View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

InFineForm
24 Aug 2006, 17:39
(assume we're talking about the blonde guy who looks a bit like Michael Clarke).

For the love of money - don't let him get wind of that comparison - he'd probably reckon he'd get a game in the test team as well.......

BTW - on the umpires march... Did anyone see Almost Footy Legends last week with the umpires practicing their routines in the changerooms b4 the game? Goal umpire signalling goals & the field umpire there with tape over his nipples? ROTFLMAO

JP the Chinaman
24 Aug 2006, 17:46
what!!!! I mised that...hahaha...

spy1
24 Aug 2006, 19:11
As an old BHN boy here, who moved over to the Essendon District FL, it's great to see the boys are thereabouts for finals action. Hopefully the results go their way this week and they finally get a taste of finals action, as it's been a long time coming. Best of luck to the boys and it will be a just reward for Coach Army. He is a king of a man. :thumbsu: ;)

How did your boys go out there Billy?
Did that early promise show through?

ant22
24 Aug 2006, 21:26
Saw that Richmond is advertising for new coaches for 2007. Can someone give me some more info about the club ? Is there any reason why the 2's have failed to score in 3 games this year ? Cheers RFS

Back in around 2000 we were very serious flag contenders for d3. Unfortunately for anyone who remembers most of the top players were getting old. In the space of 3 years the club lost almost its entire 2000 list to retirement and a few who move OS. Since then the club has struggled to attract footballers. A few who could play have now moved on to other Clubs. Young Ryan trotter who was a good player went up to play at Violet town with his bother and there was not fewer than 5 former centrals players who played seniors there this year including Frank macak tommy duckic. Hopefully some of these blokes may go back to the centrals and help rebuild the club. I have not been around the club over the last couple of years due to relocation , family and work commitments but I understand the committee has done a great job in keeping the club financial(which it had always been in my time at the club). These blokes deserve a huge pat on the back because its bloody hard to turn up week in week out and cop the hidings they do.

The clubs always had great blokes who enjoy a good time with no politics .

It only takes a few good players to make a big difference at this level so hopefully the club can get back to winning games.

spy1
25 Aug 2006, 00:29
Gezz.... you poor old barstard..... You must've been one of the tough guys who used to walk to school in shorts through 2 feet of snow
Sob... "violin playing in the background" LoL

Shorts? Oh what a bleedin luxury that would've been. No laddie, we were't lucky enough to have snow either.
We walked bare foot, six miles, through frozen mud and sewage with nought to wear but me Da's old string vest and a pair of me brother's underpants died grey to look like school shorts, just to get to school.

And if we got a thrashing for being late we were dam greatful. At least it warmed up our backsides.

spy1
25 Aug 2006, 00:40
Spy you are from the times when petrol price were cheaper than a packet of chewies...and there were no Chinamen running around on the footy field!!! hahaha...

Now don't go gettin cheeky young JP. Seen you running around and you go alright, but remember to respect ya elders lad.

Though truth be told a pack of PK chewies was around 10c. Petrol was at 16c a gallon.... so if ya was mathematically inclined I think you may be right when you work out the price on a litre.

Now as to folks of the Oriental background there was a chap called Ronnie Lo. We was at Auburn South together. Was a fair kick on both feet but prefered the comfort of a book. Something about his Mum not being best pleased with getting his clobber all dirty and ripped. I tell you he was a dab hand with the willow in summer though.

Gawd I miss the drop kick. Anyone seen my teeth?

formaggio
25 Aug 2006, 01:23
Milestones for this week: King Cobra to eat 10 pies at 1/2 time.
: Badanjek to fit into his jumper, saw his game against Hawthorn the big bloke has been a good paddock and a very big one at that. Good Luck on Saturday King Cobra.

Good ol' Badanjek has plumped a bit...

formaggio
25 Aug 2006, 11:51
I heard on the footy-vine that the cobras had a crisis meeting last night. There were a few very unhappy people at cobra land. Looks like the club is on it's last knees...
Maybe I am wrong, but from what I heard things aren't looking that good.

ALFY
25 Aug 2006, 12:43
King Cobra and (FATSO) Badanjek have eaten everything.

formaggio
25 Aug 2006, 16:06
King Cobra and (FATSO) Badanjek have eaten everything.

Well going on his form lately he should do OK against the Turtles...

Fosters
25 Aug 2006, 17:15
BTW - on the umpires march... Did anyone see Almost Footy Legends last week with the umpires practicing their routines in the changerooms b4 the game? Goal umpire signalling goals & the field umpire there with tape over his nipples? ROTFLMAO

Yeah I did see that, they replayed it again last night.
P.S. What is ROTFLMAO?

ALFY
25 Aug 2006, 17:33
True Formaggio but last time we played Bulleen we had a great punch up and will be interesting to see how the big "FAT" bloke goes knowing there are 5 or 6 blokes ready to even the score.
But then again Badanjek gets paid in pies so he may kick a bag. (or maybe that should be eat a bag)
What's happening down there King Cobra what was the big meeting about ?? More Cream Cakes in the canteen for next season.

InFineForm
25 Aug 2006, 17:48
P.S. What is ROTFLMAO?

Rolling on the floor laughing my a$$ off.....

InFineForm
25 Aug 2006, 17:55
True Formaggio but last time we played Bulleen we had a great punch up and will be interesting to see how the big "FAT" bloke goes knowing there are 5 or 6 blokes ready to even the score.

I don't know that there will be too many turtle hatchlings going to give out too many with finals a week away. It wouldn't be the smartest move. I would imagine there would be a decent umpire sent down for it after the fireworks last time.

Anyway - it should be a good game of footy. Hopefully nothing too stupid meaning guys don't get to play finals. Cobras gave them a really good run for their money until 2 were sent off last time. Hopefully if follows a similar path without the aggo.

formaggio
25 Aug 2006, 18:51
Well hopefully there won't be any violence on saturday. Both clubs (more Bulleen) need to win. Watch out for the big fella, he'll kick a bag against you guys.

arvosjunior
25 Aug 2006, 23:51
Well hopefully there won't be any violence on saturday. Both clubs (more Bulleen) need to win. Watch out for the big fella, he'll kick a bag against you guys.

Hey cookson if you read this then you should have a read on Our forum (eltham) We have said some nice words about you and your fat mate Badenjeck. It's says we're coming for you........... Watch your back tomorrow cookie

formaggio
26 Aug 2006, 00:08
cookie has nothing to worry about... I will be watching his back tomorrow.
You better watch yours buddy...

arvosjunior
26 Aug 2006, 00:14
cookie has nothing to worry about... I will be watching his back tomorrow.
You better watch yours buddy...

Well if you want me you'll find me... I'll be in the main game

formaggio
26 Aug 2006, 01:57
are you the one with the broomstick???
or are you the one with the goat??

formaggio
26 Aug 2006, 10:44
This is what it comes down to buddy...
I will be the first to bag my club, but, I do it in a manner that is not offensive to the players. The players know me, they know what I am about. But when you threaten a team mate, you cross the line. You are there to play a sport, if you cannot differentiate between violence and sport, well, you've got issues.

cavedwellar
26 Aug 2006, 11:03
are you the one with the broomstick???
or are you the one with the goat??

Good call:thumbsu: :)

port-man_fc
26 Aug 2006, 19:35
Well if you want me you'll find me... I'll be in the main game

I think the whole forum realise's that u are definatly not from Eltham College FC, if this is what ur life has come to mate then the Westgate is probably a good option.....

Was a great game played today by both teams, goal for goal for most of the day and the final margin was the biggest margin for the day, i think all that were there wld agree.

That ground is the best i've seen in the last few years, best in D4 and come nowere near any DVFL ground...

Finals games will be crackers with Eltham Vs Hawthorn, and Powerhouse V Box Hill Nth, any1 can win it from here in my books....

spy1
27 Aug 2006, 01:06
Hmmm. I always fancy injuries play a big part in overall success. Hawthorn have by all accounts had a great run with fit players. Power House by the look of their numbers used in seniors have been the opposite.
Who will be missing next week that may prove costly to their team?

The other one is who is in the hot form?

Will grounds have an influence? I believe the first week it is at the old Brunswick VFA ground. Seem to remember it is fairly long but not overly wide.

Really looking fwd to this series. It is probably a lot more open than it was even 2 weeks ago.

topturtle
27 Aug 2006, 12:22
Just backing up what port_man had to say about arvosjunior. He is not from the turtles and we as a club are obviously annoyed that he is posting such provocative rubbish on this forum. Eltham and Bulleen have been rivals for years but we have always maintained a good relationship off the field. Arvosjunior - take a good hard look at yourself and consider why you are posting such comments. A bit co-incidental that someone registered on our web-site for the first time on Friday, immediately posted a ridiculous comment about Cookson and Badenjek and soon after we have arvosjunior coming onto bigfooty spruiking about the same comment.....
Arvosjunior - your post on the D3 page a week or so ago gave you away - none of the blokes at the turtles would even know the Uni - High and Elsternwick blokes you were talking about on that page.
It should be a great D4 finals series and good luck over summer to those clubs that didn't make it.

JP the Chinaman
27 Aug 2006, 12:25
Bring on the finals, can hardly wait, ground's dry, sun's shining, freshly cut grass...all the cliches...but that doesn't mean people don't get excited!!! This is what footy's all about...most people would have trained since January or even before...worked their behinds off...or mouthed off all year on the forum, but this is when it all means something...WINNERS ARE GRINNERS!!! Come on the FINALS!!!!

sirentime
27 Aug 2006, 17:18
How did your boys go out there Billy?
Did that early promise show through?

Started off well to be 4 and 1. Unfortunately from there the injuries cut deep and by the end of the year we had to play Under 16 boys. In 2 of those games 2 of the junior boys managed to get B.O.G., so hopefully if we can keep them at the club as well as other promising juniors, the future looks bright. Still we managed to double our wins from last year and the 1's improved on their ratio as well.
It was great to be able to get down to Elgar Park yesterday, see the boys have a good win over one the flag favourites and catch up with a few of the other old timers. Look forward to a repeat dose next week. Go Boccy! :D

InFineForm
28 Aug 2006, 10:39
It should be a great D4 finals series and good luck over summer to those clubs that didn't make it.

Good luck to those teams in the finals.

Injuries killed the Cobras this year. Hopefully the recruiting drive can go well over summer.

On what we've seen over the last few weeks I'd say Eltham & Hawthorn to play off in the ones - toss of the coin for the finish. If it's hard and fast maybe Eltham, but if theres any rain about Hawthorn for sure.

In the magoos, a bit of discussion about the relative merits of Powerhouse & Hawthorn. Personally I reckon Hawthorn were better, but around the rooms it was probably the other way. On what we saw on Saturday Eltham probably aren't good enough.

Off to the races now for me!

King_Cobra
28 Aug 2006, 15:17
Very dissapointing for the cobras to miss out on the finals but with the injurys that we had it was a good result to finish where we did.

Good luck to the all teams in the finals, would have to say that from what i have seen i would say that hawthorn is looking the goods in both 1st's and 2nd's. Thought the turtles where abit disapointing in the 2s against us on saturday and with the arrogance their players have they seem to think they have a flag already which could be there undoing. The 1's game as expected was a cracker with a hard faught contest all day with plenty of claret being spilt from both teams from good hard contests rather than anything dirty.

InFineForm
28 Aug 2006, 15:27
[quote=King_Cobra]Very dissapointing for the cobras to miss out on the finals but with the injurys that we had it was a good result to finish where we did.quote]

I think we must have been the Western Bulldogs of D4 this year. Biggest problem was the season ending injuries we got, not the normal 2-3 weekers that happen most of the time.

BTW - brave effort from Diesel to be out there on the weekend considering he'd had the compound dislocation of the little finger only a fortnight before it. He's the bravest at our club by far.

ALFY
28 Aug 2006, 15:54
King Cobra I am tipping you have had the odd claret or two by the size of that gut.

Ratfink
28 Aug 2006, 16:05
Both Eltham & Hawthorn's 2's are pretty good at talking the talk. Powerhouse seem to be more disciplined. Will be interesting to see how the Hawks go in the finals with neutral umpires. Their re-match with NB this week should be interesting after the blow-up last time.

InFineForm
28 Aug 2006, 16:23
Both Eltham & Hawthorn's 2's are pretty good at talking the talk. Powerhouse seem to be more disciplined. Will be interesting to see how the Hawks go in the finals with neutral umpires. Their re-match with NB this week should be interesting after the blow-up last time.

The Hawthorn umpire may not be flavour of the month (see how I've toned it down from previous posts!) - but that is not the reason why Hawthorn's magoos are good.

Their forwards are a bit suspect - but their midfield brigade are all over you. They work by osmosis - if the ball is pumped forward often enough, even ordinary forwards kick winning scores.

Agree with PWH being disciplined - but even I got a kick against them - so they can't be that good!

cobrawoes
28 Aug 2006, 16:32
My feeling is that the cobras have plenty of excuses and not too many solutions.
All the talk on here is either - how good are the cobras or How injured are the cobras or bagging Coookson, or what the result of the next crisis meeting is.
They have been in the finals over the last few years and won none - and from talking to guys down there it was injuries that killed them then as well.
Maybe they just need to get better at what they do all round!
More time on the track and less time eating pies or creamcakes as is king Cobras problem!!

InFineForm
28 Aug 2006, 17:04
They have been in the finals over the last few years and won none - and from talking to guys down there it was injuries that killed them then as well.

And which f***ing rock have you just crawled out from under? It's a brave act to come out of the woodwork now.

cobrawoes
28 Aug 2006, 17:42
I've been around - watching to see what happens and see if the bulls**t continues.
No doubt injuries have played thier part but i heard that the big pie eater at full forward was doubtful due to a saw hammy and had to be talked into playing - a bit scared after last time;
Not to mention the players that have walked out after being injured - not season ending injuries either - just not coming back!
The rot has set in at Koonung Reserve! It will be interesting to see what comes out of the wash at the end.
I wonder what cookson30 will have to say about it all - or will he be off now too.

InFineForm
28 Aug 2006, 18:04
Not to mention the players that have walked out after being injured - not season ending injuries either - just not coming back!
The rot has set in at Koonung Reserve! It will be interesting to see what comes out of the wash at the end.

There was one that I can think of that was not 'season ending', but they were self employed and just couldn't afford to get hurt any more. Plus pressure for the wife (most could understand that!).

What is your agenda here 'cobrawoes'? You've got something to say. Come out of the closet. Or are you gonna jump out of a different closet?

cobrawoes
28 Aug 2006, 20:57
I have plenty to say - and I am sure plenty of people want to hear the truth behind cookson30, the pie-eater, and a few others.
I am not too sure that those within the club at the highest level want the truth to come out too clearly.
I heard a wonderful "crisis" meeting was held on Thursday night. I wonder how many people know why some people spoke - and what the truth behind what was said. I am wondering if the true message was outlined or if they were the words of others.
Infineform I am well aware that there are others from your club on here I will have more to say if and when others join in and wish to share the truth, the truth will come out.

cobrawoes
28 Aug 2006, 21:00
Also if anyone is interested - I think Hawthorn will win the one's, and Powerhouse for the ressies.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif

spy1
29 Aug 2006, 01:27
I am a great believer injury can play a major role in a teams success or lack of it. More to the point I think it is the extremes that matter.
If you cop an immense amount of injuries for an extended time, or even spread over a long time, then you will most likely struggle to make the finals.
The other extreme is the team with the closest to a full list to pick from come finals time will be the most likely to succeed.

With this in mind, I put to the test, the claim that the Bulleen's failed bid for 4th spot was due to worse than normal run of injury.

Here are some figures on the top 5 teams.

Power House have played 51 players in their senior team this year, with only one player (Edwards) playing all 18 games. One player has notched 17 games, one 16 and 4 players 15 games.
Hawthorn have used 41 players.
Hawks have 4 players play in all 18 with 4 play 17 and 3 play 16.
Eltham just 38 players used and 9 players have played 16 or more.
Box Hill North 42 for the season and again 9 players with 16 or more.
Then we look at Bulleen's claim that injury cost them a spot in the finals. The Cobras played 41 players. 5 players played the full book of 18 and 10 have managed 16 or more games.

Maybe this doesn't take into account who the injuries occur to like key players or those in the last 5 selected. But I think it is fair to assume that the reason Bulleen are not playing this week is not due to suffering unfaily from injuries. It also shows Power House have had their depth really tested this year, but still got the job done to reach the play offs.

spy1
29 Aug 2006, 01:36
Also if anyone is interested - I think Hawthorn will win the one's, and Powerhouse for the ressies.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif

I am not so bold as to pick it outright. I'll take it one week at a time.

I think if it is not too hot then Hawthorn should be to strong in the air for Eltham.

Sunday I think I will take the odds on Box Hill upsetting Power House. Or is that not an upset after last week's result?

Ressies I think it is safe to take Power House by a fair way over Eltham and Hawks to win in a close one at the expense of Nth Brunswick ones... sorry I mean reserves.

knackers_2
29 Aug 2006, 09:28
I am a great believer injury can play a major role in a teams success or lack of it. More to the point I think it is the extremes that matter.

Well put spy1. The analysis of the number of players each team has gone through this year shows that some teams have had more stability than others.
Of course, it really comes down to the quality of the cattle that take the paddock each week - whether you run with 41, 51 or 61 players throughout the year doesn't matter if the last 6 picked aren't much chop.
Chains and weak links...

JP the Chinaman
29 Aug 2006, 10:07
great Analysis Spy1, very well worked, this forum can use more of banters like yours, a lot of sense and maturity...good work...makes very interesting read certainly better than that of Mike Sheen or the like...

formaggio
29 Aug 2006, 13:58
Cobrawoes, why don't you come out say what you are thinking instead of hiding behind words.

Boomeroo
29 Aug 2006, 17:50
Some BIG names returning for the House this week fellas.

Watch out Box Hill... We're comin for you.

cobrawoes
29 Aug 2006, 17:58
:thumbsu: Good call Spy1. I think you have missed one further point about the injuries to Powerhouse - both thier 1's & 2;s have had a strong impact in their respective competitions. In fact the same can be said for all of the top 3.
Both Bulleen (6 Wins) and Box Hill Nth (8 Wins) have been ordinary in the 2's - showing that maybe their depth isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Hey Formaggio - what more do you want me to say - is their some information you require - I may be able to dig it out for you. I could at least ask the questions - if you want answers you need to ask questions in public forums like this. I doubt many at Koonung will be willing to answer questions at the club - but maybe here you will get some semblance of the truth.

You may ask what my agenda is - but I think you are looking at the wrong person. What is the agenda of those at Koonung at the moment. All I want is for the truth to come out. It certainly didn't fully come out at the meeting last week.

Archangel17
29 Aug 2006, 18:03
cobrawoes i am not from D4 but am a keen ammo participator and observor, and just think you are one sad case. You actually sound(read) very similarly to arvosjunior, and your only agenda is to stir up, in this case, a cobra's nest. It is particularly weak 'like arvosjunior' to hide behind the facade of another club and make such accusations. If you are from Bulleen i would think you should be spending your time more constructively and helping the club instead of sniping. If you are from elsewhere, worry about your own backyard. Myabe in-fact you are the mysterious "Ivan" , which would explain a lot.

From a non-Cobra- Grow up

spy1
29 Aug 2006, 18:44
[quote=cobrawoes]:thumbsu: Good call Spy1. I think you have missed one further point about the injuries to Powerhouse - both thier 1's & 2;s have had a strong impact in their respective competitions. In fact the same can be said for all of the top 3.
Both Bulleen (6 Wins) and Box Hill Nth (8 Wins) have been ordinary in the 2's - showing that maybe their depth isn't all it's cracked up to be.

I think that is a fair call. Have friends at Box Hill having played there in the 80s and their problem from the time they entered the Ammos was numbers full stop. They seem to be working on it though. The magoos had not won more than 3 or 4 games in a season since winning a flag in 95. It looks to have taken them a while to realise they can win games. I thought Power House 2s were sensational on Saturday at Elgar Park. Their depth has been tested and yet they got both teams to the finals.

knackers_2
30 Aug 2006, 12:29
Quick review after Rd 5:

Eltham 5-0 - Young, strong & confident - clear premiership favourites.
Powerhouse 4-1 - Gun full forward. Might be vulnerable if he is held or gets injured.
Bulleen 3-2 - Unusual game which frustrates opposition but can score freely on rebound. Likely to play finals again.
Eley Pk 3-2 - No stars but no passengers. Play hard and need to be on guard to beat them.
Syndal 3-2 - All 5 matches decided by less than 2 kicks. Hope their supporters have strong hearts!
Albert Pk 2-3 - Yet to play a home game. Might be better in 2nd half of season.
Box Hill North 2-3 - Improving but inconsistent, often let down by one poor quarter.
Hawthorn 2-3 - Like Albert Park getting a bit road weary. Look out if they get on a winning run like 2005.
North Brunswick 1-4 - Some late recruits likely to see them heading up the ladder.
Richmond 0-5 - Gonna be a long year but numbers apparently still good.

Interesting to look back and see how well you predicted things at round 6. Looks like Hawthorn did get on that run after all!

king_turtle
30 Aug 2006, 16:57
that was a spot on analysis. :thumbsu:
this week will be very interesting.
personally i think eltham in the 1's by a country mile and eltham in the 2's by even more.

powerhouse will come back this week in the rematch and show box hill where they are really at. also north brunswick 1's (i stole someone's joke) will be a close game against hawthorn's 2's.

spy1
30 Aug 2006, 22:13
LAST TME THEY MET :
HAWTHORN AFC 16.5-101 def ELTHAM OC 11.18-84
BOX HILL NORTH AFC 21.11-137 def. POWER HOUSE AFC 12.16-88

spy1
30 Aug 2006, 22:24
that was a spot on analysis. :thumbsu:
this week will be very interesting.
personally i think eltham in the 1's by a country mile and eltham in the 2's by even more.

powerhouse will come back this week in the rematch and show box hill where they are really at. also north brunswick 1's (i stole someone's joke) will be a close game against hawthorn's 2's.

Come on King Turtle.
You use a name you ripped off from our beloved King Cobra, you picked your own team to win both games convincingly and finish by plagiarising my sarcastic shot at Bruns Nth magoos.

With original thinking like that you should be writing film scripts in Hollywood.

Seriously though, welcome to the forum.

king_turtle
31 Aug 2006, 00:11
Yeah that's a good call!

My next movie will be called turtles on a plane! watch out for it.

I wonder how many players from nth brunswick who should be playing 1's will be in the second game?

I actually thought about who would win and think eltham 2's easy and the 1's by a bit. Can't be complaicant though, but we have to be confident.

Ifeellikechickentonight
31 Aug 2006, 06:14
LAST TME THEY MET :
HAWTHORN AFC 16.5-101 def ELTHAM OC 11.18-84
BOX HILL NORTH AFC 21.11-137 def. POWER HOUSE AFC 12.16-88

What are you trying to say Spy1 that Box Hill Nth will repeat that same performance. Lets get real! The top three sides have been by far the best by a mile over the rest. There is no way that last years D3 side would allow one of the cellar dwellars for many years in D4, repeat that same performance as last Saturday. Powerhouse must certainly been way off on the day! Maybe they had a few injuries coming into that game! No way that BHN were that good. Powerhouse know they belong back in D3. Not getting back there would be unimaginable!
I tell you what though, I wouldn't want to be down at Powerhouse if they did loose this week. I reckon things could get pretty ugly!
How would Paul Edwards react? Coming down from D1 to play in a side where a Premiership was almost garaunteed.
Very interesting!

knackers_2
31 Aug 2006, 08:46
I see David Speakman from Richmond Centrals was their highest vote getter for the league B n F.... How is that possible? He only got in the best 17 times out of his 17 games. What a farce.

oldtimer
31 Aug 2006, 09:26
What are you trying to say Spy1 that Box Hill Nth will repeat that same performance. Lets get real! The top three sides have been by far the best by a mile over the rest. There is no way that last years D3 side would allow one of the cellar dwellars for many years in D4, repeat that same performance as last Saturday. Powerhouse must certainly been way off on the day! Maybe they had a few injuries coming into that game! No way that BHN were that good. Powerhouse know they belong back in D3. Not getting back there would be unimaginable!
I tell you what though, I wouldn't want to be down at Powerhouse if they did loose this week. I reckon things could get pretty ugly!
How would Paul Edwards react? Coming down from D1 to play in a side where a Premiership was almost garaunteed.
Very interesting!

Even worse, he came from directly from C Grade.

buckaz
31 Aug 2006, 10:36
I see David Speakman from Richmond Centrals was their highest vote getter for the league B n F.... How is that possible? He only got in the best 17 times out of his 17 games. What a farce.

that says he got in the richmond centrals best 17 times, doesnt mean hes the highest vote getter for d4, just consistent. In our team, he was in our best players every week. I don't see what your concern is knackers :confused:

King_Cobra
31 Aug 2006, 10:50
Come on King Turtle.
You use a name you ripped off from our beloved King Cobra

Not feeling to loved on here at the moment with all this talk of pies and cream cakes....lol

just wondering at which club you support spy1.....Thought it was hawthorn am i correct?

spy1
31 Aug 2006, 10:55
that says he got in the richmond centrals best 17 times, doesnt mean hes the highest vote getter for d4, just consistent. In our team, he was in our best players every week. I don't see what your concern is knackers :confused:

I feel you need to understand the genre of humour known as sarcasm 'Buck'.
I certainly have plonked ol' 'Chickee Babe' in that section.

In my recent post, I was not alluding to anything, just providing information for the good folk of this thread.

JP the Chinaman
31 Aug 2006, 12:03
I reckon Spy1 is a D4 supporter or a Footy lover, I will personally welcome you as a Hawk support if that's the case Spy1...

KC..come on mate, no love lost...I like pies and cakes too...boys are just having fun here...

ALFY
31 Aug 2006, 16:49
"WATCH OUT" JP THE CHINAMAN King Cobra will be out looking for you if your eating his cream cakes and pies.
What about "fatanjek" will he lose his extra tyres now the season is over and no more free pies & cakes.

King_Cobra
31 Aug 2006, 18:14
"WATCH OUT" JP THE CHINAMAN King Cobra will be out looking for you if your eating his cream cakes and pies.
What about "fatanjek" will he lose his extra tyres now the season is over and no more free pies & cakes.

Hes the one suppling all the cakes and pies, i only get the ones he drops and cant pick up...

JP maybe u could be a cobra 2 if u love pies and cakes. they are very nice down here.....

spy1
31 Aug 2006, 18:25
I reckon Spy1 is a D4 supporter or a Footy lover, I will personally welcome you as a Hawk support if that's the case Spy1...

KC..come on mate, no love lost...I like pies and cakes too...boys are just having fun here...

JP, As a kid growing up I spent more time with my old dad down at Glenferrie than I did at school. I could still rattle off all the players and their numbers from the Hawthorn (VFL) teams of the 60s and early 70s. My family is associated with the club well back to when they were a VFA club. Even made sure my daughter was a member from the age of one.

But my passion for them changed when after some coaching I got a job with a VFL/AFL club other than Hawthorn. I would watch 3 or 4 games a week for my new employers, but only on rare occassions did I get to watch the team I was working for. I came to love my new team and lived or died on their success. When I watched my new team I was normally in the box and that is not a place for barracking. By watching other teams play in games where I had no allegance, I found the love of good football. It did not matter after a while that I wasn't emotionally involved in a game, I would look forward to seeing champion players or teams do thier stuff just as much as a supporter loves seeing his team win.

Ever since then I feel I can appreciate good footy, regardless of who performs it. I have coached around the traps over the years but have recently discovered the joy of Ammo footy. I like the grades below C section as I feel this is where you can see the Ammo slogan "For the love of the game" at it's truest. You are not likely to see many high paid ex AFL or the like players coming into a team and changing it's fortunes drastically. Clubs still have to be built up on friendship, a great social atmosphere and a lot of hard work from people who truely love their club.

I have mentioned b4 that I have friends that played with a club, now in D4, and it is thanks to them I have found myself watching many of you guys run around on a Saturday. Yes I do follow one team more than the rest, but that does not mean I don't enjoy watching a game they are not involved in. Try going and watching a finals match your club is not competing in and you may see what I mean.

Would knowing I follow one club over another make my posts more interesting KC?
I feel my truely unbiased comments may not be recieved in such a light were I to pledge my heart to one team or another at this point.

Good luck to all playing this week and remember, it is sport and sport is meant to be fun.

JP the Chinaman
1 Sep 2006, 09:54
Alfy, no problem man, make sure KC knows what I look like..hahaha...that's meant to be a joke...

KC, no way man...I'm a Hawk and you know it...Aren't Hawks natural enemies to Cobras? Or Snakes? May be also Turtles? I believe I saw something like that on the Discovery Channel...hehehe

Spy1, inspirational words, glad to have you on board supporting our division, you are right in many of your points, it does make football more interesting when all the players or most of the players are truely ammos and are playing through their love of the game....it's mateship out there and I totally agree with you that this is a sport, a passtime, a hobby and we should keep it FUN!!! :D

Good luck to those that made the finals series, well, wish your luck till you play the Hawks that is...that's when I wish your luck run out...and to those that didn't make it this year, good luck in 07.

King_Cobra
1 Sep 2006, 10:36
[quote=JP the Chinaman]Alfy, no problem man, make sure KC knows what I look like..hahaha...that's meant to be a joke...

KC, no way man...I'm a Hawk and you know it...Aren't Hawks natural enemies to Cobras? Or Snakes? May be also Turtles? I believe I saw something like that on the Discovery Channel...hehehe quote]

Lol......was worth a try....Anyway good luck on the weekend might even pop in for a bit of a look.

Good luck to all the boys playing this week and for those who arnt, let us know of any good mad monday stories...lol.

JP the Chinaman
2 Sep 2006, 11:54
no worries KC, if you do come down, say hi after the game man...anyway, my tips for this weekend, apart from the obvious, Boccy Hill North upsetting Power House again in the ones, Eltham to beat Power House in the twos. :thumbsu:

cats35
9 Sep 2006, 23:24
JP, bad luck about today. Your banter on the post has been very jovial. Bit sad to see your boys go down but with the seniors in line next week, let's hope you get to enjoy next Saturday night With Barrel and the boys.

JP the Chinaman
10 Sep 2006, 11:32
Did we just lose about 4 pages of posts here or what? I picked PWH to beat Eltham yesterday based on the weather predictions, was I right or was I right!!! but yes, very very very gutted about yesterday's loss to PWH in our game, what can I say, a tough end to a good year, enjoyed it, I guess that was the main point...still training from Jan till Sep is a long time to come so close...good luck PWH boys and like I said after the game, now proof you are what you are and beat the turtles next week in the big one...I think Danno and our boys will do your seniors by a healthy margin, but yeah, you'll have glory in the twos...I hope anyway....

Thanks fellas for all your well wishes this past couple of weeks, this is what this forum is all about, good banter, get to know your opponents a little and have a dig at each other all at good humor...cheers and let's get cracking and get back on the track in a month or two...anyone running the Marathon in Oct or half Marathon? :D

What'saname
10 Sep 2006, 13:01
After watching the 1st Semi Final last week I thought yesterday's game would be a good one to watch. I was wrong. Nothing much happened all day, the most excitment came from the crowd sledging each other. Lets hope next week turns out to be a ripper. Also bad luck JP good luck for next year.

spy1
10 Sep 2006, 13:50
Big Footy crashed yesterday, losing 6 days worth of posts, gone forever.
Tough luck JP.
Should be a good one next week. Let's hope it is good weather.
Now the important question arising from yesterday:
How was the grub?

Ifeellikechickentonight
10 Sep 2006, 23:16
Just wondering if there is anyone out there from Powerhouse who could tell me who they have found hardest in the finals(seniors that is) so far, Eltham or Box Hill Nth? How do you rate these sides now?

Congratulations on your promotion and reaching the grand final!

HewGilligan
11 Sep 2006, 01:54
G'day I Feel Like Chuckin' Tonight,

Tough ask?
We rolled the 'Tortoises' comfortably in the wind Saturday and against Box Hill North we Squeaked over the line after holding a substantial lead heading into the final stanza. The quandary is that Box Hill North kicked our butts by 10 goals the week previous and perhaps the swabbing would have returned some positives in the form reversal.
Onto important matters the House will upset the Hawthorn showponies!
There may just be a little physical pressure early and we will find out how they respond?
They are a humble mob over there.....

Probably all Hawthorn, Turtles and Cobras on here hey?

JP the Chinaman
11 Sep 2006, 09:21
nah man, there's representatives from the Sharks, and also from Richmond...

King_Cobra
11 Sep 2006, 14:31
nah man, there's representatives from the Sharks, and also from Richmond...

Sydnal and boxhill as well.

Ifeellikechickentonight
11 Sep 2006, 19:04
A bit quiet since the turtles crashed!

Am I just trippin or did those pages that went missing happen after Saturday's game?

What'saname
11 Sep 2006, 19:22
[quote=spy1]Big Footy crashed yesterday, losing 6 days worth of posts, gone forever.
Tough luck JP.
How was the grub?

Spy1 you would be happy to know that the food was a hell of a lot better than what NOBS came up with. I just hope it will continue onto next week.

Old Warrior
11 Sep 2006, 20:59
Typical comment from an Eltham bloke. They are playing "real footy" and they still couldn't make the GF. I will be surprised if they get better in the coming seasons and move up the grades.... a club like Eltham is built on a culture of reserves flags and honest defeats of the seniors in the prelim/elimination finals. Had a good team when Doody, Gas, Horsburgh, etc were playing well and still couldn't get promoted so they're not going to now. Particularly when they have supporters/players??? thinking that they're not playing real footy.

Looks like things haven't changed down at turtle land. Not a bad prediction if I do say so myself considering I wrote it in January.

vegemite
12 Sep 2006, 09:19
Just wondering if there is anyone out there from Powerhouse who could tell me who they have found hardest in the finals(seniors that is) so far, Eltham or Box Hill Nth? How do you rate these sides now?

Congratulations on your promotion and reaching the grand final!

In the last 2 matches that Power House played against Box Hill and Eltham, (1 final and 1 home and away each), Box Hill were the better team. Their improvement since mid year was huge and I suspect that if they were playing each other this week, Box Hill would probably win

a little bit of leverage
12 Sep 2006, 09:41
In the last 2 matches that Power House played against Box Hill and Eltham, (1 final and 1 home and away each), Box Hill were the better team. Their improvement since mid year was huge and I suspect that if they were playing each other this week, Box Hill would probably win

But they aren't playing this week so that statement doesn't matter. Powerhouse won when it mattered the most.

a little bit of leverage
12 Sep 2006, 10:03
Who ever wins the flag on Saturday in the seniors, should go to the Beehive Hotel in Hawthorn and show Eltham the silver ware (they are having their end of season drink there). It would be good to show those cocky pricks what they missed out on!!!

JP the Chinaman
12 Sep 2006, 10:10
It's funny because before bigfooty crushed, there was a post by someone saying that Eltham had on their website working out who to play on big Danno come GF, mate...did they count on beating PWH or what??? Guess things didn't work out quiet as planned then...that's why there is the saying take one week at a time...:thumbsu:

a little bit of leverage
12 Sep 2006, 10:16
It's funny because before bigfooty crushed, there was a post by someone saying that Eltham had on their website working out who to play on big Danno come GF, mate...did they count on beating PWH or what??? Guess things didn't work out quiet as planned then...that's why there is the saying take one week at a time...:thumbsu:

Very well said JP. I also think that there was something on the site saying
"don't count your chickens before they hatch"

Maybe Eltham are like roosters and can't lay anything

spy1
12 Sep 2006, 10:50
[quote=spy1]Big Footy crashed yesterday, losing 6 days worth of posts, gone forever.
Tough luck JP.
How was the grub?

Spy1 you would be happy to know that the food was a hell of a lot better than what NOBS came up with. I just hope it will continue onto next week.

Cheers for the Whato. I will bring my fork and bib.

JP, the post about who would play on Dan in the GF was by a **** stirer. He seemed intent on stirring up Eltham's opposition by making out he was from there. It has been shown he certainly was not.
Not to say that the lads from Eltham didn't at times get ahead of themselves. That and a few key injuries put paid to there chances. Power House got a wake up call from BH in rd 18. I think they know any game from then on required a bigger physical effort.

I think it always adds something when each team in the granny has a gun/glamour full fwd. Could be a chance for a full back to be a hero.

Bring on the game and warm up the tucker.

Twirl21
12 Sep 2006, 12:19
Spy1, it was me that posted that message about who Eltham would play on Dan Lauletta in the GF and I obtained my information from a very reliable ELTHAM source.

Spy1, I know you are obsessed with keeping your identity a secret but a few words in your most recent post lead me to believe you may be a Hawk.......Would I be correct??

InFineForm
12 Sep 2006, 13:02

JP - what happened in the maggo's?

I was sure you're boys were sure things... Glad nobody offered me even money!

lout
12 Sep 2006, 13:35
As a football follower in gereral, I was at the game on Saturday. All in all it was a dissapointing show from Eltham, but I must say Powerhouse didn't offer me anything to suggest they would win the flag.
The dissapointing thing on the day was the morons from Powerhouse in the crowd who were giving it to Eltham in regards to the bloke who had his jaw broken in from what I hear was a rather cowardly fashion. What is it with these teams who couldn't cut it in a higher grade that ended up being relegated? They seem to yap a whole lot, but if it were me, I would just shut up and concentrate on getting my pride back. Hawthorn did it last season, and had the entire comp against them and they failed, looking all the more sad. They have, from what I've seen over the season pulled their heads in and should easily account for a bunch of blokes who spend all their energy telling other teams how great they are! Remember, you were relegated!
As for the Eltham website making mention about playing a certain bloke in the GF on Dan L, well it was stated before the website crashed that the player in mention is their boundry umpire for the ressies, and is all of 16 years old. Now I am no expert but that would suggest that is was a joke!
Tips for the weekend........ Hawthorn by 4 goals in the seniors, Eltham for back-2-back flags in the ressies. Goodluck to both senior teams next year back in D3
Just a sugestion, but don't take everything written on the web as gospel, there are always 1 or 2 DH's who like to stir the pot.

JP the Chinaman
12 Sep 2006, 13:55
haha..fair enough lout, i was just stiring the pot there as well...

Inlineform, mate I can't explain it, it was dissappointing to say the least, we had a good team in, but couldn't get the job done, couldn't get 4 quarters in...that was required but we just couldn't get there...good luck to the PWH boys. So is footy mate...never ever is there a sure thing...

a little bit of leverage
12 Sep 2006, 14:57
As a football follower in gereral, I was at the game on Saturday. All in all it was a dissapointing show from Eltham, but I must say Powerhouse didn't offer me anything to suggest they would win the flag.
The dissapointing thing on the day was the morons from Powerhouse in the crowd who were giving it to Eltham in regards to the bloke who had his jaw broken in from what I hear was a rather cowardly fashion. What is it with these teams who couldn't cut it in a higher grade that ended up being relegated? They seem to yap a whole lot, but if it were me, I would just shut up and concentrate on getting my pride back. Hawthorn did it last season, and had the entire comp against them and they failed, looking all the more sad. They have, from what I've seen over the season pulled their heads in and should easily account for a bunch of blokes who spend all their energy telling other teams how great they are! Remember, you were relegated!
As for the Eltham website making mention about playing a certain bloke in the GF on Dan L, well it was stated before the website crashed that the player in mention is their boundry umpire for the ressies, and is all of 16 years old. Now I am no expert but that would suggest that is was a joke!
Tips for the weekend........ Hawthorn by 4 goals in the seniors, Eltham for back-2-back flags in the ressies. Goodluck to both senior teams next year back in D3
Just a sugestion, but don't take everything written on the web as gospel, there are always 1 or 2 DH's who like to stir the pot.

Well said!

I don't mind sledging from the sidelines, but when they are refering to an act of cowardness then it is not on. The Bloke from Powerhouse got suspended for 4 matches but was it enough to justify somebodies jaw getting broken????

I don't think so. I think Eltham will win in the Ressies but wouldn't it be beautiful if Powerhouse won the flag and for the sniper to miss out?? I think Hawthorn will account for Powerhouse by a comfortable margin and Eltham to win a tight tussle in the two's.

vegemite
12 Sep 2006, 15:38

Lout, The Power House players have been placing their energies into getting their pride back and they've done a fair bit to achieve that on the field with one more hurdle to conquer. From what I hear, the sledging on the sidelines from Power House supporters was in response to unwarranted and unprovoked sledging from Eltham who were down and out at the time - would you respond if you were the leading side and were copping it from a side about to go out in straight sets? - I think so. What's wrong with a bit of sledging anyway. It's great to see the passion.

king_turtle
12 Sep 2006, 15:43
haha..fair enough lout, i was just stiring the pot there as well...

Inlineform, mate I can't explain it, it was dissappointing to say the least, we had a good team in, but couldn't get the job done, couldn't get 4 quarters in...that was required but we just couldn't get there...good luck to the PWH boys. So is footy mate...never ever is there a sure thing...

Hope it was a pot of your famous black bean sauce you talked about!
The food at oakleigh was good on saturday and not too expensive. Bring on this saturday, i'll be following my name's sake (King Cobra) and staying close to the canteen.
Looking at the results so far in the finals i think it will be an absolute ripper that will go down to the wire in the 1sts (i'm tipping pwhouse), and our boys in the reserves by a couple. Hopefully our ressies can learn from the 1's mistakes and be prepared for a real contest. Powerhouse 2's were physical on saturday and more of the same can be expected.

The only thing that lets oakleigh's ground down is the wind, and no free entry!

a little bit of leverage
12 Sep 2006, 15:45
Lout, The Power House players have been placing their energies into getting their pride back and they've done a fair bit to achieve that on the field with one more hurdle to conquer. From what I hear, the sledging on the sidelines from Power House supporters was in response to unwarranted and unprovoked sledging from Eltham who were down and out at the time - would you respond if you were the leading side and were copping it from a side about to go out in straight sets? - I think so. What's wrong with a bit of sledging anyway. It's great to see the passion.

On the topic of straight sets, I remember King Turtle complaining about the umpires in the first final against Hawthorn, saying that they were like the tinman from the wizard of OZ.

Well King Turtle I have one for you...... I think you blokes play football like something the lion doesn't have from the wizard of oz............ no heart

What do you say to that?

king_turtle
12 Sep 2006, 15:57
On the topic of straight sets, I remember King Turtle complaining about the umpires in the first final against Hawthorn, saying that they were like the tinman from the wizard of OZ.

Well King Turtle I have one for you...... I think you blokes play like the lion from the wizard of oz..... with no heart.

What do you say to that?

I think you are like the lion! A true coward throwing insults from behind your porn machine (that's all a bloke like you could use it for).
Two posts ago you said "you don't mind sledging from the sidelines but an act of cowardness is not on". Well i say to that, you are a hipocrit.

Eltham just like any (well most) clubs is full of heart and blokes playing for the jumper. We may have been less physical that powerhouse on the weekend, but given less windy conditions or a dryer day the result may have been different. And the umpires were a disgrace.

Back to footy talk. The last page before this was interesting reading.

a little bit of leverage
12 Sep 2006, 16:03
King Turtle,

The Turtle nickname for your club hits the nail on the head. From seeing you guys go up against the more physical sides you tend to pull your heads in at the first sign of danger, just like a real turtle does. The ninja turtles would be ashamed that you have ruined their tough reputation

king_turtle
12 Sep 2006, 16:13
King Turtle,

The Turtle nickname for your club hits the nail on the head. From seeing you guys go up against the more physical sides you tend to pull your heads in at the first sign of danger, just like a real turtle does. The ninja turtles would be ashamed that you have ruined their tough reputation

I think that you were dropped on your head!
As i said before we may not have been physical enough in the wet. We have a young side that runs, and on the small ground, in the wet, there was no room to move and the size and physicality of powerhouse shut us down. There has to be a winner. Unfortunately it wasn't us, but we will learn and bounce back.
And leave the "turtles in a half shell" out of this.

Coach Hollywood
12 Sep 2006, 16:17
I'll back the Turtles to win the flag next year. They'll learn from this season and come back even better next year with alot to prove.

a little bit of leverage
12 Sep 2006, 16:23
King Turtle it rained for 5 of the 120 minutes of game time........ You sound a lot like Grant Thomas - Always making excuses instead of copping it on the chin and trying to make out that you were so hard done by...... The only bloke who went for a hard ball was a 18 year old kid who came off with a split head. If you are expecting a kid to lead the way then good luck getting out of D4 in the next few years.......

king_turtle
12 Sep 2006, 16:23
I'll back the Turtles to win the flag next year. They'll learn from this season and come back even better next year with alot to prove.

I think it's a bit early for us to be talking about next year's flag.
There are two strong sides in St Mary's and UHS-VU coming down and they will be wanting to go straight back up. Plus by the way box hill improved they will be a competitive unit.
Sure we'll be in the top 4, with some more finals experience but we can't be thinking about next year just yet.
Unless you were talking about the 2's flag again? We have great depth, but need to recruit a few key players to help our 1sts be a more consistent and competitive unit.

King_Cobra
12 Sep 2006, 16:25
I think that you were dropped on your head!
As i said before we may not have been physical enough in the wet. We have a young side that runs, and on the small ground, in the wet, there was no room to move and the size and physicality of powerhouse shut us down. There has to be a winner. Unfortunately it wasn't us, but we will learn and bounce back.
And leave the "turtles in a half shell" out of this.

exuse after excuse after excuse...why dont u just admit it....Your soft and you do like it wet!!!....LOL....

king_turtle
12 Sep 2006, 16:32
King Turtle it rained for 5 of the 120 minutes of game time........ You sound a lot like Grant Thomas - Always making excuses instead of copping it on the chin and trying to make out that you were so hard done by...... The only bloke who went for a hard ball was a 18 year old kid who came off with a split head. If you are expecting a kid to lead the way then good luck getting out of D4 in the next few years.......

I reckon that they are reasons, rather than excuses.

King_Cobra, at least we made the finals. We'll become tougher but you guys will always have end of year crisis meetings.

We will be making it our objective to remove the "soft" label and show everyone next year. We still have our reserves in the G.F. and they will be tough. Everyone likes it a bit wet! haha

a little bit of leverage
12 Sep 2006, 16:38
I reckon that they are reasons, rather than excuses.

King_Cobra, at least we made the finals. We'll become tougher but you guys will always have end of year crisis meetings.

We will be making it our objective to remove the "soft" label and show everyone next year. We still have our reserves in the G.F. and they will be tough. Everyone likes it a bit wet! haha

We like your mum a bit wet as well King Turtle.

spy1
12 Sep 2006, 16:46
Spy1, it was me that posted that message about who Eltham would play on Dan Lauletta in the GF and I obtained my information from a very reliable ELTHAM source.

Spy1, I know you are obsessed with keeping your identity a secret but a few words in your most recent post lead me to believe you may be a Hawk.......Would I be correct??

My humblest apologies to you Twirly. I was under the false belief it was posted by that serial pest Arvosjunior. I don't know who your source was but it was public for anyone to see as a tongue in cheek post on Eltham's forum.
As to my loyalties, you would be right, if you were not wrong. I can promise on all that is sacred to me, I am not a 'Crazy Hawks' supporter. I'll even narrow it down for you a little. I will be completely impartial as I frequent the canteen regularly this Saturday at Scammel Reserve.