View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
Ruck Machine
15 Aug 2007, 17:47
May I remind you waz of the strict rules of this forum against posting any material that is grossly offensive,especially photos!!!!!!!!!
Couldn't be any worse than a picture of your head Nelly.:eek:
catscratches
15 Aug 2007, 17:48
UHS Win
North Brunswick Win
Eltham Win
Richmond Central Win
BHN Win
Albert Park Win
Shik Ticker
15 Aug 2007, 17:54
Who's the tosser???
huru
Floerpower, Ruck Machine, Lakey take your pick.
Harsh, vicious words buddy - imagine they won't get any sleep tonight!:p
Lakey11
15 Aug 2007, 19:10
Harsh, vicious words buddy - imagine they won't get any sleep tonight!:p
True. Will be far too busy Tossing!:p
the_unit
15 Aug 2007, 20:42
just wondering are the wheels going to fall off the turtles for the 3rd yr in a row around finals time....they have a big point 2 prove
Couldn't be any worse than a picture of your head Nelly.:eek:
nothing wrong with my dome rucky
Ruck Machine
15 Aug 2007, 21:16
just wondering are the wheels going to fall off the turtles for the 3rd yr in a row around finals time....they have a big point 2 prove
I think they will make the Grand Final whether they will win it is another question.
ahm.....maybe just a little....
I will enjoy meeting you this weekend Big Waz and praise you for your responsible comments. You seem reasonable in a website that is cluttered so many characters which are flawed.
The Ferndale refurbishments will begin on Tuesday in our clubrooms so behave Albert Park in R18, otherwise you will be locked out at half time.
I would also like to mention the exciting abilities displayed by our token indigenous player Div Rajkumar. Div, who has improved his speed around the ground significantly was clearly noticeable on Tuesday Night training in his new aero-dynamic look that I’m not sure is legal, but I'm told he will use it this weekend against Richmond to his advantage.
I was not there at last weeks match but find the suggestion that St.Mary's would not drink from the same club house as BHN abhorrent.
As far cleaning up the rooms goes it would help if they were pleasant to begin with. One doesn't expect much but please standards need to be set BHN somewhere. Dead rat found in the latrine is not a laughing matter. However, I'm told that was more amusing than Nell up "result altering" decision making blissfully unaware he had another umpire out there to assist him. The only decent thing I can say about BHN is that the wonderful Jo Cox always does a spirited job running the boundary.
I enjoyed watching the match between UHSVU and Eltham last weekend. I agree with Hollywood’s thoughts on the game and saw a vastly different performance than the one I observed at their home game vs. the Saints. As an outsider their seemed to be a lot of infighting amongst the group obviously dissatisfied with their performance thus far. No doubt finals history will not repeat for Eltham, as they will be spurred on, as the alternative bares no worthwhile thought.
Finally, Ange as a Football Umpire, golly gee I almost feel out of my recliner. I have a feeling he would abuse himself more than make decisions. I would be saddened if the 39 year old didn't make it round one more time.
Go Dees!
I will enjoy meeting you this weekend Big Waz and praise you for your responsible comments. You seem reasonable in a website that is cluttered so many characters which are flawed.
The Ferndale refurbishments will begin on Tuesday in our clubrooms so behave Albert Park in R18, otherwise you will be locked out at half time.
I would also like to mention the exciting abilities displayed by our token indigenous player Div Rajkumar. Div, who has improved his speed around the ground significantly was clearly noticeable on Tuesday Night training in his new aero-dynamic look that I’m not sure is legal, but I'm told he will use it this weekend against Richmond to his advantage.
I was not there at last weeks match but find the suggestion that St.Mary's would not drink from the same club house as BHN abhorrent.
As far cleaning up the rooms goes it would help if they were pleasant to begin with. One doesn't expect much but please standards need to be set BHN somewhere. Dead rat found in the latrine is not a laughing matter. However, I'm told that was more amusing than Nell up "result altering" decision making blissfully unaware he had another umpire out there to assist him. The only decent thing I can say about BHN is that the wonderful Jo Cox always does a spirited job running the boundary.
I enjoyed watching the match between UHSVU and Eltham last weekend. I agree with Hollywood’s thoughts on the game and saw a vastly different performance than the one I observed at their home game vs. the Saints. As an outsider their seemed to be a lot of infighting amongst the group obviously dissatisfied with their performance thus far. No doubt finals history will not repeat for Eltham, as they will be spurred on, as the alternative bares no worthwhile thought.
Finally, Ange as a Football Umpire, golly gee I almost feel out of my recliner. I have a feeling he would abuse himself more than make decisions. I would be saddened if the 39 year old didn't make it round one more time.
Go Dees!
Mr ECA
Turtles v Uni - SURPRISED BY THE RESULT - Where did they win it or Turtles lose it? What was the ground like?? :confused:
pointblank
15 Aug 2007, 22:07
Now that your identity has been discovered continue with your well reputed poojabbing.
FLOWERPOWER, Apols for the misfiring of quote. It was directed towards Offtarget.
[quote=MrECA;8420209]
As far cleaning up the rooms goes it would help if they were pleasant to begin with. One doesn't expect much but please standards need to be set BHN somewhere. Dead rat found in the latrine is not a laughing matter. However, I'm told that was more amusing than Nell up "result altering" decision making blissfully unaware he had another umpire out there to assist him.
Don't get this "result altering" quote Eca,as you state you were not there,I will tell you that if you had been there you would have seen the VAFA official, observing my partner and I,this bloke is a 20 yr umpire A and B grade grand finals to his credit and not backward in coming forward to tell us if we are stuffing up,if my partner or myself were having any "result altering" influence on the game I can assure you we would have heard about it loud and clear at the breaks,Don't mind you being critical but could you at least be there and not do it on hear say.And I think our observer might have just a touch more cred when it comes to looking at umps than whoever you are relying on.
ClarencePooCD
16 Aug 2007, 09:53
[quote=MrECA;8420209]
As far cleaning up the rooms goes it would help if they were pleasant to begin with. One doesn't expect much but please standards need to be set BHN somewhere. Dead rat found in the latrine is not a laughing matter. However, I'm told that was more amusing than Nell up "result altering" decision making blissfully unaware he had another umpire out there to assist him.
Don't get this "result altering" quote Eca,as you state you were not there,I will tell you that if you had been there you would have seen the VAFA official, observing my partner and I,this bloke is a 20 yr umpire A and B grade grand finals to his credit and not backward in coming forward to tell us if we are stuffing up,if my partner or myself were having any "result altering" influence on the game I can assure you we would have heard about it loud and clear at the breaks,Don't mind you being critical but could you at least be there and not do it on hear say.And I think our observer might have just a touch more cred when it comes to looking at umps than whoever you are relying on.
Everyone knows umpiring is a c*** of a hard job so lay off the umps.
Players are result altering. Anyone drop a mark or shank a kick during the game?
I just edited this post. This really sh*** me. It is one thing to in the heat of the game lose your cool and exchange a few words with an ump, but letting them have it in the cold light of day on the forums? That's just unfair I think...
InFineForm
16 Aug 2007, 10:18
[quote=nellup;8421517]
Everyone knows umpiring is a c*** of a job so lay off the umps.
Players are result altering. Anyone drop a mark or shank a kick during the game?
I tend to disagree. Umpiring can be a c**t of a job; but when it is, it is normally because of the players on the ground whinging & moaning about every decision, rahter than playing footy.
Umpires, whether they be ressies or VAFA appointed seniors, get a hell of a lot more decisions right than wrong. I'll guarantee that umpires get a lot less decisions wrong than players make mistakes during EVERY game.
Don't worry about it being a c**t of a job, worry about your own job.:thumbsu:
Uni High to beat Sth Morn by 99 points
Nth Bwick to beat Eley Park by 11pts
Eltham over Bulleen by 60pts
St Marys by 3 goals over Richmond
Mt Lilydale by 2pts over Box Hill at home.
Syndal over Albert Park by 8 points in an upset.
ClarencePooCD
16 Aug 2007, 10:29
[quote=ClarencePooCD;8422654]
I tend to disagree. Umpiring can be a c**t of a job; but when it is, it is normally because of the players on the ground whinging & moaning about every decision, rahter than playing footy.
Umpires, whether they be ressies or VAFA appointed seniors, get a hell of a lot more decisions right than wrong. I'll guarantee that umpires get a lot less decisions wrong than players make mistakes during EVERY game.
Don't worry about it being a c**t of a job, worry about your own job.:thumbsu:
Umm, I think we are actually agreeing aren't we?
[quote=MrECA;8420209]
Sorry Nell up, totally take back the "result altering" quote understand how you were mystified. I was misguided was referring to the BHN reserve umpire whom I was told was an official one, He patrolled the entire field not allowing the SM umpire to leave the goal square, thus 90% hometown decisions were paid. Reserves were affected not seniors but which ultimately led to the report due to the frustration from the biased umpiring however, I don’t condone the reported players actions either.
Abba Lonie
16 Aug 2007, 10:44
I think the St Mary's 2s must have just not been used to having a competent umpire officiating the game. This isn't a sleight against the St Mary's umpire (very nice fella) but you can tell the difference between an experienced umpire and someone from the club who is just helping out.
This guy has done the last 6 or 7 games for BHN reserves, it took the player's a while to adjust to his style of umpiring but now they have - fairly obvious that's the case based on the respective behaviour of the two sides on Saturday.
Then again, it wouldn't be like people from St Mary's to whinge about something, would it...
Ruck Machine
16 Aug 2007, 11:04
I think the St Mary's 2s must have just not been used to having a competent umpire officiating the game. This isn't a sleight against the St Mary's umpire (very nice fella) but you can tell the difference between an experienced umpire and someone from the club who is just helping out.
This guy has done the last 6 or 7 games for BHN reserves, it took the player's a while to adjust to his style of umpiring but now they have - fairly obvious that's the case based on the respective behaviour of the two sides on Saturday.
Then again, it wouldn't be like people from St Mary's to whinge about something, would it...
BHN Reserves umpire is very consistent which I believe is more important than being 'correct', especially at the reserves level. I bet St Marys wouldn't be moaning if they won.
Nelly is there any rule against players flopping or feigning injury?
Lakey11
16 Aug 2007, 11:33
BHN Reserves umpire is very consistent which I believe is more important than being 'correct', especially at the reserves level. I bet St Marys wouldn't be moaning if they won.
Spot on Ruckmachine! Consistancy is king for the ressies. Our guys have gone close to losing it (I did and got warned by the VAFA against Sth Mornington......grrrrrr) but my boys kept their heads most of the time. I do feel for the ressies umps. If they pay a decision our way they are cheats and if they pay one against, they are over compensating. I rekon it would be well worth clubs paying impartial umps even in the ressies. I think the standard or the game would then lift and less shit would be hurled at the umps.
As for the BHN ressies ump, I didn't even notice him. (The best compliment you can give an ump!)
Abba Lonie
16 Aug 2007, 11:39
Different umpire Lakey, but before the new guy started he was the best we have had. A cut above.
Ruck"machine", maybe you should worry more about trying to get a kick and on winning this week. Or maybe you'd prefer to sit out the finals and just take pot shots at the teams that have worked harder than you to get there.
guru out!
North Brunny are lucky enough to have a terrific two's umpire who's been doing it for 10 yrs or so, will not take any payment and just does it for fitness and enjoyment. He always keeps his cool, stays impartial and accurate - and I think he's probably too good an umpire for the standard.
what an animal
16 Aug 2007, 11:48
Ruck let me guess Tadgell? hehe.
InFineForm
16 Aug 2007, 11:51
Umm, I think we are actually agreeing aren't we?
Yep - pretty much - I wasn't having a crack at you. Sometimes feel as though there are too many players that complain about not being 'paid' a kick rather than earning their next one...
Ruck Machine
16 Aug 2007, 12:00
Ruck"machine", maybe you should worry more about trying to get a kick and on winning this week. Or maybe you'd prefer to sit out the finals and just take pot shots at the teams that have worked harder than you to get there.
guru out!
I can assure you that the majority of my thought this week has been directed towards winning Saturday's match. I can also assure you that I will be trying my hardest to get a kick.
Ruck Machine
16 Aug 2007, 12:02
Ruck let me guess Tadgell? hehe.
How did you guess???????
Mind you he was legitimately taken out when the second 25m was given.
port-man_fc
16 Aug 2007, 12:29
guru out!
agreed guru, good advice:thumbsu:
My Tips rd 17
Uni High to beat Sth Morn
Nth Bwick to beat Eley Park
Eltham to beat Bulleen
St Marys to beat Richmond
Box Hill to beat Mt Lilydale
Albert Park to beat Syndal
Flowerpower
16 Aug 2007, 12:38
Told you your policital correctness / Nixoness attitude would have some supporters Waz.......:)
There were a couple, officials etc that came into the rooms for a drink - thats not the issue.
My issue is ST Marys bringing their own beer into the changerooms after the match. Perhaps check with the players if this was the case.
As far cleaning up the rooms goes it would help if they were pleasant to begin with. One doesn't expect much but please standards need to be set BHN somewhere. Dead rat found in the latrine is not a laughing matter.
Whilst the rooms are not spacious or palacial, every endeavour is made to provide a decent changeroom area. The actual latrine areas are shared (as per St Marys) so if a dead rat was found you blokes must have got in earlier, otherwise this would have been cleaned up immediately.
[B]I have photos if you require further evidence of the disgraceful way the rooms were left on St Marys departure. I can post if you like considering you were not at the game?
However, I'm told that was more amusing than Nell up "result altering" decision making blissfully unaware he had another umpire out there to assist him. The only decent thing I can say about BHN is that the wonderful Jo Cox always does a spirited job running the boundary.
[B]Pot shots at umpires is easy. Its harder to say they do a job nearly all of us do not consider and do it to the best of their ability.
Go Dees!
Refer above - I think we can end it now. Having a bloke not even at the ground given his third hand opinions is the icing on the cake.
Lakey11
16 Aug 2007, 12:53
North Brunny are lucky enough to have a terrific two's umpire who's been doing it for 10 yrs or so, will not take any payment and just does it for fitness and enjoyment. He always keeps his cool, stays impartial and accurate - and I think he's probably too good an umpire for the standard.
True. I guess most umps are pretty good. We use two and both give clear unstructions so we know how they umpire.
Mate, is Sof pulling the noots on at all this year? Big fella must be itching!
All rounder
16 Aug 2007, 13:00
13-5 and not making finals would be pretty hard to top in any comp I would think. Needed to do as the others above them and only lose to teams in the top group (wins against South Mornington and Syndal would have solved all problems!).
Fair to say the sth mornington team you ran into consisted a number of ones players playing both games. You guys missing a huge list that week as well. No real surprise to lose that one really. should of beaten Nth Brunswick earlier in the season however. Syndal killed finals last year and may of done it again to you!
Flowerpower
16 Aug 2007, 13:20
Hi Ticker,
I'm the one having a go at St Marys, not Lakey, so best not to lump him in to these posts.
Cheers
True. I guess most umps are pretty good. We use two and both give clear unstructions so we know how they umpire.
Mate, is Sof pulling the noots on at all this year? Big fella must be itching!
Lakey, Sof won't be pulling on the boots this year. He still seems to be suffering from the same injury he had early last year - and whilst I wont rule him out for good - I'm not confident will be seeing the prez in the Green and Gold again. He even gave his No.16 to a new player to the club this year.
Though I'm sure the jumper is cursed - because this years no. 16, was our ruckman/fwd, 6 foot 4 and the best player at the club - and naturally - managed to do his knee after 4-5 games.
Lakey11
16 Aug 2007, 15:55
Refer above - I think we can end it now. Having a bloke not even at the ground given his third hand opinions is the icing on the cake.
Crikey Flower....Yes, that should end it!
Lakey11
16 Aug 2007, 16:00
Hi Ticker,
I'm the one having a go at St Marys, not Lakey, so best not to lump him in to these posts.
Cheers
Its Ok Flower, I had a go at them too. They definatly bring their own beer to drink after the game. Have done for years!
Good luck to them on the weekend.....NOT
I hear the AFL is looking for another team to join them and as they have so many D4 superstars then they are the obvious pick! Oh and ex AFL players.....(Still can't understand that one and I know its been done to death and going on for 8 months but far out....WHY Papa....WHY? Did you get the wrong ground or something? Sorry everyone.....I must keep asking questions when I don't undertsand something!)
Anyway, we played at BHN ground 2 weeks ago and they where fine. A level playing field helps too...........
Lakey11
16 Aug 2007, 16:02
Lakey, Sof won't be pulling on the boots this year. He still seems to be suffering from the same injury he had early last year - and whilst I wont rule him out for good - I'm not confident will be seeing the prez in the Green and Gold again. He even gave his No.16 to a new player to the club this year.
Though I'm sure the jumper is cursed - because this years no. 16, was our ruckman/fwd, 6 foot 4 and the best player at the club - and naturally - managed to do his knee after 4-5 games.
Poor o'l bugger....wish him the best from the snakes and also to your cursed ruckman!
Good luck on the weekend mate.
Ruck Machine
16 Aug 2007, 18:04
Follow this link if you would like to have a look at the 2005 D4 Results.
http://www.cvwebdesign.com/vafa/results/round.php?resultsid=50
He is a first class ump ozza,any club would kill to get him.
Coach Hollywood
17 Aug 2007, 10:21
Round 17 tips:
UHS, EC, St.M, NB, Mt.L, AP.
Although I'll be barracking for BHN to get up & make finals. Good luck to Hollywood 2 and the boys vs the Mountain men!;)
guten morgen
sprechen sie deutsch???
port-man_fc
17 Aug 2007, 10:33
Round 17 tips:
UHS, EC, St.M, NB, Mt.L, AP.
Although I'll be barracking for BHN to get up & make finals. Good luck to Hollywood 2 and the boys vs the Mountain men!;)
WOW, did u just wish urself luck? Can u do that?
Good luck coach lets hope Ed Sill is right, 7 minutes into the second would be good times!!
Bulleen is going through a hard patch at the moment, listening to all this banter about when Coach Hollywood would kick his 100th is disturbing for Bulleen people. Imagine if it was your club that was going through the problems we are, I'm sure you wouldn't like it...
Congratulations to Hollywood for his effort, but have a heart guys...
huru
Coach Hollywood
17 Aug 2007, 10:38
WOW, did u just wish urself luck? Can u do that?
Good luck coach lets hope Ed Sill is right, 7 minutes into the second would be good times!!
Ha Ha, no believe it or not there are actually others out there with the nickname Hollywood also??? The BHN boys will know that I was talking about there VC.
port-man_fc
17 Aug 2007, 11:00
Bulleen is going through a hard patch at the moment, listening to all this banter about when Coach Hollywood would kick his 100th is disturbing for Bulleen people. Imagine if it was your club that was going through the problems we are, I'm sure you wouldn't like it...
huru
Yeh fair call, but u can wish a bloke luck!
Look i played against Old Westbourne in 2004 and Horseborogh (i think that was his name) was on 84 goals and needed 16 to kick his 100 in the home and away season, he did and we lost by about 29 goals, it made us feel like shit, but when pre-season came around in 05, we used that to make the group stronger!!
sprechen sie deutsch???
nein, funfundsachszig, nein.
huru
Keep working 65, you guys will fight your way out of it.
Ruck Machine
17 Aug 2007, 11:33
Ha Ha, no believe it or not there are actually others out there with the nickname Hollywood also??? The BHN boys will know that I was talking about there VC.
You've lost me here Holly.
We have 2 Vice Captains - Ed Sills Favourite D4 Player and The Man of Steele, neither have ever been called Hollywood.
InFineForm
17 Aug 2007, 12:45
Yeh fair call, but u can wish a bloke luck!
Look i played against Old Westbourne in 2004 and Horseborogh (i think that was his name) was on 84 goals and needed 16 to kick his 100 in the home and away season, he did and we lost by about 29 goals, it made us feel like shit, but when pre-season came around in 05, we used that to make the group stronger!!
There was a strong rumour around at the time that he in fact kicked less than the number required to get to the ton that day, but was credited with at least one goal that someone else got, in order to make up the number.
It was only a rumour, but I've never had an opportunity to ask someone that was there that day..... Is it even a little bit possible that it may have been less than above board?
And I realise that I may be going somewhere that you don't want to go - so if you choose to PM me rather than public forum....
Ruck Machine
17 Aug 2007, 12:58
There was a strong rumour around at the time that he in fact kicked less than the number required to get to the ton that day, but was credited with at least one goal that someone else got, in order to make up the number.
It was only a rumour, but I've never had an opportunity to ask someone that was there that day..... Is it even a little bit possible that it may have been less than above board?
And I realise that I may be going somewhere that you don't want to go - so if you choose to PM me rather than public forum....
15 or 16, either way he kicked a massive bag!
InFineForm
17 Aug 2007, 13:19
15 or 16, either way he kicked a massive bag!
Fair enough. I probably shouldn't be asking... Just always wondered...
Flowerpower
17 Aug 2007, 13:51
Remember to put those beer on ice in the esky tonight Lakey......:thumbsu:
Good luck tomorrow and I hope the winning streak continues!
port-man_fc
17 Aug 2007, 13:57
That does ring a bell, but from my memory he kicked them all, plus one on top, so i think he may have needed 15 and kicked 16... It was a massive effort, was kicking them from everywere...
Yes good luck to all this weekend.
I hope Bulleen vs Eltham is close and Holly gets the ton late in the last qrtr.
How does that sound guys!!?? Good luck to Bulleen 2's - upset of the year may see Nth Brunny 2's on top and we'd love that!!!
Looking forward to taking on Eley park in their skippers 150th - hope we can spoil the party then enjoy a beer together afterwards. Geez my body is telling me about every bump and tackle for 16 rounds worth at the minute.
topturtle
17 Aug 2007, 19:37
That does ring a bell, but from my memory he kicked them all, plus one on top, so i think he may have needed 15 and kicked 16... It was a massive effort, was kicking them from everywere...
Blokes were free in the goalsquare and were handballing back to him to get him to kick goals!
A very good footballer though.
Lakey11
17 Aug 2007, 21:52
Keep working 65, you guys will fight your way out of it.
65, Bulleen (as you know) are FAR TOO GOOD A CLUB to stay in the trouble zone for too long! If there is one thing Bigwaz has taught us down at the snake pit....What doesn't kill you..........!
Mate, if he kicks his 100, good on him and great work.Thats an outstanding acheivement at any level. As for the mighty cobras.....you guys will be back up there before you know it. Keep fighting and keep your chin up!
Go snakes!
Lakey11
17 Aug 2007, 21:57
Thanks heaps Flower. Just stocking the esky now! HA HA!
If the winning streak doesn't continue, Bigwaz has declared to "streak" accross the ground instead. (Go Wazza!) Luckily its a small ground and an even smaller Wazza! HAHA
Good luck Tomorrow Flower.....May the Saints die the death of a thousand cuts....and to the Saints I say...C U Next Tuesday Suckers!
Go Snakes
You've lost me here Holly.
We have 2 Vice Captains - Ed Sills Favourite D4 Player and The Man of Steele, neither have ever been called Hollywood.
D Penny (C)
C Riscalla (VC)
A Steele (VC)
S Irvine (VC)
R Ball (VC)
M Penny (VC) and likely culprit. Has more nicknames than handballs.:p
lots of talk coming out of you Lakey. It will be interesting to see if you walk the walk. On your past performances I wouldn't think so!
Best of luck to Hollywood tommorrow, hope you kick your hundredth deep in the last.
And in the match of the round I'm tipping the mountain men to overcome the boys from the hill in a close one, with Rhodes best on ground!
Lakey11
18 Aug 2007, 00:59
lots of talk coming out of you Lakey. It will be interesting to see if you walk the walk. On your past performances I wouldn't think so!
Best of luck to Hollywood tommorrow, hope you kick your hundredth deep in the last.
And in the match of the round I'm tipping the mountain men to overcome the boys from the hill in a close one, with Rhodes best on ground!
Its all in good fun Guru.
By the way, too old to walk the walk now! I'll just keep shooting the old mouth off.....
Good luck tomorrow........
fatchicksneedlovintoo
18 Aug 2007, 19:35
Sorry BHN you have bagged the saints enough and your assault on the finals this year was only hampered by the weather. What a shame there is no top 5. With that many best in the competition players at your club this suprises me. I think for next year you should look to your clubbies because from what i saw they are better than alot of players in your magoos.
What if again!!!!!!!!!!
I would like to take this opportunity to say catergorically, hands down and all that other stuff, that Eltham are by far the best team going around. I don't particularly care what the ladder says, Eltham will go on to win this year's premiership and give D3 a good 'ol rattle next year.
Congratulations Mr Hollywood on your 100 goals for the season thus far. By the way, how's the knee???
huru
Had the pleasure of signaling the all clear for coaches 100th today,great effort in anyones book.
Cobras,you kept on coming all day,contested all day and maintained your self control all day,the scoreboard doesn't show heart and club pride or you would have won,you walked of with a loss but also walked of with respect, with a capital R.
Well done coach hollywood. You might be able to rack up another dozen next week against South Morn! 120 a definate possibility... wow.
Bad luck to BHN.... seems you guys were up at half time. When we played them out there they gave us one heck of a 3rd quarter. Anyway, with Eley Park hitting some form you're not out of it yet! Just focus on Syndal.
Well done sharks, huge win.
Big Rig
19 Aug 2007, 15:16
The sharks what a win just shows that they have not reached their potential this year. Clearly not the second worst in it.
Well done to hollywood on his 100 goals and hope the knee is not badly injured.
The turtles will win the flag in d4 best side i see all year.
Ace High
20 Aug 2007, 00:34
Well done to hollywood on his 100 goals and hope the knee is not badly injured.
The turtles will win the flag in d4 best side i see all year.
best side u've seen this year? or best side you've played for this year?
what an animal
20 Aug 2007, 10:58
Congrats hollywood heard the news from P.D sat night u kicked a ton.
Eley Park, awesome effort!
There is life left in 4th position perhaps!!!
Sth Morn, what a fall those boys have had from mid year.
plugger28
20 Aug 2007, 11:35
Well done Hollywood. Great job.
Thanks also to nelly who ran 6 quarters and for the chat to myself and my young fella after the game.
To the cobras - keep your heads up boys. We doubled up 7 players on the weekend. That shows enormous pride for the club. I am very proud of you all. You stuck to the task, in both games, when we were being flogged by a far superior team. What we need now is for you to continue to support the club, by finishing off the year with another big effort on Saturday, and then following up for the $2000 draw on Sunday ($25 bucks a ticket - PM me if you want one - all welcome) - Sorry for the shameless plug -. From there we can build to a better 2008 season.
InFineForm
20 Aug 2007, 11:39
Thanks also to nelly who ran 6 quarters and for the chat to myself and my young fella after the game.
Yep - thanks Nellup - nice to meet you & the chop out was appreciated!
Ruck Machine
20 Aug 2007, 12:03
Well done coach hollywood. You might be able to rack up another dozen next week against South Morn! 120 a definate possibility... wow.
Bad luck to BHN.... seems you guys were up at half time. When we played them out there they gave us one heck of a 3rd quarter. Anyway, with Eley Park hitting some form you're not out of it yet! Just focus on Syndal.
Well done sharks, huge win.
Very Disappointing to lose to Mt Lilydale, it was very close up until half way through the 3rd quarter when they stepped it up and we succumb to injuries.
Come on Sharks! Do your neighbour a favour.
Flowerpower
20 Aug 2007, 12:16
Very Disappointing to lose to Mt Lilydale, it was very close up until half way through the 3rd quarter when they stepped it up and we succumb to injuries.
Come on Sharks! Do your neighbour a favour.
BHN very poor. Mt Lilydale ran the ball better and outplayed a depleted BHN line-up.
Some ripping goals from the boundary line for the mountain men also !!!! just kept driving the nails in.....
We need to regroup and focus on this week. Syndal are a very good team.
Abba Lonie
20 Aug 2007, 12:26
Will be an interesting week this week, I imagine it will be very hard for the BHN boys to get up for the game after the disappointment of Saturday, despite knowing there is still a slim chance of making it to the postseason.
Mt Lilydale on the other hand are all but assured of the last finals berth, although Eley Park have had a few decent results this year so who knows? Mt Lilydale will have to make sure they aren't complacent despite having 4th spot all but sewn up.
Oh and well done to Hollywood on the ton. Looks like Bulleen were the biggest victims out of Eltham's loss to UHS!
Flowerpower
20 Aug 2007, 12:29
Will be an interesting week this week, I imagine it will be very hard for the BHN boys to get up for the game after the disappointment of Saturday, despite knowing there is still a slim chance of making it to the postseason.
Mt Lilydale on the other hand are all but assured of the last finals berth, although Eley Park have had a few decent results this year so who knows? Mt Lilydale will have to make sure they aren't complacent despite having 4th spot all but sewn up.
Oh and well done to Hollywood on the ton. Looks like Bulleen were the biggest victims out of Eltham's loss to UHS!
Ah yes - well done on the ton Hollywood.
port-man_fc
20 Aug 2007, 12:40
Ah yes - well done on the ton Hollywood.
Well done coach, massive effort on the w/e!!
16 goals equalled the all time club record, first player to kick a 100 for the club also!! Not a bad day!! Dunno how he didnt get B.O.G, his stable owners are not impressed!! ;) lol
port-man_fc
20 Aug 2007, 12:41
Also Ed Sill was about 2 minutes off, it was about 5 minutes into the 2nd!!
Ruck Machine
20 Aug 2007, 13:07
Well Done Hollywood! 16 is that the most you've kicked in a Senior Game?
InFineForm
20 Aug 2007, 13:11
Looks like Bulleen were the biggest victims out of Eltham's loss to UHS!
Bulleen disappointed - but Eltham are a well oiled machine with some large blokes to be playing D4...
Two massive units playing out of the goal square in the magoos as well... Either of them could step up & play a role in the one's should coach's knee/hamstring not come up...
Anyway - it will take a very good team to beat them in finals. In general they were a very disciplined team as well... (May have been easier than some other weeks given the margin!)
King_Cobra
20 Aug 2007, 13:19
Congrats Hollywood on the 100 would have been nice if you could have left it at just that instead of kicking a dozen more!
Also a big thanks to the guys at the cobras who double up on the weekend not easy thing to do when your playing against a class outfit like eltham.
The St marys boys could take a leaf out of elthams book on how to conduct yourself after a game. Even after a 200+ point win I didnt hear 1 player rub it in. In fact most came and wished us luck in getting back on track next season. Well done to all the boys at turtle land.
Congrats Hollywood on the 100 would have been nice if you could have left it at just that instead of kicking a dozen more!
Also a big thanks to the guys at the cobras who double up on the weekend not easy thing to do when your playing against a class outfit like eltham.
The St marys boys could take a leaf out of elthams book on how to conduct yourself after a game. Even after a 200+ point win I didnt hear 1 player rub it. In fact most came and wished us luck in getting back on track next season. Well done to all the boys at turtle land.
Well said KC. I would have to agree with that. Some of the Eltham blokes I spoke with after the two's game couldn't believe how Bulleen had dropped to new lows. All wished the club well though. I sincerley hope they make through to D3 with the D4 flag (but a part of me doesn't want them to up cos they are such a great team to play against and a great bunch of blokes).
huru
port-man_fc
20 Aug 2007, 13:52
Well said KC. I would have to agree with that. Some of the Eltham blokes I spoke with after the two's game couldn't believe how Bulleen had dropped to new lows. All wished the club well though. I sincerley hope they make through to D3 with the D4 flag (but a part of me doesn't want them to up cos they are such a great team to play against and a great bunch of blokes).
huru
It is a shame as to the on-field preformance, we (eltham) have battled out some cracking games against u blokes and theres alot of respect for ur club and the people down there!! Hopefully u can take a leaf out of Richmonds book and just build urself up, it only take 1-2 years and ur back in the hunt!
Keep at it, and if ur a disheartned player, dont leave, dig deep, and get ur mates down there and help em out next year!!! :thumbsu:
Back luck to the Richmond boys... a 7 goal to 1 first quarter was pretty much the differece at the end of the game. It just took us too long to get into the pace of the game. Its certainly a lot faster pace playing the top three sides, and especially on that tiny ground.
We'll learn from that, so bring on UHS! It'd be great to finish the season off with a big upset of the ladder leaders :)
what an animal
20 Aug 2007, 14:29
It is a shame as to the on-field preformance, we (eltham) have battled out some cracking games against u blokes and theres alot of respect for ur club and the people down there!! Hopefully u can take a leaf out of Richmonds book and just build urself up, it only take 1-2 years and ur back in the hunt!
Keep at it, and if ur a disheartned player, dont leave, dig deep, and get ur mates down there and help em out next year!!! :thumbsu:
Good to see this forum can be nice and compliment others.
Keep it up.
Like every club at some point, the need to recruit players is important to improve. Recruiting 3 or 4 great players can make a massive different each year. Im sure Bulleen will do this next season. Agree with centrals comment, they have improved massively througout year. From all reports they really took it up to St Marys for most of game.
From all reports they really took it up to St Marys for most of game.
Reckon this has been the case with many sides this year. Many of the lower down sides have challenged good sides at some stage and been close to major upsets. Last year the top sides belted all the lower sides but this year has been a lot more even.
Richmond have taken it up to all the top sides at some stage, we pushed Eltham til very late in the game, Eley Park got done by a kick against BHN, Syndal were apparently very good against UHS....etc..
The competition has been very interesting all year.
Well done to Eley Pk on the weekend. We were awful but you guys put on a display with some of the best shooting for goal you'd see anywhere. 25 goals 4 behinds at one point when I looked up at the scoreboard! And we're talking 45 metre plus golas from close to the boundary several times. Very unenjoyable day!
Back to the two's for me this week v Bulleen in lead up to magoos finals. Looking forward to seasons end to be quite truthful!!
Looking forward to seasons end to be quite truthful!!
You're not the only one OZZA, trust me on that one...
huru
King_Cobra
20 Aug 2007, 15:39
Looking forward to seasons end to be quite truthful!!
You're not the only one OZZA, trust me on that one...
huru
Did your season actually ever really start!!!!!!!!!
Now, now KC, I think I have rather well this season campared to others... Don't you think?
huru
huru
Great atmosphere all round at the turtle dome on sat.even the loyal eltham crowd realized the effort of the cobras blokes doubling up but still giving it a red hot crack,after match atmosphere also a credit to both sides,great to be involved in footy when it is like that,:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Freebaser
20 Aug 2007, 18:36
My predicition is Richmond Centrals will fold midway through the season, and the rest of D4 can at least have that entire weekend off, instead of having to front up and belt them by 40 goals. It is a virtual bye anyway.
Good Tip Tibia
Backline Brothers
20 Aug 2007, 19:57
I'd like to add to the praise being given to the Bulleen boys for their efforts, both in the twos and in the seniors, at the Turtle Dome on Saturday.
You blokes may have taken a beating on the scoreboard but you certainly won plenty of respect.
A big call given the strong rivalry and history of 'spirited' matches between our clubs.
The efforts of the Cobras who backed up from the twos to also play seniors wasn't lost on the Turtles. I hope you get some reward for your dedication to your club in the final round.
Pat Bateman
20 Aug 2007, 20:40
Good Tip Tibia
That original comment was posted 18 months ago mate. That's a long time to hold that chip on your shoulder.
can't post crap like that tibia and expect people to forget it, and there was alot more than that said about the centrals. so yes the chips remain, I think we are entitled. :D
Nellup, I need your years of experience to answer a question or clarify a rule for me - since when is it a free kick to hold an opponents arm when he has the ball under his other arm? I always thought it would be holding the ball if incorrect disposal.
On saturday that very situation occured and umpire paid a free kick against the player holding the arm - his comment loud and for all to hear was 'you cannot hold a players hand/arm'. All players around the ball starting laughing, both coaches well we just looked at each other - I was actually livid as it went against our player.
Please clarify as I was asked to explain to my player - sadly this was one of many for the day which had both sides scratching their heads.
Also well done Coach on a great season, 100 goals is significant regardless of the division one plays in - I like others believe Eltham is the best team we have played against by far.
Manny
Nellup, I need your years of experience to answer a question or clarify a rule for me - since when is it a free kick to hold an opponents arm when he has the ball under his other arm? I always thought it would be holding the ball if incorrect disposal.
On saturday that very situation occured and umpire paid a free kick against the player holding the arm - his comment loud and for all to hear was 'you cannot hold a players hand/arm'. All players around the ball starting laughing, both coaches well we just looked at each other - I was actually livid as it went against our player.
Please clarify as I was asked to explain to my player - sadly this was one of many for the day which had both sides scratching their heads.
Also well done Coach on a great season, 100 goals is significant regardless of the division one plays in - I like others believe Eltham is the best team we have played against by far.
Manny
Very hard to make comment when i didn't see it,but and here is that big
word, if:
If the player had the ball and the tackle was below shoulders and above the knee,and by your description it was, then i am unable to find anything in the section of "illegal contact" that would back this ruling.If the ball had spilled free whilst the players arm was being held it would have been play on as there is a specific reference to this in the book.This one has me baffled,glad it wasn't me though,suggest you get onto wiggy for a chat,his door is always open you know mate.And we are being pumped with lectures at training as a result of comment coming in,so he is listening,give him a chance at it.Things carn't be corrected if he doesn't know about them!!!!
Coach Hollywood
21 Aug 2007, 09:51
Thanks for all the congratulation messages guys :thumbsu:!
Tipping board will be up later today and good luck to all who have their last match of the season this weekend, I could imagine a fair bit of drinking will happening? Enjoy....
what an animal
21 Aug 2007, 10:40
Ok for the final rd of year. Rd 18.
BHN Vs Syndal- BHN by 23pts
Eltham Vs Sth Morn- Eltham by 103pts
St Marys vs Albert Park- St Marys by 78pts
Bulleen Vs Nth Bwick- Nth Bwick by 11pts
Rich Vs Uni High- Uni High by 31pts
Mt Lilydale Vs Eley Park- Mt Lilydale by 44pts
Finals:
- 2 cracking games.
Eltham vs Uni High
St Marys vs Mt Lilydale
Ok for the final rd of year. Rd 18.
BHN Vs Syndal- BHN by 23pts
Eltham Vs Sth Morn- Eltham by 103pts
St Marys vs Albert Park- St Marys by 78pts
Bulleen Vs Nth Bwick- Nth Bwick by 11pts
Rich Vs Uni High- Uni High by 31pts
Mt Lilydale Vs Eley Park- Mt Lilydale by 44pts
BHN by 4 g's
Eltham by forfeit?... at least in the twos, maybe the ones as well. That is one heck of long way to travel for the last game of the season when your really struggling for numbers. Plus, it would keep them out of the potentially dangerous bottom 4 on percentage if BHN beat Syndal. I hope not, but it is a possibility? Otherwise, Eltham by 150.
St Marys by 10 goals, getting primed for the finals.
NB by 1 point... could go either way.
Richmond v UHS - Snakes pull the upset of the year when UHS are sleeping :)
Eley Park upset Lilydale by 1 point! Go sharks!
Ruck Machine
21 Aug 2007, 11:06
BHN Vs Syndal- BHN by 210pts
Eltham Vs Sth Morn- Eltham by 102pts
St Marys vs Albert Park- St Marys by 66pts
Bulleen Vs Nth Bwick- Nth Bwick by 12pts
Rich Vs Uni High- Uni High by 30pts
Mt Lilydale Vs Eley Park- Eley Park by 1 Point
BHN v Syndal - BHN to do their best to stay a finals chance - taking the points against the ciggy papers by 57.
Eltham v Sth Morn - Eltham by 160 points.
St.Mary's V Albert Park - St.Mary's to sneak in by 17 points
Bulleen v Nth Brunny - North Brunny by 1 point.
Rich v Uni High - UHS by 44.
Mt.Lilydale v Eley park - Mountain men by 4 points and to sneak into the 4.
Good luck to BHN (and I guess Eley Park in that case) - would like to see you guys make it.
Good luck to Sth Morn two's - knock off Eltham with the seven players you have left and give us top spot in the magoos!!