View Full Version : Draft Thread

pinkus maximus
24 Nov 2005, 14:49
Burgan from AFL.com has released his phantom draft. Here are Freos picks

10 Marcus Drum HBF

26 Andrew Swallow MID

42 Garrick Ibbotson HBF

First off I think we might draft one of Duffield or Stribling with 42. Secondly surely we have enough HBFs on our list.I admit I havent seen these draftees apart from the WA guys so anyone got any thoughts about these picks?

ImperialPurple
24 Nov 2005, 15:00
I'd be rapt to get a couple of the local lads this year... I know "best available" is the catch-cry - but if local is just as good, then I hope they go for it.

I reckon Duff is a chance at #42, while I would think that Stribling would be looked at for a rookie listing.

Do we really need any more HBFs - I would think a pacey mid, a back-up ruck, and a potential KP defender would be more the go (at 188cm I still think Haddrill is a bit on the short side; and Polly doesn't have me convinced just yet that he's the answer at CHB while McPharlin is at FF).

fat wombat
24 Nov 2005, 15:21
I'd be stoked if Paul Bower lasted till our pick at 26. Most people think he'll go around 28ish.

Dr Ralph Dagg
24 Nov 2005, 15:52
Burgan from AFL.com has released his phantom draft. Here are Freos picks

10 Marcus Drum HBF

26 Andrew Swallow MID

42 Garrick Ibbotson HBF

Burgan must know something everyone else doesn't know if he thinks Swallow will still be there at 26. Personally I reckon he's the least reliable of all the phantom drafts.

ThePope
24 Nov 2005, 15:58
footydraft has us getting
10 Fremantle – Mitchell Clark (East Fremantle) - 197cm CHF/Ruck
26 Fremantle - Tom Rischbieth (Sturt) - 190cm forward
42 Fremantle – Grae Grant (http://www.footygoss.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=19722&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0) (Perth) - 184cm rover/HF

Be much happier with that than more HBFs.

As another view, Weaver, a very knowledgable Richmond fan, published his first pass a month or so ago... due to update it soon I think.

10 Jarrod Oakley-Nichols (EP) - 186cm Midfielder
26 Michael West (Qld) - 195cm FF
42 Alan Toovey (C) - 188cm Defender

dominguez
24 Nov 2005, 16:00
I'd be stoked to get Swallow at 26. Hopefully we select either Clarke, Oakley-Nicholls, Pfeiffer or Hurn at 10. I don't think Drum fits our needs. He has struggled when played in the midfield, and also lacks pace. A similar player to Ryley Dunn but a couple of inches taller.

dominguez
24 Nov 2005, 16:02
Burgan must know something everyone else doesn't know if he thinks Swallow will still be there at 26. Personally I reckon he's the least reliable of all the phantom drafts.

Apart from the 2 at afl.com and footydraft are there other phantom drafts worth a look Ralph?

pinkus maximus
24 Nov 2005, 16:07
I'd be stoked to get Swallow at 26. Hopefully we select either Clarke, Oakley-Nicholls, Pfeiffer or Hurn at 10. I don't think Drum fits our needs. He has struggled when played in the midfield, and also lacks pace. A similar player to Ryley Dunn but a couple of inches taller.

Yeah I think Oakly-Nicholls and Swallow would be ideal for us. But if someone like Hurn was available at 10,while not overly quick,surely would be too good to pass on

Also note that Swallow is rated highly by people on Bigfooty but in various media is seen as a second rounder

Ysaye
24 Nov 2005, 16:10
I agree thePope - Mitch Clark result is better than Drum plus Swallow.

I just don't see why we should take Drum. Can anyone out there tell me why we should take Drum with pick 10 instead of Hurn, J-O, Pendlebury, Muston or Varcoe? And if you say "Best Player available" - can you please explain why he is the best player available?

I am really hoping Burgan is right when he says it would not be suprising if we took Muston and that we get Swallow or Bower later on as predicted.

pinkus maximus
24 Nov 2005, 16:16
I just don't see why we should take Drum. Can anyone out there tell me why we should take Drum with pick 10 instead of Hurn, J-O, Pendlebury, Muston or Varcoe? And if you say "Best Player available" - can you please explain why he is the best player available?

Dont know why. But if we did select him ahead of those I would back Phil Smarts judgment. Maybe he is seen as a CHB?? If not then Phil Smart has a HBF fetish

sabre_ac
24 Nov 2005, 17:19
My knowledge of the draft is basically what I read on bigfooty, and as most of you would know.....Take everything with a pinch of salt.
The bigfooty obession with Swallow may be just that the guy may very well last untill second round. It certainly wouldnt be the first place talked up on this site only to slide.

One thing I do know for certain is I have the utmost faith in the recuriters at the helm of our club of late, very few mistakes lately.

Undertaker
24 Nov 2005, 17:29
I'd be stoked to get Swallow at 26. I don't think Drum fits our needs. He has struggled when played in the midfield, and also lacks pace. A similar player to Ryley Dunn but a couple of inches taller.
I agree, if one of the East Freo talls are available at 10 Freo will take him and hope that Swallow or Oakly-Nicholls is available at 26. If there are no East Freo big men available IMO they will take Swallow at 10 and use pick 26 to get another KP big man to help out down back like Wayde Mills from Southport,born 29 August 1987, 195.1cm, 87.9kg An imposing, key defender Mills possesses genuine presence and led Queensland in this year's under 18 championships. He was also rewarded with All-Australian status. He had a terrific Draft Camp, finishing first in the running vertical jump (90cm), while he displayed speed and endurance. His 10.12 minutes in the three-kilometre time-trial was exceptional for his size.

Scham
24 Nov 2005, 18:38
Freo have needed pacy midfielders for years, and the only one that fits that description that we've drafted lately is Stribling - we just delisted him! So it won't surprise me if we did select Drum.

Drum does sound alright tho, and we still don't have an obvious successor to Parker, who can play short or tall in defence, so that may be their thinking?

The Eagles facination worries me a bit with J. O-N. He's even got an Eagles bedspread! Can we turn that around?

ThePope
24 Nov 2005, 18:44
Wayde Mills from Southport,born 29 August 1987, 195.1cm, 87.9kg
And he'd have to be given the #23 in a couple of years time too... separated at birth? As long as he isn't more Daniel than Shane.
http://afl.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/article/237342br.jpg
http://fremantlefc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/person/013264at.jpg

pinkus maximus
24 Nov 2005, 23:34
Kevin Sheehan was on 6pr tonight but i only caught the last bit of the interview. He rates Drum top 6 and says the Murray coach rates him as one of the best players they have produced

YAKUZA
25 Nov 2005, 08:20

Care to name the most reliable?

Alfonz
25 Nov 2005, 08:45
I don't think anyone has posted this, but my main beef with Drum is the fact that he is Damian Drum's nephew (at least thats what Burgan says). For the love of god ... nooo!!!!! That name should be buried forever, I don't care how good this kid is supposed to be. I'm sure he'd just love to play for a club which shafted (rightfully so) his uncle, unless he thinks his uncle is a tool like most normal people.

docker_azza
25 Nov 2005, 09:59
I don't think anyone has posted this, but my main beef with Drum is the fact that he is Damian Drum's nephew (at least thats what Burgan says). For the love of god ... nooo!!!!! That name should be buried forever, I don't care how good this kid is supposed to be. I'm sure he'd just love to play for a club which shafted (rightfully so) his uncle, unless he thinks his uncle is a tool like most normal people.

LOL

What is so wrong with picking up a player just because of his surname and relatives?.

Based on your reasoning you need to grow up.

Have you actually seen the kid play and can judge his worth based on that.

ImperialPurple
25 Nov 2005, 10:08

Drummy's cousin is the pre-primary teacher at Beacy Primary School (in fact, when my son was in her class in 2001, DD came in and did a coaching clinic with the littlies!)... she's been in Freo for 20+ years. There is a Drum family history in Freo before DD was here as coach.

Ysaye
25 Nov 2005, 10:43

By that reasoning we should steer well clear of Oakley Nicholls because he is blindly in love with the Eagles. (Actually Alfonz, according to one of the articles the Drums get along pretty well.)

My grizzle is that we have been down this path already with Ryley Dunn. Dunn was a supposed Top 6 HBF/HFF with the same lot of honours as Drum, tall but just not tall enough to play KP and able to contest marks and get lots of possessions. Both I am sure are really good, hard working players. But we already have a pile of HBFs - heck, we just delisted Woods and he wasn't that bad!

I can understand stockpiling talented Forwards, Rucks or Midfielders but I can't get over why someone would want to stockpile defenders, except ones that have the height to matchup the majority of key forwards.

Dr Ralph Dagg
25 Nov 2005, 11:22
Care to name the most reliable?
No.

Dr Ralph Dagg
25 Nov 2005, 11:24
According to today's piece he grew up with Pav, Hase and Leigh Brown posters on his wall. Not many contry Vic youngsters who can say that. It also says 3 sec for 20m at draft camp which is more than adequate pace.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,17358123%255E20322,00.html

YAKUZA
25 Nov 2005, 11:27

A stupid idiotic immature statement that does nothing other than to highlight your absolute lack of understanding of football in general and human nature in particular.

Dr Ralph Dagg
25 Nov 2005, 11:39
By that reasoning we should steer well clear of Oakley Nicholls because he is blindly in love with the Eagles. (Actually Alfonz, according to one of the articles the Drums get along pretty well.)

My grizzle is that we have been down this path already with Ryley Dunn. Dunn was a supposed Top 6 HBF/HFF with the same lot of honours as Drum, tall but just not tall enough to play KP and able to contest marks and get lots of possessions. Both I am sure are really good, hard working players. But we already have a pile of HBFs - heck, we just delisted Woods and he wasn't that bad!

I can understand stockpiling talented Forwards, Rucks or Midfielders but I can't get over why someone would want to stockpile defenders, except ones that have the height to matchup the majority of key forwards.

Yeah, but you're forgetting the Mundy & Murphy. I don't mind stockpiling defenders who are talented players. You can build endurance into a talented player. You can't build in talent. (Which is why I reckon Rieschbieth should only a be third rounder).

e.g. Both Murphy and Mundy have played forward and back. I could handle having Ryan Murphy and David Mundy tooling around the half-forward line taking marks on the lead, and contested grabs, and wheeling around to bomb it into Pav and McPharlin in one-on-ones with the the Wiz and Belly at their feet for the crumbs. Or dishing off to Headland or Black steaming past for the long bomb.

Clubs have gone down that road of picking what you need even though you don't quite like them as a player. You end up with a mediocre player with no trade value. Or you can have 8 brilliant half-back flankers and use Adelaide's current game plan to get you into a pre-lim final and a kick or two away from a Grand final.

Alfonz
25 Nov 2005, 11:50
A stupid idiotic immature statement that does nothing other than to highlight your absolute lack of understanding of football in general and human nature in particular.

Jesus H Chryst. Settle down, I was joking, although the last sentence was sort of serious (Drum being a tool). Do you want to dish out any more wide-sweeping insults to make yourself feel better? I am pretty sure I know as much about football as most people on here.

dominguez
25 Nov 2005, 19:10
Matt Riggio from peel would be a good pick up at 42. 189cm midfielder/HBF with pace who likes the physical stuff.

Scham
25 Nov 2005, 21:05
Yeah, but you're forgetting the Mundy & Murphy. I don't mind stockpiling defenders who are talented players. You can build endurance into a talented player. You can't build in talent. (Which is why I reckon Rieschbieth should only a be third rounder).

e.g. Both Murphy and Mundy have played forward and back. I could handle having Ryan Murphy and David Mundy tooling around the half-forward line taking marks on the lead, and contested grabs, and wheeling around to bomb it into Pav and McPharlin in one-on-ones with the the Wiz and Belly at their feet for the crumbs. Or dishing off to Headland or Black steaming past for the long bomb.

Clubs have gone down that road of picking what you need even though you don't quite like them as a player. You end up with a mediocre player with no trade value. Or you can have 8 brilliant half-back flankers and use Adelaide's current game plan to get you into a pre-lim final and a kick or two away from a Grand final.
Couldn't agree more, also, in regard to his height Drum is taller than Haddrill already and will possibly grow more, and apparently he has played on and beaten taller opponents some of which are touted as top 5 picks this year. One of which was Josh Kennedy in the 18's carnival!

wehavethepassion
25 Nov 2005, 22:05

our first two picks need to be "speed" driven Oakley nichols fits the bill at 10. if drum is similar to dunn then we a definetely screwed. Sped,speed and more speed in the midfield

Schopp
25 Nov 2005, 22:30

Agree Dr Ralph. Mundy may have originally been a defender, but because he is a natural footballer he could play almost anywhere. He has decent athleticism as well and I could see him being a tall mid. Very composed and creative.

fat wombat
26 Nov 2005, 09:09
Well it's official, Drums a docker!

pinkus maximus
26 Nov 2005, 09:41
Yep and Ibottson at 26

Warnok at 42 at least we got a ruckmen

Swallow went at 43

Scham
26 Nov 2005, 09:41
drum, Ibbotson, and Warnock - still no pacy midfielders! I guess we went for best available.

We left Swallow with pick 42 and the roos got him at 43, we'll be hearing about that one for years to come!

inferno66
26 Nov 2005, 09:46
I have never even heard of Ibottson... why did he go so early
Gees he better be good

dominguez
26 Nov 2005, 09:47
Very strange selections by Phil Smart. Two half back flankers and a ruckman when we are screaming out for midfield pace.

Pick 10- Marcus Drum 189cm 79kg Murray Bushrangers
pick 26- Garrick Ibbotson 186cm 78kg East Freo
pick 42- Robert Warnock 204cm 80kg.

Good to see we boosted our ruck stocks, but at 204cm and only 80kg don't expect to see Warnock play any time soon. Hopefully we can build him up quicker than Thornton and Polak. Swallow was still available at 42 (taken at 43 by the roos). If he turns out to be a gun then we will have egg on our face.

Good luck to the new boys. I'm gonna call Warnock Kumars- Kumars at number 42.

inferno66
26 Nov 2005, 09:50
Two half back flankers and a ruckman when we are screaming out for midfield pace

Freo are proably expecting the return of Browne and Haines from injury and thats why they picked players to develop rather than being played straight away

Scham
Have a look at the profile of sydneys pick 51 - Matt Laidlaw on the AFL draft tracker, sounds perfect for our needs!

fat wombat
C'mon guys, why would Swallow be passed up completely one year then slip to the 3rd round (pick 43) in the next? All clubs must not rate him highly at all. Why would the egg be on our face and not the other 15 clubs? Just because he's a local?

dominguez
26 Nov 2005, 10:00
Just because he's a local?

Yeah.

dominguez
26 Nov 2005, 10:02
Freo are proably expecting the return of Browne and Haines from injury and thats why they picked players to develop rather than being played straight away

Haines certainly isn't quick. I'm a fan of Browne, and he does have pace, but he's not very tall. You can never have too many quick midfielders, look at the eagles and bulldogs.

inferno66
26 Nov 2005, 10:10
From reading the drafting thread in the Drafts and Trading board.. Ibbotson is apparently has pace, athelitism , good pair of hands and plays midfield/defense

marcy8811
26 Nov 2005, 10:10
Garrick Ibbotson isn't slow. He was in the top 20% for 20m. 2.97sec. Also, he's goot that big body at 186cm and he is very bottom age. He could probably develope into a midfielder. Hes already rated at such an early age, much more than Swallow. I trust Smarts judgement. I think he will be just what we need.

With Drum, the guy is class. I know hes a HBF but I heard him speak on the radio and he seemed very down to earth. I've heard nothing but praise for this guy. The great thing is, he wants to play for Freo... the guy has poster of Pav and Hase on his wall for crying out loud!! We want players who will want to represent the jumper... he is a guy who will give is all

pinkus maximus
26 Nov 2005, 10:12
C'mon guys, why would Swallow be passed up completely one year then slip to the 3rd round (pick 43) in the next? All clubs must not rate him highly at all. Why would the egg be on our face and not the other 15 clubs? Just because he's a local?

Yes because he is in our own backyard. Same thing happened with WC and Simon Black,not that I think Swallow will be as good

Ibbotson has potential to play in midfield according to his coach so heres hoping.Maybe Drum could become a KPP in the Justin Leppitsch mould?

pinkus maximus
26 Nov 2005, 10:16
Garrick Ibbotson isn't slow. He was in the top 20% for 20m. 2.97sec. Also, he's goot that big body at 186cm and he is very bottom age. He could probably develope into a midfielder. Hes already rated at such an early age, much more than Swallow. I trust Smarts judgement. I think he will be just what we need.

With Drum, the guy is class. I know hes a HBF but I heard him speak on the radio and he seemed very down to earth. I've heard nothing but praise for this guy. The great thing is, he wants to play for Freo... the guy has poster of Pav and Hase on his wall for crying out loud!! We want players who will want to represent the jumper... he is a guy who will give is all

Agree. He is also a leader and rated by the Murray coach as possibly the best player they have produced.

wizard_9
26 Nov 2005, 10:19
Yes because he is in our own backyard. Same thing happened with WC and Simon Black,not that I think Swallow will be as good

Ibbotson has potential to play in midfield according to his coach so heres hoping.Maybe Drum could become a KPP in the Justin Leppitsch mould?

Marcus Drum
"Marcus is a consumate professional, the most professional player i have ever coached. Leaves no stone unturned, trains the house down, captained our side and was a great leader. He'll be very good centre half back like a Simon Prestigiacomo type but more attacking. Could go forward but his best position is as a defender."

Murray Bushrangers coach Xavier Tanner.

raffrox
26 Nov 2005, 10:22
Ibbotson and Drum aren't speed merchants but both appear to be medium sized versitile types who aren't exactly plodders either.

They almost sound like Mundy clones (I'm thinking that Mundy might be moving onto a wing this year).

It's not the blistering pace that most seem to think you need at Subi (and I tend to agree with them).

But Drum is highly rated... no doubt about that. I think he'll be a good player.

dominguez
26 Nov 2005, 10:22
Maybe Drum could become a KPP in the Justin Leppitsch mould?

Will be interesting to see what role he is best suited to at AFL level. At 189cm he probably isn't tall enough to play a key position, but by all reports he has struggled when moved away from defence. Probably an attacking HBF or a spare man in defence.

ImperialPurple
26 Nov 2005, 10:25
At 189cm he probably isn't tall enough to play a key position,

Robbie Haddrill is 188cm. Parker is 190. Young Drum is listed as 189.7cm - he probably has a cm or two of growth left in him at his age.

I think his nickname must be NODdy (Nephew of Damian).

andrew_embley
26 Nov 2005, 10:26
enjoy Drummy guys :D

BB gun
26 Nov 2005, 10:29
It was good to pick up a ruckman. We need to need to start to develop someone just in case sandi and jlo get injured at teh same time.
Not to sure about our first two picks though. I am no expert, so i won't waste my time telling you who i would have picked up.

dominguez
26 Nov 2005, 10:31
Robbie Haddrill is 188cm. Parker is 190. Young Drum is listed as 189.7cm

Pavs 192cm and 100kg and played well in the midfield, but it's rare for a guy his size to dominate games from the midfield. Haddrill's a freak (in a good way, not like Michael Jackson). Parker only played full back because Haddrill was out and Polak, Johnson and Thornton aren't strong enough.

raffrox
26 Nov 2005, 10:32
I know Ralph Dagg already posted this link but it's definitely worth a read if you haven't already.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,17358123%255E20322,00.html

ImperialPurple
26 Nov 2005, 10:33
Haddrill's a freak (in a good way, not like Michael Jackson)..

:D

marcy8811
26 Nov 2005, 10:35
Phil Smart has been researching these guys for a long time now. I think I'll trust his judgement. Obviously, he has been watching Ibbotson, which means he would have been watching Swallow too. Obviously they rate this guy highly. It's not often that we take a local guy... for us to do that, it must mean hes good :thumbsu:

andrew_embley
26 Nov 2005, 10:36
Well it's official, Drums a docker!

I've heard that one before

wizard_9
26 Nov 2005, 14:10
Here is a few comparisons i have heard about the boys we have picked in this draft.

Drum - Scarlett: Shifter just said he is very similar to Scarlett and he likens him to Matty a lot.
Ibbotson - Mckenna: Plays in a similar fashion to McKenna according to East Colts coach Andrew Lockyer.
Warnock: Not a player as such but here is a quote for you to think about. "I have rarely seen a players as good as he is a ground level - better than Spider Everitt in my opinion." Gary Colling - Vic Metro coach.

Apparently Drum is the best defender in the draft hands down.

rgauci
26 Nov 2005, 14:23
When i first woke up i was quite upset with our picks. But after a closer look how the draft panned out i'm quite happy with our selections.

Drum was the best available. Swallow obviously can't kick. And for that reason we didn't pick him. We have enough players who can't kick.

Warnock was a pick for the future. We need another true ruckman.

So all in all we filled a gap that needed filling with a 3rd round selection. And got 2 capable players with our 1st and 2nd rounders. One of which is capable of playing in the midfield.

pinkus maximus
26 Nov 2005, 14:30
Here is Weavers opinion on Ibottson

"Has been hurt a little by being a spare-part player. With other midfield options in the WA team he was drafted in a fullback and then a flanker. The powerful East Freo junior side pushed him out on the flanks a lot. In other teams he would have played 100 minutes a week in the centre and probably jumped up the draft order. A big-body, strong at the ball, good overhead and reads the game well. Just lacks that little extra something to lift him above the others, but is very bottom age so has improvement left in him."

rgauci
26 Nov 2005, 16:31
If Drum grows 4-5cm in height (which isn't unheard of at his age, bone scans and body measurements could predict this) he could easily be our fullback of the future. The club may have invested some money into finding out whether he will grow further and picked him because he will be our fullback of the future.

Ibbotson for the midfield and Warnoch for the future ruck duties.

A very professional draft, thinking about the future and not trying to plug gaps (AKA Collingwood). The more i think about our picks the more i like it.

Freo Shark
26 Nov 2005, 16:42
If Drum grows 4-5cm in height (which isn't unheard of at his age, bone scans and body measurements could predict this) he could easily be our fullback of the future.

If he grows another 4-5 he'll be ideal height and with commensurate increase in weight, just what we'll be looking for.

How much more height has a kid this size got left in him ?

marcy8811
26 Nov 2005, 17:47
Unfortunately, Drums a bit top age so I cant see him growing much more. I suppose we can all dream. I think it was his attitude that made him so appealing, besides the obvious talents. Everyone always talks about how the real stars, how their attitude on the training track is a class above... no stone left unturned so to speak. Those are the sort of things that make our captain so great. If Drums attitude is anything like that, we will definately have made the correct choice with our selection. He sounds like the consumate professional.

Just on a side note, arn't most of the great backs playing at present a similar height? Guys like Scarlet (192cm), Mal Michael(190cm), Clement(190cm), Leppitsch(191cm) are all basically the same height. There is no disadvantage being at that in between height if you have skills and a professional attitude.

YAKUZA
26 Nov 2005, 18:00
I have never even heard of Ibottson... why did he go so early
Gees he better be good

Where do you live, in a vaccuum?

inferno66
26 Nov 2005, 18:01
Unfortunately, Drums a bit top age
Hes only 18 years old... thats not top age

inferno66
26 Nov 2005, 18:02
Where do you live, in a vaccuum?
Maybe ;)

marcy8811
26 Nov 2005, 18:15
yeah, but I doubt he will grow 4-5cm... If anything, I hope he will be like Mundy and grow a few cm. Mundy is now listed as 191cm on the official site. Tall enough for a key position wouldn't you say?

inferno66
26 Nov 2005, 18:25
yeah, but I doubt he will grow 4-5cm... If anything, I hope he will be like Mundy and grow a few cm. Mundy is now listed as 191cm on the official site. Tall enough for a key position wouldn't you say?

Yeah i agree with you even a few cms will be very valuable

jarman
26 Nov 2005, 19:00
Watched a lot of juniors from Bullcreek Leeming over the years and Ibbotson is a good as most that I have seen. And there have been some good ones over the years.

He is deceptively quick, well balanced, has some footy "smarts", makes it look so easy and never seems to be in a hurry.

Being bottom age, there is still a hell of a lot of improvement to come. So IMO it was a great pick-up and has the potential to be another Mundy in a couple of years time.

The draft is a bit of a lottery but happy with this group. IMO better than last years picks.

dugrene
26 Nov 2005, 19:09
I know Ralph Dagg already posted this link but it's definitely worth a read if you haven't already.

If he was a horse you'd expect to pay a few mill for him with that breeding. I hope he has brains to compliment his ability.

As for players growing up pigeon holed as either backs or forwards generally I'm not sure it matters.

ImperialPurple
26 Nov 2005, 19:34
Unfortunately, Drums a bit top age so I cant see him growing much more.

McPharlap came to us as a 190cm 20 year old - he's now 193cm, so Noddy may still have a few cms in him, even at age 18.

Ripper
26 Nov 2005, 20:16

They got that at the start of 2005. I reckon he has grown more since. If you pull out the tape of the Pies game at the MCG , at the finish where they are walking off , He is next to Pav and IMO is taller than Pav.

More like 193-194 at a guess.

dominguez
27 Nov 2005, 03:17
AFL talent guru Kevin Sheehan also compared Drum to Matt Scarlett, which is a big wrap. If Warnock becomes a quality player we will have a killer one two punch in the ruck. With ruckmen measuring 211cm and 205cm the opposition ruckman would be in for a very busy day.

IP- The club has said several times that McPharlap has grown a few cm since arriving at the club, but I've got a record from 2001 when he was a hawk and he's listed at 193cm. I guess either Fremantle or Hawthorn need a new ruler.

dominguez
27 Nov 2005, 03:30
IMO better than last years picks.

Considering we had selections 59, 67 and 69 last year, and the fact that Stribling has already been delisted, they better be a hell of a lot better than last years selections.

mick ryan
27 Nov 2005, 08:10
[QUOTE=pinkus maximus]Yes because he is in our own backyard. Same thing happened with WC and Simon Black,not that I think Swallow will be as good
QUOTE]

WC wasn't the only Club that didn't take Black and it was for different reasons.

fat wombat
27 Nov 2005, 09:18
The specialists all put McPharlins soft injury concerns early in his career down to him continuing to grow. I'd hate to see this happen to Drum, because it's frustrating to watch someone with so much ability sitting on the side lines every week.

Dr Ralph Dagg
27 Nov 2005, 15:32
McPharlap came to us as a 190cm 20 year old - he's now 193cm, so Noddy may still have a few cms in him, even at age 18.
I think you'll find he's now 196 cm. He's huge. Only slightly shorter than JLo.

I can't believe you guys are all arguing about an inch or so. There's an obvious worry for you fellas. Who cares about a missing inch? There's your vertical leap, your pace, your footy smarts, your courage and everything else that makes up a footballer.

Same with weight. I remember 2004 Adelaide game where Belly -- who tops the scale at about 77kg -- take Wayne Carey front on and drive him into the deck. James Walker weighs heaps more and dreams of making tackles stick like that.

dominguez
27 Nov 2005, 21:33
I can't believe you guys are all arguing about an inch or so. There's an obvious worry for you fellas. Who cares about a missing inch? There's your vertical leap, your pace, your footy smarts, your courage and everything else that makes up a footballer.

Same with weight. I remember 2004 Adelaide game where Belly -- who tops the scale at about 77kg -- take Wayne Carey front on and drive him into the deck. James Walker weighs heaps more and dreams of making tackles stick like that.

I think it's because we often struggle with the really big forwards like Richo and Jonathon Brown.

theorangeapple
4 Dec 2005, 15:06
The difference between 190cm and 192cm is obviously minimal. However, if you are manning a bloke like Brown, being around 196cm is a big advantage. Its all in the reach. Some players have a reach advantage over the average player of their height others have a disadvantage. Mundy may be 191cm but if he had a reach advantage of 4cm then he would be nearly as good as 195cm.

Drum should be a good player for you guys, he will play alot of AFL footy. I am not sure he really fits your needs (didnt CC say earlier in the year he planned on improving the midfield through the trade and draft period?) and as everyone has noted, he sounds like a Mundy clone. It will be interesting to see what happens with Mundy because he is really suited to being a 3rd tall defender. It allows him to zone off and attack with the ball out of defence. While everyone is saying he is 191cm and tall enough to play key position, I think that giving him the responsibility to man a bloke like Brown would reduce his scope to run off and do what he does best. I also dont think he is proven in that complete shut down role, he has always been that attacking defender of half back type. I like Mundy (mainly because my best mate is his biggest fan) and will be interested to see which path the match committee choses for him.

theGav56
4 Dec 2005, 16:14
The difference between 190cm and 192cm is obviously minimal. However, if you are manning a bloke like Brown, being around 196cm is a big advantage. Its all in the reach. Some players have a reach advantage over the average player of their height others have a disadvantage. Mundy may be 191cm but if he had a reach advantage of 4cm then he would be nearly as good as 195cm.

Drum should be a good player for you guys, he will play alot of AFL footy. I am not sure he really fits your needs (didnt CC say earlier in the year he planned on improving the midfield through the trade and draft period?) and as everyone has noted, he sounds like a Mundy clone. It will be interesting to see what happens with Mundy because he is really suited to being a 3rd tall defender. It allows him to zone off and attack with the ball out of defence. While everyone is saying he is 191cm and tall enough to play key position, I think that giving him the responsibility to man a bloke like Brown would reduce his scope to run off and do what he does best. I also dont think he is proven in that complete shut down role, he has always been that attacking defender of half back type. I like Mundy (mainly because my best mate is his biggest fan) and will be interested to see which path the match committee choses for him.

Agree with what your saying about height and reach. But gee, why you would want to lock a player as talented as Mundy into third tall defender at his age is beyond me. Definitely depends on the match-ups and individual needs. He doesn't have to play on Brown if he isn't the best player for him. The best way that teams beat a player like Brown is through a team effort. Can't see any reason why Mundy couldn't become an excellent FB if that was the need and best option for him, or move up forward. Having Drum in the team adds to Mundy's flexibility, not detract from it.

Not sure where our midfiled solutions come from short term except Haselby, Walker, Schammer, big Carr fitter, a couple of others lifting in form (Headland). Perhaps Dunn showing something. The other key to our midfiled is of course Sandilands development.

theorangeapple
4 Dec 2005, 16:50
Agree with what your saying about height and reach. But gee, why you would want to lock a player as talented as Mundy into third tall defender at his age is beyond me. Definitely depends on the match-ups and individual needs. He doesn't have to play on Brown if he isn't the best player for him. The best way that teams beat a player like Brown is through a team effort. Can't see any reason why Mundy couldn't become an excellent FB if that was the need and best option for him, or move up forward. Having Drum in the team adds to Mundy's flexibility, not detract from it.

Nothing wrong with Mundy being a 3rd tall type, there is no shame in putting him there. I think having lesser opponent would be very beneficial in that he can run off and create play. He might very well be a very good full back but you will lose alot of his creativity having him following around a FF all day. He also has a tendancy to zone off, you cannot zone off on a bloke who is a sides go to player (Brown, Tredrea et al) sides will pick that player out every time.

fat wombat
4 Dec 2005, 19:30
I'd like to see him rotated through the midfield more regularly to be honest. He straightens the whole side up, he's very direct when running through the centre.

theGav56
5 Dec 2005, 12:17
Nothing wrong with Mundy being a 3rd tall type, there is no shame in putting him there. I think having lesser opponent would be very beneficial in that he can run off and create play. He might very well be a very good full back but you will lose alot of his creativity having him following around a FF all day. He also has a tendancy to zone off, you cannot zone off on a bloke who is a sides go to player (Brown, Tredrea et al) sides will pick that player out every time.

Mathew Scarlett seems to do just fine being the number 1 defender as well as being a creative and attacking force from the backline. I'm sure Mundy would be zoning off because that is the task he has been set by the coaching staff rather than a style of play he is locked into. They are using his abilityh to read the play.

My main point is that you seem to be offering the thought that Drum is a "Mundy clone" as a criticism of the drafting. In reality I think both players have a pretty fair degree of adaptability in regards to where they may play and how they may be used. If Drum is similar to Mundy then we will have the pair of them as a springboard from the backline setting up attacking forays. I look forward to that.

wehavethepassion
5 Dec 2005, 14:46

Darth Vader did it all the time when at the Slime. Mckenna would get the weakest forward to allow him to create from HB.

theorangeapple
6 Dec 2005, 18:25
Darth Vader did it all the time when at the Slime. Mckenna would get the weakest forward to allow him to create from HB.

Yeh I know, and it worked. There is nothing wrong with that either.

My main point is that you seem to be offering the thought that Drum is a "Mundy clone" as a criticism of the drafting. In reality I think both players have a pretty fair degree of adaptability in regards to where they may play and how they may be used. If Drum is similar to Mundy then we will have the pair of them as a springboard from the backline setting up attacking forays. I look forward to that.

I wasnt criticising your drafting, I think Drum will play alot of AFL football and be a very good player. However, I am perhaps questioning your drafting in the context of CC's comments that he would be looking to add running midfielders in the draft and trade period. Maybe that was the plan but there were none available, which I would agree with. There were not alot of quick onballers available at 10 of the quality of Drum. In an ideal world, I think someone like Dale Thomas would have been ideal. Add pace, flair and goal kicking to your midfield. Stupid comment because he obviously went at #2 but I think someone like him would have been better suited than Drum.