View Full Version : D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)
Flowerpower
24th November 2005, 08:55
Gearing up to be a huge season in 2006.
A little whisper that somes clubs have recruited very well and bar sales should increase dramatically!!!!!
Who are the teams to beat onfield in 2006? :D
Squeak
24th November 2005, 11:25
If we were allowed to sell beer during the game we'd be much more financial, that's for sure!
I play for Box Hill North, apparently we have some new recruits but then again I suppose every other team does too. Our first pre-season session is this friday.
Teams to beat? Despite being a bunch of bad blokes, Hawthorn can play footy and are my pick for the flag. If them and Bulleen happened to be the ones promoted at the end of the season, I'd be disappointed that they were successful yet at the same time pleased that we wouldn't have to play them anymore.
Flowerpower
25th November 2005, 10:52
Having watched a few games last year (live in Hawthorn), I would say if Box Hill North recruited a few bigger blokes they would be in the mix.
Eltham might surprise a few - recruiting has been good apparantly.
What number are you Squeak? I will look out for you this season.
Cheers
Flowerpower
Squeak
26th November 2005, 08:59
39. Better get to the game early though, I don't tend to play the later game!
It wouldn't surprise me one bit if Eltham won the flag. Best young squad by far, their best is pretty darn good.
ACV
26th November 2005, 18:42
Eltham might surprise a few - recruiting has been good apparantly.
do you know who the new recruits are?
awkward
27th November 2005, 11:46
apparently dumby red is floating around box hill for a game next year
Fwaygo
27th November 2005, 20:55
Syndal all the way! Go Ho Train!
Rusty Brookes
30th November 2005, 08:08
A Bulleen Cobra here. Like Squeak, I normally play in the early game;) . I've heard on the grapevine that Richmond Central's stocks may be bolstered this year.
BlueBoy41
6th December 2005, 09:02
A Bulleen Cobra here. Like Squeak, I normally play in the early game;) . I've heard on the grapevine that Richmond Central's stocks may be bolstered this year.
The Snakes' list would want to be bolstered after last year!
randallbone
19th December 2005, 19:38
The Snakes' list would want to be bolstered after last year!
Have to agree. Watched them play against Elsternwick and the Reserves had to give them enough to play a scratch match. I hate to see that happen in any footy.
New to Ammo's footy. Last year if I am correct the teams that were up there were Bulleen, Elsternwick, Hawthorn and St Marys. Always interesting to see what happens over the silly season with recruiting, etc.
I too am a fan of the early game...
BOOZA
19th December 2005, 21:18
Watch out backmen for an absolute gun recruit for Powerhouse. Will kick a bagful every week. On the other side of the coin might lose some quality mid fielders chasing coin and better quality footy
mitch_fc
10th January 2006, 13:52
Eltham have some decent footballers that could be playing real footy in the DVFL. But they party ********ing hard up at Turtle land, which is such a strong attraction to many! knowing quite a few of them i'd be suprised if they don't get better in the coming seasons and move up a few grades.
Old Warrior
19th January 2006, 19:19
Eltham have some decent footballers that could be playing real footy in the DVFL. But they party ********ing hard up at Turtle land, which is such a strong attraction to many! knowing quite a few of them i'd be suprised if they don't get better in the coming seasons and move up a few grades.
Typical comment from an Eltham bloke. They are playing "real footy" and they still couldn't make the GF. I will be surprised if they get better in the coming seasons and move up the grades.... a club like Eltham is built on a culture of reserves flags and honest defeats of the seniors in the prelim/elimination finals. Had a good team when Doody, Gas, Horsburgh, etc were playing well and still couldn't get promoted so they're not going to now. Particularly when they have supporters/players??? thinking that they're not playing real footy.
mitch_fc
22nd January 2006, 20:06
Typical comment from an Eltham bloke. They are playing "real footy" and they still couldn't make the GF. I will be surprised if they get better in the coming seasons and move up the grades.... a club like Eltham is built on a culture of reserves flags and honest defeats of the seniors in the prelim/elimination finals. Had a good team when Doody, Gas, Horsburgh, etc were playing well and still couldn't get promoted so they're not going to now. Particularly when they have supporters/players??? thinking that they're not playing real footy.
i'm neither a supporter or player. i just wish some of them had stayed with their DVFL club as there are some good blokes and good footballers up there.
im pretty sure you'll see them win a flag soon, if the boys all stay and play a whole season. a mate of mine rang the coach mid season after several bags of goals and said "im not playing any more" coach asked why, he said "sick of kicking bags of goals against duds"
if some of these types theyve got get serious they'll romp in.
Tibia
9th February 2006, 09:20
My predicition is Richmond Centrals will fold midway through the season, and the rest of D4 can at least have that entire weekend off, instead of having to front up and belt them by 40 goals. It is a virtual bye anyway.
ant22
16th February 2006, 14:49
My predicition is Richmond Centrals will fold midway through the season, and the rest of D4 can at least have that entire weekend off, instead of having to front up and belt them by 40 goals. It is a virtual bye anyway.
The club has not really had too big a problem with player numbers or money(no more thank most other clubs in d3 or d4) it is more the lack of quality players . The d4 standard is pretty ordinary and you only need 5-6 good players come to the club at once for fortunes to be turned around. The last few years have been tough but it wasn't so long ago that we were flogging many of the side who now flog us. Things can change very quickly. The sad fact is there are very few safe clubs in the lower grade ammos unless you have a strong junior or school affiliate .
You sound like you want the centrals to fould and I think anyone who wishes that on another football club needs to take a good hard look at themselves
randallbone
20th February 2006, 11:36
The club has not really had too big a problem with player numbers or money(no more thank most other clubs in d3 or d4) it is more the lack of quality players . The d4 standard is pretty ordinary and you only need 5-6 good players come to the club at once for fortunes to be turned around. The last few years have been tough but it wasn't so long ago that we were flogging many of the side who now flog us. Things can change very quickly. The sad fact is there are very few safe clubs in the lower grade ammos unless you have a strong junior or school affiliate .
You sound like you want the centrals to fould and I think anyone who wishes that on another football club needs to take a good hard look at themselves
Lets not kid ourselves, no one running around in D4 is likely to go and play AFL. 5-6 good players to any club makes a huge difference. Elsternwick probably proved that last year, flogging sides left right and centre and being promoted to D3. Not saying they didn't have some talent, but they did get a few from other clubs. Hope Richmond Central improve this year for you boss.
Tibia
21st February 2006, 14:51
Lets not kid ourselves, no one running around in D4 is likely to go and play AFL. 5-6 good players to any club makes a huge difference. Elsternwick probably proved that last year, flogging sides left right and centre and being promoted to D3. Not saying they didn't have some talent, but they did get a few from other clubs. Hope Richmond Central improve this year for you boss.
Elsternwick were a good side in D4 the year before last as well, but had a form slump mid-season when they got a bit too big for their boots. A couple of players to the list, and a bit more focus and discipline were the main reasons for their premiership, as well as the fact that I believe the standard in D4 had dropped from the previous year with Kew and Westbourne being promoted.
As for Richmond, I agree, no one likes to see a club fold, however, when they are getting belted by 40 goals each week, is that really doing anyone any good?
Marty39
22nd February 2006, 14:29
It might meant the differance in % you beat them by 30 goals your competition cops em in the wet and only wins by 10.
Elsternwick were a good side in D4 the year before last as well, but had a form slump mid-season when they got a bit too big for their boots. A couple of players to the list, and a bit more focus and discipline were the main reasons for their premiership, as well as the fact that I believe the standard in D4 had dropped from the previous year with Kew and Westbourne being promoted.
As for Richmond, I agree, no one likes to see a club fold, however, when they are getting belted by 40 goals each week, is that really doing anyone any good?
Fwaygo
22nd February 2006, 19:29
The standard will lift now Syndal have dropped down. They have to be red hot favourites to be heading straight back up to D3 next year with a premiership flag to boot.
Insider
23rd February 2006, 07:24
I hear Box Hill North have picked up a key position-ruckman with VFL-EFL experience. Pace is an issue but the lack of hair on his scone will aid this.
overtheline
26th February 2006, 09:03
The standard will lift now Syndal have dropped down. They have to be red hot favourites to be heading straight back up to D3 next year with a premiership flag to boot.
Guys, powerhouse are the team. do you realise how good a pick up Paul Edwards is? He will 150 goals. They have a coach running the club like an AFL team and will win the flag.
Edwards is the man!
Old Warrior
26th February 2006, 13:21
Guys, powerhouse are the team. do you realise how good a pick up Paul Edwards is? He will 150 goals. They have a coach running the club like an AFL team and will win the flag.
Edwards is the man!
Who's Paul Edwards? What's his history? Plenty of blokes come to the lower grades with huge reps and don't do much.
oldtimer
26th February 2006, 14:37
Who's Paul Edwards? What's his history? Plenty of blokes come to the lower grades with huge reps and don't do much.
Paul Edwards won the C Grade goalkicking last year with about 80 goals. Played for Therry.
He is a man mountain. I agree with the last guy. I think he could kick 150 goals this year.
Won't have anyone good enough or strong enough to play on him.
FootyFreak69
26th February 2006, 15:17
Paul Edwards won the C Grade goalkicking last year with about 80 goals. Played for Therry.
He is a man mountain. I agree with the last guy. I think he could kick 150 goals this year.
Won't have anyone good enough or strong enough to play on him.
my information is that he is a very astute thinker of the game and brings with him a heap of knowledge that have had some much higher ranking clubs interested at one stage.
if he remains injury-free, they will get themselves out of d4 this year.
overtheline
26th February 2006, 16:10
my information is that he is a very astute thinker of the game and brings with him a heap of knowledge that have had some much higher ranking clubs interested at one stage.
if he remains injury-free, they will get themselves out of d4 this year.
Just for the record, he didn't win the goalkicking...Julian Kirzner did
oldtimer
26th February 2006, 17:38
Just for the record, he didn't win the goalkicking...Julian Kirzner did
Sorry, he finished second.
overtheline
26th February 2006, 19:56
Sorry, he finished second.
Correct. Second aint first though, is it?
joshooaa
6th March 2006, 19:17
Eltham College's Football ground would have to rate as one of the best in the entire ammos id reckon. It looks an absoloute treat with the new clubrooms and the condition of the turf. Driving past it reminds me of warvely from the top of the Sir Kenneth Luke stand.
no31
7th March 2006, 06:08
Except for the cricket pitch in the middle which remains uncovered all year and the fact the ground is always covered in kangaroo s h i t.
Spencer Johnson
7th March 2006, 10:16
Edwards to kick over 150 - league records to tumle at Ross Gregory !
Moss Rocket
29th March 2006, 09:46
Not only have the "House" picked up the gun forward, they also have another 4-5 recruits from other leagues. All required clearances from the VAFA. Seems either the board or the coach has decided enough is enough and it is time to get this proud club climbing back up the grades.
A certainty to be in the top 1 or 2.
Exciting times for the house. Johny Senior would be proud!
joshooaa
31st March 2006, 13:07
can anyone tell me where old Eltham used to play there home games before there ground was built opistite the school? Just interested to know.
mitch_fc
5th April 2006, 16:10
can anyone tell me where old Eltham used to play there home games before there ground was built opistite the school? Just interested to know.
i think on the school oval within the school.
Coach Hollywood
6th April 2006, 09:25
Mitch fc is correct, they used to play on the oval inside the school grounds. That 2nd oval is still better than 3/4 of the grounds going around, I pretty sure that's where they train also.
My North
10th April 2006, 20:06
Heard someone on the radio from Richmond Central seeking players to play with them a few weeks ago.
no31
11th April 2006, 08:28
The trick this year will be to play them early and get the percentage before they fold, otherwise you'll just be getting the 4 points and a bye. Hopefully they will get enough numbers and play out the year as they are a good bunch of blokes.
Squeak
11th April 2006, 17:55
I really hope I get to play them twice, generally play pretty well against them!
ant22
18th April 2006, 20:41
The trick this year will be to play them early and get the percentage before they fold, otherwise you'll just be getting the 4 points and a bye. Hopefully they will get enough numbers and play out the year as they are a good bunch of blokes.
The club is financial every year and generally has plenty of players turn up . Its just none of them can play. Problem was that after having a very good side a few years back all the good players retired at once and it has been a battle to recruit good players ever since. Not sure how the boys have gone this year but hopefully a few good players turn up or else it could be dangerous times ahead
buckaz
19th April 2006, 20:19
don't worry everyone, richmond central will play out the year, and get a few wins on the board aswell. we've recruited alot of new players, and we continue to recruit new players. looking forward to the season starting :cool: we are a good club, and have worked hard during the preseason to get the club back from the brink, surprises to come :thumbsu:
ant22
23rd April 2006, 19:43
don't worry everyone, richmond central will play out the year, and get a few wins on the board aswell. we've recruited alot of new players, and we continue to recruit new players. looking forward to the season starting :cool: we are a good club, and have worked hard during the preseason to get the club back from the brink, surprises to come :thumbsu:
geez buckaz I hope a few of those new recruits were not available this week and will be coming into the team next week . Not sure if the cobras have improved but it was a pretty big pasting by a side that also struggles. I must admit I looked at the side on the webboard and without trying to be to critical it did not look good on paper. Hope the boys down there this year can have a real crack but it does not look good. Good luck for the rest of the year
bigwaz
25th April 2006, 10:43
geez buckaz I hope a few of those new recruits were not available this week and will be coming into the team next week . Not sure if the cobras have improved but it was a pretty big pasting by a side that also struggles. I must admit I looked at the side on the webboard and without trying to be to critical it did not look good on paper. Hope the boys down there this year can have a real crack but it does not look good. Good luck for the rest of the year
Dudes...
We have a brand new team this year and it will take a few weeks to get all the new players up to speed. Rest assured that we will win more games than last year, and will not finish with the wooden spoon. Box Hill, North Brunswick and Albert Park will have wanted to improve or they just might find themselves where we were last year...
Yellow and Black
Squeak
25th April 2006, 19:29
Dudes...
We have a brand new team this year and it will take a few weeks to get all the new players up to speed. Rest assured that we will win more games than last year, and will not finish with the wooden spoon. [/b]Box Hill[/b], North Brunswick and Albert Park will have wanted to improve or they just might find themselves where we were last year...
Yellow and Black
A 2 goal loss to a Hawthorn side with a better squad than last season is a pretty good start. Eley Park is your best chance for a win or 2.
mitch_fc
1st May 2006, 18:01
Turtles all the way.
knackers_2
2nd May 2006, 14:32
two marvellous theme songs that will be hardly heard this year -
Turtle Land and the Eley Park song. M-I-C-K-E-Y!
madpie
2nd May 2006, 14:35
?????????????????????????????????????
Unfortunately they have.,; Albert pArk will push for finals. BX north will challenge for a flag.. so that elaves nth Brunswick
Coach Hollywood
3rd May 2006, 12:43
Well Knackers it looks like the Turtle Land song has been sung twice already this year?
CaRn_ThE_pUp23
7th May 2006, 14:40
can some1 from the d4 ammos give me some information on a guy from powerhouse named ricki wright. gun half back just needs game time plz get back to me on him as he is a close friend from back in the riddell fl days thanks
mcglede
9th May 2006, 23:09
Saw a quarter of Richmond on the weekend.
They may not win many this year, but they look as if they've improved a bit. Obviously they'll need time, but based on what I saw, there must be some good things happening with the Snakes.
Liked the look of number 23. Not quick but real solid. Looks as if he could bump someone into the next suburb.
Albert Park also appear to have hit the ground running this season. Good luck to the old ANZ boys (they were ANZ weren't they?)
Still haven't seen Eltham but think they're the Premeirship favourites, but they'll have to overcome Powerhouse to do it.
They may not win many this year, but they look as if they've improved a bit. Obviously they'll need time, but based on what I saw, there must be some good things happening with the Snakes.
They sacked their coach mid week before the Albert Park game, who was one of their better players. Good luck to them though, just just need a bit of luck and few more better players.
mcglede
10th May 2006, 10:21
Wasn't aware they had replaced their coach? Did he fall on his sword or get pushed?
Ratfink
11th May 2006, 09:32
Looks like Richmond certainly came out firing as you would expect from a team with a new coach, winning first quarter 3 goals to 1, but then were outscored 18 to 1 in the last 3 quarters. Mind you they also kicked 7 in the first quarter the week before against Eley Park, then only 4 for the rest of the match. Seems like they are capable of being competitive, but struggling to maintain if for the whole match.
melbdocker
16th May 2006, 19:18
the turtles the only team to not lose a game this yr can they go all the way?
Coach Hollywood
18th May 2006, 13:59
Turtle Land 4 from 4 now Knackers, I'd expect a few more renditions of that marvellous song this year on form? A bit unexpected after you quoted "hardly heard this year" along with Eley Park who are 2 from 4 also? Thoughts?
Squeak
22nd May 2006, 16:34
Paul Edwards kicked 17 for Powerhouse against Richmond on the weekend. This follows the 13 that Dan Penny for BHN kicked against them last week.
Ratfink
23rd May 2006, 09:59
Quick review after Rd 5:
Eltham 5-0 - Young, strong & confident - clear premiership favourites.
Powerhouse 4-1 - Gun full forward. Might be vulnerable if he is held or gets injured.
Bulleen 3-2 - Unusual game which frustrates opposition but can score freely on rebound. Likely to play finals again.
Eley Pk 3-2 - No stars but no passengers. Play hard and need to be on guard to beat them.
Syndal 3-2 - All 5 matches decided by less than 2 kicks. Hope their supporters have strong hearts!
Albert Pk 2-3 - Yet to play a home game. Might be better in 2nd half of season.
Box Hill North 2-3 - Improving but inconsistent, often let down by one poor quarter.
Hawthorn 2-3 - Like Albert Park getting a bit road weary. Look out if they get on a winning run like 2005.
North Brunswick 1-4 - Some late recruits likely to see them heading up the ladder.
Richmond 0-5 - Gonna be a long year but numbers apparently still good.
Quick review after Rd 5:
Eltham 5-0 - Young, strong & confident - clear premiership favourites.
Powerhouse 4-1 - Gun full forward. Might be vulnerable if he is held or gets injured.
Bulleen 3-2 - Unusual game which frustrates opposition but can score freely on rebound. Likely to play finals again.
Eley Pk 3-2 - No stars but no passengers. Play hard and need to be on guard to beat them.
Syndal 3-2 - All 5 matches decided by less than 2 kicks. Hope their supporters have strong hearts!
Albert Pk 2-3 - Yet to play a home game. Might be better in 2nd half of season.
Box Hill North 2-3 - Improving but inconsistent, often let down by one poor quarter.
Hawthorn 2-3 - Like Albert Park getting a bit road weary. Look out if they get on a winning run like 2005.
North Brunswick 1-4 - Some late recruits likely to see them heading up the ladder.
Richmond 0-5 - Gonna be a long year but numbers apparently still good.
Spot on, very good assessment on all teams. The top two teams are sorted but anyone from Nth Brunswick up are a chance to grab 3rd or 4th positions. As always, injuries and luck will play a major part in deciding who will join Eltham & Powerhouse in the finals.
Ratfink
21st June 2006, 11:52
Let's see if we can get the D4 forum back up and running. Round 9 preview:
North Brunswick (9th 2-6) vs Eley Park (8th 3-5)
Should be a hard physical clash. EP have lost their last 3 including a belting from Hawthorn last start. Maybe NB at home, although the visitors themselves are used to playing on a warped ground.
Eltham Collegians (1st 8-0) vs Bulleen Cobras (5th 4-4)
Tough to see Eltham's unbeaten run broken here. Bulleen still feeding injured players back into their line up.
Hawthorn (3rd 5-3) vs Albert Park (6th 3-5)
Hawks are on a 3 game winning streak, including 2 scores of 30 goals +. Always tough to beat when they let their football do the talking rather than their mouths. Expect another comfortable win for them this week.
Syndal Tally-Ho (7th 3-5) vs Richmond Central (10th 0-8)
STH have lost 4 in a row, although came as close as anyone to Eltham a couple of weeks ago. Should be too strong here.
Powerhouse (2nd 7-1) vs Box Hill North (4th 5-3)
BHN have also won their last 3, with some good wins against the middle rungers. Look like potential finalists at this stage, big test this week away from home. Definite match of the round, and these sides have apparently drawn before in a practice match pre-season. Will it happen again?
the lip
21st June 2006, 18:36
How are you boys just wondering who looks like moving up a grade next year because from some of the sides goin around in D3 i have seen this season there is about 3 or 4 ready to drop now. Are albert park a chance
no31
22nd June 2006, 07:32
How are you boys just wondering who looks like moving up a grade next year because from some of the sides goin around in D3 i have seen this season there is about 3 or 4 ready to drop now. Are albert park a chance
Albert Park are rumored to have a truck load of injuries, so I believe they will struggle. I believe Eltham are certainties and Powerhouse should go up but they are very beatable, they seem to just do enough to get over the line.
bamawmbandit
3rd July 2006, 18:52
Witnessed first hand the Turtles last week and boy do they remind me of Rupertswood of a couple of years ago. Quick and talented. Where they differ is their strength over the ball when required. Also noticed that some things never change, when the going gets tuff, some clubs attempt to get tuff..behind the ball.
M. Blagrove surely close to playing coach of the year.
madpie
7th July 2006, 13:31
Albert Park are rumored to have a truck load of injuries, so I believe they will struggle. I believe Eltham are certainties and Powerhouse should go up but they are very beatable, they seem to just do enough to get over the line.Albert Park lack quality players which is a shame because there coach is a legend.Peter Bedford is a legend of football and you would of thought that he alone would of attracted some decent players.
Albert Park do have a very very handy onballer who has played in WRFL A grade grandfinal years back,David Borley knows how to get the ball and uses it well
but unfortunatley there are not to many in his mould.........
Brutal
9th July 2006, 09:43
Whats the attraction with D4 ammo footy, **** footy but the real tragedy is that there are some decent players down there who could be playing some really good football elsewhere but are just wasting there ability. Ben Cookson at Bulleen Cobra`s is a perfect example, knocks up about 60 possie`s every week without breaking into a sweat and Matt Blagrove at Eltham Coll, please the guy is about 31, played in Northern Knights premierships, was on Carltons list, as a player and coach should be challenging himself at a higher level. Do some guys just like things just a little to comfortable?
melbdocker
10th July 2006, 19:01
i reckon that cookson and galvin from the turtles could earn some good cash in the dvfl, looks like the eltham college have it in the bag this yr
no31
11th July 2006, 08:12
i reckon that cookson and galvin from the turtles could earn some good cash in the dvfl, looks like the eltham college have it in the bag this yr
Saw a little bit of the Eltham v Albert Park game on the weekend and they were disappointing compared to their earlier season form. The Hawks are flying at the moment and could be the team to beat. Powerhouse appear to have been hit heavily by injuries and their depth is being tested.
ant22
11th July 2006, 12:45
Whats the attraction with D4 ammo footy, **** footy but the real tragedy is that there are some decent players down there who could be playing some really good football elsewhere but are just wasting there ability. Ben Cookson at Bulleen Cobra`s is a perfect example, knocks up about 60 possie`s every week without breaking into a sweat and Matt Blagrove at Eltham Coll, please the guy is about 31, played in Northern Knights premierships, was on Carltons list, as a player and coach should be challenging himself at a higher level. Do some guys just like things just a little to comfortable?
Perhaps its because some people want to play with there mates. When we had a good side at richmond(centrals) in the late 90s/2000 we had a number of players who could have played at a higher level. Take Todd osullivan(wisper) . He had been there and done that when he came to the club . Had been an interleague player in a top county league and proved he could play at a much higher level. Fact was by the time he was in his mid twenties all he wanted to do was play with his mates. 3 of his centrals teammates were in his wedding party. Fact is not all players are in it for the money or recognition . Some people just want to enjoy there footy . I have seen plenty of people chase $$ and end up playing at 6 or 7 clubs retire and then regret it .
As for 60 possies a game. Mate thats 15 possies a quarter. I have never seen anyone get that many touches in 1 game let alone week in week out. I reckon you could get a top player straight out of afl and he would struggle to get that many week in week out even in d4 ammos.
port-man_fc
12th July 2006, 00:40
What is the attaction with D4 ammo footy you say ????
Well for starters brutal, ammo footy provides a club culture that DVFL
cannot, and vice versa. Esspecially in the lower grade's it isn't about
money or show as Ant22 said, its more about the mateship and enjoyment for the players.
You are from Lower Plenty correct brutal, i could name 15+ players that have left your club to play D4, most of which would or could be senior players at your club.
I dont doubt that Lower seniors is a better standard and pays money, but i guess playing for free was a better option..... Maybe look in your own backyard as to why these players have left and made the move to D4.
bamawmbandit
12th July 2006, 09:29
Totally off the mark with D4 comments Brutal One.
Along with playing at a club that is non factional because of player payment issues, D4 can offer the challenge of taking a club to higher levels.
Coach's have the opportunity to create their own footy history by attempting to take a side out of d4 and up into the higher echelons of the comp.
If you are a DVFL supporter, then just go along and watch clubs struggle to pay their undercredentialed players, until eventually the bar take and sponsor dollar dries up and you are merging with another club.
another positive to D4. is the standard of gounds..would like to see some of the DVFL v Ammo ovals during winter..I know where I would rather play out my days.
no31
12th July 2006, 09:34
Totally off the mark with D4 comments Brutal One.
Along with playing at a club that is non factional because of player payment issues, D4 can offer the challenge of taking a club to higher levels.
Coach's have the opportunity to create their own footy history by attempting to take a side out of d4 and up into the higher echelons of the comp.
If you are a DVFL supporter, then just go along and watch clubs struggle to pay their undercredentialed players, until eventually the bar take and sponsor dollar dries up and you are merging with another club.
another positive to D4. is the standard of gounds..would like to see some of the DVFL v Ammo ovals during winter..I know where I would rather play out my days.
Very true, every new year offers all clubs new hope of winning the flag, the same can't be said about all DVFL teams. A flag in D4 still feels as good as a flag in DVFL Div 1.
Squeak
12th July 2006, 10:43
You are from Lower Plenty correct brutal, i could name 15+ players that have left your club to play D4, most of which would or could be senior players at your club.
Dan Penny, Shaun Irvine to name but two.
Coach Hollywood
12th July 2006, 10:55
two marvellous theme songs that will be hardly heard this year -
Turtle Land and the Eley Park song. M-I-C-K-E-Y!
Knackers_2 is 11 wins on the trot enough to admit you were wrong on the theme song quote now?
Also Believe John Galvin was down at Lower too Brutal?
ant22
12th July 2006, 11:04
Very true, every new year offers all clubs new hope of winning the flag, the same can't be said about all DVFL teams. A flag in D4 still feels as good as a flag in DVFL Div 1.
Could not be more true. I have always thought that the great thing about our game is that it does not matter if you play AFL or D4 ammos a flag still feels just as good. I remember when our club won the g grade flag in 94 after coming from 4th on the ladder at the end of season. I don't think any club could have enjoyed the win anymore than ours did.
King_Cobra
14th July 2006, 12:53
Get on Bulleen for the D4 flag, after a slow start due to injurys the boys have been flying in recent weeks, forget about cooksons 40+ touches every week its the likes of Pearson in the guts and the "16 year old" Moore out on the wing thats been the big improvement for the boys. And with Fradkin stealing everything and the return Acca and Badenjek this week and Rowe to return in coming weeks all is looking good up forward aswell. Bring on the finals I say!!!!!!!!!!
cats35
14th July 2006, 13:22
Grea call regarding Whisper ANT22. I played on him a few years back and he slayed most opposition. Fairly quiet and unassuming but was very skilful. I went from playing E east to B grade and he would have fit in without a problem.
If you boys look at it there are always palyers running around in lower grades who could easily step up but if look at blokes like Dean Matthews (Bulleen temp) who was at St Kilda and was offered big dollars to play elsewhere he went with his heart because all he wanted to do was play in a flag with his mates (94)
Pat Bateman
14th July 2006, 20:51
Get on Bulleen for the D4 flag, after a slow start due to injurys the boys have been flying in recent weeks, forget about cooksons 40+ touches every week its the likes of Pearson in the guts and the "16 year old" Moore out on the wing thats been the big improvement for the boys. And with Fradkin stealing everything and the return Acca and Badenjek this week and Rowe to return in coming weeks all is looking good up forward aswell. Bring on the finals I say!!!!!!!!!!
Bulleen a chance for the flag this year? Some of the boys come back from Nunawading FC did they? I always thought it strange how there was only ever half a dozen player sponsor photos up on the wall in the Cobra clubrooms yet each player that was up had three or four sponsors. What made it even stranger was that by some bizarre coincident those players always happened to be your best six.
Cobras never prosper.
King_Cobra
14th July 2006, 21:03
Bulleen a chance for the flag this year? Some of the boys come back from Nunawading FC did they? I always thought it strange how there was only ever half a dozen player sponsor photos up on the wall in the Cobra clubrooms yet each player that was up had three or four sponsors. What made it even stranger was that by some bizarre coincident those players always happened to be your best six.
Cobras never prosper.
bitter ex player are we Pat....yes a couple of ex nunawading boys are playing these days. must be a long time since u been to the club, there have been no player photos in the club since i've been there.... majority of the guys playing now have joined the club since 2003 so things these days are completely differant on and off the field....
maybe u should come down and see for urself pat
Hudson 26
15th July 2006, 00:00
Hey Brutal.
Whats the attraction with D4 footy?. I dont know maybe you should ask someone on the list below.
All have left Lower in the past 3 years to play D4 Ammos.
B O'Malley
J Galvin
G Turner
J Simpson
L Ogilvie
B Dummett
J Laurence
D Trinchi
T Conn
P Vaughan
T Moore
T Pearson
B Cookson
M D'angelo
G Richards
R Daley
N Ritchie
R Beattie
D Penny
S Irvine
20 Players,
whos got the problem D4 ammos or Lower????????
port-man_fc
15th July 2006, 03:33
Hey Brutal.
Whats the attraction with D4 footy?. I dont know maybe you should ask someone on the list below.
All have left Lower in the past 3 years to play D4 Ammos.
B O'Malley
J Galvin
G Turner
J Simpson
L Ogilvie
B Dummett
J Laurence
D Trinchi
T Conn
P Vaughan
T Moore
T Pearson
B Cookson
M D'angelo
G Richards
R Daley
N Ritchie
R Beattie
D Penny
S Irvine
20 Players,
whos got the problem D4 ammos or Lower????????
I got a couple more names to add,
M Oliaris
D Rowe
A Chapman
B Galvin
Most of the names in the list above of now 24 players, could be playing in div2 easily, put that team of 24 against your current mob i rekon lower would have a game on there hands 4 sure...
Q1 - Brutal, do u think ur 1st's could beat the list of ex lower, now d4 team or not???
Q2 - Brutal on a serious note in ur eyes what is ur opinion on- why have lower lost so many to d4, and thats only within 2 -3 yrs????
King_Cobra
15th July 2006, 09:12
post-man fc and hudson 26 can i ask who u guys follow in d4 and r u guys still playing...
brutel what i find even more amazing is that 1 of the players listed above, fromm the information that i have received, is also a family member of yours!!!!!!!!
was spending 80k last year to finished last really worth it when u got young guys on the list above that now play for nothing more than self pride and the passion for the game. these guys could have been the back bone of your club now.
cats35
15th July 2006, 20:13
King Cobra, I really think you should look at where your club is at. If you recall back in 98 your then president was asked by the ammos at seasons end if they wanted to stay up in E or go down to F as there was a departure from a couple of grades above (Parkside). Your then president requested they go down stating that they would have success very quickly and be back up. If you look at the quality of players to have come through since I think you should be very disappointed with your current standing in D4. I must admit you are in the mix every year but without any success forthcoming I can only see you remaining in D4 for at least another year.
King_Cobra
16th July 2006, 10:01
King Cobra, I really think you should look at where your club is at. If you recall back in 98 your then president was asked by the ammos at seasons end if they wanted to stay up in E or go down to F as there was a departure from a couple of grades above (Parkside). Your then president requested they go down stating that they would have success very quickly and be back up. If you look at the quality of players to have come through since I think you should be very disappointed with your current standing in D4. I must admit you are in the mix every year but without any success forthcoming I can only see you remaining in D4 for at least another year.
Like i said earlier Cats35 most of the current playing group have joined the club since 2003 and with off field changes aswell the club is looking forward not looking back. But i guess as a cats supportor u might have trouble doing that!!!!!!!
cats35
16th July 2006, 10:59
Your off field changes include your now ex pres attacking one of your players. If you think this is heading forward then good luck to you. I will be keeping a very watchful eye on things in the next few weeks to see which one of us will eat humble pie.
Pat Bateman
16th July 2006, 17:08
bitter ex player are we Pat....yes a couple of ex nunawading boys are playing these days. must be a long time since u been to the club, there have been no player photos in the club since i've been there.... majority of the guys playing now have joined the club since 2003 so things these days are completely differant on and off the field....
maybe u should come down and see for urself pat
Interesting you think I'm a past player KC. Are there many former Cobra players who are bitter or think things haven't been running above board in previous years?
Actually I play for Old Westbourne, a side that had a pretty healthy rivalry going with Bulleen a few years back. If Badanjek (one of the players in the photos) is captain of your club and Arcoraci still a senior player then I'm tipping not too much could have changed.
King_Cobra
16th July 2006, 19:34
Your off field changes include your now ex pres attacking one of your players. If you think this is heading forward then good luck to you. I will be keeping a very watchful eye on things in the next few weeks to see which one of us will eat humble pie.
the incident that you are reffering to did happen during pre-season but was delt with in an aporate manner by banning that person from the club, which show that it doesnt matter who you are and what u have done for the club poor behavour will not be put up with. If thats not looking forward for the better of the club i dont know what is.
would be interesting to know would u support or play for cats35?
King_Cobra
17th July 2006, 12:30
whats going on up in turtle land!!!!!!! You guys better hope its not raining during the finals. I know i will be praying for rain next time against u guys...lol
cats35
17th July 2006, 15:27
KC, Are you trying to get a rise out of the boys at turtleland. Do you think they might be suspect in wet conditions as they seem to be quite young compared to yourselves. You might want to check with your coach before spruiking about playing the top team. Don't now how happy he would be with you getting into an opposition side that has already beaten you this year. Remember actions speak louder than words.
As for me I will let you know by seasons end who I play with but please keep up the banter as it makes my day more enjoyable.
bamawmbandit
17th July 2006, 17:17
Would not read too much into the turtles loss in the conditions.
Infact they belted Bulleen in the wet after keeping their heads over the sherrin, as they were continually sniped by opponents.
Cannot wait to see Coach Blagrove in Finals action, as he has carved em up all year and only played in bursts off th bench when required.
Of course we will know more in the next two rounds.
King_Cobra
17th July 2006, 20:23
Cats35 as someone who claims to know so much about our club i thought u would have got my little jibe at the boys from turtleland....It always rains when we play the turtles u fool!!!!!
As for u not naming your club......
I thought that your name Cats35 referred to ur support of Geelong but now i just beleive that u are a PUSSY!!!!!! Name up or shut up!!!!
King_Cobra
17th July 2006, 20:31
Would not read too much into the turtles loss in the conditions.
Infact they belted Bulleen in the wet after keeping their heads over the sherrin, as they were continually sniped by opponents.
Cannot wait to see Coach Blagrove in Finals action, as he has carved em up all year and only played in bursts off th bench when required.
Of course we will know more in the next two rounds.
Hardley would call it a belting, we were in front at the 10 min mark of the last only to be run over while being down a couple of men.
lets hope u belt powerhouse and hawthorn and open up second spot for the cobras.....
Hudson 26
18th July 2006, 00:19
Who would be the 2 best performing players at each club up to round 12 ?.
Ratfink
18th July 2006, 09:41
Go to the Results section of the VAFA website for the section you are after, click on 'Competition Stats' then sort by 'Number of times in best'. This should give you an idea at least who the clubs have named in their best players each week.
King_Cobra
19th July 2006, 14:56
Cats35 where have u gone????? come on dont be scared!!!!! i promise i will be nice to u next time.
cats35
19th July 2006, 15:59
KC, I haven't gone anywhere. Just a little bit busy pretending to work. Please don't think I've gone into my shell after your personal go at my sexuality. Fear not I shall be back soon as I rather enjoy your ramblings about your might Cobras.
As for my club, I won't bow to your pressure to name up or shut up. Let's just say I once played in your division but have moved on to a higher grade. All will be revealed in time my dear Watson.
Cookson30
20th July 2006, 08:28
Jeez they are talking about me a lot aren't they King Cobra
Cookson30
20th July 2006, 08:54
BULLEEN COBRAS AFC Goal Kickers: T. Fradkin 3, F. Arcoraci 2, R. Badanjek 2, T. Pearson 2, B. Cookson, P. Whitehouse, R. Dunn
Best Players: B. Cookson, T. Orwin, N. Ritchie, J. Laurence, T. Moore, R. Daley
Have a look at that, the boy band is on fire at the moment - Me, Burger, Laurie, Moorey and Dalesy
Cookson30
20th July 2006, 11:26
Dalesy was number 1 on baller until round 7 then the cookson mobile has run hot. Back on track burning it up from Corio
OnThEmOvE
20th July 2006, 12:08
Dalesy was number 1 on baller until round 7 then the cookson mobile has run hot. Back on track burning it up from Corio
Settle down young Cookson. Good to see you hit the web eventually. It was only a matter of time.
I don't know that running hot is the quote for you at the moment. Running quiet in the goal department of late.
Rumour has it that you had some dirty pussi on your mind while down at Cario... Good to hear from a well known Cobra's source that thatshe was eventually blown off... not by you I hear.
At player functions this season I hear that one player's sister was receiving all the hard ball gets. Will she be back in the one percentas.... LoL
Must be an interest team bond & spirit you boys share down there at the Cobras
OnThEmOvE
20th July 2006, 12:24
I hear that Elley Park will not have a home ground next season due to construction works due to start at the Middlebough Rd railway underpass last this year.
Too bad for Elley Park after building the new expensive club rooms. Might be hard to play on the oval under 8,000 tonnes of dirt.
Will U blokes still be in D4, or thinking of dropping back due to no ground and lack of numbers??
cats35
20th July 2006, 13:10
King Cobra, I see you and your fellow Cobras are in fine form. Looked at your draw for the next 6 weeks. Playing all 3 teams in the 4. Dreams about a top 2 finish could be shattered. With all you boys pumping up the Cobras some might say you are trying to bluff your opposition. Only time will tell.