View Full Version : C Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

Richard Clay Torpedoes
19 Jul 2006, 09:31
Tipping early is sometimes fraught with danger but I must say I don't think I'd have selected any different given the wet Saturday we had. 2/5 wasn't a good return for the long torp kicker.
Watched the first quarter at Gerry Green and a very undermanned Reds unit looked terrible...the alternate strip was an interesting choice..heart strings dictated the head in that choice clearly...Reds sat up & strategy all wrong and Parkdale were hard at the ball sensing an early kill...left at quarter time declaring Parkdale by 10-12 goals.

Elsternwick Park Sunday was a cracker of a game...both sides had a few players out and debutants but not the numbers being bandied around...have a look at teams lists available on VAFA website and it will tell you the story.

Tigers enjoyed the space, AJAX the rub of the green with crucial decisions, Both teams rallied at points in the game, Ajax home crowd lifting them but Tigers withstood the challenges and with straighter kicking could have won by 3-4 goals...but still knew how to win and got the job done.

All AJAX post match talk was LEWSKI, LEWSKI, LEWSKI...one individual...Tigers were proudly talking about their team, team team...says a fair bit about why they are where they are.

Great crowd at EP Sunday enjoyed a terrific spectacle with plenty of excitement...

Saintly5
19 Jul 2006, 10:34
Interesting bunch.
Called us after our game against them to reveal a few of our players "roughed up" a few of their forwards behind play. Told us they wld not report it this time, like they were doing us a favour.
Great to see them take the moral high ground !

What an absolute load of propaganda- Ajax never complained once about the alleged incidents on Sunday....it was a great game played in excellent spirit with a healthy respect for eachother...i dont know why there is such an obvious undercurrent of distaste towards Ajax from an isolated group of bored individuals. Maybe with so many players out of their starting line-up it has made a few sides fear them come September....but as for whingeing....no, that is not something the playing or coaching group condone in any way, shape, or form. Well done to both sides for a ripping game of footy.....i think we should now all move on to Round 13....

U18 Insider
19 Jul 2006, 12:22
Rumour as Fact. Robert Hyde will be coaching Old Paradians in 2007, irrespective whether they are relegated or not.

Mtk Spinoso cuurent Under 19 coach and probably three time premiership coach after this season is offto coach seniors in the DVFL

zoofest43
19 Jul 2006, 13:12
CFE,

Gordon Barnard is greatly overused.

Camberwell Grammar ist 18 train Tuesday/Thursday
Old Camberwell 1's 2's and 19's train after that Tues/Thurs
Greythorn Juniors Colts and 15'S train there Wed/Fri.

On Saturdays OFTEN
9.30 GAME

On Sundays ( sometimes unused ,usually morning or arvo ,occassionally as below.)

9.00 10.00 11.15 1.00 3.00

Canterbury Juniors in the morning,Greythorn in the afternoon.

As for the change rooms,running battle with residents AND Council.
Plans for a multi tiered building between the 2 grounds (and an upgrade of the top oval) are in the pipeline but continually are stalled by resident complaints.
Hopefully that building will be erected sooner than later

Guru Joffa
19 Jul 2006, 14:48
I would like to "congratulate" the lack of ethics and moral fibre shown by a Fitzroy Reds player who attended the Tribunal last night as a witness.

As a result of an extremely minor incident that he started on the Members wing last Saturday, a Parkdale player has copped 2 weeks through the 'lagging' evidence from this player.

I'd suggest that this damning evidence may have been as a payback by the Reds player as he was the subject of continual warranted 'trash-talk' by Parkdale supporters in relation to his lack of toughness at wanting to get a hard ball.

I suppose starting a minor altercation was the only way he was going to get involved in the game.

To tell the Tribunal that it was "3 forceful blows that hurt me" isn't something I would be proud of saying given the Umpire concerned even stated that there was nothing much in the incident when he gave his prior evidence.

Food for thought Number 20!!! Or should I say McGains Peas???!!!

zoofest43
19 Jul 2006, 14:55
Injury update.

David Loats OC's full forward is a strong tip to play on Saturday vs. Fitzroy Reds. Loater has been working hard to 'get right', and moved very well this afternoon in a rigorous session. Certainly has the joint buzzing ,on the back of last weeks great win.

I reckon he's 90/10 chance of playing. If not this weekend he'll be 100% in a fortnight.

Good news for OC's faithful.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
19 Jul 2006, 15:24
What an absolute load of propaganda- Ajax never complained once about the alleged incidents on Sunday....it was a great game played in excellent spirit with a healthy respect for eachother...i dont know why there is such an obvious undercurrent of distaste towards Ajax from an isolated group of bored individuals. Maybe with so many players out of their starting line-up it has made a few sides fear them come September....but as for whingeing....no, that is not something the playing or coaching group condone in any way, shape, or form. Well done to both sides for a ripping game of footy.....i think we should now all move on to Round 13....

Saintly5...don't be mislead by outsider messages trying to come accross as ' a club involved' in Sunday's game at EP...Tiger camp didn't create the 'propaganda' claim mentioned by you and is just as bemused by suggestions of 'investigations'...I'd suggest the original message with talk of forwards v backs incidents is from a previous game ajax has played this year and Tyquin's name has been thrown in to add spice probably from a bayside club near to Mentone????...perhaps the same club in the previous game mentioned???
Echo your words that it was a ripping game of footy and those at EP would have enjoyed it.

Red Roy
19 Jul 2006, 15:29
I would like to "congratulate" the lack of ethics and moral fibre shown by a Fitzroy Reds player who attended the Tribunal last night as a witness.

As a result of an extremely minor incident that he started on the Members wing last Saturday, a Parkdale player has copped 2 weeks through the 'lagging' evidence from this player.

I'd suggest that this damning evidence may have been as a payback by the Reds player as he was the subject of continual warranted 'trash-talk' by Parkdale supporters in relation to his lack of toughness at wanting to get a hard ball.

I suppose starting a minor altercation was the only way he was going to get involved in the game.

To tell the Tribunal that it was "3 forceful blows that hurt me" isn't something I would be proud of saying given the Umpire concerned even stated that there was nothing much in the incident when he gave his prior evidence.

Food for thought Number 20!!! Or should I say McGains Peas???!!!

Guru - if this is in fact a true account of last evenings tribunal then Roy is very disapointed. This is a most un Reds like performance and Roy would like to apologise on behalf of the Red majority. This is not the sort of behaviour that is condoned by Red.

Mobbenfuhrer
19 Jul 2006, 15:41
I'd second Red Roy's comments if Guru Joffa is reporting accurately. I've had no issue with "lagging" at all since leaving school many years back, and considering an aversion to "lagging" is what keeps criminals, abusers and bullies in safety ... but if the severity of the incident was exaggerated/concocted/misreported by the witness, I would condemn it.

Mind you, if its the same bloke that was reported early amongst the Reds' best, on a day when they were given a hiding, then in the face of

... his lack of toughness at wanting to get a hard ball. and

... the only way he was going to get involved in the game.

I'm not sure whether or not to apply seasoning to the claims given above.

Guru Joffa
19 Jul 2006, 16:05
Red and Mobben,

What I can tell you is the 'lagging' was within the viewing and hearing of the Parkdale player concerned.

GetSmart
19 Jul 2006, 16:17
What an absolute load of propaganda- Ajax never complained once about the alleged incidents on Sunday....it was a great game played in excellent spirit with a healthy respect for eachother...i dont know why there is such an obvious undercurrent of distaste towards Ajax from an isolated group of bored individuals. Maybe with so many players out of their starting line-up it has made a few sides fear them come September....but as for whingeing....no, that is not something the playing or coaching group condone in any way, shape, or form. Well done to both sides for a ripping game of footy.....i think we should now all move on to Round 13....The Ajax players are always fine. It comes about thru incidents like the Ajax Reserves goal umpire on Saturday who blatantly cheated. Was questioned by the VAFA appointed field umpires and refused to change his decision. Others on this thread (from other clubs) have talked about the boundary umpire, etc in the passed. There is a God though! He struck several minutes later when the same goal umpire slipped in the mud and had to be assisted from the field not to return! You can't have officials conducting themselves this way and not expect it to rub off on the club.

Supa Frank
19 Jul 2006, 16:43
The Ajax players are always fine. It comes about thru incidents like the Ajax Reserves goal umpire on Saturday who blatantly cheated. Was questioned by the VAFA appointed field umpires and refused to change his decision. Others on this thread (from other clubs) have talked about the boundary umpire, etc in the passed. There is a God though! He struck several minutes later when the same goal umpire slipped in the mud and had to be assisted from the field not to return! You can't have officials conducting themselves this way and not expect it to rub off on the club.

Sorry to rain down on your love in, but the AJAX player are not fine at all. They bait you and wait for a reaction then throw themselves on the ground like an Italian or French Soccer star. The crowd are by far the worst and can get very personal but one word back and they are of to VAFA headquarters tape in hand. I haven't played against them for a few years but I was down watching them at EP on Saturday and they haven't changed in my 15 years of playing against them.

I would have paid money to see the Ajax goal ump hurt himself after cheating!!!!

bucko23
19 Jul 2006, 16:48
Rumour as Fact. Robert Hyde will be coaching Old Paradians in 2007, irrespective whether they are relegated or not.

Mtk Spinoso cuurent Under 19 coach and probably three time premiership coach after this season is offto coach seniors in the DVFL

u18 Insider can i ask where u heard these "rumours" from i to have heard that Hyde will be coaching Parade but have also heard that Leigh Carlson is been considered also regarding Mark Spinoso not quite sure whether or not he will be coaching in the DVFL if he did it would be at U19 level or reserves level de does love the "tough" mentality but i dont believe he would have the skills to be a senior coach.

Keen Observer
19 Jul 2006, 17:49

Also heard on weekend that Daniel Harford may be interested in returning to Parade in a Captain Coach role with his good mate, Mark Graham, in assistance.

The Slitherin' Snake
19 Jul 2006, 18:02
Also heard on weekend that Daniel Harford may be interested in returning to Parade in a Captain Coach role with his good mate, Mark Graham, in assistance.
Has assistant coach Vincent fallen out of favour down at the Garvey? Will his time ever come? Or is he just no good?

bucko23
19 Jul 2006, 19:20
simon vincent has a small family at the moment and also has only been in the coaching game for 3 years as a assistant therefore he needs to learn a bit more if Harford returns to the OPs then Mark Graham is a certainty and also heard around the traps that Nick Holland could possible lace up the boots for a couple of games to help out his old mates

greentree
19 Jul 2006, 20:31
Saintly5...don't be mislead by outsider messages trying to come accross as ' a club involved' in Sunday's game at EP...Tiger camp didn't create the 'propaganda' claim mentioned by you and is just as bemused by suggestions of 'investigations'...I'd suggest the original message with talk of forwards v backs incidents is from a previous game ajax has played this year and Tyquin's name has been thrown in to add spice probably from a bayside club near to Mentone????...perhaps the same club in the previous game mentioned???
Echo your words that it was a ripping game of footy and those at EP would have enjoyed it.

Parkdale???????
If you know whos creating this PROPAGANDA and you know he or she is from Parkdale ,why the smoke screen.
If you dont, shut the f*ck up, Im sure Parky has better things to do than stir up trouble with your mob.
Please reply if you have an answer
Thanks
Greentree

goallinegg
19 Jul 2006, 21:29
all i can say about AJAX is wonderfull karma, to that cheating goal umpire in the twos CHEAT

overtheline
19 Jul 2006, 21:36
simon vincent has a small family at the moment and also has only been in the coaching game for 3 years as a assistant therefore he needs to learn a bit more if Harford returns to the OPs then Mark Graham is a certainty and also heard around the traps that Nick Holland could possible lace up the boots for a couple of games to help out his old mates

Is it fair to assume that from the discussions here that the current coach won't be around next year? Has he resigned? Why all the talk about a replacement?

Supa Frank
20 Jul 2006, 10:03
Is it fair to assume that from the discussions here that the current coach won't be around next year? Has he resigned? Why all the talk about a replacement?

It is fair to say that whoever is coaching OP next year will be doing it in D grade!! To many blokes who like food out that way!!!!

Supa Frank
20 Jul 2006, 10:07
Intereseted to get peoples views on who they think will win the local Derby, Parkdale or STBMT? I have a couple of mates that I used to play with at both clubs and they always look forward to playing this one.

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Jul 2006, 10:26
Intereseted to get peoples views on who they think will win the local Derby, Parkdale or STBMT? I have a couple of mates that I used to play with at both clubs and they always look forward to playing this one.

Football will be the winner. :thumbsu:

Re: some of the accusations/implications towards the actions/attitudes of clubs and/or people in recent posts, I need to make clear that any claims about character or actions are subject to a "prove or remove" regulation.

In other words, when a claim is made, you should back it up. If you don't, and its a negativity-laced claim, I'll sack it.

This is especially true for pigeonholing claims such as racist or discriminatory claims.

Just keep it in mind. I don't think the stuff above is completely beyond repair, but its pushing the envelope a little.

Play on ...

THE BEACON
20 Jul 2006, 11:19

Whenever Mentone play Parkdale it is a game that must be one, no matter what the ladder positions are of both clubs.

Back in the 70's & 80's would always get very large crowds & there would be lots of action.

I would tip Mentone to win just going on what it would mean for the Tigers to win at home over Parkdale.

greentree
20 Jul 2006, 11:46
Whenever Mentone play Parkdale it is a game that must be one, no matter what the ladder positions are of both clubs.

Back in the 70's & 80's would always get very large crowds & there would be lots of action.

I would tip Mentone to win just going on what it would mean for the Tigers to win at home over Parkdale.

Yep, remember going to a few of these in my time
Tigers undefeated, would be hard to see them beat, just hope Parky can put in a good one and make it close.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
20 Jul 2006, 12:21
Parkdale???????
If you know whos creating this PROPAGANDA and you know he or she is from Parkdale ,why the smoke screen.
If you dont, shut the f*ck up, Im sure Parky has better things to do than stir up trouble with your mob.
Please reply if you have an answer
Thanks
Greentree

GT,

A simple ' not involved' would have probably done...in retrospect I would have now preferred not to have 'suggested' such but I based the possibility on who Ajax has played in the previous fortnight to the Tigers game, given the talk about niggling between forwards vs backs from a previous game and that someone has tried to tie in a Tigers player into the mudslinging's...I'm happy to retract my suggestion and let sleeping dogs lie...RCT

Three Malugas
20 Jul 2006, 13:49
Good thing about local Derbies is that clubs support each other after the game and the players and supporters get the opportunity to catch up for a quite one after. Saw the Tigers for the second time last week. Was impressed with how they came again, were headed and still found more. Will be hard for Parkdale to crack.

greentree
20 Jul 2006, 14:50
GT,

A simple ' not involved' would have probably done...in retrospect I would have now preferred not to have 'suggested' such but I based the possibility on who Ajax has played in the previous fortnight to the Tigers game, given the talk about niggling between forwards vs backs from a previous game and that someone has tried to tie in a Tigers player into the mudslinging's...I'm happy to retract my suggestion and let sleeping dogs lie...RCT

No probs, sorry about being a bit stroppy, had a few beves. If your going to the game can you have a look for my footy boot, I lost it one wet Saturday afternoon in 1987, its in the centre somewhere.(played the last qtr with one boot)
Cheers
GT

U18 Insider
20 Jul 2006, 15:14
u18 Insider can i ask where u heard these "rumours" from i to have heard that Hyde will be coaching Parade but have also heard that Leigh Carlson is been considered also regarding Mark Spinoso not quite sure whether or not he will be coaching in the DVFL if he did it would be at U19 level or reserves level de does love the "tough" mentality but i dont believe he would have the skills to be a senior coach.

My name says it all, at that's all I will say, sorry for the cop out, but he will be there.

Daniel Harford, left them like a shag on a rock this season, and it's rot he will be coaching there.

Spinoso has an issue with his young bloke not getting a run in the ones.

oldtimer
20 Jul 2006, 16:08
My name says it all, at that's all I will say, sorry for the cop out, but he will be there.

Daniel Harford, left them like a shag on a rock this season, and it's rot he will be coaching there.

Spinoso has an issue with his young bloke not getting a run in the ones.

He doesn't play in the ones because he is petrified. He will always be a good 2's player.

bucko23
20 Jul 2006, 16:18
I dont know what the issue could be bout his son not getting a go cause he is no bloody good and that is the reason y parade is in the depths of relegetation

From the Pile
21 Jul 2006, 09:24
[quote=oldtimer]He doesn't play in the ones because he is petrified. He will always be a good 2's player.

[reply From the Pile] ...........it's pretty brave calling someone petrified behind the safety of a keyboard, I've only seen the bloke play once and he kicked a bag, I notice he is still topping the goal kicking, so he must be a pretty good 2's player.

Red Roy
21 Jul 2006, 10:20
Morning All,

Red is here to offer his expert analysis and brighten your otherwise dull and boring days. Here we go:

NOBS v Jackas - reds mail is that ritterman is a chance to return this week. That will just strenghten the already firing Ajax midfield and they will be too much for nobs to handle. If lewski picks up another 50 odd touches they Jackas could have a big win

Ormond v Hampton - easiest tip of the round - monders in a canter. Rovers heading back to D Grade and won't be able to stop Miller, Kelleher Deledio etc

Students v Parade - depends on the condition of the ground. If it is still wet then Parades contendors for the Bigest Loser will go well and could come up with the chocolates,. which they would eat!! If it dry then the silky skills of gregory will lead the students to a win. Going for Monash

THe Bay Side Derby - Tigers V Parkdale: massive game for Parkdale, must win if they are to make the finals. Tigers are coming off a 6 day break and have nothing to play for (will finish top) so I think Local Boy might get his boys up. Will Beveridge let him run around as a lose man in defence, Red thinks not, but Parky to take the points in a tight one.

Reds V Camberwell - huge game for both clubs. The rumour is that the Giant is back in the goal square for the OC, but Davis should return for the Reds to counter that. Must win game for Reds to re-start tilt at finals and will salute.

I hope Roy has enlightened you:

RR

Richard Clay Torpedoes
21 Jul 2006, 10:45
If nothing else Red Roy...you are consistent!

Many more questions to be asked at Brunswick Street this week...will Burg's be coaching or awol again?...where is Chief 'Hille' ? - no article in Ammo record...will any of their VFL players be available?..are the wheelnuts loosening week by week?...will the Reds website be updated by Monday if they win or Wednesday if they lose????

Tips this week

Loats and the OC's (who kills Marissa?) over the wobbling Red's
HEC's fee payers over the street walkers in a canter
Gunn lobbyists over the Scouts in a shoutout
Cleaners over the Door Knockers (Monica Lewinski to have 123 touches this week..no make that 126)
Tigers over the Vultures in an all you can eat footy smorgasboard...Bevo hot to trot after last week's game down back....

RCT

overtheline
21 Jul 2006, 10:54
Morning All,

Red is here to offer his expert analysis and brighten your otherwise dull and boring days. Here we go:

NOBS v Jackas - reds mail is that ritterman is a chance to return this week. That will just strenghten the already firing Ajax midfield and they will be too much for nobs to handle. If lewski picks up another 50 odd touches they Jackas could have a big win

Ormond v Hampton - easiest tip of the round - monders in a canter. Rovers heading back to D Grade and won't be able to stop Miller, Kelleher Deledio etc

Students v Parade - depends on the condition of the ground. If it is still wet then Parades contendors for the Bigest Loser will go well and could come up with the chocolates,. which they would eat!! If it dry then the silky skills of gregory will lead the students to a win. Going for Monash

THe Bay Side Derby - Tigers V Parkdale: massive game for Parkdale, must win if they are to make the finals. Tigers are coming off a 6 day break and have nothing to play for (will finish top) so I think Local Boy might get his boys up. Will Beveridge let him run around as a lose man in defence, Red thinks not, but Parky to take the points in a tight one.

Reds V Camberwell - huge game for both clubs. The rumour is that the Giant is back in the goal square for the OC, but Davis should return for the Reds to counter that. Must win game for Reds to re-start tilt at finals and will salute.

I hope Roy has enlightened you:

RR

Very intersting Roy!
Nobs-jackas- Not so sure this will be as easy as you think roy. Ajax have been pretty happy with themselves for a side who lost on the weekend and I could see a big let down factor(and a six day break after playing in the wet!) I think it will be much closer than most think..Ajax just
Agree re Ormond
Monash to smash Parade
Parkdale is an interesting one. They have met two very, very depleted sides in the past two weeks( look at the teamlists) and I reckon their form is a little flattering. SBMT to win easily
Reds surely at home? Loats does loom large though but OC have too many on the long term injury list and can't win away. Reds by a mile.

Mappa
21 Jul 2006, 11:08
...(and a six day break after playing in the wet!)

You crack me up OTL. If any Amateur club ever used this excuse they would, and should be laughed out of town. We are not in the media-darling-too-precious-for-their-own-good-tow-the-party-line-if-I-hear-the-term-"Up and Going"-one-more-time-I-will-throw-up AFL now you know.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
21 Jul 2006, 11:14
The six day break won't bother the Cleaners...they couldn't attend the post match at EP last sunday as they were all down standing in Port Phillip Bay as part of the six day turnaround recovery...as stated by their President in the social rooms to mainly Tiger players and supporters..... plus a number of them were receiving flu vac's whilst still in their playing gear post match also in the same social rooms.

zoofest43
21 Jul 2006, 12:06
easy round to tip for mine.

ajax (way to much going for them against the struggling Nobs)
ormond (will bounce back hard after last weeks disappointment)
monash (perhaps closest game of the round,Gregory on fire ,will set up win).
tigers (by a country mile,too skillful,too quick))
Reds (hard for me to tip against OC,but even with the imminent return of Loats, too many others are missing)

ITSMYNAME
21 Jul 2006, 14:48
ok i've been sitting back and watching too long...

There is so much rot spoken in here its not funny.

1) Lewski a gun player, had 50 or so touches against the best team in the league and they lost, so mustnt have been very damaging...same as anstey had 40-odd also but the kid could not hit a target all day so most of possesions just thrust them forward but didnt directly result in goals

2) red roy, seriously mate, you are in here to stir ppl up but all you do is dribble and no1 takes notice anymore, becoz it just isnt funny, the reds are no good! get over yourself

3) Good to see parkdale play well in their 1's but geez have alot of work to do, their 2's are a joke, ugly too...

4) parade lose weight and get rid of the clubs solariums, no1 likes overwight tanned men

5) finally every team should stay around for a cold one after the game, its all good and well to blame it on rehab but geez shaking ur oppenents hand or shooting daggers across the room needs to be done for this comp to go further, how about ALL you clubs pull your heads in and do the right thing get to the after match and be sociable not arrogant or sore losers!

thats all

Matthew Lloyd's a diver
21 Jul 2006, 15:26
5) finally every team should stay around for a cold one after the game, ........how about ALL you clubs pull your heads in and do the right thing get to the after match and be sociable not arrogant or sore losers!

That's the Amateurs though ITSMYNAME. I am amazed at how such a big competition can have such a woeful social scene. Go to any EFL, DVFL or SFL game and there will be big crowds, and after the game, all supporters, players etc will hang around for a drink and presentations.
Go to an Amateur game and most of the Reserves leave and go home after their game, and apart from a few die hards, there would be lucky to be 20 or 30 supporters in the "crowd" at most games (of course there is the odd exception, but they are few and far between).
The Amateurs prides itself on being clean, and devoid of the thugs that apparently run around in other leagues (which is only ever highlighted by a few, isolated incidents). When it comes to leaving things on the field that happen on the field though, the SFL and EFL and the rest are streets ahead. Amateur players would rather say "I'm not going to drink with those p***ks" than taking on field incidents for what they are, and taking the moral high ground.
The atmosphere at, and after an Amateurs game is right up there with the Wednesday night dogs at Sandown.

overtheline
21 Jul 2006, 15:47
That's the Amateurs though ITSMYNAME. I am amazed at how such a big competition can have such a woeful social scene. Go to any EFL, DVFL or SFL game and there will be big crowds, and after the game, all supporters, players etc will hang around for a drink and presentations.
Go to an Amateur game and most of the Reserves leave and go home after their game, and apart from a few die hards, there would be lucky to be 20 or 30 supporters in the "crowd" at most games (of course there is the odd exception, but they are few and far between).
The Amateurs prides itself on being clean, and devoid of the thugs that apparently run around in other leagues (which is only ever highlighted by a few, isolated incidents). When it comes to leaving things on the field that happen on the field though, the SFL and EFL and the rest are streets ahead. Amateur players would rather say "I'm not going to drink with those p***ks" than taking on field incidents for what they are, and taking the moral high ground.
The atmosphere at, and after an Amateurs game is right up there with the Wednesday night dogs at Sandown.

You will have to tell us what the wednesday night dogs is like( I thought it was thursday!) as most of us haven't been. The VAFA has many, many more grades and teams than the quoted comps and if we only had two/three or even four divisions, then the crowds might be bigger. Remember, the u/19's play at the same time. There are five divisions of them. A lot of the supporters aren't boozers. So what?

Keen Observer
21 Jul 2006, 15:53
ok i've been sitting back and watching too long...

4) parade lose weight and get rid of the clubs solariums, no1 likes overwight tanned men

5) finally every team should stay around for a cold one after the game, its all good and well to blame it on rehab but geez shaking ur oppenents hand or shooting daggers across the room needs to be done for this comp to go further, how about ALL you clubs pull your heads in and do the right thing get to the after match and be sociable not arrogant or sore losers!

thats all

There lies the problem my friend. Parade are & always have been one of the most sociable teams in the ammo's. Win, lose or draw they will come in for an ale. The resultant weight problems are an indication of this - maybe a little too much post match celebration/commiseration !

The Winter tans ?? Hope your not having a crack at our indigenous players - Dore & Brabender !

Matthew Lloyd's a diver
21 Jul 2006, 15:59
The VAFA has many, many more grades and teams than the quoted comps and if we only had two/three or even four divisions, then the crowds might be bigger.
Each team has reserves doesn't it, why don't they hang around ? At the very least, the Senior players should be available to show their face in the rooms after the game.

lot of the supporters aren't boozers. So what?
I use the term "hang around for a drink" in it's general term Over The Line. I am referring to staying and supporting either their own team, or opposition team be it with a beer, or a Coke, or a coffee, or whatever.

From the Pile
21 Jul 2006, 16:00

I notice you follow Monash, they are along with AJAX the LEAST sociable after a game, I am surprised you just don't make it BYO and be done with it. As for the atmosphere at Monash's ground it is akin to a links golf course in the middle of a blizzard.

Grandstand Guru
21 Jul 2006, 16:08
OK - firstly I'll ignore the ramblings of Matthew Lloyd's a diver. I think you do need to compare apples with apples.

To the tips:
NOBS v Jackas - Will be a lot closer than people think with NOBS at home fighting for C Grade survival. I've been on the Jackas wagon for a good stretch, so won't jump off just yet.

Ormond v Hampton - Ormond to bounce back with an eeeeeasy win to consolidate their spot in the 4.

Monash v Parade - Monash to string a couple together to keep the pressure on the 'Monders. Expect a gallant first half from Parade.

StBM V Parkdale - understand why everyone wants the Tigers to stumble but won't be happening here. Vultures very plucky of late and have proved many wrong, but I think they ill be outclassed.

Fitzroy V Camberwell - am a subscriber to the "Reds are overrated" school of thought but irrelevant here as I think they will have too much polish for OC.

Grandstand Guru
21 Jul 2006, 16:12
ps From the Pile - from what I understand Monash are actually one of the best teams post game. Ask OC and StBM about this - have heard positive feedback from both clubs in particular.

Matthew Lloyd's a diver
21 Jul 2006, 16:13
OK - firstly I'll ignore the ramblings of Matthew Lloyd's a diver.
Please note that all comments and opinions must now be passed through the Grandstand Guru to see if they are suitable for public consumption. I apologise for breaking rank oh righteous one ! :-)

overtheline
21 Jul 2006, 16:25
Each team has reserves doesn't it, why don't they hang around ? At the very least, the Senior players should be available to show their face in the rooms after the game.

I use the term "hang around for a drink" in it's general term Over The Line. I am referring to staying and supporting either their own team, or opposition team be it with a beer, or a Coke, or a coffee, or whatever.

SO i am assuming you are conceding that we have far more games on at the same time( you made no mention of it!), therefore crowds more spread. For instance, your club couls have seniors and reserves playing and clubbies and unders playing together elsewhere. We are far and away the biggest comp in the state and it is easier to get crowds to two divions with three games on at the one venue which serves alcohol all day.

Matthew Lloyd's a diver
21 Jul 2006, 16:52
SO i am assuming you are conceding that we have far more games on at the same time( you made no mention of it!)
What's to concede Over The Line ? I know there are more games on at the same time, but what has that got to do with it ? Your argument seems to suggest that each league in Melbourne is allocated an equal number of supporters and because the Amateurs has more teams, the spread at each game is less ! Yes, I am being sarcastic, but wouldn't having more clubs mean more supporters ? And if a club has 5 teams, wouldn't that mean more past players that should attend to support ?

overtheline
21 Jul 2006, 18:34
What's to concede Over The Line ? I know there are more games on at the same time, but what has that got to do with it ? Your argument seems to suggest that each league in Melbourne is allocated an equal number of supporters and because the Amateurs has more teams, the spread at each game is less ! Yes, I am being sarcastic, but wouldn't having more clubs mean more supporters ? And if a club has 5 teams, wouldn't that mean more past players that should attend to support ?

Diver,
My point is that IF all the sides played at the one gorund on the one day( like EFL) then you would have a chance to see more supporters of the club together at the one time. They are spread out across several venues and again, they don't serve alcohol. Understand it now Diver?

There may be more people at efl,dvfl or whatever , I wouldn't know but so what? Those competitions would kill for our participation rate, reputation and number of strong clubs. We have 70 senior, 70 reserve, 50 under 19 and 30 odd club xviii sides...you do the maths and tell me whether thats a strong, vibrant competition?. You want massive crowds at all of those venues?
What comp are you involved with diver?

eddiesmith
21 Jul 2006, 18:38
Another factor is the competition is so widespread you will not get any supporters travelling, compared to localised leagues where they always know their team will be playing close by

Scribe
21 Jul 2006, 23:16
I agree with Eddie's point about the tyranny of distance. You often find "local derbies" in some sections are far better attended than those games where teams are 30 or 40kms apart.

Frankly though, the biggest drawcard for suburban footy over VAFA footy is the booze. The VAFA made a firm decision many years ago to ban alcohol at games and this served to minimise the feral supporter element which is far more prevalent in the suburban leagues.

If you want 700 people at your game, play a side in the next suburb and serve VB at $3 per can all afternoon. Pretty straightforward really. Doesn't happen in the VAFA, so we don't get the large crowds.

Quietly Confident
22 Jul 2006, 03:58
Parkdale vultures playing at home talking about ethics and moral fibre. I watched the first game of the year , where were your standards then.Also a question, a player red carded .My understanding is that he can be replaced in 15 minutes but he himself cannot return for the game. Am I right ? if so 2 weeks is a "great escape" for the vultures.

Go Jackas

Guru Joffa
22 Jul 2006, 09:52
Hey Quietly Confident, are you going to elaborate on the alleged lack of ethics and moral fibre shown by Parkdale? Or are you showing your 'lack of' by not posting the allegations?!

richoooo
22 Jul 2006, 11:39
I agree with Eddie's point about the tyranny of distance. You often find "local derbies" in some sections are far better attended than those games where teams are 30 or 40kms apart.

Frankly though, the biggest drawcard for suburban footy over VAFA footy is the booze. The VAFA made a firm decision many years ago to ban alcohol at games and this served to minimise the feral supporter element which is far more prevalent in the suburban leagues.

If you want 700 people at your game, play a side in the next suburb and serve VB at $3 per can all afternoon. Pretty straightforward really. Doesn't happen in the VAFA, so we don't get the large crowds.

Go and watch footy in the bush, they sell cans all day and there's heaps of families and kids. Whereas if you went local suburban such as the SFL or EFL, the crowds are feral namely due to the grog.

Local derbies are great though so get down to Brindisi St today and have a ball and, after 4.30, a refreshment.

you know it makes sense

greentree
22 Jul 2006, 13:45
Go and watch footy in the bush, they sell cans all day and there's heaps of families and kids. Whereas if you went local suburban such as the SFL or EFL, the crowds are feral namely due to the grog.

Local derbies are great though so get down to Brindisi St today and have a ball and, after 4.30, a refreshment.

you know it makes sense

Well said Richo, being ex country NGFL there was hardly any trouble, my first senior club in Melb we would have fights between the players(Saturday nights).
Would love to be at the Tigers today, go Parkdale, within 10 goals will be fair but I hope its closer.

Ps
Find my boot.

Mobbenfuhrer
22 Jul 2006, 14:28
I agree with above sentiments, and can also vouch for country footy seeing plenty of grog but little aggro (Lexton FL). On the other hand though, from my short experience with Chelt, it was also quite ok there as well, so I wouldn't say its all feral in the city.

Easily, and EASILY the most feral performances I have witnessed are VFL/AFL, followed by VFA/VFL. But I've seen very little of the leagues with the fiery names, eg DVFL.

Anyways :
NOBS v AJAX
Ormond v Hampton
Monash v Parade
StBM V Parkdale
Fitzroy V Camberwell

Alphonse
22 Jul 2006, 18:16
Nobspc smacked AJAX by 9 goals, i believe M Barker kicked 9, what a year the spearhead is having. Fraser i felt your call on NOBSPC to drop was a little short sighted in this weeks record, we have been the from team of the comp (apart from the tigers of course who are in a league of their own) over the past 5 weeks. Sure Parade beat us but from all reports the ground more resembled a lake and that was all always going to suit the bigger Parade bodies at Garvey Oval.

NOBSPC have now beaten Monash and AJAX comfortably.Only St Bedes holds any fears. That said we are only a game off the bottom and would need to win every game (other than against tigers) to make the four

C Section is very very tight, both relegation and promotion is still on the minds of at least 6 clubs.

Homer101
22 Jul 2006, 19:59
Alphonse you are always very wise with your words, I imagine you would be enjoying the warm weather over there at the moment, a bronzed former Port premiership player must be going well with the ladies. Scribe your call that NOBSPC will be relagated is as bad as that French crap you served up this week. Keep this up and I suggest you would be better served back in the unders write ups. AJAX were missing players but we had 4 key players out as well

overtheline
22 Jul 2006, 21:27
Very intersting Roy!
Nobs-jackas- Not so sure this will be as easy as you think roy. Ajax have been pretty happy with themselves for a side who lost on the weekend and I could see a big let down factor(and a six day break after playing in the wet!) I think it will be much closer than most think..Ajax just
Agree re Ormond
Monash to smash Parade
Parkdale is an interesting one. They have met two very, very depleted sides in the past two weeks( look at the teamlists) and I reckon their form is a little flattering. SBMT to win easily
Reds surely at home? Loats does loom large though but OC have too many on the long term injury list and can't win away. Reds by a mile.

Well, where do I start? I was rubbished by several posters for my prediction above re Ajax and their vulnerability today. Interesting to note that Nobs kicked the last 6 goals(refer 6 day break) and those who rubbished me...feel free to apologise.
Reds? What a disaster! Worst loss at brunswick st for many, many years. With Davis and Dullard back and Loats a late withdrawal, surely the scene was set for a Reds win. Two late goals added respectability to an otherwise dirty day (and more injuries!) and saved total embarassment. I suppose that puts the "no Loats no Camberwell" theory to bed!
Roy, we need your wisdom!!

uglydermie
22 Jul 2006, 21:45
first time poster on the C grade thread:

saw Reds dominate D grade last year whist Ormond (although promoted) where equal to a few other teams in the section - {IMO}. Have Ormond recruited or Reds lost players? I keep seeing that all Reds players (from VFL) are released most weeks.

Could Reds get relegated?

Would like to know?

Thanks - Ugly

Trapper
22 Jul 2006, 23:42

saw Reds dominate D grade last year whist Ormond (although promoted) where equal to a few other teams in the section - {IMO}. Have Ormond recruited or Reds lost players? I keep seeing that all Reds players (from VFL) are released most weeks.

Would like to know?

Thanks - Ugly
I don't know what Ormond have recruited, The Reds have lost a couple from last year but recruited a few as well. I know it's no excuse but the reds have a long injury list at the moment. They are not playing particularly good football. As for the VFL players half the time when they are released they end up getting a late call up and don't play for the Reds.

Anything is possible especially in a comp as tight as C grade is, I think relegation is unlikely though.

Son of a Gun
23 Jul 2006, 00:56
Well, where do I start? I was rubbished by several posters for my prediction above re Ajax and their vulnerability today. Interesting to note that Nobs kicked the last 6 goals(refer 6 day break) and those who rubbished me...feel free to apologise.
Reds? What a disaster! Worst loss at brunswick st for many, many years. With Davis and Dullard back and Loats a late withdrawal, surely the scene was set for a Reds win. Two late goals added respectability to an otherwise dirty day (and more injuries!) and saved total embarassment. I suppose that puts the "no Loats no Camberwell" theory to bed!
Roy, we need your wisdom!!

OTL, just wondering who rubbished your comments? Also, you can't claim credibility by saying you thought Ajax were vulnerable but still picked them to win and now think you are proven right when they lost by a lazy 47 points. Simple answer is you were wrong.

Just proves that C Section remains the most even comp in the senior grades. Can't wait for next weekend's matches (StB v Reds, Jackas v Monash, etc) showing that there is a lot at stake in just about each game (win and you stay in the hunt, lose and the last 4 games become crucial to avoid the drop).

overtheline
23 Jul 2006, 11:11
OTL, just wondering who rubbished your comments? Also, you can't claim credibility by saying you thought Ajax were vulnerable but still picked them to win and now think you are proven right when they lost by a lazy 47 points. Simple answer is you were wrong.

Just proves that C Section remains the most even comp in the senior grades. Can't wait for next weekend's matches (StB v Reds, Jackas v Monash, etc) showing that there is a lot at stake in just about each game (win and you stay in the hunt, lose and the last 4 games become crucial to avoid the drop).

Who rubbished me? Mappa and RCT...have a read. Yes, i was wrong with the result but all and sundry were tipping a massive Ajax win and I simply pointed out that they we very vulnerable with a "massive let down factor". I got that right! Who did you tip?

Moss Rocket
23 Jul 2006, 11:19
Next week i am going to tip 5 teams to win. But i am going to say that they are all vulnerable!
That way i will be correct on all games!!!!!

Three Malugas
23 Jul 2006, 13:57
See Rovers have a poll on their website....Do you think something needs to be done to help the VAFA’s district club's from facing problems such as losing players to ‘Old Boys’ club’s? Obviously trying to point the finger at someone and not themselves. Where do the Rovers players go to? Rovers have always had a pretty good reserves side, yet are really struggling. What's happening at David Street?

Red Roy
23 Jul 2006, 17:19
Roy is not happy.

Disgusting performance from my beloved team, would expect a massive week on the track before we get our season back on track against the Tigers next week.

Great win from NOBS - will not get relegated Scribe.

As Roy has predicted, the teams in Green will go down - Parade and Hampton.

Please stop these outrageous predictions Frase and try to follow my example and be a little more reserved !!!

That is all for now.

Roy is going to drown his considerable sorrows.

Grandstand Guru
23 Jul 2006, 23:02
Interesting round of footy!

Hats off to NOBs - terriffic effort notwithstanding any injuries the Jackas may or may not have. Alphonse - you have every right to be pumped but note in your comments NOBs only beat the Students by a point from memory, so hardly 'comfortable'.

Red Roy you may become alcoholic by season's end mate. My sources tell me the Reds put in a bit of a shocker all things considered. I have no fear they will stay up but finals starting to slip away....

StBM just fine tuning but Parkdale not done with re finals. The Students and the Monders have a bit of a buffer but I'm not convinced about either yet. Hampton are struggling and obviously gave the Monders a great fright. As for teh Students 2 wins on the trot, but with all due respect to the vanquished, they have merely beaten the bottom 2.

Ajax v Monash this Sunday at the Wick a pearler - a win by the Students and Ajax's hold on the double chance will loosen considerably. A win by Ajax and the Students are back in the mess

South of the Yarra
24 Jul 2006, 00:22
Roy is not happy.

Disgusting performance from my beloved team, would expect a massive week on the track before we get our season back on track against the Tigers next week.

Please stop these outrageous predictions Frase and try to follow my example and be a little more reserved !!!

That is all for now

The Reds will be heading back to D Grade. They are by no means safe.

South of the Yarra
24 Jul 2006, 00:33
There lies the problem my friend. Parade are & always have been one of the most sociable teams in the ammo's. Win, lose or draw they will come in for an ale. The resultant weight problems are an indication of this - maybe a little too much post match celebration/commiseration !

The Winter tans ?? Hope your not having a crack at our indigenous players - Dore & Brabender !

Is Brabender the first indigenous player to play 300+ games in the ammos

CFE
24 Jul 2006, 08:55

Would like to know?

Thanks - Ugly

Ugly, we (ormond) haven't recruited much, we got Matt McConville back out of retirement & Ryan Martin back from Uni Blues, other than that 3-4 of our U/19 premiership team from last year have stepped up & become good senior players & a few younger blokes have settled into playing consistant senior footy.

On the w'end, Hampton were in no danger of beating us, we were 7 goals up in the last kicking against a 4 goal breeze, & they got a few junk time goals to make the score look respectable.

Mobbenfuhrer
24 Jul 2006, 09:45
I have no fear they will stay up but finals starting to slip away....

Starting to think this perspective is looking very accurate. Should NOT have lost to OC if they wanted to play finals.

... try to follow my example and be a little more reserved !!!

:D

My feeling is that Parade will go down, but my other relegatee will have to be guesswork - possibly Hampton Rovers. Am still confident Reds will remain in C Grade next year, but they'd want to change their ways from the last couple of weeks!

freo-heev-ho
24 Jul 2006, 12:18
Starting to think this perspective is looking very accurate. Should NOT have lost to OC if they wanted to play finals.

:D

My feeling is that Parade will go down, but my other relegatee will have to be guesswork - possibly Hampton Rovers. Am still confident Reds will remain in C Grade next year, but they'd want to change their ways from the last couple of weeks!

my feeling is that you and your red-headed homo-sexual mate buck023 will get relegated, but going by my guesswork i could well be right!!
fellas get on board these 2 fine red headed homo-sexual fellow posters!

Mudrunner
24 Jul 2006, 13:17
my feeling is that you and your red-headed homo-sexual mate buck023 will get relegated, but going by my guesswork i could well be right!!
fellas get on board these 2 fine red headed homo-sexual fellow posters!

What the **** are you talking about ??
Has someone hit a nerve ?

Mobbenfuhrer
24 Jul 2006, 13:37
<--- red headed. :D

-------

A reminder to all to refrain from abusive posts. Initially, I'll delete the posts, will subsequently you may face suspension or banning.

Pretty straightforward :thumbsu:

freo-heev-ho
24 Jul 2006, 14:32
<--- red headed. :D

-------

A reminder to all to refrain from abusive posts. Initially, I'll delete the posts, will subsequently you may face suspension or banning.

Pretty straightforward :thumbsu:

abusive, your kidding !! thats not abuse !!

South of the Yarra
24 Jul 2006, 15:09

Two rumours that I believe are fact

St Bedes holding discussions with a recently retired AFL Player.

Brad Boyd seen lunching with a gentleman in an Old Paradians top at a Mornington Restaurant. I believe Boyd has committed to playing for the Paradians next year.

Bigfootyfan
24 Jul 2006, 16:05

Brad Boyd seen lunching with a gentleman in an Old Paradians top at a Mornington Restaurant. I believe Boyd has committed to playing for the Paradians next year.

More info on the St Bedes rumour plz SOTY

From the Pile
24 Jul 2006, 17:07

South of the Yarra, your magic mirror is accurate. I saw a man with a large appettite in an Old Paradians top lunching with Brad Boyd as well.

South of the Yarra
24 Jul 2006, 17:20
More info on the St Bedes rumour plz SOTY

Unfortunately I cannot say much more about the St Bedes rumour for a week or two. My source has asked me to keep the name quiet.Boyd will play for Parade and will help out his old school. I believe his back is fixed and he is fit and firing. Parade have been on a massive recruiting drive for 2007 and I believe they already have commitments from several big names who are willing to play with mates or for the old school. The current situation is not resting easily out at the Garvey and the clubs biggest recruiting drive in history is well under way. Expect at least 5 quality signings and the return of one gun. St Bedes have done likewise and are keen to get into B and then fire straight into A Grade. Expect my Tiger friends from down the road to attack all and sundry in an attempt to drive themselves into A Grade.

Bigfootyfan
24 Jul 2006, 17:30
Unfortunately I cannot say much more about the St Bedes rumour for a week or two. My source has asked me to keep the name quiet.St Bedes have done likewise and are keen to get into B and then fire straight into A Grade. Expect my Tiger friends from down the road to attack all and sundry in an attempt to drive themselves into A Grade.

Richard Clay Torpedos you seem to be in the know down at Tigerland, whats your comment

Grandstand Guru
24 Jul 2006, 18:24
Re the Parade rumours - will relegation affect the recruiting drive or make it easier (eg more likely to win a C Grade flag rather than B Grade)?

Grandstand Guru
24 Jul 2006, 18:24
Sorry - D Grade rather than C?!

South of the Yarra
24 Jul 2006, 18:57
Sorry - D Grade rather than C?!

I believe these players will play regardless. The process for attracting players started over a month ago.

GetSmart
24 Jul 2006, 19:09
This a red herring! You would think the Tigers brains trust are focused on this year. Need a couple of key players for sure, but crikey they have a number of TAC kids signed already from within plus a great U19's and reserves. They will focus on who they currently have playing first off. The current crop has heaps of improvement. I'm sure RCT will enlighten us.

overtheline
24 Jul 2006, 22:45
Roy is not happy.

That is all for now.

Well Roy, the question is 'where to from here"? Is it too late for the Reds to make finals and is relegation a real possibility? How will Burgs cope with possible failure? With st bedes this week and more injuries, the immediate future doesn't look flash.
Some wisdom please Roy!

DG-Man
25 Jul 2006, 08:46
I have more chance than reds do of playing finals, and i am not even an Amatuer club!

Tough run home for Reds.

Reds vs St.B
Nobs vs Reds
Reds vs Blues
Orm vs Reds
Reds vs Rovers

My winners in bold. I can't see Reds registering a win until rd.18

Will that be enough to keep them up??

Richard Clay Torpedoes
25 Jul 2006, 09:44
back on track with 4 out of 5 winners this week that were not that difficult...great win for the NOBS...who was it that thought up the idea of standing in Port Phillip Bay helps recovery...nothing like a 'Jim Beam and the Coca Cola type Coke with registered name and all the details' to recover from a knock or too post match is there!

Recruiting rumours are always interesting aren't they...would think it difficult to see Brad Boyd travelling from his Mornington base where he works selling real estate to Garvey every second week for a kick for his old school especially with Saturday's being a 'busy' day in his chosen profession.

Tigers focus is firmly on 2006 make no mistake and have enourmous player resources to call upon at present and for remainder of this year, but a successful club is always looking ahead. With no less than 10 of their club having played for Sandy Dragons TAC team this year already, and U19 & U/17 teams in top two in their divisions they will attract more young players naturally. They will however continue to look to recruit quality players/people to their club where they can I'm sure so no suprise that they could be talking to a recently retired AFL player for 2007.

Great local derby at Brindisi Street on Saturday...terrific crowd and post match...heard the Tigers pre match lunch with 100 people present was a beauty also.

RCT.

Mobbenfuhrer
25 Jul 2006, 09:54
I have more chance than reds do of playing finals, and i am not even an Amatuer club!

Tough run home for Reds.

Reds vs St.B
Nobs vs Reds
Reds vs Blues
Orm vs Reds
Reds vs Rovers

My winners in bold. I can't see Reds registering a win until rd.18

Will that be enough to keep them up??

Fair call DG Man, well documented. I am relying on one of the 2nd-last and 3rd-last matches going the Reds way as well, which ought to be enough. 1 win alone would be pretty scary.

overtheline
25 Jul 2006, 10:31
Fair call DG Man, well documented. I am relying on one of the 2nd-last and 3rd-last matches going the Reds way as well, which ought to be enough. 1 win alone would be pretty scary.

Ormond haven't beaten the reds for a long, long time..anywhere. I think there are four more wins for the reds who will sneak in and beat Ormond again in the final, then onto a prelim!

ROY??

i make sense
25 Jul 2006, 10:58
Ormond haven't beaten the reds for a long, long time..anywhere. I think there are four more wins for the reds who will sneak in and beat Ormond again in the final, then onto a prelim!

ROY??

I think ormond will smash the reds. They will have the opportunity to send the reds and roy back to D grade. that would be sweet revenge for the monders and will be the incentive to get them over the line.

Spencer Johnson
25 Jul 2006, 13:04
I think the Reds are a shattered side now . . . . their loss on the weekend emphasised they are racing nowhere quickly in C Grade and need to overhaul their system. A long long way behind the pacesetters in this league.

South of the Yarra
25 Jul 2006, 13:20
back on track with 4 out of 5 winners this week that were not that difficult...great win for the NOBS...who was it that thought up the idea of standing in Port Phillip Bay helps recovery...nothing like a 'Jim Beam and the Coca Cola type Coke with registered name and all the details' to recover from a knock or too post match is there!

Recruiting rumours are always interesting aren't they...would think it difficult to see Brad Boyd travelling from his Mornington base where he works selling real estate to Garvey every second week for a kick for his old school especially with Saturday's being a 'busy' day in his chosen profession.

Tigers focus is firmly on 2006 make no mistake and have enourmous player resources to call upon at present and for remainder of this year, but a successful club is always looking ahead. With no less than 10 of their club having played for Sandy Dragons TAC team this year already, and U19 & U/17 teams in top two in their divisions they will attract more young players naturally. They will however continue to look to recruit quality players/people to their club where they can I'm sure so no suprise that they could be talking to a recently retired AFL player for 2007.

Great local derby at Brindisi Street on Saturday...terrific crowd and post match...heard the Tigers pre match lunch with 100 people present was a beauty also.

RCT.
Interesting point about Boyd. I raised the same point and was told that I should not assume that he and his young family are staying in Mornington next year. I was also told that the Old Paradians have signed up a local real estate agent as a major sponsor and this is where the pieces of the jigsaw fit together.

Everyday Spelling
25 Jul 2006, 13:32
Been sitting on this for a few weeks now but here goes. Old Camberwell had very constructive talks with an ex afl player before rego deadline. Were very keen to register him but not sure if it went through. This player is required in melb on sun mornings and is understood to be playing either this week or next. Is a certainty next year though.

HotShoeShuffle
25 Jul 2006, 16:29
Been sitting on this for a few weeks now but here goes. Old Camberwell had very constructive talks with an ex afl player before rego deadline. Were very keen to register him but not sure if it went through. This player is required in melb on sun mornings and is understood to be playing either this week or next. Is a certainty next year though.
Is it a dual premiership skipper

Red Roy
25 Jul 2006, 19:35
I think ormond will smash the reds. They will have the opportunity to send the reds and roy back to D grade. that would be sweet revenge for the monders and will be the incentive to get them over the line.

Roy has sobered up after a couple of day bender to get over the weekend and returns with some words of wisdom:

As for you I make sense - more like You speak Nonsense !!

Everyone knows the monders are already worried about their last two games of the year against the Roy boys followed by the Tigers. Could be anastry couple of weeks to end the year, Roys are not going back to D Grade you poor deluded individual.

Last two weeks have been poor, but the Reds haven't won 3 flags in 5 years without showing some character and that will start with this weekend. I know Burgo and the team will have a few surprises for Luke Beveridge and the Tigers that will see us back on track.

Some interesting results last weekend - local boy, you let me down - I thought you were back to your vintage best after carving up the reds (albeit as a lose man in defence) and felt sure you would lead Parky to victory in the local derby - not so I see.

Ormond very lucky to scrape in against the D Grade bound Rovers - getting shaky down at the Gunn

Great win from Nobs. Pity they had such poor start to the season, could have done some damage. Funny mob the jackas - should have won that game but obviously on a let down after they were robbed against the tigers.

Students as predicted.

Big weekend coming up. All you people predicting the death of the Reds - get to Brunswick St to see a lazarus like revival as we begin our march to September and ultimate glory.

That is all - rest of Reds tips later in the week. I'm sure you are all waiting with baited breath.

Roy

Guru Joffa
25 Jul 2006, 21:38
Hey Red, were you drinking over the weekend at the North Fitzroy Arms???!!!:thumbsu:

Archangel17
25 Jul 2006, 23:44
C'mon, give us a name for the ex-AFL weller, you are either in the know or talking ****e..

Archangel17
25 Jul 2006, 23:48

ROY?? Not sure either side will make finals. Monash and Old Camberwell to fill out the four with one of them to upset AJAX in the prelim. Reds to just escape relegation as Parade fall at the last hurdle.

NBULTY
26 Jul 2006, 10:27
Roy has sobered up after a couple of day bender to get over the weekend and returns with some words of wisdom:

Everyone knows the monders are already worried about their last two games of the year against the Roy boys followed by the Tigers. Could be anastry couple of weeks to end the year, Roys are not going back to D Grade you poor deluded individual.

Last two weeks have been poor, but the Reds haven't won 3 flags in 5 years without showing some character and that will start with this weekend. I know Burgo and the team will have a few surprises for Luke Beveridge and the Tigers that will see us back on track.

Some interesting results last weekend - local boy, you let me down - I thought you were back to your vintage best after carving up the reds (albeit as a lose man in defence) and felt sure you would lead Parky to victory in the local derby - not so I see.

Ormond very lucky to scrape in against the D Grade bound Rovers - getting shaky down at the Gunn

Great win from Nobs. Pity they had such poor start to the season, could have done some damage. Funny mob the jackas - should have won that game but obviously on a let down after they were robbed against the tigers.

Students as predicted.

Big weekend coming up. All you people predicting the death of the Reds - get to Brunswick St to see a lazarus like revival as we begin our march to September and ultimate glory.

That is all - rest of Reds tips later in the week. I'm sure you are all waiting with baited breath.

Roy

Parkdale beat Reds by 10 goals + SBMT beat Parky by 10 Goals = SBMT to beat Reds by 20 Goals?!

i make sense
26 Jul 2006, 11:20

Roy

Roy it has become increasingly clear as the year has progressed that you are the deluded individual. it has been suggested that you hit the bottle hard. I think the reds team doctor should check your arms for track marks, perhaps heroin is your fix? would explain the fantasy land you live in, where the clouds are made of marshmellows and the reds are a good team!!

week in, week out, you post utter crap that is proven wrong on most occasions. As for you getting back on track this week, well, the only track your on is the one leading to D grade.