View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

spy1
13 Sep 2007, 23:49
his bark is worse than his bite:eek:
Not sure about the bite you might get from that rackoon on his bonce though.:eek:

spy1
13 Sep 2007, 23:54
Will be interesting to see the official d4 team of the year. The full forward line is a no-brainer, D.VIOLA (EP) GARRARD (EC) B. TAGELL (ST.M) garrard kicking well over 100, and d. viola and tagell kicking 50+.

Wouldn't be so sure. Third best ruckman is not likely to get a gig so I would not count on the third best FF getting in. Like to see a small in the pocket myself.

nellup
14 Sep 2007, 00:22
Not sure about the bite you might get from that rackoon on his bonce though.:eek:

Now don't be nasty,He's in my goodbooks at the moment.

Manny
14 Sep 2007, 00:28
G'day Manny,

Just as a matter of interest - what grade did the clubs want to play in?

I heard that there was a fair risk that Salesian would lose a fair few players if the clubs merged (although I also heard there are only about 6 old boys played this year). Did this play a major part in the discussions?

It's interesting as, while merged clubs often struggle to achieve any real success, I thought this one may be a little different as it was not a matter of the clubs having to merge, but achieving some synergies out of the process. I also thought that the name change to Chadstone could only be beneficial. (Is this still a possibility?)

Cheers
InFineForm,

Salesian wanted to stay in D2 due to their players stating they would not play D4 under any circumstances, and we had a number of our players who were not comfortable playing D2 and wanted to stay in D4 and indicated they may leave Syndal if it was in D2 next year. Syndal did not seek to merge, it was about Salesian approaching us as they do not have a ground or facilities for next year and the current situation of playing out of Parkmore was deemed unacceptable in 2008.

Not sure what they will do, but Syndal will move forward regardless with a bright future.

Manny

footyfan_joe
14 Sep 2007, 01:57
Junior,I'm the resident maggot here,as far as clubs go, all will welcome you,just a case of which one fits with you,Box Hill Nth and Syndal are close to you and are family orientated so would go with young family,unfortunately both coaches can be pains sometimes:p,only joking junior,you will notice a big difference in the umps,we at the ammo's are stricter and bigger mongrels too:)
You won't regret playing for any of the clubs in D4,good bunch of blokes for the most part,give me heaps of sh@t but i know they love me deep down,sometimes i just have to dig a very deep hole to proove it:rolleyes:
Hey Nellup, resident maggot huh?

Who is Umpiring the D4 GF? What will they be like?

theelixir
14 Sep 2007, 09:49
Wouldn't be so sure. Third best ruckman is not likely to get a gig so I would not count on the third best FF getting in. Like to see a small in the pocket myself.

i wouldnt exactly class d.viola from EP as a 'tall', he's hard to contain cause he can snag so many off the deck

Coach Hollywood
14 Sep 2007, 10:35
Will be interesting to see the official d4 team of the year. The full forward line is a no-brainer, D.VIOLA (EP) GARRARD (EC) B. TAGELL (ST.M) garrard kicking well over 100, and d. viola and tagell kicking 50+.

As per the VAFA record. (I guess we all got a few wrong?)

FB -D Payne (EP) Liston (BHN) Runco (E)
HB -George (STH) Holdstock (NB) Smith (UHS)
C -Gorringe (UHS) C Armstrong (St Mary) Bennett (AP)
HF -Blagrove (E) R.Kirk (UHS) Mora (UHS)
FF -Whiting (RC) J Garrard (E) Tagell (St Mary)
R -Rhodes (ML) Sissons (St Morn) Papaluca (St Mary)
I/c -Conn (Bulleen) Baker (AP) Chapman (E) Gibson (ML)
Coach -Danny Hickey (RC)

Ruck Machine
14 Sep 2007, 10:47

Coach -Danny Hickey (RC)

A couple of interesting choices, I probably would've had Nuske and Powell in there. Might have started Baker on the wing over Bennett too.

The Tiger's Nuts
14 Sep 2007, 11:14

Peter Angelis, Joe Hartwig (F)
Craig Bratjberg, Andrew Rechtmann (B)
Charlie Lear, Greg Rollo (G)

More A graders than you can wave a stick at.

Thought So
14 Sep 2007, 11:50
Junior1 as a guide look at kew as the merged with kew north from div 3 sfl and the stuggled in d3 this year and have dropped back to d4 and i think they went close to the flag last year in sfl div 3. If are looking at joining a d4 club we would be happy to have you at bulleen as u said we struggled this year and finished bottom but are in the middle of rebuilding after losing alot of our senior players over last summer so if your interested shot me a pm and i will give you some contact details.

KC, Why are you trying to recruit new players to Bulleen when I heard a rumour that you will be changing your name to 'King Bear' next year when Kew become part of D4?

OZZA
14 Sep 2007, 12:21

Coach -Danny Hickey (RC)

Great to see Holdstock at CHB in the team of the year. One of this forum's own and had a great year in his first year of footy since Under 19s.

Big things to come in 2008 for him after a year of footy under his belt.

Coach Hollywood
14 Sep 2007, 12:32
Great to see Holdstock at CHB in the team of the year. One of this forum's own and had a great year in his first year of footy since Under 19s.

Big things to come in 2008 for him after a year of footy under his belt.

Looks like a few of us from this forum made both the D4 team & the Forum team of the year?

Abba Lonie
14 Sep 2007, 12:35
Abba Lonie did not. Don't know if he even made the Box Hill North 2s team of the year.

Ruck Machine
14 Sep 2007, 12:41
Abba Lonie did not. Don't know if he even made the Box Hill North 2s team of the year.

I'd slot you in on a Forward Flank Abba.

King_Cobra
14 Sep 2007, 12:53
KC, Why are you trying to recruit new players to Bulleen when I heard a rumour that you will be changing your name to 'King Bear' next year when Kew become part of D4?

Now now Thought So you cant just come on here and start throwing rumours like that around willy nilly, but i did have a very costly weekend a few weeks back so i am prepared to go where the money is.......lol.

nellup
14 Sep 2007, 16:07

Peter Angelis, Joe Hartwig (F)
Craig Bratjberg, Andrew Rechtmann (B)
Charlie Lear, Greg Rollo (G)

More A graders than you can wave a stick at.

Fine bunch of umps,as to what they will be like?everyone will have to wait until tomorrow,BTW,all grand final umps are listed on the umps website,up now,http://www.vafaua.asn.au/
See you all there,but early I will be busy.

Ruck Machine
14 Sep 2007, 16:10
Fine bunch of umps,as to what they will be like?everyone will have to wait until tomorrow,BTW,all grand final umps are listed on the umps website,up now,http://www.vafaua.asn.au/
See you all there,but early I will be busy.

I see you're getting a Gig on Saturday as well Nelly.

nellup
14 Sep 2007, 16:15
I see you're getting a Gig on Saturday as well Nelly.
Waving the flags in the 2's and very happy to get it,and the first one of you Ba@ta#ds to make a smart remark,well ,remember I will be back in the centre again next year,:p:D:D

spy1
14 Sep 2007, 16:40
Waving the flags in the 2's and very happy to get it,and the first one of you Ba@ta#ds to make a smart remark,well ,remember I will be back in the centre again next year,:p:D:D
Tomatoes to the ready boys.:eek:
Close enough to hurl rotten fruit as well as comments. Hope your contacts are polished up mate. Plenty of advice likely to come for the ones over the post.:thumbsd:

Well done mate. Really pleased on your appointment.
Genuinely.
How much do they pay you for the gig?:confused:
Enough to get the first few rounds in at Narita Sports Bar this year I would have thought.
Like I said, genuinely pleased for us.... er, I mean you.:D

spy1
14 Sep 2007, 16:42

I believe the senior coach had you valued a lot higher than the maggos coach Abba.
Also hear you have been selected to represent your country at full forward.
Not all bad.

spy1
14 Sep 2007, 16:44
I'd slot you in on a Forward Flank Abba.

Then ignore his lead and have a shot from the centre like usual eh Machine?:D

Ruck Machine
14 Sep 2007, 16:56
Then ignore his lead and have a shot from the centre like usual eh Machine?:D

You know I like having shots from long range, might be a safer option anyway as I am shooting 67% for the season.

spy1
14 Sep 2007, 17:02
You know I like having shots from long range, might be a safer option anyway as I am shooting 67% for the season.

Are we counting the ones that miss all the sticks as well?

Did the coach allow you to get close enough to goal to get an average of that presiceness?

spy1
14 Sep 2007, 17:10

Next you will be telling me something ridiculous like, that is 15.19% better than the rest of your team taken as an average on the season.

Do you work in front of a computer all day with tooooooooo much time on your hands or something?

Ruck Machine
14 Sep 2007, 17:14
Are we counting the ones that miss all the sticks as well?

Did the coach allow you to get close enough to goal to get an average of that presiceness?

4 Goals 2 points, not hard to remember Spy. I don't believe I had any out on the full.

Not close to the goals much this year spy, but rumour has it I may be down forward on a regular basis next year.

Ruck Machine
14 Sep 2007, 17:16
Next you will be telling me something ridiculous like, that is 15.19% better than the rest of your team taken as an average on the season.

Do you work in front of a computer all day with tooooooooo much time on your hands or something?

Actually it's 14.86%

Wouldn't say I 'worked' in front of a computer all day.

sixty5
14 Sep 2007, 18:30
Today's Joke of the day:

A man was sprawled across three entire seats in a theater. When the usher came by and noticed this, he whispered to the man, "Sorry sir, but you're only allowed one seat."

The man groaned but didn't budge. The usher became impatient.

"Sir," the usher said, "if you don't get up from there, I'm going to have to call the manager."

Again, the man just groaned, which infuriated the usher who turned and marched briskly back up the aisle in search of his manager. In a few moments, both the usher and the manager returned and stood over the man. Together the two of them tried repeatedly to move him, but with no success. Finally, they summoned the police. The cop surveyed the situation briefly.

"All right, buddy. What's your name?"

"Sam," the man moaned.

"Where ya from, Sam?" the cop asked.

"The balcony."

nellup
14 Sep 2007, 18:47
A lady driver picked up a Navaho Indian lady hitch hicking,the indian lady was quiet for hrs. then noticed a bottle of Jim Beam on the car seat,she said"nice drink",the lady driver said "yes I got it for my husband",the indian was again quiet for a while then said"good trade".

Well anything would be be better than 65's

The Tiger's Nuts
14 Sep 2007, 19:30
A guy walks into the local welfare office for his check, marches straight up to the counter and says, "Hi... You know, I just HATE drawing welfare. I'd really rather have a job."

The social worker behind the counter says, "Your timing is excellent. We just got a job opening from a very wealthy old man who wants a chauffeur/bodyguard for his nymphomaniac daughter. You'll have to drive around in his Mercedes, but he'll supply all of your clothes. Because of the long hours, meals will be provided. You'll be expected to escort her on her overseas holiday trips. You'll have a two-bedroom apartment above the garage. The starting salary is $200,000 a year."

The guy says, "You're bullshittin' me!"

The social worker says, "Yeah, well, you started it."

----

Hey Tugger, the silver medal around your neck from Saturday will be like catnip for the ladies of the Orient...

InFineForm
14 Sep 2007, 23:00
Pavarotti knocks on the Pearly Gates.
St Peter opens them and says "Oh Luciano, it's you, Come on in - squeeze through".

Pavarotti says "I have a letter from the Pope for you".
St Peter opens it up and reads it.

"Here's that tenor I owe you".

sixty5
15 Sep 2007, 11:35
Today's Joke of the Day:

KINGCOBRA... ha ha ha

sadlife
15 Sep 2007, 15:26
New viewer just logged on. Just wondering who would you jump on for 2008 at this stage?
RC recruited well but not many youngsters, North B, Syndal look alright when all on board, ST.MARYS????? if they all stay BHN lots of talk up.

Any vague suggestions?

theelixir
15 Sep 2007, 16:21
The sharks are putting in a big off-season in terms of recruiting of players and staff.

sixty5
15 Sep 2007, 16:54
Funny thing that... People seem to forget Bulleen. Who's to say they will not be the biggest improvers next season

huru

Ruck Machine
15 Sep 2007, 18:20
BHN are the ones to watch next year.

Anyway UHS won the Seniors and Eltham won the Ressies.

nellup
15 Sep 2007, 20:35
We all have a kid around here but this one's serious.

Watched Eltham 2's def. UHS and UHS seniors def Eltham,at the speeches both treated their vanquished with respect,and those that lost showed great character in the way they accepted what is no doubt the biggest loss of the year.

D4's loss in these clubs going up and D3's gain:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

sixty5
15 Sep 2007, 20:38
We all have a kid around here but this one's serious.

Watched Eltham 2's def. UHS and UHS seniors def Eltham,at the speeches both treated their vanquished with respect,and those that lost showed great character in the way they accepted what is no doubt the biggest loss of the year.

D4's loss in these clubs going up and D3's gain:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
I didn't really have much to do with UHS-VU, but I am surely going to miss the Eltham two's (that's if Eltham goes up to D3)...

I have to agree with you nellup...

spy1
16 Sep 2007, 17:23
Funny thing that... People seem to forget Bulleen. Who's to say they will not be the biggest improvers next season

huru

Sorry? Who was that again? Bull something?:p

OZZA
17 Sep 2007, 09:03
Boys, the sun was out and the pots were cold in teh Vermont clubrooms.

As predicted by myself - Eltham a win in the two's and UHS in the seniors.
Commiserations to Coach Hollywood - after a good season just couldn't quite get over the UHS hurdle.

UHS were fantastic though - Crackers at CHB was awesome, the Kirk's were good all day and Whyte came on and sparked whenever they needed it. And its over for another year. I think both sides will be good in D3 if they hold onto their players.

what an animal
17 Sep 2007, 10:47
Boys, the sun was out and the pots were cold in teh Vermont clubrooms.

As predicted by myself - Eltham a win in the two's and UHS in the seniors.
Commiserations to Coach Hollywood - after a good season just couldn't quite get over the UHS hurdle.

UHS were fantastic though - Crackers at CHB was awesome, the Kirk's were good all day and Whyte came on and sparked whenever they needed it. And its over for another year. I think both sides will be good in D3 if they hold onto their players.

Bad luck CH im tipping he may a can of something in his hand right now:thumbsu:

Fair effort from uni high coach whyte to play with a broken foot!

Ruck Machine
17 Sep 2007, 12:04
UHS looked the fitter team going into the last quarter and I think the week off really helped them out. Dillon was very disappointing all day and McClaren probably should've played. Also Powell getting sent off at a Critical time in the 3rd really cost Eltham. Runco was probably Eltham best but didn't have much support in the back line.

Good Luck to Eltham and UHS in D3, Hopefully I'll see you guys again in 2009.

OZZA
17 Sep 2007, 13:00
Bad luck CH im tipping he may a can of something in his hand right now:thumbsu:

Fair effort from uni high coach whyte to play with a broken foot!

A broken foot!? Is this confirmed? I knew he was limping but broken foot - thats a huge effort. He won them the game with his exploits to start the last quarter. 2 goals and shepherded another through. Very calm and collected at 3/4 time too - they just know how to win.

Did anyone see the goal kicked by Eltham 2's ruckman - Brown in the last quarter - absolute show stopper.

btown
17 Sep 2007, 13:38
A broken foot!? Is this confirmed? I knew he was limping but broken foot - thats a huge effort. He won them the game with his exploits to start the last quarter. 2 goals and shepherded another through. Very calm and collected at 3/4 time too - they just know how to win.

Did anyone see the goal kicked by Eltham 2's ruckman - Brown in the last quarter - absolute show stopper.

Some of our club spoke to him after the game - congrats etc - has 2 cracks in heel! Very calm was he - could only hear Hollywood who was swearing loudly! Think the coaching played a big part - UHS won right across the centreline again & Eltham did nothing - Big winger is a knob & the other is just as good.

[B]Hollywood you were lucky on the weekend when on 3 occasions you mysteriously lost your balance & fell - just luck the UHS players stopped you hurting your knees by placing their bodies under you. Nice effort at the full backs set of balls as well!

Waiting for your summation of the loss!

fatchicksneedlovintoo
17 Sep 2007, 13:45
Hollywood you were lucky on the weekend when on 3 occasions you mysteriously lost your balance & fell - just luck the UHS players stopped you hurting your knees by placing their bodies under you. Nice effort at the full backs set of balls as well!

Waiting for your summation of the loss![/quote]

Mad monday CH so we dont expect you to fire your return to quickly. Congrats to both teams on a good year and hoping your both successful next year in D3. Its seems that a playing coach that brings players down to his new club has more success as the end of the year. so well done whitey and CH. Your clubs must be very proud as you should be.

bigwaz
17 Sep 2007, 16:06
UHS looked the fitter team going into the last quarter and I think the week off really helped them out. Dillon was very disappointing all day and McClaren probably should've played. Also Powell getting sent off at a Critical time in the 3rd really cost Eltham. Runco was probably Eltham best but didn't have much support in the back line.

Good Luck to Eltham and UHS in D3, Hopefully I'll see you guys again in 2009.

The only time eltham outscored UHS in the second half was when they were down a man. As soon as he came back on they didn't get another goal. Go Figure.

Ruck Machine
17 Sep 2007, 16:38
The only time eltham outscored UHS in the second half was when they were down a man. As soon as he came back on they didn't get another goal. Go Figure.

Purely coincidental I think Waz, great game up until 3/4 time.

Who ended up winning the Best on Ground Medal?

what an animal
17 Sep 2007, 17:34

Who ended up winning the Best on Ground Medal?

No 62 Halliday did Ruck Machine.

Arkangel
17 Sep 2007, 18:30

Could be a psychological thing. With one man off, the rest of the team feel the need to go that bit harder, whilst the opposition relax a little.

Manny
17 Sep 2007, 20:06
Some of our club spoke to him after the game - congrats etc - has 2 cracks in heel! Very calm was he - could only hear Hollywood who was swearing loudly! Think the coaching played a big part - UHS won right across the centreline again & Eltham did nothing - Big winger is a knob & the other is just as good.

[B]Hollywood you were lucky on the weekend when on 3 occasions you mysteriously lost your balance & fell - just luck the UHS players stopped you hurting your knees by placing their bodies under you. Nice effort at the full backs set of balls as well!

Waiting for your summation of the loss!
Btown,

Agree, UHS dominated the midfield, No 40 who played the social side all day dominated and marked everything that came his way. Crackers was sensational across HB giving away inches, the guy has Inspector Gadget arms. From an independant perspective it appeared that Eltham did not have a plan b after UHS put physical pressure on after quarter time as per Whyte's instructions which didnt allow loose men on Eltham behalf. Easy from the side lines but there was no apparent changes from the bench to change things up....but like I said easy from the side lines.

On another note, I hope the streaker was not one of our forum subscribers???? a streaker at an alcohol free event, or did he spend considerable time in the social room.

Manny

The Tiger's Nuts
17 Sep 2007, 22:00
Word from someone who was at the umps gathering back at Elsternwick after the game was that only one goalie saw the streaker, the other five umps had no idea and called him a liar!

I'll pass the confirmed sighting on, shows the men in white really DO need canes and guide dogs!

nellup
18 Sep 2007, 00:13
On another note, I hope the streaker was not one of our forum subscribers???? a streaker at an alcohol free event, or did he spend considerable time in the social room.

Manny[/quote]

Word from someone who was at the umps gathering back at Elsternwick after the game was that only one goalie saw the streaker, the other five umps had no idea and called him a liar!

I'll pass the confirmed sighting on, shows the men in white really DO need canes and guide dogs!

Could not possibly be one of the forum members,why? this bloke only half streaked,had his hand over it all the time.:thumbsd:
Reasoning
1/Forum members are all well endowed,and would not hide it,know this from their ego's,spy has at least 10",heard him say so on Sat,or was that just a wish?:confused:
2/Our lot would not do things by halves,all or nothing at all:)

BTW noticed one central ump,obviously a footyfan:cool:,didn't see it at all as he was waiting for the ball to come in from the goals,"look around and be aware of what is happening around you are the instructions",black mark me thinks:D

ps.Judging by some of the entrants in the MR.BHN and the photos of same on their site,we could have some contenders there.

spy1
18 Sep 2007, 10:38

Manny

Could not possibly be one of the forum members,why? this bloke only half streaked,had his hand over it all the time.:thumbsd:
Reasoning
1/Forum members are all well endowed,and would not hide it,know this from their ego's,spy has at least 10",heard him say so on Sat,or was that just a wish?:confused:
2/Our lot would not do things by halves,all or nothing at all:)

BTW noticed one central ump,obviously a footyfan:cool:,didn't see it at all as he was waiting for the ball to come in from the goals,"look around and be aware of what is happening around you are the instructions",black mark me thinks:D

ps.Judging by some of the entrants in the MR.BHN and the photos of same on their site,we could have some contenders there.[/quote]

I can assure you it is true Nelly.
I always give my women ten inches.
2 + 2 +2 + 2 +2 arrggghhh. :o

btown
18 Sep 2007, 10:42
Btown,

Agree, UHS dominated the midfield, No 40 who played the social side all day dominated and marked everything that came his way. Crackers was sensational across HB giving away inches, the guy has Inspector Gadget arms. From an independant perspective it appeared that Eltham did not have a plan b after UHS put physical pressure on after quarter time as per Whyte's instructions which didnt allow loose men on Eltham behalf. Easy from the side lines but there was no apparent changes from the bench to change things up....but like I said easy from the side lines.

Manny

Good report I reckon - 9.40 am Tues Coach H I note you are logged on now - anything to say? What could/would you do different??

Giggidy Giggidy
18 Sep 2007, 10:58
New viewer just logged on. Just wondering who would you jump on for 2008 at this stage?
RC recruited well but not many youngsters, North B, Syndal look alright when all on board, ST.MARYS????? if they all stay BHN lots of talk up.

Any vague suggestions?

Would have thought West Brusnwick would be pretty hard to beat next year. Stiff to fall out of D3

Coach Hollywood
18 Sep 2007, 11:07
Good report I reckon - 9.40 am Tues Coach H I note you are logged on now - anything to say? What could/would you do different??

Still trying to sober up btown, but i'll give it a shot.
Quiet simply we got beaten by an older more experienced team of players. UHS deserved their win and congratulations to them on an outstanding season!
As for some of your statements regarding 3/4 time and falling, you obviously have no idea to what you are talking about? My 3/4 time speech consisted of reading the team out, telling them our stats and where we needed to improve, making sure we kept tight & to remember everything we've be working on since novemeber in order to win the match. I then got all the supporters to move around infront of the players and then asked all our supporters to tell the players what they thought they needed to do "You've probably heard enough from me all season so listen to all our supporters now" in an attempt to lift all the players from their support!

Got no Idea what you insinuating about falling, but as for the so called kick in balls If you call lying on my back with your legs in the air and you use your leg as pretection to push someone off that is then grabbed and dragged resulting in a free a kick. Then not only do you need your ears checked btown, but maybe you should get your eyes checked also in a 2 for 1 special to save you some cash.

Falcons07
18 Sep 2007, 11:25
Would have thought West Brusnwick would be pretty hard to beat next year. Stiff to fall out of D3

AP, new coach, new players and a whole lot fitter.
A couple of mediocre years from us, we have the talent but cant be happy with just being compeititive anymore.
Will be stronger across the board next year!

OZZA
18 Sep 2007, 11:34
Quiet simply we got beaten by an older more experienced team of players. UHS deserved their win and congratulations to them on an outstanding season!
As for some of your statements regarding 3/4 time and falling, you obviously have no idea to what you are talking about? My 3/4 time speech consisted of reading the team out, telling them our stats and where we needed to improve, making sure we kept tight & to remember everything we've be working on since novemeber in order to win the match. I then got all the supporters to move around infront of the players and then asked all our supporters to tell the players what they thought they needed to do "You've probably heard enough from me all season so listen to all our supporters now" in an attempt to lift all the players from their support!

Got no Idea what you insinuating about falling, but as for the so called kick in balls If you call lying on my back with your legs in the air and you use your leg as pretection to push someone off that is then grabbed and dragged resulting in a free a kick. Then not only do you need your ears checked btown, but maybe you should get your eyes checked also in a 2 for 1 special to save you some cash.

I was standing next to the Eltham huddle at 3/4 time. Can confirm it went exactly as described by Hollywood above. If the result was reversed, Btown, you would probably have said it was a masterstroke to hand the boys over to supporters after the team was read out - and that Whyte didn't look to pump his charges up enough. Stop kicking with the breeze digs - both teams gave a good account - UHS were just more solid across the board and had more answers on the day.

UHS really were like the Powerhouse side of 06 - not flashy, didn't often thump sides - just new how to win every week. Credit to them for that. As i said earlier - I think Both teams are good enough to do well in D3 if they keep their players.

InFineForm
18 Sep 2007, 12:11

I looked through the results yesterday for both West Brunswick & Monash Gryphons. Whichever team came down to D4 was going to be a big challenge. They both pushed most of the teams that played finals, with the exception of Old Westbourne.

Assuming that West keep their players, they'll be tough to beat without doubt. Does anyone know whether they are an old team? That might cause a few of them to give it away....

Apart from that, St Mary's will obviously be a challenger, Albert Park would be disappointed with this year; as would BHN. In fact, the more I think about it, you could make a case for most of the teams that played D4 for improvement on this year. I know Bulleen are working hard to turn things around next year....

bigwaz
18 Sep 2007, 12:12

Any vague suggestions?

How did I miss this opportunity to overrate my club!

If the centrals recruit as well for 2008 as they did for 2007 they can win the flag. I have no doubt. But can it be done?

And as for youngsters, I think we have as many as any other side. Its the old heads we're missing, especially in the ressies!

bigwaz
18 Sep 2007, 12:15
I looked through the results yesterday for both West Brunswick & Monash Gryphons. Whichever team came down to D4 was going to be a big challenge. They both pushed most of the teams that played finals, with the exception of Old Westbourne.

Assuming that West keep their players, they'll be tough to beat without doubt. Does anyone know whether they are an old team? That might cause a few of them to give it away....

Apart from that, St Mary's will obviously be a challenger, Albert Park would be disappointed with this year; as would BHN. In fact, the more I think about it, you could make a case for most of the teams that played D4 for improvement on this year. I know Bulleen are working hard to turn things around next year....

I keep trying to tell everyone... no sides will be coming down from D3. St Marys will be the team to beat, if they can keep their two D4 B & F's...

red army
18 Sep 2007, 12:30

Are you forgetting that Kew is coming down to D4 next year??

btown
18 Sep 2007, 13:01

Your video if it was yours would show it all - check the first quarter when 57 took the unpaid mark of the day - WHO ARRIVES LATE & FALLS ON HIM KNEES FIRST - no insinuation:factual - who gave away the only down field free for the day?? Wouldn't be too upset it is just the way you play!

InFineForm
18 Sep 2007, 13:13
Are you forgetting that Kew is coming down to D4 next year??

Welcome....

No - I didn't forget them, but they didn't travel as well as West this year & not sure how they'll manage to recruit in D4. There will definitely be some strong teams next year, and Kew have some work to do to keep up with the pack....

Coach Hollywood
18 Sep 2007, 14:30
Your video if it was yours would show it all - check the first quarter when 57 took the unpaid mark of the day - WHO ARRIVES LATE & FALLS ON HIM KNEES FIRST - no insinuation:factual - who gave away the only down field free for the day?? Wouldn't be too upset it is just the way you play!

Have a listen to yourself btown, i'm pretty much still classified as being drunk & still don't understand the dribble you're speaking? Firstly an "unpaid mark" obviously it's not arriving late if the mark's not payed??, secondly, you claim I was lucky 3 times but only name 1 down field incident which was a push in the side as the opposition kicked the ball late in the last quarter, which is the risk you take when putting pressure on a player dispossing of the ball. A half a second earlier would have resulted in a turn over, I took that chance as the game was slipping away.
Finally i'm not upset at all and everyone has the right to voice their own opinions. I will always come out and honestly answer any questions proposed to me, but you have blatently come out and posted statments about me & my actions without any facts or questions? Think before you speak next time!

crazybear
18 Sep 2007, 14:47
Welcome....

No - I didn't forget them, but they didn't travel as well as West this year & not sure how they'll manage to recruit in D4. There will definitely be some strong teams next year, and Kew have some work to do to keep up with the pack....

Kew did struggle this year with injuries and only got the one win (9 goal win over grand finalists Ivanhoe) but lost 11 games by under 3 goals. We have definately got the job ahead of us and look forward to challenge of D4. Not looking forward to going to South Mornington though.

Archangel17
18 Sep 2007, 14:57
I keep trying to tell everyone... no sides will be coming down from D3. St Marys will be the team to beat, if they can keep their two D4 B & F's...
Big Waz, i take it you are talking about 12 team D3 and D4 to allow St Francis Xavier and the Dragons to join plus one more from SFL to cover for the Syndal/Salesian merger. I would have thought considering Kew's performance this year that St Marys may get a reprieve

bigwaz
18 Sep 2007, 15:26
Big Waz, i take it you are talking about 12 team D3 and D4 to allow St Francis Xavier and the Dragons to join plus one more from SFL to cover for the Syndal/Salesian merger. I would have thought considering Kew's performance this year that St Marys may get a reprieve

i wouldn't have thought that would happen.

St Francis Xavier yes... if they come in then there would be 12 in D3 and 11 in D4. I'd be happy to have a bye.

InFineForm
18 Sep 2007, 15:27
[quote=Coach Hollywood;8820015]I will always come out and honestly answer any questions proposed to me, quote]

CH - I think most of the people on here would acknowledge that you shoot straight in responding to questions you're asked, or you offer opinions.

I haven't met you, so don't know what you're like personally, but you don't behave in the written word like a flog.

If someone is questioning you're integrity based on a contest in the last quarter of a grand final which in you're own words was 'slipping away', they really need to get a grip.

Let it go. Most of us wish you only success in D3 - and the rest can please themselves.

Falcons07
18 Sep 2007, 15:30

St Francis Xavier yes... if they come in then there would be 12 in D3 and 11 in D4. I'd be happy to have a bye.

You can guarantee if they are going to have 12 teams in any comp it will be D4, we are not really up there as far as pull or priority goes with the VAFA, not whinging they do a great job with our comp, but we are at the very bottom of that comp.

what an animal
18 Sep 2007, 15:41
[quote=Coach Hollywood;8820015]I will always come out and honestly answer any questions proposed to me, quote]

CH - I think most of the people on here would acknowledge that you shoot straight in responding to questions you're asked, or you offer opinions.

I haven't met you, so don't know what you're like personally, but you don't behave in the written word like a flog.

If someone is questioning you're integrity based on a contest in the last quarter of a grand final which in you're own words was 'slipping away', they really need to get a grip.

Let it go. Most of us wish you only success in D3 - and the rest can please themselves.

Btown are you from Uni High?

oc37
18 Sep 2007, 15:49

It was announced at the competition presentation night that the Dragons were going to enter as a stand alone club, and i know St Frances Xavier want to apply .

Half Back Pocket
18 Sep 2007, 16:05

btown, stop being a fool. I watched the whole game, with a particular emphasis on the Eltham forward line after hearing about CH's exploits throughout the year. As Grand Finals go, it was played in good spirits - hardly any altercations at all.

As for CH's comments at 3Q time, It happened exactly as stated above, which was justified at the time.

UH were just too big and strong especially through the middle. The big ruckman (21?) gave the on-ballers an armchair ride. After seeing the standard of D1 footy all season, and assuming there is a significant drop as you go down the grades, they'll give D3 a big shake

what an animal
18 Sep 2007, 16:09
It was announced at the competition presentation night that the Dragons were going to enter as a stand alone club, and i know St Frances Xavier want to apply .

Excuse my ignorance who are Dragons?

So were looking at atleast 1 more in D4.

Will be interesting to see if teams come down or what.

Final 5 would have be near certainty next yr barring drought affected again.

Ruck Machine
18 Sep 2007, 16:22
Excuse my ignorance who are Dragons?

So were looking at atleast 1 more in D4.

Will be interesting to see if teams come down or what.

Final 5 would have be near certainty next yr barring drought affected again.

Dragons are currently BHN's Club 18 (3) Side. They are mostly made up of players of Vietnamese heritage.

As far as I know the Dragons won't be breaking from BHN until at least the end of 2008....but I could be wrong.

felix_the_cat
18 Sep 2007, 16:26
How did I miss this opportunity to overrate my club!

If the centrals recruit as well for 2008 as they did for 2007 they can win the flag. I have no doubt. But can it be done?

And as for youngsters, I think we have as many as any other side. Its the old heads we're missing, especially in the ressies!

Just wondering, where do all other D4 teams recruit young players (under 19ish)? Are any clubs affiliated to a junior side, or is it simply luck of the draw recruiting?

I know at the Saints, they recruited very well early this year from such clubs as Caulfield Grammarians (#10, Gatehouse), St Kevins (#21, Murphy) and the obvious of Marcellin (#4 Papaluca), they even managed to get a young lad to swap codes (#32, Ampt)..

Have other clubs looked at poaching players from other VAFA clubs aswell?

Backline Brothers
18 Sep 2007, 16:48

Btown .. obviously rhymes with clown for good reason.

Rather than take cheap, gutless pot shots why don't you put your credentials on the forum and see how they stack up against Hollywood's. Got a feeling you're out of your depth Btown.

btown
18 Sep 2007, 17:05
Btown .. obviously rhymes with clown for good reason.

Rather than take cheap, gutless pot shots why don't you put your credentials on the forum and see how they stack up against Hollywood's. Got a feeling you're out of your depth Btown.

Nothing to do with ability - If I had a video I would highlight more than the the 2 I've pointed out - obviously when Eltham played our club this year the same occured! If you think dropping knees first into the back of someone on the ground is within the spirit of footy fine. :eek: 99% OF OTHERS DON'T. I'll stick with the majority & agree that this behavior is cheap and gutless.

btown
18 Sep 2007, 17:13
Have a listen to yourself btown, i'm pretty much still classified as being drunk & still don't understand the dribble you're speaking? Firstly an "unpaid mark" obviously it's not arriving late if the mark's not payed??, secondly, you claim I was lucky 3 times but only name 1 down field incident which was a push in the side as the opposition kicked the ball late in the last quarter, which is the risk you take when putting pressure on a player dispossing of the ball. A half a second earlier would have resulted in a turn over, I took that chance as the game was slipping away.
Finally i'm not upset at all and everyone has the right to voice their own opinions. I will always come out and honestly answer any questions proposed to me, but you have blatently come out and posted statments about me & my actions without any facts or questions? Think before you speak next time!

It is a fact that instead of fairly tackling that bloke on the ground you decided to "make him earn it outside the rules" - your actions like when you ended up on your arse in the 3rd quarter in the goal square were all part of the same type of play - it just sets a poor example to others.
I'd like to know the average age of both sides that played - UHS didn't look any older than your guys or more experienced? Perhaps you could do the Maths on the Eltham side of things & come up with the av age??

Ruck Machine
18 Sep 2007, 17:17
Nothing to do with ability - If I had a video I would highlight more than the the 2 I've pointed out - obviously when Eltham played our club this year the same occured! If you think dropping knees first into the back of someone on the ground is within the spirit of footy fine. :eek: 99% OF OTHERS DON'T. I'll stick with the majority & agree that this behavior is cheap and gutless.

I admit I did see Hollywood do a few cheap things
1) Kicking (mind you he did have hold of Holly's leg).
2) Taking a guy out after his kick in th 4th quarter (worth a try).

However Holly does exactly what a Full Forward should do, give their opponent a hard time.

sixty5
18 Sep 2007, 17:27
I admit I did see Hollywood do a few cheap things
1) Kicking (mind you he did have hold of Holly's leg).
2) Taking a guy out after his kick in th 4th quarter (worth a try).

However Holly does exactly what a Full Forward should do, give their opponent a hard time.

On a lighter note, today's joke of the day part one:

A little boy was in his room playing with himself, when his father walked in.
"Son! If you masturbate too much, you're gonna go blind!"
"Dad," the boy said, "I'm over here."

sixty5
18 Sep 2007, 17:28
Today's joke of the day part two:

An Amish boy and his father were visiting a nearby mall. They were amazed by almost everything they saw, but especially by two shiny silver walls that moved apart and back together again by themselves.
The lad asked, "What is this, father?"
The father, having never seen an elevator, responded, "I have no idea what it is."
While the boy and his father were watching wide-eyed, an old lady in a wheelchair rolled up to the moving walls and pressed a button. The walls opened and the lady rolled between them into a small room. The walls closed and the boy and his father watched as small circles lit up above the walls.
The walls opened up again and a beautiful twenty-four-year-old woman stepped out.
The father looked at his son anxiously and said, "Go get your mother."

Coach Hollywood
18 Sep 2007, 17:33

Ha Ha Ha, what a sook. Did you get a little bump in a football match and fall over then go crying to your mummy? Then wait untill the end of the season to have a go at the bully that hurt you? Followed by making up a useless stat and claiming 99% of others agree with you??? WOW..... Maybe you should be playing touch footy or something btown if you don't like it being physical?
I've probably had a knee make contact with someone's back (add useless % stat in here) many a times, it's part of playing a contact game when you're focused on nothing but ball and Nellup will tell you that if it's in the back you'll get the free kick. So go back and take your kick & get on with the game you sook!

bigwaz
18 Sep 2007, 17:43
Just wondering, where do all other D4 teams recruit young players (under 19ish)? Are any clubs affiliated to a junior side, or is it simply luck of the draw recruiting?

I know at the Saints, they recruited very well early this year from such clubs as Caulfield Grammarians (#10, Gatehouse), St Kevins (#21, Murphy) and the obvious of Marcellin (#4 Papaluca), they even managed to get a young lad to swap codes (#32, Ampt)..

Have other clubs looked at poaching players from other VAFA clubs aswell?

Its hard to poach players without paying them. So, unless a player is going up a few grades, or is going to play with more friends (or they hate it at their old club), I would be suspicious. Especially intra-division transfers, which don't seem to happen at all?

We seem to get players who haven't played for a few years (or at all), or have moved interstate, are changing codes or changing leagues. Very few come from the VAFA.

Two guys who had never played AFL before ended up in our seniors. They were pretty handy too.

That said, anyone can jump on the Centrals bandwagon. Its a sweet ride :)

btown
18 Sep 2007, 17:49
Ha Ha Ha, what a sook. Did you get a little bump in a football match and fall over then go crying to your mummy? Then wait untill the end of the season to have a go at the bully that hurt you? Followed by making up a useless stat and claiming 99% of others agree with you??? WOW..... Maybe you should be playing touch footy or something btown if you don't like it being physical?
I've probably had a knee make contact with someone's back (add useless % stat in here) many a times, it's part of playing a contact game when you're focused on nothing but ball and Nellup will tell you that if it's in the back you'll get the free kick. So go back and take your kick & get on with the game you sook!

Sounding a little angry now! I note that Ruck Machine saw them as well & he is from another neutral club on the day - perhaps you should look at the video & be reminded.

What is the average age of Eltham anyway? Challenge you to put it up b/c the reason you gave for losing was an older more experienced team - hope that is correct or is it a stat you just made up hoping people would believe it???:confused:

Coach Hollywood
18 Sep 2007, 18:00
Sounding a little angry now! I note that Ruck Machine saw them as well & he is from another neutral club on the day - perhaps you should look at the video & be reminded.

What is the average age of Eltham anyway? Challenge you to put it up b/c the reason you gave for losing was an older more experienced team - hope that is correct or is it a stat you just made up hoping people would believe it???:confused:

If you can hear how I sound on a forum that you hide behind an alias on, then you're actually dumber than I first thought??
You're actually the one who has made up stats hoping people would believe you?

Ruck Machine
18 Sep 2007, 18:03

NOTE: I didn't see Holly drop the knees at any time.

btown
18 Sep 2007, 18:03
If you can hear how I sound on a forum that you hide behind an alias on, then you're actually dumber than I first thought??
You're actually the one who has made up stats hoping people would believe you?

And in reference to Ruck Machine's observations?? Any comment or going to ground on this one!

I believe a vast majority hates cheap shots (99% is granted a guess).

King_Cobra
18 Sep 2007, 18:09
Is it just possible that they might do it in 2008? Why is it that you (Jas) do the unaustralian thing of knocking the loser? They had a go & missed out - so be it. Get a life or just give us another meaningless vote chart!! Surely we are due!! :eek:

btown just found this post on another thread.....You have a good crack at a guy for knocking the losser but isn't this exactly what you are doing here!!!!!! Nothing worse than a hypercrit. ( excuse the spelling)

btown
18 Sep 2007, 18:14
Is it just possible that they might do it in 2008? Why is it that you (Jas) do the unaustralian thing of knocking the loser? They had a go & missed out - so be it. Get a life or just give us another meaningless vote chart!! Surely we are due!! :eek:

btown just found this post on another thread.....You have a good crack at a guy for knocking the losser but isn't this exactly what you are doing here!!!!!! Nothing worse than a hypercrit. ( excuse the spelling)

Not knocking the loser or CH's ability because after all they got there and I didn't! (thought Eltham were great) but (as Ruck M saw as well) the "cheap shots" are not part of D4 footy.

CH says he responds so I wait for his reply to ruck machine.

Ruck Machine
18 Sep 2007, 18:22
Not knocking the loser or CH's ability because after all they got there and I didn't! (thought Eltham were great) but (as Ruck M saw as well) the "cheap shots" are not part of D4 footy.

Wouldn't make a big deal out of the 2 incidents I saw.
1) Kick. Guy was holding onto Holly's foot so he lashed out probably should've bee reversed but not that bad.
2) Hip an Shoulder after kick. Dying stages, had to try something, might've got lucky and caused a kicking error. Late but not that heavy.

King_Cobra
18 Sep 2007, 18:26

not knocking the loser you got to be kidding u have payed out on hollywood in just about every post you have had on d4 forum whether it be this week or 2 weeks ago when they lost to uni in the 1st week of the finals. If you have a problem with CH why dont you come out and say what that problem is and why your at it why dont you reveal who you are and what club you play for instead of hiding behind an alias.

btown
18 Sep 2007, 18:30
not knocking the loser you got to be kidding u have payed out on hollywood in just about every post you have had on d4 forum whether it be this week or 2 weeks ago when they lost to uni in the 1st week of the finals. If you have a problem with CH why dont you come out and say what that problem is and why your at it why dont you reveal who you are and what club you play for instead of hiding behind an alias.

I'll spell it out - cheap shots are not what is required! Is that clear enough for you! Coaches don't need to do it! They are supposed to set the example!

what an animal
18 Sep 2007, 18:31

I think that comment goes from most suspects who write frequently on this site.

End of day we play footy, things happen be it fair or unfare. it could have been a hell of a lot worst like a king hit or something.

Lets put it into the scheme of things.

How about we forget it move on, and start talking about how hot Jennifer Hawkins is:thumbsu:

guru1
18 Sep 2007, 18:33
[quote=btown;8823449]Not knocking the loser or CH's ability because after all they got there and I didn't! (thought Eltham were great) but (as Ruck M saw as well) the "cheap shots" are not part of D4 footy.

CH says he responds so I wait for his reply to ruck machine.[/quot

Well it's all happening on the forum at the moment. The Guru doesn't post for a few days and Btown pops up. It's probably best that he got back in his box!

But onto next year now and i think that West Brunswick will take some serious stopping. and in the twos i'm afraid those *&#@ from kew might be the ones to watch!

Guru out!

guru1
18 Sep 2007, 18:37

End of day we play footy, things happen be it fair or unfare. it could have been a hell of a lot worst like a king hit or something.

How about we forget it move on, and start talking about how hot Jennifer Hawkins is:thumbsu:

Animal your such a wealth of knowledge, Jennifer Hawkins is very hot, but lets not forget our freind Fatchicksneedlovintoo, surely he can make mention of Casey Donovan or any of the contestants on the biggest loser before they've started the show!

King_Cobra
18 Sep 2007, 18:40
[quote=btown;8823449]Not knocking the loser or CH's ability because after all they got there and I didn't! (thought Eltham were great) but (as Ruck M saw as well) the "cheap shots" are not part of D4 footy.

CH says he responds so I wait for his reply to ruck machine.[/quot

Well it's all happening on the forum at the moment. The Guru doesn't post for a few days and Btown pops up. It's probably best that he got back in his box!

But onto next year now and i think that West Brunswick will take some serious stopping. and in the twos i'm afraid those *&#@ from kew might be the ones to watch!

Guru out!

Rumour has it that quite a few of the kew boys are considering a move across to the Bulleen next year:):):):):)

Manny
18 Sep 2007, 18:48
I'll spell it out - cheap shots are not what is required! Is that clear enough for you! Coaches don't need to do it! They are supposed to set the example!

I thought this D4 forum was above the crap that being written. I also watched the game as an independant, probably more from a coaches perspective, and as far as GF go, Saturday was one of the most tame GF I've seen.

I did not see anything that coach did that probably in some way doesn't happen most weeks. I will state that Coach's efforts on Saturday kept Eltham in the game (5 goals I think), strong marks and certainly made UHS defenders aware of his presence - exactly what you expect from your playing coach -unfortunately CH kicking boot deserted you I think in the 3rd quarter.

Btown, let it go, all of us who play or in my case (memory) played football would have done something either intentionly or unintentionly on the ground without thinking. I listened to both coaches, and UHS players followed the game plan to the letter after quarter time, simply, pressure Eltham and tackle hard force turn overs....pretty simple but takes commitment to follow through, thats why UHS were the winners

Manny

sixty5
18 Sep 2007, 19:09

dude I so agree:
How about we forget it move on, and start talking about how hot Jennifer Hawkins is

sixty5
18 Sep 2007, 19:15
btown:

as much as you may not like it cheap shots are part of the game. If you can get away with it then be as cheap as possible, if it means gaining an unfair and unnoticed advantage then go ahead. You must be able to receive if you give. I am pretty sure in today's game coaches probably will not instruct or tell their players in no uncertain way to be cheap, it's the players themselves. If you don't like cheap shots well synchronized swimming may be the sport for you.

huru

oc37
18 Sep 2007, 20:06
Dragons are currently BHN's Club 18 (3) Side. They are mostly made up of players of Vietnamese heritage.

As far as I know the Dragons won't be breaking from BHN until at least the end of 2008....but I could be wrong. It was definitely stated by the CEO at VAFA presentation night that the Dragons had applied along with St Frances Xavier- does not mean they will definitely get a spot. Any more news on Syndal and Salesian or was that just scuttlebut?