View Full Version : Burgatron VI: Adelaide's Selections

Vader
24 Nov 2005, 11:20
According to Matt Burgan, here are Adelaide's selections at this weekend's draft:

16: Shannon Hurn (Centrals)
17: Darren Pfeiffer (Norwood)
32: Ryan Gamble (Glenelg)
48: Jace Bode (Sturt)
62: Pass

Interestingly, he has Varcoe & Hughes both going 20+ (heck, Adelaide are supposedly taking the first two SA kids to be drafted and you can't take four players in two selections).

Wonder why the SA boys have done so poorly in his draft, compared to all the phantom drafts on BF?

Bet Fantasia & co would be wetting themselves with excitement if Hurn was still available at #16.

outback jack
24 Nov 2005, 11:26
thats fantastic news this guy is often pretty close. Should of pushed for a second rounder with watts to get varcoe as well!

Crowked
24 Nov 2005, 11:26
Bet Fantasia & co would be wetting themselves with excitement if Hurn was still available at #16.

I'd suggest Fanta is already practicing running around the draft table with his pants down. :D

Hurn @ 16 is surely a joke. He will go we inside the top 10, probably top 5.

Signs are promising that we are going to get 2 quality SA lads though, maybe Pfeiffer or Hughes or Varcoe.

SpringChoke
24 Nov 2005, 11:36
Surely we couldn't get this luck could we? Does this mean the SA lads aren't rated as highly as we think?

Burgatron Here (http://carltonfc.com.au/?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=238126)

Vader
24 Nov 2005, 11:37
What do people think of the selection of Ryan Gamble with #32?

According to Burgan, Adelaide will be taking 4 midfielders. Now, I know our midfield needs attention due to the imminent retirement of the premiership superstars, but the departure of Fungus means we only have 1 KPP under development (Gibson).

Surely Adelaide would be looking at taking at least 1 KPP in this draft (most likely scenario being 3x mids, 1x KPP)?

Worth noting that Burgan has Alan Obst going to Brisbane at #56.

Mad Dog
24 Nov 2005, 11:43
SOB (Son of Bunga) would be an absolute gift at #16.

I doubt he will still be available - but here's hoping.

As for our priorities - I will be very surprised if we don't pick up 2 KPPs given the loss of Watts and Krueger. Gibbo still seeems a long way off IMO.

Kristof
24 Nov 2005, 11:48
Matt Burgan has always been good with getting our selections right - though knowing our intentions is one thing, and the shifting sands ahead of us is another.

I can't see Hurn slipping past Geelong. Stanley seems no where near Hurn's class, and neither does Dempsey or Muston. But it's a crapshoot ...

Kristof
24 Nov 2005, 11:51
As for our priorities - I will be very surprised if we don't pick up 2 KPPs given the loss of Watts and Krueger. Gibbo still seeems a long way off IMO.

Not much point grabbing a plodding tall late in the draft. BUT it would be a hard choice if Pfeiffer, Hurn, Cleve Hughes and Varcoe are all on the table when we pick ...

Thank God for the Vic players suddenly getting a bit of buzz about them ...

Kristof
24 Nov 2005, 11:54
What do people think of the selection of Ryan Gamble with #32?

Interesting. I know NOTHING about him.

Blue Red and Gold
24 Nov 2005, 11:57
I would be very suprised if Hurn slipped to 15.

I would like to pick up Hughes/Varcoe with our first picks and I think we have a chance of doing that.

Varcoe has to be a requirement, we are void of all crumbers and he would add genuine pace and skill to this area. Hughes could be a direct replacement for Fungus.

theorangeapple
24 Nov 2005, 11:58
Sorry to intrude but you guys would be laughing all the way to the bank with both Hurn and Pfeiffer. Both widely tiped as top10 material.

Mad Dog
24 Nov 2005, 11:58
Not much point grabbing a plodding tall late in the draft. BUT it would be a hard choice if Pfeiffer, Hurn, Cleve Hughes and Varcoe are all on the table when we pick ...

Thank God for the Vic players suddenly getting a bit of buzz about them ...
True - but if anything happens to Bock, Rutten, McGregor, or Hentschell....then we're looking at Gibson and Scott Stevens ATM as replacements....thats why I reckon we might go for KPPS early

RooDog
24 Nov 2005, 12:02
Interesting. I know NOTHING about him.

he is a talented midfielder cum half forward from glenelg, missed this years under 18s due to a broken jaw.... played a handful of league games towards the end and didnt go to badly...

Also i think this years draft is one of the hardest to do a phantom draft for and thats why at the end of every players selection it ha this club could also go for a, b or c with selection depending on whats happened before them...

He does quite often under rate the SA kids, he doesnt even mention SAs Sam Elliot who at the end of last year i touted as a possible top 10 pick this season. He has dropped in the pecking order due to an injury riddled season and supposed issues of his speed which ironically he finished in top 5-6 at draft camp for the 20m sprint.

I also expect SAs Josh Sampson to be picked up, have a bit of inside mail on him and Port are very very keen and have gone to certain lengths that would show to me that they are keen to draft him.

DaveW
24 Nov 2005, 12:04
What did Jimmy call it?

Pants down around the table time?

RooDog
24 Nov 2005, 12:05
True - but if anything happens to Bock, Rutten, McGregor, or Hentschell....then we're looking at Gibson and Scott Stevens ATM as replacements....thats why I reckon we might go for KPPS early

Add John Griffen to that list as well mate, also if worse comes to worse then Hinge can play tall as well....

but i do agree that we will take atleast one tall in this draft, i also think we may surprise by using all our picks and leave nothing for the Pre Season Draft.

cro_Magnum
24 Nov 2005, 12:13
According to Matt Burgan, here are Adelaide's selections at this weekend's draft:

17: Darren Pfeiffer (Norwood)
32: Ryan Gamble (Glenelg)
48: Jace Bode (Sturt)
62: Pass

Interestingly, he has Varcoe & Hughes both going 20+ (heck, Adelaide are supposedly taking the first two SA kids to be drafted and you can't take four players in two selections).

Wonder why the SA boys have done so poorly in his draft, compared to all the phantom drafts on BF?

Hurn and Pfeiffer? Stranger things have happened, but not many.

Hopefully we'll soon be saying I see it but I don't believe it.

Vader
24 Nov 2005, 12:14
But i do agree that we will take atleast one tall in this draft, i also think we may surprise by using all our picks and leave nothing for the Pre Season Draft.

Begs the question, who are we saving that PSD selection for?

Fantasia, Reid, Craig have all been quoted recently as saying that we'll be taking 4 in the ND & 1 in the PSD. My questions are why? And who in the PSD?

RooDog
24 Nov 2005, 12:32
Begs the question, who are we saving that PSD selection for?

Fantasia, Reid, Craig have all been quoted recently as saying that we'll be taking 4 in the ND & 1 in the PSD. My questions are why? And who in the PSD?

i dont know, maybe one of Vince or Simmons if they are over looked on saturday... but i really dont know... i dont see the point of doing it unless we are going to take one of the delisted players from another club...

Macca19
24 Nov 2005, 12:56
Hes got some wierd picks this year. Only reason I can see Hurn slipping that far is if clubs percieve him as another Anthony Banik. Kasey Green at 22?? Last year he only got about 6 picks right I think so it will be interesting to see how he goes this year

RooDog
24 Nov 2005, 13:07
Hes got some wierd picks this year. Only reason I can see Hurn slipping that far is if clubs percieve him as another Anthony Banik. Kasey Green at 22?? Last year he only got about 6 picks right I think so it will be interesting to see how he goes this year

he does you are right, Green is at 25 i think you will find but even then he is too early, i dont think he will be close this year but then again i dont think to many people will be its just to hard to pick. Last year you are right only got 6-7 picks right and considering one of them was Deledio who was a stand out choice it wasnt that good an effort, but if you look through there are a few players who end up at the clubs he says just not with the picks he uses, so he does have some idea what cluvs are interested in just not how highly they rate them.

Were you happy with what port ended up out of it?

Kane McGoodwin
24 Nov 2005, 13:25
Like most have said, I would be both surprised & stoked if we get Hurn with our 1st pick. I expect we will pick up at least 1 KPP & 2 midfielders, with the 4th pick the best available KPP/midfielder. If there is a player the club expected to be picked up still remaining when we have our last pick, we may end up using it (given we participate late in the PSD).

Macca19
24 Nov 2005, 13:36
Reasonably happy. Rischbeith is alright, Thomas is linked to us everywhere, and Miller looks alright. Weve got crappy picks to do anything with tho.

If you lot get Hurn AND Pfeiffer I think youll see Fantasia running nude around the country.

theorangeapple
24 Nov 2005, 13:38
THe reason Green is at 25 is because other clubs like Richmond and the Roos are going to take him before the lions have their next pick. With a flakey draft, at least you know that Green can play. We wanted to keep him but he left for more oppourtunities. Having said that, the lions didnt want to trade pick 25 for him so they wont be to keen to get him then.

Vader
24 Nov 2005, 13:56
Assuming that Hurn is infact a slider, and reaches us at #16, who would we be better off with at #17?

It's obviously a 3-way contest:
Travis Varcoe - Could well be one of the steals of the draft if he does recover from the foot injury. Was widely tipped to go top-5 until injury hit.
Cleve Hughes - Best available South Australian KPP, and we don't have many young KPPs.
Darren Pfieffer - Ready to roll defender/midfielder, expected to go top-10 in the draft.

Burgan has us taking Pfeiffer. What do other people reckon? I know it's purely hypothetical, and the liklihood of Adelaide being in the position of having to make such a decision is near zero, but it's worth pondering....

RooDog
24 Nov 2005, 14:15
Assuming that Hurn is infact a slider, and reaches us at #16, who would we be better off with at #17?

Travis Varcoe - Could well be one of the steals of the draft if he does recover from the foot injury. Was widely tipped to go top-5 until injury hit.
Cleve Hughes - Best available South Australian KPP, and we don't have many young KPPs.
Darren Pfieffer - Ready to roll defender/midfielder, expected to go top-10 in the draft.

Burgan has us taking Pfeiffer. What do other people reckon? I know it's purely hypothetical, and the liklihood of Adelaide being in the position of having to make such a decision is near zero, but it's worth pondering....

Varcoe is the ifrst one you wouldnt take out of those 3, yes he may have the ability but his injury has to be of concern, missed most of the year and i can realistically only see him being a flanker at AFL level maybe a wingman.

Hughes i would love, i would probably take him before Pfieffer but its really a toss of the coin, Pfieffer is a ready to role hbf at this stage and i have changed my opinion of him in the last 24 hours after talking to people that have seen much more of him than me and they think he will step up into a midfield role, but hughes has the attributes to become a good forward.

Also on the KPP note, he has Grima going late in the draft, we could perhaps pinch him with one of our picks.

Jerome
24 Nov 2005, 15:56
I would be very suprised if Hurn slipped to 15.

I would like to pick up Hughes/Varcoe with our first picks and I think we have a chance of doing that.

Varcoe has to be a requirement, we are void of all crumbers and he would add genuine pace and skill to this area. Hughes could be a direct replacement for Fungus.

Agree 100% with the lads mentioned and the midfielder/key forward combo.

For mine, if we pick a midfielder/flanker such as Hurn or Pfeiffer (personally I think they will both go much earlier) at 16,we really need to get the best key forward available at 17 to cover the losses of Mark Stevens, Watts, Krueger and Smith.

We're a bit then in the key forward dept and we need some new guys in that area. I'd be a bit concerned if we went with two midfielders/flankers with 16 and 17.

crows98
24 Nov 2005, 16:24
Varcoe is the ifrst one you wouldnt take out of those 3, yes he may have the ability but his injury has to be of concern, missed most of the year and i can realistically only see him being a flanker at AFL level maybe a wingman.

Hughes i would love, i would probably take him before Pfieffer but its really a toss of the coin, Pfieffer is a ready to role hbf at this stage and i have changed my opinion of him in the last 24 hours after talking to people that have seen much more of him than me and they think he will step up into a midfield role, but hughes has the attributes to become a good forward.

Also on the KPP note, he has Grima going late in the draft, we could perhaps pinch him with one of our picks.

Agree with all of that Roodog,

I would also over look Travis Varcoe as his foot injury is a bit of a gamble as he has not yet shown if he is fully over it and you never know that he could fall as low as 32 and then it would be worth it (Hurn is meant to go top 5)

Would love to get both Hurn and Hughes but would be very happy with Pfieffer if Hurn was to go early.

Would be happy with Bode at 32 (if Varcoe is gone) and Obst at 48 or Grima as Roodog said as a late pick

outback jack
24 Nov 2005, 19:57
If this turns out nicely as the mock draft suggests, it shows the importance of keeping first round picks! Luckily Neil seems to have learnt this as gary definitely didnt. We can pick Damon White up for a third rounder next yr.

Stiffy_18
24 Nov 2005, 20:45
I'd suggest Fanta is already practicing running around the draft table with his pants down.
No wonder I couldn't get in touvh with him :p

Seriously, if Hurn slips to 16, I will join him in that dance :D :p

******** me dead, those selections would be exceptional for us. In Hurn and Pfeiffer you get 2 best SA players.

Stiffy_18
24 Nov 2005, 20:57

Surely you go with the best available, ie. Pfeiffer

GoSarge
25 Nov 2005, 15:36
Surely you go with the best available, ie. Pfeiffer

Yep, best available. Exactly who that is, is a matter of perception.

Two of Hurn,Varcoe, Pfeiffer and Hughes would be a good result. Add some more SA boys with later picks such as Bode, Rischbeith, Obst etc would make it an exceptional result.

crazy_big_al
25 Nov 2005, 15:41

NOT GOING TO HAPPEN

u can only dream

but if he falls to u it would be a gift

GoSarge
25 Nov 2005, 16:41
NOT GOING TO HAPPEN

u can only dream

but if he falls to u it would be a gift

So confident ? Perhaps you'd care to put some money on it ?

crazy_big_al
25 Nov 2005, 17:46
So confident ? Perhaps you'd care to put some money on it ?

I am confident. But i dont bet on things i have no control over. If you get him it would be a rather big steal at 16. He could play league footy straight away that kid

Blind Fred
25 Nov 2005, 21:59
Hurn would be a steal at 16. Surely the other cl;ubs won't let him slip far. I reckon the Crows willl be happy with a Pfeiffer or perhaps Hughes at 16 or 17 but remember they had 17 interstate players in their top 20 so you'd expect at least one of these to be chosen. Gamble won't go at 32. I reckon our first two selections will come from a group including Pfeiffer, Hughes, Douglas, Swallow, Muston, Stanley, McKinley and perhaps Varcoe, presuming most of the bigger names are gone.