View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
plugger28
24 Jul 2007, 23:29
Ruckman must be "nominated" at centre bounces,around the ground as i read the rules,you can have a third up,but be carefull that no extra players stop another players run at the ball as when there is an extra up we look for this,and it is a free.
Nellup - what's the rule in the VAFA for deliberate out of bounds. Can a ruckman be free kicked for punching the ball out of bounds again on the full from a throw in?
Also I didn't see all the game on Saturday, but what i did you - you did a good job so keep ignoring spy2. He is a trouble maker me thinks.
Nellup - what's the rule in the VAFA for deliberate out of bounds. Can a ruckman be free kicked for punching the ball out of bounds again on the full from a throw in?
Also I didn't see all the game on Saturday, but what i did you - you did a good job so keep ignoring spy2. He is a trouble maker me thinks.
Plugger
If a ball is hit out of bounds on the full from a boundary throw in or a throw up then a free will be awarded against the player who hit the ball,the ump would have to be clear on who hit the ball;
If both rucks made contact with the ball at the tap you cannot say who 's hit put the ball out,no free,also if another player touches the ball whilst it is in mid air then it didn't go out on the full [touched] no free.
For obvious reasons I will not make any comment on subjects concerning me personally ,I was impressed with cobras on sat.they had 2 good spurts in 2nd and 3rd,if they could have played like that longer the result would have been close.Heard many comments from experienced players to the newer ones keeping them focused and this augers well for seasons to come.The 2 spurts of play showed a side vastly improved in skills and kicking to a lead ,than early in the season.
Geez Nelly, I can see a whole new career here for you. Start you own site and just call it :
"ASK AUNTY NELLY"
Educating the masses one rule at a time.
How'd the tribunal work out for everyone?
Coach Hollywood
25 Jul 2007, 10:39
GET ON THE ELEY PARK TRAIN THIS WEEK GENTS!!!
Good call by Benno! (must have known something the rest of us didnt?)Well done to Bigwaz tipping 6 on the weekend with most getting less than the away teams?? Leaderboard up later!
Think the only players at the tribunal were STh Mornington players......so who are Centrals playing this week Waz??!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Another one for 'Ask Nelly'. Watching Kangas v Melb the other day - a Melbourne player tried to rush the ball through the behinds and stuffed up the handball. In doing so he hit the behind post and it was ruled deliberate out of bounds. This started an argument between my old man and I - as he feels that because the player was trying tio rush a point and not deliberately trying to to get it out of bounds- it shouldn't be a free kick against him - due to it being a skill error.
I disagree with him - but would love an umpy's interpretation.
Thanks Mate!
what an animal
25 Jul 2007, 10:44
TRIBUNAL AND INVESTIGATION RESULTS
Results of Tribunal Hearings – Tuesday July 24, 2007
From July 7
Shannon Smith, Box Hill North. Elbowing, 2 matches.
*Luke Hodgkins, South Mornington. Striking, 2 matches.
*Luke Hodgkins, South Mornington. Abusive language, 2 matches.
*Accepted Prescribed Penalty
Interesting nothing on Mirabella from Sth Morn again- must not have turned up again.
Coach Hollywood
25 Jul 2007, 10:45
Tipping Board Round 13.
CH (59) - 55 + 4.
PortMan FC (59) - 55 + 4.
Ozza (55) - 52 + 3.
Animal (54) - 51 + 3.
Catscratches (53) - 49 + 4.
FatChicksNLT (51) - 47 + 4.
Ruck Machine (49) - 46 + 3.
SudsMcDuff (37) - 34 + 3.
Sixty5 (36) - 33 + 3.
BigWaz - 6, HitATarget - 3
Away Teams (30) - 26 + 4.
what an animal
25 Jul 2007, 10:49
Pretty CH got 3 last round- not that flash.
Ok now for rd 14 annd some cracking games with top 4 playing each other.
UNI HIGH VS MT LILYDALE - Upset here with Lilydale to get up 7pts:thumbsu:
ELTHAM VS ST MARYS- could be match of year. Saints by 1pt
BOX HILL NTH VS ELEY PARK- Box Hill by 45pts & to remain with Lilydale
SYNDAL VS NTH BWICK- Nth Bwick by 10pts
BULLEEN VS ALBERT PARK- Albert Park by 27pts
RICHMOND VS STH MORNINGTON- Richmond to continue the slide for Sth Morn
UNI HIGH VS MT LILYDALE - Uni High to sneak home at the zoo. 8 points.
ELTHAM VS ST MARYS- Would love to watch this one. Eltham by 4 goals.
BOX HILL NTH VS ELEY PARK- Box Hill by 26 points.
SYNDAL VS NTH BWICK- Nth Bwick in a close one. 11 points.
BULLEEN VS ALBERT PARK- Albert Park by 15 points.
RICHMOND VS STH MORNINGTON- Richmond at home- 3 goals.
Flowerpower
25 Jul 2007, 11:34
Ruckman must be "nominated" at centre bounces,around the ground as i read the rules,you can have a third up,but be carefull that no extra players stop another players run at the ball as when there is an extra up we look for this,and it is a free.
Thanks Nellup - lets hope all D4 umpires are reading this forum then as I was told Saturday, from the umpires, to "read the rule book" !!!!! :)
Suds_Mcduff
25 Jul 2007, 11:35
UNI HIGH VS MT LILYDALE - Uni High to sneak home at the zoo. 8 points.
ELTHAM VS ST MARYS- Would love to watch this one. Eltham by 4 goals.
BOX HILL NTH VS ELEY PARK- Box Hill by 26 points.
SYNDAL VS NTH BWICK- Nth Bwick in a close one. 11 points.
BULLEEN VS ALBERT PARK- Albert Park by 15 points.
RICHMOND VS STH MORNINGTON- Richmond at home- 3 goals.
UHS-VU by 20 points
Eltham by 18 points
Box Hill by 52 points
Syndal by 8 points
Albert Park by 40 points
Richmond by a goal
Good call by Benno! (must have known something the rest of us didnt?)Well done to Bigwaz tipping 6 on the weekend with most getting less than the away teams?? Leaderboard up later!
Got 6 because I was probably the only punter to tip the snakes!
That doesn't seem to be the case this week.
Tips:
Lilydale
Eltham
Box Hill North
Syndal
Albert Park
and of course Richmond by 1 point!
Lets see how South Morn go wearing those darn awful VAFA alternate jumpers (green and purple wool). Enjoy fellas... I remember quite a few of your supporters giving us heaps about how attractive they were.
TRIBUNAL AND INVESTIGATION RESULTS
From July 7
Shannon Smith, Box Hill North. Elbowing, 2 matches.
*Luke Hodgkins, South Mornington. Striking, 2 matches.
*Luke Hodgkins, South Mornington. Abusive language, 2 matches.
*Accepted Prescribed Penalty
Interesting nothing on Mirabella from Sth Morn again- must not have turned up again.
Just to set the record straight.
2 players from Sth Mornington did not turn up last night.
One was Mirabella who still faces a charge, I believe, arising out of the Cobras game 2 games back.
The second was the player who was alleged to have recieved an elbow from S. Smith of BH. He was a no show and was given 2 weeks for his lack of presentation.
S. Smith of BH was charged with elbowing. After the umpire viewed the incident on the DVD submitted by BH, he had a change of heart. Agree Smith was only trying to push his opponent away. His opponent was running hard at a wrestle taking place after the half time siren. Smith was tring to push him away, but in attempting this he connected with the Tigers player's head. The umpire and the tribunal agreed to downgrade the charge to high contact and Smith was out for 2. Had he been found guilty of an elbow he would have recieved at least 4.
The other rider here is that given what happened to BH captain a few seasons ago, loosing most of his voice box from a behind the play elbow, BH have a really hard policy on their own if they are to raise an elbow. An elbow from a BH player could see him dismissed from the club.
Interesting that BH had not had a player at the tribunal, reported anyway, for 3 seasons. Given some recent history of our new member club from the coast; maybe it is time for the VAFA to have a little chat about discipline.
Benno82
25 Jul 2007, 13:17
haha! no dramas....
I had a good feeling about last saturday.
We played some good team footy... hopefully we can continue playing for each other through out the remainder of the year... and see what comes of it...
:D
what an animal
25 Jul 2007, 13:23
One was Mirabella who still faces a charge, I believe, arising out of the Cobras game 2 games back.
The second was the player who was alleged to have recieved an elbow from S. Smith of BH. He was a no show and was given 2 weeks for his lack of presentation.
S. Smith of BH was charged with elbowing. After the umpire viewed the incident on the DVD submitted by BH, he had a change of heart. Agree Smith was only trying to push his opponent away. His opponent was running hard at a wrestle taking place after the half time siren. Smith was tring to push him away, but in attempting this he connected with the Tigers player's head. The umpire and the tribunal agreed to downgrade the charge to high contact and Smith was out for 2. Had he been found guilty of an elbow he would have recieved at least 4.
The other rider here is that given what happened to BH captain a few seasons ago, loosing most of his voice box from a behind the play elbow, BH have a really hard policy on their own if they are to raise an elbow. An elbow from a BH player could see him dismissed from the club.
Interesting that BH had not had a player at the tribunal, reported anyway, for 3 seasons. Given some recent history of our new member club from the coast; maybe it is time for the VAFA to have a little chat about discipline.
Well said!
I remember that incident. the player from Hawthorn is a dog of a player!
Flowerpower
25 Jul 2007, 13:45
South need to settle into the VAFA - give it a little time Spy........
Sounds like common sense prevailed at the tribunal though!
catscratches
25 Jul 2007, 13:48
Tipping Board Round 13.
CH (59) - 55 + 4.
PortMan FC (59) - 55 + 4.
Ozza (55) - 52 + 3.
Animal (54) - 51 + 3.
Catscratches (52) - 49 + 3.
FatChicksNLT (51) - 47 + 4.
Ruck Machine (49) - 46 + 3.
SudsMcDuff (37) - 34 + 3.
Sixty5 (36) - 33 + 3.
BigWaz - 6, HitATarget - 3
Away Teams (30) - 26 + 4.
Lucky you can kick goals.. can't count.. ;-) am pretty sure i got four last week (richmond, eley park, uhs and eltham).. although still not enough to catch the leaders me thinks..
this week all home teams except Bulleen... geez it'd be an interesting year if it was top 5..
Coach Hollywood
25 Jul 2007, 14:29
Always open for a review Cat, bound to make mistakes sometimes!
As i do calculate them at work quickly when I shouldn't even be on the net, but we all know how that is?? I'll update it now for you..
hitdatarget
25 Jul 2007, 14:36
What a humorous post by Spy 1. Setting the record straight?
Bottom line BH player got 2 weeks for high contact. (striking, elbowing whatever) If umps had a change of heart and DVD had conclusively supported no penalty (umps obviously reported player) then no suspension would have been given.
Pity those accidental elbows to the head. If all those murderous drink drivers could blame their elbows for their drinking? lol
BH hard policy on own is good progressive state of the art football organisation. Should find that a normailty at most clubs.
Did sound convincing Spy until giving it thought. A career in pr is not the go.
Pity player's elbow
What a humorous post by Spy 1. Setting the record straight?
Bottom line BH player got 2 weeks for high contact. (striking, elbowing whatever) If umps had a change of heart and DVD had conclusively supported no penalty (umps obviously reported player) then no suspension would have been given.
Pity those accidental elbows to the head. If all those murderous drink drivers could blame their elbows for their drinking? lol
BH hard policy on own is good progressive state of the art football organisation. Should find that a normailty at most clubs.
Did sound convincing Spy until giving it thought. A career in pr is not the go.
Pity player's elbow
The reason I am across this case is I edited the video tape to DVD.
As someone who can't turn his neck to the left, because of accidental high contact, I would never suggest it be unpunished.
The big thing here is the footage demonstrated it was NOT an elbow. Both arms were out straight in a shoving motion. The ump and tribunal used common sense and gave him the deserved two weeks. This was all the club was after.
BH never asked for the player to be excused of all blame. They just didn't want the undeserved stigma of elbowing associated with one of their players.
Had the original report been for striking or high contact, the player would have been able to accept the offered penalty of 2 matches. This is what the club would have advised.
But by making the report for an elbow, the case becomes a 'Must be Heard'. BTW the player struck was not marked or effected and played the game out uneffected I am told.
I may be biased here, but every club should make it a priority to get as much of their game/s videod. BH instruct there regular cameraman to film any behind play incidents instead of following the play when there is a choice to be made. You never know when it might come in handy. Also there is always the chance that someone may take a hanger, kick the Sherrin into the goal umpies nuts or kick a team mate up the clacker instead of the ball; thereby giving them the chance to win a few bob on Almaost Footy Legends.:D
Abba Lonie
25 Jul 2007, 15:17
Another sleight at BHN hitdatarget. They're generally pretty subtle but not so much this time. Lift your game!
Big game over at turtle land this week. Will be interesting to see how the saints adapt to the wid eopen spaces and who can stop Hollywood fromdoing as he pleases in front of goal as he has don all year!
Another big game will be the uni v lily match with the mountain men seamingly getting better and better.
Flowerpower
25 Jul 2007, 15:40
Plenty of thought Spy1 and Ruck Machine.
That valued fourth spot is CERTAIN to be fought out between South Mornington and Mt Lilydale.
Albert Park have the toughest draw by far and Box Hill have a sick percentage and even if they blitz, at best they will miss on percentage.
I'm CERTAIN that South will not make the 4.
Coach Hollywood
25 Jul 2007, 15:46
I'm predicting BHN to sneak in???
Abba Lonie
25 Jul 2007, 16:12
Having a look at the respective draws for Mt Lilydale and Box Hill North, that round 17 clash between the 2 will be massive.
Mt Lilydale would be favourites to get in at this stage on exposed form, but you would've said the same about Bulleen and Albert Park last year.
Ruck Machine
25 Jul 2007, 16:22
I'm predicting BHN to sneak in???
BHN Run Home
Round 14 - Eley Park (at Eley Park)
Round 15 - Albert Park (at AP)
Round 16 - St Mary's (at BHN)
Round 17 - Mt Lilydale (at Mt Lilydale)
Round 18 - Syndal (at BHN)
2 Should Win (Eley, Syndal)
2 50/50 (AP, Mt Lilydale)
1 Should Lose (St Mary's)
Mt Lilydale Run Home
Round 14 - UHS (at Zoo)
Round 15 - Eltham (at Mt Lilydale)
Round 16 - Bulleen (at Bulleen)
Round 17 - BHN (at Mt Lilydale)
Round 18 - Eley Park (at Mt Lilydale)
2 Should Win (Eley, Bulleen)
2 50/50 (UHS, BHN)
1 Should Lose (Eltham)
It will be very close! BHN have a slightly easier run but it looks like it will come down to Round 17.
what an animal
25 Jul 2007, 17:13
What a weekend in terms of contests
Uni High vs Mt Lilydale - All the talk is that the mountain men love the conditions of current and really step up. If they can win this one i think 4th is theres.
Eltham Vs St Marys- One of the matches of year potentially. Was lucky enough to witness the 1st enounter and it was a beauty. Pity weather may wreck game. Have heard the saints are struck down big time by injuries. Can they adapt to the bigger ground?
Can anyone confirm from Saint land?
InFineForm
25 Jul 2007, 18:19
Where is sausage.......... Forum calling sausage..................
We promise this will be the only time this ever happens.....!!!!
Think the only players at the tribunal were STh Mornington players......so who are Centrals playing this week Waz??!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Another one for 'Ask Nelly'. Watching Kangas v Melb the other day - a Melbourne player tried to rush the ball through the behinds and stuffed up the handball. In doing so he hit the behind post and it was ruled deliberate out of bounds. This started an argument between my old man and I - as he feels that because the player was trying tio rush a point and not deliberately trying to to get it out of bounds- it shouldn't be a free kick against him - due to it being a skill error.
I disagree with him - but would love an umpy's interpretation.
Thanks Mate!
Ozza,I would have paid deliberate out of bounds also,the player was obviously trying to get the ball out of play and gain the advantage of a kick in,skill error on his part for hitting the post.He must not have had other options due to pressure from the attacking side.
buffalohunter
25 Jul 2007, 18:31
What a weekend in terms of contests
Uni High vs Mt Lilydale - All the talk is that the mountain men love the conditions of current and really step up. If they can win this one i think 4th is theres.
Eltham Vs St Marys- One of the matches of year potentially. Was lucky enough to witness the 1st enounter and it was a beauty. Pity weather may wreck game. Have heard the saints are struck down big time by injuries. Can they adapt to the bigger ground?
eltham to pump the sainters......way too strong!!
eley park to throw a spanner in the works for BHN......
Maybe one K. Sheedy would be good for D4, ay ay ay?
huru
Tips for Round Fourteen:
Seniors:
University High School-Victoria University versus Mount Lilydale = University High School-Victoria University
Box Hill North versus Eley Park = Box Hill North
Eltham versus Saint Marys = Saint Marys
Syndal Tally Ho versus North Brunswick = North Brunswick
Bulleen versus Albert Park = Bulleen
Richmond versus South Mornington = Richmond
Reserves:
University High School-Victoria University versus Mount Lilydale = Universiy High School-Victoria University
Box Hill North versus Eley Park = Eley Park
Eltham versus Saint Marys = Eltham
Richmond versus South Mornington = South Mornington
Good luck to all combatants, may the best team be the victor...
huru
Word has reached me that a popular (but follicly challenged) VAFA maggot will, this Thursday, once again offer his dome to be cleared in the name of a good cause.
Well done Pete.
hitdatarget
26 Jul 2007, 09:20
I'm CERTAIN that South will not make the 4.
No flies on you Flowerpower. Tigers gone, undisciplined and lost the plot.
And Abba more confident than ever with Mt Lilydale for fourth spot.
I had Box Hill slotted in for third in our preseason ladder and they have been nothing short of ? Don't discount Falcons, they may end Box Hill's season next week and keep their own slim hopes alive!!!!!!!!!
Ozza,I would have paid deliberate out of bounds also,the player was obviously trying to get the ball out of play and gain the advantage of a kick in,skill error on his part for hitting the post.He must not have had other options due to pressure from the attacking side.
Thanks Nelly, much appreciated - and I totally agree.
Cheers
Coach Hollywood
26 Jul 2007, 11:45
Round 14 tips.
UHS, BHN, EC, NB, AP, RICH.
Flowerpower
26 Jul 2007, 11:52
Word has reached me that a popular (but follicly challenged) VAFA maggot will, this Thursday, once again offer his dome to be cleared in the name of a good cause.
Well done Pete.
Whats this about Spy?
Has Nellup got any hair to clear? I thought he was a clean skin anyway? :)
Ruck Machine
26 Jul 2007, 12:51
Round 14 Tips
UHS-VU vs Mt Lilydale - UHS 2 Goals
BHN vs Eley Park - BHN 1 Goal
Eltham vs St Mary's - Eltham 10 Goals
Syndal vs Nth Brunswick - Syndal 1 Goal
Bulleen vs Albert Park - Albert Park 5 Goals
Richmond vs Sth Mornington - Richmond 9 Goals
port-man_fc
26 Jul 2007, 13:15
Round 14 Tips
UHS-VU vs Mt Lilydale - UHS 5 Goals
BHN vs Eley Park - BHN 15 Goals
Eltham vs St Mary's - Eltham Close one
Syndal vs Nth Brunswick - Syndal 3 Goal
Richmond vs Sth Mornington - South 4 goals
Whats this about Spy?
No that's the other end.....and it's FORESKIN.:eek:
Round 14 Tips
Hear you might be nudeing up the cranium tonight too Machine.:o
Any truth?
Any truth?
Wild times at BHN tonight? All for a good cause of course.
Ruck Machine
26 Jul 2007, 15:34
Any truth?
Not sure yet, I can guarantee that I won't be going completely bald maybe the number 3.
The young fellow who this is being done for had the last of his hair removed last night.
drummerboy
26 Jul 2007, 23:09
eley park to throw a spanner in the works for BHN......
I like the way your thinking.... :thumbsu::D
Whats this about Spy?
I still have some follicles flower,but not now after the bhn night,skin everywhere,got my revenge on the meditteranean marvel,had the honour of shaving his dome after mine was done,spot on waz a wild time had by all,the little 2 year old this was done for no longer looks out of place as we are all hairless,worth every follicle to see the look on his face,great club effort bhn,just 1st class.
Top effort by the club sponsors Proteus leadership centres,reckon they will be up for about 3 large for the night at $100 per head,top effort on their part.
Nelly, we are a top looking pair mate.
Not a grey hair between us. We should go try our local grab a granny night. They tell me your good at 'pullen'.
Flowerpower
27 Jul 2007, 10:45
Nelly, we are a top looking pair mate.
Not a grey hair between us. We should go try our local grab a granny night. They tell me your good at 'pullen'.
Bloody cold this morning.........:)
Ruck Machine
27 Jul 2007, 10:53
Bloody cold this morning.........:)
My head was cold as well Flowers, however I can guarantee it wouldn't be as cold as your nude nut.
Have you got an exact shaved heads number from last night?
Abba Lonie
27 Jul 2007, 11:07
http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/2212/coneheads23mz.jpg
Flowerpower
27 Jul 2007, 13:08
My head was cold as well Flowers, however I can guarantee it wouldn't be as cold as your nude nut.
Have you got an exact shaved heads number from last night?
27 blokes had clipper work done!
Ifeellikechickentonight
27 Jul 2007, 13:20
It seems to me that Mt Lilydale has been the stronger side between them and BHN! I would also imagine that Mt Lilydale would also be the greater threat come finals to the top three! Even though they have a great incentive to win this weekend and every other game as well, I would think that Uni high would have just as great a motivation to win and secure a top two position for the double chance. I would think that all the top three sides have a great motivation to ensure the double chance. If there was a choice between BHN and Mt Lilydale, I would think that the third place side would prefer BHN.
If Mt Lilydale beat Uni High at Uni's ground, look out those top three.
Having said that, that's not to discount Albert Park or Sth Mornington whom I'm sure will still give a good crack.
Ruck Machine
27 Jul 2007, 13:53
It seems to me that Mt Lilydale has been the stronger side between them and BHN! I would also imagine that Mt Lilydale would also be the greater threat come finals to the top three! Even though they have a great incentive to win this weekend and every other game as well, I would think that Uni high would have just as great a motivation to win and secure a top two position for the double chance. I would think that all the top three sides have a great motivation to ensure the double chance. If there was a choice between BHN and Mt Lilydale, I would think that the third place side would prefer BHN.
If Mt Lilydale beat Uni High at Uni's ground, look out those top three.
Having said that, that's not to discount Albert Park or Sth Mornington whom I'm sure will still give a good crack.
Eltham, St Mary's and UHS players, who would you rather face an unpredictable side that could explode (BHN) or a known quantity (Mt Lilydale)?
I have to agree with the chicken man on this one Ruck machine. Nothing against BHN who are definitely a good team - but I'd give Mt Lilydale a little more chance of winning a final this time around.
I thought last year you were inches off a premiership and had you had kicked better in the semi - which I watched - you'd have been premiers I believe. This year you guys aren't quite as strong - perhaps you've had more injuries - and maybe lost some key players. But I would like to see you get there out of the teams vying for the spot...just based on clubs I prob prefer you on a personal level.
Eltham, St Mary's and UHS players, who would you rather face an unpredictable side that could explode (BHN) or a known quantity (Mt Lilydale)?
Box Hill are yet to push a top 3 side correct? Lilies have come close a few times. Thats the difference.
port-man_fc
27 Jul 2007, 15:08
i'd rather play Mount Lylidale than BHN in a final!!! Thats only at the moment tho...
Due to the fact that a lot hard work and some good team footy will get u the win over Mt Lyl, and in finals u wouldnt expect anything less, but with BHN as u said they can explode!
But then again BHN have alot of second teer players that our players would expose that a more evenly matched side like Mt Lyl, that have an even spread its harder to expose players!!
Ruck Machine
27 Jul 2007, 15:09
Box Hill are yet to push a top 3 side correct? Lilies have come close a few times. Thats the difference.
Correct. The Lilies have a more proven record this season I was just pointing out the erratic nature of BHN.
what an animal
27 Jul 2007, 15:13
Very interesting point.
With Box Hill Nth big win last week could it be a sign of coming into form?
Lilydale seem to be very competitive at the moment and i think this week against Uni High will really let us know where there at.
Ruck Machine
27 Jul 2007, 16:03
i'd rather play Mount Lylidale than BHN in a final!!! Thats only at the moment tho...
Due to the fact that a lot hard work and some good team footy will get u the win over Mt Lyl, and in finals u wouldnt expect anything less, but with BHN as u said they can explode!
But then again BHN have alot of second teer players that our players would expose that a more evenly matched side like Mt Lyl, that have an even spread its harder to expose players!!
Interesting to hear that you think BHN have a lot of 2nd teer players.
I believe BHN are a very evenly spread team, especially up forward.
port-man_fc
27 Jul 2007, 16:21
All clubs have second teer senior players even AFL clubs..
I think u have about 4-5 guns that are a good as the best in the comp, and i think u have one of the best players in D4 being Dan Penny, then after that im not convinced of the quality, i think that the Staints, Turltes and UHS-VU can realy expose those players!!
Probably agree Machine.
Last year there was a big reliance on Penny (D), Martini, Odza, Irvine and Liston. All those players have missed a lot of games or struggled with injury during 07.
This has probably helped the development of a few athers.
Coach Hollywood
27 Jul 2007, 16:25
We've only played both BHN & Mt Lilydale once this season early on and both at home winning by 98 & 99 points so it's hard to judge which you would prefer to play based on that assessment?
A few points I would like to mention though are that both teams seem to be in season best form at the moment and either team would be hard to beat this week, although in 6 weeks time It looks like BHN may have better depth showing by reserves ladder position and if Mt Lilydale where to loose some key players between now and finals I would think BHN would then become more likely to finish 4th but this is all just a prediction of course & who knows what will happen? I do know that who ever wins the round 17 clash between them will determine who's more dangerous realisticly?
I personly think tomorrows game eltham vs st mary's chould be the grand final preview. As long as eltham dont get robbed like last time.
But the rond 17 eltham bulleen game sound be a good one :D
Ruck Machine
27 Jul 2007, 16:50
I personly think tomorrows game eltham vs st mary's chould be the grand final preview. As long as eltham dont get robbed like last time.
Any news on whether Little Papa is back in for the Sainters?
InFineForm
27 Jul 2007, 16:56
I personly think tomorrows game eltham vs st mary's chould be the grand final preview.
Hard to see anyone coming past those two for the GF.
Hopefully the Cobras can spark it up tomorrow for Joey's 150th. It'd be good to see them win it for him...
We've only played both BHN & Mt Lilydale once this season early on and both at home winning by 98 & 99 points so it's hard to judge which you would prefer to play based on that assessment?
A few points I would like to mention though are that both teams seem to be in season best form at the moment and either team would be hard to beat this week, although in 6 weeks time It looks like BHN may have better depth showing by reserves ladder position and if Mt Lilydale where to loose some key players between now and finals I would think BHN would then become more likely to finish 4th but this is all just a prediction of course & who knows what will happen? I do know that who ever wins the round 17 clash between them will determine who's more dangerous realisticly?
Logical thinking Holly. It has always been my thinking, that for a club to be successful over a long period, both seniors and reserve teams need to have strength.
As you rightly point out, all that will matter for nought, once they line up in rd 17.
It would pay not to get ahead of themselves though. The Lillies have a couple of real tough assigments with the Students and Turtles. While BH still need to get over a local derby this week (Sharks always lift for these ones) and have yet to win in the main straight of the Grand Prix track.
Hopefully the Cobras can spark it up tomorrow for Joey's 150th. It'd be good to see them win it for him...
I don't find it hard to see another alternative at all. The results of Uni High v Saints speak for themselves.
Coach Hollywood
27 Jul 2007, 17:28
Good to see you've joined the masses on the forum bolt, although proof reading your posts "should" be advised as a helpful hint for us to all understand your thoughts! good luck tomorrow mate..:thumbsu:
So are you saying the Bolt is fresh meat. A new virgin for us to devour?
Yum.
If this is your first time Bolt, welcome aboard.
Only some of us bite, whereas most of us bark rather a lot.:D
Joe,
If you do read this, I promise I will take plenty of photos of YOU...
Congratulations on one hundred and fifty games.
huru
Bolt, you may have heard this many a time at cobra land, but, metric or imperial???
ha ha ha
huru
Tips for Round Fourteen:
Seniors:
University High School-Victoria University versus Mount Lilydale = University High School-Victoria University
Box Hill North versus Eley Park = Box Hill North
Eltham versus Saint Marys = Saint Marys
Richmond versus South Mornington = Richmond
Reserves:
University High School-Victoria University versus Mount Lilydale = Universiy High School-Victoria University
Box Hill North versus Eley Park = Eley Park
Eltham versus Saint Marys = Eltham
Richmond versus South Mornington = South Mornington
Good luck to all combatants, may the best team be the victor...
huru
Seniors:
University High School-Victoria University versus Mount Lilydale = University High School-Victoria University YAY
Box Hill North versus Eley Park = Box Hill North YAY
Eltham versus Saint Marys = Saint Marys NAY
Syndal Tally Ho versus North Brunswick = North Brunswick NAY
Bulleen versus Albert Park = Bulleen NAY
Richmond versus South Mornington = Richmond YAY
Reserves:
University High School-Victoria University versus Mount Lilydale = Universiy High School-Victoria University YAY
Box Hill North versus Eley Park = Eley Park NAY
Eltham versus Saint Marys = Eltham NAY
Syndal Tally Ho versus North Brunswick = North Brunswick YAY
Bulleen versus Albert Park = Bulleen NAY
Richmond versus South Mornington = South Mornington YAY
Ones: Three from Six
Two's: Three from Six
huru
By the hair on your chinny chin chin spy
LESS.
D. Penny from after siren, 45m out.:eek:
One word .....PATRICK!:thumbsd:
keep_I_on_spy1
29 Jul 2007, 13:13
Probably agree Machine.
Last year there was a big reliance on Penny (D), Martini, Odza, Irvine and Liston. All those players have missed a lot of games or struggled with injury during 07.
This has probably helped the development of a few athers.
Mick Penny has been very impressive this season in various rolls, possibly worth two pennies (tuppence) after all?
Common_Hawk
29 Jul 2007, 15:25
Wasn't 45 out more like 30, 35 absolute maximum. Very dodgey free kick that set it up!
Abba Lonie
29 Jul 2007, 19:23
And no sour grapes from Eley Park of course.
Chewbacca
29 Jul 2007, 19:32
Wasn't 45 out more like 30, 35 absolute maximum. Very dodgey free kick that set it up!
God! Please don't start talking about dodgy free kicks or else we will have to exclude 4 or 5 of Eley Parks goals from the score.
Sad to know that these umps actually got paid.
drummerboy
29 Jul 2007, 20:02
God! Please don't start talking about dodgy free kicks or else we will have to exclude 4 or 5 of Eley Parks goals from the score.
Sad to know that these umps actually got paid.
Yeah it was very dodgy decisions for both teams, at one stage it looked like the umps had lost control of the game... scuffles happening in all corners of the ground.
Now this is a big call. I normally don't go too hard on umps, having tried it, I know it is harder than it looks.
But in my 40 odd years of footy, Patrick is easily the worst I have seen.
He will go with who he thinks is the best team and give them the benifit. But if any of them say boo to him he will jump the other way. This will happen several times during the day. I have never seen a game allowed to flow when he is involved.
On Saturday he had a chamellion for a partner. This guy can be good with another good umpire. Let everything go with someone who umps that way. Or, like Saturday, be absolutely inconsistent like his partner.
Players from both teams had no idea of what was going to be penalised and what was not. Frustration builds. Uncertainty builds. Standard of play falls away to a shambles. If not for the close scores you would walk away to save your sanity long before the final siren.
The mark for D Penny was 35 out. The kick was from 45. I have the DVD.
Bulleen's score 13.0.78 - is this correct? In all my time in football I dont ever remember a score line like that.
Anyone inform me what Sth Mornington's ground is like, Nelly informed me yesterday that last time he was there it was pretty ordinary - maybe some one from BHN could comment - is it big, small??
Manny
Bulleen's score 13.0.78 - is this correct? In all my time in football I dont ever remember a score line like that.
Anyone inform me what Sth Mornington's ground is like, Nelly informed me yesterday that last time he was there it was pretty ordinary - maybe some one from BHN could comment - is it big, small??
Manny
Yes Manny Bulleen kicked 13 straight...
According toone Albert Parker this may be a record, looking into it
huru
Ace High
30 Jul 2007, 01:03
Manny
Not overly long, and fairly round.
I suggest you take the following:
- Gumboots
- Foglamps
- Rinnai Infinity
Ruck Machine
30 Jul 2007, 01:49
Round 14 Tips
6/6
Good round for once.
Thought Nelly umpired well on Saturday. Only blemish that comes to mind was paying a free agaisnt one of our guys that nearly took mark of the year!!
Sth Mornington ground was a mud heap round 4 - would hate to be playing on it at this stage.
what an animal
30 Jul 2007, 10:53
3/6 last round.
Suprised with Syndal vs Nth Bwick result.
Bulleen 13 straight- fair effort.
Eltham convincing over St Marys, well and truelly flag fav's.
St Marys did well from half time onwards to keep score to what it was.
Top 2 is decided. 3rd will be St Marys.
Fight for 4th. If BHN can beat Albert Park this week, they will be 2 games clear with Eltham beating Lilydale.
4th will come down to the Box Hill Vs Lilydale match is the tip.
Flowerpower
30 Jul 2007, 10:57
Not overly long, and fairly round.
I suggest you take the following:
- Gumboots
- Foglamps
- Rinnai Infinity
Ground not too bad. Long stops required though. Don't bother going wide - straight down the middle.
Changerooms very, very ordinary (would have been disgraceful but the shower was "warm")
thanks Hollywood looking forward to having a beer with you guys after the game in round 17.
I see eltham had a good win on saturday arvo not so good for the 2s .
But on better news i see in the afl your lions had a good win smashing the pies:D
Ruck Machine
30 Jul 2007, 11:46
LESS.
D. Penny from after siren, 45m out.:eek:
One word .....PATRICK!:thumbsd:
I think Eley Park would agree when I say that the 2 umpires for last weekends game had lost complete control and the players had no idea of what was going on.
On several occasions players from both teams took clear marks only for play on to be called and on several other occasions marks were given when they shouldn't have been.
Anyway it was great to escape with the win, bring on Albert Park.
Coach Hollywood
30 Jul 2007, 11:57
Tipping Board Round 14.
CH (64) - 59 + 5.
PortMan FC (64) - 59 + 5.
Ozza (60) - 55 + 5.
Catscratches (59) - 53 + 6.
Animal (57) - 54 + 3.
Ruck Machine (55) - 49 + 6.
FatChicksNLT (53) - 51 + 2?.
SudsMcDuff (43) - 37 + 6.
Sixty5 (39) - 36 + 3.
BigWaz (38) - 32 + 6.
Away Teams (31) - 30 + 2.
Flowerpower
30 Jul 2007, 12:04
I think Eley Park would agree when I say that the 2 umpires for last weekends game had lost complete control and the players had no idea of what was going on.
On several occasions players from both teams took clear marks only for play on to be called and on several other occasions marks were given when they shouldn't have been.
Anyway it was great to escape with the win, bring on Albert Park.
I reckon there was plenty of decisions that went both for and against both sides.
But many times utter confusion reigned supreme.
Smiggins
30 Jul 2007, 15:31
[quote=OZZA;8254984]Thought Nelly umpired well on Saturday. Only blemish that comes to mind was paying a free agaisnt one of our guys that nearly took mark of the year!!
ASK Nelly - Quick question??
Nelly can you please inform us regarding to the following rule. When time on is blown. Can the game continue before time off is blown????
[quote=OZZA;8254984]Thought Nelly umpired well on Saturday. Only blemish that comes to mind was paying a free agaisnt one of our guys that nearly took mark of the year!!
ASK Nelly - Quick question??
Nelly can you please inform us regarding to the following rule. When time on is blown. Can the game continue before time off is blown????
Yes!!,sometimes the ump forgets,me included,to raise his hand to start the clock,the timekeepers instructions are that if no signal is given they are to start the clock when it is obvious that play has recommenced.
If this is in reference to the syndal v brunnie game,which i think it is,:)I stopped the clock as their was a injured player on the deck,the player who had the ball played on and as the injured player was being removed I let play go on as i had already called it back once,I will cop this one sweet,should have been a proper pr@ck and brought it back again.I'll wear the black mark.
Ruck Machine
30 Jul 2007, 16:34
I reckon there was plenty of decisions that went both for and against both sides.
But many times utter confusion reigned supreme.
Talking about confusion at one Stage Patrick asked me to show him where the mark was after he paid a 25m penalty. My response was 'You're the umpire you tell me where it is', his response to that was a vacant stare and a grunt.
Still absolutely gutted with the result on Saturday.
It was certainly up there with the worst umpiring dispay I can remember. Not biased, just rubbish. I personally got ridden into the ground, slung well after getting rid of the ball and taken high an a couple of occasions for no result, but then I got caught obviously not disposing correctly (virtually throwing the ball out) once or twice, again for no whistle.
To see a couple of marks that were paid, and then clear marks that weren't paid, just left everyone frustrated and confused.
Haven't ever lost after the siren before and hopefully never will again!! One of the worst feelings in sport!!!
PS (you may need to get the measure out Spy. If Penny's goal was from 45 out, then I've seen goals kicked at that ground from 60 odd. Unlikely I'd reckon......that said, he was the last bloke that we wanted to have the ball in that situation)
Talking about confusion at one Stage Patrick asked me to show him where the mark was after he paid a 25m penalty. My response was 'You're the umpire you tell me where it is', his response to that was a vacant stare and a grunt.
One particularly perplexing decision was late in the game when one of our guys took what looked to be a nice contested mark about 50 out - Box Hill's defender even stood his ground on the mark waiting for the kick. Then one of the umps has blown his whistle and called a ball-up. Why he didn't either pay a mark or call play on if it wan't a mark is beyond me.
Not blaming the result on this or any other decision on the day, the game was ours to be won - but there were some extremely interesting decisions either way nonetheless.
Smiggins
30 Jul 2007, 17:31
[quote=Smiggins;8257793]
Yes!!,sometimes the ump forgets,me included,to raise his hand to start the clock,the timekeepers instructions are that if no signal is given they are to start the clock when it is obvious that play has recommenced.
If this is in reference to the syndal v brunnie game,which i think it is,:)I stopped the clock as their was a injured player on the deck,the player who had the ball played on and as the injured player was being removed I let play go on as i had already called it back once,I will cop this one sweet,should have been a proper pr@ck and brought it back again.I'll wear the black mark.
Fair enough then Nelly we can all be a bit forgetfull sometimes. Try your best to remember important stuff like like that in future.
BomberCam
30 Jul 2007, 17:40
I know a lot of the umpires in lower grades ( I play Clubbies)
What does this Patrick bloke look like? I want to know if I ever come across him!!
Please excuse me... i'll be typing with my left hand for the next 8 weeks. Have to go in for surgery in the next week or two...:(
Bad luck Eley park... thats a tough way to lose. Its a bad time to run into the snakesd too... We're on a roll baby!