View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
Massive whisper
Syndal to merge with Salesion and go to D2.
Manny?? please inform us.
Could that mean that Bulleen and Marcelin merge, Bulleen up to B...
huru
And the new name? Syndal-Salesian? Salesian? Salesian Tally-Ho?
Big tip for new name "LADNYS-NAISELAS":p and they could be known as the "OHYLLAT'S
Well it makes as much sense as anything else being written here.
Scotty Whyte a bit stiff 17-1 in his first year of coaching. All the best on saturday Scotty hope you blokes get up.
Which is more impressive, taking a side from 0-16 to 7-11 in your first year, or taking a relegated side down a level and kicking ass?
Pretty easy decision I would have thought!
plugger28
11 Sep 2007, 17:21
Less NRL cr*p and more photos on the website!!!!!!!!!
Get your sh^t together.
InfineForm your info seems very interesting. Nothing like a good source.
crazybear
11 Sep 2007, 17:31
Which is more impressive, taking a side from 0-16 to 7-11 in your first year, or taking a relegated side down a level and kicking ass?
Pretty easy decision I would have thought!
Point taken. Looking forward to sparring with boys next season as Kew will be in D4 next year. All the best to UNI and Eltham this saturday. Have soft spot for Scotty as he played at Kew in 06.
Now here's one for the rumour mill.
Just been doing some research on VAFA site,list of teams.
UHS are listed as D3.
Eltham are listed as D4
Check it out!
Is the rumour mill correct about 1 up.?
And does someone have a crystal ball?
The game hasn't even been played yet:eek:
Falcons07
11 Sep 2007, 17:53
UHS are listed as D3.
Eltham are listed as D4
Check it out!
That would be a disgrace, they should reward the 2 best teams in D4 no matter what needs to happen, if not you would imagine there will be some serious challenges to the ruling!
UHS are listed as D3.
Eltham are listed as D4
Check it out!
Wasn't changed ACCIDENTLY from last year on the website according to the VAFA admin secretary ... storm in a .....!
UHS are listed as D3.
Eltham are listed as D4
Check it out!
Mass hysteria PETER - the website says Oakleigh is in D2 - Well they've been playing in D1 all year & now promoted to C grade - Suggest you do more checking before you "puller" the trigger! :eek:
Typical VAFA typo:thumbsd:
Abba Lonie
11 Sep 2007, 19:23
Olivia not doing her job obviously! Didn't realise until last night that she is actually pretty tidy.
Ifeellikechickentonight
11 Sep 2007, 20:37
Olivia not doing her job obviously! Didn't realise until last night that she is actually pretty tidy.
So what are you saying AL, she keeps herself clean or did your heart start racing?
Massive whisper
Syndal to merge with Salesion and go to D2.
Manny?? please inform us.
Ok guys calm down.
Yes, Salesian approached Syndal inquiring if we would be interested in merging due to them not having any facilities next year.
Nothing is confirmed at this stage, Syndal are listening, but let me make it quite clear we will not be forced into anything.
D2 next year - thats Salesians preferred position, but again nothing is confirmed as to how many Salesian players are definitely coming across and we certainly wont be agreeing to anything at this stage.
Is there a chance of the deal falling over - yes
Syndal it should be remembered are in a position of strength, we have a ground, facilities and a healthy playing group that will get stronger. The committee is strong and will not be forced into anything.
The name Chadstone - yes has been thrown around, and Club 18's will be looked at if this goes ahead and numbers are strong.
You guys know as much as the Syndal players who have been kept informed...so I am not breaking any confidence.
Manny
Less NRL cr*p and more photos on the website!!!!!!!!!
Get your sh^t together.
InfineForm your info seems very interesting. Nothing like a good source.
Dude, ask Bonse why they haven't been posted yet. I sent them through to him last Thursday...
There are some i's to be dotted & some t's to be crossed, but it's almost a done deal. Salesian have no ground & it is a merger that suits both clubs. As long as neither club digs their hells in over small stuff, the merger will happen. There may be a Syndal Club 18's side as well....
InFine Form not sure who your sources are, someone from Salesian I would guess, but as I stated in earlier post, no where near a done deal, and if the committee need to dig their heels in over an issue which will be detrimental to our playing group, well so be it.
Congratulations to both Papa and Cam Armstrong on thier B&F's and I would like to especially congratulate Cisco on his great effort - 2nd year of footy never having played before. Cisco has a huge future as he learns more about the game and realises just how good he can be.
I'm sorry I couldn't be there last night but was in Adelaide for work. Adelaide great place to be on a Monday after the footy, just love the open hatred between Crows and Port Adelaide supporters, and didn't the Crows suporters cop some shit yesterday.
Manny
Mass hysteria PETER - the website says Oakleigh is in D2 - Well they've been playing in D1 all year & now promoted to C grade - Suggest you do more checking before you "puller" the trigger! :eek:
I always shoot from the hip bt,it makes life interesting when everyone jumps to rip you a new a@se hole:p
Manny if you praise the cisco kid like that he'll be toooo hard to handle,keep em mean and hungry I say poncho.;)
And if forum members know what that is all about, you are just as old as I am, and spy I will say,g@t stu%%ed now, in anticipation.
Wasn't changed ACCIDENTLY from last year on the website according to the VAFA admin secretary ... storm in a .....!
Well Well spy,remember you said someone from the big house might be looking in on us,big hint here,btown knows a lot about the admin. doesn't he!and the 1st post was at 5.54,after office hrs.but quoting the admin.sec.2nd post calls me by name in capitals no less,could it be,you know who?We'll soon find out,if i don't have a job tomorrow it is him.:D
I always shoot from the hip bt,it makes life interesting when everyone jumps to rip you a new a@se hole:p
Manny if you praise the cisco kid like that he'll be toooo hard to handle,keep em mean and hungry I say poncho.;)
And if forum members know what that is all about, you are just as old as I am, and spy I will say,g@t stu%%ed now, in anticipation.
Cisco and Poncho.... ah yes. From the days when your hair was closer to your shoulders than the waistband of your shorts Nelly. How things have changed.
Sorry mate, but you did invite me in.:D
By the way, why were you absent from Narita Cup training on Sunday. Poor effort.
Well Well spy,remember you said someone from the big house might be looking in on us,big hint here,btown knows a lot about the admin. doesn't he!and the 1st post was at 5.54,after office hrs.but quoting the admin.sec.2nd post calls me by name in capitals no less,could it be,you know who?We'll soon find out,if i don't have a job tomorrow it is him.:D
Why would 'WIGGY' sack you. You never said his name or refered to him in the detrimental fashion of 'WIGGY' ?
:eek:
Cisco and Poncho.... ah yes. From the days when your hair was closer to your shoulders than the waistband of your shorts Nelly. How things have changed.
Sorry mate, but you did invite me in.:D
By the way, why were you absent from Narita Cup training on Sunday. Poor effort.
Would not be kosher for the ump to train with one of the sides competing,that's my official excuse,but if you think you're getting me to training at 11 am on a Sunday your dreaming,:p
Well, was nice to watch Eltham get over St.Mary's on the weekend.
Your boys played it a lot tougher this week Coach Holly- more desperation - and a scintillating start from Blagrove as opposed to a quiet one the week before made a lot of difference early. Good to see you promoted Az Moloney - thought he did his role really well and provided some spark with flashes in the midfield.
But on to this week - the double header.
Eltham will win the two's. But the ones is tougher to pick. Eltham are better on paper - but its hard to see UHS getting beaten after how they played in the semi. If forced to tip - I'd say the fresher UHS by a goal - but that is with little confidence. It could go either way and will probably go down to the wire.
Ruck Machine
12 Sep 2007, 12:26
Congrats to Eltham and CH.
Should be a cracker of a GF.
In the Reserves I am tipping Eltham by 3 Goals
and in the Seniors I am tipping UHS by 2 goals.
PS. Can't wait to play St Marys next year.
Congrats to Eltham and CH.
Should be a cracker of a GF.
In the Reserves I am tipping Eltham by 3 Goals
and in the Seniors I am tipping UHS by 2 goals.
PS. Can't wait to play St Marys next year.
In the ressies I'm going with Uni. There form in the second half of the year has been the best in the comp and will get up by 4 goals.
In the ones it really could go either way and while eltham probably have the bigger names i think that uni have been the most well drilled side in the comp all year and will get up by 2 goals.
PS. seeya next year RM
In the ressies I'm going with Uni. There form in the second half of the year has been the best in the comp and will get up by 4 goals.
I played both sides in the alst two weeks and Eltham are def better in the two's. The only difference between Nth Brunny and UHS on the weekend was use of the football, but they won't be able to get as much of it against Eltham - who will win by 5 goals+.
2 good forwards to kick goals- and Rosco will get 30 kicks in the midfield.
Well, was nice to watch Eltham get over St.Mary's on the weekend.
Your boys played it a lot tougher this week Coach Holly- more desperation - and a scintillating start from Blagrove as opposed to a quiet one the week before made a lot of difference early. Good to see you promoted Az Moloney - thought he did his role really well and provided some spark with flashes in the midfield.
But on to this week - the double header.
Eltham will win the two's. But the ones is tougher to pick. Eltham are better on paper - but its hard to see UHS getting beaten after how they played in the semi. If forced to tip - I'd say the fresher UHS by a goal - but that is with little confidence. I could go either way and will probably go down.
The boys at Donald St will be happy to hear that Oz; or is my antiquated PC just not working properly?:p
knackers_2
12 Sep 2007, 13:50
The boys at Donald St will be happy to hear that Oz; or is my antiquated PC just not working properly?:p
I applaud anyone who knows their station in life and isn't afraid to admit where they stand (or kneel)!
Coach Hollywood
12 Sep 2007, 14:25
Numbers of players from each team in the D4 team of the year! Official!
E 4
UHS 4
St Marys 3
ML 2
AP 2
RC 1
NB 1
BHN 1
Bull 1
EP 1
Syn 1
SMorn 1
How's this team look then Bigwaz? Maybe some positional changes but the numbers add up!
FF: D.Viola (EP) J.Garrard (EC) B.Tagell (St.M)
CHF: N.Nuske (Rich) R.Kirk (UHS) T.Powell (EC)
C: R.Foo (EC) A.Chapman (EC) R.Baker (AP)
CHB: F.Gorringe (UHS) W.Smith (UHS) S.Dimond (UHS)
FB: C.Armstrong (St.M) C.Liston (BHN) D.Pizzari (Nth)
R: M.Rhodes (MtL) R.Sissons (SM) A.Papaluca (St.M)
Int: F.George (Syn) D.Bennett (AP)
Int: T.Conn (Bul) C.Gibson (MtL)
Coach: Danny Hickey (Rich)
topturtle
12 Sep 2007, 14:43
I will suggest Runco will be one of Eltham's four and that Carolan will be there
from Mt Lilydale.
Can't believe I just got email sabotaged on the D4 forum.
Shadow of my former self.
Can't believe I just got email sabotaged on the D4 forum.
Shadow of my former self.
Sorry Oz. Jumped out at me and I couldn't resist.
Get bored shooting the same sitting duck (Nelly) all the time.:o
How's this team look then Bigwaz? Maybe some positional changes but the numbers add up!
Showing excellent 'knowledge' the Holly.
Not 100% spot on, but I suspect that may be deliberate on your part.
That would be an excellent team either way.
BoundaryRider24
12 Sep 2007, 16:00
I played both sides in the alst two weeks and Eltham are def better in the two's. The only difference between Nth Brunny and UHS on the weekend was use of the football, but they won't be able to get as much of it against Eltham - who will win by 5 goals+.
2 good forwards to kick goals- and Rosco will get 30 kicks in the midfield.
What a massive weekend it's gonna be down @ Vermont.
And After all the warm weather of the past 6 weeks the turtles & students could be trotting around in a bit of rain according to the forecast which could throw form up in the air in both grades.
Ressies - The students again continued they charge from 4th spot with a win over Nth Brunswick...the game at time scrappy which is exactly what Nth would of wanted to do but as mentioned by Ozza use of the ball got the students over the line and go on to face the turtles.
After speaking to a Uni official last saturday whilst watching the seniors it was mentioned that Uni were a couple players off their best team so that could be a big plus.
Interesting to see a couple of turtles better players from the 2's 2nd semi playing in the 1's prelim final last week and performing well.
Uni 2's have started strongly their last 2 1st quarters they have played and could catch Eltham napping after the week off.
Last meeting was a Uni win by 55 ponts @ Brens in Rd.16
Students by 17 pts.
Seniors - Bring a chair, and if you can sneak a couple of cans to enjoy outisde rather than inside the Vermont rooms, sit back and be ready for a cracking game.
Eltham blew the saints out in the 1st quarter last week and Mary's although coming home like a fat man to a hot dinner couldn't get the margin in the end.
The rider was there to see the 2nd semi between these 2 and I didn't go away dissapointed & really am expecting another level to be seen this week.
If the students can null the turtles foward line again similar to the 2nd semi, I think the turtles will find it hard to outrun & outclass the Uni on-ballers
Uni in a tight one 8pts to make it a big saturday night down at the zoo.
D4 forum T.O.Y.
FB
Abalonie (best down deep) Infineform (strong, reliable) Snagroll (nasty,yappy,annoying)
HB
Portmanfc (consistent,supportive)Flowerpower(tough,uncompromising) Sixty5(outthere,risktaker)
C
Ifeellikechickentonight (flashy) Bigwaz(in everything) Melbdocker(sticks to his area)
HF
Spy1(sweats on other mistakes) Hitdatarget(a good target) Ozza(very accurate)
FF
Manny(honest worker, often open) C’Holly(straight shooter) Guru1(unpredictable/pugnatious)
R
Ruckmachine(say no more) Whatananimal(gets involved, mixes it well) Falcons07(works 4 his mates)
Bench
King Cobra (looks best sitting down, only room for one on his bench)
got about 5 wrong... but not a bad effort.
D4 forum T.O.Y.
FB
Abalonie (best down deep) Infineform (strong, reliable) Snagroll (nasty,yappy,annoying)
HB
Portmanfc (consistent,supportive)Flowerpower(tough,uncompromising) Sixty5(outthere,risktaker)
C
Ifeellikechickentonight (flashy) Bigwaz(in everything) Melbdocker(sticks to his area)
HF
FF
Manny(honest worker, often open) C’Holly(straight shooter) Guru1(unpredictable/pugnatious)
R
Ruckmachine(say no more) Whatananimal(gets involved, mixes it well) Falcons07(works 4 his mates)
Bench
Has to be room for lakey11 on the bench, but his suspension early in the season could work against him :)
Falcons07
12 Sep 2007, 16:26
D4 forum T.O.Y.
FB
HB
C
HF
FF
R
Bench
Haha thanks Spy it will be the only time I ever get out of the backline!
Has to be room for lakey11 on the bench, but his suspension early in the season could work against him :)
Yeah, Lakey was in fine form early but faded in the latter part of the season. got pipped in the end by Melbdocker for the wing.
Lakey worked well in tandum with you in the guts. Obviously had a good understanding. Maybe next year. Couldn't fit him on the bench. It was only a four seater.
Sorry KC.
No one appreciates us well built chaps.
InFineForm
12 Sep 2007, 16:42
D4 forum T.O.Y.
FB
Bench
Funny.....
KC will be spewing he gets these accusations of being a fat bastard!! He reckons he's lost weight!
what an animal
12 Sep 2007, 16:45
D4 forum T.O.Y.
FB
HB
C
HF
FF
R
Bench
GOLD SPY:thumbsu:
VERY VERY GOOD.
ENJOYED THE READ..
POOR OLD FATCHICKSNEEDLOVIN DOESNT GET A GIG? HEHE:rolleyes:
VERY VERY GOOD.
ENJOYED THE READ..
What's the point of selecting a rep team if you can't break someone's heart?
VERY VERY GOOD.
ENJOYED THE READ..
There is a rumour he was caught out after curfew. Evidently chasin some of that lovin.
Funny.....
KC will be spewing he gets these accusations of being a fat bastard!! He reckons he's lost weight!
We're not fat; we are just big boned.
fatchicksneedlovintoo
12 Sep 2007, 17:34
There is a rumour he was caught out after curfew. Evidently chasin some of that lovin.
Just happy to even get a mention. I was caught recently strange way but i blame those people at google for having that earth graphic which tracks my movements. Even from space you can see they are FAT. Where can i hide now.....
Eltham by 19 points
plugger28
12 Sep 2007, 17:44
Consider my Heart broken. How did melbdocker get a run ahead of me???? And what about Bolt - all these cobras missing out. Very underrated!
I may boycott the forum in disgust - or I may not.
KC will be devestated he has taken the whole bench! Don't know he thinks he has lost weight, just so many people think he is someone else. Poor bugger. IFF should not be throwing too many stones - hey large man! :p:p:p:p:):):)
Consider my Heart broken. How did melbdocker get a run ahead of me???? And what about Bolt - all these cobras missing out. Very underrated!
KC will be devestated he has taken the whole bench! Don't know he thinks he has lost weight, just so many people think he is someone else. Poor bugger. IFF should not be throwing too many stones - hey large man! :p:p:p:p:):):)
Controversy, love it.
Cobras definitely stiff this year.
Punched well above their weight in many contests. May I suggest a pair of Ruby Red Boots at the foot of your posts. Seems to help some get noticed.
Before he complains, would anybody have found a spot for our resident maggott? I think not.
melbdocker
12 Sep 2007, 18:56
Showing excellent 'knowledge' the Holly.
Not 100% spot on, but I suspect that may be deliberate on your part.
That would be an excellent team either way.
just from a bulleen view i am bias but tim conn could easy slide across half forward the best dukes on a skinny man and no matter how many games cookson played he never had a bad one
melbdocker
12 Sep 2007, 18:58
the quote didnt work it was in response to gerrards side of the yr
melbdocker
12 Sep 2007, 19:01
its how u use it mate and i must admit i post up there wit the best
Before he complains, would anybody have found a spot for our resident maggott? I think not.
You'd think I could get a spot amongst this lot,I'm a tall,thin,fit, speedy,how many have all these attributes:p,in the 2's again,ah well.
I'm also a mind reader,I know what's coming spy:rolleyes:
You'd think I could get a spot amongst this lot,I'm a tall,thin,fit, speedy,how many have all these attributes:p,in the 2's again,ah well.
I'm also a mind reader,I know what's coming spy:rolleyes:
You would think by now you would be ammuned to rejection.
So did Wiggy pink slip you or not?:confused:
No I resisted the temptation to have a pot at those knees.
chicken31
12 Sep 2007, 22:53
big weekend both side have had great years so wish them both good luck on the weekend
the magoos based on previous games between the two and form towards the buisness end would say Uni high by a goal since previous results were uni lost by about a goal then defeated them at the zoo by around 50 points plus they have had a great finish to the season.while eltham have had a good finish as well i still cant see them getting over them
the 1's tough game to call both have had close games and all with uni only dropping 1 game as opposed to elthams 2 both have had their fair share of close games and so would go uni just not by a large margin
hopefully we are all treated to a great game
All rounder
13 Sep 2007, 01:51
I'm only new but I might just have you covered Nellup, I have the red boots as well! Have to try for next years team.
King_Cobra
13 Sep 2007, 10:25
D4 forum T.O.Y.
FB
HB
C
HF
FF
R
Bench
Well well i thought you where a half desent bloke there Spy1 but then you go and make comments like that!!!!!! Looking at the bulleen inclusions i can say that 2 of the 3 have me well and truely covered in the weight department and the other should be thankfull that the keyboard cant hit back as we would never get another post out of him!!!!!!!
junior1
13 Sep 2007, 11:18
Guys I am new to the ammo's and I was wondering if you could give me an idea of the standard of D4? There are a couple of clubs around my neck of the woods and I have a young family so the vafa appeals to me.
Coach Hollywood
13 Sep 2007, 11:22
Guys I am new to the ammo's and I was wondering if you could give me an idea of the standard of D4? There are a couple of clubs around my neck of the woods and I have a young family so the vafa appeals to me.
Come down to Vermont on Saturday for a look mate & decide for yourself.
Well well i thought you where a half desent bloke there Spy1 but then you go and make comments like that!!!!!! Looking at the bulleen inclusions i can say that 2 of the 3 have me well and truely covered in the weight department and the other should be thankfull that the keyboard cant hit back as we would never get another post out of him!!!!!!!
As a poor attempt at saving the relationship, you at least could fit on the bench KC. Where a few others may not.:o
I could never go on the bench myself, as it would be too easy to access the canteen.
Let me also assure you that those of us of a more ample build are considered total eye candy to the young ladies in Japan. You should come with one year. I have trouble fighting them off by myself.:p
Pretty good side Spy and yes I'd be happy to be captain. But the inclusion of Sausage roll! Surely he could be the umpire so we can all hurl abuse at him!
junior1
13 Sep 2007, 12:12
Come down to Vermont on Saturday for a look mate & decide for yourself.
Unfortunately I am unable to get out to Vermont on saturday (good luck anyway). I have seen a little bit of one game this season, which was Syndal vs Bulleen and that was a little scrappy. Both of those sides finished towards the bottom.
I have played SFL for a number of years and I was hoping for a comparison to some of the higher sides such as St Mary's, Mt Lilydale, BHN or Albert Park.
Abba Lonie
13 Sep 2007, 12:15
BHN played Mount Waverley in a practice match earlier in the season. The Mounts got a big break on BHN but BHN came back and nearly ran over the top. So I reckon D4 is either fairly equal or maybe a touch above div 3.
junior1
13 Sep 2007, 12:34
BHN played Mount Waverley in a practice match earlier in the season. The Mounts got a big break on BHN but BHN came back and nearly ran over the top. So I reckon D4 is either fairly equal or maybe a touch above div 3.
Thanks for that. Mt are a pretty good side and have made it into the GF in div3. I played against them in the pre season and they ran out of legs against us as well.
Falcons07
13 Sep 2007, 12:48
Thanks for that. Mt are a pretty good side and have made it into the GF in div3. I played against them in the pre season and they ran out of legs against us as well.
Hey Mate,
I played for Blackrock and now play for AP, I would say the SFL is harder (sorry boys but think its true) also the Ammos is a much more running game.
The top sides in D4 would definitely be compeititve in Div 3, I think you would be impressed with the running footy Eltham, UHS and St Marys play, whereas Mt Lillydale is more of an SFL type footy.
Hope this helps!
King_Cobra
13 Sep 2007, 12:49
Junior1 as a guide look at kew as the merged with kew north from div 3 sfl and the stuggled in d3 this year and have dropped back to d4 and i think they went close to the flag last year in sfl div 3. If are looking at joining a d4 club we would be happy to have you at bulleen as u said we struggled this year and finished bottom but are in the middle of rebuilding after losing alot of our senior players over last summer so if your interested shot me a pm and i will give you some contact details.
King_Cobra
13 Sep 2007, 13:00
As a poor attempt at saving the relationship, you at least could fit on the bench KC. Where a few others may not.:o
I could never go on the bench myself, as it would be too easy to access the canteen.
Let me also assure you that those of us of a more ample build are considered total eye candy to the young ladies in Japan. You should come with one year. I have trouble fighting them off by myself.:p
That is the poorest attempt i have seen in a long time....lol....See i think the problem here spy1 is that you and must others think that i am some differant from the cobras. Im pretty sure most people on here would not have a clue who i am.
oldtimer
13 Sep 2007, 13:08
Junior1 as a guide look at kew as the merged with kew north from div 3 sfl and the stuggled in d3 this year and have dropped back to d4 and i think they went close to the flag last year in sfl div 3. If are looking at joining a d4 club we would be happy to have you at bulleen as u said we struggled this year and finished bottom but are in the middle of rebuilding after losing alot of our senior players over last summer so if your interested shot me a pm and i will give you some contact details.
King, probably not ideal to look at the merge considering only 2 senior players came across to Kew.
King_Cobra
13 Sep 2007, 13:14
King, probably not ideal to look at the merge considering only 2 senior players came across to Kew.
I thought differantly from that but i will stand corrected if thats the case but didnt they also pick up a couple of other SFL players from higher grades aswell.
oldtimer
13 Sep 2007, 13:17
I thought differantly from that but i will stand corrected if thats the case but didnt they also pick up a couple of other SFL players from higher grades aswell.
a couple from murrumbeena in sfl div.2.
Old Bullman
13 Sep 2007, 13:37
a couple from murrumbeena in sfl div.2.
Oldtimer, any reason for only 2 players coming across? Perhaps some tips for would be mergers!
oldtimer
13 Sep 2007, 13:43
Oldtimer, any reason for only 2 players coming across? Perhaps some tips for would be mergers!
North Kew were an old side with most on the verge of retirement. They played in 2 grand finals in a row in SFL and when the merge went ahead most decided not to play. A couple of players went to South Yarra and a couple went back home to play in the country. In all about 11 players came across with majority playing reserves or clubbies. Last Sat in our ressies prelim 8 were from North Kew. We tried hard to get them but to no avail. Mergers always look good on paper but not necessarily in reality.
Old Bullman
13 Sep 2007, 13:48
Very difficult to bed down a merge easily. Did the respective coaches from 2006 have any involvement in 2007? Seems to me that might be the key?
King_Cobra
13 Sep 2007, 13:51
North Kew were an old side with most on the verge of retirement. They played in 2 grand finals in a row in SFL and when the merge went ahead most decided not to play. A couple of players went to South Yarra and a couple went back home to play in the country. In all about 11 players came across with majority playing reserves or clubbies. Last Sat in our ressies prelim 8 were from North Kew. We tried hard to get them but to no avail. Mergers always look good on paper but not necessarily in reality.
So out of the 120 players you had go through the club this year only 11 were north kew players.
oldtimer
13 Sep 2007, 13:51
Very difficult to bed down a merge easily. Did the respective coaches from 2006 have any involvement in 2007? Seems to me that might be the key?
Kew's coach resigned during 06 and the coach who took over remained in 07 as a player. North Kew's coach in 06 coached Sandown Cobras in 07 and no North Kew players went with him to my knowledge.
oldtimer
13 Sep 2007, 13:54
So out of the 120 players you had go through the club this year only 11 were north kew players.
11 made themselves available for ressies or seniors by training, however, the coach of the Clubbies was the ex Pres of North Kew and he played about 5 more in the clubbies when we were short, however, I never saw them and they didn't come to training or attend social functions. Most of our players are country boys who are studying in Melb.
junior1
13 Sep 2007, 14:30
I actually live around the corner from Syndal so Bulleen may be a fair trip to make training etc. Thanks for the offer.
Do Kew play at Stradbroke Park?
Guys,
I can inform you all that talks between Syndal and Salesian have ceased, as I stated earlier Syndal were in a position of strength and no decision was going to be made that would cause our players to move on - the main sticking point which both clubs stated as non-negotiable was the Division the club played in.
Manny
oldtimer
13 Sep 2007, 14:33
I actually live around the corner from Syndal so Bulleen may be a fair trip to make training etc. Thanks for the offer.
Clubbies do and pre season training is conducted there however seniors and reserves play at Vic Park, High St, Kew
Coach Hollywood
13 Sep 2007, 14:49
Guys,
I can inform you all that talks between Syndal and Salesian have ceased, as I stated earlier Syndal were in a position of strength and no decision was going to be made that would cause our players to move on - the main sticking point which both clubs stated as non-negotiable was the Division the club played in.
Manny
Ceased in that it's a done deal or it has fallen through Manny?
An interesting question would be that if Salesian Fold would Hawthorn go up to D2 & St Mary's up to D3?? Or would Willaimstown stay in D2 & West Brunswick in D3??
Ceased in that it's a done deal or it has fallen through Manny?
An interesting question would be that if Salesian Fold would Hawthorn go up to D2 & St Mary's up to D3?? Or would Willaimstown stay in D2 & West Brunswick in D3??
Coach,
Talks ceased and no more have been planned, as I stated Division which team played in 2008 was the main sticking point and neither club was willing to budge.
Good luck on the weekend.
Junior1 - please feel free to call me to discuss possible playing for Syndal - I am the senior coach and hope to be next year....find our number from the VAFA web site, you'll appreciate that I do not want to advertise my number on the forum, or email me via forum.
Manny
InFineForm
13 Sep 2007, 15:06
Guys,
Manny
G'day Manny,
Just as a matter of interest - what grade did the clubs want to play in?
I heard that there was a fair risk that Salesian would lose a fair few players if the clubs merged (although I also heard there are only about 6 old boys played this year). Did this play a major part in the discussions?
It's interesting as, while merged clubs often struggle to achieve any real success, I thought this one may be a little different as it was not a matter of the clubs having to merge, but achieving some synergies out of the process. I also thought that the name change to Chadstone could only be beneficial. (Is this still a possibility?)
Cheers
Tigerarmy88
13 Sep 2007, 15:33
Hey Mate,
I played for Blackrock and now play for AP, I would say the SFL is harder (sorry boys but think its true) also the Ammos is a much more running game.
The top sides in D4 would definitely be compeititve in Div 3, I think you would be impressed with the running footy Eltham, UHS and St Marys play, whereas Mt Lillydale is more of an SFL type footy.
Hope this helps!
they definately are different types of footy but i would lean towards d4 ammos being a better standard.i played d4 ammos last year and sfl divvy 3 this year and the standard has dropped away in the sfl.
this year there were a lot of stoppages and turnovers and it was pretty physical probably due to a lack of fitness where as last year it was pretty quick footy.
good luck luck to eltham this week they deserve to break through........
Giggidy Giggidy
13 Sep 2007, 15:50
Good luck to Coach Hollywood & his Turtles on Saturday.
I was at Vermont for the first final vs UHS and thought the match was much closer than the scoreline suggests.
Great to see that Eltham have broken that finals hoodoo, and hopefully the boys can now take the Premiership with them to D3.
Falcons07
13 Sep 2007, 16:00
they definately are different types of footy but i would lean towards d4 ammos being a better standard.i played d4 ammos last year and sfl divvy 3 this year and the standard has dropped away in the sfl.
this year there were a lot of stoppages and turnovers and it was pretty physical probably due to a lack of fitness where as last year it was pretty quick footy.
good luck luck to eltham this week they deserve to break through........
You are probably right in the present, I played in the SFL 3 years ago before the Parkmore debacle and when it was a really strong league, Also played in a premiership team and both 1s and ressies made the GF, so guess I saw the best of Div 3.
Pretty good side Spy and yes I'd be happy to be captain. But the inclusion of Sausage roll! Surely he could be the umpire so we can all hurl abuse at him!
I needed some annoying nasty little peice of work to play the mongerel small back pocket. Thought he was a perfect fit.
That is the poorest attempt i have seen in a long time....lol....See i think the problem here spy1 is that you and must others think that i am some differant from the cobras. Im pretty sure most people on here would not have a clue who i am.
KC, I only know your forum personna. And it combined with the inuendo from your fair weather Cobra posters earned you selection on the bench of this most prestigeous team.
Now stop being like most benchies, making an effort to be noticed so they get sent on, or you will be sent back to the dew kickers. :D
D4 forum T.O.Y.
FB
HB
C
HF
FF
R
Bench
Thanks for the mention at HB SPY1. You must know of my Greek background then ay ay ay. I like to get in from BEHIND...
huru
Coach Hollywood
13 Sep 2007, 17:05
Some of the Memories?
The mighty sainters are headed for an 18-0 season. Can't see who will beat this super team, especially when the coach starts playing again.
Premiers and champions for the saints- I know that it is seriously being spoken about down at Ferndale park.
Bring on the next poor club to incur their wrath.
Can they do it? 18-zip!
Well, what do you want me to say genuis? Yes, they will go 18-0, when they have lost?
Will still win it and so will papa!!
Where is the BP Forum team of the year member?
junior1, we have a lot of players who do not reside in Bulleen, yet make the trip to play for us. I live in St Kilda for example... Have a think about it...
huru
junior1, we have a lot of players who do not reside in Bulleen, yet make the trip to play for us. I live in St Kilda for example... Have a think about it...
huru
Think about North Brunswick Junior1 !!!
Loved the Snagga Roll posts Coach H, what a poon he was. Also - I was standing behind the goals in the second qrtr when all the 'poony' St.Mary's supporters were telling you you'd 'cherry picked' easy goals all season. Very amusing. The 'sainters' seem to have a band of 'followers' who don't play - but come to games to insult the opposition every week. Highly questionable passtime really.
Falcons07
13 Sep 2007, 17:36
Loved the Snagga Roll posts Coach H, what a poon he was. Also - I was standing behind the goals in the second qrtr when all the 'poony' St.Mary's supporters were telling you you'd 'cherry picked' easy goals all season. Very amusing. The 'sainters' seem to have a band of 'followers' who don't play - but come to games to insult the opposition every week. Highly questionable passtime really.
Yep had them both games when I was playing on the HBF telling me how big the bag the guy was to kick on me and how bad our whole team was, nothing really bad, nothing worse then I hope our ressie boys would dish out.
But they defintiely didnt play either game.
what happened to your beloved rabbitoh's ay ozza????
Got smashed. First final in 18yrs though 65 - they'll be better for it next year - plus injuries/suspensions at the wrong time.
In any case - backing them every week of the season has meant I'm well covered for the footy trip.
Flowerpower
13 Sep 2007, 17:46
Some of the Memories?
Where is the BP Forum team of the year member?
You have awakened the Flowerpower fat man Hollywood!!!!!!!!!!
Was the above a deliberate ploy to rise me from my slumber? :D
Now some might say I'm a bit harsh on poor old St Fairies - but when you dish crap out you must be prepared to cop some on the way back.
Thats the good old Aussie tradition!
To the few St Fairies people that are decent people, try and get the rest of your crew to understand that you should be kind to those on the way up, because you might run into them again on the way down. :)
Coach Hollywood
13 Sep 2007, 17:48
I love that stuff Ozza! You're obviously doing something well for them to start mouthing off at you in the first place, so I always take abuse as flattery! Like I've said before "you're always better than everyone else from the other side of the fence". Can't wait to prove all those tippers of a UHS double wrong also.
InFineForm
13 Sep 2007, 18:16
Can't wait to prove all those tippers of a UHS double wrong also.
In case I don't get online tomorrow - good luck CH & the rest of the Eltham boys.
I won't miss playing at Eltham on the coldest day of the year, every year. Especially the showers there that are just ordinary (D3 teams beware!).
Anyway - due to residual bitterness towards UHS from 2002 (they f***ed Bulleen over at the tribunal), I hope that Eltham enjoy success in both grades.
hitdatarget
13 Sep 2007, 19:16
You have awakened the Flowerpower fat man Hollywood!!!!!!!!!!
Was the above a deliberate ploy to rise me from my slumber? :D
Now some might say I'm a bit harsh on poor old St Fairies - but when you dish crap out you must be prepared to cop some on the way back.
Thats the good old Aussie tradition!
To the few St Fairies people that are decent people, try and get the rest of your crew to understand that you should be kind to those on the way up, because you might run into them again on the way down. :)
FLOUR - A part of that has some truth. Saineters will see you next season and AGAIN you will all remain DOWN.
Junior,I'm the resident maggot here,as far as clubs go, all will welcome you,just a case of which one fits with you,Box Hill Nth and Syndal are close to you and are family orientated so would go with young family,unfortunately both coaches can be pains sometimes:p,only joking junior,you will notice a big difference in the umps,we at the ammo's are stricter and bigger mongrels too:)
You won't regret playing for any of the clubs in D4,good bunch of blokes for the most part,give me heaps of sh@t but i know they love me deep down,sometimes i just have to dig a very deep hole to proove it:rolleyes:
Ifeellikechickentonight
13 Sep 2007, 20:26
Junior,I'm the resident maggot here,as far as clubs go, all will welcome you,just a case of which one fits with you,Box Hill Nth and Syndal are close to you and are family orientated so would go with young family,unfortunately both coaches can be pains sometimes:p,only joking junior,you will notice a big difference in the umps,we at the ammo's are stricter and bigger mongrels too:)
You won't regret playing for any of the clubs in D4,good bunch of blokes for the most part,give me heaps of sh@t but i know they love me deep down,sometimes i just have to dig a very deep hole to proove it:rolleyes:
Don't know if you've realised this Nellup, but in all in this time, you haven't been on MATCHMAKER.COM! No one loves you here.
junior1
13 Sep 2007, 20:35
I know about the umpiring bud, I did a coaches course at the start of the year at Elsternwick and Goodman was one of the speakers.
nellup, love, please...
cmon
yes ok, I do love you, you nellup you..:)
I know about the umpiring bud, I did a coaches course at the start of the year at Elsternwick and Goodman was one of the speakers.
hey junior1,
have a look at Bulleen's website for some sensational gameday photography. Best in D4.
www.bulleencobras.asn.au
click on the "gallery" link on the right of the page and enjoy...
his bark is worse than his bite:eek:
theelixir
13 Sep 2007, 23:04
Will be interesting to see the official d4 team of the year. The full forward line is a no-brainer, D.VIOLA (EP) GARRARD (EC) B. TAGELL (ST.M) garrard kicking well over 100, and d. viola and tagell kicking 50+.