View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

Freebaser
13 Apr 2007, 14:14
Premiers: St.Marys
Runners Up: BHN
Big Improvers: Nth Brunswick and Richmond
Biggest Slidders: Bulleen
Most Goals : Mary's FF
Comp B & F: Coach Hollywood
Wooden Spoon: Bulleen.

knackers22
13 Apr 2007, 14:15
The saints are playing Murrembeena tomm, near full strength from a reliable source. Another 6 in from monash game plus another massive signing yesterday (jezza dwyer)

Also had alook at St Mary's, impressive skills for this time of the year, run hard and link up well to create multiple options. Not much in it at half time left early in 3rd Q not sure what happened after that. Monash had a few missing from what I could remember from last year - Wells still dominates.

On the drought, latest rain must of helped as Monash Council has just granted us permission to play praccy games on 21st April when we will be playing Bulleen.

Manny DeBono

spy1
13 Apr 2007, 14:17
Flagship? Is that a prediction for the flag this year?

Geez, that would be a big call for a new team in a 14 side competition.
They are bound to get better as they move forward. Great to watch (looked in on both their praccy matches). The play a similar game to Western Bulldogs. Like watching Speedy Gonzales on Crack.:D

knackers22
13 Apr 2007, 14:21
That is very true and quite possibly the other dywer to return in next few weeks for rd 1.

Word from saints land is Club record goal kicker has returned to play this year. Eltham boys you might remember this lad as he kicked 17 goals in a games against you.

the_saint
13 Apr 2007, 14:58
That is very true and quite possibly the other dywer to return in next few weeks for rd 1.

Time will tell. The proof is in the pudding. One week at a time. Don't count your eggs before they hatch, and so on.

Spy 1: "Speedy Gonzales on crack"- are you suggesting Mexicans are coke heads? Two big calls in the one day - you are on fire

the_saint
13 Apr 2007, 15:00
Premiers: BHN
Runners Up: Albert Park
Big Improvers: Richmond
Biggest Slidders: Bulleen
Most Goals : Jezza (St M)
Comp B & F: Cracknell (UHS VU)
Wooden Spoon: Nth Brunswick.

spy1
13 Apr 2007, 15:02
Time will tell. The proof is in the pudding. One week at a time. Don't count your eggs before they hatch, and so on.

Spy 1: "Speedy Gonzales on crack"- are you suggesting Mexicans are coke heads? Two big calls in the one day - you are on fire

That'd be the curry I had last night, sorry about that.

bigwaz
13 Apr 2007, 17:07
Cant wait for us to prove all you toe rags wrong.

Wooden Spoon.....pfffft!

Keep giving us ammo boys....

Its probably cause you're the quietest bunch on the forum? this is first comment I've seen from a definate Sth Morny.

We centrals get plenty of ammo... should be a cracker in round two... Pity we have to wear the VAFA away strip :mad:

VL3OJ
13 Apr 2007, 18:23
Your wooden spoon prediction is far too diplomatic and h0m0 sects you all.

I hope your mum's competitive tonight when i drop over to pick up my butt plug.
gold :D

Bring a spade Bigwaz and Smash as you will need to dig her up. If thats the best sledge you've heard bigwaz then you need to get out more.

bowman11
13 Apr 2007, 20:15
Bring a spade Bigwaz and Smash as you will need to dig her up. If thats the best sledge you've heard bigwaz then you need to get out more.

10/10 for you VL ............. Great comeback line .........Reckon Waz/Smash have been done over!!!!

nellup
13 Apr 2007, 21:01
IL DOMMINIE PARTRE SPIRITUS SACTOS

THAT WILL BE 5 HAIL MARY'S FOR YOU THANKYOU VL

Funkygriff
13 Apr 2007, 21:47
Its probably cause you're the quietest bunch on the forum? this is first comment I've seen from a definate Sth Morny.

We centrals get plenty of ammo... should be a cracker in round two... Pity we have to wear the VAFA away strip :mad:

Im from Nth Brunswick big guy.....look forward to playing you guys Big Waz....is the beer cold?

VL3OJ
13 Apr 2007, 23:10
IL DOMMINIE PARTRE SPIRITUS SACTOS

THAT WILL BE 5 HAIL MARY'S FOR YOU THANKYOU VL

Ahh Indonesian - my favourite language!

Well done nellup (sapre acutiorus doctus vir)

Archangel17
14 Apr 2007, 13:40
Ahh Indonesian - my favourite language!

Well done nellup (sapre acutiorus doctus vir)
tetapi say harus memikin bir

VL3OJ
14 Apr 2007, 16:33
tetapi say harus memikin bir

Ma'af,
Saya tidak tahu "memikin". Apa ini sama sama "minuman" - sedikit? Saya kesukaan bir juga.

Salamet football tuan Archangel

kekavich
14 Apr 2007, 18:37
The saints are playing Murrembeena tomm, near full strength from a reliable source. Another 6 in from monash game plus another massive signing yesterday (jezza dwyer)

Witnessed game today between St Mary's and Murrumbeena divvy 2 side southern leauge relegated last year from divvy 1. St Mary's outrun outplayed and ran out eventual winners by 17 points. Had it not been for inaccuracy in front of goal margin might have been 10 goals as they had 12 more scoring shots. After interviewing St Marys dual coaches the commented that they were happy to get a win but more so for the physical hit out that the game produced. Selection dilemmas appear difficult for the new coaches as The St Marys list is growing ever stronger. Lane was a standout along with Murphy and headaches appear likely for opposition coaches due to the high skill level and hardness at the ball. One thing noted by all Murrumbeena players and officials was the intensity and desire that St Marys showed as it was the final hit out before the real season starts and the chance for St Mary's players to press for selection.

LennyLeonard
14 Apr 2007, 18:59
Witnessed game today between St Mary's and Murrumbeena divvy 2 side southern leauge relegated last year from divvy 1. St Mary's outrun outplayed and ran out eventual winners by 17 points. Had it not been for inaccuracy in front of goal margin might have been 10 goals as they had 12 more scoring shots. After interviewing St Marys dual coaches the commented that they were happy to get a win but more so for the physical hit out that the game produced. Selection dilemmas appear difficult for the new coaches as The St Marys list is growing ever stronger. Lane was a standout along with Murphy and headaches appear likely for opposition coaches due to the high skill level and hardness at the ball. One thing noted by all Murrumbeena players and officials was the intensity and desire that St Marys showed as it was the final hit out before the real season starts and the chance for St Mary's players to press for selection.

Don't get to carried away Keka, Beena have lost plenty of talent and have struggled for numbers due to not having a ground to train on.

bigwaz
14 Apr 2007, 22:25
Im from Nth Brunswick big guy.....look forward to playing you guys Big Waz....is the beer cold?

Oh well.... still no sign of south morn....

The beer is always cold at KB! Bring on the season.

Archangel17
15 Apr 2007, 12:01
Ma'af,
Saya tidak tahu "memikin". Apa ini sama sama "minuman" - sedikit? Saya kesukaan bir juga.

Salamet football tuan Archangel
:DSaya berpikir ini sama "minuman" tetapi saya tidak berbahasa indonesia dengan sepertinya. Selamat football tuan VL30J

Bart's Here Now
15 Apr 2007, 14:13
Me and a couple of lads from the Nott went and watched Mt Waverly play Box Hill North yesday.
Both teams say they had a few players out. Ground was a dust bowl.
MW jumped out to kick 7 goals in front by early in 2nd. Memoery not what it should be, could have been that much at quarte time actually.
BH coach tore into his blokes at qt time. Called them lazy f....ers and said just because they weren't usin a Sherrin, Ross Faulkner wasn't going to poisn em if they happened to touch it. Then he reckons they are 2 weeks from playin a team they no nothing about (assume he meant Sth Mornington) and if they thought playing like they was on Vallium was good enough way to start a game they could take their big heads and go kick the dew off the grass in R1. Laugh lol. There was a cpl of other golden comments but can't remember what they were, they sell grog at Southern grounds ya know.
Think they took the hint coz they got stuck in after that.
Cut a long story short, the scoreboard showed them losing by about 19 pts at the final siren. Durin the second q a few of us saw the scoreboard putting 2 quick goals on MW when it was BH who scored em. Spoke to a guy from BH who was running for BH after game. He said the coach saw it happen 3 times, but refused to let his players know coz he didn't want them think they could get away with the slack 1st qtr. Geez they r tough even in prccy matches these days.
Most of me mates follow MW but I know the big bloke who is BH coach and have relly on wifes side plays magoos there. So I have seen em play a few times last year. Not rapped with the dry rules but. Only saw one new bloke in BH team. left footer with a shocking kicking style but hell could he thump it. Played out of back line. Wore number 8.
Ther was no Martini (big full fwd), Penny only spent one q on the ball but was everywhere when he went on it. This bloke looks better and stronger than last year. Little Odza did nothin till last quarter then racked up about 20 possys. Riscalla was good and played like he was pissed off with every body within the same post code. Reminds me off the old days. Actually he reminds me of how their coach used to play. Like a raging bull. Young fella 26 was probably there best. He was up fwd early then he seemed to be anywhere he liked. Got plenty of it though and used it well.
Still I think they have slipped a bit.
Bugger all depth in the magoos (saw last qtr and a bit) and they will struggle if they cop injuries to any of there guns.
Even if they get Martini back, his and Odza's best is a shadow of what they used to be. Penny is just too selfish and the rest seem to want to let him do all the work. Looks like their coach may be comng to the end of his rain. No coach of the year back to back lol.
Sorry Army if ya reading it. Ya not a bad bloke but time to hang em up and join us at the Nott again mate.

Ace High
15 Apr 2007, 22:08
interested to know the result from the syndal v mt lilydale praccy match on the weekend? any ideas?

Mobbenfuhrer
16 Apr 2007, 12:15
Elsternwick AFC are seeking are practice match this Saturday the 21st of April. Willing to travel to play or play at home. If interested please call Mark on 0409774159

Started a thread in General Regional Leagues : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7239326

Elsternwick AFC are seeking are practice match this Saturday the 21st of April. Willing to travel to play or play at home. If interested please call Mark on 0409774159

Parkside FC are looking for practise match on sat 28th april due to Ressa folding. We have our ground available & umpires booked for reserves & seniors. If interested please PM me your details

M-Lion
16 Apr 2007, 12:43
Me and a couple of lads from the Nott went and watched Mt Waverly play Box Hill North yesday.
Both teams say they had a few players out. Ground was a dust bowl.
MW jumped out to kick 7 goals in front by early in 2nd. Memoery not what it should be, could have been that much at quarte time actually.
BH coach tore into his blokes at qt time. Called them lazy f....ers and said just because they weren't usin a Sherrin, Ross Faulkner wasn't going to poisn em if they happened to touch it. Then he reckons they are 2 weeks from playin a team they no nothing about (assume he meant Sth Mornington) and if they thought playing like they was on Vallium was good enough way to start a game they could take their big heads and go kick the dew off the grass in R1. Laugh lol. There was a cpl of other golden comments but can't remember what they were, they sell grog at Southern grounds ya know.
Think they took the hint coz they got stuck in after that.
Cut a long story short, the scoreboard showed them losing by about 19 pts at the final siren. Durin the second q a few of us saw the scoreboard putting 2 quick goals on MW when it was BH who scored em. Spoke to a guy from BH who was running for BH after game. He said the coach saw it happen 3 times, but refused to let his players know coz he didn't want them think they could get away with the slack 1st qtr. Geez they r tough even in prccy matches these days.
Most of me mates follow MW but I know the big bloke who is BH coach and have relly on wifes side plays magoos there. So I have seen em play a few times last year. Not rapped with the dry rules but. Only saw one new bloke in BH team. left footer with a shocking kicking style but hell could he thump it. Played out of back line. Wore number 8.
Ther was no Martini (big full fwd), Penny only spent one q on the ball but was everywhere when he went on it. This bloke looks better and stronger than last year. Little Odza did nothin till last quarter then racked up about 20 possys. Riscalla was good and played like he was pissed off with every body within the same post code. Reminds me off the old days. Actually he reminds me of how their coach used to play. Like a raging bull. Young fella 26 was probably there best. He was up fwd early then he seemed to be anywhere he liked. Got plenty of it though and used it well.
Still I think they have slipped a bit.
Bugger all depth in the magoos (saw last qtr and a bit) and they will struggle if they cop injuries to any of there guns.
Even if they get Martini back, his and Odza's best is a shadow of what they used to be. Penny is just too selfish and the rest seem to want to let him do all the work. Looks like their coach may be comng to the end of his rain. No coach of the year back to back lol.
Sorry Army if ya reading it. Ya not a bad bloke but time to hang em up and join us at the Nott again mate.
What a heap of crap about the scoreboard beaten fair and square.End of story

Flowerpower
16 Apr 2007, 14:26
What a heap of crap about the scoreboard beaten fair and square.End of story

sounds like sour grapes to me too Mountain Lion!!!!!

Abba Lonie
16 Apr 2007, 14:42
The boundary umpire in that game showed a bit of promise even if what looked like a troublesome lower leg injury hampered his pace a bit. If he is planning to play this season maybe he should give it a miss and just run the boundary instead.

Falcons07
16 Apr 2007, 15:29
Anybody on here know much about the new Sth Yarra???

We have a hitout against them this weekend and heard they were back stronger than ever.

Serpico
16 Apr 2007, 16:43
Anybody on here know much about the new Sth Yarra???

We have a hitout against them this weekend and heard they were back stronger than ever.

Word is that they have recruited a few Powergouse blokes

Falcons07
16 Apr 2007, 16:54
Word is that they have recruited a few Powergouse blokes

I know a few went down to Powerhouse when Sth Yarra folded, and they have mostly gone back.

Serpico
16 Apr 2007, 17:03
I know a few went down to Powerhouse when Sth Yarra folded, and they have mostly gone back.

I think so

bigwaz
16 Apr 2007, 17:42
Its true... They should be a decent side... I hear that Phil Bayliss has brought down a few boys from Bendigo... perhaps just a rumour.

Manny
16 Apr 2007, 22:13
interested to know the result from the syndal v mt lilydale praccy match on the weekend? any ideas?

Good hit out for both clubs, 6 quarter game. Very pleasing considering problems with numbers that Syndal had 33 players there on Saturday, with a number unavailable.

Mt Lilydale looked alright, fitter and better skills than we had which was understandable and ran out winners in both 3 quarter stages. Very pleased with a couple of new players for Syndal - we will be competative.

Must also comment on VAFA umpires on the day, very good certainly didn't put up with any crap from either side, especially language where they were red hot. Also Mt Lilydales ground was rock hard, and to think they have until recently been watering the ground.

Syndal will be playing Eley Park this week as Bulleen cancelled at last minute.

Regards

Manny (Syndal Senior Coach)

bigwaz
16 Apr 2007, 22:35
Good hit out for both clubs, 6 quarter game. Very pleasing considering problems with numbers that Syndal had 33 players there on Saturday, with a number unavailable.

Mt Lilydale looked alright, fitter and better skills than we had which was understandable and ran out winners in both 3 quarter stages. Very pleased with a couple of new players for Syndal - we will be competative.

Must also comment on VAFA umpires on the day, very good certainly didn't put up with any crap from either side, especially language where they were red hot. Also Mt Lilydales ground was rock hard, and to think they have until recently been watering the ground.

Syndal will be playing Eley Park this week as Bulleen cancelled at last minute.

Regards

Manny (Syndal Senior Coach)

Good to hear your numbers are on the improve Manny.

Any standouts on lilydale we should be looking out for?

Sausage roll
16 Apr 2007, 22:56
St Mary's are absolute morals for the flag! Two very impressive practice match wins with Papaluca racking up 40 touches in each.

Could he be the best player ever to play D4? Better than Paul edwards?

From third in an A grade comp b&f to d4, thats some drop in standard!

Get on the saints!!

bigwaz
16 Apr 2007, 23:26
St Mary's are absolute morals for the flag! Two very impressive practice match wins with Papaluca racking up 40 touches in each.

Get on the saints!!

He must be stopped! Someone call Carl Williams? Superman? Heck Papaluca would outmark Superman?

We're in trouble.

Chewbacca
17 Apr 2007, 09:16

Get on the saints!!

I am sure he bleeds just the same as the rest of us. Will bring some kryptonite just in case though.

vegemite
17 Apr 2007, 10:02
Sausage Roll, A lot of D4 and D3 sides have easily defeated SFL division 2 sides in practice matches. I wouldn't be counting your chickens too early yet.

Falcons07
17 Apr 2007, 10:24

Get on the saints!!

Any reason why a guy that good would even want to play D4?

Or is it the timeless response of wanting to win a premiership with his mates??

Sausage roll
17 Apr 2007, 10:59
Any reason why a guy that good would even want to play D4?

Or is it the timeless response of wanting to win a premiership with his mates??

No, the reasin is he is trying to get "noticed" and was told he would stand out more in d4( he will certainly do that!)

He wants to get on a rookie lists and was advised this was the best way.

Either way, he will be very hard to stop

Falcons07
17 Apr 2007, 11:03
No, the reasin is he is trying to get "noticed" and was told he would stand out more in d4( he will certainly do that!)

Not sure how many AFL scouts frequent D4 matches, would of thought dominating in A grade was the way to get noticed.

Sounds like a gun though, feel sorry for the bugger who gets him everyweek, sounds like it would be a long day!

InFineForm
17 Apr 2007, 11:05

You are joking aren't you??? Either that or he is the joke. Not the sharpest knife in the drawer?

Sausage roll
17 Apr 2007, 11:37
You are joking aren't you??? Either that or he is the joke. Not the sharpest knife in the drawer?

No, i am deadly serious.

InFineForm
17 Apr 2007, 12:02
No, i am deadly serious.

So you really think scouts are going to come to a VAFA D4 game to look at this bloke?

Sorry.... Incredulous....

Falcons07
17 Apr 2007, 12:19
So you really think scouts are going to come to a VAFA D4 game to look at this bloke?

Sorry.... Incredulous....

Would have to agree, you said someone advised him to do this, I would be looking elsewhere for career advice from now on.

bigwaz
17 Apr 2007, 12:50
we get scouts down at KB all the time, so maybe he should play for us?...

http://www.weeklytimes.com.au/2006/11_november/29_11_06/images/stories/p28_Scouts.jpg

the_saint
17 Apr 2007, 12:52

http://www.scouts.org.ac/Pictures/Chief%20Scouts.JPG

If they're the fruits of your recruiting drive 2007 might be very similar to 2006

InFineForm
17 Apr 2007, 13:00
If they're the fruits of your recruiting drive 2007 might be very similar to 2006

A bit less meat on the bones of a few boys at KB reserve this year... :)

Mobbenfuhrer
17 Apr 2007, 13:10
Heh I thought the intent was to back up the revelation with a 'scouts honour'.

Manny
17 Apr 2007, 13:23
Good to hear your numbers are on the improve Manny.

Any standouts on lilydale we should be looking out for?

Not really, very even squad and hard at the footy.

Manny

Mobbenfuhrer
17 Apr 2007, 13:50
Any of you folks interested in taking the cyber-field in a pretend team? :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342

Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?

Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.

This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!

All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728

I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.

So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.

Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!

I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.

For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.

So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).

We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.

Onward lads! ...

spy1
17 Apr 2007, 13:58

Solid gold wazza. I can even see the photo was taken at KB. Market Garden fence in background.:thumbsu:

On another note; my usual sources are coming up empty on Sth Mornington.
Does anyone know anything about this team, version '07? Have heard nothing except what they did last year in SFL. Could they be a smokey?:confused:

kekavich
17 Apr 2007, 14:43
Would have to agree, you said someone advised him to do this, I would be looking elsewhere for career advice from now on.

Falcon07 Career advice came from Melbourne FC who have said to Papaluca to work on some areas of his game. The St Marys coaches have spoken to the hierachy at Melbourne and it is possible that he may be rookie listed next year. At the age of 20 Papaluca has nothing left to prove in amateur footy he did it last year for Marcellin. As for why would he want to drop in standard i can safely let you know that when you are not concerned with receiving dollars to play but want to play with your mates this is the reason. Having watched him first hand in 2 praccy games and seen him on the track i have no doubt he could contribute at the elite level. Even if he did not make AFL seniors no doubt he would be a consistent VFL player. The Kids only 20 years old and plenty of time left in footy.
Scouts already know who he is and how he plays so if there is any other kids out there thinking they might have what it takes to make it make sure you watch him play.
That being said no team is a one man show and if you think by stopping Pappa you are going to shut down St Marys then i know 20 other players that will argue with you.
St Marys are lucky to have someone of his talent but more so for the example he sets when it comes to hard work on the track.
Good luck all for the season. Keka

InFineForm
17 Apr 2007, 14:50
Falcon07 Career advice came from Melbourne FC who have said to Papaluca to work on some areas of his game. The St Marys coaches have spoken to the hierachy at Melbourne and it is possible that he may be rookie listed next year. At the age of 20 Papaluca has nothing left to prove in amateur footy he did it last year for Marcellin. As for why would he want to drop in standard i can safely let you know that when you are not concerned with receiving dollars to play but want to play with your mates this is the reason. Having watched him first hand in 2 praccy games and seen him on the track i have no doubt he could contribute at the elite level. Even if he did not make AFL seniors no doubt he would be a consistent VFL player. The Kids only 20 years old and plenty of time left in footy.
Scouts already know who he is and how he plays so if there is any other kids out there thinking they might have what it takes to make it make sure you watch him play.
That being said no team is a one man show and if you think by stopping Pappa you are going to shut down St Marys then i know 20 other players that will argue with you.
St Marys are lucky to have someone of his talent but more so for the example he sets when it comes to hard work on the track.
Good luck all for the season. Keka

No malice to the kid, anyone at St Mary's, or anyone else in D4 footy, but it seems a strange flight path to a better grade of footy.

Almost time for the ruminating to stop & the real stuff to start....

Lakey11
17 Apr 2007, 14:52

Totally agree. You never get better by playing against people worse than you....Thats why I stay in D4....to improve.
Good luck to him though if he wants to play with his mates. About time someone gave up the $$$ to enjoy footy. If its true, its a great day for football!

Falcons07
17 Apr 2007, 15:14
No malice to the kid, anyone at St Mary's, or anyone else in D4 footy, but it seems a strange flight path to a better grade of footy.

Funny because I know a couple of young blokes chasing places on the rookie list and they were told A grade ammos would be the lowest standard of footy they could play if they were any chance, these boys are on Sandys list as well which we know is affiliated with Melbourne???

Oh well the kid sounds good no matter what his reasons are, cant hurt for the level of footy to improve in the division, he will obviously dominate and be a handful for any team. Even without him I have heard St Marys are pretty impressive, only a week and we will all be back into it.

catscratches
17 Apr 2007, 15:24
only a week and we will all be back into it.

Can't wait, the delayed season has just made two weeks feel like forever.

Lets Roar like '44
17 Apr 2007, 15:27
Has anyone got last years ladder...sorry if this has already been posted but could someone let me in on what clubs are chances and what arent.

Falcons07
17 Apr 2007, 15:46
Has anyone got last years ladder...sorry if this has already been posted but could someone let me in on what clubs are chances and what arent.

I think it went like this, if its out feel free to let me know as this is just on memory and that aint so flash anymore.

Powerhouse
Eltham
BHN
Bulleen
Albert Park
Eley Park
Syndal
Brunswick

InFineForm
17 Apr 2007, 15:53
I think it went like this, if its out feel free to let me know as this is just on memory and that aint so flash anymore.

Powerhouse
Eltham
BHN
Bulleen
Albert Park
Eley Park
Syndal
Brunswick

Not bad on the fly - Syndal finished above Eley Park.... :thumbsu:

knackers_2
17 Apr 2007, 16:04
Not bad on the fly - Syndal finished above Eley Park.... :thumbsu:

They'll do so again this year too if the word on the street is correct... Gun forward/onballer D Roll is no longer involved in the club

goal kicking wingman
17 Apr 2007, 16:22
How are Albert Park going this year have they got good numbers or any gun recruits?

Falcons07
17 Apr 2007, 16:28
How are Albert Park going this year have they got good numbers or any gun recruits?

Not to bad mate, we had about 40 at training last night which is ok considering we are still training Monday/Wed and are not back on our own home ground yet.

Couple of decent new blokes, but mostly just the same list from last year.

Will hopefully carry a bit of our end of season form and start a lot better this year than last.

Red Gum
17 Apr 2007, 16:51
They'll do so again this year too if the word on the street is correct... Gun forward/onballer D Roll is no longer involved in the club

Saw an Eley Park guy at the gym recently. He was looking in great shape but couldn't lift his arms above his head. Lived vicariously by helping me do chinups though (they're too hard for me to do alone!).

Go Sharks!

ItchyFeet
17 Apr 2007, 17:37
Can't wait, the delayed season has just made two weeks feel like forever.

Agree, the next week and a bit can't come quick enough for the boys at Richmond can't wait for the season to start, big improvers this season!

bigwaz
17 Apr 2007, 18:09

Some of those kids are GUNS.... watch out.

guru1
17 Apr 2007, 18:51
The gurus back to weight into the papaluka debate. being a saints man myself i'd tend to have to agree it is an unusual path to take to try and get notice for afl scout as i'm lead to believe its a little bit of a step up from d4 to afl. but we are rapt to have him on board. but moving on saw the saints play on the weekend and they looked pretty good particularly in hte midfield however i still have reservations about the forward line as they maybe relying on the mid field to kick all the goals and i think they could be in for a surprise come round 1 and i think that mt lilydale may just getr over the line.

guru out!

nellup
17 Apr 2007, 19:12

http://www.weeklytimes.com.au/2006/11_november/29_11_06/images/stories/p28_Scouts.jpg
:cool:hope there are some ump scouts watching D4 games this year,I might make it to the AFL yet:D

guru1
17 Apr 2007, 19:22
I've seen and experienced first hand the standard of umpiring in d4, so your no chance!

PS.
Uni High will be premiers this year. you heard it hear first!

nellup
17 Apr 2007, 20:40
I've seen and experienced first hand the standard of umpiring in d4, so your no chance!

PS.
:(Why are people so unkind:(

Manny
17 Apr 2007, 22:13
The gurus back to weight into the papaluka debate. being a saints man myself i'd tend to have to agree it is an unusual path to take to try and get notice for afl scout as i'm lead to believe its a little bit of a step up from d4 to afl. but we are rapt to have him on board. but moving on saw the saints play on the weekend and they looked pretty good particularly in hte midfield however i still have reservations about the forward line as they maybe relying on the mid field to kick all the goals and i think they could be in for a surprise come round 1 and i think that mt lilydale may just getr over the line.

guru out!

Isn't there a connection between St Marys and Hawthorn. I remember Ferguson at Melbourne knew well before draft that Melb were looking at him and he was playing Frankston ressies at the time. AFL clubs go to great lengths to hide talent especially if they know the kid can play and they are looking at possibily the rookie list initially.

Manny

The Tiger's Nuts
17 Apr 2007, 22:29
:cool:hope there are some ump scouts watching D4 games this year,I might make it to the AFL yet:D

Ump scouts are everywhere, hiding in bushes, lurking behind cars, peering out from under rocks... rest assured whatever you do on the field will get back to HQ in some form or another.

If you want to rise above D4, I've heard that a good way is to attend training at Elsternwick one or two nights a week and put in 110% when you're there. That way you get seen by the right people, and when someone higher up the food chain dies or shuffles off to start goal umpiring, then you're in with a shot at the lofty heights of D2 or even (gasp) D1.

AFL requires you to get L1 and L2 accreditation, then a recommendation from VAFA for a VFL trial. Make it through the VFL seniors and get L3 accreditation and you too could be running out in a red jersey to the screams and concentrated hate of 50,000 fans.

Hey, if that token-chick goal umpire in Brissy can get a game, sure as hell you can...

That's all hearsay mind, but my source is usually reliable.

Tigernuts

nellup
17 Apr 2007, 22:44
Ump scouts are everywhere, hiding in bushes, lurking behind cars, peering out from under rocks... rest assured whatever you do on the field will get back to HQ in some form or another.

If you want to rise above D4, I've heard that a good way is to attend training at Elsternwick one or two nights a week and put in 110% when you're there. That way you get seen by the right people, and when someone higher up the food chain dies or shuffles off to start goal umpiring, then you're in with a shot at the lofty heights of D2 or even (gasp) D1.

AFL requires you to get L1 and L2 accreditation, then a recommendation from VAFA for a VFL trial. Make it through the VFL seniors and get L3 accreditation and you too could be running out in a red jersey to the screams and concentrated hate of 50,000 fans.

Hey, if that token-chick goal umpire in Brissy can get a game, sure as hell you can...

That's all hearsay mind, but my source is usually reliable.

Tigernuts
:eek:You were correct Spy1,the boys up at elsterwick do look in on us,this poster has toooooo much knowledge about the processes to be an interested onlooker,do we have Spy2????????:confused:

bigwaz
17 Apr 2007, 23:26

PS.

They haven't even had a training run on their home ground yet.... they must be underdone?

The Tiger's Nuts
17 Apr 2007, 23:30
Hell no, I was just surfing the VAFA and AFL websites and got to talking to some of the men in white at quarter time when taking out the drink bottles. Listened to them having a whinge about how hard it is to get into senior grades.

And my other source is a twos player who went off to become a fieldie, but still spends time at the club.

Tigernuts

bowman11
18 Apr 2007, 08:45

PS.

When we played them last year they had run out of players for their reserves! Had blokes doubling up everywhere. If bigwaz is correct in that they haven't even been on their ground it would be a concern. Is thier ground playable???

Guru what is the basis for such a statement??:rolleyes:

crazybear
18 Apr 2007, 08:54
When we played them last year they had run out of players for their reserves! Had blokes doubling up everywhere. If bigwaz is correct in that they haven't even been on their ground it would be a concern. Is thier ground playable???

Thaey have probably turned over their whole list. we played them in a match in march and they were a lot different to last year.

spy1
18 Apr 2007, 09:10
Hell no, I was just surfing the VAFA and AFL websites and got to talking to some of the men in white at quarter time when taking out the drink bottles. Listened to them having a whinge about how hard it is to get into senior grades.

And my other source is a twos player who went off to become a fieldie, but still spends time at the club.

Tigernuts

Old Chinese equation reads:
Ears + eyes - mouth = good spy.

Sounds like you could be made of the right stuff to wear the badge.:D

WhoWonIt?
18 Apr 2007, 09:37
They haven't even had a training run on their home ground yet.... they must be underdone?

Hey big Waz

By the sounds of it the big recruiting sign down on swan street has done the trick for your boys. With all these extra numbers do you reckon Hutto (the bloke who runs like a welshman) will play ones or twos this year? Hows the ground holding up too?

bigwaz
18 Apr 2007, 10:05
Hey big Waz

By the sounds of it the big recruiting sign down on swan street has done the trick for your boys. With all these extra numbers do you reckon Hutto (the bloke who runs like a welshman) will play ones or twos this year? Hows the ground holding up too?

Ahh... Huddo will unfortnuately be playing back at his beloved South Yarra this season. We only had him on a one year contract. Pity that.

harper
18 Apr 2007, 10:37

I spoke to their new coach (ex Frankston/Kew I think) some weeks ago now and was very impressed with his attitude and plans for season 2007. We played them last year and they were yuk but I believe they have recruited well with plenty of blokes from vic uni, even tried to poach some of our players (SMD).
May start slow due to not training on their ground but I do expect them to be in the mix come September.

Falcons07
18 Apr 2007, 11:40
Just over a week boys and there wont need to be any more assumptions, anyone willing to tip results first round???

gazbats
18 Apr 2007, 11:49
Just over a week boys and there wont need to be any more assumptions, anyone willing to tip results first round???

Richmond to give North Brunswick a towelling.

Cheers

;)

knackers22
18 Apr 2007, 12:23
Fair point but i do remember same thing was the deal with murphy from nth brunswick a few years ago.

Played D4 then did pre-season at western bulldogs only to walk out.

bigwaz
18 Apr 2007, 13:57
Richmond to give North Brunswick a towelling.

Cheers

;)

Is that you? Bat...Man?

bigwaz
18 Apr 2007, 14:03

I'll have a crack....

UHS-VU def. Syndal
Box Hill North def. South Morn.
Eltham def. Albert Park
Bulleen def. Eley Park
Richmond def. Nth Brunswick (some bias here perhaps)
St Mary's def. Mt Lilydale

So all the home teams to win except the lilies.
I dont think there are any upsets to be had this round, except maybe richmond, but I'm not sure if that's an upset or not?

Coach Hollywood
18 Apr 2007, 14:13
I'll take the same as Bigwaz but North Brunswick over Richmond if anyone's running a tipping comp here?:thumbsu:

Falcons07
18 Apr 2007, 14:17
I'll have a crack....

UHS-VU def. Syndal
Eltham def. Albert Park
Bulleen def. Eley Park

I dont think there are any upsets to be had this round, except maybe richmond, but I'm not sure if that's an upset or not?

AP to upset Eltham.
Eley Park def Bulleen
Nth B def Richmond (sorry big waz)

Sorry hollywood, gotta back my own side haha

port-man_fc
18 Apr 2007, 15:17
I'll take the same as Bigwaz but North Brunswick over Richmond if anyone's running a tipping comp here?:thumbsu:

I agree with Coach, Same as Bigwaz but North to beat Centrals (sorry Bigwaz but i hope u guys win)

knackers_2
18 Apr 2007, 16:32

I reckon:

UHS-VU def. Syndal
South Morn def. Box Hill North
Eltham def. Albert Park
Eley Park def. Bulleen
Nth Brunswick def. Richmond (only just, and not the next time they meet...)

ItchyFeet
18 Apr 2007, 16:41
I'll have a crack....

UHS-VU def. Syndal
Eltham def. Albert Park
Bulleen def. Eley Park

Same as Waz, With centrals to sing the song loud and clear!

Sausage roll
18 Apr 2007, 16:51
Same as Waz, With centrals to sing the song loud and clear!

Lets try the Saints to smash lilydale!! The return of Dwyer from Sydney, Papluca from marcellin, a gun from Wantirna, new coaches and huge numbers all add up the saints being the team this year!

St Mary's by panels!!!

Red Gum
18 Apr 2007, 17:09
I reckon:

UHS-VU def. Syndal
South Morn def. Box Hill North
Eltham def. Albert Park
Eley Park def. Bulleen
Nth Brunswick def. Richmond (only just, and not the next time they meet...)

I reckon that's pretty much spot on. Great work!

UHSVU have apparently recruited very well. My inside man tells me they'll be back on their ground soon and are raring to go. Reckons the attitude at the club is 100% improved on last year and the phrase "bounce straight back up" was mentioned!

mcglede
18 Apr 2007, 17:09
Lets try the Saints to smash lilydale!! The return of Dwyer from Sydney, Papluca from marcellin, a gun from Wantirna, new coaches and huge numbers all add up the saints being the team this year!

St Mary's by panels!!!

Brilliant Sausage Roll, absolutely brilliant. Picking a team thats just come down from D3 to beat a team that spent last year in Club 18.

You've really gone out on a limb there haven't you!

callitasitiz
18 Apr 2007, 19:45
Big Call?
Pencil in St Marys to whitewash Mt Lilydale, Box Hill Nth to demolish whipping boys Sth Mornington, UHS likewise over Syndal, and the 2 tough games to predict, maybe the Snakes by a whisker over Nth Brunswick and Eltham by a grain of sand over Albert Park.

Take out Sth Mornington, Richmond, Mt Lilydale and Syndal and the battle for 3 finals positions is wide open. Yes, St Marys will have a mortgae on top spot. Improvers Albert Park. Papaluca will dominate, but as said previously he has plenty of support.

callitasitiz
18 Apr 2007, 19:46
Why not add another flip of the coin? Bulleen over Eley Park.

bigwaz
19 Apr 2007, 12:35
Can we get some ground reports from the home teams?

KB is pretty patchy and not improving, it has been graded and reseeded but is in desperate need of a good soaking (hopefully this weekend, fingers crossed). There will most likely be a few grazes next weekend. The council has asked us to fill in ground reports twice a week.

Rusty Brookes
19 Apr 2007, 15:29
Bulleen looking pretty good at the moment. We're still not allowed on the ground but the grass has come up very nicely. Should be fine for Rd 1.

knackers22
19 Apr 2007, 16:52
I'll have a crack as well

Uni high over Syndal
Saints over lilydale (just)
Eltham over park
Box Hill to knock of sth morn
bulleen over eley park
Rich over nth bwick

I reckon that's pretty much spot on. Great work!

UHSVU have apparently recruited very well. My inside man tells me they'll be back on their ground soon and are raring to go. Reckons the attitude at the club is 100% improved on last year and the phrase "bounce straight back up" was mentioned!

gazbats
19 Apr 2007, 23:39
hey waz

were you in a photo in the Melbourne Yarra Leader on the 28th March??

looking good. are you busy tomorrow?

cheers

Bat.

bigwaz
20 Apr 2007, 00:25
hey waz

were you in a photo in the Melbourne Yarra Leader on the 28th March??

looking good. are you busy tomorrow?

cheers

Bat.

That may have been my alter ego Bat Man! "bigwaz" doesn't get out much :thumbsu:

kekavich
20 Apr 2007, 03:10
I'll have a crack as well

Uni high over Syndal
Saints over lilydale (just)
Eltham over park
Box Hill to knock of sth morn
bulleen over eley park
Rich over nth bwick

why not estimate margins boys see how close we are in 10 days.
uni high by 15 goals over syndal
saints forfiet with distance issues getting to mt lilydale
eltham easily by 40+ over the albert park boys
box hill to win with south morny having a clean sheet
the 2 other games i think will be very close matches and i expect
brunswick to beat the centrals by 12 points
eley park to come from behind in the last and get the choccies by 2 points over bulleen.

New interpretation of AFL rules will have the umpires confusing us more than ever. Hopefully no reports or injuries. Hope it rains for three days a week before to soften up all ground across the state because if we won the toss i'd probably bat.
Sorry if i offend any of you peninsular boys havent heard much about you. welcome to the amateurs and good luck this year.

Go saints.