View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
stELTHpowa
24 Nov 2006, 14:36
I agree with Chicken in that there is nothing admirable about a club who yo-yos between divisions, happy to be premiership contenders every other year, but never really making a fist of it in the higher grade.
Far more admirable are clubs like Old Westbourne and Elsternwick who have not only been promoted, but then made finals the following year.
Right on Spruce
Old Westbourne and Elsternwick top examples of making waves in the right way. About time some of those perennial non finalists in D4 have a look at alternate options. Merge or relocate? Competition organisers seem happy to have the same old same old battle against the odds.
Stick the neck out sprucesters with an early ladder prediction;
Eltham
St Marys
Albert Park
UHS
huge gap-
Eley Park
Richmond (everyone's second club ala Bulldogs)
Box Hill North
Mt Lilydale
Syndal
North Brunswick
stELTHpowa
24 Nov 2006, 16:25
Let's not forget the Cobras sprucesters. Bulleen for fifth and a chance.
Vulture_72
24 Nov 2006, 16:59
I agree with Chicken in that there is nothing admirable about a club who yo-yos between divisions, happy to be premiership contenders every other year, but never really making a fist of it in the higher grade.
Far more admirable are clubs like Old Westbourne and Elsternwick who have not only been promoted, but then made finals the following year.
Hang on guys. Uni High finished 3rd in Div 3 in 2004 after winning the D4 flag in 03 and would have been dissapointed not to have moved up to D2. If they had the choice of staying in D3 this year then they would still be there next year.
Ifeellikechickentonight
24 Nov 2006, 20:56
Well said Spruce! You know exactly what I'm on about!
stELTHpowa
24 Nov 2006, 21:33
Well said Spruce! You know exactly what I'm on about!
Love ya Chicken,
Which club you and buddy spruce aligned with?
sorry lout, no, i don't know what Spy1's talking about, he is in a world of his own...
Same world, just a different dimension.
Is it not true that the lesser #11 made an inappropriate remark about your upper torso at training on monday?
As for his inspiration appearance on the track Wed; every time I've seen him since he is lying down moaning.
The Tiger's Nuts
25 Nov 2006, 09:30
As for his inspiration appearance on the track Wed; every time I've seen him since he is lying down moaning.
Gaaah. That'll be me next week.
Tigernuts
JP the Chinaman
25 Nov 2006, 10:40
yes, all the great things about training in Nov, best time to get some miles into the legs or pump some weights in the gym...any club started their training yet? sounds like Richmond may start next week from what tigernut's talking about....
Central Element
25 Nov 2006, 12:59
Not yet. Official pre-season starts 8 January but we are expected to present ourselves in reasonable condition.
Chewbacca
27 Nov 2006, 08:10
Right on Spruce
Old Westbourne and Elsternwick top examples of making waves in the right way. About time some of those perennial non finalists in D4 have a look at alternate options. Merge or relocate? Competition organisers seem happy to have the same old same old battle against the odds.
Stick the neck out sprucesters with an early ladder prediction;
Eltham
St Marys
Albert Park
UHS
huge gap-
Eley Park
Richmond (everyone's second club ala Bulldogs)
Box Hill North
Mt Lilydale
Syndal
North Brunswick
Haha what a joke. You know a few weeks ago i did actually have a lot of respect for Eltham and was talking them up as minor premiers for 2007. But with chumps like you around the club i think the future looks pretty poor. It seems that Eltham have been stuck in the D4 for a while why don't you think about "merging or relocating"
Flowerpower
27 Nov 2006, 12:02
Chewy,
Usually blokes that do not know the meaning of the word "humble" are those that fall the hardest.
Stelth is in for one bumpy landing !!!! :)
port-man_fc
27 Nov 2006, 13:28
Haha what a joke. You know a few weeks ago i did actually have a lot of respect for Eltham and was talking them up as minor premiers for 2007. But with chumps like you around the club i think the future looks pretty poor. It seems that Eltham have been stuck in the D4 for a while why don't you think about "merging or relocating"
Before you have a go at Eltham, do you even know if stelth is from the club, as many of times this year people have sign on claiming they are from Eltham for a laugh or to give people the sh*ts, i wouldnt say this bloke is from the club......
Dunno Chewy, methinks you are aiming the gun in the wrong direction! Stelth (as far as I have read) hasn't indicated that he is from Eltham. Yeah he may have put them ontop of his predictions for 2007, but so have a few other blokes throughout the forum! He was just stirring to get the conversation going, so might I suggest you read back a few posts to get a grasp of whats going on instead of jumping all over Eltham. The only DH who pretended to be from Eltham was a tool going by the name 'arvosjunior' and from the looks of it he has been out playing on Glenferrie Rd!
Chewbacca
27 Nov 2006, 15:25
Don't get me wrong boys i am not having a go at Eltham but just this nobs comments in general. I hope that for the sake of any Eltham players or supporters that he is just some DH pretending to be from down the valley. But if he isnt pretending then its a sad thought for anyone from the club.
If he isnt from Eltham then i apologise.
Lout i hope we don't have another Arvos Junior because we both know what a loud mouthed tosser he was.
Anyway back to business i am keeping to my prediction of Eltham coming out on top but i think everyone will be very surprised with who makes up the rest of the four.
Don't get me wrong boys i am not having a go at Eltham but just this nobs comments in general. I hope that for the sake of any Eltham players or supporters that he is just some DH pretending to be from down the valley. But if he isnt pretending then its a sad thought for anyone from the club.
If he isnt from Eltham then i apologise.
Lout i hope we don't have another Arvos Junior because we both know what a loud mouthed tosser he was.
Anyway back to business i am keeping to my prediction of Eltham coming out on top but i think everyone will be very surprised with who makes up the rest of the four.
Indeed he was a flog!
Ifeellikechickentonight
27 Nov 2006, 22:59
Love ya Chicken,
Which club you and buddy spruce aligned with?
To be honest, I have no idea who Spruce is or which club he is aligned with. I just appreciate that he gets what I'm saying!
As for myself, just like all of us, I'll keep that a mystery!
The word I've heard is that while the Saints have picked up some likely types they have also lost a few as well. If the types of players i hear are leaving i wouldnt expect a top 2 finishfrom the boys at the postage stamp! While Eltham would have to be clear cut favourites at the moment having recruited quite well and as we know it only takes a few good players to make a real difference!
Flowerpower
28 Nov 2006, 11:44
Eltham favorites Chewy??
Hope they have recruited a few blokes that don't crawl under rocks when the rain comes ! :eek:
vegemite
29 Nov 2006, 11:44
Eltham favorites Chewy??
Hope they have recruited a few blokes that don't crawl under rocks when the rain comes ! :eek:
Prediction: Eltham will be in D4 in 2008 - might make the finals but won't go up - what will change from this year and from all reports, the sides coming down will be good and Box Hill and Albert Park will be much improved.
So stick your neck out veggie.... who will go up in 2008? Whilst on the long range predictions who will be coming back down in 2008? Powerhouse and who?:rolleyes:
stELTHpowa
29 Nov 2006, 22:47
Eltham favorites Chewy??
Have a rest on the pine chewy; Flowerpower appears to have wilted under the heat.
Hey guys,
The Yarra City council is preventing football clubs from organising pre-season training on ANY grassed surface in Richmond this offseason. To be honest, most of the grounds around are looking pretty sparse on top, so I dont really blame them.
It might be interesting running training drills in the car park though :)
Do any of the other councils have these restrictions in place?
joshooaa
30 Nov 2006, 13:13
Have Eltham Turtles recruited anyone else of note besides John Garrard? Im suprised that more periferal Eltham Panthers players dont seem to make the trip up main road to the College. I would have thought that disenchanted Pathers players would make a great target for this club?
Grant Thomas
30 Nov 2006, 13:14
Hey guys,
The Yarra City council is preventing football clubs from organising pre-season training on ANY grassed surface in Richmond this offseason. To be honest, most of the grounds around are looking pretty sparse on top, so I dont really blame them.
It might be interesting running training drills in the car park though :)
Do any of the other councils have these restrictions in place?
Gee, that's really going to put the Centrals behind the 8 ball this year
Coach Hollywood
30 Nov 2006, 13:44
Have Eltham Turtles recruited anyone else of note besides John Garrard? Im suprised that more periferal Eltham Panthers players dont seem to make the trip up main road to the College. I would have thought that disenchanted Pathers players would make a great target for this club?
Apparently they've got a couple over the last few years joshoaa and i'm working on few more as we speak, also got 5 blokes who came from Ivanhoe with me and with 3 weeks of pre season under their belts the boys can't wait for next season!
Grant Thomas
30 Nov 2006, 13:49
Apparently they've got a couple over the last few years joshoaa and i'm working on few more as we speak, also got 5 blokes who came from Ivanhoe with me and with 3 weeks of pre season under their belts the boys can't wait for next season!
Who are the 5 from Ivanhoe?
One's players?
Coach Hollywood
30 Nov 2006, 14:12
Who are the 5 from Ivanhoe?
One's players?
Yeah they all played at least one game in 1's last year, but we did have about 45 players who played in the Seniors last year.
port-man_fc
30 Nov 2006, 14:57
Most of the Ex Panthers are from the under 19's, which have all been handy players for us to say the least being Adam Mclaren, Chris Conole, Matt Pattison, Aaron Wyhte, Lyall Mee, Lucas Barnes, Hayden Dillion
This year looks as if we have got Jason Mee and possibly Trav Mee who havent played at panther for a while but are still registered with them id say, and as Coach said he is also working on some current and Ex panthers :thumbsu:
BlindTurn
30 Nov 2006, 15:44
Is there any reason why you didnt get re appointed at Ivanhoe Coach after only 1 season.
vegemite
30 Nov 2006, 16:14
So stick your neck out veggie.... who will go up in 2008? Whilst on the long range predictions who will be coming back down in 2008? Powerhouse and who?:rolleyes:
Going up - Box Hill and St Marys. Going down - 2 teams other than Power House
39. Better get to the game early though, I don't tend to play the later game!
That won't be a problem in '07.
Notice to regulars:
The above quote and reply is an in joke for squeaky and the originator of this thread. Sorry to digress and don't stress over non existent hidden meanings.
stELTHpowa
1 Dec 2006, 06:54
Love ya Vegie......Box Hill and St Marys up in smoke. Have u got the right comp?
vegemite
1 Dec 2006, 07:41
Love ya Vegie......Box Hill and St Marys up in smoke. Have u got the right comp?
Yep, Box Hill would have beaten Eltham in the finals and seem to be moving in the right direction. St Marys - a bit of a punt based on all the chat about them - don't know too much them really
:rolleyes:
Archangel17
1 Dec 2006, 17:35
St Marys and Box Hill Nth right it in now..
hey has anyone worked out who the two new teams are and the name change team??? Was guessing Mt Lilydale was one of the new ones.. the other one apparently from SFL
Archangel17
1 Dec 2006, 17:36
sorry .. should read website.. mt Lilydale definitely coming into d4
What's all this talk about "A" grade players coming down to D4 or "B" or "C" or VFL, AFL, NFL, NRL or what the bloody hell?
All you guys get on the forum and climax over what may be tremendously talented individuals playing in a division far less to their talents and capacities.
So what? What will they have achieved? Will these guys be able to hold their heads up high, after playing in such high divisions, when they say "we beat D4 level players"?
What's sad is that a lot of you fools idolize them for that!
The reality is that these guys are soft! If they are that good, why aren't they challenging themselves? Why aren't they playing to their potential?
Forget this crap about playing with their mates! These guys are generally of weak character who have to lower themselves to get the attention they couldn't get in the higher grades.
We should be praising those hard working, loyal, less gifted guys of D4 level who rise above themselves and spank those highly talented, weak natured characters who only stick around for a year or two.
All year, people praised Hawthorn for being such a great side. They did nothing great! It was only three years ago they were sitting in D2. So what was great about a club and its players who for many years were exposed to higher divisions and then being promoted from D4? Same with Powerhouse! What did they achieve? They had guys who predominantly played in D3 and higher! What was great about them being promoted?
What would of been great would have been seeing a side who had been in D4 for many years, rise above these sides that people suddenly praise like they are the greatest thing ever, forgetting they were the biggest drop kicks in the higher division they previously played.
Uni High and St. Mary's...So what if they get big names of "A" grade standard and win! What will they have achieved? Bottom line is nothing because the way they go about it, they'll always be back.
Mate,
I know blokes who have come down from the higher grades because the blokes they played with in the higher grades where total W ankers. For them it has nothing to do with being a big fish in a small pond. I also know guys who have played in the ds who would have walked into an a grade side. The guys I am talking about hung around for years and a legends at these clubs. Should they be ashamed of that?? You can't simply judge and put eveyone in the same boat. If you beleive people should always be playing sport at the highest level they can get to than your view of sport is very jaded IMO. Fair enough when players do it just to be a big fish in a small pond but I can tell you then blokes i am talking about do not.
D4 clubs will not win flags or move up without a few blokes who have enough talent to play a and b grade. The likes of the centrals will still be spooners if they cannot somehow get atleast 2 or 3 players who have A-C grade ability.
Remember all the players are ammatuer so why does it matter what division they play in??
PointPaul
2 Dec 2006, 08:09
Hey stELTH,
U are enjoying the hillbilly lifestyle far too much amongst your buds up there there under all those rocks.....ladder after home and away....
Eltham
Box Hill North
Albert Park
UHS ?
St Marys ?
Bulleen
Eley Park
Syndal
Mt Lilydale
North Brunswick....the Turtles then go to sleep yet again in September.
vegemite
4 Dec 2006, 08:35
St Marys and Box Hill Nth right it in now..
hey has anyone worked out who the two new teams are and the name change team??? Was guessing Mt Lilydale was one of the new ones.. the other one apparently from SFL
The team is definitely South Mornington. There's another thread that suggests that the thumbs up has been given but as per a local leader newspaper, the latest known for sure is:
- South Mornington have applied for a clearance from the SFL to the VAFA
- the VAFA have accepted their application into D4
- the SFL is opposing the move citing disappointment with their support of the club which only started 2 years ago.
- Football Victoria will make a ruling on whether they can move to the VAFA
Yeah they all played at least one game in 1's last year, but we did have about 45 players who played in the Seniors last year.
Coach Hollywood, any word on who the 5 players from Ivanhoe are? From reading last seasons threads I would think it would be Peter Hoare, B.W.T.F, Mark Harevy etc. Only mates can give you that sort of treatment on a website like this.
Coach Hollywood
4 Dec 2006, 10:51
Is there any reason why you didnt get re appointed at Ivanhoe Coach after only 1 season.
Blind Turn, Ivanhoe wanted a non playing coach and offered me an assistant role instead, as it was quite difficult to play & coach. I was more interested in learning from my first season as a coach and trying to improve from there, when Matty Blagrove & I spoke about the possibilty of being joint coaches at the Turtles and sharing the workload of both playing & coaching together. The fact we got relegated wouldn't of helped either I bet!
Coach Hollywood, any word on who the 5 players from Ivanhoe are? From reading last seasons threads I would think it would be Peter Hoare, B.W.T.F, Mark Harevy etc. Only mates can give you that sort of treatment on a website like this.
Heoch, They're are just the guys I took with me to Ivanhoe in the first place. As for the other boys, just enjoying a bit of forum banter and those fellas who love it just as much I do.
I'm looking forward to a big season ahead of even more banter down here in D4.
BlindTurn
5 Dec 2006, 12:46
Blind Turn, Ivanhoe wanted a non playing coach and offered me an assistant role instead, as it was quite difficult to play & coach. I was more interested in learning from my first season as a coach and trying to improve from there, when Matty Blagrove & I spoke about the possibilty of being joint coaches at the Turtles and sharing the workload of both playing & coaching together. The fact we got relegated wouldn't of helped either I bet!
Fair enough then. All valid points, dual coaching? Will be very interested to see how that works. Surely there will be some disagreements on how things should go, or do you both have a pretty much the same footy philosophies.
By the way who are the Ivanhoe players going across with you? Can you name them as Im very interested to know.
smokingjoe49
6 Dec 2006, 10:44
The team is definitely South Mornington. There's another thread that suggests that the thumbs up has been given but as per a local leader newspaper, the latest known for sure is:
- South Mornington have applied for a clearance from the SFL to the VAFA
- the VAFA have accepted their application into D4
- the SFL is opposing the move citing disappointment with their support of the club which only started 2 years ago.
- Football Victoria will make a ruling on whether they can move to the VAFA
Are they any good, going to be a strong comp next year, wonder what the finals formula will be?
On the Southern thread they mentioned that they could only field one team for the majority of last season. This year Powerhouse had aligned themselves with their U/19's, so the could play in the ammos u/19 comp.
Coach Hollywood
6 Dec 2006, 11:31
Looks official now guys.
As per the VAFA website - South Mornington FC were yesterday granted approval from Football Victoria to transfer their senior team from the Southern Football League to the VAFA.
South Mornington will join Mt Lilydale as the new teams in the expanded 12 team D4 Section for 2007. The club understands that because of the make-up of the VAFA there will be high degree of travelling required to compete, but they feel this offers players in their local area a point of difference to the local leagues. South Mornington FC has a long and proud tradition in Junior football in their area and are excited about their participation in the VAFA. The club has a short list of possible coaches for their seniors and reserves and will make these announcements shortly.
Thoughts?
Next year could be a good year to get out of D4 as I hear a team from Beaconsfield (St Francis) is set to join D4 in 2008.
The Tiger's Nuts
6 Dec 2006, 11:51
Nice to see Sth Mornington aboard, word on the SFL forum thread is that they are fairly weak and the "cow paddock" ground won't be missed from their comp.
Ah well, onward and upward...
Tigernuts
vegemite
6 Dec 2006, 12:09
Nice to see Sth Mornington aboard, word on the SFL forum thread is that they are fairly weak and the "cow paddock" ground won't be missed from their comp.
Ah well, onward and upward...
Tigernuts
Power House did have an affiliation with their under 19s - seemed to be a good bunch of kids and the club seems to have a reasonable committee thrusting them onto bigger and better things. You've always got to respect a club with a junior team feeding it at the D4 level, so I wouldn't be writing them off as a contender.
stELTHpowa
6 Dec 2006, 12:54
Always exciting this time of year. Millions of recruits with a trickle to pull on the boots. Heard Mt Lilydale have a ruckman from Balranald under wraps.
Have been doing the rounds and there are more Spy1 impersonators than Elvis on the circuit. Wondering if Spy1 is a conglomerate?
Heoch, They're are just the guys I took with me to Ivanhoe in the first place. As for the other boys, just enjoying a bit of forum banter and those fellas who love it just as much I do.
I'm looking forward to a big season ahead of even more banter down here in D4.
Coach Hollywood is sounds like that you went from one assistant role to another, albeit in a lower grade. No aspirations to ply your trade in higher grades? 60 odd goals last year would have made clubs higher up at least consider looking at you in an assistant capacity somewhere.
2007 D4 WHISPERS :
- one team to have a new name (possibility of 2 teams)
- 12 teams to compete
- the return of a team with a lumpy ground
- a new team from down south way
There may be a few impersonators, but only one true soothsayer. 3rd of Nov was the date.
BTW.. The rumours of my demise are grossly exaggerated.:rolleyes:
5 Teams to play off in finals. Dates will need some reworking re fixturing.
Looks official now guys.
As per the VAFA website - South Mornington FC were yesterday granted approval from Football Victoria to transfer their senior team from the Southern Football League to the VAFA.
South Mornington will join Mt Lilydale as the new teams in the expanded 12 team D4 Section for 2007. The club understands that because of the make-up of the VAFA there will be high degree of travelling required to compete, but they feel this offers players in their local area a point of difference to the local leagues. South Mornington FC has a long and proud tradition in Junior football in their area and are excited about their participation in the VAFA. The club has a short list of possible coaches for their seniors and reserves and will make these announcements shortly.
Thoughts?
Thoughts? Friggin long drive it would be from the leafy hills of Eltham!! Hmmm wouldn't that be nice, kicking the dew off in the ressies when a nice winters bay breeze blows through!:p
Will be great for the comp to have some new blood (albeit recycled in Mt Lilydales case) but the 12 team comp & if what spy1 is flying in a top 5 finals series, it will be an interesting season.
BTW good call spy1, how is Ed Sill these days???;)
Ifeellikechickentonight
6 Dec 2006, 23:59
More than likely, not every team will play each other twice. The stronger sides going by last years results will play twice. Eltham and Box Hill Nth at least will not make the trip out to Sth Mornington.
Central Element
7 Dec 2006, 08:54
South Mornington apparently wear black with a yellow sash as well, so look out for a reappearance of the VAFA Clash Strip -- bottle green and lilac hoops. No joke. Bottle green and lilac hoops.
I think we might be attempting to argue our way out of having to wear such a sartorial monstrosity. Not to mention having to make yet another trip to Elsternwick to get them, collect them all up, wash them, and then make yet another trip to Elsternwick to return them.
BarryDawson
7 Dec 2006, 09:31
South Mornington apparently wear black with a yellow sash as well, so look out for a reappearance of the VAFA Clash Strip -- bottle green and lilac hoops. No joke. Bottle green and lilac hoops.
I think we might be attempting to argue our way out of having to wear such a sartorial monstrosity. Not to mention having to make yet another trip to Elsternwick to get them, collect them all up, wash them, and then make yet another trip to Elsternwick to return them.
Can I suggest that you return the bottle green beauties as a part of a training run, Richmond to Elsternwick is hardly an epic voyage and you might gain some fitness in order to win a few games.
The Tiger's Nuts
7 Dec 2006, 10:27
Been thinking (dangerous) about this, how much of a disadvantage is it to teams having to wear an away jumper? I've never had to do it, but think that in the last quarter when fatigue is a big factor it might cause a few inadvertent handovers kicking to guys wearing "our" colours...
Tigernuts
Grant Thomas
7 Dec 2006, 10:40
Been thinking (dangerous) about this, how much of a disadvantage is it to teams having to wear an away jumper? I've never had to do it, but think that in the last quarter when fatigue is a big factor it might cause a few inadvertent handovers kicking to guys wearing "our" colours...
Tigernuts
You should stop thinking
Centrals07
7 Dec 2006, 11:43
Tigernuts
I've played in a side where we had a jumper clash with the opposition before and we wore different jumpers. It didn't make much of a difference at all. And after we've run to Elsternwick to pick up the jumpers as Barry suggested fatigue will not be a factor!
It's no big deal.
stELTHpowa
7 Dec 2006, 12:56
Can I suggest that you return the bottle green beauties as a part of a training run, Richmond to Elsternwick is hardly an epic voyage and you might gain some fitness in order to win a few games.
Bound to run into a star Turtle or two in one of the trendy watering holes!
The Tiger's Nuts
7 Dec 2006, 14:18
You should stop thinking
I'm amazed I can think at all after last night's training. Not helped by Google Earth confirming the coach's sworn-on-a-stack-of-bibles run distance was out by 20%. Not to worry, a good massage today helped.
Tigernuts
I'm amazed I can think at all after last night's training. Not helped by Google Earth confirming the coach's sworn-on-a-stack-of-bibles run distance was out by 20%. Not to worry, a good massage today helped.
Tigernuts
Pay day was it?;)
Tigernuts
Got the old bod out of moth balls and played in a tournament overseas last season. We had a jumper clash twice. I had no problem with identifying the enemy. Even if the video evidence was tampered with.:D
The Tiger's Nuts
7 Dec 2006, 18:08
Pay day was it?;)
Not at all, just a sound investment in keeping the ol' bod functioning properly. Get the niggles seen to before they become a hobbling-around can't-train-for-six-weeks disaster.
I'm averaging one every three months or so, would be more if I had the coin!
Tigernuts
stELTHpowa
7 Dec 2006, 20:31
Got the old bod out of moth balls and played in a tournament overseas last season. We had a jumper clash twice. I had no problem with identifying the enemy. Even if the video evidence was tampered with.:D
Thinking US Masters golf, mmmm or EPL where teams frequently 'ham it up' with occassional clashes resulting in alternate strips for away sides.
Was that you Spy1 in disguise with Paris H?
Negative, Mrs Spy would soon have me gelded.
Central Element
8 Dec 2006, 11:38
I've played in a side where we had a jumper clash with the opposition before and we wore different jumpers. It didn't make much of a difference at all. And after we've run to Elsternwick to pick up the jumpers as Barry suggested fatigue will not be a factor!
It's no big deal.
We won't be allowed to have them, I wouldn't think, until a few days before the game. So we will be trying to organise a weekday lunchtime training run to Elsternwick in order to get there before the office closes....
In other words, I will be taking the 246 down there on my day off to collect them. :D
Coach Hollywood
8 Dec 2006, 16:03
Well I recieved a copy of the D4 draw today and we've been pitted against this South Mornington team round 1, at least it's at home.
It will be interesting to see how they go first up?
Coach Hollywood is sounds like that you went from one assistant role to another, albeit in a lower grade. No aspirations to ply your trade in higher grades? 60 odd goals last year would have made clubs higher up at least consider looking at you in an assistant capacity somewhere.
As for Heoch, in response to your assistant comment in a higher grade. I'm not interested mate, I have been an assistant previously at Panton hill in the DVFL, and last year was my first season as a senior coach at Ivanhoe and when they offered me an Assistant role for next year I looked elsewhere and this is why (as my previous comments have stated), I have joined Eltham in a joint senior coaching role with Matty Blagrove.
I play cricket at the same club, already know alot of the boys & live very close by along with the opportunity on & off the field to help a building club take the next step. Why would I be wanting to "ply my trade" elsewhere? In lower or higher grades? I think I can help the Turtles as much as they can help me and together we're looking forward to a big season!:thumbsu:
[quote=Coach Hollywood;6364352]Well I recieved a copy of the D4 draw today and we've been pitted against this South Mornington team round 1, at least it's at home.
Did you notice the finals appear to be a 5 team structure?
melbdocker
9 Dec 2006, 09:02
Well I recieved a copy of the D4 draw today and we've been pitted against this South Mornington team round 1, at least it's at home.
where is the fixture i went to the vafa site and it still only has last yrs up
The Tiger's Nuts
9 Dec 2006, 09:13
where is the fixture i went to the vafa site and it still only has last yrs up
It'll be up Monday, it was emailed out to club people on Friday.
Tigernuts
stELTHpowa
10 Dec 2006, 08:32
Comrades,
Any idea to who has the favourable draw?
Who has too much time on their hands and will convert the number references to something a ruckman can read?
knackers_2
11 Dec 2006, 08:54
Who has too much time on their hands and will convert the number references to something a ruckman can read?
Are you suggesting ruckmen are generally tall, and therefore are a long way from the computer monitor - and so need the draw in a larger font?
Sounds like a frustrated back pocket player :) The engine room is the only place to be;)
Are you suggesting ruckmen are generally tall, and therefore are a long way from the computer monitor - and so need the draw in a larger font?
I certainly wouldn't be suggesting anything else.
knackers_2
13 Dec 2006, 06:42
Saw some Eley Park Sharks at Princes Park last week
decent handful of them, maybe a dozen or so, looked to be setting a cracking pace. If they were doing a full lap (and keep it up for a full preseason) I'd suggest their core group of players would be pretty bloody fit by the time April rolls around
Seems like Power House liked their year in D4 so much, thet are keen to take a few momentos with them to D3.
Word has it they have approached B&F winners from at least 2 of our clubs to join them.
The 2 teams concerned both start with the 2nd letter of the alphabet.
Chances are, if they have approached these 2, there is bound to be more approaches going on. Clubs beware. Recruiting is important, but hanging on to your guns is even more crucial.
SC COACH
16 Dec 2006, 14:16
Guys, i am the senior coach of sandown cobras football club -southern football league Div. 3..finished bottom 2006, and am looking for a practice game in march 2007.If you know of any clubs interested please e-mail me at mikeallen54@hotmail.com. ...thanks.
port-man_fc
20 Dec 2006, 11:07
Any D4 grounds at risk of being unfit/unsafe for play if coucils ban the watering of grounds???
I no Eltham OC's have dams and bore water so they be right, it would be a shame to see some of the better grounds in D4 like Bullen cobras, Richmond and Syndall deteroriate if council water bans are put into place.....
Anyone heard if Cobra's will be still around in 2007, have heard a few players have jumped off a fast sinking ship. Along with there captain and 2 key postion players.
Is there any truth to this & why :confused:
Rusty Brookes
2 Jan 2007, 08:52
Anyone heard if Cobra's will be still around in 2007, have heard a few players have jumped off a fast sinking ship. Along with there captain and 2 key postion players.
Is there any truth to this & why :confused:
I can assure you there is no truth to this at all. We might be losing one key position player but this is due to him moving to Darwin to work. There is a new committee at the club and senior, assistant and reserve coaches have been appointed. We've actually signed up quite a few new players for the 2007 season.
Rusty, Can you inform me as to who the new coaches are and their previous experience.
Rusty Brookes
3 Jan 2007, 12:58
Rusty, Can you inform me as to who the new coaches are and their previous experience.
Senior coaching staff remains the same as last year - Joe D'Angelo and Frank Arcoraci as his assistant. Reserves coach is Matt D'Angelo - former captain and best & fairest at the club.
heard bulleen have been on the recruiting trail. picked up a former diamond creek player form the valley by the name of david speedie. has been doing a preseason with creek but has decided to throw off the shackles of playing dv divi 1 and play with the cobras.
randallbone
4 Jan 2007, 20:55
It'll be up Monday, it was emailed out to club people on Friday.
Tigernuts
Has anyone heard how St Marys are shaping up this year? They have been relegated to div 4 (obviously) but still have some quality players running around. Garrett Schembri and Mark Purcell still pulling on the boots? If so could be in for a Monster year...
I hear around the traps that they may lose a couple to Richmond Central with the announcement of a new coach. This is all speculation at this stage, but watch this space.
Why would you want to play div 4 in a stuggling side after playing div 1 footy ? Must be a dollar involved somewhere along the line. "Goodluck" to him if he can get it but I wouldn't be holding my breath on getting paid or singing the club song to much in 2007. My mail is the club still has internal troubles and still carn't agree on committee matters with a new young board you would think things should look to improve, but from what I hear the club will be lucky to finish the year. Let alone pay players.
Alfy, maybe there is a connection somewhere. Alot of players from higher divisions get mentioned about playing D4 but most do not eventuate. If clubs can attract good players from higher grades it can only be good for the comp, as long as they stick around for more than 1-2 years.
InFineForm
9 Jan 2007, 08:48
Why would you want to play div 4 in a stuggling side after playing div 1 footy ? Must be a dollar involved somewhere along the line. "Goodluck" to him if he can get it but I wouldn't be holding my breath on getting paid or singing the club song to much in 2007. My mail is the club still has internal troubles and still carn't agree on committee matters with a new young board you would think things should look to improve, but from what I hear the club will be lucky to finish the year. Let alone pay players.
Alfy - I'm sure you played some really good footy in your time. Why down you settle yourself down on your lounge suite, get a good firm grip of your tool & remember the good times?
If all you've got to say about the D4 comp is bad, why don't you just F**K OFF?
Alfy - I'm sure you played some really good footy in your time. Why down you settle yourself down on your lounge suite, get a good firm grip of your tool & remember the good times?
If all you've got to say about the D4 comp is bad, why don't you just F**K OFF?
G'day people, hope you all had a refreshing new year!!
The older I get Infine, the better I was!! Dunno about flogging the log thinking about it tho!:rolleyes:
Let the preseason begin for some, the drinking continue for others!
INFINEFORM. Love your work, Just saying why would a player play the lowest grade when has played at a much higher level and can still play at that level,True may know someone at the club.... but come on you must be the one playing with yourself if you reckon some blokes don't get paid at Bulleen. (Look at Kingcobra paid in pies & Cakes last year)
Bring back "O" for some discipline & direction down there.
Alfy, put your bong down and have a couple of tim tams. Didn't O attack a senior player before being banished from the club or have I been misinformed.
InFineForm
9 Jan 2007, 14:51
INFINEFORM. Love your work, Just saying why would a player play the lowest grade when has played at a much higher level and can still play at that level,True may know someone at the club.... but come on you must be the one playing with yourself if you reckon some blokes don't get paid at Bulleen. (Look at Kingcobra paid in pies & Cakes last year)
Bring back "O" for some discipline & direction down there.
Question the players on why they may want to come down and play at a lower level - but why question the club? If a club can offer one of the best grounds in the Ammo's (Koonung Park) & a good bunch of blokes (every club has a few tools but historically Bulleen hasn't had many), why wouldn't a guy want to play there?
Everybody gets a bit high & mighty over the question of $$$'s in the Ammo's & due to rules of the Association it's not spoken of. The reality is that some clubs may pay in the folding stuff, while plenty of others will deal in 'contra'. It's enough of a struggle to field two teams in D4, pay the VAFA, other creditors etc. Do you want to be the treasurer of a club in a lower grade, balance the books & pay large coin? Others clubs sponsors may be better placed to 'support' their relevant club.....
And if they wanted to pay me in pies & cream cakes - I might even be early to training!
CATS35: True but least O would say what he thinks not many have the balls down there to stand up to your coach he has them all bluffed.
Attack a senior player would you call Badanjek a senior player, true can take a great mark and use that "HUGE" bulk but come on should be in the two's.How many times did he train last year about as manny times as his sidekick Cookson.
Infineform:Buy the look of it down there last year most of you were been paid in Pies & Cakes.:rolleyes:
alf, must say I have not laid eyes on Badanjek in awhile and he was blowing out then. Question: In what way has the coach have them bluffed? If he isn't doing the job they can always replace him
I think that if you looked at the finances of each club in D4 you would see that even paying pies and cakes would stretch the budget! Most clubs do not have a "big" name sponser to allow 'contra' payments as every dollar is required to field two teams. From my experience the larger name players who are playing in D4 after many season in higher grades, enjoy playing in an honest leauge where it's about the enjoyment of football and mateship, something that lacks in the anal higher leauges where if you fail one week on the track you will be pulling splinters from your ass the next.
It's not sheep stations, but it is still a competitive competition, with rivalries and pride!
InFineForm
10 Jan 2007, 07:59
I think that if you looked at the finances of each club in D4 you would see that even paying pies and cakes would stretch the budget! Most clubs do not have a "big" name sponser to allow 'contra' payments as every dollar is required to field two teams. From my experience the larger name players who are playing in D4 after many season in higher grades, enjoy playing in an honest leauge where it's about the enjoyment of football and mateship, something that lacks in the anal higher leauges where if you fail one week on the track you will be pulling splinters from your ass the next.
It's not sheep stations, but it is still a competitive competition, with rivalries and pride!
From what I've seen - clubs which have paid coin to win a flag in the lower grades have come back a couple of years later with their pants around their knees (financially) & not many of the players that won the flag.
Anyway - it's almost game on as far as training is concerned for most clubs. It'll be intersting to see how many 'big name recruits' actually make it to round one.
I've heard of many D4 players being offered money just to move from one D4 club to another... I think its bizarre. Some of the presidents/coaches around need to take a long hard look at themselves. Its a game. We play it for fun.
BarryDawson
10 Jan 2007, 09:20
I've heard of many D4 players being offered money just to move from one D4 club to another... I think its bizarre. Some of the presidents/coaches around need to take a long hard look at themselves. Its a game. We play it for fun.
Gotta admit though, it's more fun when you win.
I tend to agree Cougar Man, it is more fun when your winning and lets hope the Saints get a few more wins on the board this year, although just between me you and the forum i'm not pencilling in a finals berth just yet.
Guru out