View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
arvosjunior
12 Sep 2006, 16:54
My humblest apologies to you Twirly. I was under the false belief it was posted by that serial pest Arvosjunior. I don't know who your source was but it was public for anyone to see as a tongue in cheek post on Eltham's forum.
As to my loyalties, you would be right, if you were not wrong. I can promise on all that is sacred to me, I am not a 'Crazy Hawks' supporter. I'll even narrow it down for you a little. I will be completely impartial as I frequent the canteen regularly this Saturday at Scammel Reserve.
Who are you spy1 to call me a serial pest??
I wear my heart on my sleeve and I like to say what I want. It's not my fault that certain players in our ones aren't up to scratch with playing footy. All I can say is that I will be playing in the early game on Saturday and after we smash powerhouse like we did in the semi finals then I will get on here and tell you what I really think of you.......
You must be a fat sack of s.hit who'll enjoy scoffing down those hot chips and donuts that they have at oakleigh. I'll expect to see someone who looks like the marshmellow man waddling his fat ass back and forth to the canteen all day.
InFineForm
12 Sep 2006, 16:59
We like your mum a bit wet as well King Turtle.
Said as 'a little bit of leverage' got a little bit of leverage on his tweeny weeny little knob with his tweesers.
That sort of ****e is nothing more than muck raking.
A little bit of leverage - time for you to take up 'leap frog' down at your local 'mens club'. YMCA style.
YOU R AN ABSOLUTE TWAT.
InFineForm
12 Sep 2006, 17:01
I wear my heart on my sleeve and I like to say what I want. It's not my fault that certain players in our ones aren't up to scratch with playing footy. All I can say is that I will be playing in the early game on Saturday and after we smash powerhouse like we did in the semi finals then I will get on here and tell you what I really think of you.......
You must be a fat sack of s.hit who'll enjoy scoffing down those hot chips and donuts that they have at oakleigh. I'll expect to see someone who looks like the marshmellow man waddling his fat ass back and forth to the canteen all day.
See previous post re 'A little bit of leverage' & apply same to this tool 'Arvojunior'.
king_turtle
12 Sep 2006, 17:17
See previous post re 'A little bit of leverage' & apply same to this tool 'Arvojunior'.
Here, here! It is clear that a little bit of leverage has no friends, too much time and a severe case of A.D.D.
Most people on here like Jp chinaman, spy1, king_cobra, etc etc like talking footy (and doing less work at work i suspect).
You have to remember football is played for fun, especially at our level. Come finals time, it is great to win, disppointing to lose. Everyone is trying their best, sometimes it isn't good enough.
Coach Hollywood
12 Sep 2006, 17:19
InFineForm is exactly that "In Fine Form" ATM. Spot on with that Little Bit of Leverage comment, bagging someone's mum is just not on! But as for Avrosjunior I think he's just having a crack and those comments were a bit harsh.
I'll be coming out to Scammell Reserve to see how the Turtles 2's go on Saturday, Chipper has been talking him self up for way too long now and I'll have to see if he puts his money where his mouth his?
I may have to join the Tux shop possie Saturday also by the sounds of things, I played there this season and had a salad roll which was great, but may have to upgade to the hot dogs and donuts for a final.
ReD bLuE + GoLd
12 Sep 2006, 17:39
haha, good old D4 section, i hav 2 ask the question, y is it that u guyz r either involved or play in a section this embarrasing, works out 2 b DiV 7.
king_turtle
12 Sep 2006, 17:54
haha, good old D4 section, i hav 2 ask the question, y is it that u guyz r either involved or play in a section this embarrasing, works out 2 b DiV 7.
This section is very competitive, and the higher finishing teams display exellent skill levels. It wouldn't matter if there were 100 sections, someone has to play in the bottom section. Having played in higher grade ammos before there is not alot of difference in the speed of the game or skills used, rather clubs that are in lower grades are poorly managed and have no 'feeder' junior teams, as well as lack of finance (sponsorship or otherwise). I suggest you go and pay your ten dollars on saturday and enjoy two well fought out games. Where petty little free kicks aren't given like in the A.F.L.
If idiots keep posting s***e on here i will soon be giving everyone a w****r rating.
Lout, The Power House players have been placing their energies into getting their pride back and they've done a fair bit to achieve that on the field with one more hurdle to conquer. From what I hear, the sledging on the sidelines from Power House supporters was in response to unwarranted and unprovoked sledging from Eltham who were down and out at the time - would you respond if you were the leading side and were copping it from a side about to go out in straight sets? - I think so. What's wrong with a bit of sledging anyway. It's great to see the passion.
Geezus a bloke goes to work and all hell breaks loose (and I fall 2 pages behind). Vegemite, from where I was standing, nice and warm under cover, there was some sledging, but the Powerhouse supporters seemed to take great delight in directing their replies to one incident, and they seemed to take great pride in such a heartless act!
Tip for the weekend tuckshop crew....... STAY AWAY FROM THE PIES!! They were mushy and microwaved. The chips are worth the wait, though there is only Pepsi to wash em down with.
ReD bLuE + GoLd
12 Sep 2006, 22:09
This section is very competitive, and the higher finishing teams display exellent skill levels. It wouldn't matter if there were 100 sections, someone has to play in the bottom section. Having played in higher grade ammos before there is not alot of difference in the speed of the game or skills used, rather clubs that are in lower grades are poorly managed and have no 'feeder' junior teams, as well as lack of finance (sponsorship or otherwise). I suggest you go and pay your ten dollars on saturday and enjoy two well fought out games. Where petty little free kicks aren't given like in the A.F.L.
If idiots keep posting s***e on here i will soon be giving everyone a w****r rating.
haha, what are u m8 an old retiree whos havin a run in a d4 section. you cant tell me that the like of d4 even compares a little to that of a,b and c section. someone has to be in those lower levels??
Usually the crap ones m8, thats y there in the lowest division, because they can't compete against higher ranked sides.
If I was to be verbally attacked by a serious poster I would be either upset or angry.
I would certainly try to defend myself.
But when someone of Arvosjunior lack of credability tries to incite me I won't give them the credit of replying.
This forum is full of people who enjoy friendly banter. I am more than happy to engage them at anytime in intelligent exchanges of our respective views.
topturtle
12 Sep 2006, 22:22
Hopefully this is the last post by arvosjunior....
As pointed out by more than one regular poster (with no allegiance to Eltham Collegians) it has been made clear that arvosjunior is not a member/player with the turtles. I don't know what his motivation is (feel free to let us know) but arvosjunior is masquerading as a turtle and making controversial statements about other D4 clubs and their players. Arvosjunior if you have a deep dislike of the turtles, just express your opinions without feeling the need to pretend that you play at the club. Again, for the record - you made it clear that you weren't a member of the turtles when you posted on the D3 thread weeks ago, talking about an incident involving blokes from D3 clubs that no-one at our club would know.
Full credit to Powerhouse and Hawthorn over the last two weeks, the turtles were beaten by better sides. No excuses.
As for the comment about the winner of the GF bringing the cup to our wake, I reckon the winners will have better things to do - like celebrating.
Hopefully the D4 thread can return to some intelligent footy talk or at least good natured banter, without the low grade rubbish we have had recently.
haha, what are u m8 an old retiree whos havin a run in a d4 section. you cant tell me that the like of d4 even compares a little to that of a,b and c section. someone has to be in those lower levels??
Usually the crap ones m8, thats y there in the lowest division, because they can't compete against higher ranked sides.
The question begs asking; so what the flip are you doing here in the D4 thread?
Did you think, mistakenly, that a lower grade of footy equated to a lower IQ?
Sorry buddy, try the Southern Footy League thread. You might find someone there who has drunk enough during games, killing off an extensive amount of brain cells, to communicate at your level.
I know of one team in the 7th div of VAFA that played a grudge match practice game this season. The opposition, who had sworn to wipe the floor with the ammos team, got their tales run off. That losing team played in the EFL div4 grand final last Sunday.
HewGilligan
13 Sep 2006, 02:59
Well done 'arvosjunior'!
Spy1 was very generous in his reply. Serial pest? rodent?
Piddle around on Saturday and plenty to accommodate u by the canteen on Saturday!
HewGilligan
13 Sep 2006, 03:04
ReDbLue + Gold
Thick as a 'b'rick remark.
Curious as to the make up of the A, B and C Sections for that matter.
Brown paper bags, under the counter, club officials signing off on toilet paper that they 'don't' pay players.
Therein shoots the credibility of the VAFA and your club!
a little bit of leverage
13 Sep 2006, 08:42
King Turtle,
I will apologise for everyone to see for making some unjustified remarks about your mother, I am sure she is quite a lovely lady who is well respected.
King Turtle,
I will apologise for everyone to see for making some unjustified remarks about your mother, I am sure she is quite a lovely lady who is well respected.
Yeah, let's keep remarks about peoples mothers and sisters off this thread and where they belong.....in World Cup Finals.
a little bit of leverage
13 Sep 2006, 09:09
Yes I do agree with you spy1.
The forecast looks sensational for Saturday last time I checked, fine and sunny for a top of 20 degrees. You couldn't ask for a better day for a Granny at this time of year!!!
King_Cobra
13 Sep 2006, 11:37
Oh my what a big man u must be that u feel the need to jump on a lower grades thread and bag them, do u also like to pick on disabled people 2. The only thing embarrasing is the sad life u must have to feel the need make urself feel better by picking on someone who is not as "good" as urself. Everybody needs to find there level just because im not as skillful as some doesnt mean that i shouldnt be able to play the game. There is alot of people involved in D4 playing and otherwise that have a lot of passion for the game. Like i said before i might be as "good" as u are but i know i play for all the right reasons with a heart that i would back against most playing the game.
Its F*** wits like yourself that put many a kid off playing the game so why dont u just grow up a p*** off back to where u came.
JP the Chinaman
13 Sep 2006, 13:49
Just ignore him.
Anyway, back to the footy this weekend...Forecast by leverage suggest a nice day, this should see a nice cracking, high scoring game..up and down the ground...with everything that a GF should be...don't worry too much about the canteen boys, bring your own food like me, I'll be sitting behind the goals cheering Danno on with my bowl of Fried Rice and GongBao Chicken...hahaha...
Let's keep up the good banter and leave out mums, sisters...and the like...Go Hawks.:thumbsu:
ReD bLuE + GoLd
13 Sep 2006, 16:24
Oh my what a big man u must be that u feel the need to jump on a lower grades thread and bag them, do u also like to pick on disabled people 2. The only thing embarrasing is the sad life u must have to feel the need make urself feel better by picking on someone who is not as "good" as urself. Everybody needs to find there level just because im not as skillful as some doesnt mean that i shouldnt be able to play the game. There is alot of people involved in D4 playing and otherwise that have a lot of passion for the game. Like i said before i might be as "good" as u are but i know i play for all the right reasons with a heart that i would back against most playing the game.
Its F*** wits like yourself that put many a kid off playing the game so why dont u just grow up a p*** off back to where u came.
Well, i may ask you something, where did you pull that quote from "with a heart that i would back against most playing the game". In a game of football, i think you may need skill to be good, a copout like that regarding to the size of your heart just shows that you are obviously not 'talented' and refer to comparing your heart size to your opponents rather than your actual ability at football?
Sorry mate, but i think even an 'arvojunior' with a 'sad life' would be happier getting his dinner cooked for him during the night, than running around in D4 section. Just hopefully theres enough trees in Australia, after all the D4 section is printed off last. (Would hate for that not to be printed off)
vegemite
13 Sep 2006, 17:05
Well, i may ask you something, where did you pull that quote from "with a heart that i would back against most playing the game". In a game of football, i think you may need skill to be good, a copout like that regarding to the size of your heart just shows that you are obviously not 'talented' and refer to comparing your heart size to your opponents rather than your actual ability at football?
Sorry mate, but i think even an 'arvojunior' with a 'sad life' would be happier getting his dinner cooked for him during the night, than running around in D4 section. Just hopefully theres enough trees in Australia, after all the D4 section is printed off last. (Would hate for that not to be printed off)
Red, Blue and gold, Can you identify yourself and your club so that we can come to your presentation night and bow to you. You are obviously a better person than we are, and earn a shipload of money from playing football at the highest level. Congratulations on being such a superstar.
a little bit of leverage
13 Sep 2006, 17:23
If you have a look in the record, you will find that the Club 18 & the Under 19's both come after D4.....
I think the only paper bag this bloke would recieve would be one with s**t in that was set on fire on his front door step. He would be stupid enough to stomp it out at the same time. Not one filled with cash under the table
ReD bLuE + GoLd
13 Sep 2006, 18:43
If you have a look in the record, you will find that the Club 18 & the Under 19's both come after D4.....
I think the only paper bag this bloke would recieve would be one with s**t in that was set on fire on his front door step. He would be stupid enough to stomp it out at the same time. Not one filled with cash under the table
You may say i would be stupid enough to 'stomp the **** out', however you don't no weather i am stupid or not. However you blokes have already proven yourself, playing in D4 that is lol, what a joke.
That would be nice if you could bow to me at my clubs presentation night, just wondering...do clubs in D4 have presentation nights, or are all the retirees getting tucked into bed, with their pension inn their pockets??
Ace High
13 Sep 2006, 19:18
You may say i would be stupid enough to 'stomp the **** out', however you don't no weather i am stupid or not. However you blokes have already proven yourself, playing in D4 that is lol, what a joke.
That would be nice if you could bow to me at my clubs presentation night, just wondering...do clubs in D4 have presentation nights, or are all the retirees getting tucked into bed, with their pension inn their pockets??
I’m pretty sure that your lack of grammatical ability is enough for forum uses to make a decision on whether you are stupid or not. In regards to your comment about D4 being made up of retirees, the average age of our club is around 24-25, pretty lucky to be retiring at that age.
If you had any idea you would realise that we play footy for the love of the game and to spend time with our mates (I understand if you don’t get the latter reason)
Before you get upon your high horse to slag our league, get your facts right and run a quick spell check over your comments, you lousy flog.
What'saname
13 Sep 2006, 19:32
Just giving my selections for Saturday.
Eltham in the 2nds
Hawthorn in the 1sts
Sorry Powerhouse, good luck in D3 (or should I say Division 6)
Ifeellikechickentonight
13 Sep 2006, 20:25
R b+ G
I think someone has jumped in already but the following needs to be corrected; "however you don't know whether(not weather) I'm stupid or not"
Perhaps your head is in the clouds...stupid!
Ahh RB and G. If you will not name the club you are from , how about the division and league at least.To make comments like these you need at least something to stand by. I know 4th Divvy EFL clubs and 2nd Div Diamond Valley who would be chewed up and spat out by some D4 clubs.
Before you reply with some scathing retort, know i am not from D4 myself, however am a VAFA supporter who strongly believes you should know what you are stirring before you put the spoon,or in your case boot, in your mouth.
Coach Hollywood
13 Sep 2006, 21:53
Ahh RB and G. If you will not name the club you are from , how about the division and league at least.To make comments like these you need at least something to stand by. I know 4th Divvy EFL clubs and 2nd Div Diamond Valley who would be chewed up and spat out by some D4 clubs.
Red Blue & Gold are the St Beds/Mentone colours and that's where he's from. Takes 2 clubs to merge before they even become any good, he will be in B Grade next season, but probably only runs the boundary in the 2's anyway?
You play footy because you love it, not so you can brag about how good your team is, especially when your only a passenger RB&G.
a little bit of leverage
13 Sep 2006, 21:53
Before you reply with some scathing retort, know i am not from D4 myself, however am a VAFA supporter who strongly believes you should know what you are stirring before you put the spoon,or in your case boot, in your mouth.
He has been making posts on the C section forum on this site. From what he says on this forum it seems to be that he is from ST Bede Mentone who are in the Grand Final this week. They were undeafeted until the 2nd semi final and then they had a hiccup and lost to AJAX, hopefully this happens again on Saturday. Then he will be eating humble pie
Boomeroo
14 Sep 2006, 00:52
SO FUNNY... Straight sets for the loud mouths up north.
Couldn't cut the mustard without Galvin.
Archangel17
14 Sep 2006, 08:37
In that case he has most likely never set foot in D4 game, and seems to have no concept of playing for a jumper. Very sad for St Bedes if he actually plays.Suspect he is a borderline twos player, or non-player. regardless no point listening to more of his drivel.
If you were man enough you would tell us your club... if you have to ask your mum permission to get your b*lls out of her purse I understand....but then again you probably have none to begin with...
a little bit of leverage
14 Sep 2006, 11:13
Yes that is funny........ Have Eltham ever gotten out of the lowest level of the Ammos by winning a flag let alone winning a final????
ReD bLuE + GoLd
14 Sep 2006, 11:14
If you were man enough you would tell us your club... if you have to ask your mum permission to get your b*lls out of her purse I understand....but then again you probably have none to begin with...
I can honestly say, that i am not asscociated with St. Bedes Mentone Tigers. Yes i do have my say, however talk alot in other sections.
And as for everyone noe having their say and 'ganging up' it's nice to know that i have takent he wheels off this chatroom in D4.
You may all think you have worked out where i am from , which you are all incoreect....Lets just hope your kids are as bad as you guys as trying to find things out. That would mean and hopefully they take your good form in and not fing out that you boys run around in D4 lol....
That;s me signing off for the fellas, good luck...most likely in the Club 18
a little bit of leverage
14 Sep 2006, 11:31
I can honestly say, that i am not asscociated with St. Bedes Mentone Tigers. Yes i do have my say, however talk alot in other sections.
And as for everyone noe having their say and 'ganging up' it's nice to know that i have takent he wheels off this chatroom in D4.
You may all think you have worked out where i am from , which you are all incoreect....Lets just hope your kids are as bad as you guys as trying to find things out. That would mean and hopefully they take your good form in and not fing out that you boys run around in D4 lol....
That;s me signing off for the fellas, good luck...most likely in the Club 18
You should learn how to use spell check......
You should learn how to use spell check......How can you teach someone who has his head up his a*se
rightfoot_sloth
14 Sep 2006, 12:52
Let's get back to footy :) ! How many goals is Edwards going to kick this week in GF? Also I was impressed on Saturday with Dave Grahek in the first half on Saturday and got some good clearances for the 'House in the centre. I reckon Hawthorn should be looking at him pretty closely. It should be pretty good conditions on Saturday for the both of the Full Forwards and the ground should be spot on.
Spoken like a man whos' club already has the silverware in the clubrooms!! I keep harping at it..... RELEGATED:o . Maybe back with the rest again in 2 years?
Let's get back to footy :) ! How many goals is Edwards going to kick this week in GF? Also I was impressed on Saturday with Dave Grahek in the first half on Saturday and got some good clearances for the 'House in the centre. I reckon Hawthorn should be looking at him pretty closely. It should be pretty good conditions on Saturday for the both of the Full Forwards and the ground should be spot on.
Not sure of his name, but Jesus with art work for Powerhouse did play a great game in the engine room on Saturday.
a little bit of leverage
14 Sep 2006, 13:37
I think Eddo would have to kick a bag for Powerhouse to win...
I was reading the record from a couple of weeks ago and I was surprised when it said that the next highest goal kicker from Powerhouse had 18 goals.
It seems that a lot rests on the performance of Eddo
king_turtle
14 Sep 2006, 13:56
Does anyone have any thoughts on:
The weather
The size of the ground
The speed/size of the house/hawthorn
and how each could influence the outcome of the match.
Twirl21
14 Sep 2006, 14:02
I was reading the record from a couple of weeks ago and I was surprised when it said that the next highest goal kicker from Powerhouse had 18 goals.
Interestingly, last time they met, Edwards kicked only 1 goal to Lauletta's 7. Don't like his chances of kicking a bag this weekend, especially with the likes of Ridley, Ogge and Avery down back for the Hawks........
JP the Chinaman
14 Sep 2006, 14:16
What? Twirl, where did you get the team sheet? Didn't know team was picked...no point for me to bring my gear then...hahahaha...I thought I was a sure thing for the full back possie...just kidding...go Hawks...:thumbsu:
Twirl21
14 Sep 2006, 15:21
What? Twirl, where did you get the team sheet? Didn't know team was picked...no point for me to bring my gear then...hahahaha...I thought I was a sure thing for the full back possie...just kidding...go Hawks...:thumbsu:
Team's not picked JP - was just a guess he he............You would do a good job down there though. Bring your gear just in case mate..........GO HAWKIES!
king_turtle
14 Sep 2006, 15:32
Alot does rest on eddo, we tried to shut him down and did a fairly good job of doing so, but he still got 5. He's a good player and in the Grand Final this sat he will fire again.
a little bit of leverage
14 Sep 2006, 15:46
Alot does rest on eddo, we tried to shut him down and did a fairly good job of doing so, but he still got 5. He's a good player and in the Grand Final this sat he will fire again.
What was the feeling like after your game on the Weekend, King Turtle?
You guys have never done well in finals..... Surley this must be another kick in the guts after dominating for the majority of the year
king_turtle
14 Sep 2006, 16:02
You guys have never done well in finals..... Surley this must be another kick in the guts after dominating for the majority of the year
I'm not really sure how to answer that, it's fairly obvious the feeling wasn't good. Like i've said before, our seconds are a real chance at bringing home the flag this weekend and the 1sts gave it a good shot, especially considering we lost one of our best players and a few other key players were under an injury cloud. It's not a kick in the guts, it's good finals experience, and yes, it's disappointing.
JP the Chinaman
14 Sep 2006, 16:08
thanks Twirl, only if Barrel knows how to turn on his computer...hahaha...playing backline is not my favorite thing tho...Alan Mok and the Turtles should run a-Mok in the twos GF...what a bad example of trying to make things rhyme...:thumbsu:
oh and go Hawkies...
By the way, with us finishing off with Glenferrie and going back to Rathmines next year...what do you as oppositions think about the ground, any feeling when coming to play us there??? I felt special everytime I go through the gates.
king_turtle
14 Sep 2006, 16:21
By the way, with us finishing off with Glenferrie and going back to Rathmines next year...what do you as oppositions think about the ground, any feeling when coming to play us there??? I felt special everytime I go through the gates.
You are special jpchinaman! haha just kidding. It was just exciting to play on the same ground as the likes of brereton, dunstall etc played. Tell the kids about it one day. Pitty our rooms didn't have any showers. Do you know who will play there next year? if anyone?
topturtle
14 Sep 2006, 16:22
It was the first time we have made the finals since 2001!! - and that was an elimination final when D4 had a five!
Very disappointing though after a great first half of the year - remember the Hawks finished on top and Powerhouse only won one less game than us. I would think three teams dominated the majority of the year.No excuses - not good enough in the finals. looking to next year like the other 7 clubs who are finished.
GF should be a ripper.
sImpLy f0oTy
14 Sep 2006, 16:25
How do you think Edwards would go in a divsion such as C Grade.?
Obviously the skill level would be quite better, with better defenders, whom would sit on his tail all day, as oposed to the level of defenders in D4.
Yeah, pity about toilets and showers being absent in the change rooms for visiting teams. If it wasn't for that I would have been rapt to see the whole final series played there.
BTW, anyone got a copy of this week's Ammo Footballer yet? Interested to see who young Sill put in his D4 Team of the Year.
Abba Lonie
14 Sep 2006, 17:20
How do you think Edwards would go in a divsion such as C Grade.?
Obviously the skill level would be quite better, with better defenders, whom would sit on his tail all day, as oposed to the level of defenders in D4.
He did pretty well when he played in C Grade last year, 74 goals in a team that won 2 games.
king_turtle
14 Sep 2006, 17:50
He did pretty well when he played in C Grade last year, 74 goals in a team that won 2 games.
So....In C section in a side that won 2 games he kicked 74 goals
and In D4 section in a side that won 16 out of 20 inc. finals he kicked 110 goals.
I think that a side that is winning that many more games would give him at least 20-30 more goals a season.
What i'm getting at is that D4 is very competitive, edwards has kicked 36 more goals (but in a successful side, who has played 2 finals (8goals P.ed kicked in finals).
110 (-10 goals in finals) (- 25 winning side) = 75 goals
King_Cobra
14 Sep 2006, 18:27
Yeah, pity about toilets and showers being absent in the change rooms for visiting teams. If it wasn't for that I would have been rapt to see the whole final series played there.
BTW, anyone got a copy of this week's Ammo Footballer yet? Interested to see who young Sill put in his D4 Team of the Year.
Arn't you Ed Sill......Thats the rumour!!!!!!
Is it really ?
KC you flatter me.
I know young Edward, fine figure of a man. I would be honoured to be put in his class.
I am not he, but if I was, I would surely pick a full fwd line of -Lauletta=Edwards=Penny.
Looks like we will get a new scribe next year with Hawthorn going to D3.
So....In C section in a side that won 2 games he kicked 74 goals
and In D4 section in a side that won 16 out of 20 inc. finals he kicked 110 goals.
I think that a side that is winning that many more games would give him at least 20-30 more goals a season.
What i'm getting at is that D4 is very competitive, edwards has kicked 36 more goals (but in a successful side, who has played 2 finals (8goals P.ed kicked in finals).
110 (-10 goals in finals) (- 25 winning side) = 75 goals
Come clean Turtle, your a CPA aren't you?
King_Cobra
14 Sep 2006, 19:31
Is it really ?
KC you flatter me.
I know young Edward, fine figure of a man. I would be honoured to be put in his class.
I am not he, but if I was, I would surely pick a full fwd line of -Lauletta=Edwards=Penny.
Looks like we will get a new scribe next year with Hawthorn going to D3.
Trying to throw us of the scent now are we!!!!!! Only the man himself would discribe him as a fine figure of a man....He has afigure about as good as mine.....LOL>>
Ahh, but infinately trimmer than mine.
King_Cobra
14 Sep 2006, 22:45
BTW, anyone got a copy of this week's Ammo Footballer yet? Interested to see who young Sill put in his D4 Team of the Year.[/quote]
Ed,
Can u post the team of the year as we no longer get the footballer because we arnt in the finals race any more.
I am very interested he who u picked in the team.
Ed,
Can u post the team of the year as we no longer get the footballer because we arnt in the finals race any more.
I am very interested he who u picked in the team.[/quote]
KC you are so much more entertaining once your season is over.
Actually in one of the lost posts from last week, Chickeebabe posted a bitch about how even when you are out of the finals race, they still put 10 copies at Kew for you, and charge you for it.
Ace High
15 Sep 2006, 00:12
For those who do not have access to "the amateur footballer" yet...
B: P. Sosic (PH) D. Boland (PH) B. Robinson (Syn)
HB: R. Runco (EC) C. Liston (BHN) D. Payne (EP)
C: R. Foo (EC) J. Galvin (EC) R. Baker (AP)
HF: C. Cachia (Syn) D. Lauletta (Haw) B. Cookson (BC)
F: M. Blagrove (EC) D. Edwards (PH) D. Penny (BHN)
R: W. McIndoe (AP) G. Turner (EC) L. Aitken (Haw)
Inter: J. Dawson (haw) J. Boudoloh (NB) D. Speakman (Rich)
B. Brady (PH)
Coach: Peter Armstrong (BHN)
vegemite
15 Sep 2006, 12:22
Geez, I woulda thought this would be a huge day on Big Footy and we've all gone quiet. Who will win, margins, BOG and why? I'm biased so I'll keep out.
B. Brady (PH)
Not a bad side! Question is how many would Lauletta feed to Edwards???
JP the Chinaman
15 Sep 2006, 13:10
Hawks by 10 goals, best on ground Danno...who kicks 7.2, big big day at Oakleigh tomorrow...Go Hawkies...
PWH twos to win the flag...because I asked them to do me that little favour...they gotta beat the turtles...:thumbsu: ...I don't want to see Moky and his smug face next year...wait a minute...I won't because Hawks are in D3...hahahaha....Go Hawkies...:D
What'saname
15 Sep 2006, 19:34
B. Brady (PH)
Just want to know is it compulsory for at least on member from each team get a mention. Talking about the North Brunswick and Richmond player. Or are they worthy of making this team.
I am unfamiliar with any criteria,other than to pick the best side possible.
As to the 2 players in question; #8 from Richmond has always starred in a team where you have to get it the hard way. He is setting a great example to his improving troops and plays the ball at all times.
Big 'Moose' had a stella year. When many around him seemed happy to take the easy road of 2s footy the big fella put his heart and soul into every game. Played at full fwd early in the year but from about rd.8 shouldered the ruck duties all alone.
I'd be happy to have either in my side.
And no KC, I'm not Ed Sill.
Redders_i.d.
15 Sep 2006, 20:53
Didn't Speakman get 17 best players from 17 games?
Redders_i.d.
15 Sep 2006, 20:56
I am unfamiliar with any criteria,other than to pick the best side possible.
As to the 2 players in question; #8 from Richmond has always starred in a team where you have to get it the hard way. He is setting a great example to his improving troops and plays the ball at all times.
Big 'Moose' had a stella year. When many around him seemed happy to take the easy road of 2s footy the big fella put his heart and soul into every game. Played at full fwd early in the year but from about rd.8 shouldered the ruck duties all alone.
I'd be happy to have either in my side.
And no KC, I'm not Ed Sill.
Thanks for that Ed(?),
I do remember the days at Merimbula and Spy v Spy in the newsletter. Could it be you from down there?? or were you involved in the Brown & Gold in the late 80s???
Redders_i.d.
15 Sep 2006, 20:59
Thanks for that Ed(?),
I do remember the days at Merimbula and Spy v Spy in the newsletter. Could it be you from down there?? or were you involved in the Brown & Gold in the late 80s???
Oh and by the way, the Barrel seems to have an affinity with food and could this have been exploited by JP the Chinaman (self proclaimed Asian Jamie Oliver) to snare a spot on the bench for tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing.
Red Dragone, you seem well informed. How much is truth and how much is mirth?
Redders_i.d.
15 Sep 2006, 21:42
Red Dragone, you seem well informed. How much is truth and how much is mirth?
I've been around longer than Hawthorn's Chinaman but less than Uncle from Bulleen if thats any help.
JP the Chinaman
16 Sep 2006, 11:48
no chance of that...I'm about to go out for a run and then go down to Oakleigh to see big Danno tear up PWH...should be a cracker...Go Hawkies...
Redders_i.d.
16 Sep 2006, 18:48
no chance of that...I'm about to go out for a run and then go down to Oakleigh to see big Danno tear up PWH...should be a cracker...Go Hawkies...
Okay so well done to Powerhouse. A dream to win all 3 finals and the last 2 very convincingly. Bad luck to Jacko, probably needed a grand final draw to get back from a hammy. Understandably distraught before game.
The full forward battle definitely went Edwards way. Too strong for his agile but light opponent. Big Dan was good on the ground but the full back took away his marking with some top spoiling. Tyson and Pritchard quiter than there talent would have dictated.
Oh and was that a "spy" cam in the canteen - clasic sign by someone.
JP the Chinaman
16 Sep 2006, 22:37
sad day for the Hawkies...
Okay so well done to Powerhouse. A dream to win all 3 finals and the last 2 very convincingly. Bad luck to Jacko, probably needed a grand final draw to get back from a hammy. Understandably distraught before game.
The full forward battle definitely went Edwards way. Too strong for his agile but light opponent. Big Dan was good on the ground but the full back took away his marking with some top spoiling. Tyson and Pritchard quiter than there talent would have dictated.
Oh and was that a "spy" cam in the canteen - clasic sign by someone.
OK; who was the wag who put the WANTED sign next to the canteen.
Jeez, I felt I should be wearing a false beard, dark glasses and a hat.
Chips were crackers but I was disappointed there were no hot dogs. Took the opportunity to grab some Kentucky when had to move the car at half time.
Anyway it was an interesting game till early in the last. Great day for footy and although the skills were down a tad it was due to the great pressure applied by both teams. I for one love to see a contest and when you get a flash of brilliance it is more appreciated. Congrats to Power House and good luck to both mobs in D3.
JP don't forget us and say hello every now and again.
Now when does preseason start?
[QUOTE=Redders_i.d.]. Bad luck to Jacko, probably needed a grand final draw to get back from a hammy. Understandably distraught before game.
I think they call that Karma
Well done to the house and my old mate knobby(is he still skipper?) always had a bit of respect for the house, good bunch of blokes.
PointPaul
17 Sep 2006, 14:09
Bad luck for Jacko and Hawthorn yesterday? Absolutely sensational and karma at its best. What more could you ask for with the Turtles turning it up AGAIN the week previous.
Still looking for remnants of 'big' Dan's heartstrings at Scammell Reserve.
Perhaps Jacko's may be nearby!
Well down the House.
Abba Lonie
17 Sep 2006, 14:48
How many kicks did Lauletta get? Was it 4 or 5?
Ease up on Lauletta guys. Yes there are some Hawk guys that get up your nose with their yap sometimes, but I have always found Lauletta is only up for the footy. Rather than bag him for yesterday I would give credit to his opponent, who spoiled well all day and managed to run off a lot as well. The other factor was the lack of good supply. I was surprised he wasn't given a run on the ball to get him going or to help cut PH's run on in the third term.
JP the Chinaman
17 Sep 2006, 19:31
yeah, i think you guys are getting Danno all wrong man...he is all about footy and all about winning...good bloke, good captain...
Ifeellikechickentonight
17 Sep 2006, 23:00
It's beautiful to see the natural laws of nature (karma) working at its best yesterday.
"It was just like a circus", just to use one of Jason Jackomos's favourite quotes. Such a petty the clubs head court jester was struck down with karmatitis.
Sorry Ridley, no tears from this supporter let alone sympathy.
One more time for you Jacko:
"IT WAS JUST LIKE A CIRCUS"
What the heck, once more:
vegemite
18 Sep 2006, 10:31
As potentially the only Power House person currently not in a comatosed state (it's been a huge weekend with millions of stories), I'd like to congratulate Hawthorn on their great record of 14 or so wins straight and commisserate with them (and Eltham 2s) on losing the big one. We were lucky to time our run well and went in to the match feeling confident. Our side that got thrashed in round 11 was decimated, and the 10 new faces including some of our very best in the GF side made a huge difference. The other 10 that played that day played in the 2s. Our biggest test was reversing the Box Hill round 18 loss. Once we did that, we always thought we were a chance. It was a great grand final - good, hard, tough, but fair footy. The Hawks were still having a real crack in the 3rd quarter, but we were lucky to produce what was potentially our best quarter of the year and pinch a bit of a break. Roll on 2006.
Flowerpower
18 Sep 2006, 11:01
Congratulations Powerhouse - well played. I reckon Box Hill North must be feeling like they nearly got there - always next year fellas!
In all honesty, it must be a hollow feeling at present for Hawthorn, having lost the GF but still get promoted.
I'm not having a go at Hawthorn, but I feel it is a flawed system to reward a loser. (whether that be B, C D1 grade etc).
Last year St Marys were promoted after losing the GF, and are back down in D4 for season 2007. Elsternwick made the D3 finals...........
Interested in others opinions.
vegemite
18 Sep 2006, 11:28
Congratulations Powerhouse - well played. I reckon Box Hill North must be feeling like they nearly got there - always next year fellas!
In all honesty, it must be a hollow feeling at present for Hawthorn, having lost the GF but still get promoted.
I'm not having a go at Hawthorn, but I feel it is a flawed system to reward a loser. (whether that be B, C D1 grade etc).
Last year St Marys were promoted after losing the GF, and are back down in D4 for season 2007. Elsternwick made the D3 finals...........
I don't know. Hawthorn would have been very competitive in D3 and finshed higher than the bottom 2 D3 sides and possibly a few more teams I'd imagine. I reckon stick with promoting and demoting 2 sides. Yeah you're rewarding a loser but they still achieved a lot and deserve to benefit somehow from making the granny.
Redders_i.d.
18 Sep 2006, 12:24
With 70 clubs, feel it is correct to have 2 up and 2 down. Rupertswood have been runners up in D1,D2& D3 as well as premiers in D4 in last 5 years. They deserve to be in C level and have not been hampered by losing 3 (ie have still managed to recruit well to improve to the next level).
Redders_i.d.
18 Sep 2006, 12:26
It's beautiful to see the natural laws of nature (karma) working at its best yesterday.
"It was just like a circus", just to use one of Jason Jackomos's favourite quotes. Such a petty the clubs head court jester was struck down with karmatitis.
Sorry Ridley, no tears from this supporter let alone sympathy.
One more time for you Jacko:
What the heck, once more:
Careful you don't make the same mistake as Jacko
InFineForm
18 Sep 2006, 14:53
Hawthorn are a much better team & much better equipped to make the transition successfully. (To be honest I still can't believe they got beaten.) St Mary's were an old team that (and this sort of statement has been heavily criticised before, but was genuine in this instance) wouldn't have beaten Bulleen apart from injuries received against Elsternwick in the 2nd semi.
Unless they paid big coin this year (and I don't think they had it to spend) they were destined to come straight back.
Hawthorn are good enough to challenge for the four in D3 next year, as a few D4 > D3 clubs have in recent years.
Coach Hollywood
20 Sep 2006, 12:14
Who would be the favourites for the D4 flag next year?
St Mary's or Eltham College? What do you think?
port-man_fc
20 Sep 2006, 13:15
Depending on how well they recruit, and how fit they are!!! I asked questions in the D3 tread on St Marys and the D3 boys rate there chances of coming back up. Eltham need to learn from there finals mistakes this year and if they do they should have an even better season next year!!! I cant say who'd be favourite but i'd imagine it would be close.....
I personaly think the top 4 sides year will consist of -
TOP 3 (in no order) St Mary's, Eltham, Box Hill North - (smokies 4 premiership).
Then Bulleen and Syndal to tie on points for 4th
vegemite
20 Sep 2006, 14:25
Don't know much about St Mary's but I'd say Box Hill are the main force to be reckoned with based on their improvement through the season and seeing them play in the finals. Eltham need a few more tough in and under players and if they don't get them, they'll end up in a similar position next year. Out of the 3 finals Power House played, I would say that the feeling before the Eltham game was by far the most confident. We'd just been thrashed by Box Hill and there was an element of the unknown with Hawthorn. Bulleen give me the impression that they lack a bit of depth so if they can bolster themselves a bit or have a great run with injuries, they'll be in contention. Albert Park have Bedford again and their improved performances combined with some quality recruits should not rule them out. UHS-VU give the impression of being a very proud club and I'd expect them to bounce back as well.
PointPaul
21 Sep 2006, 00:24
Eltham standouts by the length of the straight. Main dangers the unknown UHS and St Marys.
As for the rest expect Albert Park to be in the finals and a real hope come September.
Very little from rest of D4 grade this season. Syndal a finals chance but just a little short, Box Hill have had their moment of glory, caught many teams off their guard. Richmond to finally avoid the spoon and happily hand that to North Brunswick.
Archangel17
21 Sep 2006, 08:43
Guys - Box Hill are builiding each year- dont be surprised to see them running around with an u19 next year- maybe a joint venture with Surrey Park. - They and St Mary's would be my favorites for flag,but not writing off Eltham and Albert Park- looking like it could be a very interesting comp as UHSOB and Bulleen would be in the picture too.
vegemite
21 Sep 2006, 11:46
Eltham standouts by the length of the straight. Main dangers the unknown UHS and St Marys.
As for the rest expect Albert Park to be in the finals and a real hope come September.
Very little from rest of D4 grade this season. Syndal a finals chance but just a little short, Box Hill have had their moment of glory, caught many teams off their guard. Richmond to finally avoid the spoon and happily hand that to North Brunswick.
PointPaul, Little whippets that hang out don't win games in finals football. How are Eltham going to address this? Have they got recruits on the way.
JP the Chinaman
21 Sep 2006, 14:08
My top four for next year:
1. St.Mary's
2. Eltham
3. UHS
4. Richmond
take that!!!:thumbsu:
rightfoot_sloth
21 Sep 2006, 14:33
My top for for next year:
1. St.Mary's
2. Eltham
3. UHS
4. Richmond
take that!!!:thumbsu:
Hey JP did you get some news from the Richmond camp that indicates a top4 finish ? or is that a gut feel ?
JP the Chinaman
21 Sep 2006, 14:38
Just putting it out there...I think it's about time Richmond pull themselves together and get off the bottom and have a crack of the 4...so yeah...just having a punt...love a roughy mate..
InFineForm
21 Sep 2006, 14:51
Just putting it out there...I think it's about time Richmond pull themselves together and get off the bottom and have a crack of the 4...so yeah...just having a punt...love a roughy mate..
Everyone who plays D4 knows that there is not that much difference between the good teams and the bad. A couple of decent players dragging a few mates through the gates and it can change pretty quickly.
I have heard though, that the line 'we may not win many games, but we're a good club socially' was used in at least one of their coaching interviews. That's not the best path forward.
JP - just give me your cash on this one. The roughy isn't going to come home mate!
Coach Hollywood
21 Sep 2006, 14:51
PointPaul, Little whippets that hang out don't win games in finals football. How are Eltham going to address this? Have they got recruits on the way.
What recruits would Eltham need to address this Vegemite? I would have thought they would be flag favourites for sure next season.
vegemite
21 Sep 2006, 15:15
What recruits would Eltham need to address this Vegemite? I would have thought they would be flag favourites for sure next season.
Eltham are probably the most skilled and quickest side left in D4, but until they get some bigger bodies and blokes that will get in and under around the ball, I reckon they'll get found out by the likes of the improving Box Hill and the sides coming down. Eltham's talls, apart from number 50 aren't very intimidating either. This is just the impression that I got from their last 2 matches against Power House, which are the only 2 senior matches that I've seen Eltham play. Maybe they've just had 2 down days where their tough, hard footy went out the door.