View Full Version : AFC supporters stand up and be counted

crows98
25 Nov 2005, 13:12
If you’re an Adelaide Crows fan and you have voted YES have the guts to say so and put your action into words. If every vote that is a YES with out a Crows fan backing it up then they would come from the power ********s :thumbsu:

I am sick and tried of going to Adelaide Crow’s home game and having no atmosphere because some supporter want a theatre atmosphere rather than a sporting contest. If we can take anything away from the football (soccer) supporter it’s there passion and enthusiasm to cheer for their team. The Socceroos game would have been a killer atmosphere the other week, the objective for the Adelaide Crows supporter base is to make Crows home games like the English Premier League but with an Aussie feel to it, we don’t need to sing songs all night but we do need to continue to build that atmosphere around the ground until it a place everyone fears. In a good way, no crap violence or stupid bully boy tactics like that happen with the Power game.

Next season we as a supporter base must stand up and continue to be counted as one. None one of this bull******** sitting on you’re arse and no cheering, if your not going to cheer then stay at home and give your ticket to someone who will. After the St Kilda final and then the Port Power semi final I genuinely believe that we as a supporter base are moving forward and the majority of supporter are no longer going to embarrassed about showing emotion or cheering loudly for the team they supporter. Only time will tell

We need a song or something that will get everyone going; even if it the club song that get screamed out or shouted at the other side after every goal (like in the last quarter of the port semi-final. Lots of blocks fired up and started singing after every goal) it should be like that every week, every home game no matter where the side is sitting on the ladder, first or sixteenth.

12 – 14 week until the NAB cup starts so we have time and something must be done because a long season of just going to game and not getting everyone involve must stop….and must STOP NOW!!!! FFS :mad:

Markthirtytwo
25 Nov 2005, 13:22
A very worthy topic for discussion, however, we are blowing shyte uphill if you think that the blue rinse set and their husbands are going to do anything but clap. I have tried and ridiculed people in my area to barrack not just support their team with either blank looks or head shaking and carrying on watching.
I thought sitting down might have been the problem but even fans in front of where I sit just stand and watch without even giving the magots a spray.
I believe nothing will change their stance on this.
I've given up. :mad:

crows98
25 Nov 2005, 13:35
A very worthy topic for discussion, however, we are blowing shyte uphill if you think that the blue rinse set and their husbands are going to do anything but clap. I have tried and ridiculed people in my area to barrack not just support their team with either blank looks or head shaking and carrying on watching.
I thought sitting down might have been the problem but even fans in front of where I sit just stand and watch without even giving the magots a spray.

Mark32,

I have had enough now and week after week I going to just fire everyone up around me and try and get everyone involved. We have to change the cultural paradigms and hopefully “the blue rinse set and their husbands” get sick of this and join in or leave. :cool:

We cannot keep going year in year out the same way or the culture will never change. I understand what your saying but if more and more younger (anyone who is willing to make difference) supporter start and take control of the supporter base things will change. But if we let “the blue rinse set and their husbands :D ” stop us from doing this they will win. Pigs Arse as big Jack would say…new motto “Cheer or get out”

Capitalist
25 Nov 2005, 13:41

that a poor answer

saying that I am seeing no real answers to the problem

it only takes a hand ful of supporters to start something - the problem you have is when they do they don't get enough support from the people wanting it (ie independent websites :o )

every couple of months we get a thread like this and it gets the same slack arse excuse - so why doesn't anyone start something - their are a few answers:

1) Lazy
2) scared of failure
3) is a sheep - needs a leader

now - this time last year we had discussion about an independent website for the crows - so myself and SBR did something about it - we got some great supporter from the likes of Arrowman, Stiffy, Nikki Noo and ever OBJ (there a re a few more)

however - the majority of people who called for an independent website dumped us like ugly formal date soon after we created the site , people want something but are generally to lazy or scared to do anything about it

I would say 80% of people on this site would complain about atmosphere - if you wasked what they did at a game they would do want most others do, clap for a good play, cheer for a goal and say Roooo when Roo gets the ball

So your task is simple (who ever wants to do it) find 20 people get seats together (which can be done at this time of the year ? )
and start making chants.if you can get other groups around the ground - members would be good becasue they can sit anywhere.

asthecrowsfly.com would be glad to support the people who try this out (with SBR consent).

so please let me and SBR know whats happening - I would love to sit in the members with some like minded crows supporters !

Macca19
25 Nov 2005, 13:52
We need a song or something that will get everyone going;

"You're in my heart, You're in my soul" :D

crows98
25 Nov 2005, 13:56
"You're in my heart, You're in my soul" :D

Smart Arse comments like that will only get one response :mad:

Get ********ed ****************

Macca19
25 Nov 2005, 13:58
HOw is it smartarse? You asked for a song...youve already got one!

dA Crow
25 Nov 2005, 14:01
HOw is it smartarse? You asked for a song...youve already got one!
Like the Port one to the AFL... the old Abba classic Gimme,Gimme,Gimme

On a side note, make the poll results public; Otherwise the Trolls from down at swampland will post No's, then babble on how bad the results are.

crows98
25 Nov 2005, 14:04
Like the Port one to the AFL... the old Abba classic Gimme,Gimme,Gimme

On a side note, make the poll results public; Otherwise the Trolls from down at swampland will post No's, then babble on how bad the results are.

How?....can i do it?

crows98
25 Nov 2005, 14:08
:D thanks for voting

Eggzoi
25 Nov 2005, 14:30
Some people don't want to scream and shout all night. It's their right and I'm not going to try to force them too. You might say it's a football game and they should be forced to be loud. I say it's simply another form of entertainment in my life and I'll enjoy it however I damn well like.
That said, I do get pretty damn noisy at the footy, but I'm not going to complain if someone doesn't want to.

Adam BK
25 Nov 2005, 15:07
How about not forcing anyone or thinking less of them if they do not get into it, but wish the atmosphere would be better.

Markthirtytwo
25 Nov 2005, 16:06
that a poor answer !

How so, care to explain?

saying that I am seeing no real answers to the problem!

If that's the case, why did you post what you did above?

it only takes a hand ful of supporters to start something - the problem you have is when they do they don't get enough support from the people wanting it (ie independent websites :o ) !

You should try and sit in my area. Try as I might Im a lone voice there.

RoosterLad
25 Nov 2005, 16:12
fantastic poll/thread
im a Crow fan but i never go to games anymore because the atmosphere is disgraceful, 4000 at an SANFL game creates a much better environment than 40,000 at a Crow game. as you said it is like a theatre... i downloaded a video clip of Aloisi lining up and then scoring his penalty and the crowd was absolutely mental, it sent a chill down my spine watching it even though the camera flew around everywhere and you couldnt really see what was going on after the winning goal.

i cant watch a footy game and not scream, shout, jump around. even when im watching it by myself on TV. it is boring to sit there and never do anything until your team kicks a goal and then you give a golf clap
singing, chanting, and noise throughout the whole match is whats needed, not just when the Crows are winning

Capitalist
25 Nov 2005, 16:53
How so, care to explain?

If that's the case, why did you post what you did above?

You should try and sit in my area. Try as I might Im a lone voice there.

well what was the point of letting people know that you can't bothered - that was my point

Why did I post – did you read my post ? I made my points – I put my support forward ? what did you do – nothing

Look I’m not trying to start a fight but I was mearly pointing out that this board continues to compain but can’t be bothered making a difference

Where do you sit ?

Also – isn’t it ticket time ? can’t you buy a tciket in another place – if we had enough people on this board willing to buy tickets together (in the same are )

but in the end this board reflects SA as a whole - happy to complain but rarely comes up with a soloution to fix the problem (and if someone happens to they a ridiculed anyway !)

Capitalist
25 Nov 2005, 16:57
fantastic poll/thread
im a Crow fan but i never go to games anymore because the atmosphere is disgraceful, 4000 at an SANFL game creates a much better environment than 40,000 at a Crow game. as you said it is like a theatre... i downloaded a video clip of Aloisi lining up and then scoring his penalty and the crowd was absolutely mental, it sent a chill down my spine watching it even though the camera flew around everywhere and you couldnt really see what was going on after the winning goal.

i cant watch a footy game and not scream, shout, jump around. even when im watching it by myself on TV. it is boring to sit there and never do anything until your team kicks a goal and then you give a golf clap
singing, chanting, and noise throughout the whole match is whats needed, not just when the Crows are winning

you can't compare - they waited (apart from 32 yrs) 35 minutes to score a goal then a further 90 minutes to get a penalty shoot out, its different - the pressure builds with soccer - you get to celebrate often in football !!

portentous
25 Nov 2005, 17:14
Is it because most of the loud mouthed yobs are at the bar during the match? Would allowing alcohol consumption at your seats during games make any difference?

NO, it's not a sledge and I didn't vote. Just wondering why you lot don't "get loud".

crows98
25 Nov 2005, 17:22
Is it because most of the loud mouthed yobs are at the bar during the match? Would allowing alcohol consumption at your seats during games make any difference?

NO, it's not a sledge and I didn't vote. Just wondering why you lot don't "get loud".

Loud mouth yobs are not the problem; they are more of a nuisance because they only talk crappolla and only look to big note themselves. As far as I am concerned they can stay in the bar.

We need a large amount of people to cheer and cheer continuously and not just sit on their hands expecting other to get excited about the game.

Loud mouth yobbos may work at Port games but that wont fix the crow’s problem. Some dude yelling out stupid responses to the players or umpires is not going to generate excitement with in the crowd.

Drummond
25 Nov 2005, 18:12
you can't compare - they waited (apart from 32 yrs) 35 minutes to score a goal then a further 90 minutes to get a penalty shoot out, its different - the pressure builds with soccer - you get to celebrate often in football !!
Yes good point :thumbsu:

I think the atmosphere at Crows games aren't too bad. The amount of flags are cooooooool.

maccas_no1
25 Nov 2005, 21:15
Atmosphere is pathetic at best, time for all of you to FIRE UP.

Crow-mosone
25 Nov 2005, 22:02
Some people don't want to scream and shout all night. It's their right and I'm not going to try to force them too. You might say it's a football game and they should be forced to be loud. I say it's simply another form of entertainment in my life and I'll enjoy it however I damn well like.
That said, I do get pretty damn noisy at the footy, but I'm not going to complain if someone doesn't want to.

Freedom of choice is a good thing.

Crowz Gal
26 Nov 2005, 19:17
A very worthy topic for discussion, however, we are blowing shyte uphill if you think that the blue rinse set and their husbands are going to do anything but clap. I have tried and ridiculed people in my area to barrack not just support their team with either blank looks or head shaking and carrying on watching. I thought sitting down might have been the problem but even fans in front of where I sit just stand and watch without even giving the magots a spray.

I think that this may be a part of the problem:)

Capitilist is right. Ppl are like sheep. Start a chant and see what happens.Witty chants are especially good for getting everyone involved:D

Capitalist
26 Nov 2005, 23:17
Loud mouth yobs are not the problem; they are more of a nuisance because they only talk crappolla and only look to big note themselves. As far as I am concerned they can stay in the bar.

We need a large amount of people to cheer and cheer continuously and not just sit on their hands expecting other to get excited about the game.

Loud mouth yobbos may work at Port games but that wont fix the crow’s problem. Some dude yelling out stupid responses to the players or umpires is not going to generate excitement with in the crowd.

mate - asthecrowsfly will support you in any attempt !!:thumbsu:

Punchy Bassett
27 Nov 2005, 00:54
Well I voted no. People in my area are donkeys, wont make any noise and when I stand up and get fired up I get told numerous times to "sit down we cant see" well this year I got fed up with it and replied to one person in particular who always does this with if you want a perfect picture go and watch on TV and give your ticket to someone with some passion, needless to say I got chatted by red coats within five minutes :thumbsd:

Eggzoi
27 Nov 2005, 09:58
People standing up in front of you is annoying, sure when it's a goal or something kickass, but the seats are there to be utilised, not for your view to be blocked because someone needs to stand to cheer. I'm plenty loud enough from my seat.

NewCrowsFan
27 Nov 2005, 11:59
People standing up in front of you is annoying, sure when it's a goal or something kickass, but the seats are there to be utilised, not for your view to be blocked because someone needs to stand to cheer. I'm plenty loud enough from my seat.

My sediments exactly. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Powerstufff
27 Nov 2005, 14:00
.......well this year I got fed up with it and replied to one person in particular who always does this with if you want a perfect picture go and watch on TV and give your ticket to someone with some passion, needless to say I got chatted by red coats within five minutes....Dear God! What is the world coming to? Had the redcoats not broken up this heated exchange you might have found yourself threatened with a ballooon on a stick.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
27 Nov 2005, 14:18
I don't care about anybody else. I cheer, I yell, I jump up and down, I wave my flag and do all I can to help the boys. I love it. I don't care about those around me to be perfectly honest.

SpringChoke
27 Nov 2005, 18:20
Atmosphere is pathetic at best, time for all of you to FIRE UP.

This thread is pathetic at best. Where I sit, the crowd get into the game just as passionately as any other groupd of supporters. If people don't like the atmosphere then p*ss off to a few Port games and spend the game abusing your own captain and sipping on metho.

outback jack
27 Nov 2005, 18:25
This thread is pathetic at best.

I would say to quote this thread as a oppostion supporter would be more pathetic wouldnt you?

outback jack
27 Nov 2005, 18:44
On the crowd i thought in showdowns atleast we were alot better than port. i think the byron incident at the start of the yr might have done that though. Port aren’t any louder than us, its just ppl like Mr Rucci for example that like to create this perception. We should be louder though considering we have double the attendance.

The club can easily solve it by creating something like a supporters grp that put grps of 30 ppl around the ground with the aim to make noise. It will all catch on with the majority, thats how it works. Could make their season tickets cheaper or something like that for being a part of it. Obviously the club doesnt care that much about it though. Bit like extending FP's capacity or having a ticket system in place to make sure 50,000 ppl are actually there. All possible and if you are careful about it profitable too, you just have to want to or have in initiative to do it.

SpringChoke
27 Nov 2005, 19:00
I would say to quote this thread as a oppostion supporter would be more pathetic wouldnt you?

Sounds like the work of those dastardly rascals from PAFC BF Gang.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=142420&highlight=pafc+bigfooty+gang

refresh
28 Nov 2005, 01:28
sounds like you are describing a WCE Pty Ltd home game

Markthirtytwo
28 Nov 2005, 08:02
well what was the point of letting people know that you can't bothered - that was my point

Well what is the reason of having a discussion board if you cant give your views on things. What I meant was one of the reasons I got my tickets in the first place was people were continually bitching on the radio talkback programes about lack of atmosphere. I am from the old school where we stood for the whole game and gave it your all for your side.
Not this andypandy of sitting in seats and clapping then chanting Adel-aide
after a goa. What a crock.

RL is right, you get a better atmosphere at a local game. A lot of young people dont konw how to barrack. I dont mean support or just go to use it as a social event. Someone said it's entertainment. Thats the problem. To me it's a type of war. You against your enemy.
Thats what all types of football originally came from. Instead of villages fighting each other, they produced a football team to challenge any comers and who ever one was the that day's winner of coarse.

Why did I post – did you read my post ? I made my points – I put my support forward ? what did you do – nothing

WTF??:confused:

Look I’m not trying to start a fight but I was mearly pointing out that this board continues to compain but can’t be bothered making a difference

[QUOTE=Capitalist]Where do you sit ?

Also – isn’t it ticket time ? can’t you buy a tciket in another place – if we had enough people on this board willing to buy tickets together (in the same are )

I sit on the eastern wing and happy there thanks. I dont intend to move just because people around me cant be bothered shouting. I will continue to barrack, make a few wise cracks (In fact I sit next to where the red coat sits and one in particular always comments it's good value when she sits next to me to see what next comes out. So I dont sit on my toosh and do nothing as you suggest I still fly the flag.

but in the end this board reflects SA as a whole - happy to complain but rarely comes up with a soloution to fix the problem (and if someone happens to they a ridiculed anyway !)

Ridiculed is probably a too strong a word, but I used to have a go at some people around me for not getting into the game and just sit there. Thats my point. But then I did notice that a lot of the same seats alway had different people sitting in them from week to week so either they shared their seats or they are ones that get sold each week.

Yes freedom of choice is a wonderful thing so I speak my mind its my choice.

snakebite01
29 Nov 2005, 10:18
For anyone comparing the atmosphere at Crows games to that of the soccer the other night, seriously get some perspective.

Of course it's not going to be nearly the atmosphere, that soccer atmosphere would be the equivalent of having a Prelim final at AAMI Stadium with a goal kicked after the siren to win it. The atmosphere at the "big" games we have at AAMI (Showdowns, finals, top of ladder clashes) is excellent. It's the insignificant games that don't really shape a season that have poor atmosphere, which really is no different to other sports. When the Aussies were playing the Solomon Islands I didn't see mad support at all. It all depends on the situation.

I'd have to say the Port semi-final this year was without a doubt the best atmosphere I've been to at a game except for the 2 Grand Finals. It was unbelievable.

Yes, sometimes the atmosphere can get dull, like when we are playing a team with no other fans and the game is dawdling along with us leading by about 3 goals all game. You're not going to be able to change that. It's hard to get excited when there's nothing exciting happening.

For the majority, I thought our support this year was quite good, which was probably fuelled with the interaction with players and feeling of belonging to the club which Craig has instilled.

afc9798
29 Nov 2005, 11:33
Dear God! What is the world coming to? Had the redcoats not broken up this heated exchange you might have found yourself threatened with a ballooon on a stick.

:D or a rolled up Footy Record...:eek: