View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
Flowerpower
11 Aug 2006, 14:12
Biggest mouth ever!
But goes ok.
knackers_2
11 Aug 2006, 14:56
Before i say anything. Congratulations to Jacko. It takes a fair bit of work to hit 100 games. BUT...
Does anyone else think someone is taking the **** with this description "...deeds rather than words"? " ...the rest of the D4 community"
how accurate are these?
I have no doubt that this desrciption was written with the author's tongue firmly entrenched in his cheek
The D4 scribe is a Hawthorn guy so its obviously tongue in cheek, we had a good laugh reading it after training last night.
arvosjunior
14 Aug 2006, 09:56
King Cobra
What happened on Saturday? I thought you said Hawthorn would have to be wary of Bulleen? We'll be putting you out of the finals come round 18.....
Dee Snider
14 Aug 2006, 12:12
King Cobra
What happened on Saturday? I thought you said Hawthorn would have to be wary of Bulleen? We'll be putting you out of the finals come round 18.....
As a local from the 'other' Bulleen side in the Ammos, wandered down to catch a quarter of the D4 standard at the Hawthorn v Cobras game...Hawks looked like they played with a bit more confidence and system. Had good targets in the forward line (#14 and #19); and too many Cobras defenders got caught playing from behind.
Thought the Cobra's onballers were pretty good (where was the Deisel? was he out there?). #30 (seems to have been a bit of banter about him on this & DVFL site) moved reasonably well but didn't see him get much of the pill when I was there.
Would have thought the Cobras could make the 4 though - they look pretty even across the park - #5 was pretty impressive.
JP the Chinaman
14 Aug 2006, 14:12
Bulleen's ground on Saturday was absolutely Perrrrrrrrfect, it makes anyone playing on it just play that bit better...must be said to the Cobras...well done for keeping the ground in shape this time of the season. Centre was even firm enough for the Umpires to have a bounce...none tried...shame really...I said to the 2s umpire just have a go...the game was already over so why not!!!
Tiges Alive
14 Aug 2006, 14:44
chinaman, Bulleen's ground has been magnificent since the late 90's. That's probably why a certain A grade side tried to get hold of it a few years back. The ground puts most to shame.
Spot on tiges. One of the better grounds going round. Would be a perfect finals ground if it was enclosed.
Speaking of finals the cobras would be looking for a big win to boost percentage and hope albert park suffer a heavy defeat or it maybe goodnight to season 06.
IFF made some big statements last week regarding Hawthorn being nervous at playing the Cobras. Maybe they should be a bit more respectful to their opposition
Boomeroo
14 Aug 2006, 15:02
Biggest mouth ever!
But goes ok.
Have to agree... Always plays well against the House.
JP the Chinaman
14 Aug 2006, 15:05
I'll have to let Jacko know he's creating a fair bit of interest on the Forum...but then again, he is a character on the field too...
Boomeroo
14 Aug 2006, 15:14
King Cobra
All the money in the world couldnt get Bulleen into the finals now.
King_Cobra
14 Aug 2006, 19:13
King Cobra
I think it will be a very tight game against u guys but think we will get over u. Hawthorn r a very polished side with a few player that have inside knowlege of ur team unlike urselfs....If u look at the draw u will see that even with a close lose to u guys we r still very likely to play finals...
King_Cobra
14 Aug 2006, 19:17
u would wanna hope we dont make it other wise u guys will be out in the 1st week....without anyone getting paid unlike urselves....
King_Cobra
14 Aug 2006, 19:29
As a local from the 'other' Bulleen side in the Ammos, wandered down to catch a quarter of the D4 standard at the Hawthorn v Cobras game...Hawks looked like they played with a bit more confidence and system. Had good targets in the forward line (#14 and #19); and too many Cobras defenders got caught playing from behind.
Thought the Cobra's onballers were pretty good (where was the Deisel? was he out there?). #30 (seems to have been a bit of banter about him on this & DVFL site) moved reasonably well but didn't see him get much of the pill when I was there.
Would have thought the Cobras could make the 4 though - they look pretty even across the park - #5 was pretty impressive.
Diesel dislocated his finger last week and had to have surgury because the bone was sticking throu the skin. #30 had quiet day the hawthorn boys seem to have his measure and he was missing support from diesel and acca in the middle so was made tuff for him
Coach Hollywood
14 Aug 2006, 19:46
King Cobra & College Boys, Tyson was back to his best on Saturday for the Hoers kicked 3 and got plenty of it. Big chance to stay up with us playing the other 2 bottom sides in the last 2 games so It's doubtful we'll be playing Bulleen or Eltham at all next year, regardless of whether you guys can make the Grand Final? If either of you do I'll make sure I can try to make it down to have a look. Good luck with the rest of season guys, don't let Hawthorn & Powerhouse play off in the Grannie either.:thumbsu:
Boomeroo
15 Aug 2006, 15:22
Diesel dislocated his finger last week and had to have surgury because the bone was sticking throu the skin. #30 had quiet day the hawthorn boys seem to have his measure and he was missing support from diesel and acca in the middle so was made tuff for him
Spoke to a couple of Hawthorn guys and apparently Jacko killed them in his 100th
InFineForm
15 Aug 2006, 15:39
The Cobras were always going t find it tough one Acc Acc pulled out. Not such a bad move to keep him fresh. Both him and Diesel will be running around closer to the main game.
AP will not make the finals. Even if they win their last two, they won't get enough percentage to get over the Cobras after the maul NB this week. NB will stack their magoos to ensure they win the early offering.
BTW - Hawthorn magoos were 6 goals better than the PH side the week before. At least before they took the foot off the accelerator.
arvosjunior
15 Aug 2006, 15:41
Cookson (#30) hates it tough, when we (eltham) play you blokes in 2 weeks we'll be targeting him big time. Also Badenjeck from all reports looks like the Michilin Man in that white jumper that Bulleen wears.
Tiges Alive
15 Aug 2006, 17:15
arvosjunior, As long as you keep G Macrides in the 2's. The boy sleeps with the light on.
King_Cobra
15 Aug 2006, 17:21
[quote=arvosjunior]Cookson (#30) hates it tough, when we (eltham) play you blokes in 2 weeks we'll be targeting him big time. Also Badenjeck from all reports looks like the Michilin Man in that white jumper that Bulleen wears.[/quot
i think u should point that out to him when we play you or do u only throw the insults from the saftey of ur computer....and as far as cookson goes do u think u are the first team to try and target him and from what i have seen of u guys theres not to many that i would call strong over the the pill myself...
InFineForm
15 Aug 2006, 17:52
i think u should point that out to him when we play you or do u only throw the insults from the saftey of ur computer....and as far as cookson goes do u think u are the first team to try and target him and from what i have seen of u guys theres not to many that i would call strong over the the pill myself...[/quote]
King Cobra - the only thing soft about you is your gut - Oh ok - I shouldn't go there - tarred with the same brush!
Cookson may have been called soft until earlier this year. He's been tough over the ball - something Eltham will work out you've got to do in finals footy. They've got nobody to step it up when the heat gets turned on.
port-man_fc
15 Aug 2006, 21:55
Cookson (#30) hates it tough, when we (eltham) play you blokes in 2 weeks we'll be targeting him big time. Also Badenjeck from all reports looks like the Michilin Man in that white jumper that Bulleen wears.
I'd just like to inform the forum that arvosjunior isnt a turtle, there is no way any current player would go round talking the talk until the season is over!!!
Most likely a someone from the the area who knows a few bloke's from the college and bulleen but definatly not a turlte...
"Back to back to back spoons!!!!!! ha ha ha ha ha. King Cobra #35"
Yes king Cobra, thanks for the update on our ladder position.
get a new hobby tosser
arvosjunior
16 Aug 2006, 11:28
I'd just like to inform the forum that arvosjunior isnt a turtle, there is no way any current player would go round talking the talk until the season is over!!!
Most likely a someone from the the area who knows a few bloke's from the college and bulleen but definatly not a turlte...Hey port man, Tell bretty that I won't need a parma on saturday night when we go to the mint bar after we smash those cellar dwellers
port-man_fc
16 Aug 2006, 20:55
Hey port man, Tell bretty that I won't need a parma on saturday night when we go to the mint bar after we smash those cellar dwellers
mate its not hard to get that info mate its on the website, private msg me if u want to talk about the turtles more n stop this crap banter that every1's knows is rubbish......
thanks hollywood :thumbsu: wld b great if it was a E.C vs Bulleen GF... cant see it happening tho think its near on impossible know i think of it, with us playing them R18, we win there out, they win we play them 1st final!!! :mad:
Good luck with staying in d2, its harder than u think 2 go up a Div....:thumbsu:
King_Cobra
16 Aug 2006, 21:28
"Back to back to back spoons!!!!!! ha ha ha ha ha. King Cobra #35"
Yes king Cobra, thanks for the update on our ladder position.
get a new hobby tosser
what r u talking about never have put the snakes down
King_Cobra
16 Aug 2006, 21:31
mate its not hard to get that info mate its on the website, private msg me if u want to talk about the turtles more n stop this crap banter that every1's knows is rubbish......
thanks hollywood :thumbsu: wld b great if it was a E.C vs Bulleen GF... cant see it happening tho think its near on impossible know i think of it, with us playing them R18, we win there out, they win we play them 1st final!!! :mad:
Good luck with staying in d2, its harder than u think 2 go up a Div....:thumbsu:
Still may make it even if we do lose to u guys and powerhouse knock off boxhill so will be a ripper of a last round
Any truth in it King Cobra that you are already in the gym for season 2007 and on a strict diet of cream cakes and beer.
Twirl21
17 Aug 2006, 12:27
Looks like Hawthorn will be hard to beat in the finals. Having not dropped a game since round 5, they look to be on FIRE and way ahead of the pack with their game.
Anyone got any ideas as to who might just be good enough to beat them? Whether it be in finals or last tow rounds?
Bulleen's ground on Saturday was absolutely Perrrrrrrrfect, it makes anyone playing on it just play that bit better...must be said to the Cobras...well done for keeping the ground in shape this time of the season. Centre was even firm enough for the Umpires to have a bounce...none tried...shame really...I said to the 2s umpire just have a go...the game was already over so why not!!!
Bulleen's ground is magnificent! Saw both games last weekend - ground perfect. They won best ground award for the last few years in the Eastern Cricket Association - they hold rep matches, etc. there.
Well done Bulleen.
InFineForm
17 Aug 2006, 16:01
Bulleen's ground is magnificent! Saw both games last weekend - ground perfect. They won best ground award for the last few years in the Eastern Cricket Association - they hold rep matches, etc. there.
Well done Bulleen.
Only problem with the Bulleen ground is it makes playing on the crap grounds even worse. I'm sure that's why the club had such a crap record at Old Westbourne. Something like one win in 12 games there (6 ones, 6 twos). I think that the win was in 2001.
Have never travelled all that well.
JP the Chinaman
17 Aug 2006, 16:28
Rathmines is going to have a nice surface next year as well, but I think it makes a huge difference when you play on a ground like Eltham and then have a game at Eley Park, the contrast is too big...Eltham is like twice the size of Eley Park...
InFineForm
17 Aug 2006, 17:36
Rathmines is going to have a nice surface next year as well, but I think it makes a huge difference when you play on a ground like Eltham and then have a game at Eley Park, the contrast is too big...Eltham is like twice the size of Eley Park...
Forgot about Eley Park.
Never found Eltham that big a ground. Every tme we play there it's so f***ing wet that the ball just stays in one spot most of the day. Another ground the Cobras have a crap record on - and cold showers every year. No wonder most years we blue with them!
Hate the turtles. Crap song as well.
King_Cobra
17 Aug 2006, 17:50
Any truth in it King Cobra that you are already in the gym for season 2007 and on a strict diet of cream cakes and beer.
All lies my friend that was my 2006 fitness program heading in a new direction for 2007.....Krispy Kremes and Bourbon with diet coke of course.
melbdocker
17 Aug 2006, 19:49
hey wit u blokes not alowed to drink while the game is going on do u get the slab put in the middle of the rooms after a good win in the magoos or do u just have to put up wit the pain for 2 hours b4 u guys crack a can?
King_Cobra
17 Aug 2006, 23:29
hey wit u blokes not alowed to drink while the game is going on do u get the slab put in the middle of the rooms after a good win in the magoos or do u just have to put up wit the pain for 2 hours b4 u guys crack a can?
that has been known to happen but ssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhh just keep it between us ok................lol
Ifeellikechickentonight
18 Aug 2006, 03:49
Last week, the President, Secretary, Treasurer and Senior coach of each club had to submitt affidavits declaring that no one of their players was being paid in any way, shape or form.
If we were to believe all the allegations as has been speculated on many occassions on this forum, it makes me wonder; how do these people with all clear conscience, were able to sign the declarations.
If its true that there are clubs paying players, then the people who signed the forms are pigs that have absolutely no integrity.
It seems to me that those clubs that are constantly accussed of abusing the integrity and spirit of the VAFA competition, are the ones who have ultimately fallen on their swords over the years!
Is this competition actually about who can buy the best players, who can hide it the best or who can deny it the best?
Any further thoughts about this?
King_Cobra
18 Aug 2006, 09:23
Last week, the President, Secretary, Treasurer and Senior coach of each club had to submitt affidavits declaring that no one of their players was being paid in any way, shape or form.
If we were to believe all the allegations as has been speculated on many occassions on this forum, it makes me wonder; how do these people with all clear conscience, were able to sign the declarations.
If its true that there are clubs paying players, then the people who signed the forms are pigs that have absolutely no integrity.
It seems to me that those clubs that are constantly accussed of abusing the integrity and spirit of the VAFA competition, are the ones who have ultimately fallen on their swords over the years!
Is this competition actually about who can buy the best players, who can hide it the best or who can deny it the best?
Our club has been the main 1 that everone seems to think is paying its players which, to the best of my knowlege, is utter crap. I have know idea why these rumours have started against us, as we struggle to field 2 teams each week and if we were paying players im sure that this wouldnt be the case as coin would attract more players to our club!
cavedwellar
18 Aug 2006, 09:38
Our club has been the main 1 that everone seems to think is paying its players which, to the best of my knowlege, is utter crap. I have know idea why these rumours have started against us, as we struggle to field 2 teams each week and if we were paying players im sure that this wouldnt be the case as coin would attract more players to our club!
I heard the same thing KG and it may surprise you but the rumour came from one of your 1`s players that a B.Cookson was on $100 per game. On the point of you guys struggling, I heard that your senior coach is pulling the pin after this season and that also you guys might not be around next year, as financially it is all starting to catch up. Once again a rumour from a 1`s player.
JP the Chinaman
18 Aug 2006, 09:43
what beers after a good win? I'd like to ask which club does that??? hahaha...I reckon Ammos should allow drink zone and a dry zone, opposite of each other on the ground, so some of the boys don't have to go to the pub after the game to have a drink, ( magoos of course )...This boosts revenue for the club, ( not so they can buy players, I don't want to touch on this sensitive subject ) but just for the wellbeing of the footy club...like it or not, alcohol is the number one seller at Footy...used to play at Keysborough footy club...yes, the club that made 30k in profit, after paying their players and etc...and not win a game, but their boys, supporters, all have a drink at the club...during the Seniors game...so that's may be something to think about...make the game more sociable too...not saying people are allowed to drink all over the ground, but just a drinkers zone some one...away from the main spectators, the kids and the ladies, so the boys can get together to have a drink.....
I'd drink to that.
This is purely a soft piece of cloth.
Get the club's leaders to sign it , then those in charge at HQ can put it over their eyes and continue to ride their blonkered high horse. "We run a truely ammatuer competition!"
Don't get me wrong; this is the best suburban competition by some margin, but who do they think they are fooling?
It certainly doesn't surprise me that a club, or club benifactor, may be paying a player and that the teamate next to him on the rubbing table has no idea this arrangement exists. The art of secretion relies on as few people having the knowledge as possible. This should not be held against the players, who in good faith play as true ammatuers, are unaware a team mate is being remunirated for doing the same job.
No club in the lower reaches, 'District' end of the sections, could afford to sustain a campaign of paying players. The no sale of grog during games puts paid to that. But it makes me smirk to think of all those well regarded citizens of our community, who hold positions of power in clubs where the 'old school tie' means plenty, happily signing these declarations that no player in their club recieves any financial gain for his services.
It is the bad smell rather than the cream which rises to the top in this instance.
In truth their is nothing wrong with paying a player or players, it is the deception that it is not happening that is immoral. Why not allow a salary cap for each section. With A section being allowed say 100 k, B - 70k, right down to D4 having a 8 k limit. These are just ball park figures to give an idea of scale. Then it would allow clubs to deal honestly, those who are good with spending wisely would be valued at a club for thier skills and every team would be on a fair plaing field. Like AFL, you would not have to spend all your cap should you so desire. You can spend it on one player or across the whole playing group.
To help with a rise in salary cap for promoted teams they should win a purse for premierships and runner ups. Where does that money come from? How about taking the copious amounts thrown away on rep teams?
Trips for the boys up in A and B grade. Not exactly a fair and eqitable sharing of the wealth. If you want to go to Ireland, go book a holiday and pay for it yourself, or be good enough to be the best in the land and represent at the highest level. If you want to test your strength against other leagues around the country, have a carnival once every three/four years. Let states take turns in hosting it. Invite evey league in the land outside the AFL to take part. Run it like a Comm games over two weeks and really sell it to the media. Look at the success of the International Cup. I for one would be prouder of my competition being able to say we are the Australian champion league as opposed to we beat Southern footy or another 'ammo' team from West Oz. Get smart marketing people involved and the state hosting should make money. Any player who had to travel to the carnival should be sponsored directly by his own club. Why levy a struggling D4 club to give a free trip to an A grade player, who is probably earning more than most D4 clubs turn over in a year.
That's my thoughts Chickee Babe.
JP the Chinaman
18 Aug 2006, 11:21
not a bad read that...not a bad read.
InFineForm
18 Aug 2006, 11:37
[quote=spy1]In truth their is nothing wrong with paying a player or players, it is the deception that it is not happening that is immoral. Why not allow a salary cap for each section. With A section being allowed say 100 k, B - 70k, right down to D4 having a 8 k limit. These are just ball park figures to give an idea of scale. Then it would allow clubs to deal honestly, those who are good with spending wisely would be valued at a club for thier skills and every team would be on a fair plaing field. Like AFL, you would not have to spend all your cap should you so desire. You can spend it on one player or across the whole playing group.quote]
I like the idea and where it is coming from - but the reality of the comp is that any money that goes to players never actually enters club 'coffers' anyway. It is paid directly out of benefactors of each club.
I would be surprised to find if there was one single club in the VAFA that didn't 'assist' players; whether it came as cash - or kind. Many of the ex AFL / VFL players in the A/B grades of the comp are given 'jobs' at sponsors work places where the activity expected of them varies from very little to none.
The amateurs is not as clean as they like to think it is. But I agree with the sentiment that it's the best suburban comp in Melbourne.
The biggest problem that the Ammo's has is that f***ing Hawthorn reserves umpire. (A little tongue in cheek - but he's a c^^t of a man.)
JP the Chinaman
18 Aug 2006, 11:44
come on man, he comes in week in and week out to do his job, wether he's good or bad, there is no need to be calling any one that...everyone has something to say about every umpire, but at the end of the day, he didn't steal your car, he didn't rape your sister, he didn't try to bomb your house...so he doesn't deserve to be called that...Let's keep this a sporting thing...go Hawks...hehehe...
King_Cobra
18 Aug 2006, 11:48
here here JP. it would be good for the 2s to be able to have a drink after there game. when playing 2s u dont get to socialise with the guys for the other team as most guys leave before the end of the 1s because they arnt able to have a drink. Maybe keep in confined to the club/social rooms with strict rules regarding how much is being consumed with each club being responsable for there players. would make the burdon on clubs alot easier if they were getting that little bit extra from bar sales
Twirl21
18 Aug 2006, 12:00
come on man, he comes in week in and week out to do his job, wether he's good or bad, there is no need to be calling any one that...everyone has something to say about every umpire, but at the end of the day, he didn't steal your car, he didn't rape your sister, he didn't try to bomb your house...so he doesn't deserve to be called that...Let's keep this a sporting thing...go Hawks...hehehe...
Spot on JP. "InFineForm" - you are an absolute discrace. I know it is an age old argument but there is not enough respect for umpires in D4 (whether they be field or boundary). I salute the Hawthorn 2's umpire for continuing to do his job week after week (especially after being surrounded by NB players yelling death threats at him a few weeks ago), it takes courage.
And no, I'm not a Hawthorn supporter.
InFineForm
18 Aug 2006, 12:40
Spot on JP. "InFineForm" - you are an absolute discrace. I know it is an age old argument but there is not enough respect for umpires in D4 (whether they be field or boundary). I salute the Hawthorn 2's umpire for continuing to do his job week after week (especially after being surrounded by NB players yelling death threats at him a few weeks ago), it takes courage.
I'll take that - but only because it was intended to get a response. I was poking the mickey before. I will say though JP - he is not a great advertisement for your club.
I've done a bit of umpiring & hate it. The only reason I hate it is that I like to play footy - not officiate it. I understand why someone who wants to play football and is 'forced' into umpiring by club necessity could be bitter. I don't know if this is the case with the Hawthorn guy. (Maybe forced retirement because of injury?)
Boomeroo
18 Aug 2006, 12:47
As if youre not a Hawthorn supporter.
Word has it the Hawthorn 2s umpire did play but started umpiring after being picked on because he waddled around instead of running around
Boomeroo
18 Aug 2006, 12:50
Because they are heartless and have NO conscience. Thats why they dont care.
JP the Chinaman
18 Aug 2006, 12:53
Don't know what the story is...but he's an alright bloke. ( votes for me!!! )...
Boomeroo
18 Aug 2006, 12:54
Don't know what the story is...but he's an alright bloke. ( votes for me!!! )...
JP... are u NO11 for Hawthorn 2s??
JP the Chinaman
18 Aug 2006, 13:14
yeah, like that's a hard question man...there are just so many Chinamen running around in Hawthorn Magoos....hahaha...
King_Cobra
18 Aug 2006, 14:46
yeah, like that's a hard question man...there are just so many Chinamen running around in Hawthorn Magoos....hahaha...
LOL.....boomeroo isnt exactly the smartest bloke kicking around, just check out his past posts for proof.
InFineForm
18 Aug 2006, 15:26
LOL.....boomeroo isnt exactly the smartest bloke kicking around, just check out his past posts for proof.
JP - quite happy the coach didn't ask me to run with you. You go alright - don't know why you're playing so much magoos.
Who is the 2's umpire? Why doesn't he play?
Having been on a commitee for 4 years I find it hard to beleive any club in D4 could afford to pay players. The last club I remember that had a great deal of money was the reds a few years back(and no i am not suggesting anything) . Where would a club find the money?? Its hard to get sponsership, clubs make bugger all over the bar because of the grog restrictions and I have yet to go to a D4 game with many more than 50 people on the fence and those 50 are made up of the 2s player who hang around and a few family and friends.
It would not suprise me if the odd person gets a job through a club or something along those lines but unless there is a very wealthy supporter of a club in the lower grades then I would doubt too many if anyone was getting paid. Although I would not be suprised if some of the players in the higher grades are getting looked after. When high profile players who are on good money depart clubs early-mid season to play ammos it does raise question marks
JP the Chinaman
18 Aug 2006, 15:56
thanks mate for the compliment...I'm hanging for a bit more 1's action, but it's a tough nut to crack, can't get to training as often as well and it's not fair if you can't put in the time and effort...lots to improve on as well...but thanks mate...
2 more rounds boys and then finals, then this one's in the books...then start the count down to 2007...The time fly by doesn't it? Interesting finals series this year, both 1s and 2s...Hard to pick a winner, but I think Hawks by a whisker!!!
Tipping, King Cobra is getting paid in Pies and Cakes.
InFineForm
18 Aug 2006, 16:24
Tipping, King Cobra is getting paid in Pies and Cakes.
Tipping you might stand back for the soft receive if he was coming for you.
KC goes alright on Pies, Cakes & a decent dash of white line fever.
JP the Chinaman
18 Aug 2006, 17:33
good luck tomorrow you boys...
bamawmbandit
18 Aug 2006, 18:06
Liked KC's comments re beers with the opposition after the game in the 2's..for now I guess that they will just have to socialise when they see each other at the tribunal during the following week!
Lets be honest lads, if the alcohol ban was lifted it would cause all sorts of problems, for officials players and supporters...There is a big difference between crowds at the Ammo's and those at other suburban leagues.
As for the payment of players, who really cares?
Infineform: That should be soft serve I am tipping King Cobra has put down the odd 2 or 20 cones.
JP the Chinaman
18 Aug 2006, 20:38
Valid point there about the drinking, the crowd behaviour is much better at VAFA games than that of some other leagues, but that can be contributed to the size of the crowd...I've mentioned before some of the guys are going to the pub to have a drink, now I will bet my bottom dollar that if we just have a enclosed drinking area, these guys would much rather sticking around...but I guess I understand both situations...may be lift the ban till after the 3 quarter starting siren..then you only have a half to drink...well by the sound of thing KC can still do some damage in that time...hahaha...:thumbsu:
King_Cobra
18 Aug 2006, 23:01
Valid point there about the drinking, the crowd behaviour is much better at VAFA games than that of some other leagues, but that can be contributed to the size of the crowd...I've mentioned before some of the guys are going to the pub to have a drink, now I will bet my bottom dollar that if we just have a enclosed drinking area, these guys would much rather sticking around...but I guess I understand both situations...may be lift the ban till after the 3 quarter starting siren..then you only have a half to drink...well by the sound of thing KC can still do some damage in that time...hahaha...:thumbsu:
what is it pick on king cobra day today......lol.....who the hell is alfy anyway....what club u from alfy.
About the drinking if u kept it in the clubrooms for members of both clubs only then it is very controlable. Would be a good idea to have a 1 year trial to see what happens. it would sure beat standing in a carpark of a tennis club having a drink eg powerhouse magoos
Why would the VAFA go changing their website at this stage of the year?
It is nearly 8 o'clock . 3hours and 30 minutes since most games finished and still no sign of an updated ladder.
Could someone drop in an abacus to Elsternwick park?
Ifeellikechickentonight
20 Aug 2006, 03:44
Why would the VAFA go changing their website at this stage of the year?
It is nearly 8 o'clock . 3hours and 30 minutes since most games finished and still no sign of an updated ladder.
Could someone drop in an abacus to Elsternwick park?
Who knows why! Same reason they got clubs to feel in affidavits declaring they aren't paying players! It's all madness!
We all have to hang out till Monday!
JP the Chinaman
20 Aug 2006, 11:59
KC, mate, keen on your thoughts about the NB game you guys just played, they are likely to be our opponent for the first final in the magoos, what are your thoughts having played the two of us back to back?
King_Cobra
20 Aug 2006, 13:42
KC, mate, keen on your thoughts about the NB game you guys just played, they are likely to be our opponent for the first final in the magoos, what are your thoughts having played the two of us back to back?
JP, u guys are a far better side that NB we played with 17 against them so were undermaned from the start then got injurys to go with that, having said that they r the only team without there 1s in finals so i know they have been playing alot of guys who would normally play 1s so they may have a team a fair bit stronger come finals. They also have a massive hatred for u guys so it could get very physical if they are down during the game as it doesnt take much for them to lose it.
We have Eltham next week so having played the top 4 teams in the last 4 rounds we will no exactly where they stand come finals.
rightfoot_sloth
20 Aug 2006, 20:47
Saw that Richmond is advertising for new coaches for 2007. Can someone give me some more info about the club ? Is there any reason why the 2's have failed to score in 3 games this year ? Cheers RFS
JP the Chinaman
20 Aug 2006, 20:48
Thanks KC mate, that's a fair point about their 1s. If we still to playing footy the way we have been, should account for them, they play a completely different brand of football. Anyway, good luck next week against the turtles...Tough gig for the Shark boys this weekend too, having got beaten by us by 200 plus points, but they kept fighting...good to see boys....keep your spirit up!!!
King_Cobra
20 Aug 2006, 22:49
Saw that Richmond is advertising for new coaches for 2007. Can someone give me some more info about the club ? Is there any reason why the 2's have failed to score in 3 games this year ? Cheers RFS
they have alot of guys with very little football experience, ie playing there first season of footy....6 or 7 guys would make a huge differance to the club..
JP the Chinaman
21 Aug 2006, 09:23
RFS, they have been on the bottom of D4 for awhile, but they still have their core bunch of players, obviously these blokes have heart, they still front up to have a dig week in week out...so like KC said, recruit well in the off-season and they will do alright...
rightfoot_sloth
21 Aug 2006, 09:42
Thanks boys. Anyone else with info would be great !
One of the best grounds in the entire league, it an absolute pleasure to play on it.
Abba Lonie
21 Aug 2006, 11:45
Agree with that, Richmond's ground is probably my favourite to play on.
Maybe King Cobra will travel to Richmond for a run I hear the pies and cakes are bigger there.
Tough gig for the Shark boys this weekend too, having got beaten by us by 200 plus points, but they kept fighting...good to see boys....keep your spirit up!!!
Yep, was always going to be a struggle against you guys when we started with 16 players. JP, there was a period where you were dominating the centre clearances then they moved you off the ball, couldn't work that out!
Really looking forward to this week's game against North Brunny - our numbers should be good as it's the final game of the year and we have players player and B & F that night. Personally hope my shoulder pulls through and I can take the park this week.
JP the Chinaman
21 Aug 2006, 13:21
Hi Flossy mate, do me a favour and beat NB...hahaha....that'd make the last week interesting for Syndal...yeah, you were meant to play two games too...hahaha...bad luck man, hopefully that shoulder goes alright this week...
never question a coach's move mate...especially 2 weeks out from the finals...
King C, ru guys playing the Turtles this week at Bulleen, if so I might come down and have a look. You can introduce yourself and I`ll have a Justin Langer with you. Our guys are playing on Sunday. I`m sure the boys from both sides will look forward having a chat with me about all the football goss.
Agree with that, Richmond's ground is probably my favourite to play on.
Good to hear the kind words about us on this forum. We have been down for a long time, this is my second year and 1 win in 2 years is hard to stomach. :o
But we have a great group of guys down there who love playing footy with their mates. We are moving forward though, looking for a good senior coach and new players who are willing to stick around the club for a couple of years and build us up to become a team that can make finals. If anyone knows anyone who would like a challenge and help us out, www.richmondcentral.com (http://www.richmondcentral.com) is the place to go, email anyone in the committee.
cheers all, good luck with the rest of the season and finals.
GO SNAKES!!
JP the Chinaman
22 Aug 2006, 09:23
Didn't know you guys were the snakes, always thought Richmond Tigers...oh well, that's something new for a Tuesday!!! :thumbsu: Tell Burgeo to get on the forum!!!
Brutal, King Cobra will be the bloke leaning up against the canteen with a pie in one hand a pastie in the other and 2 or 3 mars bars in each pocket, then will wash it down with at least 2 liters of coke.(diet of course)
"That's for entree"
Good Luck King Cobra against Eltham. For me they will be the team to beat come finals time.
King_Cobra
22 Aug 2006, 18:19
King C, ru guys playing the Turtles this week at Bulleen, if so I might come down and have a look. You can introduce yourself and I`ll have a Justin Langer with you. Our guys are playing on Sunday. I`m sure the boys from both sides will look forward having a chat with me about all the football goss.
Yer brutal we are playing at home this week in what i believe will be a cracker of a game as a finals spot is on the line for us and a double chance for eltham. Its good to see a the diamond valley guys supporting us with there games on sunday, as well as urself there will also be some boys from greensbourgh and ressa there aswell.
King_Cobra
22 Aug 2006, 18:21
Brutal, King Cobra will be the bloke leaning up against the canteen with a pie in one hand a pastie in the other and 2 or 3 mars bars in each pocket, then will wash it down with at least 2 liters of coke.(diet of course)
"That's for entree"
Good Luck King Cobra against Eltham. For me they will be the team to beat come finals time.
Whats the fasination with throwing the pies and cakes insults at me, do u actaully know me?
InFineForm
22 Aug 2006, 18:43
Whats the fasination with throwing the pies and cakes insults at me, do u actaully know me?
Seems like they might have you mistaken with Billy or Plugger?
Or it might be me!!!!!!!!!
No sight of the Italian dwarf on here recently?
Didn't know you guys were the snakes, always thought Richmond Tigers...oh well, that's something new for a Tuesday!!! :thumbsu: Tell Burgeo to get on the forum!!!
Yeah Burgeo loves his mighty Richmond Centrals! Great to see that he's crossed over to the dark side from umpiring.
JP the Chinaman
23 Aug 2006, 10:11
He made good coin over in the dark side tho...can't hold that against him...financed his life for years!!!
what is it pick on king cobra day today......lol.....who the hell is alfy anyway....what club u from alfy.
About the drinking if u kept it in the clubrooms for members of both clubs only then it is very controlable. Would be a good idea to have a 1 year trial to see what happens. it would sure beat standing in a carpark of a tennis club having a drink eg powerhouse magoos
While I have no problems with the idea of the majority of clubs having a beer or 2 during matches, can you imagine what could have happened at Glenferrie between North Brunswick and the umpire? Could have been a hell of a lot worse - tho on the bright side, they might have beek kicked out of the comp....
InFineForm
23 Aug 2006, 15:10
While I have no problems with the idea of the majority of clubs having a beer or 2 during matches, can you imagine what could have happened at Glenferrie between North Brunswick and the umpire? Could have been a hell of a lot worse - tho on the bright side, they might have beek kicked out of the comp....
Fair point well made.
Hopefully the first final is between Hawthorn & Nth in the magoos. Given the North boys predisposition to get amongst it; and the dislike of each other, it may well be a game to watch. Although it could be over by 1/4 time if multiple players from one side get sent off. (Which is a fair chance..)
OnThEmOvE
23 Aug 2006, 17:02
Fair point well made.
Hopefully the first final is between Hawthorn & Nth in the magoos. Given the North boys predisposition to get amongst it; and the dislike of each other, it may well be a game to watch. Although it could be over by 1/4 time if multiple players from one side get sent off. (Which is a fair chance..)
Been a while since I'm been online...
To catch up with the latests posts....
The Hawthorn reserves umpire is an absoluted disgrace and should hang up his whisle at the end of theseason if not beforehand. If he umpires the NB final he will be aking for trouble... without a doubt....
Best ground in D4 this season is Bulleen by far. Our ground has held up well this season, but Bulleen's is supurb. I took a walk around down there on Monday afternoon and it was a picture of green. Richmond's ground is very average, worst ground in the comp would have to be NB or Box Hill's beach.
My bet is Hawthorn for the flag in the 1s, and Powerhouse in the 2s.
Based on insider knowledge I have been supplied with King Cobra needs to back off the cream cakes by the sounds of things... Maybe he can get the midget to change his eating habbits as well....
I also hear that a couple of clubs may be staring down the barrel of a closure or merger at the end of the season... ?? Is there any truth in this fellas??
I will watch more closely in the coming days than I have over the last few weeks as I now have my account reactivated.... Forgot the password. Gotta hate that.
JP the Chinaman
23 Aug 2006, 17:57
Finals umpires are provided by VAFA, magoos too...
I still reckon his job would be easier if there is a counterpart from the opposition, most of the time he umpires alone. It is a hard gig.
BHN beach...that's a nice description.:thumbsu:
Ah, you precious young things. The beach at Elgar Park was once the norm throughout suburban footy. If you were playing on a turf wicket centre then it would take a week to clean the kit of Merri Creek glue. If there was an artificial wicket then the 'beach' would be piled high. At least now the have synthetic covering covered by plastic then put sand on top. In our day it was common to step fron 18 inches of sand to bare exposed concrete. Good for tearing the skin of knees, elbows and faces.
And then there was the rain; it used to rain so hard every Saturday that we lost a boundary umpire one day at Sparks Reserve. Tide clean swept him and the errant Sherrin away. Of coarse we didn't have studs in boots in them days; just used to bang in a few 3 inch nails before the game and then there was .................
Mrs Spy here.
Sorry about that. Spy has been given his cocoa and valiumn and is having his afternoon nap. We will let him back on when he promises not to regale all the nice young people about his long lost football career.
Yer brutal we are playing at home this week in what i believe will be a cracker of a game as a finals spot is on the line for us and a double chance for eltham. Its good to see a the diamond valley guys supporting us with there games on sunday, as well as urself there will also be some boys from greensbourgh and ressa there aswell.
Sounds good, I look forward to making your aquaintence. I`ll try and drag a few Lower boys with me.
Coach Hollywood
23 Aug 2006, 22:22
Won't Bulleen Play the College again next week if they win Saturday?
Might have to come and check out the rematch if that happens?:thumbsu:
Brutal can come also after Lower are knocked out on Sunday.
sirentime
24 Aug 2006, 01:06
As an old BHN boy here, who moved over to the Essendon District FL, it's great to see the boys are thereabouts for finals action. Hopefully the results go their way this week and they finally get a taste of finals action, as it's been a long time coming. Best of luck to the boys and it will be a just reward for Coach Army. He is a king of a man. :thumbsu: ;)
OnThEmOvE
24 Aug 2006, 10:25
Ah, you precious young things. The beach at Elgar Park was once the norm throughout suburban footy. If you were playing on a turf wicket centre then it would take a week to clean the kit of Merri Creek glue. If there was an artificial wicket then the 'beach' would be piled high. At least now the have synthetic covering covered by plastic then put sand on top. In our day it was common to step fron 18 inches of sand to bare exposed concrete. Good for tearing the skin of knees, elbows and faces.
And then there was the rain; it used to rain so hard every Saturday that we lost a boundary umpire one day at Sparks Reserve. Tide clean swept him and the errant Sherrin away. Of coarse we didn't have studs in boots in them days; just used to bang in a few 3 inch nails before the game and then there was .................
Mrs Spy here.
Sorry about that. Spy has been given his cocoa and valiumn and is having his afternoon nap. We will let him back on when he promises not to regale all the nice young people about his long lost football career.
Gezz.... you poor old barstard..... You must've been one of the tough guys who used to walk to school in shorts through 2 feet of snow
Sob... "violin playing in the background" LoL
Will any of the top 3 teams be game enough to rest their guns this weekend leading into the finals or are they all desperate to secure the double chance?
Possible injury but fresh players v's double chance.
What to do, what to do.
JP the Chinaman
24 Aug 2006, 11:00
Spy you are from the times when petrol price were cheaper than a packet of chewies...and there were no Chinamen running around on the footy field!!! hahaha...
Milestones for this week: King Cobra to eat 10 pies at 1/2 time.
: Badanjek to fit into his jumper, saw his game against Hawthorn the big bloke has been a good paddock and a very big one at that. Good Luck on Saturday King Cobra.
Regarding the Hawks magoos umpire, last week was the first chance I'd managed to see him in action (assume we're talking about the blonde guy who looks a bit like Michael Clarke).
Anyway I must say he called a very fair game, paid frees against his team that were there to be paid and joked with guys from both sides.
Anyway, he may call the game differently when the scores a bit closer, so I'm not saying he's been unbiased in every game this season, but he certainly seemed fair last week.
Like other people have mentioned, at least he's willing to give up his time. Wouldn't be easy if he were the only ump.