View Full Version : C Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

zoofest43
26 Jul 2006, 13:47
OC's knocked over an unimpressive Reds last week and will be further improved by a couple of great pick ups this weekend. Loats and Whelan will be in for sure and there is a massive 'in' predicted .

I've been crook and haven't attended training in the past 2 weeks but I'm told that there's plenty of hype down there at the moment.

CFE
26 Jul 2006, 14:00
Ormond very lucky to scrape in against the D Grade bound Rovers - getting shaky down at the Gunn

I'd hardly say things are getting shaky, in third spot, sitting nicely at the moment, sure things could change, but stop trying to deflect the attention from Reds relegation talk.

Maybe look in your own backyard before you worry about other clubs.

And to think we were lucky to scrape in against Hampton, righto, you were obviously there & saw the game, 3 junk time goals in the last to make the margin look respectable. Went from 27 pts to 9pts in dying minutes, never in any danger to lose.

Get back on the sauce you deluded man.

Archangel17
26 Jul 2006, 14:12
looked on the VAFA site and there are no new clearances to Old Camberwell, so clearance would have to have been lodged in early June.. sounds like a furphy... If you are wondering what i am talking about go here
http://www.vafa.com.au/?s=results
and click on the clearances option at the top of the page- gives all recent clearances up to the senior deadline

Everyday Spelling
26 Jul 2006, 16:16
Also on could authority is that not all of the clearances have been put on the website. The request by the club can be made.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
26 Jul 2006, 16:41
OK...let's face it..the OC's need more than one 'big in' and hype(your kidding) at training , they are one game better off in the win column than the Reds & NOBS and two more than the Rovers and Paradians...middle of the road at best.

After this weeks games each club has two home games and two away games to decide/set up their fate for 2006 & 2007.

All positions apart from one are up for grabs..those who dare win..those who fear lose.....

Tips for this week in nice and early are:

Tigers over the Reds..Red Roy will be out back lawn bowling by half time
Vultures over the COBS...close one at Parkdale tipped
Blues over the Jackas...reckon the Students will win again
Rovers overs the Wellers..blustery day at David Street won't help the big in
Paradians over the Monders...heavy track won't suit the lads from the Gunn

Flagons HO!...to the stands at Brunswick RED ROY me Boy..McWilliams Cream Sherry on special at Nancarrows this week $2.35......urgghhh

overtheline
26 Jul 2006, 18:06
OK...let's face it..the OC's need more than one 'big in' and hype(your kidding) at training , they are one game better off in the win column than the Reds & NOBS and two more than the Rovers and Paradians...middle of the road at best.

After this weeks games each club has two home games and two away games to decide/set up their fate for 2006 & 2007.

All positions apart from one are up for grabs..those who dare win..those who fear lose.....

Flagons HO!...to the stands at Brunswick RED ROY me Boy..McWilliams Cream Sherry on special at Nancarrows this week $2.35......urgghhh

Think I will go with all your predictions RCT. Am i right in saying that ST bedes(obviously!) and OC are the only sides that haven't lost twice to any side?
Reds will be better this week.

From the Pile
26 Jul 2006, 19:29

You may be right about Blues over the Jackers, have heard that it was a shocker on the track for the Jackers last night - trying to toughen them up in the wake of "soft as butter" comments from the COBS crowds.

My sources from AXA inform me that Greg Porteous was training at Parade last night and will lace up the boots this weekend and spearhead their attack. Apparently body is healed and fitter than ever after a triathlon training program??

South of the Yarra
26 Jul 2006, 20:55
You may be right about Blues over the Jackers, have heard that it was a shocker on the track for the Jackers last night - trying to toughen them up in the wake of "soft as butter" comments from the COBS crowds.

My sources from AXA inform me that Greg Porteous was training at Parade last night and will lace up the boots this weekend and spearhead their attack. Apparently body is healed and fitter than ever after a triathlon training program??

I have also been told that Porteous has been training and will play the rest of the season. With the loss of their skipper he could make a difference over the next 5 weeks.

Archangel17
26 Jul 2006, 22:46
Tigers
COBS
OC
Jackers
Monds

Supa Frank
27 Jul 2006, 09:52
I have also been told that Porteous has been training and will play the rest of the season. With the loss of their skipper he could make a difference over the next 5 weeks.

You have to get the ball down to Porteous and I'm afraid that the Parade onballers will be to busy playing piggy on a spit!!! D stands for Donuts that the parade blokes should lay off and the grade they will be playing in next year................

Mudrunner
27 Jul 2006, 10:04
You have to get the ball down to Porteous and I'm afraid that the Parade onballers will be to busy playing piggy on a spit!!! D stands for Donuts that the parade blokes should lay off and the grade they will be playing in next year................

'D' also stands for desperation, and they will be certain to display this on Saturday.

Supa Frank
27 Jul 2006, 10:45
'D' also stands for desperation, and they will be certain to display this on Saturday.

Desperate to get to the canteen. I'm sure they will show that on Saturday!!!!!

GetSmart
27 Jul 2006, 10:48
Saw the Vultures Tigers game Saturday. There seems to be a perception that the Tigers are at their best. Apparently with three to four changes every week they have no problems covering outs due to the awesome talent in their reserves side. Fair to say the twos had 8 players who played B Section seniors games last year. Skipper Juice Wintle was one of the outs that will be back against the REDs this week. I would suggest that they are a developing side that has a lot of improvement left!

schwarta
27 Jul 2006, 10:50

according to my contacts in the vafa, glenn has been linked with beuamoris and is willing to help them progress from B grade...

schwarta
27 Jul 2006, 11:13
Saw the Vultures Tigers game Saturday. There seems to be a perception that the Tigers are at their best. Apparently with three to four changes every week they have no problems covering outs due to the awesome talent in their reserves side. Fair to say the twos had 8 players who played B Section seniors games last year. Skipper Juice Wintle was one of the outs that will be back against the REDs this week. I would suggest that they are a developing side that has a lot of improvement left!

skipper 'juice' wintle maybe back in, dont think i have ever seen a more scared footballer to captain the tigers !!
i have been appauled by his efforts in recent times as a long term follower of the club.

Mudrunner
27 Jul 2006, 11:33
skipper 'juice' wintle maybe back in, dont think i have ever seen a more scared footballer to captain the tigers !!
i have been appauled by his efforts in recent times as a long term follower of the club.

Is he the big CHB ? Built like Tarzan but plays & squeals like Jane !
The bloke that cuts up rough every time he is tackled.

schwarta
27 Jul 2006, 11:44

very harsh comments but quite possibly justified ! how long can his team mates carry him ?

i make sense
27 Jul 2006, 12:18

very perceptive, from what i understand the tigers are yet to play 2 weeks in a row without atleast 1 change. this just demonstrates that while other teams use injuries (missing players) as an excuse (RED ROY) for poor performances, the tigers reach down into there 2's, 19's or clubbies to pluck someone who is upto senior footy.

Supa Frank
27 Jul 2006, 12:44

Bit harsh you blokes........ I saw the bigfella play at EP a couple of weeks ago and he dominated the Game from CHB, I'm with an A grade club and would love to have him on our list!!

schwarta
27 Jul 2006, 12:59
Bit harsh you blokes........ I saw the bigfella play at EP a couple of weeks ago and he dominated the Game from CHB, I'm with an A grade club and would love to have him on our list!!

which club ?
you blokes need a new boundry umpire for the 2's ? ?

Richard Clay Torpedoes
27 Jul 2006, 13:17
Good Call Supa...tipping Schwarta and Mudrunner are either 1. mates taking the Micky out of him or 2.Battling Reserve's type's who wouldn't go near him if they ever got the chance to play against him!

Bigfootyfan
27 Jul 2006, 14:07

This is the sorting posting that just makes me laugh. He is an absolute awesome footballer. Any club from A-D would have him in their starting side without a blink. I agree RCT either mates taking the mick or guys with no brain

Peter Hoare
27 Jul 2006, 14:09

Did your sources also mention that he also goes by the name Glen?

Mudrunner
27 Jul 2006, 14:11
Good Call Supa...tipping Schwarta and Mudrunner are either 1. mates taking the Micky out of him or 2.Battling Reserve's type's who wouldn't go near him if they ever got the chance to play against him!

I would stay as far away as i could from him. He would bore me stupid with his constant "Im gunna belt you" repetition. His big dopey look is hardly scarey !
Reasonable player in a very good team. Let's see how he goes against some genuine opposition over the next few years.

schwarta
27 Jul 2006, 14:32
I would stay as far away as i could from him. He would bore me stupid with his constant "Im gunna belt you" repetition. His big dopey look is hardly scarey !
Reasonable player in a very good team. Let's see how he goes against some genuine opposition over the next few years.

very good point mudrunner !!
i have seen him by himself at the edgy (as their website suggests),must be out of favour at brinidisi st....his fav food is quiche, what sort of mans fav food is quiche ?

juicyskipper
27 Jul 2006, 15:02
i have seen him by himself at the edgy (as their website suggests),must be out of favour at brinidisi st....his fav food is quiche, what sort of mans fav food is quiche ?

4 points

1. he hasnt got any mates at the club ie incident involving younger player who has since left the club.

2. Hes fiancee is Indian(PooCupcaker the 2nd) therefore favourite food is quiches and CURRY PUFF PASTRYS,

3. He didnt play on weekend because his fiancees parents(Javagal and PooCupcaker) came over from India to meet him and he was at indoor sports centre having a net session with Javagal.

4. What is a 6ft 5 bloke doing bowling off spin cup cakes??? Jane definately

Mudrunner
27 Jul 2006, 15:05
Maybe too much quiche makes you dopey & repetitive ? Mmm!
Have to do some work Schwarta.
See you at training tonight.

Supa Frank
27 Jul 2006, 15:18
Maybe too much quiche makes you dopey & repetitive ? Mmm!
Have to do some work Schwarta.
See you at training tonight.

Interesting choice of of name Mudrunner!!! Is that because it runs down your willy after putting it up Schwarta's bot bot?

The Slitherin' Snake
27 Jul 2006, 15:53
Any more on the coaching situation down at Parade? I have heard whispers there is a big push from several senior players and recently retired supporters / clubmen to install Vincent as the coach for D grade in 2007.

Supa Frank
27 Jul 2006, 16:00
Any more on the coaching situation down at Parade? I have heard whispers there is a big push from several senior players and recently retired supporters / clubmen to install Vincent as the coach for D grade in 2007.

They should make the canteen lady coach, she could offer sugar & savory snacks in return for some good footy! The boys would win D grade in a canter!!!

They could also change the ground name from Garvey to Carvery Oval, that is sure to get a few more fatty's walking through the door come preseason 2007!!!

big sav
27 Jul 2006, 17:00

Snake, you seem very keen to get this Vincent character appointed as coach of OP's. If only you were as keen to complete an honest days work.

The Slitherin' Snake
27 Jul 2006, 17:11
Snake, you seem very keen to get this Vincent character appointed as coach of OP's. If only you were as keen to complete an honest days work.
Not necessarily keen, Sav. Just relaying information I'd heard. The backroom politics of D grade clubs isn't a life or death matter for me

Three Malugas
27 Jul 2006, 17:34
Good call Max!
Would you believe that the Reds will beat the Tigers this week? No!
Ok........How about the Reds will make the finals? No
Ok. How about Reds are struggling big time.

oldtimer
27 Jul 2006, 17:34

All i know about Vincent is that he is now carrying a lot of weight and would fit in very well down there as manager of not only the footy club but the canteen.

lozza5
27 Jul 2006, 18:01
Bad mail "From The Pile" about Jackers training last night.

From the Pile
27 Jul 2006, 20:03

Obviously either bored, unemployed or well connected, if you are from an A grade club and spend time on the C grade site.

From the Pile
27 Jul 2006, 20:05
Did your sources also mention that he also goes by the name Glen?

Right you are, serial pest, apologies.

From the Pile
27 Jul 2006, 20:13
Bad mail "From The Pile" about Jackers training last night.

Sorry, have to sack the scout.

juicyskipper
28 Jul 2006, 09:34

Massive news at tigerland. The captain is out for the finals. PooCupcaker the 2nd has been selected to star in a Bollywood x rated movie and is due in India in the coming weeks. Apparently co starring Tania Zaetta. The upside is Javagal has secured the big fella a position in the Mumbai presidents 11 as a "pat Symcox" fill in.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
28 Jul 2006, 09:48
Breaking news at Brunswick Street with the apparent early arrival of Red Roy seen setting up camp in the front row of the old grandstand at 6.00am this morning. Red when interviewd on Sunrise by Mel & Kochi said ' This is the game I've been waiting for all year and I just had to get a front row seat to watch the Tigers tomorrow and besides I got kicked out of Oznam house for the weekend so why not settle in here for the clash of the round' Kochi drilled the famous Red Roy about the ins and outs of the Reds and Roy replied ' look we have had a massive run with injuries since last years D Section Grand Final but we'll have all our VFL listed players back in this week cos I've paid off the Williamstown Reserves coach amongst others to ensure such, and with some massive inclusions - Bernie Quinlan, Chicken Smallhorn and brothers Laurie & Renato Serafini to name a few, the Tigers won't know what's hit them, our march to more silverware for the Roys begins tomorrow'

Red Roy
28 Jul 2006, 10:43
I never really liked Koshi - always struck me as a bit of a tosser.

Well, Roy has finally made it. When you have made it into the Amateur Footballer RCT come and speak to me - good to see Frase knows a good judge when he sees one, nice work scribe.

Tips for This week:

Reds v Tigers : do I really need to even mention this one. I think we all know which way the Great Man (thats me if you were wondering) thinks this one will go.

Rovers v The OC : The giant may end up in the bay if it is a windy day down at David Street. He does have an enormous wing span. Gee there has been some people speaking some rubbish about the OC this week. Roy prefers a more reserved approach. I am tipping the Rovers in an upset - don't know who the big "ins" are for the OC but there finals shances will end this week.

Parade v Ormond : Parade are gone - nothing to play for. Ormond easy.

Vultures V Nobs : big one this week. Local Boy needs to fire for the Vultures or the resurgent Nobs will end Parkdales year. Nobs in a tight one.

Jackas v Students: another sunday game for the jackas. Very average last week the jackas - expect them to bounce back because the double chance could rest on this game with Ormond to knock over Parade. Studenst for me.

Hopefully this has brought some pleasure to your miserable lives - Roy does try to please.

For all you tigers fans : Roy will again be available for autographs prior to the game if anyone is interested.

The Roy.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
28 Jul 2006, 10:59
Well, Roy has finally made it. When you have made it into the Amateur Footballer RCT come and speak to me - good to see Frase knows a good judge when he sees one, nice work scribe.

Rovers v The OC : The giant may end up in the bay if it is a windy day down at David Street. He does have an enormous wing span. Gee there has been some people speaking some rubbish about the OC this week. Roy prefers a more reserved approach. I am tipping the Rovers in an upset - don't know who the big "ins" are for the OC but there finals shances will end this week.

Jackas v Students: another sunday game for the jackas. Very average last week the jackas - expect them to bounce back because the double chance could rest on this game with Ormond to knock over Parade. Studenst for me.

For all you tigers fans : Roy will again be available for autographs prior to the game if anyone is interested.

YEP...old Roy is already on the bottle in the grandstand slurring the words before breakfast

And Roy...I was writing columns in the Amateur Footballer when you were hiding in the backpocket in F Section Reserves!!

Imagine the queue to watch a guzzling old battler sign....XXXX

Roll up Roll up Roll up......

overtheline
28 Jul 2006, 11:01

Tips for This week:

Reds v Tigers : do I really need to even mention this one. I think we all know which way the Great Man (thats me if you were wondering) thinks this one will go.

Vultures V Nobs : big one this week. Local Boy needs to fire for the Vultures or the resurgent Nobs will end Parkdales year. Nobs in a tight one.

Hopefully this has brought some pleasure to your miserable lives - Roy does try to please.

The Roy.
Ahh, the great man has spoken! Very enjoyable stuff! Big week of soul searching for the redders who will come out firing after last weeks insipid performance. Expect some fireworks.Tigers due to lose soon!

rovers with Sandy players back, playing for plenty will be hard to toss. Roy, you have called OC gone three times this year so let's be a bit cautious. RCT prediction re loats and the wind will be interesting, as his side hasn't been on the receiving end of him yet!

Parade aren't gone! They have great spirit and are at their best when their backs are against the wall. ormond's last two weeks pretty unimpressive so I am tipping Parade to win, in typical underdog fashion. Underestimate them at your peril!

Jackas to win

Parkdale meeting a side in form and not depleted( unlike last two home games!) Still fancy them just at home

ROy, how will we indentify you? Who will be controlling the queue?

Richard Clay Torpedoes
28 Jul 2006, 11:22
ROy, how will we indentify you? Who will be controlling the queue?[/quote]

Overtheline,

Will be very easy to identify him at 5.00pm tomorrow...a lonely old man with just memories, his brown paper bag and his scruffy loyal mut in an empty grandstand....mumbling to himself...D Section...back to D Section...why...why....why......

RCT.

Mobbenfuhrer
28 Jul 2006, 11:42
Breaking news at Brunswick Street with the apparent early arrival of Red Roy seen setting up camp in the front row of the old grandstand at 6.00am this morning. Red when interviewd on Sunrise by Mel & Kochi said ' This is the game I've been waiting for all year and I just had to get a front row seat to watch the Tigers tomorrow and besides I got kicked out of Oznam house for the weekend so why not settle in here for the clash of the round' Kochi drilled the famous Red Roy about the ins and outs of the Reds and Roy replied ' look we have had a massive run with injuries since last years D Section Grand Final but we'll have all our VFL listed players back in this week cos I've paid off the Williamstown Reserves coach amongst others to ensure such, and with some massive inclusions - Bernie Quinlan, Chicken Smallhorn and brothers Laurie & Renato Serafini to name a few, the Tigers won't know what's hit them, our march to more silverware for the Roys begins tomorrow'

You should have added a joke, it all just looks like accurate reporting to me! :)

By the way, if Roy was setting up early, I think it would be at the Newry, rather than the stand!

Red Roy
28 Jul 2006, 11:54
I have employed a high profile security firm to manage the crowd expected to mob the Roy on Saturday.

There will be an orederly que and Roy asks all of his fans not to get impatient - everyone will get a chance of an audience with the enlightened one.

There may also be a small fee for the priveledge of speaking to the Roy - just to cover costs. (insurance is a killer these days)

Of course - to conform with VAFA rules - there will be no autograph signing during the senior game.

RCT - I would expect you would be first in line - you clearly need guidance and Roy will be happy to help put you on the right path.

See you all tomorrow

Roy

Richard Clay Torpedoes
28 Jul 2006, 12:11
Roy on the Red....RCT has never entertained the thought of collecting autographs but many Tigers fans already have the champion Tiger's premiership wingman/full back's insignia in their scrap book with the No.8 circled next to it...still getting mobbed daily at my Bunnings store...I may be tempted to launch a few right foot bombs at half time tomorrow for the fans...don't lean over the front of the grandstand as I might be tempted to use you as a target for a spiral or two.

RCT

greentree
28 Jul 2006, 12:22

Tips for This week:

The Roy.

Greentree's tips
Reds v Tigers Reds 5 big ins from the VFL should should stop the slide, Tigers by 60+ ( the slide they are stopping is the one towards a 100+ loss)
Rovers need this one at home, hello D grade if they dont.(will also keep the Reds in the hunt for D grade if they win, go Rovers
Ormond just, like to see Parade win.
Parky have good record at home so should win and keep finals hopes alive.
Big match this one, Big tip from me who ever loses this match wont make the finals.
It will be a draw.

schwarta
28 Jul 2006, 13:45
Massive news at tigerland. The captain is out for the finals. PooCupcaker the 2nd has been selected to star in a Bollywood x rated movie and is due in India in the coming weeks. Apparently co starring Tania Zaetta. The upside is Javagal has secured the big fella a position in the Mumbai presidents 11 as a "pat Symcox" fill in.

heres hoping !! he could be an indictment on the finals campaign and cost bedes advancing to a grandfinal, with his mundane football approach.

is he playing in the same team as roland roccacelli ? surely poocapcaker's girlfriend is a coverup.....

greentree
28 Jul 2006, 14:31
heres hoping !! he could be an indictment on the finals campaign and cost bedes advancing to a grandfinal, with his mundane football approach.

is he playing in the same team as roland roccacelli ? surely poocapcaker's girlfriend is a coverup.....

Any one who knows Juice thinks he maybe a bit girly, but I thought at least mouse and rat would stick up for him.]
I guess not, he's come out. ( not that theres anything wrong with that)

Richard Clay Torpedoes
28 Jul 2006, 14:54
Never let it be said that RCT and his cohorts do not go out of their way to assist the disadvantaged in our society...as of 1.00pm today a sign sits boldly front and centre of the Brunswick Street grandstand seating ' Reserved for Red Roy'....wouldn't want you to miss out on any of the action and fun.

Sleep well old Red.

RCT

Guru Joffa
29 Jul 2006, 00:19
Red Roy, Who would the 'high profile' security company be???!!! They may be 'ticked' up at Haskis enjoying a frothy and not intersted in being at Brunswick Street!! Is that Barman still there with the "shakes"??!!!!!!!!

Grandstand Guru
29 Jul 2006, 19:18
Red Roy - please please please don't do anything silly tonight...your life is worth much more than that....

For those not in the know as yet:

StBM 144 def F Reds 43
Old Cam 138 def Hampt 38
Ormond 147 def Old Par 58
Parkdale 139 def NOBs 77

Parkdale (6th) now 2 games clear of Reds and Nobs, who are only one game ahead of the bottom 2 Hampton and Old Paradians!

Red Roy
29 Jul 2006, 21:51
Bugger..................................................

Alphonse
30 Jul 2006, 00:40
Very disappointing result for nobs. Thats the finals gone, now the focus turns to survival. The winner of the red nob cup will not only get the brunswick bragging rights but achieve safety.

overtheline
30 Jul 2006, 09:40
Red Roy - please please please don't do anything silly tonight...your life is worth much more than that....

For those not in the know as yet:

StBM 144 def F Reds 43
Old Cam 138 def Hampt 38
Ormond 147 def Old Par 58
Parkdale 139 def NOBs 77

Parkdale (6th) now 2 games clear of Reds and Nobs, who are only one game ahead of the bottom 2 Hampton and Old Paradians!

Awful, awful day for the reds. St bedes were very good but there appears to be trouble in the fitzroy camp now! Long road back from here and survival now firmly on the agenda. Winner of Parade and hampton this week still has some hope and OC now firmly on the march. Heard Loats injured again which won't help their finals push. Monash need to win today or it gets very interesting.

Three Malugas
30 Jul 2006, 12:23
See on the Reds website that Red Roy and the boys are off to Tonga in October to play the Tongan National side. After yesterdays result Sportsbet have the Reds at $5.50 to the Tongans $1.05. Concern at AFL level that the reds may bring the game into disrepute. Good coaching move to have the team playing in thongs yesterday. Their running and kicking can only improve with more practice........And boys.....can you get Red Roy to clean up the rooms each week.......How can you go well on field when your off field is a mess......
What's happening at David Street and Parade. The Rovers will be jumping out of the windows of those luxury apartments across the road. And surely Parade must be better than this. The last four sides can't play any worse can they. Give credit to parky.... punidts say they are too fat and slow, but they continue to come up with wins. Big week next with the season on the line for a number of teams. Round 15 will be the season breaker as games and percentage become critical.

zoofest43
30 Jul 2006, 14:32
Nice win by OC at Hampton. Without putting to much emphasis on getting players back(apart from Loats) there is no doubt that the inclusion of 4 certain starters in the past fortnight has improved team balance,ability and morale.

I did say the feeling has been stronger with these talented players back on the track of late and this has seen two strong and even displays over the past fortnight.

There is no doubt that with all the players up and going OC are good team.Like most sides ,take away 4 or 5 of the better players and the team begins to struggle.

On a disappointng note ,Loats hobbled off during the third after a quiet day(well played Parko), and must surely be in doubt ,at least in the short term.

At least the no Loats ,no OC ,arguement looses much of its bite following the last 2 blowout wins.

Interestingly Mentone destroyed OC last time round,I honestly believe OC will make a game of it this weekend despite the probable abscence of Loats.

GetSmart
30 Jul 2006, 16:22
I'm with you Red. The reds will win the flag this year for sure. Next we will take B Section before the juggernaut wins 10 straight in A section. It is only a matter of time. Before we know it the Brisbane Lions will be struggling and they will want to merge with us and move back to Brunswick Street........ I'll just have another glass of red.....Red!........ Go Ritzroy, sorry Fitzzroy!........ Timmy..........great player!....... Does he play for us?......sorrry, ......of course.......... Go Redders!........Go Franko!..........Brunswick Street Fiztroy........ Jezza......lanko you beauty!..... Ah Red Boy........ we've got a good team.........we have?...... havent we Red!......... Please keep telling me. I believe you.Ah Red... they just released me from rehab this morning........it can't be true.......someone has taken over the world and the net......They say that the impossible is happening...............we are going to merge with Tonga and that we now play in thongs. Ah blow it.....I'm back on the Red, Red. It is all too much! Let me back in........open the door.......

Mobbenfuhrer
31 Jul 2006, 00:16
Yikes! :eek:

Red Roy
31 Jul 2006, 10:16
Morning All,

Please come back Burgo !!!!!

for the love of god man come back, we have been shocking in your absence.

i don't want to sound like a whinger but ......................

14 changes out of the reserves side - 8 up into the seniors...............
(ps - great effort to pull em on Ned given the night you had just had!!)

lost count of the changes out of he ones - who were some of those blokes anyway?

And whats with the umpire telling TD to take of the thermos he was wearing under his shorts?!! He was allowed to wear them in the state game representing the VAFA you peanut.

No team in the comp could cope with the injuries we have had. Tigers included.

They did have a good third term though, some interesting umpiring - a free kick paid in the opposition fwd line (resulting in a goal to that little midget who kicked about 5 in the quarter) because our water boy was on the ground too long???? What the???

Massive effort required in the next two weeks by the lads - must pull our fingers out - finals still on the cards and once we are there - look out.

Very disapointed that no Tigers fans came for autographs - i waited and waited.......

highlight of the day was Litzas impersonation of our President at the aftermatch - hilarious stuff that brightened Roys day. On that note - well done to all the Tigers players/supporters who came in for a drink. As you are aware - roy is an advocate of the occassional frothy.

I may go and have one or two hundred now...

Roy

Grandstand Guru
31 Jul 2006, 10:32
Believe Ajax continued the weekend's trend for close games and snuck over the line against Monash by close to/over 100 points!! Makes 4th place right up for grabs between the Students, OC and Parkdale. Monash v Parkdale this week.

With all due respect to Ormond, I think Ajax are the most likely to go up....still plenty of footy to be played but I think if all teams played to their full potential (as painful as it might be to say), the Jackas are next best behind the Tigers....

Richard Clay Torpedoes
31 Jul 2006, 10:37
Roy my boy....time for a well earned reality check from the great torpedo punter.

RCT took a trip back in time on Saturday going to Brunswick Street, and from the game I watched so did the Red's..back to when they were Uni Red's playing in F Section..yep I'm getting on the Tongan's at the short odds.

Burgo...may as well stay in Pakistan and recruit for D Section next year or perhaps he is looking for some likely lads to take on the Tongans with mortar fire?

Ground surface...ordinary at best...cricket pitch in the middle in this day and age is a disgrace, and resulted in Red's ruckman injuring himself late in the game

Change Rooms...very ordinary...last cleaned after Fitzroys final game in the 1960's

Umpires penalised the Red's water boy cos he looked like he might have got a kick as against many Red's players who couldn't!

Despite reserving you a special seat in the grandstand Roy you failed to face the music...hiding behind dark glasses again?

RCT even stopped at the Lord Newry for an ale on the way home and you weren't there either...mind you a few Red's Reserves players were looking very comfortable and had been for most of the afternoon it appeared.

As RCT has documented for some time now...RED's in TROUBLE and last game of the year between them and Rovers will probably decide their fate...only trophy for the cabinet this year Red Roy will be of the wooden kind...

And finally...do something about the bar...RCT likes a frothy after a journey back in time...a time when beers were served in a glass out of a tap with the name Carlton Draught on it....I RCT has one at eleven.....and 4.30pm.

RCT

From the Pile
31 Jul 2006, 11:37
Hot off the press. All VAFA clubs senior coaches & presidents have been asked to sign affadavits regarding the "amateur status" of all players. Have the folks down at HQ got some ladder changing surprises in store??

pazza
31 Jul 2006, 12:33
Caught the 2nd half of the Jackas yesterday, after umpiring the 19's out the back.

Jackas apparently had quite a few of their best 18 back, which clearly helped.

Mobbenfuhrer
31 Jul 2006, 12:41
Sounds like it was a dark day at Brunny St, unless of course if you're on that Tiger train. Four losses on the trot don't endear us to the consolidation brigade, not to mention the onward and upward community.

I hear you, RCT, on the condition of the ground. Two years of works supposedly "fixing" it, and it is becoming clearer that its out-and-out sabotage by a council that despises community. Fair go on the bar though, you can always ask the friendly staff to open the tinny for you if you can't work it out yourself.

So what's the story? St Bedes are meant to be stronger than they were at the start of the season, but I haven't noticed the Reds player stocks too depleted. Sure there's some names out, but there's some names in, too, in which I have always had the utmost of confidence. Could it be, that the retirements of a couple of players who'd been there since the Bend Over Bentleigh days, have unsettled the consistency of the side?

Ok, I've just looked at the details section of the results on the VAFA site, and woagh, who's that? And that? And that? Okay, more outs than I thought.

Well, I'm still to press the panic button, but gonnah have to turn on the afterburners from here on in.

Finally, some art music : Come back Cezanne. Come back Ceziannah, baby baby please come back.

(Heard uttered by a symphonic conductor - I am the Falla starter, Manuel de Falla starter, I am Manuel de Falla starter ...)

pazza
31 Jul 2006, 13:43
Will say though, I think Reds and Nobs will stay up now with a month to go.

As to who challenges Bedes, well I thought Ajax would be the only chance to do that, but, I still can't believe how tight it is behind them (the match at Gunn Reserve on Saturday is going to be as big as any I've seen this year)

greentree
31 Jul 2006, 14:16
Will say though, I think Reds and Nobs will stay up now with a month to go.

As to who challenges Bedes, well I thought Ajax would be the only chance to do that, but, I still can't believe how tight it is behind them (the match at Gunn Reserve on Saturday is going to be as big as any I've seen this year)

The whole round is huge, Parky v Monash for spot in the 4, If hampton can have a big win and Reds have another big loss, bottom 2 for Reds, then you have 2v3 and 1v4, its the hugest round of the year
( and yes I know thats not very good english )

Red Roy
31 Jul 2006, 15:24
Wishful thinking Greentree. A lot of "ifs" in that little equation of yours. Roy prefers to deal in facts as you will be well aware.

Here are some facts:

Reds have at least 12 players to return to their line up
lets look at our run home : NOBS, Monash, Ormond and Hampton.
NOBS - Red likes the boys from the Gillion - it's a nice short trip as well - but not as much to play for so mark this one down for the roy boys

Monash - Students got smashed by Ajax - Reds got done by a kick after the siren by the jackas - another one for the roy boys

Ormond - they are to the Reds as Daryl Cullinan was to Shane Warne - our bunnies. Our persperationals (2nd club 18 team) could run out and the mere sight of the Fitzroy jumper would be enough to secure a win.

Hampton - will already be relegated by that stage - might not even bother coming out to Fitzroy - 4 more points

That will leave us on 10 wins and every chance to play finals. There have been some recent tough times but that is about to turn around.

So Greentree - please look at the facts (above) before posting in future.

Red will not charge for his advice on this occassion.

I hope this helps everyone in trying to determine how the season will unfold.

Red

FootyGuru
31 Jul 2006, 15:30
Go Rovers!!!!!!!!!!!! number 7 for them the tall skinny bloke is a gun. young kid too watch out for him

overtheline
31 Jul 2006, 15:42
Wishful thinking Greentree. A lot of "ifs" in that little equation of yours. Roy prefers to deal in facts as you will be well aware.

Here are some facts:

Reds have at least 12 players to return to their line up
lets look at our run home : NOBS, Monash, Ormond and Hampton.NOBS - Red likes the boys from the Gillion - it's a nice short trip as well - but not as much to play for so mark this one down for the roy boys

Monash - Students got smashed by Ajax - Reds got done by a kick after the siren by the jackas - another one for the roy boys

Ormond - they are to the Reds as Daryl Cullinan was to Shane Warne - our bunnies. Our persperationals (2nd club 18 team) could run out and the mere sight of the Fitzroy jumper would be enough to secure a win.

Hampton - will already be relegated by that stage - might not even bother coming out to Fitzroy - 4 more points

That will leave us on 10 wins and every chance to play finals. There have been some recent tough times but that is about to turn around.

So Greentree - please look at the facts (above) before posting in future.

Red will not charge for his advice on this occassion.

I hope this helps everyone in trying to determine how the season will unfold.

Red
I hate to spoil the party red ...but 5 plus 4 = 9 not ten!

Red Roy
31 Jul 2006, 16:08
Right you are OTL - minor mathematical error from the Roy.

Red is always prepared to admit when he is wrong, as you would all know, this doenst happen very often

Red

greentree
31 Jul 2006, 16:13
I hate to spoil the party red ...but 5 plus 4 = 9 not ten!

And also Red I wouldn't call 1 "if" alot.
The if was on Hampton winning by alot.
I then had
And Reds have another big loss, that part was more a statement.
Also in using Ajax as a yard stick as you have, NOBs flogged Ajax.
You forgot to mention that.

Just giving you some more of those facts you like so much.

Everyday Spelling
31 Jul 2006, 16:34
OC boys are back. As someone guessed correctly the duel premiership skipper is in this week and I can categorically say that Loats will play. He was a bit sore and only came off cause they were miles ahead. Injured again i don't think so.....
Ajax back to full strength from looking at them and no amount of me cheering the students on worked.
My final four:
SBMT
Ajax
OC
Orm
With SBMT to go out in straight sets and OC to win it. Get on board we are nearly full.
Got quality in there with the likes of Digga Ditch (Mitchell) who is possibly the best(and smartest) CHF in the comp.
Roy mate apart from your love of the reds i'm spot on hey....

With love
ES

Spencer Johnson
31 Jul 2006, 16:51
Can certainly suggest that the OC guys are being rested this week at the Barnard - CHF will not be playing as is having a rest - crook for the past fortnight and select others will be rested against St Bedes. . . . .

Pretty smart too as not to risk injury in a game not winnable.

St Bedes by the Flemington straight this week !

Spencer Johnson
31 Jul 2006, 16:56
Reds - is it a crisis ?

Boy o boy, the super coach not looking like he is so super after all. These margins are a huge concern ! Just getting smashed now.

Where to for coach and committee ?

They were a finals certainity 4 months back.

How things change.

From the Pile
31 Jul 2006, 17:03
OC boys are back.

With SBMT to go out in straight sets and OC to win it. Get on board we are nearly full.

It was that cocky attitude that made you perform so admirably in last years finals assault. Once again OC counting the chickens....................when you end up "choking" the chickens

Three Malugas
31 Jul 2006, 19:33
OC from what we read now close to full strength. Jackers also have players back in. Parkdale as good as they will get list wise. Jackers getting players back. No word from Tigers or Ormond all season on outs. Number Tiger Reserves players in seniors over past few weeks. Still continue to win well though. Ormond keeping pretty low and are disciplined outfit. Parkdale getting the most out of their list. Can't afford more injuries.

Thoughts for the last four weeks.
Ajax to win 4 ? mark over Ormond game
Ormond to win 2 with possible win over Jackers.
OC to win 2. On form won't beat Tigers and Jackers.
Monash to win 1. Dont be suprised if they lose to NOBS last game away. Only win Reds.
Parkdale to win 3. Expect them to upset Monash. Will beat Rovers and Parade.

On that basis. Tigers, Jackers, Ormond and Parkdale for the final 4.

Parade are gone. Rovers or Reds the other candidate. Depends whether Rovers can win two games. Will be touch and go. Expect NOBS to get over Reds this week

greentree
31 Jul 2006, 22:18
OC from what we read now close to full strength. Jackers also have players back in. Parkdale as good as they will get list wise. Jackers getting players back. No word from Tigers or Ormond all season on outs. Number Tiger Reserves players in seniors over past few weeks. Still continue to win well though. Ormond keeping pretty low and are disciplined outfit. Parkdale getting the most out of their list. Can't afford more injuries.

Thoughts for the last four weeks.
Ajax to win 4 ? mark over Ormond game
Ormond to win 2 with possible win over Jackers.
OC to win 2. On form won't beat Tigers and Jackers.
Monash to win 1. Dont be suprised if they lose to NOBS last game away. Only win Reds.
Parkdale to win 3. Expect them to upset Monash. Will beat Rovers and Parade.

On that basis. Tigers, Jackers, Ormond and Parkdale for the final 4.

Parade are gone. Rovers or Reds the other candidate. Depends whether Rovers can win two games. Will be touch and go. Expect NOBS to get over Reds this week

Come on the rest of you ,whats you tips on how the year will finish up?
To save me typing "see above" I think Malugas is right on the money.

Scribe, RCT,, #86 what do you think?

richoooo
31 Jul 2006, 22:44

My tip for the season finish is:

ST BEDES print the flag
Ajax enigmatic and they keep us guessing
Ormond just keep doing all the right things

equal 4th (classic fence sitting here!)
Old Camberwell as long as the cheque book holds up
Parkdale ..... ... justkeep writing them off .....

Monash do all the right things but do they have the ex factor? - desire to take them all on
The KNOB aches loads of history fighting against the tides of time. c'mon boys , get fair dinkum.

could be close
REDS and HAMPTON the heart (and petrol tank) says hampton but the head says reds.

Old Parade sorry boys

Bigfootyfan
31 Jul 2006, 23:55

The Jackas are reallistically the only ones that can challenge the Tiges on Sep 16. But challenge may as close as anyone gets all year. They look unstoppable.

I think that they will be ultra competitive in B section next year but the second side that goes up will come straight back down

CFE
1 Aug 2006, 08:25
The Jackas are reallistically the only ones that can challenge the Tiges on Sep 16. But challenge may as close as anyone gets all year. They look unstoppable.

I think that they will be ultra competitive in B section next year but the second side that goes up will come straight back down

Agreed Bigfootyfan. St Bede's will win the flag by a street, this weekend will tell the story if we (ormond) are a show. We are rolling along nicely at the moment but as we all know, it only takes a loss & the wheels could fall off.... ahem Reds.... We win & we're in 2nd spot.

Parade are gone and as everyone else has said it's between Hampton & Reds, I think Reds will stay, but if the Rovers get over the Reds geez it could be fun for all!!!

Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Aug 2006, 08:49
The long torpedo punt kicker's thoughts are:

SBMT - strong, focused, determined, experienced and have clearly the best depth of players across the park, reserves and U/19's to call on
AJAX - hot and cold...injuries hurt as depth is questionable...rely on 8-10 players in their senior team...bottom six are the worry
Ormond - clearly left Reds behind in 06 and are a 'relatively' young group who have best years ahead of them...would benefit from another year in C Section.
Monash - tend to rely on 6-8 key players and depth is a real problem...boxing above their weight limit a lot
OC - can beat bottom five and occasional team around their mark with Loats firing, but rarely 'string' games together and have not improved from last year
PV - considering their depth issues, have performed well...get found out against hard running teams but may get to a final.
NOBS - lost players from relegated B Section winners of only 1 game last year against the Tigers 5...struggled early but big win against AJAX will prove vital by season end.
REDS - found wanting in C Section...biggest list of injuries in history by all accounts but seem tired and found teams who run and have good players on all lines to much for them....a mark-kick team
Rovers - another disappointing year and lost spirit and ability to play two good quarters in a game....coach must be under pressure and they know how to pull a coup at David Street.
OP - finished third in C section last year but have dropped way off the pace in 06...Boundy injury big blow but are slow and destined for D Section...big changes needed but seem challenged by Diamond Valley clubs offering money for their young guns.

Final Four - SBMT, Ormond, AJAX, Monash/Parky (depending on this weeks game outcome)

Relegation - Reds v Hampton last game will decide who joins Parade in D Section for 07.

overtheline
1 Aug 2006, 10:06
The long torpedo punt kicker's thoughts are:

SBMT - strong, focused, determined, experienced and have clearly the best depth of players across the park, reserves and U/19's to call on
AJAX - hot and cold...injuries hurt as depth is questionable...rely on 8-10 players in their senior team...bottom six are the worry
Ormond - clearly left Reds behind in 06 and are a 'relatively' young group who have best years ahead of them...would benefit from another year in C Section.
Monash - tend to rely on 6-8 key players and depth is a real problem...boxing above their weight limit a lot
OC - can beat bottom five and occasional team around their mark with Loats firing, but rarely 'string' games together and have not improved from last year
PV - considering their depth issues, have performed well...get found out against hard running teams but may get to a final.
NOBS - lost players from relegated B Section winners of only 1 game last year against the Tigers 5...struggled early but big win against AJAX will prove vital by season end.
REDS - found wanting in C Section...biggest list of injuries in history by all accounts but seem tired and found teams who run and have good players on all lines to much for them....a mark-kick team
Rovers - another disappointing year and lost spirit and ability to play two good quarters in a game....coach must be under pressure and they know how to pull a coup at David Street.
OP - finished third in C section last year but have dropped way off the pace in 06...Boundy injury big blow but are slow and destined for D Section...big changes needed but seem challenged by Diamond Valley clubs offering money for their young guns.

Final Four - SBMT, Ormond, AJAX, Monash/Parky (depending on this weeks game outcome)

Relegation - Reds v Hampton last game will decide who joins Parade in D Section for 07.

Pretty good summary RCT. Would have to say that Reds are the most disappointing team, given the pre-season expectations. Parkdale seem to struggle away from Gerry Green and yes, Parade look certain to be relgegated. Fourth still very much up for grabs.
Monash appear to a little vulnerable at the moment and they have had a charmed run with injury to their top players. this week will tell a tale.
Oc have won three in a row and four from five, mostly without loats, so not sure about your comments there.

Gee the Hampton /parade game is huge this week.

Boutros Boutros Serafini
1 Aug 2006, 10:21
It is true the Reds have had an horrendous run with injuries - however that explains being stretched in regards to the 'ability' of players. What I cannot understand is the lack of 'spirit' which has been evident in their last 3 or 4 losses.

Word is the Reds Reserves had 16 of their best out from the previous week and no-one of note back in, yet still fought all the way.

A source tells me that this week the Reds will have a full list (bar 2 or 3) and might find that 'spirit' given all this relegation talk... and to make the team to play Tonga in October.

Red Roy
1 Aug 2006, 11:11
Welcome aboard Butros !

You are spot on with your post - our 2's had the best 16 out against the tigers and were far from disgraced - pretty unimpressed with the other mob actually.

RCT - what are you on. Ormond have left us behind! Ladder postions aside - they can't hold a candle to us - lets see how far they have come in Round 17 when we deliver another smashing to them. Have faith my friend - Roy will be proven correct again.

Please refer to previous posts for my final standings.

Red does not like repeating himself.

No get back to work you lot - Roy is a busy man and can't keep you entertained all day.

Roy.

Mudrunner
1 Aug 2006, 11:18
Only one thing certain in C Section at this stage - the team from Mentone are best team by a 'country mile'.
This time next week we will have another certainty - the name of one team to be relegated.
Parade boys are struggling this year and have been conspicuous by their lack of whinging or excuses. Down on confidence, if they are able to get the 4 points from Hampton this week, anything could happen the following week against OC - the team they have beaten on the last 2 occasions and genuinely dislike.
It's a strange old season !

NBULTY
1 Aug 2006, 12:57
Welcome aboard Butros !

You are spot on with your post - our 2's had the best 16 out against the tigers and were far from disgraced - pretty unimpressed with the other mob actually.

RCT - what are you on. Ormond have left us behind! Ladder postions aside - they can't hold a candle to us - lets see how far they have come in Round 17 when we deliver another smashing to them. Have faith my friend - Roy will be proven correct again.

Please refer to previous posts for my final standings.

Red does not like repeating himself.

No get back to work you lot - Roy is a busy man and can't keep you entertained all day.

Roy.

Pretty unimpressed with the SBMT 2's? Was it the fact they only had 20 more scoring shots than the Red's or their crappy percentage of 423%!! Red you need to get over the fact that you "teams"? were smashed by far better outfits on the weekend.

Good luck in D grade.

THE BEACON
1 Aug 2006, 13:40
You are lossing any credibility you ever had Roy with you last couple of posts.

You have to give credit were credit is due & admit that the Tigers might just be a bit more talented than your lot.

Mobbenfuhrer
1 Aug 2006, 13:59
Ok I looked it up, couldn't be bothered waiting, a bit of the blithe spirit and I can give you the results. if you don't wish to know the way it ends, look away now.

NOBS v Reds
Hampton v OP
Ormond v AJAX
Monash v Parkdale
OC v StBM
Further questions thrown at AJAX, Reds given up for dead, 39 senior players out injured. Somebody posts "Never write off Parkdale."

OP v OC
Parkdale v Ormond
StBM v NOBS
AJAX v Hampton
Reds v Monash
NOBS fall short of StBedes by only 15 or 20 pts. Hampton cop biggest loss of the season. Old Paradians supporter almost posts on thread, then changes mind. Someone posts "Never, ever, write off Parkdale."

Hampton v Parkdale
Ormond v Reds
Monash v StBM
OP v AJAX
OC v NOBS
OC's ground quality questioned. Ormond's junk food corner awash with celebration. Someone posts "Never, ever, ever write off Parkdale."

NOBS v Monash
Parkdale v OP
StBM v Ormond
AJAX v OC
Reds v Hampton

StBM 18 wins
AJAX 11
Parkdale 11
Ormond 10
---
OC 10
Monash 7
Reds 7
NOBs 7
Hampton 5
OP 4

Yay!

Mobbenfuhrer
1 Aug 2006, 14:01
Forgot to add ... never, ever, ever, write off Parkdale.

THE BEACON
1 Aug 2006, 14:13
Parkdale wouldn't want to get any injuries as there season will be over if this happens as they have no depth to cover any key losses.

Spencer Johnson
1 Aug 2006, 14:39
I think Monash or OC will finish 4th - no other teams to be considered.

Reds injury list ? ? ? ? OC have played over 50 players ! ! ! !

Have the super club reached straight for the 'injury' excuse then ? ? ? ?

Parkdale exposed badly on big grounds and Monash will apply that theory immediately Saturday. They will win well. 10 goals plus.

Mobbenfuhrer
1 Aug 2006, 14:56
Yeah but remember, Spencer, you also reckon Young Guns was a good movie :P :)

I haven't followed Parkdale's motions enough to argue if someone says the big grounds trouble them. I still think they're looking hot to trot though.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Aug 2006, 15:25
Mobbe,

Ormond will win 3 of last 4...at the Gunn this week, smaller ground and 6 day turnaround will see them defeat Ajax...they will also knock off Parky who they comfortably defeated 1st time around and will touch up Reds back at the Gunn...think most are giving OC too much credit...probably 2 wins in last 4 for them - who have they defeated in 4 of last 5 wins really? and sorry but Red's need to win one game and hope the results go their way...won't beat NOBS at Gillon, Ormond at the Gunn and Monash will win at Brunswick Street.

RCT

overtheline
1 Aug 2006, 15:34
Mobbe,

Ormond will win 3 of last 4...at the Gunn this week, smaller ground and 6 day turnaround will see them defeat Ajax...they will also knock off Parky who they comfortably defeated 1st time around and will touch up Reds back at the Gunn...think most are giving OC too much credit...probably 2 wins in last 4 for them - who have they defeated in 4 of last 5 wins really? and sorry but Red's need to win one game and hope the results go their way...won't beat NOBS at Gillon, Ormond at the Gunn and Monash will win at Brunswick Street.

RCT
RCT, i think Ormlond will find Parkdale a different proposition at Gerry Green. Two of those oc wins were monash and Ormond, the others were the battlers(who they were struggling to beat ealier!). You did say earlier they "can't string wins together" and are dependent on Loats, who has hardly played in the last month.
Reds will bounce back this week. Plenty of key inclusions and Nobs will feel the full force of the Reds.

Boutros Boutros Serafini
1 Aug 2006, 15:37
Just on my previous post - both St Bedes teams are very good sides (both are the benchmarks for everyone else).

I was simply inferring that if you take the best 16 out of any side and they might tend to struggle, but it shouldn't stop you from having a genuine 'crack'. As for the 20 more scoring shots - the Reds lack of impact on the forward line could be because it was made up of their coach, match day manager (hungover) and two players from the fourths.

The effort displayed by the Reds twos (2/3 Clubbies - 3rds and 4ths) was commendable and no-one could point the finger at them for not having a crack.

That said St Bedes are a class outfit and it will take a huge effort for anyone to get past them.

Re the serious stuff - no one will touch St Bedes. Despite their talent, they are the best organised side in the comp by a fair way. As for second - depends what day you get Ajax on. Old Camberwell could be the 'smokey' of sorts.

Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Aug 2006, 16:40
OTL,

The OC reference of stringing games together was a play on words referring to the big fella's documented leg injury issues...OC's win over Monash featured 12 goals from Loats...in their win over Ormond in the wet at Home they had 11 shots at goal to Ormond's 19 and won by 7 points and I reckon Ormond are far better team on a good surface.

Plenty of interest creates an exciting month or two for some ahead...heard a rumour from the travel industry that the proposed Red's trip to Tonga has been brought forward from October to early September to coincide with Burgo's flight home from Pakistan amongst other reasons!!!!

RCT

greentree
1 Aug 2006, 18:10
I think Monash or OC will finish 4th - no other teams to be considered.

Reds injury list ? ? ? ? OC have played over 50 players ! ! ! !

Have the super club reached straight for the 'injury' excuse then ? ? ? ?

Parkdale exposed badly on big grounds and Monash will apply that theory immediately Saturday. They will win well. 10 goals plus.

Have you ever had to run laps at Parkys ground, I reckon It would be in the top 3 or 4 grounds for size in C grade.

Three Malugas
1 Aug 2006, 18:29
Time for a reality check guys. Really this should be the D2 thread. Most of the senior sides running around are very average. In most sides you wouldn't call their bottom six even good ordinary players. Be honest. Do you really want your club to go up to B Section in 2007 Can you imagine playing the Tigers or in reality better teams week in week out. That's what you can expect. As for the reserves teams God help them. Some clubs reserve teams would say enough is enough! I'm not playing. I know this is not what you want to hear, but you need to take the blinkers off and go and have a look for yourself. The only clubs that stand a chance would be the jackers, Tigers and possibly Ormond. Forget the rest. It would be a disaster of club busting proportions and embarrasing to the competition! C Section needs to pull up its socks!