View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
Lakey11
27 Jun 2007, 18:21
Betting most at Box Hill North are aware of how keyed up for this game Richmond will be, and will lift accordingly.
Sound comment and very true, but I would like to think any team is keyed up for any game they play on any given day.....
More than anything I hope the game is close, played in good spirits and everyone steps up for the day. Should be a pearler!
Ofcourse I hope the Centrals get up in both grades and regardless of who or where we play, thats what we always hope to acheive!
Flowerpower
27 Jun 2007, 18:23
Do BHN think the problem has been with there fitness do they? I would have thought they just needed to be first in for the footy & try to find that desire to win again?? I still can't tip this one at the moment????
I may need to toss a coin come friday??? BHN "should" win really.
Saw BHN beat an "undefeated" Eltham outfit in the rain last year. They were first to the pill that day, and if their squad hasn't changed why the poor performances?
Don't write them off but they are pushing sh*t uphill !!!!!!!
Ruck Machine
27 Jun 2007, 18:24
Rumour has it that Richmond are expecting an enormous crowd at Punt Road.
Can anyone of the RC lads confirm this?
Lakey11
27 Jun 2007, 18:36
I think that they(BHN) may have expected to keep improving without working hard for it when they run out to play. They have a very good fitnees coach who got them super fit over the preseason and is now back running training on Tuesdays.
There have been some personal things, not conflict, that may have effected some. The whole club was wandering around in a fog for several weeks. They appear to be regathering themselves in recent weeks. There is a sign that the spirit is growing again. There is a lot of store being put in a new recruit who started in the 2s last week. Like all teams, at times, they were hampered by injury to key players. The captain has been playing with a dodgy ankle and last season's B&F just came back from 4 weeks out.
I know they still are very confident of making the finals. They only play one of the top 3 in the run home. All the other teams fighting for the spot play 3 and even 4 games against the top 3 in the last 9 games. It is their (BHN) percentage that is a big worry, even if they do find form.
Iam not predicting they will make it, but I still say it will only take 11 wins to get fourth spot. 10 wins and best % may even do it. If you want to see how I work this out go look at my posts from a few pages back. The run in for Mt Lilydale, BH, A.Park and Sth Morn. are all posted.
As for this week.
I'm backing the bar being open from 2pm at the game will be the big winner.
Finally, a good reason to play ressies!
(Pity the VAFA is only letting us drink Mid-Strength until after the seniors!!!.......Nothing a hip flask of stones won't fix!)
Rumour has it that Richmond are expecting an enormous crowd at Punt Road.
Can anyone of the RC lads confirm this?
as this game celebrates our 20th anniversary, we'll have heaps of old faces there from the previous 20 years. also we have our ball and auction night at the social club after the game. so yes a huge crowd should be in attendance, and yes the bar is going to get a hammering (but under the conditions set down by VAFA)
go centrals
Tips for Round 10:
Eltham over North Brunswick by alot.
3rd v 4th at Parkville. I think UHS-VU will win this one.
South Mornington too good for Mount Lilydale.
Saint Marys also too good for Eley Park.
Bulleen to go two in a row against the cigarette papers.
And for that special match at Punt Road, Richmond to prevail over Box Hill North.
Hopefully this time I will get all 6, not like last week's effort of picking a draw...
huru
Do BHN think the problem has been with there fitness do they? I would have thought they just needed to be first in for the footy & try to find that desire to win again?? I still can't tip this one at the moment????
I may need to toss a coin come friday??? BHN "should" win really.
G'day Holly. No, they don't think fitness is the problem. That is a strength they want to keep pushing on with. It is obvious to most, that they at times have just been lacking intensity at the ball.
It peaked against Nth Brunswick when they were playing as if someone put vallium in the water bottles. Like I said before; the last 2 weeks have seen an improvement in their desire. But, as some have said, the damage may already be done.
And yes Machine, the full back who made the team of the year has found form. Fair dues though, he was carrying a back injury for the first 7 weeks or so.
Eltham over Nth Bwick 72pts
Uni High over Albert Park 48pts
Mt Lilydale over Sth Mornington 30pts
St Marys over Eley park 120pts
Bulleen over Syndal 3pts
Box Hill over Richmond 84pts
You tip your own team by 12 goals? Karma.
I think that they(BHN) may have expected to keep improving without working hard for it when they run out to play. They have a very good fitnees coach who got them super fit over the preseason and is now back running training on Tuesdays.
There have been some personal things, not conflict, that may have effected some. The whole club was wandering around in a fog for several weeks. They appear to be regathering themselves in recent weeks. There is a sign that the spirit is growing again. There is a lot of store being put in a new recruit who started in the 2s last week. Like all teams, at times, they were hampered by injury to key players. The captain has been playing with a dodgy ankle and last season's B&F just came back from 4 weeks out.
I know they still are very confident of making the finals. They only play one of the top 3 in the run home. All the other teams fighting for the spot play 3 and even 4 games against the top 3 in the last 9 games. It is their (BHN) percentage that is a big worry, even if they do find form.
Iam not predicting they will make it, but I still say it will only take 11 wins to get fourth spot. 10 wins and best % may even do it. If you want to see how I work this out go look at my posts from a few pages back. The run in for Mt Lilydale, BH, A.Park and Sth Morn. are all posted.
As for this week.
I'm backing the bar being open from 2pm at the game will be the big winner.
Definately... but dont expect the teams below you to be easy beats... Richmond more than held their own against Lilies, A Park and Sth Morn.
How many spectators should we bring beer for on saturday? We have no idea how many people will show up after 2pm... anywhere from 100 - 500 people???
Ruck Machine
28 Jun 2007, 10:53
You tip your own team by 12 goals? Karma.
I'll be tipping BHN to beat Syndal by a similar amount so BHN % is 100 by Round 12.
That is the only reason I tipped that margin.
By the way I don't believe in Karma.
what an animal
28 Jun 2007, 10:59
Heard a rumour that Centrals have 3 recently retired AFL players playing this weekend for the match at Punt Rd? One name G. Stafford?
Can anyone confirm this?
Heard a rumour that Centrals have 3 recently retired AFL players playing this weekend for the match at Punt Rd? One name G. Stafford?
Can anyone confirm this?
Staff is primed and ready to go, clearance will be through by friday. As for the other two, you will just have to get down and see who they are!
Ruck Machine
28 Jun 2007, 11:09
Can anyone confirm this?
I can't wait for the challenge.
what an animal
28 Jun 2007, 11:19
Staff is primed and ready to go, clearance will be through by friday. As for the other two, you will just have to get down and see who they are!
nice reply:)
Definately... but dont expect the teams below you to be easy beats... Richmond more than held their own against Lilies, A Park and Sth Morn.
How many spectators should we bring beer for on saturday? We have no idea how many people will show up after 2pm... anywhere from 100 - 500 people???
No team can feel 100% safe in any game in D4. And that is a fantastic thing for the clubs involved. Yes you may see the odd blowout, but that is more to do with situations on that day. Uni's 10 goal win over BH does not show that BH were coming hard with 15 minutes to go and still were right in the game. Wasted opportunities and a good goal to Uni was a body blow to their enthusiasm. Suddenly a close fought match is a blow out in junk time.
Eley Park get murdered by 199 pts. This does not mean they can't push any team if they get their full squad back in action. When fully loaded they are dangerous and attacking side.
Unpredictability makes for a good spectacle. And I think most heading to Punt Rd this SAturday would be feeling just like Holly. With no firm belief as to who will come out on top. I think it was Lakey that said a good close contest was what he hoped for. And that would be good for both clubs and other clubs in D4. People who may not be regular attendees to these games will be more moved to venture down to their local teams more often.
Is there any chance you will get to strut your stuff in front of the big crowd this week Nelly? Never got to ask; how did you find your partner the other week. Did he live up to my glowing endorsements? Are you two likely to become an item and be paired for a while?
Coach Hollywood
28 Jun 2007, 12:12
No team can feel 100% safe in any game in D4. And that is a fantastic thing for the clubs involved. Yes you may see the odd blowout, but that is more to do with situations on that day. Uni's 10 goal win over BH does not show that BH were coming hard with 15 minutes to go and still were right in the game. Wasted opportunities and a good goal to Uni was a body blow to their enthusiasm. Suddenly a close fought match is a blow out in junk time.
Eley Park get murdered by 199 pts. This does not mean they can't push any team if they get their full squad back in action. When fully loaded they are dangerous and attacking side.
Unpredictability makes for a good spectacle. And I think most heading to Punt Rd this SAturday would be feeling just like Holly. With no firm belief as to who will come out on top. I think it was Lakey that said a good close contest was what he hoped for. And that would be good for both clubs and other clubs in D4. People who may not be regular attendees to these games will be more moved to venture down to their local teams more often.
Is there any chance you will get to strut your stuff in front of the big crowd this week Nelly? Never got to ask; how did you find your partner the other week. Did he live up to my glowing endorsements? Are you two likely to become an item and be paired for a while?
Spy, Nellup & Patty were in good form on saturday at the turtle dome. very impressed!
Ta Holly, Nell can have his good days, as long as you listen to the voice and don't look at those knobbly knees. The sooner the VAFA umpires bring in shorts like Nadal's tennis shorts the better. Thank yourself lucky you didn't have to wake up and see those for 10 days in a row in a foriegn country like this writer.
Sorry Nelly, yes I know I snore in 3 part harmony and people in glass houses and all that.
Ta Holly, Nell can have his good days, as long as you listen to the voice and don't look at those knobbly knees. The sooner the VAFA umpires bring in shorts like Nadal's tennis shorts the better. Thank yourself lucky you didn't have to wake up and see those for 10 days in a row in a foriegn country like this writer.
Sorry Nelly, yes I know I snore in 3 part harmony and people in glass houses and all that.
I am going to steal someone else's line here, but I did tell them i would. And I figure Nelly won't be near a computer for hours. At work till late arvo and then down at training with the 'Wiggy Wonder'.
Anyway, if you look closely you'll see Nelly writes his 2 golden rules on his whistle hand before venturing to the middle.
Rule 1 "I am never wrong."
Rule 2 "If ever doubting your decision.. see rule one."
Seriously though. I have never seen him make a wrong call.
Come to think of it I don't think I've seen him make a call.
I think I'll stop slandering him now b4 it gets to late to repair the damage with free beer and cigareete papers.
Sausage roll
28 Jun 2007, 14:43
It will be very interesting to see how the Sainters go without the mighty Papa for a few weeks.
Won't help his state chances either.
Ruck Machine
28 Jun 2007, 14:51
I am going to steal someone else's line here, but I did tell them i would. And I figure Nelly won't be near a computer for hours. At work till late arvo and then down at training with the 'Wiggy Wonder'.
Anyway, if you look closely you'll see Nelly writes his 2 golden rules on his whistle hand before venturing to the middle.
I think I'll stop slandering him now b4 it gets to late to repair the damage with free beer and cigareete papers.
I wasn't aware that there was a Rule 2.
vegemite
28 Jun 2007, 15:45
It will be very interesting to see how the Sainters go without the mighty Papa for a few weeks.
What's he done - a heart muscle??? Or are you going away on an intimate holiday together are you Saus.
what an animal
28 Jun 2007, 15:58
Im sure you will make him better s/roll.
Just shows your not a st marys person as i know for a fact he is ok and playing this weekend and Im not even from down there!
Caught you!!!! Spy,just got back from working in the bush so not in my normal routine.
Thank god your better half will be going international this year,she can have the pleasure of rooming with you.
Thanks for the feed back Coach,but at least 1 player didn't think so:cool:
And Spy; I always have a good day:D,as for punt road,pigs might fly,I'm tipping 2 A graders for this venue,so watch your p's and q's fellars.
Lakey11
28 Jun 2007, 17:19
Caught you!!!! Spy,just got back from working in the bush so not in my normal routine.
Thank god your better half will be going international this year,she can have the pleasure of rooming with you.
And Spy; I always have a good day:D,as for punt road,pigs might fly,I'm tipping 2 A graders for this venue,so watch your p's and q's fellars.
Thanks for the tip Nellup....
I am sure the whole event will be under the microscope........
Will be a great day and hopefully and annual fixture.
BrianSpeaking
28 Jun 2007, 17:23
What's he done - a heart muscle??? Or are you going away on an intimate holiday together are you Saus.
I'd take the S off Saus and change it to T as in Taus...
[quote=nellup;7951740]Caught you!!!! Spy,just got back from working in the bush so not in my normal routine.
Don't worry mate. Heard the lesser number 11 was joining us again, so he and his Marlboroughs have been allocated to your room. Plenty of time to talk over old times.
Can you red card someone from a hotel room?
Sausage roll, we all know your from St.Kevens so p**s off to your own forum. But moving right along there are a few injuries down at the sainters to a number of key players so it will be interesting to see how we go this week and should be a good game in the twos with both teams starting to find some form. How are other clubs going on the injury front, I know that Uni and Albert Park have had there fair share whats the word at other clubs?
I don't think any team is immune to them.
We've had 10 hamstring injuries this season... seems we always have at least two guys missing each week with a hammy...
Sausage roll
29 Jun 2007, 10:28
Im sure you will make him better s/roll.
Just shows your not a st marys person as i know for a fact he is ok and playing this weekend and Im not even from down there!
Still stand by your strong stand here??
Repeat, Papa injured and wont play till after the break.
Ruck Machine
29 Jun 2007, 10:41
What's Little Pappy's injury?
what an animal
29 Jun 2007, 10:46
credit where is credit is due s/roll.
i have heard this morn he is out. ankle.
[quote=nellup;7951740]Caught you!!!! Spy,just got back from working in the bush so not in my normal routine.
Don't worry mate. Heard the lesser number 11 was joining us again, so he and his Marlboroughs have been allocated to your room. Plenty of time to talk over old times.
Can you red card someone from a hotel room?
I can red card anyone,anywhere,anytime:D
Good luck to snakes and bhn on sat.at the big venue,have a great day,sorry I won't be there:mad:
And my prediction was wrong so relax.
keep_I_on_spy1
29 Jun 2007, 11:30
Hey ruck machine any chance you may move up the ground in the coming weeks to play in the ruck? Being the machine you are.
Coach Hollywood
29 Jun 2007, 11:39
credit where is credit is due s/roll.
i have heard this morn he is out. ankle.
What credit Animal? Last time I checked there was no break? So does that mean he'll return next season???
Ruck Machine
29 Jun 2007, 11:54
Hey ruck machine any chance you may move up the ground in the coming weeks to play in the ruck? Being the machine you are.
Only if we're losing in the ruck!
Hey Nellup... I'm interested to hear your opinion on the thread I started about the white uniforms and the umps uniforms... Get on it!
gazbats
29 Jun 2007, 13:24
i dreamt about you last night Coach Hollywood. It was lovely until you kicked your 12th on me. ;)
Ruck Machine
29 Jun 2007, 15:08
i dreamt about you last night Coach Hollywood. It was lovely until you kicked your 12th on me. ;)
Don't worry he got 5 on me.
I think Venables is the best forward I've played on that is currently in D4.
Coach Hollywood
29 Jun 2007, 15:26
Flattered Gazbats, yet also disturbed.....:confused::eek:
Maybe it's time to look out the window and see if there is shadowy figure with a laptop lurking Holly.:D
Hey Nelly, so if not A grade who got the show gig down at Punt Rd?
Coach Hollywood
29 Jun 2007, 16:47
Maybe it's time to look out the window and see if there is shadowy figure with a laptop lurking Holly.:D
There are some shady characters lurking the city here actually Spy??
I'm not too far from King St though....
I'm going to go with BHN tomorrow, sorry but I think they'll get up.
All the best for a great day & I hope you can knock them off Snakes but tipping BHN!
hitdatarget
29 Jun 2007, 18:21
Would seem that Eltham and Box Hill have had the least out from injury this season.
However, Eltham do have plenty of depth as observed in their magoos efforts to this point.
No upsets seem likely this week with Richmond and Box Hill the tough one to predict.
As with most VAFA people sentiments with Richmond for a big and well deserved victory.
melbdocker
29 Jun 2007, 19:33
the mighty cobras going for 2 in a row we better get up i am just starting to get the words to the song!
hey sixty5 yeah the stats are going ok did u see me rucking last night at training ur posi could be under serious threat mate, oh one more clue next time we when put ur phone on silent b4 u go to bed
Hey Nelly, so if not A grade who got the show gig down at Punt Rd?
2 regular D4 umps:
the mighty cobras going for 2 in a row we better get up i am just starting to get the words to the song!
hey sixty5 yeah the stats are going ok did u see me rucking last night at training ur posi could be under serious threat mate, oh one more clue next time we when put ur phone on silent b4 u go to bed
nah sorry didnt see ur RUCKING...
shame really, would've liked to be taught by the best.
my fone is always on for yus baby..
huru
I only made it for the second half of the reserves game between Bulleen and the cigarette papers. Tis a shame really, would've been good to go two wins in a row for the reserves.
The seniors lead all day, but to no avail, eventually losing by 5 points. Congratulations to the cigarette papers for snatching victory from the jaws of defeat, and a special mention goes out the lack of competent umpiring today. What was observed today was pretty woefull me thinks.
If this gets me into trouble, I don't particularly care, the umpires today need to go to the Royal Eye and Ear Hospital to have their eyes checked (considering they probably have a combined age of about 400 years). Either be consistant or don't umpire at all.
huru
I only made it for the second half of the reserves game between Bulleen and the cigarette papers. Tis a shame really, would've been good to go two wins in a row for the reserves.
The seniors lead all day, but to no avail, eventually losing by 5 points. Congratulations to the cigarette papers for snatching victory from the jaws of defeat, and a special mention goes out the lack of competent umpiring today. What was observed today was pretty woefull me thinks.
If this gets me into trouble, I don't particularly care, the umpires today need to go to the Royal Eye and Ear Hospital to have their eyes checked (considering they probably have a combined age of about 400 years). Either be consistant or don't umpire at all.
huru
See the VAFA site is up to it's usual, no scores yet.
Must have been something in the air today for the men in white. The 2 at Punt Rd refused to give a decision, and I would say prior to the last quarter Richmond hardly got a call go their way. It was bad both ways, but amazing how the percieved better team gets the benifit of doubt.
Anyway it was a decent spectacle as both sides had a crack. BH limped over the line by 5 odd goals i think. Similar score line in the ressies as well.
First time I have seen Richmond this year. Definately improved. Keep up the good work Waz, your boys are on the right track for sure.:thumbsu:
Tips for Round 10:
Eltham over North Brunswick by alot.
3rd v 4th at Parkville. I think UHS-VU will win this one.
South Mornington too good for Mount Lilydale.
Saint Marys also too good for Eley Park.
Bulleen to go two in a row against the cigarette papers.
And for that special match at Punt Road, Richmond to prevail over Box Hill North.
Hopefully this time I will get all 6, not like last week's effort of picking a draw...
huru
not happy 3 out 6, bloody sh*t bloody.........
huru
Don't know what they did or didn't see - but being personally tripped, held, pushed in the back, taken in the head and held off the ball over the course of the day, it didn't seem to me like the umpires needed too much help in giving frees...
My comments are made from a spectators perspective. If that's what happened to you on the field yesterday, well, I'm sorry... My comments were not meant to be biased towards Bulleen. The umpiring yesterday was lower than D4 quality. Both sides copped it from the men (if that's what you call them) in white. I just hope that these two men do not umpire games for our clubs again.
huru
Ruck Machine
1 Jul 2007, 13:08
Must have been something in the air today for the men in white. The 2 at Punt Rd refused to give a decision, and I would say prior to the last quarter Richmond hardly got a call go their way. It was bad both ways, but amazing how the percieved better team gets the benifit of doubt.
Anyway it was a decent spectacle as both sides had a crack. BH limped over the line by 5 odd goals i think. Similar score line in the ressies as well.
First time I have seen Richmond this year. Definately improved. Keep up the good work Waz, your boys are on the right track for sure.:thumbsu:
I agree that RC were getting a rough deal.
Umpire consistency is the major issue in D4, especially the interpretation of the holding the ball rule.
We must remember it is D4 and should appreciate that people are willing to take time out of there Saturdays to help us out.
Also when looking at other results from around D4 a 4 goal win isn't too shabby (Eltham over Nth Brunny by 34 and St Mary's over Eley by 38 the largest margin of the round).
I agree that RC were getting a rough deal.
Umpire consistency is the major issue in D4, especially the interpretation of the holding the ball rule.
We must remember it is D4 and should appreciate that people are willing to take time out of there Saturdays to help us out.
Also when looking at other results from around D4 a 5 goal win isn't too shabby (Eltham over Nth Brunny by 34 and St Mary's over Eley by 38 the largest margin of the round).
Fair call, just blinded by frustration...
Agree on the umpiring in the centrals game. The tall guy in particular had a shocker. Hi missed a few very obvious holding the man decisions which would have given the centrals a couple of shots from inside 50 and he also missed a couple of throws from BH right under his nose that from memory resulted in goals in the 3rd quater when the centrals looked like getting back in it. Still its not an easy job and someone has to do it. Having said all that BHN deserved the win. They handled the wet conditions alot better and seemed to have a few more big bodies that got behind the footy.
Wasn't going to buy into these comments about umps, but,I've gotten some compliments here in the past so I guess you have to take the brick bats as well,not me any one is talking about,not my game,but I do know who you are talking about.I get to see appointment sheets.
Sixty5,don't worry about getting into trouble,you are entitled to you're opinion,as is spy1,both are reasonable comments,65 you did tame yours down a bit with subsequent posts and rucky stepped in with moderation.
All umps,just like players,have off days,us above anyone know this, as part of our training is self assesment,and believe it or not we are pretty hard on ourselves,and then there are the observers who watch us and put in reports.
I have been in many rooms after a game as a player and know that players are self critical and will go over their game and that of their mates,umps do this too,we are pretty frank with each other and we learn from this as your running partner for the day is a good person to asses your performance.
Nothing I'de like better than to come off the field and say,"I don't think I stuffed up today",well surprise,surprise,that has never happened.
I'm not making excuses here,we are human,we do stuff up,what I am making a meal of saying is,we try not to,but I say again,we are human.
spy1 you may be correct about there being something in the air on sat.I put in a below par performance at my game and I know it,put myself in for in game assesment with a senior training up,so we will see what comes of that.
Nelly, I will PM you with a bit more detail. In a nutshell; it was one of those games where the umps let a lot go. Sometimes that can really add to the spectacle, and at times this was the case. For me it wasn't bad decisions paid, it was obvious decisions not made. I understand, having had a dabble in the 'Dark Arts' at ressies level, how often a player may obstruct your view. In this case the right call is no call. But there did seem to be a fair amount of times where strong, illegal contact was made and there was no problem with the umpires view.
Now, again, I'm only surmising; the ground was soft and larger than most at this level. Both teams went really furiously for at least the first half. This would have meant a bit of fatigue for the umps. It looks like it was less taxing to wave play on a lot than blow the whistle and run in to control. We also saw a unusual amount of holding the ball as opposed to balling up. Again a lot less effort required to give free than run all the way to the contest and throw it up.
To Richmond and BH's credit there were no major flare ups, just the odd show of strength. But the frustration in the large crowd was often evident. Still, nothing like yelling at an umpire for relieving stress. You should be recieving a kick back from the Heart Foundation for services to the public in the form of mass stress relief. lol.
BTW.
I'm sure the forum appreciates your honesty and there in your ability to educate about the life and stresses faced by our 'friends' in white.
bowman11
2 Jul 2007, 09:34
[quote=bowman11;7918590]
Predictably, not brave enough to make any predictions but wants to pot others!
What do you do Christmas eve? Knock on doors and tell the kids there is no Santa Claus?
Is you "no 9" comment a prediction?? Well sort of but it can't be as that would be putting yourself out there.
Remember, Papa to win comp b and f and Saints to smash your very average team!
Want to have a wager on your Papa selection?
Even his injury yesterday won't matter.
Saus Again you refuse to "have a go & nominate a game" - Surely you have read other posts about your comments. You have declared 3 things so far,
St Marys to win the D4 Premiership undefeated WRONG
Papa to win the D4 B&F - jumped on the bandwagon of a recruit dropping from the top grade to the lowest. What insight! Yet to be proven!
Papa wouldn't play Saturday Correct - wow, earth shattering prediction that many knew. Your comment of "you heard it first from me" - sounds as though you need Big Footy people to pat you on the back b/c you don't get it anywhere else in life!You clearly know very little about D4 footy - Here is another challenge for you to avoid and fail at. Show some courage & nominate a D4 game we can meet at & watch. What about Rich Centrals - Bigwaz could look after us???? Last chance offer closes this week.
How many votes is Papa now?
Is he in front of Number 9 St Marys, C Armstrong?
Who do you think will finish 2nd/3rd in the Comp B & FOver to you ;) Show some courage for the first time in your life & answer the above - If you avoid the above again by trying to deflect the heat by continually to me you will sink even lower in everyone's opinion.
Ruck Machine
2 Jul 2007, 09:45
My Round 10 Tip Results
Eltham over Nth Bwick - Correct
Uni High over Albert Park - Correct
Mt Lilydale over Sth Mornington - Correct
St Marys over Eley park - Correct
Bulleen over Syndal - Wrong
Box Hill over Richmond - Correct
5/6.
ClarencePooCD
2 Jul 2007, 10:30
Nelly, I will PM you with a bit more detail. In a nutshell; it was one of those games where the umps let a lot go. Sometimes that can really add to the spectacle, and at times this was the case. For me it wasn't bad decisions paid, it was obvious decisions not made. I understand, having had a dabble in the 'Dark Arts' at ressies level, how often a player may obstruct your view. In this case the right call is no call. But there did seem to be a fair amount of times where strong, illegal contact was made and there was no problem with the umpires view.
Now, again, I'm only surmising; the ground was soft and larger than most at this level. Both teams went really furiously for at least the first half. This would have meant a bit of fatigue for the umps. It looks like it was less taxing to wave play on a lot than blow the whistle and run in to control. We also saw a unusual amount of holding the ball as opposed to balling up. Again a lot less effort required to give free than run all the way to the contest and throw it up.
To Richmond and BH's credit there were no major flare ups, just the odd show of strength. But the frustration in the large crowd was often evident. Still, nothing like yelling at an umpire for relieving stress. You should be recieving a kick back from the Heart Foundation for services to the public in the form of mass stress relief. lol.
BTW.
I'm sure the forum appreciates your honesty and there in your ability to educate about the life and stresses faced by our 'friends' in white.
Hi All - I'm new to the forum. I was out there rucking in the seniors for the Snakes and I thought the umpiring was ok. The challenge for us as players was the difference in style. Calling holding the ball alot is ok as long as we are all aware that is going to be the M/O for the day. I am a compulsive offender of dragging in the ball and we very very rarely get pulled up for it in D4. Its my feeling that given our general skill level in D4 that you want players trying to pick it up and run with the footy.
That aside - well done to BHN. That match was one of the most enjoyable for me this season, played in pretty good spirits. BHN handling the wet change much better than us Snakes was frustrating. Being my first year with the Snakes I can see week in week out improvement in the little areas dragging us out of matches, and I suspect if we can hold that unit of guys together for the rest of the year that next season we will be a highly competitive outfit.
Ruckmachine - are you a player and were you out there?
Well done to Waz and the team for putting on a great day (and then night)! Thanks to the BHN guys for sticking around for a bit - you blokes better repay the favour next year and put us up :)
what an animal
2 Jul 2007, 10:33
5/6, Mornington boys let me down.
Sounds as if Box Hill vs Rich would have been good day and tight contest.
Ruck Machine
2 Jul 2007, 10:41
Hi All - I'm new to the forum. I was out there rucking in the seniors for the Snakes and I thought the umpiring was ok. The challenge for us as players was the difference in style. Calling holding the ball alot is ok as long as we are all aware that is going to be the M/O for the day. I am a compulsive offender of dragging in the ball and we very very rarely get pulled up for it in D4. Its my feeling that given our general skill level in D4 that you want players trying to pick it up and run with the footy.
That aside - well done to BHN. That match was one of the most enjoyable for me this season, played in pretty good spirits. BHN handling the wet change much better than us Snakes was frustrating. Being my first year with the Snakes I can see week in week out improvement in the little areas dragging us out of matches, and I suspect if we can hold that unit of guys together for the rest of the year that next season we will be a highly competitive outfit.
Ruckmachine - are you a player and were you out there?
Well done to Waz and the team for putting on a great day (and then night)! Thanks to the BHN guys for sticking around for a bit - you blokes better repay the favour next year and put us up :)
Yes I am a player but didn't ruck, although Fish probably wished I had.
A lot of talk surrounding the umps this week. Want to just point out that we had by far the best performance so far this year by the umps in our match on the weekend (saints/sharks). I know one was Gerrard, the other was a big fella we haven't had before (thought he could have been the sainters Ruck/FF when he rocked up with gear). They paid everything that was there and were very consistent. Not sure what the saints boys thought of them but I know I thought it was welcome change from some of the very sub-standard performances we've had of late (I'm sure the Albert park boys would agree from the week before).
bowman11
2 Jul 2007, 12:02
[quote=Sausage roll;7919720]
Saus Again you refuse to "have a go & nominate a game" - Surely you have read other posts about your comments. You have declared 3 things so far,
St Marys to win the D4 Premiership undefeated WRONG
Papa to win the D4 B&F - jumped on the bandwagon of a recruit dropping from the top grade to the lowest. What insight! Yet to be proven!
Papa wouldn't play Saturday Correct - wow, earth shattering prediction that many knew. Your comment of "you heard it first from me" - sounds as though you need Big Footy people to pat you on the back b/c you don't get it anywhere else in life!Originally Posted by Sausage roll http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7986849#post7986849)
When the English professor explains to all what "gut out" means, I will answer all questions.
If you are continually trying to be smart by correcting other people's posts, then you need to get(gut!) your own english correct.
Simple question for a mental midget, what does gut out mean??
Please explain or you will sink even lower in everyone's opinion.
Dear Saus
Happy to explain & I'll keep you to your word/promise [When the English professor explains to all what "gut out" means, I will answer all questions.].
"Gut out" is a slang term that can be interpreted to mean any/some of the following - shrink away from a challenge, back down, lack courage to face the music, fail to do the honourable thing etc
It has nothing to do with your perceived idea that I misspelt the word "get."
It is not a commonly used expression but if you have a friend ask them & they will explain perhaps in a similar way. Sorry for using Australian Slang that you don't understand.Having completed your task we all at Bigfooty look forward to your answers as promised - I hope you don't "gut out!"
You clearly know very little about D4 footy - Here is another challenge for you to avoid and fail at. Show some courage & nominate a D4 game we can meet at & watch. What about Rich Centrals - Bigwaz could look after us???? Last chance offer closes this week.
How many votes is Papa now?
Is he in front of Number 9 St Marys, C Armstrong?
Who do you think will finish 2nd/3rd in the Comp B & FOver to you ;) Show some courage for the first time in your life & answer the above - If you avoid the above again by trying to deflect the heat by continually to me you will sink even lower in everyone's opinion.
Over to you Meat
Ruck Machine
2 Jul 2007, 12:07
[quote=bowman11;7986818]
Over to you Meat
Are they putting meat in sausage rolls these days?
bowman11
2 Jul 2007, 12:10
[quote=bowman11;7987869]
Are they putting meat in sausage rolls these days?
Good get Machine!
"Just in the Head!" - Might be a bit cryptic for Saus
what an animal
2 Jul 2007, 12:32
[quote=bowman11;7986818]
Over to you Meat
Hey Bowy,
Fair comments as it was said a few pages ago in this forum before i notice its been pulled, sausage roll is in fact a SKOB's person and has nothing to do with any D4 club only mates.
ItchyFeet
2 Jul 2007, 12:43
Looking at results from the weekend maybe finals will be closer than we think. Good to see no team really got smashed. I think all 5 lower teams are starting to Gell with all their new players which could play for some upsets in the later rounds, lets hope!
Well done to BHN on the weekend good bunch of blokes and played in good spirits just unfortunately better on the day!
bowman11
2 Jul 2007, 12:44
[quote=bowman11;7987869]
Hey Bowy,
Fair comments as it was said a few pages ago in this forum before i notice its been pulled, sausage roll is in fact a SKOB's person and has nothing to do with any D4 club only mates.
Agreed, I think all 12 Clubs from D4 appreciate genuine comments from a D4 perspective - not clowns wanting to stir up trouble between clubs. I think number 9 from St Marys is a genuine chance at the b & f.
Bowy
Ruck Machine
2 Jul 2007, 12:54
Looking at results from the weekend maybe finals will be closer than we think. Good to see no team really got smashed. I think all 5 lower teams are starting to Gell with all their new players which could play for some upsets in the later rounds, lets hope!
Well done to BHN on the weekend good bunch of blokes and played in good spirits just unfortunately better on the day!
I have to say it was the most enjoyable game I've played this year. The RC boys were hard at it and fair, there were a few skirmishes but that is to be expected.
Also it was definitely the best RC team I've ever played against! Keep up the good work.
bowman11
2 Jul 2007, 12:54
[quote=Ace High;7296342]
You have to love the "self appointed spokesman" don't you? Speaking on behalf of the majority, yeh right! For the record, it is "their" and not there. Must be a real genuis! It aint a typo!
Go saints and you have just ensured i will be posting even more regularly!!
Just a bit more for Saus
Earlier this year you said Papa would win the D4 B & F by a record margin - what is that amount that he has to win by?? Just so we know!
here is another example of you criticising people for their spelling & you use ............. your sign off "GENUIS" - I repeat you really are a mental genius! :(
Coach Hollywood
2 Jul 2007, 13:19
I would like to say personally here that although I have never played against Nth Brunny before, but knowing a number of people who have been part of the club, I doubt very much that their reputation is warranted and as in this case with St Mary's their is always 2 sides to the story. I'll make my own judgement when we play you!
As we will be playing them next week, i'm looking forward to a hard "but fair" physical game which i'm sure will be the case!!!!
I'd like to now comment on my previous post above and I'd just like to say that Saturday's match Vs North Brunswick was one of the most enjoyable matches i've played in D4 with Big Mousse playing his 300th game for their club it was always going to be a big day & it was played in great spirit, very tough but fair and a real slog by both teams. Therefore I pass my judgement in regards to their reputation as definetly being unwarranted IMO. Good luck for the rest of year Gazbats, Ozza & boys.:thumbsu:
port-man_fc
2 Jul 2007, 13:39
I'd like to now comment on my previous post above and I'd just like to say that Saturday's match Vs North Brunswick was one of the most enjoyable matches i've played in D4 with Big Mousse playing his 300th game for their club it was always going to be a big day & it was played in great spirit, very tough but fair and a real slog by both teams. Therefore I pass my judgement in regards to their reputation as definetly being unwarranted IMO. Good luck for the rest of year Gazbats, Ozza & boys.:thumbsu:
The game was a cracker, i loved playing every minute of it!!!
I got 5/6 - Sth Morny also let me down... interesting result, saved AP some extra hard work
[quote=what an animal;7988209]
Agreed, I think all 12 Clubs from D4 appreciate genuine comments from a D4 perspective - not clowns wanting to stir up trouble between clubs. I think number 9 from St Marys is a genuine chance at the b & f.
Bowy
Yeah, Cam Armstrong I believe, he killed it against us (sharks) on the weekend. Although he did leave the ground after aggrevating his ankle with only minutes to go. Hopefully nothing serious.
fatchicksneedlovintoo
2 Jul 2007, 16:43
4/6 aint too bad, considering how close all the matches were, are the conditions changing the way the top teams must play???or is the seasons length with no week off starting to take its toll??
fine banga
Ruck Machine
2 Jul 2007, 16:54
4/6 aint too bad, considering how close all the matches were, are the conditions changing the way the top teams must play???or is the seasons length with no week off starting to take its toll??
fine banga
I'd say changing conditions are effecting the top teams. Eltham and South Morn will be most effected by wet conditions.
Teams that revel in the wet are BHN (despite there abundance of tall timber) and Nth Brunny.
what an animal
2 Jul 2007, 17:28
Interesting ladder now that Mt Lilydale got over Sth Morn
4th- 6th all 24pts and very close % with Box Hill now only a game with major % behind.
Big week this week
Albert Park vs St Marys
Sth Morn Vs Eltham
Eley Park Vs Mt Lilydale
Syndal Vs Box Hill
Tipping Mt Lilydale to claim 4th position sat night with albert park, sth morn and Box Hill all a game clear.
what an animal
2 Jul 2007, 17:30
Hey nellup who you book on the weekend?
I see tribunal for you tomm night?
Cheers Coach. Twas a great game. I was wrapt with our endeavour and the pressure we put on you guys. I'll be honest and say I was half expecting to get flogged but the boys came to play on Saturday which was great.
All the best for the rest of the year.:D
Hey nellup who you book on the weekend?
I see tribunal for you tomm night?
From the week before animal,due to fairness that's as far as I will go.
I will bare my bum in bourke street if nth bwick beat Eltham!
There's an incentive if ever needed Nth bwick:thumbsu: Seriously i hope they can give it a shake though would be good for the club.
Should be a ripper in the magoo's though, top 2.
All this rain is great for the grounds, the bigger teams in the comp dont get any smaller.
Your'e rump came seriously close to exposure animal,a 2 point game at 3/4 time,maybe Eltham new what your bum looked like and didn't want to impose that on the public:D
what an animal
3 Jul 2007, 09:50
Your'e rump came seriously close to exposure animal,a 2 point game at 3/4 time,maybe Eltham new what your bum looked like and didn't want to impose that on the public:D
Haha nice, yeah im relieved for the people of bourke st!
Thanks to the BHN guys for sticking around for a bit - you blokes better repay the favour next year and put us up :)[/QUOTE]
Think the BHN boys would have hung around a bit longer if not for the lure of the ladies from over at the Royal!::eek:
Ruck Machine
3 Jul 2007, 10:40
My Round 11 Tips
North Brunswick over Bulleen 6 Goals
UHS over Richmond 8 Goals
Eltham over South Mornington 5 Goals
Mt Lilydale over Eley Park 7 Goals
BHN over Syndal 5 Goals
St Marys over Albert Park 4 Goals
If these tips come off Mt Lilydale will be in 4th with Sth Morn, AP an BHN all on 24 Points.
Flowerpower
3 Jul 2007, 11:15
Thanks to the BHN guys for sticking around for a bit - you blokes better repay the favour next year and put us up :)
Think the BHN boys would have hung around a bit longer if not for the lure of the ladies from over at the Royal!::eek:[/QUOTE]
Spoke to one of the BHN boys, and word has it that PC is still to go back and collect his jaw.........:)
what an animal
3 Jul 2007, 11:19
Round 11 Tips
North Brunswick to beat Bulleen 22pts
UHS to beat richmond by 67 pts
Eltham to beat South Mornington by 66pts
Mt Lilydale to beat Eley Park 35pts
BHN to beat Syndal by 48pts
St Marys to beat Albert Park 17pts
keep_I_on_spy1
3 Jul 2007, 13:06
Well done to RC on saturday great to see the huge improvement all around the club.
What about the official goal umpires decision in the last. All players heading towards the centre for the restart and all BHN heading towards the "goal/point" kicker in the pocket. Snakes full back on the ball however and possibly couldn't believe his luck and cleared the ball as easy as you like before BHN and most of the snakes realised.
Well done to the aware full back, I think a goal came of it to the snakes as well, nice move.
Flowerpower
3 Jul 2007, 13:56
Well done to RC on saturday great to see the huge improvement all around the club.
What about the official goal umpires decision in the last. All players heading towards the centre for the restart and all BHN heading towards the "goal/point" kicker in the pocket. Snakes full back on the ball however and possibly couldn't believe his luck and cleared the ball as easy as you like before BHN and most of the snakes realised.
Well done to the aware full back, I think a goal came of it to the snakes as well, nice move.
Was a definate goal - the goal umpire was obscured by players, but the field umpire did not offer any assistance.
Correct decision from the young goal umpire in the circumstances but poor from the field. Could have given him some help in what was a clear and undisputed major.
Ruck Machine
3 Jul 2007, 14:02
Was a definate goal - the goal umpire was obscured by players, but the field umpire did not offer any assistance.
Correct decision from the young goal umpire in the circumstances but poor from the field. Could have given him some help in what was a clear and undisputed major.
Are you talking about the 50m Bomb from the pocket?
I missed that one... damn.
port-man_fc
3 Jul 2007, 14:51
Round 11 Tips
North Brunswick to beat Bulleen 22pts
UHS to beat richmond by 67 pts
Eltham to beat South Mornington by 66pts
Mt Lilydale to beat Eley Park 35pts
BHN to beat Syndal by 48pts
St Marys to beat Albert Park 17pts
My tips - same as animal!!!
Whats the ladder coach?
keep_I_on_spy1
3 Jul 2007, 15:49
Micks nicely slotted goal in the last, not too sure too many could of got in the way of the view as it was half way up the big sticks as it past the goal line. However yes the field ump could of stepped in and prob would have if it wasn't a VAFA umpire behind the goal. "Full complement of umpires" was his phrase used a number of times during the day. "so no point complaining boys let us make the decisions"
I missed that one... damn.
My mate Frosty took the video of the game. The better Penny (16) kicked from one step in from the junction of 50m and boudary line. Ball split the big sticks perfectly and sailed through 3/4 post high. Was a fair kick with a heavy pill.
NB- Mick Penny known as Tuppence (and some less flattering nicknames) .......worth 2 pennies.:D
My mate Frosty took the video of the game. The better Penny (16) kicked from one step in from the junction of 50m and boudary line. Ball split the big sticks perfectly and sailed through 3/4 post high. Was a fair kick with a heavy pill.
NB- Mick Penny known as Tuppence (and some less flattering nicknames) .......worth 2 pennies.:D
We have video as well.... perhaps we can swap at some stage.. .any "almost footy legends" moments out there? I missed most of the senior game due to running the bar....
Didn't think they let dracular run the blood bank:cool:
Waz, contact the senior coach at BH. He will be glad to swap with you. I know they have often supplied copies for opposition teams in the past. The main reason they video every game is due to the Odza incedent a few years back. But it also allows players to watch there performance on a weekly basis. The goal could be a footy show job. No. 8 for BH took a specky in the third, then proceeded to kick it in to the man on the mark and drag himself for breaking team rules. Nothing over startling though. It was not the conditions for it really.
Spy, shouldn't you be in bed!
Didn't think they let dracular run the blood bank:cool:
Nice :D
Spy, shouldn't you be in bed!
Bloody Wimbledon.:o
Ruck Machine
4 Jul 2007, 12:03
Has anyone got some info on Syndal? Who are there better players, danger players etc.
I had a bit of a look on the VAFA website and it appears they don't have much in the way of a power forward, can anyone confirm this?
Cheers