.Boundy)? Have Reds slipped? or just maintained where they are at and Parade improved?
Keen Observer
5 Jul 2006, 15:53
No excuse for 'home' clubs to not attend for at least 30 mins.
Having a drink post match, especially after a loss, is character building for the club.
Reds are not nearly as strong as Rd 1. About 6 goals weaker.
I think the Rovers are being harsly judged for non attendance at the tiger den. As a keen tiger supporter and member, i had quite a few beers with a few of the rovers players and supporters at Brindisi St after the round 1 clash. I was very surprised to read the coment on the Tigers website.
Mobbenfuhrer
5 Jul 2006, 17:12
Does anyone's Dad at Hampton Rovers drive a bus? (real question)
eddiesmith
5 Jul 2006, 18:18
Roy....Brunswick Street is not a long trip...long trips are Parade at Bundoora, Whitefriars at Donvale and for those a little older...Fawkner & Thomastown (that's a road trip like going interstate!)
Friars aint a long trip for everyone :)
As for the earlier posts about the OC crowd, I love em, reckon they are the 2nd best crowd in the Ammos, dont know what the problem is, 2 weeks ago the crowd for Ajax I think it was was shocking especially towards Loats who had a poor day which didnt help
Anyway what are the predictions for the Ajax v Reds game this week? Will it be a good game? Only had 1 close game all year, always enjoy a thriller :)
Bede me up
5 Jul 2006, 18:20
Rucks - The Beacon
Coach - Mobbenfuhrer
Would love to play for the opposition for a chance to have a crack at BluesNews (in the unlikely event he got off the bench). He'd be bragging about his glory days as a 16 year old boy playing along side Judd and Ball, but he wouldn't put his head over the pill.
On another matter, since when has Boss Reserve been a "big ground"? In my C grade experience, the large grounds are GBO, E'wick, Monash,and of course the finals venue, Sandy.
Alphonse
5 Jul 2006, 19:08
Fraser, my sources at the Gillon think your team is spot on, so many of those players have torched nobs this year. Great to see ‘Father Time’ Scott Sleep recognized.
Grandstand Guru
5 Jul 2006, 19:25
Scribe
Think your team is pretty solid. Agree with Red Roy (for almost the only time ever) that Davis should have been CHB as he has to be the best Red this year. Gregory from Monash though has been outstanding but playing on ball. He played State and my mail is he is almost clear Club B&F and most would be surprised if he wasn't top 5 comp B&F at the halfway mark as he was the main man behind the Students early form. Good pick with Williams in the ruck, as from all accounts he has had an outstanding year for them too. Understand your reasoning re Lewski and positions, but he surely has to be on the ground. Played Vic u/23 and has been in the best week in, week out. Also a query on both Sullivans...Still a good effort all in all.
Looking forward to a solid fortnight from the Jackas too, starting with a decisive away win at Fitzroy. Also a great game will be Monash v Ormond at Monash. A one point margin last time and all to play for this time!
Fraser, my sources at the Gillon think your team is spot on, so many of those players have torched nobs this year. Great to see ‘Father Time’ Scott Sleep recognized.
Alphonse,
He led me a merry dance in A grade almost 10 years ago, and doesn't seem to have slipped much in his 'golden years' - certainly a worthy NOBSPC inclusion.
PS - any sign of Tony M over your way? Or has he found a hidey hole somewhere in the Mediterranean?
Quietly Confident
5 Jul 2006, 23:46
You can call me Rex hunt, as I've been fishing and boy did I catch you trout mouth
You are a moron! Not that all of us here didn't know that already...
Miller & Keleher would walk into any team in C grade, probably higher as well, that's why they are in the team. I'll admit Robbins' inclusion is dubious....
And it's on the season so far not past matches...
Mobbenfuhrer
6 Jul 2006, 09:42
O'Reilly out, Davis in. No offence meant to O'Reilly, just pipped at post.
That's probably about the sum of it, Vinnie, Kane, Rock Star high perf at the Reds, but I'm sure there are folks at the other clubs that would be as good considering we're mid-table.
All Ormond players to be removed due to their inability to defeat Fitzroy. :D
All StBM players to be removed due to their ground lining up directly up with the sun, not north-south, directly up with the sun! (I think Mackie Road does, also).
All OC players apart from Loats to be removed due to not being Loats.
All Hampton Rovers players not related to bus drivers to be removed.
Otherwise fine. :)
Scribe,
You may as well just make it all Fitzroy Reds players, since they have been the stand out team all year
Richard Clay Torpedoes
6 Jul 2006, 12:00
Getting the tips in early this week
Parkdale vs OC - seems as though Loats is unlikely - Parky at home to win
Reds vs Ajax - must win at home for the Reds - maybe just
SBMT vs Paradians - Tigers comfortably (will they risk playing Boundy?)
COBS vs Rovers - NOBS at home by less than 10 points
Blues Students vs Ormond - Uni should have a few back but Ormond for me
No.8
Mobbenfuhrer
6 Jul 2006, 12:01
Scribe,
You may as well just make it all Fitzroy Reds players, since they have been the stand out team all year
:thumbsu: hehe I knew we'd swing you round, CFE :p
Well if you can't beat them...(which we haven't been able to do for a while)
On second thoughts nah... I think our clubs are beginning to have a healthy dislike for each other, bring it on I say!!!
No.8
Roy will also place his tips:
Parky v OC - No loats, no OC - parky
Reds v Jackas - Here we come, Redders in a canter (good tipping RCT )
STBMT V Parade - Parade were allright last week, tigers will be suffer their first loss.
Nobs v rovers - Nobs - will the rovers stay for a drink - doesn't really matter because from my mail there are no Nobs people there after home games anyway!!! (relegation battle here - must win for both clubs)
Students v Ormond - Ormond can beat almost any team - except the Reds and will do so on Saturday.
That is all from the Roy at this juncture.
Grandstand Guru
6 Jul 2006, 14:22
Parky v OC - No loats, no OC - parky
Reds v Jackas - Here we come, Redders in a canter (good tipping RCT )
STBMT V Parade - Parade were allright last week, tigers will be suffer their first loss.
Nobs v rovers - Nobs - will the rovers stay for a drink - doesn't really matter because from my mail there are no Nobs people there after home games anyway!!! (relegation battle here - must win for both clubs)
Students v Ormond - Ormond can beat almost any team - except the Reds and will do so on Saturday.
That is all from the Roy at this juncture.
For me:
Parkdale to win. No Loats, No OC, no matter what anyone else tries to say
Jackas. In too good form to lose to the Reds who are still not convincing.
St Bede's. Easy. Boundy irrelevant.
NOBs. Chance to jump from the relegation zone too alluring.
Monash. Last chance for you Students.
juicyskipper
6 Jul 2006, 17:33
Thanks for the feedback gents - as was always going to be the case, plenty of genuine claims have already been noted.
As for some specifics:
1. I was looking to slot in 4 or 5 Tigers, but it is a testament to their even-ness that the three mentioned as unlucky omissions were all considered, and would be in a expanded squad of, say 30.
2. Mitch from OC was also considered, but there were too many of similar ilk already in.
3. Davis was going to be my first choice Redder, until I started sifting through the BPs for the season. Dangerous, I know but, given I still play myself, I haven't been to many games as an observer, and figured Chapman and O'Reilly had been more consistent.
4. Robbins could be a tad fortunate, and Lewski was only on the pine because the other two Jackas got a starting slot, in their rightful positions. He'd be rotating on the ball with Ritter, Keleher, Anstey and Miller.
5. Parkdale aren't that far off the pace and the two Sullivans have been instrumental thus far.
6. Bloom's been very good, but you can't go past Loats, and Greenwood has been a shining light up front for the Rovers.
NB - overtheline, I don't subscribe to the STBMT can't play on a big ground theory. Frankly, I think they'll go through the season undefeated, but I was prepared to sacrifice a tip to stir up things at Hampton. Unfortunately, it sppeared to work in reverse!!!!
Thanks for all your input/opinion. Please keep it coming.....
I've heard enough!!! Me at FB and Gregory and Davies better option at CHB, you haven't been watching many C grade games you people and Scribe! 10 straight wins as captain is apparently not enough!!!!
What about my 2 ugly brother surely they are better options than Tyquin(Who carries my bag). Who would I wax with, if there not playing?
One more person you have left out, S.KIDD. I know we are best mates and I shouldn't be pumping him up, but I feel I have too! This bloke gives me the ball a s h i t load of times a game and I want to make it known on big footy that I LOVE HIM!
I will leave you with this from the great John McEnroe
"Full Back" Scribe- YOU CAN'T BE SERIOUS
eddiesmith
6 Jul 2006, 17:37
Just wondering if Ajax or the Reds have any big dominating forwards that make life easy for the goal umpire? :)
juicyskipper
6 Jul 2006, 17:41
Just wondering if Ajax or the Reds have any big dominating forwards that make life easy for the goal umpire? :)
If I'm playing, there are no dominating forwards in any team!!!
Homer101
6 Jul 2006, 23:02
Alphonse,
He led me a merry dance in A grade almost 10 years ago, and doesn't seem to have slipped much in his 'golden years' - certainly a worthy NOBSPC inclusion.
PS - any sign of Tony M over your way? Or has he found a hidey hole somewhere in the Mediterranean?
Scribe what are you going on about, Sleepo has never played A grade...Lift your game
greentree
7 Jul 2006, 10:07
For me:
Parkdale to win. No Loats, No OC, no matter what anyone else tries to say
Jackas. In too good form to lose to the Reds who are still not convincing.
St Bede's. Easy. Boundy irrelevant.
NOBs. Chance to jump from the relegation zone too alluring.
Monash. Last chance for you Students.
Agree wth your tips Guru, the one that might be a bit sus is Parkdale, heard they have lost 5 players due to injury and suspension and have little depth, although the 2s showed a big improvement last week.
Hey Juicy get your hand off it, anyone who knows you knows your soft. A bit of a love tap in the back of your head and you would be gone for the day, to bad most forwards are even softer than you.
Mobbenfuhrer
7 Jul 2006, 13:32
NOBs, Monash, OC, St Bedes, Reds.
The Roy has noticed some storm clouds brewing - rain is approaching and is expected for tomorrow. Roy predicts the mighty tigers may be a little similar to the magpies last week, a slick unit in the dry but not too fond of the wet. Have you ever seen a cat regardless of size that enjoys the wet........
Parade are built for the wet, big bodied and not real quick, pefect match-up for the tiges.
This is the gospel according to Roy.
overtheline
7 Jul 2006, 14:19
Agree wth your tips Guru, the one that might be a bit sus is Parkdale, heard they have lost 5 players due to injury and suspension and have little depth, although the 2s showed a big improvement last week.
Hey Juicy get your hand off it, anyone who knows you knows your soft. A bit of a love tap in the back of your head and you would be gone for the day, to bad most forwards are even softer than you.
Another tough round looming with a few that could go either way.
Reds to smash Ajax at Brunswick street, Monash are in trouble and will fall to the monders. Roy, give us a break. Tigers will smash Parade. Parkdale just but it depends on their so called "outs"-are they anyone significant?
Hampton to get over Nobs who have had their time in the sun.
THE BEACON
7 Jul 2006, 16:19
Going fishing Roy!!!!!!!
i make sense
7 Jul 2006, 16:36
The Roy has noticed some storm clouds brewing - rain is approaching and is expected for tomorrow. Roy predicts the mighty tigers may be a little similar to the magpies last week, a slick unit in the dry but not too fond of the wet. Have you ever seen a cat regardless of size that enjoys the wet........
Parade are built for the wet, big bodied and not real quick, pefect match-up for the tiges.
Roy you have never heard of a cat fish or a tiger shark? both these feline named animals thrive in the wet. The wetter the better.
Scribe what are you going on about, Sleepo has never played A grade...Lift your game
I stand corrected - now that you've made me think harder, it was a windy May afternoon at the Gillon in 1999....when both OT and NOBs were in B Grade.
Bigfootyfan
7 Jul 2006, 17:22
ROY IF MY MEMORY SERVES ME CORRECT YOU HAVE A LION ON YOUR LOGO....HMMM INTERESTING!!!!
eddiesmith
8 Jul 2006, 18:30
What a thriller at Brunswick St with the Reds a couple of points up when the siren went but the ball was in the hands of an Ajax player 20m out, directly in front who kicked the goal to win the game
Ajax burst out of the blocks and held the Reds to a point in the 1st qtr and lead by about 27 points, but Reds kicked 6 in the 2nd qtr to bring the game about level and it was 3 goals to one side, 3 to the other for the 2nd half and the Reds led by 21 points or so late in the last only to be run over
Great game of footy
Grandstand Guru
8 Jul 2006, 19:44
Yep ripping game of Ammo footy from all accounts. What about other results???
Believe the Monders gave the Students a touch up. Monders off to a flyer in the 1st half and 6+ goals up before the Students got within a couple of goals at the final break, before the Monders won by 7 goals. Miller and Kelleher fantastic apparently....Students with a few injuries in the last month being punished now for the lack of depth reflected in their Magoos
What a thriller at Brunswick St with the Reds a couple of points up when the siren went but the ball was in the hands of an Ajax player 20m out, directly in front who kicked the goal to win the game
Ajax burst out of the blocks and held the Reds to a point in the 1st qtr and lead by about 27 points, but Reds kicked 6 in the 2nd qtr to bring the game about level and it was 3 goals to one side, 3 to the other for the 2nd half and the Reds led by 21 points or so late in the last only to be run over
Great game of footy
Guru Joffa
9 Jul 2006, 02:29
And here comes the Vultures... Never, ever right them off!!!
Guru Joffa
9 Jul 2006, 02:32
And to all those who doubted the brilliance of the Sullivan boys - think again... they can play and showed it against OC!!!
GetSmart
9 Jul 2006, 19:06
And here comes the Vultures... Never, ever right them off!!! When are you going to change your name from Vultures? When you think abiout it, it's terrible. Something with a bit of class would sound a lot better. Parky has a bit of history and local identity to it. Vultures..... they feed of the scraps.
The Hunting Coach
10 Jul 2006, 08:42
This old timer witnessed a great game at the gillon with allot of intensity as both teams had allot to play for! Great to see the teams in having drink afterwards. Great for ammo footy! Well done both Hampton and the COBs
Richard Clay Torpedoes
10 Jul 2006, 09:14
No.8
Well just the 4/5 for the Bunnings employee and former VAFA coach with the Reds disappointing again costing me. Will be interested in Red Roy's spin on the weekend results - can he see the pattern clearly yet?
Relegation battle hotting up and teams from Reds down to Parade on the ladder are in the hot seat still...having said that think the following are up to their neck in it - Parade, Rovers, Old Camberwell.
RCT
Mobbenfuhrer
10 Jul 2006, 10:45
I think I got two :( ... more like my usual form. Well the Reds definitely on the improve considering they got hammered by AJAX first time around. Still looking like a placing around the 4th or 5th mark at end of H&As. Obviously a lot of difference between 4th and 5th! Luckily though the home and away ratio has reversed for the return run, we won all home and lost all away in the first half, and are now winning the aways and losing the homes. This means we're gonnah own Tonga.
Don't knock the Vultures nickname, sound like a corker to me. Remember that some of the big nicks don't quite measure up technically either, how ferocious is a Swan, how optimistic a Blue? Cats? *reaches for you with clawed hand*
StBedes going nicely, AJAX starting to cement as #2. the rest still a raffle, with Parade and Rovers needing to start moving if they want to feel more secure.
Its pretty much time now, Hampton are only a game and % out of the 4, but if 7ish teams don't start solidifying their record from about ... err ... NOW, their chances will slip away.
greentree
10 Jul 2006, 11:03
When are you going to change your name from Vultures? When you think abiout it, it's terrible. Something with a bit of class would sound a lot better. Parky has a bit of history and local identity to it. Vultures..... they feed of the scraps.
You need to do what your name suggests. St Patricks mentone Vultures has quite a bit of history as well, would you rather the team be called the the Parkdale Budgies ( thats a nice pretty bird for you so you wont get scared )
On Parky, great win, bring on the REDS, and St Bedes still rolling along, Ormond shaping as likely finalist on good win on weekend and good game against Tigers.
haydnoconnor
10 Jul 2006, 11:06
The Vultures- EAT 'EM DEAD
An absolute towelling of OC, only a game out of the 4 and with even spread of goalkickers with
Michael Sullivan 13
Tony MacGeorge 14
Sam Hecker 13
Shane Rowley 13
which means not one player is the only option up forward and with skipper COREY STEPHENS back in 1 week, the mighty Vultures are BACK!
Yep ripping game of Ammo footy from all accounts. What about other results???
Believe the Monders gave the Students a touch up. Monders off to a flyer in the 1st half and 6+ goals up before the Students got within a couple of goals at the final break, before the Monders won by 7 goals. Miller and Kelleher fantastic apparently....Students with a few injuries in the last month being punished now for the lack of depth reflected in their Magoos
That was correct Guru, Monash pegged the score back in the 3rd to about 14pts & got within 7 points in the last, before we hit back with the last 6 goals to run out comfortable winners
Grandstand Guru
10 Jul 2006, 16:28
That was correct Guru, Monash pegged the score back in the 3rd to about 14pts & got within 7 points in the last, before we hit back with the last 6 goals to run out comfortable winners
Did you play CFE? What was the story in the end - did the Monders just steamroll and too good or did the Students fold? They have gone from 5-2 to 5-6 and in real strife!
GetSmart
10 Jul 2006, 17:05
You need to do what your name suggests. St Patricks mentone Vultures has quite a bit of history as well, would you rather the team be called the the Parkdale Budgies ( thats a nice pretty bird for you so you wont get scared )
On Parky, great win, bring on the REDS, and St Bedes still rolling along, Ormond shaping as likely finalist on good win on weekend and good game against Tigers. Good to see you use the word Parky. Parky identifies better with where you guys are from. Like Beauy, Chelt, Mordi, Sandy, Port, etc. You could go on. Vultures doesn't tell those outside the comp who we are. You guys must be from the St Pats side as you are reluctant to use the name Parkdale. If you embrassed Parky a bit more you might get some of us back on board. You have been prepared to change your identity more than once so we should get over it and be who we are. We are no longer St Pats Mentone. Parky are doing pretty well and we could upset a few before the seasons out.
greentree
10 Jul 2006, 17:34
Good to see you use the word Parky. Parky identifies better with where you guys are from. Like Beauy, Chelt, Mordi, Sandy, Port, etc. You could go on. Vultures doesn't tell those outside the comp who we are. You guys must be from the St Pats side as you are reluctant to use the name Parkdale. If you embrassed Parky a bit more you might get some of us back on board. You have been prepared to change your identity more than once so we should get over it and be who we are. We are no longer St Pats Mentone. Parky are doing pretty well and we could upset a few before the seasons out.
From your reply I am struggling to see your point, I call them Parky or Parkdale and sometimes the Vultures, its no different that calling St Bedes, StBedes or the Tigers( which you will notice I did in may last post)
The club is "Parkdale Vultures" same as StBedes/Mentone Tigers same as the Brisbane Lions, Sydney Swans, West Coast Eagles, are you seeing a pattern here.
The Vultures is just the logo.
And as far as St Pats goes we were already in C grade and didnt really need to merge with Parkdale, We got a better ground and kept our team logo apart from that not much else, a couple of players (90% of Parkys ones went chasing $) and some of Parkys debt.
Parky got to keep a team in Parkdale.
Are you one of the ex players that went to "greener pastures"
greentree
10 Jul 2006, 17:44
Get Smart, just looked at my last few posts and after playing 150+ games at St Pats I called Parkdale ,"Parkdale" in all of them.
Seems I have got over the name change.
GetSmart
10 Jul 2006, 18:08
Get Smart, just looked at my last few posts and after playing 150+ games at St Pats I called Parkdale ,"Parkdale" in all of them.
Seems I have got over the name change. Point taken. Saw a few posts that were all Vultures, not from you. No not an ex player who chased dollars. Just feel that they have a long history against local clubs and that it has greater leverage than the name Vultures on its own. The Vultures never played St Bedes, Beaumaris or in time Chelt, Highett and Mordi; as they will eventually come into the Ammos. A lot of local people don't know who the Vultures are. We should try to use the name Parkdale Vultures as often as we can. Either way it's good that the club is on the up.
zoofest43
10 Jul 2006, 19:34
Can't help but feel the Vultures are 'crowing' a bit early. The performance against OC was a good one,however a look at the opposition line up would show that they caught OC at a good time. Apart form Loats they had a few more prime movers unavailable.
Be more interesting to view their next 2 performances (Fitzroy and Mentone) in reference to their finals chances.
I believe the Vultures are a team that get plenty from what they've got and they are to be applauded for that,whether its enough to trouble the top sides I'm left in doubt.Same players (basically) as last few seasons and looks like a similiar result. There or thereabouts ,but not a real threat to move to 'B' Grade for mine.
Did you play CFE? What was the story in the end - did the Monders just steamroll and too good or did the Students fold? They have gone from 5-2 to 5-6 and in real strife!
Nah I didn't Guru, I dislocated my shoulder a few weeks back & need a reco so my season's done & dusted, but I still get down & support the boys every week.
We were the better team all day bar the 3rd qtr, when they got close but we went to sleep a bit there, then in the last after conceeding the 1st goal, something clicked & we played like we did in the 1st qtr & slammed on 6 quick ones... Game over
Does anyone know what injury Loats has done?? Is it just a week by week thing or something more???
zoofest43
10 Jul 2006, 19:56
Good luck with the shoulder CFE.
As for Loats,the big fella has a hammy and could use a couple more weeks in cotton wool. Interesting to see if he gets that,given 0C's record without him this season.
He's not the only worry they have either as a couple of other notables were absent against the Vultures on Saturday last.
greentree
10 Jul 2006, 20:14
Can't help but feel the Vultures are 'crowing' a bit early. The performance against OC was a good one,however a look at the opposition line up would show that they caught OC at a good time. Apart form Loats they had a few more prime movers unavailable.
Be more interesting to view their next 2 performances (Fitzroy and Mentone) in reference to their finals chances.
I believe the Vultures are a team that get plenty from what they've got and they are to be applauded for that,whether its enough to trouble the top sides I'm left in doubt.Same players (basically) as last few seasons and looks like a similiar result. There or thereabouts ,but not a real threat to move to 'B' Grade for mine.
Zoo, no crowing on my behalf, Parkys no threat to the tigers and cant see them beating a full strength Ajax, but they might sneak into the 4, no my bring on the REDS is more a dig at Fitzroy ( straight to 'B' grade) and a bit of bait for RED ROY.
Think this is a real danger game for the REDS.
Massive news from tigerland, previous B&F, Paul "rat" Wintle season maybe over. A reliable source tells me he left the ground early sat with chest pains. Maybe a complication from the serious injury sustained a year ago.
Good luck with the shoulder CFE.
As for Loats,the big fella has a hammy and could use a couple more weeks in cotton wool. Interesting to see if he gets that,given 0C's record without him this season.
He's not the only worry they have either as a couple of other notables were absent against the Vultures on Saturday last.
Thanks Zoo, watching from the sidelines definately sucks...
We've got OC this week. He only kicked 5 against us last time, so hopefully he misses again, either way we'll still win.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
11 Jul 2006, 09:01
Massive news from tigerland, previous B&F, Paul "rat" Wintle season maybe over. A reliable source tells me he left the ground early sat with chest pains. Maybe a complication from the serious injury sustained a year ago.
Gypsy...your 'source' is way off the mark...only chest pains he was suffering was from taking marks and kicking goals! Suffered a corky late in second term and was rested for the second half as the Tigers were in complete control. Did notice that Dave Boundy from Parade was on crutches and looked as though he had undergone the surgeons knife as a result of the ankle injury from a few weeks back...could be season over for him.
Red Roy
11 Jul 2006, 13:35
Good Afternoon all,
Roy is here to wrap up the weekend of football.
Firstly - 'we waz robbed' - If you reckon the socceroos v italy was a shocker then the jackas theft of 4 points on Saturday was a travesty. What it did show was that the Roys are right up there with the best in the comp, the Jackas.
Huge win from Parkdale - as predicted - no loats no OC.
Ormond too good for the students my spy tells me. No depth down at Monash, will battle from here on end. Its a shame that Ormond will have to play the reds in the 1st semi...............
NOBS v Hampton - enjoy D Grade Rovers
Parade what did you do to me !! Shocking effort from all reports - bad news about Rowdy if true, a terrific player and the competition is worse for not having him. Unfortunately the boys in Green cannot stay up without him, will join Hampton (who also wear green) in D Grade.
The four will end up as follows:
STBMT - will finish top even after they lose to Ajax and the Reds on the way home. Amazing early season draw with 4 out of the first 6 at home gave them a huge advantage.
Jackas - will close the gap on the tigers and be the first team promoted to B Grade
Ormond - will sneak into 3rd
Reds - to finish 4th - play ormond in the 1st semi (ha, ha) then the tigers in the prelim
JACKAS and REDS to play GF and go to B Grade.
Reds to expand trophy cabinet yet again.
Thanks for your time
Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
11 Jul 2006, 13:56
Only you could make it have felt like such a successful weekend :D :D :thumbsu:
Richard Clay Torpedoes
11 Jul 2006, 14:19
The good news story in C Section this week, is at least we now know that old Red Roy has resurfaced, just when it was suspected he was still sitting in the back row of the old Brunswick Street oval grandstand since 4.45pm last Saturday, steadily necking a three quarter empty bottle of Rosso Vermouth, wallowing in the thought that his beloved team are just teetering on the brink of relegation back to D section...yes a loss to Parkdale this week and it is amongst those on 4/5 wins scrapping like seagulls to survive.......
Mobbenfuhrer
11 Jul 2006, 14:27
The good news story in C Section this week, is at least we now know that old Red Roy has resurfaced, just when it was suspected he was still sitting in the back row of the old Brunswick Street oval grandstand since 4.45pm last Saturday, steadily necking a three quarter empty bottle of Rosso Vermouth, wallowing in the thought that his beloved team are just teetering on the brink of relegation back to D section...yes a loss to Parkdale this week and it is amongst those on 4/5 wins scrapping like seagulls to survive.......
Now THAT I'm willing to bet against ... even if the Reds don't steamroll into the finals, they certainly aren't going to start losing enough games to drop to 9th. :p And if we're winning the odd couple of games, then those other clubs will be losing them.
eddiesmith
11 Jul 2006, 14:29
If AJAX is the 2nd best team in C Grade then the reds are far and away the 3rd best side, wont have to worry about relegation, should definately play finals
Although they do need to work on not letting sides kick away in the 1st qtr with no breeze, not that I am complaining, I like it when 1 side kicks away down my end then the other team fights back the next qtr :) Better than being at the other end where 1 goal is kicked for the half :p