View Full Version : The Life and Times of the VAFAUA

pazza
23 Nov 2005, 11:32
Hello all.

I hope this can be the umpire's corner of the VAFA forum existence.

We'll kick off by reiterating the news that Andrew Barnes has become the new goal umpires coach for the next couple of seasons.

He has a list of around 60 goal umpires to work with, including yours truly, so it won't be an easy task to give the majority a shot at the highest levels of Amateur football.

Trapper
23 Nov 2005, 13:16
What does a goal umpiring coach do?
"Ok boys tonight we are going to practice arm signals. Remember if it goes through the big poles two hands and if it goes between a big pole and a smaller pole one hand. Righto boys line up on the fence, I'll take shots at goal and you guys have to do the correct hand signals. We'll get a couple of the boundary umpires to run the balls back out to me."

Scribe
23 Nov 2005, 15:17
"Ok boys tonight we are going to practice arm signals. Remember if it goes through the big poles two hands and if it goes between a big pole and a smaller pole one hand. Righto boys line up on the fence, I'll take shots at goal and you guys have to do the correct hand signals. We'll get a couple of the boundary umpires to run the balls back out to me."

Geez....no love (or respect) there.

brian speaking
23 Nov 2005, 18:36
[QUOTE=Trapper]What does a goal umpiring coach do?

Well Trapper, for your info, under my guidance, the Goal Umpires (we here at HQ call them Goalies) work tremendously hard. They do all of the warm up drills with the field umpires(we call them Field Umpires), including the running(except Chilli, who has a fag (not McNiece either) and a couple of Vat 69s and coke), the skills work, yes that's right, with a footy, as well as decision making with the main group. They then break off at the end of training for some chorus singing, some flag waving and some voice clearing...MINE!!! YOURS!!! Lately, at the request of Anthony Damon, we have added hurdling the fence as our final drill on Thrusday nights.
Of course, when I was in my zenith, all training involved was 10 quick pots at the Elsternwick, a brisk walk through the park(carefully avoiding any 'Crowded House' members hanging out of trees) down to Normanby St Elwood for a rub 'n' tug at an old school day flame of mine, followed by pizza at Phils house.
My, I must say I am getting a little toey reliving our old training regime, just doing a google search at the moment for a massage with a happy ending.

Nuffy_O'Dwyer
24 Nov 2005, 09:36

You'd be surprised how hard we work Tapper. Since the end of the season I've been watching tapes of 8-10 AFL, VFL, WAFL and TAC games of football a week. I'm hoping to be picked up on the VFL & TAC development squad so i'm always trying to improve my performance. A lot of money can be made by goalies who get to the top.

My North
28 Nov 2005, 12:30
Do all senior games in the VAFA get goal umpires? What is the pay in the VAFA for goal umpires compare to others

*Crash*
28 Nov 2005, 13:02
Not all senior games get Goal umpires.

pazza
28 Nov 2005, 13:21
Do all senior games in the VAFA get goal umpires? What is the pay in the VAFA for goal umpires compare to others

Whilst I'll like to say we could cover all senior games, we are still some way off yet.

Even with 60 on the list, that only really guarantees you cover all of A, B and C, plus matches spread out across D1-D4 and the Under 19's (say the main matches of the day in each grade).

As for pay, it's reasonable. Top level is around the $70 mark now. Some leagues fall well short of that.

Nuffy_O'Dwyer
30 Nov 2005, 15:02
Whilst I'll like to say we could cover all senior games, we are still some way off yet.

Even with 60 on the list, that only really guarantees you cover all of A, B and C, plus matches spread out across D1-D4 and the Under 19's (say the main matches of the day in each grade).

As for pay, it's reasonable. Top level is around the $70 mark now. Some leagues fall well short of that.

The Ovens & Murray had offered me three figures a game but unfortunately I had to decline that offer after getting a job as assistant sports & event coordinator at MSAC.

eddiesmith
11 Jan 2006, 22:59
Pay is pretty damn good for 2 hours work a week (Thats if you could even call it work sometimes :))

Thing I love about the VAFA umpiring department is they try and get you local games where possible especially the younger umpires who cant drive themselves (Obviously if you have no local games in the grade you are umpiring then you have to travel a bit). They also work to get you around to different grounds to experience different conditions. Well run organisation :thumbsu:

Alphonse
12 Jan 2006, 07:12
Eddie if you are going to post on the VAFA board could you please remove that absurd signature. There is little interest in Sheffield Shield here unless you are going to update us on the whereabouts of the burly Tasmanian Greg Rowell.

Scribe
12 Jan 2006, 07:45
Eddie if you are going to post on the VAFA board could you please remove that absurd signature. There is little interest in Sheffield Shield here unless you are going to update us on the whereabouts of the burly Tasmanian Greg Rowell.

Apparently he's now a goal umpire in the NTFL. :D

Mind you, if my memory serves me correct, whilst he did move from NSW to Qld (where he played most of his matches) before finishing in Tassie, Rowell was a gangly meduim fast bowler and handy lower order hitter. Not really burly in the Danny Buckingham mould.

Nowadays, he's very handy with the flags, they say, and his pencil and card work is top shelf stuff. ;)

Alphonse
12 Jan 2006, 08:08
Apparently he's now a goal umpire in the NTFL. :D

Mind you, if my memory serves me correct, whilst he did move from NSW to Qld (where he played most of his matches) before finishing in Tassie, Rowell was a gangly meduim fast bowler and handy lower order hitter. Not really burly in the Danny Buckingham mould.

Nowadays, he's very handy with the flags, they say, and his pencil and card work is top shelf stuff. ;)

Apologies Scribe it would seem I don’t know Greg Rowell as well as I should.

Obviously you are a big fan of his work, thanks for the correction, he will be now known as the gangly all rounder.

They don’t make State cricketers like they used to. There is no Joe Scuderi in the Pura Cup these days.

Scribe
12 Jan 2006, 10:58
Apologies Scribe it would seem I don’t know Greg Rowell as well as I should.

Obviously you are a big fan of his work, thanks for the correction, he will be now known as the gangly all rounder.

They don’t make State cricketers like they used to. There is no Joe Scuderi in the Pura Cup these days.

No drama Alphonse - you are right about the lack of Scuderi/Rowell types at state level. A tragedy really, but let's not continue with this irrelevant banter concerning cricket and dark flowing mullets. I could go all day......

Back to the VAFAUA - Pazza, have you guys started preseason yet? Frankly, if we're back onto it, so should you. HQ should already be humming with the sounds of whistleblowers and flag-wavers madly refining their craft in anticipation of season 2006.

Also with the likes of Gibbo, Macca, Damo, and others ticking well into their mid-40's, only Albie and Sutty seem to anchor the younger generation of field umpires in A Section. 'Bout time we saw some new younger blood up there to keep Rambo & Big Cat honest.

Any bolters you can tell us about Pazza? We all know everyone will be training the house down - who's come back in better than ever condition? Has Chilli Segota trimmed down to a shadow of his former self, a la Lance Whitnall? I bet his skinfold measurements would be tough to beat....

Give us the goss.....

eddiesmith
12 Jan 2006, 14:10
No drama Alphonse - you are right about the lack of Scuderi/Rowell types at state level. A tragedy really, but let's not continue with this irrelevant banter concerning cricket and dark flowing mullets. I could go all day......

Back to the VAFAUA - Pazza, have you guys started preseason yet? Frankly, if we're back onto it, so should you. HQ should already be humming with the sounds of whistleblowers and flag-wavers madly refining their craft in anticipation of season 2006.

Also with the likes of Gibbo, Macca, Damo, and others ticking well into their mid-40's, only Albie and Sutty seem to anchor the younger generation of field umpires in A Section. 'Bout time we saw some new younger blood up there to keep Rambo & Big Cat honest.

Any bolters you can tell us about Pazza? We all know everyone will be training the house down - who's come back in better than ever condition? Has Chilli Segota trimmed down to a shadow of his former self, a la Lance Whitnall? I bet his skinfold measurements would be tough to beat....

Give us the goss.....
Pre season? Oh come on, we dont start Pre Season till March :p

Cameo King
15 Jan 2006, 17:02
Greg Rowell was called for throwing once wasn't he?

Martin van Jaarsveld. Now there is a domestic player to talk about.

ben.carbonaro
15 Jan 2006, 21:02
Geez....no love (or respect) there.

No, none at all.

The umps deserve some respect mate.

Over The Post
29 Apr 2008, 10:47
Hear, hear. Ben from Sunbury hits the nail on the head, as always.

Phantom Strobler
29 Apr 2008, 11:03
What are your favourite clubs to umpire. Apart from the game how you are treated after the game socially. Anywhere from A to D4

thechosenonetwo
30 Apr 2008, 23:00
Good thread......who cares

spy1
1 May 2008, 10:50
I must have missed a rule change somewhere.
On Saturday at a D4 game an elderly umpire repeatedly paid a free against a defender for having his arm resting on the arm or chest of an opponent.

Both players facing up the ground. Ball in the middle about to be bounced. The explanation given to the Captain of the infringing player was the defender could not put his arm against the player.

If this is the case, then surely the instruction given to most defenders 'Get touch with your opponent.' is out the window.

The coach got so rattled by the days events he managed to mix up the names of the fieldies with the boundary lad. Decent spray though from 50 meteres away as they left the ground.

If there are any real white and blue maggots around, could they tell me which rule this was under?