View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46

bigwaz
2 Oct 2007, 10:05
I don't even play D2 or D4 ammos, but after reading these posts, how could any club knock back an opportunity to jump 2 divisions in a pre-season?! Particularly if ur sitting in D4. Lucky buggers! Good luck to both.

We passed up an "opportunity" to merge with St Kevins a few years back. Needless to say we wouldn't have existed now if we'd gone ahead with it. One team always comes out on top in the end. Usually the one who's name comes first...

phantom13
2 Oct 2007, 10:12
As far as is known the merge would be more on st.mary's terms, salesian has no ground remember and although st.mary's approached them, they would have to be in the box seat, if you have nowhere to play it's a bit tough to push your demands isn't it?

the_saint
2 Oct 2007, 10:38
As far as is known the merge would be more on st.mary's terms, salesian has no ground remember and although st.mary's approached them, they would have to be in the box seat, if you have nowhere to play it's a bit tough to push your demands isn't it?

Suggested new club name: St Lesions

InFineForm
2 Oct 2007, 12:30

Based on this year they could call themselves 'The Lepers'.

crazybear
2 Oct 2007, 13:32
Now u guys are talking some real sense how many teams do you see win a flag with one avenue to goal,i dont play in the ammos but ive seen a couple of his games and hes hungry

Powerhouse in 2006. Edwards kicked a tonne and Power house won the flag.

chicken31
2 Oct 2007, 13:44

think ihatehollywood has missed the point on what 07 was saying he didnt say it was bad to have one avenue of goal, although it isnt always smart, but to be that avenue and coach would put alot of strain on him as shown by how uni played they stopped him and the goals slowed down for them and also made moves with players to force a change, uni did it in both finals against eltham. but i dont have a problem with eltham or hollywood wish them luck for the next year

port-man_fc
2 Oct 2007, 14:03
think ihatehollywood has missed the point on what 07 was saying he didnt say it was bad to have one avenue of goal, although it isnt always smart, but to be that avenue and coach would put alot of strain on him as shown by how uni played they stopped him and the goals slowed down for them and also made moves with players to force a change, uni did it in both finals against eltham. but i dont have a problem with eltham or hollywood wish them luck for the next year

Most of our forward line can kick goals, turner, dillion, strickland, blagrove, clark, both garrards, powell, its a bloody good forward line... CH was not the only avenue, it was just that he was the best avenue for us!! I watched the reply of he game, CH was prob our best player and had a pretty good impact, it was our other midfielders (myself included) and the other forwards that got beaten, simple as that!!

chicken31
2 Oct 2007, 16:08
Most of our forward line can kick goals, turner, dillion, strickland, blagrove, clark, both garrards, powell, its a bloody good forward line... CH was not the only avenue, it was just that he was the best avenue for us!! I watched the reply of he game, CH was prob our best player and had a pretty good impact, it was our other midfielders (myself included) and the other forwards that got beaten, simple as that!!

fai enough was merely observation of watching the game didnt think that he was that high in his impact but everyone do view things differntly like i said nothing against eltham and their players just how i saw it.

but to more important things how accurates the source that St marys is merging with salesian will be glad to see the back of them... for now i guess

Coach Hollywood
2 Oct 2007, 17:16
Well it seems as though I have a few admirers, fans, enemies & stalkers on here now???

At the end of the day it's only D4 ammo's footy & it's all about having fun & doing your best so I couldn't care less about what some think of me.
Interpretation, opinions & thoughts can all be manipulated but stats don't lie. We had the most avenues to goal out any of the D4 teams, The highest for & lowest against all season. We won all our home games, we won the reserves premiership, we most likely played the most amount of players out of any club and we also most likely have the youngest list. We won our first senior final ever and we are now promoted to D3!

We were beaten by a better team on the day in the Grand Final & we'll learn from that &come out better & hungrier for it next season as we continue to improve.

Good luck to all next season i've really enjoyed my time playing against all of you but i'm now off to D3 and excited about the challenge of playing finals again next year!

Cheers

sixty5
2 Oct 2007, 17:25
How about St Lesbians...

the_saint
2 Oct 2007, 17:50
Well it seems as though I have a few admirers, fans, enemies & stalkers on here now???

At the end of the day it's only D4 ammo's footy & it's all about having fun & doing your best so I couldn't care less about what some think of me.

What about me? Do you care what I think of you??

SavageHound
2 Oct 2007, 23:36
The latest I heard was that Papaluca, Gatehouse & others are GAWN. With Papa's 1 year deal done the coach walked as didnt rate the rest.Salesian have soured relationship with school who retaliated by booting them off the ground during pre season and they are no more. Not sure what St Marys is hoping to get out of deal but the Chaddy lads rubbing their hands at prospect of new home.

chicken31
3 Oct 2007, 00:23
The latest I heard was that Papaluca, Gatehouse & others are GAWN. With Papa's 1 year deal done the coach walked as didnt rate the rest.Salesian have soured relationship with school who retaliated by booting them off the ground during pre season and they are no more. Not sure what St Marys is hoping to get out of deal but the Chaddy lads rubbing their hands at prospect of new home.

from the sounds all st marys want is a quick escape from D4 and with uni and eltham spoiling the main chance they are trying the merge as a way up to D2, bypassing D3 in the mean time. dont know if that being the only thing they get out of it makes it worth it though. time will tell

knackers22
3 Oct 2007, 10:47

Not sure where u heard that about Gatehouse considering i was talking to him last night and that wasnt even mentioned!

Papaluca good luck to him at Box Hill Hawks is all i will say. If moving overseas for work is the coach walking out i'll go he then!

guru1
3 Oct 2007, 11:08

I think you might wanna check your sources there savage one as your pretty wide of the mark.

smutto
3 Oct 2007, 16:12

Your mail is pretty ordinary mate. Salesian were not booted off the ground during pre season. Infact the ground was available to train on all year, pre season and normal season and was used at times when other clubs were searching for alternate venues. The fact was that the ground was not safe to play games on all year, a minefield would have been safer. The school teams did not use it and the old boys did not use it.

phantom13
3 Oct 2007, 21:34
The Bosco street ground was actually used all pre-season but come game time the school wouldn't let them play ball, the Chaddy boys did want to play there but were not allowed, also the ground was cleared playable and was definatley no-worse than the majority of grounds in the comp.

sixty5
5 Oct 2007, 16:35
Come on lads, I know the football season is over but we cannot desert the forum like this. Where's the playful banter that went on during the season. I am sure ya'll could still keep it up regardless...

I was really getting into Hollywood getting picked on (no offence Hollywood). Where's thailandteaser when you need him???

huru

bigwaz
5 Oct 2007, 17:50
Come on lads, I know the football season is over but we cannot desert the forum like this. Where's the playful banter that went on during the season. I am sure ya'll could still keep it up regardless...

I was really getting into Hollywood getting picked on (no offence Hollywood). Where's thailandteaser when you need him???

huru

Need a few weeks off 65... Start concentrating on the cricket...you know.

Just drifting over here occasionally to see if there is any goss. And I've run out of ideas for rumors.

Maybe...um.... South Mornington to move back to SFL? SFX (nice moniker St Fran Xavs) to strike up a deal with Pixar to create the next skrek movie?

hmmm.... I'm really just killing time at work until beer o'clock.

Peace out.

melbdocker
7 Oct 2007, 16:37
any coaching changes at yet?
hey 65 how is our mob looking from behiend the scenes this yr? see u fri buddy

ihatehollywood
7 Oct 2007, 20:38
thats because ur playin crap footy it dooesnt happen in the real world go play crap footy and feal like a hero

The Tiger's Nuts
7 Oct 2007, 20:52
The oracle has spoken.

O Oracle, we are not worthy to receive your words of wisdom. You'll be far better off typing them somewhere far away from here, where they might be understood and appreciated, and not become the subject of scorn and ribaldry from Bigfooty infidels.

Flowerpower
8 Oct 2007, 13:14
The oracle has spoken.

O Oracle, we are not worthy to receive your words of wisdom. You'll be far better off typing them somewhere far away from here, where they might be understood and appreciated, and not become the subject of scorn and ribaldry from Bigfooty infidels.

Any news from Japan BHN boys?

sixty5
8 Oct 2007, 18:20
thats because ur playin crap footy it dooesnt happen in the real world go play crap footy and feal like a hero
thats the spirit...

OZZA
9 Oct 2007, 10:26
sixty5 - your equations are just gettiong more and more outrageous.

80210 / 1234 + ???

Coach Hollywood
9 Oct 2007, 10:30

I'd suggest going back to school to learn Punctuation, Grammar & Spelling first, then finish it off by going back & playing NFL Div 2 reserves which is even worse than any VAFA Club 18's comp.;)

sixty5
9 Oct 2007, 16:09
I'd suggest going back to school to learn Punctuation, Grammar & Spelling first, then finish it off by going back & playing NFL Div 2 reserves which is even worse than any VAFA Club 18's comp.;)
this is what I missed, welcome back fellas... let the barage of abuse begin...

melbdocker
9 Oct 2007, 19:50

having play a bit of nfl div 2 res i can asure u some teams are but some teams are not for example your old clubs 2's very poor my old clubs 2's now in div 1 and just missed finals 2 yrs in a row hence y i am now playing d4 and getting goals snaged on me by blokes on this forum

Lakey11
10 Oct 2007, 11:22
Need a few weeks off 65... Start concentrating on the cricket...you know.

Just drifting over here occasionally to see if there is any goss. And I've run out of ideas for rumors.

Maybe...um.... South Mornington to move back to SFL? SFX (nice moniker St Fran Xavs) to strike up a deal with Pixar to create the next skrek movie?

hmmm.... I'm really just killing time at work until beer o'clock.

Peace out.

Waz, you know I rekon your a good bloke, but mate.......leaving this for Cricket!!!

How increadibly homosexual of you!

As for concentrating on Cricket.......what a great way to ruin a nice summers day!

Personally, I'd much rather perv on hot chicks at the beach than stare at some fat little nuggety bloke with a red face swinging a bat around in the mid-day sun!

Although the beer must taste pretty good after the game?

catscratches
10 Oct 2007, 14:21

I'm sure it tastes just as good sitting on a beach perving at hot chicks

cjay
10 Oct 2007, 15:38
I'd say even better!!

It's amazing what your environment can add to the flavour - it's important to get all senses involved.:D

Ruck Machine
11 Oct 2007, 01:03
Any news from Japan BHN boys?

As you probably know we won the Narita Cup. PC Starred all day long, Dan and Lance kicks heaps of gaols and I got injured. Currently in Tokyo enjoying some 4.5 Star Luxury.

PS. The Japanese Women are ridiculous!!!!!!

OZZA
11 Oct 2007, 10:22
As you probably know we won the Narita Cup. PC Starred all day long, Dan and Lance kicks heaps of gaols and I got injured. Currently in Tokyo enjoying some 4.5 Star Luxury.

Aren't they a joke. Such bodies, such short dresses.....ridiculous indeed.....in a very very good way.

sumimasen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bigwaz
11 Oct 2007, 10:29
Waz, you know I rekon your a good bloke, but mate.......leaving this for Cricket!!!

How increadibly homosexual of you!

As for concentrating on Cricket.......what a great way to ruin a nice summers day!

Personally, I'd much rather perv on hot chicks at the beach than stare at some fat little nuggety bloke with a red face swinging a bat around in the mid-day sun!

There are few better feelings than your first beer after a long day in the field!

Women are great and all, sure. Beaches, nice. Bikinis, terrific. But inner thigh chaffing and heat rash?!, that can't be beaten.

sixty5
11 Oct 2007, 21:35
Today's joke of the day:

One day little Johnny goes into the kitchen and says to his mom, "Mom, grandma's got her shrimps hanging out again."

Knowing that the grandma is going a little senile in her old age, mom goes out into the living room and finds grandma sitting in her lazy-boy with her dress up and her panties around her ankles.

Not knowing how she is going to explain this to her son, the mom goes back into the kitchen and says to little Johnny, "Honey, those aren't shrimps. They are part of the vagina which is the female reproductive organ on a woman, just like the penis is for a man."

Little Johnny replies, "Well whatever you say mom but they sure taste like shrimps to me!"

Enjoy....

Manny
12 Oct 2007, 00:16
A man staggered into a hospital with a concussion, multiple bruises,
two black eyes, and a five iron wrapped tightly around his throat.

Naturally, the Doctor asked him, "What happened to you?" "Well, I was
having a quiet round of golf with my wife, when at a difficult hole, we
both sliced our golf balls into a field of cattle.

We went to look for them and while I was looking around I noticed one
of the cows had something white at its rear end."

"I walked over, lifted its tail, and sure enough, there was a golf ball
with my wife's monogram on it - stuck right in the middle of the cow's
@rse.

Still holding the cow's tail up, I yelled to my wife, "Hey, this looks
like yours!'"

"I don't remember much after that "
[/SIZE]

cjay
12 Oct 2007, 12:19
The St.Mary/Salesians merger looks set to go ahead. D2 will be the comp they play in and are to be called St.Marys-Salesians Saints. Vote to go to St.Marys members in the next fortnight. All appear happy with the proposal as it will align St.Marys with a feeder school.

sixty5
12 Oct 2007, 16:21
The St.Mary/Salesians merger looks set to go ahead. D2 will be the comp they play in and are to be called St.Marys-Salesians Saints. Vote to go to St.Marys members in the next fortnight. All appear happy with the proposal as it will align St.Marys with a feeder school.
well I for one am glad I don't have to play against those tools again... what a cop-out, merge with a another club and go up two divisions, a*&holes...

huru

Arthur Fonzarelli
12 Oct 2007, 17:13
well I for one am glad I don't have to play against those tools again... what a cop-out, merge with a another club and go up two divisions, a*&holes...

huru

I saw a bit of Salesians this year, the way they go about it expect to see your St Mary's buddies in D4 again very soon!

sixty5
12 Oct 2007, 17:23
I saw a bit of Salesians this year, the way they go about it expect to see your St Mary's buddies in D4 again very soon!
nooooooooooooooooooooooo.... don't say that...

bigwaz
12 Oct 2007, 17:23

So they'll be wanting to recruit very well to not get relegated next season. I dont know what D2 standard is like... but its not like St Mary's were dominating in D4.

Anyway, good luck to them. It would be nice to have a college to provide players, thats for sure.

Manny
12 Oct 2007, 18:30

Guys, one of the issues Salesian had with the school is that the main sport at the school was no longer footy, but rather the round ball game. From what I believed players from the school had actually reduced considerably.

As far as the merged side being competitive, providing the better players from Salesian stay on, mixed with the St Mary's list they will be more than competitive

Manny

Lakey11
12 Oct 2007, 18:31
So they'll be wanting to recruit very well to not get relegated next season. I dont know what D2 standard is like... but its not like St Mary's were dominating in D4.

Anyway, good luck to them. It would be nice to have a college to provide players, thats for sure.

Hopefully a few of the good clubs do well and we "Bunny hop" those tools over the next 2 years. (We all go to D2 and they drop to D4)

Maybe the VAFA can make a Dtool division and just have St Marys - sellegians and Hawthorn ammo's play against each other week in and week out!

That way the rest of us can get on with enjoying our footy!

By the way, that joke about the shrimps - Gold but VERY WRONG.....
(Unless your grandmother is Stifflers Mom!!)

sixty5
13 Oct 2007, 22:45
today's joke of the day:

A man was in his front yard mowing grass when his attractive
blond female neighbour came out of the house and went straight to the mailbox.

She opened it then slammed it shut and stormed back into the house.
A little later she came out of her house again went to the mail
box and again, opened it, slammed it shut again. Angrily, back into
the house she went.

As the man was getting ready to edge the lawn, here she came
again, marched to the mail box, opened it and then slammed it closed
harder than ever.

Puzzled by her actions the man asked her, "Is something wrong?"
To which she replied, "There certainly is!"

My stupid computer keeps saying, "YOU'VE GOT MAIL."

huru

nellup
14 Oct 2007, 11:49
Just got in off the plane from Tokyo,Box hill nth.fantastic win in the Narita cup.
Sent the details to VAFA from Osaka,with photo of the side holding the cup on the Tuesday after the Grand Final but to spite several other things being added to the VAFA website since NO mention of the win,Maybe something that a D4 club does, doesn't rate a mention,they travel to Japan,pay their own way,WIN the Grand Final,represent the VAFA,bring home the cup and not a dicky bird about it,bet if an alphabet club had done it,it would have been mentioned,or am I being too harsh,well maybe,but,let me be quite blunt;
Not good enough VAFA:mad:
There goes my job I think but I am really Pi@@ed off.

ihatehollywood
14 Oct 2007, 16:14
i hate hollywood

ihatehollywood
14 Oct 2007, 16:21
u r an absolute tool hollywood as for nfl div2 reserves thats where u should be,probably couldnt get a game their thats why u r where u r now.ill be at your first game girl ill introduce myself and ill see what u got to say.All this from a bloke who was up himself all year talkin crap sayin oh this is the game we had to loose givin no credit to the opposition then you got smashed in the final,if u wernt so upyourself and could coach and gave the other team some respect you might of done better,you let the whole club down

spy1
14 Oct 2007, 17:30

Aren't they a joke. Such bodies, such short dresses.....ridiculous indeed.....in a very very good way.

sumimasen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

no need to apolagise Oz.
Ruck was starring in the 2nd match when he bent down to pick up for a snapped goal. Hammy snapped at same time. In true Narita Cup spirit he got pilled and taped up to play most of the last quarter in GF. Still took some grabs and fed off for the goals.
Those Japanese women.....wow.
Pity, as our touring maggot mentioned earlier, that although VAFA have recieved plenty of info on this success that it did not rate a mention on their website this week.
Interesting development with Saints while I was away.

hitdatarget
14 Oct 2007, 18:13
Just got in off the plane from Tokyo,Box hill nth.fantastic win in the Narita cup.
Sent the details to VAFA from Osaka,with photo of the side holding the cup on the Tuesday after the Grand Final but to spite several other things being added to the VAFA website since NO mention of the win,Maybe something that a D4 club does, doesn't rate a mention,they travel to Japan,pay their own way,WIN the Grand Final,represent the VAFA,bring home the cup and not a dicky bird about it,bet if an alphabet club had done it,it would have been mentioned,or am I being too harsh,well maybe,but,let me be quite blunt;
Not good enough VAFA:mad:
There goes my job I think but I am really Pi@@ed off.
Welcome to your own opinion Nellup but that Japan thing has no interest to anybody except the people who go. Those that go and have a good time great. Don't expect any kudos. Maybe Box Hill North's standing in the footy arena with others may be lower than your expectations.

St Marys/Salesian has many positives as a unit and pleasing to see that egos at local footy might be cast aside for the brighter future of all members.

phantom13
14 Oct 2007, 21:54
Salesian had only 3 kids from the school, all two's players, ageing list, for the most part i would hope that st.mary's keeps its young players around otherwise the merged team will struggle, at least a few leaving from salesian for varying reasons and remember that they only just missed relegation this year.

bigmouth21
15 Oct 2007, 12:36
Salesian had only 3 kids from the school, all two's players, ageing list, for the most part i would hope that st.mary's keeps its young players around otherwise the merged team will struggle, at least a few leaving from salesian for varying reasons and remember that they only just missed relegation this year.

Phantom13 - your research skills are shizenhousen. Some very easy research shows that the Salesian boys had a very young list. Best 6 are under 24 too, with 3 of those coming from the school, one 18 yo (year 12 student) played 1's and a lot of the older guys will play club 18's. Don't forget, you look at Salesian's dominant run home. Pretty impressive considering they had no home ground all year! I'd be keeping my eyes on this mob in the future. Could be a powerhouse. But negative comments only ever come from jealous personalities...

Falcons07
15 Oct 2007, 12:54
Good luck on the merger, a few bad eggs at St Marys who are cocky arrogant and soft as butter, but there are some good blokes there as well.

We had out AGM last wed, complete new change off committee, good mix of young blokes put there hand up and congrats to Jason Weir who is our new pres.

Interviewing for coaches at the moment so massive changes for the Falcons and all positive, any other clubs looking for or appointed a new coach at this stage??

bigwaz
15 Oct 2007, 13:30
Welcome to your own opinion Nellup but that Japan thing has no interest to anybody except the people who go. Those that go and have a good time great. Don't expect any kudos. Maybe Box Hill North's standing in the footy arena with others may be lower than your expectations.

St Marys/Salesian has many positives as a unit and pleasing to see that egos at local footy might be cast aside for the brighter future of all members.

Thats cr@p. Everyone in the VAFA should be appreciative of the efforts of clubs to enhance the visibility of the game. Sure, we're only amateurs, but the amount of work that goes into something like that is enormous and its a terrific effort by Box Hill North.

I'm looking forward to playing them again at Punt Rd Oval next season. Hopefully with a different result though :)

crazybear
15 Oct 2007, 13:57
Thats cr@p. Everyone in the VAFA should be appreciative of the efforts of clubs to enhance the visibility of the game. Sure, we're only amateurs, but the amount of work that goes into something like that is enormous and its a terrific effort by Box Hill North.

I'm looking forward to playing them again at Punt Rd Oval next season. Hopefully with a different result though :)

With talk of mergers and new clubs. Who will actually be playing in D4 next year?

phantom13
15 Oct 2007, 14:45
Phantom13 - your research skills are shizenhousen. Some very easy research shows that the Salesian boys had a very young list. Best 6 are under 24 too, with 3 of those coming from the school, one 18 yo (year 12 student) played 1's and a lot of the older guys will play club 18's. Don't forget, you look at Salesian's dominant run home. Pretty impressive considering they had no home ground all year! I'd be keeping my eyes on this mob in the future. Could be a powerhouse. But negative comments only ever come from jealous personalities...

If you say so mate, but i would certainly consider the fact that they only have 5 guys in the ones under 24, the fact that the guys coming up are from d4, and as you said 3 blokes from the school in a season, not exactly a talent factory, it just looks like it might be hard work, in any event i hope they succeed have a few mates at salesian and its a great result for them with the ground and the new players.

Hitforsix
15 Oct 2007, 15:06
If you say so mate, but i would certainly consider the fact that they only have 5 guys in the ones under 24, the fact that the guys coming up are from d4, and as you said 3 blokes from the school in a season, not exactly a talent factory, it just looks like it might be hard work, in any event i hope they succeed have a few mates at salesian and its a great result for them with the ground and the new players.

Seems to me that there are a few salesian guys who have registered as newbies to the forum to give there two cents so that they can pull the wool over saint marys eyes. saints have nothing to gain but salesian name tacked on the end. The school will (if they even are present) drop off no doubt in a few years as saints/salesian end up back in D4. The only way forward for the saints is to work as a team not just score a free ticket out ot D4!

sixty5
15 Oct 2007, 16:46
I really hope the saints don't end up back in D4...
Is it possible to buy an amateur club then dissolve it??

huru

The Tiger's Nuts
15 Oct 2007, 17:15
Sent the details to VAFA from Osaka,with photo of the side holding the cup on the Tuesday after the Grand Final but to spite several other things being added to the VAFA website since NO mention of the win,

Welcome back, great news on the win.

Stick it all up on the BHN website for us all to marvel over and show the VAFA what a disgrace they are. "Oh we think the Japan thing is wonderful, really great, shows the spirit of ammo footy, rah rah" - then get behind it, VAFA!

phantom13
15 Oct 2007, 17:23
Seems to me that there are a few salesian guys who have registered as newbies to the forum to give there two cents so that they can pull the wool over saint marys eyes. saints have nothing to gain but salesian name tacked on the end. The school will (if they even are present) drop off no doubt in a few years as saints/salesian end up back in D4. The only way forward for the saints is to work as a team not just score a free ticket out ot D4!

Couldn't agree with you more mate, not sure why my quote is on there with yours, i haven't exactly been positive about all of it.
In any event it is better to see the merge for a couple of reasons, no-one likes to see a club go under and also good to see st.mary's off and away.

Manny
15 Oct 2007, 19:33
Time for some comic relief guys, or at least I thought this was good.

Irish Vasectomy

After having their 11th child, an Irish couple decided that that was
enough, as they couldn't afford a larger bed.

So the husband went to his doctor and told him that he and his wife
didn't want to have any more children.

The doctor told him there was a procedure called a vasectomy that
would fix the problem but it was expensive.

A less costly alternative was to go home, get a large fire-cracker, light
it, put it in a beer can, then hold the can up to his ear and count to 10.

The husband said to the doctor, "B'Jayzus, I may not be the smartest guy
in the world, but I don't see how putting a firework in a beer can next
to my ear is going to help me with my problem."

“Trust me, it will do the job", said the doctor.
So the man went home, lit a cracker and put it in a beer can. He held
the can up to his ear and began to count:

"1, 2, 3, 4, 5," at which point he paused, and placed the beer can
between his legs so he could continue counting on his other hand.

spy1
15 Oct 2007, 21:27
Welcome back, great news on the win.

Stick it all up on the BHN website for us all to marvel over and show the VAFA what a disgrace they are. "Oh we think the Japan thing is wonderful, really great, shows the spirit of ammo footy, rah rah" - then get behind it, VAFA!
Good to hear some support (Nuts & Waz) for a wonderful experience, we who travel do get a little OTT about it. But it is a life changing time for many.
BHN don't go to Japan just to win a footy competition (which they have only managed twice in 7 attempts). The whole point of the tour and other efforts is to grow Aussie Rules in a foriegn country. It is also to instill the best values, those which are said to be the cornerstone of VAFA footy, in the developing players of Japan.
It gives myself, and many others involved, a great deal of pride to see the intensity, passion and sportsmanship with which the Samurai play the game.
BHN have never set out to be a lone force in this area and encourage other teams to get involved with international footy.
Check out the link below and see how wide spread our favourite game is. You may be pleasently surprised.
http://www.worldfootynews.com/

oldobserver
16 Oct 2007, 09:58
[quote=OZZA;9142878]

no need to apolagise Oz.
Ruck was starring in the 2nd match when he bent down to pick up for a snapped goal. Hammy snapped at same time. In true Narita Cup spirit he got pilled and taped up to play most of the last quarter in GF. Still took some grabs and fed off for the goals.
Those Japanese women.....wow.
Pity, as our touring maggot mentioned earlier, that although VAFA have recieved plenty of info on this success that it did not rate a mention on their website this week.
Interesting development with Saints while I was away.
Can you clear this up for me spy,by you saying "our touring maggot" did an ump go to Japan with BHNth? or have I missed something.

Ruck Machine
16 Oct 2007, 11:35
[quote=spy1;9196909]
Can you clear this up for me spy,by you saying "our touring maggot" did an ump go to Japan with BHNth? or have I missed something.

An umpire went to Japan with BHN (as he has done for the 2 previous years).

spy1
16 Oct 2007, 11:40
[quote=spy1;9196909]

Yes Oldie, we did have a VAFA umpire travel.
Tugger has done all tournament games singlehanded for three years now.
Love or loath him, no one puts in for good causes more than Tug. Any charity fund raiser around the clubs you will find him there.
Tug also ran a packed out rules lecture the day after the tournament, help lead a tour to Hiroshima Peace Park/Museum and was involved in the Osaka School clinic.

Hope that fills things in for you down MT Waverly way.:cool:

Ruck Machine
16 Oct 2007, 12:40
[quote=oldobserver;9216101]

Lets not forget that 'Crazy' umpired a game as well.

oldobserver
16 Oct 2007, 14:15
[quote=oldobserver;9216101]

Yes Oldie, we did have a VAFA umpire travel.
Love or loath him, no one puts in for good causes more than Tug. Any charity fund raiser around the clubs you will find him there.
Tug also ran a packed out rules lecture the day after the tournament, help lead a tour to Hiroshima Peace Park/Museum and was involved in the Osaka School clinic.

Hope that fills things in for you down MT Waverly way.:cool:
Thanks spy,just realised by reading previous posts that i should have picked that up,don't get your Mt waverley thing though,i'm in waverley near the mountain view hotel,very convenient.sometimes.

Ruck Machine
16 Oct 2007, 15:13
B&F winners.
Eley Park - M.Viola
Richmond - N.Nuske
Syndal Tally Ho - F.George
Albert Park - S.Bennett
Bulleen - T. Conn
UHS-VU - A. Leach
St Mary's - A. Papaluca
Eltham - J. Garrard
North Brunswick - D. Pizzari
BHN - A. Beaumont
Mt Lilydale - C. Gibson

South Mornington - ?

Anymore B&F Winners?

port-man_fc
16 Oct 2007, 16:33
B&F winners.
Eley Park - M.Viola
Richmond - N.Nuske
Albert Park - S.Bennett
Bulleen - T. Conn
UHS-VU - A. Leach
St Mary's - A. Papaluca

BHN - To be Decided 19th Oct.

South Mornington - ?
Eltham - ?
North Brunswick - ?
Mt Lilydale - ?

Anymore B&F Winners?

Eltham was:
1) John Garrard
2) Adam Chapman
2) Matt Blagrove

sixty5
16 Oct 2007, 17:07
Breaking NEWS:

STAR West Coast Eagle Ben Cousins is in police custody in Perth, the ABC is reporting.

Cousins was reportedly pulled over by police and questioned in his four-wheel-drive for 45 minutes.

Police searched the car and then reportedly handcuffed Cousins before taking him to a local police station.

SEN radio reports that another Eagle has been interviewed by police at another location.

OZZA
17 Oct 2007, 09:57
B&F winners.
Eley Park - M.Viola
Richmond - N.Nuske
Albert Park - S.Bennett
Bulleen - T. Conn
UHS-VU - A. Leach
St Mary's - A. Papaluca
Eltham - J. Garrard

BHN - To be Decided 19th Oct.

South Mornington - ?
North Brunswick - ?
Mt Lilydale - ?

Anymore B&F Winners?

North Brunswick:
1. Pizarri
2. Santacroce
3. Holdstock

Ruck Machine
17 Oct 2007, 13:15
Can anyone answer the following question for me?

Do A Grade Clubs pay more VAFA fees than D4 clubs?

what an animal
17 Oct 2007, 15:43
Can anyone answer the following question for me?

Do A Grade Clubs pay more VAFA fees than D4 clubs?

I know that club 18's is less than D4 so based on that im near certain it is more.

The Tiger's Nuts
17 Oct 2007, 18:50
From the 2007 Handbook:
Application fees $200 each senior and reserve team, $500 for each U19 and C18, $100 for an expression of interest from non-VAFA clubs wanting to join
Affiliation fees:
A $11876+GST
B $11608+GST
C $9517+GST
D1 $8982+GST
D2 $8600+GST
D3-D4 $8446+GST
U19 $4944+GST
U19 second team $3553+GST
C18 $3708+GST

Nice round figures, wonder how they are made up?

Manny
17 Oct 2007, 19:23
Guys, we just received notice regarding preseason training on council ovals- here is a summary:

Basically, due to the continuing water restrictions and on-going drought, Council will not allow winter clubs access to City of Monash grounds over the summer period.
This includes competition training, pre-season training, practice matches, summer clinics etc for both junior and senior players.
In early January, the condition of reserves will be evaluated and the Clubs will be informed as to the availability of grounds after 31 January 2008.
Clubs found to be on their licensed grounds, or any other City of Monash sports reserve, risk being issued with a fine from Local Laws Officers or possible sanctions from future ground usage for the club.

Here we go again

Manny

Hitforsix
17 Oct 2007, 22:29
Couldn't agree with you more mate, not sure why my quote is on there with yours, i haven't exactly been positive about all of it.
In any event it is better to see the merge for a couple of reasons, no-one likes to see a club go under and also good to see st.mary's off and away.

Saint Marys officially gone from D4 - now called STMARYS SALESIAN TO PLAY IN D2!

nellup
17 Oct 2007, 23:02
Saint Marys officially gone from D4 - now called STMARYS SALESIAN TO PLAY IN D2!

And this came from ??? Six

nellup
17 Oct 2007, 23:05
Guys, we just received notice regarding preseason training on council ovals- here is a summary:

Basically, due to the continuing water restrictions and on-going drought, Council will not allow winter clubs access to City of Monash grounds over the summer period.
This includes competition training, pre-season training, practice matches, summer clinics etc for both junior and senior players.
In early January, the condition of reserves will be evaluated and the Clubs will be informed as to the availability of grounds after 31 January 2008.
Clubs found to be on their licensed grounds, or any other City of Monash sports reserve, risk being issued with a fine from Local Laws Officers or possible sanctions from future ground usage for the club.

Here we go again

Manny

Thanks for the info Manny,I'm in Monash so not really a surprise,would someone please start building and arc.:cool:

Hitforsix
18 Oct 2007, 09:47
And this came from ??? Six

AGM was last night! what for the update from VAFA..

Aim is seniors, reserves, club 18's under 19s

MrECA
18 Oct 2007, 10:49
AGM was last night! what for the update from VAFA..

Aim is seniors, reserves, club 18's under 19s

As the immediate past president from St.Mary's last season. I can confirm that at last night's St.Mary's AGM it was agreed to a merge with Salesian AFC.

We are currently seeking interest from prospective coaches who wish to coach in D2.

Having been involved in two mergers now personally all successful ones. I see no difference here as it was a win win result for both clubs. The committee has been strengthened significantly and we will leave no stoned unturned to make this a successful club going forward.

Of course our intention is to develop under 19 players and under 17 players. We hope that they will come from the school but, we will aggressively recruit from local juniors’ sides after they can go no further with that junior club and provide a positive, successful, senior club which has winning culture and a strong family base.

We have a ground that can be trained on over pre-season unlike many other clubs. That remains a strong area where we can recruit from players who can't find a place to train who live locally to us. If you think you would enjoy a challenge of playing in a higher grade of football at an exciting progressive club. Then keep checking our website as preseason will begin in 4 - 6 weeks.

Good Luck to all teams next season especially Richmond who have really turned the corner and are on the up and up. Mark my words they are finals bound this season.

phantom13
18 Oct 2007, 12:32
As the immediate past president from St.Mary's last season. I can confirm that at last night's St.Mary's AGM it was agreed to a merge with Salesian AFC.

We are currently seeking interest from prospective coaches who wish to coach in D2.

Having been involved in two mergers now personally all successful ones. I see no difference here as it was a win win result for both clubs. The committee has been strengthened significantly and we will leave no stoned unturned to make this a successful club going forward.

Of course our intention is to develop under 19 players and under 17 players. We hope that they will come from the school but, we will aggressively recruit from local juniors’ sides after they can go no further with that junior club and provide a positive, successful, senior club which has winning culture and a strong family base.

We have a ground that can be trained on over pre-season unlike many other clubs. That remains a strong area where we can recruit from players who can't find a place to train who live locally to us. If you think you would enjoy a challenge of playing in a higher grade of football at an exciting progressive club. Then keep checking our website as preseason will begin in 4 - 6 weeks.

Good Luck to all teams next season especially Richmond who have really turned the corner and are on the up and up. Mark my words they are finals bound this season.

Would assume that means Salesians player coach from this year isn't getting the job?? Bit dissapointing thought he was one of the best things about the club this year??

knackers22
18 Oct 2007, 12:40
Would assume that means Salesians player coach from this year isn't getting the job?? Bit dissapointing thought he was one of the best things about the club this year??

He has taken coaching job at Tooronga Malvern in Southern League Div 1.

Flowerpower
18 Oct 2007, 13:06

As much as I have been critical towards St Fairies all year, I wish them well on the seachange. It is obviously a decision never taken lightly - to lose your identify and forge a new one.

New coach will have a tough gig containing / maintaining all the egos. By that I mean if you have 2 senior sides merging there are going to be blokes on the outer. Have seen plenty cut up rough and pack up bags.

Hitforsix
18 Oct 2007, 13:10
As much as I have been critical towards St Fairies all year, I wish them well on the seachange. It is obviously a decision never taken lightly - to lose your identify and forge a new one.

New coach will have a tough gig containing / maintaining all the egos. By that I mean if you have 2 senior sides merging there are going to be blokes on the outer. Have seen plenty cut up rough and pack up bags.

upside is no saint marys in d4 anymore :)... downside if you win the d4 flag and get promoted you'll most likely play them in d3 next year.

Flowerpower
18 Oct 2007, 15:10
upside is no saint marys in d4 anymore :)... downside if you win the d4 flag and get promoted you'll most likely play them in d3 next year.

My heart goes out to D2.

Ruck Machine
18 Oct 2007, 16:34
My heart goes out to D2.

I am really disappointed that we don't get to play St Mary's next year, looks like I'll have to wait until 2009 before I can get another shot at Tagell .... I mean St Mary's.........

The Dos
18 Oct 2007, 16:35
People,
I have just moved to Melbourne from Hobart and am trying to find a team to have a kick with next year, I am living in Richmond and therefore think that Richmond Central looks pretty good. I have played the last 5 years in the Southern Premier League in Tassie which is a feeder comp to our VFL team.
Anyone got any suggestions on a good club - needs to have a good social scene and preferably not too far from Richmond.
Also what is the standard of the VAFA like - there seems to be a lot of divisions and I have no idea what there like.

Cheers

bigwaz
18 Oct 2007, 16:39

Thanks mate... Sorry to hear you're no longer the president? Who has taken over the reigns?

Anyway, good luck in D2 and I hope you can find a suitable coach or two.

OZZA
18 Oct 2007, 17:19
People,
I have just moved to Melbourne from Hobart and am trying to find a team to have a kick with next year, I am living in Richmond and therefore think that Richmond Central looks pretty good. I have played the last 5 years in the Southern Premier League in Tassie which is a feeder comp to our VFL team.
Anyone got any suggestions on a good club - needs to have a good social scene and preferably not too far from Richmond.
Also what is the standard of the VAFA like - there seems to be a lot of divisions and I have no idea what there like.

Cheers

North brunswick is not too far from Richmond , has a good social scene and is always looking for new players. You're welcome to come down when pre-season starts.

But if you're set on Richmond Centrals - Big Waz will find you a good home.

sixty5
18 Oct 2007, 17:40
North brunswick is not too far from Richmond , has a good social scene and is always looking for new players. You're welcome to come down when pre-season starts.

But if you're set on Richmond Centrals - Big Waz will find you a good home.
I have already slipped him a fifty to come down to Bulleen Ozza...

nellup
18 Oct 2007, 18:20
People,

Cheers

Dos,
Richmond centrals.Nth Brunswick or Bullen cobras are close and all great clubs with good of field people to back up their sides,Box hill Nth also not too far away,just a case of which suits you,Centrals are obviously the closest,and are a big tip to go places in 2008 but then the same could be said for the other 2,as to standard,don't know the standard of southern premier but if they feed VFL my guess is D4 may be a bit below this,Ok Ok I'm sorry fellas,:pon the plus side you may shine and be seen by the umps;):Dand before the mongrels here fill you in I'm the resident Maggot here.

spy1
18 Oct 2007, 18:52
People,

Cheers

I'll pump up Box Hill North. 10 mins on freeway. A progressive club with a lot of different things to your normal club. Playing stocks and performances are starting to match their off field accomplishments. Check out their website for a better idea.
http://www.boxhillnorthfc.com.au/
Richmond also have a very progressive, proactive committee who are starting to reap rewards on field as well. Waz and the boys would welcome any decent person to their fold.
Bulleen have gone through a rebirthing, with several older heads stepping out of senior footy. Seem to be headed in the right direction off field, on field should follow.
Nth Brunswick have worked hard to create a better club. Playing stocks were a little thin at times last year, but a good core of decent people and some talented new blood would also make them a fair choice.

VAFA is the most popular place to play footy outside of AFL/VFL due to their superior administration. We all critisise them occassionly, but they are strong and support clean open footy.
D4 may be at the lower end of the competition, but the standard has been on a sharp up curve in the last 4 seasons. There is also a strong commradery amongst D4 teams that is not as common at higher levels. One thing though. One of the As in VAFA stands for ammo. No payment to players is permitted. There are occassionly some clubs who will bend the rules, but for the most part we play for the love of the game.

Most clubs have a great family and social atmosphere. Should you need assistance with work or study all the clubs above mentioned would be happy to assist.
Good luck and hope you enjoy VAFA.

Lakey11
18 Oct 2007, 19:51
People,

Cheers

Hey Dos, welcome to sunny / windy Melbourne!

The Centrals are a great bunch and we start training Jan 8th, and mate no worries, first 10 beers on us! (Short stagger home)

Anyway, you'll find that most of the clubs are great and the boys at Nth Brunny, Bulleen, Nth Box Hill etc are pretty good too. (Not as good as the Centrals)

Cheers

Lakey

sixty5
18 Oct 2007, 20:13
Dos,
Richmond centrals.Nth Brunswick or Bullen cobras are close and all great clubs with good of field people to back up their sides,Box hill Nth also not too far away,just a case of which suits you,Centrals are obviously the closest,and are a big tip to go places in 2008 but then the same could be said for the other 2,as to standard,don't know the standard of southern premier but if they feed VFL my guess is D4 may be a bit below this,Ok Ok I'm sorry fellas,:pon the plus side you may shine and be seen by the umps;):Dand before the mongrels here fill you in I'm the resident Maggot here.
mongrels??? come on nelly is that the best you can do???

sadlife
18 Oct 2007, 20:24
heard a story from an asian friend that BHN Dragons have nothing to do with Box Hill Nth and they, the dragons, want to move or make or whatever a new club by themselves. I thought that had a few players playing for BHN. What is on Spy or Machine? would be a loss with players, etc.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif Anyway good luck to all D4's.

nellup
18 Oct 2007, 22:42
heard a story from an asian friend that BHN Dragons have nothing to do with Box Hill Nth and they, the dragons, want to move or make or whatever a new club by themselves. I thought that had a few players playing for BHN. What is on Spy or Machine? would be a loss with players, etc.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif Anyway good luck to all D4's.

Been asked down to BHN plenty of times and plenty of Dragons about the place,i know they have hopes of becoming their own club and good luck to them,but to say they have "nothing to do with BHN" by me is wrong,Spy may be able to enlighten further but what I saw was a great mix of cultures and plenty of encouragement from wise heads at BHN.there is one irritating bloke in the dragons mold,but we have a love hate relationship,only kidding:D

nellup
18 Oct 2007, 23:03
mongrels??? come on nelly is that the best you can do???

I was going to write "pack of B@rs%ards" 65 but I didn't want to give Dos a bad impression of D4;)

spy1
19 Oct 2007, 02:11

The Dragons are BHN.
Having said that, the major hitters in the evolution of the Dragons have always made it clear they aim to build into their own club in the future.
BHN is like a patron. We have given them the structure and support to get a team accepted into the VAFA.
Some members of the Dragons believe they are ready to jump out on their own right now.
They are due to have a General meeting very soon and this will be the main discussion point.
My personal opinion is this would be a premature move. There is a lot more to being a successful club than getting players to volunteer to play. I worry if they elect to go alone next season they will risk damaging what they have built so far. There is a push for them to do this in the SFL. Numbers appear to be split and it could be quite a willing discussion.
As much as BHN support the concept, we will not interfere with this meeting. If it is their choice to move away from Elgar Park, BHN will say good luck and wish them well.
BHN has, and will continue to encourage asian background players to join the club. There are several players playing senior and reserves who though of asian background, will continue to play in the red jumper no matter what the Dragons decide.
BHN will still be fielding an U/19 team next season, with or without the Dragons involvement.
If this answer is not clear enough maybe try PM to JPthe Chinaman who is the current skipper of the Dragons.

MrECA
19 Oct 2007, 09:19
People,

Cheers

St.Marys/Salesian AFC is certainly not to far from Richmond if you are seeking a slightly higher grade of football in D2. I'm sure you would enjoy any of those clubs previously mentioned. How old are you? as we have an extremely young playing list of skilful players who are committed to sticking together. One of the big advantages we have is being able to train on our ground pre season most clubs in melbourne do not have that luxury. We are based in Glen Iris. We have new lighting capabilities that were recently used at the swimming at the melbourne commonwealth games installed free of charge which gives us more light than they have at NASA shuttle launches. Courtesy of the caring boroondara council.
Please contact me privately or call someone listed on our website. Exciting times ahead for this footy team. It does appear we will be ready to enter an under 19's team this season as we have 20 players signed up for that already. With clubrooms to be improved by 2010 and the possibility of an electronic scoreboard things are certainly looking on the up and up.

crazybear
19 Oct 2007, 10:19
St.Marys/Salesian AFC is certainly not to far from Richmond if you are seeking a slightly higher grade of football in D2. I'm sure you would enjoy any of those clubs previously mentioned. How old are you? as we have an extremely young playing list of skilful players who are committed to sticking together. One of the big advantages we have is being able to train on our ground pre season most clubs in melbourne do not have that luxury. We are based in Glen Iris. We have new lighting capabilities that were recently used at the swimming at the melbourne commonwealth games installed free of charge which gives us more light than they have at NASA shuttle launches. Courtesy of the caring boroondara council.
Please contact me privately or call someone listed on our website. Exciting times ahead for this footy team. It does appear we will be ready to enter an under 19's team this season as we have 20 players signed up for that already. With clubrooms to be improved by 2010 and the possibility of an electronic scoreboard things are certainly looking on the up and up.
The Electronic scoreboard should see recruits flocking to Glen Iris. :rolleyes:

The Dos
19 Oct 2007, 11:28
Thanks very much for the info boys, there seems to be a million and one clubs to choose from, I cant believe just how many footy clubs there are around the Melbourne region.

Anyway, thanks again.