View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
InFineForm
31 Aug 2007, 12:54
Best of luck to all players & teams in the finals this week.
Hollywood - your boys should be a good thing for the flag.
I'd love to see St Mary's come second & go up (read between the lines for f*** off), but suspect that Sausage Roll & others might be drowning their sorrows come preliminary final night).
Eltham were undoubtedly the most polished side in both one's & two's all year. Credit to the Coach!
Ruck Machine
31 Aug 2007, 13:18
Yeah you're correct Animal.
I'll get the goal kicking medal that's about it RM. How did Edwards go last year?? Umps rate the On Ballers more than the Backs or Forwards simple as that.. Nellup can confirm this, without naming names or anything of course?;)
I think both Edwards and Lauletta went well last year.
Best of luck to all players & teams in the finals this week.
Hollywood - your boys should be a good thing for the flag.
I'd love to see St Mary's come second & go up (read between the lines for f*** off), but suspect that Sausage Roll & others might be drowning their sorrows come preliminary final night).
Eltham were undoubtedly the most polished side in both one's & two's all year. Credit to the Coach!
Well IFF we'd luv to go up a grade (f*** off) as well having won the premeirship. On current form we'd have to be underdogs to do so but wright us off at your peril. From what i'm seeing on this site it's a bit of an eltham luv fest with the rest of us making up the numbers and many discounting Uni's solid form for some unknown reason
King_Cobra
31 Aug 2007, 14:42
Anyone interesting get invited to the VAFA B&F vote count from your clubs?
Myself & T.Powell were the nominated attendees from Eltham College! Proves my selection of him in the team of the year warranted now King Cobra??? Congratulations to Tyson should be in order! Well done mate...:thumbsu:
Alright credit were credits due, cograts to Tys for making in the top 2 vote winners at Eltham not easy feat given the telant at the turtles this year all i can hope for is that he doesnt win it because i dont think i would hear the end of it from him and yourself hollywood. Anyway good luck tommorrow hopefully i will get down to see you move straight into the granny and enjoy a beer or 2 with you afterwards.
Guru1 the reason why it seems like there is alot of "Eltham Lovers" out there is probally because they managed to go about there footy this year without being a bunch of tools along the way which I dont think anyone could say about St. Marys.
InFineForm
31 Aug 2007, 14:53
Well IFF we'd luv to go up a grade (f*** off) as well having won the premeirship. On current form we'd have to be underdogs to do so but wright us off at your peril. From what i'm seeing on this site it's a bit of an eltham luv fest with the rest of us making up the numbers and many discounting Uni's solid form for some unknown reason
Guru - no love in. Bulleen & Eltham have a very fair rivalry going & have done the entire time I've been around Bulleen.
Eltham are fortunate to have Graham as their Pres. He is among the most fair umpires going around in the magoos, which sees their club gain a lot of kudos from my club. Over & above that he is easy to deal with over issues that our two clubs have, whether it be a lack of warm water in the opposition change rooms (for f**k sake Graham, do something about it - every year the same & we always seem to play there on the coldest of days!), or barneys between players & working out the path of least damage for the clubs.
As far as fotball is concerned,until this year, the two clubs have shared the points & have had a respect for each other. Bulleen has battled this year & unlike some clubs (St mary's being one), they have not 'rubbed our nose in it' while racking up some big scores. Success on the scoreboard doesn't necessarily need to end with players acting like wankers.
I said in an earlier post, good luck to all teams. In 2004 Bulleen was a legitimate shot at the flag before it was decimated by injuries in the 2nd semi-final. I hope that no-ones fate in this years final series is decided by injuries to key players.:thumbsu:
Abba Lonie
31 Aug 2007, 15:09
Shaun Irvine was invited from Box Hill North. Might just crack double figures as far as votes go so I wouldn't expect this years winner to come from there.
Flowerpower
31 Aug 2007, 15:12
Love Eltham? Hardly. Have given them stick all year about their form drop "if the rains came"..........:)
But as so eloquently put previously, they aren't tools of blokes.
Secretly (well not so secret really) I hope St Marys stay down, key players leave and they have a tough year like Bulleen.
I reckon thats when the bleating might start..........:D
Ahhhhhhhhhhh to dream.........
Ruck Machine
31 Aug 2007, 15:30
Love Eltham? Hardly. Have given them stick all year about their form drop "if the rains came"..........:)
Secretly (well not so secret really) I hope St Marys stay down, key players leave and they have a tough year like Bulleen.
I hope St Marys stay down, I have unfinished business with them.
Coach Hollywood
31 Aug 2007, 15:39
Shaun Irvine was invited from Box Hill North. Might just crack double figures as far as votes go so I wouldn't expect this years winner to come from there.
Cheers Abba, It will be interesting to see who gets the nod out of Bennett or Baker @ Albert Park? Falcon07 do you know? Also Armstrong or Papaluca at St Mary's?
I still think Gibson (MtL) & Sissons (StMo) are the smokey's though!
Also, I wouldn't write off St Mary's guys, I think they'll get up on sunday & hopefully we don't have to play them the following weekend. As for this being a love fest for eltham, I think the tips are probably 50/50 between us & Uni High - all I know is that I can't wait for tomorrow & we a tough job ahead of us to knock them off!
RM, unfinished business with them or someone in particular??;)
what an animal
31 Aug 2007, 15:46
Well from memory St Marys went through it last year in D3 and now there in finals year later. I know its down a grade but just shows a few quality players makes the difference.
Flowerpower
31 Aug 2007, 15:52
Well from memory St Marys went through it last year in D3 and now there in finals year later. I know its down a grade but just shows a few quality players makes the difference.
Well why are they such flogs then?
Great News
for all those who have followed the progress of young Ted Hood this year.
Ted has just been given the all clear from his doctors and should hopefully now out live all of us.
Maybe there is a God after all.
Thanks to all who gave and offered assistance during this trying time for Ted and his family.
what an animal
31 Aug 2007, 15:57
Well why are they such flogs then?
That cant answer.
Anyway who's going to win AFL GF?
I reckon Cats Vs Port GF
Coach Hollywood
31 Aug 2007, 16:09
That's good news Spy. You heading out to both games at Vermont this weekend and continuing on in your current role at BHN next season without giving away too much about who you are??
AFL GF - Cats Vs Eagles rematch of 92 & 94?
Ruck Machine
31 Aug 2007, 16:13
Great News
for all those who have followed the progress of young Ted Hood this year.
Ted has just been given the all clear from his doctors and should hopefully now out live all of us.
Maybe there is a God after all.
Thanks to all who gave and offered assistance during this trying time for Ted and his family.
Great News Spy, I'm very happy to hear that.
As for the AFL Grand Final I hope it's Geelong Vs Hawthorn.
Guru - no love in. Bulleen & Eltham have a very fair rivalry going & have done the entire time I've been around Bulleen.
Eltham are fortunate to have Graham as their Pres. He is among the most fair umpires going around in the magoos, which sees their club gain a lot of kudos from my club. Over & above that he is easy to deal with over issues that our two clubs have, whether it be a lack of warm water in the opposition change rooms (for f**k sake Graham, do something about it - every year the same & we always seem to play there on the coldest of days!), or barneys between players & working out the path of least damage for the clubs.
As far as fotball is concerned,until this year, the two clubs have shared the points & have had a respect for each other. Bulleen has battled this year & unlike some clubs (St mary's being one), they have not 'rubbed our nose in it' while racking up some big scores. Success on the scoreboard doesn't necessarily need to end with players acting like wankers.
I said in an earlier post, good luck to all teams. In 2004 Bulleen was a legitimate shot at the flag before it was decimated by injuries in the 2nd semi-final. I hope that no-ones fate in this years final series is decided by injuries to key players.:thumbsu:
IFF, did you actually work today or spend it on this forum???
Yeah you're correct Animal.
I'll get the goal kicking medal that's about it RM. How did Edwards go last year?? Umps rate the On Ballers more than the Backs or Forwards simple as that.. Nellup can confirm this, without naming names or anything of course?;)
Jeez I'd love to have a crack back ,but my ears have been boxed and my ar@e kicked enough for opening my yap this week,so I will politely say absolutely incorrect Coach.:D
Did you get a gig this week P P?
Yes, that's all i can say,i'm sure you understand.:cool:
Unders or overs??
seniors
I think it totally understandable that the maggotts rarely give votes to full forwards. With everything going on in a game how can they be expected to know how many a forward has kicked.
One hand to blow the whistle.
One hand to point which way.
Unless they umpire the game in bare feet how can they count the goals?
Good job they get given vote cards with 1, 2, 3, written on it eh?
Seriously though Nelly, congrats on the appointment.
The turtles must be hurting at the moment, didn't see the game but just checked the scores on the VAFA site. Not good at all... I wonder what went wrong.
Website indicates a good win to Uni ...... Anyone see it? What is the ground like?? Fancy St Marys will be cherry ripe for tomorrow!
Ripper of a game in D3 res.Old West v Kew, draw at full time,had to play 5 min. either way to decide it.wonder if I can put in a bill for extra time??
Ruck Machine
2 Sep 2007, 18:45
Any news on St Marys vs Mt Lilydale?
oldtimer
2 Sep 2007, 18:51
Any news on St Marys vs Mt Lilydale?
St marys 161 - 26
Ruck Machine
2 Sep 2007, 18:53
St marys 161 - 26
Seriously?
oldtimer
2 Sep 2007, 18:56
Seriously?
its on the ammo results as 24 - 17 to 3 - 8
Ruck Machine
2 Sep 2007, 18:59
its on the ammo results as 24 - 17 to 3 - 8
If true Eltham should be afraid. Could they go out in straight sets again?
Who won the ressies UHS or St Marys?
oldtimer
2 Sep 2007, 19:05
If true Eltham should be afraid. Could they go out in straight sets again?
Who won the ressies UHS or St Marys?
uhs 16 11
st m 11 8
what an animal
3 Sep 2007, 10:26
Seriously?
Saw both games this weekend, believe couple of reports from Uni vs Eltham game.
No.11 from uni got done for striking, and not sure if Blagrove got done but he got sent off.
Uni did very well considering only 17 players for 20mins in 2nd qtr.
St Marys looked incredible yesterday!! Credit where credit's due they destroyed Mt Lilydale!!
Disappointing result for North brunny two's. Eltham were too good and too big for us. Thought we were better than a 75 pouint difference - and it did blow out late - but Eltham were very very good for two's footy.
Watched the first half of the ones. Uni High seemed to have more bodies at every contest but I'm a little susprised that the margin wasn't closer at the finish. Two terrific sides. Thought Eltham could probably have done with an extra strong body - bit of grunt from Azza Maloney or Rosco next week perhaps. Hope they can come back and take care of St.Mary's - fair performance i imagine on Sunday 130 odd points....these things can happen so easily in a final.
Heard BHN may have a new strip for next season.
Following on from the new sleevless revolutionary Aussie 20/20 teams outfit.
Lime green so as not to clash I believe.
Monkeyboy
3 Sep 2007, 12:31
Would be interested to know if Blagrove was definately reported. They will need him next week if they are to avoid the dreaded double straight sets. Should be a great preliminary final. A few weeks back my money would have been on Eltham, but just like the great Greg Norman at Augusta......the neck and throat area may just be starting to tighten up. Have Mary's timed the peak? Should be a great game.
Lime green, sounds excellent.
Cheers
Sounds Dreadful, Spy.
InFineForm
3 Sep 2007, 12:33
Lime green, sounds excellent.
Cheers
Sounds Dreadful, Spy.
Sounds like we'll need sunnies on a dull day......... I'm assuming the lime green will be of the fluoro variety.....
All rounder
3 Sep 2007, 12:57
As long as its nothing like RM lime green outfit! :eek:
Ruck Machine
3 Sep 2007, 13:03
You loved it.
Boomeroo
3 Sep 2007, 13:15
Love to see Eltham go out in str8 sets again.......
Couldnt happen to a nicer club...
Flowerpower
3 Sep 2007, 13:28
Love to see Eltham go out in str8 sets again.......
Couldnt happen to a nicer club...
Come off it Boomer Harvey - they are playing the worst blokes in the comp and you want them to lose???
Then again...........
nah - I'll be supporting the turtles this weekend.!!!!!! :)
Ruck Machine
3 Sep 2007, 14:00
Come off it Boomer Harvey - they are playing the worst blokes in the comp and you want them to lose???
Then again...........
I think this weekends game will be a cracker!
Just read the game is back at Vermont which I believe will suit St Marys.
Hate to say it but Eltham could once again fall in straight sets. Although I will be barracking for them.
Would be interested to know if Blagrove was definately reported. They will need him next week if they are to avoid the dreaded double straight sets. Should be a great preliminary final. A few weeks back my money would have been on Eltham, but just like the great Greg Norman at Augusta......the neck and throat area may just be starting to tighten up. Have Mary's timed the peak? Should be a great game.
Just checked the VAFA website & no one from UHS or Turtles or any D4 required for tribunal??? Someone please explain b/c it says earlier a UHS bloke was reported?? :confused:
what an animal
3 Sep 2007, 14:35
Just checked the VAFA website & no one from UHS or Turtles or any D4 required for tribunal??? Someone please explain b/c it says earlier a UHS bloke was reported?? :confused:
No 11. A.Kirk from Uni High was reported for striking and given red card.
Saw incident it was a punch to the stomach when getting sheparded.
It was right in front of umpire.
He may have accepted the mandatory 2 weeks perhaps?
I couldnt see how he got off.
I would be interested to see the final decision on this if anyone can help out.
felix_the_cat
3 Sep 2007, 15:47
Saw both games this weekend, believe couple of reports from Uni vs Eltham game.
No.11 from uni got done for striking, and not sure if Blagrove got done but he got sent off.
Uni did very well considering only 17 players for 20mins in 2nd qtr.
St Marys looked incredible yesterday!! Credit where credit's due they destroyed Mt Lilydale!!
Having watched the game on sunday, i was very impressed with the young members of the st marys squad..
Sure, the usual suspects gatehouse and murphy were full of run on there respective wings. However, other young players holding key roles in the starting 18, showed great ability. Ampt (#32) runs all day and kicked one of the best finals goals i've seen, Sheedy (#16) showed he was a premier ruckman of D4 and Adam (#26) looked promising across the half back line..
Are St marys the youngest side in D4?
If so, look out in future years as each player grows into even better footballers..
Would also like to know what other clubs young stocks like?
brownandgreen
3 Sep 2007, 16:41
we're off to another premiership - eltham.... st marys, comon you're kidding aren't you? see the turtles in two weeks and another premiership boys...
Ruck Machine
3 Sep 2007, 16:48
Having watched the game on sunday, i was very impressed with the young members of the st marys squad..
Sure, the usual suspects gatehouse and murphy were full of run on there respective wings. However, other young players holding key roles in the starting 18, showed great ability. Ampt (#32) runs all day and kicked one of the best finals goals i've seen, Sheedy (#16) showed he was a premier ruckman of D4 and Adam (#26) looked promising across the half back line..
Are St marys the youngest side in D4?
If so, look out in future years as each player grows into even better footballers..
Would also like to know what other clubs young stocks like?
I'd say that Sth Mornington are much younger than St Marys. Speaking to a Sth Mornington Player he said the average age would be about 21.
How old are Gatehouse and Murphy both are superb players?
If Sheedy is the guy I'm thinking of I wouldn't consider him a premier Ruckman.
felix_the_cat
3 Sep 2007, 16:58
I'd say that Sth Mornington are much younger than St Marys. Speaking to a Sth Mornington Player he said the average age would be about 21.
How old are Gatehouse and Murphy both are superb players?
If Sheedy is the guy I'm thinking of I wouldn't consider him a premier Ruckman.
All of these players are below 20, (Sheedy, Gatehouse, Murphy, Adam are all 19 and Ampt is a year or so younger i believe)..
Also include papaluca who is only 21
vegemite
3 Sep 2007, 17:33
Then again...........
Certainly does seem to be a battle of the big egos. Would be funny to see the turtles (biggest egos in 06) out in straight sets again, but then again, how good did St Marys (biggest egos in 07) think they were early on. Either way, congrats to the quiet achievers UHS-VU, and I reckon most of the comp will be barracking for them regardless of who they played.
Flowerpower
3 Sep 2007, 17:52
Certainly does seem to be a battle of the big egos. Would be funny to see the turtles (biggest egos in 06) out in straight sets again, but then again, how good did St Marys (biggest egos in 07) think they were early on. Either way, congrats to the quiet achievers UHS-VU, and I reckon most of the comp will be barracking for them regardless of who they played.
Hahaha - very good Vegemite!
Although brownandgreen has just piped up very cocky!
Ruck Machine
3 Sep 2007, 17:55
we're off to another premiership - eltham.... st marys, comon you're kidding aren't you? see the turtles in two weeks and another premiership boys...
Yes, you will win the 2's Premiership.
Hahaha - very good Vegemite!
Although brownandgreen has just piped up very cocky!
This poster is not from UHS - obvious. :thumbsd:
Coach Hollywood - see you are online.
What was your spin on the day?
No 11. A.Kirk from Uni High was reported for striking and given red card.
Saw incident it was a punch to the stomach when getting sheparded.
It was right in front of umpire.
He may have accepted the mandatory 2 weeks perhaps?
I couldnt see how he got off.
I would be interested to see the final decision on this if anyone can help out.
All will have to wait until the tribunal decisions are published on vafa site wed. to see the list of players who accepted the prescribed,player will only be offered the prescribed if they have not been suspended in the last 2 years,anyone know if he has?
Would that be the same lime green in the mankini that one player is wearing in those latest photos on the BHN web site,these photos are disgraceful,revealing,and rude; and I want to know the name of the very attractive man in the blue swimsuit lovey;):D:cool:
Coach Hollywood
3 Sep 2007, 19:52
Coach Hollywood - see you are online.
What was your spin on the day?
UHS too good on the day btown, tried a few different things that didn't work. Learn from it & come back stronger this week Vs St Marys.
hitdatarget
3 Sep 2007, 20:32
LIME GREEN?
It would add fire to the ***** weak outlook on the club.
hitdatarget
3 Sep 2007, 20:37
The lovefest of Box Hill and Eltham can carry on next season in D4 and beyond. Sainters let the scores do the work.
End of season wrap,highs and lows,join in if you wish:
Low;1/ The young toddler at BHN getting crook.
2/ Late start to the season,and we are still paying for it now with not having regular finals grounds to play on and very hard grounds again.
3/ Many injuries to players from most sides and generally happening just when they needed these players and were making a charge,gleaned this from posts through the year.From what I gather some of these players would have made a big difference to their clubs.
Highs;1/ No contest,I believe the youngster at BHN,did not need his final treatment and if all goes well for 6 weeks will be in remission,nothing better than that,footy means a lot but somethings are more important.
2/ The boys from the south coming in and giving it a fair crack for a first year.
3/ Mountain Men,joining and making the finals.
4/ Nth Brunny,The papers,Eley Park ,big movers,look out next year you tippsters ,going to be hard to pick.
5/Bhn and AP,holding firm.
6/Cobras,building year, but pure guts for mine,yes, they had some big scores kicked on them but next week there they were on field having another crack.Fair effort for mine.
7/ Centrals,pulled themselves up by the boot traps and put a lot of baggers in the , wrong, bin.Next year, look out.
8/ The students,quiet achievers.
9/ This last one's personal,having the luck to give the all clear on Coaches 100th,don't think that will come along every day,and having the bloke ask me to sign the game ball presented to him, as the ump who gave the all clear,pretty special to be asked to do that,to me anyway.
Any one have any others?
End of season wrap,highs and lows,join in if you wish:
Low;1/ The young toddler at BHN getting crook.
2/ Late start to the season,and we are still paying for it now with not having regular finals grounds to play on and very hard grounds again.
3/ Many injuries to players from most sides and generally happening just when they needed these players and were making a charge,gleaned this from posts through the year.From what I gather some of these players would have made a big difference to their clubs.
Highs;1/ No contest,I believe the youngster at BHN,did not need his final treatment and if all goes well for 6 weeks will be in remission,nothing better than that,footy means a lot but somethings are more important.
2/ The boys from the south coming in and giving it a fair crack for a first year.
3/ Mountain Men,joining and making the finals.
4/ Nth Brunny,The papers,Eley Park ,big movers,look out next year you tippsters ,going to be hard to pick.
5/Bhn and AP,holding firm.
6/Cobras,building year, but pure guts for mine,yes, they had some big scores kicked on them but next week there they were on field having another crack.Fair effort for mine.
7/ Centrals,pulled themselves up by the boot traps and put a lot of baggers in the , wrong, bin.Next year, look out.
8/ The students,quiet achievers.
9/ This last one's personal,having the luck to give the all clear on Coaches 100th,don't think that will come along every day,and having the bloke ask me to sign the game ball presented to him, as the ump who gave the all clear,pretty special to be asked to do that,to me anyway.
Any one have any others?
Low - The serious head injury to the lad from Uni and induced coma.
High- Richmond's big day at Punt Rd.
High- Never sure of a tip as the comp evened up.
Low- The visitors change room at Sth Morn.
High- The social room at Sth Morn.
High- Eltham ground finally getting rid of it's bogginess.
Low- Most teams not having decent access ro grounds preseason.
Low- The fact I will not be rooming with Nelly at Japan this year, NOT.:D
Flowerpower
4 Sep 2007, 10:20
The lovefest of Box Hill and Eltham can carry on next season in D4 and beyond. Sainters let the scores do the work.
The entire competition can't be wrong in their distain for St Marys - total w*nkers.
You seem to not be able to tell the difference between love/admiration and respect.
Eltham have earnt respect from several other clubs not just by their football but the manner in which they conduct themselves. BH and Bulleen are like local derby games for Eltham. There is certainly no quarter given on the paddock when these teams meet.
Saints have played some fantastic footy this year. And I am sure, like most clubs, it is a minority of it's members who have given them the bad rep they have at present. They don't need to be like this, but it seems the leadership may be promoting the us against the world theme as motivation.
If this is the case you can't expect to crap in someones face and then have them like you for it.
Just a little side info.
Sat next to Papaluca's grandmother during the early part of Sunday's game. Like most grandmothers she was a lovely person.
She does not know why Papa is playing D4 either though.
what an animal
4 Sep 2007, 10:44
Just a little side info.
Sat next to Papaluca's grandmother during the early part of Sunday's game. Like most grandmothers she was a lovely person.
She does not know why Papa is playing D4 either though.
Why is Blagrove playing D4?
Do people forget he was apparently on an AFL list!!!
Coach Hollywood
4 Sep 2007, 10:54
Big difference between Blagrove who's 30+ and has been there and done that in his football career and with his last few years of football, returned to the School he attended to play with some old mates.
Papaluca on the other hand at 21 has done nothing in his career and leaves A grade to play D4 to better his career?, what a joke... I'm with you on this one Spy!:confused:
port-man_fc
4 Sep 2007, 11:02
he is in his 30's, give him a go!!
what an animal
4 Sep 2007, 11:06
Struth wish i moved like him when i was!!
Retract my comment then...
Good on him for some loyalty then..
BoundaryRider24
4 Sep 2007, 11:36
[All will have to wait until the tribunal decisions are published on vafa site wed. to see the list of players who accepted the prescribed,player will only be offered the prescribed if they have not been suspended in the last 2 years,anyone know if he has?[/quote]
The rider was informed on Monday that Kirk has no case to answer for and the case has been thrown out therefore he will be free to play in the grand final.
Did see the incident from the other side and didn't think the report was warranted.
Probably a free kick at the most should of been paid
BoundaryRider24
4 Sep 2007, 11:42
Indeed was a low Nellup, Sources tell me down at the zoo that the lad is back up and about, and is playing in the maggos for the students.
Played the last 3 games before finals.
Ruck Machine
4 Sep 2007, 12:02
Indeed was a low Nellup, Sources tell me down at the zoo that the lad is back up and about, and is playing in the maggos for the students.
Played the last 3 games before finals.
Low
Eley Park not having an oval, forced to train on Monday (No Recovery Time) and Wednesday (To Far Away from Game).
High
Massively Improved Standard of Football.
Flowerpower
4 Sep 2007, 12:36
Low
Eley Park not having an oval, forced to train on Monday (No Recovery Time) and Wednesday (To Far Away from Game).
High
Massively Improved Standard of Football.
Low definately the serious Uni injury - great to hear he is up and about.
High Playing @ Punt Rd and subsequent entertaining evening! :D
Low Losing $10 on Stifflers kicking ability
High Playing footy with mates in a friendly and respectful environment
Low BHN missing finals
High Sunshine out for nearly every Saturday this year!
Low Green Mankinis :eek:
Abba Lonie
4 Sep 2007, 12:39
When was the Punt Road game?
Ruck Machine
4 Sep 2007, 12:42
Low - Finishing 5th 1's and 2's
what an animal
4 Sep 2007, 12:45
Low Pink Swim Suits with Swimming Cap and Goggles.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
Low:
Season starting 2 weeks late and resulting in final 4 instead of 5.
Ruck Machine
4 Sep 2007, 13:27
This Weeks Big Question
Who will win Eltham or St Marys?
My Analysis
2 Leading goal Kickers in Tagell and Garrard will be going head to head.
St Marys do have Dwyer up forward as well which gives them a really good 2nd option. Eltham also have good 2nd/3rd options in Turner and McClaren. However Eltham may be a little Garrard centric and this could hurt them.
St Marys midfield has youth and agility where as Eltham have experience and much harder bodies. If St Marys want to win this area Papa, Murphy, Gatehouse must be willing to take a hell of a lot of punishment early. Armstrong will be the key for St Marys in the middle due to his hardness and bigger body.The ruck will also be key in this match, as I see it St Marys have the superior Ruck depth.
I'm going to go with Eltham by less than 2 Goals. There midfield experience and Garrard will pull them across the line.
Ruck Machine
4 Sep 2007, 14:05
30th June
LOW - Pretty much all of 2007
HI - My photos on the Cobras website...
huru
Highs:
PUNT RD OVAL - they said we'd never make it...
RCAFC Winning 5 on the trot after being winless last season...
BIG FOOTY - It promotes conversation during the week and at the games.
D4 - A much higher standard than the past few seasons.
POST MATCH PRESENTATIONS - All in good fun. I especially liked NB's cheese platter, and winning the 6 pack at Syndal.
Lows...
Reserve's umpiring standard in general.
Sooo many soft tissue injuries due to the hard grounds.
Players showing up in pre-season and then leaving cause we didn't offer them any money. (then mysteriously playing in higher grades).
InFineForm
4 Sep 2007, 17:44
Sixty5 - I reckon you're wrong mate. And I'll stick to the Cobra's.
Hi's
Playing more 17 - 22 year olds than have ever been at the Cobra's before.
2 new coaches who learnt a great deal as the year went along.
A great win against South Mornington when they were still up & running.
A courageous win in the final round against North Brunswick.
Courageous wins over Richmond Centrals in both grades.
Around 25 new players to the club this year.
8 committee members from this year committed to going on next year.
A new major sponsor to the club with the potential to have a lasting relationship.
Maintaining financial stability in a tough year on field.Lows
Some games where the teamstruggled to compete.
?????The Cobras didn't have a year where they ever got themselves 'up' & were able to challenge the better teams in the competition (no disprespect to the teams we beat). However, we have been down before & are in a better position to fight back next year than we were in 2002, which was the last year we were struggling.
With the right committment from people, we can recruit & play finals next year. The gap between teams is not that great.
Go Cobras!!:thumbsu:
High - Both saints sides making the finals
Low - Ressies losing first final
HIgh - The uni high lad is up and playing again. and will be playing in a premiership side if he stays in the twos
High - the comp is definately more even and will prehaps be even more so next year.
Low - injuries. but that happens to every club every year.
Tips for the weekend:
Well I have to go the Saints but in a close one.
and in the twos Uni High will destroy North Brunny
hitdatarget
4 Sep 2007, 19:53
Really. Coach and Spy, a merge would be ideal for both clubs and yourself.
drummerboy
4 Sep 2007, 20:10
High - Playing 23 games in my first football season in my life! :thumbsu::D
High - Learning how to kick a ball in pre season.. hehe
Low - Us (Eley Park) not having regular training nights or training venue through out the season.
Low - Some of the reserves umpiring...:thumbsd:
High - A good season all up, and some pretty good matches
hmmm im sure there are more...
melbdocker
4 Sep 2007, 20:23
high making my footy return and not cracking the shits and my own lack of ability and playing out the season
low the college spending a shit load of cash on those rooms and forgeting to put change rooms there
Check your Health Insurance statements; I'm sure you'll work it out.:p
Low definately the serious Uni injury - great to hear he is up and about.
High Playing @ Punt Rd and subsequent entertaining evening! :D
Low Losing $10 on Stifflers kicking ability
So were you the bloke that paid a couple of hundred on E Bay for the 'Air Guitar' ?
I noticed on the VAFA website that Bulleen have advertised for a new coach/s -seniors and reserves. Current coaches not keen for next year? or just seeing whats out there???
Does every club review there coaching stocks every year regardless??
what an animal
5 Sep 2007, 10:05
I noticed on the VAFA website that Bulleen have advertised for a new coach/s -seniors and reserves. Current coaches not keen for next year? or just seeing whats out there???
Does every club review there coaching stocks every year regardless??
Might be part of there constitution perhaps?
Really. Coach and Spy, a merge would be ideal for both clubs and yourself.
Eley Park and BHN to merge, but the Dragons to split off and form their own senior club.
InFineForm
5 Sep 2007, 10:18
Might be part of there constitution perhaps?
It has been an initiative of the committee that every year the jobs are advertised. As much for a health check on the club as anything.
Essentially the incumbent coaches start from pole position & we see who pulls up alongside them on the front row.
It'll be interesting to see how the process goes this year, but the strategy is about improving the club, not necessarily about changing coaches.
yeah, just wondering.
It's in our constitution also...
yeah, just wondering.
It's in our constitution also...
I know some clubs that fulfil the constitional requirement by sticking a peice of paper on the back of the coaching room door. It's still advertising but saves wasting serious applicants time and club money if all are happy with the coach.
Ruck Machine
5 Sep 2007, 11:01
I know some clubs that fulfil the constitional requirement by sticking a peice of paper on the back of the coaching room door. It's still advertising but saves wasting serious applicants time and club money if all are happy with the coach.
Regardless if all are happy with the coach I believe Bulleen still have the right idea.
Ruck Machine
5 Sep 2007, 11:14
Any thoughts on this weekends game?
Flowerpower
5 Sep 2007, 11:25
No not really. :D
Coach Hollywood
5 Sep 2007, 11:27
Yeah, i'm thinking a turtles win... That's the plan anyway!
Can't wait for Saturday. Learnt alot from last weekend.
InFineForm
5 Sep 2007, 11:33
Eltham have been the better team over the 18 weeks of home & away, but their confidence must have taken a hell of a hammering last weekend. St Mary's must be sky high after demolishing the mountain men.
CH has a massive job to get the boys back focussed on the job at hand & getting their confidence back.
Both teams prefer the game free & flowing. Eltham must have got their space closed down last week & it will depend on whether they can free themselves to move the ball quickly into the forward line to give CH one-on-one opportunities. (Does anyone know how CH's knee was last week? Was he moving OK, or hampered by his injury?)
Stabbing in the dark a bit (didn't see last weekends games), but confidence is such a big thing in finals, and Eltham might have trouble getting themselves back up in time..... I'd say St Mary's might be the one to take on UHS.
I'd much prefer Eltham to succeed & have another shot at UHS in the GF.:cool:
plugger28
5 Sep 2007, 12:58
huru
65 where are the photos from the last few rounds??? Stop slacking off!
plugger28
5 Sep 2007, 13:02
I think the important thing with the coaching is that all applicants will be taken seriously. As much as we have two incumbents, the club needs to look at what is available and seriously compare what we have against what offers itself up. As IFF said the coaches learnt a lot this year, but both teams finished on the bottom of the ladder and in some games were pretty uncompetitive. So we as a club really need to explore what is available, and make a clear assessment of where we go. AFL Clubs review things all the time, we aren't doing anything different. The other important aspect is that both coaches are aware and supportive of this process and keen for the club to proceed in the best interests of the club.
Was asking a few guys around our club that question last night - and the consensus seemed to be that everyone thought St.Mary's were the best team we played all year and that they'd go all the way comfortably. I don't necessarily agree as I think Eltham had injuries agaisnt us - and St.Mary's played us when we were hopelessly undermanned - and this would have made them look even sharper than they already are.
In any case I think it will be very very tight, Eltham may want to go a little defensive in the middle as St.Mary's are better there - but you'd think Eltham's overall size might be telling.
I'd be bringing up 2-3 stronger bodies from last weeks two's and dropping some that didn't perform in the midfield last week.
Hoping eltham get up.
Eltham have been the better team over the 18 weeks of home & away, but their confidence must have taken a hell of a hammering last weekend. St Mary's must be sky high after demolishing the mountain men.
CH has a massive job to get the boys back focussed on the job at hand & getting their confidence back.
Beware of the wounded Turtle;)