View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
I heard that during the season just gone that apparently Richmond were summond to the league regarding their on field performances. The league were worried that they would have to forfiet games due to players getting sick of losing by a big margin week in week out and leaving the club.
Is there any truth behind this?
Total bull@#%^
Your not convincing me port man, they had a worse year this year than last.
WRONG!!
bob down
5 Oct 2006, 00:46
WRONG!!
give us your perspective Buck...do you play at RC because you wouldnt get a game in a higher division(nothin wrong with that), are you a seniors player or ressies? How do you cope with losing for the last 5 years and what is the REALISTIC chance of turning it around this upcoming season?
Lets see if we can get a sensible answer from you.
tropicaltiger
5 Oct 2006, 02:35
Richmond Centrals is a great and proud Club
It was formed by a small group of mates many years ago
to have a kick, a laugh and a beer
I have played footy in 4 States, Never in my playing days could anything match the spirit, commitment, friendship and enthusiasm of that at Centrals. It is still there today.
The success is not there at the moment, but with the above attributes and a few good footballers
"The Snakes will be back"
2 Premierships in a short history is a bloody good effort
Thanks for the memories.
Good luck for 2007
Mark (The Bear) Bastow
JP the Chinaman
5 Oct 2006, 09:38
Hi Guys, I will put my hand up to say i'm not good enough to play in higher grades, hell, some may even think i'm not good enough to play seniors in the bottom grade, but you can't tell me to stop playing because I'm not good enough...Winning is great, everyone loves winning, but spare a thought, there will always be losers and just like there will always be winners...you guys are talking about not letting your children play at RC, are you hearing yourselves? Let them decide for themselves...may be they want to play with their mates or play for their suburb... It is a sport, a hobbie, if you're that serious about it, do your best and play professionally, and I say good luck to you whole heartedly, if you're going to play in the Ammo league, this is an Ammo comp, we are here socially, we are here to have fun...thanks guys.
Spy, you hit it on the head man...they were like grey hounds, did you see the way they moved? my God...I just stood there and felt like I was a fat man!!! :D
Hi Guys, I will put my hand up to say i'm not good enough to play in higher grades, hell, some may even think i'm not good enough to play seniors in the bottom grade, but you can't tell me to stop playing because I'm not good enough...Winning is great, everyone loves winning, but spare a thought, there will always be losers and just like there will always be winners...you guys are talking about not letting your children play at RC, are you hearing yourselves? Let them decide for themselves...may be they want to play with their mates or play for their suburb... It is a sport, a hobbie, if you're that serious about it, do your best and play professionally, and I say good luck to you whole heartedly, if you're going to play in the Ammo league, this is an Ammo comp, we are here socially, we are here to have fun...thanks guys.
Spy, you hit it on the head man...they were like grey hounds, did you see the way they moved? my God...I just stood there and felt like I was a fat man!!! :D
Well said JP.
As for standing there feeling large, welcome to my world.
arvosjunior
6 Oct 2006, 13:47
I can't see the Turtles pulling their heads out of their shells next season...
I think it will be another wasted one at the hands of MUPPET
give us your perspective Buck...do you play at RC because you wouldnt get a game in a higher division(nothin wrong with that), are you a seniors player or ressies? How do you cope with losing for the last 5 years and what is the REALISTIC chance of turning it around this upcoming season?
Lets see if we can get a sensible answer from you.
this year was my second year at centrals. im a seniors player and i play for the centrals because i live in richmond. I orignally came down knowing nothing about the club, just looking to play footy locally. last year was a demoralising year for us. we had a great group of players, most with great experience and talent but the year started off badly due to injuries to many senior players. We also had the passengers of years gone by who felt safe in the club due to our performances onfield. This was devastating. This coupled with a coach who refused to try anything new and persisted all year with a ultra defensive game plan gave us nothing to work with. By preseason 2006, we were left with only 15%-20% players from 2005. This again was hard for us.
However, thanks to a fantastic committee we managed to replace all players and even managed to increase player numbers. A would defy anyone to say that isnt a fantastic effort.
So the year started well, large numbers, good feeling, ready for 2006. After round 2 we got rid of the coach. Alot of people think this was a rash decision by th committee but no matter what it looks like, it was the 100% correct decision for the future of the centrals.
After this our performances onfield improved, though those from "winning" clubs will not understand this, we are on the up. Just ask our opposition, we did play a better brand of footy, managed to hold the same list week in week out, no forfeits due to numbers in reserves, success will come and i hope all these posts are brought up again when we actually start putting it on the field. I find it interesting that only members of winning clubs pass judgement so easily on lower clubs of which they have no involvement with and know nothing about. I can guarantee you that no one ever from the centrals will snipe any club because that is the kind of people we have down here. We can be sniped on this or any forum, it wont matter, we will be there next year playing footy in d4 and ejoying it win loose or draw. we will never merge, we will never fold. end of story. so ends the lesson
bob down
6 Oct 2006, 18:13
this year was my second year at centrals. im a seniors player and i play for the centrals because i live in richmond. I orignally came down knowing nothing about the club, just looking to play footy locally. last year was a demoralising year for us. we had a great group of players, most with great experience and talent but the year started off badly due to injuries to many senior players. We also had the passengers of years gone by who felt safe in the club due to our performances onfield. This was devastating. This coupled with a coach who refused to try anything new and persisted all year with a ultra defensive game plan gave us nothing to work with. By preseason 2006, we were left with only 15%-20% players from 2005. This again was hard for us.
However, thanks to a fantastic committee we managed to replace all players and even managed to increase player numbers. A would defy anyone to say that isnt a fantastic effort.
So the year started well, large numbers, good feeling, ready for 2006. After round 2 we got rid of the coach. Alot of people think this was a rash decision by th committee but no matter what it looks like, it was the 100% correct decision for the future of the centrals.
After this our performances onfield improved, though those from "winning" clubs will not understand this, we are on the up. Just ask our opposition, we did play a better brand of footy, managed to hold the same list week in week out, no forfeits due to numbers in reserves, success will come and i hope all these posts are brought up again when we actually start putting it on the field. I find it interesting that only members of winning clubs pass judgement so easily on lower clubs of which they have no involvement with and know nothing about. I can guarantee you that no one ever from the centrals will snipe any club because that is the kind of people we have down here. We can be sniped on this or any forum, it wont matter, we will be there next year playing footy in d4 and ejoying it win loose or draw. we will never merge, we will never fold. end of story. so ends the lesson
Buck, sensational reply. I hope you guys fight it out. I would also hope that you start winning, as their is nothing better than a cold beer and no pain on a Sunday. Hopefully you can recruit some quality, as it is damn hard even to recruit when you are higher up the grades with all the dough around in non ammo comps.
Cheers.
Gee didn't Bob just change his tune!
He must have looked at the ladders and seen that RC's twos were nearly as good as OH's twos...and with far less of a salary cap!
The Tiger's Nuts
6 Oct 2006, 20:28
I think he just had a moment of clarity and figured out how big a nork he was making of himself.
Tigernuts
rightfoot_sloth
6 Oct 2006, 21:31
Well said Buckaz :thumbsu: ! If a new coach came on board would he be able to entice the bloke who left after the 2005 to come back ? Or would it be too difficult ? Also what types of players are you specifically aiming for in 2007 ? On Ballers ? Key Forwards ? I am a strong believer that whats comes around goes around. So these guys (Bob Down prior to his last post) who are sledging the Snakes may experience a down year in 2007 !
PointPaul
9 Oct 2006, 09:40
Running around in 27 degree heat with that bunch of greyhounds was suicidal.
Almost as stupid as me playing cricket that day without a hat.;)
Sshhhhh.
Hello Spy1
Bloody hot that Sunday, you were mad to be out having a spot of cricket.
Wouldn't be Glenferrie Oval by any chance ey Ed?
arvosjunior
9 Oct 2006, 10:47
If Eltham hit the ball as hard as they hit the drugs on a Saturday night then they might win the crunch games...
Monkeyboy
9 Oct 2006, 11:02
I can't see the Turtles pulling their heads out of their shells next season...
I think it will be another wasted one at the hands of MUPPET
AJ,
I thought you were a Turtle?? Who's muppet...the playing coach??
arvosjunior
9 Oct 2006, 11:12
AJ,
I thought you were a Turtle?? Who's muppet...the playing coach??
Muppet is the playing coach, it doesn't show a good example when the coach is out "getting on it" with all the boys. It would be hard to get the players to toe the line if you are too matey with them....
I am not a turtle.... I know a few of them and have seen them play a few games
Monkeyboy
9 Oct 2006, 11:26
Muppet is the playing coach, it doesn't show a good example when the coach is out "getting on it" with all the boys. It would be hard to get the players to toe the line if you are too matey with them....
I am not a turtle.... I know a few of them and have seen them play a few games
Blagrove on the gear? Seriously doubt it. Young coach, so being matey is probably hard to avoid. D4 ammos, not sure if anything anyone gets up to on a Saturday night is going to cause to many problems come gameday.
Is he staying on for 07?
port-man_fc
9 Oct 2006, 12:38
Blagrove on the gear? Seriously doubt it. Young coach, so being matey is probably hard to avoid. D4 ammos, not sure if anything anyone gets up to on a Saturday night is going to cause to many problems come gameday.
Is he staying on for 07?
Arvo's is from our now arch rivals Hawthorn AFC, an absoulte blatent lie appently he is a terrorist from Afganistan aswell, he will be staying on in 07 from all reports!!! Already recruiting well at turtleland for a bigger and better year in 2007
JP the Chinaman
9 Oct 2006, 14:05
PointPaul, read the posts man, Spy was at Box Hill playing Cricket...just need that players list...It's NOT Ed Sill...:thumbsu:
If Eltham hit the ball as hard as they hit the drugs on a Saturday night then they might win the crunch games...
I think you have forgotten to take your drugs for quiet some time.
Wasn't that many posts ago you were claiming to be a Turtle so maybe the schitzo meds need to be re-instated! Or just plain simply they rejected you to play up in Turtleland and you're just bitter!:)
JP the Chinaman
9 Oct 2006, 17:39
how did you figure he's from our neck of the woods? I don't know who he is...but I just want to know your reasoning...
arvosjunior (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=28603) vbmenu_register("postmenu_5554794", true);
BigFooty Member
Club: Adelaide
Re: D4 Section Ammos
no chance of beating us (eltham) and i wish you luck against hawthorn
This.....
arvosjunior (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=28603) vbmenu_register("postmenu_5649942", true);
BigFooty Member
Quote:
Cookson (#30) hates it tough, when we (eltham) play you blokes in 2 weeks we'll be targeting him big time. Also Badenjeck from all reports looks like the Michilin Man in that white jumper that Bulleen wears.
and this
PointPaul, read the posts man, Spy was at Box Hill playing Cricket...just need that players list...It's NOT Ed Sill...:thumbsu:
Evidently if you sign on with the Dragons you get the inside info when you swear to the official SECRETS ACT.
JP the Chinaman
10 Oct 2006, 09:14
na, it's the duty of every blogger here on this forum to find out who Spy1 is...I have no idea who you are, and I don't know if I'll ever find out...so your identity is safe for now!!!:thumbsu:
a little bit of leverage
10 Oct 2006, 15:07
That ruckmen from Eltham who wears the swimming goggles on the field is as soft as the good old Western Star Butter that has been out in the sun for days..... All talk no action
Backline Brothers
11 Oct 2006, 11:52
You Hawthorn clowns need a reality check in the worst possible way.
Getting turfed from the venue on Saturday night should have made it clear you blokes need to pull your heads in. Absolutely embarrassed yourselves and your club. Even Lauletta looked ashamed.
arvosjunior-jakomos has again been exposed for using his mouth more often than he uses his brain. Ease up or your brain will become completely oxygen starved. Your actions are gutless and cheap.
Having played against JP I know there are better quality blokes at Hawthorn than the ones we ran into on saturday night. Shame they're ruining your club's reputation.
While I'm at the keyboard, I hope the Richmond Centrals boys have ignored the irrelevant muckraking that's been posted recently on this forum from people who obviously have no knowledge of D4 footy. As an opponent, I've got nothing but admiration for the way Richmond maintained their enthusiasm and playing numbers throughout a tough season. It would have been far easier just to give up. I think you've got the respect of the people who matter in D4.
arvosjunior
11 Oct 2006, 12:21
[quote=Backline Brothers]You Hawthorn clowns need a reality check in the worst possible way.
Getting turfed from the venue on Saturday night should have made it clear you blokes need to pull your heads in. Absolutely embarrassed yourselves and your club. Even Lauletta looked ashamed.
For starters I am not Jackomos, so you can forget about that one.
Second of all I find it amusing that you think we were thrown out of the Harp - Wrong again. After having known the owners ans all staff at the Harp for years they were never going to throw us out. We were all there till stumps.
We were clearly out numbered compared to the turtles, but when they were told to come outside and sort it out they all shat them selves. There were 15 hawks and about 30 - 40 blokes at the Eltham function.... No takers for a good old fashioned street brawl!
Blokes were mouthing off inside and when the finger was pointed at them and told to come out side they shat them selves. The blokes who were outside were quick to run inside and stay put.
Brendan Dummet was the worst offender, he told Jacko to watch his back and that he should leave or he would cop a hiding. He was the first bloke to get away from the action and go to the back of the room. Galvin was the same as was Foo.
If you blokes weren't all whacked off your heads on the gear then maybe you would be able to get your facts right......
arvosjunior
11 Oct 2006, 12:32
The only thing that we were ashamed of was you turtles pulling your heads into your shells at the first sign of danger.....
Coach Hollywood
11 Oct 2006, 12:43
Seems you are a very strange, attention craving & disturbed person Avrosjunior? Why you would lie about what club you play for?
You must also be delusional because I doubt 30-40 blokes would ever **** themselves against 15 blokes regardless of who they are??
Also you comment about a good old fashioned street brawl is just that "old fashioned" I think the turtle boys that you mentioned are obviously the smart one by walking away from a fool like yourself trying to start a street brawl. What next? Are you now going to call all your mates (If you have many?) and meet at Hawthorn station with baseball bats and crap? Grow Up this a football forum not a place to talk crap just to get some attention from an alias you use on the Web!
arvosjunior
11 Oct 2006, 12:48
You should be the one who is ashamed, from all reports you are the one who is going to be playing for them next season..... Another bloke to run at the first sign of danger
Who the F*ck calls them selves Hollywood anyway..
Monkeyboy
11 Oct 2006, 12:52
Why dont you just pretend you play for Eltham again AJ. Pathetic effort.
arvosjunior
11 Oct 2006, 13:00
Pathetic is anything wearing a green jumper with a gold V on it
port-man_fc
11 Oct 2006, 14:01
Pathetic is anything wearing a green jumper with a gold V on it
For starters there was about 20 turtles, at a 21st, there were girlfriends, family and grandparents etc present, out of respect for them turtles let jakco and his really ugly relative i think its his dad talk the talk and we enjoyed the rest of the night!!
AJ you are a twisted unit, ur a real tough nut street brawler
GO turtles, massive year in 2007
arvosjunior
11 Oct 2006, 14:16
It was quite amusing to watch people mouth off in the party to only then crap their dacks and get defensive when they were told to come outside...
Port man you should read your forum, it says not to reply to me anymore. Don't you obey team rules?
For starters there was about 20 turtles, at a 21st, there were girlfriends, family and grandparents etc present, out of respect for them turtles let jakco and his really ugly relative i think its his dad talk the talk and we enjoyed the rest of the night!!
His dad?? So the apple doesn't fall far from the tree? Being a d1ckhead is in his dna? wow who wouldv'e thought ey!
I personally think this little tet-a-tet between the turtles and the hawks is getting rather tiresome, either hire a boxing ring and go to town on each other in a civilized manner(well as much as boxing will allow) or just leave it! It is achieving nothing.
The town has many pubs for both teams to get out an about to without bumping into each other, and the hawks are up in D3 next season. Both teams may not have the chance to play each other for some time, maybe 2008, depending upon relegation and promotion, it may even be longer than that, but it will be a ripping reunion that's for sure!
a little bit of leverage
11 Oct 2006, 14:56
Lout,
I would find it rather amusing if the had a practice match against each other at the start of next year!!! I would definatley be a spectator that day
Lout,
I would find it rather amusing if the had a practice match against each other at the start of next year!!! I would definatley be a spectator that day
LOL yep I am sure I could find an esky with some icy cold ales and a nice shady tree to sit under to watch that one. I'm thinking that with all thats been going on there would be quiet a few lads from D4 watching both teams smack the living suitcase out of each other!:)
arvosjunior (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=28603) vbmenu_register("postmenu_5554794", true);
BigFooty Member
no chance of beating us (eltham) and i wish you luck against hawthorn
This.....
Hate to be the one to break it to you DG, but read further into ALL the posts and you will see that you have been led down the path my friend! ArvosJ isn't a turtle, just a bloke who sounds like he wished he was. He is from the 'crazy hawks' just like JP, though you cannot put them into the same boat, as JP actually is an outstanding citizen, and AJ, well, just a scab!
Turbs23
11 Oct 2006, 15:30
After having known the owners ans all staff at the Harp for years they were never going to throw us out. We were all there till stumps.
Something to truly be proud of...
Port man you should read your forum, it says not to reply to me anymore. Don't you obey team rules?
trolling (ex?)opposition, non-BF forums in the off-season = the second lamest thing i've ever heard of, right behind hanging at the Harp till stumps and starting 'street brawls'.
...my goodness :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
a little bit of leverage
11 Oct 2006, 16:01
Lout,
I wonder if the Ammos can report and suspend players in a Practice match? I would say the match would get out of control, not even those fellas in white would be able to blow their whistles enough to stop this potential battle Royal......
JP the Chinaman
11 Oct 2006, 17:55
somethings tells me that this practice match will never materialise...not enough hospital bed...
anyway, thanks Lout! :thumbsu:
Where is Spy1? I reckon he's staying low now that people are closing in on his identity...hahaha...:thumbsu: come on man, it adds to the mystery if there are some clues...
Hey come on Turbs, the Harp was a great pub.......... 10 years ago!
Leverage, are you suggesting that a 'friendly' practice match would turn ugly?? I was sent off in a practice match... all that pent up frustration from being made to run 5km time trials in the pre-season was too much and I just snapped! Didn't cop a report, but was dutifully informed by the man in white that I should have been.
Shouted the opposition fella an ale afterwards and all was forgotten during the season, don't think this little tiff could be solved over a beer though!:rolleyes:
somethings tells me that this practice match will never materialise...not enough hospital bed...
anyway, thanks Lout! :thumbsu:
Where is Spy1? I reckon he's staying low now that people are closing in on his identity...hahaha...:thumbsu: come on man, it adds to the mystery if there are some clues...
Well I'll tell you one thing JP; I certainly wasn't down at the Harp that night.:eek:
Hate to be the one to break it to you DG, but read further into ALL the posts and you will see that you have been led down the path my friend! ArvosJ isn't a turtle, just a bloke who sounds like he wished he was. He is from the 'crazy hawks' just like JP, though you cannot put them into the same boat, as JP actually is an outstanding citizen, and AJ, well, just a scab!
Thanks Einstien. That was my point. That he is not an Eltham player. I was just posting evidence of his pathetic earlier attempts to posture as one.
Cheers - DG
JP the Chinaman
12 Oct 2006, 11:47
welcome back Spy...that's a nice clue...Isn't Harp an instrument...hahaha...:thumbsu:
As an avid reader and sometime commenter on this thread I must admit I am getting a little bit tired about the Turtles/Hawks fighting.
Obviously there is now alot of bad blood between the 2 but as you won't be playing each other for a least another 1-2 years maybe you should all put a lid on it or better still start your own thread so the rest of us can read about better things than this rubbish.
Thanks Einstien. That was my point. That he is not an Eltham player. I was just posting evidence of his pathetic earlier attempts to posture as one.
Cheers - DG
That coming from the chairman of the Australia chapter of Mensa??;)
Twirl21
12 Oct 2006, 14:20
Portman, I am a girlfriend of a Hawks player who was also at the Harp last Saturday night and may I put to you that we didn't even know anyone from Eltham was at the Harp until one of your players took it upon himself to leave the 21st and come into the TAB to stir up trouble. So before you go on a public forum spraying Jacko and his Dad, how about you think back to who started the whole thing. We were there celebrating also and you guys ruined a good hour of our night.
I am in no way condoning violence or the things arvosjuniour has been saying on this forum but I am asking you to stop placing all the blame on the Hawk boys as in this instance all they did wrong was go out to celebrate a mate's birthday.
The boys that were standing out in the street were not there as an invitation to start a "street fight" but rather making sure their mate/s that were inside weren't getting hurt, commaraderie at Hawthorn is second to none.
I don't really care what your club thinks of our club but thought it unfair for yourself and others to be on this public forum tarnishing our reputation with untruths. Good luck in 07 Portman.
That coming from the chairman of the Australia chapter of Mensa??;)
Secretary 02-05
JP the Chinaman
12 Oct 2006, 16:26
Just had an interesting thought: when is the deadline for promoted club members to go up to the D3 chat room and vice versa for D3 relegated club members??? Interesting isn't it?:eek:
vegemite
12 Oct 2006, 16:37
Just had an interesting thought: when is the deadline for promoted club members to go up to the D3 chat room and vice versa for D3 relegated club members??? Interesting isn't it?:eek:
Don't know JP. Should we go now and get away from the crap that seems to have infested this string? Should we invite Spy1 along?
We were clearly out numbered compared to the turtles, but when they were told to come outside and sort it out they all shat them selves. There were 15 hawks and about 30 - 40 blokes at the Eltham function.... No takers for a good old fashioned street brawl!
Blokes were mouthing off inside and when the finger was pointed at them and told to come out side they shat them selves. The blokes who were outside were quick to run inside and stay put.
Now that we have the secretary of Mensa (Aust) and Einstein on the forum it would appear to most that this would indicate an invitation to partake in a little 'street fighting' from the Hawthorn lads eh Twirl21?
The boys that were standing out in the street were not there as an invitation to start a "street fight" but rather making sure their mate/s that were inside weren't getting hurt, commaraderie at Hawthorn is second to none.
How could the lads showing commaraderie outside the pub be looking after the lads inside the pub? I am only looking at this from an outsiders point of view, but why be outside to look after your mates inside? Did they run away, keep a safe distance, or express an invitation to a dual?
Either way, I am impartial and firmly believe that this will never sort itself out, well not on an internet forum!
BRING ON THE FOOTBALL YAP!!:)
BTW what did happen to King Cobra??:confused:
JP the Chinaman
12 Oct 2006, 17:24
Hi lads and lass, I got another one...What do you reckon about this thought of mine ( I've been thinking a lot lately... ):
We have a European football sort of competition where the team on the top of the ladder is the winner of the division come end of the season and top two gets promoted. After the promotion done and dusted, a cup like finals played with random draw of all teams in the league, cut throat, sudden death, winner is the cup winner or premier!!!
This can also go on and be a league wide thing, where all teams in the league go into the random draw, play throughout the year in midweek or in a two year period to decide league cup winner....
Anyway think this is a fun idea? Do you all know what I mean?:confused:
JP, bloody confusing but I think I follow you! Wouldn't this be a very lengthy process? What I'd love to see is a round robin tournament at the end of the season involving the top 2 teams from each division ie; HAFC & Powerhouse from D4, play off against each other. Maybe a preseason thing, but it would be interesting to see how the "lower" grades fair against the other "higher" grades.
Then again what about playing each divisions team of the year against each other??? Maybe ditch Ed Sill though as he is a lil bias towards a certain club in D4
JP the Chinaman
12 Oct 2006, 17:47
not bad man...some good ideas right there...i like the one about playing the team of the year off each other...would be good to see...and I'm sure it will be a good entertaining tournament...VAFA should consider it...
All star weekend...that's what it is...like the NBA all star weekend...
I reckon that one thing our great game lack is innovation into these sort of things...borrow other sport's ideas...for goodness sake, it's all good hanging onto tradition but sometimes we just need to get on with the times!!!
Ed is not bias...go Hawks...
Also, what do you reckon about a play off between the 2 relegated team Vs the 2 promoted team, so the two winners go/stay up...this way we won't see promoted teams get belted every week up one division...I'm just thinking out loud... I don't mean anything, you guys wanted footy talk...so yeah, here it is...also I'm from a promoted team, so let's not have any change yet for next season...haha...:thumbsu:
LOL confidance is high!!
Hi lads and lass, I got another one...What do you reckon about this thought of mine ( I've been thinking a lot lately... ):
We have a European football sort of competition where the team on the top of the ladder is the winner of the division come end of the season and top two gets promoted. After the promotion done and dusted, a cup like finals played with random draw of all teams in the league, cut throat, sudden death, winner is the cup winner or premier!!!
This can also go on and be a league wide thing, where all teams in the league go into the random draw, play throughout the year in midweek or in a two year period to decide league cup winner....
JP you have been thinking a lot and probably (like myself) brrn watching a lot of British Football.
I do like the idea of a knock out cup formula involving all VAFA teams.
I think the Team of the Year Games would be great to watch and maybe even create some much needed commradery amongst regular opponents who, through selection in the ToY, find themselves on the same team.:thumbsu:
BTW; I am sure to keep a close eye on D3 next year, I think I can spread my wings enough.
JP the Chinaman
13 Oct 2006, 09:23
Well, you're not wrong Spy1, as a young lad growing up in China the only football I know were that of Eric Cantona, Beckenbauer, Maradona, etc...so yeah, I like the cup competition where a small lower division team can get a chance to have a shot at the big guys...it always gives me a thrill to watch a game like that...
Lout don't pick on words, you know what I meant by it...of course we are confident of next year...
come on you other blokes, you wanted to talk footy, let's get some thoughts on this board....man!:thumbsu:
Dan Penny invited to train with Coburg Tigers VFL. Starts in s few weeks I hear.
vegemite
13 Oct 2006, 11:07
JP, love your passion and ability to think outside the square, but I reckon you've lost the plot on this one - when would you play it?
JP the Chinaman
13 Oct 2006, 12:09
You can play it just before the season starts, or just after it finishes, the earlier rounds should be played in year 1, then year 2 are the big games...your quarter finals, semis, etc...check out European Cup, they have prelim rounds in the year before...and also Australia is currently trying to qualify for Asian cup...so yeah, that sort of format...I reckon it will just add more to our game...this way at least there is something bigger every 3 or 4 years...people have longer goals...people may stay at one club a bit longer because they are working towards a VAFA cup...:thumbsu:
vegemite
13 Oct 2006, 13:29
You can play it just before the season starts, or just after it finishes, the earlier rounds should be played in year 1, then year 2 are the big games...your quarter finals, semis, etc...check out European Cup, they have prelim rounds in the year before...and also Australia is currently trying to qualify for Asian cup...so yeah, that sort of format...I reckon it will just add more to our game...this way at least there is something bigger every 3 or 4 years...people have longer goals...people may stay at one club a bit longer because they are working towards a VAFA cup...:thumbsu:
So I think you're saying something like this: the first 'practice' matches in 2007 might be something like D4 premiers v D3 premiers, D2 v D1, C v B and A with a bye. The loser of each would play a preprepared practice match the next week, while the winner plays the other winners until we've got noone left (eg D3 v D1 and B v A). Some credibility although there is always the potential to have some highly mismatched teams. Having said that, Power House would love the chance to have a crack at South Melbourne in a match that means something!!!!!!
arvosjunior
13 Oct 2006, 13:35
I dug up some fresh worms this morning and I am hoping they will make you people bite.........
Central Element
17 Oct 2006, 20:12
Interesting forum here, even if a lot of the information where it concerns us at Centrals is a long way off the mark. For example, rumours posted of what was supposedly said at our coaching interviews a month before any interviews were even conducted. :rolleyes:
For those who expect us to conveniently die, no chance. For those who criticise us for maintaining a good social environment and being in a sound financial position, you'd think anyone with common sense would see that unless the fundamentals are in place we will never have a hope of developing our side, attracting new players and rebuilding our on-field fortunes over a sustained period.
As for allegedly accepting mediocrity, nothing could be further from the truth. Too many people worked their arses off last year for that to be the case and the early results are there for all to see with a great atmosphere around the place and blokes clamouring to get back into it as soon as possible. The 2007 committee has hit the ground running with a mix of familiar faces and quality new inclusions. We received four very impressive coaching applications from coaches who want to be part of our club and are up for the challenge. None of them would be so keen for the position if we were not on the right path. The coach appointed will have some quality blokes at his disposal -- nobody sticks around a club struggling for wins unless they have character and determination to right the ship. Many of these players will benefit from development and direction so there is a significant upside to what we already have. Add to that another huge recruitment effort and the building blocks may well be in place.
Nobody at Centrals underestimates the challenge that continues to confront us but last year's effort saw the club turn the corner for good and it is now time to start forward momentum. It will take time but there are plenty who are up for the fight.
Nothing surprised me less than finding posts on here from arrogant, mouthy, front-running muppets determined to sink the boots into us. Pretty bloody easy to be a downhill skier when times are good but I'll bet if your clubs are ever in any trouble you'll be the first to go missing. That's the difference between you and us.
Expect an announcement on the new senior coach in the near future.
JP the Chinaman
18 Oct 2006, 09:13
very well said right there..:thumbsu:
I'd like to think that those that posted derogatory comments about the Centrals were posters from higher grades. Anyone who competed with the Snakes this year was left in no doubt as to their commitment to improving there club and on field results. You don't have to win to improve, the attacking style they played saw them return better results on the scoreboard the further the year went. This has set a good foundation to build on in the coming seasons.
I know of one club who are now playing finals, that just 3 years ago were considered an easy beat. They refused to play negative football, worked on teaching their kids a running, high scoring game. They often gave up 20 goals to the opposittion but themselves kicked 100 pts plus in losing.
All it took was a couple of quality players to join the few they had and for the kids to grow into the game plan. Bang. They are playing finals and have already added to their list for next season.
All power to the Snakes people for their correct attitude.
Central Element
18 Oct 2006, 11:18
I think we all know the club of which you speak, Spymaster. We are probably coming from further back but their sustained improvement has been very impressive. They are a good club with quality people as well as a team on the up and it would be no surprise to see them in a Grand Final in the next couple of seasons.
port-man_fc
18 Oct 2006, 11:49
I think we all know the club of which you speak, Spymaster. We are probably coming from further back but their sustained improvement has been very impressive. They are a good club with quality people as well as a team on the up and it would be no surprise to see them in a Grand Final in the next couple of seasons.
What club it could be a couple???
Central Element
18 Oct 2006, 11:56
Can see your point, but I think the other club you refer to had a reasonable team 3-4 years ago and their replacements have now combined to be a very handy side.
These two teams would be my pick for the 2007 Grand Final combatants.
JP the Chinaman
20 Oct 2006, 14:07
Spy, you reckon the bar will be open this weekend for the Dragon's gathering?:confused:
Chewbacca
20 Oct 2006, 16:55
Hey good on you Central for sticking up for your club. I think you guys as always were extremely humble this year and everyone can see the improvement on the field. Probably the only team i played this year that i didnt want to smack out for being cocky bastards. Best of luck for next year.
Chewbacca
20 Oct 2006, 17:13
By the way "SPY1" im pretty sure from reading this forum that i think i have figured out who you are. Don't worry your secret is safe with me but just to test if i am correct i just want to say that i have been up at 6:30 every morning practising my goal kicking and long range torpeedos. Just a little riddle to finish the week with. Enjoy!
Did you visit Kmart this afternoon Chewy? And do you like Newbie:p Burgers ??
Spy, you reckon the bar will be open this weekend for the Dragon's gathering?:confused:
What a gathering without the mighty number 11? Isn't he up on the Barrier Relief attending a wedding?
JP the Chinaman
21 Oct 2006, 21:57
spy, No.11 is my gurnsey...i'm not mighty but i'm here...:thumbsu:
Chewie...this name is so obvious man...get real...haha...unless you're not who i think you are, then i'm sorry...
Chewbacca
23 Oct 2006, 10:34
Chewie...this name is so obvious man...get real...haha...unless you're not who i think you are, then i'm sorry...[/QUOTE]
Hey JP im probably not who you think i am but i would love you to tell me your guess.
Chewbacca
23 Oct 2006, 10:37
Did you visit Kmart this afternoon Chewy? And do you like Newbie:p Burgers ??
Wow, SPY1 have you been stalking me. I new you would guess who i was but i didnt think you would know where i was. And by the way Yes i do like Newbie burgers.
The name is Spy 1. Any good # 1 has plenty of support staff. And I aren't talking about the large framed in law.:cool:
JP, what happened with the BBQ? I know the 'lesser #11' was up north.
I hear a wisper there could be some massive move afoot with regards the Dragons and an associate.
Watch this space.
Ifeellikechickentonight
23 Oct 2006, 12:19
Hey Chewbacca, no one is stalking you, you're becoming a celebrity. Seems there is this awesome DVD floating around getting massive attention.
Be carefull when you sleep! You don't know who maybe hiding, ready to "Punk" you.
JP the Chinaman
23 Oct 2006, 14:00
No idea, think the guys were spent after playing footy in what was a perfect late spring afternoon, no breeze, 25 degrees...running around with the pack of greyhounds took a lot out of me...no BBQ because no one could be bothered...
The lesser #11....hahaha...good one Spy1...thanks mate...:thumbsu:
Chewbacca...you're definitely not who i think you are....a very hairy Hawk is who I thought you were...
Abba Lonie
23 Oct 2006, 19:21
The penny may drop at some stage.
Reel it in a little Abba Lonie. We would hate to take more than our bag limit.:eek:
JP the Chinaman
24 Oct 2006, 10:24
Let the Penny drop man!!! Stop talking codes...This is driving me nuts..:thumbsu:
Chewbacca
24 Oct 2006, 15:16
Yeah fair enough JP. Lets talk some footy boys.
vegemite
24 Oct 2006, 15:23
Who won Hawthorn's B&F and what's the early goss on departures and recruits?
a little bit of leverage
24 Oct 2006, 15:28
Who won Hawthorn's B&F and what's the early goss on departures and recruits?
Lauletta won the B&F.
3 best and Fairest winners from the last 5 years are back from overseas and playing next year. Along with a couple of players from Port Melbourne ans Surrey Park
a little bit of leverage
24 Oct 2006, 15:32
Lauletta won the B&F.
3 best and Fairest winners from the last 5 years are back from overseas and playing next year. Along with a couple of players from Port Melbourne ans Surrey Park
And Brendan Parker from Nathalia
vegemite
24 Oct 2006, 16:17
And Brendan Parker from Nathalia
Saulley coming back is he - good bloke and good player.
a little bit of leverage
24 Oct 2006, 16:24
No he will still be away. Yes he is a good bloke and a good player
knackers_2
24 Oct 2006, 16:26
Any relation to the Parkers from the Swan Hill area? I hear there's already one of them down there.
a little bit of leverage
24 Oct 2006, 17:00
Any relation to the Parkers from the Swan Hill area? I hear there's already one of them down there.
No he is born and bred in Nathalia. His Older brother plays at the club already.
Eley Park....I hear on the 'hop vine' they may have lost one but picked up two very promising replacements.
They just got to get them to the training line now.
JP the Chinaman
25 Oct 2006, 09:16
Another Parker is definitely good news!!! not just on the field but at the pub too...Saulle is going to be a huge plus once he comes back and he would be starving of footy as well, so look out...:thumbsu:
port-man_fc
25 Oct 2006, 14:59
Turtles just annonced its coaching roles for next year,
with matt blagrove and john garrard as senior playing coaches, a
good combo there if ask me, cetainely a fantastic inclusion to the turtles
forward line!!!! Looking good for 2007!!! :thumbsu:
JP the Chinaman
30 Oct 2006, 08:28
keep up the yap boys!!! where have you all gone?:thumbsu:
Chewbacca
31 Oct 2006, 09:59
Eltham definately looking like the favourites this year. Especially if they keep bringing in more ex-DVFL players.
arvosjunior
31 Oct 2006, 10:55
Eltham definately looking like the favourites this year. Especially if they keep bringing in more ex-DVFL players.
They will never be favourites until they get off the persian rugs and get a hard ball on a Saturday
from what i hear the saints have recruited well. so could be saints and turtles as favourites i'd say as a nuetral observer