View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

The Tiger's Nuts
6 Aug 2007, 11:30
... and can you yellow card a sook for diving soccer-style and trying to suck a free?

:)

fatchicksneedlovintoo
6 Aug 2007, 11:32
3000th post.... super effort that.... Obviously D4 clubs have more passionate supporters :)

Only around 1000 posts if you did not have your imput big waz.

bigwaz
6 Aug 2007, 11:51
Only around 1000 posts if you did not have your imput big waz.

Gotta keep it flowin... go snakes!

Coach Hollywood
6 Aug 2007, 12:21
Tipping Board Round 15.

CH (69) - 64 + 5.
PortMan FC (68) - 64 + 4.
Ozza (65) - 60 + 5.
Catscratches (64) - 59 + 5.
Animal (62) - 57 + 5.
Ruck Machine (60) - 55 + 5.
FatChicksNLT (58) - 53 + 5?.
SudsMcDuff (47) - 43 + 4.
Sixty5 (43) - 39 + 4.
BigWaz (44) - 38 + 6.
Away Teams (36) - 31 + 5.

Big week for Away teams picking 5, some may have been better not putting their tips in this week? Only a few big weeks to go now before finals!

King_Cobra
6 Aug 2007, 12:23
How's this then? Obviously a few changes to Ruck Machines.

FF: D.Penny (BHN) J.Garrard (EC) B.Tagell (St.M)
CHF: T.Whiting (RC) R.Kirk (UHS) B.Strickland (EC)
C: R.Foo (EC) A.Chapman (EC) R.Baker (AP)
CHB: B.O’Malley (EC) W.Smith (UHS) A.Murphy (St.M)
FB: D.Payne (EP) C.Liston (BHN) L.Gorringe (UHS)
R: M.Rhodes (MtL) R.Sissons (Sth) A.Papaluca (St.M)
Int: B.Cookson (Bul) M.Blagrove (EC) L.Hannemann (Syn)
D.Pizzari (Nth)

A little Biased towards EC of course & Dillon & Whyte unlucky to not get in also, but a few guys from the other clubs I thought performed well against us I have added.

Managed to squeze yourself in there coach i see!!! LOL.

nellup
6 Aug 2007, 12:37
Go centrals for 5 in a row next week. What a phenomenal comeback by the snakes and bad luck to Ely Park losing both games to Snakes in the final term by a small margin - a good game played pretty much in the right spirit.

Nellup I ruck for snakes and I have a question for you about 2 things football:

It seems that some umpires pay the free kick for obstruction by the other ruckman (e.g. forcing the ruckmen to more or less run directly or at a fairly reasonable angle to get a good leaping contest) where others want to encourage a wrestle in the middle by allowing the ruckman to stand in front and use their bodies in the centre bounce to shepherd out the other ruckman (I think this is more ok around the ground). What is the actual rule on this?
In the game on the weekend I took a mark and the defender was on my nose attempting to hold up the play. So I gave him the lightest feather touch palm (imagine petting a new born kitten) to push him away so I could play on and I'm not sure if the ground shook or the wind blew him over or how it happened exactly, but he fell over and you reversed my mark and give him a free. What is the ruling on pushing off defenders to play on? Thanks
CD

Clarry,I am on very soft ground answering personel decisions i have made but i won't shy away,I have always believed umps can be criticised so if i refused to answer you it would be a bit soft ,so I will.

Your Point 2 first,if you recall, i gave the signal for too high,in my opinion your contact was near the neck of the player and as i recall i said "got him up near the throat mate",that is why i reversed it.You will find most umps will not look kindly on any unwarranted contact.I was very close and had the situation in control and in my opinion your contact was not needed.

Your Point 1,rucking styles are up to the players,not the ump,in VAFA the ruckmen are allowed to approach from any direction,unlike other leagues where they must be opposite,players trying to contest the ball must be allowed to do so,if a players run is blocked and in the umps opinion the player doing the blocking is not going for the ball but rather is just try to stop the other players run,a free will result;It is again the umps opinion as is the case in many of our rules,but,if one player has his eyes up at the ball and the other has his back to the ball moving into the players line it is obvious one is going for the ball and one not.

nellup
6 Aug 2007, 12:40
... and can you yellow card a sook for diving soccer-style and trying to suck a free?

:)
like more info on that one tiger

OZZA
6 Aug 2007, 12:52

Ha ha - noticed that too - but didn't want to say anything - since the Coach H as kicked 90 goals from about 14 games.

Just the 8 goals out of 13 on the weekend. Really struggling for form.
10 to go to notch the ton! Will it be this week!!??

InFineForm
6 Aug 2007, 13:10

No problems there mate. If you're 20 in front of the next best I'd think you're entitiled to believe you're a chance to squeeze in.

You might get a chance to show him how ordinary he is in Round 17... Are you up for a job? (Running away with a smile on my face!)

King_Cobra
6 Aug 2007, 13:20
No problems there mate. If you're 20 in front of the next best I'd think you're entitiled to believe you're a chance to squeeze in.

You might get a chance to show him how ordinary he is in Round 17... Are you up for a job? (Running away with a smile on my face!)

Hahahahaa i would love the chance to play on him, never been 1 to shy a way from a challange, but i think my season is done and dusted.

I wasnt saying that his selection in the side wasnt warranted just trying to get a reaction...lol. And i think he bring up the ton against us in round 17 cant see him kicking 10 this week againts uni.

ClarencePooCD
6 Aug 2007, 13:35
Clarry,I am on very soft ground answering personel decisions i have made but i won't shy away,I have always believed umps can be criticised so if i refused to answer you it would be a bit soft ,so I will.

Your Point 2 first,if you recall, i gave the signal for too high,in my opinion your contact was near the neck of the player and as i recall i said "got him up near the throat mate",that is why i reversed it.You will find most umps will not look kindly on any unwarranted contact.I was very close and had the situation in control and in my opinion your contact was not needed.

Your Point 1,rucking styles are up to the players,not the ump,in VAFA the ruckmen are allowed to approach from any direction,unlike other leagues where they must be opposite,players trying to contest the ball must be allowed to do so,if a players run is blocked and in the umps opinion the player doing the blocking is not going for the ball but rather is just try to stop the other players run,a free will result;It is again the umps opinion as is the case in many of our rules,but,if one player has his eyes up at the ball and the other has his back to the ball moving into the players line it is obvious one is going for the ball and one not.

Thanks Nellup - in the heat of the moment I must have missed it, now that you mention it I do recall you signalling it was too high. I did get him in the high part of the chest so fair enough. Thanks for clearing that and the ruck contest up. Most appreciated.

CD

InFineForm
6 Aug 2007, 13:40
but i think my season is done and dusted.

How come?

I was thinking of a comeback over the next three weeks... Maybe as soon as Mt Lilydale this week...

King_Cobra
6 Aug 2007, 14:12
How come?

I was thinking of a comeback over the next three weeks... Maybe as soon as Mt Lilydale this week...

I tore my hammy in the second 1/4 on saturday. Not sure how bad it is but didnt feel good at the time. See how it goes over next few days.

OZZA
6 Aug 2007, 14:24

Ha ha - noticed that too - but didn't want to say anything - since the Coach H as kicked 90 goals from about 14 games.

Just the 8 goals out of 13 on the weekend. Really struggling for form.
10 to go to notch the ton! Will it be this week!!??

InFineForm
6 Aug 2007, 14:25
I tore my hammy in the second 1/4 on saturday. Not sure how bad it is but didnt feel good at the time. See how it goes over next few days.

Oh - bad luck.... Lucky you're not on the tools the entire time these days...

You weren't trying to chase down Papaluca were you!!!:D

Ruck Machine
6 Aug 2007, 16:50
My Round 16 Tips

Nth Brunswick vs Sth Mornington - Nth Brunswick by 2 Goals
UHS-VU vs Eltham - UHS by 1 Goal
BHN vs St Mary's - BHN by 1 Goal
Syndal vs Eley Park - Eley Park by 2 Goals
Bulleen vs Mt Lilydale - Mt Lilydale by 8 Goals
Richmond vs Albert Park - Richmond by 1 Goal

sixty5
6 Aug 2007, 17:13

I have found a megaphone for you so i can hear those decisions you make...

InFineForm
6 Aug 2007, 17:28
I have found a megaphone for you so i can hear those decisions you make...

Decisions - you don't call that a decision do you?!!!!

Sorry mate - all that over one little step!

bigwaz
6 Aug 2007, 18:08
Tipping Board Round 15.

CH (69) - 64 + 5.
PortMan FC (68) - 64 + 4.
Ozza (65) - 60 + 5.
Catscratches (64) - 59 + 5.
Animal (62) - 57 + 5.
Ruck Machine (60) - 55 + 5.
FatChicksNLT (58) - 53 + 5?.
SudsMcDuff (47) - 43 + 4.
Sixty5 (43) - 39 + 4.
BigWaz (43) - 38 + 5?.
Away Teams (36) - 31 + 5.

Big week for Away teams picking 5, some may have been better not putting their tips in this week? Only a few big weeks to go now before finals!

Yo... that's 6 again for me (not 5)... 3 weeks in a row:cool:! Move over Ed.

I'm off to Ballarat to have a large pin put in my wrist... catch ya'll on the flip side:)

nellup
6 Aug 2007, 23:59
Congrats to BHN for coming 2nd in the cystic fibrosis challenge and winning a new BBQ for the effort,if you bas@ards put it in the umps room where the other one is there's gonna be trouble.:p

martorius
7 Aug 2007, 01:03

oh, so you were one of the dudes there on saturday! were you the one with or without hair?

nellup
7 Aug 2007, 08:20
oh, so you were one of the dudes there on saturday! were you the one with or without hair?

Bald is beautiful mart.

MrECA
7 Aug 2007, 09:42

I'm not sure how Brett Gatehouse has been left out of team of the year talks he is young but has gone from strength to strength with gut-busting runs. Admittedly his Headband does look rather gay but he tells me the chicks dig it. His evasive skills and penetrating kicks off either foot have me believe that he will be one of the most damaging players in this year's finals. It would not surprise me with 4 best on ground showings in these last 4 rounds he could snare the Clubs B&F. His nickname is Ali and some say that ALI was the best of all time. (Ali-gator) is one to watch.

King_Cobra
7 Aug 2007, 16:27

Nah wasnt doing anything stupid like that, just going for a spoil on the lead nothing havent done a million times before and it just went pop. Must be getting too old, well thats what the wife and all her friends keep telling me!!!

Gotta love a bit of support from ya friends and family.

Coach Hollywood
7 Aug 2007, 16:37
Just sounds like another excuse for missing the Eltham match to me King Cobra????:p

King_Cobra
7 Aug 2007, 17:27
Just sounds like another excuse for missing the Eltham match to me King Cobra????:p

No excuse here mate if there has been 1 match i have been looking forward to it was the eltham match. Always enjoyed the eltham bulleen matches and seeing it may be the last for a while i am very keen to play. If the hammy comes up i will be there with bells on.

ANy truth to the rumour that u will pull the pin on playing if u rack up the ton and a flag this year coach?

InFineForm
7 Aug 2007, 17:28

Me thinking the same thing Coach - only it sounds like he's done a good job on it....

Coach Hollywood
7 Aug 2007, 17:39
No excuse here mate if there has been 1 match i have been looking forward to it was the eltham match. Always enjoyed the eltham bulleen matches and seeing it may be the last for a while i am very keen to play. If the hammy comes up i will be there with bells on.

ANy truth to the rumour that u will pull the pin on playing if u rack up the ton and a flag this year coach?

Hope it comes up then mate. No that's just a rumor definetly looking to stay on next year but maybe a lesser time spent on field playing role perhaps??;)

sixty5
7 Aug 2007, 17:41

I personally believe the size of your midriff may have something to do with your injury ha ha ha, but then again I can't talk...

huru

King_Cobra
7 Aug 2007, 17:58
I personally believe the size of your midriff may have something to do with your injury ha ha ha, but then again I can't talk...

huru

If that was the problem you would do ur hammy getting out of bed in the morning.....lol.

sixty5
7 Aug 2007, 18:13
If that was the problem you would do ur hammy getting out of bed in the morning.....lol.
Don't laugh, it has happened, ha ha

huru

I roll out of bed...

bbolt1
7 Aug 2007, 23:06
yer looking forward to the eltham v's bulleen match. Hey hollywood i see everythings going nicely for you and the boys at the turtle dome.
Wish you all the best for this week hope you guys beat uni.

bigwaz
8 Aug 2007, 10:05
I hope you Eley park lads can do us a favour and knock off Syndal this week. Though it's always tough out on their ground. Both teams seem to be in good form? Of course Syndal would have to go in as favourites... So bring on the upset!

bigwaz
8 Aug 2007, 10:25
Oh...eley park... How come no one stuck around for a beer? Dont bhn give you guys access to the rooms after games? Or do you guys go back to your other clubhouse?

Coach Hollywood
8 Aug 2007, 12:36
Round 16 tips.

Some big matches this week with 1 Vs 2, 3 Vs 4, 6 Vs 8, 7 Vs 10, 9 Vs 11. all should be very close games one would think??

My tips are Eltham, North Brun, St Marys, Syndal, Mt Lilydale, Albert Park.

cjay
8 Aug 2007, 12:41
Oh...eley park... How come no one stuck around for a beer? Dont bhn give you guys access to the rooms after games? Or do you guys go back to your other clubhouse?

Yeah WAZ we try to go back to our regular clubrooms at our usual homeground. The canteen is run by BHN - we have had no canteen or bar after the game for the entire year. Thanks again whitehorse council.:thumbsd:

catscratches
8 Aug 2007, 13:00
Round 16 tips.

Some big matches this week with 1 Vs 2, 3 Vs 4, 6 Vs 8, 7 Vs 10, 9 Vs 11. all should be very close games one would think??

My tips are Eltham, North Brun, St Marys, Syndal, Mt Lilydale, Albert Park.

Will finally get back to Melbourne to see some of this, will be a great weekend.

North Brunswick over South
UHS over Eltham
BHN over St Marys
Syndal over Eley Park
Mt Lilydale over Bulleen
Richmond over Albert Park

Ruck Machine
8 Aug 2007, 13:07
Yeah WAZ we try to go back to our regular clubrooms at our usual homeground. The canteen is run by BHN - we have had no canteen or bar after the game for the entire year. Thanks again whitehorse council.:thumbsd:

Next year at least you will have a super smooth oval with a good covering of grass, so its not all bad.

I thought you guys ran a little bar out of the canteen window that connects to the change rooms??????

King_Cobra
8 Aug 2007, 13:16

It's a pity you dont run the canteen because you guys had thye best looking canteen ladys in the whole of D4. I hope they are back next year....lol.

Oh and the pies werent bad either!!!!!!!!

buffalohunter
8 Aug 2007, 13:31
lol ur a dirtbag king.....arent they only like 13 years old or something???

King_Cobra
8 Aug 2007, 13:47
lol ur a dirtbag king.....arent they only like 13 years old or something???

Nah not the 1s that were there last year when we played them, i wouldnt want to put an age on them as you know how sensitive some women get about there age but i can insure u that they were all over the age of 18.

what an animal
8 Aug 2007, 14:37
Ok rd 16 tips.

North Brunswick over South Morn (south have really dropped the bundle, interesting to see Mirabella in best- what happened to his tribunal appearance?)
Eltham over Uni High 37pts
St Marys 59pts over BHN
Syndal 19pts over Eley Park
Mt Lilydale 39pts over Bulleen (which would mean massive game when BHN and mt Lilydale meet next week)
Albert Park 9pts over Richmond

Ok im going to get something else going.
My top 4 prediction taking into consideration matches to come.

Eltham
Uni High
St Marys
Mt Lilydale
--------------

FINALS

Eltham vs Uni
St Marys vs Mt Lilydale

Box Hill to loose against St marys and Mt lilydale and to miss final 4 on %

Interesting to see finals at the small Vermont ground, who will it favour...

Ruck Machine
8 Aug 2007, 14:55
My Top 4 Prediction

Eltham
UHS
St Marys
BHN
---------

FINALS
Eltham vs UHS
St Marys vs BHN

Small Ground will suit BHN and St Marys, UHS won't be fussed either way and Eltham will dislike a smaller oval.

bigwaz
8 Aug 2007, 15:39
Nth Bruns should easily beat South Morn, but the reserves will be a huge game with SM making a big push for finals inclusion. It will be a much more exciting game than the seniors.

I think Eltham have shown they are the top team in D4, and should beat uhs. Thus cementing the minor premiership.

St Marys haven't been going really well, but BHN haven't been in top form either..so St Marys to get up in the final preview. Look out for the replay in three weeks!

Eley park have been unlucky the past two weeks, while the ball has bounced well for Syndal. Syndal are the faves, but it will be close.

Mt Lilidale... must win game.

Richmond will extend its winning streak to 5 games by defeating AP, winning the rematch at KB reserve by one solitary point.

BTW AP, KB has been rolled and is looking sh*t hot. If the rain stays away it'll be a fast open game.

I have missed the past two senior games so i'm really looking forward to this one. Go snakes !!!

Ratfink
8 Aug 2007, 16:53
Good luck with that no rain request bigwaz. At this stage the forecast for Friday night / Saturday doesn't look too promising. :(

sixty5
8 Aug 2007, 17:10
It's a pity you dont run the canteen because you guys had thye best looking canteen ladys in the whole of D4. I hope they are back next year....lol.

Oh and the pies werent bad either!!!!!!!!
Typically thinking about food ay kc...

huru

King_Cobra
8 Aug 2007, 17:32
Typically thinking about food ay kc...

huru

well according to a few posters on this forum last year pies and cakes are the main reason i play football!!!!

What ever happened to ALFY and the likes from last year?

bigwaz
8 Aug 2007, 17:39
Good luck with that no rain request bigwaz. At this stage the forecast for Friday night / Saturday doesn't look too promising. :(

They've been forecasting rain, but its hardly been pouring down ?

sixty5
8 Aug 2007, 17:40
well according to a few posters on this forum last year pies and cakes are the main reason i play football!!!!

What ever happened to ALFY and the likes from last year?
I heard you put your hand for ruck coach...

InFineForm
8 Aug 2007, 17:42

You're mistaken 65 - the hand went up for another pie!

Runs away laffing......... (Only issue was that I really, really wanted that pie for myself!)

spy1
8 Aug 2007, 18:05
Using both recent topics....... I hope we don't see a repeat of last years debacle at the first weekend of finals.

Running out of food in the canteen b4 the ones.
As long as the pies are hot and the sauce from the dimies and dogs is running down your arm, who cares where they play the finals.

King_Cobra
8 Aug 2007, 18:12

Well i had to put an alternate to licka's "just tap it to me" ruck theory....lol.

The Polecat
8 Aug 2007, 19:09
I have to whole heartedly agree with King Cobra on the Eley Park canteen ladies. They sure were as tasty as the hotdogs!:thumbsu: Must have been in their early twenties at the very most!!!;) I know i was only getting one dim sim at a time just to have a squiz!:eek: You must have a very keen eye for these sort of qualities KC?:D Keep up the good work!:thumbsu:

sixty5
8 Aug 2007, 19:34
Well i had to put an alternate to licka's "just tap it to me" ruck theory....lol.
he he he...

huru

Ace High
9 Aug 2007, 00:47
Found this today on the VAFA website:

Results of Investigations – Tuesday August 7, 2007
The Hawthorn Amateur Football Club charged with conduct unbecoming during their senior match against La Trobe University on Saturday July 28, 2007 at Hawthorn.
The specific charge is as follows:
That during the last quarter of the match it is alleged that Hawthorn Amateur player (no. 14) Daniel Lauletta left the playing arena and approached and wrestled La Trobe University team manager and La Trobe University spectators.
Player pleaded guilty, suspended for 2 matches.

What a sicko. A fair fall from grace from a player who only a few years ago was voted as being the B&F of D4.

spy1
9 Aug 2007, 08:15
Found this today on the VAFA website:

Results of Investigations – Tuesday August 7, 2007
The Hawthorn Amateur Football Club charged with conduct unbecoming during their senior match against La Trobe University on Saturday July 28, 2007 at Hawthorn.
The specific charge is as follows:
That during the last quarter of the match it is alleged that Hawthorn Amateur player (no. 14) Daniel Lauletta left the playing arena and approached and wrestled La Trobe University team manager and La Trobe University spectators.
Player pleaded guilty, suspended for 2 matches.

What a sicko. A fair fall from grace from a player who only a few years ago was voted as being the B&F of D4.

Not sure about this one. Seems a bit strange he was only given 2 weeks for what would appear a very serious offence. Don't know the details, but the charge does not always give you a full story.

bigwaz
9 Aug 2007, 09:45
Not sure about this one. Seems a bit strange he was only given 2 weeks for what would appear a very serious offence. Don't know the details, but the charge does not always give you a full story.

Had to be there I suppose :p

what an animal
9 Aug 2007, 09:48

Agree!

The wrap sheet sounds worse than it must have been for him to only get 2 weeks!

I would have thought if someone leaves the sporting arena and makes contact with a supporter member of other teams support staff would be looking atleast 6weeks minimum.

That sums up the VAFA and there decisions i must say though.

Coach Hollywood
9 Aug 2007, 10:14
Must have been sucked in big time by the La Trobe bench regardless?? It does only saying "wrestling", so possibly just a grab of the jumper with a push & shove or something I would think??

Abba Lonie
9 Aug 2007, 10:24
We all know wrestling's fake, so it was probably staged...

ClarencePooCD
9 Aug 2007, 10:42

Yes I am the RC ruckman WITH hair (albeit short).

what an animal
9 Aug 2007, 10:48

And you open the bowling for richmond city?

port-man_fc
9 Aug 2007, 10:51
Must have been sucked in big time by the La Trobe bench regardless?? It does only saying "wrestling", so possibly just a grab of the jumper with a push & shove or something I would think??

I reckon ur spot on Coach, he is a big rig and knows how to blew and im sure if he wanted to do some proper damage he would have, 2 weeks suggests didnt do to much damage and was a push and shove...

Its interesting to see how well they have gone, they have suprised me, they werent that good last year to suggest a top 2 side in d3 this yr, did they recruit some players??

tobyg
9 Aug 2007, 11:42

A few blokes in the D3 forum reckon he is pretty lucky. Still if no-one gets hurt what is wrong with a bit of passion! I am positive he would have been getting a mouth full from the LA TROBE bench..besides if he had of just told them to 'f%$$ off' he would have got 4 weeks!

Tiges Alive
9 Aug 2007, 13:09
La Trobe bench had a run in against a BT player in D2 a few years back. Their bench was mouthing off all day and it was pretty personal. Going on that form and if he is a bit of a hot head, then maybe he might have had enough.

On another topic, can anyone from Eltham let us knoe if little Gavan Macrides is still playing at all.

port-man_fc
9 Aug 2007, 13:51
La Trobe bench had a run in against a BT player in D2 a few years back. Their bench was mouthing off all day and it was pretty personal. Going on that form and if he is a bit of a hot head, then maybe he might have had enough.

On another topic, can anyone from Eltham let us knoe if little Gavan Macrides is still playing at all.

Gav's a full time physio now and isnt playing and wont be 4 the rest of the year as far as i no, normally pops in every now and then!!

bigwaz
9 Aug 2007, 13:59
Gav's a full time physio now and isnt playing and wont be 4 the rest of the year as far as i no, normally pops in every now and then!!

Hey BHN.... got any pointers for defeating AP? Players to shut down etc? There's no point beating around the bush anymore...

ClarencePooCD
9 Aug 2007, 14:42
And you open the bowling for richmond city?

The very same. Be gentle with me.

OZZA
9 Aug 2007, 15:57
Oz's locks of the week -

North Brunswick over South Mornsa - 1 point.
Eltham by 15 over UHS - mortal lock - no risk.
St Marys over BHN - 8 goals.
Syndal over Eley Park 14 points
Mt Lilydale over Bulleen - 21 points
Albert Park to end the run of the centrals by less than a kick...but by more than 4 points.

bigwaz
9 Aug 2007, 16:42

I thought he was talking about nellup CD?

Have you sourced the shortest shorts?

Ruck Machine
9 Aug 2007, 18:02
Any D4 Coaches willing to sing the BHN Theme Song over the phone to me?

Having a scavenger hunt tonight and 1 task is to get an opposition coach to sing the BHN theme.

Any Takers? Manny? Holly?

Msg me if you're keen, and I'll give you a call.

Song Is:

We're the best
We stood the test
We are better than the rest
We are the mighty box hill north

We're the team that sticks together
It's always our endeavour,
to win where ever we go.
We honor the colours,
the new and the old.
and we'll strive for a premiership flag to unfold.

and no more will we lag
until we win that treasured flag
we are the mighty Box Hill North.

Manny
9 Aug 2007, 18:02
Nth Bruns should easily beat South Morn, but the reserves will be a huge game with SM making a big push for finals inclusion. It will be a much more exciting game than the seniors.

I think Eltham have shown they are the top team in D4, and should beat uhs. Thus cementing the minor premiership.

St Marys haven't been going really well, but BHN haven't been in top form either..so St Marys to get up in the final preview. Look out for the replay in three weeks!

Eley park have been unlucky the past two weeks, while the ball has bounced well for Syndal. Syndal are the faves, but it will be close.

Mt Lilidale... must win game.

Richmond will extend its winning streak to 5 games by defeating AP, winning the rematch at KB reserve by one solitary point.

BTW AP, KB has been rolled and is looking sh*t hot. If the rain stays away it'll be a fast open game.

I have missed the past two senior games so i'm really looking forward to this one. Go snakes !!!

With regards to Sth Morn ressies, they only had 14 players befor elast weeks game and they top it up with seniors who make a huge differance - eg senior capt, midfielders. As you rightly suggested the ressies game could be interesting.

Manny

bigwaz
9 Aug 2007, 22:26
With regards to Sth Morn ressies, they only had 14 players befor elast weeks game and they top it up with seniors who make a huge differance - eg senior capt, midfielders. As you rightly suggested the ressies game could be interesting.

Manny

Thats exactly what happened with us... we were up at 3qtr time by 2 goals, then the seniors came on and we didn't kick another point!

spy1
10 Aug 2007, 09:27
I hear none of the coaches fancied auditioning for Oz Idol last night. Several approached by BH boys. All declined. Some of the stuff they did with Benny Goodman and the boys in white down at VAFA HQ was hilarious.
Turns out the umpires DO have a sense of humour.

Flowerpower
10 Aug 2007, 10:15
I hear none of the coaches fancied auditioning for Oz Idol last night. Several approached by BH boys. All declined. Some of the stuff they did with Benny Goodman and the boys in white down at VAFA HQ was hilarious.
Turns out the umpires DO have a sense of humour.

Was one of the funniest things ever.

Bourke St - Stifler
PC on the bike in Macca's drive through
Complete stranger in BH jumper and nothing else (she was very tidy too!)
Trams drivers getting the hell scared out of them!
Gibbo, Kouta, Ang Christou all putting the BHN jumper on!

Was a great night!

I reckon the Dan/Mick combo got over the line Spy?

Coach Hollywood
10 Aug 2007, 10:15
Any D4 Coaches willing to sing the BHN Theme Song over the phone to me?

Having a scavenger hunt tonight and 1 task is to get an opposition coach to sing the BHN theme.

Any Takers? Manny? Holly?

Msg me if you're keen, and I'll give you a call.

Song Is:

We're the best
We stood the test
We are better than the rest
We are the mighty box hill north

We're the team that sticks together
It's always our endeavour,
to win where ever we go.
We honor the colours,
the new and the old.
and we'll strive for a premiership flag to unfold.

and no more will we lag
until we win that treasured flag
we are the mighty Box Hill North.

Sorry Ruck Machine you posted too late, at 5pm I was well under way with my preparations for last nights training session by then!

Haven't & hopefully never will hear that song anyways...;):p

Ruck Machine
10 Aug 2007, 10:49

Bourke St - Stifler

Was a great night!

What about Crazy's streak through Federation Square?!

You should've heard the screams from the ladies.

spy1
10 Aug 2007, 11:23

Bourke St - Stifler

Was a great night!

As usual, I was one of those ensuring no one stole the bar, I was leaning on bar for security reasons till well after Mrs Spy thought I should have been home.
So I can report that the Penny led team (Not The Full Quid) did win the night. They all are to get a free meal next Thursday and a drink as well.
Af and Corker's 'OdCocks' fell some 1100 pts short for 2nd and Rhys and Steeley's 'Steel Balls' won the wooden spoon but had some of the funniest task attempts.
A quick snap shot was 2 blokes drove trams, 2 went through Maccas and purchased cheese burgers on push bikes, one fool did a nude run down Bourke St, one wore a mankini in Fed Square, 3 changed into Super Hero outfits in phone boxes (Super Suasage Man might not get a 'G rating), 3 stunners who were complete strangers wore a BH jumper and nothing else, numerous present and past AFL players wore the red number, a 1929 Richmond membership card was produced, a German backer packer joined in a sculling contest, 2 autographs of Benny Goodman, 3 autographs from the President of Whitehorse Pioneers, a few games of kick to kick with senior VAFA umpires and 2 players donned a VAFA ump shirt and bounced the pill in the centre of Elsternwick Park.
The highlight of the night though was the presentation of funds from Proteus Leadership Centres, raised via the head shaving night, to young Ted Hood. Des Penny was rewarded for his check with two presents from young Ted himself that put at least 2 females attending into tears.
Sometimes footy clubs aren't all about playing. Their about being a club.

bigwaz
10 Aug 2007, 11:37
As usual, I was one of those ensuring no one stole the bar, I was leaning on bar for security reasons till well after Mrs Spy thought I should have been home.
So I can report that the Penny led team (Not The Full Quid) did win the night. They all are to get a free meal next Thursday and a drink as well.
Af and Corker's 'OdCocks' fell some 1100 pts short for 2nd and Rhys and Steeley's 'Steel Balls' won the wooden spoon but had some of the funniest task attempts.
A quick snap shot was 2 blokes drove trams, 2 went through Maccas and purchased cheese burgers on push bikes, one fool did a nude run down Bourke St, one wore a mankini in Fed Square, 3 changed into Super Hero outfits in phone boxes (Super Suasage Man might not get a 'G rating), 3 stunners who were complete strangers wore a BH jumper and nothing else, numerous present and past AFL players wore the red number, a 1929 Richmond membership card was produced, a German backer packer joined in a sculling contest, 2 autographs of Benny Goodman, 3 autographs from the President of Whitehorse Pioneers, a few games of kick to kick with senior VAFA umpires and 2 players donned a VAFA ump shirt and bounced the pill in the centre of Elsternwick Park.
The highlight of the night though was the presentation of funds from Proteus Leadership Centres, raised via the head shaving night, to young Ted Hood. Des Penny was rewarded for his check with two presents from young Ted himself that put at least 2 females attending into tears.
Sometimes footy clubs aren't all about playing. Their about being a club.

Good on you BHN.... sounds like quite a night!

Flowerpower
10 Aug 2007, 11:38
Sometimes footy clubs aren't all about playing. There about being a club.

Spy, you are 100% spot on.

The word "culture" is branded around footy clubs a fair bit. BHN certainly look like they have the mix right.

Sometimes footy takes a backseat to life issues, and in the case of Ted, the sponsors, players. coaching staff and general community have been nothing short of amazing.

FYI for those that don't know, Ted has just turned 3 and was diagnosed with cancer in May. He has been undergoing intense chemotheraphy treatment and this will continue for a way yet.

If anyone "needs" to be part of a fun, progressive and fantastic football environment, I suggest keep the peepers on the BHN website for pre-season details for 2008.

You will not be disappointed with any aspect of the football club.

bigwaz
10 Aug 2007, 13:00
Spy, you are 100% spot on.

The word "culture" is branded around footy clubs a fair bit. BHN certainly look like they have the mix right.

Sometimes footy takes a backseat to life issues, and in the case of Ted, the sponsors, players. coaching staff and general community have been nothing short of amazing.

FYI for those that don't know, Ted has just turned 3 and was diagnosed with cancer in May. He has been undergoing intense chemotheraphy treatment and this will continue for a way yet.

If anyone "needs" to be part of a fun, progressive and fantastic football environment, I suggest keep the peepers on the BHN website for pre-season details for 2008.

You will not be disappointed with any aspect of the football club.

Of course... Richmond Central does it better. And our jumper kicks a$$ :D

OZZA
10 Aug 2007, 14:15
Reckon Sth Mornington's jumper is better than yours Waz.

bigwaz
10 Aug 2007, 15:21

True. They have great taste.

bigwaz
10 Aug 2007, 15:28

How are the NB ressies feeling coming into the SM challenge this week OZZA? I suppose you guys aren't taking it too seriously, you're a lock for the finals anyway right?

what an animal
10 Aug 2007, 15:35
How are the NB ressies feeling coming into the SM challenge this week OZZA? I suppose you guys aren't taking it too seriously, you're a lock for the finals anyway right?

I would take very serious, rumour has it SM full of regular senior players as little sniff of finals.
I think there maybe an upset here.

OZZA
10 Aug 2007, 15:57

Hey waz, ah, I guess with so many senior injuries - we have been concentrating more on getting a complete side together for the seconds. We have a first gamer in and have still picked the best 22 in the seniors - so no drastic action regarding finals yet.

We have a pretty solid two's core - so I'm hoping the boys will get over the line. Perhaps the next two weeks will see us getting the side together in the two's that will resemble the finals team. There are 4 or 5 players in the ones this week that have qualified for two's finals(me included) - but we haven't at any stage tried to qualify an extras going in to the finals.

We would hope to win our last 3 games (Sth Morn, Eley Park, Bulleen) but will desperately be trying to win in both grades (as they are all winnable) so the teams won't change much I wouldn't fancy.

Cheers
Long winded response I know - yes I think we're a lock for the finals - but we should be trying for the double chance if possible.

OZZA
10 Aug 2007, 16:05
I would take very serious, rumour has it SM full of regular senior players as little sniff of finals.
I think there maybe an upset here.

Seems strange that south have been playing good senior players in the two's. Eg. the captain who's the best onballer.

When we struggled for numbers last year - we found the logical way was to have guys that are 'off the bench' players double up - not the players that are most important in the senior game. But whatever cooks your biscuit I guess. Will be interesting to see how it works out tomorrow.

Noticed at selction last night a certain Nth Brunny stalwart has been dropped down to the early game for the first time in a long, long while...could it be a changing of the guard!!!!!

**Hope you get 40 touches Ange, give it to em old fella**

bigwaz
10 Aug 2007, 16:10
Hey waz, ah, I guess with so many senior injuries - we have been concentrating more on getting a complete side together for the seconds. We have a first gamer in and have still picked the best 22 in the seniors - so no drastic action regarding finals yet.

We have a pretty solid two's core - so I'm hoping the boys will get over the line. Perhaps the next two weeks will see us getting the side together in the two's that will resemble the finals team. There are 4 or 5 players in the ones this week that have qualified for two's finals(me included) - but we haven't at any stage tried to qualify an extras going in to the finals.

We would hope to win our last 3 games (Sth Morn, Eley Park, Bulleen) but will desperately be trying to win in both grades (as they are all winnable) so the teams won't change much I wouldn't fancy.

Cheers
Long winded response I know - yes I think we're a lock for the finals - but we should be trying for the double chance if possible.

Seniors could finish with 3 on the trot as well? That would be a handy kick start to the next pre-season.

port-man_fc
10 Aug 2007, 16:13
Seems strange that south have been playing good senior players in the two's. Eg. the captain who's the best onballer.

When we struggled for numbers last year - we found the logical way was to have guys that are 'off the bench' players double up - not the players that are most important in the senior game. But whatever cooks your biscuit I guess. Will be interesting to see how it works out tomorrow.

Noticed at selction last night a certain Nth Brunny stalwart has been dropped down to the early game for the first time in a long, long while...could it be a changing of the guard!!!!!

Ange in the magoo's? bout time i say, hes gotta be 100 years old

OZZA
10 Aug 2007, 16:17
I think thats the most important thing Waz.
Finishing off well puts you into the off season with some good feeling and spirit - and may sway players to staying on if they're in two minds - or even encourage some new guys to show up.

Its been another tough year for us. We can't keep anyone over 6 foot on the track - and with plenty of changes every week and blokes playing in bigger positions than ideally suited - its tough to get consistent - and and to get some wins!
Of course its nice to play finals in the reserves and have some success there, but the aim is to be improving in the seniors and have the success from the top flowing down.

OZZA
10 Aug 2007, 16:18
Ange in the magoo's? bout time i say, hes gotta be 100 years old

I'll pass that on mate - I think he's a very fit 37 years young - and still has plenty to offer.

InFineForm
10 Aug 2007, 16:29
I'll pass that on mate - I think he's a very fit 37 years young - and still has plenty to offer.

No more angry pills for the old fella this week..... His regular dose is more than enough! On occasion he can be an angry little ant....

Abba Lonie
10 Aug 2007, 16:45

With the average age and size of the South Mornington guys, they had better watch out!

port-man_fc
10 Aug 2007, 17:00

Ahhh i was hoping 4 a bite there!! lol :D

Ruck Machine
10 Aug 2007, 17:10
With the average age and size of the South Mornington guys, they had better watch out!

What do you mean Abba?

ClarencePooCD
10 Aug 2007, 17:12
I thought he was talking about nellup CD?

Have you sourced the shortest shorts?

Yes mate I have a pair of 44's that are going in the dryer all night long.

bigwaz
10 Aug 2007, 17:34
Yes mate I have a pair of 44's that are going in the dryer all night long.

I'm sure you mean 34's.... somebody bring a camera.

nellup
10 Aug 2007, 17:36

Retired players are being sort as potential umpires ozza,what are the chances of us getting ange to have a go at the dark arts?:p

formaggio
10 Aug 2007, 19:16
oh ben cookson

topturtle
10 Aug 2007, 19:55

Don't worry OZZA, I think portman had the tongue firmly in the cheek. When I left Allard Park after our last visit, Ange and portman were having a beer together.