View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

Chewbacca
19 Mar 2007, 08:31
Bit late for the hard stuff Chewbacca. Mark your team down for the lower echelon at season's end. Which team?
As for a wet start to the season. Dreaming again!

If you read my post again you will realise that i said our first games in the wet. Mentioned noting about the first game of the season being in the wet.

Majority of us are here to just have a friendly chat about footy mate. If you want to pretend that you are this all knowing super brain because in real life you are actually a loser with no friends then go ahead. But do it somewhere else.

I doubt very much that my team will be in the lower echelon (great use of dictionary by the way) and i also doubt that you have much of a brain at all when you tell me my team is going to be down the ladder and then ask me in the next sentence who my team is.

If you have got an opinion on something i wrote then by all means express it, thats what we are here for, but don't be a c o c k about it.

Falcons07
19 Mar 2007, 09:56
Well the Grand Prix is done, hopefully within the next 3 or 4 weeks we can get back on our ground, its usually pretty messed up after they remove all the stands.

The season put back is not good for anyone but it means hopefully we get all our home games actually at home so a bit of a bonus out of something bad.

Any breaking news from other clubs, anyone having any trouble keeping the enthusiasm and numbers up with all the conjecture about the season???

Funkygriff
19 Mar 2007, 10:16
As always just calling it as it iz.
Long odds on double; North Brunswick/North Melbourne. Previous form and the season ahead.

I'd be looking for a big improve from Nth Brunswick this year lads...6 ex-Therry Penola players, mid 20's , who have all played most of their senior footy in c-grade have signed up and are raring to go. (Couple of key position and some quick onballers)...not to mention a great level of enthusiasm around the club with a new coach and cleaning out of some trouble makers from last year..numbers in excess of 40 each night on the track....very excited about the new season...

Eltham must be feeling the pinch after dominating all year only to be bundled out in the finals like an early round opponent of roger federer.

Cheers,

Straight Sets.

Lets just pray that the rain comes down so we can get this show on the road...

smash
19 Mar 2007, 13:12
just looking at eltham's website.

looks nice and positive considering how their season ended up.

took this extract from the site.

SEASON 2007
There are plenty of positive signs around the club at the moment with a good number of new pole smokers on the track and with the inclusion of Stonie’s compression sessions in his new Tarago we should be primed to get our a$$es well and truly pumped by all and sundry.

The leadership group for 2007 has been announced and Johnny “I smoke pole like a demon” Galvin will be captain again along with Ryan “Fisty” Foo as vice captain and Adam “Who stole my buttplug “ Chapman as deputy vice captain. Brendan “Soggy biscuit” Evans will once again lead the reserves for what will hopefully be another disastrous year.

This year's girls blouse presentation and player auction will be held on Sunday April 1 at The Market(Commercial Road, Prahran) and will no doubt be another great day/night. So get out the fake tan, take your top off and get on the podium!

Falcons07
19 Mar 2007, 14:13
Dont worry about Eltham if they have improved at all this year they will be top one or two, and after the dissappointment last year tough in the finals.

Dee Snider
19 Mar 2007, 14:29
Care to provide any names there Funky?

Funkygriff
19 Mar 2007, 14:40

SEASON 2007
There are plenty of positive signs around the club at the moment with a good number of new pole smokers on the track and with the inclusion of Stonie’s compression sessions in his new Tarago we should be primed to get our a$$es well and truly pumped by all and sundry.

The leadership group for 2007 has been announced and Johnny “I smoke pole like a demon” Galvin will be captain again along with Ryan “Fisty” Foo as vice captain and Adam “Who stole my buttplug “ Chapman as deputy vice captain. Brendan “Soggy biscuit” Evans will once again lead the reserves for what will hopefully be another disastrous year.

This year's girls blouse presentation and player auction will be held on Sunday April 1 at The Market(Commercial Road, Prahran) and will no doubt be another great day/night. So get out the fake tan, take your top off and get on the podium!

pointless, immature post....I hope your walk can back up such talk...

bigwaz
19 Mar 2007, 15:03

SEASON 2007

classic! put em back in their shells smasher :)

Funkygriff
19 Mar 2007, 17:22
Care to provide any names there Funky?

I wont name names just yet....just a heads up to keep an eye out for the green and gold this year....

I'd be very surprised if they didn't finish in the top half of the ladder....

robbieflower
20 Mar 2007, 08:27
Dont worry about Eltham if they have improved at all this year they will be top one or two, and after the dissappointment last year tough in the finals.

I heard that Eltham picked a few parade boys this year is that true?

North brunswick will be just the same as they have been the last few years. They wouldn've recruited guys that are the calibre of a few st Marys boys. I heard the full forward has really strong hands and take a grab anywhere. There's another bloke thats fit as and can play too.

Falcons07
20 Mar 2007, 11:13
Finally a praccy game, playing Lyndale (Div 2 SFL) next weekend, anybody know much about them??

Dee Snider
20 Mar 2007, 11:34
I wont name names just yet....just a heads up to keep an eye out for the green and gold this year....

I'd be very surprised if they didn't finish in the top half of the ladder....

PM me with the details if you can champ, there a few of us on the D1 thread who would like to know:thumbsu:

port-man_fc
20 Mar 2007, 12:18

North brunswick will be just the same as they have been the last few years. They wouldn've recruited guys that are the calibre of a few st Marys boys. I heard the full forward has really strong hands and take a grab anywhere. There's another bloke thats fit as and can play too.

No new parade boys that i know of @ eltham as far as i no,

On the Nth Brunswick front, i hope they are better, last year they were a bit of a rabble, and id much rather play a team thats gonna give a good game of 'footy', rather than a few black eyes and a pretty easy win of 20+ goals, i dont think VAFA would put up with another year if they didnt pull there heads in and concentrate on footy........

Conduct Unbecoming
20 Mar 2007, 12:23
No new parade boys that i know of @ eltham as far as i no,

On the Nth Brunswick front, i hope they are better, last year they were a bit of a rabble, and id much rather play a team thats gonna give a good game of 'footy', rather than a few black eyes and a pretty easy win of 20+ goals, i dont think VAFA would put up with another year if they didnt pull there heads in and concentrate on footy........

Have seen them play and they are not that bad. VAFA put up with much worse for years from one club still in club in D1. Much worse.:cool:

Munro_Mick
20 Mar 2007, 12:44
Re rain and delayed seasons etc.

Just been down to East Gippy over the weekend. The NGFL will be underway as scheduled, they have had a reasonable amount of late summer rain and have 6 of 10 grounds in good shape (plus using recycled and bore water).

I wonder how many Uni students from that region have decided they'd rather head back home each week for a kick of the footy?

Just curious though how many D4 clubs have or are doing anything around installing tanks or anything else, even sinking a bore!?!?

btw - is it just me, or do other people find it a bit of a farce that D4 ammos folk should try to big note themselves - I wouldn't wish bad upon any club. Great to see the Centrals might be coming good. Just so long as none of the clubs go folding and letting the soccer prima donnas take over.

Falcons07
20 Mar 2007, 12:52
Have seen them play and they are not that bad. VAFA put up with much worse for years from one club still in club in D1. Much worse.:cool:

You obviously did not see them last year when a certain massive guy (suspended more than once for striking just last year) ran around like a fool belting the littliest blokes he could find from behind, shame was he could play footy but was just an ordinary human being.

Flowerpower
20 Mar 2007, 13:20
You obviously did not see them last year when a certain massive guy (suspended more than once for striking just last year) ran around like a fool belting the littliest blokes he could find from behind, shame was he could play footy but was just an ordinary human being.

Be careful Falcon. One wouldn't want to throw stones.............I saw a reserves game at your home ground that one falcon wasn't too keen on the footy.

Falcons07
20 Mar 2007, 13:29
Be careful Falcon. One wouldn't want to throw stones.............I saw a reserves game at your home ground that one falcon wasn't too keen on the footy.

I know the game you are talking about and yeah it was a ****house effort, I love hard footy but why not just go to the pub if you want to belt blokes.

But I will take what you said onboard, defintely dont agree with that rubbish whether its my team or another!

Ratfink
20 Mar 2007, 13:29
Yep, Falcons07 you need your wings clipped. You've made cracks against Syndal & North Brunswick, you are setting your team-mates up for a couple of tough days at the office when you come up against them, why inflame the opposition weeks before you play them? I also note the latest newsletter on your club website mentions a discipline problem with a player at a club function, so maybe you need to look within before taking swipes at others. I also recall an incident a couple of seasons back where an Albert Park player took off over the fence and belted a couple of opposition spectators.

Coach Hollywood
20 Mar 2007, 14:14
What do people think of the possibility of some leagues cancelling for the season all together and those players coming to the Ammo's for a season?
How will this impact on season predictions and promotion/relegation if a comp such as the DVFL cancelled and a fair few players ventured to some of the ammo's clubs for the season??? :eek:

crazybear
20 Mar 2007, 14:35
What do people think of the possibility of some leagues cancelling for the season all together and those players coming to the Ammo's for a season?
How will this impact on season predictions and promotion/relegation if a comp such as the DVFL cancelled and a fair few players ventured to some of the ammo's clubs for the season??? :eek:

Good point Coach, I would be suprised if the diamond Valley got a start. After viewing some of the ground lately they look as though they would need the whole year off. I am sure the turtles would welcome any stray panthers that made their way up to research.

port-man_fc
20 Mar 2007, 15:22
Good point Coach, I would be suprised if the diamond Valley got a start. After viewing some of the ground lately they look as though they would need the whole year off. I am sure the turtles would welcome any stray panthers that made their way up to research.

I was speaking with a fair few DVFL boys @ the lower last week who said they'd definately play @ turltes if no DVFL, with eltham college being pretty much right in the middle of the DVFL it would attract alot of players who want a kick

robbieflower
20 Mar 2007, 15:25

North Brunswick will never change. They've always been a bunch of thugs and these new guys will probably be the same. Syndal aren't as bad as North. At least there's a few good blokes down there that don't mind a beer after the game.

My tip is a St Marys v Eltham granny

As for the DVFL, there's no way it will be cancelled. Far too much money at stake

lout
20 Mar 2007, 15:32
I was speaking with a fair few DVFL boys @ the lower last week who said they'd definately play @ turltes if no DVFL, with eltham college being pretty much right in the middle of the DVFL it would attract alot of players who want a kick

sounds great in theory, but what happens next season? The dollar players will return to the DVFL and the players shafted this season may not return. Could be a boon for one season then bust the next.
As robbieflower mentioned the DVFL needs to get a start this season to avoid more bad publicity.

port-man_fc
20 Mar 2007, 16:05
sounds great in theory, but what happens next season? The dollar players will return to the DVFL and the players shafted this season may not return. Could be a boon for one season then bust the next.
As robbieflower mentioned the DVFL needs to get a start this season to avoid more bad publicity.

Its not up to the DVFL, if the councils say no footy then its no footy for the DV,

The dollar players wont come to the turltes as they are dollar players and will go to clubs with dollars like tempy, balwyn, E burwood, Ringwood etc the kids that dont care n just wana play footy would be the ones that would be interested in VAFA, and ECFC

nellup
20 Mar 2007, 17:53
North Brunswick will never change. They've always been a bunch of thugs and these new guys will probably be the same. Syndal aren't as bad as North. At least there's a few good blokes down there that don't mind a beer after the game.

As for the DVFL, there's no way it will be cancelled. Far too much money at stake
:mad:Give Nth Brunswick a fair go flower,my mail is that they have had a clean out and are back to footy,cut out the negative waves, and lets see what happens on field.

Funkygriff
20 Mar 2007, 23:17

Extremely naive robbie.....

knackers_2
21 Mar 2007, 10:33

Oakleigh?

Conduct Unbecoming
21 Mar 2007, 11:44
Oakleigh?

Not even close, a side that makes them look like light-weights..a dirty, bogan, headhunting side located close to the Bulleen exit of the freeway...just a bit further down Thompsons Road.
Anyway, log onto the D1 site if you want to work it out.

Falcons07
21 Mar 2007, 11:47
Yep, Falcons07 you need your wings clipped. You've made cracks against Syndal & North Brunswick, you are setting your team-mates up for a couple of tough days at the office when you come up against them, why inflame the opposition weeks before you play them? I also note the latest newsletter on your club website mentions a discipline problem with a player at a club function, so maybe you need to look within before taking swipes at others. I also recall an incident a couple of seasons back where an Albert Park player took off over the fence and belted a couple of opposition spectators.

Thanks for your words of wisdom Ratboy, the discipline issue had nothing to do with belting guys it was just a few boys mucking around.

And if you honestly think me mucking around on this forum is going to made a team turn from fair to snipers you are kidding yourself, hopefully like it has been said on the forum both clubs mentionend will be compeititive this year, Syndal obviously have recruited a coach with some smarts, so lets get over it and get ready for a good season.

I dont think there will be any easy beats at all this year, saw Eley Park running the other day and geez they looked fit and ready to go. If there training and numbers are anything to go by could definitely be a surprise packet.

knackers22
21 Mar 2007, 12:35

I agree robbieflower, i watched st marys in an intra club the other wed night, although very crowded there was some clear standouts. The full fwd your talking about i think kicked 7 on the 1sts fullback. The saints on ball looks as good as anyone's this year. One thing i did notice was they looked extremely fit and certainly aided by the quality ruckman they have this year.

Falcons07
21 Mar 2007, 13:02
Had a beer with a couple of St Marys boys the other week, I know everyone says it but they reckon they were primed to go, talked about a midfielder who is super hard and fit.

We saw last year with Hawthorn and Powerhouse, have a full forward that kicks around a 100 goals for the season and it goes a long way to making finals.

knackers22
21 Mar 2007, 13:09
Agree, he's only a young kid but doesnt mind the hard stuff. Im pretty sure there playing a SFL Div 1 side in a few weeks so will be interesting to see where the saints are at against them. Only concern from what i noticed is height, but on most grounds in D4 being a quick, smaller side goes along way.

bigwaz
21 Mar 2007, 16:22
I agree robbieflower, i watched st marys in an intra club the other wed night, although very crowded there was some clear standouts. The full fwd your talking about i think kicked 7 on the 1sts fullback. The saints on ball looks as good as anyone's this year. One thing i did notice was they looked extremely fit and certainly aided by the quality ruckman they have this year.

So were you spying for another team, or are you pretending not to be from st mary's?

knackers_2
21 Mar 2007, 16:26
I dont think there will be any easy beats at all this year, saw Eley Park running the other day and geez they looked fit and ready to go. If there training and numbers are anything to go by could definitely be a surprise packet.

The Sharks are my hot tip for finals in 2007.
Not 100% sure on St Mary's, but a few gun recruits can change the way a team plays.

WhoWonIt?
22 Mar 2007, 10:07

Well Robbie, I'm one of the new blokes down at norf brunny. The club has a teriffic atmosphere with great numbers on the track. We were welcomed with open arms and there are plenty of "good blokes" down there too.All the boys I've come down with can play and we've also got a bit of ticker. So norf brunny definitley won't be a push over this year. As funky said we cover all parts of the ground.

can't wait for the season to start

cheers
excited

Falcons07
22 Mar 2007, 10:37
Well Robbie, I'm one of the new blokes down at norf brunny. The club has a teriffic atmosphere with great numbers on the track. We were welcomed with open arms and there are plenty of "good blokes" down there too.All the boys I've come down with can play and we've also got a bit of ticker. So norf brunny definitley won't be a push over this year. As funky said we cover all parts of the ground.

cheers
excited

Thats good to hear , like I said above its going to be a hard comp this year, especially with only a top 4.

It will be important to start well, and interesting to see how the different clubs react to the delayed season.

bigwaz
22 Mar 2007, 11:01

cheers
excited

It seems every club but Syndal are getting good numbers at training. Should be a great year with a high standard of play. I've heard of clubs in higher divisions struggling for numbers...

robbieflower
22 Mar 2007, 11:58
It seems every club but Syndal are getting good numbers at training. Should be a great year with a high standard of play. I've heard of clubs in higher divisions struggling for numbers...

ok, i'll leave North Brunny alone for a bit. For their sake i hope these new blokes will be good for them.

As we've seen, you don't need much to be a good side in D4. As it was said before, the main reason powerhouse being promoted was Paulie Edwards. I thought he wasn't at his best last year ( i've seen him play for the Vic Rep team) but still too good for his opponents.

so if you have a good on-baller to deliver the pill to the Full forward, while having a tall full back to punch it out of danger you'll be right. Just simple football

Maybe the dry grounds are affecting numbers

nellup
22 Mar 2007, 14:51
ok, i'll leave North Brunny alone for a bit. For their sake i hope these new blokes will be good for them.

As we've seen, you don't need much to be a good side in D4. As it was said before, the main reason powerhouse being promoted was Paulie Edwards. I thought he wasn't at his best last year ( i've seen him play for the Vic Rep team) but still too good for his opponents.

so if you have a good on-baller to deliver the pill to the Full forward, while having a tall full back to punch it out of danger you'll be right. Just simple football

Maybe the dry grounds are affecting numbers
:mad:So robbieflower "you don't need much to be a good side in D4",bloody insulting to alot of good people and good sides that I know in D4;can't make my mind up if you just like being contraversial,are ill informed,know nothing about blokes who enjoy just playing footy, or are you just an inconsidrate D**k head.:confused:

JP the Chinaman
22 Mar 2007, 15:18
when can we have the grounds back??? ie. have the council bans lifted?

Falcons07
22 Mar 2007, 15:28

I think 1st of April but still with restrictions, like no boots or praccy games.

bigwaz
22 Mar 2007, 15:29

Yes please.... We are still off our ground, though it doesn't look in too bad a condition. Had a run around on it the other day and the ground was very soft, but sandy rather than grassy.

I heard the council was going to reseed the surface... any idea how long that takes? That'll probably be when we get back on with the goal posts in the ground.... PLEEEEASE!!!

InFineForm
22 Mar 2007, 15:42
Yes please.... We are still off our ground, though it doesn't look in too bad a condition. Had a run around on it the other day and the ground was very soft, but sandy rather than grassy.

I heard the council was going to reseed the surface... any idea how long that takes? That'll probably be when we get back on with the goal posts in the ground.... PLEEEEASE!!!

Interesting to see in the Age online that the government has implemented stage '3A' restrictions. Gardens can only be watered in the morning (not evening as well). I'm not sure if there is any impact on grounds at the moment.

?????????????????????? Lots of questions & not many answers just yet...

JP the Chinaman
22 Mar 2007, 15:50
has anyone actually played a game yet? i'm dying to have a hit out...

Falcons07
22 Mar 2007, 16:01

We have a Praccy game next weekend!

But nothing yet, we dont even have a training ground.

Hawker28
22 Mar 2007, 16:05
Can someone from Bullen confirm if a Dinh Nguyen was at training on Monday/Tuesday night?

Good little goal sneak with plenty of dash, will be a ones player when fit and handy round the goals!

bigwaz
22 Mar 2007, 16:22

We had an intra-club practice game on half a ground... hopelessly small, so not much help really.

bigwaz
22 Mar 2007, 17:07
Just saw on the news that stage 4 water restrictions wont be looked at until August... So grounds with stage 3 watering exemptions should be good to go for the season.

Game on Boys!

Manny
22 Mar 2007, 17:53
We have a Praccy game next weekend!

But nothing yet, we dont even have a training ground.

Syndal is finally able to train on our ground, council conditions are one night per week only - at least its a start. The ground is looking worse for wear, hard, dead grass will need a fair bit of TLC from local Waverley Council

Guy's, looking for a praccy match for 21st April, if you are aware of anyone looking please have them contact Syndal FC.

Manny DeBono

lout
22 Mar 2007, 21:17
Guy's, looking for a praccy match for 21st April, if you are aware of anyone looking please have them contact Syndal FC.

Manny DeBono

Those who are looking for praccy games may want to contact SEN 1116, I heard them the other day running a segment on local footy clubs, one section related to those who were looking for praccy games, but I didn't get the full details. Worth a crack contacting the station though.

Rusty Brookes
23 Mar 2007, 10:02
Can someone from Bullen confirm if a Dinh Nguyen was at training on Monday/Tuesday night?

Good little goal sneak with plenty of dash, will be a ones player when fit and handy round the goals!

Yep he sure was. Looks pretty handy.

Munro_Mick
23 Mar 2007, 10:10

I've seen a reference that there needs to be about a month after reseeding.

I also saw somewhere that it's about $20K to tanker in & water a ground, and about $60K to re-seed a ground.

Currently only certain hardy weeds are looking content on the half-forward line!

Anyway - perhaps the whole playing squad should be obliged to turn up to training with runners, shorts and a couple of jerry cans of bucket collecter shower water to apply to the centre square area after training......

.....reminds me of 82/83 when Ian Botham was encouraged to NOT stop spitting as the outfield needed the 'water'.

spy1
23 Mar 2007, 14:09
Heard from Whitehorse council that grounds will be available for one night training a week. They will also permit any practise games to be played on the weekend. That is the plan for April.
On a similar matter, turns out Whitehorse Reserve, home of the Sharks, is off the 07 agenda. Vic Roads won't have it up this season at all, or so they have advised the council. They are presently training at International College in Hay St Box Hill, but have told Council they are not happy with this allocation.
Council had intended to fob them off to share with Box Hill Nth, as they did 2 years ago. Only problem is that now BH have a clubbies team that play there on every other Saturday. Council did not realise the implications of this, so a whole new rethink is needed on the plight of the Sharks.
I believe there are no lights for training, but surely the ideal place for game day would be their original home at Eley Park.
Any Sharks like to give an opinion?

lefty04
23 Mar 2007, 14:13

I agree with robbieflower. The problem is far more deepseeded, as it also occurs in the 2's. As long as "the old boys" are still running around there, prolonging this thug stereotype, it will be a long time coming before they are viewed in a different light. I hope they retire quickly & give the club a chance at a new life as a premier team in the league.

bigwaz
26 Mar 2007, 10:29
Hey. I heard that Powerhouse lost a bunch of players back to the reformed South Yarra. They should still be pretty strong though.

South Yarra and SKOB both tried to secure our ground at KB this season without success, so we all get to enjoy playing there again this year. Yay! Thanks Council!

Back under lights again this week guys... cant wait!

cjay
26 Mar 2007, 12:00
Heard from Whitehorse council that grounds will be available for one night training a week. They will also permit any practise games to be played on the weekend. That is the plan for April.
On a similar matter, turns out Whitehorse Reserve, home of the Sharks, is off the 07 agenda. Vic Roads won't have it up this season at all, or so they have advised the council. They are presently training at International College in Hay St Box Hill, but have told Council they are not happy with this allocation.
Council had intended to fob them off to share with Box Hill Nth, as they did 2 years ago. Only problem is that now BH have a clubbies team that play there on every other Saturday. Council did not realise the implications of this, so a whole new rethink is needed on the plight of the Sharks.
I believe there are no lights for training, but surely the ideal place for game day would be their original home at Eley Park.
Any Sharks like to give an opinion?

Correct SPY. We are training at oval in Hay St. VicRoads were around there on Wed night of last week having a look. It has no lights and is in very poor condition. I believe they will be putting some temporary road lights in for the next couple of weeks, but a big rumour is that they have decided it will cost too much to get the ground up and playable that they may turf Whitehorse Reserve - if that is the case it will be ready by about Rd 4. Otherwise I have no idea where the council or VicRoads may decide to ship us. Haven't been down to original Eley Park for quite a few years so don't know how it is looking, but surely must be another option.

smokingjoe49
26 Mar 2007, 15:20
try mont albert cricket ground, big ground, and i think poofter la crosse boys play on it on sundays. worth a try!

Lakey11
26 Mar 2007, 15:43
I agree with robbieflower. The problem is far more deepseeded, as it also occurs in the 2's. As long as "the old boys" are still running around there, prolonging this thug stereotype, it will be a long time coming before they are viewed in a different light. I hope they retire quickly & give the club a chance at a new life as a premier team in the league.

Agree, however its also a location problem as well......and as long as the area is a "mecca" for trouble makers - they will struggle to change. However having spoken to Nth Brunnies heirachy, they have been VERY committed to implementing changes. (So far as telling some to re-locate out of the west bank!)

Crikey, if the UN can't stop the fighting in the middle east, how do we stop the thuggery in the Nth Suburbs?

Chewbacca
26 Mar 2007, 16:38
Agree, however its also a location problem as well......and as long as the area is a "mecca" for trouble makers - they will struggle to change. However having spoken to Nth Brunnies heirachy, they have been VERY committed to implementing changes. (So far as telling some to re-locate out of the west bank!)

Crikey, if the UN can't stop the fighting in the middle east, how do we stop the thuggery in the Nth Suburbs?

I still don't understand why North Bruswick have got this big thug reputation. Yeah they have a couple of try hard tough guys down there but i don't think they are worth the talk on here.

Munro_Mick
26 Mar 2007, 17:05
Agree with Chewbacca 15:38 today.

Have played out some great, and very important games, with North Brunswick over the years - and no complaints what so ever. Reality - no complaints about any one club. The odd twit individual. But they normally (get) move(d) on - dunno where to??

lout
26 Mar 2007, 23:15

You can't throw out the whole carton just because of a few bad eggs. I mean seriously the sheit Lakey has just dished up upon the whole Nth Brunswick club from the actions of a few is pathetic!
I played against them and got along famously with the majority, who were ashamed with their fellow team mates actions(and yes they shared the same ethnicity& religion!)
If they have retained the same ripping blokes and culled the trouble makers (as has been stated) then give it a rest!

Backline Brothers
27 Mar 2007, 05:15

Seriously poor form by you Lakey11.

From my experience over the years, North have had as many good blokes as they have had drop kicks, regardless of religion.

For example you'd have to go a long way to meet a more decent bloke in footy than big Huss Hussein.

nellup
27 Mar 2007, 09:07
:thumbsu:Glad to see some,sanity,fairness and the aussie "fair go" back here;this is the stuff of D4 footy that I see every week,great stuff:thumbsu:

Falcons07
27 Mar 2007, 15:22
Lakey11 very ordinary call!

Back to footy, we just had out praccy game this weekend cancelled at the last minute due to the council.

I was as optimistic as anyone a month ago but geez it is not looking good unless the skies open within the next couple of weeks, bar takings Friday nights in Melbourne over winter will be at an all time high haha

Coach Hollywood
27 Mar 2007, 15:42
Syndal is finally able to train on our ground, council conditions are one night per week only - at least its a start. The ground is looking worse for wear, hard, dead grass will need a fair bit of TLC from local Waverley Council

Manny DeBono

Did you get a praccie match organised yet Manny? We've had all ours cancelled until after Easter, but were lucky enough to reschedule with Warrandyte & Mernda for the 14th & 21st.

Have any other clubs played yet or got games on this weekend?

bigwaz
27 Mar 2007, 16:47
The snakes have a couple lined up. Thats all I can say for now...

spy1
28 Mar 2007, 10:35
The snakes have a couple lined up. Thats all I can say for now...

Spanka says you are playing against the Crazy Hawks at the new Rathmines complex.
Why so coy Waz? Not like you.

Falcons07
28 Mar 2007, 10:37
Spanka says you are playing against the Crazy Hawks at the new Rathmines complex.

We have a game against them at this stage on the 14th as well!

onebigmoon
28 Mar 2007, 10:56
If you blokes want a game, move to NZ!! Having played my career in the Ammos (D4, D3), I moved to Wellington last year and found out they have a comp. Sure, it's only 4 teams but it's still serious business. The funny thing is it's played over summer. 9 rounds of footy and 2 dry days. Colder the frikkin Melbourne winter! Still, we took out the flag so it was sweet! But only cos we adjusted the best to wet weather footy!

Munro_Mick
28 Mar 2007, 12:36
If you blokes want a game, move to NZ!! Having played my career in the Ammos (D4, D3), I moved to Wellington last year and found out they have a comp. Sure, it's only 4 teams but it's still serious business. The funny thing is it's played over summer. 9 rounds of footy and 2 dry days. Colder the frikkin Melbourne winter! Still, we took out the flag so it was sweet! But only cos we adjusted the best to wet weather footy!

NZ actually won the 2005 International Cup. And have competed (not that well) in last years Australian Country Championships. They also now play Maffra on an annual basis.

Anyone not familiar with the international spread of AFL (should keep away from AFL.com.au as it still refers to the upcoming 2005 International Cup...hmmmm!!!!) should look at WorldFootyNews.com,

For those who don't know:
International Cup (NOT Int Rules) involves teams representing (from 2002 and 2005) countries such as Spain, Denmark, USA, Canada, PNG, NZ, Great Britain SthAf, Nauru, Japan, Ireland etc - and NOT involving expat Aussies.

There has even been a 'full junior international' between Denmark and England.

While Aussies can't really represent their nation, last year Denmark, Sweden and Germany had a tri-nations series of 'Internationals'. Denmark itself has a league that is now over 15 years old with some juniors.

Have a look also at the Australian Convicts - they toured Sth Af earlier this year (and actually LOST a game!!!). They'll be heading to the US later this year.

It'll never take on soccer - and who really want's that, but it's pretty damn cool that Melbourne is the centre of this little 'universe'.

Manny
28 Mar 2007, 13:06
Did you get a praccie match organised yet Manny? We've had all ours cancelled until after Easter, but were lucky enough to reschedule with Warrandyte & Mernda for the 14th & 21st.

Have any other clubs played yet or got games on this weekend?

Syndal are scheduled play a game on 14th (confirmed) and waiting on confirmation for the 21st (subject to availability of ground). I am currently in New Zealand with work and the grounds here look magnifiicent, green well grassed and yes is currently raining in Auckland - no dodgy ground issues here from what I can see.

Regards

Manny

callitasitiz
28 Mar 2007, 13:38
Can anyone confirm any practice games over the next few weeks? Even intra club that may be worth a mention?
Any truth that Mr Blagrove is carrying a back related hammie?

callitasitiz
28 Mar 2007, 14:10
Anyone aware of any other old Box Hill Pioneer players pulling on the boots this season. Just caught up with Gangus who is burning up the track.

bigwaz
28 Mar 2007, 14:37

Because Spanka knows a lot more than I do :)

Like the website?

port-man_fc
28 Mar 2007, 15:46
Mr Blagrove is far from injured, trained last night, was an inspiration as always...:thumbsu: Turltes have had one intra club, went well with no dramas, new players were impressive

oc37
28 Mar 2007, 16:46
Anny razorbacks follow you Manny ? a Higgins or Murchie(even on one leg) would be very handy.

spy1
28 Mar 2007, 17:11
Anyone aware of any other old Box Hill Pioneer players pulling on the boots this season. Just caught up with Gangus who is burning up the track.

Geez, that is old. Has he still got the mullett?

callitasitiz
28 Mar 2007, 18:35
Geez, that is old. Has he still got the mullett?
He wishes. Receding hairline to be polite. On leaving the York on Lilly this afternoon more than a tad red faced.

Old Warrior
28 Mar 2007, 19:34
Lakey11 that is one of the more pathetic posts I've seen on BigFooty.

I played against Nth Brunnie for 10 years 95-04 and thoroughly enjoyed the contest they gave. Football is a contact sport and generally speaking they didn't overstep the line anymore than some of the other ammo teams running around in that time. Eltham for one was a much dirtier, cowardly team than Nth Brunnie.

topturtle
28 Mar 2007, 21:27
Lakey11 that is one of the more pathetic posts I've seen on BigFooty.

I played against Nth Brunnie for 10 years 95-04 and thoroughly enjoyed the contest they gave. Football is a contact sport and generally speaking they didn't overstep the line anymore than some of the other ammo teams running around in that time. Eltham for one was a much dirtier, cowardly team than Nth Brunnie.

Oh Platters you disappoint me......you bag Lakey11 and then decide to do exactly the same thing and slander the turtles???
I can recall one 'cheap shot' incident in 1999 involving a guy who never played for the club again, other than that, I can't even recall a melee between our clubs! Is that what is driving your crack at our club?
Always stayed around for a beer at Sayers Rd too, Ivan would give away a few beers and then we would head back up the ring road.
Not sure what an experienced ammo person such as yourself is trying to achieve with a comment like that.

nellup
28 Mar 2007, 23:25
:cool:I start out in the centre so I'm putting myself there again, with the comments of criticism of various teams by others;spent the last hour going over my reports for several years and guess what???ALL sides come out just about even,so by me,their are a lot of glass houses in danger here,and more importantly sportsmanship and friendships are being put in jeopody,a friendly crack is one thing fellars,but this is pushing the envelope,COOL IT DOWN:cool:

spy1
29 Mar 2007, 05:30
:cool:I start out in the centre so I'm putting myself there again, with the comments of criticism of various teams by others;spent the last hour going over my reports for several years and guess what???ALL sides come out just about even,so by me,their are a lot of glass houses in danger here,and more importantly sportsmanship and friendships are being put in jeopody,a friendly crack is one thing fellars,but this is pushing the envelope,COOL IT DOWN:cool:

Is that a yellow or red card you are reaching for Nelly?
Surely not the dreaded BLACK card?

I do agree though; let he without sin, cast the first forearm.....sorry, stone.

Falcons07
29 Mar 2007, 09:52
Trainend in the rain last night boys, not a massive downfall but cant hurt. Training on Port Colts ground at the moment and could already notice the difference with some new grass amongst the dirt patches.

Anyone else feel like professional trainers, we had a praccy game this weekend but was cancelled. Only one more shot for a game on the 14th against the Hawks fingers crossed.

Any other team a shot of starting the season without a game against an opposition???

bigwaz
29 Mar 2007, 12:03
Trainend in the rain last night boys, not a massive downfall but cant hurt. Training on Port Colts ground at the moment and could already notice the difference with some new grass amongst the dirt patches.

Anyone else feel like professional trainers, we had a praccy game this weekend but was cancelled. Only one more shot for a game on the 14th against the Hawks fingers crossed.

Any other team a shot of starting the season without a game against an opposition???

South yarra are looking for a practice game after easter... give Bruce Hill a yell.

Falcons07
29 Mar 2007, 14:53
South yarra are looking for a practice game after easter... give Bruce Hill a yell.

Thanks mate, will get onto it.

Probably just finding a ground will be the problem.

Old Warrior
29 Mar 2007, 17:19
Oh Platters you disappoint me......you bag Lakey11 and then decide to do exactly the same thing and slander the turtles???
I can recall one 'cheap shot' incident in 1999 involving a guy who never played for the club again, other than that, I can't even recall a melee between our clubs! Is that what is driving your crack at our club?
Always stayed around for a beer at Sayers Rd too, Ivan would give away a few beers and then we would head back up the ring road.
Not sure what an experienced ammo person such as yourself is trying to achieve with a comment like that.

If you're talking about the cheap shot that broke Mal Gibb's jaw on the eve of the finals then yes that does come to mind. In the same game I remember Matthew Best giving out a few.

I also remember Matthew Best telling one of our guys, who is also a very good mate of mine, that he was a weak c*nt as he was being taken off the ground on a stretcher after breaking his leg a year or so later.

I remember Gasporotto giving one out after a bit of a push and shove at our ground, the siren then going and still refusing to shake his opponent's hand.

The bloke who always wore an Australian olympic tracksuit everytime I saw him and had a pair of gold boxing gloves hanging from a chain around his neck was always one to look out for.

My post is completely different to Lakey's. He is a racist. I am a turtlist.

harvey35
29 Mar 2007, 17:35

M.Best who played with you blokes in 2001 was possibly the dirtiest footballer going around. I think he was only there for a year and missed most of that with suspension. How did the club handle him or did he leave on his own?

topturtle
29 Mar 2007, 19:27
M.Best who played with you blokes in 2001 was possibly the dirtiest footballer going around. I think he was only there for a year and missed most of that with suspension. How did the club handle him or did he leave on his own?

Not sure if any club could handle Matthew Best, we tried but clearly failed. He could really play, but had a severe case of white line fever. Played in 99 and some of 2001 before being suspended big time. Went back to DVFL.

topturtle
29 Mar 2007, 19:41
If you're talking about the cheap shot that broke Mal Gibb's jaw on the eve of the finals then yes that does come to mind. In the same game I remember Matthew Best giving out a few.

I also remember Matthew Best telling one of our guys, who is also a very good mate of mine, that he was a weak c*nt as he was being taken off the ground on a stretcher after breaking his leg a year or so later.

I remember Gasporotto giving one out after a bit of a push and shove at our ground, the siren then going and still refusing to shake his opponent's hand.

The bloke who always wore an Australian olympic tracksuit everytime I saw him and had a pair of gold boxing gloves hanging from a chain around his neck was always one to look out for.

My post is completely different to Lakey's. He is a racist. I am a turtlist.

Fair enough, I can see it is a deep seated hate and I would much prefer you to be a turtlist than a racist!
I am just observing that you are passing judgement on a club based on a handful of blokes from many years ago, none of those blokes have played since 2001. I think anyone who has been connected with a club for any length of time would be able to recall poor acts made by players at their club. Can't condone any of those incidents, sorry you dislike the club so much.

Old Warrior
29 Mar 2007, 20:34
Fair enough, I can see it is a deep seated hate and I would much prefer you to be a turtlist than a racist!
I am just observing that you are passing judgement on a club based on a handful of blokes from many years ago, none of those blokes have played since 2001. I think anyone who has been connected with a club for any length of time would be able to recall poor acts made by players at their club. Can't condone any of those incidents, sorry you dislike the club so much.

I last played against Eltham in 2004. The first time we played you that year at your ground one of your blokes belted me in the back of the head when I was standing under a mark. That in itself is okay, as I mentioned earlier footy is a contact sport and there are times when you want your opponent to earn their kicks. However, on this occasion I saw red and thumped him back - at least he got to see his coming. A small scuffle followed, no damage done, the game went on.

The bloke who was coaching you along with the runner couldn't leave it at that though and spent the next two quarters telling me how I was f*cked - from the safety of the boundary line. I didn't mind that too much as the dills couldn't concentrate on coaching their team and we proceeded to win comfortably.

Couldn't help but think not too much has changed from the Matthew Best days. Hopefully they're not involved with your club anymore also.

In itself an isolated incident, but when looked at along with others is pretty typical from a club I don't have much respect for.

Ace High
29 Mar 2007, 22:41
I last played against Eltham in 2004. The first time we played you that year at your ground one of your blokes belted me in the back of the head when I was standing under a mark. That in itself is okay, as I mentioned earlier footy is a contact sport and there are times when you want your opponent to earn their kicks. However, on this occasion I saw red and thumped him back - at least he got to see his coming. A small scuffle followed, no damage done, the game went on.

The bloke who was coaching you along with the runner couldn't leave it at that though and spent the next two quarters telling me how I was f*cked - from the safety of the boundary line. I didn't mind that too much as the dills couldn't concentrate on coaching their team and we proceeded to win comfortably.

Couldn't help but think not too much has changed from the Matthew Best days. Hopefully they're not involved with your club anymore also.

In itself an isolated incident, but when looked at along with others is pretty typical from a club I don't have much respect for.

build a bridge and get over it mate

Backline Brothers
30 Mar 2007, 05:23

Hey clown you have way too much bitterness and unresolved anger for someone who hasn't dealt with our club for several years.

Don't get high and mighty about highlighting isolated incidents from years gone by. They are as relevant to the current Turtles coaching staff and playing list as former Saint Robbie Muir's feats ( a talented player but tortured soul ) are to the current day St.Kilda team.

You blokes were far from clean skins yourselves. Clean up your own backyard before trying to sh*t in someone elses.

no31
30 Mar 2007, 08:53
Every club has clowns that float in an out evey year. No one knows what a new player is capable off until they play. It's the old scenario A: we need players B: we don't need f'wits at the club, sometime A wins, sometimes B wins

spy1
30 Mar 2007, 09:15
Every club has clowns that float in an out evey year. No one knows what a new player is capable off until they play. It's the old scenario A: we need players B: we don't need f'wits at the club, sometime A wins, sometimes B wins

Exactly. Couldn't put it better.

WhoWonIt?
30 Mar 2007, 09:21
Mr Blagrove is far from injured, trained last night, was an inspiration as always...:thumbsu: Turltes have had one intra club, went well with no dramas, new players were impressive

Did Aaron Maloney play in the intra club match?

port-man_fc
30 Mar 2007, 10:26

So someone yelled at u from the bounary line, and u got a knock to the head in a marking contest in 2001 - 2004, so 6-3 years ago, and u still use a box of Kleenex every time you hear the name Eltham?????

Your a sook mate....

port-man_fc
30 Mar 2007, 10:27
Did Aaron Maloney play in the intra club match?

Yeah he did, u from therry ??

nellup
30 Mar 2007, 11:40
quote=Falcons07;7061458]Thanks mate, will get onto it.

Probably just finding a ground will be the problem.[/quote]
:)Try contacting Mentone Grammar re hiring their sports fields,many clubs are playing prac games their,grounds watered with bore water and are in pretty good nic.:rolleyes:

nellup
30 Mar 2007, 11:44
Is that a yellow or red card you are reaching for Nelly?
Surely not the dreaded BLACK card?

I do agree though; let he without sin, cast the first forearm.....sorry, stone.
:mad:Could be BLACK AND BLUE CARD the way things are going here:mad: