View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
why are so many people picking St Marys? Clearly Uni High is due to beat the saints at the "postage stamp" they have no ruck, few talls and I believe they will be one to two mid fielders short...
Go boys!
BG i think most people would agree that this one could go either way and probably the home ground advantage has swayed a few. i think it should also be a good game in the early match as well.
Lakey11
12 Jul 2007, 17:36
So is kermit the frog:cool:
WAZ is Kermit the Frog. He loves shagging fat pigs and his old fella is green so I am told.
Hollywood, whats the story with Mclaren. seems to kick a bag everytime his in the twos, is he getting a run in the ones?
port-man_fc
12 Jul 2007, 17:58
Hollywood, whats the story with Mclaren. seems to kick a bag everytime his in the twos, is he getting a run in the ones?
Mclaren is O/seas atm, hopefully back soon, next fornight or so!! has played a couple in the ones and done pretty good!! where or not he gets a run when he gets back is hollywoods question i guess! one would think some hard work and some form and hed be back!!! :thumbsu:
Abba Lonie
12 Jul 2007, 18:07
Pretty hard forward line to break into I would suspect.
Mclaren is O/seas atm, hopefully back soon, next fornight or so!! has played a couple in the ones and done pretty good!! where or not he gets a run when he gets back is hollywoods question i guess! one would think some hard work and some form and hed be back!!! :thumbsu:
Going to be a very hard task to break into that team port:confused:
port-man_fc
12 Jul 2007, 18:18
Going to be a very hard task to break into that team port:confused:
Yeh its a top notch forward line, dare i say the best ive seen in my short time in d4 when urve got Mclaren, the Garrard brothers, Blagrove, Dillion, Clarke, Turner and Strickland all firing!!!
Im sure Macca will have his work cut out, but i personally rate him pretty highly, he has the talent, lets hope he can get back to his 06 form!!
pointblank
12 Jul 2007, 19:38
Any idea how Turtle's forward line has performed in past finals?:confused::D
One saucer of milk for point please:)
For those who are interested, I see BH have got the uncut version of the Japan trip video on their website.
This is not the version shown at VAFA night or on a few other websites. They were very annoyed when the VAFA cut it to peices and in their opinion, ruined it.
The last scene is filmed in the main Tokyo city square on the night Australia beat Japan in the World Cup. The Japanese had a massive wall there for everyone to right messages of encouragement to the Japanese side. Typical Aussie response lol.
For those who are interested, I see BH have got the uncut version of the Japan trip video on their website.
This is not the version shown at VAFA night or on a few other websites. They were very annoyed when the VAFA cut it to peices and in their opinion, ruined it.
The last scene is filmed in the main Tokyo city square on the night Australia beat Japan in the World Cup. The Japanese had a massive wall there for everyone to right messages of encouragement to the Japanese side. Typical Aussie response lol.
Had it gone on any longer at the VAFA night we would have all sobered up :D
Coach Hollywood
13 Jul 2007, 10:25
Couldn't care less to be honest pointblank, 1/2 of us weren't there in past finals!!
How did St Marys & UHS go last year?? Same answer, who cares it's a different season?:D
port-man_fc
13 Jul 2007, 11:57
My Rd 12 tips
BOX HILL VS NTH BWICK Box Hill
ELTHAM VS ELEY PARK Eltham
ST MARYS VS UNI HIGH St Marys
BULLEEN VS STH MORNINGTON Sth Morn
RICHMOND VS SYNDAL Richmond
MT LILYDALE VS ALBERT PARK Albert Park
Phil Stevens resigns from CEO position at SFL.
Expect a D5 in '08
what an animal
13 Jul 2007, 12:39
Expect a D5 in '08
Wouldnt be a bad idea though.
Im sure some of the club18 sides would play that.
Whats weather forecast for tomm anyone?
are we going to be rain hit again?
One saucer of milk for point please:)
More appropriate if Cat Scratches had posted that.
Expect a D5 in '08
Well it would be interesting to know that sooner rather than later... It wouldn't be real nice to be relegated to another lower division without warning! And it would make the fight to stay out of the bottom 3 or 4 pretty interesting thats for sure :)
It would be a double whammy for a relegated side, as any new SFL clubs in D5 would be strong. Especially considering South Mornington didn't win a senior game in the Div3 SFL in '06!
Flowerpower
13 Jul 2007, 15:18
More appropriate if Cat Scratches had posted that.
Go away please rain - makes it hard for us smaller players to get a kick.......
JP the Chinaman
13 Jul 2007, 15:33
Rain is good for smaller guys...:thumbsu:
Coach Hollywood
13 Jul 2007, 15:40
Well it would be interesting to know that sooner rather than later... It wouldn't be real nice to be relegated to another lower division without warning! And it would make the fight to stay out of the bottom 3 or 4 pretty interesting thats for sure :)
It would be a double whammy for a relegated side, as any new SFL clubs in D5 would be strong. Especially considering South Mornington didn't win a senior game in the Div3 SFL in '06!
Ladder: Div 3 Seniors
26-Aug-2006
1Parkmore18153-23341073217.5 60
2North Kew18153-20991156181.6 60
3Black Rock18134118471423129.8 54
4Mount Waverley1810711463152695.9 42
5Dandy Demons18108-1545160596.3 40
6Cerberus18810-1409143698.1 32
7Skye18810-1389142097.8 32
8South Mornington18711-1309199365.7 28
9Doveton Eagles18315-1238223455.4 12
10Sandown Cobras18-18-1214202759.9 0[B]
:confused::confused::confused: 7 wins 11 losses?
Ladder: Div 3 Seniors
26-Aug-2006
1Parkmore18153-23341073217.5 60
2North Kew18153-20991156181.6 60
3Black Rock18134118471423129.8 54
4Mount Waverley1810711463152695.9 42
5Dandy Demons18108-1545160596.3 40
6Cerberus18810-1409143698.1 32
7Skye18810-1389142097.8 32
8South Mornington18711-1309199365.7 28
9Doveton Eagles18315-1238223455.4 12
10Sandown Cobras18-18-1214202759.9 0[b]
:confused::confused::confused: 7 wins 11 losses?
Sorry my mistake.... I was thinking of the Cobras who were winless, but beat us up before this season and last in the preseason.
Still... thats a bottom 3 side in Div3, doing a good job of pushing for finals in VAFA D4. If some of the better SFL sides started in VAFA D5 next season then D5 would rival D4 for quality?
I dont know if there is any truth to such a rumor, but I'll bet its put a little fear into Nth Brunny, Syndal, Eley Park, Bulleen and Richmond, none of whom would want to be in the bottom 2 at the end of the year...
The other rumor is that 3 sides would go up to D3 this year rather than two. So both D3 and D4 would have 11 teams and a bye next year. Makes sense?
Rain is good for smaller guys...:thumbsu:
What are you on about china,you are built like the preverbial brick sh@thouse,
very attractive man;)
Coach Hollywood
13 Jul 2007, 17:28
Sorry my mistake.... I was thinking of the Cobras who were winless, but beat us up before this season and last in the preseason.
Still... thats a bottom 3 side in Div3, doing a good job of pushing for finals in VAFA D4. If some of the better SFL sides started in VAFA D5 next season then D5 would rival D4 for quality?
I dont know if there is any truth to such a rumor, but I'll bet its put a little fear into Nth Brunny, Syndal, Eley Park, Bulleen and Richmond, none of whom would want to be in the bottom 2 at the end of the year...
The other rumor is that 3 sides would go up to D3 this year rather than two. So both D3 and D4 would have 11 teams and a bye next year. Makes sense?
They also didn't have a reserves side last season either, so that would probably explain why they are doing so much better with 2 sides new recruits and blokes pushing for selection always helps.
Is there a suggestion that lower division of SFL will no longer exist?
Keeping in mind that even in the lower divisions the better players receive $$, and the question is if their team was to come into VAFA would they stay on.........me thinks if they are any good probably not, especially when there are other leagues around where clubs are willing to pay even in the lower divisions (e.g EFL).
I am led to believe that SFL club Parkmore has already folded and a number of their players are playing with Salesian, again the better players from Parkmore went elsewhere and salesian picked up what was left...there position in D2 suggests not the better players. Will be interesting and as is normally the case we will be the last to know...will make the forum interesting off season.
Manny
Is there a suggestion that lower division of SFL will no longer exist?
Keeping in mind that even in the lower divisions the better players receive $$, and the question is if their team was to come into VAFA would they stay on.........me thinks if they are any good probably not, especially when there are other leagues around where clubs are willing to pay even in the lower divisions (e.g EFL).
I am led to believe that SFL club Parkmore has already folded and a number of their players are playing with Salesian, again the better players from Parkmore went elsewhere and salesian picked up what was left...there position in D2 suggests not the better players. Will be interesting and as is normally the case we will be the last to know...will make the forum interesting off season.
Manny
Bentleigh footy club went through this a few years ago,couldn't keep on paying players in southern and stay viable,all but 1 of their players stayed on and he was a stand out and nobody could have blamed him for going for the $,still it's all speculation at this stage,agree manny,all of us will be the last to know.
Abba Lonie
14 Jul 2007, 19:42
Some interesting results today (they're up by the way and I'm sure you've all checked them already).
Ruck Machine
14 Jul 2007, 19:46
BHN Reserves only went down by 11 points last time to Nth Brunny at Allard Park, it may be closer than you think.
BHN Reserves won by 4 Points, great effort!
If you haven't seen the Ladders/Results for D4 I suggest you go check them out, very interesting!
http://www.vafa.com.au/?s=results
My Seniors tips for Round 12:
I think North Brunswick will be too good for Box Hill North.
I am not even going to bother picking a winner out of Eltham and Eley Park, you know who it will be.
Match of the Round. Saint Marys too strong at home against University High School-Victoria University.
Bulleen WILL win their second game of the season against South Mornington.
I am going for the home ground advantage for this one, Richmond over the cigarette papers.
Mount Lilydale to strong for Albert Park.
My Reserves tips for Round 12:
North Brunswick will be way too strong for Box Hill North.
Definitely Eltham over Eley Park.
Match of the Round, Saint Marys v University High School-Victoria University. Saint Marys for me.
I think Bulleen will do their thing over South Mornington. Bold, yes. Optimistic, yes. Probable, maybe not, but hey, would you tip against your own club?
I think the cigarette papers will be do the job over Richmond.
It will be worth the drive for Albert Park, they are my pick for their game against Mount Lilydale.
I know it's only Monday, but good luck for the coming weekend, may the best team win and the not so best team drink lots of alcohol.
huru
Two out of four for both, pretty pathetic really...
Please explain....
Sth Morn.... didn't show up? Bulleen, recruiting well these past 3 weeks?
St Marys? Bit of a shock? Must have been a great game!
InFineForm
15 Jul 2007, 17:35
Please explain....
Sth Morn.... didn't show up? Bulleen, recruiting well these past 3 weeks?
St Marys? Bit of a shock? Must have been a great game!
I don't know about the Sth take on it.... However, Bulleen played as a very cohesive uint & thoroughly deserved the win. If they bring that each week they'll win a few more before the year is done...
Good work Cobras - well deserved...
The best game Bulleen has played this year by far. Well deserved win. Can't remember mcuh of the social night they held last night though...
huru
Morning D4 Man Forum! Just been catching up on what I missed while away o.s. Flag hopes still seem open to 3 teams at least and some surpirsing results here and there along the way.
Got off a plane and went straight to Elgar for North Brunny v BHN. Two pretty tight, hard fought games. Well done BHN, too good on the day.
Gazbats, Smash and WhoWonIt - we need you guys back this week desperately to take on BigWaz and Lakey's men!! How are the injuries coming along you softies???
I hear the Eltham v NTh B game was a cracker Coach H. Rumour is your opponent was a fellow forumer, he has told me you are a cool, calm, collected customer out there on the field and weren't to phased by anything. Spewing I missed what would have been an enjoyable contest.
Can't wait to pull on the boots this Saturday and get back into it...probably back through the magoos I guess, hope to have a beer with Waz and Lakey after the game!!!!
I'll be there OZZA... might even have a run in the twos myself.... though I haven't managed to play much this season.
I know the seniors game will be an absolute cracker. I think both of our sides have improved a lot since round 1. We're keen to leapfrog your boys on the ladder as well..as we just did with Syndal :)
It will be a cracker in the seniors indeed Waz - would love to be playing in it -will have to wait and see where I'm picked though. Round 1 was a pretty fierce contest - so it should be fun.
Yes it was a good hard game. Lets try for the same result ok?
How's the ground looking... KB has turned into a bit of a swamp. A little on the nose around the center square!
Happy to have the results reversed this time digs!
To be honest - not 100% sure how the ground is because of being away and us playing at BHN on the weekend. I think the ground would still have been thirsty enough to take well to the rain though.
Ruck Machine
16 Jul 2007, 14:12
Got off a plane and went straight to Elgar for North Brunny v BHN. Two pretty tight, hard fought games. Well done BHN, too good on the day.
Both games were good to watch and played in good spirits. I thoroughly enjoyed they day.
ALSO can anyone explain in detail what happened in the Sth Mornington vs Bulleen game????????
Both games were good to watch and played in good spirits. I thoroughly enjoyed they day.
ALSO can anyone explain in detail what happened in the Sth Mornington vs Bulleen game????????
Bulleen on fire, midfield dominated from the first minute
Kicked the first 5 goals
Sth Mornington arguing amongst themselves from the 13th minute of the 1st quarter (probably expected an easy day)
Sth Bloke (think was B Wood) belts Bulleen president (A Vincitorio) in second qtr and faces tribunal
Rest of the team loses their cool, another Sth bloke (think was T Mirrabella) reported for charging T Moore in 3rd quarter
Role reversal with Bulleen coping the whacks and continuing disciplined footy
Fade Out (a new Bulleen recruit in 2007) didnt get a run on the ground this week.
Huge Win
King_Cobra
16 Jul 2007, 14:58
Great win on saturday by the cobras never looked like losing for the opening bounce. I think sth thought they were in for an easy day and went out very cocky after seeing there 2s have any easy win. Great effort by the bulleen boys not to get caught up to much in thuggery and racial abuse dished out by the sth players and bench when the match started getting away from, no wander southern league has such a bad rep. I thought the days of coaches sending messages out to players to go the knuckle were well behind us!!!!!!
Abba Lonie
16 Jul 2007, 15:04
I notice its often the blokes who give a bit of lip that end up getting belted. Then even the quietest guys can walk off a ground concussed so maybe there's no correlation.
what an animal
16 Jul 2007, 15:34
Great win on saturday by the cobras never looked like losing for the opening bounce. I think sth thought they were in for an easy day and went out very cocky after seeing there 2s have any easy win. Great effort by the bulleen boys not to get caught up to much in thuggery and racial abuse dished out by the sth players and bench when the match started getting away from, no wander southern league has such a bad rep. I thought the days of coaches sending messages out to players to go the knuckle were well behind us!!!!!!
Great to see Bulleen.
I watched a Sth Morn game and overheard them saying that VAFA is soft and come play Southern League.
If there boys want to say that when there 10+goals down go for it but how about they start trying to win the footy and not the fights or crude hits anyway. And not suprising to see mirrabella no.14 booked, he was a sniper that day as well!
Great to see Bulleen.
I watched a Sth Morn game and overheard them saying that VAFA is soft and come play Southern League.
If there boys want to say that when there 10+goals down go for it but how about they start trying to win the footy and not the fights or crude hits anyway. And not suprising to see mirrabella no.14 booked, he was a sniper that day as well!
As far as over the top rough play is concerned, Sth Morn and UHSVU were the worst we played this year... Plenty of late hits in both those games.
UHSVU have terrific facilities though! And Beer on tap!!!
As far as over the top rough play is concerned, Sth Morn and UHSVU were the worst we played this year... Plenty of late hits in both those games.
UHSVU have terrific facilities though! And Beer on tap!!!
Ah Waz; I love your priorities mate.:rolleyes:
InFineForm
16 Jul 2007, 16:21
... start trying to win the footy and not the fights or crude hits anyway.
Their two's were just as bad. A couple of send off's and cheap late hits when they were 10+ goals up.
They'd finish a final with 10 on the ground the way they were on Saturday.
The lost the game of footy with their lack of discipline a long time before they lost the game of footy on the scoreboard.
Ruck Machine
16 Jul 2007, 16:56
Their two's were just as bad. A couple of send off's and cheap late hits when they were 10+ goals up.
They'd finish a final with 10 on the ground the way they were on Saturday.
The lost the game of footy with their lack of discipline a long time before they lost the game of footy on the scoreboard.
The Sth Mornington we played in Round 1 didn't look to king hit anyone (1's or 2's). I can't imagine why a bunch of young blokes would be trying to punch on, just doesn't make sense.
No_LeFt_FoOt
16 Jul 2007, 17:00
Yeah was a real shame that South Mornington players and supporters had to use a variety of racial taunts to some of the bulleen players. I can understand that they were frustrated because they were being outplayed by a club that has struggled for most of the year but to hear some of the derogative racial taunts that were being used to one player in particular who was clearly dominating the game was very off putting. I normally bring my kids down to the game however I was clearly put off by these comments. Its my understanding that this club was originally from the Southern league. I say we send them back up the highway as this is clearly not the VAFA spirit.
SHAME SHAME ON YOU TIGERS!!!!!!!!!
Yeah was a real shame that South Mornington players and supporters had to use a variety of racial taunts to some of the bulleen players. I can understand that they were frustrated because they were being outplayed by a club that has struggled for most of the year but to hear some of the derogative racial taunts that were being used to one player in particular who was clearly dominating the game was very off putting. I normally bring my kids down to the game however I was clearly put off by these comments. Its my understanding that this club was originally from the Southern league. I say we send them back up the highway as this is clearly not the VAFA spirit.
SHAME SHAME ON YOU TIGERS!!!!!!!!!
hmmm. yes.... there's no room for racism in our great game... elitism, sure, but not racism... YA BOGANS :D
InFineForm
16 Jul 2007, 17:34
The Sth Mornington we played in Round 1 didn't look to king hit anyone (1's or 2's). I can't imagine why a bunch of young blokes would be trying to punch on, just doesn't make sense.
In the two's it was their coach & two solid (I'm being a bit protective on my own shape!) guys (no 34 & maybe no 55??) who were giving it out cheap & late.
The younger Mornington guys seemed like a good bunch of kids. Some of their older 'role models' could do with a bit of finishing school.....!
I read the word discipline in several posts,in regard to loosing because of not having it,and winning because you do.
Thought I might just be getting old still talking about it ,or could it be that the old truths still hold up.
Very sad to read of the alledged racial stuff,thought Australia was way beyond this stuff,especially in ammo footy,better not hear it when I am in the middle or the black adder will get a work out and Tuesday night will be very long.
Let's address a few things here before this gets out of hand.
Firstly the racism accusations. This is a subject I have been close to through my time with the asian background aussies in the BH Dragons as well as the Japan work done by BH. I even hosted a player from Japan one season with my family.
The only way to deal with this is through the process in place at VAFA level. Your President must make an official complaint. The best way is to raise the concern innitially is with the President of the opposition club. If you get no joy in a response, and I would not wait a long time (24 hrs is enough), you then make an official complaint to the VAFA. They will then guide you through the process from there. Ideally, the club who has recieved a complaint, will decide to act themselves.
In both instances that players from BH aired complaints, the offending club chose to deal with it themselves. Also in both cases the offending member/s, from the accused club, were made to write a letter of apology to the player they had abused. Now this may not seem like a massive punishment, or even a just one. But the fact is the player abused is acknowledged as a person worthy of better respect. While the offender is made to understand his actions were not right and totally unacceptable to the general public. The 2 clubs who dealt with their offenders have not, to my knowledge, had such an incident again. Education is the best protection from repeat offences. BH is also able to keep an excellent working relationship, with the 2 offending clubs, by addressing it this way. If it is left to fester or a full complaint is lodged at VAFA HQ, there is every possibility of ill feeling and a lack of respect going both ways in the future.
It should be noted it is still very important, when the accused club agrees to deal with the complaint, that VAFA are alerted. Just tell them there was a racial abuse incident but that the leaders of both clubs are working to resolve the problem. They will not interfere unless requested to do so. They do need to know when it happens though. If they don't get the information then how are they to make judgements on future policy concerning racism.
Now to the physical stuff.
In my experience every team has one or more players capable of doing someting stupid. It is the culture of the club and the strength of the coach that can keep this sort of thing to a minimum. Having had some experience of living in the SFL and the old 'Churches' comp before it, I am well aware of the difference in style of play. There is definately a lot more behind the play incidents at SFL than VAFA. Unfortunately the drinking spectator element does not help with a lot of incitement.
When BH came over in 2002, they were a big strong side. But they were slow and old. Frustration was high in the first year, which lead to several reports and nasty spectacles. Strong leadership from their administration cleaned out the playing group. They changed the personell on field and made large changes to the way the club operated. They started from scratch, much like Richmond have started from scratch. The culture was reinvented and brought into line with the family values associated with VAFA. Bh themselves still beleive they are a long way from perfect. They wish to keep working on improving their culture and the respect they can achieve from there fellow competing clubs. It takes time, but a club can change for the better reasonbly quickly.
All I'm saying is give them some time down at South Mornington. Those among them that don't fit in with VAFA values will move on. The club will realise it needs to adapt or sink. Again, if there is something that warrants action and is missed by the umpires, file an unseen incident report. Follow the correct channels. You may not always get the best result immediately, but the long term education to those doing the wrong thing is too important to have nothing happen.
T.W.Sher
16 Jul 2007, 20:08
Anybody know the fool who was responsible for eltham 2's having 2 many men on the ground in the 3rd quarter? Was it a coaching error or just a over keen player zoning out at half time??
Probably one of those things called,a mistake,sher, we all make em.:confused:
The voice of temperance and reason from spy,well reason anyway:)
Probably one of those things called,a mistake,sher, we all make em.:confused:
The voice of temperance and reason from spy,well reason anyway:)
You can drink to reason
Bit hard to drink to temperance.
Ruck Machine
16 Jul 2007, 21:29
Back to footy anyone?
2 big matches this weekend St Mary's vs Mt Lilydale and BHN vs Sth Mornington.
It will be interesting to see if Mt Lilydale are competitive with a BIG 3 side. It will really put into perspective how far 4th spot is off the top 3.
BHN vs Sth Mornington should be a great game, BHN seem to be getting going (even with a few stars missing) and Sth Mornington (except for this weekends hiccup) have looked solid all year. If BHN manage to win and Mt Lilydale loose they would be equal on 32 points with Mt Lilydale in 4th on %, plenty to play for. If Sth Mornington loose they will fall 2 games away from 4th spot.
Lets not forget that if Albert Park loose they will fall 2 games out of 4th spot as well.
Very interesting round of footy coming up.
InFineForm
16 Jul 2007, 21:57
I haven't heard any of the boys talk about the racism stuff. Generally not the way the club operates. Get on with the job and if someone wants to be that small minded then they've got problems. One of the great things about the club over the last few years has been the multi-cultural aspect of the teams. Personally though, if this stuff did go on, I'd be an advocate of following the sort of procedure Spy1 speaks of. I'm a firm believer in education.
I reckon most of the Cobra boys thought that when they started coming late & with misguided aggession, they had them in a spot where South weren't capable of coming back from. We had a 17 year old made his senior debut & he seemed to grow in confidence as the game went on. He knew South were going to be second to the ball & the umpires were looking after Bulleen for being first in....
The great thing about the win. The Cobras would have beaten better teams than South on the day. I've seen better Cobra teams run out on to the ground, but I haven't seen them work together as well. The confidence gained this week will be massive. (Interesting to hear how many of the boys make it down to training tomorrow night!) I'm not going to suggest that we'll win the rest of our games, or anything rash like that; but don't be surprised if you read the results on a Sunday morning over the next few weeks & Bulleen has knocked off another finals aspirant or two. The future looks rosier than it has in a long time. The Cobras have traditionally been an old team, but with a lot of retirees (no pensions being given out though!), the young fellas are coming through. Us old observers are very much looking forward to the young guys developing a winning culture in the future.
I haven't heard any of the boys talk about the racism stuff. Generally not the way the club operates. Get on with the job and if someone wants to be that small minded then they've got problems. One of the great things about the club over the last few years has been the multi-cultural aspect of the teams. Personally though, if this stuff did go on, I'd be an advocate of following the sort of procedure Spy1 speaks of. I'm a firm believer in education.
I reckon most of the Cobra boys thought that when they started coming late & with misguided aggession, they had them in a spot where South weren't capable of coming back from. We had a 17 year old made his senior debut & he seemed to grow in confidence as the game went on. He knew South were going to be second to the ball & the umpires were looking after Bulleen for being first in....
The great thing about the win. The Cobras would have beaten better teams than South on the day. I've seen better Cobra teams run out on to the ground, but I haven't seen them work together as well. The confidence gained this week will be massive. (Interesting to hear how many of the boys make it down to training tomorrow night!) I'm not going to suggest that we'll win the rest of our games, or anything rash like that; but don't be surprised if you read the results on a Sunday morning over the next few weeks & Bulleen has knocked off another finals aspirant or two. The future looks rosier than it has in a long time. The Cobras have traditionally been an old team, but with a lot of retirees (no pensions being given out though!), the young fellas are coming through. Us old observers are very much looking forward to the young guys developing a winning culture in the future.
Here here...
Back to footy anyone?
Hot tip!
Yes you read it here first!
No punches pulled!
Richmond Central will play at Nth Brunswick this weekend and (more than likely) one side will win, and the other will lose. One side will (probably) get to sing their club song after the match, and the other side won't. One side might kick more goals than the other, or less, but finish with more points thus making them winners on the day. The weather could have an effect on the outcome, and it will favour the winning side more than the other. Umpires making poor, mediocre or terrific decisions will be hounded mercilessly from the sidelines. Children will invade the ground at half time. Hotdogs and Dim Sims will be sold at the canteen. Car horns will resound after the home sides goals! 3.5 slabs of beer will be sold at the canteen before 5pm.
Gotta love it.
Bigwaz.
Hot tip!
No punches pulled!
Richmond Central will play at Nth Brunswick this weekend and (more than likely) one side will win, and the other will lose. One side will (probably) get to sing their club song after the match, and the other side won't. One side might kick more goals than the other, or less, but finish with more points thus making them winners on the day. The weather could have an effect on the outcome, and it will favour the winning side more than the other. Umpires making poor, mediocre or terrific decisions will be hounded mercilessly from the sidelines. Children will invade the ground at half time. Hotdogs and Dim Sims will be sold at the canteen. Car horns will resound after the home sides goals! 3.5 slabs of beer will be sold at the canteen before 5pm.
Gotta love it.
Bigwaz.
The umps will make perfect decisions,and
the focachias will be better then the hot dogs and dimmies and yes
the umps will be hounded.:D
The hot dogs and dimmies at North Brunny are great...but the focachias are an institution. Get on em.
Big Waz, Lakey, Ozza, Gazbats and Sof will be through a slab by the the time the raffle is drawn and best players read out. FACT.
Surprised to read all the above about STh Mornington - we had a great game against them and enjoyed plenty of beers with them afterwards. So I wont be speculating at all on them until we play them again.
Can't wait til the Centrals come to Allard on Saturday!! The battle for 8th spot!!
The hot dogs and dimmies at North Brunny are great...but the focachias are an institution. Get on em.
Big Waz, Lakey, Ozza, Gazbats and Sof will be through a slab by the the time the raffle is drawn and best players read out. FACT.
Surprised to read all the above about STh Mornington - we had a great game against them and enjoyed plenty of beers with them afterwards. So I wont be speculating at all on them until we play them again.
Can't wait til the Centrals come to Allard on Saturday!! The battle for 8th spot!!
There's more at stake than 8th position on the ladder this weekend my friend.
There is also percentage!
King_Cobra
17 Jul 2007, 10:05
In the two's it was their coach & two solid (I'm being a bit protective on my own shape!) guys (no 34 & maybe no 55??) who were giving it out cheap & late.
The younger Mornington guys seemed like a good bunch of kids. Some of their older 'role models' could do with a bit of finishing school.....!
Did you notice that those guys seemed to pick there targets to dish out the late stuff, it was all ways the smaller skinner blokes that they went after although the hit on Bolt in last quarter was quite good and in play.
To finey,waz and ozza,off field personnel working their a@ses off,on field personnel responding,and look at what has been achieved,I'll put the lillies in there also,up from clubbies,the 2008 season in D4 will be a cracker if this continues.:thumbsu:
Hot tip!
No punches pulled!
Richmond Central will play at Nth Brunswick this weekend and (more than likely) one side will win, and the other will lose(EXCEPT IF IT IS A DRAW). One side will (probably) get to sing their club song after the match, and the other side won't.(UNLESS ITS A DRAW) One side might kick more goals than the other, or less, but finish with more points thus making them winners on the day.(OR IT COULD BE A DRAW) The weather could have an effect on the outcome, and it will favour the winning side more than the other. (SCORES COULD BE LEVEL) Umpires making poor, mediocre or terrific decisions will be hounded mercilessly from the sidelines.(REGARDLESS OF A DRAW) Children will invade the ground at half time.(EXCEPT IF IT IS 9 DEG AND P#$SING DOWN!) Hotdogs and Dim Sims will be sold at the canteen.(ESPECIALLY IF ITS 9 DEG) Car horns will resound after the home sides goals (IF THEY CAN SEE THE GROUND FROM THE ROAD THROUGH THE SNOW!) 3.5 slabs of beer will be sold at the canteen before 5pm.(AT LEAST!)
Gotta love it.
Bigwaz.
My tip......a draw! (EXCEPT IF ONE SIDE SCORES MORE THAN THE OTHER)
oldobserver
17 Jul 2007, 14:12
Hey nelly,heard a rumor up at HQ,you had a bit of scare in the south pole region and weren't to fit,"anything in it,so to speak.'":p
gazbats
17 Jul 2007, 17:21
first game back this week after a knee injury. Stinging to play the centrals again and hopefully make a menz after round 1. will be a hard fought contest at Allard I'm thinking. 14 and fine is the forecast. Look out.
Lakey11
17 Jul 2007, 17:53
Hot tip!
No punches pulled!
Gotta love it.
Bigwaz.
Finally - Waz understands footy!
Lakey11
17 Jul 2007, 17:59
Yes yes yes.....MMMM Beer.
Tell Sof to have the draughts ready and raring to go!
Looking forward to another tight tussle in the ones and a better effort from the snakes in the two's
JP the Chinaman
17 Jul 2007, 18:22
VAFA has to be the best league i've played in in terms of racism...I have not received any of it playing in the VAFA for 6 seasons now...but I can tell you I've been spat on in the Southern League and I've had trouble in the Mornington Neapean League...so I must say that VAFA has proven to me that it is a great league to play football in...and truely family oriented...
Spy1...are you the old bloke ringing the Bell at BHN games??? :D
melbdocker
17 Jul 2007, 18:42
just on all this so called thuggery that was happening sat at koonung, i thought the def werent the worst side we have played this yr and if these sides wanna talk tough i suggest u go try and get a game in the diamond valley and play against sides like north heidelberg and lalor then u will really know the meaning of footy/boxing.
Foccacias... not focachias, come on guys get it right...
just on all this so called thuggery that was happening sat at koonung, i thought the def werent the worst side we have played this yr and if these sides wanna talk tough i suggest u go try and get a game in the diamond valley and play against sides like north heidelberg and lalor then u will really know the meaning of footy/boxing.
You are a THUG melbdocker and you know it...
As you may or may not know the Mighty Bulleen Cobras has a massive win over those from Antarctica by 10 goals 6 points. To the un-educated that's 11 goals. You would think a big turn out at training, regardless of the weather, well, let me tell YA'LL something. I left the club at 6:45pm this evening and there was a staggering 5, yes, 5 players. Three seniors and two reserves. Some may have turned up after I left, but I am not to know until Thursday. I know it's cold and wet but... Well anyways lets hope thath Thursday night is a lot better ay...
Love yus all,
huru
As you may or may not know the Mighty Bulleen Cobras has a massive win over those from Antarctica by 10 goals 6 points. To the un-educated that's 11 goals. You would think a big turn out at training, regardless of the weather, well, let me tell YA'LL something. I left the club at 6:45pm this evening and there was a staggering 5, yes, 5 players. Three seniors and two reserves. Some may have turned up after I left, but I am not to know until Thursday. I know it's cold and wet but... Well anyways lets hope thath Thursday night is a lot better ay...
Love yus all,
huru
Not having a go at people, just wished more would turn out after a sensational win.
huru
melbdocker
17 Jul 2007, 21:00
You are a THUG melbdocker and you know it...
how am i a thug the only thing i hit sat was the bar and it was the 1st time i had had a drink in over a month
c'mon now melbdocker... I saw assert your THUGGERY on that Jack Daniels can on Saturday night...
huru
Love yus all,
huru
That sucks man.... Especially with another winable game coming up this weekend?!
Ruck Machine
18 Jul 2007, 00:45
My Round 12 Tips.
BHN over Nth Brunswick by 4 Goals
Eltham over Eley park by 12 Goals
St Mary's over UHS by 1 Goal
Sth Mornington over Bulleen by 6 Goals
Richmond Central over Syndal 2 Goals
Albert Park over Mt Lilydale 3 Goals
3/6 this week.
Love yus all,
huru
We had 22 there at Allard park - not too bad considering the weather, and 20 or so injuries....however the coach did warn the players after a pretty ordinary performance on Saturday that training was mandatory and a few notables were still missing. WhoWonIt you have a fair excuse...living in Sydney now and all.....
...but you're still a nerd.
Sof will have the draughts ready Lakey11, please believe.
Noticed in round one there was some form of Encinio man wearing number 11 and not you Lakey...have you taken your famed guernsey number back yet??
King_Cobra
18 Jul 2007, 09:55
you hit the bench plenty of times on saturday!!!!!!!! JOKES:)
King_Cobra
18 Jul 2007, 09:59
Not having a go at people, just wished more would turn out after a sensational win.
huru
Sorry i wasnt able to get down last night but my face is more swallon than infineforms midrif at the moment after a run in with some nasty wisdom teeth!
We had 22 there at Allard park - not too bad considering the weather, and 20 or so injuries....however the coach did warn the players after a pretty ordinary performance on Saturday that training was mandatory and a few notables were still missing. WhoWonIt you have a fair excuse...living in Sydney now and all.....
Noticed in round one there was some form of Encinio man wearing number 11 and not you Lakey...have you taken your famed guernsey number back yet??
That was lakey.... fresh out of hibernation!
Hey nelly,heard a rumor up at HQ,you had a bit of scare in the south pole region and weren't to fit,"anything in it,so to speak.'":p
Thanks very much old observer, between you and the white maggots telegraph,is nothing sacred?
Was started on preventative medication,knocked me round a bit until tests done,to the meditteranean marvel at BHN ,I have lost even more hair,but tests came back all benign so just have to have meds to shrink it,leave that alone you Bast@#ds.
Very seriously,some doctor putting his finger where you don't want him to,is no one's idea of fun but get yourselves checked out fellas,this is scary stuff,do it,may save your life,and I need you all around to buy my beer:p
so just have to have meds to shrink it,leave that alone you Bast@#ds.
You knew I couldn't pass this up.
From what I saw in Japan, surely it is only SMALL doses of medication needed.:D
Strangely enough, there is a lot of footy people around happy to hear all is well. Your still a maggott though.:p
Good to hear the health scare was only a 'scare' then Nellup. Which game do you have this week?? Or don't you know until men in white selection night.
what an animal
18 Jul 2007, 10:42
Interesting to see only 1 suspension from Bulleen vs Sth Morn game on VAFA website? and its a Buleen player?
What happened to the 2 from South Morn anyone from Bulleen?
InFineForm
18 Jul 2007, 10:51
Interesting to see only 1 suspension from Bulleen vs Sth Morn game on VAFA website? and its a Buleen player?
What happened to the 2 from South Morn anyone from Bulleen?
One cleared and one no-show. (Suspended until he does appear...)
Good to hear the health scare was only a 'scare' then Nellup. Which game do you have this week?? Or don't you know until men in white selection night.
Thanks oz and spy,maggot selection night thursday so don't know until then,
Watch out for an upset in the lillies and saints game,big improvement for mine up on the mountain and will be closer than it looks on paper,"why is my neck suddenly cold?"
Ifeellikechickentonight
18 Jul 2007, 12:55
Thanks very much old observer, between you and the white maggots telegraph,is nothing sacred?
Was started on preventative medication,knocked me round a bit until tests done,to the Mediterranean marvel at BHN ,I have lost even more hair,but tests came back all benign so just have to have meds to shrink it,leave that alone you Bast@#ds.
Very seriously,some doctor putting his finger where you don't want him to,is no one's idea of fun but get yourselves checked out fellas,this is scary stuff,do it,may save your life,and I need you all around to buy my beer:p
The Mediterranean marvel reckons he has a great big box of items that can help you do your own "probing" if you're not comfortable with someone else doing it for you. No more need for appointments. Do it yourself at your own "leisure".
OK,OK, that's enough about my ar@e eh,remember I will have the whistle back in my hand on Sat.Pack of mongrels:p
Was started on preventative medication,knocked me round a bit until tests done,to the meditteranean marvel at BHN ,I have lost even more hair,but tests came back all benign so just have to have meds to shrink it,leave that alone you Bast@#ds.
Good to hear mate. I learnt very early before being subjected to the wonderful examination make sure your doc is not an ex lumberjack with massive hands look for the doc with piano player fingers.
Manny
InFineForm
18 Jul 2007, 14:23
Good to hear mate. I learnt very early before being subjected to the wonderful examination make sure your doc is not an ex lumberjack with massive hands look for the doc with piano player fingers.
Manny
Can you hear me laffing!!!!:p
Nellup - we may call you everything under the sun on a Saturday, but we're all pleased to know that the proctologist doesn't need a second run (for now at least).:cool:
King_Cobra
18 Jul 2007, 15:04
Can you hear me laffing!!!!:p
Nellup - we may call you everything under the sun on a Saturday, but we're all pleased to know that the proctologist doesn't need a second run (for now at least).:cool:
is that ment to be "laughing". man i thought i was a bad speller.
what an animal
18 Jul 2007, 15:12
Nathan Buckley hamstring again!
Surelly he's done now.
Coach Hollywood
18 Jul 2007, 16:23
Tipping Board Round 12.
CH (55) - 52 + 3.
PortMan FC (55) - 52 + 3.
Ozza (52) - 51 + 1?.
Animal (51) - 47 + 4.
Catscratches (49) - 45 + 4.
FatChicksNLT (47) - 46 + 1?.
Ruck Machine (46) - 43 + 3.
Sixty5 (33) - 31 + 2.
SudsMcDuff (34) - 30 + 4.
Away Teams (26) - 25 + 1.
Couldn't find any for Ozza & FatCNLT?? So away teams only had 1 winner this week. Hard week to tip last week, hopefully it's a bit easier this week?
InFineForm
18 Jul 2007, 16:35
is that ment to be "laughing". man i thought i was a bad speller.
Sorree, I feiled scholl..... I'll have to see how the remedial sessions go.....
Still laffing!
what an animal
18 Jul 2007, 16:35
Ok everyone RD 12- Some tough ones as well.
Albert Park and Sth Morn need to win to stay in touch.
Can Box Hill win and rely on Lilydale losing to be even in 4th?
And last but not least battle for 12th position. Mind you both have improved out of sight recent weeks.:thumbsu: as have Nth Bwick and Richmond.
Here we go then
Nth Bwick vs Richmond - home ground advantage Nth Bwick by 11pts
Sth Morn vs Box Hill- Sth Morn to bounce back just 9pts
Eley Park vs Bulleen- A rejuvanated Bulleen by 17pts
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Saints dont loose 2 in a row at home 29pts
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High just too strong 49pts
Albert Park Vs Eltham- Albert Park season over, Eltham by 47pts
Lakey11
18 Jul 2007, 16:37
HA HA HA. You mean a guy that can actually play? That's the senior coaches nephew.....no kidding! (6ft 7in square)
Mate, the Number 11 for me is retired. However look our for it in the form of cans after the game!!
Good luck for the weekend mate, and see you Saturday!
Lakey11
18 Jul 2007, 16:41
Nathan Buckley hamstring again!
Surelly he's done now.
Maybe time for a white screen and a discretely placed bullet?
Would be a sad way for one of the greats to go out though!
Ok everyone RD 12- Some tough ones as well.
Albert Park and Sth Morn need to win to stay in touch.
Can Box Hill win and rely on Lilydale losing to be even in 4th?
And last but not least battle for 12th position. Mind you both have improved out of sight recent weeks.:thumbsu: as have Nth Bwick and Richmond.
Here we go then
Nth Bwick vs Richmond - home ground advantage Nth Bwick by 11pts
Sth Morn vs Box Hill- Sth Morn to bounce back just 9pts
Eley Park vs Bulleen- A rejuvanated Bulleen by 17pts
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Saints dont loose 2 in a row at home 29pts
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High just too strong 49pts
Albert Park Vs Eltham- Albert Park season over, Eltham by 47pts
Richmond will weather the North Brunswick Storm by 1 point.
Box Hill will travel and win against an undermanned and disgruntled Sth Mornington
Its hard not to tip Bulleen after beating Richmond and South Mornington, but I'm going with Eley Park to get back out of the seller.
The trendy piock would be The Lilies, but St Mary's will be too fired up to lose again.
Uni High by 10 goals, unless its wet... then by 2 goals.
Albert Park, post-season on the line... Eltham on a massive winning streak... Eltham to win it, and maybe favourites to win the flag at present?
HA HA HA. You mean a guy that can actually play? That's the senior coaches nephew.....no kidding! (6ft 7in square)
Mate, the Number 11 for me is retired. However look our for it in the form of cans after the game!!
Good luck for the weekend mate, and see you Saturday!
You're right about the 6"7 Square. The bloke is a monster. Will see you saturday and come introduce myself.