View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
So the centrals are the first team to venture down to South Mornington this season. Its a fair old hike? Must be a bugger for them coming up to the city every second weekend.
ItchyFeet
2 May 2007, 13:31
So the centrals are the first team to venture down to South Mornington this season. Its a fair old hike? Must be a bugger for them coming up to the city every second weekend.
Things you do for the love of the game hey!
Sherrin_it_around
2 May 2007, 13:42
Not so much lost 10 to 15 players as they can't really commit this year. We processed four outgoing clearances. However many of the twos players have Saturday work commitments this year and are finding it hard to play on the weekend. As a result, we've recruited a bunch of very enthusiastic but raw young blokes who can play. It will probably take a little bit for the ressies to gel especially as we only got onto our ground last week due to council restrictions.
So are these guys still around the club at all and if so any chance they could help out if you struggles for numbers because no one like to see a club struggle to field a team and get flogged like you did on saturday.
Things you do for the love of the game hey!
Its a bit of fun when you only have to do it once a season...
Ifeellikechickentonight
2 May 2007, 14:34
Just been to the Box Hill Nth website. Interesting things going on down there!
Check out the following link:
http://www.itsmyfooty.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=107 (http://www.itsmyfooty.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=107)
Didn't know about this website!
Just been to the Box Hill Nth website. Interesting things going on down there!
Check out the following link:
http://www.itsmyfooty.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=107 (http://www.itsmyfooty.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=107)
Didn't know about this website!
They showed that video at the VAFA season launch. Good work BHN!
catscratches
2 May 2007, 18:11
(much improved) Richmond Central by 2 points
(much improved) Eley Park by 10 goals
Eltham by 5 goals
Albert Park by 3 goals
(improved) North Brunswick by 5 points
Mt Lilydale by 7 points
melbdocker
2 May 2007, 18:55
just checked out the bulleen cobras web site, i dont know if its cause i know a few blokes down there but some funny gags on there www.bulleencobras.asn.com.au (http://www.bulleencobras.asn.com.au) had a pretty good night there for there poker night considering 2 losses
Hows the old eley park sharks going this year so far??:confused:
knackers_2
3 May 2007, 08:59
Hows the old eley park sharks going this year so far??:confused:
They are going along nicely. Coach Broadbear is the David Parkin of D4, and will do quite well with the cattle he has on the paddock.
Using the ladder as a guide, Eley Park have claims to Match of the Day Status; away to Box Hill North. 1st v 3rd and a true local derby to boot.
Then we have the hyped match of the round, Eltham v St Marys.
As a neutral do you choose to follow ladder positions or do you believe the hype emitting from this thread during pre-season?
Only time and results will answer this question.
Using the ladder as a guide, Eley Park have claims to Match of the Day Status; away to Box Hill North. 1st v 3rd and a true local derby to boot.
Then we have the hyped match of the round, Eltham v St Marys.
As a neutral do you choose to follow ladder positions or do you believe the hype emitting from this thread during pre-season?
Only time and results will answer this question.
Go with the thread! St Marys should be in C grade at least. Its not fair really :p
Using the ladder as a guide....
excellent indication of how teams are going at this late stage of the year.
The gurus back boys and have noticed a lot of talk about the saints from some quarters. And being a sainter myself i've gotta say a lot of it is crap. I think the sainters will be in for a hell of a shock if they actually believe this rubbish (thats if these people are really saint people at all!) because unitil i see a forward down at the club they won't match eltham! and won't get within 40 points this week
guru out!
Go with the thread! St Marys should be in C grade at least. Its not fair really :p
C grade? I thought they where in the VFL!
As for Bulleem's reserves, I always thought they where one of the classier and better to watch seconds sides....hope they get back to that!
kekavich
3 May 2007, 14:59
from what i hear the saints have recruited well. so could be saints and turtles as favourites i'd say as a nuetral observer
So you call yourself a saint and yet in this thread you say your neutral. Which one is it Guru. Or do you jump on and off teams when their form changes.
Get a club and stick with it.
excellent indication of how teams are going at this late stage of the year.
Yes Smash, it's a wonderful time to be alive.
Rain during the week, sunny on Saturday, your team played last week and are playing this week. It's May, and at worst, you've only been defeated once; at best, you are unbeaten.
Now if I were a younger man I would be thinking all that was missing was a can, a pizza and a short women with a flat head.:D
smokingjoe49
3 May 2007, 17:13
The gurus back boys and have noticed a lot of talk about the saints from some quarters. And being a sainter myself i've gotta say a lot of it is crap. I think the sainters will be in for a hell of a shock if they actually believe this rubbish (thats if these people are really saint people at all!) because unitil i see a forward down at the club they won't match eltham! and won't get within 40 points this week
guru out!
guru1 your contradicting yourself, at the start of your msg you say you are a sainter and then at the end of the msg "because unitil i see a forward down at the club they won't match eltham!" going through all your msg's you dont seem to be a saint, in fact you seem to know an awful lot about another club (indirectly). Everyone can make up there own mind.
Stop trying to stir the pot with pre fabricated drivel....
Should be a nice balmy night of the track tonight!
Flowerpower
3 May 2007, 17:15
Considering the rain today, will it be a day for Turtles and Sharks tomorrow?:)
Falcons07
3 May 2007, 17:21
(much improved) Richmond Central by 2 points
(much improved) Eley Park by 10 goals
Eltham by 5 goals
Albert Park by 3 goals
(improved) North Brunswick by 5 points
Mt Lilydale by 7 points
Richmond 2 goals
BHN 3 goals
Eltham by heaps
Falcons in a tough one
Nth Brunswick just
Uni by a goal
Round two should sort out a few of the pretenders.
We're see just how good Bulleen are coming up against another losing side.
4 big winners play each other.
Nth Brunswick should be strong on the rebound and Uni might get a surprise from mt Lilydale.
As far as Richmond goes, well..... IF we can pull off a win....we'll see.
knackers_2
4 May 2007, 13:45
As far as Richmond goes, well..... IF we can pull off a win....we'll see.
Sorry bigwaz, can't see it happening.
South Mornington by a few over Richmond
Eley Park by not much over BH North
St Marys over Eltham in a cracker
Albert Park to pick up their game over Bulleen
Syndal to knock off North Bruns only because of Manny's coaching prowess
UHS-VU over Mt Lilydale by a handful
port-man_fc
4 May 2007, 14:06
South Mornington by 25 points
Box Hill North by 45 points
Eltham by 18 points
Albert Park by 20 points
Syndal by 35 points
UHS-VU 50 points
Eley Park lose to BHN by 3 goals
St Marys lose to Eltham by 2 goals
Albert Park win by 4 goals
Syndal lose to Nth Bruns by 1 point
UHS-VU win by 1 point
And of course...
Centrals by 1 point.
callitasitiz
4 May 2007, 17:37
Preview of the gf Eltham may have too much strikepower for St Marys. Will the postage stamp have an effect?
Albert Park back on song over Bulleen
Mt Lilydale to chalk up a win over UHS
Eley Park to continue as big improvers over Box Hill North
Syndal in a tight one over Nth Brunnie
Sth Mornington just a maybe with the home support over Richmond
Best round of match ups as we will see all year.
Abba Lonie
4 May 2007, 19:38
Eley Park v Box Hill North is at BHN's ground if that has any effect on tips.
Coach Hollywood
4 May 2007, 20:06
My tips Round 2 - Turtles, Box Hill North, UHSVU, Richmond, Sydnal Tally Ho & Albert Park..
My North
5 May 2007, 00:57
can it be 2 wins in a row by Richmond Central?
kekavich
6 May 2007, 05:40
can it be 2 wins in a row by Richmond Central?
kekavich from the saints is signing out on this forum he believes in action and not speculation. Good luck to all that posts threads and dont take everything as gospel. Sausage you are a wanted man at the saints i dare you in time to reveal yourself. Go Saints and good luck all
walshy 4
6 May 2007, 18:24
did u ryt da book of love and do u av faith in god above
North Brunny kicked themselves out of it against Syndal - had heaps more of the footy just couldn't finish. Bit of a shame that the goal of the day was awarded a point and the result came down to 4 points - but thats another story.
Nice clutch work at the death from Syndal - were pretty solid under pressure.
Whats the good word on UHS-VU and South Mornza gents?
North Brunny kicked themselves out of it against Syndal - had heaps more of the footy just couldn't finish. Bit of a shame that the goal of the day was awarded a point and the result came down to 4 points - but thats another story.
Could not read and not reply - tight game all day and as the scores show Nth Brunny were in accurate in front of goal, though a lot shots under pressure - to even give readers the idea that the game was decided by a goal umpiring decision is unfair when Nth Brunny in the last quarter had a number of set shots in front of goal only to register behinds, and they hit the front with about 5 minutes to go in the last quarter.
Very pleasing from my point of view that the young guys held firm under pressure in the last minutes, though my voice is a bit hoarse from barking instructions - thanks to Nth Brunny people great day had by all.
Manny
South ran over us in the last quarter. They are a small, fit and fast side. Pretty solid skills and travel in packs - and they were better than we expected.
Congrats to them on their first win in the VAFA. Pity it was against us :(
knackers_2
7 May 2007, 09:40
did u ryt da book of love and do u av faith in god above
The sharks let me down. BHN better than I thought, and are 50% better at home.
what an animal
7 May 2007, 10:38
The results may give small indication of season ahead.
Mt LIlydale look like they may feature up the top end of ladder along with Eltham, St Marys, Uni High and Box Hill.
Watched last half of St Marys vs Eltham game at postage stamp on sat, very tough, skilllful game played in good spirits. End of the day, saints had too much run in the legs and finished in front of goals better. Quite a few very good players running around in both sides. Both sides will feature in finals.
From the lips of Mike Moore 'Frontline' :
"Thought provoking statistics there. I think that makes it much clearer for all of us"
A Saint and a Cobra
7 May 2007, 15:02
Carn' the Cobras ... We will bounce back :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Ouch...what happened?
They are a bunch of young goers down South aren't they. Scared the hell out of BH for 2 quarters.:eek:
Could not read and not reply - tight game all day and as the scores show Nth Brunny were in accurate in front of goal, though a lot shots under pressure - to even give readers the idea that the game was decided by a goal umpiring decision is unfair when Nth Brunny in the last quarter had a number of set shots in front of goal only to register behinds, and they hit the front with about 5 minutes to go in the last quarter.
Very pleasing from my point of view that the young guys held firm under pressure in the last minutes, though my voice is a bit hoarse from barking instructions - thanks to Nth Brunny people great day had by all.
Manny
Fair enough Manny - didn't mean for it to sound that the goal umpiring mistake directly cost us the game - as I said - it just made it a little harder to take when Nth Brunny were so close - but we certainly had our chances. Now having lost two games by 4 & 6 points -and having kicked a combined 17 goals 35 behinds for the year - hopefully the boys will rally against UHS-VU. Both Games were played in a terrific spirit, and hopefully your CHF gets off at the tribunal cos none of our guys thought he should be reported.
Thanks OZZA. Unfortunately with tribunals as they are, you take a huge risk going up to fight the charge - players word against the umpire. Our player is convinced nothing in it, even the Nth Brunny player involved stated the same, but opposition players evidence tends to be taken with a grain of salt, so the safest option is to accept the week. Having said that I'm not sure what has been decided.
Good Luck on Saturday, keep at it your luck will change.
Manny
They are a bunch of young goers down South aren't they. Scared the hell out of BH for 2 quarters.:eek:
Yeah... not many old heads there. Can't say much for their boundary umpires though :) Struggled to get it above head height most of the time :D
Oh... and playing in the VAFA strip against your own jumper sucks.
what an animal
8 May 2007, 10:31
Agree its Kangaroo Court the VAFA tribunal system. Unless you have video footage or something significant players stand no chance!
Thanks OZZA. Unfortunately with tribunals as they are, you take a huge risk going up to fight the charge - players word against the umpire. Our player is convinced nothing in it, even the Nth Brunny player involved stated the same, but opposition players evidence tends to be taken with a grain of salt, so the safest option is to accept the week. Having said that I'm not sure what has been decided.
Good Luck on Saturday, keep at it your luck will change.
Manny
what an animal
8 May 2007, 10:51
So were onto Rd. 3
Let's get some predictions going and has anyone's opinion changed of any sides as yet?
kekavich
8 May 2007, 11:01
Agree its Kangaroo Court the VAFA tribunal system. Unless you have video footage or something significant players stand no chance!
I would have to disagree that the VAFA tribunal is a kangaroo court.
Most of the tribunal panel are well educated lawyers ,judges and upstanding citizens in our community. If you have done the wrong thing then maybe you need to spend a couple of weeks out. In over 200 games in the amateurs i have been reported four times and contested the charge and never been found guilty of an offence. I have however taken a prescribed two week penalty once.
I believe in the lower grades the umpires credibility is not the same as it would be for an A,B & C grades. Too many AFL rules changes has had an effect on what the umpires think is legal and illegal.
We do need a tribunal system as it saftey net and i think the VAFA do a pretty good job of it.
The player does definatley stand a chance and i would argue a case if i believe i had nothing to answer for in relation to an on field incident
kekavich from the saints is signing out on this forum he believes in action and not speculation. Good luck to all that posts threads and dont take everything as gospel. Sausage you are a wanted man at the saints i dare you in time to reveal yourself. Go Saints and good luck all
Welcome back mate
Well this may be the first time in big footy history but hear goes. "i was wrong". I didnt think the saints would get within 40 points of the turtles but was pleasently surprised. Still have a few concerns re the forward line but happy to be proven wrong again.
Coach Hollywood
8 May 2007, 11:55
Well this may be the first time in big footy history but hear goes. "i was wrong". I didnt think the saints would get within 40 points of the turtles but was pleasently surprised. Still have a few concerns re the forward line but happy to be proven wrong again.
Saints played there ground alot better than we did & don't worry about trying to stop Pappaluca, No 21 was the guy that did all the damage around the clearances he's the man you'll need to stop on the small saints ground. Other than that a good game played by both teams and looking forward to getting our revenge at the Turtle dome round 14.
what an animal
8 May 2007, 12:03
Fair point guru however seeing last half of the game i was impressed with St Marys young full fwd, only issue is his accuracy. I was talking with a couple of there supporters who mentioned there actual full fwd is yet to play and was a late withdrawal on the weekend.
Having said that i think the Gerrard (Eltham) is the pick of full fwd's in the grade and having such fire power does go along way especially on Eltham's bigger ground.
Sherrin_it_around
8 May 2007, 12:04
Lets not forget i was a bit wet on saturday we all know how much the turtles hate the wet!!!!! Also its good to see a few more famialaur names kicking around in the magoos at bulleen. From what i hear there is not much experance down there at the moment and few of those older guys might be able to show the young kids a little so they can become competative again.
Saints played there ground alot better than we did & don't worry about trying to stop Pappaluca, No 21 was the guy that did all the damage around the clearances he's the man you'll need to stop on the small saints ground. Other than that a good game played by both teams and looking forward to getting our revenge at the Turtle dome round 14.
I believe 21 is Shane Murphy. I think he is an inclusion to Saints fold this year.
St Marys always were good at the clearances. Their incredible will to win is at it's height when playing at home. No disgrace to be picked off by them there any year.
Sausage roll
8 May 2007, 14:10
I believe 21 is Shane Murphy. I think he is an inclusion to Saints fold this year.
St Marys always were good at the clearances. Their incredible will to win is at it's height when playing at home. No disgrace to be picked off by them there any year.
If you weren't worried about Papa, why the heavy tag?
walshy 4
8 May 2007, 16:12
Fair point guru however seeing last half of the game i was impressed with St Marys young full fwd, only issue is his accuracy. I was talking with a couple of there supporters who mentioned there actual full fwd is yet to play and was a late withdrawal on the weekend.
Having said that i think the Gerrard (Eltham) is the pick of full fwd's in the grade and having such fire power does go along way especially on Eltham's bigger ground.
whats going on champ
I would have to disagree that the VAFA tribunal is a kangaroo court.
Most of the tribunal panel are well educated lawyers ,judges and upstanding citizens in our community. If you have done the wrong thing then maybe you need to spend a couple of weeks out. In over 200 games in the amateurs i have been reported four times and contested the charge and never been found guilty of an offence. I have however taken a prescribed two week penalty once.
I believe in the lower grades the umpires credibility is not the same as it would be for an A,B & C grades. Too many AFL rules changes has had an effect on what the umpires think is legal and illegal.
We do need a tribunal system as it saftey net and i think the VAFA do a pretty good job of it.
The player does definatley stand a chance and i would argue a case if i believe i had nothing to answer for in relation to an on field incident
:cool:Many of the "lower grade" umpires were A,B or C grade umpires:mad:,every umpires evidence and ever players evidence is taken on merit and in my many years the tribunal deliberate very fairly doing what is an extremely difficult job,no cameras from 5 angles in the ammos;Umps call em as they see em,I would love to say more but am hamstrung.Yes Keka,you touched a nerve with that "credibility" crack:rolleyes:
callitasitiz
8 May 2007, 17:59
:cool:Many of the "lower grade" umpires were A,B or C grade umpires:mad:,every umpires evidence and ever players evidence is taken on merit and in my many years the tribunal deliberate very fairly doing what is an extremely difficult job,no cameras from 5 angles in the ammos;Umps call em as they see em,I would love to say more but am hamstrung.Yes Keka,you touched a nerve with that "credibility" crack:rolleyes:
My bro nellup calling it as it iz. As was a quality matchup on Saturday with the Sainters fighting strongly for a great win. Take nothing away from the Turtles who may be better served on their own more spacious home.
Apart from these top 2 are there any contenders or pretenders?
If you weren't worried about Papa, why the heavy tag?
You seemed to have directed this question at me Saus. That is the inference made by quoting my post.
Given that I was working in a canteen at another ground last Saturday, I am probably not the best person to answer your question. But let's get out there anyway.
Why is Cookson tagged?
Why is M. Viola tagged?
Why is Odza tagged?
I could go through all, but a few less common, teams in this competition, naming one and sometimes more players who get tagged week in week out.
Why? Because they are potential match winners for their teams. And if you shut them out of the game your team's chances of winning increase.
Far from being scared of Papaluca, most coaches are dealing with a stream of requests from players to play on him. None of these players fear him. None of them intend to physically harm him. They want the chance to test themselves against a quality player.
Oppositions are not angry towards him. They are respectful, and most acknowledge that good players from higher grades in VAFA, like good players from other leagues, joining D4 add to the level of interest and standard of play.
For the majority of contributors to this thread, the aim is some friendly banter, a bit of tyre pumping and the chance to create a good flow of general information about our competition. We endeavour to fill in the huge spaces left by Ed Sill's weekly report in the Ammo.
I fear your reasons for being on this thread may be a tad different to that. I hope I am wrong and you become a valued contributor to this thread.
You seemed to have directed this question at me Saus. That is the inference made by quoting my post.
Given that I was working in a canteen at another ground last Saturday, I am probably not the best person to answer your question. But let's get out there anyway.
Why is Cookson tagged?
Why is M. Viola tagged?
Why is Odza tagged?
I could go through all, but a few less common, teams in this competition, naming one and sometimes more players who get tagged week in week out.
Why? Because they are potential match winners for their teams. And if you shut them out of the game your team's chances of winning increase.
Far from being scared of Papaluca, most coaches are dealing with a stream of requests from players to play on him. None of these players fear him. None of them intend to physically harm him. They want the chance to test themselves against a quality player.
Oppositions are not angry towards him. They are respectful, and most acknowledge that good players from higher grades in VAFA, like good players from other leagues, joining D4 add to the level of interest and standard of play.
For the majority of contributors to this thread, the aim is some friendly banter, a bit of tyre pumping and the chance to create a good flow of general information about our competition. We endeavour to fill in the huge spaces left by Ed Sill's weekly report in the Ammo.
I fear your reasons for being on this thread may be a tad different to that. I hope I am wrong and you become a valued contributor to this thread.
:thumbsu:IF YOU CONTEST AGAINST THE BEST,IT'S A REAL TEST:cool:
Old Bullman
8 May 2007, 22:27
sounds like you are after a gig as a scribe spymaster?
Sausage roll
8 May 2007, 23:45
Why is Cookson tagged?
Why is M. Viola tagged?
Why is Odza tagged?
Phew, I need a stiff drink after that one! So exactly what are my motives, Mr Mind Reader?
Saints to pump Bulleen by 100 points this week!
what an animal
9 May 2007, 10:16
Totally agree with you spy1.
Its great for D4 to have these quality players coming down to play. If u look across the board most clubs have a few players that have played quality footy previously, eg Blagrove (Eltham), Whyte (Uni High). Guys like the challenge of playing against them and also respect watching them play.
It was great seeing Blagrove for Eltham and Pappaluca for St Marys on the weekend battle it out against there oppenents. I thought both there opponents did exceptional jobs for the respective teams. Blagrove had minimal impact and was held by no's 28 (P.Murphy) and 15 (M.Purcell) I think in last half after starring in first half.
Why is Cookson tagged?
Why is M. Viola tagged?
Why is Odza tagged?
Sherrin_it_around
9 May 2007, 10:46
Phew, I need a stiff drink after that one! So exactly what are my motives, Mr Mind Reader?
Saints to pump Bulleen by 100 points this week!
Gee your really going out on a limb this week!!!!!!
catscratches
9 May 2007, 12:04
UHS by 7 goals over North Brunnie
BHN by 1 goal over Albert Park
Eltham by 15 goals over Mt Lilydale
Syndal at home by 1 goal over South Mornington
St Marys by 20 goals over Bulleen
Richmond Central at home by 1 goal over Eley Park
21 is actually Anthony Murphy, spy1. i think he was captain of st kevin's XVII in 2006. what position did he play on the weekend?
what an animal
9 May 2007, 14:08
Alb Park 20pts over BHN
Eltham 51pts over Lilydale
Sth Morn 22pts over Syndal
St Marys 75pts over Bulleen
E/Park 33pt over Rich Central
Uni High 57pts over Nth Bwick
21 is actually Anthony Murphy, spy1. i think he was captain of st kevin's XVII in 2006. what position did he play on the weekend?
Only know what I've read here. Sounds like he may have had a run with role on The Eltham co-coach for the 2nd half of the game. Sounds like another good young player though.:thumbsu:
Alb Park 20pts over BHN
BHN by 60pts
Sth Morn by 7
St Marys by 135
Rich Central by 14
Uni High by 32
Eltham by 10
mrposession
10 May 2007, 01:16
who are the leadership groups at all clubs in d4 this year?
knackers_2
10 May 2007, 09:04
Alb Park 20pts over BHN
Spot on
Old Bullman
10 May 2007, 17:37
So Spy, have you applied for the Scribe job yet?
Old Bullman
10 May 2007, 17:44
Box Hill Just
Eltham by plenty
Syndal to confound the critics
St Marys by heaps (bring back Max McColl)
Eley Park just
Uni high to keep running
Ok lads , as I'm pretty new to this thread I want to ask a few genuine questions - I'm definitely not intending to sound like a smart a$$ so don't take offence, just trying to find out a few things I may have missed:
1. Everyone is talking about Papluca - if he is so good why is he playing D4? surely if he's a 'young kid' trying to make it he should play a higher grade rather than being a big fish in D4 (that willl get targeted- lets face it). Sure its interesting for us to play against good players - but comon man- 40 kicks in D4 doesn't make you a great footballer.
2. Very surprised plenty of blokes tipped Eley Park to beat BHN last week. Why? BHN are very good and Eley Park were fairly ordinary last year. Have they recruited terrifically well - or has everyone forgotten that BHN would have beaten the eventual premier in the semi if they'd kicked straight.
3. What has happenend at Bulleen?
Ok lads , as I'm pretty new to this thread I want to ask a few genuine questions - I'm definitely not intending to sound like a smart a$$ so don't take offence, just trying to find out a few things I may have missed:
1. Everyone is talking about Papluca - if he is so good why is he playing D4? surely if he's a 'young kid' trying to make it he should play a higher grade rather than being a big fish in D4 (that willl get targeted- lets face it). Sure its interesting for us to play against good players - but comon man- 40 kicks in D4 doesn't make you a great footballer.
2. Very surprised plenty of blokes tipped Eley Park to beat BHN last week. Why? BHN are very good and Eley Park were fairly ordinary last year. Have they recruited terrifically well - or has everyone forgotten that BHN would have beaten the eventual premier in the semi if they'd kicked straight.
Funny you should ask. Word is 3 time best and fairest winner Ben Cookson walked out on Bulleen this week. Times are tough.
Coach Hollywood
11 May 2007, 10:23
My Tips Round 3- Eltham, St Marys, Eley Park, UHS-VU, South Mornington, BHN.
port-man_fc
11 May 2007, 11:16
My tips
BHN will win by 35+points
Eltham by 25+ points
Syndal by 10 points
St Marys by 85+ points
Eley Park by 25 points
UHS-VU by 20 points
what an animal
11 May 2007, 11:28
Ozza the talk on Papaluca has been and gone.
Watching last week Vs Eltham he is ok, not a stand out. There are plenty better players in the grade.
Why dont people talk about the Blagroves and Whyte's (who have played VFL footy and been on AFL lists)??
As for Bulleen, rumuor has it a few senior players have left hence the downfall with them.
port-man_fc
11 May 2007, 11:55
Dont no how much i can trust Spy2's word as yet but - If Cookson has gone Bulleen will struggle to win a game, he is the only player in there side that can win matches, he is a very good D4 footballer, hes soft as, but still wins games of footy....
After this weeks games it will give a good idea were sides are at....
Dont no how much i can trust Spy2's word as yet but - If Cookson has gone Bulleen will struggle to win a game, he is the only player in there side that can win matches, he is a very good D4 footballer, hes soft as, but still wins games of footy....
After this weeks games it will give a good idea were sides are at....
Spy2's words can be taken as gospel. He is the new improved rumour king. Only have one at the moment and that was it.
St Marys by 40 goals. You heard it here first.
Imitation is the finest form of flattery.
gazbats
11 May 2007, 16:44
BHN over ALB Park by 43 points
Eltham 18pts over Lilydale
Sth Morn 37pts over Syndal
St Marys 52pts over Bulleen
E/Park 3pt over Rich Central
North Brunswick 27pts to pip UNIVU
you get me?
For those in the thread that don't already know,Ken Brewer,Vafa umpire past away last week at the age of 53,suddenly of a heart attack,Ken's last game was in D4 Round 1 UHS vs Syndal,I attended his funeral on Thursday and would like to thank the many players who attended,he will be sadly missed.
Umpires will be wearing black armbands in Saturday's round as a mark of respect to Ken [Muscle's]
For those in the thread that don't already know,Ken Brewer,Vafa umpire past away last week at the age of 53,suddenly of a heart attack,Ken's last game was in D4 Round 1 UHS vs Syndal,I attended his funeral on Thursday and would like to thank the many players who attended,he will be sadly missed.
Umpires will be wearing black armbands in Saturday's round as a mark of respect to Ken [Muscle's]
Terrible to hear that mate. We all bag umps from time to time, but Ken will be a big loss to the VAFA.
I'm sure all hear wish his family and friends all the strength needed to deal with their grief.
bringthebiffback
11 May 2007, 17:46
BHN over Albert Park by 9 goals
Eltham over Lilydale by 12 goals
Sth Morn over Syndal 6 goals
St Marys over Bulleen 15 goals
Elly Park over Rich Central 3 goals
North Brunswick over UNIVU 4 goals
Went and wached BHN last week, have some very strong bodies and look like when they're switched they'll provide some great competition to st marys and eltham
Good luck guys
Sorry to hear of the passing of an umpire, without them the game wouldnt be the same so hopefuly everyone bits there touges this week when back answeing an umpire is sign of respect.
Yes.. All the best to the family, and all the best to the umpires this weekend. Its a job that few of us would take on...
Good luck everyone, hope there aren't any injuries this week.
To Eley Park...Bring it! We're going to be fired up!!
Saints by 167 points and Mark Purcell to have a blinder! (9 goals from the wing)
BHN over Albert Park by 10 points (Albert Park will only get better with players to come back)
Eltham over Lilydale by 15 goals
Sth Morn over Syndal 5 goals
St Marys over Bulleen 20 goals (possibly more if Cookson really has left this week)
Eley Park over Rich Central 2 goals
North Brunswick over UNIVU 11 points (Gazbats to be BOG again).
Ace High
12 May 2007, 19:39
[quote=OZZA;7505151]St Marys over Bulleen 20 goals (possibly more if Cookson really has left this week)[quote]
no sign of cookson on their team list, ur prediction wasn't far off with the margin either.
BHN over Albert Park by 10 points (Albert Park will only get better with players to come back)
Eltham over Lilydale by 15 goals
Sth Morn over Syndal 5 goals
St Marys over Bulleen 20 goals (possibly more if Cookson really has left this week)
Eley Park over Rich Central 2 goals
North Brunswick over UNIVU 11 points (Gazbats to be BOG again).
Who have Albert park recruited this year????.
3 In A Row Spy1,probably Getting Cocky Now;),next Week Will Tell The Tale;
Bhnth By 5 Points Over St,mary's For Me,and The Aftermatch Will Be A Llllllllong Affair.
Haven't Seen You This Year,my Services Have Been In The Lofty Heights Of D3 And Also D4,cream Always Rises To The Top:
Another big win for the Centrals!!
Undefeated at home and getting better every week, things are looking good down at KB reserve :)
Another big win for the Centrals!!
Undefeated at home and getting better every week, things are looking good down at KB reserve :)
:thumbsu:told you there was light at the end of the tunnel waz:thumbsu:
Too true. Everything is running well at the moment and the vibe is really fun.
bowman11
13 May 2007, 22:20
Too true. Everything is running well at the moment and the vibe is really fun.
Well done Boys - Eley Park looked the goods on paper? Are they more of an even team or do they rely on a few stars??? Where did they fall down?
Who will be the R C Tigers next victim??
the_unit
13 May 2007, 22:23
good to see the turtles smash a bottom 4 side side again....when are they going 2 beat a contender...it doesnt matter they will choke in september anyway
Well done Boys - Eley Park looked the goods on paper? Are they more of an even team or do they rely on a few stars??? Where did they fall down?
Who will be the R C Tigers next victim??
Eley Park seemed to be pretty consistant around the ground, but they looked underdone, probably because they don't have a ground to play or train on this season.
BTW, we aren't the Tigers, we're the Snakes! Watch out Albert Park.
catscratches
14 May 2007, 11:59
Pretty close, although South Mornington threw a spanner in for me this week.
A running South Mornington by 10 goals over North Brunnie
Eltham to exploit their home ground advantage by 6 goals over UHS
St Marys to show their muscle by 4 goals over BHN
Mt Lilydale to get their first win in D4 by 8 goals over Bulleen
Albert Park by 2 goals over an improving Richmond
Eley Park to rebound with a 3 goal win over Syndal
ItchyFeet
14 May 2007, 13:44
Eley Park seemed to be pretty consistant around the ground, but they looked underdone, probably because they don't have a ground to play or train on this season.
BTW, we aren't the Tigers, we're the Snakes! Watch out Albert Park.
Don't sell yourself short Bigwaz! Eley Park did thump Bulleen and only lose by about 30+ pts to a rampant BHN in rd2.
My tips
Sth Morn by 50pts over Bruns
Elth by 30pts at home agianst UHS
BHN in an upset by 5pts over St Marys
MTL by 10 goals over Bullen
Rch by 2 goals over Alb Pk in another upset
Synd by 5 goals over El Pk
Having played both NB and Sth Morn, I reckon they are well matched. Plenty of small fast movers. That said, it's a tough road trip down there... Sth by 5 goals.
UHS must be in great form. They could win, but once again the home field advantage should be enough for Eltham to get over the top.
Unfortunately for BHN, St Marys also plays on a tiny ground so they'll be used to it. St Marys by 3 goals.
Haven't seen either Bulleen or Mt Lily, but would hazzard a guess that Bulleen will struggle.
Sydnal and Eley Park could fight out a draw on Current form.
Richmond v Albert Park... too close to call.
Ruck Machine
14 May 2007, 15:41
South Mornington by 5 Goals over Nth Brunswick
Ryan to be the difference with 5 Goals.
Eltham by 10 Goals over UHS.
Gerrard Snr to return with 6 goals in an entertaining affair.
Mt Lilydale by 14 Goals over Bulleen
No Cookson spells bad news for the Cobras.
Albert Park by 8 Goals over Richmond.
Bennett to clean up around the stoppages.
Eley Park by 3 Goals over Syndal.
M. Viola to star with D. Viola kicking 4
Match of the Round: St Mary's vs Box Hill North
I'm going for the upset BHN by 10 Points in a brutal contest. Penny and Papaluca are they keys.
what an animal
14 May 2007, 16:55
Sth Morn by 75pts over NthBwick
Eltham by 48pts over Uni High
Mt LIlydale by 70pts over Bulleen
Alb Park by 34pts over Rich
E/Park by 22 pts over Syndal
St Mary's by 33pts over Box Hill.
South Mornington by 5 Goals over Nth Brunswick
Ryan to be the difference with 5 Goals.
Eltham by 10 Goals over UHS.
Gerrard Snr to return with 6 goals in an entertaining affair.
Mt Lilydale by 14 Goals over Bulleen
No Cookson spells bad news for the Cobras.
Albert Park by 8 Goals over Richmond.
Bennett to clean up around the stoppages.
Eley Park by 3 Goals over Syndal.
M. Viola to star with D. Viola kicking 4
Match of the Round: St Mary's vs Box Hill North
I'm going for the upset BHN by 10 Points in a brutal contest. Penny and Papaluca are they keys.
Noticed your on line Bigwaz.
Well done on number 2 mate. All real footy people are rapt to see you guys turning round and getting reward for hard work.