View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

JP the Chinaman
31 Oct 2006, 15:30
As an Observer, I'm going to say BHN will fare well next year...:thumbsu:

bigwaz
31 Oct 2006, 16:14
News from Central Land,

Danny Hickey, past player for the Centrals, has been appointed head coach for the 2007 season.

Danny was the reserves coach at Old Westbourne in 2006.

vegemite
1 Nov 2006, 09:41
As an Observer, I'm going to say BHN will fare well next year...:thumbsu:

As part of a promoted club, I'm also on the Box Hill North bandwagon and will take a punt on the unknown (to me at least) St Mary's to join them in the granny.

Chewbacca
1 Nov 2006, 09:44
They will never be favourites until they get off the persian rugs and get a hard ball on a Saturday

Arvosjunior if you had ever played in the Diamond Valley you would know what a hardball get is. Yeah Eltham can be cocky pricks which usually leads to their downfall half way through every season but i would not say that they are a soft team.

JP the Chinaman
2 Nov 2006, 07:35
Hi boys, what's a hard team and what's a soft team...isn't it "when you have to put your body on the line, you do it!" play smart footy, play footy with your head, no point barging through everybody giving away a thousand free kicks because you're no where near the ball...footy is the objective isn't it...so I reckon...label me soft...

Turtles is a funny name for the Eltham team, with the speed in their 2s team, I'd named them Bunnies...:thumbsu:

arvosjunior
2 Nov 2006, 08:20
Hi boys, what's a hard team and what's a soft team...isn't it "when you have to put your body on the line, you do it!" play smart footy, play footy with your head, no point barging through everybody giving away a thousand free kicks because you're no where near the ball...footy is the objective isn't it...so I reckon...label me soft...

Turtles is a funny name for the Eltham team, with the speed in their 2s team, I'd named them Bunnies...:thumbsu:

JP, Turtles is a good name for Eltham because just like the animal they pull their heads in at the first sign of danger.....

Ifeellikechickentonight
2 Nov 2006, 09:26

You can't get away from the D4 forum considering your side has gone up a div.! What are your plans for next season?

Ifeellikechickentonight
2 Nov 2006, 09:32
Arvosjunior if you had ever played in the Diamond Valley you would know what a hardball get is. Yeah Eltham can be cocky pricks which usually leads to their downfall half way through every season but i would not say that they are a soft team.

Hey Chewie,

I heard you've got A big head and red hair and talk like the star wars character when you are drunk, especially when you're in strip joints!:p

JP the Chinaman
2 Nov 2006, 09:49
With great blokes like your good self Chicken...why would I want to go to another forum??? No solid plans yet for 2007, just training at the moment trying to be fitter...

Chewbacca
2 Nov 2006, 11:00
JP, Turtles is a good name for Eltham because just like the animal they pull their heads in at the first sign of danger.....

Ha what a chump. Bet you have been wanting to say that line for a while.

Chewbacca
2 Nov 2006, 11:02
Hey Chewie,

I heard you've got A big head and red hair and talk like the star wars character when you are drunk, especially when you're in strip joints!:p

Haha you have got me all wrong Chicken, my head isnt big it's massive.

Chewbacca
2 Nov 2006, 11:03

Totally agree with you JP.

Coach Hollywood
2 Nov 2006, 13:30
Well I think It's time I moved to the D4 thread now I'm part of Turtles and i'm no longer up in the D2 thread with pre season starting in 2 weeks, looking forward to a big season ahead for the Turtles and hopeing to help them take that next step and win the flag next season, but i'm sure all you guys will hoping your team can take that step also.
Looking forward to a big season on this thread and talking footy with guys. Cheers:thumbsu:

Chewbacca
2 Nov 2006, 13:32
Well I think It's time I moved to the D4 thread now I'm part of Turtles and i'm no longer up in the D2 thread with pre season starting in 2 weeks, looking forward to a big season ahead for the Turtles and hopeing to help them take that next step and win the flag next season, but i'm sure all you guys will hoping your team can take that step also.
Looking forward to a big season on this thread and talking footy with guys. Cheers:thumbsu:
Hey coach Hollywood. Welcome. So is it Matt or John.

Coach Hollywood
2 Nov 2006, 14:41
It's John chewy, Matt was at the turtles last year already..

What club are you and the rest of the guys from Chewy? I Need to start getting some Info on the oppostion for next season.

spy1
3 Nov 2006, 22:26
2007 D4 WHISPERS :
- one team to have a new name (possibility of 2 teams)
- 12 teams to compete
- the return of a team with a lumpy ground
- a new team from down south way

oc37
4 Nov 2006, 09:29
dont know about name changes but tipping Black Rock and mt Lilydale- mayeb UHS vu to become just one or the other

Spruce Moose
5 Nov 2006, 16:46
2007 D4 WHISPERS :

That wouldn't be UHS-VU. Played against them in D3 this year, and they have one of the best surfaces going around, despite the fact that you need to park in the zoo.

spy1
5 Nov 2006, 20:58
dont know about name changes but tipping Black Rock and mt Lilydale- mayeb UHS vu to become just one or the other
Not black rock from my mail.:thumbsu:
Uni more likely to add letters than reduce. :thumbsd:
The name change/s are proposed by 2006 D4 ers.:confused:

Central Element
6 Nov 2006, 02:33
Not black rock from my mail.:thumbsu:
Uni more likely to add letters than reduce. :thumbsd:
The name change/s are proposed by 2006 D4 ers.:confused:

Very rustic, Mount Lilydale. I seem to remember some sheep being interested onlookers. Seems like the Spy has been in the Secret Service for a few years at least.

When you say "down south way" I assume you mean ex-SFL?

If we do end up with twelve clubs it will be interesting to see what they do with the draw. In 2003 with eleven participants it was, for us at least, 16 rounds (for example, we only played Mt Lilydale away and Bulleen only at home) and two byes. Hard to see the VAFA fixturing a 22-round season.

arvosjunior
6 Nov 2006, 07:44
Very rustic, Mount Lilydale. I seem to remember some sheep being interested onlookers. Seems like the Spy has been in the Secret Service for a few years at least.

When you say "down south way" I assume you mean ex-SFL?

If we do end up with twelve clubs it will be interesting to see what they do with the draw. In 2003 with eleven participants it was, for us at least, 16 rounds (for example, we only played Mt Lilydale away and Bulleen only at home) and two byes. Hard to see the VAFA fixturing a 22-round season.

It is no good having byes during the season, when we did have them a couple of seasons ago at least some teams got some points for the year....

JP the Chinaman
6 Nov 2006, 07:50
No good with the byes, I'd say no to that too...

oc37
6 Nov 2006, 08:34
Well by that i am taking it i got Mt Lilydale right, but that would have been the easiest of the guesses.. St Yarra have been rumoured , but would have thought they would only be clubbies, maybe sandown ??. Name changes-hMM? Box Hill Sharks, Syndal with no tally Ho??

C'mon, give some hints.

spy1
6 Nov 2006, 09:20
Well by that i am taking it i got Mt Lilydale right, but that would have been the easiest of the guesses.. St Yarra have been rumoured , but would have thought they would only be clubbies, maybe sandown ??. Name changes-hMM? Box Hill Sharks, Syndal with no tally Ho??

C'mon, give some hints.

I must admit when I first heard the whisper I thought of Sth Yarra, but they will not be in D4 according to my source.
I know the Sharks have many in their number who see the value in the name Box Hill Sharks. Another not too far away is also looking at it's handle.
When looking South I mean very South. As in South ........
Don't look in the afternoon.

There should be no byes.
Teams are seeded for the draw.
Top 2 remaining from last season and 2 coming down are 1-4. The rest get ladder order from last season with the 2 newbies taking up positions 11 and 12.
Top 2 at least won't have to travel away to the new teams in the first year; that means say Eltham will play Mt Lilydale at home round 10 and not play them again.
Top sides to play each other twice and bottom sides to play each othe twice.
Now, how many do you think that has confused?:D

spy1
6 Nov 2006, 09:24
BTW lads.
I thought this topic might get footy talk moving on here again.
Thanks for the nod CB.

spy1
6 Nov 2006, 09:26
Name changes-hMM? Box Hill Sharks, Syndal with no tally Ho??

C'mon, give some hints.

Syndal with no Tally Ho.
Sounds like a fox hunt without a fox.

vegemite
6 Nov 2006, 10:27
I must admit when I first heard the whisper I thought of Sth Yarra, but they will not be in D4 according to my source.
I know the Sharks have many in their number who see the value in the name Box Hill Sharks. Another not too far away is also looking at it's handle.

There should be no byes.
Top 2 remaining from last season and 2 coming down are 1-4. The rest get ladder order from last season with the 2 newbies taking up positions 11 and 12.
Top 2 at least won't have to travel away to the new teams in the first year; that means say Eltham will play Mt Lilydale at home round 10 and not play them again.

Power House have an affiliation with South Mornington who entered the under 19s competition this year as Power House / South Mornington. They still have a senior SFL team but are impressed with the ammos and want to get in in their own right - numbers may be an issue, but I reckon that's who you are referring to Spy.

South Yarra are trying to invigorate their SFL club in recess I assume as a SFL club but as you can assume, numbers will probably be their issue, especially with the players that they did have departing to play with other clubs, some of which won premierships. Has anyone heard the latest with South Yarra?

Vulture_72
6 Nov 2006, 11:14
2007 D4 WHISPERS :
- one team to have a new name (possibility of 2 teams)
- 12 teams to compete
- a new team from down south way
I've heard that the Richmond Centrals are currenlty holding talks regarding their mascot name. Is this what your on about with regards to the name change, Spy.

Flowerpower
6 Nov 2006, 11:52

There should be no byes.

ME.....

Coach Hollywood
6 Nov 2006, 12:33
I'm only new to D4 and Ammo's for that matter, but what I've heard in 07 is:

Mt Lilydale want in D4 but VAFA won't let them as they won't have enough to gaurantee 2's every week at the minute and they have let them down previously.

Black Rock will not be entering the VAFA from what I've been told?

Sydnal Tally Ho name will remain as is.

Richmond Centrals could take on the mascot "Tigers" just as there AFL name sake?

And Finally turtles will win the flag in 07!!;)

oc37
6 Nov 2006, 12:59
South Dandenong or South Mornington??

Flowerpower
6 Nov 2006, 13:18
South Dandenong or South Mornington??

South Morang? :)

lets get back to footy
6 Nov 2006, 13:55
it will be the end on the world if south morang ever play in the ammos...
i have played them in cricket - the are an interesting? bunch of blokes...

JP the Chinaman
6 Nov 2006, 14:10
South Dandenong? can make it interesting, i'd play for them...Spy where do you get your info from? You work for the footy version of FBI don't you?:thumbsu:

spy1
6 Nov 2006, 17:17
Not sure the powers that be really want their thunder stolen, but it appears Mt Lilydale are pretty much over the line. Now I am only guessing here, but their return passage to D4 was probably made more attractive to the board when the other unnamed team got the nod to come into the VAFA. VAFA hates byes as much as the clubs. So better to have twelve teams than eleven.
Expect to see a fairly young team out of Mt Lilydale as their increase in numbers has been nothing more than a few of the under age locals coming into senior age footy. They should, by all reports be ok numbers wise for a few seasons. Given the good form of the Sharks prior to injury tolls, the boys from up the 'dale may rattle a few teams during the year. Don't forget they won their clubbie grany in a canter.
The unamed team has been named a few times in above posts on this page.
Could be a good one for the team bus trip.
The main team name change will require a full Extra Ordinary Meeting of the club, sometime prior to xmas.

Vulture_72
6 Nov 2006, 18:26
Not sure the powers that be really want their thunder stolen, but it appears Mt Lilydale are pretty much over the line. Now I am only guessing here, but their return passage to D4 was probably made more attractive to the board when the other unnamed team got the nod to come into the VAFA. VAFA hates byes as much as the clubs. So better to have twelve teams than eleven.
Expect to see a fairly young team out of Mt Lilydale as their increase in numbers has been nothing more than a few of the under age locals coming into senior age footy. They should, by all reports be ok numbers wise for a few seasons. Given the good form of the Sharks prior to injury tolls, the boys from up the 'dale may rattle a few teams during the year. Don't forget they won their clubbie grany in a canter.
The unamed team has been named a few times in above posts on this page.
Could be a good one for the team bus trip.
The main team name change will require a full Extra Ordinary Meeting of the club, sometime prior to xmas.
I still think your talking about The Centrals changing to the Tigers.

Central Element
6 Nov 2006, 18:49
Whether this happens or not the Club's name is still Richmond Central Amateur Football Club.

On behalf of the Club: we have no comment regarding the possible change or the relative merits of the case for and against other than to say due process will of course be followed.

The Tiger's Nuts
7 Nov 2006, 09:23
A politician's answer if we've ever heard one! Good luck in the election, CE!

Tigernuts

spy1
7 Nov 2006, 11:10
Just to prove I know a bit about footy and sweet FA about racing my selection for the Cup :
23-4-8.
Hope someone on here has agood day.

the_observer
7 Nov 2006, 15:17
Haven't heard much about what the clubs that were relagated from D3, St.Mary's and UHS-VU, are looking like for 2007? Can anyone enlighten me?!

Ifeellikechickentonight
7 Nov 2006, 20:43
Just to prove I know a bit about footy and sweet FA about racing my selection for the Cup :
23-4-8.
Hope someone on here has agood day.

Thought you might have backed the winners given their Japanese background!

Word has it you're even more popular in the land of the rising sun than what you are here!

spy1
8 Nov 2006, 07:28
Chickee Babe,
It is true I hold some cultural appeal with the ovely ladies of Nippon, I fear some of the males there have less fond memories of my passing through their country.

JP the Chinaman
8 Nov 2006, 07:37
the Cup, NO good boys no good...never betting again...think i will stick to footy.:thumbsd:

Spruce Moose
8 Nov 2006, 08:36
Haven't heard much about what the clubs that were relagated from D3, St.Mary's and UHS-VU, are looking like for 2007? Can anyone enlighten me?!

Based on their respective D3 seasons, I would say that St.Mary's are better than what their form through the season would suggest. Should definitely make top 4, but I'm not sure if they're capable of going all the way. Dare I suggest that they might not want to get promoted again after D3 scared the living daylights out of them. Just didn't want to be there from the start.

UHS-VU is the weaker of the two sides, and I would expect them to finish anywhere between 5th and 8th. Just don't have enough guns.

the_observer
8 Nov 2006, 09:04
Thanks Spruce Moose. Actually heard a whisper last night from someone in the know that UHS-VU have picked up a few handy players through the University and could be more competitive than most people think.

Vulture_72
8 Nov 2006, 10:26
Based on their respective D3 seasons, I would say that St.Mary's are better than what their form through the season would suggest. Should definitely make top 4, but I'm not sure if they're capable of going all the way. Dare I suggest that they might not want to get promoted again after D3 scared the living daylights out of them. Just didn't want to be there from the start.

UHS-VU is the weaker of the two sides, and I would expect them to finish anywhere between 5th and 8th. Just don't have enough guns.

UHS have appointed former VFL player Scott Whyte as playing coach. Rick Watts has also signed on for the Green and Tan next year. I dont know much about these blokes but it looks like a positive step for the students.

lout
8 Nov 2006, 12:43

But what if they cannot field a ressies?? What happens to the teams who make the voyage up to the hills to kick the dew off... only to be told they are playing a reduced team( easy kill perhaps, no challenge for sure) or that they have no game at all that day??

If the VAFA is letting them in just to avoid the bye seems rather insipid.

BTW anyone who picked more than 1 winner yesterday would've been using the force, caus I like many others did my aggots!!

guru1
9 Nov 2006, 13:39
Boxhill seemed to have improved over the last couple of years, if it keeps up this year could be a force. not sorry to see the back of those cocky hawthorn pr*@#s

super snooper
9 Nov 2006, 16:42
does prahan play in this division, and if so how does simon craig go?

SharkBait
9 Nov 2006, 18:53
I heard a whisper down at Tally ho that a Daniel is not happy with the appointment of the new coach Manny.... He was apart of the recruitment committmee but was outvoted and he is not happy.... Looks like they will lose another good player.... Can anyone confirm this?

spy1
11 Nov 2006, 08:09
I heard a whisper down at Tally ho that a Daniel is not happy with the appointment of the new coach Manny.... He was apart of the recruitment committmee but was outvoted and he is not happy.... Looks like they will lose another good player.... Can anyone confirm this?

There is nothing on my radar Sharky.:confused: However I love a good rumour, I will fish around and see what the tide floats up.

spy1
11 Nov 2006, 08:13
JP,
Getting closer to the truth I hear. That last stab in the dark was well thought out but not quite on the money. Good film the other night wasn't it?
If you think the film was good wait till you try the real thing. Ohhh those Tokyo women are a joy to behold..... or just hold.

JP the Chinaman
13 Nov 2006, 08:07
Hi mate, you remember why I had to leave? Same reason why those Tokyo women won't do too much for me, Missus mate...hahaha....:thumbsu:

spy1
13 Nov 2006, 09:18
Better the bird in hand than the balls on the end of a knife eh?

JP the Chinaman
13 Nov 2006, 10:21
I don't really get that one mate...how about bring back the footy talk Boys!!! preseason starting at any of your clubs??? Bring on the next season!!!

ALFY
13 Nov 2006, 13:27
"PRE SEASON" "What" King Cobra has just fallen off his seat, its only November he has Xmas and New Year to get over Xmas puddings the odd cream cake or two and maybe even the odd pie.
Would the cobras be stocking up on there pies and cakes this early....?

JP the Chinaman
13 Nov 2006, 15:01
You need to run for 4 weeks leading up to Xmas so you can have a good Xmas without putting on too much...that's what I think anyway...but KC have other ideas...Alfy? what about you?:thumbsu:

guru1
14 Nov 2006, 09:30
Righto boys, who's looking good this year and picked up a few? also who's coaching who this year.

knackers22
17 Nov 2006, 13:44
Uni high have picked up a few and will be a reasonable side.

As for St Marys know for a fact they have picked up 2 A grade players that featured high in senior voting last year. They have also announced joint coaches with ''jedda'' returning and rumour has it a former player who snagged 17 against Eltham 4 years ago.

Eltham, as said joint coaches and looks the goods again.

guru1
21 Nov 2006, 11:47
sounds like the saints have done well there knackers! they probably needed to pick up a few judging on last year as with Uni High. Jedda's a nice get though, tough to stop when on song

overtheline
21 Nov 2006, 11:52
sounds like the saints have done well there knackers! they probably needed to pick up a few judging on last year as with Uni High. Jedda's a nice get though, tough to stop when on song

Papaluca from Marcellin is the big signing at St Marys. Will help a bit in D4 one would think!

the_observer
21 Nov 2006, 12:36
Sounds like St.Mary's will be very competitive. Don't know much about this Papaluca though can anybody tell me some more. Also had a chat to a person in the know at Uni High who has let me know that they are very excited about 2007 with the new signings to the club. Let's hope that they are competitive because it sounds like it is going to be a tough comp next year!

guru1
21 Nov 2006, 12:43
don't know much about him Observer but coming down to D4 you'd think he'd make an impression. What types have the Uni boys picked up?

no31
21 Nov 2006, 12:44
Adrien Papaluca (MARCELLIN OC) 18 02/09/2006 3 - 2 1 10 named in best

"Adrien Papaluca was runner-up, adding to his third place finish in the overall A Grade Best and Fairest count."

The boy can obviously play.

the_observer
21 Nov 2006, 12:54
don't know much about him Observer but coming down to D4 you'd think he'd make an impression. What types have the Uni boys picked up?

Papaluca sounds like a fantastic player. Good for the league to have him. Uni high has used there strong link with the university to pick up a few handy types. The coach has a strong link there which has helped. Amongst the players are a centreman, centre half back, centre half forward, ruckman and a few flanker types. They all look likely types who have played at higher levels previously but want to play together.

Concrete boots
21 Nov 2006, 15:17
Erm...guys, St Marys have somehow managed to get the fella who was rated the 3rd best player in the VAFA last season to drop down into the bottom senior division - I think it'd be fair to say he's the best U22 player in the entire VAFA by a fair margin. So it's nothing short of an absolute coup that he's playing.

He'll make more than a "fair impression" - he'd be 2/1 on to win the competition B&F. I just hope opposition sides don't target him because he's clearly the best player in D4. A pint sized rover who is always at the bottom of the packs and has good pace. Things must be bad at Marcellin if they couldn't convince him to stay. Unless St Marys made him an offer he could refuse......mmmm....

lout
21 Nov 2006, 15:20
Amongst the players are a centreman, centre half back, centre half forward, ruckman and a few flanker types. They all look likely types who have played at higher levels previously but want to play together.

LOL sounds like University Blues club 18 team who couldn't get a lift up!! What about a full back (with pockets), full foward(pockets optional as we know they never give it off anyways!!)a runner & physio?? ;)

Looking to be a cracking season in 2007 if all this pork barrelling actually comes into fruition!

lout
21 Nov 2006, 15:24
Hey concrete... I thought Dobbo was the pint sized rover who was into everything?? Maybe I'm a little outta touch I guess, as last time I spoke to him injury was starting to get the better of him!

"I just hope opposition sides don't target him because he's clearly the best player in D4." haha 2 points here.... no-one in the D4 would do such a thing, Powerhouse have gone up! Best player in D4 well thats a big call since he hasn't stepped out onto the battlefield yet.

port-man_fc
21 Nov 2006, 19:48
Hey concrete... I thought Dobbo was the pint sized rover who was into everything?? Maybe I'm a little outta touch I guess, as last time I spoke to him injury was starting to get the better of him!

"I just hope opposition sides don't target him because he's clearly the best player in D4." haha 2 points here.... no-one in the D4 would do such a thing, Powerhouse have gone up! Best player in D4 well thats a big call since he hasn't stepped out onto the battlefield yet.

Of course he will be a target if he does come to D4, A grade 3rd best and fairest no matter what age or size will be a targetn D4, id be very suprised if heavy tags would not be put on this guy, guys like cookson get tagged then so will he, no doubt....... Anyone not agree???

The Big Pineapple
22 Nov 2006, 07:53
Of course he will be a target if he does come to D4, A grade 3rd best and fairest no matter what age or size will be a targetn D4, id be very suprised if heavy tags would not be put on this guy, guys like cookson get tagged then so will he, no doubt....... Anyone not agree???

Lets face it... opposition teams may try to tag but it's D4, no one will be able to keep up!

Chewbacca
22 Nov 2006, 07:58
Sounds like this guy has come down to get some easy kicks. Trust me Pineapple even though its D4 this guy aint going to be getting anything easy.

Turbs23
22 Nov 2006, 09:02
Sounds like this guy has come down to get some easy kicks. Trust me Pineapple even though its D4 this guy aint going to be getting anything easy.
It's actually funny coming down grades so much, as it takes a while to get used to the change in skill level & pace. In D4, you have to do a bit more work to get the pill as it doesn't hit you laces out as much etc. That being said, this guy sounds a likely sort so shouldn't take him long to adjust.

Trueblueroo
22 Nov 2006, 11:20
In the players coming, i can tell you one has played at VFL level, one at GVFL rep level, and all of them have played a standard of footy as good as the Ballarat and Bendigo leagues and stand out in them! Could be a bit of a whitewash season as far as blues are concerned! Can tell you 2 of the boys are over 6"3 and the others are solid hard at it boys!

the_observer
22 Nov 2006, 12:05
In the players coming, i can tell you one has played at VFL level, one at GVFL rep level, and all of them have played a standard of footy as good as the Ballarat and Bendigo leagues and stand out in them! Could be a bit of a whitewash season as far as blues are concerned! Can tell you 2 of the boys are over 6"3 and the others are solid hard at it boys!

What team is that for? I am a bit simple and might have missed it! Apologies for my ignorance!

no31
22 Nov 2006, 12:15
What team is that for? I am a bit simple and might have missed it! Apologies for my ignorance!

That would be Uni-High not Uni Blues

the_observer
22 Nov 2006, 12:19
That would be Uni-High not Uni Blues

Thanks No31 for that. Can't wait for next year if all these claims that have been typed over the last couple of days come true! Should be fantastic!

lout
22 Nov 2006, 13:35

Tagging is a fair bit different than being a target though..... I would rather be tagged than targeted, though I never had the prowess to have a bullseye on my back!;)

MADDOG17
22 Nov 2006, 14:21
these blokes would have to be getting coin under the table??
I doubt they would play for nothing in D4, a massive difference in quality of footy.

Scribe
22 Nov 2006, 14:30
these blokes would have to be getting coin under the table??
I doubt they would play for nothing in D4, a massive difference in quality of footy.

Unless they're well into their 40's, which might make sense. :p

I would've said late 30's but Mark Seccull proved this season that you can still make a big impression at 39!!:D

lout
22 Nov 2006, 16:03

I'm thinking that my tounge in cheek comment re Uni Blues under 18 team going to St Marys may have been taken outta context. Last time I checked Uni Blues were not playing D4 so they can whitewash the A div with their "amateur" ;) players.

spy1
22 Nov 2006, 17:25
Sorry to be off topic, as this talk is very engaging.

Is it true that JP will be featuring in the next Berli Bras ad.
Sorry mate, that was passed on by the lesser #11.

Ifeellikechickentonight
23 Nov 2006, 00:35
What's all this talk about "A" grade players coming down to D4 or "B" or "C" or VFL, AFL, NFL, NRL or what the bloody hell?
All you guys get on the forum and climax over what may be tremendously talented individuals playing in a division far less to their talents and capacities.
So what? What will they have achieved? Will these guys be able to hold their heads up high, after playing in such high divisions, when they say "we beat D4 level players"?
What's sad is that a lot of you fools idolize them for that!
The reality is that these guys are soft! If they are that good, why aren't they challenging themselves? Why aren't they playing to their potential?
Forget this crap about playing with their mates! These guys are generally of weak character who have to lower themselves to get the attention they couldn't get in the higher grades.
We should be praising those hard working, loyal, less gifted guys of D4 level who rise above themselves and spank those highly talented, weak natured characters who only stick around for a year or two.
All year, people praised Hawthorn for being such a great side. They did nothing great! It was only three years ago they were sitting in D2. So what was great about a club and its players who for many years were exposed to higher divisions and then being promoted from D4? Same with Powerhouse! What did they achieve? They had guys who predominantly played in D3 and higher! What was great about them being promoted?
What would of been great would have been seeing a side who had been in D4 for many years, rise above these sides that people suddenly praise like they are the greatest thing ever, forgetting they were the biggest drop kicks in the higher division they previously played.
Uni High and St. Mary's...So what if they get big names of "A" grade standard and win! What will they have achieved? Bottom line is nothing because the way they go about it, they'll always be back.

Flowerpower
23 Nov 2006, 08:24
Chickenboy,

You are way off the mark. And sounds like a case of sour grapes too. :thumbsd:

Amateur footy is all about playing with your mates.

To cast dispersions on a playing group dropping back playing levels, where no circumstances are known is slanderous. The guys could work nearby, have a job promotion that doesn't allow for training rigors (in A grade), or other reasons we may never know about.

You cannot comment on things you obviously know nothing about.

Me thinks you are not a chicken but an emu with his head in the sand. ;)

stELTHpowa
23 Nov 2006, 11:43
Chickenboy,

You are way off the mark. And sounds like a case of sour grapes too. :thumbsd:

Amateur footy is all about playing with your mates.

To cast dispersions on a playing group dropping back playing levels, where no circumstances are known is slanderous. The guys could work nearby, have a job promotion that doesn't allow for training rigors (in A grade), or other reasons we may never know about.

You cannot comment on things you obviously know nothing about.

Me thinks you are not a chicken but an emu with his head in the sand. ;)

Well said Flowerpower
Clubs stuck in D4 or a low grade for a while are LANGUISHING through a lacking in ability? organisation? culture? passion? professionalism? mmmm many of those to be sour grapes. Looks like a long dry season in your neck of the woods Chicken.

lout
23 Nov 2006, 11:59
Well said Flowerpower
Clubs stuck in D4 or a low grade for a while are LANGUISHING through a lacking in ability? organisation? culture? passion? professionalism? mmmm many of those to be sour grapes. Looks like a long dry season in your neck of the woods Chicken.

Or maybe they lack in wealthy backers who own lotsa brown paper bags! Seems to me that would be one way to FLOURISH in the VAFA eh Stelth??

Albility, organisation,culture, passion and professionalism can be measured in different levels. Never knock blokes who play D4 for passion, and most clubs have a great culture and high levels of organisation.

Phantom Strobler
23 Nov 2006, 12:21
Well said Flowerpower

Take off the blinkers. Your statment is an insult to hardworking clubs that do the community a favour. Not like some of the private school clubs and rich sponsored clubs that have it on a platter. Buffoon!!!

Well said lout. The brownpaper bag industry is doing well in the upper echelons.

Trueblueroo
23 Nov 2006, 12:32
Sounds like chicken is scared of not being notcied! Bit of an attention seeking individual are we chicken!

port-man_fc
23 Nov 2006, 13:06
Take off the blinkers. Your statment is an insult to hardworking clubs that do the community a favour. Not like some of the private school clubs and rich sponsored clubs that have it on a platter. Buffoon!!!

Well said lout. The brownpaper bag industry is doing well in the upper echelons.

Inside word is that its an $800.00 brown paper bag for an A grade, 3rd best and fairest.......

stELTHpowa
23 Nov 2006, 15:06
Bit of passion all of a sudden hey?

Well said Lout/Phantom Strobler.
Too much always left to too few in the low grades for not much return?
Poor but BUFFOONS are wasting time and energy IF they are not receiving the support of others!
2007 looks a clear race between St Marys, UHS, Albert Park and perennial finalists Eltham. Bulleen next best of the rest though some off season improvement required.
Streets ahead of the rest. A raffle for the bottom echelon between Mt Lilydale, Syndal, Box Hill North, North Brunswick and Richmond.
(Richmond deserve a lot better amongst that bunch and go Centrals!)

spy1
23 Nov 2006, 19:03
I remember being told by a confident individual how Syndal were going to wipe the floor with D4. They were confident of securing a few prodigal sons and big reputation mates. That was November last year.
When looking at D3 - D4 we are not looking at the Grand Canyon you know.
The best way to get your club to rise through the grades and not suffer the yo-yo effect, is to build a strong team over several years using your youth. Let's look back at the end of the season and see how correct some of these bold statements have been.

stELTHpowa
23 Nov 2006, 19:26
I remember being told by a confident individual how Syndal were going to wipe the floor with D4. They were confident of securing a few prodigal sons and big reputation mates. That was November last year.
When looking at D3 - D4 we are not looking at the Grand Canyon you know.
The best way to get your club to rise through the grades and not suffer the yo-yo effect, is to build a strong team over several years using your youth. Let's look back at the end of the season and see how correct some of these bold statements have been.

The way it pans out at time spy1.
Seems that with Hawthorn and Powerhouse promoted and early season trendsetters Eltham licking their wounds apart from Albert Park already making big inroads in the recruiting area with UHS and St Marys there is a gulf brtween those sides and the rest.

spy1
23 Nov 2006, 21:28
Not every team that captures a recruit or more will always shout it from the roof tops.
The man that says he has abig one in a loud voice, is invariably covering his real short comings.

Ifeellikechickentonight
24 Nov 2006, 00:48
Glad to see plenty of support from some fair minded people! I can also appreciate some criticism because that's what a real discussion is all about.
My point is this:
When you've followed the ammo's long enough, you see the same thing over and over. When ST. Mary's and UHSVU were in D3, where was all the arrogant banter? Didn't see them whip anyones arses up there! Where were all the big guns they needed to keep them there after they had been promoted from D4? They've dropped down after being the bitch to every other side in D3 last season and suddenly they are going to be sh*t hot in a lower division and we should stand up now and admire them!
So what happened to the guys that got St Mary's to D3? Did they leave after one year or where they not good enough?
So often these so called "A" grade players come down for a year, maybe two if the club is lucky, then leave. Why? Because they have no love, no passion, no loyalty for the club and it's so unfortunate for the club because they have misguided committees who look for a quick fix, for quick glory. No respect for the long term future of the club and little regard for the damage it causes.
I think many will agree that most of those who have been predicted to struggle next season, have got a hell of a lot more heart and soul and above all, integrity. Ultimately, their achievements won't be judged or scrutinized by any "brown paper bags".
I agree with you Flowerpower! There are some very rare instances where highly talented guys for whatever reason join a D4 side and stick around for many years. I admire these guys because they discover something unique and wonderful about the club they are with and they embrace it wholeheartedly.
Those who think I'm scared or just having a winge well than you've only just started out on this forum. This is what D4 is all about, pure passion.
Check out the banter from A year ago and see how things panned out!

Nothing wrong with attention! It's is what makes a lot of people, clubs and businesses successful!

stELTHpowa
24 Nov 2006, 01:20
Glad to see plenty of support from some fair minded people! I can also appreciate some criticism because that's what a real discussion is all about.
My point is this:
When you've followed the ammo's long enough, you see the same thing over and over. When ST. Mary's and UHSVU were in D3, where was all the arrogant banter? Didn't see them whip anyones arses up there! Where were all the big guns they needed to keep them there after they had been promoted from D4? They've dropped down after being the bitch to every other side in D3 last season and suddenly they are going to be sh*t hot in a lower division and we should stand up now and admire them!
So what happened to the guys that got St Mary's to D3? Did they leave after one year or where they not good enough?
So often these so called "A" grade players come down for a year, maybe two if the club is lucky, then leave. Why? Because they have no love, no passion, no loyalty for the club and it's so unfortunate for the club because they have misguided committees who look for a quick fix, for quick glory. No respect for the long term future of the club and little regard for the damage it causes.
I think many will agree that most of those who have been predicted to struggle next season, have got a hell of a lot more heart and soul and above all, integrity. Ultimately, their achievements won't be judged or scrutinized by any "brown paper bags".
I agree with you Flowerpower! There are some very rare instances where highly talented guys for whatever reason join a D4 side and stick around for many years. I admire these guys because they discover something unique and wonderful about the club they are with and they embrace it wholeheartedly.
Those who think I'm scared or just having a winge well than you've only just started out on this forum. This is what D4 is all about, pure passion.
Check out the banter from A year ago and see how things panned out!

Nothing wrong with attention! It's is what makes a lot of people, clubs and businesses successful!

Past ur beddie time Chicken
Those lower sides in D4 may have some passion, but stupendous to equate that to what makes people, clubs and businesses successful.
Dream on.

Ifeellikechickentonight
24 Nov 2006, 11:02
Past ur beddie time Chicken
Those lower sides in D4 may have some passion, but stupendous to equate that to what makes people, clubs and businesses successful.
Dream on.

Loving you already stELTH!

stELTHpowa
24 Nov 2006, 11:48
Loving you already stELTH!

Too much chicken makes you greazzzzy.

JP the Chinaman
24 Nov 2006, 12:05
the lesser no.11 has impressed me by featuring in Nov...I think i got to him a bit...

lout
24 Nov 2006, 12:12
Got to agree with the chicken, I posted ages ago about the cockiness of teams who were basically relgated from D3. Now going upon my reckoning that is nothing to be proud of and definately doesn't give bragging rights in the D4! Just get on with the business at hand and remember respect is earnt not given, regardless if you had Wayne Carey lining up at CHF!!

Spy and JP you two developed a new language??

JP the Chinaman
24 Nov 2006, 12:40
sorry lout, no, i don't know what Spy1's talking about, he is in a world of his own...

Spruce Moose
24 Nov 2006, 12:45
I agree with Chicken in that there is nothing admirable about a club who yo-yos between divisions, happy to be premiership contenders every other year, but never really making a fist of it in the higher grade.

Far more admirable are clubs like Old Westbourne and Elsternwick who have not only been promoted, but then made finals the following year.