View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

Suds_Mcduff
18 Jul 2007, 17:08
Ok everyone RD 12- Some tough ones as well.

Albert Park and Sth Morn need to win to stay in touch.

Can Box Hill win and rely on Lilydale losing to be even in 4th?

And last but not least battle for 12th position. Mind you both have improved out of sight recent weeks.:thumbsu: as have Nth Bwick and Richmond.

Here we go then

Nth Bwick vs Richmond - home ground advantage Nth Bwick by 11pts
Sth Morn vs Box Hill- Sth Morn to bounce back just 9pts
Eley Park vs Bulleen- A rejuvanated Bulleen by 17pts
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Saints dont loose 2 in a row at home 29pts
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High just too strong 49pts
Albert Park Vs Eltham- Albert Park season over, Eltham by 47pts

Nth Bruns by 15 points
Sth Morn by 32 points
Bulleen by 21 points
St.marys by 45 points
Uni high by 70 points
Eltham by 40 points

Coach Hollywood
18 Jul 2007, 17:10
Round 12 tips.

Nth, Nth, Bull, St, UHS, EC.

Falcons07
18 Jul 2007, 17:11
Round 12 tips.

Nth, Nth, Bull, St, UHS, EC.

Hopefully catch up for a beer Coach after the game Sat, will young Luke Mason be playing??

OZZA
18 Jul 2007, 17:12
Was supposed to be back on Friday last week to play and to tip - but alas QANTAS USA ensured I was nowhere to be seen until Saturday 10 am - so away tips and only 1 winner for me - falling off the pace!!
Anyways, spilt milk cleared - its time for this week.

Nth Bwick vs Richmond - North Brunny to slay the Centrals by 15 points.
Sth Morn vs Box Hill- a disciplined, fair and all round nice guy effort from Sth Morn to see them get home by 33 points.
Eley Park vs Bulleen- Would love to tip a draw...but I'll have Bulleen by 1 straight kick.
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Saints by 36.
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High to win by 70 and go back to their clubrooms for juicy draught pots on tap...stop it UNI High Facilities!!
Albert Park Vs Eltham- Eltham to really crank it this week, a 65 point win with many goals kicked for the day.

Good luck to all....except Centrals players - but come in to the rooms for a beer(many beers) with me after we take the points and sing the song with feverish vivacity.

Coach Hollywood
18 Jul 2007, 17:15
Yeah Maso should be playing. Although he's not so "young" in our team mate.
Make sure you introduce yourself to us after the match Falcon as I always love a beer!:thumbsu:

Falcons07
18 Jul 2007, 17:16
Yeah Maso should be playing. Although he's not so "young" in our team mate.
Make sure you introduce yourself to us after the match Falcon as I always love a beer!:thumbsu:

Will do mate.

bigwaz
18 Jul 2007, 17:22
Was supposed to be back on Friday last week to play and to tip - but alas QANTAS USA ensured I was nowhere to be seen until Saturday 10 am - so away tips and only 1 winner for me - falling off the pace!!
Anyways, spilt milk cleared - its time for this week.

Nth Bwick vs Richmond - North Brunny to slay the Centrals by 15 points.
Sth Morn vs Box Hill- a disciplined, fair and all round nice guy effort from Sth Morn to see them get home by 33 points.
Eley Park vs Bulleen- Would love to tip a draw...but I'll have Bulleen by 1 straight kick.
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Saints by 36.
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High to win by 70 and go back to their clubrooms for juicy draught pots on tap...stop it UNI High Facilities!!
Albert Park Vs Eltham- Eltham to really crank it this week, a 65 point win with many goals kicked for the day.

Good luck to all....except Centrals players (but come in for a beer(many beers) with me after we take the points and sing the song with feverish vivacity.

After all my PC ranting earlier, this is how you treat us! Right, thanks for the ammo... I'm posting this post on the changeroom wall.

Abba Lonie
18 Jul 2007, 17:41
Will be interesting to see how South Mornington come out after the debacle that was last week. I assume they'll get a fair flogging on the track and it will probably inspire although (hopefully) they might self-destruct for the 2nd week in a row.

catscratches
18 Jul 2007, 17:59
Nth Bwick vs Richmond - home ground advantage Nth Bwick by 11pts
Sth Morn vs Box Hill- Sth Morn to bounce back just 9pts
Eley Park vs Bulleen- A rejuvanated Bulleen by 17pts
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Saints dont loose 2 in a row at home 29pts
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High just too strong 49pts
Albert Park Vs Eltham- Albert Park season over, Eltham by 47pts

Richmond by a little
South Mornington only because they're at home
Eley Park only just
Mt Lilydale.. there is a freight train a leaving the station
Uni High by a few
Eltham with plenty

sixty5
18 Jul 2007, 19:34
For those who care:

1's:

North Brunswick @ home.
South Mornington @ home.
Bulleen away.
Saint Marys @ home.
UHS-VU away.
Eltham away.

2's:

North Brunswick @ home.
South Mornington @ home.
Bulleen away.
Saint Marys @ home.
UHS-VU away.
Eltham away.

Ruck Machine
18 Jul 2007, 20:07
My Tips
1's
Nth Brunswick vs Richmond - Nth Brunswick by 4 Goals
Sth Mornington vs Box Hill North - BHN by 1 Goal
Eley Park vs Bulleen - Bulleen by 2 Goals
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Mt Lilydale by 4 Goals
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High by 6 Goals
Albert Park Vs Eltham - Eltham by 7 Goals

2's
Nth Brunny, BHN, Eley Park, St Mary's, UHS, Eltham

Benno82
19 Jul 2007, 09:12
My Tips
1's
Nth Brunswick vs Richmond - Nth Brunswick by 4 Goals
Sth Mornington vs Box Hill North - BHN by 1 Goal
Eley Park vs Bulleen - Bulleen by 2 Goals
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Mt Lilydale by 4 Goals
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High by 6 Goals
Albert Park Vs Eltham - Eltham by 7 Goals

2's
Nth Brunny, BHN, Eley Park, St Mary's, UHS, Eltham

GET ON THE ELEY PARK TRAIN THIS WEEK GENTS!!!

bigwaz
19 Jul 2007, 09:43

Why? I suppose you must have had more than Bulleen on the track on Tuesday!

port-man_fc
19 Jul 2007, 10:22
My Round 12 tips.

Nth Brunny
Box Hill Nth
Bulleen
St Marys
UHS
Turtles

hitdatarget
19 Jul 2007, 10:53
This is perhaps the best week of evenly matched fixtures we will see this season. Although a few matches have no bearing on the four all teams would be expecting a win.
North Brunswick and Richmond a corker. Nth just.
South Mornington in disarray still too strong for an ordinary Box Hill.
Eley Park may struggle against a buoyant Bulleen.
St Marys should be too strong for Mt Lilydale. If there is an upset here the mountainmen can cement their first final.
Uni High comfortably over an improving Syndal on the right track.
Albert Park need a win to keep in contention for a top 4 berth hosting Eltham. Tip Eltham.
Sure to be a wobbly amongst those.
Any word on Sweeney from UHS?

bigwaz
19 Jul 2007, 13:17
This is perhaps the best week of evenly matched fixtures we will see this season. Although a few matches have no bearing on the four all teams would be expecting a win.
North Brunswick and Richmond a corker. Nth just.
South Mornington in disarray still too strong for an ordinary Box Hill.
Eley Park may struggle against a buoyant Bulleen.
St Marys should be too strong for Mt Lilydale. If there is an upset here the mountainmen can cement their first final.
Uni High comfortably over an improving Syndal on the right track.
Albert Park need a win to keep in contention for a top 4 berth hosting Eltham. Tip Eltham.
Sure to be a wobbly amongst those.
Any word on Sweeney from UHS?

Darn tootin'

Hey Bulleen... pity we only got to play you guys once this year... It seems playing us started your hot streak! (And we'd love a chance to finish it :) )

InFineForm
19 Jul 2007, 13:31
Darn tootin'

Hey Bulleen... pity we only got to play you guys once this year... It seems playing us started your hot streak! (And we'd love a chance to finish it :) )

It's OK Waz - both teams will still be there next year to take it up another notch. Both teams fighting for high spots in the 5 would be lovely....:thumbsu:

And you're probably right. Beating you guys certainly proved to the boys that they weren't as bad as some of the results indicated they were...

sixty5
19 Jul 2007, 17:20
Darn tootin'

Sorry Waz, couldn't give what you wanted...
Maybe next year ay

drummerboy
19 Jul 2007, 23:55

Choo chooo!!!!

:D

Ruck Machine
20 Jul 2007, 00:04
Any news on whether Tim Allen will be playing for Sth Mornington this weekend?

OZZA
20 Jul 2007, 09:13

Tim Allen? As in Tim 'The tool man' Taylor of TV's Home Improvement?
Cheers
Randy.

what an animal
20 Jul 2007, 10:03

I did hear he re-injured hamstring afte coming back the other week.
I believe he missed last week against Bulleen so might be in luck Ruck machine.

King_Cobra
20 Jul 2007, 11:11
congrats to speedie for being named on the ground for saturdays game.

Ruck Machine
20 Jul 2007, 11:18
Tim Allen? As in Tim 'The tool man' Taylor of TV's Home Improvement?
Cheers
Randy.
http://eur.i1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/xp/premiere_photo/20050906/02/1680089099.jpg
No Not This Tim Allen.

This Tim Allen
http://www.mpnfl.com.au/Tim%20Allen%202.jpg

InFineForm
20 Jul 2007, 12:25
This Tim Allen
http://www.mpnfl.com.au/Tim%20Allen%202.jpg

A bit better padded these days....

OZZA
20 Jul 2007, 12:34
Well its going to be good to be back playing footy this week. Stinging to get out there. Hopefully get myself back into the ones next week - but will be located fairly close to the goals in the early game.

Good to see Gazbats and WhoWonIt back playing this week - two quality ins, unfortunately a few quality outs - but you boys should ensure the backline is looking fierce!

bigwaz
20 Jul 2007, 12:52
Well its going to be good to be back playing footy this week. Stinging to get out there. Hopefully get myself back into the ones next week - but will be located fairly close to the goals in the early game.

Good to see Gazbats and WhoWonIt back playing this week - two quality ins, unfortunately a few quality outs - but you boys should ensure the backline is looking fierce!

Seems I might be playing on you then OZZA... I'l be strapping on the boots tomorrow!

OZZA
20 Jul 2007, 13:05
Come down the the North Brunny goalsquare for a chat, mate!

InFineForm
20 Jul 2007, 13:15
congrats to speedie for being named on the ground for saturdays game.

Good job Speedie - unfortuntely I won't be there this week; so you'll have to earn your kicks....

bigwaz
20 Jul 2007, 14:11
Come down the the North Brunny goalsquare for a chat, mate!

I'll be down there all day by the looks of it. Rather be kicking goals though :)

The Tiger's Nuts
20 Jul 2007, 16:47
Hey Waz, bumped into a couple of the Snakes' early stalwarts yesterday, founding fathers as it were.

Speculation must be rife at the club as to why they were wearing blue and white and hamming it up for the cameras. One even pretended he was a coach! ;)

Similar speculation as to why a certain St Johns magoos player from D2 grade was starring for the brown and yellow at the same event.

Spies are everywhere - and the ammos certainly get around!

bigwaz
20 Jul 2007, 17:05
Hey Waz, bumped into a couple of the Snakes' early stalwarts yesterday, founding fathers as it were.

Speculation must be rife at the club as to why they were wearing blue and white and hamming it up for the cameras. One even pretended he was a coach! ;)

Similar speculation as to why a certain St Johns magoos player from D2 grade was starring for the brown and yellow at the same event.

Spies are everywhere - and the ammos certainly get around!

Name names!

sixty5
20 Jul 2007, 18:10
Good job Speedie - unfortuntely I won't be there this week; so you'll have to earn your kicks....
Speedster may still reach that elusive 36 touches for the season yet...

Good work mate, welcome back son...

huru

Ruck Machine
20 Jul 2007, 18:25
Which club has the best website in D4?

Albert Park - www.albertparkfc.com
BHN - www.boxhillnorthfc.com.au
Bulleen - www.bulleencobras.asn.au
Eley Park - www.thesharksfc.com
Nth Brunswick - www.northbrunswickfc.com.au
Richmond - www.richmondcentral.com
St Mary's - www.saintmarysfc.com
UHS - www.uhsobvu.com

melbdocker
20 Jul 2007, 18:58

poor speedie the 2 weeks he played really well he some how missed out on the best dont know how and bonses blog wasnt put up he would be well over the 36 touches by now pushing 50. by far not the worst down at the cobras. but good luck to you anyway speedie god knows u need it

sixty5
20 Jul 2007, 19:09

Albert Park - www.albertparkfc.com
BHN - www.boxhillnorthfc.com.au
Bulleen - www.bulleencobras.asn.au
Eley Park - www.thesharksfc.com
Nth Brunswick - www.northbrunswickfc.com.au
Richmond - www.richmondcentral.com
St Mary's - www.saintmarysfc.com
UHS - www.uhsobvu.com
Well, Mr Machine...

Tis not who has the best website, tis who has the best PHOTOS on their club website...

huru

sixty5
20 Jul 2007, 19:10
poor speedie the 2 weeks he played really well he some how missed out on the best dont know how and bonses blog wasnt put up he would be well over the 36 touches by now pushing 50. by far not the worst down at the cobras. but good luck to you anyway speedie god knows u need it
We need more supporters like you MELBDOCKER...

huru

The Tiger's Nuts
20 Jul 2007, 20:21
Name names!

Medium height, solid, long dark curly hair, founder of the club - and his brother was there too. Names should be superfluous!

Ruck Machine
21 Jul 2007, 19:10
BHN over Sth Mornington by 109 Points in the Seniors.

Tim Allen = dirty player.

Coach Hollywood
21 Jul 2007, 19:15
Turtles by 59 over Albert Park.
Any news on Mt Lilydal Vs St Marys?

Ruck Machine
21 Jul 2007, 19:40
Turtles by 59 over Albert Park.
Any news on Mt Lilydal Vs St Marys?

Lets hope St Mary's put in a stellar performance and won by 200 points.

sixty5
21 Jul 2007, 19:50
Oh well, you win some and you lose some...

Gotta love footy...

huru

Go STORM.

buckaz
21 Jul 2007, 19:51
snakes go 2 in a row for longer than ive been down at kb!
beat NBrunswick by 30 odd points, bring on south morny at the snake pit!

MrECA
21 Jul 2007, 20:22
St.Marys won by 5 points and have got the best website by the length of the straight. Agreed need more sexy chick photos up there. I will pass that on to web admin.

spy1
22 Jul 2007, 00:34
How bad was that ref in the Aussie v Japan game. You'd reckon he was got at by Indian bookmakers.

Anyway. Went down to see me old mum at Rosebud today. Took in the game at Citation Reserve. The last quarter the fog rolled in. Never seen it so thick in an afternoon game. Time keepers gave up as they could not see unless it was right in front of them. They both agreed to just let the clock run without stoppages. Buggered if I know how the players were able to work out what was going on.

Common_Hawk
22 Jul 2007, 01:29
Sharks by 8 Goals over the Cobras

sixty5
22 Jul 2007, 12:53
Sharks by 8 Goals over the Cobras
Those darn sharks...

Ruck Machine
22 Jul 2007, 14:40
Round 13
My Tips
1's
Nth Brunswick vs Richmond - Nth Brunswick by 4 Goals WRONG
Sth Mornington vs Box Hill North - BHN by 1 Goal CORRECT
Eley Park vs Bulleen - Bulleen by 2 Goals WRONG
St Marys Vs Mt Lilydale- Mt Lilydale by 4 Goals WRONG
Syndal Vs Uni High- Uni High by 6 Goals CORRECT
Albert Park Vs Eltham - Eltham by 7 Goals CORRECT

3/6

bigwaz
22 Jul 2007, 17:57
Yo...

The snakes are marching home. Pity we lost a few close games earlier or we'd be pushing for a finals position.

That was our first away win for 3 years and first winning streak in 4. About bloody time I reckon.

Bring on the tigers!

sixty5
22 Jul 2007, 19:09
Results for those who care:

1's:

North Brunswick @ home. Nope.
South Mornington @ home. Nope.
Bulleen away. Nope.
Saint Marys @ home. Yep.
UHS-VU away. Yep.
Eltham away. Yep.

Shite, 3 out of 6 again...

2's:

North Brunswick @ home. Yep.
South Mornington @ home. Yep.
Bulleen away. Nope.
Saint Marys @ home. Yep.
UHS-VU away. Yep.
Eltham away. Yep.

5 out of 6 for the two's, not bad...

huru

catscratches
22 Jul 2007, 19:15
Richmond by a little
South Mornington only because they're at home
Eley Park only just
Mt Lilydale.. there is a freight train a leaving the station
Uni High by a few
Eltham with plenty

4/6 ain't so bad it seems..

what's happened to south mornington?? two bad losses in two weeks..

bloody close in the st mary's mt lilydale game it appears.. ie a point versus a goal.. any match reports from that game??

sixty5
22 Jul 2007, 19:43
4/6 ain't so bad it seems..

what's happened to south mornington?? two bad losses in two weeks..

bloody close in the st mary's mt lilydale game it appears.. ie a point versus a goal.. any match reports from that game??
South Mornington must now know how Bulleen felt during the first half of the season, two straight losses totalling 175 points. Not good, must the cold weather I reckon...

huru

bigwaz
22 Jul 2007, 20:24
Could the lilies be the premiership favourites?

sixty5
22 Jul 2007, 20:44
Could the lilies be the premiership favourites?
Well Bigwaz, going by what the ladder says, the lillies are 8 and 5, saints 11 and 2 where eltham and uhs-vu are 12 and 1. So going on this I think it may a little early to say that the lillies could be premiership favourites.

huru

nellup
22 Jul 2007, 21:38
Well Bigwaz, going by what the ladder says, the lillies are 8 and 5, saints 11 and 2 where eltham and uhs-vu are 12 and 1. So going on this I think it may a little early to say that the lillies could be premiership favourites.

huru
Beware of the dark horse 65,I said here that this game would be closer than it looked.
Early tip ,BHN and the Lillies separated by percentage only for 4th spot.

hitdatarget
23 Jul 2007, 09:11
Beware of the dark horse 65,I said here that this game would be closer than it looked.
Early tip ,BHN and the Lillies separated by percentage only for 4th spot.
Done your homework Nellup. With everyone going through the draw and form it is a battle of three.
Lilydale would have had a mortgage on the final possie if they had got up over the Saints on Saturday.
Crucial game when the Lilies clash with Box Hill later in season. Could well ba an elimination final.
The Falcons will be hoping the Lilies and Box Hill drop a couple of matches and they can dispose of Box Hill in a fortnight in their elimin ation final.
Good to see top 3 teams coming back to the pack in terms of results.

Abba Lonie
23 Jul 2007, 10:45
79 in 11 games. If CH gets on a roll is 150 a possibility?

OZZA
23 Jul 2007, 10:49
Morning all.
Disappointing effort from Nth Brunny boys at Allard on Saturday arvo. well done to centrals - really turned it on in the second half and kicked some ripper goals. Solid win in the two's but doesn't really mean a great deal when the seniors don't get over the line.

Interesting results across the board. Syndal looked to have been very competitive in both games against one of the contenders - seem to be on the improve. Any comments Manny?

OZZA
23 Jul 2007, 11:03
79 in 11 games. If CH gets on a roll is 150 a possibility?

How does a player kick 12 of 15 teams goals.
Outrageous!!!

What was the message by half time. "Yeah, boys, I'm going pretty well - probably best to just kick it to me".

bigwaz
23 Jul 2007, 12:07
Morning all.
Disappointing effort from Nth Brunny boys at Allard on Saturday arvo. well done to centrals - really turned it on in the second half and kicked some ripper goals. Solid win in the two's but doesn't really mean a great deal when the seniors don't get over the line.

Interesting results across the board. Syndal looked to have been very competitive in both games against one of the contenders - seem to be on the improve. Any comments Manny?

The beer was cold, the club rooms were warm, and the cheese and salami was free. Plus...the crowd was certainly enthusiatic! Thanks for putting on a good show for us Nth B :)

Your comments got all the boys fired up, thanks OZZA!

OZZA
23 Jul 2007, 12:30
Which comments Waz? I don't remember saying anything controvesrsial mate??

Geez your boys were a different team after half time - they were an inspired lot on the run home.

bigwaz
23 Jul 2007, 12:50
Which comments Waz? I don't remember saying anything controvesrsial mate??

Geez your boys were a different team after half time - they were an inspired lot on the run home.

Just jokes OZZA... read my previous comments about printing out your predictions for the changeroom wall...

I thought we played a full 4 quarters for the first time all year and I think your defense got tired marking big Ned and Fish all game. Can't blame them either, its not a job i'd want :)

Ruck Machine
23 Jul 2007, 13:00
Just jokes OZZA... read my previous comments about printing out your predictions for the changeroom wall...

I thought we played a full 4 quarters for the first time all year and I think your defense got tired marking big Ned and Fish all game. Can't blame them either, its not a job i'd want :)

I quite enjoyed the challenge of playing on Fish, good player. Grubby isn't too bad either and with Nuske kicking a few you now have plenty of avenues to goal.

Keep up the good work. Looking good for RC in 08.

catscratches
23 Jul 2007, 13:02
Morning all.

Yawning gap between the form of some seniors/reserves teams for a couple of clubs, Richmond & Mt Lilydale in particular. And almost the other way around for North Brunswick.

Abba Lonie
23 Jul 2007, 13:11
Some teams are more even than others. Eg not much difference between South Mornington's 1s and 2s for mine, whereas Mt Lilydale's top few are guns but it drops off badly after that. Richmond's 2s are a much improved outfit from last year, possibly unlucky not to have won a couple more.

Spy2
23 Jul 2007, 14:24

Albert Park - www.albertparkfc.com (http://www.albertparkfc.com)
BHN - www.boxhillnorthfc.com.au (http://www.boxhillnorthfc.com.au)
Bulleen - www.bulleencobras.asn.au (http://www.bulleencobras.asn.au)
Eley Park - www.thesharksfc.com (http://www.thesharksfc.com)
Nth Brunswick - www.northbrunswickfc.com.au (http://www.northbrunswickfc.com.au)
Richmond - www.richmondcentral.com (http://www.richmondcentral.com)
St Mary's - www.saintmarysfc.com (http://www.saintmarysfc.com)
UHS - www.uhsobvu.com (http://www.uhsobvu.com)

No doubt Bulleen's website outshines their on-field performances this year.

A little birdy tells me one particular umpire from Bulleen v Eley Park was thinking more about his inflamed prostate than his decisions on Saturday. Had no impact on the game but from all involved it is time to give it away Pullen!

Coach Hollywood
23 Jul 2007, 14:29
How does a player kick 12 of 15 teams goals.
Outrageous!!!
What was the message by half time. "Yeah, boys, I'm going pretty well - probably best to just kick it to me".

No, It was just the fact that I kicked straight for a change, where as everyone else in the team was missing them this week that's all. Mind you it's alot easier to kick straighter when closer to goal also! Would have been a different story if some of the 16 points we kicked were goals instead but can't be too harsh on the boys when they're winning the footy can I?:thumbsu:

bigwaz
23 Jul 2007, 14:55
No, It was just the fact that I kicked straight for a change, where as everyone else in the team was missing them this week that's all. Mind you it's alot easier to kick straighter when closer to goal also! Would have been a different story if some of the 16 points we kicked were goals instead but can't be too harsh on the boys when they're winning the footy can I?:thumbsu:

How'd you rate Albert Park? I'm looking forward to the rematch in a few weeks at KB.

port-man_fc
23 Jul 2007, 16:03
How'd you rate Albert Park? I'm looking forward to the rematch in a few weeks at KB.

Ablert Park = Very tall, no pace, poor coaching

port-man_fc
23 Jul 2007, 16:12

Only in seniors that is!! Good club rooms and beer on tap aswell!! Ground is in good nic except for the centre square !!!

Flowerpower
23 Jul 2007, 16:13

Stupid comment port-man.

Rumour - Carlton have had words to the current D4 coach of the year and former Bears assistant to perhaps take a role?????????????

Any truth?

spy1
23 Jul 2007, 16:54
Stupid comment port-man.

Rumour - Carlton have had words to the current D4 coach of the year and former Bears assistant to perhaps take a role?????????????

Any truth?

Could be Dick Pratt is after another old bloke well past his prime to get another four years of #1 Draft picks.:p

BTW. If everyone below Tugger's level was to give it away we would be getting reserves players to umpire games up as high as B grade. Walk a mile in someones shoes b4 passing judgement upon them.:thumbsd:

Flowerpower
23 Jul 2007, 17:24
Could be Dick Pratt is after another old bloke well past his prime to get another four years of #1 Draft picks.:p

BTW. If everyone below Tugger's level was to give it away we would be getting reserves players to umpire games up as high as B grade. Walk a mile in someones shoes b4 passing judgement upon them.:thumbsd:

Spot on Spymaster.

I've been around way too long to know umpiring decisions work themselves out in the long run about 20/80. :)

Only kidding, 50/50 and they do a sensational job!

Ruck Machine
23 Jul 2007, 17:37

Maybe not B Grade Spy, more like D1/2.

The good thing about Tugger is you know exactly what you are going to get and can adjust your game play accordingly.

port-man_fc
23 Jul 2007, 18:08
Stupid comment port-man.

Any truth?

Stupid comment ?? please explain y u think it is ??
I dont think he can coach very well at all.....

sixty5
23 Jul 2007, 20:17
Do ya'll think one D. Pagan would make a good D4 coach???

oldobserver
23 Jul 2007, 20:26

Spot on Spymaster.

I've been around way too long to know umpiring decisions work themselves out in the long run about 20/80. :)

Only kidding, 50/50 and they do a sensational job!

Me too Flower,I've been around a while in VAFA as player and coach,jeez did I give the maggots hell,they were all dills,even had to spend some time on the pine for an unsavory description I made of one,now that I just go and watch and don't care who wins it's amazing how much better they have gotten:).
About six weeks back I went in for a frothy at the after match,guess whoo was umpire that day,overheard some players asking him about some rulings,the players response was,"is that really the rule".
Now old Nelly doesn't know who I am so I struck up a conversation with the hairless wonder,about the players comment,he made the comment that he doubted if 10 % of players had actually read the rule book.
Load of cra@ I thought,just another maggot lecture,but it got me thinking,I still have some contacts in a couple of divs.so I did a straw pole over the next couple of weeks,guess what,it was cra@,I found that less than 5% had sat down and read the rules.
A club that is still in my heart was the worst,after talking to the coach[higher grade,one in the alphabet range],we did a rules night,boy was that popular,they were banging the door down to get in,:)these old school sides have stats keepers,and, after the night the 1s and 2s gave away 45% less frees in future games.
Maybe the old bloke has something that should be listened to eh.
Sorry Nel. your still young at heart.:p

bigwaz
23 Jul 2007, 20:28
Do ya'll think one D. Pagan would make a good D4 coach???

No... but M.Voss would be a handy pickup! Player/coach for a few years :) And good around the bar as well!

sixty5
23 Jul 2007, 21:17
No... but M.Voss would be a handy pickup! Player/coach for a few years :) And good around the bar as well!
Yes, very true BigW, very true...

huru

The Tiger's Nuts
23 Jul 2007, 22:02
next couple of weeks,guess what,it was cra@,I found that less than 5% had sat down and read the rules....after the night the 1s and 2s gave away 45% less frees in future games.

Excellent points Oldobserver. I was having a similar discussion with a goal umpire over a can of fizzy the other week and he reckoned 90% of disputed calls were because of players not realising:
the entire ball must completely cross the line for it to be a score
You can see in almost every game a crowd of players whinging about a ball being marked or touched on the line and in every single case 50% think the umpire is a genius and 50% think he should be disembowelled on the spot.

Also if its marked close to the line and a player goes back over the goal or point line to take his kick, he must run straight at the player on the mark. If he goes off at an angle before he crosses the line, the goalie should award a rushed behind. In practice they will only do this if the field umpire has actually called play on. You can find out all sorts of interesting stuff talking to the umps after the game.

Manny
23 Jul 2007, 22:09
Morning all.

Ozza, we've been competitive all year. Considering where we came from at the start of the year (go back to page 76 I think) when all the rumors started about Syndal, we have slowly put together a reasonable squad which hopefully will be more than competitive in 2008 - Pres tells me we have 60+ registered players, I have played 44 players in the seniors, with most of these either kids or guys who haven't played since school days - they are only learning......really is a great time being a coach, teaching is what its all about - everyone at Syndal should be proud of what has and will be achieved during 2007.

On Saturday we had chances, really blew whatever chance of winning or at least pushing them further during the 3rd quarter missing a number of chances that had we taken them would have put us in front..but ifs and buts dont win games and we have to learn from that.

Apologies about the above epistle, sometimes results dont all ways tell the true story.

Manny

Flowerpower
24 Jul 2007, 09:23
Excellent points Oldobserver. I was having a similar discussion with a goal umpire over a can of fizzy the other week and he reckoned 90% of disputed calls were because of players not realising:
the entire ball must completely cross the line for it to be a score
You can see in almost every game a crowd of players whinging about a ball being marked or touched on the line and in every single case 50% think the umpire is a genius and 50% think he should be disembowelled on the spot.

Also if its marked close to the line and a player goes back over the goal or point line to take his kick, he must run straight at the player on the mark. If he goes off at an angle before he crosses the line, the goalie should award a rushed behind. In practice they will only do this if the field umpire has actually called play on. You can find out all sorts of interesting stuff talking to the umps after the game.

Whilst on the subject of rules, and perhaps Nellup can answer very quickly, I pose this question;

In an around the ground stoppage, are you able to have a third man up in the ruck ?

OZZA
24 Jul 2007, 09:38
Ozza, we've been competitive all year. Considering where we came from at the start of the year (go back to page 76 I think) when all the rumors started about Syndal, we have slowly put together a reasonable squad which hopefully will be more than competitive in 2008 - Pres tells me we have 60+ registered players, I have played 44 players in the seniors, with most of these either kids or guys who haven't played since school days - they are only learning......really is a great time being a coach, teaching is what its all about - everyone at Syndal should be proud of what has and will be achieved during 2007.

On Saturday we had chances, really blew whatever chance of winning or at least pushing them further during the 3rd quarter missing a number of chances that had we taken them would have put us in front..but ifs and buts dont win games and we have to learn from that.

Apologies about the above epistle, sometimes results dont all ways tell the true story.

Manny

Nice work Manny.
Pleased to hear all the above (North Brunswick being in a similar sort of situaton with many players having to come up to seniors for the first time etc.. and building up a squad for hopefully more success in 08'.)

Look forward to heading out to Syndal to play on saturday.

bigwaz
24 Jul 2007, 09:45
Nice work Manny.
Pleased to hear all the above (North Brunswick being in a similar sort of situaton with many players having to come up to seniors for the first time etc.. and building up a squad for hopefully more success in 08'.)

Look forward to heading out to Syndal to play on saturday.

I hope you cope better with the wind at Syndal than we did OZZA...

Big home field advatage for the Tally-Ho IMO....

Flowerpower
24 Jul 2007, 10:22

Given you are an Eltham person, I take it you have never been coached by the person in question?

So you are basing your defamatory comments on what?

You "think"?

port-man_fc
24 Jul 2007, 10:43
Given you are an Eltham person, I take it you have never been coached by the person in question?

So you are basing your defamatory comments on what?

You "think"?

Every time ive played albert park when he has coached he has made poor moves, his team doesnt play to their advantages and to be honest last week he didnt have them playing how i would have them playing at all, AP players/team are pretty handy and should b in the top 4!

May have been a champion player, might b a good coach, but he has been poor every time we play them!!!

Since when do u need 2 b coached by someone to be able to comment and analyse a coach?? Obviously u dont have the mental capacity to do so!!

Ruck Machine
24 Jul 2007, 11:10
Every time ive played albert park when he has coached he has made poor moves, his team doesnt play to their advantages and to be honest last week he didnt have them playing how i would have them playing at all, AP players/team are pretty handy and should b in the top 4!

May have been a champion player, might b a good coach, but he has been poor every time we play them!!!

Since when do u need 2 b coached by someone to be able to comment and analyse a coach?? Obviously u dont have the mental capacity to do so!!

Do you analyze all coaches? If so give your rating of all D4 coaches.

Flowerpower
24 Jul 2007, 11:16

Just interesting because you base your opinion on maybe, could I estimate, 4 times you have played them?

Hope you have never played 4 bad games of footy - otherwise I "think" you should have never played the game because I "think" you can't play!!!! :)

BTW, I don't even know the A/P coach or have anything to do with A/P, but to hang a bloke the way you have done is plain silly.

Do the teachers let you on the web during class port_man? :rolleyes:

bigwaz
24 Jul 2007, 11:23

That could get ugly...

Flowerpower
24 Jul 2007, 11:26

Fair call ruck machine.

Forums users are now anxiously awaiting port_mans every word, as there may be ramifications from his in-depth and comprehensive review.

And remember, you only need to stand on the sidelines to make an informed decision!!!! :)

Flowerpower
24 Jul 2007, 11:33
That could get ugly...

But surely the port_man has it covered bigwaz? :):):):)

port-man_fc
24 Jul 2007, 11:43

Nah i dont, i have definately analysed a few coaches, and the moves they make, i spose i always paid more attention to Bedford because he won a Brownlow Medal! One i did analyse last year was the Powerhouse coach, he is one of the best, but i guess thats not relevant now...

The coaches i do rate highly in D4 (exl hollywood for obvious reasons) are:

Richmonds, Manny, Jedda, UHS-Vu coach,

simply because they get the most out of their teams and seem to make rational decsions on game day!

Disclaimer - this doesnt mean i dont rate the others poorly, i havent really looked that much into it, but thats my 2 cents worth anyway!!

knackers_2
24 Jul 2007, 12:19
The coaches i do rate highly in D4 (exl hollywood for obvious reasons) are:

Richmonds, Manny, Jedda, UHS-Vu coach,

simply because they get the most out of their teams and seem to make rational decsions on game day!

The UHS-Vu coach is only as good as he is because of the support staff - namely Tony Boyce, who incidentally is posting on the D3 thread under the pseudonym 'champ or chump'.

hitdatarget
24 Jul 2007, 13:55
Interesting topic the quality of coaches, particularly in the low grades.
You will find that the poorer or lesser quality coaches tend to use their interchange players more often then necessary. They will make changes for no tactical reason but simply to look busy. Pathetic reasoning to say we're giving players a run. It is a senior comp.
Have seen this in many games this year and the more astute even their own club members will occassionally mention the same.
It is fact that in our grades we don't have the quality in rotations off the bench for much more than an occassional breather. When coaches overly use the bench for the sake of it they actually disrupt their teams style of play as well as the cofidence of many of those players. Part of playing is finding and flowing with the tempo of footy.

spy1
24 Jul 2007, 14:33

Porty. I think you missed the goals on this one.
Flower was talking about a different coach.
Bedford (AP) is not the reigning coach of the year. And had never been an assistant to a Brisbane coach.:o

port-man_fc
24 Jul 2007, 14:59
Bedford (AP) is not the reigning coach of the year. And had never been an assistant to a Brisbane coach.:o

Spy, he stated - "stupid comment Portman"

i replyed...

Lakey11
24 Jul 2007, 15:22
South Mornington must now know how Bulleen felt during the first half of the season, two straight losses totalling 175 points. Not good, must the cold weather I reckon...

huru

Stack stack stakers..............

Lakey11
24 Jul 2007, 17:04
Interesting topic the quality of coaches, particularly in the low grades.
You will find that the poorer or lesser quality coaches tend to use their interchange players more often then necessary. They will make changes for no tactical reason but simply to look busy. Pathetic reasoning to say we're giving players a run. It is a senior comp.
Have seen this in many games this year and the more astute even their own club members will occassionally mention the same.
It is fact that in our grades we don't have the quality in rotations off the bench for much more than an occassional breather. When coaches overly use the bench for the sake of it they actually disrupt their teams style of play as well as the cofidence of many of those players. Part of playing is finding and flowing with the tempo of footy.

Great call Hitdatarget.....

Rotations are important, but there is nothing more frustrating to a player than a coach taking them off the ground after the first 5 minutes...unless there is an obvious mismatch or to force one on the opposition (Don't see enough of that happening either)
Most D4 coaches are pretty good though. I rekon they get alot out of their players and the standard is quite good given the nature of D4 (Lower grade, blokes there for a kick with their mates etc etc) and it is heaps harder to coach at this level than at a privelleged A grade or suburban level. However the pressure is a bit less as is the bitching with no money paid to players

Have seen a few teams implode because of rotations for the sake of it!

Ruck Machine
24 Jul 2007, 17:05
Bedford (AP) is not the reigning coach of the year. And had never been an assistant to a Brisbane coach.

Assistant Coach to Brisbane Reserves 1991 Premiership team Spy, please don't undersell the reigning coach of the year. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif

nellup
24 Jul 2007, 18:15
Whilst on the subject of rules, and perhaps Nellup can answer very quickly, I pose this question;

In an around the ground stoppage, are you able to have a third man up in the ruck ?

Ruckman must be "nominated" at centre bounces,around the ground as i read the rules,you can have a third up,but be carefull that no extra players stop another players run at the ball as when there is an extra up we look for this,and it is a free.